# Amicus Curiae Brief — Tory v. Cochran

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0755%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 734

## Text

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

5n The }
Supreme Court of the Anited States

+

ULYSSES TORY AND RUTH CRAFT,
Petitioners,
vs.

JOHNNIE L. COCHRAN, JR..,
Respondent.

+

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
Court Of Appeal Of California,
Second Appellate District, Division One

+

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
MICHELANGELO DELFINO AND
MARY E. DAY IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
ULYSSES TORY AND RUTH CRAFT

¢

JON B. EISENBERG
JEREMY B. ROSEN*
Horvitz & LEvy LLP
15760 Ventura Boulevard, 18th Floor
Encino, California 91436-3000
(818) 995-0800 ¢ FAX (818) 995-3157

*Counsel of Record

Counsel for Artici Curiae
Michelangelo Delfino and Mary E. Day

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (600) 225-6064
OR CALL COLLECT (4092) 342-2831

ne

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF MICHELANGELO
DELFINO AND MARY E. DAY............:ccssccsceeseeeeeeees

THIS COURT SHOULD CLARIFY THE PROTEC-
TION AFFORDED TO RHETORICAL HYPER-
BOLE AND HOLD THAT PETITIONERS’ SPEECH
IS PROTECTED BY THE FIRST AMENDMENT...

A.

The Court of Appeal should never have
reached the injunction question because peti-
tioners’ speech is protected rhetorical hyper-
BOUIN .-nvinscisvucsinteicinuieasinebuhasniebeaeeheusalainanisitiataaabicnds
This Court should elucidate what constitutes
rhetorical hyperbole in order to ensure greater
breathing space for free expression...................
This case is part of a wave of litigation filed by
powerful figures in an effort to silence uncon-
ventional social critics who lack the resources
This Court should protect free expression from
the danger posed by defamation lawsuits tar-

ao — -

11

13
15

ij
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Abrams v. United States, 250 U.S. 616 (1919) ................. 16
Allen v. Ali, 435 N.E.2d 167 (Ill. App. Ct. 1982) ............0.... 8
American Civil Liberties Union v. Reno, 929
BF. Bam. SBE GBD. Fe. BODE wnccecccccscevcccscccssccensntscososessee 14
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of U.S., Inc., 466
CE; Se Ce ccc kchnescisiacin cnnsaliddibadiinlin battlenet 5
Bridges v. California, 314 U.S. 252 (1941)... 16
Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15 (1971)...................... 10, 16
Coles v. Washington Free Weekly, Inc., 881 F. Supp.
DS RRR ee eS es Ee ae 7
ComputerXpress, Inc. v. Jackson, 113 Cal. Rptr. 2d
Se GE, Fi Fe ehticertteiniiaictnieiintcitstienpisthecitianmineniit 14
FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726 (1978)............. 16
Ferlauto v. Hamsher, 88 Cal. Rptr. 2d 843 (Ct. App.
RETR S as SSRN CNSR e At Not Wor ae ON BeAr ARAN = Po Serer 7
Global Telemedia International, Inc. v. Doe 1,132 ~
F. Supp. 2d 1261 (C.D. Cal. 2001) ............ ec eeseeseeesseeees 15
Greenbelt Cooperative Publishing Ass’n v. Bresler,
Se, Be cicckcenbtciainiacabninnbinitsstinideiaigth cdetetiat ciate 6
Guarneri v. Korea News, Inc., 214 A.D.2d 649 (N.Y.
Bea: TRB BEF castevennhssienismitatichsitthictideieniiiiteiinimatiiiines 8
Hopewell v. Vitullo, 701 N.E.2d 99 (Ill. App. Ct.
UID csiesiehstesihagihesehsccoapi ibesaieane aiimadtaiatacninel ioe i cola als 7
Horsley v. Feldt, 304 F.3d 1125 (11th Cir. 2002)................. 9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
Hustler Magazine v. Falwell, 485 U.S. 46 (1988)............... 7
James v. San Jose Mercury News, Inc., 20 Cal.

