# Amicus Curiae Brief — McCreary County v. American Civil Liberties Union of Ky.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0005%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 545 U.S. 844

## Text

\ Supreme Count, U.S.
FILED

DEC 8 - 2004

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

*

MCCREARY COUNTY, KENTUCKY, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
v.
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION OF KENTUCKY, ET AL.,
Respondents.

7
On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
.

BRIEF FOR THE STATES OF ALABAMA,
FLORIDA, IDAHO, INDIANA, KANSAS,
KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA, MISSISSIPPI, OHIO,
PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA, TEXAS,
UTAH, VIRGINIA, AND WYOMING, AS AMICI
CURIAE, IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
+

—_ TROY KING
Attorney General of Alabama

KEVIN C. NEWSOM
Solicitor General

CHARLES B. CAMPBELL*
Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

STATE OF ALABAMA

11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-0152
(334) 242-7300, (334) 353-3198"

Counsel for the State o: Alabama,
- Amicus Curiae

December 8, 2004 (Additional Counsel Listed Overleaf)
ee

Additional Counsel for Amici Curiae

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.
ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF FLORIDA

The Capitol, PL 01
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1050

LAWRENCE G. WASDEN
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF IDAHO

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0010

STEVE CARTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF INDIANA

Indiana Government Center
South - 5th Floor

302 West Washington St.
Indianapolis, IN 46204

PHILJ. KLINE

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF KANSAS

120 S.W. 10th Ave., 2nd FI.
Topeka, KS 66612-1597

Grecory D. STUMBO
ATTORNEY GENERAL
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY
State Capitol, Suite 118
Frankfort, KY 40601

CHARLES C. Forti, JR.
ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF LOUISIANA

P.O.Box 94095

Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9095

JIM Hoop

ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI
P.O. Box 220
Jackson MS 39205

JIM PETRO

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF OHIO

State Office Tower

30 E. Broad St.

Columbus, OH 43215-3428

GERALD J. PAPPERT

ATTORNEY GENERAL
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
1600 Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120

HENRY MCMASTER
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF SOUTH
CAROLINA

P.O.Box 11549
Columbia, SC 29211

GREG ABBOTT
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF TEXAS
Capitol Station
P.O.Box 12548

Austin, TX 78711-2548

MARK L. SHURTLEFF
ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF UTAH

236 State Capitol

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114

JERRY W. KILGORE
ATTORNEY GENERAL
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
900 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219

PATRICK J. CRANK
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF WYOMING

123 State Capitol Bldg.
Cheyenne, WY 82002

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Establishment Clause is violated by a
privately donated display on government property that
includes eleven equal size frames containing an explana-
tion of the display along with nine historical documents
and symbols that played a role in the development of
American law and government where only one of the
framed documents is the Ten Commandments and the
remaining documents and symbols are secular.

2. Whether a prior display by the government in a
courthouse containing the Ten Commandments that was
enjoined by a court permanently taints and thereby
precludes any future display by the same government
when the subsequent display articulates a secular pur-
pose and where the Ten Commandments is a minority

among numerous other secular historical documents and
symbols.

3. Whether the Lemon test should be overruled since
the test is unworkable and has fostered excessive confu-
sion in Establishment Clause jurisprudence.

4. Whether a new test for Establishment Clause pur-
poses should be set forth by this Court when the govern-
ment displays or recognizes historical expressions of
religion.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
eT UII ic daiitedsitiiensnsenbneidneuniendiilicintel i
ee I Se Ee ccnntcecnincniacisininanisneniinmnincesieeses iv

BRIEF FOR AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
IIIT hina darlene icetmasciceinhiasinniamnbaiienniiemanieies 1
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ............sssssssserssssssesseseeeees 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ...........0..0.00...ccccccccssscssesssseeses 2
TE ssceeihiieediiebialauciaiiabinieleeceniasiiaps ibdabaiailgaiainabeiaiienata 4

I. THE TEN COMMANDMENTS HAVE

LONG BEEN DISPLAYED ON PUBLIC

PROPERTY THROUGHOUT THE
III cineca sclaeicitaupelehidein etal nd cet ceed aia deatneecesi 4

II. THE COURT SHOULD ABANDON THE

“LEMON TEST,” AND, AT LEAST FOR

DISPLAY CASES, APPLY THE
EET HII dcnustlacutesieninticneaindicasensedinsdininnionl 8

A. The Lemon Test Has Engendered

Confusion in the Lower Courts and
Hostility Toward Religion. ...................:.:s00eeeee 9

B. The “Coercion Test” Better Represents

the Framers’ Intent and Our Nation’s
I iitciicccciisietinnndaiabiiaiiniiiainenuven 13

III.THE DISPLAYS IN THIS CASE DO NOT

VIOLATE THE ESTABLISHMENT
icine Daiiicciacis vercttitaitaniiediressitepicinsielaiiansiapiiaatiansen 18

A. Petitioners’ Displays Satisfy the
I ee ieinncicianetaniciisensesseneteniitiamsdiaaliniaiianiiaitiess 19

(

ill

B. Petitioners’ Displays Satisfy the

I 20
C. Petitioners’ Displays Satisfy the Lemon
1 ORF AN NM NIA ROS ER ESN CAREY Me EN 20
| Re ES NR Re OBIE Pe a 25
J

lV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

Cases

American Civil Liberties Union of Kentucky v.
McCreary County, 145 F. Supp. 2d 845 (E.D.
Ky. 2001), affd, 354 F.3d 438 (6th Cir. 2003) ........... 23

American Civil Liberties Union of Kentucky v.
McCreary County, 354 F.3d 488 (6th Cir.
Ti hisrcovsuniisndiniapudiniommicesabietietanaesneeaedians 9, 22, 23, 24

American Civil Liberties Union of Kentucky v.
McCreary County, 361 F.3d 928 (6th Cir.
TT ssctisssssecnsdecnsiapidiinatasendnsiitheninnmaapendiaasinadaideneid 22, 23, 24

American Civil Liberties Union of Ohio
Foundation, Inc. v. Ashbrook, 375 F.3d 484 (6th

SSIs SITs sisipiene hedeenachags cele dabinaihanaitethdaeataidaahiehdainatbnlbtaisa 5
Board of Education of Kiryas Joel Village Sch.

Dist. v. Grumet, 512 U.S. 687 (1994) ..........ccceceeeeeeseees 18
Board of Education of Westside Community

Schools v. Mergens, 496 U.S. 226 (1990) ................. 12
City of Elkhart v. Books, 532 U.S. 1058 (2001).......... 21, 22
Committee for Public Education & Religious

Liberty v. Regan, 444 U.S. 646 (1980) ............. eee 10

Corporation of Presiding Bishop of Church of Jesus
Christ of Latter-Day Saints v. Amos, 483 U.S.
Srna IIIT ia seccuchlehnstehtosicseadineiiniieaibateesidnadaclonhdpaiidimmidiintamnininel 10

County of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties
Union, Greater Pittsburgh Chapter, 492 U.S.
i scnntoccesiexeneniniientniaincsniniiianiainintanenmimines passim

Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987) ...........::.00 21

Vv
Elk Grove Unified School District v. Newdow, 124

Be a ee SED assnssinchnssenniediessiotinnrtcaniiantenieedninniemnaias 4, 20
Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962) .................ccceceeeceeeeeeees 4
Everson v. Board of Education of Ewing, 330 U.S.

