# Opposition Brief — Spector v. Norwegian Cruise Line Ltd.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0750%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 545 U.S. 119

## Text

4)

~~

No. 03-1388

Supreme Coy rn Us
Fi LE D '

!
|

In The 3
Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

DOUGLAS SPECTOR, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
v.
NORWEGIAN CRUISE LINE LTD.,
Respondent.

«

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

¢

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

¢

_— THOMAS H. WILSON
Counsel of Record
MICHAEL J. MUSKAT
VINSON & ELKINS, L.L.P.
1001 Fannin Street
Houston, Texas 77002
(713) 758-2222

MICHAEL F. STURLEY

727 E. Dean Keeton Street
Austin, Texas 78705

(512) 232-1350

Counsel for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does Title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act
(ADA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 12181-12189, apply to foreign cruise
ships?

ii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The corporate parent of Norwegian Cruise Line Ltd. is
Arrasas, Ltd., which in turn is wholly owned by Star
Cruises PLC, a Malaysian company. Star Cruises PLC is a
public company and its shares are traded on several
foreign stock exchanges.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
te CB , . e i
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ............. ii
, ° . 2 ES nerene nee iii
Fe I Gr CB ei ees evececccccccsescecccescseccscesseses iv
SITET iiininictintidlaninteantniiiemnnndipedinmmasinnnuminneineinninss 1
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.................. 7

I. This Case Presents the Question Whether
Title III of the Americans with Disabilities
Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 12181-12189, Ap-
plies to Foreign Cruise Ships. ................0...000 8

II. The Acknowledged Conflict Between the
Fifth and Eleventh Circuits Unacceptably
Subjects Foreign Cruise Ships to Inconsis-
ie eR icecccnnccnccesesteiscccssesesscnscece 12

III. This Court Should Overrule the Eleventh
Circuit’s Erroneous Decision in Stevens in
Favor of the Fifth Circuit’s Ruling Below. ...... 14

ee cccvesessscccesecesessscocosserenesecsavnosoesosnssosoeese 18

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

CASES
Becker v. Montgomery, 531 U.S. 1110 (2001).................... 12
Benz v. Compania Naviera Hidalgo, S.A., 353 U.S.

ET iesdisliinitiiessnsieeeenileeicipestentaibdiieiiaaiiiaiiciitiecten 5, 6, 15, 16, 17
Clay v. United States, 536 U.S. 981 (2002)........: bianenenenvits 12
EEOC v. Arabian Am. Oil Co. (ARAMCO), 499 U.S.

ST wsiicieictinechteictieindibarpienibiiathdiandieaaeeideniiiaiioit etal 15, 16, 17
Giacopini v. Crystal Cruises, Inc., Case No. C-04-

1089MMC (N.D. Cal. June 25, 2004)............ eee 13
Hope v. Pelzer, 534 U.S. 1120 (2002)........ cece ees 12
Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571 (1953) .............ccccceeeeeee 15
McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de

Honduras, 372 U.S. 10 (1963)................... 5, 6, 15, 16, 17
Miller-El v. Cockrell, 535 U.S. 903 (2002)... eee 12
Stevens v. Premier Cruises, Inc., 215 F.3d 1237

(CA11 2000), reh’g denied, 284 F.3d 1187 (CA11

SUITE \ccssctiiipovininnitbaiiaiiaananiniaiianndabnibiniainnntitinieiniedl passim
Sundance Cruises Corp. v. American Bureau of

Shipping, 7 F.3d 1077 (CA2 1998) ........... ccc ceeeceeeeeeeeeeees 13
United States v. Locke, 529 U.S. 89 (2000)..................0008 13
STATUTES, TREATIES, AND REGULATIONS
I AN TT ini cctcintinstiedecieninciihaniiiiataibiadainacaiiaiapbidaidédins 4
Oe MT nvicicictisasesinninsticehatiitesinciopinipiamiptimamundialasaiaidiied 4
a ee ee isiciiccsanticesiiatininniauinapiintimatiinemseataduntetiuas 2
a ee ae erinniiiitcininiccieiiaehischnnnatincinstanaiiitinipiiatiiaiianial 2

ii -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Contin.e

Page

| ea 8, 11

ee MT sinicicntinintinctepcninecinttabntatindtetineiibienitane 8, 11
International Convention for the Safety of Life at
Sea (SOLAS), 32 U.S.T. 47, T.LA.S. No. 9700

Eiri slaeehicininietbciiaticieiadubiapbnbebaicliuiaaiasiddddiidniiienieadaeiusisineivianinesdt o

56 Fed. Reg. 35544 (July 26, 1991) 0.0... ee eeeeeeeeeteeeee 2

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Harry Shattuck, NCL’s Texarribean Cruises Will
Resume in November, Houston Chronicle,
October 26, 2003, Travel section, at 6. .................cccce000 14

