# Amicus Curiae Brief — City of Sherrill v. Oneida Indian Nation of NY

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0725%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 197

## Text

"Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
>
@3 SEP 30 20
No. 03-855 OFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States
CITY OF SHERRILL, NEW YORK,
Petitioner,
ONEIDA INDIAN NATION OF NEW YORK, ef al,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

RIYAZ A. KANJI
KANJI & KATZEN, PLLC
201 South Main Street

CARTER G. PHILIPS*
VIRGINIA A. SEITZ
MATTHEW J. WARREN

Suite 1000 SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2177 WoOoD LLP
(734) 769-5400 1501 K Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005
JOHN DOSSETT (202) 736-8000
NATIONAL CONGRESS OF
AMERICAN INDIANS MARK E, HADDAD
851 SW Sixth Avenue SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &
Suite 1650 WOOoD LLP
Portland, OR 97204 555 W. Fifth Street
(503) 248-0783 40th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90013
(213) 896-6000
Counsel for Respondents
September 30, 2004 * Counsel of Record

aE EE aL
WiLSON-Eres “vunTiInG Co., INC. — (202) 789-0086 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

UBEST AVAILABLE COPY |

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TAREE. GF AAT TRIE 6 UNE ctcocccnsccesesesscccsnsssenenmscremessens

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE...

PS CE UNION cccseresessensusamesemstsnssnntannenunsnneneainctiannente

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .............:ccsccsssssssesseeesenes

REETISOTII GS cosessasscssccntnnassennsesnnssneninmmnneiamecsaniinnanenien

THE RULE THAT TRIBAL RESERVATION
LANDS ARE EXEMPT FROM STATE AND
LOCAL TAXATION CLEARLY APPLIES

A. The Lands At Issue Are In “Indian Country”.....

B. The Reacquired Lands Are Not Alienable And,
In Any Event, Congress Has Not Authorized
State And Local Taxation ......00:..cccccesssocscssssoeees

C. The Oneida Reservation Was Never Dimin-
gL Soe aS

A FINDING THAT THE TRIBAL LANDS AT
ISSUE ARE IN INDIAN COUNTRY WILL
NOT HAVE THE APOCALYPTIC CONSE-
QUENCES SHERRILL AND ITS AMICI
ee ne Ee

CG a eee cccreccsnseccertnansengneesensennetanncngtemenapesesmennsnnt

(i)

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Alaska v. Native Village of Venetie Tribal Gov't,
$22 U.S. $20 (199B)....cccscececscecsccceesecececeseees 6, 7,18, 19
Atkinson Trading Co. v. Shirley, 532 U.S. 648
ITI ioc ininletaleasibasitaaiaideiiditinnaasuenapasanamnesedsenneqneareren 29
California v. Cabazon Band of Mission Indians.
es Se TD ecncesitmcenvesecsccccsnscessecessesserseee )
Cass County v. Leech Lake Band of Chippewa
Indians, 524 U.S. 103 (1998).......ccccccceeeeeeeereeen 7, 23
Cherokee Nation v. Georgia, 30 U.S. (5 Pet.) 1
STITT sieetiatstiabiiaeaiiminencipnaneiepbennditiansebiansioncsecineceses 15, 20
Choctaw Nation of Indians v. United States, 318
Be EE ccncnsrnasesteensesenssetensessnantititiencesessece 29
County of Oneida vy. Oneida Indian Nation, 470
TT tain ia etaattnicianlieidnentivoninnnemsouensed passim
County of Yakima v. Confed. Tribes & Bands oj
Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S. 251 (1992)....... 7,9
DeCoteau vy. Dist. County Court, 420 U.S. 425
STI iciseeechiseshdeniniinecenianiinbandtatieenendenensanetcnseesnscecsecs 24, 26

Donnelly v. United States, 228 U.S. 243 (1913)..... 18
FPC vy. Tuscarora Indian Nation, 362 U.S. 99

aaah iain iaaeliaicettaamiatidndaneduenntncton ll
Goudy v. Meath, 203 U.S. 146 (1906) .........cccce00 21
Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994)......... 24, 25, 26, 28
Johnson v. M’Intosh, 21 U.S. (8 Wheat.) 543

TIT obsitsiteatslassehiaticaendineninieaiueenbuemnnniemmememnenemin 4.13
Kan. Indians, 72 U.S. (5 Wall.) 737 ({866) ............ 2,9
Matiz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973) .....ccccccccccccceees 26
Minnesota v. Hitchcock, 185 U.S. 373 (1902)........ 17
Minnesota v. Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa

Indians, 526 U.S. 172 (1999).........0000. 6, 8, 16, 24, 27
Montana v. Blackfeet Tribe of Indians, 47\ U.S.