Pirie insisinnetianiiinsennsnignitintbsensetitiditegiiataabindetiiabatieiniganmeietél 4
Freethought Society of Greater Philadelphia v.

Chester County, 334 F.3d 247 (3d Cir. 2003)................ 5
Glassroth v. Moore, 335 F.3d 1282 (11th Cir.), cert.

Geniod, 124 &. Ct. 407 (BOOF).......csescssosecesccesececsccsseocooees 9
Hunt v. McNair, 413 U.S. 734 (19738) .............ccccceceeeeeseeees 11
King v. Richmond County, 331 F.3d 1271 (11th

Sark; MUTT csisiicniienbhcnabrsniecietbciceitidihnininiaieiesaanastnenlitansidniienn 5
Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free

School District, 508 U.S. 384 (1993)................. 9, 10, 12
Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982) .................0008 11, 12
Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577 (1992)............ccceeeeeeees passim
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (19711) ................ passim
Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984).................. passim
Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983).................00 4,12
McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961) ............... 4,15
Modrovich v. Allegheny County, 385 F.3d 397 (3d

Re cicsiesieniniesinnciteniteilasedeihdidiaaliiailacdsiiailblalnad dad beastie 5
New York Trust Co. v. Eisner, 256 U.S. 345 (1921)........... 4
Santa Fe Independent School District v. Doe, 530

Be iteccisevihiecitaenitiiniontiiaiannteniininitaneeiel passim

State v. Freedom from Religion Foundation, Inc.,
898 P.2d 1013 (Colo. 1995), cert. denied, 516
ee ee i nicincneccniscsinsceninnpinnaniiinnimeninnintasamannisasel 5

vi

Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980) ............. 21, 22, 23, 24
Suhre v. Haywood County, 55 F. Supp. 2d 384
UOTE: SENPTIDUIIID csciiephntictaesibihietaahendehdebtanedoneaaeetasietaiiaetasiasiiagte 6

Van Orden v. Perry, 351 F.3d 173 (5th Cir. 2003),
cert. granted, 125 S. Ct. 346 (2004) (No. 03-

Pill icinssscctintaessidesdpstieasanasdieaibidaidieiaabausicninadiiiildidtennnitests 5
Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 (1985)................... 10, 11, 12
Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664 (1970)............... 8,9

Rules
UN, Ga. Bik Se ancnscnncenacntinaiaiisainiantsibinaaiiaiatietaeidiniaemianadeati 1
Other Authorities
1 Annals of Cong. 730-31 (1789) ...............sssssceccccccessseeeees 15

Act for Establishing Religious Freedom (1786), in 5
The Founders’ Constitution 84 (Philip B.
Kurland & Ralph Lerner eds. 1987) ...................::cceee 17

Ala. Jud. Sys., Alabama Judicial Building Tour,
Foundations of Our Law-—Rotunda Display,
http://www.judicial.state.al.us/tour_display.cfm

I I Wr salts l
Sarah Evans Barker, The Rule of Law, 15 Traces 3
EERE ERR es Ne ON EET SO 6

Jess Bravin, When Moses’ Laws Run Afoul of the
U.S.’s, Get Me Cecil B. deMille, Wall St. J., Apr.

Ii, BRI cnseceensasessescncencnsnstesneniivenanenmansenetusntiinintennnsencmnnia 5

Carrie Devorah, God in the Temples of

Government, Human Events, Nov. 24, 2003................ 6

Carrie Devorah, God in the Temples of
Government: Part IJ, Human Events, Dec. 22,

vil

Thomas Jefferson, A Bill for Establishing Religious
Freedom (1779) in 5 The Founders’ Constitu-
SEIT W ivicititleciincanshsinrihisteciniaiuaiininiidacineiianadiecindiiaccslianamiembeiid 11,17

Thomas Jefferson, Letter to James Madison (June
9, 1798) in 30 The Papers of Thomas Jefferson
393 (Barbara B. Oberg ed., 2003) ..............ceceeeeeeeeeeeees 17

Thomas Jefferson, Letter to Rev. Samuel Miller
(Jan. 23, 1808) in 5 The Founders’ Constitution

Thomas Jefferson, Notes on Locke (1776), in 1 The
Papers of Thomas Jefferson 544 (Julian P. Boyd
Tc insistence liiat ala ini dedihailciae 16

John Locke, A Letter Concerning Toleration (1689) ........ 16

James Madison, Memorial and Remonstrance
Against Religious Assessments (1785) in 5 The
I a eennibinnns 15

George Mason, First Draft of the Virginia
Declaration of Rights (1776), in 1 The Papers of
George Mason 276 (Robert A. Rutland ed.,

Michael W. McConnell, Coercion: The Lost
Element of Establishment, 27 Wm. & Mary L.
I, slid 9

Michael W. McConnell, Establishment and
Disestablishment at the Founding, Part I:
Establishment of Religion, 44 Wm. & Mary L.

Gs IID citucniendesetdatatisdiaibiatdiniiiaitenmenteinniincnenenns ll

Michael W. McConnell, Stuck with a Lemon: A
_New Test for Establishment Clause Cases
Would Help Ease Current Confusion, 83 A.B.A.

Bs a caiiicietiteritaibinipid bateiicinsiaiiicensaicecacanandaenbiutspiaiinmiitie 10

vill

John T. Noonan, Jr., The Believer and the Powers

FEES a ao ee eR eT

Office of the Curator, Supreme Court of the U.S.,
Courtroom Friezes: North and South Walls
Information Sheet 1, http://www.supreme
courtus.gov/about/north&southwalls.pdf

Te SR, Tih, CD wecnectsncncesnsicniscosenveiionbiniasens

Office of the Curator, Supreme Court of the U.S.,
Exterior Portrait Medallions and the Great
Hall Metopes Information Sheet 2, http://
www.supremecourtus.gov/about/medallions
&metopes.pdf (updated Sept. 17, 2003)................

Office of the Curator, Supreme Court of the U.S.,
Symbols of Law Information Sheet 2, http://

www.supremecourtus.gov/about/symbolsoflaw.
pdf (updated May 23, 2002) ....................cccseeeeeeeees

Office of the Curator, Supreme Court of the U.S.,

The East Pediment Information Sheet 1,
http://www.supremecourtus.gov/about/eastpedi

ment.pdf (updated Aug. 18, 2000) ....................0..

