# Amicus Curiae Brief — Dura Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Broudo

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0731%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 336

## Text

———j. am US
J FILED
(Z) SEP 13 2004
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
No. 03-932

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

DURA PHARMACEUTICALS, INC., ET AL.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

MICHAEL BROUDO, ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF FOR MERRILL LYNCH & CO., INC.
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF

PETITIONERS
ANDREW L. FREY STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO
KENNETH S. GELLER Counsel of Record
Mayer, Brown, Rowe & TiMoTHyY S. BISHOP
Maw LLP JOSHUA YOUNT

1909 K Street, N. W. Mayer, Brown, Rowe &
Washington, D.C. 20006 Maw LLP

(202) 263-3000 190 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603
(312) 782-0600

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a securities fraud plaintiff invoking the fraud-
on-the-market theory must demonstrate loss causation by
pleading and proving in a reliable and non-speculative
manner that the defendant’s fraud actually caused the
plaintiff injury.

(1)

ll
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTION PRESENT BID 00ccccesvsccssescscstesencsessanannanan i
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE...............0000006. l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ....:ccsssscccssesscccssosessscssesensess 2
ARISUIMGINT ..0000007sscccessscssonsossennessesnsessainiaiaininannnnnnn 4

I. PLAINTIFFS IN PRIVATE SECTION 10(b)
DAMAGES SUITS MUST PLEAD AND PROVE
IN A NON-SPECULATIVE MANNER THAT
DEFENDANT’S FRAUD CAUSED PLAINTIFFS’
TIN FIR BISD «cccccosccccscosocsesonesenesonnenehesneeninniinninnnnnnn 4

A. Section 10(b) Claimants May Not Rely On
Speculative Theories Of Causation But Must
Plead And Prove That Defendant’s Misconduct
Actually Caused Them Injury..............::ccccccceeeeeees 7

B. Permitting Section 10(b) Class Actions To
Proceed On The Basis Of Speculative Theories
Of Causation Would Do “More Harm Than
GeO” .......ccccccscesscssesenssescensnesensieianninnnann 12

C. Hundreds Of Post-Bubble Section 10(b) Damages
Actions Illustrate The Need For Rigorous Loss
Causation Standards That Weed Out Meritless
Cases At The Dismissal Or Class Certification

II. ARIGOROUS LOSS CAUSATION STANDARD
THAT GUARDS AGAINST BLACKMAIL
SETTLEMENTS AND WINDFALL RECOVERIES
WILL NOT UNDERMINE THE DETERRENCE
AND COMPENSATION POLICIES OF THE
SECURITIES LAWS. .ccccccccessscssssossseesecsenensmnsiammnintn 24

IN LBIUIIN ...ccccccccccccsecssssressssnessesennntemmeesammmnniiial 30

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
C
“ases: Page
A,
{kerman v. Oryx Communications, Inc.,
| 21

A
{mchem Prods., Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591

A
\sher v. Baxter Int'l Inc., 377 F.3d 727
EE TE 15

tasks Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224
ESL 15, 20, 21, 22, 30

astian v. Petren Resources Corp., 892 F.2d 680
i rciaccnstccemnncmanssenenccccecceceees 9,10

Pair v. Equifax Check Servs., 181 F.3d 832
nA 23

‘Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores,
i a TTD scccneceeemscensncncscccees 4, 5,8, 11, 12,22

‘Cammer v. Bloom, 711 F. Supp. 1264
hrc certncencenccnnsncncnocccnsonecs 22

‘Central Bank v. First Interstate Bank,
a 5, 14,18

‘Citibank, N.A. v. K-H Corp., 968 F.2d 1489
cre oe 10

‘DeMarco v. Lehman Bros., 222 F.R.D. 243
I

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued

Page

Dep't of T-ansp. v. Public Citizen, 124 S. Ct. 2204

CEE ccnecssrsscsinsenetmientiiniieiiiéianiaiiinninissiianmsiibammeiainmamnate 12
Dirks v. SEC, 463 U.S. 646 (1983) .........ccccccecceees 8, 15, 16
Elkind v. Liggett & Myers, In... 535 F.2d 156

8 ee 21
Emergent Capital Inv. Mgmt., LLC v. Stonepath

Group, Inc., 343 F.3d 189 (2d Cir. 2003)...............c0000: 9
Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185

CIO cxcnncessnasncmansnecsisniiccsnnsiniasiniitanissiisiiniinitidaiiiliia 5,12
First Nationwide Bank v. Gelt Funding Corp.,

Og 9,10
Fogarazzo v. Lehman Bros., 2004 WL 1151542

OO ene 1]
Gariety v. Grant Thornton, LLP, 368 F.3d 356

Se 22, 23, 24
Grace v. Rosenstock, 228 F.3d 40 (2d Cir. 2000)............ 17
Greenberg v. Crossroads Sys., Inc., 364 F.3d 657

OSE 21
Hevesi v. Citigroup, Inc., 366 F.3d 70

oo) > ee 20
Holmes v. SIPC, 503 U.S. 258 (1992) ........cccccccccseeceeeennees 8

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued

Page
Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., 537 U.S. 79
SUED wmeysinnsnnennicnnnapiititinniesinsiiiniaieiaiiieaitueniibiaisiaieeeiama 28
IPO Sec. Litig., In re, No. 21 MC 92 (S.D.N.Y.)............. 19
Lowe ¥. SEC, 472 U.S. 181 (1DCS) .....cccccccccecccsccsscceseceecee 16
Merrill Lynch & Co., Inc. Research Reports Sec. Litig.,
In re, 273 F. Supp. 2d 351 (S.D.N.Y. 2003) .............. 17
Merrill Lynch & Co., Inc. Research Reports Sec. Litig.,
In re, No. 02 MDL 1484 (S.D.NLY.) ..0.00....000ccccccccceees 20
Moore v. PaineWebber, Inc., 189 F.3d 165
Ss MUNI ieaiihchhiciletchateeheiiemiiiha cil 10
- Newton v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.,
a es Se rcreienceenneemenennneti 23
Nike, Inc. v. Kasky, 539 U.S. 654 (2003) .......0.....cccccceeee 16
Piper v. Chris-Craft Indus., 430 U.S. 1 (1977).......... 29, 30
Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330 (1979) ............... 24
Robbins v. Koger Properties, Inc., 116 F.3d 1441
SR a eeir GUE dexinnsertantinsenccmmnemunmanimnemmereinaensinipeamaiae 9
Santa Fe Indus. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462 (1977)............. 5,8

Schreiber v. Burlington Northern, Inc.,472 U.S. |
STE cincnindshieraninniniennemecsnasinneticianindaptmemamnniiasaastieadstestatinasictas 5

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued

Page

SEC v. First Jersey Sec., Inc., 101 F.3d 1450

PE CE cevereninenincinennanineniicmienaniiapeanenninnnnentes 25
Shearson/American Express Inc. v. McMahon,

SE ane aE ccccnecnrennenaiiecncinintapbinniamennines 28
Szabo v. Bridgeport Machs., Inc., 249 F.3d 672

eT 23
TSC Indus., Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438

GED conceerenseneestenitasemmenninmmmetemmenumannetl 5,15
Ultramares Corp. v. Touche, 255 N.Y. 170

SEIU crennsenmssnnenencsennmsininniinsentnigmesmmesmenmensmumtmnannnt 4
Virginia Bankshares, Inc. v. Sandberg,

Se 8
Visa Check/MasterMoney Antitrust Litig., In re,

ee CO ee Be crnsceccsrsncnenesescememssecen 24
West v. Prudential Sec., Inc., 282 F.3d 935

ee 23, 24
Statutes:
tT a) eee 26
LSE le 26
a 25

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued

Page

Fa an OF HEN i cccnesinnicesnenenineanionnmaneneiiniemeneiena 26
a Pele etsclisinnianienmmnntmnianesuitenieiniamenimeens 25
i 7, 30
ae Ue SH cccnenecinnesronnitennsmemeninitinetinnnniiennieti 7, 30
IN Ue TUIEE ecacintstentintninereninnsinmmatiiiiniimeieme 26
Fe ine Oe ET eeeceesiessersienntineatcnnininrsiantinstnamnniensiingatianiin 25
Seas it TIE icctarinnsioieianienndensineienesnsmaninnniniiaieitiimtenieeasie 25
a ees OF SAUTEED icrienninteieitonsterarnisiniernennnneintenbiniantinemtbneiitiacciniinias 25
Sa ee Oe Waa iiensisinennrcnentoreniesnnmnsnantndiienininsintsiamuiiiiunians 25
Miscellaneous:
Alexander, Do the Merits Matter? A Study of

