# Opposition Brief — Volvo Trucks North America, Inc. v. Reeder-Simco GMC, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0063%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 164

## Text

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

+

VOLVO TRUCKS NORTH AMERICA, INC.,

Petitioner.

Vv.
REEDER-SIMCO GMC, INC.,
Respondent.

S

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eighth Circuit
*
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
+
EDWARD J. KIONKA JOE D. Byars, JR.*
Attorney at Law CHRISTIAN & BYARS
1150 Douglas Drive, Attorneys at Law
MS 6804 502 Garrison Avenue

Carbondale, Illinois 62901 Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901
Telephone: (618) 453-8755 Telephone: (479) 782-9147

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Respondent objects to the statement of questions
presented by Petitioner pursuant to S.Ct.R. 15.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
(“Eighth Circuit”) stated below that “as a threshold matter
Reeder had to show it was a purchaser within the meaning
of the RPA [Robinson-Patman Act] ... [wle agree an
unsuccessful bidder is not a purchaser within the meaning
of the RPA ... mere offers to sell do not violate the RPA
.... Pet. App. 8a, 9a.

Volvo has misstated the Eighth Circuit’s true holding
by asserting that the opinion holds that an unaccepted
offer can violate the RPA.

Section 2 of the Clayton Act, which originally prohib-
ited price discrimination only where its effect “may be
substantially to lessen competition” was amended by
Congress through the Robinson-Patman Act, in an effort to
strengthen the scope of the Act, by adding the following
conjunctive, alternative standard (hence the conjunction
“or”): “or [where the effect may be] to injure, destroy or
prevent competition with any person who either grants or
knowingly receives the benefit of such discrimination, or
with customers of either of them.”

In addition, Volvo’s reasons for granting a petition for
a writ of certiorari rely upon a misstatement of the rele-
vant provisions of the RPA, by seeking to omit the provi-
sions of the Act which provide for the ability of a plaintiff
to establish an inference of competitive injury from evi-
dence of a substantial price difference between purchasers
over time, as announced in FTC v. Morton Salt, 334 U.S.
37 (1948).

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The Petitioner is Volvo Trucks North America, Inc.,
Defendant-Appellant in the courts below. The Respondent,
Plaintiff-Appellee in the courts below, is Reeder-Simco
GMC, Inc.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
PURSUANT TO SUPREME COURT RULE 29.6

Reeder-Simco GMC, Inc. has no parent corporation. It
is a privately held corporation having only the following
shareholders: David Reeder, William E. Heck and Hershel
Cole.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..............cccceccecceeceeeeeeeeees i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING...................c0000000: ii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT PUR-
SUANT TO SUPREME COURT RULE 29.6.......... ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS. ............cccccccecceescesseesceseeeseees iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIEG..............:cccceccecceesceeeeeeeees iv
TE 1
RELEVANT PROVISIONG............ccccccccscesceeseeseeeeeeees 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...........cc0cccccceeceeeeeeseeees 1
a _censnsonsoncsonees -

I. The Eighth Circuit Did Not Hold That A
Mere Offer Can Violate The Robinson-
a 8

II. The Eighth Circuit Did Not Err In Holding
That Reeder-Simco Presented Sufficient Evi-
dence Of Competitive Injury Or The Likeli-
hood Of Diverted Sales......................cccccccceeeee

III. The Eighth Circuit’s Opinion Will Not Be
Harmful To Competition............................0066 28

rT 30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES:
Ag-Chem Eq. Co., Inc. v. Hahn, Inc., 480 F.2d 482

SGD Bae cccnnnsessemnesnssensenesnennasensnsomngueaninnnnimiinins 16
Allen Pen Co. v. Springfield Photo Mount Co., 653

ob ee 16, 20, 21
American Can Co. v. Bruce’s Juices, Inc., 187 F.2d

919 (5th Cir.), cert. dismissed, 342 U.S. 875

Gael cancecunenssnanmmensncnnseeresenerecieumeeaenminneneenneninnts 12
Best Brands Beverage, Inc. v. Falstaff Brewing

Corp., 842 F.2d 578 (2d Cir. 1987)................. 2, 16, 18, 24
Black Gold Ltd. v. Rockwool Indust., Inc., 729 F.2d

i 25
Capital Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co.,

819 F. Supp. 1555 (N.D. Ga. 1992) ...0.......eccccccceeeeeeeees 25
Chroma Lighting v. GTE Products Corp., 111 F.3d

653 (9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 943

Giri ei cticnnucansnnesanecnsiuatinenenamennsiiaiigisinaiicasaiiniaaiamiaaamaial 27
Eastern Auto Distributors v. Peugeot Motors Amer.,

795 F.2d 329 (4th Cir. 1966)..............c..cccccccossecssseseecerees 24
FTC v. Bordon Co., 383 U.S. 637 (1966) ................cccccccee 25
FTC v. Morton Salt, 334 U.S. 37, 68 S.Ct. 822

Gee cnsemnenssennsessrnntscnnnbeninsinnstatesimiinemenieiinineleaes 2,15
FTC v. Sun Oil Co., 371 U.S. 505 (1963) .................... 16, 24
General Talking Pictures Corp. v. Western Electric

Sg I ED BE cmntentnrcenmeretinennnmnemmmeinessintiiins 9
George Haug Co. v. Rolls Royce Motor Cars, Inc.,

148 F.3d 136 (2d Cir. 1998)..................ccccccceeeesereeees 15, 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Henry v. Chloride, Inc., 809 F.2d 1334 (8th Cir.

TI crecunntnesnacammuninerenetmnneineniinsetenemaimmadeinee 2
In re: Boise Cascade Corp., 107 F.T.C. 76 (1986).............. 24
Industrial Burner Systems, Inc. v. Maxon Corp.,

275 F. Supp. 2d 878 (E.D. Mich. 2003)................0cc00000 26
Infusion Resources, Inc. v. Minimed, Inc., 351 F.3d

688 (5th Cir. 2003), cert. denied, 124 S.Ct. 2881

Gi icncccntnentreniisemntimnnsininainonniiiinintaniniiniaenmN 19
J. Truett Payne Co. Inc. v. Chrysler Motors Corp.,

Ge ek re ccrccnntsnntmrnmnentniatnnsiinannnaniins 20, 23

M.C. Manufacturing Co. v. Texas Foundries, Inc.,
517 F.2d 1059 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424

SE ITI cnisssnisniniinsenidesisioiaiiinsiniatl passim

Metro Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 145
F.3d 320 (5th Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S.

EERSTE ners orreeennten cer ena eeee 2,3
Rebel Oil Co. v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 51 F.3d 1421

(9th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 987 (1995)......... 14
Richard Short Oil Co. v. Texaco, Inc., 799 F.2d 415

EEE ern 2
Rose Confections, Inc. v. Ambrosia Chocolate Co.,

fe ED en 2
Shaws, Inc. v. Wilson-Jones Co., 105 F.2d 331 (3d

Ee oer eee ee 2

Stelwagon Mfg. Co. v. Tarmac Roofing Systems,
Inc., 63 F.3d 1267 (3d Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516
ee 16, 22

Terry's Floor Fashions, Inc. v. Burlington Indus.
Inc., 763 F.2d 604 (4th Cir. 1985) .................ccceeee 2, 9, 10

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued
Page
Texaco, Inc. v. Hausbrouck, 496 U.S. 543 (1990).... 25, 26, 29
Zwicker v. J. I. Case Co., 596 F.2d 305 (8th Cir.