Pa. Unified Jud. Sys., Supreme Court Photo
Gallery, http://www.courts.state.pa.us/index/
Supreme/photogallery9.asp (last visited Dec. 7,

Va. Decl. of Rights § 16 (1776), in 5 The Founders’
IIIT Si csishiissieieisincinhtenetanidainenstcimindasiaiadtaamebdiiands

1

BRIEF FOR AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
Pursuant to Sup. Ct. R. 37.4, the amici States respect-
fully submit this brief in support of Petitioners and urge
reversal of the Sixth Circuit’s judgment.

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Like Petitioners in this case, the State of Alabama has
“Foundations of Our Law” displays in its Capitol and its
Judicial Building. Alongside the Ten Commandments,
Alabama’s displays include: (i) the Code of Justinian; (1i)
the Magna Carta; (iii) the Mayflower Compact; (iv) the
Declaration of Independence; (v) the United States
Constitution; (vi) the Bill of Rights; (vii) the Thirteenth,
Fourteenth, Fifteenth, and Nineteenth Amendments to
the Constitution; and (viii) brief commentary. See, e.g.,
Ala. Jud. Sys., Alabama Judicial Building Tour, Founda-
tions of Our Law-—Rotunda Display, at http://www.judi
cial.state.al.us/tour_display.cfm (last visited Dec. 1,
2004) (including photographs and HTML version of Judi-
cial Building display).

The other amici States (or local governments within
them) likewise display the Ten Commandments in a
variety of ways—as do various entities within the Federal
Government, including this Court. Given the long history
and prevalence of Ten Commandments displays on public
property, the amici States have a keen interest in seeing
such displays upheld as constitutional.

2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Depictions of the Ten Commandments are a common
feature of public life in the United States. Such dis-
plays—whether exhibited as symbols, monuments,
plaques, or documents—date back at least to the 1870s,
and there are today (literally) thousands of them across
the country. The displays are particularly common at
seats of government, and are perhaps most often found in
and around courthouses. Indeed, this Court’s own build-
ing contains more than a dozen depictions of the
Commandments. The history and ubiquity of displays on
public property involving religious themes in general, and
the Ten Commandments in particular, merely confirm
this Court’s observation that “[t]here is an unbroken
history”—here, going back some 130 years—“of official
acknowledgment by all three branches of government of
the role of religion in American life ....” Lynch v. Don-
nelly, 465 U.S. 668, 674 (1984).

Although the displays challenged in this case satisfy
both the “Lemon test,” see Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S.
602, 612-13 (1971), and the “endorsement test,” see
County of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union,
Greater Pittsburgh Chap., 492 U.S. 573, 592-94 (1989),
the amici States respectfully submit that this case should
be analyzed under the “coercion test” articulated by
Justice Kennedy in Allegheny, id. at 659 (Kennedy, J.,
concurring in judgment in part and dissenting in part).
Under the coercion test, “government may not coerce
anyone to support or participate in religion or its exercise,
or otherwise act in a way which ‘establishes a [state]
religion or religious faith, or tends to do so.” Lee v.
Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 587 (1992) (quoting Lynch, 465
U.S. at 678); see also Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe,
530 U.S. 290, 302 (2000).

3

The Lemon test has spawned confusion in the lower
courts—and worse, has engendered hostility toward
religion. The coercion test better represents the Framers’
understanding of religious establishments and our Na-
tion’s historic practices by properly focusing on govern-
ment compulsion in religious matters.

When judged (i) against the history and ubiquity of
public displays featuring religious symbols generally and
displays of the Ten Commandments in particular, and (ii)
in the light of the utter absence of governmental coercion,
it is apparent that Petitioners’ historic-documents dis-
plays do not violate the Establishment Clause. Rather,
the displays represent a constitutional acknowledgment of
religion’s indisputably important role in American life
and history. Indeed, at the end of the day, the result here
is the same whether the case is analyzed under the
coercion test, the endorsement test, or even under Lemon
itself.

4
ARGUMENT

I. THE TEN COMMANDMENTS HAVE LONG
BEEN DISPLAYED ON PUBLIC PROPERTY
THROUGHOUT THE NATION.

As Justice Holmes famously observed, frequently “a
page of history is worth a volume of logic.” N.Y. Trust Co.
v. Eisner, 256 U.S. 345, 349 (1921). So it is that many of
this Court’s Establishment Clause cases have involved a
detailed examination of history. See, e.g., Engel v. Vitale,
370 U.S. 421, 425-36 (1962); McGowan v. Maryland, 366
U.S. 420, 431-43 (1961); Everson v. Bd. of Educ. of Ewing,
330 U.S. 1, 8-16 (1947). Likewise, here, the long history
of depictions of religious symbols, including the Ten
Commandments, on public property bears directly on the
questions presented in this case. See, e.g., Elk Grove
Unified Sch. Dist. v. Newdow, 124 S. Ct. 2301, 2323-24
(2004) (O’Connor, J., concurring in the judgment) (em-
phasizing “history and ubiquity” of challenged practice);
Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783, 786-92 (1983) (empha-
sizing historical pedigree of legislative prayer).!

The Ten Commandments have aptly been called “the
most influential law code in history.” John T. Noonan,
Jr., The Believer and the Powers that Are 4 (1987). It is
not surprising, then, that depictions of the Ten Com-
mandments are a common feature of public (not to men-
tion private) life in the United States. Public displays of
the Ten Commandments—whether exhibited as symbols,
monuments, plaques, or documents—date back at least to
the 1870s. See, e.g., King v. Richmond County, 331 F.3d

1 Inasmuch as Indiana’s brief for the amici States in Van Orden v.
Perry, No. 03-1500, addresses public displays and monuments featur-
ing religious symbolism generally, this brief will focus on public
monuments and displays featuring the Ten Commandments in
particular.

= ————

5

1271, 1273-74 (11th Cir. 2003) (superior court seal
depicting Ten Commandments and sword used at least
since 1872); Modrovich v. Allegheny County, 385 F.3d 397,
399 (3d Cir. 2004) (bronze plaque containing Ten Com-
mandments donated to county in 1918); Freethought Soc’y
of Greater Philadelphia v. Chester County, 334 F.3d 247,
249 (3d Cir. 2003) (bronze plaque donated to county in
1920). Such displays, and particularly monuments, are,
to put the matter plainly, all over the place—thanks in
part to the fact that “as many as 4,000 Ten Command-
ments monoliths were erected in public spaces across the
country” during the 1950s and 1960s by the Fraternal
Order of Eagles. Jess Bravin, When Moses’ Laws Run
Afoul of the U.S.’s, Get Me Cecil B. deMille, Wall St. J.,
Apr. 18, 2001, at Al (describing campaign to donate Ten
Commandments monuments in connection with deMille’s
1956 movie, The Ten Commandments).

