# Amicus Curiae Brief — Dura Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Broudo

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0731%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 336

## Text

No. 03-932

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

DURA PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. ET AL.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

MICHAEL BROUDO ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF
THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

ROBIN S. CONRAD NEIL M. GORSUCH
STEPHANIE A. MARTZ Counsel of Record
NATIONAL CHAMBER PAUL B. MATEY

LITIGATION CENTER, INC. KELLOGG, HUBER, HANSEN,
1615 H Street, N.W. TODD & EVANS, P.L.L.C.
Washington, D.C. 20036 1615 M Street, N.W.
(202) 463-5337 Suite 400

Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 326-7900

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

September 13, 2004
eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CE deter cenicinircanennerennmentecnmememee iil
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE................0..00s0000 l
RIES PU GUI IIIIIITT cccccccccncecsccnnescesesesescerevecconees 2
San Lisclasinschssnsssillihicsbtinienbhialiaauiiidibiniinianianisinhigtanmnntennenummenn 4

I. THE PRESSURE TO SETTLE EVEN
MERITLESS SECURITIES CLASS AC-
TIONS {MPOSES AN ENORMOUS TOLL
ON THE AMERICAN ECONOMY ................::00008 4

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUITS RULE WOULD
SIGNIFICANTLY EXACERBATE THE
PROBLEMS AND INCREASE THE SOCIAL
COSTS ASSOCIATED WITH MERITLESS
SECURITIES CLASS ACTIONS ...............::0s0000 10

| _______EEEnE ne DO ee eEE DENTS ESTED 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
BankAmerica Corp. Sec. Litig., In re, 95 F. Supp.
2d 1044 (E.D. Mo. 2000), affd, 263 F.3d 795
SL 10
Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988)...................-. 16
Bastian v. Petren Res. Corp., 892 F.2d 680
a cessnenenenens 3, 15, 16
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S.
TT 4,6
California Micro Devices Sec. Litig., In re, No. C-
94-2817-VRW, 1995 WL 476625 (N.D. Cal. Aug.
a cenomonononoonones 9
Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharms., Inc., 509 U.S.
a cosnnnesonsooccs 14, 15
Emergent Capital Inv. Mgmt., LLC v. Stonepath
Group, Inc., 343 F.3d 189 (2d Cir. 2003) .................000. 3
Ferber v. Travelers Corp., 785 F. Supp. 1101
a ovensnscunece 7
Fruchter v. Florida Progress Corp., No. 99-6167CI-
20, 2002 WL 1558220 (Fla. Cir. Ct. Mar. 20,
a. sssstennnnonoooacovecs 9
General Elec. Co. v. Joiner, 522 U.S. 136 (1997)............. 14
Goldberger v. Integrated Res., Inc., 209 F.3d 43
a neteenenenes 8

1V

Kumho Tire Co. v. Carmichael, 526 U.S. 137 (1999) ...... 14
Network Assocs., Inc. Sec. Litig., In re, 76 F. Supp.
ae er ee Cs Me iciiniceictestiinsaciasieinliitdaiali tate icin 3
Newton v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,
Inc., 259 F.3d 154 (3d Cir. 2001)............000000000..0000000000. 8
Quantum Health Res., Inc. Sec. Litig., In re,
962 F. Supp. 1254 (C.D. Cal. 1997)............ccccccccccssseeees 8
Qwest Communications Int'l, Inc. Sec. Litig., In re,
243 F. Supp. 2d 1179 (D. Ss 6
Robbins v. Koger Props., Inc., 116 F.3d 1441
Is ii aaa altace iad 3,13
SEC v. Texas Gulf Sulphur Co., 401 F.2d 833
PD Mtr acciinisncresiesitiiehiehitiiiteiiin dtitiartihasteatiaataeitahidliaaiiaceaaa 6
Semerenko v. Cendant Corp., 223 F.3d 165 (3d Cir.
STU UTTet cncchesiiehapiiiinhieaehe ahaa teak cialis cddaaiaes ia hia 3
West v. Prudential Secs., Inc., 282 F.3d 935
IIE: SIITITTT ccsincitatenstaiasiiasaiaileeniietindceieaiademiacathdiaiaineiaitatenal 7, 15
STATUTES AND RULES
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995,
Pub. L. No. 104-67, 109 Stat. 37.................c0000sseseeeee 5
Securities Litigation Uniform Standards Act of
1998, Pub. L. No. 105-353, 112 Stat. 3227............... 5
ie ie My ee ictininnii nant ehiadiatanttaaiatincinaaieiealainainniliatdiiicaass 14
8 en rN EE Re NEO See ee 1

v

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

Conference Report on H.R. 1058. Private Securities
Litigation Reform Act of 1995, 141 Cong. Rec.
EET Ti SUIT iccinsiorittarsicesesiieiniciniiabiniinaniaibeninenies

H.R. Rep. No. 106-320 (1909) ...............c.ccccscrsccccsscssseessees

Securities Fraud on the Internet: Hearings Before
the Permanent Subcomm. on Investigations of
the Senate Comm. on Government Affairs,
106th Cong. (Mar. 22-23, 1999), available at

OTHER AUTHORITIES

2003 PricewaterhouseCoopers Securities Litigation
Study (rel. Aug. 2, 2004), at http:/Awww.10b5.
IED ccnecninnittisirtittinicsisiinnitllaemtnmmnaatemmaiess

Janet Cooper Alexander, Do the Merits Matter?
A Study of Settlements in Securities Class
Actions, 43 Stan. L. Rev. 497 (1991) ...............2...00e0000

Janet Cooper Alexander, Rethinking Damages in
Securities Class Actions, 48 Stan. L. Rev. 1487

Jennifer H. Arlen & William J. Carney, Vicarious
Liability for Fraud on Securities Markets:
Theory and Evidence, 1992 U. Ill. L. Rev. 691 ...........