IIT ciccleesininitestsieennsaindeieaininiatiuniashitacnmmaantasaenine 2,9, 14
Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. 544 (1981) ..... 9,29

iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— continued

Page
New Jersey v. Wilson, 11 U.S. (7 Cranch) 164
ee 15
N.Y. Indians, 72 U.S. (5 Wall.) 761 (1866)............. 2,9
N.W. Bands of Shoshone Indians v. United States,
Ee 29
Okla. Tax Comm'n vy. Chickasaw Nation, 515
LRT EES a ear nene o 2
Okla. Tax Comm'n v. Sac & Fox Nation, 508
EEE Ee re 12
Oneida Indian Nation v. New York, 860 F.2d
re 13
Oneida Indian Nation v. County of Oneida, 414
Se ee ccictreneectnenstencumnenasionies 3,7, 11, 13, 15
Or. Dep't of Fish & Wildlife v. Klamath Indian
ES 26
Rice v. Olsen, 324 U.S. 786 (1945) .....cccccccccccccceeeeee 21
Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584
Ean eit bet itetioniseserisiensinaienntinenineniisilaniaitadiniaiciiaiianetueaiatin 24, 26
Seminole Nation v. United States, 3:6 U.S. 286
Irene taanataiatintans 15
Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) ........... 11, 23, 25,
26, 28

South Dakota v. Bourland, 508 U.S. 679 (1993)..... 24
South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S.

PERSIE steht 8, 21, 24, 27, 28
United States v. Alcea Band of Tilanooks, 329
Aree ne Ce eee 17
United States v. Celestine, 215 U.S. 278 (1909)..... 23
United States v. Creek Nation, 295 U.S. 103
ST hceshateitdibsctaiaanachieeteiaaiatasiadianestiaessiiialaddh dementias 28
United States v. Kagama, 118 U.S. 375 (1886)....... 12
United States v. Santa Fe Pac. R.R., 314 U.S. 339
EE ere 24, 26, 27

United States v. Shoshone Tribe of Indians, 304
EN 4

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page
Washington v. Washington State Commercial

Passenger Fishing Vessel Ass'n, 443 U.S. 658

COO crsncemsenesnseemensnnmniienienimnen 26
Winans v. United States, 198 U.S. 371 (1905)........ 6, 16
Worcester v. Georgia, 31 U.S. (6 Pet.) 515

ee passim

CONSTITUTION, TREATIES, STATUTES, AND
REGULATION
OLS. Caameed, GR. 6, 6 Bo GB, D ccccssesscscsessepsnsecseseseseesen 20
Treaty with the Six Nations [Ft. Stanwix], 7 Stat.

en 10
Treaty with the Six Nations [Ft. Hamar], 7 Stat.

BGS Pees 10
Supplemental Article to the Treaty of Buffalo

yyy 27
Act of July 22, 1790, ch. 33, 1 Stat. 137........ 5, 7, 14, 18
Act of June 30, 1834, ch. 161, 4 Stat. 729............... 14
General Allotment Act of 1887, ch. 119, 24 Stat.

FD censcsnnsinsemninsemempmenimemnens aeaemennen 21
Act of May 8,1906, ch. 2348, 34 Stat. 182.............. 21
Indian Reorganization Act of 1934, ch. 576, 48

BR, Ta cnrecerestctensnetnteccmennmmmninionin 22
A 5, 6, 7, 10, 11
On 22

| ee 21

A AEEEP senarinstnmentcasusintaniantemmneneaninnianasmnnnanats 20

WD cenemsneeneienen 2

Gr ae © Ce ccrennertmernmenenmnne 22
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

American State Papers: Indian Affairs (1832)....... 14

25 J. Cont. Cong. 687 (Oct. 15, 1783).........cccceee 10

33 J. Cont. Cong. 455-63 (Aug. 3, 1787) ............... 14

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— continued
. Page
_ J. Madison, Journal of the Federal Convention
ea eas Niet diteeressicaicinncrinntiacersacictiatenitaieaneteiies 14

SCHOLARLY AUTHORITIES

F. Cohen, Original Indian Title, 32 Minn. L. Rev.
SITET cieieiiecihihetiietisiibiciesth iia aii 4.17
F. Cohen, Handbook of Federal Indian Law
EEE cae new Ee a OR RD passim
R. Clinton, The Dormant Indian Commerce
Clause, 27 Conn. L. Rev. 1055 (1995) ................ 13
R. Clinton & M. Hotopp, Judicial Enforcement of
the Federal Restraints on Alienation of Indian
Land: The Origins of the Eastern Land Claims,
ee i Oe eniiteininieditciacicseriinatsinininsinmiaanii 15