Ten Commandments displays are particularly com-
mon at seats of government and courthouses around the
country. For example, Ten Commandments monuments
(donated by the Fraternal Order of Eagles) stand in the
state capitol complexes in Colorado and Texas. See Van
Orden v. Perry, 351 F.3d 173, 175-76 (5th Cir. 2003), cert.
granted, 125 S. Ct. 346 (2004) (No. 03-1500); State v.
Freedom from Religion Found., Inc., 898 P.2d 1013, 1015—
16 (Colo. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S 1111 (1996). Like-
wise, a mural in the chamber of the Supreme Court of
Pennsylvania depicts Moses carving a tablet, with the
Ten Commandments listed below. See Pa. Unified Jud.
Sys., Supreme Court Photo Gallery, http://www.courts.
state.pa.us/index/Supreme/photogallery9.asp (last visited
Dec. 7, 2004). Similarly, the old federal “district court-
house in Cleveland ... is adorned with a large, magnifi-
cent mural of the Ten Commandments flanked by angels.”
American Civil Liberties Union of Ohio Found., Inc. v.
Ashbrook, 375 F.3d 484, 506 (6th Cir. 2004) (Batchelder,

6

J., dissenting). And the ceremonial courtroom in the
Birch Bayh Federal Courthouse in Indianapolis also
contains a mural depicting (among other things) Moses
holding the Ten Commandments. See Sarah Evans
Barker, The Rule of Law, 15 Traces 3 (Summer 2003)
(including photograph showing the Ten Commandments);
see also Suhre v. Haywood County, 55 F. Supp. 2d 384,
385-86 (W.D.N.C. 1999) (describing marble plaques of the
Ten Commandments on either side of sculpture of Lady
Justice in county courthouse in western North Carolina).

So, too, in Washington, D.C., depictions of the Ten
Commandments seem to be around every corner. A
statue of Moses holding the Ten Commandments adorns
the rotunda of the Library of Congress. There is a statue
representing “Liberty of Worship” resting on the Ten
Commandments outside the Ronald Reagan Building and
International Trade Center. Outside the E. Barrett
Prettyman Federal Courthouse there is a depiction of the
Decalogue on tablets with Hebrew writing. And, of
course, the Supreme Court building itself contains several
Commandments displays. See Carrie Devorah, God in the
Temples of Government, Human Events, Nov. 24, 2003, at
20; Carrie Devorah, God in the Temples of Government:
Part II, Human Events, Dec. 22, 2003, at 14.

In this Court’s building, depictions of the Ten Com-
mandments abound. Moses is portrayed in the frieze on
the south wall of the Courtroom “holding two overlapping
tablets, written in Hebrew” on which “Commandments six
through ten are partially visible.” Office of the Curator,
Supreme Court of the U.S., Courtroom Friezes: North and
South Walls Information Sheet 1, http://www.supreme
courtus.gov/about/north&southwalls.pdf (updated Aug.
18, ~000). Moses is egain represented holding two tablets
in the East Pediment. See Office of the Curator, Supreme
Court of the U.S., The East Pediment Information Sheet 1,
http://www.supremecourtus.gov/about/eastpediment.pdf

7

(updated Aug. 18, 2000). The tablets are depicted beside
a profile of Moses in eight metopes in the Great Hall. See
Office of the Curator, Supreme Court of the U.S., Exterior
Portrait Medallions and the Great Hall Metopes Informa-
tion Sheet 2, http://www.supremecourtus.gov/about/medal
lions&metopes.pdf (updated Sept. 17, 2003). And finally,
images of the Ten Commandments as two rectangular
tablets with curved tops and Roman numerals I-—X “ap-
pear on the support frame of the Courtroom’s bronze
gates ...; on the lower, interior panels of the Courtroom
doors; and held by the figure representing ‘Law’ in the
Library woodwork.” Office of the Curator, Supreme Court
of the U.S., Symbols of Law Information Sheet 2,
http://www.supremecourtus.gov/about/symbolsoflaw.pdf
(updated May 23, 2002)

It goes without saying, of course, that these displays
are not efforts to proselytize or indoctrinate. Rather,
according to this Court’s Curator, they serve an important
secular purpose:

Throughout the history of western art, tablets
have been used to signify “the Law.” This tradi-
tion is closely associated with Moses, the Hebrew
lawgiver, who according to the Book of Exodus de-
scended from Mount Sinai with two stone tablets
inscribed with the Ten Commandments. Over
time, the use of two tablets has become a symbol
for the Commandments, and more generally, an-
cient laws. Tablets signify the permanence of the
law when “written in stone.”

Id.

The longstanding tradition and current ubiquity of
displays on public property involving religious themes in
general, and the Ten Commandments in particular,
further confirm this Court’s observation that “[t]here is an
unbroken history”—here, dating back some 130 years—“of

8
official acknowledgment by all three branches of govern-
ment of the role of religion in American life ....” Lynch

v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 674 (1984). “This history may
help explain why the Court consistently has declined to
take a rigid, absolutist view of the Establishment Clause”
and “ha[s] refused ‘to construe the Religion Clauses with
a literalness that would undermine the ultimate constitu-
tional objective as illuminated by history.’ ” Id. at 678
(quoting Walz v. Tax Comm'n, 397 U.S. 664, 671 (1970))
(emphasis in Lynch). In short, “the meaning of the
[Establishment] Clause is to be determined by reference
to historical practices and understandings.” County of
Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union, Greater
Pittsburgh Chap., 492 U.S. 573, 670 (1989) (Kennedy, J.,
concurring in judgment in part and dissenting in part).

As Justice Kennedy observed in Allegheny, a workable
and defensible Establishment Clause test “must permit
not only legitimate practices two centuries old but also
any other practices with no greater potential for an
establishment of religion.” Jd. “A test ... that, if applied
with consistency, would invalidate longstanding tradi-
tions cannot be a proper reading of the [Establishment]
Clause.” Jd. Whatever standard the Court chooses to
apply in this case, the longstanding tradition of public
displays of the Ten Commandments should be upheld as a
permissible “acknowledgment ... of the role of religion in
American life.” Lynch, 465 U.S. at 674.

Il. THE COURT SHOULD ABANDON THE “LEMON
TEST,” AND, AT LEAST FOR DISPLAY CASES,
APPLY THE “COERCION TEST.”

Both the district court and the court of appeals ana-
lyzed this case under the three-part test of Lemon v.
Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971). Under the “Lemon test,”
a statute or government activity must: (i) “have a secular
... purpose”; (ii) have a “principal or primary effect ...

9

that neither advances nor inhibits religion”; and (iii) “not
foster ‘an excessive government entanglement with
religion.’” Jd. at 612-13 (citation omitted) (quoting Walz,
397 U.S. at 674). The court of appeals treated the “en-
dorsemeni test,” see Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 592-94, as a
refinement of the second, “effects prong” of Lemon. Am.
Civil Liberties Union of Ky. v. McCreary County, 354 F.3d
438, 446 (6th Cir. 2003).