Elaine Buckberg et al., NERA, Recent Trends in
Securities Class Action Litigation: 2003 Early

Update (Feb. 2004) .............s.ccscsscessessecsesessecsesecseeneens 1,5

Guido Calabresi, Concerning Cause and the Law of
Torts: An Essay for Harry Kalven, Jr., 43 U.
Ss les a ncrrscnsissiiestnpnaininmantniiicaiaiiaiiieees

vi

CNBC, CNBC TV, at http://moneycentral.msn.com/
nn. eceeieniemiasmaniiainmials 16

CNN, CNNfn on TV, at http://money.cnn.com/ontv........ 16

Frank H. Easterbrook & Daniel R. Fischel,
Optimal Damages in Securities Cases, 52 U.
Tn il 5, 10

Paul A. Ferrillo et al., The “Less Than” Efficient
Capital Markets Hypothesis: Requiring More
Proof from Plaintiffs in Fraud-on-the-Market
Cases, 78 St. John’s L. Rev. 81 (2004) ...........00.0000000.. 13

Kenneth R. Foster et al., Phantom Risk: Scientific
Inference and the Law (1993) ...............cccccceececeeeees 14, 15

FOXNews.com, FNC Shows, at http://www.
ES _S LTTE AOTC Fe RAE Le eT 16

W. Page Keeton et al., Prosser and Keeton on Torts
| Ee SAS reno omea? 4,15

Donald C. Langevoort, Capping Damages for Open-
Market Securities Fraud, 38 Ariz. L. Rev. 639

Christopher B. Mueller & Laird C. Kirkpatrick,
I re 14

Richard Painter et al., The Federalist Society for
Law and Public Policy Studies, Private Securi-
ties Litigation Reform Act: A Post-Enron
Analysis (2003), at http://www.fed-soc.org/pdf/
TST ERATE IIL AC: 8,9

Michael A. Perino, Did the Private Securities
Litigation Reform Act Work?, 2003 U. IIL L.

vii
Richard A. Posner, Economic Analysis of the Law
GI, TIE icrnnanithienienanicnnadensdeniniemeainininenensdetiens 12, 17

Press Release, Qwest Communications, Qwest
Communications Statement In Response to
Motion Filed by Milberg Weiss Bershad Hynes
BD ree Ee te & FI cccrctetitecseneseccnscneneeesesecescnns 6

Victor E. Schwartz et al., Federal Courts Should
Decide Interstate Class Actions: A Call for Fed-
eral Class Action Diversity Jurisdiction Reform,
36 Harv. J. on Legis. 483 (2000) .................cccceeeseeeeeeeees 7

Laura E. Simmons & Ellen M. Ryan, Cornerstone
Research, Post-Reform Act Securities Lawsuits:
Settlements Reported Through December 2002

Laura E. Simmons & Ellen M. Ryan, Cornerstone
Research, Post-Reform Act Securities Lawsuits:
Settlements Reported Through December 2003

Stanford Law School & Cornerstone Research,
Securities Class Action Clearinghouse, at
http://securities.stanford.edu/companies.html ............. 8

Jonathan Weil, Win Lawsuit — and Pay $300
Million, Wall St. J., Aug. 2, 2004, at C3 .................0000.. 4

Elliot J. Weiss & John S. Beckerman, Let the
Money Do the Monitoring: How Institutional
Investors Can Reduce Agency Costs in Securi-
ties Class Actions, 104 Yale L.J. 2053 (1995)................ 4

Woodruff-Sawyer & Co., A Study of Shareholder
Class Action Litigation (2002)...............:.:cssseeeeeeeeeeeeeees 4

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE '

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States (the
“Chamber”) is the world’s largest business federation.
The Chamber represents an underlying membership of_
more than three million businesses and organizations of
every size, in every industry sector, and from every region
of the country. The Chamber regularly advocates the in-
terests of its members in court involving issues of national
concern to the American business community.

The Chamber has a substantial interest in the issu.
presented in this case: the proper application of the loss
causation principle in securities litigation. Securities
class action litigation imposes an enormous toll on the na-
tional economy, affecting virtually every public corpora-
tion in America at one time or another and costing Ameri-
can businesses billions of dollars in settlements every
year. Indeed, recent studies conclude that, over a five-
year period, the average public corporation faces a 9%
probability of facing at least one securities class action
lawsuit. See Elaine Buckberg et al., NERA, Recent
Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2003 Early
Update 4 (Feb. 2004) (“2003 Early Update”). As Con-
gresswoman Anna Eshoo (D-Cal.) has put it, “Businesses
in my region place themselves in one of two categories:
those who have been sued for securities fraud and those
that will be.””