NCL’s “Scandinavian Capitals” Itinerary, available
at http://www.ncl.com/itinerary/it_euro.htm (last

ie I vicicctticnctniinsticsininninnadiacciiiniatinnniininninnenies 1
Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations Law

Of the United Staten § G01 ......cccccccccccccccccccccccccccscccccccces 15
Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations Law

of the United States § 502 cmt. a............cccccecceeceeeseeeeees 15

United States Department of Justice, ADA Title III
Technical Assistance Manual III-1.2000 (1993),
available at http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/taman3.

html (last visited July 2, 2004) .0.... eee eeteteteeeeeees 9
United States Department of State, Treaties in
i a eiebedamminandibabinidsiall 13

1

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

Certiorari is warranted to enable this Court to affirm
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit and overrule the erroneous decision of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit in
Stevens v. Premier Cruises, Inc., 215 F.3d 1237 (CA11
2000), reh’g denied, 284 F.3d 1187 (CA11 2002).

+

STATEMENT

1. Respondent Norwegian Cruise Line Ltd. (NCL)
operates a fleet of oceangoing cruise ships that depart on
pleasure cruises from ports in the United States and, at
present, two other continents.’

NCL welcomes disabled passengers on its ships. It has
been NCL’s experience that disabled persons often view
cruises as ideal vacations because cruise ships offer
numerous activities and services in a self-contained,
accessible space. NCL is fully committed to making its
many disabled passengers’ cruise experiences as accessi-
ble, integrated, and enjoyable as possible. NCL rejects
discrimination against its disabled passengers in any
form.

2. Title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act
(ADA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 12181-12189, contains a lengthy and

* The implication that all NCL ships depart from U.S. ports
(Pet. 3), is incorrect. Like most major cruise lines, NCL operates cruise
ships that depart from ports in other countries and do not enter U.S.
waters for the duration of the cruises. See, e.g., NCL’s “Scandinavian
Capitals” Itinerary, available at http//www.ncl. eemeeraenger euro.htm
(last visited July 2, 2004).

2

exhaustive list of “public accommodations” and “specified
public transportation” services subject to the statute. 42
U.S.C. §§ 12181(7), 12181(10). Foreign ships are not
mentioned anywhere in this text, nor are they identified
anywhere in the extensive legislative history of the stat-
ute. Moreover, there are no accessibility standards specific
to ships, even though the Department of Justice — which
has asserted that the statute should apply to foreign ships
— recognized in 1991 that cruise ships are sufficiently
different from land-based structures to require their own
set of accessibility guidelines. See 56 Fed. Reg. 35544,
35550 (July 26, 1991).

3. Three of the petitioners are mobility impaired.
(Amended Compl. {7 7-8.) Two of the petitioners are not
mobility impaired but traveled with two mobility impaired
petitioners during NCL cruises. (Jd. 418.) Petitioners
allege that they took cruises aboard the Norwegian Star
and the Norwegian Sea. (Id. {J 11, 17.) The ships departed
from the Port of Houston, Texas, traveled to foreign ports
of call, and returned to Houston. (Pet. App. 2a.) Both ships
sailed under the Bahamian flag. (Jd.)

On August 1, 2000, petitioners filed this putative class
action lawsuit in the district court on behalf of all “current
and former” passengers of all NCL cruises who are mobility
impaired or who had a “known association” with mobility-
impaired passengers during the cruise. (Amended Compl.
{ 23.) Petitioners assert that NCL’s foreign cruise ships are
governed by Title III of the ADA. (Pet. App. 2a.) Primarily,
they allege that Title III requires NCL to make modifica-
tions to the physical structure of each of its ships. Petition-
ers seek modifications to the ships’ cabins, restaurants,
swimming pools, restrooms, elevators, and other unspeci-
fied structures. (Pet. 4; Amended Compl. 4§ 17, 31, 38.)

3

Petitioners also allege that they were subjected to alleged
discriminatory onboard policies and procedures, for which
they seek injunctive relief. (Pet. 4-5.)

Petitioners’ allegations of discrimination are merit-
less. NCL does not discriminate against its many disabled
passengers, and petitioners are no exception. NCL never-
theless recognizes that in the procedural context of the
case, this Court must assume that petitioners’ allegations
are true. Thus, NCL proceeds by assuming, as it must (for
the limited purpose of resolving the question presented
here), the truth of petitioners’ allegations regarding
inaccessibility of certain areas of NCL ships and the
content of certain NCL policies and procedures.”

4. In the district court, NCL moved to dismiss
petitioners’ complaint for failure to state a claim. NCL
argued that Title III does not govern foreign ships because
there is no evidence that Congress intended the statute to
be applied to such ships. NCL argued that the application
of Title III to foreign ships conflicts with comity principles
and creates potential substantive conflicts with interna-
tional conventions and foreign law. Also, a lack of guidance
from Congress as to how the statute should be applied to
foreign ships leaves cruise lines like NCL unable to deter-
mine in advance how to comply with the law.