Although the displays challenged in this case satisfy
both the Lemon test and the endorsement test, see infra
at 20-24, the amici States respectfully submit that this
case should be analyzed under the “coercion test” articu-
lated by Justice Kennedy in Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 659
(Kennedy, J., concurring in judgment in part and dissent-
ing in part). See also Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 587
(1992); Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290,
302 (2000). As its name implies, the coercion test focuses
on government coercion or compulsion in matters of
religion, which one leading scholar (and now judge) has
called “the lost element of establishment” as the Founders
understood that legal concept. Michael W. McConnell,
Coercion: The Lost Element of Establishment, 27 Wm. &
Mary L. Rev. 933 (1986).

A. The Lemon Test Has Engendered Confusion
in the Lower Courts and Hostility Toward
Religion.

In deciding Establishment Clause cases, it has become
an “almost obligatory observation that the Lemon test is
often maligned.” Glassroth v. Moore, 335 F.3d 1282, 1295
(11th Cir.), cert. denied, 124 S. Ct. 497 (2003). A majority
of the Members of this Court have led or joined in criti-
cism or disapproval of the Lemon test at one time or
another. See Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches Union
Free Sch. Dist., 508 U.S. 384, 398-400 (1993) (Scalia, J.,
joined by Thomas, J., concurring in judgment); Allegheny,

10

492 U.S. at 655-57 (Kennedy, J., joined by Rehnquist,
C.J., White and Scalia, JJ., concurring in judgment in
part and dissenting in part); Corporation of Presiding
Bishop of Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints v.
Amos, 483 U.S. 327, 346-49 (1987) (O’Connor, J., concur-
ring in judgment); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 107-13
(1985) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting). The test itself has been
likened to a “ghoul,” Lamb’s Chapel, 508 U.S. at 398
(Scalia, J., concurring in judgment), whose “career in the
decisional law of this Court” has been “checkered,” Santa
Fe Indep. Sch. Dist., 530 U.S. at 319 (Rehnquist, C.J.,
dissenting), and whose application is a “sisyphean task.”
Committee for Public Educ. & Religious Liberty v. Regan,
444 U.S. 646, 671 (1980) (Stevens, J., dissenting).

Unfortunately, the Lemon test “has simply not pro-
vided adequate standards for deciding Establishment
Clause cases.” Jaffree, 472 U.S. at 110 (Rehnquist, J.,
dissenting). As Judge McConnell has observed—

Each part of the Lemon test is deeply ambigu-
ous, and each—if taken literally—would produce
highly unattractive results. Consequently, the
lower federal courts and state courts have given
the test widely different and seemingly contradic-
tory interpretations, and they often ignore it alto-
gether to avoid undesirable results.

Michael W. McConnell, Stuck with a Lemon: A New Test
for Establishment Clause Cases Would Help Ease Current
Confusion, 83 A.B.A. J. 46, 46 (1997). “The result of [the
Lemon test’s] three ambiguous principles is a jurispru-
dence of confusion and inconsistency—with a heavy dose
of hostility to religion thrown in.” Id. at 47.

Particularly problematic is the Lemon test’s “secular
purpose” prong—which lies at the heart of this case.
Indiana’s brief for the amici States in Van Orden v. Perry,

11

No. 03-1500, addresses the difficulties with the purpose
prong at some length; thus, amici do so only briefly here.

As then-Justice Rehnquist observed in Wallace v.
Jaffree, the purpose prong “has proven mercurial in
application because it has never been fully defined, and
[the Court] never fully stated how the test is to operate.”
472 U.S. at 108 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting). Legal schol-
ars have agreed that “[iJt is not entirely clear what
‘secular legislative purpose’ means.” Michael W. McCon-
nell, Establishment and Disestablishment at the Found-
ing, Part I: Establishment of Religion, 44 Wm. & Mary L.
Rev. 2105, 2206 n.613 (2003). Equally troublesome, the
purpose prong is unfaithful to our history, because the
proponents of disestablishment frequently gave “religious
or theological justifications for their position,”? leading
Judge McConnell to ask whether disestablishment itself
“{[sJhould ... be faulted for reliance on a ‘nonsecular
purpose[.]’” Jd. at 2206.

Given the difficulties inherent in the Lemon test, this
Court has understandably declined to follow it consis-
tently. In Hunt v. McNair, 413 U.S. 734, 741 (1973), the
Court called the Lemon criteria “no more than helpful
signposts.” In Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982), and

2 Judge McConnell cites Thomas Jefferson's Bill for Establishing
Religious Freedom. McConnell, Establishment and Disestablishment,
44 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. at 2206 & n.615. Among the first justifications
for religious freedom offered in that Bill was “that Almighty God hath
created the mind free.” Thomas Jefferson, A Bill for Establishing
Religious Freedom para. 1 (1779) in 5 The Founders’ Constitution 77,
77 (Philip B. Kurland & Ralph Lerner eds. 1987). Another was “[t]hat
all attempts to influence it by temporal punishments or burthens, or
by civil incapacitations, tend only to beget habits of hypocrisy and
meanness, and are a departure from the plan of the holy author of our
religion, who being Lord both of body and mind, yet chose not to
propagate it by coercions on either, as was in his Almighty power to do
ar ae

12

Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983), the Court
ignored Lemon altogether. See Lynch, 465 U.S. at 679
(“In two cases, the Court did not even apply the Lemon
‘test.’”) (citing Marsh and Larson). In Lynch, the Court
even went “so far as to state that [the Lemon test] has
never been binding on us.” Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist..
530 U.S. at 319 (Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting) (citing and
quoting Lynch, 465 U.S. at 679). And in Lee v. Weisman,
the Court likewise “mentioned, but did not feel compelled
to apply, the Lemon test.” Jd. at 320. However much
maligned, though, the Lemon test seemingly lives on,
being irregularly invoked by the Court—most recently in
Santa Fe Independent School District v. Doe, 530 U.S. at
314. See also Lamb’s Chapel, 508 U.S. at 395 n.7
(“Lemon, however frightening it might be to some, has not
been overruled”).

Given the confusion and ambiguity that the Lemon
test has engendered—not to mention the ceaseless litiga-
tion hostile to religion that the test’s vagaries have
fueled—the amici States respectfully suggest that the
time has come simply to abandon it.®

3 At a minimum, the Court should take this opportunity to clarify
Lemon's purpose prong. In Board of Education of Westside Community
Schools v. Mergens, 496 U.S. 226 (1990), a plurality of the Court
suggested that there is a distinction between purpose and motive
under the purpose prong of Lemon: “Even if some legislators were
motivated by a conviction that religious speech in particular was
valuable and worthy of protection, that alone would not invalidate the
Act, because what is relevant is the legislative purpose of the statute,
not the possibly religious motives of the legislators who enacted the
law.” Id. at 249 (plurality opinion). The Court has never explicitly
endorsed that distinction, however, or explained how to apply it.