Because of pressures unique to securities class action
litigation, virtually all claims that survive initial motions
practice are settled. With little prospect that their claims
will be fully tested by the adversarial process, plaintiffs

' Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, counsel for amicus repre-
sents that they authored this brief and that no entity other than
amicus, its counsel, or its members made a monetary contribution to
its preparation or submission. All parties have consented to the filing
of this amicus brief, and letters reflecting their consent have been filed
with the Clerk.

? Conference Report on H.R. 1058, Private Securities Litigation Re-
form Act of 1995, 141 Cong. Rec. H14039, H14051 (Dec. 6, 1995).

2

have a strong incentive to bring securities class action
claims without regard to their underlying merit. By di-
verting resources away from productive economic uses,
meritless securities actions threaten to slow the spread of
new investments, reduce the efficiency of capital markets,
and limit the competitiveness of the American economy.
The membership of the Chamber thus has a strong inter-
est in ensuring that the requirements of the federal secu-
rities laws are applied in a correct and uniform manner,
weeding out meritless suits as quickly and regularly as
practicable, in order to avoid undue harm to the nation’s
commerce and industry.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

While the statutory and legislative history arguments
for reversal are familiar, what may not be so apparent is
the practical impact of the Ninth Circuit’s ruling in con-
temporary securities class action litigation. Simply put,
the court of appeals’ decision, if affirmed, would make
what is already a bad situation very much worse.

First, due to pressures unique to American securities
litigation, businesses are typically forced to settle even
meritless suits. Unless a case can be dismissed through
early motions practice, the subsequent threat of class cer-
tification forces corporate executives to choose between
staking the future of their companies on the outcome of a
single jury verdict, or settling even when they may have
no legal liability.

Securities class action suits, moreover, often benefit
class counsel more than they do class members, with set-
tlement payments simply involving a transfer of wealth
from current shareholders to former shareholders, minus,
of course, contingent attorneys’ fees that typically run be-
tween 19% and 45%. As one leading securities class ac-
tion plaintiff's lawyer has candidly admitted: “I have the
greatest practice in the world because I have no clients. I

3

bring the case. I hire the plaintiff. I do not have some
client telling me what to do. I decide what to do.”*

Second, into this environment the Ninth Circuit’s hold-
ing introduces a new legal rule that only further encour-
ages plaintiffs to file and companies to settle meritless
claims by removing a key safeguard against such suits.
Worse still, the Ninth Circuit’s rule encourages risky in-
vestment behavior, effectively forcing issuers to insure
against speculative losses having nothing to do with their
own conduct. Under the Ninth Circuit’s rule, an investor
can file a claim and obtain recovery even when the disclo-
sure of an aliegedly fraudulent statement has absolutely
no effect on the stock price. To estimate damages in the
absence of any contemporaneous real world stock price
movement, moreover, the Ninth Circuit’s rule requires
litigants (and courts) to resort to exactly the sort of “junk
science” economics this Court has consistently discour-
aged. And because it permits claims for any allegedly
false statement, without respect to demonstrated market
injury, the Ninth Circuit’s rule has the effect of chilling
investment advice and reporting within the securities
industry.

By contrast, the alternative loss causation rule en-
dorsed by the Government, petitioners, and four circuits‘
would avoid all of these problems while ensuring full re-
covery of real losses, consistent with the established tort
principle that, although “the consequences of an act go

3 See In re Network Assocs., Inc. Sec. Litig., 76 F. Supp. 2d 1017,
1032 (N.D. Cal. 1999) (quoting attorney William S. Lerach).

* The court of appeals below acknowledged that this interpretation
of the loss causation requirement differed from the standards articu-
lated by the Third and Eleventh Circuits. See Semerenko v. Cendant
Corp., 223 F.3d 165 (3d Cir. 2000); Robbins v. Koger Props., Inc., 116
F.3d 1441 (11th Cir. 1997). The court of appeals did not, however, cite
or discuss the additional conflicting decisions of the Second and Sev-
enth Circuits. See Emergent Capital Inv. Mgmt., LLC v. Stonepath
Group, Inc., 343 F.3d 189 (2d Cir. 2003); Bastian v. Petren Res. Corp.,
892 F.2d 680 (7th Cir. 1990).

4

forward to eternity, . . . legal responsibility must be lim-
ited to those causes which are so closely connected with
the result.” W. Page Keeton et al., Prosser and Keeton on
Torts § 41, at 264 (5th ed. 1984).

ARGUMENT

I. THE PRESSURE TO SETTLE EVEN MUDIT-
LESS SECURITIES CLASS ACTIONS IMPOSES
AN ENORMOUS TOLL ON THE AMERICAN
ECONOMY

This Court has long recognized that securities fraud Liti-
gation presents “a danger oi vexatiousness different in
degree and in kind from that which accompanies litigation
in general.” Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421
U.S. 723, 739 (1975). Because the amount of damages
demanded can be so great, corporations are frequently
forced to forgo the adversarial process, settling even
meritless suits in order to avoid the prospect of bank-
ruptcy. Indeed, studies indicate that, unless a securities
class action is dismissed on the pleadings, it is virtually
certain to settle. See Elliot J. Weiss & John S. Becker-
man, Let the Money Do the Monitoring: How Institutional
Investors Can Reduce Agency Costs in Securities Class Ac-
tions, 104 Yale L.J. 2053, 2064 (1995); Woodruff-Sawyer
& Co., A Study of Shareholder Class Action Litigation 25
(2002) (83% of securities fraud cases are resolved through
settlement).

