# Amicus Curiae Brief — Kiobel v. Royal Dutch Petroleum Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385015_0700%3A082

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2013
- **Citation:** 569 U.S. 108

## Text

| Supreme SCout. U.S!

FILED

i

a JUM13 26% |
ORD No. 10-1491
VA ) . |

ae IN THE 7
Supreme Court of the United States

ESTHER KIOBEL, et al.,

Petitioners,
Vv.
ROYAL DUTCH PETROLEUM CoO., et ail.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE
KINGDOM OF THE NETHERLANDS AND THE
UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND

NORTHERN IRELAND AS AMICI CURIAE

IN SUPPORT OF NEITHER PARTY

IAIN MACLEOD DONALD I. BAKER
The Legal Adviser Counsel of Record
FOREIGN AND W. TODD MILLER
COMMONWEALTH OFFICE KIMBERLY SHAW
United Kingdom ISHAI MOOREVILLE
BAKER & MILLER PLLC
me oe LIJNZAAD 2401 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
e Legal Adviser Suite 300
MINISTRY OF

Washington, DC 20037

FOREIGN AFFAIRS (202) 663-7820

The Kingdom of the .
dbaker@bakerandrniller.com

Netherlands

Attorneys for the Governments of the Kingdom
of the Netherlands and the United Kingdom of
Great Britain and Northern Ireland

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

QUESTION PRESENTED

“Whether and under what circumstances the Alien
Tort Statute, 28 U.S.C. §1350, allows courts to
recognize a cause of action for violations of the law of
nations occurring within the territory of a sovereign
other than the United States.”

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ....................0...:cccceeee i
TABLE OF CONTENTS ..................ccesecccsssceseeees ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........0.........00:.:ee. vill
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE ...................... 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..............0..........04.

I. THE COURT’S DECISION IN SOSA
CONTINUED THE U.S. TRADITION
OF CAREFUL DEFERENCE TO
INTERNATIONAL LAW, BUT DID
NOT ADDRESS OR RESOLVE THE
CORE JURISDICTIONAL ISSUE
RAISED BY THIS AND MANY OTHER
POST-SOSA ATS CASES...................000655 8

A. The jurisdictional basis for any new
causes of action under the ATS
should be recognized with the same
level of universality and specificity as
the three original causes of action...... 9

B. Sosa did not raise the same level of
jurisdictional concern that this case
and Rio Tinto do, because there was

a sufficiently close nexus with the
| ERATE TE SA Cone ser ee NN eT LOO 10

(ili)

II.

Il.

lV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

INTERNATIONAL LAW AND THE
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT ONLY
ALLOW THE EXERCISE OF EXTRA-
TERRITORIAL CIVIL JURISDICTION
WHERE THE CHALLENGED ACTS
AND/OR PARTIES HAVE A SUFFICI-
ENTLY CLOSE FACTUAL CONNEC-
TION TO THE FORUM STATE ..............

A. Establishing a_ sufficiently close
factual nexus to the forum State ........

B. The other bases that plaintiffs have
frequently used for ATS assertions of
jurisdiction fall short of the nexus
required by international law.............

C. The presence of a U.S. corporate
affiliate is not a sufficient basis to
establish U.S. jurisdiction over ATS
claims against a foreign parent or
affiliated corporation for unrelated
activities that have no effect in the
__|_ SAREE Renee re vr Seen Oe OORT Roe Ee

THE STATES SUBMITTING THIS
BRIEF APPLY IN THEIR OWN
COURTS JURISDICTION-LIMITING
PRINCIPLES CONSISTENT WITH
WHAT THEY ARE URGING THIS
COURT TO ACCEPT UNDER INTER-
NATIONAL LAW. ....0000.......cccesessceeeceeeeseees

A. The United Kingdom...........................
a I es

Page

11

14

16

17

18
19
21

v
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

IV. ALLOWING U.S. COURTS, AT THE

BEHEST OF PRIVATE PLAINTIFFS,
TO EXERCISE BROAD EXTRATER-
RITORIAL JURISDICTION IN ALIEN
TORT STATUTE CASES OFTEN
INTERFERES WITH THE RIGHT OF
A NATION TO PRESCRIBE RULES
FOR AND ADJUDICATE DISPUTES
AMONG ITS OWN NATIONALS AND
RESIDENTS THAT OCCUR ON ITS
OWN TERRITORY ................... cece eee

A. A foreign State’s legitimate concern
about U.S. judicial interference with
its sovereignty is clearly illustrated
by the South African government’s
strong opposition to ATS claims
based on the Apartheid policies of the
predecessor government......................

B. The risks of improper interference
with the rights of foreign sovereigns
are significantly enhanced in ATS
(and other) cases because the U.S.
has chosen to adopt plaintiff-favoring
rules and remedies that other
nations do not accept.................-.0..005+-

C. There is ample evidence of interna-
tional disputes generated by the
efforts of private U.S. plaintiffs to
attack foreign parties for activities
I TIEN teeiririninteisesnndicissinseccinein

Page

24

24

26

29

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

V. THIS COURT'S PRESUMPTION

AGAINST EXTRATERRITORIAL AP-
PLICATION OF U.S. STATUTES
RECOGNISED IN ARAMCO, EMPA-
GRAN, AND MORRISON EMBODIED
FUNDAMENTAL CONSIDERATIONS
OF INTERNATIONAL COMITY AND
SHOULD BE APPLIED TO THE
JURISDICTION GRANTED TO USS.
COURTS BY THE ALIEN TORT
iitantaseceonecnsinenieeadicnaningtibinnaanteitins

A. The strong presumption § against
extraterritorial jurisdiction rests on
concerns about international comity ..

B. International comity considerations
particularly weigh against exercising
U.S. extraterritorial jurisdiction in
SE ccaierssnidpnnnctitinnienianinestebenaticies

. The risks of jurisdictional disputes
among sovereigns would be reduced
if this Court were to require the use
of the exhaustion of local remedies
doctrine before a plaintiff could bring
an ATS claim based on conduct in
the territory of a foreign sovereign.....

OQ

Page

30

30

32

33

Vil

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

VI. PROTECTION AGAINST HUMAN
RIGHTS ABUSES CAN BE MORE
FAIRLY AND EFFECTIVELY
ACHIEVED BY SEEKING INTER-
NATIONAL CONSENSUS AND CO-
OPERATION THROUGH TREATIES
THAN BY RESORT TO PRIVATE
CIVIL LITIGATION IN DISTANT
i cidiunid dniinetcniiihincnectssonnesidneniesinreninties

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A: Declaration by Penuell
Mpapa Maduna, Minister of Justice and
Constitutional Development of the Republic
of South Africa (July 11, 2003)........................

Page

34

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page(s)
Alexander Murray, Esq. v. Schooner
Charming Betsy, 6 U.S. 64 (1804)............ 7
Alvarez-Machain v. U.S., 331 F. 3d 604
(9th Cir. 2003)...... seccienddabinshacidiieddiaidaiaaeniidaiinailtaaaiaes 8
Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness
Society, 421 U.S. 240 (1975)................. 27
American Isuzu Motors, Inc. v. Ntsebeza,
ls as, I ED icncstcsctnsedeccnsisisenienie 3
Bell Atlantic v. Twombley, 550 U.S. 544
I TTITTITT shaishichnisiepiniainnieanaieaeiiehaebiebinchuneindeaiiiewamebiedin 27

Bauman v. DaimlerChrysler Corp., 676
F.3d 774 (9th Cir. 2011), pet. for cert.

filed, (Feb 6, 2012) (No. 11-965) ............... 5
Blackmer v. United States, 284 U.S. 421

I ciiosiiicenestnsehinialeiblidlishamptetadaabademioeianeenines 14
EEOC v. Arabian American Oil Company,

I HI eI iiccsscnsncincsncievinsccsscnneness 30, 31
F. Hoffmann-La Roche v. Empagran, S.A.,

ee ee re i iniscscntsnaiientensiiniiieinnnieionnis passim
Filartiga v. Pera-Irala, 630 F.2d 876 (2d

Rs oil delsiineicnce aeidatarnbearenbialanhadiciiemsilhdidssserinig 15, 16
Goodyear Dunlop Tires Operations, S.A. v.

Brown, 131 S. Ct. 2846 (2011).................. 18
Hartford Fire Ins. Co. v. Cal., 509 U.S. 764

UI cisccse echinacea daselehelnaiaidetiieteiitaiaia 13

Morrison v. National Australian Bank
Lid., 130 S.Ct: 2660 (3010)...................... passim

1x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Sarei v. Rio Tinto, PLC, 671 F.3d 736 (9th
Cir. 2011) (en banc), pet. for cert. filed,
80 U.S.L.W. 335 (Nov. 23, 2011) (No. 11-

eee ieuhsrwnnicihnsiascitsveniibinsaaséictabsiuendiinietnainiinindies 5, 11, 28, 36

Schooner Exchange v. McFadden, 11 U.S.
a inintivsninninsccsiesitveestasvnideeishpscctillaeasiiniinsvaeions

Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain, 542 U.S. 692

Ti intdiiinsdhinndiisididnidbpldiddssiemaniibideeaeeniéail passim

The Antelope, 23 U.S. (10 Wheat.) 66

The Apollon, 22 U.S. 362 (1824) ............0....

United States v. Yousef, 327 F. 3d 56 (2d
I MI iniccsiiasil clei erica piieiaiuslaiadaiunedamniaie

FOREIGN CASES

Anglo Norwegian Fisheries Case (U.K. v.
Nor.), 1951 1L.C..J. 116 (Dec. 18) ................

Armed Activities on the Territory of the
Congo (New Application: 2002), Judg-
ment, 2006 I.C.J. 6 (Feb. 3) ......................

Case Concerning the Arrest Warrant of 11
April 2000 (Dem. Rep. Congo v. Belg.)
eee

Decision of the Swiss Federal Tribunal of
22 May 2007 (Case number 4C.379/
2006), available at http://jumpcgi.bger.
ch/cgi-bin/Jum pCGI?id=22.05.2007_4C.
TN cctacideistetstesysin:dhinachaehdimapasibatcsiadismaianelbaaiéiben

Guerrero v. Moneterrico Metals Pic, {2009}
EER Aree ene ae renee

13

11

16

16

23

20

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

Gulf Oil Corporation v. Gulf Oil Canada
Lid., {1980} 2 S.C.R. 39 (Canada) ............ 30

Immunities of The State (Germany v.
Italy: Greece Intervening), 2012 I.C.J.
(Feb. 3), available at http://www.icj-

cij.org/docket/files/143/16883.pdf ............. 16
Jones v. Ministry of Interior for the King-

dom of Saudi Arabia (2006] UKHL 26 .... 20
Lubbe and Others v. Cape Plc [2000)

ATI Gidea deancehetdhieessiabeeancieanalaeiiiiie 19
Mark v. Mark [2005] UKHL 42, [2005] 1

RSE EPR eL ea nen REN eo ae arene 15
The Nottebohm Case (Liech. v. Guat.),

ee Sees Te CIS, i cncetiiininecemeencintsiaaanmiain 11,14

Rb. Gravenhage [Court of First Instance of
the Hague] 21 maart 2012, m. nt. Van
der Helm, Case 400882/HA ZA 11-2252
(El-Hojouj/Derbal) (Neth.), available at
http://zoeken.rechtspraak.nl/resultpage.a
spx?snelzoeken=true&searchtype=ljn&ljn
EE ii ticnthinnichiningbicnninitisaniiiguaimanianesdmmetios 23

Rb. Gravenhage [Court of the Hague], 30
December 2009, JOR 2010, 41 m.nt. Mr.
RGJ de Haan (Oguro/Royal Dutch Shell
PLC)(Neth.) available at http://zoeken.
rechtspraak.nl/resultpage.aspx?snelzoek
en=true&searchtype=ljn&ljn=BK8616.... 21

xi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

Rb. Utrecht [Court of First Instance of
Utrecht] 12 maart 2008, Case 241446/
HA ZA 08-27, available at http://zoeken.
rechtspraak.nl/resultpage.aspx?snelzoeke
n=true&searchtype=ljn&ljn=BC6477 ....... 22

Rio Tinto Zinc Corp. v. Westinghouse
Electric Corp., [1978] 2 W.L.R. 81 (H.L.