Given the facts of this case, it is also worth noting that “a secular
purpose ... is all that Lemon requires,” not an “exclusively secular”
purpose. Lynch, 465 U.S. at 681 n.6 (emphasis added); Jaffree, 472
U.S. at 56 (“a statute that is motivated in part by a religious purpose

13

B. The “Coercion Test” Better Represents the
Framers’ Intent and Our Nation’s Historic
Practices.

In Allegheny, a case (not unlike this one) involving
holiday displays featuring religious objects, Justice
Kennedy proposed what has come to be called the “coer-
cion test.” After recognizing that “the Establishment
Clause permits government some latitude in recognizing
and accommodating the central role religion plays in our
society,” 492 U.S. at 657 (citing Lynch 465 U.S. at 678),
Justice Kennedy addressed the limits that the Clause
places on such recognition and accommodation of religion:

The ability of the organized community to rec-
ognize and accommodate religion in a society with
a pervasive public sector requires diligent obser-
vance of the border between accommodation and
establishment. Our cases disclose two limiting
principles: government may not coerce anyone to
support or participate in any religion or its exer-
cise; and it may not, in the guise of avoiding hostil-
ity or callous indifference, give direct benefits to
religion in such a degree that it in fact “establishes
a [state] religion or religious faith, or tends to do
so.” These two principles, while distinct, are not
unrelated, for it would be difficult indeed to estab-
lish a religion without some measure of more or
less subtle coercion, be it in the form of taxation to
supply the substantial benefits that would sustain
a state-established faith, direct compulsion to ob-

may satisfy the first [Lemon] criterion”). It likewise bears emphasis
that “a court has no license to psychoanalyze the legislators” or
decisionmakers. Id. at 74 (O’Connor, J., concurring in judgment).

14

servance, or governmental exhortation to religios-
ity that amounts in fact to proselytizing.

Id. at 659-60 (citation omitted) (quoting Lynch, 465 U.S.
at 678).

Three years later, the Court adopted Justice Ken-
nedy’s formulation of the coercion test in Lee v. Weisman:

The principle that government may accommo-
date the free exercise of religion does not super-
sede the fundamental limitations imposed by the
Establishment Clause. It is beyond dispute that,
at a minimum, the Constitution guarantees that
government may not coerce anyone to support or
participate in religion or its exercise, or otherwise
act in a way which “establishes a [state] religion or
religious faith, or tends to do so.”

505 U.S. at 587 (quoting Lynch, 465 U.S. at 678). The
Court has since applied the coercion test in Santa Fe
Independent School District v. Doe, 530 U.S. at 302
(quoting Lee, 505 U.S. at 587).

The coercion test best captures the Framers’ under-
standing of (i) what constituted an “establishment of
religion” as that term is used in the First Amendment and
(ii) a principal evil to be avoided by prohibiting such an
establishment. The writings of James Madison, George
Mason, and Thomas Jefferson suggest that all of them
viewed the elimination of government coercion or compul-
sion as being at the heart of religious freedom.

As this Court has noted, during debate on the religion
clauses in Congress in 1789, James Madison, the meas-
ures’ sponsor,

eid, he apprehended the meaning of the words to
xe, that Congress should not establish a religion,
and enforce the legal observation of it by law, nor

15

compel men to worship God in any manner con-
trary to their conscience. * * * He believed that
the people feared one sect might obtain a pre-
eminence, or two combine together, and establish a
religion to which they would compel others to con-
form.

McGowan, 366 U.S. at 441 (internal quotation marks
omitted) (quoting 1 Annals of Cong. 730-31 (1789))
(emphasis added). Madison’s earlier Memorial and
Remonstrance Against Religious Assessments likewise
targeted government compulsion in religious matters,
asserting as “a fundamental and undeniable truth, ‘that
Religion . . . can be directed only by reason and conviction,
not by force or violence.” James Madison, Memorial and
Remonstrance Against Religious Assessments 1 (1785)
(quoting Va. Decl. of Rights § 16 (1776)), in 5 The Foun-
ders’ Constitution 82 (Philip B. Kurland & Ralph Lerner
eds. 1987) (emphasis added).

Madison’s Memorial and Remonstrance relied, in turn,
on the Virginia Declaration of Rights for the proposition
that religious belief should not be coerced. In his first
draft of the religion clause of the Declaration of Rights,
George Mason—later a leading proponent of a bill of
rights for the Federal Constitution—likewise denounced
government compulsion in religious matters:

That as Religion, or the Duty which we owe to
our divine and omnipotent Creator, and the Man-
ner of discharging it, can be governed only by Rea-
son and Conviction, not by Force or Violence; and
therefore that all Men shou’d enjoy the fullest Tol-
eration in the Exercise of Religion, according to the
Dictates of Conscience, unpunished and unre-
strained by the Magistrate, unless, under Colour of
Religion, any Man disturb the Peace, the Happi-
ness, or Safety of Society, or of Individuals. And

16

that it is the mutual Duty of all, to practice Chris-
tian Forbearance, Love and Charity towards Each
other.

George Mason, First Draft of the Virginia Declaration of
Rights (1776), in 1 The Papers of George Mason 276, 278
(Robert A. Rutland ed., 1970) (emphasis added). As
finally adopted, the religion clause of the Declaration of
Rights retained Mason’s original denunciation of “force or
violence” in religious matters. See Va. Decl. of Rights § 16
(1776), in 5 The Founders’ Constitution 70. Madison used
this condemnation of government compulsion in religious
matters (which might otherwise be mistaken as relating
only to free exercise) to attack religious tax assessments,
a hallmark of establishment.

Thomas Jefferson likewise condemned government
compulsion in religious matters. According to Jefferson,
“[co}mpulsion in religion is distinguished peculiarly from
compulsion in every other thing.” That he said, is because
“I may grow rich by art I am compelled to follow, I may
recover health by medicines I am compelled to take agt.
my own judgmt., but I cannot be saved by a worship I
disbelieve & abhor.” Thomas Jefferson, Notes on Locke
(1776), in 1 The Papers of Thomas Jefferson 544, 547
(Julian P. Boyd ed., 1950) (based on John Locke, A Letter
Concerning Toleration (1689)). Jefferson’s famovs Bill for
Establishing Religious Freedom focused on eliminating
government coercion in religious matters so “that no man
shall be compelled to frequent or support any relig[ijous
Worship place or Ministry whatsoever, nor shall be
enforced, restrained, molested, or burthened in his body or
goods, nor shall otherwise suffer on account of his reli-

* Later paragraphs in the first draft are in Thomas Ludwell Lee’s
handwriting, but the excerpt reprinted above was written by Mason. 1
The Papers of George Mason at 279.