So great is the pressure on corporations to settle that,
even when defendants do succeed in obtaining a trial
court dismissal, the risk of losing on appeal can still lead
to enormous settlements. By way of example, just earlier
this year one securities defendant agreed to settle a pend-
ing class action for $300 million even after the suit was
dismissed on the merits with prejudice in the trial court.°®

° Jonathan Weil, Win Lawsuit —and Pay $300 Million, Wall St. J.,
Aug. 2, 2004, at C3.

5

To be sure, Congress has sought to address these prob-
lems, passing the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act
(“PSLRA”) in 1995 and the Securities Litigation Uniform
Standards Act in 1998. Despite these efforts at reform,
however, the number of securities class actions has not
declined. See Laura E. Simmons & Ellen M. Ryan, Cor-
nerstone Research, Post-Reform Act Securities Lawsuits:
Settlements Reported Through December 2003 (May 2004)
(“PSLRA Settlements”). Quite the opposite, in fact, has —
occurred: in the six years since the enactment of the
PSLRA, the mean number of securities fraud suits has
risen by an astonishing 32%. See Michael A. Perino, Did
the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act Work?, 2003
U. Ill. L. Rev. 913, 930. Another published study has con-
cluded that, following the enactment of the PSLRA, public
companies now face a nearly 60% greater chance of being
sued by shareholders. See 2003 Early Update. And the
dismissal rate of securities fraud lawsuits between 1996
and 2003 averaged only 8.4%, with dismissals in three of
the 11 federal circuits averaging just 4%, a result that
Congress hardly anticipated or intended. See id. at 5.

Just as the number of cases continues to rise despite
congressional efforts to rein them in, class members all
too often continue to find themselves in the unfortunate
position of losing regardless of the outcome of these cases.
Because payments come out of corporate coffers, securities
class actions frequently involve only “a transfer of wealth
from current shareholders to former shareholders.” Janet
Cooper Alexander, Rethinking Damages in Securities
Class Actions, 48 Stan. L. Rev. 1487, 1503 (1996). Thus,

6 See also Frank H. Easterbrook & Daniel R. Fischel, Optimal Dam-
ages in Securities Cases, 52 U. Chi. L. Rev. 611, 638-39 (1985); see also
Jennifer H. Arlen & William J. Carney, Vicarious Liability for Fraud
on Securities Markets: Theory and Evidence, 1992 U. Ill. L. Rev. 691,
698-700; Donald C. Langevoort, Capping Damages for Open-Market
Securities Fraud, 38 Ariz. L. Rev. 639, 650 & n.48 (1996); Perine, Did
the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act Work?, 2003 U. Ill. L. Rev.
at 921-22.

6

to the extent that class members still own shares in the
company at the time of the suit (as they often do), “pay-
ments by the corporation to settle a class action amount to
transferring money from one pocket to the other, with
about half of it dropping on the floor for lawyers to pick
up.” Jd. As Judge Friendly once remarked, securities
fraud litigation carries the risk of “‘large judgments, pay-
able in the last analysis by innocent investors, for the
benefit of speculators and their lawyers.’” Blue Chip
Stamps, 421 U.S. at 739 (quoting SEC v. Texas Gulf Sul-
phur Co., 401 F.2d 833, 867 (2d Cir. 1968)).

A recent case against Qwest Communications illus-
trates the phenomenon. There, plaintiffs’ counsel sought
to increase the pressure on defendants to settle by moving
to freeze approximately $400 million of potential proceeds
from a planned sale of a Qwest business unit.’ The plain-
tiffs’ lawyers claimed that the sale should be enjoined to
ensure that the as-yet-to-be certified class (and its coun-
sel) would get paid if they ultimately won the suit. But
Qwest badly needed the proceeds from the sale to avoid
bankruptcy.* The district court eventually denied the mo-
tion and expressly found that a freeze would not benefit
all putative class members or the company, but only for-
mer shareholders and the attorneys.’ According to the
court, entering the injunction sought would likely have
bankrupted the company and rendered worthless the
stock of thousands of would-be class members who were
still shareholders in Qwest.'° :

Securities class actions are also frequently filed so
quickly after a stock price decline that any reasonable fac-

7 In re Qwest Communications Int, Inc. Sec. Litig., 243 F. Supp. 2d
1179 (D. Colo. 2003).

® Press Release, Qwest Communications, Qwest Communications
Statement In Response to Motion Filed by Milberg Weiss Bershad
Hynes & Lerach LLP (Nov. 4, 2002).

® Qwest Communications, 243 F. Supp. 2d at 1186-87.
1° Td. at 1188.

