# Opposition Brief — Muehler v. Mena

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0753%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 93

## Text

@

No. 03-1423

Supreme Court of the Anited States

DARIN L. MUEHLER and ROBERT BRILL,
Petitioners,

vs.

IRIS MENA,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES S. MULLER PAUL L. HOFFMAN
Law Offices of James S. Muller Counsel of Record
nore ERWIN CHEMERINSKY
3435 — MICHAEL S. MORRISON
Los Angeles, California 90010 Schonbrun, DeSimone, Seplow,
(213) 381-3299 Harris & Hoffman LLP
723 Ocean Front Walk
Venice, California 90291
(310) 396-0731
Attorneys for Respondent
IRIS MENA

we Se C3) o> 1013 « 949 720-1510

No. 03-1423

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

DARIN L. MUEHLER and ROBERT BRILL,
Petitioners,

vs.

IRIS MENA,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES S. MULLER PAUL L. HOFFMAN
Law Offices of James S. Muller Counsel of Record
~~ ERWIN CHEMERINSKY
439 —— MICHAEL S. MORRISON
Los Angeles, California 90010 Schonbrun, DeSimone, Seplow,
(213) 381-3299 Harris & Hoffman LLP
723 Ocean Front Walk

Venice, California 90291
(310) 396-0731

Attorneys for Respondent
IRIS MENA

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
RESPONDENT’S OPPOSITION TO
PETITIONERS’ WRIT OF CERTIORARI ........... 1
DUPRE MIUE GC BEM CARE oc ccc ccccccccccccecs 2
A. ree 2
B. i ccconbdenecaceoeecesvace 8
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ....... 11
I. The Ninth’s Circuit’s Decision Is Consistent
with Michigan v. Summers and Does Not
Conflict with Rulings in Other Circuits. ....... 11
A. Determining the Reasonableness of
Respondent’s Detention Is a Fact-
specific, Individualized Inquiry......... 11
B. The Ninth Cireuit’s Decision Was A
Correct Application of Michigan v.
DL -é6cnnndedesbdcehnaewailae 12

c. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling Is Not in,
Conflict With Other Courts of Appeal
Cases Regarding the Application of
Michigan v. Summers. .............. 16

Il. This Is an Inappropriate Vehicle to Decide
the Issue of Whether Mere Questioning of
an Already Lawfully Detained Person
Constitutes an Additional, Unreasonable
Seizure in Vw«‘ation of the Fourth

A. To the Extent the Ninth Circuit
Opinion Addresses the Issue of
Whether Mere Questioning Can
Constitute a Separate Constitutional
Violation, it Is Dictum. .............. 20

B. The Ninth Circuit Did Not Hold That
the Officers’ Questions About
Respondent’s Immigration Status
Constituted a Separate, Additional
and Unconstitutional Seizure. ......... 21

od This Is Not an Appropriate Case to

Resolve the Circuit Conflict
Petitioners Identify. .........cce00- 22
GEE cc ickenns cus ebeekavessteumeein 24
il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases

Franklin v. Foxworth,

31 F.3d 873 (9® Cir. 1994) .................. 15
Graham v. Connor,

SD “«.berccevedeadnanceeds 12
Heitschmidt v. City of Houston,

161 F.3d 834 (5 Cir. 1998) ................ 19
Hope v. Pelzer,

SS MP ov cuencskéveccsccecees 14
Martinez-Camargo v. INS,

yO ne 22
Mena v. Simi Valley,

226 F.3d 1031 (9th Cir. 2000) ............... 9
Mena v. City of Simi Valley,

332 F.3d 1255 (9" Cir. 2003) ........... passim
Meredith v. Erath,

342 F.3d 1057 (9" Cir. 2003) ............. 18, 19
Michigan v. Summers,

Se ED osc cseccecstovcesss passim
Pecsi v. Doyle,

940 F.2d 661(6" Cir. 1991)

TEE chicnndvsnaseddesecees 18
Pikel v. Garrett,

55 Fed. Appx. 29 (3™ Cir. 2002) ............. 17
Terry v. Ohio,

nd codupeveconesbanesssens 23
United States v. Barahona,

990 F.2d 412 (8" Cir. 1993) .............005. 23

ill

United States v. Chacon,

330 F.3d 323 (5™ Cir. 2003) ................- 23
United States v. Childs,

277 F.3d 947 (7" Cir. 2002) ...........22005- 23
United States v. Crain,

33 F.3d 480 (5" Cir. 1994) ...............05. 23
United States v. Fountain,

2 F.3d 656 (6" Cir. 1993) ..........2000005- 17
United States v. Holt,

264 F.3d 1215 (10" Cir. 2001) ..... hn Sea 23
United States v. Jones,

44 F.3d 860 (10 Cir. 1995) ................. 23
United States v. Martinez-Camargo,

neds cccneseccesencececs 23
United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, .