BRE. TO SO CUE. BBD, BGP as cenccnccccsccccsccvcsscsncesacsnszesecscee 7
Kirsch v. Jones, 464 S.E.2d 4 (Ga. App. 1995).................04. 7
Lewis v. Time Inc., 710 F.2d 549 (9th Cir. 1983)................. 7
Masses Publishing Co. v. Patten, 244 F. 535

I called datas 15
Milkovich v. Lorain Journal Co., 497 U.S. 1 (1990)........ 5,6
Old Dominion Branch No. 496, National Ass’n of

Letter Carriers, AFL-CIO v. Austin, 418 U.S. 264

RASS TE RRS See Hn OOS ae Pe EE SEDO 6
Partington v. Bugliosi, 56 F.3d 1147 (9th Cir. 1995)........... 7
Quilici v. Second Amendment Foundation, 769 F.2d

Ey II: MEU cikhichcibsahitinadindlbaeninsiahidiesanabpabedionieenes 7
Reno v. American Civil Liberties Union, 521 U.S. —

ee E iain karin chedsestinddeiinetcecesintcihibsietiaheslavededeeblanipebpsiaeales 14
Rocker Management LLC v. John Does 1 Through

20, No. MISC 03-003 3 CRB, 2003 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 16277 (N.D. Cal. May 29, 20038)...................004. 15
SPX Corp. v. Doe, 253 F. Supp. 2d 974 (N.D. Ohio

TIE disivctbiisiliciinucntsnianes cekakithccihesnidplasdshiidateneieseteadideedadiosepailh 14
Sullivan v. Conway, 157 F.3d 1092 (7th Cir. 1998)............. 7
Underwager v. Channel 9 Australia, 69 F.3d 361

Ry GI ai icccttntiinitierstskinkncihitinthatunileaibiapasuapanasintiapiaind~aeii 9

U.S. v. Playboy Entertainment Group, Inc., 529
Rai, GORE GIIITED neinssitinsenneciingnatiitedunipiiedsinislneGiniamicihaebsdiciend 10

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
MISCELLANEOUS

Eric Scott Fulcher, Rhetorical Hyperbole and the
Reasonable Person Standard: Drawing the Line
Between Figurative Expression and Factual
Defamation, 38 Ga. L. Rev. 717 (2004).............0006 8, 9, 10

Michael Hadley, The Gertz Doctrine and Internet
Defamation, 84 Va. L. Rev. 477 (1998) .........ccccccceeeseeeees 13

Robert Kline, Freedom of Speech on the Electronic
Village Green: Applying the First Amendment
Lessons of Cable Television to the Internet, 6 Cor-
nell J.L. & Pub. Pol’y 23 (1996).................ccccccccssesvseseee 14

Lyrissa Barnett Lidsky, Silencing John Doe: Defa-
mation & Discourse in Cyberspace, 49 Duke LJ.
BE CD ssc pieccscccs cn sscisninceiperincnscnaiinaeetinmnnited 11, 12, 14

April Mara Major, Norm Origin and Development
In Cyberspace: Models of Cybernorm Evolution,

FO Wa, Gi. Re, Cp Gc cercsccerencticsevienmntbectitiankeminns 12
Merrian-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary (10th ed.
GED. ccsisiviivvicseeviiinsnnsiecintainiactsicistncialadeistuitisiiviapaaaiaiianieyis 12

The Politiburo Diktat: Shrill Meter, at http://ace
pilots.com/mt/archives/001343.html (Last visited
POU Bi, FI vseveteiscdtkccustniadiininnssmmanidesbcendiigaiahibabiee 4

Jeffrey Rosen, The Privatization of our Public
Discourse: Essay Privacy in Public Places, 12
Cardozo Stud. L. & Lit. 167 (2000) .............ccceeeeeeeeeeeees 10

Bruce W. Sanford & Michael J. Lorenger, Teaching
An Old Dog New Tricks: The First Amendment In
An Online World, 28 Conn. L. Rev. 1137 (1996)............ 12

——

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Thomas W. Temple, Marching Bandwidth: Advanc-
ing Information Exchange At Stability’s Expense,

6 J. Contemp. Legal Issues 409 (1995) .....................00 12

K. Weng, Type No Evil: The Proper Latitude Of
Public Educational Institutions In Restricting
Expressions Of Their Students On the Internet,

20 Hastings Comm. & Ent. L.J. 751 (1998)............ 12, 13

1

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
MICHELANGELO DELFINO AND MARY E. DAY

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'’

Amici Michelangelo Delfino and Mary E. Day are the
defendants in Varian Medical Systems, Inc. v. Delfino (Cal.
S. Ct. No. S121400), currently pending before the Califor-
nia Supreme Court and set for oral argument on December
7, 2004. Varian, a Fortune 500 company, sued Delfino and
Day, former Varian research scientists, for defamation and
other torts arising from thousands of colorful, offensive
and hyperbolic statements they made over the Internet
about Varian and its senior executives. Delfino’s and Day’s
Internet statements expressed displeasure with Varian’s
corporate management and tactics Varian has employed in
an unsuccessful effort to silence them. Delfino and Day
lost at trial and were ordered to pay $775,000 in damages.

