# Exception — Sisson v. Helms

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0022%3A24

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Exception
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 846

## Text

Supreme Court of the Un

October Term, 199% me

STATE OF KANSAS, ees.
Plaintiff, ie
Vv.
STATE OF COLORADO,
Defendant,

- UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant-Intervenor.
>

COLORADO’S EXCEPTIONS TO THE SECOND
“REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASTER AND
BRIEF IN SUPPORT THEREOF
¢

Gate A. Norton
Attorney General of Colorado

MartTHA PHILurs ALLBRIGHT
Chief Deputy Attorney General

RicHARD A. WESTFALL
Solicitor General

JoserH C. Sm#n, Jr.
Deputy Attorney General

Caro. D. ANGEL
Senior Assistant Attorney General

Davip W. Rossins
Special Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

Dennis M. MONTGOMERY
Special Assistant Attorney General

Hn & Rossins, P.C.

1441 ~ 18th Street, #100
. Denver, Colorado 80202

Telephone: 303-296-8100

oon Pees seen
is ATE

eee

F

Weil miee

No. 105, Original
+

In The.
Supreme Court of the United States
‘October Term, 1997
¢
STATE OF KANSAS, -
Plaintiff,

STATE OF COLORADO,
. Defendant,
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Defendant-Intervenor.
e

COLORADO’S EXCEPTIONS TO THE ;
SECOND REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

— o

The State of Colorado respectfully files the following
exceptions to the Second Report of Special Master Arthur
L. Littleworth dated September 1997:

1. Colorado excepts to the Special Master’s recom-
mendation that if the remedy in this case includes money
damages, the 11th Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution does not preclude damages to the State of Kan-
sas from being based, in part, on losses incurred by water
users in Kansas.

2. Colorado excepts to the Special Master’s recom-
mendation that the unliquidated nature of Kansas’ claim

for damages does not bar the award of prejudgment QUESTIONS PRESENTED
interest. 1. Does the 11th Amendment to the U.S. Constitu-
Respectfully submitted, tion bar the State of Kansas from recovering damages

from the State of Colorado for losses sustained by indi-

Gate A. Norton | vidual water users in Kansas?
Attorney General of Colorado

MartTHA PHILLIPS ALLBRIGHT 2. Is the State of Kansas entitled to recover prejudg-
Chief Deputy Attorney General ment interest on unliquidated damages?

RicHArRD A. WESTFALL
Solicitor General

JoserH C. SmitnH, Jr.
Deputy Attorney General

Carot D. ANGEL
Senior Assistant Attorney General

Davip W. Rossins
Special Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

Dennis M. MONTGOMERY
Special Assistant Attorney General

Hitt & Rossins, P.C.

1441 — 18th Street, #100
Denver, Colorado 80202
Telephone: 303-296-8100

Attorneys for Defendant
State of Colorado

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .............-----00eeee: i
UO ov ca nccnccucdccsennectscccsocenteces 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE..................-+++- 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT................-.-++-- 6
GEG bh 0 cee ctcdddddancncseccancnsccnccassuc 7

I. THE 11TH AMENDMENT DOES NOT ALLOW
KANSAS TO RECOVER DAMAGES FROM
COLORADO FOR LOSSES SUFFERED BY INDI-
VIDUAL WATER USERS IN KANSAS......... 7

A. THE FACT THAT KANSAS HAS A RIGHT
TO SEEK RELIEF FOR INJURY TO ITS
QUASI-SOVEREIGN INTERESTS DOES
NOT GIVE IT THE RIGHT TO PRESENT
AND ENFORCE INDIVIDUAL CLAIMS OF
SE GE wo ccccesevcecenccessecceesce 9

B. THE SPECIAL MASTER’S RECOMMENDA-
TION IS BASED ON THE MISTAKEN
ASSUMPTION THAT THE 11TH AMEND-
MENT IS NOT A FACTOR IN THIS CASE.. 14

Il. PREJUDGMENT INTEREST SHOULD NOT BE
AWARDED ON KANSAS’ UNLIQUIDATED
CLAIM AGAINST COLORADO............... 24

Ill. THE SPECIAL MASTER’S RULINGS WILL
HAVE FAR-REACHING AND UNINTENDED
CSOD 0 cc ccccnccecceccccccescoeses 27

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Alfred L. Snapp & Son, Inc. v. Puerto Rico, 458 U.S.
ee Gc ccnccescescucctbassosdauoeds 13, 16, 20, 28
Atascadero State Hosp. v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234
SEU 5 00 Kednenvensavsaccudensessechesesecesonsns 22
Blatchford v. Native Village of Noatak, 501 U.S. 775
SE oo cc ceccackenececdcncsiccsecetstosdensocseces 8
California v. Frito-Lay, Inc., 474 F.2d 774 (9th Cir.
Pere esseecccctcekecnscsconsedessctvecbecseonses 27
City of Milwaukee v. Cement Div., National Gypsum
Sip Se Se BY Se ncccveenenedtesasdscceses 25

Connecticut v. Massachusetts, 282 U.S. 660 (1931) ..... 20
Funkhouser v. J.B. Preston Co., 290 U.S. 163 (1933) .... 25

General Motors Corp. v. Devex Corp., 461 U.S. 648

SPE ac becesnscnssbetadsceceseunacéeuccseenecéace 26
Georgia v. Tennessee Copper Co., 206 U.S. 230 (1907) ..9, 16
Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1 (1890) .................. 8
Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. 251 (1972)... passim
Hinderlider v. La Plata River & Cherry Creek Ditch

Ss See Ce en cue nceckscnsendasteseceés 24
Idaho v. Coeur d'Alene Tribe, __ U.S. __, 117 S.Ct.

2028, 138 L.Ed.2d 438 (1997).................0005- 18
In re Edmond, 934 F.2d 1304 (4th Cir. 1991)....... 27, 28

Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U.S. 46 (1907).............. 9, 17

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Kansas v. Colorado, 475 U.S. 1079 (1986) .............. 2
Kansas v. Colorado, 514 U.S. 675 (1995) ............5-. 3
Loeffler v. Frank, 486 U.S. 549 (1988)................. 26
Maine v. M/V Tamano, 357 F.Supp. 1097 (D. Main
ec cv cdendvccccocnediseusetevecnncedenbéssecens 27
Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981) ........ 13, 19
Monessen Southwestern R. Co. v. Morgan, 486 U.S.
Be ean nndocnsavedecdccecenecestccecsosseds 25
Nebraska v. Wyoming, 325 U.S. 589 (1945)............ 21

New Hampshire v. Louisiana, 108 U.S. 76 (1883)
90066660660 00s. 0bbE6eRb SeKetebedoenses 8, 9, 10, 17, 23

North Dakota v. Minnesota, 263 U.S. 365 (1923)... passim

Oklahoma ex rel. Johnson v. Cook, 304 U.S. 387
Th. javedubagentudueenshebdededieadaendsuduul 12, 17

Pennsylvania v. Porter, 659 F.2d 306 (3d Cir. 1981) ...27, 28
Pennsylvania v. West Virginia, 262 U.S. 553 (1923) .... 16

Pennsylvania v. New Jersey, 426 U.S. 660 (1976)....... 13
People ex rel. Abrams v. Seneci, 817 F.2d 1015 (2d
Ek DE cuvccudéuuececdennenaueeenancedonnuenosess 27

Petty v. Tennessee-Missouri Bridge Comm'n, 359 U.S.
BD Ge oc cesccccccsesecesceccessoseevesesesces 14

Port Authority Trans-Hudson Corp. v. Feeney, 495
US. 299 (1990) .... 22... cece cece eee ip inet eae 21

Principality of Monaco v. Mississippi, 292 U.S. 313

SEED o ccc cccceseesasenccesonscesoceeeecesocescests 8

|

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Satsky v. Paramount Communications, Inc., 7 F.3d
ee Ge GEE SE vo vdecccteuicécedcscicenacaes 28

Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. 609
GRU o due vivesvecéeskesnceuesdsssevesese 8, 18, 21, 23
South Dakota v. North Carolina, 192 U.S. 286 (1904) .... 23
Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554 (1983) ............ 29
Texas v. New Mexico, 482 U.S. 124 (1987) ........ passim
Texas v. New Mexico, 494 U.S. 111 (1990) ............ 18
Virginia v. West Virginia, 238 U.S. 202 (1915)......... 24
Wyoming v. Colorado, 259 U.S. 419 (1922) ............ 20
Wyoming v. Colorado, 286 U.S. 494 (1932) ......... 20, 24
Wyoming v. Colorado, 298 U.S. 573 (1936) ............ 20
Wyoming v. Colorado, 309 U.S. 572 (1940)............ 20

STATUTES, TREATISES, AND OTHER AUTHORITIES
United States Constitution, Article III, Section 2..12, 18

BRISA TOA ER 1
| er 26

Arkansas River Compact, Art. I(A), Art. VI(a)(1),
Art. IX-A (printed in Appendix); Act of May 31,
1949, Ch. 155, 63 Stat. 145 (1949) .................. 1

Gee CU, Des GE, BE GS noc cccccevecccscesccnces 8

Michael Malina & Michael D. Blechman, Parens
Patriae Suits for Treble Damages Under the Anti-
trust Laws, 65 N.W.U.L.Rev. 193 (1970)............ 16

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

State Protection of Its Economy and Environment, 6
Colum.J.L. & Soc. Probs. 411 (1970)............... 16

REFERENCES TO REPORTS OF SPECIAL MASTER
Report of Arthur L. Littleworth, Special Master

BE BOOED cc cccccces cecccvcccecccceeens 1, 2, 3, 4, 26
Second Report of Arthur L. Littleworth, Special
Master (September 1997)..............----045. passim

~

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF
COLORADO’S EXCEPTIONS TO THE SECOND
REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

The State of Colorado submits this brief in support of
its exceptions to the Second Report of Arthur L. Lit-
tleworth, Special Master.