7

tual investigation into the merits is simply impossible.
By way of example, one court found it “peculiar that four
of the lawsuits consolidated in this action were filed
around 10:00 a.m. on the first business day following [the
defendant’s] announcement” and that “[mJost of the com-
plaints are virtually identical (including typographical
errors).”'! At the hearing on the defendant’s motion to
dismiss, the judge inquired “How did you get to be so
smart and to acquire all this knowledge about fraud from
Friday to Tuesday? ... On Friday afternoon did your cli-
ent suddenly appear at your doorstep and say ‘My God, I
just read in the Wall Street Journal about Travelers.
They defrauded me,’ and you agreed with them and you
interviewed them and you determined that there was
fraud and therefore you had a good lawsuit, so you filed it
Tuesday morning, is that what happened?” The court
noted that “[cJounsel for the plaintiffs was not responsive
to this line of inquiry.”"”

Efforts at reform notwithstanding, virtually all securi-
ties class action cases continue to be settled with little or
no regard to their underlying merit. As Congress, the
courts, and commentators have all observed, “[t]oo fre-
quently, corporate decisionmakers are confronted with the
implacable arithmetic of the class action: even a meritless
case with only a 5% chance of success at trial must be set-
tled if the complaint claims hundreds of millions of dollars
in damages.” H.R. Rep. No. 106-320, at 8 (1999).'*° The

1! Ferber v. Travelers Corp., 785 F. Supp. 1101, 1106 n.8 (D. Conn.
1991).

12 Td. (brackets omitted).

13 See also West v. Prudential Sec., Inc., 282 F.3d 935, 937 (7th Cir.
2002) (noting scholarly concerns that “settlements in securities cases
reflect high risk of catastrophic loss, which together with imperfect
alignment of managers’ and investors’ interests leads defendants to
pay substantial sums even when the plaintiffs have weak positions”);
Victor E. Schwartz et al., Federal Courts Should Decide Interstate
Class Actions: A Call for Federal Class Action Diversity Jurisdiction
Reform, 37 Harv. J. on Legis. 483, 490 (2000) (“For defendants, the risk

8

magnitude of the continuing pressure to settle even strike
suits is perhaps most clearly exposed by the fact that,
since the PSLRA’s passage, more than 2,000" securities
fraud cases have been filed in federal court, yet defen-
dants have taken less than 1% to trial.!° As one observer
commented over a decade ago in words equally applicable
today, there is simply “no appreciable risk of non-
recovery” in securities class actions. Janet Cooper Alex-
ander, Do the Merits Matter? A Study of Settlements in
Securities Class Actions, 43 Stan. L. Rev. 497, 578
(1991).'© Merely “/gJetting the claim into the legal system,
without more, sets in motion forces that ultimately com-
pel a multi-million dollar payment.” Jd. at 569 (emphasis
added). Accord Hevesi v. Citigroup Inc., 366 F.3d 70, 80
(2d Cir. 2004) (noting “numerous courts and scholars have
warned that settlements in large [securities] class actions
can be divorced from the parties’ underlying legal posi-
tions”); Newton v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,
Inc., 259 F.3d 154, 164 (3d Cir. 2001) (discussing the “in-
ordinate or hydraulic pressure on [securities fraud] defen-

of participating in a single trial [of all claims], and facing a once-and-
for-all verdict is ordinarily intolerable.”) (internal quotation marks
omitted).

'* See Stanford Law School & Cornerstone Research, Securities
Class Action Clearinghouse, at http://securities.stanford.edu/
companies. html.

® Richard Painter et al., The Federalist Society for Law and Public
Policy Studies, Private Securities Litigation Reform Act: A Post-Enron
Analysis 8 (2003), at http://www.fed-soc.org/pdf/PSLRAF™NALII.PDF
(“PSLRA Analysis”).

© As the Second Circuit has observed, “[a]necdotal evidence tends to
confirm [Professor Alexander's] conclusion. Indeed, [Melvyn I.] Weiss
and his partner William S. Lerach of the Milberg firm have stated that
losses in these cases are ‘few and far between,’ and they achieve a ‘sig-
nificant settlement although not always a big legal fee, in 90% of the
cases [they] file.” Goldberger v. Integrated Res., Inc., 209 F.3d 43, 52
(2d Cir. 2000) (quoting Jn re Quantum Health Res., Inc. Sec. Litig., 962
F. Supp. 1254, 1258 (C.D. Cal. 1997)).

9

dants to settle, avoiding the risk, however small, of poten-
tially ruinous liability”).

It is well known, too, that the same few law firms bring
the great bulk of these claims. One recent study found
that, since the passage of the PSLRA, a single firm (re-
cently split into two) has been involved as lead or co-lead
plaintiffs’ counsel in over 50% of securities class action
settlements.'’ In the cases where competition for lead
counsel status does emerge, accusations are sometimes
exchanged by the plaintiffs’ bar that one or another firm
has offered to “pay off” competitors to withdraw their ap-
plications to serve as lead counsel, leading at least one
court to observe that

[w]hile over a dozen law firms participated early on in
this litigation, only two filed proposals to represent
the class, and only one of these proposals appears se-
rious. This suggests an understanding or collabora-
tion among plaintiff firms engaged in securities class
action litigation that many would choose not to bid for
this litigation .... The indicia of such cooperation
raises serious doubts about the conditions of competi-
tion in this segment of the legal services industry.'®

Commenting on the phenomenon of contemporary secu-
rities class action litigation, a Florida court described the
whole process as “the class litigation equivalent of the
‘Squeegee boys’ who used to frequent major urban inter-
sections and who would run up to a stopped car, splash
soapy water on its perfectly clean windshield and expect
payment for the uninvited service of wiping it off.”
Fruchter v. Florida Progress Corp., No. 99-6167CI-20,
2002 WL 1558220, at *10 (Fla. Cir. Ct. Mar. 20, 2002).