The trial court also issued a comprehensive injunction
barring Delfino and Day from making future statements
about Varian and its employees. The California Court of
Appeal affirmed the damages award but set aside most of
the injunction as an unconstitutional prior restraint. The
California Supreme Court granted review, thus vacating
the Court of Appeal’s decision, in order to determine a
narrow jurisdictional question — whether the trial court
lacked jurisdiction to conduct the trial. If Delfino and Day
prevail in the California Supreme Court, the case will be
returned to the trial court for a new trial, where Varian
might again seek injunctive relief. Accordingly, Delfino and

* No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, nor
did any person or entity, other than amici or their counsel, make a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

2

Day have an interest in the outcome of the Cochran case
as it will shape the law governing the re-trial of their case.

Delfino and Day are also interested in the outcome
here because their experience as victims of a lawsuit
designed to silence them has pushed them into becoming
full-time free speech advocates. They came to this crusade
in middle-age. They had spent their professional careers
as research scientists in Northern California, and had
fully expected to continue those careers. They are named
inventors on twenty-five United States patents and
between them have written more than 100 scientific
papers. After they left Varian, they formed their own
technology start-up company, MoBeta Inc. However, since
Varian sued them in 1999, their lives ‘have profoundly
changed. They have set aside their life’s scientific work in
order to fight for their right and the right of others to
criticize publically-traded corporations over the Internet
and elsewhere.

Varian had expected Delfino and Day to act like
countless others who have faced a similar situation and
simply stopped speaking out once they saw what it would
take to fight for their rights. That a major corporation
would spend millions of dollars and hire three high-priced
San Francisco Bay Area law firms to pursue them has
served only to make Delfino and Day more determined to
ensure that similar abuse is not inflicted on others. In
fighting back, they depleted their entire life savings and
are now indigent.

As part of their fight. Delfino and Day created their
own website — http://www.geocities.com/mobeta_inc/slapp/
slapp.htm] — as a forum to air their free speech message.

3

They self-published a book — Be Careful Who You SLAPP =
which chronicled their ordeal. More than 850 libraries
around the world have purchased the book. Some 78
articles and radio stories addressing the Varian litigation
have been published statewide and nationally — including
on National Public Radio and by the Washington Post, the
Wall Street Journal, the Associated Press, USA Today, the
San Jose Mercury News, Silicon Valley's Weekly Metro,
Bloomberg Newswire, and the Investors Business Journal.
The case has also been chronicled in law review articles
and other legal publications.

Delfino and Day have learned that it has become com-
monplace in today’s society for powerful forces to attempt to
silence those who do not have such deep pockets. With the
present case, this Court can help ensure that others will not
suffer the same fate as Delfino, Day, Tory and Craft.

¢

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Petitioners Ulysses Tory and Ruth Craft have been
barred by court order from making any statement about
respondent Johnnie Cochran in any forum at any time.
Petitioners’ briefs will demonstrate that such an injunc-
tion constitutes an unconstitutional prior restraint. Amici
Delfino and Day agree. This amicus curiae brief, however,
addresses another fundamental problem with the Court of
Appeal’s opinion — the foundational holding that petition-
ers’ hyperbolic statements made during their protests
outside of Cochran’s office constitute actionable defama-
tion. That holding is dramatic evidence that this Court's
guidance on the constitutional protection of rhetorical
hyperbole is necessary to provide adequate breathing

space for social critics who do not conform to majoritarian
sentiments.

The need for clarity in the protection of rhetorical
hyperbole has taken on greater significance with the
advent of a new medium of communication — the Internet
— which has become a powerful tool in democratizing both
the content of and access to information. In the past,
people with little or no money had difficulty finding a
broad audience. Their options were to hand out mimeo-
graphed handbills on a street corner or to-speak out to a
few passerbys at the local “village green.” Tory and Craft
pursued such a strategy in their small protests against
Cochran. Now such persons can reach millions by posting
commentary on the Internet, which can be readily accessed
by anyone on a computer. The Internet has provided a
platform for all to speak out on issues of concern to them.