JURISDICTION

The original jurisdiction of the Court was invoked by
the State of Kansas under Article III, Section 2, of the
United States Constitution and 28 U.S.C. § 1251(a)(1).

e —_

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is an action concerning enforcement of the 1949
Arkansas River Compact, an interstate compact appor-
tioning the waters of the Arkansas River between the
States of Colorado and Kansas.' In the decades following
adoption of the Compact, water users in both Colorado
and Kansas continued to develop waters of the Arkansas
River, primarily through increased well pumping. Report
of Arthur L. Littheworth, Special Master (July 1994)

1 The Compact was signed by Commissioners for Colorado
and Kansas on December 14, 1948, and became effective on May
31, 1949, after it was ratified by the legislature of each state and
consented to by Congress. Arkansas River Compact, Art. IX-A
(printed in Appendix); Act of May 31, 1949, Ch. 155, 63 Stat. 145
(1949).

(“First Report”) at 113-15, 304. In 1984, Kansas com-
plained for the first time about post-( ompact well devel-
opment in Colorado.? Id. at 155-50. ‘he Arkansas River
Compact Administration authorized an investigation in
March 1985, but the representatives could not agree on
how to conduct the investigation. Id., App. 51-55.

In December 1985, Kansas filed a motion for leave to
file a complaint against Colorado, which this Court
granted in 1986. Kansas v. Colorado, 475 U.S. 1079 (1986).
The case was bifurcated into a liability and a remedy
phase, and trial on the liability phase began in September
1990 and concluded in December 1992. First Report at
24-25, 28. Experts for Kansas developed a computer
model (the Kansas H-I Model) for the liability phase to
predict diversions of water from the Arkansas River
based on the Colorado priority system and crop
demands, storage and release of water from reservoirs,
consumption of water, return flows, and resulting stream
flows along a 150-mile reach of the Arkansas River from
Pueblo, Colorado, to the Colorado-Kansas Stateline. Id. at
229-34.

The Special Master filed his first Report with the
Court in July 1994 setting forth his conclusions and rec-
ommendations on the liability issues. The Special Master
recommended dismissal of Kansas’ winter water storage

2 Kansas submitted a report to the Arkansas River Compact
Administration concerning possible violations of the Arkansas
River Compact caused by post-Compact well development in
Colorado, the operation of a winter water storage program in
Colorado, and the operation of Trinidad Reservoir. First Report
at 153.

er eee

EL et

Sp nr

and Trinidad Reservoir claims, but found that post-Com-
pact well pumping in Colorado had caused material
depletions to usable Stateline flows in violation of the
Compact, although additional evidence was necessary to
quantify the amount of such depletions. First Report at
43, 263, 335-36. In its May 15, 1995 Opinion, the Court
overruled all exceptions to the first Report, affirmed the
Special Master’s recommendations, and remanded the
case to the Special Master for determination of unre-
solved issues in a manner not inconsistent with the
Court’s opinion. Kansas v. Colorado, 514 U.S. 675 (1995).

Following the Court’s decision, the Special Master set
hearings on two unresolved issues: evaluation of Colo-
rado’s efforts to comply with the Compact and quan-
tification of depletions to usable Stateline flows caused
by post-Compact well pumping in Colorado. Second
Report of Arthur L. Littleworth, Special Master (Septem-
ber 1997) (“Second Report”), App. 1-2. He also required
Kansas to file a statement of its position concerning a
remedy for violations of the Compact, indicating whether
Kansas sought damages in money, water, or a combina-
tion of both. Id., App. 2. Over the course of several
hearings, the Special Master heard testimony from the
Colorado State Engineer about Colorado’s efforts to com-
ply with the Compact. The Special Master described Col-
orado’s compliance efforts as showing “a most
impressive record” and “remarkable” progress. Id. at 47.

At the outset of the hearing scheduled in October
1995, Colorado and Kansas stipulated to the amount of
depletions for the 1950-85 period using the Kansas H-I
Model as it had been revised by the Kansas replacement
experts during the liability phase. Second Report at 11;

see First Report at 28-30, 236-54. It appeared that deple-
tions for the period 1986-94 could be determined rela-
tively easily by updating the data sets needed for the
model. Second Report at 12-13. However, in the course of
updating the model, the Kansas experts discovered
another deficiency — a deficiency which had been pointed
out by Colorado’s experts during the liability phase. Id. at
21-23. The Kansas experts made changes to the H-I
Modei, which Colorado’s experts criticized as selective
and which had the effect of increasing predicted deple-
tions to usable Stateline flows. Id. The nature of the
dispute and the Special Master’s recommendation on the
changes to the H-I Model are set forth in the Second
Report at 12-46. Although Colorado’s experts believe
there are deficiencies in the latest version of the H-I
Model accepted by the Special Master, id. at 38-41, Colo-
rado has not taken an exception to the Special Master’s
recommendation on depletions for the period 1986-94,
preferring instead to accept the Special Master’s invita-
tion to address deficiencies directly in future proceed-
ings. Id. at 37. .

In accordance with the Special Master’s order, Kan-
sas filed a statement of its position regarding a remedy.
Despite the difficulty in determining depletions to usable
Stateline flows during this case, despite the fact that
Kansas did not complain about a Compact violation until
1984, at the earliest, and despite the fact that the Special
Master found that Colorado’s actions were not deliberate
or willful, Second Report at 77-78, Kansas is seeking
money damages for depletions to usable Stateline flows
dating back to 1950, including losses suffered by individ-
ual water users in Kansas and prejudgment interest.

Rees

Colorado asked the Special Master to rule on legal
issues related to Kansas’ claim for money damages to
avoid the time and expense of preparing economic analy-
ses premised on irrelevant damages theories, as had
occurred after the Court's decision in Texas v. New Mexico,
482 U.S. 124 (1987), the first case to hold that money
damages could be awarded as a remedy for breach of an
interstate compact. See Second Report at 80-81. In addi-
tion, Colorado suggested that repayment of past deple-
tions to usable Stateline flows in water rather than money
might be a more equitable remedy, and that a water
remedy would avoid the difficult process of attempting to
determine money damages going back more than 45
years.

In his Second Report, the Special Master concludes
that a suitable remedy may be in terms of money dam-
ages or water and that evidence should be received on a
suitable remedy. Second Report at 72, 113 46. The Special
Master also concludes that if a suitable remedy in this
case should include money damages, the-damages should
be based on Kansas’ loss rather than on any gain by
Colorado, subject to the overriding consideration that the
remedy provide a fair and equitable solution. Id. at 75-84,
113 47. However, the Special Master concludes that if the
remedy includes money damages, the 11th Amendment
does not preclude damages to Kansas from being based,
in part, on losses incurred by its water users, subject to
overall considerations of fairness. Id. at 85-104, 113 48.
Finally, the Special Master concludes that, whether the
remedy includes money damages or repayment in water,
the unliquidated nature of Kansas’ claim does not bar an
award of prejudgment interest and that the possible

6

award of prejudgment interest will depend upon future
trial proceedings. Id. at 105-11, 113-14 49.

Colorado takes exception to these last two recom-
mendations.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Special Master has decided two important issues
of law applicable to controversies between states in a
manner inconsistent with this Court’s precedents and

policy.

First, the Special Master disregards this Court's deci-
sions on the nature of quasi-sovereignty and the protec-
tion afforded to states by the 11th Amendment, and
recommends that if the remedy in this case includes
money damages, Kansas may recover damages from Col-
orado for losses suffered by individual water users in
Kansas. This is directly contrary to the Court's decision in
North Dakota v. Minnesota, 263 U.S. 365 (1923), and is
unsupported by any of the Court’s cases.

Second, relying on a recent case in admiralty law, the
Special Master declines to follow the common-law rule
that prejudgment interest will not be awarded on unliqui-
dated damages, and has determined that prejudgment
interest is not precluded here. This case involves a good-
faith dispute over the effects of well pumping on the
flows at the Colorado-Kansas Stateline, effects which
were not readily apparent, and of which Kansas did not

SEL | Sen nn oh oo

complain until 35 years after the first injury occurred. It is
therefore a particularly inappropriate case for abandon-
ing the traditional rule disallowing prejudgment interest
on unliquidated damages.