17 See PSLRA Settlements at 14 (discussing the Milberg Weiss Ber-
shad Hynes & Lerach firm, now divided into two separate partnerships
known as Milberg Weiss Bershad & Schulman, and Lerach Coughlin
Stoia Geller Rudman & Robbins); see also PSLRA Analysis at 15-16.

8 In re California Micro Devices Sec. Litig., No. C-94-2817-VRW,
1995 WL 476625, at *4 (N.D. Cal. Aug. 4, 1995).

10

Simply put, despite Congress’s clear intent and two ef-
forts at reform, American business continues to contend
with “precisely the sort of lawyer-driven machinations the
PSLRA was designed to prevent.” In re BankAmerica
Corp. Sec. Litig., 95 F. Supp. 2d 1044, 1050 (E.D. Mo.
2000) (criticizing the “outrageous” attempts of plaintiffs’
counsel to commandeer the class action for their own
benefit), affd, 263 F.3d 795 (8th Cir. 2001). The drain on
the American economy and its global competitiveness is
substantial. In the last four years alone, securities class
action settlements have exceeded two billion dollars per
year."® And the problem continues to grow. In 2002, the
average price of settling a securities fraud claim rose to
$24.3 million, a 68% increase from 2001. See Laura E.
Simmons & Ellen M. Ryan, Cornerstone Research, Post-
Reform Act Securities Lawsuits: Settlements Reported
Through December 2002, at 3 (May 2003). In 2003, the
average settlement value for accounting-related securities
fraud cases reached $26.5 million. 2003 Pricewater-
houseCoopers Securities Litigation Study (rel. Aug. 2,
2004), at http:/Awww.10b5.com/2003_study.pdf.

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT'S RULE WOULD SIG-
NIFICANTLY EXACERBATE THE PROBLEMS
AND INCREASE THE SOCIAL COSTS ASSOCI-
ATED WITH MERITLESS SECURITIES CLASS
ACTIONS

“The economics of sanctions starts from the proposition
that the objective of a legal rule is to deter certain unde-
sirable behavior without simultaneously deterring (too
much) beneficial behavior.” Easterbrook & Fischel, Op-
tional Damages in Securities Cases; 52 U. Chi. L. Rev. at
612. The Ninth Circuit's rule disregards this fundamen-
tal objective in many notable and problematic respects.

'? See PSLRA Settlements at 1. In 2000 alone, the total value of se-
curities fraud cases (adjusted for inflation) was estimated at $4.428
bilhon. Jd. Settlements in 2001 were estimated at $2.1 billion, rising
to $2.53°7 billon in 2002, and holding at $2.016 billion in 2003. Id.

11

A. Rather than holding companies liable for the dam-
age they inflict, as reflected by actual market events, the
Ninth Circuit’s rule permits liability to be found and
damages to be awarded even when the plaintiff can point
to no actual market price reaction to a corrective disclo-
sure. By way of example, suppose a plaintiff buys $50 of
stock in the defendant corporation. As time passes, the
value of the plaintiff's investment declines to $5. After
this decline, the defendant announces the restatement of
an accounting item, yet the plaintiff's shares remain at
$5. In most circuits, any subsequent securities class ac-
tion would be dismissed. By contrast, under the Ninth
Circuit’s rule, a plaintiff can proceed to trial simply by
hiring an expert to render an opinion on how much of the
price the plaintiff paid was “inflated” because of the un-
disclosed accounting issue. Plaintiffs and their lawyers,
thus, can obtain a recovery even where investors are not
demonstrably hurt by the alleged fraud — including in
cases where the plaintiffs sold before the alleged misrep-
resentation was exposed, or the misrepresentation was
never exposed at all, or it was exposed but the market did
not respond negatively. 7

Such a regime serves only to exacerbate the already-
intense pressure on companies to settle securities class
action suits without regard to their merit. Denying courts
any means for weeding out at the pleading stage suits
where the alleged fraud had no empirical effect on share
price, and thus imposed no demonstrable harm on class
members, the Ninth Circuit’s rule adds fuel to a fire in
which virtually every case is settled, wealth is transferred
away from current shareholders and productive economic
uses to former shareholders, and lawyers are enriched.

The facts of this case are illustrative. On February 24,
1998, Dura announced a revenue shortfall for the follow-
ing year, unrelated to any alleged fraud. By the next day,
shares in Dura dropped from $39.125 to $20.75 for a one-
day loss of 47%. Some nine months later, on November 3,
1998, Dura announced for the first time that the United

12

States Food and Drug Administration had declined to ap-
prove its Albuterol Spiros product — an announcement
that plaintiffs contend constitutes the first public disclo-
sure of the alleged fraud in this case. Following this an-
nouncement, however, Dura shares fell only slightly and
briefly. Share prices initially dropped from $12.375 to
$9.75, but, within 12 trading days, they recovered to
$12.438, ultimately climbing to $14.00 within 90 days of
the announcement.