Settlements in Securities Class Actions,

43 STAN. L. REV. 497 (1991)..000.. eee ceeeeeeee 5, 6, 14, 17
Backman et al., Forward-Looking Statements

and Cautionary Language After the 1995

Reform Act: An Empirical Study, in PLI,

SAILING IN “SAFE HARBORS” 153 (1997)................0.. 15

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued

Page

4 BROMBERG & LOWENFELS, SECURITIES FRAUD &

COMMODITIES FRAUD § 7:498 (2d ed. 2004) ............. 11
Coffee, Overcriminalization?, NATL L.J.,

Aang, 16, 2BB4, G0 13 ..nccrcccoccscorcccscesecsscesccososessscssossoess 26
CORNERSTONE RESEARCH, POST-REFORM ACT

SECURITIES LAWSUITS: SETTLEMENTS REPOR-

TED THROUGH DECEMBER 2003 (2004), http://

securities.stanford.edu/Settlements/REVIEW_

1995-2003/2003 Settlements.pdf.................ccccceeeeees 19
DEVITTO, IRRATIONAL MARKETS AND THE ILLUSION

4, . 3 ¢ _. | Ee 13

Dunbar & Heller, Fraud on the Market Meets
Behavioral Finance, COLUM. L. SCH. CENTER FOR
L. & ECON. STUD. (Dec. 1, 2003), http://www.
law.columbia.edu/center_program/law_economics/
wkshops/fall200348 1253 ..........cccccccceeecesseseeneenenennees 22

EASTERBROOK & FISCHEL, THE ECONOMIC STRUCTURE
OF CORPORATE LAW (1991) ..........cccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeees 13, 15

Easterbrook & Fischel, Optimal Damages in
Securities Cases, 52 U. CHI. L. REV. 611 (1985) ....... 21

Eisenberg, Enforcement Issues and Litigation,
21 SEC. REG. L.J. 421 (1994)... ccccesescecseeseereeeenes 26

FRIENDLY, FEDERAL JURISDICTION: A GENERAL
VI CID TR ceccccccesccccccnssccssccescsssssssssenssonstocsssonesess 14,29

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued

Page

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-369 (1995) ..0.....cccccceeceeee passim
H.R. Rep. No. 104-50 (1995) .0.......cccccccsceseesseeeseeees 7, 14, 16
2 HAZEN, THE LAW OF SECURITIES REGULATION

ERE 23
Hearings before the Subcmte. on Securities of the

Cmte. on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs,

De TE DUR DU CR ecctccicistcereccvecsccnsern acntncesosoncs 7
KRIPKE, THE SEC AND CORPORATE DISCLOSURE

Sen ITED aiesisanscisicteteiinceniueiaiieiiiaaiiagaiahaniiasaisiiiiiaigiciaaiinges 15, 30
Langevoort, Taming the Animal Spirits of the

Stock Markets, 97 Nw. U.L. REV. 135 (2002)............ 22
Loss & SELIGMAN, FUNDAMENTALS OF SECURITIES

FD nee 4
9 Loss & SELIGMAN, SECURITIES REGULATION

Ss UN UI cheikh i erie 1]
NASD, Dispute Resolution Statistics, http://

www.nasdadr.com/statistics.asp......... Sconseniannsnenssenteese 28
NASD, Five-Year Statistical Review 2000-2004,

http://www.nasdr.com/2380.aSp .............cccecceeeseeeeeees 27
PEEIEE UIEITIIIIED: sccsnicnentinenincncieteitemniemanieatasentapmtepaiganes 28

NERA, RECENT TRENDS IN SECURITIES CLASS ACTION
LITIGATION: 2003 EARLY UPDATE (Feb. 2004).......... 19

xX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued
Page

New York Stock Exchange, Regulation: Enforcement
http://www.nyse.com/regulation/p 1020656068
597. .html?displayPage=“%F regulation%2F 10222
2 FRO BING. ccccsnsnssssccenennensenuniiiaaiiauinansmamineaiaian 28

Office of New York State Attorney General,
Press Releases 2004, http://www.oag.state.ny.us/
BECSS/ARBOCNNOS BITTE occccccsscessccesessessensonseeninenmnntnmnintinets 27

Oldham, Taking “Efficient Markets” Out of the
Fraud-on-the-Market Doctrine Afier the Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act, 97 Nw. U.L.

PREV. FES CA Pececccenccccsssssccinnssemninsiaiamminammmnnae 18
PERKINS & PERKINS, THE INTERNET BUBBLE

( 1D PPP axcacnceccvsnisesesesunanesemscapeesessivenmmmmmennuianiansieiiiiiian 13
POSNER, ECONOMIC ANALYSIS OF LAW

CFby B.. SGD ecesetvcvesecscersesossesssennnctnninnenemminmenninivhdia 13
Romano, The Shareholder Suit: Litigation without

Foundation?, 7 J. L. ECON. & ORG. 55 (1991)............. 6
S. Rep. No. 106-90 (1995) ....ccccccccssvocsvscscocssevevssonsoees passim

Scannell & Pacelle, Wall Street Gets Sticker Shock
from Citigroup, WALL ST. J., May, 12, 2004,
8 C7... rcevesccesoosensonsscscveossmunsneunzannibesimetiibesssitiaidiatasminiainle 20

SEC, 1993 ANNUAL REPORT, http://www.sec.gov/pdf/
annrep03/ar03enforce.pdf.............cccccccceeceereeeseesereeeees 26

XI
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued
Page

SEC, Additional Form 8-K Disclosure Requirements
and Acceleration of Filing Date, Securities Act
Release No. 33-8400, 69 Fed. Reg. 15594 (2004) ..... 25

SEC, DAY TRADING: YOUR DOLLARS AT RISK
(Mar. 2, 2001), http://www.sec.gov/investor/

Rakai ctaciiacean ahaa aaa 13
SEC Press Releases:

No. 2002-14 (Jan. 22, 2002), http://www.sec.gov/
| __ n e 27

No. 2002-179 (Dec. 20, 2002), http://www.sec.gov/
mews/ press) 2002-179. BAM ......ceccccccccsseccccssecseseeess 27

No. 2003-176 (Dec. 18, 2003), http://www.sec.gov/
news/press/2003-176. htm .............cccccceececeeeeeeeeeeees 27

No. 2004-14 (Feb. 5, 2004), http://www.sec.gov/
news/press/2004-14.Ftm ..............cceeeeeeceeeeeeeeeeeees 27

No. 2004-42 (Mar. 30, 2004), http://www.sec.gov/
news/press/2004-42 Atm .............::cccceeeeeeeeeeseeeeeeees 27

SEC, Selective Disclosure and Insider Trading,
Securities Act Release No. 33-7881,
a ee es Sr I iinaieitnircticictnaciaeitiaiiaiecainieaiit 15

SEC, SPECIAL STUDY: REPORT OF EXAMINATIONS OF
DAY-TRADING BROKER-DEALERS (Feb. 25, 2000),
http://www.sec.gov/news/studies/daytrading.htm...... 13

Smith, /PO Investors Get Assurance on Settlement,
WALL, ST. 5., FURS Zio Bees BOC cecccecccccesocscccccosccesses 20

XU

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued

Stanford Law School Securities Class Action
Clearinghouse, http://securities.stanfora.edu ............. 26

United States Dep’t of Justice, Office of the Deputy
Attorney General, The President’s Corporate Fraud
Task Force, http://www.usdoj.gov/dag/cftf................ 27

Winter, On ‘Protecting the Ordinary Investor’, .
63 WASH. L. REV. 881 (1988) .........-:cceeeeeeeseeeeeereeeeees i3

Winter, Paying Lawyers, Empowering Prosecutors,
and Protecting Managers: Raising the Cost of
Capital in America, 42 DUKE L.J. 945 (1993) ..... 14, 25

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

Merrill Lynch & Co., Inc. (“Merrill Lynch”) is a
diversified financial services company with 48,000
employees worldwide.' Merrill Lynch provides corpor-
ations, financial institutions, and governments with
investment banking and advisory services, including
underwriting new securities offerings. It also provides
wealth management services, including retail brokerage, to
more than a million clients. Merrill Lynch furnishes
research and analysis concerning individual securities,
prepared both by employee analysts and by third parties.