GB i Fee CRF vce ccccccccccescccccccs 23
United States v. Muchaca-Barrera,

261 F.3d 425 (5" Cir. 2001) ............205- 23
United States v. Murillo,

255 F.3d 1169 (9 Cir. 2001) ..... Siccenncwes 23
United States v. Pruitt,

174 F.3d 1215 (11 Cir. 1999)............... 23
United States v. Ramos,

42 F.3d 1160 (8" Cir. 1994) ................ 23
United States v. Shabazz,

993 F.3d 431 (5™ Cir. 1993) ................ 23

iv

Constitution, Statutes, Treaties,

42 US.C. § 1983

Rules, and Resolutions

RESPONDENT’S OPPOSITION TO PETITIONERS’
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondent Iris Mena submits this brief in opposition
to the petition for writ of certiorari filed by petitioners Daniel
L. Muehler and Robert Brill. Petitioners, who are police
officers for the City of Simi Valley, seek to review the verdict
reached by the jury and affirmed by the courts below that
respondent’s detention violated the Fourth Amendment and that
petitioners were not entitled to qualified immunity.

There was ample evidence demonstrating the
unreasonableness of respondent’s detention, as the jury, district
court and the Ninth Circuit correctly concluded. Moreover, the
Ninth Circuit’s opinion was in accord with the principles set
forth by this Court in Michigan v. Summers, 452 U.S. 692
(1981). The unlawfulness of the officers’ actions was clearly
established at the time of respondent’s detention. Moreover,
there is no conflict between the decision in this case and the
decisions of other circuit courts.

This is an inappropriate case to resolve the issue of
whether mere questioning of an already lawfully detained
individual constitutes an additional, unconstitutional seizure.
Petitioners attempt to create a “compelling reason” for this
Court to grant review by focusing heavily on the portion of the
Ninth Circuit’s opinion concerning respondent being
questioned by the police officers about her citizenship.
However, this portion of the opinion was unnecessary to the
court’s affirmance of the jury’s verdict that the manner in
which this detention was conducted was unreasonable.

Moreover, the Ninth Circuit did not hold that the questioning
of respondent about her immigration status during her detention
amounted to a separate seizure and an independent Fourth
Amendment violation. This claim was not before the court.
The questioning in the circumstances of this case was just one
of many factors the jury considered in finding the extent of
respondent’s detention to be unreasonable.

The distinct factual and legal setting of this case also
means that it is an inappropriate case to determine the
permissible scope of questioning during traffic stops, stops at
border checkpoints, or immigration deientions, which is
precisely what petitioners urge this court to do with this case.
Ultimately, the case prevents no “compelling reason” for
review under SUP. CT. R. 10 and is ill-suited to resolve the
issues petitioners identify.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Statement of Facts

On February 3, 1998, at approximately 7:00 a.m.,
officers of the Simi Valley Police Department SWAT team,
including petitioners, forcibly gained entry into respondent's
home at 1363 Patricia Avenue with a battering ram, to execute
a search warrant relating to Raymond Romero, a tenant of
respondent's parents who was not present at the time. ER 66.

The police came in with overwhelming force. There
were at least eighteen officers present at the scene. Once the
SWAT team made the initial entry and cleared the residence
within minutes, police were confronted with four
non-threatening non-suspects who had nothing whatsoever to

do with the suspect, Raymond Romero, or with any gang or
criminal activity.

Respondent Iris Mena, an 18 year-old Salvadorian
immigrant, was asleep in her bedroom located very near the
point of entry when she was suddenly awakened by a loud
bang. ER 111; SER 38. Her mother and father were both at
work at the time of the search and thus respondent was alone
and in an extremely vulnerable position. The bang was
immediately followed by the forced entry of at least one armed
man in dark clothing into her locked room. SER 111. The
man pointed semi-automatic weapons in respondent’s face as
she awoke and ordered her to stand up and put her hands
behind her back. ER 112; SER 78. She complied and was
immediately grabbed by the hands and pushed face first onto
the bed. ER 113.

Respondent initially had no idea who the men entering
her home were or why they had entered her home. Respondent
feared that the men had come to rob or kill her and she was
terrified. ER 113-14. Respondent testified that during this
initial encounter no one identified himself as a police officer.
ER 112-14. Only when the man who pushed her onto the bed
handcuffed her did respondent believe that the armed
individuals in her house were police officers, because she
believed that these were "the only persons who put handcuffs
on people." ER 113. After being handcuffed, respondent was
grabbed by the back of her shirt, pulled off the bed and led out

to a garage. Id.

Petitioners Brill and Muehler played a pivotal role in
the early morning operations. Petitioners supervised the
execution of the search and were also in charge of overseeing
the detention of the occupants of the house. ER 86 - 87, 172.

It was petitioner Muehler who ordered respondent and the three
other persons found on the property be taken to the adjoining
converted garage. SER 55. Petitioner Brill came into the
garage several times during respondent's detention, SER 62,
and either of the petitioners could have released her at any time.
SER 55, 62.

Respondent was led outside in order to reach the garage.
It was pouring rain on that morning and the ground was wet.
ER 66, 115. At the time of her initial detention, respondent
was wearing only green sweat pants, a black long sleeved shirt
and had no shoes on her feet. ER 115. Respondent was forced
- to walk outside in the cold, pouring rain with no jacket and no
shoes. Only after she had been exposed to the elements and sat
in the damp garage in uncomfortable handcuffs for a half an
hour to an hour did officers give respondent a jacket and some
shoes to wear. ER 122, 131.