The Internet has also spawned a new means of com-
munication — the “flame war” — where posters (often
anonymous) use vitriolic language and engage in ad
hominem attacks. For instance, during this past presiden-
tial election campaign, one or both of the major candidates
were described on the Internet as a “liar”; “war criminal”;
“murderer”; “idiot”; “moron”; “douchebag”; “asshole”; and
similar to “Hitler.” E.g., The Politburo Diktat: Shrill Meter,
at http://acepilots.com/mt/archives/001343.html (last visited
Nov. 8, 2004). While many deplore this lack of civility, the
question for this Court is whether uncivil discourse should
be chilled by defamation lawsuits or whether freedom of
speech demands that unconventional and unpopular
modes of expression are tolerated.

There has also been an increase in lawsu:ts filed by
corporations and others who have become subjects of

5

widespread criticism as a result of the Internet's rise.
Scores of lawsuits are now being filed by large corpora-
tions like Varian against individuals like Delfino and Day.
The goal of these lawsuits — like the goal of Cochran’s
lawsuit in this case — is to silence the speaker by threaten-
ing a crushing legal battle that the individuals cannot
afford. Greater clarity on the protections afforded to
rhetorical hyperbole would make plain that such lawsuits
are disfavored.

¢

LEGAL ARGUMENT

THIS COURT SHOULD CLARIFY THE PROTEC-
TION AFFORDED TO RHETORICAL HYPERBOLE
AND HOLD THAT PETITIONERS’ SPEECH IS
PROTECTED BY THE FIRST AMENDMENT.

A. The Court of Appeal should never have reached
the injunction question because petitioners’
speech is protected rhetorical hyperbole.

In defamation cases, appellate courts must conduct
“an independent review of the record both to be sure that
the speech in question actually falls within the unpro-
tected category and to confine the perimeters of any
unprotected category within acceptably narrow limits in
an effort to ensure that protected expression will not be
inhibited.” Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of U.S., Inc.,
466 U.S. 485, 503-05 (1984).

A statement is not defamatory if it “cannot ‘reasonably
[be] interpreted as stating actual facts’ about an individ-
ual.” Milkovich v. Lorain Journal Co., 497 U.S. 1, 20
(1990). Thus, a statement that is “no more than rhetorical
hyperbole, a vigorous epithet” is constitutionally protected

6

expression and cannot constitute defamation even if the
statement, when reviewed out of context, might otherwise
be an actionable statement of fact. E.g., Greenbelt Coop.
Publ’g Ass'n v. Bresler, 398 U.S. 6, 14 (1970). “This pro-
vides assurance that public debate will not suffer for lack
of ‘imaginative expression’ or the ‘rhetorical hyperbole’
which has traditionally added much to the discourse of our
Nation.” Milkovich, 497 U.S. at 20.

Notwithstanding the above principles, the California
Court of Appeal in this case found that the statements
Tory and Craft placed on their placards and shouted
during their picketing “‘crossed the line separating pro-
tected rhetorical hyperbole from unprotected fraudulent
misrepresentation of fact.’” (Joint Appendix at 59.) Thus,
the Court of Appeal found falsity rather than mere rhe-
torical hyperbole in statements such as “Attorney Johnnie
Cochran I Know What You, the Country and the city did to
my case”; “Hey Johnnie How Much Did They Pay $$ You to
F__ k Me?”; and “Johnnie is a crook, a liar and a thief.
Can a lawyer go to heaven? Luke 11:46.” (Joint Appendix
at 11.)

The Court of Appeal was wrong. The average audience
at a demonstration involving placard-wielding protesters
would not take the above to be provably true statements of
fact, but would recognize that, in the context of a noisy
protest featuring loose and colorful language, such state-
ments are just rhetorical hyperbole. See, e.g., Old Dominion
Branch No. 496, Nat. Ass’n of Letter Carriers, AFL-CIO v.
Austin, 418 U.S. 264, 283-284 (1974) (use by union of “in-
temperate, abusive, or insulting language” during a labor
dispute is protected speech because “‘to use loose language
or undefined slogans that are part of the conventional give-
and-take in our economic and political controversies’” does

not convey provably true statements of fact); Hustler
Magazine v. Falwell, 485 U.S. 46, 57 (1988) (statement
that Falwell had sex with his mother was a parody which
“could not ‘reasonably be understood as describing actual
facts about [Falwell] or actual events in which [he] par-
ticipated’ ”).