OTHER AUTHORITY

The Federalist No. 42 (Madison) (C. Rossiter ed..
ES eS ER. Te 14

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

Established in 1944, the National Congress of American
Indians (“NCAI”) is the oldest and largest American Indian
organization, representing more than 250 Indian Tribes and
Alaskan Native villages, including New York tribes. NCAI is
dedicated to protecting the rights and improving the welfare
of American Indians. This case calls for the straightforward
application of longstanding principles regarding treaty
interpretation and tribal tax immunity. However, the City of
Sherrill argues against the application of these principles
based on vastly exaggerated claims of the hardship allegedly
resulting from an adverse decision. While the practical
consequences of the Court's decision here would largely be
confined to New York’s political subdivisions and *ribes,
NCAI and its members have a strong interest in opposing the
abandonment of time-honored principles of Indian law based
on arguments properly addressed to Congress, not this Cowré

INTRODUCTION

Beginning in 1795, New York purchased 300,000 acres of
land reserved to the Oneida Nation (“the Oneida”) in plain
violation of federal law. The Oneida were thereby ousted
from these lands, but never lost their treaty-protected
aboriginal rights of possession. Only the United States could
strip the Tribe of those rights. See County of Oneida v.
Oneida Indian Nation, 470 U.S. 226, 230-34 (1985) (“Oneida
iT’). caren deve nite graced fie igs Mane passed
from New York to third-party purchasers.

adie Gecesain sheen ta cuttzantite tomnes of
conduct have fashioned comprehensive land-claims solutions

' No one other than NCA! made a monetary contribution to the
preparation or submission of this Grief. Counsel of record for both parties
have consented to the filing of (nis brief @micus curiae, and the letters of
cansent twve been filed with the Clerk

2

seeking to balance the interests of tribes and landowners
potentially affected by the States’ illegal actions. Congress
has approved those settlements. See 25 U.S.C. ch. 19. New
York, however, has refused to provide Tribes within its
borders with meaningful redress for its past wrongs. Given
New York’s intransigence, the Oneida decided to purchase
parcels of lost lands in free market transactions at fair market
prices, in order to reactivate the treaty and aboriginal rights
inherent in tribal possession of the parcels, including an
immunity from state and local taxation.

New York, the original lawbreaker in this case, cries foul
on behalf of the third-party interests created by the passage of
time (of course, the Oneida paid third parties fair market price
to take possession). But, the actual goal of New York and its
subdivisions is to retain the long-term benefits of their illegal
conduct — the ability to tax not only non-Indian lands but also
tribal lands in the Oneida reservation. At the end of the day,
New York and its subdivisions should not be permitted to
retain the fruits of their defiance of federal law, and the
Oneida’s reacquisition of wrongfully transferred lands in the
reservation should restore those parcels’ tax-immune status.

Absent express congressional authorization, state and local
governments may not tax tribal lands in an Indian reservation.
See Okla. Tax Comm'n v. Chickasaw Nation, 515 U.S. 450
(1995); Montana v. Blackfeet Tribe of Indians, 47\ U.S. 759,
764 (1985); N.Y. Indians, 72 U.S. (5 Wall.) 761 (1866); Kan.
Indians, 72 U.S. (5 Wall.) 737 (1866). The parcels at issue
are owned by the Oneida; they constitute part of the land
“reserved” to the Oneida “forever” in the 1788 Treaty of Fort
Schuyler (“1788 Treaty”). Pet. App. A136-37. In the 1794
Treaty of Canandaigua (“1794 Treaty”), the United States
“acknowledge[d]” these lands “to be [the Oneida’s] property”
and promised that the same “reservation[] shall remain theirs,
until they choose to sell the same to the people of the United
States, who have the right to purchase.” /d. at Al4l. The
United States has never terminated the reservation.

3

“Despite Congress’ clear policy” to the contrary, between
1795 and 1846, New York entered into a series of
transactions through which it acquired most of the Oneida
reservation, including the parcels at issue. See Oneida //, 470
U.S. at 232. With a single exception not relevant here, these
transactions occurred without the consent of the United
States. Pet. App. A8-9. To regain possession of these
parcels, the Oneida paid fair market value to non-Indian
landowners in free market transactions. These facts should
end this matter. Illegal transactions cannot and did not
terminaie the Oneida’s aboriginal rights in their reserved
lands, as this Court has already made clear. Oneida //, 470
U.S. at 234. Thus, once the Tribe regained possession, its

~ treaty and aboriginal rights were reinvigorated, including the

parcels’ immunity from state and local taxation.