ER le RAR ec 7 OR ON 30

CONSTITUTION

8 Ro ee 6, Be | een 17
STATUTE

Alien Tort Statute, 28 U.S.C. §1350........... passim
RULES

ails Gls GFL SED sencdsncusiascciiinnessieccenes 27

A I a aia sale catia isaiilelicbidiiinidibiiabcinngsiaibigadie 27
FOREIGN STATUTES AND RULES

Dutch Code of Civ. P. Art. 7(1)..................... 21

Dutch Code of Civil Procedure, Article
9(b), Wetboek van Burgerlijke Rechts-

vordering, available at www.wetten.
overheid.nl/BWBR0001827/geldigheidsda

TE iciniicinnctucdinsiiiunsvnlinneninietenssine 21
Dutch Code of Civ. P. Art. 9(c)..................... 22
Foreign Extraterritorial Measures Act,

ee Oe: Mae NID vncincceccnssscnsncnianconss 29

Foreign Proceedings (Excess of Jurisdic-
tion) Act No. 3 of 1984 (Austl.) ................. 29

xil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Protection of Trading Interests Act, 1980,
G. ES Gee veccocsntonntdheunighiatdbeeeae

Swiss Federal Code of Private Interna-
tional Law, Compilation of Swiss Laws
Peemer BOE.G, G6. B....cccccececocosccsecsceccocesees

Swiss Federal Code of Private Interna-
tional Law, Compilation of Swiss Laws
Number 291.0, art. 129...................cccesceees

U.K. Civil Procedure Rules, 1998, Part 6,
Practice Direction 6B-Service Out of the
Jurisdiction, available at http://www.jus
tice.gov.uk/courts/procedure-rules/civil//
SU Se ccicciccssccssescsmneseepintessiiannnnts

OTHER AUTHORITIES

A.I.M. van Mierlo, C.J.J.C. van Nispen.
M.V. Polak, Burgerlijke Rechtsvorde-
ring: de tekst van het Wetboek van
Burgerlijke Rechtsvordering voorzier
van commentaar (“Civil Procedure
Commentary on the Code of Civil
Procedure”) (Kluwer 3rd ed. 2008)...........

Bernard H. Oxman, Jurisdiction of States,
in Encyclopedia of Public International
Law (Rudolf Bernhardt, ed., 1997)...........

Brief for the Government of Canada as
Amicus Curiae Supporting Reversal, F.
Hoffmann-La Roche, Ltd. v. Empagran
S.A., 542 U.S. 155 (2004) (No. 03-724)
(filed Feb. 3, 2004) 2004 U.S. S. Ct.
IEEE ED GUID veniccnnvesmenincscectaniciinaaenin

29

23

21

19

21

12

xill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Brief for the Republic of France as Amicus
Curiae in Support of Respondents,
Morrison v. National Australian Bank
Ltd., 130 S.Ct. 2869 (2010) (No. 08-1191)
(filed Feb. 26, 2010) 2010 U.S. S. Ct.
isa cccadcapasntoesncedons

Brief for the United States as Amicus
Curiae in Support of Petitioners, Ameri-
can Isuzu Motors, Inc. v. Ntsebeza, 128
S. Ct. 2424 (2008) (No. 07-919) (filed
Feb. 11, 2008), 2008 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs
SE RE

Brief for the United States as Amicus
Curiae Supporting Petitioners, Goodyear
Dunlop Tires Operations, S.A. v. Brown,
131 S. Ct. 2846 (2011) (filed Nov. 19,
2010) (No. 10-76) 2010 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs
a sceueneet

Brief of the Government of Japan as
Amicus Curiae in Support of Petitioners,
F. Hoffmann-La Roche, Ltd. v. Empa-
gran S.A., 542 U.S. 155 (2004) (No. 03-
724) (filed Feb. 3, 2004) 2004 U.S. S. Ct.
SD I sv cccccscsscsesscessosonsdtocserscscse

Brief of the Government of the Common-
wealth of Australia as Amicus Curiae in
Support of the Defendants-Appellees,
Morrison v. National Australian Bank
Ltd. ,130 S.Ct. 2869 (2010) (No. 08-1191)
(filed Feb. 26, 2010), 2010 U.S. S. Ct.
TE SL a

18

XlV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

Brief of the Governments of Australia and
the United Kingdom of Great Britain
and Northern Ireland as Amici Curiae
in Support of the Petitioners on Certain
Questions in their Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari, Rio Tinto PLC v. Sarei, pet.
for cert. filed, (No. 11-649) (filed Dec. 28,

Brief of the Governments of the Common-
wealth of Australia, the Swiss Confeder-
ation and the United Kingdom of Great
Britain and Northern Ireland as Amici
Curiae in Support of the Petitioner, Sosa
v. Alvarez-Machain, 543 U.S. 692 (2004)
(No. 03-339) (filed Jan. 23, 2004), 2004
U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS 910.................... 3

Brief of the Governments of the Federal
Republic of Germany and Belgium as
Amici Curiae in Support of Petitioners,

F. Hoffmann-La Roche, Ltd. v. Empa-
gran S.A., 542 U.S. 155 (2004) (No. 03-
724) (filed Feb. 3, 2004) 2004 U.S. S. Ct.
ee SIE FR icidtncsnannecnnenscdsunietninewiniien 4

Brief of the Governments of the United
Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern
Ireland, and the Kingdom of the
Netherlands as Amici Curiae in Support
of the Respondents (No. 10-1491) (filed
I a) 2, 34

xXV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Brief of the United Kingdom of Great
Britain and Northern Ireland, Ireland
and the Kingdom of the Netherlands as
Amici Curiae in Support of Petitioners,
F. Hoffmann-La Roche v. Empagran,
S.A., 542 U.S. 155 (2004) (filed Feb. 3,
2004) (No. 03-724), 2004 U.S. S. Ct.
Be ITE beniisesecindeniintinnntectediuapeiienene

Bruno Simma & Andreas Th. Muller,
Exercise and Limits of Jurisdiction, in
The Cambridge Companion to Inter-
national Law 142 (James Crawford ed.,

Carl A. Cira, Jr., The Challenge of Foreign
Laws to Block American Antitrust
Actions, 18 Stan. J. Int’] L. 247 (1982).....

CMV Clarkson & Jonathan Hill, The
Conflict of Laws (Oxford University
, iiccicsnciiciiecwnnteciesmmiunniie

Curtis Bradley, Attorney General Brad-
ford’s Opinion and the Alien Tort Statute,
uploaded June 7, 2012, available at
http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?
ahatract iG sBOGIOB 1 ........ccccccccccccccccccscess:

Declaration by Penuell Mpapa Maduna
(Minister of Justice and Constitutional
Development of the Republic of South
Africa) with Letter to Judge John E.
Sprizzo of the U.S. Dist. Ct., S.D.N-Y.

2-3

14

29

15

SN Seay i inctteiiniccitiacncartinaiiiicidsiscibiimsita 24, 25, 26

xvi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

Emerich de Vattel, The Law of Nations
TT i iescnmsicniseiinensiisiieiiiiieneciansaaneenition 10

Human Rights Memorandum of the Dutch
Government ‘Responsible for Freedom’,
available at http://www.minbuza.nl/en/
key-topics/human-rights/dutch-human-
rights-policy/human-rights-strategy-

AEDS SPEEDO Nese See reas ein verse 1
Malcolm N. Shaw, International Law (6th

5, EESTI eae io enmee in te mee nerw 11
Restatement (Third) of Foreign Relations

Law of the United States (1987) ......... 12, 13, 14

Sir Robert Jennings & Sir Arthur Watts,
eds., Oppenheim’s International Law
Eee ee ne 12,14

Thomas H. Lee, The Safe-Conduct Theory
of the Alien Tort Statute, 106 Colum. L.
Ss Re TI icicstessicnienitepictciigunedcaiaioneciaitiont 10

xvil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)

Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal,
Herziening van het procesrecht voor
burgerlijke zaken, in het bijzonder de
wijze van procederen in eerste aanleg,
kamerstukken II (“The Dutch House of
Representatives, Revision of the Civil
Procedure, specifically the rules of the
procedure in the first instance, Par-
liamentary Documents II”) 1999-2000,
available at https://zoek.officielebekend
makingen.nl/kst-26855-3.html?zoekcrite
ria=%3fzkt%3dUVitgebreid%26pst%3dSta
atsblad%257cStaatscourant%257cTracta
tenblad%257cParlementaireDocumente
n%26vrt%3dHerziening%2bprocesrecht
%2bburgerlijke*2bzaken%26zkd%3dIn
DeGeheleText%252.......... 0... ccc ccceccecee eee eees 21-22

U.K. Foreign and Commonwealth Office,
Business and Human Rights, http://www.
fco.gov.uk/en/globalissues/human-rights/
international-framework/businesy/ ........... 1

Vaughan Lowe and Christopher Staker,
Jurisdiction, in International Law
(Malcolm D. Evans ed., 3rd ed. 2010)..... 8

W. Kent David, The International View of
Attorney Fees in Civil Suits: Why is the
United States the “Odd Man Out” In
How It Pays Its Lawyers?, 16 Ariz. J.

Int'l & Comp. L. 361 (1999)...................... 28

XVill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

White Paper on Damage Actions for Breach

of EC Competition Rules, COM (2008)
Sra chihinniesstctla dieitciiseieimaspuresndeoasdagieiuibsaeisiaelimeiagale 27

William Glaberson, NAFTA Invoked to
Challenge Court Award, N.Y. Times,
Jan. 28, 1999, available at http://www.
nytimes.com/1999/01/28/business/nafta-
invoked-to-challenge-court-award.html?
pagewanted=all&src=pm..................000.000 28

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

The Governments of the Kingdom of the Nether-
lands and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and
Northern Ireland (“U.K.”) (collectively “the Govern-
ments”) are committed to the rule of law, including
the promotion of, and protection against violations of,
human rights. It has been the longstanding view of
the Governments that a State must protect the
human rights of those within its jurisdiction, and
must provide appropriate remedies for violations of
those rights.’

The Governments firmly believe that corporations
should not be able to act with impunity vis-a-vis
human rights issues, and that they should respect
human rights. Accordingly, the Governments have
recognized that the operations of corporations can
have both beneficial and detrimental impacts on the
enjoyment of human rights by those affected by their
operations and are engaged in multilateral dialogue
to determine how best to address this at the interna-
tional level.”

‘Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, Amici Curiae state
that no counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in
part and that no person or entity other than Amici Curiae, its
members, and its counsel contributed monetarily to the prepara-
tion of submission of this brief. Both Petitioners and Respond-
ents have granted their consent to the filing of all amicus briefs.

*For example, see U.K. Foreign and Commonwealth Office,
Business and Human Rights, http/Avww.fco.gov.uk/en/global-
issues/human-rights/international-framework/business/;, see also
chapter on freedom and prosperity in Human Rights Memoran-
dum of the Dutch Government ‘Responsible for Freedom’,
available at http://www.minbuza.nl/en/key-topics/human-rights/
dutch-human-rights-policy/human-rights-strategy-2011.