Applying these principles, numerous other courts
have found harsh statements directed at lawyers’ qualifi-
cations and competence to be nondefamatory. See, e.g.,
Partington v. Bugliosi, 56 F.3d 1147, 1150-58 (9th Cir.
1995) (“an incompetent attorney”); Sullivan v. Conway,
157 F.3d 1092, 1097 (7th Cir. 1998) (plaintiff “is a very
poor lawyer”); Quilici v. Second Amendment Found., 769
F.2d 414, 418 (7th Cir. 1985) (“plaintiff’s presentation
before this court was poor, and may have ‘sunk’ the appeal;

. plaintiff’s presentation was ‘rambling and often
pointless’”); Lewis v. Time Inc., 710 F.2d 549, 556 (9th Cir.
1983) (plaintiff is a “‘shady practitioner’”); Coles v. Wash-
ington Free Weekly, Inc., 881 F. Supp. 26, 28 (D.D.C. 1995)
(plaintiff is “an incompetent, overpaid lawyer who re-
quired substantial assistance from his client”); Ferlauto v.
Hamsher, 88 Cal. Rptr. 2d 843, 851 (Ct. App. 1999) (plain-
tiff’s suit was “‘stupid,’ laughed at,’ ‘a joke,’ ‘spurious,’ and
‘frivolous’” and plaintiff was a “‘Kmart Johnnie Cochran,”
a “‘creepazoid attorney,’” and a “‘loser wannabe lawyer’ ”);
James v. San Jose Mercury New’s, Inc., 20 Cal. Rptr. 2d
890, 896 (Ct. App. 1993) (plaintiff “is a member of a class
of lawyers that engages in, and his conduct in this in-
stance is an example of, sleazy, illegal, and unethical
practice”); Kirsch v. Jones, 464 S.E.2d 4, 6 (Ga. App. 1995)
(plaintiff “took over and bungled the .. . case; . . . is directly
responsible for the problems of [his former clients] and
should be liable for ... the malpractice suit”); Hopewell v.

8

Vitullo, 701 N.E.2d 99, 105 (Ill. App. Ct. 1998) (plaintiff
was “fired because of incompetence”); Allen v. Ali, 435
N.E.2d 167, 169 (Ill. App. Ct. 1982) (plaintiff was “par-
tially incoherent”); Guarneri v. Korea News, Inc., 214
A.D.2d 649, 649-50 (N.Y. App. Div. 1995) (plaintiff was
“unprepared and negligent” and “lost an opportunity to
appeal”). ) =

Thus, in the present case, the Court of Appeal should
never have reached the injunction issue because the
challenged speech was protected rhetorical hyperbole.
That the court did so demonstrates a need for clear guid-
ance from this Court as to the cuntours of protected
rhetorical hyperbole to ensure against uncertainty in the
lower courts and insufficient protection for speech.

B. This Court should elucidate what constitutes
rhetorical hyperbole in order to ensure greater
breathing space for free expression.

A commentator recently noted that

the United States Supreme Court has given
lower courts little guidance on how the reason-
able person standard should be applied to state-
ments claimed by defendants to be only
rhetorical hyperbole. Because of this lack of
guidance, lower federal and state courts have
addressed rhetorical hyperbole in a variety of
ways, leaving declarants with little warning con-
cerning what kinds of statements will be pro-
tected. Additionally, the lack of uniformity among
courts has sometimes led to different treatment
of similar statements made in similar contexts.

Eric Scott Fulcher, Rhetorical Hyperbole and the Reasonable
Person Standard: Drawing the Line Between Figurative

9

Expression and Factual Defamation, 38 Ga. L. Rev. 717,
723 (2004).

Thus, for example, the Ninth Circuit does not view
rhetorical hyperbole as a separate category of speech
subject to protection, but as simply one factor in examin-
ing what constitutes “whether a statement implies a
factual assertion.” Underwager v. Channel 9 Australia, 69
F.3d 361, 366 (9th Cir. 1995). By contrast, the Eleventh
Circuit recognizes rhetorical hyperbole as a separate
category of protected speech which “‘“reflects the reality
that exaggeration and non-literal commentary have
become an integral part of social discourse.”’” Horsley v.
Feldt, 304 F.3d 1125, 1131 (11th Cir. 2002). Each court
that considers the question seems to examine different
factors. See Fulcher, supra, at 736-44 (collecting cases).