Plaintiffs in this suit, however, never alleged damages
based on the brief and shallow $2.625 stock price dip after
the November 3 disclosure of the supposed fraud. Rather,
they demand recovery based on the much more significant
February 24 stock price decline of $19, even though plain-
tiffs themselves allege no corrective disclosure in that an-
nouncement. In short, plaintiffs in this case seek dam-
ages based on a decline in share value that occurred nine
months before the disclosure of the alleged fraud. And it
is beyond cavil that a company facing potential liability of
$19 per share is in a wildly different posture when it
comes to deciding whether to litigate or settle than one
facing potential liability of, at most, $2.625 per share.

B. Relatedly, the Ninth Circuit’s rule dangerously
skews investment incentives. To be sure, speculative in-
vestments are a natural — and even beneficial — part of
any free and open market: “[I]n stock trading, as else-
where, speculation serves the salutary purpose of ena-
bling the rapid adjustment of prices to current values.”
Richard A. Posner, Economic Analysis of the Law 458 (6th
ed. 2003). Because “[t]he speculator is the eager searcher
for undervalued and overvalued securities,” information
discovered through this search “diffuses rapidly through-
out the market.” Jd.

In particular, speculators may be attracted to what
economists refer to as “rational bubbles,” where a stock’s
price incorporates all publicly available information with-
out “represent[ing]} the true [market] value of the underly-

13

ing company.” Paul A. Ferrillo et al., The “Less Than” Ef-
ficient Capital Markets Hypothesis: Requiring More Proof
from Plaintiffs in Fraud-on-the-Market Cases, 78 St.
John’s L. Rev. 81, 114 (2004). Investors might reasonably
conclude that an overvalued stock will continue to appre-
ciate during the life of the bubble. See id. at 115. These
investors realize that “[e]ventually the bubble will burst,
of course, but it is always a fair investment until that
point.” Id.

Naturally, the significant potential benefits of specula-
tion also carry a correspondingly high degree of risk. Un-
der the Ninth Circuit’s rule, however, much of that risk is
transferred away. If the price of a stock investment de-
clines, the speculator can state a claim for relief, and
likely obtain a significant settlement, merely by alleging
that the defendant made a “misleading” statement — and
do so even if the stock failed to decline after a corrective
disclosure and moved downward only much later after
other news. Such a regime unnaturally encourages risky
investments by underwriting speculative losses unrelated
to the defendant’s conduct, and effectively serves to trans-
form the federal securities laws into “a system of investor
insurance that reimburses investors for any decline in the
value of their investments.” Robbins, 116 F.3d at 1447.

C. The Ninth Circuit regime also encourages, and in
fact depends upon, a return to the use of “junk science.”
Because the Ninth Circuit's rule allows recovery where
disclosures do not prompt any stock price decline, plain-
tiffs’ experts are, by necessity, forced to resort to a grab-
bag of speculative theories to estimate damages; and
without any negative market reaction to the actual disclo-
sure there is simply no objective way for courts, juries, or
opposing parties to check their work. See Robbins, 116
F.3d at 1448.

Such a result stands in marked contrast with the
Court’s repeated attempts to remove precisely this sort of
speculation about damages from the federal court system.

14
Cf. General Elec. Co. v. Joiner, 522 U.S. 136 (1997);

Kumho Tire Co. v. Carmichael, 526 U.S. 137 (1999);

Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharms., Inc., 509 U.S. 579, 579
(1993). Indeed, the same concerns that spurred the pas-
sage of the PSLRA in 1995 — including an abundance of
frivolous suits, questionable claims of injury, and specula-
tive theories of causation — prompted the adoption of
Federal Rule of Evidence 702 and this Court’s holding in
Daubert.

Both Daubert and Rule 702 address the need to ensure
that the nexus between a plaintiff's injury and the alleged
cause of that injury is supported by reliable evidence.
Prior to Daubert, courts viewed relevancy under a loose
standard that tolerated almost any correlation between
cause and injury. Without a rigorous examination of the
causal nexus underlying the allegations, “marginal or un-
reliable” theories of causation regularly proceeded to trial.
See Kenneth R. Foster et al., Phantom Risk: Scientific In-
ference and the Law 433 (1993).

Daubert and Rule 702 provided courts with the tools to
screen out scientifically questionable claims in two ways.
First, Daubert allowed courts to determine whether a
claim is based on a proper temporal logic, where the al-
leged harmful act precedes the alleged injury. Second,
Daubert required plaintiffs to exclude other factors, be-
yond the alleged harmful act, that could have caused their
alleged injuries. Together, these guideposts “invite[d]
courts to take a hard look” at the causal basis underlying
a plaintiff's alleged injury and thus to “act with dispatch”
in rejecting speculative, unproven, and unprovable dam-
ages claims. Christopher B. Mueller & Laird C.
Kirkpatrick, Evidence § 7.17, at 740 (2d ed. 1999).