Sherrill, however, claims that it may tax the parcels at issue
for several reasons: (a) The lands were never part of a federal
reservation and are not otherwise within indian country as
defined by federal law; (b) assuming the lands are part of a
federal reservation and are now tribal lands, they are freely
alienable and thus subject to state and local taxation; and (c)
assuming the lands were part of a federal reservation, that
reservation was diminished or disestablished by the 1838
Treaty of Buffalo Creek.”

NCAI agrees with respondents that Sherrill’s first two
arguments are answered i: large part by Oneida Indian
Nation v. County of Oneida, 414 U.S. 661, 678 (1974)
(“Oneida I’) and Oneida II, where this Court found that after
adoption of the Constitution and enactment of the Trade and
Intercourse Act of 1790 (known as the “Nonintercourse
Act”), sales of land in the precise area were unlawful absent
federal consent. In this brief, however, NCAI independently
shows that application of the fundamental principles of Indian

? NCAI does not address Sherrill’s fourth argument concerning tribal
continuity that is addressed in respondent's brief and the briefs amicus
curiae of the United States and the United Southern and Eastern Tribes.

4

law that govern this case leads to the same conclusions - that
the parcels are part of a federal reservation and thus in Indian
country, and that tribal lands in the reservation are immune
from state and local taxation because the United States has
never authorized such taxation and has never diminished or
disestablished the reservation.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

When the European powers “discovered” North America
and entered into their relationships with North American
tribes, the “discovery doctrine” was the international law
principle which reconciled European concepts of land
ownership and sovereignty with aborigina: possession. See F.
Cohen, Handbook of Federal Indian Law 50-54 (1982 ed.)
(“Cohen Handbook’), F. Cohen, Original Indian Title, 32
Minn. L. Rev. 28, 45 (1947). Pursuant to this doctrine,
discovering European nations possessed the right to exclude
other European powers from discovered lands and the
exclusive rights to purchase Indian lands and to extinguish
aboriginal title. The tribes lost their sovereign right to
conduct foreign relations with other European nations and the
right independently to alienate their lands. See generally
Johnson v. M'Intosh, 21 U.S. (8 Wheat.) 543, 573-74 (1823).
Otherwise, the tribes retained sovereignty in their territory
and an aboriginal right of occupation “as sacred and as
securely safeguarded as is fee simple absolute title.” United
States v. Shoshone Tribe of Indians, 304 U.S. 111, 117

(1938).

The United States Constitution incorporated discovery
doctrine principles by centralizing in the federal government
the exclusive authority to conduct relations with tribes,
including the right to extinguish Indian title and allow the
alienation of tribal lands. The Constitution:

5

confers on Congress the powers of war and peace; of
making treaties, and of regulating commerce with
foreign nations, and among the several states, and with
the Indian tribes. These powers comprehend all that is
required for the regulation of our intercourse with the
Indians. (Worcester v. Georgia, 31 U.S. (6 Pet.) 515,
559 (1832) (emphasis supplied). ]

The tribes were otherwise recognized as sovereign over their
internal affairs and lands. /d at 551-53. In 1790, Congress
exercised its exclusive authority by euacting the
Nonintercourse Act, forbidding trade with Indians (absent
federal authorization) and requiring that all sales of Indian
lands be the product of a federal treaty or convention. See
Act of July 22, 1790, ch. 33, 1 Stat. 137 (codified as amended
in part at 25 U.S.C. § 177).

These principles of federal exclusivity and retained tribal
sovereignty left state and local governments without
jurisdiction over tribal Indians and lands within “Indian
country,” including jurisdiction to tax tribal lands, absent
express federal authorization.

“Indian country” includes, inter alia, “all land within the
limits of any Indian reservation under the jurisdiction of the
United States Government, notwithstanding the issuance of
any patent.” 18 U.S.C. § 1151(a). An express congressional
authorization is an absolute prerequisite to state or local
taxation of tribal land in Indian country. See supra at 2. The
parcels at issue were “reserved” to the Oneida “forever” by
the 1788 Treaty, and that reservation was “acknowledged”
and affirmed by the United States in, inter alia, the 1794
Treaty. As this Court recognized in Oneida II, an illegal
transaction does not alter aboriginal rights of possession; the
Oneida’s possessory rights persisted in the “reserved” lands
unlawfully alienated without federal approval. 470 U.S. at
230-34. In such circumstances, once the tribe pays non-
Indian third parties fair value, the tribe’s repossession of

6

reserved aboriginal lands reactivates the lands’ immunity
from state and local taxation.