While she was held in the garage, an officer asked
respondent if she was a legal resident of this country, even
though this question was irrelevant to the purpose of the search.
ER119-120. An INS officer, who petitioners brought on the
search, ER 178-79, then asked respondent intrusive questions
about her immigration status and inquired where her papers
were. ER 120. Respondent, a legal resident of this country, ER
109, 120, stated that her documentation was in her purse and
a police officer then went and searched it without respondent's
permission. ER 120. The officer handed the documentation
over to the INS agent. ER 120.'

"Indeed, it was part of the respondent's theory of the case and
the evidence presented that petitioners treated respondent so badly
because they thought illegal aliens lived at the Mena's home, a home
they described as a “poorhouse." ER 261-62. Moreover, petitioners had

4

During her detention, respondent also observed a female
videotaping in the garage where she and the other residents of
the premises were being detained. Respondent, who had not
given the police permission to videotape her, was concerned
about this additional intrusion into her privacy. ER 124-25.
She asked an officer about the videotaping. ER 125. Instead of
alleviating her anxiety and treating her with a modicum of
respect, the officer yelled at her that it was part of their job to
do that, and gave her no further explanation about the
videotaping. ER 125.

Respondent was the only occupant present within the
main house the morning of the search. She was not shown a
search warrant or given an explanation for the search until after
the search ended. ER 118. While she was held she heard and
saw Officers breaking things, including a door, in her home, all
without the slightest explanation. ER 120-21. Respondent
made repeated attempts to elicit an explanation for her
detention from the officers who were in the garage with her and
the other detainees. ER 117-18. She received either evasive
responses or no responses at all. Id. On at least one occasion
the officer whom she asked replied that they were not in charge
of the operation and hence were not authorized to give her an
explanation. ER117. She could hear officers breaking doors
and inflicting damage to property in her home, while she was
detained in a garage and treated as a person with no rights. ER
120-21.

previously made a call to the Mena residence, though not for any gang
affiliated activity. SER 47-48, 72-73. Thus, the unnecessarily harsh
treatment of respondent on the morning of the search could properly
have been viewed by the jury as payback for petitioners’ prior exposure
to the Mena family and petitioners’ negative view of the occupants of
the Mena home, rather than as legitimate law enforcement actions.

Petitioner Muehler acknowledged during trial that he
and petitioner Brill were the ones in charge of overseeing the
detentions, and that part of this task entailed addressing the
questions of the individuals being detained. ER 182.
Petitioners never approached respondent to give her an
explanation, or to show her a search warrant, even though
petitioners came to the garage during respondent's detention
several times. SER 62, 97.

Respondent was detained in the garage in handcuffs for
the duration of the search. SER 92. She testified that the
handcuffs were "real uncomfortable," ER 119, and that they
became even more uncomfortable as time progressed. Id.
Respondent asked officers to remove the handcuffs but she was
informed that "it was part of their job" to handcuff her, and
that the "their highest officer" had ordered this. ER 118. Given
the officer’s attitude towards her from the beginning of the
search, further requests would have seemed futile in her
circumstances.

Petitioners justified respondent's detention and
handcuffing by claiming they did not know the extent of
respondent's involvement with Raymond Romero, the main
target of the search, and also claimed "concern" that she might
interfere with the search. ER 93. However, at trial, officers
admitted that they did not suspect respondent of being
involved in any crime, and agreed with the observation that
respondent was completely cooperative throughout the entire
ordeal from beginning to end. SER 40-41, 54. Searches of
respondent's person and room, SER 19 (Exhibit. 13); 51,
produced no contraband or any evidence of gang membership,
SER 48-49, 51, 61, or criminal activity of any kind. S ER
60-61. Petitioners never had any information that respondent

or her family were connected to any gang or criminal activity.
Id. Indeed, respondent was never questioned about any gang
activity or about anything other than her immigration status.
Moreover, petitioners’ knew that this was not a gang safe
house. Petitioners in their affidavit of probable cause identified
respondent’s home as a “poorhouse.” Petitioners admitted at
trial that on their visit to the location one month prior to the
search they encountered numerous residents but no one who
they identified as gang members. Petitioners’ information was
that the only gang member who currently resided at the
residence was Raymond Romero. Petitioners also had
adequate personnel at their disposal to remove respondent's
handcuffs after they cleared the residence and learned that
Raymond Romero was not present. SER 167. In fact, within
minutes the search site was deemed Code 4 “which means
everything was calm and the risks were minimized." SER 86.”