Like other financial services companies, Merrill Lynch
is subject to federal class action suits brought by investors
whose investments have not performed as they had hoped.
Such suits, which mushroomed prior to passage of the
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act in 1995, dipped
temporarily thereafter. In 2000, however, a huge stock
market “bubble” burst, causing trillions of dollars in
market losses within a matter of months. The events that
precipitated the collapse of the bubble also bankrupted or
slashed the value of many issuers of securities, particularly
internet and technology companies, diminishing prospects
for recovering damages from them. Investors therefore
turned their sights on the securities industry. They filed
hundreds of class action securities fraud suits against firms
that served as underwriters for issuers’ stock offerings and
that employed research analysts who offered opinions on
the securities. Plaintiffs magnified the threat these suits
posed by seeking certification of long class periods and

' Pursuant to Rule 37.6, Merrill Lynch states that no counsel for a
party authored this brief in whole or in part and that no person or
entity other than Merrill Lynch made a monetary contribution to its
preparation. The consents of the parties to the submission of this
brief have been filed with the Clerk.

2

classes encompassing anyone anywhere in the world who
purchased the stock.

Merrill Lynch is a defendant in a number of these suits.
It is vitally interested in the question presented in this case,
which affects how easily Section 10(b) suits can survive
motions to dismiss or be certified as class actions and what
must be proved at trial to establish liability. A permissive
loss causation standard like that adopted by the Ninth
Circuit threatens to make issuers and their advisers, and
even the analysts who opine on a company’s prospects,
insurers against market fluctuations attributable to other
events, including seismic shifts across broad markets like
the bursting of the 1998-2000 stock market bubble. In an
area where the threat of huge liabilities exerts so powerful
a pressure to settle that few cases ever reach trial it is
particularly important that the loss causation standard be
rigorous enough to weed out meritless suits at the early
stages of litigation.

Merrill Lynch believes that its experience with post-
bubble suits and as a leading financial services company
gives it a perspective that will be useful to the Court in
considering the meaning of the loss causation requirement.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Ninth Circuit’s lax causation standard invites the
abusive litigation and coerced windfall settlements that
Congress in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act
sought to forestall. Weak causation rules arbitrarily reward
speculators instead of compensating those truly injured by
fraud, harm investors by increasing costs, create perverse
disclosure incentives, and undermine the efficient
operation of capital markets. To effectuate the goals of the
Securities Exchange Act and PSLRA, this Court should
insist on a more rigorous standard that screens out

3

speculative theories of causation and requires a plaintiff to
show that defendant’s misconduct actually and directly
caused plaintiff's loss. In this case, that would require that
plaintiffs plead and prove not only that Dura’s allegedly
misleading statements inflated the price of Dura’s stock,
but also that revelation of the truth resulted in a decline in
price that can reliably be traced to the misstatement to the
exclusion of other factors.

That standard serves the goals of the securities laws. It
enables investors to obtain compensation for injuries
caused by fraud, allows innocent defendants to dispose of
meritless suits prior to trial and resist unwarranted class
certification, and removes a serious impediment to the free
flow of information in securities markets.

The hundreds of Section 10(b) class actions filed since
the stock market bubble burst in 2000 demonstrate the
need for this Court to adopt a rigorous loss causation
standard. These suits seek to hold issuers, underwriters,
and research analysts responsible for losses that investors
incurred on risky stocks of unproven internet and high
technology companies, which reached unprecedented
highs on a wave of investor enthusiasm before losing most
of their value within a few months. The Exchange Act and
PSLRA require plaintiffs in these actions to trace their
losses back to fraud by defendants and exclude both the
effect of other forces driving the inflation and bursting of
the bubble and company-specific factors that caused many
investments to fail. Absent a rigorous loss causation
standard, these class action suits threaten to seriously
burden the federal district courts while chilling speech on
subjects of importance to public investors.

The existence of numerous other civil, criminal,
administrative and arbitral remedies, as well as practical
incentives to truthful disclosure, ensure that a rigorous

4

causation standard will not detract from the deterrent and
compensatory goals of the securities laws. The Solicitor
General and SEC properly recognize that the Ninth
Circuit’s lax causation standard is not an appropriate
means to supplement government enforcement.

ARGUMENT

I. PLAINTIFFS IN PRIVATE SECTION § 10(b)
DAMAGES SUITS MUST PLEAD AND PROVE
IN A NON-SPECULATIVE MANNER THAT
DEFENDANT’S FRAUD CAUSED PLAINTIFFS’
INJURIES.

During an “‘ebullient’ stage” in the development of
implied causes of action, this Court found an implied cause
of action under Section 10(b) even though there is no
indication Congress “considered the question of private
civil remedies” when it enacted this antifraud provision.
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723,
729-730 (1975); Loss & SELIGMAN, FUNDAMENTALS OF
SECURITIES REGULATION 1025 (3d ed. 1995). To prevent
that judicially implied right of action from resulting in
“liability in an indeterminate amount for an indeterminate
time to an indeterminate class’” (Blue Chip Stamps, 421
U.S. at 748, quoting Ultramares Corp. v. Touche, 255
N.Y. 170, 174 (1931)), this Court has repeatedly
“narrow[ed] Rule 10b-5 as a matter of substantive
coverage.” LOSS & SELIGMAN, supra, at 1036, 1050.

As the Court explained in Blue Chip Stamps, it has
pruned this “judicial oak” grown from a “legislative acorn”
“as a matter of policy.” 421 U.S. at 735, 737-739. It has
rejected “expansive imposition of civil liability” under
Section 10(b) because the implied cause of action
“presents a danger of vexatiousness different in degree and
in kind from that which accompanies litigation in general.”

5

Id. at 739-740. In particular, the Court has recognized that,
because of the risk of a jury verdict holding defendant
liable for huge market losses, “even a complaint which by
objective standards may have very little chance of success
at trial has a settlement value to the plaintiff out of any
proportion to its prospect of success” if the plaintiff is able
to “prevent the suit from being resolved against him by
dismissal or summary judgment.” And the threat of costly
and disruptive discovery adds a further “in terrorem
increment” to the settlement value of a suit. /d. at 740-741.

This Court has therefore repeatedly limited the scope
of private securities damages actions to curtail their
coercive potential and make meritless claims easier “‘to
dispose of before trial.”” Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S. at
742-743. See Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185
(1976) (requiring proof of scienter, not mere negligence);
TSC Indus. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438 (1976)
(rejecting lax definition of materiality); Santa Fe Indus. v.
Green, 430 U.S. 462 (1977) (limiting Section 10(b) to
manipulative or deceptive conduct); Schreiber v. Burling-
ton Northern, Inc., 472 U.S. 1 (1985) (confining Section
14(e) to manipulative acts that involve misrepresentation
or nondisclosure); Central Bank v. First Interstate Bank,
511 U.S. 164, 189 (1994) (rejecting aiding and abetting
claims under Section 10(b) because they would engender
“uncertainty and excessive litigation’’).

Despite these and other judicially imposed limitations,
empirical studies showed that “(flor practical purposes, the
merits do not matter” in Section 10(b) class actions.
Alexander, Do the Merits Matter? A Study of Settlements
in Securities Class Actions, 43 STAN. L. REV. 497, 501
(1991) (Section 10(b) became “a grotesquely inefficient
form of insurance against large stock market losses” that
“encourages the filing of more and weaker suits”). Bet-the-

6

company damages claims and huge litigation costs forced
defendants into settlements that were neither “voluntary,”
because the risks mean that trial was not “a practically
available alternative,” mor “accurate,” because “the
strength of the case on the merits has little or nothing to do
with determining the amount of the settlement.” /d. at 499;
accord Romano, The Shareholder Suit: Litigation without
Foundation?, 7 J. L. ECON. & ORG. 55 (1991).

Responding to “significant evidence of abuse” that
undermined “American capital markets” and caused
“serious injuries to innocent parties” who were “forced to
pay exorbitant ‘settlements,’” Congress passed the Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act (“PSLRA”) “to protect
investors, issuers, and all who are associated with our
capital markets from abusive securities litigation.” H.R.
Conf. Rep. No. 104-369, at 31-32 (1995) (“H.R. Conf.
Rep.”). The PSLRA prescribes an express “loss causation”
standard, stays costly discovery pending ruling on motions
to dismiss, establishes a safe harbor for forward-looking
statements, and imposes other procedural and substantive
limits to curtail abusive Section 10(b) class suits.

