# Supplemental Brief — Dura Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Broudo

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0731%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Supplemental Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 336

## Text

Supreme Coun U s
(9) FILED
JUN 18 2004
No. 03-932 | OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

DURA PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.; CAM L. GARNER;
JAMES W. NEWMAN; CHARLES W. PRETTYMAN; WALTER
F. SPATH; JAMES C. BLAIR; JULIA R. BROWN; JOSEPH C.
COOK, JR.; and MITCHELL R. WOODBURY,

Petitioners,
v

MICHAEL BROUDO; BALDEV S. GILL; LARRY MORGAN
IRA; LEONID SHVARTSMAN, (for G&S partnership);
NEIL SISKIND; ROBERTA SPECK; BRENT VOGT, on behalf
of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE
Unitep STATES Court OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

WILLIAM F. SULLIVAN
Counsel of Record
CHRISTOPHER H. MCGRATH
Tracey L. DeELANGE
PauL, HasTINGs, JANOFSKY
& Wacker LLP
3579 Valley Centre Drive
San Diego, CA 92130
(858) 720-2500

Attorneys for Petitioners

188044 ce

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

l

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

Petitioners’ corporate disclosure statement was set forth
at page / of their reply brief, and there are no amendments to
that statement.

il ul
TABLE OF CONTENTS TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES
Page Page
Cases:
Statement Pursuant to Rule 29.6 ............... 1
. Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S.
1 ol gt ee er il CE 2
Table of Cited Authorities ...................0.. lil In re Commtouch Software Ltd. Sec. Litig., 2002
WL 3147998 (N.D. Cal. July 24, 2002) ........ 5
ee l

In re Electronic Data Systems Corp. Securities and
“ERISA” Litigation, 298 F. Supp.2d 544
(B.D. Tem. Jam. 13, 20046) ... 2... ccc ccc cece 3

In re Enron Corp. Securities, Derivative & “ERISA”
Litigation, 310 F. Supp.2d 819 (S.D. Tex.
EE 3

In re Syntex Corp. Sec. Litig., 95 F.3d 922 (9th Cir.

DPM EUCCEetesacbdccesesceccesceces 5
eee ie cen deeececévcececes 2

Robbins v. Kroger Properties, Inc., 116 F.3d 1441
es eee ccc cccecececceccces 6

Santa Fe Indus., Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462 (1977)

Semerenko v. Cendant Corp., 223 F.3d 165 (3d Cir.
EE EEE EP 6

iv

Cited Authorities
Page
United States v. Bornstein, 423 U.S. 303 (1976) ... 2
United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373
DD Gc wivedecnsvcdoncseucseueeeennteeas l

l

Petitioners do not oppose respondents’ motion for leave
to file a supplemental brief in response to the Solicitor
General’s Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae so
long as this Response is considered also.

1. This case is about the proper standard for pleading loss
causation. Whether reversal by the Supreme Court results in
a complete dismissal of respondents’ Albuterol Spiros claims
or the filing of an amended (albeit severely limited) complaint
by respondents, there can be no doubt that the determination
of the proper standard for loss causation “is fundamental to
the further conduct of the case” and therefore meets the
standard for review. United States v. General Motors Corp.,
323 U.S. 373, 377 (1945) (granting certiorari to determine
which items of loss would properly be part of damages).
As the Solic:tor General demonstrated, that standard is easily
met here. (SG Brief at 15-18).

If the Court reverses, one of two outcomes will happen.
The most likely is that the district court’s dismissal will be
affirmed. The only other possible outcome is that the
respondents will be required to replead to limit their Albuterol
Spiros claims to the decline after the November 1998
announcement. This will both eliminate all claims for class
members that sold before the November 1998 announcement,
and drastically reduce or negate any alleged damages for all
remaining class members. (See Pet. at 18; Pet. Reply at 8).
Thus, the Court’s ruling will be “fundamental to the further
conduct of the case” on remand whichever course is followed.
Accordingly, certiorari should be granted to resolve the
important and recurring circuit conflict on loss causation. '

1. Supreme Court precedent is replete with examples of cases
where the Court has accepted review of and decided issues concerning
(Cont'd)