2

Nevertheless, just as international law imposes
human rights obligations on States, it imposes
restraints on the assertion of jurisdiction by one
State over civil actions between persons that primar-
ily concern another State. Jurisdictional restraints
are a fundamental underpinning of the international
legal order and are essential to maintaining inter-
national peace and comity. The Governments are,
therefore, opposed to broad assertions of extraterri-
torial jurisdiction over alien persons arising out of
foreign disputes with little, or no, connection to the
United States (“U.S.”). Such assertions of jurisdic-
tion are contrary to international law and create a
substantial risk of jurisdictional and diplomatic
conflict. They may also prevent another State with a
greater nexus to such cases from effectively resolving
a dispute.

As such, the Governments have maintained their
concern with the extraterritorial application of U.S.
law over a long period of time. They have expressed
their concern in numerous amicus briefs submitted to
this Court, including a brief by the Governments at
an earlier stage of these proceedings.’ The Govern-
ments, along with Ireland, filed a joint amicus brief
detailing similar concerns on the exercise of
extraterritorial antitrust jurisdiction by the U.S. in
F. Hoffmann-La Roche v. Empagran, S.A., 542 U.S.
155 (2004) (*Empagran”).* The U.K. also submitted a

‘Bnief of the Governments of the United Kingdom of Great
Britain and Northern Ireland, and the Kingdom of the Nether-
lands as Amici Curiae in Support of the Respondents (No. 10-
1491) (filed Feb. 3, 2012); Id. at 2-4, nn. 3-6.

‘ Brief of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern
Ireland, Ireland and the Kingdom of the Netherlands as Amici
Curtae in Support of Petitioners, F. Hoffmann-La Roche ov.

3
joint brief with the Governments of Australia and
Switzerland dealing with extraterritorial jurisdic-
tional issues during this Court’s only prior considera-
tion of the Alien Tort Statute (“ATS”) in Sosa uv.
Alvarez-Machain, 542 U.S. 692 (2004) (“Sosa”).’

The Governments remain deeply concerned about
the failure by some U.S. courts to take account of the
jurisdictional constraints under international law
when construing the ATS, which in turn has led
those courts to entertain suits by foreign plaintiffs
against foreign defendants for conduct that took place
entirely in the territory of a foreign sovereign. In this
regard, for example, the U.K., Germany, Switzerland
and South Africa sent diplomatic notes to the U.S.
reasserting their opposition to a broad assertion of
extraterritorial jurisdiction in an ATS case based on
South Africa’s Apartheid history.”

This brief is intended to set out the views of
two nations that historically have been concerned
with the extraterritorial exercise of jurisdiction by
the U.S. courts because of its inconsistency with
international law. It echoes the views expressed by
other governments in ATS, antitrust and securities

Empagran, S.A., 542 U.S. 155 (2004) (filed Feb. 3, 2004) (No. 03-
724), 2004 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS 104.

’ Brief of the Governments of the Commonwealth of Australia,
the Swiss Confederation and the United Kingdom of Great
Britain and Northern Ireland as Amici Curiae in Support of the
Petitioner, Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain, 542 U.S. 692 (2004) (No.
03-339) (filed Jan. 23, 2004), 2004 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS 910.

“See Diplomatic notes in Appendices B-E, Brief for the
United States as Amicus Curiae in Support of Petitioners,
American Isuzu Motors, Inc. v. Ntsebeza, 128 S. Ct. 2424 (2008)
(No. 07-919) (filed Feb. 11, 2008), 2008 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS
1311.

4

cases before this Court—-including the Governments
of Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany,
and Japan.’ This brief is purely intended to set out
the Governments’ view of the most relevant interna-
tional legal principles and takes no position on the
underlying factual and legal disputes between the
parties to this particular case. Accordingly, the
Governments are filing this amicus brief in support of
neither party.

‘Brief of the Governments of Australia and the United
Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland as Amici Curiae
in Support of the Petitioners on Certain Questions in their
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, Rio Tinto PLC v. Sarei, pet. for
cert. filed, (No. 11-649) (filed Dec. 28, 2011); Brief for the
Republic of France as Amicus Curiae in Support of Respondents,
Morrison v. National Australian Bank Ltd., 130 S.Ct. 2869
(2010) (No. 08-1191) (filed Feb. 26, 2010) 2010 U_S. S. Ct. Briefs
LEXIS 176; Brief of the Government of the Commonwealth of
Australia as Amicus Curiae in Support of the Defendants-
Appellees, Morrison v. National Australian Bank Ltd., (2010)
(No. 08-1191) (filed Feb. 26, 2010), 2010 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs
LEXIS 172; Brief of the Governments of the Federal Republic
of Germany and Belgium as Amici Curiae in Support of
Petitioners, F. Hoffmann-La Roche, Ltd. v. Empagran S.A., 542
U.S. 155 (2004) (No. 03-724) (filed Feb. 3, 2004) 2004 U.S. S. Ct.
Briefs LEXIS 112; Brief for the Government of Canada as
Amicus Curiae Supporting Reversal, F. Hoffmann-La Roche,
Ltd. v. Empagran S.A., (2004) (No. 03-724) (filed Feb. 3, 2004)
2004 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS 105; Briet of the Government of
Japan as Amicus Curiae in Support of Petitioners, F. Hoffmann-
La Roche, Lid. v. Empagran S.A., (2004) (No. 03-724) (filed Feb.
3, 2004) 2004 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS 106.

5
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case (which is quite different from Sosa
factually)* is typical of the ATS cases that have
proliferated in the lower courts since 2004. In such
cases, U.S. class action counsel have assembled a
class of foreign citizens or residents who have alleg-
edly been injured by actions of a foreign government
in its own territory; and most of the defendants in
these cases are foreign corporations that are alleged
to have encouraged, assisted, or participated in the
foreign government’s activities. Generally, as in this
case, the challenged conduct has no nexus to the U.S.
The corporations are the principal targets of these
cases because claims made directly against foreign
States or governments would be dismissed on
grounds of sovereign immunity.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This action, like Sarei v. Rio Tinto, PLC, 671 F.3d
736 (9th Cir. 2011) (en banc), pet. for cert. filed,
80 U.S.L.W. 335 (Nov. 23, 2011) (No. 11-649) (“Rio
Tinto”), is a typical post-Sosa ATS case.” It involves
claims that a large class of foreign citizens and
residents has been mistreated in the territory of a
foreign State—and that the plaintiffs should be
compensated by a substantial damages award for
alleged violations of “the law of nations” against non-
U.S. corporations that carried out business in the
territory of the foreign State. The attractiveness of
the U.S. as a forum for foreign plaintiffs can in part

* Sosa was a suit by a single Mexican citizen as a result of a
cross-border kidnapping by another Mexican citizen, alleged to
be acting on behalf of U.S. government officials.

"See also Bauman v. DaimlerChrysler Corp., 676 F.3d 774
(9th Cir. 2011), pet. for cert. filed, (Feb. 6, 2012) (No. 11-965).

6

be traced to decisions by the U.S. to accord private
plaintiffs a set of advantages that most other coun-
tries have not accepted. Acceptance of such cases
where there is no link to the forum concerned in-
creases the risk of forum shopping by foreign
plaintiffs, thereby circumventing the competent legal
system.

The Governments strongly believe that such alle-
gations of human rights violations should be dealt
with in an appropriate forum, respecting interna-
tional law principles of jurisdiction. In relation to
claims of a civil nature, the bases for the exercise of
civil jurisdiction under international law are gener-
ally well-defined. They are principally based on terri-
toriality and nationality. The basic principles of in-
ternational law have never included civil jurisdiction
for claims by foreign nationals against other foreign
nationals for conduct abroad that have no sufficiently
close connection with the forum State.

For the U.S. to allow the ATS to provide the basis
for such claims would clearly interfere with other
nations’ sovereignty and be plainly inconsistent with
international law and the concept of international
comity recognized by this Court in Sosa, Empagran,
and Morrison v. Nat'l Austl. Bank Ltd, 130 S. Ct.
2869 (2010) (“Morrison”). It could also interfere with
and complicate efforts within the territorial State to
remedy human rights abuses that may have occurred
within its own territory. |

Accordingly, the Court should apply its repeatedly
recognized presumption against extraterritorial juris-
diction to the ATS.

7
ARGUMENT

Ever since Chief Justice Marshall’s early decisions
involving international shipping disputes, this Court
has recognized that international law places im-
portant limitations on the ability of the U.S. to
exercise jurisdiction over overseas individuals and
situations. In 1804, this Court stated that “an act of
Congress »ught never to be construed to violate the
law of nations if any other possible construction
remains,” unless the act contains “express words or a
very plain and necessary implication” to the contrary.
Alexander Murray, Esq. v. Schooner Charming Betsy,
6 U.S. 64, 118 (1804).

Eight years later in Schooner Exchange ov.
McFadden, 11 U.S. 116 (1812), the Chief Justice’s
opinion for the Court made very clear that “[t|he
jurisdiction of the nation within its own territory is
necessarily exclusive and absolute...{and]...is suscep-
tible of no limitation not imposed by itself.” Jd. at 136.

In a third important early decision, The Antelope,
23 U.S. (10 Wheat.) 66 (1825), the Court emphasized
the equality of sovereigns: “No principle of general
law is more universally acknowledged, than the
perfect equality of nations. Russia and Geneva have
equal rights. It results from this equality, that no
one can rightfully impose a rule on another.” Zd. at
122.

These basic principles are as important today as
they were in the era when the ATS was enacted, and
they have an importance that goes beyond the mere
adjudication of a particular dispute. As one respected
commentator has explained, “(t]he legal rules and
principles governing jurisdiction have a fundamental
importance in international relations, because they

8

are concerned with the allocation . . . of competence
to regulate daily life — that is, the competence to
secure the differences that make each State a distinct
society.”*”

I. THE COURT’S DECISION IN SOSA CON-
TINUED THE U.S. TRADITION OF CARE-
FUL DEFERENCE TO INTERNATIONAL
LAW, BUT DID NOT ADDRESS OR
RESOLVE THE CORE JURISDICTIONAL
ISSUE RAISED BY THIS AND MANY
OTHER POST-SOSA ATS CASES

Sosa was an ATS lawsuit filed by a Mexican
national against another Mexican national, Jose
Francisco Sosa, for a cross-border kidnapping from
Mexico to the U.S., which was allegedly carried out at
the behest of U.S. government officials. Sosa, 542
U.S. at 697. See also Alvarez-Machain v. U.S., 331 F.
3d 604, 608 (9th Cir. 2003) (summarizing factual
background).

This Court dismissed Alvarez-Machain’s ATS claims
because his allegations of unlawful detention, for no
more than a day, were not considered to be a viola-
tion of any universally accepted, and clearly defined,
international law norm. Sosa, 542 U.S. at 738. Since
Sosa was the first modern ATS case that the Court
had accepted, it was necessarily concerned with the
need to define what types of acts might be considered
violations of the “law of nations” in the present era,
and showed careful deference to international law
rules in determining the existence, and scope, of any
such international norms.

"Vaughan Lowe and Christopher Staker, Jurisdiction, in
International Law 314 (Malcolm D. Evans ed., 3rd ed. 2010)
(emphasis in original).

9

The Court understood that recognizing new causes
of action for overseas conduct could lead to conflicts
among sovereigns over: (i) what constitutes violations
of international law, (ii) which sovereign(s) had the
right to try to take responsive action in their courts,
and (iii) what kind of civil remedies might be
appropriate. Any “attempts by federal courts to craft
remedies for the violation of new norms of
international law” raise “risks of adverse foreign
policy consequences” and “should be undertaken, if at
all, with great caution.” Jd. at 727-28.

A. The jurisdictional basis for any new
causes of action under the ATS should
be recognized with the same level of
universality and specificity as the three
original causes of action

The Court concluded that the ATS, when enacted,
was meant to provide remedies for three types of
offenses: violation of safe-conducts, infringement of
the rights of ambassadors, and piracy. Id. at 724.
Crucially, Congress’ decision in 1789 to provide aliens
with remedies for these three types of violations did
not conflict with the territorial sovereignty of any
other nation. For these three original causes of
action provided for by the ATS, it was also accepted
that procedurally each nation could exercise jurisdic-
tion over those specific claims.