In the alternative, NCL argued that petitioners’
claims seeking the removal of structural barriers on NCL’s
ships must be dismissed because the federal agencies
charged with promulgating architectural and design
standards under Title III have never done so with respect

? In any event, these factual allegations are irrelevant for present
purposes. The issue before this Court is a pure question of law.

4

us ships — despite having had over a dozen years. NCL also
argued that the non-mobility impaired petitioners’ claims
for “associational discrimination” fail because the non-
mobility impaired petitioners do not 2llege that they were
singled out for discrimination.

The district court, relying on the Eleventh Circuit’s
opinion in Stevens v. Premier Cruises, Inc., 215 F.3d 1237
(CA11 2000), reh’g denied, 284 F.3d 1187 (CA11 2002), held
that Title III applies to foreign ships within the territorial
waters of the United States. (Pet. App. 35a.) The district
court nevertheless dismissed petitioners’ barrier removal
claims, recognizing that the lack of architectural stan-
dards specific to ships destroys Congress’s goal in Title III
of establishing uniformity in aspects of the aesign and
structure of public accommodations. (Jd. 42a.) The lack of
standards also leaves cruise ships unable to determine
what is required by the statute. (Jd.) Finally, the court
permitted the non-mobility impaired petitioners to proceed
on their claims for “associational discrimination.” (Id. 46a-
47a.)

5. Citing 28 U.S.C. §1291(a), petitioners filed a
notice of appeal challenging the district court’s dismissal
of their barrier removal claims. Separately, NCL sought
certification of the district court’s order for interlocutory
appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) so that it could seek
review of the court’s ruling that Title III applies to foreign
ships. The district court certified its order for interlocutory
appeal under section 1292(b), finding two questions of law
to be controlling: “(1) whether federal agencies’ failure to
create guidelines for new construction or alterations of
cruise ships bars enforcement of Title III of the ADA’s

5

existing barrier removal guidelines; and (2) whether Title
III of the ADA applies to foreign-flagged cruise ships.”
(Resp. App. 4.) NCL received the court of appeals’ permis-
sion to pursue its separate appeal on these issues. The
Fifth Circuit ultimately consolidated the two appeals.

The Fifth Circuit held that “[floreign-flagged cruise
ships are not subject to Title III of the ADA unless and
until Congress clearly expresses its intention to do so.”
(Pet. App. 15a.) The court observed that although the
United States has the raw power to subject foreign ships
to its laws, whether it exercises that power is within
Congress’s discretion. ([d. 4a-5a.) For a court to apply a
statute to a foreign ship, there must be specific and clear
evidence in the statute or its legislative history indicating
Congress’s intent to do so. (Jd. 7a-8a, citing Benz v. Com-
pania Naviera Hidalgo, SA., 353 U.S. 138 (1957);
McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de Hondu-
ras, 372 U.S. 10 (1963).) As the court of appeals stated,
“Congress’s silence cannot be read to express an intent to
legislate where issues touching on other nations’ sover-
eignty are involved.” (Pet. App. 8a.)

The Fifth Circuit found no evidence that Congress had
intended that Title III apply to foreign ships. (Jd. 8a.) The
court also noted the potential conflict between the require-
ments of Title IfI and the international convention govern-
ing maritime architecture, the International Convention for
the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS), 32 U.S.T. 47, T.LAS.
No. 9700 (1974). (Pet. App. 8a-9a.)

* The courts below referred to the ships at issue as “foreign-flagged

ships” or “foreign-flagged cruise ships.” In this Response, NCL uses the
more concise term “foreign ships,” which has the same meaning, ie.,

ships registered in a foreign country.

6

The Fifth Circuit rejected the Eleventh Circuit’s
contrary ruling in Stevens. The court first disagreed with
the Eleventh Circuit’s refusal to apply the presumption
against the application of U.S. statutes to foreign ships.
(Id. 12a-13a.) Although the Eleventh Circuit had held this
presumption to be applicable only to labor relations laws
(id.), the Fifth Circuit observed that petitioners’ requested
relief - which encompasses structural modifications, policy
changes, and changes in crewmember duties — would
affect the “internal management and affairs” of the ships
no less than would labor relations laws. (Jd. 13a.) Thus, in
contrast to Stevens, the Fifth Circuit found the presump-
tion in Benz and McCulloch to be applicable to the instant
question. (Jd. 12a-13a.)

The circuits also differed over the question whether
application of Title III would require an impermissible
extraterritorial application of the statute. (Jd. 10a-1la,
13a.) Whereas the Stevens court found no requested
extraterritorial application (215 F.3d at 1242), the Fifth
Circuit believed it to be obvious that the permanent
modifications to ship structure and policies sought under
Title III would necessitate an extraterritorial application
once the ships left U.S. waters. (Pet. App. l1la-13a.) This
would be impermissible because there is no evidence that
Congress intended the statute to apply extraterritorially.
(Id.)

