# Reply Brief — Mid-Con Freight Systems, Inc. v. Michigan Pub. Serv. Comm'n

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0743%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 545 U.S. 440

## Text

Suopre mec t.U ‘Ss
’ Tr
S FILED

ne
No. 08-1284 MAW 14 2004

In The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

¢

Mib-CON FREIGHT SYSTEMS, INC.
AND LAFGOND EXPRESS, INC., on behalf
of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Petitioners,
v.

MICHIGAN PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION,
MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY,
MICHIGAN DEP: RTMENT OF COMMERCE,
AND THE STaTE OF MICHIGAN,

Respondents.

-@

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Michigan Court Of Appeals

+

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

¢

JAMES H. HANSON*

ANDREW K. LIGHT

LYNNE D. LIDKE

SCOPELITIS, GARVIN, LIGHT &
HANSON, PC.

10 W. Market St., Suite 1500

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 637-1777

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

—

wa

Of The Issue Presented Here

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

CASES
Adams Fruit Co. v. Barrett, 494 U.S. 638 (1990)...........0.-- 5
American Trucking Ass’ns v. Scheiner, 483 U.S. 266

(RGF) «.ccvececececesesseosenneeuseeesusesneinninniiaaninnnnnnnnnnnn 8, 9, 10
Buckman Co. v. Plaintiffs’ Legal Committee, 531

oe NT: | ee 1
Central Machinery Co. v. Arizona State Tax Com-

mission, 448 UB. 260 CRGGED .ccecscscessessesevestesssensmennnnninnn: 3
City of Detroit v. Murray Corp., 355 U.S. 489 (1958).......... 3
Gade v. National Solid Wastes Management Ass’n,

BOS UG. GB CRBGED .cccrcccecsecsscescsssctconessinnennnnennnaaan 6
Geier v. American Honda Motor Co., 529 U.S. 861

CBB D ence ccccse1cs2ccscesesenesenenstonesssssinnsiansniiniiinsninnnnnnnnnnnnnnEEE 5
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941)...........ccccceeeeeeeeeees 5
Jefferson County v. Acker, 527 U.S. 423 (1999) ...............0 3
Napier v. Atlantic Coast Line R. Co., 272 U.S. 605

CRIED .ecccocessvessncseseecesesestesisnsnsnsmmninanneessiananiannann nnn 8
New York v. FERC, 535 U.S. 1 (2003) vesdideiidieesniiesaadamaala 1
Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637 (1971) .............cccceecseeeee 5,6
Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218 (1947) ............. 1
United States v. Locke, 529 U.S. 89 (2000) ............... eee 1
Xerox Corp. v. County of Harris, 459 U.S. 145 (1982)............. 4
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
49 U.S.C. § 11506(c)(2)B)iv)(ID (1994 ed.)...........ccceeeeeeees 7

49 US.C. § 14504(c)(2)(B)(@ii) (2000 ed.)..........cccccceeeseesseeees 3

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
49 U.S.C. § 14504(cX2)C) (2000 ed.) 20.0.0... eeeeceeeeceeeeceeeees 5
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 478.6 (West 2002)...............000000. 4
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 478.7(1) (West 2002) ................. 2
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 478.7(5) (West 2002)................. 4
MISCELLANEOUS
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 102-404 (1991), reprinted in
Ec 7
H.R. Rep. No. 89-253 (1965), reprinted in 1965
EE EL 7

1

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

Choosing to disregard this Court’s recent clarification
that no presumption against preemption applies to mat-
ters “inherently federal in character”’ or to state regula-
tion in areas with “a history of significant federal
presence,”* Respondents’ brief fails in its attempt to
trivialize the importance of the ruling below. Neither a
meaningless registration/regulatory fee distinction nor
selective application of the $100 per-vehicle Interstate
Decal Fee to Michigan-plated trucks lessens the fee's
practical impact upon fee-paying interstate carriers. Thus,
Respondents’ arguments do not rescue the fee from Con-
gress’s express preemptive net or diminish the real threat
the Michigan decision poses to interstate truckers across
the nation. Further review is plainly warranted.

A. The Illusory “Regulatory Fee” Label Does Not
Yield An Answer To The Preemption Question
Posed

In an exercise in misdirection and pointless seman-
tics, Respondents insist that only “registration” fees are
preempted by the Single State Registration System
(“SSRS”) and that the Interstate Decal Fee is saved from

* Buckman Co. v. Plaintiffs’ Legal Committee, 531 U.S. 341, 347-
348 (2001).