Finally, both of the Special Master’s determinations
will have undesirable broader consequences. The Special
Master’s expansion of the concept of quasi-sovereignty
will lead to confusion and increase the risk of double
recoveries in other cases where a state represents its
quasi-sovereign interests. Further, the unprecedented and
unanticipated expansion of liability for breach of an inter-
state compact will discourage states from resolving their
differences through interstate compacts and will encour-
age litigation between states in this Court.

¢

ARGUMENT

I. THE 11TH AMENDMENT DOES NOT ALLOW
KANSAS TO RECOVER DAMAGES FROM COLO-
RADO FOR LOSSES SUFFERED BY INDIVIDUAL
WATER USERS IN KANSAS

The issue in this case is whether, in an original action
by one state against another for violation of an interstate
compact apportioning the waters of an interstate river,
the 11th Amendment permits the plaintiff state to recover
damages from the defendant state for losses suffered by
individual water users in the plaintiff state. This Court
has understood the 11th Amendment “to stand not so
much for what it says, but for the presupposition which it
confirms;” namely, that “federal jurisdiction over suits
against unconsenting States ‘was not contemplated by the

Constitution when establishing the judicial power of the
United States.’ ” Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida, 517
U.S. 609, __, 116 S.Ct. 1114, 1122, 134 L.Ed.2d 252, 265
(1996), quoting Blatchford v. Native Village of Noatak, 501
U.S. 775, 779 (1991), and Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1, 15
(1890).3 On the other hand, there is no dispute that the
framers of the Constitution intended that this Court
would have original jurisdiction over controversies
between states and that there would be a surrender of
state sovereign immunity to such actions. Principality of
Monaco v. Mississippi, 292 U.S. 313, 328 (1934); The Federal-
ist, No. 80, No. 81.

As the Special Master recognizes, this Court’s deci-
sions make it clear that if Kansas were suing to recover
damages which would be directly turned over to its citi-
zens, the claim would be barred by the 11th Amendment.
E.g., North Dakota v. Minnesota, 263 U.S. 365 (1923); New
Hampshire v. Louisiana, 108 U.S. 76 (1883); Second Report
at 90-91, 95. The Special Master distinguishes such cases
on the basis that the recovery in this instance would not
go to the individuals, but instead would be paid to Kan-
sas. Id. at 88-89. In Colorado’s view, the Special Master’s
conclusion circumvents the constitutional limitation
placed on federal jurisdiction by the 11th Amendment

3 The 11th Amendment states:

The Judicial power of the United States shall not be
construed to extend to any suit in law or equity,
commenced or prosecuted against one of the United
States by Citizens of another State, or by Citizens or
Subjects of any Foreign State.

and is based on a theory of sovereign trusteeship that has
been rejected in other cases.

A. THE FACT THAT KANSAS HAS A RIGHT TO
SEEK RELIEF FOR INJURY TO ITS QUASI-
SOVEREIGN INTERESTS VOES NOT GIVE IT
THE RIGHT TO PRESENT AND ENFORCE
INDIVIDUAL CLAIMS OF ITS CITIZENS.

Colorado recognizes that the Court has broad power
to fashion a fair and equitable remedy between the signa-
tory states for past violations of the Arkansas River Com-
pact; however, that power must be exercised within the
limits imposed by the Constitution. Allowing Kansas to
recover losses sustained by individual farmers, as the
Special Master recommends, Second Report at 103, would
circumvent the 11th Amendment and greatly expand the
concept of quasi-sovereignty.

It is well-settled that, in a case such as this, a state's
quasi-sovereign interests are sufficient to support juris-
diction and the issuance of injunctive relief. The interests
which Kansas is empowered to represent in this action,
however, are independent of the interests of individual
citizens. See, e.g., Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U.S. 46, 99 (1907);
Georgia v. Tennessee Copper Co., 206 U.S. 230, 237 (1907).

A state’s right to represent its quasi-sovereign inter-
ests in a controversy between states does not allow a state
to make claims on behalf of individual citizens. This has
been clear since New Hampshire v. Louisiana, 108 U.S. 76
(1883), where citizens of New Hampshire assigned their
claims on bonds issued by the State of Louisiana to the

10

State of New Hampshire for collection. The Court recog-
nized in that case that the 11th Amendment prevented
the citizens who owned bonds from bringing suit on their
own behalf against the State of Louisiana. 108 U.S. at 88.
Therefore, the Court said, “the real question” was
“whether a state can allow the use of its name in such a
suit for the benefit of one of its citizens.” Id. First, the
Court rejected the argument that a state could prosecute
such suits as sovereign trustee of its citizens. Id. at 89-90.
Second, the Court rejected the argument that the Consti-
tution granted states the right to prosecute the claims of
their citizens in the federal courts:

The evident purpose of the [11th] "Amendment,
so promptly proposed and finally adopted, was
to prohibit all suits against a State by or for
citizens of other States, or aliens, without the
consent of the State to be sued and, in our
opinion, one State cannot create a controversy
with another State, within the meaning of that
term as used in the judicial clauses of the Con-
stitution, by assuming the prosecution of debts
owing by the other State to its citizens. Such
being the case, we are satisfied that we are prohib-
ited, both by the letter and the spirit of the Constitu-
tion, from entertaining these suits, and the bill in
each of them is, consequently, dismissed.

108 U.S. at 91 (emphasis in original).

These principles were further developed in North
Dakota v. Minnesota, 263 U.S. 365 (1923), where a claim for
damages for losses to individuals was coupled with a
permissible claim by a state for injury to its quasi-sover-
eign interests. There, North Dakota sought both an

11

injunction and damages for flooding allegedly caused by
drainage ditches in Minnesota. The Court found that
North Dakota could seek an injunction against operation
of the Minnesota ditches:

[W]here one state by a change in its method of
draining water from lands within its border
increases the flow into an interstate stream, so
that its natural capacity is greatly exceeded and
the water is thrown upon the farms of another
state, the latter state has such an interest as quasi
sovereign in the comfort, health, and prosperity of
her farm owners that resort may be had to this
court for relief. It is the creation of a public
nuisance of simple type for which a state may
properly ask an injunction.

Id. at 374 (emphasis added). However, the Court held that
North Dakota could not recover damages for losses to its
inhabitants whose farms were flooded and whose crops
were lost:

North Dakota, in addition to an injunction,
seeks a decree against Minnesota for damages of
$5,000 for itself and of $1,000,000 for its inhabi-
tants whose farms were injured and whose
crops were lost. It is difficult to see how we can
grant a decree in favor of North Dakota for the
benefit of individuals against the state of Minne-
sota in view of the Eleventh Amendment to the
Constitution, which forbids the extension of the
judicial power of the United States to any suit in
law or equity prosecuted against any one of the
United States by citizens of another state or by
citizens and subjects of a foreign state.

12

.. . The right of a state as parens patriae to bring
suit to protect the general comfort, health, or prop-
erty rights of its inhabitants threatened by the pro-
posed or continued action of another state by prayer
for injunction is to be differentiated from its lost
power as a sovereign to present and enforce individ-
ual claims of its citizens as their trustee against a
sister state. For this reason the prayer for a
money decree for the damage done by the
floods of 1915 and 1916 to the farms of individ-
uals in the Bois de Sioux valley is denied for
lack of jurisdiction.

Id. at 374-76 (emphasis added).*

The Court has repeatedly reaffirmed the distinction
between proper parens patriae actions by states to vindi-
cate quasi-sovereign interests and improper attempts by
states to recover on claims of individual citizens. For
example, in Oklahoma ex rel. Johnson v. Cook, 304 U.S. 387
(1938)5, the Court dismissed Oklahoma’s attempt to
recover assets from out-of-state shareholders of an insol-
vent bank on behalf of depositors. Although the state had
assumed control of and title to the bank’s assets, the
Court found that the original jurisdiction proceeding was
not proper:

* The Court reviewed North Dakota’s request for an
injunction and for $5,000 in damages to the state on the merits,
and found that North Dakota had not proven that Minnesota
was responsible for the flooding. 263 U.S. at 388.

5 Oklahoma v. Cook dealt solely with the Court's jurisdiction
over cases in which a state is a party under Art. III, § 2, cl. 2. of
the U.S. Constitution and not with 11th Amendment immunity,
but the nature of the state’s interests is the same in either case.

13

To bring a case within that jurisdiction, it is not
enough that a State is plaintiff. Nor is it enough
that a State has acquired the legal title to a cause
of action against the defendant, where the
recovery is sought for the benefit of another
who is the real party in interest.

304 U.S. at 392. The Court recognized that a state could
invoke its original jurisdiction to vindicate quasi-sover-
eign interests:

But this principle does not go so far as to permit
resort to our original jurisdiction in the name of
the State but in reality for the benefit of particu-
lar individuals, albeit the State asserts an eco-
nomic interest in the claims and declares their
enforcement to be a matter of state policy.