Sherrill’s responses are without merit. First, Sherrill claims
that the 1788 Treaty terminated the Oneida’s aboriginal rights
of possession (rather than “reserving” those rights “forever”)
before the Constitution was adopted (though after the
requisite total of nine states, including New York, signed it),
and therefore that the nascent federal government lacked
authority over Oneida lands and the Nonintercourse Act never
applied. Under this view, neither the 1794 Treaty nor any of
the United States’ other agreements with the Oneida could
have established a federal Oneida reservation that is “*Indian
country’” under 18 U.S.C. § 1151 and Alaska v. Native
Village of Venetie Tribal Gov't, 522 U.S. 520, 527 (1998).

This is plainly wrong. Even assuming that during the
period from independence to the effective date of the
Constitution, New York shared with the United States the
right to extinguish aboriginal rights. the tribes retained those
rights unless they actually were extinguished. Although New
York purchased vast Oneida lands before the Constitution
was adopted, the 1788 Treaty plainly did not terminate the
Oneida’s rights of possession in the discrete tract of land
carved from the general cession, but instead explicitly
“reserved” those rights “forever.” This is the clear meaning
of the treaty language. See Winans v. United States, 198 U.S.
371, 381 (1905) (“the treaty was not a grant of rights to the
Indians, but a grant of right from them, — a reservation of
those not granted”). If any doubt existed, the trust obligation
that the colonies inherited from the Crown as discovering
sovereign required that the 1788 Treaty be interpreted as the
Tribe understood it. See Minnesota v. Mille Lacs Band of
Chippewa Indians, 526 U.S. 172, 196 (1999); Worcester, 31
U.S. at 552. The Oneida would not have understood the 1788
Treaty to terminate aboriginal rights; the Treafy “reserved”
rights and the Tribe retained possession.

;

Even if the 1788 Treaty had created a bizarre. new state-
law property interest unrecognizable in its historical and legal
context — simultaneously terminating and reserving the
Oneida’s rights of possession — the Constitution and the
Nonintercourse Act nonetheless provided the United States
with exclusive authority to extinguish the Oneida’s retained
rights. The Act forbids unauthorized sales of tribal lands,
including “to any state, whether having the right of pre-
emption to such lands or not.” Ch. 33, § 4, 1 Stat. at 138. See
Oneida I, 414 U.S. at 678 (Nonintercourse Act codifies the
principle “that the extinguishment of Indian title require[s] the
consent of the United States”).

Sherrill’s alternative formulation — that a reservation is not
within “Indian country” unless it is both set aside and actively
superintended by the federal government — relies on Venetie.
Venetie is inapposite here because it addresses a different type
of “Indian country” — “dependent Indian communities,” 18
U.S.C. §1151(b) - in circumstances where Congress

—_ terminated the federal reservation. See 522 U.S. at

Second, Sherrill contends that, even if the parcels at issue
are in a federal reservation, they are subject to state and local
government taxation until the federal government sets them
aside again. According to Sherrill, the lands must be taxable
because they have become freely alienable: Sherrill’s
apparent belief is that the lands are owned by the Tribe acting
just like any private participant in the commercial
marketplace. The premise and conclusion of this argument
are wrong. Unlawfully-transferred reservation lands restored
to tribal possession by purchase from non-Indian owners are
not alienable without federal authorization under the plain
language of the Nonintercourse Act. Moreover, the decisions
Sherrill cites —- County of Yakima v. Confed. Tribes & Bands
of Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S. 251 (1992), and Cass
County v. Leech Lake Band of Chippewa Indians, 524 U.S.
103 (1998) — rested on the Court’s view that Congress

8

expressly authorized both the alienation and taxation of those
lands by statute and that tribal reacquisition cannot repeal the
taxing authorization in a federal statute. Here, in sharp
contrast, no congressional authorization of either sale or
taxation exists; to the contrary, tribal reacquisition remedies
an illegal transaction, restores a tax immunity unlawfully
divested, and reactivates the Nonintercourse Act’s restrictions

on alienability.