Nevertheless, respondents urge and the Ninth Circuit
adopted a causation standard that moves headlong in the
opposite direction, significantly easing plaintiffs’ burden
and encouraging abusive strike suits. Both Congress in the
PSLRA and this Court have identified such lax causation
rules as a particular concern and have insisted that
plaintiffs show in a _ non-speculative manner that
defendant’s misconduct actually caused plaintiffs’ losses.

7

A. Section 10(b) Claimants May Not Rely On
Speculative Theories Of Causation But Must
Plead And Prove That Defendant’s Misconduct
Actually Caused Them Injury.

Congress in the Exchange Act established the general
principle that an investor may not recover an “amount in
excess of his actual damages on account of” a violation of
the securities laws. 15 U.S.C. § 78bb(a) (emphasis added).
After years of experience with abusive Section 10(b)
damages actions based on speculative causation theories,
Congress expressly provided in the PSLRA that a private
Section 10(b) “plaintiff shall have the burden of proving
that the act or omission of the defendant * * * caused the
loss for which the plaintiff seeks to recover damages.” 15
U.S.C. § 78u-4(b)(4) (emphasis added). The language of
these provisions on its face requires a plaintiff “to plead
and then to prove,” without speculation, that defendant’s
act Or omission caused a loss to plaintiff. H.R. Conf. Rep.
at 41. This standard is not satisfied by mere allegation or
evidence that defendant’s conduct inflated the price of a
security when plaintiff purchased it, for such inflation may
or may not eventually result in actual injury directly
traceable to defendant’s illegal act or omission.

In adopting the PSLRA Congress recognized that Sec-
tion 10(b) class actions are filed and settlements coerced
whenever “a company’s stock moves significantly, up or
down.” H.R. Rep. No. 104-50, at 16 (1995) (“H.R. Rep.”).
Such movements occur for many reasons. They do not by
themselves show that a plaintiffs loss is due to
defendant’s misconduct. Accordingly, Congress sought to
ensure “that plaintiffs prove that the loss in the value of
their stock was caused by the Section 10(b) violation and
not by other factors.” S. Rep. No. 104-98, at 7 (1995) (“S.
Rep.”); see Hearings before the Subcmte. on Securities of

8

the Cmte. on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs, S. Hrg.
No. 103-431, at 568 (1993) (“market loss” difference
between “purchase price” and “sale price” of stock does
not identify “losses caused by fraud”) (testimony of
Patricia Reilly). Simply proving inflation at the time of
plaintiff's purchase does not establish that defendant’s
wrongful conduct resulted in plaintiff's loss.

Congress’s refusal to allow damages actions to proceed
on the basis of speculative and indeterminate damages
theories reflects principles previously announced by this
Court. A series of decisions insisted on rules that avoid
“throw[ing] open to the trier of fact * * * hazy issues of
historical fact” about causation, and that “permi{t]
exclusion prior to trial” of a Section 10(b) plaintiff who
cannot prove “in a readily demonstrable manner” that an
alleged fraud “damaged him.” Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S.
at 742-743, 746. See also id. at 734-735 (limiting Section
10(b) action to purchasers and sellers of securities because
causation of injury to others would be “conjectural and
speculative”); Virginia Bankshares v. Sandberg, 501 U.S.
1083, 1105-1106 (1991) (refusing to extend Section 14(a)
private damages action to shareholders whose proxy was
unnecessary to approval of a transaction to avoid
“speculative claims” in which “[c]ausation would turn on
inferences” that would be “hazy” and “unreliable”); Dirks
v. SEC, 463 U.S. 646, 667 n.27 (1983) (declining to give
weight to claims of “shareholder ‘losses,’ ‘injury,’ and
‘damages’” where there was “no clear causal connection
between inside trading and outsiders’ losses”); Santa Fe,
430 U.S. at 474 n.14 (non-disclosure not actionable where
plaintiffs “do not indicate how they might have acted
differently had they had prior notice of the merger”).
These precedents preclude recovery of losses that are
“indirec[t],” “too remote,” or speculative. Holmes v. SIPC,
503 U.S. 258, 268-269 (1992).

9

Consistent with these precedents, courts of appeals
typically require proof that a defendant’s misconduct
determined the security’s ultimate performance (“loss
causation”)}—not merely that it induced plaintiff's
purchase or sale of the security (“transaction causation”).
E.g., Emergent Capital Inv. Mgmt. v. Stonepath Group,
343 F.3d 189, 198 (2d Cir. 2003) (allegation that
defendant’s misconduct inflated the price of a stock is “a
paraphrased allegation of transaction causation,” which
“may explain why plaintiff purchased” the stock but not
“why it lost money on the purchase”); First Nationwide
Bank v. Gelt Funding Corp., 27 F.3d 763, 769 (2d Cir.
1994) (properly dismissed complaint did not allege that
misstatements were “the reason the transaction turned out
to be a losing one”); Robbins v. Koger Properties, Inc.,
116 F.3d 1441, 1448 (11th Cir. 1997).

Without these limitations, Section 10(b) would be an
uncompensated insurance mechanism covering losses
attributable to events other than defendant’s fraud. See
Bastian v. Petren Resources Corp., 892 F.2d 680, 685 (7th
Cir. 1990) (Posner, J.) (“Defrauders are a bad lot and
should be punished, but Rule 10b-5 does not make them
insurers against national economic calamities” or
“industry-wide phenomena”). Speculators in a _ risky
market could effectively transfer the risk of bad invest-
ments to issuers and market professionals, even though, if
those losses would have occurred regardless of any fraud,
“any award of damages to them would be a windfall.” Jd.
at 684-685.

“No social purpose would be served by encouraging
everyone who suffers an investment loss because of an
unanticipated change in market conditions to pick through
offering memoranda,” press releases, and analyst reports
“in the hope of uncovering a misrepresentation.” /d. at

10

685. Section 10(b) plaintiffs must plead and prove that the
value of their securities fell “because of the misrepresented
financial condition,” not “as a result of some subsequent
event.” Citibank v. K-H Corp., 968 F.2d 1489, 1496 (2d
Cir. 1992). See Moore v. PaineWebber, 189 F.3d 165, 172
(2d Cir. 1999) (no liability for losses attributable to
“intervening” or “extraneous” causes); id. at 177
(Calabresi, J., concurring) (purchase “as a result of fraud
-does not suffice to show loss causation when the whole
market collapses”); First Nationwide, 27 F.3d at 769-770
(“when factors other than the defendant’s fraud are an
intervening direct cause of a plaintiff's injury, that same
injury cannot be said to have occurred by reason of the
defendant's actions”); Bastian, 892 F.2d at 684 (securities
lost value because of market collapse, not risks concealed
by defendant); H.R. Conf. Rep. at 42 (Section 10(b)
damages limited to “losses caused by the fraud and not by
other market factors”).

In a case like this one, in which Dura is alleged to have
made misleading statements concerning its business, these
principles require that the plaintiff allege and prove a
distinct inflation in stock price caused by defendant’s
conduct, and then a distinct deflation in price upon
revelation of the truth that is directly linked to the
defendant’s false statements and is not explained by other
events. Plaintiffs concededly have not so pled. In a
manipulation case, the same principles require the plaintiff
to show distinct inflation in a security’s price caused by
market manipulation, foilowed by a decline when the
manipulation ceased that can be directly traced to cessation
of defendant’s misconduct rather than some other event. A

less objective causation standard would be too easy to ~

circumvent, thereby subverting Congress’s goal of
disposing of meritless Section 10(b) cases at the dismissal
stage. S. Rep. at 7.

ll

Any lesser showing would prove not that defendant’s
wrong caused plaintiff's loss, only that it migfxt have done
so. In particular, the “foreseeability” test used by some
courts to address issues of proximate cause is poorly
adapted to transactions in modern securities markets in
which “[s]o many forces operate in the market for an
active security that there is little certainty in identifying
causes or measuring their separate effects.” 4 BROMBERG
& LOWENFELS, SECURITIES FRAUD & COMMODITIE?
FRAUD § 7:498, at 7-985 to 7-986 (2d ed. 2004); see also 9
Loss & SELIGMAN, SECURITIES REGULATION 4280-4281
(rev. 3d ed. 2004) (“With all the factors that determine
stock market prices,” any “lingering effects” of a fraud
soon “become intermingled with many other market
determinants’”’).