Respondent remained in the garage, handcuffed and in
great discomfort, for between two to three hours. ER 196.
Respondent was held this way for at least fifteen minutes to an
hour after the search of the residence had been completed.
Respondent testified that her handcuffs were not taken off until
she was brought into the living room. The police videographer
testified that she was brought in to videotape the location after

*Both SWAT Commander Lt. Thomas and defense expert
witness Joseph Callanan testified on cross-examination that standard
police procedure is that non-suspect detainees, who pose no threat to
police officers shuuld be released after they have been patted down for
weapons and identified. SER 102-04 (Thomas); SEk 138-43
(Callanan). Indeed, Mr. Callanan's testimony on cross-examination
fully supported respondent's claim that petitioners had no justification
for detaining respondent in handcuffs as long as they did. In addition,
the tactical plan for this search provided for this. SER 8 (exhibit 11);
56, 96; ER 89.

the search was completed. SER 52, 115-17. Yet, the
post-search videotape, which has a time stamp indicating it was
made two hours after the SWAT team's entry, does not show
respondent in the living room at all. Instead, it shows petitioner
Muehler completing paperwork in the living room while
respondent remained handcuffed in a cold garage. Petitioner
Brill admitted that respondent was not released until at least ten
to fifteen minutes after the search was concluded. Respondent
testified that she was held as long as three hours. Therefore,
the evidence at trial allowed the jury to find that respondent
was held for as long as one hour after the search had been
concluded. ER 89, SER 52, 115-117. At trial, the officers
provided no justification for maintaining respondent under
restraint after the search had ended.’

B. Proceedings Below

Respondent filed an action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §
1983 alleging, in part, that the City of Simi Valley and eighteen
of its officers, including petitioners, violated her rights under
the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments by unlawfully
detaining respondent during the search of her home.

Before trial, all of the individual officers moved for
summary judgment based on the affirmative defense of
qualified immunity. ER 304. The district court denied the
motion as to all but one of the officers and the remaining
officers filed an interlocutory appeal contending that the United
States Supreme Court's decision in Michigan v Summers, 452
U.S. 692, 705 (1981), gave them authority to detain residents
during the | awful execution ofa valid search warrant. On

’Respondent testified that she still suffers from nightmares,
suffered humiliation and fear. ER 113, 118.

8

September 22, 2000, the Ninth Circuit held, inter alia, that the
officers were not entitled to qualified immunity with regard to
plaintiffs' claim that the circumstances of her detention violated
the Fourth Amendment. Mena v. Simi Valley, 226 F.3d 1031,
1038-41 (9th Cir. 2000) ("Mena I"). The case was remanded
for trial on plaintiff's remaining claims, including her unlawful
detention claim.

On June 21, 2001, the jury found that petitioners
violated plaintiff's Fourth Amendment rights by detaining her
“with greater force than which was reasonable under the
circumstances” and “for a period longer than reasonable.” ER
273-274. The jury sided with petitioners on all other claims.
ER 270-272. The jury awarded respondent $10,000 in
compensatory damages and $20,000 in punitive damages
against each of the petitioners. ER 276-277.

On July 24, 2001, petitioners filed a motion to amend
the judgment, which was denied by the district court in an
extensive opinion. ER 288. Petitioners appealed.

The Ninth Circuit upheld the trial court’s ruling in
Mena v. City of Simi Valley, 332 F.3d 1255 (9 Cir. 2003)
(Mena II). It found that there were ample facts demonstrating
the existence of an unreasonable seizure in violation of the
Fourth Amendment. In particular, the Court noted: 1)
respondent was awakened abruptly by a loud noise and opened
her eyes to find a person dressed in black pointing a gun in her
face; 2) no officer during this initial encounter identified
himself as an officer and respondent believed that the persons
in her room had come to rob her; 3) the officers searched
respondent and her room, yanked her up from her bed by her
shirt, and led her out of the room in her pajamas; and 4)
although it was raining outside and respondent was barefoot,

the officers directed her outside and into a cold garage, where
she was detained for two to three hours. /d. at 1261-1262. The
Court found that these “heightened security measures” were
unjustified in light of the fact that it was clear respondent posed
no threat to the safety of the officers; the search of her room
and residence produced no evidence of gang membership;
respondent was not a suspect in the crime; and, although the 18
well armed S.W.A.T. members secured the house in a matter of
minutes, she was handcuffed and detained for two to three
hours. Based on these circumstances alone, the Court
concluded that her detention was objectively unreasonable and
“unnecessarily degrading [and] prolonged.” Jd. at 1263-1264.

The Court also found that the officers’s questions about
respondent’s citizenship status and search of her purse for proof
of citizenship also rendered her detention unreasonable. The
Court did not find this to be a separate seizure, but rather a
factor which rendered her Summers detention unreasonable. Jd.
at 1264-1266. However, it is clear that the Court found
respondent’s detention to be unreasonable and in violation of
the Fourth Amendment independent of the questioning of her
immigration status and the search of her purse. Thus, the
portion of the opinion concerning the officer’s questions
regarding her immigration status was unnecessary and was
dictum.

Petitioner’s suggestion for a rehearing en banc was
denied on January 14, 2004.

10

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. The Ninth’s Circuit’s Decision Is Consistent with
Michigan v. Summers and Does § « Conflict with
Rulings in Other Circuits.

A. Determining the Reasonableness of
Respondent’s Detention Is a Fact-specific,
Individualized Inquiry.

The only issue this case presents is whether
respondent’s detention during the officers’ search of her
parents’ home was unreasonable pursuant to the principles set
forth by this court in Michigan v. Summers. The facts of this
case and the opinions below simply do not raise any novel issue
of law or any important question for this Court to decide given
this limited fact-based context.