STI cuticeatanitnteeitantneainneaiiineniimpemnatneneaieaaaastinsimtainiatiitin 25
STATUTES:
es Si I crcieceteicseetethisiasieihinininanstneenibiesiapenlinisiliainiciaeittiianie 1,13
IT aie centahdeihahiilalt initial 26
Ss III A inicicnrsinincmatieciiniininntiiniianinaiinsiiaiasiatas 14, 29
ENTE it Acrricicinireritirsiicininniiniimintinsiataittciiastiinsiaaiitatisa 9
MISCELLANEOUS:
House Report, Report No. 2287, 74th Cong. 2d Sess.
EE ne eR 14

James A. Pikl, The Myth of “Functional
Availability” and the Robinson-Patman Act, 2002

Fed. Cts. L. Rev. 1 (Jam. 2002) ..00........ccccccccceeeeeeeees 26, 27
Jerry S. Cohen, Let’s Retain It, 45 Antitrust Law J.

Sr rriccicsritncnnnninrnsnnttnnnsenneranennatantmerepentermmantisaian 29
Stern and Gressman, et al., Supreme Court

nD SO Se icincincctecncneeneseninicintnnenmenesnats 11

1

OPINIONS BELOW

Petitioner accurately set forth the opinions of the
lower courts in its Appendix.

¢

RELEVANT PROVISIONS

Section 2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C.
§ 13(a), makes it unlawful “to discriminate in price be-
tween different purchasers of commodities of like grade
and quality, where either or any of the purchases involved
in such discrimination are in commerce... and wh ve the
effect of such discrimination may be substantially to
lessen competition, ... or to injure, destroy, or prevent
competition with any person who either grants or know-
ingly receives the benefit of such discrimination, or with
customers of either of them.”

Petitioner omitted the “meeting competition” defense
provision of the Robinson-Patman Act, which essentially
renders Petitioner’s argument fatally incomplete: “Nothing
herein contained shall prevent a seller rebutting the
prima facie case thus made showing that his lower price
... to any purchaser or purchasers was made in good faith
to meet an equally low price of a competitor.”

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Contrary to Volvo's assertion, the U.S. Court of Ap-
peals for the Eighth Circuit (“Eighth Circuit”) did not
“extend the reach” of the Robinson-Patman Act (“RPA”).
The court relied upon settled authority consistent with its
prior opinions, the decisions of other circuits, and this

2

Court.’ In fact, the majority below cites with approval
most of the cases claimed by the Petitioner to present a
conflict.’ It is clear that the Eighth Circuit did not create
“new law,” but applied the law, as announced in long-
accepted precedent, to the specific facts in this case.

Petitioner’s statement of the case cannot be accepted
because it omits substantial evidence demonstrating the
diversion of sales and profits to favored Volvo deaiers, and
includes the misstatement that “the alleged discrimination
did not cause, and could not have caused a diversion of
sales or profits to a favored purchaser.” Pet. 7. To reach
this conclusion, Petitioner would have the Court limit its
view of the evidence to a select few of the sales transac-
tions presented at trial. In addition, Volvo’s assertion that
its product pricing practices are “similar in all material
respects” to Ford’s pricing practices is also a misstate-
ment.’

’ The Eighth Circuit denied Volvo's petition for rehearing and
petition for rehearing en banc, in which Volvo asserted that its opinion
was in conflict with its decisions in Henry v. Chloride, Inc., 809 F.2d
1334 (8th Cir. 1987); Rose Confections, Inc. v. Ambrosia Chocolate Co.,
816 F.2d 381 (8th Cir. 1987); Richard Short Oil Co. v. Texaco, Inc., 799
F.2d 415 (8th Cir. 1986); and FTC v. Morton Salt, 334 U.S. 37, 43
(1948). Pet. App. F. Volvo has now chosen a new set-of eases-on which it
claims a conflict.

* The Eighth Circuit majority cited with approval the following:
Terry's Floor Fashions, Inc. v. Burlington Indus. Inc., 763 F.2d 604 (4th
Cir. 1985) (Pet. App. 9a); M.C. Manufacturing Co. v. Texas Foundries,
Inc., 517 F.2d 1059, 1065 n.11 (5th Cir. 1975) (Pet. App. 9a); Shaws, Inc.
v. Wilson-Jones Co., 105 F.2d 331 (3d Cir. 1939) (Pet. App. 9a); and Best
Brands Beverage, Inc. v. Falstaff Brewing Corp., 842 F.2d 578 (2d Cir.
1987) (Pet. App. 11a).

* Volvo cites Metro Ford Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 145
F.3d 320 (5th Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1068 (1999) (Pet. p. 4),
which is easily distinguished because in Ford, there was no evidence

(Continued on following page)

3

Stripped to its core, Volvo’s true attack on the Eighth
Circuit’s holding is its unsupported assertion that the
Eighth Circuit’s conclusions on the sufficiency of the
evidence are wrong. As such, it presents a purely factual
issue that does not justify this Court’s review. See Opinion,
Pet. App. 7a. The factual issues were determined by a jury,
and therefore can be set aside only if there is a complete
absence of probative facts to support the conclusion it
reached. Id. Accordingly, we will provide an overview of
some of the pertinent evidence related to Reeder’s status
as a purchaser, competitive injury, and diversion of sales
or profits.

Reeder’s evidence of the various actual sales compari-
sons (in which Reeder was, in fact, a “purchaser”), involv-
ing Reeder’s sales to Lane Freight, City of Fort Smith,
New Hi-Way, and Sam Ludington not only establish that
Reeder lost sales as a result of Volvo’s price discrimination,
but also that Volvo’s price discrimination was substantial
and existed over a period of several years. Volvo's dis-
criminatory pricing concessions also damaged Reeder’s
relationship with Lane Freight, which had a 180-truck
fleet, and prevented Reeder from obtaining any more sales
from Lane Freight, resulting in Reeder losing profits on
further sales to Lane. A. 1218-21.

Reeder presented abundant evidence that, over a four-
year period, Volvo continually and repeatedly sold trucks
of like kind and quality to favored dealers at substantially
lower prices than those sold to Reeder, diverting sales and

that the Ford dealer received unequal price concessions. In fact, the
dealer conceded that the discounts were available to it on an equal
basis with other Ford dealers. Jd. at 326. Obviously, Reeder did not so
concede.