Third, Sherrill contends even if the lands at issue were part
of a federal reservation, the reservation was disestablished by
the 1838 Treaty of Buffalo Creek. This Court, however, has
refused to find that a treaty disestablishes a reservation unless
the parties’ agreement to do so is “*clear and plain.” South
Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. 329, 343 (1998).
The text of the Treaty of Buffalo Creek by itself defeats
Sherrill’s claim that the Treaty mandated the removal of the
Oneida from their New York reservation to the Kansas
Territory. Moreover, in terms that could not be clearer, the
government agent who negotiated the treaty assured the
Oneida that they would not be compelled to remove and could
“choose to... remain where they are forever.” JA 146; Pet.
App. A35 n.18. Sherrill’s argument (and that of its amici)
amounts to an unsupported contention that the Court should
ignore this dispositive evidence regarding the Treaty’s
meaning. But see Mille Lacs, 526 U.S. at 196. The altered
regional demographics on which Sherrill relies are the result
of unlawful transactions, not the Treaty of Buffalo Creek, and
cannot by themselves work a de facto disestablishment of a

federal reservation.

Sherrill and its amici’s remaining arguments seek to portray
the consequences of this case as so extreme that the Court
cannot apply the federal Indian law principles that govern.
Specifically, they say that state and local governments will
suffer a crippling blow to their tax revenues and overall fiscal
health. Putting aside the extra-legal nature of these
assertions — which should be directed to Congress, not this

9

Court — the argument suffers from several fatal flaws.
Because other States facing New York’s situation have settled
their tribes’ land claims, the practical consequences of the
Court's decision are limited to New York, which could
likewise enter into such an agreement. Further, this case
addresses only the tax-immune status of reservations lands
possessed by the Tribe. The Oneida do not assert a tax
immunity for most of the reservation which is owned by non-
Indians; and this Court has severely limited tribal jurisdiction
and authorized State taxation of non-Indian reservation lands
and activities. See Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. 544
(1981). In addition, as the brief amicus curiae of the
Puyallup and Southern Ute Tribes, and Pueblo of Acoma
demonstrates, numerous tribes and state and _ local
governments (including the Oneida) have reached agreements
concerning tribal payment for government services. Sherrill
should not be permitted to translate its refusal to accept such
proposals into an argument that the law should be ignored.
Neither law nor facts support Sherrill’s alarmist rhetoric.

ARGUMENT

I. THE RULE THAT TRIBAL RESERVATION
LANDS ARE EXEMPT FROM STATE AND
LOCAL TAXATION CLEARLY APPLIES HERE.

The foundational rules of Indian law include federal
exclusivity in dealing with Indian tribes, tribal sovereignty
within Indian lands, a unique federal-tribal trust relationship,
and the absence of inherent state jurisdiction with regard to
tribal Indians and lands. The immunity of Indian lands from
state and local property taxes flows naturally from the general
immunity of tribal lands from state laws. See Yakima, 502
U.S. at 258; N.Y. Indians, 72 U.S. at 768-70; Kan. Indians, 72
U.S. at 740. And, this Court has defined that immunity in
categorical terms. See California v. Cabazon Band of
Mission Indians, 480 U.S. 202, 215 n.17 (1987) (“In the
special area of state taxation of Indian tribes and tribal

10

members, we have adopted a per se rule.... [AJbsent
cession of jurisdiction or other federal statutes permitting it,
there has been no satisfactory authority for taxing Indian
reservation lands....”). The parcels at issue are immune
from Sherrill’s taxation because they are tribal lands in a
federal reservation, and because Congress has never
authorized their taxation. NCAI addresses three of Sherrill’s
attacks on this unexceptional application of established law.

A. The Lands At Issue Are In “Indian Country.”

Sherrill incorrectly argues that the general rule of tax
immunity does not apply because the parcels at issue are not
“Indian country.” See 18 U.S.C. § 1151. First, the parcels
are part of a federal reservation and, second, that reservation
is, by definition, “Indian country.”

1. Following the Revolutionary War, “the National
Government promised that the Oneidas would be secure ‘in
the possession of the lands on which they are settled,’”
Oneida II, 470 U.S. at 231, a promise that was acknowledged
and reaffirmed in the 1794 Treaty of Canandaigua, Pet App.
A141, as well as in a congressional resolution and two other
treaties.’ Article 2 of the 1794 Treaty “acknowledges” the
300,000 acres “reserved to the Oneida” in the 1788 Treaty “to
be their property” and agrees that “the said reservation shall
remain theirs, until they choose to sell the same to the people
of the United States, who have the right to purchase.” /d.

> See 25 J. Cont. Cong. 687 (Oct. 15, 1783); Treaty with the Six
Nations [Ft. Stanwix], art. I], 7 Stat. 15, 15 (1784); Treaty with the Six
Nations [Ft. Hamar], art. 3, 7 Stat. 33, 34 (1789). See Oneida Il, 470 U.S.
at 231.