At the time of the ATS’ enactment, it was accepted
that any nation could punish or provide a remedy for
acts of piracy on the high seas."' It was also generally
agreed that ambassadors serving abroad should have
a remedy in foreign courts if they suffered a tort or

" Sosa, 542 U.S. at 762.

10

their property rights were violated.” Lastly, every
nation was obliged to honor grants of “safe-conduct”
within their sovereign territory, or foreign territory
they controlled in wartime.”

Sosa’s requirement that new rules of international
law be clearly accepted and defined internationally
before constituting the proper basis for an ATS claim
should also apply to the identification of a proper
jurisdictional basis for any new claims. Even where
there is evidence of agreement amongst States,
through State practice and opinio juris, that certain
acts can constitute the violation of international
rules, that consensus does not also mean that a State
may, as of right, exercise extraterritorial jurisdiction
over those acts. Instead, there must be correspond-
ing agreement amongst States that such an exercise
of jurisdiction is permitted by an identifiable princi-
ple of jurisdiction under international law.

B. Sosa did not raise the same level of
jurisdictional concern that this case
and Rio Tinto do, because there was a
sufficiently close nexus with the U.S.

In Sosa, the plaintiff was kidnapped in Mexico, but
transported across the border to the U.S. against his

Emerich de Vattel wrote in 1758 that “[w)hoever offers any
violence to an ambassador, or any other public minister, not
only injures the sovereign which whom this minister represents,
but he also hurts the common safety and well-being of nations;
he becomes guilty of an atrocious crime towards the whole
world.” Emerich de Vattel, The Law of Nations 529 (1805 edition).

" Vattel wrote that “he who promises security by a safe-
conduct, promises it where he is master, not only in his territo-
ries but likewise where any of his troops may be.” Id. at 482.
See generally Thomas H. Lee, The Safe-Conduct Theory of the
Alien Tort Statute, 106 Colum. L. Rev. 830 (2006).

11

will, allegedly under the direction of U.S. officials.
Id. at 697-98.

The fact that some of the events in question
occurred on U.S. territory provided a factual nexus
with the U.S. that is totally absent from this case,
Rio Tinto and most of the other post-Sosa ATS cases
decided by the U.S. courts. The risk of conflict with
another sovereign nation is much less likely where
the U.S. is providing an ATS remedy for those in-
jured by acts committed by individuals on U.S. soil
(whether wholly or partially).

Il. INTERNATIONAL LAW AND THE DECI-
SIONS OF THIS COURT ONLY ALLOW
THE EXERCISE OF EXTRATERRITORIAL
CIVIL JURISDICTION WHERE THE
CHALLENGED ACTS AND/OR PARTIES
HAVE A SUFFICIENTLY CLOSE FAC-
TUAL CONNECTION TO THE FORUM
STATE

The Governments contend that it is now widely
accepted that an internationally recognized principle
must be identified before a State can exercise
extraterritorial civi] jurisdiction. In order for the
ATS to apply to “a cause of action for violations of the
law of nations occurring within the territory of a
sovereign other than the U.S.,” as the Court framed
the pending question, the cause of action must be
based on a close connection with the U.S. by virtue of

‘* The modern International Court of Justice has required
States to prove a relevant basis of jurisdiction. See The
Nottebohm Case (Liech. v. Guat.), 1955 1.C.J. 4 (Apr. 6). See
also Anglo Norwegian Fisheries Case (U.K. v. Nor.), 1951 I.C.J.
116 (Dec. 18), and Malcolm N. Shaw, International Law 656 (6th
ed. 2008).

12

one of the commonly recognized principles of jurisdic-
tion (e.g. nationality).

It is clearly established that the basis for jurisdic-
tion is always grounded in a sufficiently close nexus
to the forum State. The only exception is universal
criminal jurisdiction. Accordingly, it is axiomatic
that the exercise of civil jurisdiction by a State
will always depend on “there being between the
subject matter and the state exercising jurisdiction a
sufficiently close connection to justify that State in
regulating the matter and perhaps also to override
any competing rights of other States.””

Two such nexuses are well-known and widely
recognized under international law: territoriality and
nationality. Each State may regulate activity that
occurs in its own territory (the “territorial principle”
of jurisdiction)."" It may also exercise extraterritorial
jurisdiction in relation to the conduct of its nationals,
or domiciled individual residents (the “nationality” or
“active personality principle”). ’

Jurisdiction has sometimes—but not regularly—
been accepted where the necessary nexus could be
based on some other principle. One of these allows
extraterritorial jurisdiction based on the nationality
of the victim (the “passive personality principle”),
although this has primarily been limited to the exer-

Sir Robert Jennings & Sir Arthur Watts, eds., Oppenheim's
International Law 457-58 (9th ed. 1992) (emphasis added); See
also Bernard H. Oxman, Jurisdiction of States, in Encyclopedia
of Public International Law (Rudolf Bernhardt, ed., 1997).

" See The Apollon, 22 U.S. 362, 370 (1824).

Restatement (Third) of Foreign Relations Law of the United
States (hereinafter, “Restatement”) § 402(2) (1987).

13

cise of criminal jurisdiction." In addition, this Court
has sometimes allowed for exercise of U.S. extra-
territorial jurisdiction under the _ internationally
controversial “effects doctrine”, where the nexus was
that certain overseas activities had a substantial
adverse effect within the U.S. See, e.g., Hartford
Fire Ins. Co. v. Cal., 509 U.S. 764, 796 (1993). The
“protective principle” of jurisdiction also allows for
criminal jurisdiction over foreign acts that threaten a
nation’s national security.”

International law imposes the requirement of a
sufficiently close nexus to the forum asserting juris-
diction, in order to minimize conflicts between States
and to prevent forum shopping by plaintiffs and
defendants rushing to obtain judgments in a forum
that favors their own interests.

The one exception to the requirement of a suffi-
ciently close nexus to the forum State, to date, is the
so-called “universality principle”, which has been
clearly confined to the context of criminal jurisdic-
tion, and allows each State to exercise jurisdiction
over a limited category of crimes so heinous that
every State has a legitimate interest in their repres-
sion, regardless of the absence of a sufficiently close
connection to the perpetrator, the victim, or the crime
itself.

Passive personality jurisdiction allows criminal jurisdiction
“over acts that harm a State’s citizens abroad.” United States v.
Yousef, 327 F. 3d 56, 91 n.24 (2d Cir. 2003).

" Restatement, § 402(3), cmt. f.

14

A. Establishing a sufficiently close factual
nexus to the forum State

The foregoing principles of jurisdiction mean that
in order for the ATS to allow “a cause of action for
violations of the law of nations occurring within the
territory of a sovereign other than the United States,”
the cause of action must be based on a sufficiently
close connection with the U.S.

Thus, the Governments respectfully submit that
the principle of nationality of the defendant (or
“active personality jurisdiction”) is a proper basis on
which the U.S. may apply the ATS extraterritori-
ally.” This principle of jurisdiction is very clearly
asserted (and accepted) in State practice, and is well
established in international law. Sir Robert Jennings
& Sir Arthur Watts, eds., Oppenheim’s International
Law, § 138 at 462 (9th ed. 1992); Restatement of
Foreign Relations, § 402(2); Blackmer v. United
States, 284 U.S. 421, 437 (1932). In The Nottebohm
Case, the International Court of Justice (“ICJ”)
clarified that this well-established principle of juris-
diction requires “a legal bond having as its basis a
social fact of attachment, a genuine connection of
existence, interests, and sentiments, together with
the existence of reciprocal rights and duties” (empha-
sis added).*' Accordingly, the Governments consider

” The nationality principle of jurisdiction is also sometimes
referred to as the “Active Personality” Principle. Bruno Simma
& Andreas Th. Muller, Exercise and Limits of Jurisdiction, in
The Cambridge Companion to International Law 142 (James
Crawford ed., 2012) (stating that the “Active Personality principle
entitles a state to assert jurisdiction over crimes committed by
its nationals abroad”).

“The Nottebohm Case (Liech. v. Guat.), 1955 I.C.J. 4, 23
(Apr. 6).

15

that the extraterritorial application of the ATS to
acts committed by American individuals, corpora-
tions, and other U.S. entities in foreign sovereign
territory, would be consistent with international law.
Some scholars have suggested this is in fact what
Congress did.”

This active personality jurisdiction could also be
potentially applied to acts committed abroad by an
alien U.S. resident so long as a “genuine connection”
between the defendant and the U.S. could be
established. Accordingly, in historic cases, such as
Filartiga v. Pera-Irala, 630 F.2d 876 (2d Cir. 1980),
where the defendant was physically in the U.S. when
served with the lawsuit, and had been resident in the
U.S. for more than nine months before he was served,
it may be possible to prove the requisite close connec-
tion to establish active personality jurisdiction over
the individual where there is a clear legal bond
between him and the forum State.” Furthermore, in
Filartiga there had been an unsuccessful effort to

“Curtis Bradley, Attorney General Bradford’s Opinion and
the Alien Tort Statute, uploaded June 7, 2012, available at
http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.ctm?abstract_id=206392 1.

” Filartiga v. Pena-lrala, 630 F. 2d at 878-89. The defendant
in Filartiga was not a legal resident, but an alien who had
overstayed his visa and was scheduled for deportation. /d.
However, it is now accepted that domicile can still be acquired
where residence may be unlawful. For example, in the U.K., the
House of Lords has ruled that domicile can be acquired in such
circumstances. See Mark v. Mark (2005) UKHL 42, {2005} 1 A.C.
98. “In matters of civil status as opposed to political status, it is
in everyone's interests that the affairs of long-term residents are
governed by the laws of the country with which they are so
closely connected. It is not a matter of the person benefitting
from unlawful action: domicile gives rise to liabilities as well as
rights.” CMV Clarkson & Jonathan Hili, The Conflict of Laws
318 (Oxford University Press 4th ed. 2011) (emphasis added).

16

initiate a criminal action in Paraguay, which could
be considered an attempt at exhaustion of local
remedies (discussed infra at p. 33-34). Jd. at 878.
Given these realities, the Governments are not
suggesting that Filartiga be overruled.

B. The other bases that plaintiffs have
frequently used for ATS assertions of
jurisdiction fall short of the nexus
required by international law

Nonetheless, the ICJ has recognized that the type
of universal civil jurisdiction argued for by plaintiffs
in ATS cases “has not attracted the approbation of
States generally.” An allegation of an abuse of a
“jus cogens” norm committed anywhere in the world,
cannot alone justify the civil jurisdiction of the U.S.
courts.” Such jurisdiction, without any underpinning
of a clear connection with the forum (i.e. truly
“universal” jurisdiction), is only well established in
the criminal context.

Although universal criminal jurisdiction is permit-
ted in respect of a narrow category of international
norms, it does not give rise to a corresponding basis
for civil jurisdiction. International law does not

“ Case Concerning the Arrest Warrant of 11 April 2000 (Dem.
Rep. Congo v. Belg.), 2002 I.C.J. 3, 9 48 (Feb. 14) (“Arrest
Warrant Case”) (Opinion of Judges Higgins, Kooijmans and
Buergenthal).

“See immunities of The State (Germany v. Italy: Greece
Intervening), 2012 L.C.J. 4 95 (Feb. 3) available at http://www.
icj-cij.org/docket/files/143/16883.pdf (citing Armed Activities on
the Territory of the Congo (New Application: 2002), Judgment,
2006 1.C.J. 6, 449 64, 125 (Feb. 3)) (allowing foreign court pro-
ceedings to progréss against a sovereign nation presents a
fundamental conflict with that nation’s sovereignty, and there-
fore, the question of immunity must be decided at the beginning
of the claim).