* United States v. Locke, 529 U.S. 89, 108 (2000). Respondents
advance Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218 (1947) in support
of “a general presumption against federal preemption,” Opp. 18, but Rice
was expressly rejected as standing for that proposition in Locke, 529 U.S.
at 108. Curiously, Respondents also cite New York v. FERC, 535 U.S. 1
(2003), which involved defining the proper scope of a federal agency's
power and plainly has no bearing upon the question in this case.

2

preemption because it is a “regulatory” fee, not a registra-
tion fee. This now-familiar refrain, borrowed as it is from
the Michigan Court of Appeals decision, evades the legal
question presented. The question before this Court is
whether the label attached to the Interstate Decal Fee or
even the use to which its revenues are put can legally
distinguish it from the per-vehicle fees Congress capped at
$10 under the SSRS and the predecessor “bingo card” law.
The unmistakable answer to that question is “no.”

Remarkably, Respondents claim that payment of the
$100 Interstate Decal Fee to the Michigan Public Service
Commission (“PSC”) is unlike payment of the $10 SSRS
fee because it is “not a requirement to prove an interstate
carrier is properly certified under federal authority or that
its motor vehicles are legally registered or that the carrie
is insured or that it has a named agent for service of
process.” Opp. 6. In fact, just the opposite is true. Every
interstate carrier, regardless of the state in which it plates
its vehicles, is prohibited from engaging in the interstate
transportation of property in Michigan “without first
having registered with the [PSC] and paid the required
registration and vehicle fees.” Mich. Comp. Laws Ann.
§ 478.7(1) (West 2002). The way all interstate carriers
register with the PSC is through the SSRS, which requires
each of them to do the same things to prove the lawfulness
of their operations except that, under Michigan law,
Michigan-plated carriers pay $90 per truck more for
registration.

Thus, prior to the 1994 implementation of the SSRS,
Michigan-plated carriers paying $100 per truck — just like
carriers plated elsewhere but paying $10 per truck — were

required to file proof of their federal authority, register
their motor vehicles, submit evidence of insurance, and

3

identify their agent for service of process. Since 1994,
those same Michigan-plated carriers — just like carriers
that purchase their license plates elsewhere — must still
file proof of federal authority, submit evidence of insur-
ance, and name their agent for service of process. The only
difference between the two carriers is that Michigan’s
SSRS form directs the Michigan-plated carrier to pay
$100, instead of $10, per vehicle and to fill out another
form identifying its trucks by make, model, and serial
number to obtain a decal for each — even though the SSRS
expressly prohibits decal requirements and the registra-
tion or identification of specific vehicles operated by the
carrier. 49 U.S.C. § 14504(c)(2B)iii) (2000 ed.).

In short, Respondents cannot at once acknowledge
that Congress has “preemptled] a State from charging
more than $10 to register and operate within the borders
of that State,”* yet disregard the fact that Michigan-plated
interstate carriers pay $100 per truck to register and
operate within Michigan’s borders while other carriers pay
$10 per truck for the exact same privilege. Michigan-
plated carriers “register” with Michigan for the price of
$100, whether Michigan calls the assessed fee a “regula-
tory” fee or not. See Central Machinery Co. v. Arizona
State Tax Commission, 448 U.S. 160, 164 n.3 (1980)
(transaction privilege tax was preempted by Indian trader
statutes “regardless of the label” placed upon it). See also
Jefferson County v. Acker, 527 U.S. 423, 439 (1999) (“prac-
tical impact, not the State’s name tag,” determines
whether tax violates Public Salary Tax Act); City of Detroit

* Opp. 19.

4

v. Murray Corp., 355 U.S. 489, 492 (1958) (in determining
constitutionality of a tax, “we must look through form and
behind labels to substance”).

Nor can the so-called “regulatory” use to which its
revenues are put distinguish the Interstate Decal Fee from
the $10 SSRS fee Michigan otherwise collects. Respon-
dents emphasize witness testimony that the Interstate
Decal Fee supports a whole host of laws governing com-
mercial motor vehicles and carriers after it is “placed to
the credit of the [PSC]” and “appropriated ... in such
proportions as the legislature may determine.” Mich.
Comp. Laws Ann. § 478.6 (West 2002). However, Respon-
dents conveniently ignore that the $10 SSRS fee (along
with every other fee collected by the PSC) is also “placed to
the credit of the [PSC]” and, as Respondents’ own witness
explains, combined with all other motor carrier fee reve-
nue for appropriation to the same “regulatory” agencies for
the same “regulatory” use Respondents so insistently
assign to the Intestate Decal Fee alone.‘ The $10 SSRS fee
is just as “regulatory” in nature as the $100 Interstate
Decal Fee, and the Interstate Decal Fee serves no more
“regulatory” purpose than any other fee collected by the
PSC from any motor carrier in Michigan.