2

2. Respondents’ Supplemental Brief recycles the arguments
previously expressed by them in their Response in Opposition
to Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Again, respondents fail in
their attempt to obfuscate the existence of the acknowledged
conflict among the circuits — a viewpoint that is shared by
no one else. The conflict was erpressly recognized by the
Ninth Circuit in its decision below as well as by other courts,
by petitioners, and by the Securities Industry Association.
It is also now acknowledged in this case by the Solicitor
General and the Securities and Exchange Commission.
That conflict has been thoroughly briefed by petitioners, the
Securities Industry Association as Amicus Curiae, and the
United States as Amicus Curiae. Those arguments need not
be reiterated here. As each of the briefs submitted by these
parties illustrates, and as the Ninth Circuit itself has expressly

(Cont'd)

the appropriate scope or measure of relief available to a plaintuff,
and such review was not impeded where applying the correct legal
standard would not result in dismissal of the action in its entirety.
See, e.g., Norfolk & Western Ry. Co. v. Ayers, 538 U.S. 135 (2003)
(addressed issue of whether asbestosis plaintiff could recover pain
and suffering damages for his fear of developing cancer, availability
of other relief was not in question); United States v. Bornstein, 423
U.S. 303 (1976) (in a False Claims Act case, the issue was how many
forfeitures the government was entitled to and how double damages
were to be calculated; there was no dispute as to the government's
entitlement to the forfeitures and to double damages). Also, as noted
in our prior submission, the Court has granted certiorari to resolve
important Rule 10b-5 issues in other cases involving circuit court
reversals of Rule 12(b)(6) dismissal of complaints. See Santa Fe
Indus., Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462, 469 (1977) (establishing that
Rule 10b-5 does not cover mismanagement or breach of fiduciary
duty); Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723, 727
(1975) (establishing that private Rule 10b-5 plaintiff must be a
purchaser or seller).

3

acknowledged, the conflict is real, persistent and well-
positioned for resolution by this Court.’

3. Notwithstanding respondents’ assertion that the Solicitor
General has misunderstood and misstated Ninth Circuit law,
respondents nonetheless argue that the Solicitor General
is, in fact, aligned with their position that a decline in
stock price is not necessary to establish loss causation.
This interpretation of the Solicitor General’s position is not
reasonable. The Solicitor General clearly indicates that in
order to establish loss causation, there must be an actual
reductive effect in the price of the stock — whether in the
form of an overall decline in stock price or a decline in price
which is masked by an unrelated increase — that results from
disclosure of the alleged misrepresentation. As the Solicitor
General reasoned,

it cannot be said that an investor in a fraud-on-
the-market case who purchases a security at an
inflated price has suffered any loss at the time of
purchase, much less one caused by the defendant’s
misrepresentation. . . . Measuring the loss in such
a case as of the time of purchase, and not requiring

2. As the Solicitor General correctly pointed out, in their petition
for rehearing en banc, petitioners invited the Ninth Circuit to
reconsider its decision, in light of the inter-circuit conflict as well as
the intra-circuit conflict. (Pet. App. 52a-53a). The Ninth Circuit
denied the petition without comment. As such, the decision here is
the law of the Ninth Circuit on loss causation. Indeed, it already has
been cited as such by district courts. See Jn re Enron Corp. Securities,
Derivative & “ERISA” Litigation, 310 F. Supp.2d 819, 836 (S.D.
Tex. Mar. 29, 2004); Jn re Electronic Data Systems Corp. Securities

and “ERISA” Litigation, 298 F. Supp.2d 544, 560 (E.D. Tex. Jan.
13, 2004).

4

any allegation of a subsequent loss of value
attributable to the fraud, would grant a windfall
to investors. ...

(SG Brief at 11) (emphasis added).

In their attempt to align the Solicitor General's position
with their own, respondents rely solely on the Solicitor
General’s hypothetical example wherein the disclosure of
negative and positive information results in an overall net
increase in stock price and thus a masking of the reduction
in price caused by the negative disclosure. (SG Brief at 13).
This hypothetical is of no matter to this case because here
we do not have even an allegation of a post-disclosure price
reduction masked by other positive information. Instead,
respondents seek to recover losses for the February 25,1 998
decline in stock price, which, by their own admission, is not
causally related to the much later disclosure of the alleged
misrepresentations concerning Albuterol Spiros. Moreover,
the Solicitor General’s hypothetical still requires an allegation
and proof that disclosure of the correct information is what
reduced the price of the stock from what it “would otherwise
have been.” (SG Brief at 13). The Solicitor General clearly
stated its position that the Ninth Circuit's decision here
was incorrect and erroneous. Respondents’ efforts to
mischaracterize the position of the Solicitor General should
be disregarded. Which party will benefit by the legal rule
proposed by the Solicitor General is of no current import.
The sole question here is whether this Court should grant
certiorari, which the Solicitor General has urged it to do.