The two circuits also disagreed whether Title III
should be narrowly construed to avoid potential conflicts
with international law. The Eleventh Circuit declined to
consider the effect of potential conflicts of law, ruling that
conflicts were appropriately considered only when specific
conflicts between ‘he , laintiffs’ requested relief and
international law had been proven. Stevens, 284 F.3d at

7

1187. In contrast, the Fifth Circuit, explicitly rejecting the
Eleventh Circuit’s approach (Pet. App. 12a n.9), held that
potential conflicts affect the manner in which the statute
should be interpreted. (Jd. 8a.) Because of the possibility of
conflict between Title III and SOLAS, the court ruled that
Title III should not be interpreted to include foreign ships.
(Id. 9a.)

Neither the Fifth Circuit nor the Eleventh Circuit
held, as petitioners claim (Pet. 1, 9, 11, 12 & n.2, 21, 22),
that Title III could never be applied to the conduct of the
operators of foreign cruise ships that do business in the
United States. Neither court had occasion to consider the
circumstances under which Title III applies to services
provided by land-based accommodations operated by
foreign companies, as the claims in both cases related only
to the services offered by foreign cruise ships. (Pet. App.
2a; Stevens, 215 F.3d at 1240, 1243.)

In an unpublished order, the Fifth Circuit denied
petitioners’ petition for rehearing en banc. (Pet. App. 48a-
49a.)

6. On April 1, 2004, petitioners sought a writ of
certiorari from this Court.

-

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Although petitioners and NCL disagree about many
aspects of the case, including both the question presented
and the proper answer to that question, NCL agrees that
this is an important case raising a_significant issue of
federal law that this Court should decide.

8

I. This Case Presents the Question Whether
Title III of the Americans with Disabilities
Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 12181-12189, Applies to
Foreign Cruise Ships.

NCL agrees that the Court should decide this case,
but it is important to recognize the correct issue raised by
petitioners’ allegations and addressed by the courts below.
The proper question before this Court is not, as petitioners
claim, whether Title III applies to “companies” that oper-
ate foreign cruise ships. (Pet. i.) Nor is the question
“whether Title III applies to the on-land conduct of compa-
nies that operate foreign-flag ships.” (Jd. 11.) Nor is the
question generally “whether U.S. citizens enjoy the protec-
tion of U.S. law when they contract to take a cruise that
originates in a U.S. port and is operated by a company
whose principal place of business is the United States.”
(Id. 15.) All of these questions are overbroad and misstate
the relevant issue.

Title III governs “place[s] of public accommodation,”
42 U.S.C. § 12182(a), and “specified public transportation
services,” 42 U.S.C. § 12184(a), as those terms are defined
by the statute. Because statutory coverage is determined
on a place-by-place or transportation service-by-service
basis, it is incorrect to ask whether the statute applies to
particular operators such as NCL.‘ In view of the statutory

* The threshold issue under Title III is whether a place of public
accommodation is involved. The role assigned to an “operator” under
the statute is to ensure that a place of “public accommodation,” as
defined by the statute, complies with the statutory non-discrimination
requirements. See 42 U.S.C. § 12182(a). An operator of one place of
public accommodation does not become subject to Title III with respect
to all structures that it operates. Even the Department of Justice and
the Stevens court — each of which has otherwise taken an overly

(Continued on following page)

9

language, the precise issue in this case is whether Title III
applies to “place[s] of public accommodation” on foreign
cruise ships or to “specified public transportation services”
offered by foreign cruise ships. Asking whether Title III
applies to foreign cruise ships is a convenient and accepted
shorthand for this more precise formulation of the ques-
tion.

The courts below consistently recognized that the
issue before them was whether Title III applies to foreign
cruise ships — not whether Title III applies to the opera-
tors of foreign cruise ships. The opening sentence of the
Fifth Circuit’s opinion declares that the case “presents the
question whether Title III [of the ADA] applies to foreign-
flagged cruise ships.” (Pet. App. 2a.) The issue is described
in virtually the same terms throughout the opinion.® And

expansive view of Title III's scope — recognize this fundamental
proposition. See United States Department of Justice, ADA Title III
Technical Assistance Manual MIII-1.2000 (1993), available at
http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/taman3.html (last visited July 2, 2004);
Stevens, 215 F.3d at 1241 & n.5. Conversely, an operator does not
become wholly exempt from Title II] merely because some of its
structures are not public accommodations as defined by the statute.

* Petitioners do not bring any claims relating to land-based
accommodations that NCL may own or operate, or to land-based
transportation services that NCL might have provided. All of the claims
relate to the accommodations and services on the Norwegian Star and
the Norwegian Sea. See also infra note 8 (discussing petitioners’
argument regarding NCL’s “on-land pricing policies”).