17

develop through automaticity; it deveiops through an
accumulation of State practice.

Importantly, it is widely recognized that criminal
and civil jurisdiction are two distinct regimes. Extra-
polating universal civil jurisdiction from the exist-
ence of universal criminal jurisdiction is not a proper
application of international law: in particular, it is
not consistent with the way in which international
law develops. Such a principle must first be well-
established and practiced by States to emerge as a
new basis of civil jurisdiction vader international
law.

To allow extraterritorial jurisdiction in civil matters
to be solely dependent on the allegations made in the
claim would force each court to consider the merits at
the outset, and would allow plaintiffs to circumvent
the international law requirement of a clear factual
nexus with the forum “simply by skilful construction
of the claim.””

C. The presence of a U.S. corporate
affiliate is not a sufficient basis to
establish U.S. jurisdiction over ATS
claims against a foreign parent or
affiliated corporation for unrelated
activities that have no effect in the U.S.

The Governments consider that this Court’s deci-
sions under the Due Process clause of the 14th
Amendment to the Constitution are entirely con-
sistent with international law; and thus, there is no
basis for a nation to exercise general jurisdiction over
a foreign corporation for activities having no close
connection with the forum without its consent. See

* Id. J 82.

18

Goodyear Dunlop Tires Operations, S.A. v. Brown,
131 S. Ct. 2846 (2011). In Goodyear, the Court asked
“are foreign subsidiaries of a United States parent
corporation amenable to suit in state court on claims
unrelated to any activity of the subsidiaries in the
forum State?” Id. at 2850. The Court answered with
a unanimous “no”. Jd. at 2851. In order to establish
“general jurisdiction” over a foreign corporation, its
contacts with the forum must be “so continuous and
systematic as to render [it] essentially at home in the
forum State.” Jd. at 2851.

The Solicitor General’s Amicus Brief supporting
the Defendants in Goodyear emphasized that, “[A]
State’s excessive assertion of general jurisdiction
potentially threatens particular harm to the United
States’ foreign trade and diplomatic interests.””’

lil. THE STATES SUBMITTING THIS BRIEF
APPLY IN THEIR OWN COURTS
JURISDICTION-LIMITING PRINCIPLES
CONSISTENT WITH WHAT THEY ARE
URGING THIS COURT TO ACCEPT
UNDER INTERNATIONAL LAW

The courts of the U.K. and the Netherlands would
not allow the plaintiffs to bring the kind of “foreign
cubed” tort case typified by this action Rather, the
courts in each nation generally insist on a sufficiently
close nexus with the forum based on the territoriality
or active personality principles.

” Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae Supporting
Petitioners, Goodyear Dunlop Tires Operations, S.A. v. Brown,
131 5. Ct. 2846 (2011) (filed Nov. 19, 2010) (No. 10-76) 2010
U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS 2114 at *12.

19
A. The United Kingdom

The English courts will only exercise civil jurisdic-
tion where: (i) there is a connection between the
defendant and England; or (ii) there is a connection
between the substance of the claim and England; or
(iii) the parties have agreed or submitted to the
jurisdiction of the English courts. Thus, a claimant
may not initiate tort proceedings in England against
a foreign defendant, unless the damage has either (a)
been sustained within the jurisdiction, or (b) resulted
from an act committed within the jurisdiction.”

However, the English courts may sometimes exer-
cise jurisdiction over certain tort claims against a
U.K.-incorporated parent company for acts com-
mitted by its foreign subsidiaries abroad, where the
parent company actively supervised or participated
in the foreign activity giving rise to the claim. Two
examples illustrate situations where the English
courts have allowed a claim based on such active
personality jurisdiction:

e In Lubbe and Others v. Cape Pic [2000] UKHL
41, a group of South African workers made a
negligence claim against a U.K.-incorporated
parent company on the basis that the parent
company exercised de facto control over the
operations of its South African subsidiary.
Since the parent company was incorporated in
the U.K. and exercised a degree of control over

“CMV Clarkson & Jonathan Hill, The Conflict of Laws 59,
(Oxford University Press 4th ed. 2011).

” U.K. Civil Procedure Rules, 1998, Part 6, Practice Direction
6B, 4 3.109), available at http://www.justice.gov.uk/courts/pro
cedure-rules/civil//rules/pd_part06b.

20

the subsidiary, there was a sufficiently close
nexus with that State.”

e In Guerrero v. Moneterrico Metals Pic, (2009)
EWHC 2475, an injunction was sought against
another U.K.-incorporated parent company,
alleging that it was negligent in protecting
environmental protesters during the opening
of a copper mine in Peru owned by its wholly-
owned foreign subsidiary. In this case, the
parent company’s personnel directly par-
ticipated in the running of the mine and its
board of directors retained responsibility for
risk management.

Importantly, the English courts will not take
jurisdiction over civil claims that foreign individuals
or foreign corporations committed “violations of inter-
national law” outside the U.K. Indeed, the House
of Lords has explicitly rejected arguments that the
English courts have jurisdiction in such cases,
stating:

“there is no evidence that states have recognised
or given effect to an international law obligation
to exercise universal jurisdiction over claims
arising from alleged breaches of peremptory
norms of international law, nor is there any
consensus of judicial and learned opinion that
they should. This is significant, since these are
sources of international law.” ”

"In addition, the corporate defendant in this case did not
challenge the jurisdiction of the Court.

" Jones v. Ministry of Interior for the Kingdom of Saudi
Arabia |2006] UKHL 26, para. 27 (leading judgment of Lord
Bingham).

21
B. The Netherlands

The Netherlands also recognizes tort jurisdiction
based on the territorial and active personality princi-
ples.” Based on the latter, the Netherlands already has
a pending case brought by Nigerian plaintiffs against
Royal Dutch Shell and its Nigerian subsidiary, in
which the Court exercised extraterritorial jurisdic-
tion over the Nigerian subsidiary because it had per-
sonal jurisdiction over the Dutch parent corporation. *

Dutch courts may, but only very rarely, exercise a
special “forum of necessity” jurisdiction when a civil
case outside the Netherlands appears to be impossi-
ble.“ The exercise of such jurisdiction is available in
extreme circumstances, such as natural disasters or

* A.I.M. van Mierlo, C.J.J.C. van Nispen, M.V. Polak, Burger-
liikke Rechtsvordering: de tekst van het Wetboek van Burgerlijke
Rechtsvordering voorzien van commentaar (“Civil Procedure
Commentary on the Code of Civil Procedure”) (Kluwer 3rd ed.
2008). This general approach can be found in other civil law
jurisdictions. F.g., tort jurisdiction in Switzerland requires that
(i) the acts concerned occurred on Swiss territory; or (ii) the
defendant is a resident of Switzerland (natural person) or
incorporated in Switzerland (corporations).“ Swiss Federal
Code of Private International Law, Compilation of Swiss Laws
Number 291.0, art. 129.

“ Rb. Gravenhage |Court of the Hague], 30 December 2009,
JOR 2010, 41 m.nt. Mr. RGJ de Haan (Oguro/Royal Dutch Shell
PLC\Neth.) available at http-//zoeken.rechtspraak.nl/resultpage.
aspx?snelzoeken=true&searchtype=ljn&ljn=BK8616. The Court
exercised jurisdiction under Article 7(1) of the Dutch Code of Civil
Procedure.

“See Dutch Code of Civil Procedure, Article %b), Wetboek
van Burgerlijke Rechtsvordering, available at www.wetten.
overheid.nl//BWBR0O00 1827/geldigheidsdatum-02-06-2012.

22

civil war, as a result of which the judiciary in a
country is not in a position to perform its functions.”

In addition, the Dutch courts may also exercise
jurisdiction under the “forum of necessity” basis if
two criteria are met. First, there must be a sufficient
connection with the Dutch legal sphere and second, it
would be unacceptable to demand from the plaintiff
that he submits the case to the judgment of a foreign
court.” A sufficient connection with the Dutch legal
sphere exists, for example, if the plaintiff has his or
her habitual residence in the Netherlands at the time
an action is brought before the court.”

The judgment of March 21, 2012, in the Hague
District Court is an example of such a case and is
consistent with international law limits on jurisdic-

“ Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal, Herziening van het
procesrecht voor burgerlijke zaken, in het bijzonder de wijze van
procederen in eerste aanleg, kamerstukken II (“The Dutch
House of Representatives, Revision of the Civil Procedure,
specifically the rules of the procedure in the first instance,
Parliamentary Documents II”) 1999-2000, 26 855, nr. 3, p. 42,
available at https://zoek.officielebekendmakingen.nl/kst-26855-
3.html?zoekcriteria=%3fzkt%3d Vitgebreid%26pst%3dStaatsblad%
257cStaatscourant%257cTractatenblad%257cParlementaireDocu
menten*26vrt%3dHerziening% 2bprocesrecht% 2bburgerlijke%2
bzaken%26zkd%3dInDeGeheleText%252. In fact, we have been
able to locate only one case in which Article &%b) jurisdiction has
been exercised by a Dutch court since its adoption on January 1,
2002; and that case involved Dutch citizens as both plaintiff and
defendant. Rb. Utrecht [Court of First Instance of Utrecht] 12
maart 2008, Case 241446/HA ZA 08-27, available at http://
zoeken.rechtspraak.nl/resultpage.aspx?snelzoeken=true&searchty
pe=ljn&ljn=BC6477.

” Dutch Code of Civil Procedure, Article 9c), supra note 34.
* Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal, supra note 35, at 43.

23

tion.” In this case, the plaintiff was a Bulgarian
citizen who resided in the Netherlands and filed a
lawsuit against individual Libyan citizens for acts
that took place in Libya. However, in that case,
Libya was the only alternative forum and the Hague
District Court proceeded on the basis that it was not
an adequate alternative forum that could administer
the dispute. But the Hague District Court did assess
the claims in accordance with Libyan law.

The “forum of necessity” concept also appears in
some other civil law jurisdictions, but such jurisdic-
tion generally cannot be invoked unless there is some
genuine factual nexus to the forum.”

“ Rb. Gravenhage [Court of First Instance of the Hague] 21
maart 2012, m. nt. Van der Helm, Case 400882/HA ZA 11-2252
(El-Hojouj/Derbal) (Neth.), available at http://zoeken.rechtspraak.
nl/resultpage.aspx?snelzoeken=true&searchty pe=ljn&ljn=BV9748.

“ Switzerland offers a particularly instructive example. Thus
Article 3 of the Swiss Federal Code of Private International Law
establishes a so-called “forum of necessity” in a case where two
conditions precedent are met: (i) legal proceedings are not possi-
ble in foreign fora where clear and sufficient links exist; and (ii)
there is a genuine link between the case and Switzerland.
Swiss Federal Code of Private International Law, Compilation
of Swiss Laws Number 291.0, art. 3. The requirement of a
sufficient link to Switzerland is strictly applied. Thus, in the
one known tort case in which Article 3 has been invoked by the
plaintiff, no legal proceedings were possible where the tort(s)
had occurred; and yet the Swiss Federal Tribunal refused to
declare Swiss courts competent since there was no sufficient
link to Switzerland. Decision of the Swiss Federal Tribunal of 22
May 2007, para. 3.4 (Case number 4C.379/2006, available at
http:/jumpcegi.bger.ch/cgi-bin/JumpCGI?id=22.05.2007_4C.379/
2006).