In Michigan v. Summers, 452 U.S. 692 (1981), this
Court held that “a warrant to search for contraband founded on
probable cause implicitly carries with it the limited authority to
detain the occupants of the premises while a proper search is
conducted.” 452 U.S. at 705. (Emphasis added). However,
Summers also held that “special circumstances” or “a prolonged
detention” and other detentions which are not “routine” could
give rise to a Fourth Amendment violation. Jd. at 705 n. 21.
Thus, Summers holds that police have limited authority to
detain the occupant of a house without probable cause during
the search when the detention is neither prolonged or unduly
intrusive.

Petitioners do not dispute this reading of Summers.

Rather, they claim that the Ninth Circuit’s ruling is an
expansive interpretation of Summers that conflicts with the

11

decisions of other courts of appeals. However, whether a
particular seizure is reasonable is a fact-specific inquiry that
varies from case to case. As stated by this Court in Graham v.
Connor, 490 U.S. 386, 398 (1989), when determining the
reasonableness of a detention courts must pay “careful attention
to the facts and circumstances of each particular case.” The
court must weigh factors “including the severity of the crime,
whether the suspect poses an immediate threat to the safety of
the officers and others, and whether [the suspect] is actively
resisting arrest or attempting to evade arrest by flight.” Jd. at
396. This is what occurred in this case.

The fact-specific inquiry a court must engage in to
determine the reasonableness of a particular detention thus
belies any assertion that the Ninth Circuit’s ruling somehow
expands Summers or conflicts with the rulings in other courts
of appeal. The jury, the district court, and the Ninth Circuit
concluded, based on the facts before them, that respondent’s
détention was unlawful. As demonstrated below, this
conclusion was certainly reasonable given the facts of this case.
Indeed, what petitioners present as a conflict between the
circuits is actually just an account of different assessments of
reasonableness in the particular circumstances of the cases and
not a conflict about the applicable legal norms.

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Was a Correct
Application of Michigan v. Summers.

Petitioners ignore the requirement that the facts must be
viewed in the light most favorable to the jury verdict when
determining the lawfulness of respondent’s detention. There is
little doubt that the facts of this case support the jury’s verdict
that respondent’s detention was prolonged, unduly intrusive and
and hence unreasonable.

12

Respondent was an 18 year-old female at the time of the
detention. Although she was not a suspect, the officers broke
into her room and pointed guns into her face without
identifying who they were. After complying with the officers’
commands to stand up and put her hands behind her back,
respondent was grabbed by her hands and pushed face first onto —
the bed. After being thrown on the bed, respondent was
handcuffed and yanked up by her shirt and led outside in the
pouring rain and cold in her pajamas and without shoes.
Respondent was subsequently made to sit in a damp and cold
garage for a half hour to an hour before she was finally brought
a jacket and shoes to put on.

Respondent complained to the officers that her
handcuffs were too tight and uncomfortable but they refused to
loosen them.‘ Respondent was detained and kept in handcuffs
for at least three hours in the damp garage even though she
posed no threat to the safety of the officers and she made no
attempts to flee or destroy any contraband. There was also no
evidence she was affiliated with any gang or that she had
committed any crime. R espondent w as c ompliant w ith the
officers’ commands at all times and the officers conceded at
trial that they did not believe she posed a threat. Further, there
were 18 officers involved in the search and the premises were
secured in a matter of minutes. Finally, respondent remained
in handcuffs for at least 15 minutes to an hour after the search
had been completed. ©

‘Petitioners assert that because respondent did not specifically
state the handcuffs were painful the officers did not loosen them.
However, after the officers refused to loosen her handcuffs when she
said they were too tight and uncomfortable, respondent would have no
reason to believe that telling the officers her handcuffs were painful
would have caused them to loosen them.

13

__ Based on these facts, it was reasonable for the jury *, the
district court, and the Ninth Circuit to conclude that
respondent’s detention was unlawful. These facts establish that
respondent’s detention was anything but routine. Respondent’s
detention is also a far cry from that of the detention in
Summers, where the respondent was not handcuffed, not made
sit in a cold and damp garage for two to three hours, and was

not detained after the search was concluded. Petitioners.

exclude the facts which are most favorable to the jury verdict
when arguing that the rulings below are an expansion of
Summers. When the facts they exclude are considered, it is
readily apparent that no expansion of any sort has taken place
here.

Indeed, petitioners cannot point to any error of law
made by Ninth Circuit in Mena I when concluding there was
a constitutional violation, and essentially just complain about
the result. This Court should not grant certiorari merely to
reexamine facts that the jury, the district court, and the Ninth
Circuit have already considered and determined are sufficient
to support a finding that respondent’s detention was
unreasonable.

The Ninth Circuit also correctly decided that the
unlawfulness of the officers’ conduct was clearly established at

~~ the time of the detention. In Hope v. Pelzer, 538 U.S. 730

(2002), this Court stated that qualified immunity is unavailable
if the legal landscape at the time of the detention provided

‘Indeed, Petitioners do not raise in this petition the issue of
whether the district court erred when instructing the jury on what
constitutes an unlawful detention and have therefore conceded that the
instruction was correct. This further demonstrates the casonableness
of the jury’s conclusion that the detention was unlawful given they were
properly instructed on what constitutes an unlawful detention.