As a sound solution for clarifying what constitutes
rhetorical hyperbole, the commentator proposes a formal
three-part inquiry: (1) “Does the statement, when read
literally, assert or imply objectively provable facts?”; (2)
“Do the content and language of the statement negate the
impression of fact?”; and (3) “Does the context in which the
statement is made negate the implication of fact?” Jd. at
755-67. The proposal sets forth additional questions as to
whether the content and language negate the implication
of fact: (1) “Are the Facts Implied or Asserted by Reading
the Statement Literally Fantastic, Impossible, or Highly
Improbable?”; (2) “Does the Statement Convey a Metaphor,
Analogy, or Other Mode of Comparison?”; (3) Does the
Statement Use Language Indicating That Something
Connected to the Subject Is Approaching a Negative
Extreme?”; (4) “Does the Statement Use Loose Language
or Colloquialisms?”; and (5) “Do the Significant Words in
the Statement Have Slang Meaning in Addition to Their

10

Customary Meaning?” Jd. at 757-62. Finally, the proposal
sets forth additional questions as to whether the context
negates the implication of fact: (1) “Does the Statement
Arise from or Relate to a Debate on a Controversial
Issue?”; (2) “Does the Medium Through Which the State-
ment is Communicated Support the Application of the
Rhetorical Hyperbole Defense?”; and (3) “Does the Interac-
tion Between the Parties When the Statement Is Made
Support the Application of the Rhetorical Hyperbole
Defense?” Jd. at 764-766. The commentator derives this
matrix of questions from an analysis of numerous cases
from many lower courts attempting to make sense of the
meaning of rhetorical hyperbole.

This Court has explicitly held that rhetorical hyper-
bole is constitutionally protected speech, but has not yet
provided guidance to lower courts for determining what
constitutes rhetorical hyperbole. The above matrix gives
teeth to that protection and guidance to lower courts for
how to ensure it.

For better or worse, our culture is becoming increas-
ingly more coarse. We are bombarded with public images
and statements that would have shocked prior genera-
tions. See, e.g., Jeffrey Rosen, The Privatization of our
Public Discourse: Essay Privacy in Public Places, 12
Cardozo Stud. L. & Lit. 167, 176-77 (2000). But, when it
comes to speech, the law values freedom over subjective
notions of offensiveness, for it is “often true that one man’s
vulgarity is another’s lyric.” Cohen v. California, 403 U.S.
15, 25 (1971). “The h.story of the law of free expression is
one of vindication in cases involving speech that many
citizens may find shabby, offensive, or even ugly.” U.S. v.
Playboy Entm’t Group, Inc., 529 U.S. 803, 826 (2000). The
above test, clarifying the scope of protection afforded to

11

rhetorical hyperbole, allows greater breathing space for
speech.

C. This case is part of a wave of litigation filed by
powerful figures in an effort to silence uncon-
ventional social critics who lack the resources
to resist such lawsuits.

One consequence of the lack of a clear definition of
protected rhetorical hyperbole is a new wave of lawsuits
and a chill on free expression. This case is exemplary: A
powerful public figure has used his considerable resources
to bring to bear the full weight of the law on two indigent
and powerless persons who dared to express their opinions
in a colorful and caustic manner.

This is not the only example of such a lawsuit. Amici
are victims of a similar lawsuit filed by a large public
corporation seeking to silence their Internet criticisms of
the company. ,

Corporations are increasingly filing defamation
lawsuits in retaliation for statements made about them by
individuals on websites and Internet message boards and
in e-mail. See Lyrissa Barnett Lidsky, Silencing John Doe:
Defamation & Discourse in Cyberspace, 49 Duke L.J. 855,
858 n.6 (2000). These lawsuits are proliferating because
the protection of rhetorical hyperbole is still unclear.

One of the most striking features of these new
cases is that, unlike most libel suits, they are not
even arguably about recovering money damages,
for the typical John Doe has neither deep pockets
nor libel insurance from which to satisfy a defa-
mation judgment. Why, then, do plaintiffs, many
of whom are wealthy corporation=, choose to sue
relatively impecunious John Does? The goals of

~

12

this new breed of libel action are largely sym-
bolic, the primary goa! being to silence John Doe
and others like him.