4

lost profits from dealers like Reeder to favored dealers
such as Westfall Volvo in Kansas City. For example,
Reeder presented evidence that the Kansas City dealer
known as “Westfall Volvo” was shown to consistently
receive greater discounts than Reeder in at least five
reasonably contemporaneous and comparative transac-
tions spanning from 1996 through at least February of
1999. Tr. 159-61; Pl. Ex. 130, 131; Tr. 173-76; Pl. Ex. 124,
124B, 125, 125A; Tr. 183-85; Pl. Ex. 121, 122; Tr. 231-33;
Pl. Ex. 148, 149; Tr. 253-54, 256; Pl. Ex. 174, 175, 177. The
Westfall dealer in Kansas City was the dealership where
Mike Truta, Reeder’s “district sales manager” spent most
of his time. Tr. 98. Under Volvo’s system of granting
discounts, the dealer initially submits his request to the
district sales manager, who grants a level of discount,
guided in part, upon the number of units and the particu-
lar model truck, but beyond that, the discount is deter-
mined subjectively, based only on the “district manager’s
discretion.” A. 1531. Chris Patterson, Volvo’s Vice-
President of Sales and Marketing, confirmed the fact that
Volvo’s decentralized and subjective system of granting
discounts through district sales managers does, in fact,
result in a disparity of discounts among the dealers within
a district. Tr. 505; Patterson Depo. pp. 99-103. Another
Volvo representative stated that Volvo makes no effort to
attempt to equalize the discounts among dealers, except
when the same end user is identified in a transaction. Tr.
768. Reeder’s representative contrasted the Volvo system
to the system used by GM, where a district sales man-
ager’s discretion does not have an impact on discounts,
and where equal availability of concessions was assured
through a centralized location, without regard to a par-
ticular dealer’s request for concession. Tr. 97. Volvo's
representative also stated that “a very high proportion of

5

our trucks have been sold through a very small number of
our dealers ... making us more dependent on a smaller
number of very good dealers, like ... Kansas City... .” Tr.
505; Patterson Depo. p. 143.

Plaintiff showed diversion of sales and profits result-
ing from price discrimination by comparing Reeder’s sales
and profits to the sales and profits of the favored Volvo
dealers. Reeder also showed that despite its increased
sales efforts, Reeder’s sales decreased substantially and its
profit margins were lower during the period of Volvo's
price discrimination (1996-2000), even though favored
Volvo dealers’ sales and overall market sales were strong
during the same time period. Reeder’s sales of Volvo trucks
historically (prior to the period of price discrimination) had
been good. See P. Ex. 268, a summary of its operating
reports. A. 1360. As shown on P. Ex. 268, and as explained
by Reeder’s representative, total Volvo units sold per year
by Reeder declined from 66 units in 1996 to only 8 units in
2000. A. 1360. Reeder’s gross profits on Volvo truck sales
fell from $165,499 in 1996 to $26,327 in 2000. Pl. Ex. 268;
A. 1044. See also P. Exs. 272, 272a, 277. A. 1044-48.
Reeder presented evidence that its average gross profit
was lower than the average of other Volvo dealers because
Reeder was not able to receive the same pricing conces-
sions. A. 1373. Reeder also introduced various examples of
lost potential sales resulting from Volvo’s illegal pricing
concessions that prevented Reeder from obtaining the
level of concession needed to actually make the particular
sale. A. 1273-1325.

Volvo’s director of dealer development testified that
1998 was a good market for the sale of heavy trucks and
that 1999 was Volvo Truck’s “record year.” A. 1340. Indeed,
Volvo’s senior vice-president for sales explained that the

6

truck market in 1999 was “inflated beyond reason” and
production rates remained quite high through the third
quarter of 2000. Tr. 516, Patterson Depo. p. 116. A Volvo
representative testified at trial that competition in heavy
truck sales has been high since 1996 and profit margins in
the heavy truck business have been relatively low since
1996. A. 1620.

Reeder’s representative testified that the heavy truck
sales market (excluding Reeder’s experience) in 1998 and
1999 was well on its way to achieving all-time record
volume. A. 1357. In addition, it was taking longer for Volvo
to get new orders out of the factory and the lead time
between the time when a dealer ordered a truck and when
the truck was built and shipped was getting longer and
longer because its plant was operating at full capacity. A.
1357. During this time, competition was keen and dealer
profit margins were narrow. A. 1620. Thus, the jury could
find that even small differences in prices or concessions
could adversely affect competition and cause lost sales and
profits.

Reeder’s sales efforts increased dramatically during
the period of Volvo’s price discrimination. In response to
the “Volvo Vision,” Reeder opened a new facility across the
street from the dealership to be devoted exclusively to
Volvo heavy truck sales and hired additional salesmen, all
with the approval of Volvo. A. 1125-27. In addition, Reeder
continued its efforts with respect to his established ac-
counts. A. 1185. Indeed, Reeder presented evidence that it
prepared and submitted bids to customers for the sale of
over 3,300 Volvo heavy trucks from the period of mid-1997
through November 1999. Pl. Ex. 277. Despite Reeder’s
increased sales efforts and the fact that favored Volvo
dealers were selling a record number of Volvo heavy

7

trucks, Reeder’s sales and profit margins declined during
the period of discrimination.

Moreover, Reeder presented testimony that Volvo's
price discrimination actually harmed competition. The
testimony of Chris Patterson, Volvo’s Vice-President of
Sales and Marketing, provides substantial evidence of
diversion of sales from Reeder to other Volvo dealers. Volvo
announced at a dealer meeting in 1997 that “50 percent of
the Volvo truck dealers would not be in business in the
next few years.” Patterson Depo. p. 108-09. Patterson then
confirmed that the “Volvo Vision,” as expressed in an email
distributed to the Volvo dealers (Pl. Ex. 101), was an
accurate statement of the “Volvo Vision.” Patterson Depo.
p. 114-15. The email had a list of Volvo’s challenges, which
included “too many dealers” and “under performing
dealers.” The Volvo Vision called for “fewer dealers, larger
markets.” The email further indicated Volvo wanted to
more than double the average market size of its dealers
and decrease the number of dealer owners from 146 to 75.
Id., Pet. App. 3a.

Patterson explained that the Volvo Vision of reducing
the number of Volvo dealers was what Volvo management
saw as necessary to “secure higher levels of profitability
for a dealership and for the manufacturer,” due to com-
pressed profit margins. Patterson Depo. p. 115. Patterson
acknowledged that the number of dealerships was, in fact,
reduced. Patterson Depo. p. 115. He testified that in 1999
or early 2000, approximately twenty “termination letters”
were issued to Volvo dealers and that another “twenty or
so” were placed on probation. Patterson Depo. p. 142.
Significantly, Volvo sent Reeder a termination letter,
effective March 31, 2000. Pl. Ex. 54; A. 1353-55. The fact
that profits or sales from Reeder were diverted to favored

8

dealers is tied together from Mr. Patterson’s statement
that “a very high proportion of our trucks have been sold
through a very small number of our dealers . .. making us
more dependent on a smaller number of very good dealers,
like... Kansas City... .” Tr. 505; Patterson Depo. p. 143.

The trial court submitted the case on special inter-
rogatories to the jury, which was given ample evidence on
which to base each of its findings, specific to the pertinent
elements of the RPA, and which resulted in the judgment
being entered in favor of Reeder. The Eighth Circuit
opinion affirming the judgment does not conflict with any
relevant precedent. Pet. App. B, C.

¢

ARGUMENT

I. The Eighth Circuit Did Not Hold That A Mere
Offer Can Violate The Robinson-Patman Act.

Volvo is simply in error when it states that the Eighth
Circuit has extended the Robinson-Patman Act by “ignor-
ing” two principles, to-wit:

(a) that “liability cannot arise from a discrimi-

natory offer to sell that does not result in a
purchase”; and,

(b) the RPA protects “competition between fa-
vored and disfavored purchasers.”