14

reasonable officers with fair warning that their conduct was
unconstitutional. Jd. at 739-740. Moreover, this Court further
held in Pelzer that an official action is not protected by
qualified immunity just because the very action in question had
not been previously held unlawful. Jd.

In this case, existing case law clearly supported the jury
verdict and the district court’s and Ninth Circuit’s qualified
immunity analysis. Petitioners dispute the conclusion that the
unlawfulness of respondent’s detention was clearly established
by arguing that no reasonable officer in 1998 would have
known that pointing a gun at respondent and handcuffing her
for two to three hours during a Summers detention was
unlawful. This argument lacks merit, however, because the
officers’ conduct was not limited to pointing a gun at
respondent and handcuffing her, but involved other conduct
clearly making this detention unreasonable. Indeed, even
though respondent was not a suspect and there was no evidence
that she was affiliated with any gang or had committed any
crime, she was still handled roughly, made to march through
the rain in bare feet, and made to sit in a cold and damp
environment for hours in overly tight handcuffs. See Franklin
v. Foxworth, 31 F.3d 873, 876-877 (9" Cir. 1994) (lawfulness
of police detention of a non-suspect during s earch rests on
evaluation of Graham factors; the fact that the police had no
reason to believe that the detainee had committed a crime, was
armed, was a gang member, posed any danger to them, or
presented a risk of flight rendered the detention unreasonable
and precluded qualified immunity).

Moreover, respondent’s continued detention in
handcuffs after the conclusion of the search was clearly
established as being unlawful at the time it occurred. As stated
in Summers, the initial authority to detain a non-suspect only

15

exists during the execution of a proper search. 452 U.S. at 705.
This establishes that the Ninth Circuit’s decision on qualified
immunity was correct and consistent with this Court’s rulings.
All of the facts and circumstances of this case support the jury’s
verdict and the denial of qualified immunity.

c. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling Is Not in Conflict
With Other Courts of Appeal Decisions
Regarding the Application of Michigan v.
Summers.

Petitioners’ strained attempt to manufacture a conflict
between the Ninth Circuit and other courts of appeal regarding
the application of Michigan v. Summers is unavailing. The
Ninth Circuit’s decision in Mena IJ does not conflict with the
rulings made by other courts of appeal. L’ke the Ninth Circuit
opinion, each of the cases cited in petitioners’ writ (See Pet.
Writ. 16-18) recognize that Summers only granted law
enforcement officials limited authority to detain occupants
during the search of the premises pursuant to a valid search
warrant and that prolonged or unduly intrusive detentions may
violate the Fourth Amendment. Further, each of the cases
petitioners identify also employ a totality of the circumstances
test to determine the reasonableness of the detention. The fact
that in some of the cases the courts found there was no Fourth
Amendment violation in no way means that these decisions
conflict with the Ninth Circuit’s application of Summers in this
case. On the contrary, what accounts for the different results is
that the other cases were decided in the context of different
facts and circumstances.

Indeed, this case is readily distinguishable from the two
cases that petitioners argue clearly contradict the Ninth

16

Circuit’s decision in Mena II. In Pikel v. Garrett, 55 Fed.
Appx. 29 (3™ Cir. 2002), an unpublished decision, many of the
employees who were detained and handcuffed for three and a
half hours had criminal records. Jd. at 31. One employee was
found to have been carrying a gun at the time of her detention.
The search also took place in an auto body shop where many of
the tools in the shop could have been used as weapons. Pikel
was pushed to the ground and had a gun pointed at his face
because he failed to comply with the officers’ orders to “get
down.” Jd. It was on the basis of these very different facts that
the Pikel court concluded that the plaintiffs’ detention was
reasonable.

This differs significantly from this case where there was
no evidence that respondent had a criminal background, there
were no weapons found on her when she was detained, and she
was compliant at all times with the officers’ commands. The
employees in Pikel were also not held in handcuffs and
detained after the search completed.

In United States v. Fountain, 2 F.3d 656 (6" Cir. 1993),
handcuffing the occupants and forcing them to lay face down
during the search was justified by several circumstances not
present in this case. First, during a prior search of Fountain’s
home, Fountain was observed destroying contraband and
automatic handguns were also seized from his home. Jd. at
659. Moreover, during the search, narcotics were found in
Fountain’s pocket and three firearms were found in the hall
closet. Jd. at 660. The Fountain court ruled that in light of
these circumstances, the actions of the law enforcement
officials were reasonable and proportional to their interests in
preventing flight and minimizing the risk of harm to the
officers. Jd. at 663. Nothing even remotely approaching these
circumstances was present in this case.