Therefore, whatever differences there may be between
the $10 SSRS fee and the $100 Interstate Decal Fee, “they
are distinctions without a legal difference.” Xerox Corp. v.
County of Harris, 459 U.S. 145, 154 (1982). The only real

* Opp. App. 8b-14b. In addition, under Mich. Comp. Laws Ann.
§ 478.7(5), a portion of the SSRS fee is designated for deposit in the
Michigan Truck Safety Fund for use in “regulatory” endeavors. Opp.
App. 13b.

SS

5

difference between the two fees is $90, and it is that
distinction that makes the Interstate Decal Fee incom-
patible with Congress’s proclamation that “[t]he charging
or collection of any fee under this section that is not in
accordance with the fee system established [herein] shall
be deemed to be a burden on interstate commerce.” 49
U.S.C. § 14504(c)(2)(C) (2000 ed.).

B. The Interstate Decal Fee’s Practical Impact, Not
Its Name Or Its Purpose, Determines the Out-
come Of This Controversy

It makes no difference that Congress did not make
specific reference to “regulatory fees” in adopting the
SSRS or its predecessor “bingo card” program. State law
yields under Supremacy Clause analysis if it “stands as an
obstacle” to full implementation of the federal law, Hines v.
Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67 (1941), or otherwise frustrates
the accomplishment of a federal objective. Geier v. Ameri-
can Honda Motor Co., 529 U.S. 861, 873 (2000). Thus, by
way of example only, Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637
(1971) did not require an express reference to state high-
way safety laws before construing the Bankruptcy Act to
bar application of a state statute suspending the driver’s
licenses of uninsured tortfeasors. Nor did federal law
make express reference to state registration standards for
aliens when the Federal Alien Registration Act was
deemed preemptive of state registration laws in Hines,
supra. Whether or not Congress has made an express
preemptive pronouncement on a particular topic, state
regulation must yieid to the extent it actually conflicts
with federal law. See Adams Fruit Co. v. Barrett, 494 U.S.
638, 648-649 (1990).

6

Furthermore, it matters not whether the Michigan
legislature : ended by its adoption of the Interstate Decal
Fee to serve some purpose other than to frustrate the
goals of the SSRS. Over three decades ago, this Court
declared that it could no longer “adhere to the aberrational
doctrine ... that state law may frustrate the operation of
federal law as long as the state legislature in passing the
law had some purpose in mind other than one of frustra-
tion.” Perez, 402 U.S. at 651-52. Differently stated,
“[w]hatever the purpose or purposes of the state law, pre-
emption analysis cannot ignore the effect of the challenged
state action on the pre-empted field.” Gade v. National
Solid Wastes Management Ass’n, 505 U.S. 88, 107 (1992).
Accordingly, the “key question” is “at what point the state
regulation sufficiently interferes with federal regulation
that it should be deemed pre-empted.” Jd.

That the Interstate Decal Fee blatantly interferes
with and frustrates Congress’s purpose in limiting per-
vehicle fees imposed on interstate carriers cannot be
seriously debated. Every Michigan-plated motor carrier
seeking to engage in interstate trade on Michigan’s high-
ways must pay the PSC $100 per truck for the privilege of
conducting its business. The fee, therefore, stands as a
$100 obstacle for each truck the interstate motor carrier
hopes to operate in and out of the state even though
Congress declared that no more than $10 should be paid to
clear the roadway for each such truck. Under such circum-
stances, the Interstate Decal Fee unquestionably frustrates
the purpose of Congress when, through implementation of
the original “bingo card” program, it sought to afford
interstate carriers “relief from [a] multiplicity of different
State registration requirements” and to establish uniform
registration requirements imposed by state regulatory

ee

7

commissions. H.R. Rep. No. 89-253 (1965), reprinted in
1965 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2923, 2929. Similarly, the Interstate
Decal Fee interferes with Congress’s goal in enacting the
SSRS, which was to establish “a fee system ... that
[would] minimize the costs of complying with the registra-
tion system,” 49 U.S.C. § 11506(c\2)(B)iv(IT) (1994 ed.),
and “benefit the interstate carriers by eliminating unnec-
essary compliance burdens” so that consumers would also
profit from cost savings. H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 102-404
(1991), reprinted in 1991 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1679, 1817.