Pet. 2. Petitioner’s assertion is clearly a misstatement
when one considers the following statements from the
opinion of the Eighth Circuit: “To prove its claim, Reeder
had to show 1) Volvo discriminated in price between
Reeder and the favored dealers, 2) this price discrimina-
tion substantially affected competition between Reeder

9

and the favored dealers, ....” Pet. App. Sa “[Mlere offers
to sell do not violate the RPA” Pet. App. Ya.

In this case, however, Volvo concedes Reeder
was more than an unsuccessful bidder. Reeder
gave four examples where it actually purchased
trucks following successful bids on contracts.
Reeder compared those successful sales to actual
sales made by other dealers during the same
time period....

Pet. App. 10a.

The Eighth Circuit obviously did not “ignore” the
principles that Petitioner asserts as grounds for granting
certiorari. The Eighth Circuit clearly did not hold that an
unaccepted discriminatory offer, without two consum-
mated purchases at different prices, can violate the RPA.
Instead, the Court accurately stated the law and applied
the facts to the law in a manner that is not in conflict with
any other circuit. In fact, the majority opinion cites most of
the cases relied upon by the Petitioner in asserting a
“conflict.” Petitioner simply cannot establish that the
decision of the Eighth Circuit fits any of the criteria set
out in S.Ct.R. 10 so as to merit this Court granting certio-
rari. This Court will not grant a writ of certiorari merely
to review evidence or inferences drawn from it. General
Talking Pictures Corp. v. Western Electric Co., 304 U.S.
175, 178 (1938). “A petition for writ of certiorari is rarely
granted when the asserted error consists of erroneous
factual findings or the misapplication of a properly stated
rule of law.” S.Ct.R. 10.

The Eighth Circuit’s decision plainly does not rest
upon Volvo’s unaccepted offers to sell alone. Nevertheless,
Petitioner cites Terry’s Floor Fashions, Inc. v. Burlington

10

Indus. Inc., 763 F.2d 604, 615 (4th Cir. 1985), in support of
its position that the Eighth Circuit’s holding is somehow in
conflict with that opinion. However, the Eighth Circuit
opinion actually cited Terry’s Floor Fashions, 763 F.2d at
615, in support of its explanation that “mere offers to sell
do not violate the RPA.” Pet. App. 9a. Petitioner argues
that because the plaintiff in Terry’s Floor Fashions was
once a purchaser of defendant’s products, its holding
cannot be distinguished on the basis of “Reeder’s status as
a purchaser.” Pet. 13. The key difference between this case
and Terry’s Floor Fashions is that in Terry’s Floor Fash-
ions, the plaintiff “had not shown, or even alleged two
comparable, completed sales.” 763 F.2d at 615. Although
the plaintiff in Terry’s Floor Fashions may have shown it
was a previous “purchaser” of defendant’s product, it failed
to compare such prior purchase to a reasonably contempo-
raneous sale of goods of like kind and quality to another
competing purchaser. Reeder obviously alleged and pre-
sented evidence of at least four comparable completed
sales, in which Reeder, and other Volvo dealers were
“purchasers.” As correctly stated by the Eighth Circuit:
“Volvo concedes Reeder was more than an unsuccessful
bidder. Reeder gave four examples where it actually
purchased Volvo trucks. Reeder compared those successful
sales to actual sales made by other dealers during the
same time period.” Pet. App. 10a.

Petitioner next contends that the Eighth Circuit’s
opinion is in conflict with M.C. Manufacturing Co. v. Texas
Foundries, Inc., 517 F.2d 1059 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied,
424 U.S. 968 (1976). However, the Eighth Circuit also
cited M.C. Mfg. Co. in agreement with the principle that
“an unsuccessful bidder is not a purchaser within the
meaning of the RPA.” Pet. App. 9a. Again, the Petitioner

ll

claims that because the plaintiffs in M.C. Mfg. Co. had
made a prior purchase, its holding cannot be distinguished
on the basis of Reeder’s status as a purchaser. A conflict
arises for purposes of certiorari decisions when “two courts
have decided the same legal issue in opposite ways, based
on their holdings in different cases with very similar
facts.” Stern, et al, Supreme Court Practice 226 (8th ed.
2002). Simply stated, no conflict exists between M.C. Mfg.
Co. and the Eighth Circuit opinion below. To the contrary,
M.C. Mfg. Co. is readily Ganga on different facts
and a different legal issue.

In M.C. Mfg. Co., the plaintiff made its sole purchase
from the defendant manufacturer under a June, 1970
contract, and was merely an unsuccessful bidder in con-
nection with a December, 1971 contract (over a year and a
half later). These were the only two transactions compared
through evidence at trial. The plaintiff argued that be-
cause it purchased additional parts through a purchase
order from the seller in furtherance of its 1970 contract,
whereby the delivery of such goods would be “reasonably
contemporaneous” to the delivery of goods to a rival
purchaser who won the December 1971 contract, such
purchase would qualify as a purchase “in competition”
with the rival purchaser sufficient to implicate the RPA.
The cour* disagreed, noting that the “legality of price
discrimination between contracts to purchase that con-
template contemporaneous delivery must be evaluated as
of the dates the respective contracts were made,” as
opposed to delivery dates. 517 F.2d at 1066 n.13. The court
also stated that, “each contract represented a separate,
distinct market open only to a single producer.” 517 F.2d at
1067. The court in M.C. Mfg. Co. was careful to note that
its holding was limited to the specific facts presented,

12

stating, “because the particular facts underlying this case
are crucial to our resolution of the controversy, a detailed
review of the events leading to selection of a contractor on
government contract No. |] is warranted.” 517 F.2d at
1062. In addition, the court distinguished its holding from
its own decision in Americar “in Co. v. Bruce’s Juices,
Inc., 187 F.2d 919, 924 (5th Civ}, cert. dismissed, 342 U.S.
875 (1951), recognizing that the specific facts presented
did not conflict with the holding in Bruce’s Juices that an
exception to the two purchase requirement may exist
“where competitors in the same market are engaged in
competitive purchasing and selling at the time of the price
discrimination and where the failure of the plaintiff to
consummate a second purchase of the item discriminato-
rily priced is directly attributable to defendant’s own
discriminatory practice.” 517 F.2d at 1067 n.17.

It cannot be seriously disputed that Reeder was a
purchaser on at least four discriminatory, comparable
sales to other Volvo dealers, meeting all of the criteria to
implicate the RPA. Pet. App. 2a-10a. The Eighth Circuit
recognized and adhered to the law that a discriminatory
offer does not violate the RPA. Petitioner’s first reason for
granting certiorari is without merit.

Il. The Eighth Circuit Did Not Err In Holding
That Reeder-Simco Presented Sufficient Evi-
dence Of Competitive Injury Or The Likeli-
hood Of Diverted Sales.