17

gious opinions or belief... .” Thomas Jefferson, A Bill for
Establishing Religious Freedom para. 2 (1779), in 5 The
Founders’ Constitution 77 (emphasis added). Jefferson’s
thinking was based in part on observations that “the holy
author of our religion, who being Lord both of body and
mind, yet chose not to propagate it by coercions on either,
as was in his Almighty power to do” and “[t]hat to compel
a man to furnish contributions of money for the propaga-
tion of opinions which he disbelieves and abhors, is sinful
and tyrannical.” Jd. para. 1 (emphasis added). These
references to compulsion and coercion were retained when
the Bill was adopted in 1786. See Act for Establishing
Religious Freedom (1786), in 5 The Founders’ Constitution
84, 84; cf. Letter from Thomas Jefferson to James Madi-
son (June 9, 1798) in 30 Papers of Thomas Jefferson 393,
393 (Barbara B. Oberg ed., 2003) (“[T]hey have brought
into the lower house a sedition bill, which among other
enormities, undertakes to make printing certain matters
criminal, tho’ one of the amendments to the Constitution
has so expressly taken religion, printing presses &c. out of
their coercion.”) (emphasis added).

Two caveats are in order. First, these statements by
Madison, Mason, and Jefferson indicate that the principal
evil targeted by the Establishment and Free Exercise
Clauses was government coercion through actual (i.e.,
physical or legal) compulsion in religious matters. That
is, the kind of coercion the Framers contemplated appar-
ently involved actions that would truly “compel” religious
belief, practice, or financial support with “force,” “vio-
lence,” or “law.” See also Lee, 505 U.S. at 640 (Scalia, J.,
dissenting) (“The coercion that was a hallmark of histori-
cal establishments of religion was coercion of religious
orthodoxy and of financial support by force of law and
threat of penalty.”); cf. Letter from Thomas Jefferson to
Rev. Samuel Miller (Jan. 23, 1808) in 5 The Founders’
Constitution 98, 98-99 (including as potential penalty for

18

failing to observe a day of fasting and prayer “some
degree of proscription perhaps in public opinion”). Having
said that, the question of precisely what kind of govern-
ment conduct or influence constitutes impermissible
coercion—e.g., whether actual or psychological—need not
divide the Court here as it did in Lee. Whether the
concept of unconstitutional coercion properly includes
psychological or peer pressure, see Lee, 505 U.S. at 593-
94, or not, see id. at 640—44 (Scalia, J., dissenting), that
kind of pressure is plainly absent in this case. As detailed
below, see infra at 19-20, the inanimate displays in this
case are entirely passive, involve no religious ceremony,
and entail no “captive audience.”

Second, the amici States do not contend that the coer-
cion test is a “one-size-fits-all” solution to Establishment
Clause problems. The Court has already eschewed “any
single test or criterion in this sensitive area.” Lynch, 465
U.S. at 679. As Justice O’Connor has observed, “the
Establishment Clause ... cannot easily be reduced to a
single test,” because “[t]here are different categories of
Establishment Clause cases, which may call for different
approaches.” Bd. of Educ. of Kiryas Joel Village Sch.
Dist. v. Grumet, 512 U.S. 687, 720 (1994) \O’Connor, J.,
“concurring in part and concurring in judgment). Amici’s
point is simply that, in the context of public displays
involving religious symbols, the coercion test best distin-
guishes permissible acknowledgment and accommodation
from impermissible establishment. Accordingly, the
coercion test should provide the frame of reference for this
case.

III.THE DISPLAYS IN THIS CASE DO NOT VIO-
LATE THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE.

When judged (i) against the history and ubiquity of
public displays featuring religious symbols generally and
displays of the Ten Commandments in particular, and (ii)

19

in the light of the utter absence of governmental coercion,
it is evident that the historic-documents displays in this
case do not violate the Establishment Clause. Indeed, a
reversal should follow not only under the coercion test,
but under the endorsement and Lemon tests, as well.

A. Petitioners’ Displays Satisfy the Coercion
Test.

As noted above, public displays of the Ten Command-
ments—whether as symbols, plaques, or monuments—
date back well over a century. There are now (literally)
thousands of such displays across the country. The long
history and prevalence of these displays at courthouses
and seats of government suggest that the Decalogue is
displayed not to impose or advance some religious estab-
lishment, but instead merely to acknowledge the signifi-
cant role that religion has indisputably played in shaping
this Nation’s law and government. In addition, as this
Court’s Curator’s explanation suggests, see supra at 7, the
Ten Commandments are an immediately recognizable
ancient legal text, and are thus an appropriate symbol for
ancient law generally. The displays in this case, more-
over, are presented as only one part of a collection of
historically significant documents and images, further
underscoring the Commandments’ historic—as opposed to
religious—significance.

There is also no hint of government coercion—however
defined—in Petitioners’ displays. First, the displays are
entirely passive; they hang on a wall to be viewed or
ignored at a passerby’s option. Second, no one is invited,
much less coerced, to participate in any kind of religious
ceremony; there are no organized prayers, hymns, or the
like associated with the displays. Finally, there is no
“captive audience” problem, as may sometimes be the case
in other settings; again, courthouse visitors are free to
ignore the displays entirely. The absence of government

20

coercion, combined with the history and ubiquity of
similar Ten Commandments displays, renders the dis-
plays in this case permissible under the Establishment
Clause.

B. Petitioners’ Displays Satisfy the Endorse-
ment Test.

As noted above, the result should be the same even
under the endorsement or Lemon tests. As for endorse-
ment, Justice O’Connor has observed more than once that
the “history and ubiquity” of a challenged practice is an
important consideration under the endorsement test
“because it provides part of the context in which a reason-
able observer evaluates whether a challenged governmen-
tal practice conveys a message of endorsement of relig-
ion.” Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 630 (O'Connor, J., concurring
in part and concurring in judgment); see also Newdow,
124 S. Ct. at 2323-24 (O’Connor, J., concurring in judg-
ment). A reasonable observer would be particularly
unlikely to perceive endorsement in this case—where the
Decalogue is displayed as only one of nine documents and
symbols, all depicted for their historical significance to
the Nation’s system of law and government. Indeed,
removing the Ten Commandments from such a historical
display would communicate a message of hostility—not
neutrality—toward religion, which a reasonable observer
(who, presumably, would be familiar with the Command-
ments’ removal) surely would not miss.

C. Petitioners’ Displays Satisfy the Lemon Test.

The court of appeals based its decision striking down
the displays in this case not on the presence of coercion or
endorsement® but, instead, on the presence of what it

5 Only Judge Clay joined the main opinion’s endorsement test
analysis.

21

perceived to be an impermissible religious purpose under
the Lemon test. The court’s faulty purpose-prong analysis
underscores just how badly the secular-purpose inquiry
has gone off track.

The court of appeals’ reasoning was based largely on a
misapplication of Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980)
(per curiam), outside the context of public school class-
rooms. The court’s rote application of Stone failed to
account for the fundamental differences between the
schoolhouse and courthouse settings.