304 US. at 394. A long line of cases recognizes this
important distinction. Alfred L. Snapp & Son, Inc. v. Puerto
Rico, 458 U.S. 592, 607 (1982); Maryland v. Louisiana, 451
U.S. 725, 745 n.21 (1981) (“[A]n original action between
two States only violates the Eleventh Amendment if the
plaintiff State is actually suing to recover for injuries to
specific individuals.”)®; Pennsylvania v. New Jersey, 426
U.S. 660, 665 (1976) (“[A] State has standing to sue only
when its sovereign or quasi-sovereign interests are impli-
cated and it is not merely litigating as a volunteer the
personal claims of its citizens.”); Hawaii v. Standard Oil

© Cf. 451 U.S. at 737 (“A State is not permitted to enter a
controversy as a nominal party in order to forward the claims of
individual citizens. But it may act as the representative of its
citizens in original actions where the injury alleged affects the
general population of a state in a substantial way.” (citations
omitted)).

14

Co., 405 U.S. 251, 258 n.12 (1972) (“An action brought by
one State against another violates the Eleventh Amend-
ment if the plaintiff State is actually suing to recover for
injuries to designated individuals.”). To allow Kansas to
recover damages for losses sustained by individual water
users in Kansas would create an unprecedented expan-
sion of the concept of quasi-sovereignty at the expense of
the 11th Amendment and the principle of sovereign
immunity.” :

B. THE SPECIAL MASTER’S RECOMMENDA-
TION IS BASED ON THE MISTAKEN
ASSUMPTION THAT THE 11TH AMEND-
MENT IS NOT A FACTOR IN THIS CASE.

Notwithstanding the above principles, the Special
Master concludes that the 11th Amendment is not a bar-
rier to recovery of damages by Kansas for injuries suf-
fered by individual farmers in Kansas based on the
“fundamental rule” that, once the Court accepts a case
between states as involving sovereignty or quasi-sover-
eignty, “the 11th Amendment is not a factor.” Second
Report at 103. This “rule” misinterprets the Court's prior
decisions, which recognize that a state’s complaint may
raise both proper proprietary or quasi-sovereign claims
and improper claims for the benefit of individuals in one

? There has been no suggestion that Colorado waived its
sovereign immunity to claims by individual water users for
violation of the Compact. Cf. Petty v. Tennessee-Missouri Bridge
Comm'n, 359 U.S. 275 (1950). Indeed, the premise of the Special
Master’s recommendation is that individual water users have
no remedy.

ra

15

action. For example, North Dakota raised both an
improper claim for damages to individual farmers and a
proper quasi-sovereign claim for injunctive relief to pre-
vent flooding; the Court dismissed the first claim and
considered the merits of the second. North Dakota v. Min-
nesota, 263 U.S. 365, 374-76 (1923). Hawaii raised an
improper claim for economic damages to its citizens and
a proper claim for economic damages to its proprietary
interests, both based on the same monopolistic activities;
the Court dismissed the first and allowed the second to
proceed. Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. at 262-64. The
issue of jurisdiction (resolved by the Court’s granting of
Kansas’ motion for leave to file its complaint in this case)
is separate from the issue of remedies, still to be resolved.
This Court’s two-sentence order granting the motion for
leave to file the complaint cannot be read as approving,
sight unseen, any conceivable remedy Kansas might later
request as part of a “proper original action.”

The Special Master gives four reasons for rejecting
Colorado’s argument: (1) the nature of quasi-sovereignty;
(2) the Court’s statements in Texas v. New Mexico, 482 US.
124 (1987); (3) the Laramie River decisions, which used
individual water rights as the basis for an interstate
apportionment; and (4) the lack of any other remedy for
Kansas water users. Second Report at 100-104. Colorado
will deal with each of them in turn.

The Special Master first states that Colorado’s argu-
ment is inconsistent with the basic concept of quasi-
sovereignty because “[q]luasi-sovereignty throws the
mantle of the state itself over the area and people
involved in order to permit a general recovery for them,
albeit the recovery is payable to the state itself.” Second

16

Report at 101 (emphasis added). This misapprehends the
nature of quasi-sovereignty. This Court has made it clear
that the concept “does not involve the State stepping in to
represent the interests of particular citizens who, for
whatever reason, cannot represent themselves.” Alfred L.
Snapp & Son, Inc. v. Puerto Rico, 458 U.S. 592, 600 (1982)8;
North Dakota v. Minnesota, 263 U.S. at 376. Rather, to have
parens patriae standing, the state must assert injury to its
quasi-sovereign interests, Snapp, 458 U.S. at 601, which
have consistently been described as “apart from the inter-
ests of particular private parties,” id. at 607, “apart from
that of the individuals affected,” Pennsylvania v. West
Virginia, 262 U.S. 553, 592 (1923), and “independent of
and behind the titles of [a state’s] citizens.” Snapp, 458
U.S. at 604, quoting Georgia v. Tennessee Copper Co., 206
U.S. 230, 237 (1907).9

® Snapp involved the question of a state (or
commonwealth’s) standing to bring a parens patriae action in
federal district court. The Court recognized that “a more
circumspect inquiry may be required” into such an issue in
original jurisdiction cases between states, to ensure that the 11th
Amendment was not “too easily circumvented.” 458 U.S. at 611
(Brennan, J., concurring); see also id. at 603 n.12.

* The nature of the concept of parens patriae and the
distinction between damages to the state’s parens patriae interest
and citizens’ individual rights is discussed in two excellent law
review articles, Michael Malina & Michael D. Blechman, Parens
Patriae Suits for Treble Damages Under the Antitrust Laws, 65
N.W.U.L.Rev. 193 (1970), and State Protection of Its Economy and
Environment, 6 Colum.J.L. & Soc. Probs. 411 (1970), both of
which are cited in Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. at 257.
Both articles persuasively demonstrate that a state’s parens
patriae interest is separate from the individual rights of its
citizens, although quantification of damages to the state’s quasi-
sovereign interest may be difficult.

17

The interest which Kansas represents in this action is
its quasi-sovereign “interest as a state in this large tract of
land bordering on the Arkansas river. Its prosperity
affects the general welfare of the state.” Kansas v. Colo-
rado, 206 U.S. 46, 99 (1907). A state’s right to present its
quasi-sovereign interest is distinct from its foregone sov-
ereign right to present its citizens’ individual claims as
assignee or trustee. Oklahoma ex rel. Johnson v. Cook, 304
U.S. at 392-93; North Dakota v. Minnesota, 263 U.S. at
374-76; New Hampshire v. Louisiana, 108 U.S. at 91. Inter-
preting quasi-sovereignty to allow Kansas to recover for
losses to individual farmers in Kansas would eliminate
the distinction drawn by the Court between allowable
quasi-sovereign representation and improper sovereign
trusteeship.

The Special Master’s unprecedented definition of
quasi-sovereignty also ignores the difference between
injunctive relief and damages. The overwhelming major-
ity of this Court’s decisions on quasi-sovereignty have
concerned claims for injunctive relief. As this Court has
noted, “[O]ne injunction is as effective as 100; .. . 100
injunctions are no more effective than one.” Hawaii v.
Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. at 261. The fact that this Court
has approved injunctions to vindicate states’ quasi-sover-
eign interests which also may have benefited private
individuals does not support stretching the mantle of
quasi-sovereignty to include recovery of damages for
injuries to private individuals.

Second, the Special Master states that “the key case
on this subject, Texas v. New Mexico, 482 U.S. 124 (1987),
speaks broadly of providing a remedy for past breaches
[of an interstate compact].” Second Report at 101. The

18

Special Master also relies heavily on the Court's state-
ment in Texas v. New Mexico that, “[iJn proper original
actions, the Eleventh Amendment is no barrier, for by its
terms, it applies only to suits by citizens against a State.”
Second Report at 102, quoting Texas v. New Mexico, 482
U.S. at 130 (emphasis added). That case, however, simply
determined for the first time that money damages could
be awarded as a remedy for past breaches of an interstate
compact. The Court’s ruling that money damages could
be awarded as a remedy did not address the particular

elements which could be included in the calculation of —

such damages; that was left to the special master in that
case to determine, id. at 132, and was ultimately resolved
by a consent decree. Texas v. New Mexico, 494 U.S. 111
(1990). The Court’s broad statement of its “complete judi-
cial power” to resolve disputes among the states under
the Constitution must therefore be read in light of its
continuing recognition that the 11th Amendment limits
the grant of judicial power under Article III of the Consti-
tution. Idaho v. Coeur d'Alene Tribe, __U.S. __, __, 117
S.Ct. 2028, 2033, 138 L.Ed.2d 438, 447 (1997); Seminole
Tribe of Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. at __, 116 S.Ct. at 1127,
134 L.Ed.2d at 271; Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. at
258-59 n.12 and cases cited therein. The Special Master’s
reasoning confuses the power to resolve disputes
between states with the power to resolve disputes
between private individuals and states, which is con-
strained by the 11th Amendment.

The Special Master also relies on the Court's state-
ment (in response to the argument that money damages
would not benefit the actual injured parties) that “the
State should recover any damages that may be awarded.”

19

Second Report at 89, quoting Texas v. New Mexico, 482 U.S.
at 132 n.7.!° By referring to “any damages that may be
awarded,” the Court did not determine that Texas could
recover damages for losses suffered by individual
farmers. Rather, it simply recognized that any damages
that Texas recovered for its representation of the “general
public interest,” id., could be spent by Texas as it saw
fit."