* See, e.g., Pet. App. 3a n.2 (“we conclude that Title III of the ADA
does not apply to foreign-flagged cruise ships”); id. 4a (“NCL challenges
the district court’s conclusion that Title III of the ADA applies to
foreign-flagged cruise ships.”); id. 4a (“no evidence that Congress
intended Title III to apply to foreign-flagged vessels”); id. 4a n.3 (“we
... limit this decision to foreign-flagged cruise ships”); id. 5a (describ-
ing the issue as whether “to apply domestic law to foreign vessels”); id.
8a (“Congress may enact legislation that governs foreign-flagged cruise

(Continued on following page)

10

in its Conclusion, the court of appeals summarizes its
holding with the statement that “[floreign- cruise
ships are not subject to Title III of the ADA unless and
until Congress clearly expresses its intention to do so.” (Id.
15a.)

There is no basis for petitioners’ contrary characteri-
zation of the Fifth Circuit’s decision. In the opening
paragraph of their argument, for example, petitioners
assert that the decision below applies “to foreign-flagged
cruise ships and their operating companies.” Pet. 9 (citing
Pet. App. 14a-15a) (emphasis added). The cited portion of
the opinion, however, mentions only “foreign-flagged
cruise ships” (three times); it says nothing about the
companies that operate these vessels. Petitioners then
assert without citation that this case involves not only
foreign cruise ships but also “their parent companies” (Pet.
11), “their operating companies” (id.), the “companies that
operate” them (id.), “a company that operates” them (id. at
12 n.2), and “foreign-flag cruise lines” (id. at 21) (emphasis
in original). But in fact the Fifth Circuit never mentions
“parent companies” or the companies that operate foreign

cruise ships, and it mentions a cruise line only when_it —

names NCL as a party to the action. (Pet. App. 2a.)

ships”); id. 14a-15a (“application of Title III to foreign-flagged cruise
ships is impermissible”). .

” The cited portion of the opinion includes six additional referen
to “cruise ships” without specifying their nationality (or mentioning
their operators). (Pet. App. 14a n.10.)

* Petitioners criticize the Fifth Circuit for having “dismissed [their]
claims that [NCL’s] on-land pricing policies violate Title III.” (Pet. 21.)
This criticism appears to be an indirect argument that the court of
appeals implicitly held that Title III does not apply to the operators of
foreign cruise ships. But petitioners misunderstand the scope of Title

(Continued on following page)

11

Even petitioners recognized the proper issue in the
court below. Petitioners’ argument on this issue appears
under the heading “THE ADA APPLIES TO NCL’S FOR-
EIGN-FLAGGED SHIPS” (Pet. CA5 Reply Br. 5), and they
consistently phrased their argument in these terms (see
id. at 5-25).

The district court was equally clear that the relevant
issue was whether Title III applied to foreign cruise ships.
Not only did its opinion characterize the issue as “whether
the ADA applies to foreign-flagged cruise ships” (Pet. App.
19a), but in its order permitting NCL to seek an interlocu-
tory appeal, it framed the relevant controlling question of
law as “whether Title III of the ADA applies to foreign-
flagged cruise ships.” (Resp. App. 4.)

It is also noteworthy that in Stevens v. Premier
Cruises, Inc. — the case whose clear conflict with the
decision below justifies this Court’s grant of certiorari —
the Eleventh Circuit addressed only whether Title III
applies to foreign cruise ships.’ As with the decision below,

III. NCL’s so-called “on-land pricing policies” could not violate Title III
unless they relate to “place[s] of public accommodation,” 42 U.S.C.
§ 12182(a), or “specified public transportation services,” 42 U.S.C.
§ 12184(a), as those terms are defined by the statute. The only “on-land
pricing policies” that petitioners challenge in this case relate to NCL’s
foreign cruise ships. As the statutory language reveals, the correct
question is whether Title III applies to these foreign vessels.

In any event, petitioners did not argue below that NCL’s pricing
policies were unrelated to NCL’s foreign cruise ships because they were
“on-land.” As the courts below never had the opportunity to address this
argument, it has been waived.

* Indeed, the Eleventh Circuit was very clear that the question
before it was whether the “public accommodations” on a foreign cruise
ship are subject to Title III. The court carefully explained why parts of a

(Continued on following page)

12

there was no consideration of whether Title III applies to
the companies that operate foreign cruise ships.

Petitioners’ complaint demands an answer to the
question whether Title III applies to foreign cruise ships;
the case does not raise any issue about the applicability of
Title III to the companies that operate them. Throughout
the proceedings in the district court and the court of
appeals, everyone involved clearly understood the scope of
the fundamental question regarding the applicability of
the statute. This Court should now answer that question.
Petitioners should not be permitted to raise new issues
that were not mentioned or decided below, and that the
case does not present. NCL therefore respectfully requests
that certiorari be granted solely with respect to the ques-
tion that the case does present — whether Title III applies
to foreign cruise ships.”