A requirement that a Section 10(b) damages plaintiff
allege and prove merely that its loss was “foreseeable” —
rather than that it was directly caused by defendant’s
conduct—would encourage suits based on uncabined
speculation, make impossible the early disposal of merit-
less suits, and give rise to the very abuses identified in
Blue Chip Stamps and by Congress in adopting the
PSLRA. See Fogarazzo v. Lehman Bros., 2004 WL
1151542, at *11, *14 (S.D.N.Y. 2004) (refusing to dismiss
Section 10(b) claim that analyst reports caused plaintiffs’
losses after bubble burst on ground that it was
“foreseeable” that market would ignore publicly known
fects about issuer’s dire financial condition because
analysts were “optimistic”). Mere speculation that
defendants may have caused investment losses is not
enough to warrant giving plaintiffs the tools to extract
massive settlements that, we show in the next section,
undermine the investor-protective goals of federal
securities legislation.

12

B. Permitting Section 10(b) Class Actions To

Proceed On The Basis Of Speculative Theories

Of Causation Would Do “More Harm Than
Good.”

““(CJjourts must look to the underlying policies or
legislative intent in order to draw a manageable line
between those causal changes that may make an actor
responsible for an effect and those that do not.’” Dep't of
Transp. v. Public Citizen, 124 S. Ct. 2204, 2215 (2004);
see Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S. at 735. Given Congress’s
aim in the PSLRA to enable “defrauded investors [to]
recover their losses,” while simultaneously preventing
“abusive and meritless suits” that result in “serious injuries
to innocent parties,” “the investing public and the entire
U.S. economy,” the proper causation rule should require
plaintiff to trace a measurable loss to defendant’s wrongful
conduct and allow defendants to obtain dismissal of claims
that rest on speculative theories that cannot reliably
support that showing. H.R. Conf. Rep. at 31.

Permissive causation rules requiring merely a causal
link to price inflation but not to a plaintiff's loss would
turn Section 10(b) into an uncompensated insurance
scheme for speculators in high-risk stocks (and a rich
harvest of fees for their lawyers), and would do “‘more
harm than good.’” Hochfelder, 425 U.S. at 214 n.33,
quoting Blue Chip Stamps, 421 U.S. at 747-748. Because
such rules result in compensation for market losses that are
not reliably tied back to a defendant’s misleading
Statement, they do not serve Congress’s goal of
compensating an investor for no more than his “actual
damages” “caused” by the wrong.

Every delayed announcement of accurate firm
information produces both winners (who sold during the
period of inflation) and losers (who bought then and sold

il

13

after disclosure of the truth). POSNER, ECONOMIC
ANALYSIS OF LAW 489 (Sth ed. 1998). “Over the long run,
any reasonably diversified investor will be a buyer half the
time and a seller half the time” and will not benefit from “a
legal rule that forces his winning self to compensate his
losing self over and over.” EASTERBROOK & FISCHEL, THE
ECONOMIC STRUCTURE OF CORPORATE LAW 340 (1991);
see Winter, On ‘Protecting the Ordinary Investor’, 63
WASH. L. REV. 881, 884 (1988) (describing ways in which
diversification reduces risks to ordinary investors).

This balance of benefits and harms was pronounced
during the bubble, when a high proportion of those buying
and selling technology stocks were short term day-traders
interested solely in movement in a stock’s price over a few
minutes or hours and not in the accuracy of information
about a company or the integrity of its stock price as a
reflection of the company’s value. See SEC, DAy
TRADING: YOUR DOLLARS AT RISK (Mar. 2, 2001); SEC,
SPECIAL STUDY: REPORT OF EXAMINATIONS OF DAyY-
TRADING BROKER-DEALERS (Feb. 25, 2000); PERKINS &
PERKINS, THE INTERNET BUBBLE 25 (1999). Momentum
traders, though they might hold a stock longer than day-
traders, similarly sought to take advantage of fluctuating
price movements, aiming to sell before upward momentum
ran out. See DEVITTO, IRRATIONAL MARKETS AND THE
ILLUSION OF PROSPERITY 108 (2001) (“Momentum”
investors “simply identify stocks with the greatest upward
momentum and buy them”; “value or worth of a company
is not a consideration”). These speculators traded the stock
of a single company many times. Sometimes they
benefited from delays in the dissemination of truthful
information; sometimes they lost. Obviously, it would be
unavailing to try to demonstrate loss causation simply by
pointing te “price inflation” at the time such traders
purchased stock.

14

The arbitrary provision of compensation. to some
i,vestors for market losses that may or may not have been
aused by defendant’s conduct results in the very problem
ct abusive litigation and coerced settlements that Congress
identified in the PSLRA. See, e.g., Winter, Paying
Lawyers, Empowering Prosecutors, and _ Protecting
Managers: Raising the Cost of Capital in America, 42
DUKE L.J. 945, 949-950 (1993) (stock transactions result
in “litigation whenever investors have lost an amount
sufficient to support an award of attorney’s fees”; in one
industry, a class action was filed to challenge every IPO
where the stock traded below the IPO price after 15
months). This may be beneficial for lawyers and expert
witnesses, but it is manifestly injurious to investors.

These suits “extract a deadweight loss from investors.”
Id. at 952. Continuing stockholders are harmed when the
issuer incurs litigation costs and pays a massive settlement
compensating some shareholders and their lawyers. See
H.R. Conf. Rep. at 32 (“Investors always are the ultimate
losers when extortionate ‘settlements’ are extracted from
issuers’); S. Rep. at 9 (“long-term investors ultimately end
up paying the costs associated with the lawsuits”);
FRIENDLY, FEDERAL JURISDICTION 120 (1973). They are
harmed too when investment banks and other professionals
that are essential to raising capital and the efficient
working of the market are subjected to open-ended Section
10(b) damages suits. Defending those suits drives up the
cost of professional services and makes professionals
unwilling to serve newer and smaller companies. Central
Bank, 511 U.S. at 189, citing Winter, supra; see H.R. Rep.
at 20 (“Fear of litigation keeps companies out of the
capital markets,” and “businesses suffer as auditors and
directors decline engagements and board positions”);
Alexander, supra, 43 STAN. L. REV. at 570-573.

ES

15

Lax causation rules also disserve the core goal of the
securities laws to ensure the free flow of information that
is Critical to investors and to market efficiency. H.R. Conf.
Rep. at 42 (“Abusive litigation severely affects the
willingness of corporate managers to disclose information
to the marketplace”). A firm that discloses information
“inevitably takes the risk of excessive optimism and
excessive pessimism.” EASTERBROOK & FISCHEL, supra, at
339. A “rule penalizing excesses in either direction would
lead to silence” about a company’s prospects. /bid.

Investors particularly “want the issuer’s own view of
its future.” KRIPKE, THE SEC AND CORPORATE DISCLO-
SURE 25 (1979). Broad causation theories bring the threat
of massive liabilities for such prognostications (see Asher
v. Baxter Int'l, 377 F.3d 727 (7th Cir. 2004)), creating a
potent disincentive to discuss the company’s future. See
Backman, Forward-Looking Statements and Cautionary
Language After the 1995 Reform Act, in PLI, SAILING IN
“SAFE HARBORS” 153, 158-159, 208-209 (1997). Corpo-
rate managers’ communications with analysts, which are
“necessary to the preservation of a healthy market,” are
also muzzled by the risk of Section 10(b) suits based on
weak causal links. Dirks, 463 U.S. at 658-659; see SEC,
Release No. 33-7881, 65 Fed. Reg. 51716, 51718 n.19
(2000) (“fear of legal liability” “chill[s]” communications
with analysts). When SEC disclosure requirements do not
make silence an option, issuers may respond to the threat
of unconstrained liability with defensive disclosure that
“bur[ies] the shareholders in an avalanche of trivial
information.” TSC, 426 U.S. at 448; see Basic Inc. v.
Levinson, 485 U.S. 224, 231 (1988).

Allowing Section 10(b) suits to proceed on the basis of
speculative causation theories thus detracts from the
quantity and quality of information received by investors.

16

Congress’s goal in adopting more stringent limits on
private damages actions in the PSLRA was to address the
concern that Section 10(b) suits had “‘chillfed]” the
“robustness and candor of disclosure.’” H.R. Conf. Rep. at
43; see H.R. Rep. at 19 (“abuse of the 10b-5 system * * *
deters the voluntary disclosure of information that the
Federal securities laws were designed to promote”); S.
Rep. at 5. This Court has refused to interpret the Exchange
Act in ways that undermine the free flow of information,
and it should do so once again here. Dirks, 463 U.S. at
658-659.