Loss causation under the PSLRA, as interpreted by
other circuit courts, achieves this same goal in the securi-
ties context. By subjecting securities claims to the re-
quirement of a decline in stock price close in time to the
disclosure of the alleged fraud, courts are able to test for

15

some reliable indication whether plaintiffs’ alleged dam-
ages were caused by fluctuations in the marketplace due
to causes other than the defendant’s putative fraud. Like
the gatekeeping function endorsed in Daubert, the loss
causation requirement helps to screen out securities fraud
actions built upon “phantom” injuries — cases involving
actual harms producing actual suffering, but for which no
single cause can be reliably identified. See Foster, Phan-
tom Risk 1.

Judge Easterbrook has discussed exactly this point in
the class vertification context, noting that, unless courts
insist on a firm “causal link between non-public informa-
tion and securities prices,” they are left with only a
“clash” of experts, a situation that amounts “to a delega-
tion of judicial power to the plaintiffs, who can obtain
class certification just by hiring a competent expert,” leav-
ing defendants subject to damages that have not been —
and cannot be — “verified empirically.” West, 282 F.3d at
938-40.

Such a result, invited by the Ninth Circuit’s reasoning,
defies the “universal requirement” that any claim sound-
ing in tort must include a sufficient allegation that the
defendant's conduct caused the plaintiff's injury, or,
stated simply, “[nJo hurt, no tort.” Bastian, 892 F.2d at
683-84; see also Guido Calabresi, Concerning Cause and
the Law of Torts: An Essay for Harry Kalven, Jr., 43 U.
Chi. L. Rev. 69, 79 (1975). And without a hard look by the
courts to ensure “some reasonable connection between the
act or omission of the defendant and the damage which
the plaintiff has suffered,” Keeton, Prosser and Keeton on
Torts § 41, at 263, litigants risk being exposed to “infinite
liability for all wrongful acts,” no matter how loos<ly con-
nected or unrelated such conduct may be to the actual
performance of a shareholder’s investment, id. at 264.
There is no reason to presume that Congress sought to
endorse such a rule, so alien to traditional tort principles
and this Court’s holdings in Daubert and its progeny,

16

when it codified the loss causation requirement in the se-
curities fraud arena.

D. The Ninth Circuit’s rule, if permitted to stand, will
also serve to chill investment advice and reporting and
the free flow of information in our capital markets. To
date, securities class actions typically have been aimed at
issuers and their executives. But without a requirement
that plaintiffs tie any alleged disclosure to a timely mar-
ket effect, no apparent barrier will remain to prevent fu-
ture litigants from bolder attempts to expand liability to
anyone even remotely connected to an investment deci-
sion. So long as the market price of a stock is deemed to
take account of the communication at issue pursuant to
the efficient market hypothesis endorsed in Basic Inc. v.
Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988), investor reliance on that
communication is presumed and dissatisfied investors are
free to bring class action claims on them. See Bastian,
892 F.2d at 685. Accordingly, any allegedly false invest-
ment information from any source — not just issuers —
could conceivably become the basis for triggering liability
to all investors.

For example, media programs with “talking heads”
have become a popular feature on cable television.”°
Internet sites such as “The Motley Fool” also regularly
praise investments like Dura Pharmaceuticals. And, of
course, investment banks make buy and sell recommen-
dations. Without a legal rule limiting the scope of liabil-
ity to disclosures that bear a close causal link with spe-
cific stock price declines, dissatisfied investors could
conceivably bring claims against such sources simply by
finding some false statement recommending a stock made
before a wide public audience. See Bastian, 892 F.2d at
685.

20 See, e.g., CNN, CNNfn on TV, at http://money.cnn.com/ontv:
FOXNews.com, FNC Shows, at http://www.foxnews.com/business;
_ CNBC, CNBC TV, at http://moneycentral.msn.com/cnbc/tv/default.asp.

17

To avoid this consequence, corporations — along with
investment firm stock analysts, media sources touting
stocks, and others —- will have a strong incentive to limit
their discussions to the narrowest possible scope, or cease
publishing information on stocks altogether. Such a re-
sult, of course, is inconsistent with the very premise of an
open capital market, which depends on the freest possible
flow of information. See Posner, Economic Analysis of the
Law 457-58 (explaining that “[i]nformation that may mis-
lead some members of the audience may be valuable to
others”); see also Securities Fraud on the Internet: Hear-
ings Before the Permanent Subcomm. on Investigations of
the Senate Comm. on Government Affairs, 106th Cong. 79-
91 (Mar. 22-23, 1999) (testimony of Thomas M. Gardner,
founder of The Motley Fool, Inc.), available at 1999 WL
8085871 (“We believe that technology, especially the
Internet, allows people to obtain information that once
was the exclusive property of Wall Street professionals, so
that they can make their own financial decisions better
than the professionals they previously relied upon.”).

CONCLUSION
The decision of the court of appeals should be reversed.

18

Respectfully submitted,

ROBIN S. CONRAD NEIL M. GORSUCH
STEPHANIE A. MARTZ Counsel of Record
NATIONAL CHAMBER PAUL B. MATEY

LITIGATION CENTER, INC. KELLOGG, HUBER, HANSEN,
1615 H Street, N.W. TODD & EVANS, P.L.L.C.
Washington, D.C. 20036 1615 M Street, N.W.
(202) 463-5337 Suite 400

Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 326-7900

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

September 13, 2004

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0731%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