Id. at 858-59.

These lawsuits will continue to increase unless
checked by this Court, because of the increasing popular-
ity of a unique Internet-based form of expression: the
“flame war.” A flame war is an Internet message-board
phenomenon in which “disagreeing speakers lash out at
each other by spewing forth in vitriolic and ad hominem
attacks.” Bruce W. Sanford & Michael J. Lorenger, Teach-
ing An Old Dog New Tricks: The First Amendment In An
Online World, 28 Conn. L. Rev. 1137, 1143, n.23 (1996).
Flame wars have quickly become ubiquitous in cyberspace.
See, e.g., April Mara Major, Norm Origin and Development
In Cyberspace: Models of Cybernorm Evolution, 78 Wash.
U. L.Q. 59, 85 (2000) (“Due to a certain amount ot ano-
nymity that cyberspace affords, flaming has become a
popular form of expression for many users.”); K. Weng,
Type No Evil: The Proper Latitude Of Public Educational
Institutions In Restricting Expressions Of Their Students
On the Internet, 20 Hastings Comm. & Ent. L.J. 751, 810
(1998) (“This anonymity and ease of ‘speaking’ on the
Internet have also dulled senses of decor in that it is more
commonplace and even accepted to be rude and insulting.
A term called ‘flaming’ has even sprung into being; it
indicates a vicious tongue-lashing.”); Thomas W. Temple,
Marching Bandwidth: Advancing Information Exchange

At Stability’s Expense, 6 J. Contemp. Legal Issues 409, 421 -

(1995) (disputes “often escalate into absurd ‘flame wars,’ in
which masses of messages filled with exaggerated ill will
are exchanged.”). The phrase has even made its way into
recent dictionaries. See, e.g., Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate

13

Dictionary, 441, col. 2 (10th ed. 2003) (defining “flame” as
“to send an angry, hostile, or abusive electronic message”).

Flaming is rarely defamatory.

(A) flame is a common way to vent on the Inter-
net, even among grown-ups and Harvard profes-
sors. People say things on the Internet they
wouldn't say otherwise. In turn, people do not
treat what they read, hear, or receive on the Inter-
net the same way they would something told them
in-person, on the phone, in a letter or that they
read in a newspaper or see on television.

Weng, supra, at 810 (citations and internal quotation
marks omitted). The point is that “in the context of a
‘flame war,’ it would be unreasonable for anyone to believe
that the facts asserted in this war were true and not
hyperbole.” Michael Hadley, The Gertz Doctrine and
Internet Defamation, 84 Va. L. Rev. 477, 498 (1998). But
flaming is nevertheless becoming a rich source of litigation.

Overturning the injunction in the present case will
not by itself stop this wave of litigation, since lawsuits
could still be filed with the purpose of bankrupting un-
popular speakers in a war of attrition over money damages
that may not even be recoverable. There will still be a
significant chill on expression unless this Court addresses
the root of the problem — the ability to sue at all.

D. This Court should protect free expression from

the danger posed by defamation lawsuits target-
ing unconventional speech.

Lawsuits designed to silence Internet criticism pose a
dangerous threat to free speech on the Internet. “Many
corporate plaintiffs that sue for Internet libel seek to send

14

a message to the public that they will pursue aggressively
anyone who criticizes them online, and these plaintiffs
seem to be using libel law to squelch not just defamatory
falsehoods but legitimate criticism as well....” Lidsky,
supra, at 883. “There is some danger, therefore, that the
growing popularity of the new Internet libel suits may
chill more than defamatory falsehoods — it may also chill
the use of the Internet as a medium for free-ranging
debate and experimentation with unpopular or novel
ideas.” Jd. at 890. “The chief threat posed by the new cases
is that powerful corporate plaintiffs will use libel law to
intimidate their critics into silence and, by doing so, will
blunt the effectiveness of the Internet as a medium for
empowering ordinary citizens to play a meaningful role in
public discourse.” Jd. at 945.