10 The Court’s statement was made in the following
context:

Texas counsel suggested that a money judgment
might find its way into the general coffers of the State,
rather than benefit those who were hurt. But the basis
on which Texas was permitted to bring this original
action is that enforcement of the Compact was of such
general public interest that the sovereign State was a
proper plaintiff. See Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S.
725, 735-739 (1981). It is wholly consistent with that
view that the State should recover any damages that
may be awarded, money it would be free to spend in
the way it determines is in the public interest.

482 U.S. at 132 n.7.

11 It would be a strange interpretation of the 11th
Amendment to allow a state to recover money damages for
losses suffered by individuals only if it decides to keep the
money in the state coffers rather than aiding the injured
individuals. Such an interpretation would also be inconsistent
with the determination in Texas v. New Mexico that the state
“would be free to spend [the money] in the way it determines is
in the public interest.” 482 U.S. at 132 n.7. Therefore, the
applicability of the 11th Amendment must depend not on how
the state ultimately spends any damages it may recover, but on
the nature and origin of the claims on which damages are based.

20

Third, the Special Master reads the Court’s Laramie
River decisions!? as doing “exactly what Colorado now
says it cannot do” because the equitable apportionment
of the Laramie River was based on the prior appropria-
tions of individual water users. Second Report at 94. The

Laramie River cases, however, are consistent with the -

concept of quasi-sovereignty described above. Although
the states’ apportionments were based on use by their
respective water users, they were not the same as those
individual claims.'3 The final decision made this clear by
stating that the apportionment “determine[d] only the
relative rights of the two States,” Wyoming v. Colorado, 309
U.S. 572, 575 (1940), and that each state could determine
in-state uses according to its own laws. Id. at 579-81; see
also Connecticut v. Massachusetts, 282 U.S. 660, 670 (1931).
Thus, the states’ apportionments were “independent of
and behind,” see Snapp, 458 U.S. at 604, those of their
water users.

If the states’ quasi-sovereign interests in the waters
of an interstate stream were simply based on the aggrega-
tion of their citizens’ rights, the Court could not have
declared:

Apportionment calls for the exercise of an
informed judgment on a consideration of many
factors. Priority of appropriation is the guiding

12 Wyoming v. Colorado, 259 U.S. 419 (1922); Wyoming v.
Colorado, 286 U.S. 494 (1932); Wyoming v. Colorado, 298 U.S. 573
(1936); Wyoming v. Colorado, 309 U.S. 572 (1940).

13 The Court held that, as between two states that followed
the prior appropriation doctrine, priority of use should be the
primary basis for determining the relative rights of the states.
Wyoming v. Colorado, 259 U.S. at 470.

—

21

principle. But physical and climatic conditions,
the consumptive use of water in the several
sections of the river, the character and rate of
return flows, the extent of established uses, the
availability of storage water, the practical effect
of wasteful uses on downstream areas, the dam-
age to upstream areas as compared to-the bene-
fits to downstream areas if a limitation is
imposed on the former — these are all relevant
factors. They are merely an illustrative, not an
exhaustive catalogue. They indicate the nature
of the problem of apportionment and the deli-
cate adjustment of interests which must be
made.

Nebraska v. Wyoming, 325 U.S. 589, 618 (1945).

The Arkansas River Compact does not change the
nature of Kansas’ quasi-sovereign interest in this case.
The Compact settles disputes “between the states of Colo-
rado and Kansas, and between the citizens of one and
citizens of the other state, ...” Arkansas River Compact,
Article I(A). It does not purport to resolve disputes
between the citizens of Kansas and the State of Colorado,
and the 11th Amendment embodies “the background
principle of state sovereign immunity” which precludes
such claims. Seminole Tribe, 517 U.S. at __, 116 S.Ct. at
1131, 134 L.Ed.2d at 276-77.'4 Any waiver of such immu-
nity must be clearly expressed. See Port Authority Trans-

14 See also Seminole Tribe, 517 U.S. at ___ n.13, 116 S.Ct. at
1140 n.13, 134 L.Ed.2d at 288 n.13 (Stevens, J., dissenting) (11th
Amendment designed primarily to prevent states from being
sued for debt collection).

22

Hudson Corp. v. Feeney, 495 U.S. 299, 305 (1990).'5 Further,
the fact that Colorado’s proposed water remedy may
benefit water users in Kansas does not somehow give
Kansas the right to recover damages from Colorado for
losses suffered by water users in Kansas. Water would be
delivered to Kansas.'© Delivery to, and benefits to, Kansas
water users are matters left to Kansas. Arkansas River
Compact, Article VI(A)(1). This is simply an instance in
which equitable relief obtained by a state in its quasi-
sovereign capacity may benefit private individuals.

Fourth, the Special Master states that Kansas is the
signatory to the Arkansas River Compact and the only
party that can sue to protect the Stateline flows guaran-
teed for use by Kansas water users under the Compact.
Second Report at 103. He concludes that Kansas “would
be a feeble representative” if it could not recover dam-
ages for losses suffered by individual farmers. Id.

The Special Master’s reasoning elevates equitable
considerations above the principle of state sovereign

15 The Court will give effect to a State’s waiver of
Eleventh Amendment immunity only where stated by
the most express language or by such overwhelming
implication from the text as will leave no room for
any other reasonable construction.

Id., quoting Atascadero State Hosp. v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234, 239
(1985) (quotation marks omitted).

16 The Court said in Texas v. New Mexico that delivering
more water to make up shortfalls “has all the earmarks of
specific performance, an equitable remedy that requires some
attention to the relative benefits and burdens that the parties
may enjoy or suffer as compared with a legal remedy in
damages.” Texas v. New Mexico, 482 U.S. at 131.

23

immunity embodied in the 11th Amendment, which pre-
vents individual farmers from recovering damages from
Colorado. See Seminole Tribe, 517 U.S. at __, 116 S.Ct. at
1131-32, 134 L.Ed.2d at 276-77. The fact that those claims
are barred does not allow Kansas to recover those losses.
New Hampshire v. Louisiana, 108 U.S. at 91. Rather, it is the
Special Master who disregards the fundamental principle
that “[a]n action brought by one state against another
violates the Eleventh Amendment if the plaintiff State is
actually suing to recover for injuries to designated indi-
viduals.” Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. at 258-59
n.12. The Special Master’s reasoning would make Kansas
a sovereign trustee, able to recover for injuries to individ-
uals when those individuals cannot.

The Special Master restates, and implicitly accepts,
Kansas’ argument that “under the compact a state and its
citizens are treated as one.” Second Report at 99. If Kan-
sas actually owned the water rights which its water users
exercise, the Special Master’s decision might fit within
the reasoning of South Dakota v. North Carolina, 192 U.S.
286 (1904), in which South Dakota was allowed to recover
on North Carolina bonds which were “given outright and
absolutely to the state.” Id. at 310. But the assumption
that Kansas’ rights under the Compact and the water
rights of individual Kansas water users are identical is
erroneous and unsupported. There has certainly been no
outright transfer of rights, as there was in South Dakota v.
North Carolina. Neither the Special Master nor Kansas has
pointed to any language in the Compact which effects
such a transfer of rights; nor do this Court’s previous
decisions support such an assumption. To say that private

24

water rights may be circumscribed by a state’s overarch-
ing compact apportionment, see Hinderlider v. La Plata
River & Cherry Creek Ditch Co., 304 U.S. 92, 106 (1938), or
that a state’s compact apportionment may be based on or
even “indissolubly linked” to private water rights, see
Wyoming v. Colorado, 286 U.S. at 508, is not to say that the
two are identical.

The inclusion of losses to individuals in Kansas’
recovery is unprecedented and contrary to the 11th
Amendment. Colorado respectfully urges the Court to
grant Colorado’s exception to the Special Master’s recom-
mendation.

Il. PREJUDGMENT INTEREST SHOULD NOT BE
AWARDED ON KANSAS’ UNLIQUIDATED
CLAIM AGAINST COLORADO

Kansas argued that an award of prejudgment interest
is necessary to provide complete compensation for inju-
ries resulting from Colorado’s violation of the Compact.
Second Report at 105. Colorado opposed such an award
on the grounds that Kansas did not complain about a
compact violation until 1984 at the earliest, that thereafter
there was a good-faith dispute over compact compliance,
and that the amount of any depletion was not readily
ascertainable. See id. at 105-06. Colorado noted that the
common law rule is that prejudgment interest is not
awarded on unliquidated damages and that prejudgment
interest had not been awarded on judgments in cases
between states, absent a clear obligation to pay prejudg-
ment interest. E.g., Virginia v. West Virginia, 238 U.S. 202,
234-35 (1915).

25

The Special Master concludes that if the remedy here
includes money damages, the unliquidated nature of
Kansas’ claim does not, as a matter of law, bar an award
of prejudgment interest. Second Report at 110. In reach-
ing this conclusion, the Special Master relies heavily on
the Court’s recent decision in City of Milwaukee v. Cement
Div., National Gypsum Co., 515 U.S. 189 (1995), and on
cases which involved statutory awards of prejudgment
interest.