24

IV. ALLOWING U.S. COURTS, AT THE
BEHEST OF PRIVATE PLAINTIFFS, TO
EXERCISE BROAD EXTRATERRITO-
RIAL JURISDICTION IN ALIEN TORT
STATUTE CASES OFTEN INTERFERES
WITH THE RIGHT OF A NATION TO
PRESCRIBE RULES FOR AND ADJUDI-
CATE DISPUTES AMONG ITS OWN
NATIONALS AND RESIDENTS THAT
OCCUR ON ITS OWN TERRITORY

Because they regard the choices of legal processes
and remedies as such important sovereign rights, the
Governments object to the efforts of U.S. litigators
and judges to bypass the legal systems of other
sovereigns by deciding civil cases involving foreign
parties where there is no significant nexus to the
U.S. This was true in Empagran, it was true in
Morrison, and it is true here.

A. A foreign State’s legitimate concern
about U.S. judicial interference with
its sovereignty is clearly illustrated by
the South African government’s strong
opposition to ATS claims based on the
Apartheid policies of the predecessor
government

The internationally-reviled Apartheid system gen-
erated a substantial number of large ATS class
actions brought on behalf of the majority of South
Africans who could qualify as Apartheid victims.
These cases were principally against some interna-
tional and South African banks and mining compa-
nies charged with aiding and abetting the Apartheid
governments during their four decades of power.

25

The South African Government strongly opposed
the continuation of these cases in a declaration
submitted to the District Court by its Minister of
Justice and Constitutional Development, the Honor-
able Penuell Mpapa Maduna on July 11, 2003.“

Minister Maduna explained that the new “govern-
ment deliberately avoided a ‘victors’ justice’ approach
to the crimes of apartheid and chose instead
one...informed by the principles of reconciliation,
reconstruction, reparation and goodwill.”*’

The South African Government opposed the pend-
ing ATS cases because they conflicted with its “recon-
ciliation, reconstruction, reparation and goodwill”
program in several fundamental ways. First, they
directly interfered with “the right of the government
to define and finalize issues of reparations, both
nationally and internationally” by “set[ting] up
the [ATS] claimants as a surrogate government.”*
Secondly, by singling out certain companies as
defendants, the cases interfered with “[t]he gov-
ernment’s policy...to promote reconciliation with and
business investment by all firms, South African and

“See Declaration by Penuell Mpapa Maduna (Minister of
Justice and Constitutional Development of the Republic of
South Africa) dated July 11, 2003 and attached to his letter
of the same date to Judge John E. Sprizzo of the U.S. District
Court for the Southern District of New York (“Maduna Dec-
laration”), available at http://www.courtappendix.com/kiobel/
protests/PDFs/2003-07-11%20-% 20South% 20Africa.pdf. For the
convenience of the Court, it is attached as Appendix A to this
brief.

“Id. para. 3.2.1 Apparently the Reconciliation Commission
provided reparations to over 20,000 victims. /d. para. 3.2.3

“ Id. para. 7.

26

foreign...”*’ Thirdly, “{plermitting this litigation to go
forward will, in the government’s view, discourage
much-needed direct foreign investment in South
Africa and thus delay the achievement of our central
goals.””*

When President Thabo Mbeki submitted the final
report of the Reconciliation Commission to Parlia-
ment, his words on his government’s reaction to the
faraway ATS litigation in New York could not have
been clearer:

“(W]e consider it completely unacceptable that
matters that are central to the future of our
country should be adjudicated in foreign courts
which bear no responsibility for the well-being of
our country and the observance of the perspec-
tive contained in our constitution of the promo-
tion of national reconciliation.”

B. The risks of improper interference
with the rights of foreign sovereigns
are significantly enhanced in ATS
(and other) cases because the U.S.
has chosen to adopt plaintiff-favoring
rules and remedies that other nations
do not accept

This issue is not confined to ATS cases. The pre-
sent case is one example of many in which foreign
plaintiffs have sought to bring an essentially foreign
dispute before U.S. courts, as they did in the cases
giving rise to this Court’s Empagran and Morrison

" Id. para. 8.1.
‘Id. para. 12.

“ Speech on Apri! 15, 2003 quoted in the Maduna Declaration
at para. 3.2.3.

27
decisions involving the antitrust and securities laws.
These plaintiffs seek to obtain the benefit of rules

that the Governments and most other foreign sover-
eigns have not accepted.“

The special litigation advantages available in the
U.S. are very familiar to this Court. First, the so-
called “American rule” on litigation costs requires
each side to bear its own costs—rather than requiring
the losing plaintiff to reimburse some or all of the
successful defendant’s costs (and vice-versa)."’ The
Governments regard the “loser pays” costs rules that
prevail in their own courts as an important safeguard
against marginal or frivolous litigation. Secondly,
the generally broader discovery available to plaintiffs
in the U.S. will tend to drive up the non-reimbursable
litigation costs that an ultimately successful defend-
ant will still have to bear.” Thirdly, the constitu-
tional right to a jury trial in a civil case is generally
not available elsewhere. Fear of large jury verdicts
has been well recognized as a source of concern to
large foreign corporations (hence driving them to

* See, e.g., the European Commission’s discussion of efforts to
achieve more balanced private litigation rules in its White Paper
on Damage Actions for Breach of EC Competition Rules, COM
(2008) 165.

" See Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness Society, 421
U.S. 240, 252 (1975).

“ See Bell Atlantic v. Twombley, 550 U.S. 544 (2007) (where
this Court cited the burdens of discovery as one of the reasons
for imposing enhanced standards on what a plaintiff had to be

able to plead in order to survive a motion to dismiss under Fed.
R. Civ. P.12(b)(6)).

28

settlements). Fourth, punitive damages are avail-
able in the U.S., but generally are not allowed
elsewhere.” Fifth, the “opt out” class action system
provided for in the U.S. under FRCP Rule 23 and its
State law counterparts has not been accepted by most
other countries.” Finally, the U.S. has chosen to
allow a much broader system of results-based con-
tingent fees than the Governments and most other
sovereigns have allowed in their court systems;” and
this feature, when coupled with the “American rule”
on costs, helps generate the kinds of large class
actions that one sees in this case and Rio Tinto.

These rules and practices promote the kind of
international forum shopping by foreign class action

” See William Glaberson, NAFTA Invoked to Challenge Court
Award, N.Y. Times, Jan. 28, 1999, available at http://
www.nytimes.com/1999/0 1/28/business/nafta-invoked-to-challen
ge-court-award.html?pagewanted=all&src=pm (two leading U.S.
international trade experts “noted that business leaders in other
countries have for years complained that America’s large jury
verdicts make investment here unpredictable”).

“Id. The $400,000,000 punitive damage award by a Missis-
sippi jury on top of an actual damages award of $100,000,000
forced the Canadian defendant company into bankruptcy and
prompted the NAFTA claim.

“Other countries that have authorized some form of
collective redress still apply their normal “loser pays” cost rules
as a way of discouraging opportunistic class litigation. This is
true of the U.K. which has an “opt-in” class action system, and
is equally true of the Netherlands and Australia, which are two
of very few countries that allow class actions on an “opt out”
basis.

“ 'W. Kent David, The International View of Attorney Fees in
Civil Suits: Why ts the United States the “Odd Man Out” In How
It Pays Its Lawyers?, 16 Ariz. J. Intl & Comp. L. 361, 381-88
(1999) (discussing international disfavor with the contingency
fee system and highlighting foreign alternatives).

29
plaintiffs that this Court has seen in cases such as
Empagran and Morrison, as well as this case and Rio
Tinto. As long as the U.S. continues to provide a
unique plaintiff-favoring system, this Court must
continue to play its traditional role of guardian of
international comity.

C. There is ample evidence of interna-
tional disputes generated by the
efforts of private U.S. plaintiffs to
attack foreign parties for activities
outside the U.S.

The Governments and other States have had first-
hand experience in dealing with what they regarded
as entirely inappropriate exercises of U.S. extra-
territorial jurisdiction by courts and, occasionally, by
legislatures. Fortunately, such disputes seem to have
become considerably less frequent and dramatic in
recent years.

But the lessons of history should not be ignored. In
the late 1970s and early 1980s, the private U.S.
Uranium Antitrust Cases caused the Parliaments of
the U.K., Australia, Canada and several other nations
to enact so-called “blocking statutes”, empowering
their governments to prevent their nationals from
complying with the discovery orders of U.S. courts.”

The disadvantages can flow the other way too.
Foreign courts have also rejected discovery requests
made by U.S. parties under the Hague Convention,

“ See, e.g., Foreign Proceedings (Excess of Jurisdiction) Act
No. 3 of 1984 (Austl.) and Protection of Trading Interests Act,
1980, c. 11 (U.K.), Foreign Extraterritorial Measures Act, R.S.C.
c. F-29 (Canada); see generally Carl A. Cira, Jr., The Challenge
of Foreign Laws to Block American Antitrust Actions, 18 Stan. J.
Int'l L. 247 (1982).

30

when the foreign court regards the U.S. case as being
based on improper assertions of extraterritorial juris-
diction.”

The Governments hope that these kinds of disputes
can be minimized in the ATS area if this Court
continues to give substantial weight to international
comity when making this important decision on
extraterritorial jurisdiction for U.S. courts (as it has
done in Morrison and the earlier cases discussed in
the next section of this brief).

V. THIS COURT’S PRESUMPTION AGAINST
EXTRATERRITORIAL APPLICATION
OF U.S. STATUTES RECOGNISED IN
ARAMCO, EMPAGRAN, AND MORRISON
EMBODIED FUNDAMENTAL CONSIDER-
ATIONS OF INTERNATIONAL COMITY
AND SHOULD BE APPLIED TO THE
JURISDICTION GRANTED TO USS.
COURTS BY THE ALIEN TORT STATUTE

A. The strong presumption against
extraterritorial jurisdiction rests on
concerns about international comity

In Empagran and Morrison, this Court enunciated
a clear presumption against a cause of action created
by a federal statute being construed to allow suit
in the U.S. courts by foreign plaintiffs for injuries
suffered abroad. It emphasized the “longstanding
principle of American law ‘that legislation of Con-
gress, unless a contrary intent appears, is meant to
apply only within the territorial jurisdiction of the
United States.” Morrison, 130 S.Ct. at 2877, quoting

“See Rio Tinto Zinc Corp. v. Westinghouse Electric Corp.,
[1978] 2 W.L.R. 81 (H.L. 1977) (U.K.); Gulf Oil Corporation v.
Gulf Oil Canada Ltd., [1980] 2 S.C.R. 39 (Canada).

31

EEOC v. Arabian American Oil Company, 499 U.S.
244, 248 (1991). This avoids the “serious risk of
interference with a foreign nation’s ability inde-
pendently to regulate its own commercial affairs.”

Empagran, 542 U.S. at 165 (2004).

The Petitioners’ argument that, “(t]he presumption
against extraterritoriality does not apply to jurisdic-
tional statutes...” is incorrect.” There is no reason
why the risks to international comity are somehow
less when a statute is labeled “jurisdictional” rather
than “substantive”. The Governments respectfully
suggest that the concerns about “unreasonable
interference with the sovereign authority of other
nations”” apply equally when a federal court is
exercising its statutory jurisdiction over common law
claims for “the modest number of international law
violations with a potential for personal liability.”
Sosa, 542 U.S. at 724.

Additionally, piracy on the high seas is different
from activities that take place on the territory of
another sovereign, and does not generate the kinds
of potential conflicts among sovereigns that the
presumption against extraterritoriality is meant to
guard against. Justice Breyer noted in his Sosa
concurrence that “in the 18th century, nations
reached consensus not only on the substantive princi-
ple that acts of piracy were universally wrong but
also on the jurisdictional principle that any nation
that found a pirate could prosecute him.” Jd. at 762.

“ Petitioners’ Supplemental Opening Brief at 34 (No. 10-
1491) (filed June 6, 2012) (“Pet.’s Br.”).

* Empagran, 542 U.S. at 164 (2004).