Open-ended liabilities based on speculative causation
theories also burden constitutionally protected speech.
This Court should not expand implied private rights of
action in a way that infringes on the First Amendment,
especially with regard to expression in which there is such
a strong public interest. See Lowe v. SEC, 472 U.S. 181,
210 & n.58 (1985) (there is “no doubt about the protected
character” of “the expression of an opinion about a
marketable security,” “factual information about * * *
market trends,’ and “commentary” on “market
conditions”); Nike, Inc. v. Kasky, 539 U.S. 654, 664 (2003)
(Stevens, J., concurring); id. at 676-678 (Breyer &
O’Connor, JJ., dissenting). As the United States explained
in its brief in Nike, the “First Amendment does not
tolerate” a “private cause of action” for monetary relief
against a company for “false statements respecting its
products”—whether those statements “constitute ‘com-
mercial’ or ‘noncommercial’” or hybrid speech—because
such “unconstrained” actions pose “a serious threat of
unjustifiable chill to legitimate speech on matters of public
interest” and to “the free flow of useful information.” 2003
WL 899100, at *7-*8, *12, *20, *25. The United States
pointed to the necessity of “constraining features” like
rigorous standards of “actual” reliance and causation to

17

avoid an unconstitutional burden on speech. /d. at *20-
*21, *23.

Furthermore, lax causation standards lead _ to
“procedural intractibility” that imposes a considerable
burden on the courts. Jn re Merrill Lynch & Co., 273 F.
Supp. 2d 351, 366 n.28 (S.D.N.Y. 2003) (Pollack, J.).
Dissatisfied investors “would be able (with the benefit of
hindsight) to point to any allegedly misleading positive
statement issued by anyone (not just the issuer) and couple
that with an allegation that the price of the security was
inflated as a result to satisfy loss causation,” which invites
“self-serving testimony, strike suits and _ protracted
discovery.” bid. Because the “issues would be hazy,” the
“litigation protracted,” and the “resolution unreliable,”
these class actions would be especially burdensome. /bid.
(quoting Grace v. Rosenstock, 228 F.3d 40, 48 (2d Cir.
2000)); Alexander, supra, 43 STAN. L. REV. at 572
(describing “cost to the public in judicial resources”).

Given all these considerations, it is important in
devising rules governing Section 10(b) damages actions to
“reconcile the conflicting interests of investors in a manner
designed to best protect the interests of a// investors—
those who are plaintiffs in a particular case, those who are
investors in the defendant company, and those who invest
in other companies” whose access to capital markets and
professional advice would be curtailed by excessive
liability risks. S. Rep. at 22. The lax causation rule
plaintiffs advocate would skew the securities laws in favor
of Section 10(b) plaintiffs, who may or may not have been
injured by defendant’s wrongful conduct, at the expense of
investors in general. It also would undermine the efficient
operation of capital markets and create perverse incentives
that contradict the securities laws’ goal of ensuring robust
communication concerning issuers of securities. Plaintiffs’

18

causation standard, in short, has nothing to recommend it.
See Central Bank, 511 U.S. at 188 (“Extending the 10b-5
cause of action * * * makes the civil remedy more far
reaching, but it does not follow that the objectives of the
statute are better served”).’

A standard requiring particularized pleading and a
reliable showing that defendant’s wrong actually and
directly caused a plaintiff's loss suffers from none of these
defects. It achieves what Congress intended by “reduc[ing]
significantly the filing of meritless securities lawsuits
without hindering the ability of victims of fraud to pursue
legitimate claims.” H.R. Conf. Rep. at 39.

C. Hundreds Of Post-Bubble Section 10(b)
Damages Actions Illustrate The Need For
Rigorous Loss Causation Standards That Weed
Out Meritless Cases At The Dismissal Or Class
Certification Stages.

The federal courts today are congested with cases that
clearly illustrate the danger of lax causation standards and
the need to uphold the more rigorous pleading and proof
requirements that Congress mandated in the PSLRA.
Investors have filed hundreds of Section 10(b) damages
suits in the aftermath of the stock market bubble to recover
losses incurred on speculative investments in unproven
internet and technology companies. A record 503 private

> These problems are compounded by the willingness of lower
courts to ease plaintiffs’ burden of proof by expanding the Basic
presumption of causation and reliance to situations ever more
remote from the issuer misstatements addressed in that case. See
pp. 19-21, infra; see generally Oldham, Taking “Efficient
Markets" Out of the Fraud-on-the-Market Doctrine After the
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act, 97 NW. U. L. REV. 995
(2003).

19

federal securities law class action suits were filed in 2001,
the year after the bubble burst. NERA, RECENT TRENDS IN
SECURITIES CLASS ACTION LITIGATION: 2003 EARLY
UPDATE 2 (Feb. 2004). These class actions exert
irresistible pressure to settle. Securities fraud settlements
totaled $6.6 billion in 2001-2003. CORNERSTONE, POST-
REFORM ACT SECURITIES LAWSUITS | (2004).

These suits reach beyond issuers of securities.
Congress recognized in adopting the PSLRA that
“fujnderwriters” and “other professionals are prime targets
of abusive securities lawsuits. The deeper the pocket, the
greater the likelihood that a marginal party will be named
as a defendant.” S. Rep. at 9. When these “peripheral
defendants are sued, the pressure to settle is overwhelming
—tregardless of the defendant’s culpability.” /d. at 21.
Securities firms, which are perceived to have deep pockets
and which inevitably are involved in some capacity in
securities transactions, have been “prime targets” of post-
bubble suits.

Plaintiffs, for example, have sued the underwriters of
309 bubble-era IPOs in class actions alleging that they
misled investors about IPO allocation practices, principally
alleged agreements that persons receiving IPO shares
would purchase additional shares in the aftermarket. Those
purchases supposedly inflated the price of the stock, in a
gradually diminishing amount, throughout lengthy class
periods that typically span the inflation and bursting of the
bubble. /n re IPO Sec. Litig., No. 21 MC 92 (S.D.N.Y.). In
addition, many suits have been filed against research
analysts and their employers, alleging that analysts issued
optimistic opinions they did not believe in order to protect
their firms’ investment banking work for the issuer, and
that their opinions inflated the price of the stock during

a

20

some extended period. E.g., In re Merrill Lynch Research
Reports Sec. Litig., No. 02 MDL 1484 (£.D.N.Y.).

The cost to settle such suits threatens to be enormous.
One securities firm, which already has agreed to a multi-
billion dollar settlement, has set aside reserves of nearly
$10 billion to cover bubble-era securities fraud suits.
Scannell & Pacelle, Wall Street Gets Sticker Shock from
Citigroup, WALL ST. J., May 12, 2004, at Cl. The issuers
in the IPO suits, which are not plaintiffs’ main target, have
agreed to settle claims against them for $1 billion. Smith,
IPO Investors Get Assurance on Settlement, WALL ST. J.,
June 27, 2003, at C1.

The causal assertions made in these cases are
incredibly speculative and stretch beyond the breaking
point the fraud-on-the-market theory adopted by a 4-2
plurality of this Court in Basic. Plaintiffs claim that a small
number of open market “tie in” purchases of a security,
made a few days after an IPO, inflated the price of the
security and injured every purchaser throughout class
periods of many months or years. They also contend that
third party opinions, which are not alleged to have
misstated facts about the issuer and which were circulated
in a volatile market full of competing opinions, inflated the
price of a security for long periods. But it is not a matter of
“common sense and probability” to presume that limited
aftermarket stock purchases or analyst opinions cause a
lasting impact on stock price. No presumption of causation
or reliance is justified in circumstances so far removed
from those addressed in Basic. See Hevesi v. Citigroup,
Inc., 366 F.3d 70, 78-80 (2d Cir. 2004); DeMarco v.
Lehman Bros., 222 F.R.D. 243 (S.D.N.Y. 2004).

Congress understood that security prices “rise or fall
for reasons unrelated to the alleged fraud” and insisted that
plaintiffs may recover only for “losses caused by the fraud

21

and not by other market conditions.” H.R. Conf. Rep. at
42. Plaintiffs may not simply “presume” that market prices
were affected for lengthy periods but should have to
disentangle any price effects of “tie in” purchases and
analyst opinions from effects of other events. That task is
“complex and uncertain” (ibid.), and not ordinarily
possible in a class proceeding. Econometric tools for
segregating the price effects of particular events are largely
useless over long class periods. See Elkind v. Liggett &
Myers, 635 F.2d 156, 171 (2d Cir. 1980) (it is “difficult if
not impossible” to prove over more than a “short period”
“the time when and extent to which the integrity of the
market was affected” by alleged misconduct not involving
issuer statements; “unrelated factors affecting the market
price” make it “impossible as a practical matter to isolate”
any “rise or decline in market price * * * caused by” that
conduct); Greenberg v. Crossroads Sys., 364 F.3d 657,
665 (Sth Cir. 2004) (plaintiffs must show “stock’s price
was actually affected” by fraud, segregating effect of other
factors, otherwise presumption of reliance and causation
“would be based solely on speculation”); Basic, 485 U.S.
at 253-255 (White & O’Connor, JJ., concurring in part and
dissenting in part) (fraud-on-the-market approach is
subject to limits of economic theory).’