* Making a wholly new argument, Sherrill characterizes this language
as a federal pre-approval of the Oneida’s free alienation of tribal lands, an
astonishing interpretation that is completely inconsistent with any
contemporaneous understanding of the Treaty. The language granting the
“people of the United States” a right to purchase Oneida lands casts no
doubt on the federal government’s exclusive power to authorize such a
purchase. Sherrill’s reading would also mean that the Treaty preapproved
private purchases from the Seneca without express federal approval

1]

Article 3 of the 1794 Treaty explicitly establishes a
reservation for the Seneca. See Pet. App. Al41; FPC vy.
Tuscarora Indian Nation, 362 U.S. 99, 122-23 n.18 (1960). It
also guarantees the Seneca’s right to certain lands in virtually
the same language used to indicate that the Oneida
reservation had been federally acknowledged and guaranteed
in Article 2. See Pet. App. Al42. Article 4 of the 1794
Treaty states that “(t]he United States have thus described and
acknowledged what lands belong to the Oneidas, Onondagas,
Cayugas and Senecas,” and agrees that the United States will
“never... claim the same” and will “not disturb them... in
the free use and enjoyment thereof.” /d.

The 1794 Treaty thus confirmed that the Oneida’s
reservation lands were under federal protection and
supervision. This Court has already characterized New
York’s attempt to tax Seneca lands protected in Article 3 as
unlawful “interference with Indian possessory rights
guaranteed by the Federal Government.” Oneida /. 414 U.S.
at 672. The same conclusion necessarily follows as to the
Oneida lands similarly referenced in Article 2.

2. Despite this history, Sherrill makes two arguments that
the lands at issue ¢ ased to be Indian country in 1788.
Indian country” is defined by 18 U.S.C. § 1151 as:

(a) all land within the limits of any Indian reservation
under the jurisdiction of the United States Govern-
ment... , (b) all dependent Indian communities within
the borders of the United States... . and (c) all Indian
allotments, . . . including rights of way running through
the same. [(Emphasis supplied).]°

(contrary to the subsequent history of federal approval of
Finally, Sherrill fails to make the required iieie@etemenn
have understood the 1794 Treaty to abrogate the Nonintercourse Act.

As this Court has explained, § 1151 “statutorily define{s} Indian
country to include lands held in fee by non-Indians within reservation
boundaries.” Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463, 468 (1984). Section § 1151
is a criminal statute, but its definition is now utilized in most other

12

(a) Sherrill first argues that the Oneida reservation is not
and never was an “Indian reservation under the jurisdiction of
the United States” because the 1788 Treaty terminated the
Oneida’s aboriginal rights in those lands. Sherrill claims that
in the 1788 Treaty, the Oneida sold the aboriginal rights of
possession in all their lands to New York, which then ceded
300,000 acres back to the Oneida in some heretofore
unknown state-law right of possession. From this, Sherrill
concludes, the Oneida’s aboriginal rights of possession were
extinguished in 1788; the 1794 Treaty could not have created
a federal reservation; and the lands reserved to the Oneida
were never “Indian country” and thus never subject to the
Nonintercourse Act. This argument reflects Sherrill’s utter
failure to understand the discovery doctrine, the principles
governing treaty interpretation, and the Nonintercourse Act.

During the colonial period, tribes were recognized as
sovereigns, governing their territories and in charge of their
foreign relations with European powers. Worcester, 31 US.
at 547. Under European law, however, a European power’s
“discovery” of aboriginal land limited tribal sovereignty in
two respects: First the “discovering” state could iawfully
prohibit a tribe within its realm from entering into treaties
with rival powers. Second, and of vital importance here, the
discovering power obtained the exclusive right to buy land
from that tribe and thereby extinguish aboriginal title. /d. at
543-44.

Under the discovery doctrine, the tribe retained control over
“internal and social relations, and [was] not brought under the
laws of the Union or the state within whose limits they
resided.” United States v. Kagama, 118 U.S. 375, 382
(1886). The tribe also maintained its existing rights of use
and occupancy, known as Indian or aboriginal title, subject
only to the sovereign’s exclusive right to extinguish those
rights by purchase. Worcester, 31 U.S. at 544; see also

contexts. See Okla. Tax Comm'n v. Sac & Fox Nation, $08 U.S. 114, 123
(1993).

13

Oneida Il, 470 U.S. at 235-36. This rule k
colonial powers and the tribes, prevented conflict about land

title, and gave the sovereign
monopoly power over the land
market. See generally Cohen Handbook at 50-62.