—

The Internet is today’s dominant public forum. It has
been described as “the new ‘village green’ for voicing ideas
and persuading one’s listeners.” Robert Kline, Freedom of
Speech on the Electronic Village Green: Applying the First
Amendment Lessons of Cable Television to the Internet, 6
Cornell J.L. & Pub. Pol’y 23, 58 (1996). “[T]he Internet -
as ‘the most participatory form of mass speech yet devel-
oped,’ [citation] — is entitled to ‘the highest protection from
governmental intrusion.” Reno v. American Civil Liberties
Union, 521 U.S. 844, 863 (1997), quoting American Civil
Liberties Union v. Reno, 929 F. Supp. 824, 883 (E.D. Pa.
1996).

Some courts have held that anonymous hyperbolic
statements in the context of a flame war on an Internet
message board did not constitute defamation because the
average audience would not take the speech to contain
provably true statements of fact. See ComputerXpress, Inc.
v. Jackson, 113 Cal. Rptr. 2d 625, 643 (Ct. App. 2001); SPX

—

15

Corp. v. Doe, 253 F. Supp. 2d 974, 981-82 (N.D. Ohio 2003);
Rocker Mgmt. LLC v. John Does 1 Through 20, No. MISC
03-003 3 CRB, 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 16277, at *3-8 (N.D.
Cal. May 29, 2003); Global Telemedia Intern., Inc. v. Doe 1,
132 F. Supp. 2d 1261, 1267 (C.D. Cal. 2001). Other courts,
however, like the California Court of Appeal in Varian
Medical Systems, Inc. v. Delfino and the court below in
this case, have failed to protect unconventional speakers
who employ rhetorical hyperbole to make their points.

Until rhetorical hyperbole is better defined, speech
will continue to be chilled — on the Internet, at sidewalk
protests, and in a myriad of other fora.

¢

CONCLUSION

In the past, on the basis of supposed offensiveness,
public officials sought to censor the novels of James Joyce
and Theodore Dreiser, the poems of Walt Whitman and
Allen Ginsberg, the comedy of Lenny Bruce, and the films
of Louis Maile and Bernardo Bertolucci — all of which have
since become part of our cultural mainstream. In every
one of those notorious cases of government censorship, the
right of free speech has ultimately been vindicated,
whether by the courts or with the passage of time. Far-
seeing judges recognize that the law must reflect, not
shape, the contours of popular culture.

Some of America’s most respected jurists have ob-
served that the right of free expression includes vulgar
and offensive speech. Judge Learned Hand defended the
right of public criticism “either by temperate reasoning, or
by immoderate and indecent invective.” Masses Publ’g Co.
v. Patten, 244 F. 535, 539 (S.D.N.Y. 1917). Justice Oliver

16

Wendell Holmes warned “we should be eternally vigilant
against attempts to check the expression of opinions that
we loathe.” Abrams v. United States, 250 U.S. 616, 630
(1919) (Holmes, J., dissenting). Justice Hugo Black
championed the “prized American privilege to speak
one’s mind, although not always with perfect good
taste.” Bridges v. California, 314 U.S. 252, 270 (1941).
Justice Warren Burger cautioned that “the fact that
society may find speech offensive is not a sufficient
reason for suppressing it.” FCC v. Pacifica Found., 438
U.S. 726, 745 (1978).

Four decades ago, Justice John Marshal] Harlan said
of the night of free speech:

To many, the immediate consequence of this
freedom may often appear to be only verbal tu-
mult, discord, and even offensive utterance.
These are, however, within established limits, in
truth necessary side effects of the broader endur-
ing values which the process of open debate per-
mits us to achieve. That the air may at times
seem filled with verbal cacophony is, in this
sense not a sign of weakness but of strength. We
cannot lose sight of the fact that, in what other-
wise might seem a trifling and annoying instance
of individual distasteful abuse of a privilege,
these fundamental societal values are truly im-
plicated.

Cohen, 403 U.S. at 24-25.

This Court, standing on the shoulders of the giants
who uttered these pronouncements, should vindicate them
here.

For the above reasons, and for the reasons set forth in
petitioners’ briefing on the merits, this court should

17

reverse the California Court of Appeal and hold that, as a
matter of law, petitioners engaged in protected speech, and
that even if petitioners’ speech was defamatory the injunc-
tion constitutes an unconstitutional prior restraint.

Respectfully submitted,

JON B. EISENBERG
JEREMY B. ROSEN*
Horvitz & Levy LLP

*Counsel of Record

Attorneys for Amici Curiae
Michelangelo Delfino
and Mary E. Day

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0755%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