32

B. International comity considerations
particularly weigh against exercising
U.S. extraterritorial jurisdiction in
ATS cases

Extraterritorial claims in ATS cases are particu-
larly likely to generate international disputes among
sovereigns because of the essential nature of these
claims. In virtually every extraterritorial case,
the plaintiffs allege violations of the “law of nations”
by a foreign government which the defendant cor-
poration is alleged to have aided or abetted. This
kind of foreign sovereign involvement was not present
as a complicating factor in Aramco, Empagran, or
Morrison when the Court invoked the comity-driven
presumption against extraterritorial application of
ambiguous U.S. statutes.

Moreover, such extraterritorial ATS claims will be
very difficult (and sometimes impossible) for a U.S.
district court to try effectively. Critical evidence will
mostly be located abroad, often in the hands of a
challenged sovereign. Almost any private defendant,
regardless of whether a foreign or U.S. national, will
face great difficulty in obtaining (or even find it
impossible to obtain) evidence needed to defend
themselves against the relevant allegations, given
such evidence is likely to be situated in the
jurisdiction where the events occurred, including the
evidence of any third party eye witnesses to the
alleged wrong who still reside in the country where
the wrong occurred.

33

C. The risks of jurisdictional disputes
among sovereigns would be reduced if
this Court were to require the use of
the exhaustion of local remedies
doctrine before a plaintiff could bring
an ATS claim based on conduct in the
territory of a foreign sovereign

Even if not necessary to the current decision, this
case may offer the Court the opportunity to clarify
the application of a principle that should be applied
in ATS cases involving claims of extraterritorial
jurisdiction. In Sosa, this Court acknowledged the
principle of exhaustion of local remedies and con-
firmed that it “would certainly consider this require-
ment in an appropriate case.” 542 U.S. at 733 n. 21.
This is an appropriate case.

The principle of “exhaustion of local remedies” only
becomes relevant (as an additional requirement)
after the District Court has found that the ATS
claims both (i) have sufficient factual nexus to the
U.S. to satisfy the minimum public international law
limits on the exercise of domestic jurisdiction by
U.S. courts and (ii) fall within the narrow class of
international wrongs foreseen by this Court in Sosa.
The Governments submit that the application of the
“exhaustion of local remedies” principle does not
generate jurisdiction that would not otherwise exist
in a U.S. court.

The principle of “exhaustion of local remedies”, like
the presumption against extraterritorial effects, has
been applied by U.S. courts to show respect for the
different choices that other sovereigns make on how
to resolve disputes within their own jurisdiction. In
other words, this has been applied as means of

34

minimizing jurisdictional conflicts with the courts of
other States, to uphold international comity.

In these circumstances, the Governments’ position
is that, before a U.S. court is permitted to create
common law liability based on some infringements of
the “law of nations”, it ought to be obliged to consider
whether the place where the alleged violation oc-
curred has a system for redressing such a wrong.
Furthermore, the court ought to be obliged to
consider whether another State has a closer nexus to
the dispute—namely, superior access to evidence
and/or the presence of nationals or residents as
defendants within its jurisdiction. In the current
case, if there were sufficient nexus to establish U.S.
jurisdiction (which the Governments believe there is
not), then respect for international comity should
require the District Court to defer to other fora which
have a sufficiently close connection to the facts in this
case.

VI. PROTECTION AGAINST HUMAN RIGHTS
ABUSES CAN BE MORE FAIRLY AND
EFFECTIVELY ACHIEVED BY SEEKING
INTERNATIONAL CONSENSUS AND CO-
OPERATION THROUGH TREATIES THAN
BY RESORT TO PRIVATE CIVIL LITIGA-
TION IN DISTANT COURTS

The Governments fully supported the work of the
Special Representative of the UN Secretary General
on Business and Human Rights, John Ruggie, and
the UN endorsement of his work in the UN Guiding
Principles on business and human rights. The
Governments also support international mechanisms
such as the OECD Guidelines for Multinational
Enterprises, which they believe can play an im-
portant role in the promotion of a corporate culture

35

consistent with human rights.” The Governments
continue to be committed to this process of multilat-
eral dialogue.

‘

However, it has been the longstanding view of the
Governments that the most effective way to ensure
that there is no impunity for human rights abuses is
to encourage and strengthen States to comply with
the human rights obligations owed to those within
their jurisdictions. Importantly, in many circum-
stances, international human rights law imposes a
positive obligation on States to regulate corporations
within their territory so they are prevented from
committing human rights abuses against individuals
or other private parties. This is not just a legal
technicality: the Governments are concerned that, by
allowing ATS claims with little nexus with the U.S.,
some States might be given reason to down-play or
even ignore their own responsibilities for implement-
ing their human rights law obligations. They will also
come under less pressure to provide a remedy for,
and indeed prevent, abuses, if plaintiffs have
recourse to redress elsewhere.

To conclude, the Governments believe that it is
entirely appropriate and desirable for a State to
provide legal sanctions and remedies for human
rights victims in its national courts where the wrong
has taken place on its territory or was undertaken by
some individual or entity properly subject to its
jurisdiction under international law (e.g., under the

’ For a list of references to efforts by the United Kingdom
and Netherlands to promote international human rights, see
Brief of the Governments of the United Kingdom of Great
Britain and Northern Ireland, and the Kingdom of the
Netherlands as Amici Curiae in Support of the Respondents
(No. 10-1491) (filed Feb. 3, 2012) at p. 26-27 nn. 37-40.

36

nationality principle). These efforts can be quite
varied based on particular circumstances in the
country involved. Conversely, to permit international
forum shopping of the type epitomized by this case,
Rio Tinto, and numerous other ATS cases, will
diminish the pressures and incentives on States to
actually provide effective human rights remedies. In
addition, in its current form, the ATS will also
interfere with a State’s actual efforts to remedy past
wrongs within its own territory or which have been
committed by its nationals.

Respectfully submitted,
IAIN MACLEOD DONALD I. BAKER
The Legal Adviser Counsel of Record
FOREIGN AND W. TODD MILLER
COMMONWEALTH OFFICE KIMBERLY SHAW
United Kingdom ISHAI MOOREVILLE
LIESBETH LIJNZAAD BAKER wi MILLER PLLC
The Legal Adviser 2401 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Suite 300

MINISTRY OF
FOREIGN AFFAIRS
The Kingdom of the
Netherlands

Washington, DC 20037
(202) 663-7820
dbaker@bakerandmiller.com

Attorneys for the Governments of the Kingdom
of the Netherlands and the United Kingdom of
Great Britain and Northern Ireland

June 13, 2012

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX

{LOGO} Kp117032
Our reference:

3/26/8/1 (HMS)

MINISTRY: JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL
DEVELOPMENT REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA
Private Bag X276, Prétoria, 0001, Tel: (012) 315
1761/2/3 or 315 1332, Fax: (012) 321-1708
Private Bag X256, Cape Town, 8000,

Tel: (021) 465 7506/7, Fax: (012) 465 2783

[Filed S.D.N.Y. July 23, 2003]

The Honourable Mr Justice John E Sprizzo
United States District Judge

United States Court House

500 Pear! Street

New York, New York 10007

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Dear Judge

(a) SOUTH AFRICAN APARTHEID LITIGATION
(MDL NO. 1499)

(b) KHULUMANI & OTHERS (03-4524)

I write to convey to the Honourable Court through
my enclosed declaration the views of the Government
of the Republic of South Africa regarding the South
African apartheid litigation pending before the Court.

Respectfully yours

/s/ I
DR P M MADUNA, MP
MINISTER

* Annexure

2a

DECLARATION BY PENUELL MPAPA MADUNA

I am the Minister of Justice and Constitutional
Development of the Republic of South Africa
and a member of the cabinet of President
Thabo Mbeki. I am an admitted attorney of the
High Court of South Africa and hold the
degrees of B.Juris, LL.B, LL.M as well as a
LL.D in constitutional law.

I make this declaration to set forth the South
African government’s (“the government”) view
of various cases pending in the United States
courts against corporations that did business
with and in South Africa during the apartheid
period, including those cases consolidated under
the caption, In Re South African Apartheid
Litigation, MDL No. 1499 (S.D.N.Y.) and In Re
Khulumani & others, CV 02 5952 (E.D.N.Y.) It
is the government’s submission that as these
proceedings interfere with a foreign sovereign’s
efforts to address matters in which it has the
predominant interest, such proceedings should
be dismissed.

By way of background, the Republic of South
Africa is one sovereign democratic state
founded on the values of human dignity, equal-
ity, non-racialism, non-sexism, supremacy of
the Constitution, and the rule of law, universal
adult suffrage and a multi-party system of
democratic government to ensure accountabil-
ity, responsiveness and openness. Under South
Africa’s 1996 Constitution, the Constitution is
the supreme law of the Republic. Under the
Constitution, the judicial authority of the

3.2
3.2.1

3a

Republic is vested in the courts, which are
independent and subject only to the Constitu-
tion and the law, which they must apply
impartially and without fear, favour or preju-
dice. No person or organ of state may interfere
with the functioning of the courts, while all
other organs of the state, through legislative
and other measures, must assist and protect
the courts to ensure their independence, im-
partiality, dignity, accessibility and effective-
ness. An order or decision of a court binds all
persons to whom and organs of state to which
it applies. South Africa has a well developed
judicial system, with the Constitutional Court
at its apex and the Supreme Court of Appeal
as the final court of appeal in non-constitu-
tional matters. Judgments of the Constitu-
tional Court and, indeed, the Supreme Court of
Appeal, are widely admired for their independ-
ence and incisiveness and are frequently
referred to in judgments of other final courts of
appeal internationally.

The 1993 interim Constitution, which paved
the way for South Africa’s first democratic
government in 1994, made provision for the
establishment of a Truth and Reconciliation
Commission (“the TRC”) in order to establish
the truth in relation to “past events”, the cir-
cumstances under which gross violations of
human rights occurred and to make such find-
ings known. The purpose of the TRC was not
simply to provide an account of the apartheid
system, but to document gross violations of
all human rights abuses, irrespective of their

3.2.2

3.2.3

4a

perpetrators, and to make provision for am-
nesty for those who made full disclosure of
such politically-motivated human rights viola-
tions and to provide reparations for the victims
of such abuses. In 1995, Parliament enacted
legislation to establish the TRC formally. In
taking these constitutionally-mandated steps,
government deliberately avoided a “victors’
justice” approach to the crimes of apartheid
and chose instead one based on confession and
absolution, informed by the principles of recon-
ciliation, reconstruction, reparation and good-
will.

The 1993 Constitution and the Promotion of
National Unity and Reconciliation Act, 1995,
which established the TRC, was based on a
conscious agreement by all political parties in
South Africa to avoid Nuremberg-style apart-
heid trials and any ensuing litigation.

The TRC completed its work in March 2003. It
granted amnesty to many perpetrators of gross
violations of human rights on a cross-party
basis. It also recommended financial repara-
tions for some 20,000 victims of such abuses.
In his address to Parliament on 15 April, 2003,
on the tabling of the TRC Report, President
Thabo Mbeki on behalf of the government,
observed that:

“In the recent past, the issue of litigation
and civil suits against corporations that
benefited from the apartheid system has
sharply arisen. In this regard, we wish to
reiterate that the South African Government
is not and will not be party to such litigation.

5a

In addition, we consider it completely un-
acceptable that matters that are central to
the future of our country should be adjudi-
cated in foreign courts which bear no respon-
sibility for the well-being of our country and
the observance of the perspective contained
in our constitution of the promotion of
national reconciliation”.

3.2.4 It is my respectful submission that the govern-

3.3

ment’s views on matters which fall within its
sovereign domain should be respected in all
forums.