As the Special Master acknowledges, City of Mil-
waukee was an admiralty case, where the general rule has
been to allow prejudgment interest. Second Report at 108.
He cites the Court’s observation that the distinction
between liquidated and unliquidated claims “has faced
trenchant criticism for a number of years.” Id. at 106,
citing City of Milwaukee, 515 U.S. at 197. However, the
cases cited by the Court as examples of “trenchant criti-
cism” involved awards of prejudgment interest granted
pursuant to statutory provisions. For example, Funkhouser
v. J.B. Preston Co., 290 U.S. 163 (1933), simply determined
that a New York statute providing for prejudgment inter-
est was not an unconstitutional impairment of contracts.
While there has been a trend in recent years to allow
prejudgment interest on unliquidated claims, that trend
has been primarily the result of legislative action. Cf.
Monessen Southwestern R. Co. v. Morgan, 486 U.S. 330, 339
(1988) (denying prejudgment interest in FELA claims
because of congressional inaction to change longstanding
common law rule).

The Court has found prejudgment interest to be
appropriate to effectuate the purpose of federal remedial
schemes, which typically include detailed enforcement

26

provisions, including time limits for bringing claims. See,
e.g., Loeffler v. Frank, 486 U.S. 549 (1988) (approving pre-
judgment interest in sex discrimination case against U.S.
Postal Service); 42 U.S.C. §2000e-16(c) (imposing time
limit for bringing such claims). Statutory provisions pro-
viding for prejudgment interest have also been accom-
panied by legislative changes placing other limits on
liability. See General Motors Corp. v. Devex Corp., 461 U.S.
648, 654-55 (1983) (noting that 1946 change in patent
infringement law providing for prejudgment interest con-
tained corresponding change eliminating recovery of
infringer’s profits).'7

As the Special Master recognizes, “Kansas’ claim for
damages in this case certainly represents an unliquidated
claim.” Second Report at 110. Colorado’s violation of the
Compact was not willful or deliberate, First Report at 169,
Second Report at 77-78, 80, and determining material
depletions of usable Stateline flows due to wells “is not
simple.” First Report at 161. This Court found that the
“vague and conflicting evidence” concerning well deple-
tions excused Kansas’ failure to raise its claims for 35
years. Kansas v. Colorado, 514 U.S. at 688. Given these facts
and the lack of a time limitation on actions for violation
of an interstate compact, this is not a case in which to cast
aside the traditional rule against awarding prejudgment
interest on unliquidated claims.

17 General Motors Corp. also recited the common law
standard (which the Court would presumably have followed in
the absence of a statutory change), under which “prejudgment
interest could not be awarded where damages were
unliquidated absent bad faith or other exceptional
circumstances.” 461 U.S. at 653.

27

III. THE SPECIAL MASTER’S RULINGS WILL HAVE
FAR-REACHING AND UNINTENDED CONSE-
QUENCES

As Colorado has explained above, the Special Mas-
ter’s ruling on recovery of damages for losses by individ-
uals creates an unprecedented expansion of the concept
of quasi-sovereignty. The Special Master’s rulings also
have the potential to encourage interstate litigation, to
discourage the resolution of interstate disputes through
mutual accommodation and agreement, and to increase
the risk of double recoveries.

The award of money damages for breach of an inter-
state compact equitably apportioning an interstate stream
is a relatively new concept. Texas v. New Mexico is the only
case of which Colorado is aware where the award of such
damages was approved, and the scope of damages was
not ruled on, but resolved by consent decree. As this
Court has noted, “there is a striking contrast between the
potential impact of suits for injunctive relief and suits for
damages.” Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. at 262.
However, parens patriae actions by states to vindicate
quasi-sovereign interests are being brought with increas-
ing frequency in the lower courts against defendants
other than states. See, e.g., In re Edmond;934 F.2d 1304 (4th
Cir. 1991); People ex rel. Abrams v. Seneci, 817 F.2d 1015 (2d
Cir. 1987); Pennsylvania v. Porter, 659 F.2d 306 (3d Cir.
1981); California v. Frito-Lay, Inc., 474 F.2d 774 (9th Cir.
1973); Maine v. M/V Tamano, 357 F.Supp. 1097 (D. Maine
1973). Parens patriae actions do not depend on whether
individuals are foreclosed from separate recovery, but
whether the state has an independent interest behind the

28

titles or interests of its citizens. See Pennsylvania v. Porter,
659 F.2d at 318 n.16, and cases cited therein.

Because the 11th Amendment is not a factor in such
cases, careful application of the concept of quasi-sover-
eignty is necessary to avoid the risk of double recoveries.
Unless this Court corrects it, the Special Master’s fusion
of states’ quasi-sovereign interests with the private inter-
ests of their citizens will confuse the distinction between
the two and increase the risk of double recoveries. Fol-
lowing the Special Master’s reasoning, states may bring
parens patriae actions for damages to individuals for civil
rights violations, see Porter, for employment discrimina-
tion, see Snapp, or in bankruptcy proceedings, see Edmond;
yet defendants may remain subject to suits by individuals
to recover for the identical injuries.

Further, even a state which did not intend to recover
for its citizens’ injuries would have to be extremely care-
ful in circumscribing its environmental enforcement pro-
ceedings, so that defendants would not be able to use
judgments by the state to foreclose claims by individuals
for damages to their private property. See Satsky v. Para-
mount Communications, Inc., 7 F.3d 1464 (10th Cir. 1993)
(because of nature of parens patriae representation, pre-
vious state judgment against polluter for natural

resources damages did not foreclose claims by individ- _

uals for damages to private property).

More troublesome are the implications of the Special
Master’s recommendations for the formation of interstate
compacts. The Special Master’s recommendations expand
the effect of the Arkansas River Compact beyond its

29

terms and subject Colorado to potentially enormous dam-
ages for a violation which was not apparent for 35 years,
which was not deliberate or willful, and for which no
statute of limitations has been recognized. This Court has

repeatedly encouraged states to resolve controversies

through compacts rather than by resort to litigation in
this Court, see Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554, 575
(1983), and cases cited therein; yet the Special Master’s
recommendation may make states hesitate to enter into
compacts when the consequences of a non-deliberate,
non-willful breach may be enormous.

Further, the Special Master’s recommendations will
encourage litigation between states in this Court by open-
ing the door to recovery for losses to individuals (includ-
ing prejudgment interest on such losses) that would be
barred by the 11th Amendment if brought by the individ-
uals themselves. The Special Master’s recommendations
also create a financial incentive for delay in enforcing
interstate compacts. Rather than redressing injuries
through prompt investigation or enforcement, a state may
sit back, say nothing, and then decades later reap profits
by converting individuals’ injuries to a state recovery.

Colorado respectfully requests that the Court correct
the Special Master’s recommendations on money dam-
ages based on losses incurred by water users in Kansas
and on the applicability of prejudgment interest.

30

Respectfully submitted this 20th day of November,

1997.

Gate A. Norton
Attorney General of Colorado

MartTHA PuHILuips ALLBRIGHT
Chief Deputy Attorney General

RicHArRD A. WESTFALL
Solicitor General

JoserH C. Sort, Jr.
Deputy Attorney General

Caro. D. ANGEL
Senior Assistant Attorney General

Hut & Rossins, P.C.

Davip W. Rossins

Special Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

Dennis M. MONTGOMERY

Special Assistant Attorney General
1441 - 18th Street, #100

Denver, Colorado 80202
Telephone: 303-296-8100

Attorneys for Defendant
State of Colorado

App. 1

ARKANSAS RIVER COMPACT, 1948

The State of Colorado and the State of Kansas, parties
signatory to this Compact (hereinafter referred to as
“Colorado” and “Kansas”, respectively, or individually as
a “State”, or collectively as the “States”) having resolved
to conclude a compact with respect to the waters of the
Arkansas River, and being moved by considerations of
interstate comity, having appointed commissioners as fol-
lows: “Henry C. Vidal, Gail L. Ireland, and Harry B.
Mendenhall, for Colorado; and George S. Knapp, Edward
F. Arn, William E. Leavitt, and Roland H. Tate, for Kan-
sas”; and the consent of the Congress of the United States
to negotiate and enter into an interstate compact not later
than January 1, 1950, having been granted by Public Law
34, 79th Congress, 1st Session, and pursuant thereto the
President having designated Hans Kramer as the repre-
sentative of the United States, the said commissioners for
Colorado and Kansas, after negotiations participated in
by the representatives of the United States, have agreed
as follows:

ARTICLE I

The major purposes of this Compact are to:

A. Settle existing disputes and remove causes of
future controversy between the States of Colorado and
Kansas, and between citizens of one and citizens of the
other State, concerning the waters of the Arkansas River
and their control, conservation and utilization for irriga-
tion and other beneficial purposes.

App. 2

B. Equitably divide and apportion between the
States of Colorado and Kansas the waters of the Arkansas
River and their utilization as well as the benefits arising
from the construction, operation and maintenance by the
United States of John Martin Reservoir Project for water
conservation purposes.