Distilled of rhetoric, Petitioner’s second point of argu-
ment actually boils down to whether Reeder presented
sufficient evidence of “competitive injury” at trial. Petitioner
begins its argument by first omitting pertinent provisions of
the RPA, and misstating the Eighth Circuit’s holding and

13

analysis concerning Reeder’s proof of competitive injury.
Pet. 15-16. Petitioner quotes only a portion of the RPA,
arguing that the RPA only protects competition “with any
person who ... knowingly receives the benefit of such
discrimination.” Pet. 15.‘ The pertinent provisions of the
RPA (highlighting the parts omitted by Petitioner) are
actually stated as follows:

(a) Price; Selection of Customers. It shall be
unlawful for any person engaged in com-
merce . . . either directly or indirectly, to dis-
criminate in price between different
purchasers of commodities of like grade and
quality, where either or any of the purchases
involved in such discrimination are in com-
merce ... and where the effect of such dis-
crimination may be substantially to lessen

to injure, destroy or prevent competition
with any person who either grants or know-
ingly receives the benefit of such discrimina-
tion, or with customers of either of them .. . .

15 U.S.C. § 13(a) (emphasis added).

* Petitioner continues to repeat and emphasize the part of the RPA
which allows for - but does not require - a showing of competitive
injury by showing that the effect of discrimination may be “to injure,
destroy or prevent competition with any person who ... knowingly
receives the benefit of such discrimination.” (Pet. i, 1, 8, 11, 15). Peti-
tioner fails to cite any authority to support the notion that Reeder was
required to demonstrate that another Volvo dealer knew it received the
benefit of the discriminatory pricing in order to assert its claim against
Petitioner Volvo. Reeder did not sue the other Volvo dealers who may or
may not have known that they were receiving the benefit of Volvo's
discriminatory pricing.

14

Thus, the Petitioner would have this Court ignore two
separate, conjunctive clauses of the RPA, allowing for two,
additional means of showing the prohibited “effect” of price
discrimination. First, examine the meaning of “or with
customers of either of them.” Plainly, this refers to (1)
customers of the person granting the discrimination, and
(2) customers of the person receiving the benefit of dis-
crimination. Here, Reeder is a “customer” of the person
who grants discriminatory pricing - Volvo. The RPA
therefore allows for liability upon a showing that the effect
of the price discrimination “may” injure competition with
Reeder — a “customer” of Volvo. “Fairness and protection of
secondary-line purchasers are the concerns of the Robin-
son-Patman Act, a conclusion that is confirmed by the
language of the statute, legislative history, and judicial
precedent.”* Rebel Oil Co. v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 51 F.3d
1421, 1446 (9th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 987

* Section 2 of the Clayton Act, which originally prohibited price
discrimination only where its effect .. . “may be substantially to lessen
competition ... ,” was amended by Congress through the Robinson-
Patman Act, in an effort to strengthen the scope of the Act, by adding
the following conjunctive, alternative standard (hence the conjunction
“or”): “or [where the effect may be] to injure, destroy or prevent
competition with any person who either grants or knowingly receives
the benefit of such discrimination, or with customers of either of them.
“The purpose of this passage was to relieve secondary-line plaintiffs -
small retailers who are disfavored by discriminating suppliers - from
having to prove harm to competition market wide, allowing them
instead to impose liability simply by proving effects to individual
competitors. H. R. Report No. 2287, 74th Cong. 2d Sess. 8 (1936). As the
House Report stated: ‘The existing law has in practice been too restric-
tive in requiring a showing of general! injury to competitive conditions
in the line of commerce concerned, whereas the more immediately
important concern is injury to the competitor victimized by the discrims-
nation’.” Rebel Oil Co. v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 51 F.3d 1421, 1446 n.18
(9th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 987 (1995) (emphasis added).

15

(1995). Reeder is clearly the secondary line purchaser.
Volvo’s focus on Reeder’s customer — the end user in the
“tertiary line” — is misplaced.

Petitioner erroneously attempts to argue that the only
method by which competitive injury may be proven is by
direct evidence of diverted sales. Accordingly, it is Peti-
tioner who seeks a holding inconsistent with other circuits
and this Court. For example, Petitioner’s argument
completely ignores this Court’s holding in FTC v. Morton
Salt, 334 U.S. 37, 50, 68 S.Ct. 822, 830 (1948). In this case,
the Eighth Circuit specifically found that Reeder pre-
sented sufficient evidence to meet what has become
commonly known as the “Morton Salt inference” stating:
“The evidence presented by Reeder was sufficient for the
jury to conclude Volvo’s discriminatory concessions re-
sulted in lost profits and sales to Reeder and other dealers,
and that favored competitors received substantial price
reductions over a substantial period of time.” Pet. App.
15a. Morton Salt was a secondary line price discrimination

case where this Court determined that the Robinson-
teen tek oon “especially concerned with protecting
small business,” and therefore Section 2(a) was intended
to justify a finding of injury to competition by a showing of
“injury to the competitor victimized by the discrimination”
(quoting S. Rep. No. 1502, 74th Cong., 2d Sess. 4). “Morton
Salt permits an inference of injury to competition from
evidence of a substantial price difference over time,
because such a price difference may harm the competitive
opportunities of purchasers, and thus create a ‘reasonable
possibility’ that competition itself may be harmed.” George
Haug Co. v. Rolls Royce Motor Cars, Inc., 148 F.3d 136,
142 (2d Cir. 1998).

16

“The existence of [actual] competition is essentially a
fact question which can only be determined by making a
realistic appraisal of all of the relevant competitive facts.”
Ag-Chem Eg. Co., Inc. v. Hahn, Inc., 480 F. 2d 482, 490
(8th Cir. 1973), citing FTC v. Sun Oil Co., 371 U.S. 505,
527 (1963). The Petitioner attempts to compartmentalize
the evidence of competition, separating each discrimina-
tory transaction into a sealed container, hoping to avoid an
open view of the whole picture. While Petitioner tried to
emphasize the evidence of head-to-head competition
(where Reeder and another Volvo dealer attempted to
resell to the same exact customer at the same time) in its
discussion of the “two purchase” requirement, Petitioner
conveniently omits such discussion in claiming that there
is insufficient evidence of injury to competition. Clearly,
the evidence in this case is not limited to the events of
Reeder losing sales to another Volvo dealer in “head-to-
head” competition. However, such incidents are not “ir-
relevant” to the issue of whether Reeder established a
likelihood of injury to competition. One reason for the
introduction of such evidence (among substantial other
evidence’) was to establish that Reeder and the other
Volvo dealers were in actual competition with each other.

Petitioner states that “other circuits have held that a
disfavored purchaser-plaintiff must prove that it competes
against favored purchasers because such competition is an
essential predicate for . . . competitive injury .. . .” Pet. 17.
The Eighth Circuit’s holding in this case is no different, as
shown from the Court’s pronouncement that: “To prove its

* For example, Volvo's representative admitted that Volvo dealers
even outside a given district or region compete for sales with Volvo
dealers within another district or region. Tr. 587-88.

17

claim, Reeder had to show (1) Volvo discriminated in price
between Reeder and the favored dealers, (2) this price
discrimination substantially affected competition between
Reeder and the favored dealers ... .” Pet. App. 8a. Where
is the conflict? The Eighth Circuit properly stated and
followed the same legal principle Petitioner claims to have
been rejected by the Eighth Circuit.