17

Petitioners are also incorrect in their assessment that
this case is less egregious than the cases they identify in their
petition (See Pet Writ. at 17-18) where a Fourth Amenumient
violation was found by the court. Indeed, petitioners’ argument
in this regard is premised on the false notion that this is simply
a handcuffing case and that the Ninth Circuit’s ruling was that
handcuffing a suspect for two-three hours during a search is a
per se constitutional violation. As shown above, this was not
the court’s ruling. In fact, this case is just as egregious if not
more egregious than the cases they cite in that, in addition to
the facts described above, respondent was detained after the
search had been completed, which did not occur in any of the
other cases. Further, in Pecsi v. Doyle, 940 F.2d 661(6" Cir.
1991) 19 WL 137957 at 1-3, an unpublished opinion cited by
petitioners, the detainee was not even handcuffed and was
permitted to move around his apartment if accompanied by an
officer. Nonetheless, the court found there was a Fourth
Amendment violation with respect to the manner of Pecsi’s
detention.

As for the Ninth Circuit case Meredith v. Erath, 342
F.3d 1057 (9" Cir. 2003), petitioners’ summary of the case is
misleading. Plaintiff Meredith made two unlawful detention
claims. The first was based solely on her being handcuffed and
detained in handcuffs during the search. Jd. at 1062. As to this
claim, the court determined that under the totality of the
circumstances Meredith’s detention in handcuffs was not
justified. Jd. At 1062-1063. However, the court found that the
officers were entitled to qualified immunity on this claim
because it had not been clearly established that handcuffing a
person and detaining her in handcuffs under the circumstances
the officers faced in Meredith, standing alone, would violate

18

the Fourth Amendment.® This ruling is not inconsistent with
the holding in Mena II because the court’s ruling that
petitioners w ere not entitled to qualified immunity w as not
limited to the act of handcuffing as it was in Meredith, but was
based on the totality of the officers’ conduct during the seizure
as described above. Jd. at 1266-1267.

As to Meredith’s second unlawful detention claim, this
was based on her being kept in overly tight handcuffs. The
court found that this fact rendered her detention unreasonable
and that the officers were noi entitled to qualified immunity.
Id. at 1063-1064. Since respondent was also kept in overly tight
handcuffs throughout her detention, this case is fully consistent
with Meredith, contrary to petitioners’ assertion. |

Thus, not only is there no conflict between Mena I/ and
the decisions of other courts of appeal with respect to the
application of Summers, there is also no intra-circuit conflict in
the Ninth Circuit. This case therefore does present this Court
with an opportunity to resolve any conflict whatsoever, as the
Ninth Circuit and the other courts of appeal have employed the
same principles in their application of Summers.

‘The opinion states that it had not been established by July 10,
1998 in other circuits that simply handcuffing a person and detaining
her in handcuffs would violate the Fourth Amendment. /¢ at 1063.
However, this is clear error because the case Meredith cites to for this
proposition, Heitschmidt v. City of Houston, 161 F.3d 834, 838-839 (5*
Cir. 1998) found that there was no qualified immunity for a detention
involving handcuffing that occurred in /994.

19

Il. This Is an Inappropriate Vehicle to Decide the Issue
of Whether Mere Questioning of an Already
Lawfully Detained Person Constitutes an
Additional, Unreasonable Seizure in Violation of the
Fourth Amendment.

A. To the Extent the Ninth Circuit Opinion
Addresses the Issue of Whether Mere
Questioning Can Constitute a Separate
Constitutional Violation, it Is Dictum.

Petitioners argue that this is an appropriate case for this
Court to decide the issue whether “mere questioning of an
individual who has been lawfully seized can constitute an
additional, unreasonable seizure.” Pet. Writ at 9. In making
this argument, petitioners focus heavily on the portion of the
Ninth Circuit opinion concerning respondent being questioned
by the officers about her immigration status. However,
petitioners do not dispute that the Ninth Circuit found
respondent’s seizure to be unlawful even in the absence of her
being questioned about her immigration status. Thus, any
discussion of whether this questioning was itself a
constitutional violation is dictum. Moreover, petitioners also
concede that the parties never briefed the issue of whether mere
questioning constitutes a separate constitutional violation to
the court or presented it to the jury.’ Thus, to the extent any
portion of the Ninth Circuit’s opinion touches upon this specific
issue, it is dictum as well.

"Respondent merely argued to the jury and the courts below
that the act of her being questioned about her immigration status was
one of many factors that rendered her detention unconstitutional.

20

Further, resolving this issue would have no impact on
the outcome of this case unless this Court also found that all of
the facts regarding respondent’s detention were insufficient to
establish a Fourth Amendment violation. However, respondent
has already demonstrated that the Ninth Circuit’s decision
regarding the unlawfulness of her detention was correct when
all the facts and circumstances of her detention are taken into
account. Therefore, granting review as to issue number one of
petitioners’ writ would be inappropriate because the
questioning issue is unnecessary to the holding in this case and
would be tantamount to an advisory opinion.

B. The Ninth Circuit Did Not Hold That the
Officers’ Questions About Respondent’s
Immigration Status Constituted a Separate,
Additional and Unconstitutional Seizure.

Petitioners misconstrue the holding in Mena IJ when
arguing that the Ninth Circuit held that the officers’ questions
to respondent about her immigration status constituted a
separate, additional and unconstitutional seizure. At no point
in the opinion does the Ninth Circuit state that the questioning
amounted to a separate, unconstitutional seizure. The Ninth
Circuit’s analysis was focused on whether there were sufficient
facts to sustain the jury’s verdict that respondent’s detention
was unreasonable. In this context, the Ninth Circuit found that
questioning Mena about her immigration status and searching
her purse were among many factors that rendered her detention
unreasonable.’ The court did not rule that her questioning

"Indeed, the fact that the Ninth’s Circuit’s holding was also
based on the fact the officers searched respondent’s purse for proof of
citizenship is another reason why this case is not appropriate to decide
issue number one of the writ.