I believe that it is important for the court to
understand the context in which these cases
are brought. The litigation appears to suggest
that the government of which I am a member,
has done little or nothing about redressing the
ravages of the apartheid system, which, while
formally and institutionally terminated by the
election of the Mandela government on 27
April 1994, continue to live with us and will,
unfortunately, continue to endure for many
years to come. It likewise fails to appreciate
the mandate under which South Africa’s first
democratic government was elected and how it
has gone about executing this mandate since
1994. In order to assist the court, I set out
briefly the details of this below.

In addition to institutionalising enforced racial
segregation, and denying the majority the
franchise, the apartheid system sought system-
atically to exclude most South Africans from
access to adequate education, health care,
housing, water, electricity, land and commu-
nications, while likewise excluding it from

6a

proper participation in the economy. The Afri-
can National Congress-led government, under
the leadership of former President Mandela,
was elected in 1994 by the previously apart-
heid-excluded majority on a programme spe-
cifically to redress the legacy of apartheid. The
government’s programme, based on the recon-
struction and development of the South Afri-
can economy, accordingly had and continues to
have as its central plank the fundamental
transformation of South African society. It
does so by attempting to rehabilitate the lives
of the previously disadvantaged through the
promotion of non-racialism, equality and social
justice. The implementation of this policy, as
will be seen below, has been and continues to
be achieved through wide-ranging legislative
reforms to transform South African society. In
other words, what the government is attempt-
ing to do is to repair the damage caused by the
apartheid system through a broad programme
of socio-economic reparations which has at
its heart, the betterment of the lives of the
previously disadvantaged.

South Africa’s 1996 Constitution, which the
African National Congress was instrumental
in drafting, gives effect to government policy to
redress the wrongs of the apartheid system, by
not only prohibiting all forms of discrimina-
tion, but also by guaranteeing the right of all
South Africans to access to housing, education,
health care and related social services. Under
the Constitution, the government is obliged to
meet these socio-economic rights within the

5.2

5.3

5.4

7a

limits of its resources. The central importance
of these provisions of the Constitution is,
however, transformative and redistributive, in
order to enable all South Africans to overcome
the legacy of apartheid, through the creation of
a more just and egalitarian society. Although,
the government has obviously not met all of its
1994 goals, its record, faced with the realities
of a globalised economy is, I submit, impres-
sive.

In education, the spending disparity on white
and black learners (18:1 in 1970 was reduced
to 3:1 by 1993) was eliminated by racially
integrating schools while at the same time,
directing the bulk of state expenditure to the
neediest schools. In addition, free primary and
secondary level education will be available to
the poorest 40% of the population from 2004.
Government remains committed to reducing
adult illiteracy.

Skewed land ownership is being addressed
through legislation which provides for the
restitution of land taken from black South
Africans under race-based legislation first in-
troduced in 1913. Further laws provide for the
redistribution, with state assistance, of some
30% of commercial farming land to emerging
black farmers.

Social pensions (equalised prior to 1994) have
now been extended to many more beneficiaries
and supplemented by school feeding schemes,
free medical treatment at state hospitals for
pregnant women and children under the age of
six, and a child support grant. Substantial
increases have been made in providing state

5.5

8a

financial support, especially to children, with
more than eight million people expected to
receive social assistance grants by 2005 com-
pared with 2.7 million in 1997. Government is
currently rolling out state financial support for
children between the ages of seven and four-
teen years, over a seven year period.

At the same time, government has adopted a
range of legislative measures aimed at over-
coming racial inequality, including the Em-
ployment Equity Act of 1998, and the Preferen-
tial Procurement Policy Framework Act of
2000. The vast bulk of the Promotion of Equal-
ity and Prevention of Unfair Discrimination
Act of 2000, came into effect on 16 June, 2003.

A good example of achieving majority par-
ticipation in the economy is the Minerals and
Petroleum Resources Development Act of 2002,
which is due to come into force in late 2003.
This vests all mineral rights in the state and
grants new mining licences to applicants in
return, among other things, for comprehensive
endeavours to promote black economic empow-
erment. The objectives here include the trans-
fer of ownership to black South Africans of at
least 26% of equity or operating assets within
ten years under a broad-based mining charter
agreed with the South African mining indus-
try. Likewise, a Black Economic Empowerment
Bill, intended to promote black economic em-
powerment in other sectors through measures
such as affirmative action, preferential pro-
curement, and equity transfers in favour of
black South Africans, is currently before the
South African Parliament.

9a

While the government’s job is to govern in a
way which is best for the people as a whole, it
cannot ignore the fact that it is the successor
government to the apartheid government and,
as such, bears primary responsibility for the
rehabilitation and improvement of the lives
of the people whom the claimants claim to
represent.

The decision taken by Cabinet not to support
the litigation was not taken lightly. The
Cabinet only took this decision after an
extensive discussion both at Cabinet commit-
tee level and in the full Cabinet in which I
participated fully. The principal reason for the
Cabinet’s decision was that as the Mandela
government in 1994 and the Mbeki govern-
ment in 1999 were both elected by an over-
whelming majority of the population, on a
programme of thorough socio-economic trans-
formation aimed at redressing the legacy of
apartheid, it would make little sense for the
government to support litigation, which not
only sought to impose liability and damages on
corporate South Africa but which, in effect,
sought to set up the claimants as a surrogate
government. Accordingly, on 16 April 2003, the
Cabinet, after extensive discussion of the
matter at Cabinet committee level, resolved
that:

“It remains the right of the government to
define and finalise issues of reparations,
both nationally and internationally. In this
regard, it is imperative for the government
to clearly express its views on attempts to
undermine South African sovereignty through

8.2

10a

actions such as the reparations lawsuit filed
in the United States of America by a US
lawyer, Mr Ed Fagan, against two South
African mining firms and the participation of
South African lawyers in such procedures.”

The government’s policy is to promote recon-
ciliation with and business investment by all
firms, South African and foreign, and we re-
gard these lawsuits as inconsistent with that
goal. Government’s policies of reconstruction
and development have largely depended on
forging constructive business partnerships. Its
1996 Growth, Employment and Redistribution
(“Gear”) strategy further acknowledged the
importance of the private sector that faster
economic growth offers the only way out of
poverty, inequality, and unemployment, that
such growth is driven by both foreign and local
private sector investment, and that govern-
ment’s principal role is to create an enabling
environment for such investment. This market-
friendly strategy regards business as _ the
engine of economic growth.

The re-entry of South Africa to global capital
and export markets post-1994, together with
the government’s exemplary fiscal and mone-
tary policy record, have resulted in an increase
in economic growth to 2.5% per annum from
1994-2002, compared with the paltry below 1
per cent per annum growth of the previous
decade. Importantly, private sector fixed
investment has responded to the improved
environment, rising some 4.3 per cent per
annum since 1993.

8.3

8.4

lla

The improved growth performance is still less
than what is required to address successfully
all the socio-economic legacies of apartheid—
especially unemployment. But, together with
the government’s redirection of existing ex-
penditure, it has enabled important progress to
be made in addressing historical inequalities
and poverty.

In addition to the government performance set
out in 5, the recently released 2001 census,
together with figures from the South African
Reserve Bank, provide evidence of further
important progress:

e real disposable income per capita of house-
holds (at constant 1995 prices) rose from R8
640 in 1994 to RY 271 in 2002, reflecting an
increase of 7.3%;

e from April 1994 to February 2003, close on
1.5 million houses had either been built or
were under construction with the help of
the government’s subsidy for low-income
first-time buyers. The number of formal
dwellings increased from 4.3 million in
1996 to 6.2 million in 2001, an increase of
44%. Further, formal houses constituted
48% of the total number of dwellings in
1996 and this proportion rose to 56% in
2001;

e the number of households using electricity
for lighting increased from 5.2 million in
1995 to 7.8 million in 2001, an increase of
50%. While 57% of all households used
electricity for lighting in 1996, this propor-
tion had risen to 70% by 2001;

12a

e¢ the number of households with access to
clean water increased from 7.2 million in
1996 to 9.5 million in 2001, an increase of
31%. As a result, by 2001 85% of all South
African households had access to piped
water within 200 metres of their homes;

¢ In 1996, the number of people aged between
5 and 24 who were studying at an educa-
tional institution was 11.8 million while in
2001 the number had risen to 13.7 million:
an increase of 16%. The number of people
aged 20 or over who have Grade 12 or have
completed high school rose from 3.5 million
in 1996 to 5.2 million in 2001, an increase
of 50%.

The government accepts that corporate South
Africa is already making a meaningful con-
tribution to the broad national goal of reha-
bilitating the lives of those affected by apart-
heid. Over and above its existing corporate
social investment programmes, business has
been in partnership with the government in
the R1-billion (approximately US $ 133-million)
Business Trust. Over five years, this business
led initiative has improved the lives of 2.5
million disadvantaged South Africans through
focused programmes of human capacity build-
ing and employment creation. Further initia-
tives in partnership between business and
government, as well as other social actors, are
being prepared with concrete commitments
having been made in a number of fields at the
government’s June 7, 2003 Growth and Devel-
opment Summit attended by leading repre-
sentatives of government, business and labour.

10.

11.

13a

At the summit, business agreed with govern-
ment and labour to invest R145 billion (US
$19 billion) in the automotive, chemical,
mining and oil sectors over the next five years.

The remedies demanded in the current litiga-
tion in the United States—both the specific
requests (such as for the creation of a histori-
cal commission and the institution of affirma-
tive action programmes) and the demand for
billions of dollars in damages to be distributed
by the US courts—are inconsistent with South
Africa’s approach to achieving its long term
goals. In this regard, I refer further to the
earlier discussion on the TRC and its estab-
lishment in 3.2. As indicated above, the gov-
ernment has its own views on appropriate
reparations policies and the appropriate alloca-
tion of resources to develop our economy. I
would also make the point that matters of
domestic policy which are pre-eminently South
African should not be pre-empted by litigation
in a foreign court.

It is also the view of the government that the
issues raised in these proceedings are essen-
tially political in nature. These should be and
are being resolved through South Africa’s own
democratic processes. Another country’s courts
should not determine how ongoing political
processes in South Africa should be resolved,
not least when these issues must be dealt with
in South Africa. In addition, the continuation
of these proceedings, which inevitably will
include massive demands for documents and
testimony froth South Africans involved in
various sides of the negotiated peace that

12.

13.

l4a

ended apartheid, will intrude upon and disrupt
our own efforts to achieve reconciliation and
reconstruction.

Permitting this litigation to go forward will,
in the government’s view, discourage much-
needed direct foreign investment in South
Africa and thus delay the achievement of our
central goals. Indeed, the litigation could have
a destabilising effect on the South African
economy as investment is not only a driver of
growth, but also of employment. One of the
structural features of the South African econ-
omy, and one of the terrible legacies of apart-
heid, is its high level of unemployment and its
by-product, crime. Foreign direct investment is
essential to address both these issues. If this
litigation proceeds, far from promoting eco-
nomic growth and employment and thus
advantaging the previously disadvantaged, the
litigation, by deterring foreign direct invest-
ment and undermining economic stability will
do exactly the opposite of what it ostensibly
sets out to do.

I understand that under United States law,
courts may abstain from adjudicating cases in
deference to the sovereign rights of foreign
countries to legislate, adjudicate and otherwise
resolve domestic issues without outside inter-
ference, particularly where the relevant gov-
ernment has expressed opposition to the
actions proceeding in the United States, and
where adjudication in the United States would
interfere with the foreign sovereign’s efforts to
address matters in which it has the predomi-
nant interest. The government submits that its

15a
interest in addressing its apartheid past pre-
sents just such a situation.

I declare, under penalty of perjury, under the laws of
the United States, that the foregoing is a true and
correct statement.

Signed on 11th July 2003.

/s/ Penuell Mpapa Maduna
PENUELL MPAPA MADUNA

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385015_0700%3A082. Public record. Not legal advice.