II. The Acknowledged Conflict Between the Fifth
and Eleventh Circuits Unacceptably Subjects
Foreign Cruise Ships to Inconsistent Legal
Standards.

As petitioners observe, the majority of United States
cruises depart from ports in the Fifth and Eleventh

cruise ship that did not qualify as “public accommodations” were not
subject to Title III. See 215 F.3d at 1241 & n.5.

” This Court has not hesitated, in an appropriate case, to rephrase
the question presented by a petitioner. See, e.g., Clay v. United States,
536 U.S. 981 (2002); Miller-El v. Cockrell, 535 U.S. 903 (2002); Hope v.
Pelzer, 534 U.S. 1120 (2002); Becker v. Montgomery, 531 U.S. 1110
(2001). In order to focus the parties’ attention during briefing on the
actual question that this Court would be called upon to decide, the
Court should rephrase petitioners’ question here.

13

Circuits. (Pet. 12.) The circuit split between the Fifth and
Eleventh Circuits means that most foreign cruise ships,
including NCL’s ships, are subject to two different legal
regimes affecting their structure and onboard _policies.
When sailing to or from ports in the Fifth Circuit, foreign
cruise ships must comply with the law of the flag state. At
a bare minimum, this law includes the existing set of
design, operations, and equipment standards contained in
SOLAS, which has been ratified by nearly every seafaring
nation, including the Bahamas. See United States De-
partment of State, Treaties in Force 423-24 (2003); see
also, e.g., United States v. Locke, 529 U.S. 89, 102-03
(2000); Sundance Cruises Corp. v. American Bureau of
Shipping, 7 F.3d 1077, 1079 (CA2 1993).

In the Eleventh Circuit, by contrast, foreign cruise
ships must comply with flag-state obligations and with
Title III. Of course, the lack of any accessibility standards
under Title III for cruise ships makes it impossible to
know what may be required. Yet even playing the guessing
game necessitated by this vagueness, certain courts could
interpret the statute to require some form of accessibility-
related structural modifications to the ships. (Pet. App.
13a.) Title III may also be read to require cruise ships to
change crewmember duties and to implement, rescind, or

“ The United States District Court for the Northern District of
California recently considered the question presented in this case and,
like the Fifth Circuit below, held that Title III does not apply to foreign
ships. See Giacopini v. Crystal Cruises, Inc., Case No. C-04-1089MMC
(N. D. Cal. June 25, 2004). After reviewing the analysis in both Stevens
and Spector, the Giacopini court found “the detailed analysis set forth
in Spector to be persuasive and, for the reasons set forth in Spector,”
found “that Title III of the ADA has no applicability to foreign-flag
cruise ships.” (Slip Op. at 10.)

14

modify onboard policies and procedures. (Id.) If the current
circuit split is unresolved, whether a cruise ship must
account for these unknown potential requirements de-
pends solely upon the court that decides the case.

A circuit split is particularly intolerable in this case
because cruise ships move from jurisdiction to jurisdiction
as cruise lines change their itineraries. For example, the
ship primarily at issue in this case — the Norwegian Sea —
left the Houston market in December 2000, sailed other
itineraries in other jurisdictions, and then returned to
Houston in November 2003. See Harry Shattuck, NCL’s
Texarribean Cruises Will Resume in November, Houston
Chronicle, October 26, 2003, Travel section, at 6. As a
practical matter, most, if not all, of the modifications that
could be sought by plaintiffs under Title III are likely to
remain in place even when the ship sails to another
jurisdiction. To the extent that Title III requires structural
modifications, ships would have little choice but to comply
with this aspect of Title III at all times, whether in domes-
tic or foreign jurisdictions, if there is any chance that they
might sail to the Eleventh Circuit.

Ill. This Court Should Overrule the Eleventh
Circuit’s Erroneous Decision in Stevens in
Favor of the Fifth Circuit’s Ruling Below.

This case provides the Court with the ideal opportu-
nity to overrule the erroneous Stevens decision. Until
Stevens is overruled, it will continue to create intolerable
problems for the cruise line industry.

As the Fifth Circuit correctly recognized, the flag state
presumptively determines the law onboard a ship, even
when the ship calls in the ports of other nations. See, e.g.,

ee

15

Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations Law of the
United States §§ 501, 502 cmt. a. This well-established
principle of maritime and international law prevents
unintended clashes between port states and flag states
over the governance of oceangoing ships. See, e.g.,
Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571, 578-82 (1953). It also
furthers maritime commerce by protecting ships from
becoming subject to multiple, and perhaps conflicting, sets
of laws. See, e.g., id. at 585.