The Eighth Circuit discussed substantial evidence
presented by Reeder to establish actual competition,
competitive injury, and the competitive nexus, which
evidence more than distinguishes the cases cited by Volvo
to assert a “conflict.” Pet. App. 2a-20a. Contrary to Peti-
tioner’s assertion, the evidence in this case went way
beyond the evidence presented in Best Brands, M.C. Mfg.
Co., Allen Pen, and Stelwagon Mfg. The shotgun approach
taken by Petitioner in asserting a conflict with other
opinions necessitates a response as to each case.

The Eighth Circuit’s holding does not conflict with the
Second Circuit’s holding in Best Brands Beverage, Inc. v.
Falstaff Brewing Corp., 842 F.2d 578 (2d Cir. 1987). To the
contrary, the opinion below actually quotes Best Brands,
842 F.2d at 585, with approval in describing the test for
whether a competitive nexus was shown, as follows: “The
standard for showing actual competition is whether, ‘as of
the time the price differential was imposed, the favored
and disfavored purchasers competed at the same func-
tional level, i.e., all wholesalers or all retailers, and within
the same geographic market.’” Jd. Pet. App. lla. The
Eighth Circuit applied and followed the same legal princi-
ples announced in Best Brands, but affirmed the judgment
in favor of Reeder, finding sufficient evidence of actual
competition and competitive injury, in contrast to the lack
of evidence shown by the disfavored purchaser in Best

18

Brands. The distinguishing facts in Best Brands were
succinctly described by the Second Circuit as follows:

Best’s trial evidence regarding actual competition -
was sparse. In fact, some evidence presented by
Best seemed to contradict inferential evidence
that actual competition existed. According to the
weight of the evidence, the markets assigned to
Best and Southland were exclusive, and neither
Southland, nor Best, nor customers of either of
them, engaged in competition within the other’s
territory. Indeed, even [in] . . . the area most sus-
ceptible to interterritory competition — no evt-
dence was presented suggesting that Best,
Southland, or their customers, made purchases
in the other’s territory, or otherwise competed

therein.
Best Brands, 842 F.2d at 585 (emphasis added).

In contrast to the lack of evidence of actual competi-
tion shown in Best Brands, the Eighth Circuit discussed
the substantial evidence presented by Reeder that it was
in actual competition with other, but favored, Volvo deal-
ers, including, without limitation, the situations of head-
to-head competition with other dealers and from the
analysis of Reeder’s sales and bids compared to sales made
by other Volvo dealers in the same geographic territory.
Pet. App. 1la-15a.’

" In addition, unlike the distributors, in Best Brands, which have
“exclusive territories,” the Volvo dealers do not have exclusive territo-
ries, but may, and do sell to customers outside their district or region.
Note 4, supra. Also, unlike many distributors, Volvo dealers purchase
trucks for resale — they are a “customer” and not a mere conduit for
distribution.

19

Petitioner also asserts that the opinion conflicts with
the Fifth Circuit’s holdings in M.C. Mfg. Co. (discussed
supra), and Infusion Resources, Inc. v. Minimed, Inc., 351
F.3d 688 (5th Cir. 2003), cert. denied, 124 S.Ct. 2881
(2004). As previously discussed, the Eighth Circuit cited
M.C. Mfg. Co. with approval; but the result is readily
distinguished on the facts, as is Infusion Resources. The
court in Infusion Resources found that the plaintiff, in
seeking to avoid summary judgment completely failed to
submit any evidence that the alleged competitors of the
plaintiff were “favored purchasers” at the time of the
alleged price discrimination. Reeder, on the other hand,
submitted substantial evidence that it did compete with
favored Volvo dealers. For example, Reeder demonstrated
that it competed in the same sales district as one of its
rivals, Westfall Volvo, in Kansas City. Tr. A. 1221-22: A.
1571. Reeder made several comparisons of its purchases to
the purchases of Westfall Volvo, where Westfall was shown
to have received discriminatory prices. At trial, Reeder’s
representative discussed the invoices reflecting Volvo sales
to Westfall Volvo, which was shown to consistently receive
greater discounts than Reeder in at least five reasonably
contemporaneous and comparative transactions spanning
from 1996 through at least February of 1999. Tr. 159-61;
Pl. Ex. 130, 131; Tr. 173-176; Pl. Ex. 124, 124B, 125, 125A;
Tr. 183-185; Pl. Ex. 121, 122; Tr. 231-233; Pl. Ex. 148, 149;
Tr. 253-254, 256; Pl. Ex. 174, 175, 177.° The Eighth Circuit
agreed that the evidence presented at trial was sufficient

* Evidence that Volvo's discriminatory pricing caused the diversion
of sales or profits to other Volvo dealers, including, for example,
Civersion of sales to Westfall Volvo, is briefly discussed above in
Respondent's Statement of the Case; however, brevity requires the
omission of additional facts.

20

to satisfy the Morton Salt inference, and the diversion of
sales or profits caused by the discrimination.

The Petitioner next claims that the Eighth Circuit’s
decision conflicts with the First and Third Circuits’ hold-
ings, stating that “damages cannot be recovered for a
violation of the RPA without proof that the price discrimi-
nation harmed the plaintiff’s ability to compete agairist
favored purchasers.” Pet. 20. First, the Eighth Circuit did
not hold that damages can be recovered without evidence
of actual injury. Petitioners position is, again, a misstate-
ment, in light of the evidence discussed above, and under
the Eighth Circuit’s analysis of the evidence and clear
conclusion that “here, there was sufficient evidence from
which the jury could infer favored dealers received lower
prices from Volvo than did Reeder, and this price advan-
tage allowed other dealers to undercut Reeder’s prices,
hurting Reeder’s sales and profits.” Pet. App. 19a.

Petitioner first cites Allen Pen Co. v. Springfield Photo
Mount Co., 653 F.2d 17 (1st Cir. 1981), in which the
question was whether a private plaintiff was required to
show actual injury to recover damages. The First Circuit
quoted this Court’s holding in J. Truett Payne Co. v.
Chrysler Motors Corp., 451 U.S. 557 (1981), that a private
treble damage plaintiff “must make some showing of
actual injury attributable to a violation of the RPA.” 653
F.2d at 22. The Eighth Circuit clearly followed the same
principles of law as set forth in Allen Pen and described
the substantial evidence — both direct and circumstantial —
which plainly distinguishes this case factually from the
insufficient evidence presented in Allen Pen. The Eighth
Circuit also followed and cited J. Truett Payne, correctly
stating that the law required Reeder to “make some

21

showing of actual injury to itself to recover treble dam-
ages.” Pet. App. 17a.

In Allen Pen, the defendant argued that the purchaser
produced no evidence from which a jury could conclude
that it was injured by the price discrimination. The court
agreed, finding the following facts particularly significant
(653 F.2d at 21-23):

(a) the purchasers total purchases from the
seller “amounted to no more than 1’ to 2%
of [the purchasers] total sales” — “the af-
fected sales were but a tiny fraction of its
total business”;

(b) the purchaser showed no absolute drop in
sales; and,

(c) the purchaser remained free to buy similar
products from the seller’s competitors.