No evidence was required for the lower courts to reach
such conclusions. Nor was evidence required to rebut
Respondents’ new-found contention that the Interstate
Decal Fee is somehow justified by “actual vehicular ‘pres-
ence’ in Michigan” allegedly evidenced by “commercially
license plating the fee paying vehicle in [Michigan].”
Opp. 17. Setting aside for the moment that the Michigan
Court of Appeals made no mention of any “vehicular pres-
ence” justification for the Interstate Decal Fee, Petitioners
previously demonstrated that Michigan may be the base-
plating state pursuant to the International Registration
Plan (“IRP”) under circumstances that have little to do
with a “regulatory presence” within the state’s borders.°

In any event, whatever Michigan’s professed purpose
for the Interstate Decal Fee might be, that purpose is no

* Pet. 23-24. Despite its heavy dose of sarcasm (Opp. 21), Respon-
dents’ brief does not dispute the inherent truth of our point that small
Michigan-based carriers imposing little regulatory burden upon the
State cannot avoid the fee because they have no out-of-state terminals
while large carriers with a significant Michigan presence and a
terminal out of state can escape fee payment altogether.

8

more determinative than the fee’s name. Preemption
analysis turns not on whether federal and state laws “are
aimed at distinct and different evils,” but whether they
“operate upon the same object.” Napier v. Atlantic Coast
Line R. Co., 272 U.S. 605, 612 (1926). In this case, the
object upon which federal and state law both operate is the
same interstate truck, and the Interstate Decal Fee’s
application to any interstate truck — paid as it is for the
mere privilege of traveling upon the state’s highways —
does not square with the $10 per-vehicle fee cap imposed
by federal law. The Interstate Decal Fee must therefore
yield to Congress’s express preemptive strike.

C. The Importance Of The Issue Presented Here
Should Not Be Trivialized

Notwithstanding their characterization of our position
as “erroneous, speculative and exaggerated,” Opp. 18,
Respondents’ argument acknowledges that the issue
presented here is a potentially recurring one of great
practical importance. Both the Michigan Court of Appeals
and Respondents maintain that, because the SSRS does
not prohibit flat per-vehicle “regulatory” fees, Michigan
may charge Petitioners $100 per vehicle every year for
whatever “regulatory” purpose it desires. That rationale, if
true, proves our point that the Michigan court ruling
opens the floodgates for other States to assess any and all
per-vehicle “regulatory” fees they see fit to impose in any
amount for any “regulatory” reason. The adverse impact
upon interstate trucking interests, in that event, could be
monumental.

Seventeen years ago in American Trucking Ass’ns v.
Scheiner, 483 U.S. 266 (1987), this Court recognized that

9

plating fees imposed under the IRP and fuel taxes as-
sessed under the International Fuel Tax Agreement, both
of which are apportioned based upon a motor vehicle’s
mileage within a state, readily satisfy dormant Commerce
Clause jurisprudence. Jd. at 282-283. In contrast, however,
flat unapportioned per-vehicle fees imposed on interstate
carriers

penalize some travel within the free trade
area.... [T)heir inevitable effect is to threaten
the free movement of commerce by placing a fi-
nancial barrier around the State.... If each
State imposed flat taxes for the privilege of mak-
ing commercial entrances into its territory, there

is no conceivable doubt that commerce among the
States would be deterred.

Id. at 284. Scheiner thus teaches that States requiring
“regulatory” revenue must collect it on an apportioned
basis that measures the fee-payer’s use of State facilities
because a flat unepportioned per-vehicle fee “exerts an
inexorable hydraulic pressure on interstate businesses to
ply their trade within the State that enacted the measure
rather than ‘among the several States.’” Jd. at 286-287.

The words of Scheiner echo back at interstate truckers
when they hear Respondents’ hollow claim that any State
is free to impose a flat per-vehicle “regulatory fee” in any
amount it chooses. Congress, as the federal authority with
preeminent power over matters involving interstate
commerce and interstate trucking in particular, saw fit to
authorize flat per-vehicle fees of no more than $10 and
declared anything higher than that charge to be a burden
upon interstate commerce. Nevertheless, Respondents’
position and the lower court ruling both demonstrate that
the SSRS may be read by state regulatory commissions as

10

Congressional authority for flat, per-vehicle “regulatory
fees” in any amount, and, if so, interstate carriers will be
required to revisit and fight again the same flat fee battles
they fought so hard to win in Scheiner. The Michigan
court’s ruling, therefore, should not be permitted to stand.

For the foregoing reasons and those stated in the
petition, the petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES H. HANSON*

ANDREW K. LIGHT

LYNNE D. LIDKE

SCOPELITIS, GARVIN, LIGHT
& HANSON, PC.

10 W. Market St., Suite 1500

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 637-1777

*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0743%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