The legislature, not the courts, decides whether and
under what circumstances the United States will disre-
gard this principle when foreign ships enter U.S. waters.
In deference to Congress, courts do not apply U.S. law to
foreign ships unless Congress has specifically expressed
its intent that the statute apply to such ships. See Benz v.
Compania Naviera Hidalgo, S.A., 353 U.S. 138 (1957);
McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de Hondu-
ras, 372 U.S. 10 (1963).

The Fifth Circuit correctly found no evidence that
Congress intended Title III to apply to foreign ships. (Pet.
App. 8a.) It also found a potential for conflict between the
requirements of Title III and SOLAS, the international
convention governing ship structure and design. (Id. 8a-
9a.) Further, the court correctly observed that the applica-
tion of Title III to foreign ships would necessitate an
impermissible extraterritorial application of the statute
when those ships left U.S. waters. (Jd. 10a-1la, 13a, citing
EEOC v. Arabian Am. Oil Co. (ARAMCO), 499 U.S. 244
(1991).) For these reasons, the court properly declined to
adopt petitioners’ expansive reading of Title III to regulate
foreign ships.

16

The contrary Stevens decision reached the wrong” —

result and should be overruled. The Eleventh Circuit first
erred by finding the canon of construction in Benz and
McCulloch — requiring “specific language” and a “clear
express|[ion]” of congressional intent to apply a statute to
foreign ships — to be inapplicable in the context of Title III.
According to the Eleventh Circuit, Benz and McCulloch
apply only to statutes that affect the “internal manage-
ment and affairs” of the ship. Stevens, 215 F.3d at 1242. A
ship’s “internal affairs,” according to the Stevens court,
include labor relations between the crew and the ship-
owner, but remarkably not the ship’s structure, policies,
and crewmember duties. Jd.

The Stevens court misunderstood and misread Benz
and McCulloch. The purpose of the presumption that this
Court announced in those cases is to reserve to Congress
the exclusive authority to determine whether and when
the United States will interfere with another nation’s
exercise of its sovereign power over its ships. Benz, 353
U.S. at 144; McCulloch, 372 U.S. at 20. The Stevens court
erred by failing to recognize that the potential to interfere
with matters governed by the flag state exists not only
with respect to labor relations, but also to modifications of
a foreign ship’s structure, policies, and crewmember
duties. (Pet. App. 13a.)

The Eleventh Circuit also erred by dismissing EEOC
v. ARAMCO as inapplicable. See Stevens, 215 F.3d at
1242. It overlooked the obvious fact that the plaintiff’s
requested relief — which included permanent structural
modifications and policy changes — would require enforce-
ment of Title III outside United States waters, including in
foreign ports of call. This relief plainly would require an
extraterritorial application of the statute. ARAMCO

~

SL ee a eee er 8 -

17

controls and, like Benz and McCulloch, holds the statute
inapplicable. (Cf. Pet. App. 10a-11a.)

Further, the Eleventh Circuit misunderstood the
effect of the potential conflicts between application of
Title III and other law. As a matter of statutory construc-
tion, statutes should be interpreted to minimize potential
conflicts with international and foreign laws. Thus,
consistent with the presumptions articulated in Benz,
McCulloch, and ARAMCO, Title III should be narrowly
construed to exclude foreign ships.

In sum, the Stevens decision is poor law for many
reasons. It requires courts to ignore congressional silence
and thus disregard comity principles that might otherwise
call for restraint; it risks a conflict of laws between Title
III and international and foreign laws; and it subjects
cruise lines to significant potential liability without the
guidance from Congress that would have, and should
have, been provided had the statute been intended to
regulate foreign ships.

18

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted
solely with respect to the question whether Title III
applies to foreign cruise ships.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS H. WILSON

Counsel of Record
MICHAEL J. MUSKAT
VINSON & ELKINS, L.L.P.
1001 Fannin Street
Houston, Texas 77002
(713) 758-2222

MICHAEL F. STURLEY

727 E. Dean Keeton Street
Austin, Texas 78705

(512) 232-1350

Counsel for Respondent
July 6, 2004

eS

5 ae ile a

7 eben ee

App. 1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

DOUGLAS SPECTOR, efal., §

Plaintiffs, ;
” § CIVIL ACTION
NORWEGIAN CRUISE LINE $ NO. H-00-2649
LIMITED d/b/a NORWEGIAN °
CRUISE LINE, :
Defendant. §
ORDER

Pending before the Court are Plaintiffs’ motion for
entry of final judgment (Dkt. #35), Defendant’s motion to
certify order for appeal and stay the remaining litigation
(Dkt. #37), and Defendant’s motion to stay the remaining
litigation pending resolution of Plaintiffs’ appeal (Dkt.
#39). After careful consideration of the parties’ arguments
and the applicable law, the Court hereby DENIES Plain-
tiffs’ motion and GRANTS Defendant’s motions, for the
reasons explained below.