In our case, however, Reeder established that heavy truck
sales were a very important component of its overall sales.
Instead of the 1'% to 2% in Allen Pen, Volvo heavy truck
sales amounted to approximately twenty percent (20%) of
Reeder’s overall sales at the beginning of Volvo’s discrimi-
natory practices. Tr. 320-36. Also, during the time period
in which the discriminatory conduct occurred, Reeder’s
overall sales decreased substantially and its profit mar-
gins were lower than from before such conduct, in contrast
to favored Volvo dealer’s record sales and higher profit
margins (A. 1360, A. 1044, A. 1340, A. 1357, A. 1370-74, Tr.
516, A. 1185, A. 1125-27); and Reeder’s average gross profit
was lower than the average Volvo dealer’s gross profit
because Reeder was not able to receive the same pricing
concessions (A. 1373). While the plaintiff purchaser in
Allen Pen could readily purchase office supplies from other

22

suppliers, Reeder relied upon Volvo exclusively for its
heavy truck sales. The Eighth Circuit discussed substan-
tial additional evidence in the opinion reasoning that
Reeder did prove actual injury. Pet. App. 14a-20a.

Petitioner incorrectly claims that the Eighth Circuit's
opinion is in conflict with the Third Circuit’s opinion in
Stelwagon Mfg. Co. v. Tarmac Roofing Systems, Inc., 63
F 3d 1267 (3d Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1172 (1996).
Once again, the Eighth Circuit opinion does not adopt any
principle of law in contrast to the Third Circuit, but is
faced with the application of facts clearly distinguishable
from the Stelwagon Mfg. case.

In Stelwagon Mfg., the court foud that the evidence
presented at trial was insufficient to show a causal link
between the plaintiff’s decline in sales and the price
discrimination. In fact, the only evidence submitted by the
plaintiff in Stelwagon Mfg. linking the Robinson-Patman
violation to any decline in sales or profits was anecdotal
testimony that should have been ruled inadmissible. The
court noted that “[nJot only did Stelwagon fail to offer any
documentary evidence as to the effect of the discrimination
on resale prices, it also failed to identify a single lost
customer.” 63 F.3d at 1276. The evidence in Stelwagon
Mfg. is sharply contrasted to the evidence in this case,
where Reeder presented substantial documentary evi-
dence on its lost sales and decreased profit margins, in
comparison to the increase in sales and higher profit
margins of the favored Volvo dealers (discussed supra, PP.
3-8). Reeder presented substantial evidence on specific
incidences of lost sales due to the discriminatory prices
charged by Volvo. As recognized by the Eighth Circuit,
“Reeder presented evidence that its own sales and profits
were substantially reduced during this boom in the heavy

23

truck industry despite an increase in its own sales efforts.”
Pet. App. 18a. The Eighth Circuit’s opinion is entirely
consistent with this Court’s explanation of the required
burden of proof of causation under Section 4 of the Clayton

Act as follows:

In the absence of more precise proof, the fact-
finder may conclude as a matter of just and rea-
sonable inference from the proof of defendant’s
wrongful acts and their tendency to injure plain-
tiff’s business, and from the evidence of the de- ~
cline in prices, profits and values, not shown to
be attributable to other causes, that defendant’s

wrongful acts had caused damage to the plain-
tiffs.

J. Truett Payne Co. Inc. v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 451 U.S.
557, 565-66 (1981).

A primary flaw in Petitioner’s argument is that it
misconstrues or ignores the substantial evidence that
Volvo's discrimination in prices did, in fact, cause the
diversion of sales and profits to favored dealers. The
Petitioner proceeds with its argument as if there is a
complete absence of evidence of diversion of sales or
profits, which is absolutely not the case. The evidence in
this case showed that Volvo's practice completely elimi-
nated Reeder’s ability to compete against favored purchas-

ers in that Reeder’s franchise with Volvo was terminated.
Tr. 332.

The RPA prohibits price discrimination between two
purchasers, regardless of the identity of the purchaser’s
customer or “end user,” as long as the sales to such pur-
chasers are “reasonably contemporaneous,” and the
products sold are of “like grade and quality.” Nevertheless,
Petitioner adopts Judge Hansen’s dissent, which would

24

impose a new requirement of purchasers having identical
customers, at the exact same time, instead of the accepted
and logical requirement of similar group of customers (i.e.
the same “customer dollar,” not “same customer”), at
“reasonably contemporaneous” times. Petitioner’s argu-
ment and approach conflicts with the accepted analysis of
actual competition from established precedent and over-
looks the purpose and practicality of the “meeting competi-
tion” defense available under § 2(b) of the RPA.

The Federal Trade Commission and this Court have
concluded that the RPA has a primary basis on one fun-
damental principle: “Congress intended to assure, to the
extent reasonably practicable, that businessmen at the
same functional level would start on equal competitive
footing so far as price is concerned.” Jn re Boise Cascade
Corp., 107 F-T.C. 76, 205 (1986), quoting FTC v. Sun Oil
Co., 371 U.S. 505, 520 (1963). Obviously, as retailers
engaged in the sale of Volvo heavy trucks, the favored
Volvo dealers and Reeder competed on the same functional
level. See Eastern Auto Distributors v. Peugeot Motors
Amer., 795 F.2d 329, 335 (4th Cir. 1986). It is established
and recognized by overwhelming authority that once a
plaintiff makes a showing that it competes on the same
functional level, the next inquiry is whether the competi-
tors also compete in the same geographic territory — an
element beyond dispute in this case. Best Brands Beverage
v. Falstaff Brewing Corp., 842 F.2d 578, 585 (2d Cir. 1987).
The RPA says absolutely nothing about the concept that
the customers must be identical, nor is it found in any
legislative history of the Act. It is not surprising that
neither Volvo, nor Judge Hansen, in the dissent, cite any
authority directly requiring the secondary line purchasers
(Reeder and other Volvo dealers) be involved in a sale to

25

the exact same customer. The Eighth Circuit’s opinion
cannot possibly conflict with non-existent contrary author-
ity. In fact, the overwhelming authority holds that the
plaintiff needs to show only that the sales were “reasona-
bly contemporaneous.” See FTC v. Bordon Co., 383 U.S.
637, 643-44 (1966); Black Gold Ltd. v. Rockwool Indust.,
Inc., 729 F.2d 676, 683 (10th Cir. 1984); Zwicker v. J. L
Case Co., 596 F.2d 305, 309 (8th Cir. 1979); Capital Ford
Truck Sales, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 819 F. Supp. 1555,
1572 (N.D. Ga. 1992).