In public elementary and secondary schools, this
Court has said, “[t]he State exerts great authority and
coercive power through mandatory attendance require-
ments, and because of the students’ emulation of teachers
as role models and the children’s susceptibility to peer
pressure.” Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 584
(1987). As a result, this “Court has been particularly
vigilant in monitoring compliance with the Establishment
Clause in elementary and secondary schools.” Id. at 583—
84. These atmospheric and “coercive power” concerns
were heightened in Stone, where the posting of the Ten
Commandments in a classroom setting functioned “purely
as a religious admonition.” Lynch, 465 U.S. at 679. No
such “admonition” is present in this case, however, where
both the setting and the manner of display are entirely
different.

As the Chief Justice has observed (and, again, as this
Court’s Curator’s explanation confirms, see supra at 7), in
addition to their obvious religious importance, the Ten
Commandments “[u]ndeniably ... have secular signifi-
cance as well, because they have made a substantial
contribution to our secular legal codes.” City of Elkhart v.
Books, 532 U.S. 1058, 1061(2001) (Rehnquist, C.J.,
dissenting from denial of certiorari). Placement of the
Ten Commandments in a courthouse or seat of govern-

22

ment, whether alone or with other historic documents,
“emphasizes the foundational role of the Ten Command-
ments in secular, legal matters.” Jd. Given the secular
significance of the Decalogue and the manner in which
posting it in a courthouse emphasizes its secular, legal
impact, it is clear that Petitioners had a legitimate
secular purpose for displaying the Ten Commandments in
their courthouses. Certainly, Petitioners’ actions were
not “motivated wholly by religious considerations,” Lynch,
465 U.S. at 680, as would be required to find a violation
under the purpose prong of Lemon. See also supra note 3.
Under Lynch and Allegheny, Petitioners’ purpose is best
understood as a permissible effort to “acknowledg[e] ...
the role of religion in American life.” Lynch, 465 U.S. at
674.

Further misapplying Stone, the court of appeals re-
quired that, in order to demonstrate a legitimate secular
purpose, “the government must present the Ten Com-
mandments objectively and must integrate them with a
secular message,” 354 F.3d at 449, by demonstrating an
“analytical or historical connection,” id. at 451, between
the Decalogue and other documents in a public display.
In Stone, however, this Court merely observed that “[t]his
is not a case in which the Ten Commandments are inte-
grated into the school curriculum, where the Bible may
constitutionally be used in an appropriate study of his-
tory, civilization, ethics, comparative religion, or the like.”
449 U.S. at 42. As Chief Judge Boggs pointed out, Stone’s
dictum was not “an attempt to state binding limits on all
future constitutionally valid displays.” Am. Civil Liber-
ties Union of Ky. v. McCreary County, 361 F.3d 928, 933
(6th Cir. 2004) (Boggs, C.J., dissenting from denial of
rehearing en banc). But even if it were, there was noth-
ing in Stone to “suggest that a display that includes the
Ten Commandments as part of an array containing eight
or nine otherwise secular, historical documents, violates

23

the First Amendment unless the display also provides an
explicit analytical or historical connection between the
clearly secular and the arguably religious items.” Jd.

As Judge Ryan further demonstrated, Lynch did not
require an “analytical or historical connection” between
the créche and the “reindeer pulling Santa’s sleigh,” 465
U.S. at 671, and Allegheny did not require an “analytical
or historical connection” between the menorah and the
Christmas tree. 354 F.3d at 475 (Ryan, J., dissenting).
More significantly, he observed, the court of appeals’
misapplication of Stone would effectively doom most
displays with religious symbols because “[g]lovernment
monuments and displays appear in a context in which the
displays must speak for themselves, for they do not
present an opportunity to attach lengthy disclaimers and
statements of purpose.” Jd. Accordingly, the test devel-
oped by the court of appeals is not only unworkable, but
also wholly inconsistent with Lynch and Allegheny.

Finally, the courts below erred in imputing to Peti-
tioners’ current displays an allegedly impermissible
purpose underlying earlier displays. “The district court
found it ‘significant’ that [Petitioners] original displays,
containing only the Ten Commandments ‘were erected in
violation of the Supreme Court’s clear ruling in Stone.’ ”
354 F.3d at 457 (quoting Am. Civil Liberties Union of Ky.
v. McCreary County, 145 F. Supp. 2d 845, 849-50 (E.D.
Ky. 2001) (footnote omitted)). “ “This defiance,’ according
to the district court, ‘imprinted the defendants’ purpose,
from the beginning with an unconstitutional taint....’”
Id. (quoting 145 F. Supp. 2d at 850 (footnote omitted)).
The court of appeals faulted the district court’s analysis,
which “appeared to afford exclusive weight to [Petition-
ers] past conduct without addressing the specific content
of the revised displays,” but agreed that “the history of
[Petitioners] involvement with the displays strongly
indicated that the primary purpose was religious.” 354

24

F.3d at 458; see also 361 F.3d at 931 (Clay, J., concurring
in denial of rehearing en banc).

As an initial matter, given the differences between the
courthouse and schoolhouse settings, even the premise of
the district court’s “unconstitutional taint” analysis is
faulty: It is by no means clear that the original court-
house displays violated Stone. But even if Petitioners’
original displays were unconstitutional, that should not
“taint” forever Petitioners’ good-faith efforts to come into
compliance. If government is to function, its officials
must be allowed to correct their mistakes. They should
not labor under an unconstitutional taint of past miscon-
duct while attempting to set matters straight. This is
especially true in the field of Establishment Clause
jurisprudence, where the line between the permissible
and the impermissible is frequently “a blurred, indistinct,
and variable barrier depending on all the circumstances
of a particular relationship,” Lemon, 403 U.S. at 614, that
can only be “dimly perceive[d],” id. at 612. In reality,
what Petitioners’ efforts “strongly indicate[d]” was a bona
fide intention to comply with the Constitution.

By misinterpreting Stone to fashion its own unprece-
dented test for Ten Commandments displays, the court of
appeals erred in its purpose-prong analysis under Lemon.
Under this Court’s decision in Lynch, Petitioners had a
legitimate secular purpose—anchoring modern law in
ancient sources—for their courthouse displays. This
secular purpose, combined with the lack of endorsement
of religion and the utter absence of coercion, demonstrates
that the displays in this case represented an entirely
acceptable and proper “acknowledgment ... of the role of
religion in American life.” 465 U.S. at 674.

25
CONCLUSION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

TROY KING
Attorney General of Alabama

KEVIN C. NEWSOM
Solicitor General

CHARLES B. CAMPBELL*
Assistant Attorney General
*Counsel of Record

STATE OF ALABAMA

11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-0152
(334) 242-7300

Counsel for the State of Alabama,
Amicus Curiae

December 8, 2004 (Additional Counsel Listed
Inside Front Cover)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0005%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