21

amounted to a separate, constitutional violation, nor could it
without that portion of the opinion being dictum, considering
respondent never argued this below or briefed this issue to the
Ninth Circuit. 332 F.3d at 1264-1266.

Since the Ninth Circuit never ruled that the officers’
questions regarding respondent’s immigration status amounted
to a separate, unconstitutional seizure, and considering
respondent never advanced this argument at trial or on appeal,
this obviously would be an inappropriate case to decide the
issue of whether mere questioning of an already lawfully
detained person could constitute a separate, unconstitutional
seizure. Moreover, the fact that the Ninth Circuit did not find
that there was a separate, unconstitutional seizure means that
there is no conflict with the Seventh Circuit case Martinez-
Camargo v. INS, 282 F.3d 487 (7 Cir. 2002), as petitioners
argue. Indeed, Martinez-Camargo specifically held that an
officers’ questions about the detainee’s immigration status
could be considered in determining the reasonableness of the
initial detention e ven though they did not create a separate
seizure. 282 F.3d at 487. This alone is grounds to deny
certiorari as to issue number one of petitioners’ writ.

Cc. This Is Not an Appropriate Case to Resolve
the Circuit Conflict Petitioners Identify.

Petitioners argue that this is an appropriate case to
resolve the conflict between the court of appeals on the issue of
whether an officer must have a reasonable suspicion to question
a lawfully detained individual on matters unrelated to the
reason for the initial detention when the questioning does not
expand the length of detention. However, even a cursory
examination of the cases cited in petitioners’ writ (Pet Writ at

22

10-11) reveals that the legal and factual background of those
cases is markedly different from this one, thus making this an
inappropriate case to resolve the conflict petitioners identify.
Indeed, petitioners are only able to create a conflict by ignoring
the context of the cases they cite, including the facts of this
case.

The majority of the cases cited by petitioners involve
questioning by law enforcement officers about other possible
crimes during routine traffic stops and fall under Terry v. Ohio,
392 U.S. 1 (1968) and its progeny. See United States v. Holt,
264 F.3d 1215, 1218-1219 (10" Cir. 2001), United States v.
Pruitt, 174 F.3d 1215, 1217-1219 (11" Cir. 1999), United
States v. Ramos, 42 F.3d 1160, 1161-1163 (8" Cir. 1994),
United States v. Murillo, 255 F.3d 1169, 1172-1173 (9" Cir.
2001); United States v. Jones, 44 F.3d 860, 871 (10% Cir.
1995); United States v. Barahona, 990 F.2d 412, 416 (8" Cir.
1993); United States v. Crain, 33 F.3d 480, 481-482, 485 (5"
Cir. 1994); United States v. Shabazz, 993 F.3d 431, 434-435
(5" Cir. 1993). The case United States v. Childs, 277 F.3d 947
(7 Cir. 2002) is also a traffic stop case, although it rejects
employing a Terry analysis in favor of a probable cause arrest
analysis. Jd. at 952-953.

United States v. Chacon, 330 F.3d 323, 325, 327 (5"
Cir. 2003) and United States v. Muchaca-Barrera, 261 F.3d
425, 429, 431 (5 Cir. 2001) are border detention/ checkpoint
cases which fall under the United States v. Martinez-Fuerte,
428 U.S. 543 (1976), line of cases. Finally, United States v.
Martinez-Camargo, 282 F.3d 487, 489-490 (2002) is an
investigatory stop/ immigration detention case.

By contrast, this case concerns the detention of a non-
suspect resident during a search of the premises pursuant to a

23

valid search warrant. This case falls within the ambit of CONCLUSION
Michigan v. Summers. As such, this is an inappropriate case to

decide the permissible scope of questions a law enforcement For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of
officer may ask during a traffic stop, a border/checkpoint certiorari should be denied.

detention, or an investigatory stop/immigration detention. This
is because whether or not an officer’s questioning renders a
detention unreasonable turns on the facts and circumstances
unique to each of these settings. The fact that all of the cases
involve questioning does not overcome the fact that law
enforcement officials are confronted with different concerns
depending on the context they may find themselves in.
Therefore, having this case set the parameters of permissible
questioning in other, dissimilar law enforcement settings will
do little to clarify | what constitutes permissible or
impermissible questioning and will likely lead to additional
confusion. Accordingly, this case is not an appropriate vehicle
to resolve the circuit conflict petitioners identify.

24

Dated: May 13, 2004

Respectfully submitted,

Paul L. Hoffman
Counsel of Record
Erwin Chemerinsky
Michael Morrison

SCHONBRUN DESIMONE SEPLOW
HARRIS & HOFFMAN LLP

James S. Muller
LAW OFFICES OF JAMES MULLER

Attorneys for Respondent
Iris Mena

25

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0753%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