> See also Easterbrook & Fischel, Optimal Damages in Securities
Cases, 52 U. CHI. L. REV. 611, 627-628 (1985) (the longer the
period examined the poorer “our ability to match particular pieces
of news with the effects attributable to them”). Index comparisons
cannot account for firm-specific factors. See Akerman v. Oryx
Communications, 810 F.2d 336, 342-343 (2d Cir. 1987) (expert's
“statistical analys[e]s” purporting to show that stock had gone
down more than an index and had underperformed 82 of 100 new
issues “lack[ed] credibility because they fail[ed] to reflect any of
the countless variables that might affect the stock price
performance of a single company”).

22

The difficulty of disentangling effects of fraud and
extraneous market factors over months or years is
exacerbated in the tumultuous stock bubble market. See
Langevoort, Taming the Animal Spirits of the Stock
Markets, 97 Nw. U.L. REv. 135, 177-178 (2002) (“noise
and the presence of other information” render calculations
of price effect of events “imprecise,” “unusable,” and
“increasingly doubtful” as the time period under
consideration lengthens); Dunbar & Heller, Fraud on the
Market Meets Behavioral Finance, COLUM. L. SCH.
CENTER FOR L. & ECON. STUD. (Dec. 1, 2003), http://
www.law.columbia.edu/center_program/law_ economics/w
kshops/fall2003#81253.* ~

Determining whether plaintiffs have a viable loss
causation claim cannot be deferred until trial. “If a
defendant cannot win an early dismissal of the case, ‘the
economics of litigation may dictate a settlement even if the
defendant is relatively confident that it would prevail at
trial.’” S. Rep. at 7 (1995), quoting SEC Chairman Arthur
Levitt. Accord Blue Chip Stamps; 421 U.S. at 740-741.
The PSLRA’s heightened pleading requirement and overt
mandate that plaintiff must “plead” and then “prove” loss
causation (H.R. Conf. Rep. at 41), along with the coercive

a

Economists broadly agree that markets during the bubble were
not “efficient,” which is a necessary predicate for presuming under
Basic that information is impounded in a security’s market price.
See Gariety v. Grant Thornton, 368 F.3d 356, 365-366 (4th Cir.
2004). The factors routinely used by courts to determine market
efficiency—which focus on the existence of an active and
developed market—are ill-adapted to assess whether the price of
stocks trading in a bubble environment efficiently reflects
economic value and are therefore apt to result in a finding of
efficiency where economists agree there is none, and thus to an
unwartranted extension of Basic. See Dunbar & Heller, supra;
Cammer v. Bloom, 711 F. Supp. 1264, 1286-1287 (D.N.J. 1989).

- —_— ee rw ——

23

consequences of postponing consideration of loss
causation, make dismissal an appropriate remedy to
address defects in loss causation allegations.

The most powerful coercive effect of a Section 10(b)
damages action derives from a willingness by the trial
court to certify the suit as a class action. See Blair v.
Equifax Check Servs., 181 F.3d 832, 834 (7th Cir. 1999)
(“Many corporate executives are unwilling to bet their
company that they are in the right in big-stakes litigation,
and a grant of class status can propel the stakes of a case
into the stratosophere,” giving plaintiffs and “even some
district judges” a “device to wring settlements from
defendants”). It is therefore incumbent on a _ court
considering a motion to certify a class action to make an
independent determination whether plaintiffs have met
their burden of establishing that loss causation can reliably
be proved across the entire proposed class using a fraud-
on-the-market presumption or some trustworthy expert
formula, or whether proof of causation must instead turn
on time- or transaction-specific inquiries incompatible
with class adjudication. E.g., Gariety, 368 F.3d at 365-366;
West v. Prudential Sec., 282 F.3d 935, 938 (7th Cir. 2002);
Newton v. Merrill Lynch, 259 F.3d 154, 166 (3d Cir.
2001); Szabo v. Bridgeport Machs., 249 F.3d 672, 675
(7th Cir. 2001); see 2 HAZEN, THE LAW OF SECURITIES
REGULATION § 12.12[3], at 539 (4th ed. 2002) (“the
difficulty in discounting extrinsic market factors” in
determining whether plaintiffs have been damaged
“necessitate[s] complex analysis”; “the proof may vary
from plaintiff to plaintiff and may thus require severing a
class action”).

Whether defendant’s defenses to loss causation will
require trade-by-trade or other time-specific inquiry is a
key part of this inquiry. E.g., Amchem Prods., Inc. v.

24

Windsor, 521 U.S. 591, 625 (1997); Visa Check Antitrust
Litig., 280 F.3d 124, 138 (2d Cir. 2001). The court “may
not duck hard questions by observing that each side has
some support” from experts. West, 282 F.3d at 938-940
(decertifying securities fraud class where “reputable
financial economist” failed “to test for and exclude other
potential sources of price movement”); DeMarco, 222
F.R.D. at 247-249 (refusing to certify class where
plaintiffs’ expert failed to demonstrate that analyst reports
“materially impacted the market price [of the security] in a
reasonably quantifiable respect” independent of the
plethora of other information, opinion, and “confounding
news” entering the market”); Gariety, 368 F.3d at 365-
366. It would be far too easy an end run around the
PSLRA to allow a plaintiff at the class certification stage
to show that causation is an issue common to the class by
offering speculative expert testimony. See Reiter v.
Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330, 345 (1979) (courts must be
“especially alert” to “administrative chaos” and “class-
action harassment” at the class certification stage).

Il. A RIGOROUS LOSS CAUSATION STANDARD
THAT GUARDS AGAINST BLACKMAIL SETTLE-
MENTS AND WINDFALL RECOVERIES WILL
NOT UNDERMINE THE DETERRENCE AND
COMPENSATION POLICIES OF THE SECUR-
ITIES LAWS.

This Court need have no fear that requiring Section
10(b) plaintiffs to satisfy a rigorous, non-speculative loss
causation standard, as Congress intended, will undermine
the deterrence and compensation policies of the securities
laws or hobble their enforcement. The SEC disagrees with
plaintiffs that a diluted loss causation standard is necessary
to effective operation of the securities laws, and for good
reason. “[{T]}he deterrent effect is weak” when “the merits
of claims” are “irrelevant to their initiation or settlement

25

values,” as is the case with many Section 10(b) damages
suits. Winter, supra, 42 DUKE L.J. at 952. Meritorious
securities fraud suits, of course, will satisfy a rigorous
causation standard. And a plethora of other judicial and
administrative remedies targeted at truly wrongful conduct
by expert regulators and prosecutors also ensure that a
rigorous causation standard will not have adverse effects.

SEC regulations impose stringent reporting obligations
on corporations, subject to SEC enforcement proceedings.
Corporations must file quarterly and annual financial
statements, which executives now must certify under threat
of criminal penalty and disgorgement of their compen-
sation and stock trading profits. 15 U.S.C. §§ 7241, 7243;
18 U.S.C. § 1349. Issuers also must file, within four
business days, Form 8-K reports on any of a host of
material corporate events, including agreements, acquisi-
tions, disposition of assets, off-balance-sheet financial
obligations, and changes in officers or directors. SEC,
Release No. 33-8400, 69 Fed. Reg. 15594 (2004).

The powers of the SEC and Department of Justice to
enforce corporate disclosure obligations are substantial and
do not depend on proving loss causation. The Commission
may obtain injunctive relief, cease-and-desist orders,
orders barring or suspending individuals from serving as
an officer or director of an issuer of securities, and large
civil penalties, including disgorgement of any gain. 15
U.S.C. §§ 78u, 78u-3; see SEC v. First Jersey Sec., 101
F.3d 1450 (2d Cir. 1996) (requiring disgorgement of $75
million). Under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, the SEC may
earmark penalties and amounts disgorged “for the benefit
of the victims” of the violation. 15 U.S.C. § 7246(a).