It has been repeatedly recognized that “determining
the presence or absence of functional competition between
purchasers of a commodity is simply a factual process
which focuses on whether these purchasers were directly
competing for resales among the same group of custom-
ers.” George Haug Co. v. Rolls Royce Motor Cars, Inc., 148
F.3d 136, 141 (2d Cir. 1998); see Texaco, Inc. v. Haus-
brouck, 496 U.S. 543, 554 (1990). The fact that Reeder and
other Volvo dealers were involved in competitive bidding
situations does not change the fact that they were con-
tinually after the same customer dollar from the same
group of customers — end users of heavy duty trucks. It
defies logic to impose a requirement of showing that
Reeder and another Volvo dealer must be attempting to
sell to the exact same customer, when accepted precedent
provides that the RPA is implicated when there are rea-
sonably contemporaneous sales (“exactly contemporane-
ous” sales are not required), and that the sales must
involve products of “like grade and quality” (not the
“same” product). Volvo's argument “writes out of the
statute the requirement of ‘reasonably contemporaneous
sales’ and ‘like grade and quality,’ and writes into the law a
requirement that the plaintiff prove ‘coincidental sales or

26

bids’ of the ‘exact same products.’ This Court has already
rejected the equivalent of [Volvo's] ‘equalization’ defense
outright.” James A. Pikl, The Myth of “Functional Avail-
ability” and the Robinson-Patman Act, 2002 Fed. Cts. L.
Rev. 1, p. 113, citing Texaco, Inc. v. Hausbrouck, 496 U.S.
543, 556-58 (1990).

Volvo essentially claims, without citation or authority,
that the RPA is simply inapplicable to all competitive
bidding situations. The problem with Volvo’s argument is
apparent when one considers the “meeting competition”
defense, which was available to Volvo at trial, but which
was rejected by the jury. The meeting competition defense
is established for the purpose of competitive bidding
situations, and allows a defendant such as Volvo to avoid
liability where it can show that its lower price “to any
purchaser or purchasers was eS a ee
an equally low price of a competitor ....” 15 U.S.C.
§ 13(b). If “actual competition” is defined so as to never
include the situation of competitive bidding, then the
“meeting competition” defense becomes mere legislative
surplusage. Clearly, the RPA actually addresses competi-
tive bidding situations by including the meeting competi-
tion defense.

Petitioner’s essential argument was also addressed in
Industrial Burner Systems, Inc. v. Maxon Corp., 275
F. Supp. 878, 886 (E.D. Mich. 2003), in which the court
criticized the case of M.C. Mfg. Co. v. Texas Foundries,
Inc., 517 F.2d 1059 (5th Cir. 1975), stating:

[T]his approach unnecessarily blends the “sepa-
rate purchaser” requirement found in the second
price discrimination factor, with the competitive
injury requirement found in the fourth factor.
More importantly, this interpretation overlooks
the practical impact of the competition in the

ee eee ee er 2 ee

ete tne Ne a Wed al wera GE the a cine nm 8S

27

bidding process — the relevant competitive market
— by focusing on the after-the-matter “purchase.”
In a bid-contract structure, this purchase is, for
the purposes of the competition for the bid, a sec-
ond symbolic purchase.

The Maxon court pointed out additional reasons for
distinguishing the M.C. Mfg. case, which are equally
applicable here, and importantly pointed out that the loss
to the unfavored purchaser is not limited to the situation
where such purchaser has made an after-the-matter
“purchase” of the components. See also Chroma Lighting v.
GTE Products Corp., 111 F.3d 653 (9th Cir. 1997), cert.
denied, 522 U.S. 943 (1997).

Petitioner's argument is premised entirely on the
unsupported assertion that “actual competition” means
that Reeder and the other Volvo dealers with which it
competes must be bidding for the same customer on the
same truck to trigger the Act’s protection. Any such re-
quirement would open a vast loophole in the RPA. It would
enable a manufacturer of any product to establish differ-
ent pricing schemes for different dealers, similarly situ-
ated, with impunity; so long as Dealer A (the disfavored -
dealer) could not point to customers who actually shopped
among those dealers — including both Dealer A and Dealer
B — and chose to buy a given unit from Dealer B who
received a lower price from the manufacturer, there would
be no RPA violation. The result would clearly be to lessen
competition, because Dealer A would be driven out of
business. Dealer A would be without customers, solely
because of the discriminatory pricing. Yet, according to
Volvo, all this is perfectly proper. But, as we have shown,
and as the Eighth Circuit correctly holds, this is not the

law.

28

This point is well made by James A. Pikl, The Myth of
“Functional Availability” and the Robinson-Patman Act,
2002 Fed. Cts. L. Rev. 1 (Jan. 2002), where the author

states:

Where price discrimination is allowed to take
place, suppliers who sell to retailers can dictate
which retailers get lower prices and which pay
higher prices. Over time, such favoritism will
eventually put the disfavored retailers out of
business, all the while harming the disfavored
buyers’ customers who are often paying higher
prices than they otherwise would. The disfavored
retailers go out of business because they cannot
forever resell at the same low price as the fa-
vored retailers. The market is then left with a

monopolist in charge of supply.
Id. at 17. That is exactly what Volvo seeks.

Ill. The Eighth Circuit’s Opinion Will Not Be
Harmful To Competition.

Petitioner argues that the effect of the decision in the
instant case will be to reduce competition and result in
higher prices because manufacturers will choose to estab-
lish uniform prices which will be higher than if they can
“selectively” discount their competitive bids. This argu-
ment conflicts with Volvo’s admission at trial, where
Volvo’s Vice-President of the Southeast Region said that
Volvo’s discounting methodology is used because it allows
Volvo to sell at a higher profit to someone who will pay
more. (Tr. 763) Volvo simply wants to be able to engage in
discriminatory pricing for the sake of its own profits — not
for “consumer welfare.” Nothing in the RPA or the Eighth
Circuit opinion prohibits a seller from offering its products
at different prices to different buyers, so long as the reason

29

for such difference is legitimate (e.g., “cost justification” or
meeting competition”).

| Volvo's final argument not only ignores the availabil-
ity of the “meeting competition” defense, but also seeks a
judicially active determination neutralizing the purpose
and intent of the RPA. Such would be contrary to the
division of labor between Congress and the Court.’ The

purpose of the RPA, as determined from legislative histo
has been described as follows: _ ° =

Now there are some people that think that in or-
der to have competition, you need a few competi-
tors. Not only do a few people think this, but this
is also the opinion of the people that wrote the
[Robinson-Patman] Act in the first place. The
Judiciary Committee report states: “Existing
laws [referring to the Sherman and Clayton Acts]
have been too restrictive in requiring a showing
of injury to competitive conditions in the line of
— involved; whereas the more immedi-
ately important concern is an inj to a com-
petitor victimized by the p wth ad tion. Only
through such injury, in fact, can the larger gen-
eral injury result and that is the key.” ... There
has to be some protection for competitors if, in
fact, you are going to have competition. Other-
wise, there’s nobody left to compete.

room Cohen, Let’s Retain It, 45 Antitrust Law J. 44, 48

+

* As noted by this Court in Texaco, Inc
, Inc. v. Hasbrouck, 496 U.S. 543,
—_ n.27 (1990): “Unlike scholarly commentators, we have a duty to be
aithful to congressional intent when interpreting statutes, and are not
free to consider whether, or how, the statute should be rewritten.”

30

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,
JOE D. BYARS, JR. EDWARD J. KIONKA
CHRISTIAN & BYARS Attorney at Law
Attorneys at Law 1150 Douglas Drive, MS 6804
502 Garrison Avenue Carbondale, Illinois 62901

Fort Smith, Arkansas 72902 Telephone: (618) 453-8755
Telephone: (479) 782-9147

February 2005

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0063%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