ARTICLE II

The provisions of this Compact are based on (1) the
physical and other conditions peculiar to the Arkansas
River and its natural drainage basin, and the nature and
location of irrigation and other developments and facili-
ties in connection therewith; (2) the opinion of the United
States Supreme Court entered December 6, 1943, in the
case of Colorado v. Kansas (320 U.S. 383) concerning the
relative rights of the respective States in and to the use of
waters of the Arkansas River; and (3) the experience
derived under various interim executive agreements
between the two States apportioning the waters released
from the John Martin Reservoir as operated by the Corps
of Engineers.

ARTICLE III
As used in this Compact:

A. The word “Stateline” means the geographical
boundary line between Colorado and Kansas.

B. The term “waters of the Arkansas River” means
the waters originating in the natural drainage basin of the
Arkansas River, including its tributaries, upstream from

App. 3
the Stateline, and excluding waters brought into the
Arkansas River Basin from other river basins.

C. The term “Stateline flow” means the flow of
waters of the Arkansas River as determined by gaging
stations located at or near the Stateline. The flow as
determined by such stations, whether located in Colorado
or Kansas, shall be deemed to be the actual Stateline flow.

D. “John Martin Reservoir Project” is the official
name of the facility formerly known as Caddoa Reservoir
Project, authorized by the Flood Control Act of 1936, as
amended, for construction, operation and maintenance by
the War Department, Corps of Engineers, later designated
as the Corps of Engineers, Department of the Army, and
herein referred to as the “Corps of Engineers”. “John
Martin Reservoir” is the water storage space created by
“John Martin Dam”.

E. The “flood control storage” is that portion of the
total storage space in John Martin Reservoir allocated to
flood control purposes.

F. The “conservation pool” is that portion of the
total storage space in John Martin Reservoir lying below
the flood control storage.

G. The “ditches of Colorado Water District 67” are
those ditches and canals which divert water from the
Arkansas River or its tributaries downstream from John
Martin Dam for irrigation use in Colorado.

H. The term “river flow” means the sum of the
flows of the Arkansas and the Purgatoire Rivers into John
Martin Reservoir as determined by gaging stations appro-
priately located above said Reservoir.

App. 4

I. The term “the Administration” means the
Arkansas River Compact Administration established
under Article VIII.

ARTICLE IV
Both States recognize that:

A. This Compact deals only with the waters of the
Arkansas River as defined in Article III.

B. This Compact is not concerned with the rights, if
any, of the State of New Mexico or its citizens in and to
the use in New Mexico of waters of Trinchera Creek or
other tributaries of the Purgatoire River, a tributary of the
Arkansas River.

C. (1) John Martin Dam will be operated by the
Corps of Engineers to store and release the waters of the
Arkansas River in and from John Martin Reservoir for its
authorized purposes.

(2) The bottom of the flood control storage is
presently fixed by the Chief of Engineers, U.S. Army, at
elevation 3,851 feet above mean sea level. The flood con-
trol storage will be operated for flood control purposes
and to those ends will impound or regulate the stream-
flow volumes that are in excess of the then available
storage capacity of the conservation pool. Releases from
the flood control storage may be made at times and rates
determined by the Corps of Engineers to be necessary or
advisable without regard to ditch diversion capacities or
requirements in either or both States.

(3) The conservation pool will be operated for
the benefit of water users in Colorado and Kansas, both

App. 5

upstream and downstream from John Martin’ Dam, as
provided in this Compact. The maintenance of John Mar-
tin Dam and appurtenant works may at times require the
Corps of Engineers to release water then impounded in
the conservation pool or to prohibit the storage of water
therein until such maintenance work is completed. Flood
control operation may also involve temporary utilization
of conservation storage.

D. This Compact is not intended to impede or pre-
vent future beneficial development of the Arkansas River
basin in Colorado and Kansas by Federal or State agen-
cies, by private enterprise, or by combinations thereof,
which may involve construction of dams, reservoir, and
other works for the purpose of water utilization and
control, as well as the improved or prolonged functioning
of existing works: Provided, that the waters of the
Arkansas River, as defined in Article III, shall not be
materially depleted in usable quantity or availability for
use to the water users in Colorado and Kansas under this
Compact by such future development or construction.

ARTICLE V

Colorado and Kansas hereby agree upon the follow-
ing basis of apportionment of the waters of the Arkansas
River:

A. Winter storage in John Martin Reservoir shall
commence on November Ist of each year and continue to
and include the next succeeding March 31st. During said
period all water entering said reservoir up to the limit of
the then available conservation capacity shall be stored:
Provided, that Colorado may demand releases of water

App. 6

equivalent to the river flow, but such releases shall not
exceed 100 c.f.s. (cubic feet per second) and water so
released shall be used without avoidable waste.

B. Summer storage in John Martin Reservoir shall
commence on April Ist of each year and continue to and
include the next succeeding October 31st. During said
period, except when Colorado water users are operating
under decreed priorities as provided in paragraphs F and
G of this Article, all water entering said reservoir up to
the limit of the then available conservation capacity shall
be stored: Provided, that Colorado may demand releases
of water equivalent to the river flow up to 500 c.f.s., and
Kansas may demand releases of water equivalent to that
portion of the river flow between 500 c.f.s. and 750 c.f.s.,
irrespective of releases demanded by Colorado.

C. Releases of water stored pursuant to the provi-
sions of paragraphs A and B of this Article shall be made
upon demands by Colorado and Kansas concurrently or
separately at any time during the summer storage period.
Unless increases to meet extraordinary conditions are
authorized by the Administration, separate releases of
stored water to Colorado shall not exceed 750 c.f.s., sepa-
rate releases of stored water to Kansas shall not exceed
500 c.f.s., and concurrent releases of stored water shall
not exceed a total of 1,250 c.f.s.: Provided, that when
water stored in the conservation pool is reduced to a
quantity less than 20,000 acre-feet, separate releases of
stored water to Colorado shall not exceed 600 c.f.s., sepa-
rate releases of stored water to Kansas shall not exceed
400 c.f.s., and concurrent releases of stored water shall
not exceed 1,000 c.f.s.

App. 7

D. Releases authorized by paragraphs A, B and C of
this Article, except when all Colorado water users are
operating under decreed priorities as provided in para-
graphs F and G of this Article, shall not impose any call
on Colorado water users that divert waters of the
Arkansas River upstream from John Martin Dam.

E. (1) Releases of stored water and releases of
river flow may be made simultaneously upon the
demands of either or both States.

(2) Water released upon concurrent or separate
demands shall be applied promptly to beneficial use
unless storage thereof downstream is authorized by the
Administration.

(3) Releases of river flow and of stored water to
Colorado shall be measured by gaging stations located at
or near John Martin Dam and the releases to which
Kansas is entitled shall be satisfied by an equivalent in
Stateline flow.

(4) When water is released from John Martin
Reservoir appropriate allowances as determined by the
Administration shall be made for the intervals of time
required for such water to arrive at the points of diver-
sion in Colorado and at the Stateline.

(5) There shall be no allowance or accumulation
of credits or debits for or against either State.

(6) Storage, releases from storage and releases
of river flow authorized in this Article shall be accom-
plished pursuant to procedures prescribed by the Admin-
istration under the provisions of Article VIII.

App. 8

F. In the event the Administration finds that within
a period of fourteen (14) days the water in the conserva-
tion pool will be or is liable to be exhausted, the Adminis-
tration shall forthwith notify the State Engineer of
Colorado, or his duly authorized representative, that
commencing upon a day certain within said fourteen (14)
day period, unless a change of conditions justifies can-
cellation or modification of such notice, Colorado shall
administer the decreed rights of water users in Colorado
Water District 67 as against each other and as against all
rights now or hereafter decreed to water users diverting
upstream from John Martin Dam on the basis of relative
priorities in the same manner in which their respective
priority rights were administered by Colorado before
John Martin Reservoir began to operate and as though
John Martin Dam had not been constructed. Such priority
administration by Colorado shall be continued until the
Administration finds that water is again available in the
conservation pool for release as provided in this Com-
pact, and timely notice of such finding shall be given by
the Administration to the State Engineer of Colorado or
his duly authorized representative: Provided, that except
as controlled by the operation of the preceding provisions
of this paragraph and other applicable provisions of this
Compact, when there is water in the conservation pool
the water users upstream from John Martin Reservoir
shall not be affected by the decrees to the ditches in
Colorado Water District 67. Except when administration
in Colorado is on a priority basis the water diversions in
Colorado Water District 67 shall be administered by Colo-
rado in accordance with distribution agreements made

App. 9

from time to time between the water users in such Dis-
trict and filed with the Administration and with the State
Engineer of Colorado or, in the absence of such agree-
ment, upon the basis of the respective priority decrees, as
against each other, in said District.

G. During periods when Colorado reverts to admin-
istration of decreed priorities, Kansas shall not be entitled
to any portion of the river flow entering John Martin
Reservoir. Waters of the Arkansas River originating in
Colorado which may flow across the Stateline during
such periods are hereby apportioned to Kansas.