4. Respondents appear to posit that upon amending their
complaint, they can assert claims based on the November 3,

1998 Albuterol Spiros announcement by Dura and subsequent

5

share price decline on behalf of the putative class. In fact,
respondents cannot now attempt to expand their class to
include purchasers of Dura stock beyond February 25, 1998
through the November 3, 1998 announcement. Such an
expansion would be time-barred. See /n re Syntex Corp. Sec.
Litig., 95 F.3d 922, 935-36 (9th Cir. 1996) (extension of class
period denied where time-barred and would not relate back
because two groups would not have identity of interests and
claimants bought stock at different values and after different
disclosures and statements were made by defendants); /n re
Commtouch Software Ltd. Sec. Litig., 2002 WL 3147998
(N.D. Cal. July 24, 2002) (following Syntex and rejecting
attempt to expand class period where statute of limitations
had lapsed). Consequently, respondents are in fact limited to
attempting to fashion ailegations on behalf of the previously
defined putative class. Further, the leave to amend afforded
respondents by the Ninth Circuit’s Order on the issue of
scienter does not empower them to assert claims concerning
the November 3, 1998 announcement on behalf of even
this class, nor did respondents ever seek such relief.
(Pet. App. 15a-16a). Nowhere did the Ninth Circuit afford
leave to amend with respect to the November 1998 share
price decline or any other novel or previously unraised
causation theories.

Moreover, petitioners are unaware of any authority
supporting respondents’ novel construction of a securities
class action with an identified class period asserting a
damages claim associated with a share price decline which
occurred nine months after the conclusion of that class period.
Such a construct is inconsistent with the basic principles
courts consistently apply in securities class actions where it
is the behavior of the share price or investment during or
immediately at the end of the class period that is relevant to

6

demonstrate economic loss. See, e.g., Robbins v. Kroger
Properties, Inc., 116 F.3d 1441, 1448 (11th Cir. 1997)
(“Plaintiffs offered no evidence of a connection between
Deloitte’s misrepresentation and the decline in price of KPI
stock throughout the class period or following the October
1990 dividend cut [at the end of the class period].”);
Semerenko v. Cendant Corp., 223 F.3d 165, 185-86 (3d Cir.
2000) (holding that plaintiffs’ actual economic loss had been
sufficiently alleged where share price decline occurred at
conclusion of class period).

Respondents’ counsel are among the most sophisticated
practitioners in this field among the plaintiffs’ bar. They were
aware of all of the Albuterol Spiros developments, the
November 3, 1998 announcement and movements in Dura’s
share price up until February 1999 when they filed their first
complaint. It is not accidental that they consciously elected
to define their Class Period as ending on February 25, 1998
with its more substantial associated price decline. They had
the opportunity to amend this Class Period and these very
allegations as late as September 23, 2000, prior to the district
court’s dismissal of the action, and elected not to do so.

5. Respondents argue that because establishing loss
causation can be factually complicated and “potentially
messy,” it is not something to be resolved as a matter of law
at the pleading stage. (Resp. Supp. Brief at 6). As the cases
discussed in the Petition and the supporting briefs make clear,
the required element of loss causation is a rule of law that
applies equally at both the pleading and proof stages — a
proposition which respondents do not dispute. But this
argument is inapplicable to this case. Respondents never
alleged (in either simple or complicated fashion) any decline
in share price (actual or masked) from the information about
Albuterol Spiros announced on November 3, 1998.

7

This case presents the loss causation issue plainly and
cleanly. The decline in value for which respondents seek to
recover occurred on February 25, 1998, the day after the class
period ended, when the price of Dura’s stock dropped 47%.
Respondents do not allege, however, that the 47% drop was
caused by Dura’s announcement regarding Albuterol Spiros,
because it was not until nine months later in November 1998
that Dura and the public learned that the FDA did not approve
Albuterol Spiros. The facts of this case are neither complex
nor messy. Indeed, when the district court applied the proper
standard for loss causation, it granted petitioner’s Rule
12(b)(6) motion and dismissed respondents’ complaint and
its Albuterol Spiros-based allegations with prejudice.

This Court should grant the petition for certiorari.
Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM F. SULLIVAN
Counsel of Record
CHRISTOPHER H. MCGRATH
Tracey L. DELANGE
Paui, Hastincs, JANOFSKY
& WALKER LLP

3579 Valley Centre Drive
San Diego, CA 92130
(858) 720-2500

Attorneys for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0731%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