Discussion

On September 10, 2002, this Court entered a Memo-
randum & Oraer (Dkt. #32) granting in part and denying
in part Defendant’s motion to dismiss Plaintiffs’ claims.
Specifically, the Court dismissed Plaintiffs’ claim for
injunctive relief against Defendant seeking removal of
physical barriers to existing facilities on Defendant’s
ships. The Court denied Defendant’s motion to dismiss

App. 2

Plaintiffs’ remaining claims. On September 24, 2002,
Plaintiffs asked the Court to enter final judgment as to the
dismissed claim pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Proce-
dure 54(b). Defendant timely filed its response asking the
Court to deny the motion, or, in the alternative, certify the
Court’s September 10th order for appeal under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1292(b) and stay the litigation pending appeal. On
October 8, 2002, Plaintiffs notified the Court that they
were pursuing an appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(a)(1) of
the Court’s dismissal of the claim for injunctive relief. As a
result, Defendant has asked the Court to stay the pending
litigation until resolution of the 28 U.S.C. § 1292(a)(1)

appeal.

Defendant maintains that it would be improper for
the Court to enter final judgment as to Plaintiffs’ dis-
missed claim for injunctive relief. Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 54(b) provides in relevant part:

When more than one claim for relief is presented
in an action . . . the court may direct the entry of
a final judgment as to one or more but fewer
than all of the claims ... oaly upon an express
determination that there is no just reason for de-
lay and upon an express direction for the entry of

judgment.

Under this Rule, a district court may enter final judgment
if it determines both that there is no just reason for delay
and that it is “dealing with a ‘final judgment.’” Curtiss-
Wright Corp. v. General Electric Co., 446 U.S. 1, 7 (1980).
In making this determination, i district court must
consider “whether the claims under review [are] separable
from the others remaining to be adjudicated.” Id. at 8. It
should be the goal of the district court to prevent an

—_ -

App. 3

appeals court from having “to decide the same issues more
than once even if there were subsequent appeals.” Jd.

The Court is of the opinion that entry of final judg-
ment would be improper in this case. In dismissing Plain-
tiffs’ claim for injunctive relief, the Court determined that
federal agencies’ failure to create guidelines for new
construction or alterations of cruise ships bars enforce-
ment of Title III of the ADA’s’ existing barrier removal
guidelines. The Court’s determination with respect to
barrier removal was predicated on a finding that Title III
of the ADA applies to foreign-flagged cruise ships, such as
those owned and operated by Defendant. Accordingly, the
Court finds that Plaintiffs’ claim seeking barrier removal
of Defendant’s ships is not entirely separable from the
remaining claims in this case. Rather, all of Plaintiffs’
claims are connected by the underlying assertion that
Title III of the ADA applies to foreign-flagged cruise ships.
Accordingly, the Court denies Plaintiffs’ motion for entry
of final judgment.

The Court, however, does believe that an immediate
appeal is appropriate in this case. The Court is of the
opinion that 28 U.S.C. §1292(b) provides the proper
mechanism for such an appeal. That statute states:

When a district judge, in making in a civil action

an order not otherwise appealable in this section,

shall be of the opinion that such an order involves

a controlling question of law as to which there is
substantial ground for difference of opinion and

* Title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C.
§ 12181, et seq.

App. 4

that an immediate appeal from the order may
materially advance the ultimate termination of
the litigation, he shall state so in writing in such
order.

In its September 10th Order, the Court admitted that
Defendant’s motion to dismiss presented difficult issues,
which various district courts have resolved in different
ways. In particular, the Court believes that there is
substantial ground for difference of opinion on two of the
Court’s findings in this case: (1) whether federal agencies’
failure to create guidelines for new construction or altera-
tions of cruise ships bars enforcement of Title III of the
ADA’s existing barrier removal guidelines; and (2)
whether Title III of the ADA applies to foreign-flagged
cruise ships.

The Court is of the opinion that an appeal of the
unsettled questions of law described above “may materi-
ally advance the ultimate termination of the litigation” in
this case. See 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). Therefore, the Court
finds that an immediate appeal under Section 1292(b)
would be appropriate. The Court believes that such an
appeal is the most efficient way to achieve the correct legal
result in this case. Accordingly, the Court grants Defen-
dant’s motion to certify the Court’s September 10, 2002
Order for immediate appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b).

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, Plaintiffs’ motion for entry
of final judgment is DENIED. Defendant’s motion to
certify the Court’s September 10, 2002 order for appeal
and to stay the litigation is GRANTED. Defendant’s

App. 5
motion to stay the litigation pending resolution of Plain-
tiffs’ Section 1292(a)(1) appeal is GRANTED. It is there-
fore ORDERED that all litigation in this cause of action
shall be STAYED pending resolution of Plaintiffs’ Section
1292(a)(1) appeal and any Section 1292(b) appeals of the
Court’s September 10, 2002 Order.

It is so ORDERED.

Signed this 26th day of November, 2002.

/s/ John D. Rainey
JOHN D. RAINEY
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0750%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