H. If the usable quantity and available for use of the
waters of the Arkansas River to water users in Colorado
Water District 67 and Kansas will be thereby materially
depleted or adversely affected, (1) priority rights now
decreed to the ditches of Colorado Water District 67 shall
not hereafter be transferred to other water districts in
Colorado or to points of diversion or places of use
upstream from John Martin Dam; and (2) the ditch diver-
sion rights from the Arkansas River in Colorado Water
District 67, and of Kansas ditches between the Stateline
and Garden City shall not hereafter be increased beyond
the total present rights of said ditches, without the
Administration, in either case (1) or (2), making findings
of fact that no such depletion or adverse effect will result
from such proposed transfer or increase. Notice of legal
proceedings for any such proposed transfer or increase
shall be given to the Administration in the manner and
within the time provided by the laws of Colorado or
Kansas in such cases. ,

App. 10

ARTICLE VI

A. (1) Nothing in this Compact shall be construed
as impairing the jurisdiction of Kansas over the waters ot
the Arkansas River that originate in Kansas and over the
waters that flow from Colorado across the Stateline into
Kansas.

(2) Except as otherwise provided, nothing in
this Compact shall be construed as supplanting the
administration by Colorado of the rights of appropriators
of waters of the Arkansas River in said State as decreed to
said appropriators by the courts of Colorado, nor as
interfering with the distribution among said appropria-
tors by Colorado, nor as curtailing the diversion and use
for irrigation and other beneficial purposes in Colorado
of the waters of the Arkansas River.

B. Inasmuch as the Frontier Canal diverts waters of
the Arkansas River in Colorado west of the Stateline for
irrigation uses in Kansas only, Colorado concedes to Kan-
sas and Kansas hereby assumes exclusive administrative
control over the operation of the Frontier Canal and its
headworks for such purposes, to the same extent as
though said works were located entirely within the State
of Kansas. Water carried across the Stateline in the Fron-
tier Canal or another similarly situated canal shall be
considered to be part of the Stateline flow.

ARTICLE VII

A. Each State shall be subject to the terms of this
Compact. Where the name of the State or the term “State”
is used in this Compact these shall be construed to

App. 11

include any person or entity of any nature whatsoever
using, claiming or in any manner asserting any right to
the use of the waters of the Arkansas River under the
authority of that State.

B. This Compact establishes no general principle or
precedent with respect to any other interstate stream.

C. Wherever any State or Federal official or agency
is referred to in this Compact such reference shall apply
to the comparable official or agency succeeding to their
duties and functions.

ARTICLE VIII

A. To administer the provisions of this Compact
there is hereby created an interstate agency to be known
as the Arkansas River Compact Administration herein
designated as “The Administration.”

B. The Administration shall have power to:

(1) Adopt, amend and revoke by-laws, rules
and regulations consistent with the provisions of this
Compact;

(2) Prescribe procedures for the administration
of this Compact: Provided, that where such procedures
involve the operation of John Martin Reservoir Project
they shall be subject to the approval of the District Engi-
neer in charge of said Project;

(3) Perform all functions required to implement
this Compact and to do all things necessary, proper or
convenient in the performance of its duties.

App. 12

C. The membership of the Administration shall con-
sist of three representatives from each State who shall be
appointed by the respective Governors for a term not to
exceed four years. One Colorado representative shall be a
resident of and water right owner in Water Districts 14 or
17, one Colorado representative shall be a resident of and
water right owner in Water District 67, and one Colorado
representative shall be the Director of the Colorado Water
Conservation Board. Two Kansas representatives shall be
residents of and water right owners in the counties of
Finney, Kearny or Hamilton, and one Kansas representa-
tive shall be the chief State official charged with the
administration of water rights in Kansas. The President of
the United States is hereby requested to designate a rep-
resentative of the United States, and if a representative is
so designated he shall be an ex-officio member and act as
chairman of the Administration without vote.

D. The State representatives shall be appointed by
the respective Governors within thirty days after the
effective date of this Compact. The Administration shall
meet and organize within sixty days after such effective
date. A quorum for any meeting shall consist of four
members of the Administration: Provided, that at least
two members are present from each State. Each State
shall have but one vote in the Administration and every
decision, authorization or other action shall require unan-
imous vote. In case of a divided vote on any matter
within the purview of the Administration, the Adminis-
tration may, by subsequent unanimous vote, refer the
matter for arbitration to the Representative of the United
States or other arbitrator or arbitrators, in which event

App. 13

the decision made by such arbitrator or arbitrators shall
be binding upon the Administration.

E. (1) The salaries, if any, and the personal
expenses of each member shall be paid by the govern-
ment which he represents. All other expenses incident to
the administration of this Compact which are not paid by
the United States shall be borne by the States on the basis
of 60 per cent by Colorado and 40 per cent by Kansas.

(2) In each even numbered year the Administra-
tion shall adopt and transmit to the Governor of each
State its budget covering anticipated expenses for the
forthcoming biennium and the amount thereof payable
by each State. Each State shall appropriate and pay the
amount due by it to the Administration.

(3) The Administration shall keep accurate
accounts of all receipts and disbursements and shall
include a statement thereof, together with a certificate of
audit by a certified public accountant, in its annual
report. Each State shall have the right to make an exam-
ination and audit of the accounts of the Administration at
any time.

F. Each State shall provide such available facilities,
equipment and other assistance as the Administration
may need to carry out its duties. To supplement such
available assistance the Administration may employ engi-
neering, legal, clerical, and other aid as in its judgment
may be necessary for the performance of its functions.
Such employees shall be paid by and be responsible to
the Administration, and shall not be considered to be
employees of either State.

App. 14

G. (1) The Administration shall cooperate with the
chief official of each State charged with the administra-
tion of water rights and with Federal agencies in the
systematic determination and correlation of the facts as to
the flow and diversion of the waters of the Arkansas
River and as to the operation and siltation of John Martin
Reservoir and other related structures. The Administra-
tion shall cooperate in the procurement, interchange,
compilation and publication of all factual data bearing
upon the administration of this Compact without, in gen-
eral, duplicating measurements, observations or publica-
tions made by State or Federal agencies. State officials
shall furnish pertinent factual data to the Administration
upon its request. The Administration shall, with the col-
laboration of the appropriate Federal and State agencies,
determine as may be necessary from time to time, the
location of gaging stations required for the proper admin-
istration of this Compact and shall designate the official
records of such stations for its official use.

(2) The Director, U.S. Geological Survey, the
Commissioner of Reclamation and the Chief of Engineers,
U.S. Army, are hereby requested to collaborate with the
Administration and with appropriate State officials in the
systematic determination and correlation of data referred
to in paragraph G(1) of this Article and in the execution
of other duties of such officials which may be necessary
for the proper administration of this Compact.

(3) If deemed necessary for the administration
of this Compact, the Administration may require the
installation and maintenance, at the expense of water
users, of measuring devices of approved type in any ditch
or group of ditches diverting water from the Arkansas

App. 15

River in Colorado or Kansas. The chief official of each
State charged with the administration of water rights
shall supervise the execution of the Administration’s
requirements for such installations.

H. Violation of any of the provisions of this Com-
pact or other actions prejudicial thereto which come to
the attention of the Administration shall be promptly
investigated by it. When deemed advisable as the result
of such investigation, the Administration may report its
findings and recommendations to the State official who is
charged with the administration of water rights for
appropriate action, it being the intent of this Compact
that enforcement of its terms shall be accomplished in
general through the State agencies and officials charged
with the administration of water rights.

I. Findings of fact made by the Administration shall
not be conclusive in any court or before any agency or
tribunal but shall constitute prima facie evidence of the
facts found.

J. The Administration shall report annually to the
Governors of the States and to the President of the United
States as to matters within its purview.

ARTICLE Ix

A. This Compact shall become effective when rat-
ified by the Legislature of each State and when consented
to by the Congress of the United States by legislation
providing substantially, among other things, as follows:

“Nothing contained in this Act or in the Compeac
herein consented to shall be construed as impairing

App. 16

affecting the sovereignty of the United States or any of its
rights or jurisdiction in and over the area or waters which
are the subject of such Compact: Provided, that the Chief
of Engineers is hereby authorized to operate the conser-
vation features of the John Martin Reservoir Project in a
manner conforming to such Compact with such excep-
tions as he and the Administration created pursuant to
the Compact may jointly approve.”

B. This Compact shall remain in effect until mod-
ified or terminated by unanimous action of the States and
in the event of modification or termination all rights then
established or recognized by this Compact shall continue
unimpaired.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, The commissioners have
signed this Compact in triplicate original, one of which
shall be forwarded to the Secretary of State of the United
States of America and one of which shall be forwarded to
the Governor of each signatory State.

Done in the City and County of Denver, in the state
of Colorado, on the fourteenth day of December, in the
Year of our Lord One Thousand Nine Hundred and
Forty-eight.

Henry C. Vial

Gail L. Ireland

Harry B. Mendenhall
Commissioners for Colorado

George S. Knapp

Edward F. Arn

William E. Leavitt

Roland H. Tate
Commissioners for Kansas

App. 17

Attest:
Warden L. Noe
Secretary

Approved:
ans Kramer
Representative of the United States

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0022%3A24. Public record. Not legal advice.