A person who willfully and knowingly makes a false or
misleading statement of material fact may also be
criminally liable and is subject to imprisonment for 20

26

years and multi-million deliar fines. /d. § 78ff. The recent
indictment of Enron CEO Kenneth Lay, for example, rests
in part on statements he made about the company in an
online employee forum and in calls with research analysts.
See Coffee, Overcriminalization?, NAT’L L.J., Aug. 16,
2004, at 13. Insiders who trade with knowledge of material
information that has not been disclosed to the public face
civil penalties of three times the profit gained or loss
avoided. 15 U.S.C. § 78u-1. The Securities Act authorizes
many similar remedies for misstatements made in
connection with the registration of securities, for which
liability may be established without proof of scienter. /d.
§§ 77t, 77y. Underwriters and broker-dealers are subject to
equivalent deterrent and remedial sanctions, as well as a
host of specialized standards applicable to their operations.

The SEC is not reluctant to use these powers. The goal
of SEC enforcers has been described by former Chairman
Richard Breeden as leaving securities law violators
“naked, homeless, and without wheels.” Eisenberg,
Enforcement Issues and Litigation, 21 SEC. REG. L.J. 421,
421 (1994). In the aftermath of the bubble and recent
corporate scandals the Commission’s 900-strong
enforcement staff has shown extraordinary vigor. During
fiscal year 2003 alone the SEC brought 271 injunctive
actions and 365 administrative proceedings against issuers
and financial services providers—far more than the 216
private securities class actions filed in federal court in
2003 (see http://securities.stanford.edu)—and obtained
orders requiring the disgorgement of $900 million and the
payment of $1.1 billion in penalties. SEC 1993 Annual
Report 15, http://www.sec.gov/pdf/annrep03/ar03enforce.
pdf. Recently, the SEC and other regulators obtained a
$1.4 billion settlement from ten securities firms accused of
issuing research opinions tainted by conflicts of interest,
and well over a billion dollars in settlements with mutual

27

fund companies accused of market-timing violations,
specialist firms accused of “front running,” and
underwriters accused of IPO allocation violations.’ The
Department of Justice’s Corporate Fraud Task Force has
charged hundreds of defendants since it was formed in
July 2001, including senior officers and managers of
securities issuers and employees of financial services
companies, obtaining many guilty pleas and convictions.
http://www.usdoj.gov/dag/cftf.

State prosecutors and blue-sky officials bring their own
overlapping civil and criminal enforcement actions.
Among state securities law enforcers, for example, the
New York Attorney General alone has_ reported
substantially more than $1 billion in settlements with
financial services companies already in 2004. http://www.
oag.state.ny.us/press/agpress04.html.

Financial services industry Self Regulating Organiza-
tions (“SROs”) actively enforce their regulations, which
implement and supplement the securiti>s laws. In 2003 the
National Association of Securities Dealers (“NASD”)
barred 494 individuals from the securities business,
suspended 333 others, and expelled 30 firms. http://www.
nasdr.com/2380.asp. The New York Stock Exchange
brought 231 cases of rules violations against members that

. E.g., http://www.sec.gov/news/press/2002-179.htm ($1.4 billion
global settlement in analyst conflict of interest cases); id. at 2004-
14.htm ($225 million settlement in case alleging market timing
trading in mutual funds); id. at 2003-176.htm ($250 million market
timing settlement); id. at 2004-42.htm ($240 million settlement in
case against five specialist firms for executing orders for dealer
accounts ahead of executable public customer orders); id. at 2002-
14.txt ($100 million settlement for alleged practices relating to
allocations of stock in IPOs).

28

year. http://www.nyse.com/regulation/p 1020656068597.ht
ml?displayPage=%oF regulation%o2F 1022221394131.html.

Furthermore, agreements between broker-dealers and
their customers invariably include arbitration provisions.
NASD arbitration, which this Court has strongly endorsed
as a means to resolve securities fraud claims, is thus
readily available to investors. NASD MANUAL § 10101;
see Shearson/American Express v. McMahon, 482 U.S.
220, 232 (1987) (describing the “suitability of arbitration
as a means of enforcing Exchange Act rights” and “com-
petence of arbitral tribunals to resolve § 10(b) claims”).
Arbitration jocuses directly on the central issues in
dispute, such as whether a client has been directed to
unsuitable investments or a broker made a material
misstatement to the customer. Arbitration—in which legal
representation and discovery are available and experienced
decisionmakers consider the facts and circumstances of
each case—is less costly and quicker than litigation and
increases the share of recovery that an investor retains. See
Howsam v. Dean Witter, 537 U.S. 79, 85 (2002) (NASD
arbitrators’ “comparative expertise” helps “to secure a fair
and expeditious resolution of the underlying controversy”).
Smaller claims are channeled into a simpler procedure for
even faster and more economic resolution. NASD
MANUAL §§ 10302, 10316, 10321-10322.

Since the stock market bubble burst, thousands of
investors have discovered that arbitration provides a fair
and efficient forum for resolution of claims against broker-
dealers. Nearly 9000 arbitration cases were filed with

—-NASD in 2003. Customers received awards in more than

half of the 7300 NASD arbitration cases closed that year.
See http://www.nasdadr.com/statistics.asp.

Securities market participants are thus hemmed in by
an array of federal and state government powers, both civil

29

and criminal, SRO sanctions, and arbitral remedies, which
effectively curb unlawful practices and compensate non-
speculative injuries. As Judge Friendly observed, “([tJhe
important thing is to stop the evil conduct” and “an
injunction,” “fines,” or other sanctions imposed at the
behest of expert government and SRO regulators achieve
that purpose without the risk attendant on civil damages
actions of “ruin{ing] innocent stockholders,” “produc[ing]
blackmail settlements,” or deterring desirable conduct.
FRIENDLY, supra, at 120. Given the availability of these
fact-specific remedies, which deter and punish misconduct
and compensate those who truly are its victims, there is no
reason why this Court should recognize, in a judicially
implied cause of action, a class-wide liability that rests on
speculative inferences of causation.

Indeed, even against the background of a far more
rudimentary enforcement system than exists today, this
Court refused in Piper v. Chris-Craft Indus., 430 U.S. 1
(1977), to imply a cause of action for damages for
violation of Section 14(e) of the Exchange Act—
prohibiting fraud in connection with a tender offer—
because the threat of damages was not necessary to deter
fraudulent conduct. “[I]njunctive relief” is more effective
than “a damages award” that also “may well be inconsis-
tent with the interests of many members of the protected
class.” Jd. at 42. Reversing a court of appeals’ ruling that
implied a damages cause of action and invoked a
“presumption of reliance and causation” in the name of
deterrence and “effective” remedies (id. at 17-18), this
Court observed that “uncertainties” about whether
particular conduct amounts to a legal violation and “caused
injury” “call into question whether ‘deterrence’ of § 14(e)
violations is a meaningful goal” except for “the most
flagrant sort of violations which no reasonable person
could consider lawful.” /d. at 40 n.26. And for those

30

“obvious and serious” violations, “injunctive relief” is “apt
to be the most efficacious form of remedy.” /bid.°

Congress has limited recovery to “actual damages on
account of the act complained of” (15 U.S.C. § 78bb(a))
and required plaintiffs to plead and prove that the
misrepresentation or omission “caused the loss for which
the plaintiff seeks to recover.” Jd. § 78u-4(b)(4). Partic-
ularly in light of the alternative remedies and sanctions,
“any extension of [the securities] laws, to approach
something closer to [the] investor insurance scheme” that
plaintiffs seek “should come from Congress, and not from
the courts.” Basic, 485 U.S. at 256-257 (White &
O’Connor, JJ., concurring in part and dissenting in part).

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the Ninth Circuit should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.
ANDREW L. FREY STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO
KENNETH S. GELLER Counsel of Record
Mayer, Brown, Rowe & TIMOTHY S. BISHOP
Maw LLP JOSHUA YOUNT
1909 K Street, N.W. Mayer, Brown, Rowe &
Washington, D.C. 20006 Maw LLP
(202) 263-3000 190 South LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603
(312) 782-0600
SEPTEMBER 2004

° Quite apart from the panoply of available legal remedies, self-
interest provides a powerful incentive to timely and truthful
disclosure. “{T]he market provides strong incentives for anyone
who desires continued access to the market to keep the signals
honest.” KRIPKE, supra, at 126; see Piper, 430 U.S. at 40 n.26,-——

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0731%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