In the original 13 colonies, the discovery

British Crown the exclusive right to ee hao ber
to extinguish aboriginal title. Johnson, 21 U.S. at 587 (“the
power [of discovery and purchase] now possessed by the
government of the United States to grant lands, resided. while
we were colonies, in the crown, or its grantees”).° When the
United States declared independence, the rights to restrain
alienation and to extinguish title passed to the colonies.
— I, 414 U.S. at 667. The Articles of Confederation.
wever, were unclear about whether, and the extent to
which, the states or the United States had succeeded to the
Crown $ discovery rights. See R. Clinton, The Dormant
Indian Commerce Clause, 27 Conn. L. Rev. 1055, 1098-47
(1995) (legal history of federal-state conflict during this
period); cf. Oneida Indian Nation v. New York. 860 F 2d
1145, 1152-61 (2d Cir. 1988) (New York had the power to
purchase tribal land prior to the effective date of the
preg New York and other colonies took the position
they had inherited some of the powers of the British
Crown with respect to tribes within their boundaries. It was
as purported successor to the British Crown that New York
entered into the 1788 Treaty, purchased most of the Oneida

lands, and recognized the Oneida’s “reservation”
2 ‘ ation” of 300,
acres “forever.” Pet. App. A136-37. Res

Experience under the Articles demo

erie ! nstrated to the
Constitutional Convention of 1787 that exclusive federal
control over Indian policy, including land policy, was
necessary. Separate states’ actions routinely created serious

* See also Worcester, 31 U.S. at 548 (describing Royal Proclamation of
ads 1763 (forbidding white settlement west of the crest of the
Appalachian Mountains and requiring imperial approval prior to the
issuance of patents to Indian lands lying east of that line)).

14

conflicts and threats of wars with powerful tribes. See 33 J.
Cont. Cong. 455-63 (Aug. 3, 1787). With relatively little
debate, accordingly, the Constitution gave the federal
government exclusive power over Indian affairs. See J.
Madison, Journal of the Federal Convention 654-56 (E. Scott
ed. 1898); Worcester, 31 U.S. at 559 (“[t}hese powers
comprehend all that is required for the regulation of our
intercourse with the Indians”); Blackfeet, 471 U.S. at 764
(“[t}he Constitution vests the Federal Government with
exclusive authority over relations with Indian tribes”).”

Promptly in 1790, the First Congress enacted the
Nonintercourse Act, which codified the discovery doctrine’s
restraint on alienation absent sovereign consent by providing:

That no sale of lands made by any Indians, or any nation
or tribe of Indians within the United States, shall be
valid to any person or persons, or fo any state, whether
having the right of pre-emption to such lands or not,
unless the same shall be made and duly executed at
some public treaty, held under the authority of the
United States. [Ch. 33, §3, 1 Stat. at 138 (emphasis
supplied).]°
As George Washington explained to the New York Senecas,
the Nonintercourse Act “is the security for the remainder of
your lands. No State, nor person, can purchase your lands,
unless at some public treaty, held under the authority of the
United States.” See American State Papers: Indian Affairs
No. 23, at 142 (1832).

’ See also The Federalist No. 42, at 268 (Madison) (C. Rossiter ed.,
1961) (“{t}he regulation of commerce with the Indian tribes is very
properly unfettered from two limitations in the Articles of Confederation,
which render the provision obscure and contradictory”).

* The 1790 Act was reenacted with only minor modifications in 1793,
1796, 1799, and 1802. In 1834, the general restraint on individual Indian
sales was removed, see Act of June 30, 1834, ch. 161, § 12, 4 Stat. 729,
730-31 (codified as amended in part at 25 U.S.C. § 177).

15

The Nonintercourse Act gave the federal government

exclusive authority with respect to a// Indians lands, includi
those in the original 13 colonies: a

The rudimentary propositions that Indian title is a
matter of federal law and can be extinguished only with
federal consent apply in all of the States, including the
original 13. It is true that the United States never held
fee title to the Indian lands in the original States as it did
to almost all the rest of the continental United States and
that fee title to Indian lands in these States, or the pre-
emptive right to purchase from the Indians was in the
State. But this reality did not alter the doctrine that
federal law, treaties and statutes protected Indian
occupancy and that its termination was exclusively the
province of federal law. [Oneida I, 414 U.S. at 670
(footnote and citation omitted) (emphasis supplied). ]°

In sum, the Constitution and the Nonintercourse Act
“explicitly extinguished whatever claims the states might
previously have had to exercise power over Indian land
transactions and explicitly federalized the regulation of Indian
land cessions.” R. Clinton & M. Hotopp, Judicial
Enforcement of the Federal Restraints on Alienation of Indian
Land: The Origins of the Eastern Land Claims, 31 Me. L
Rev. 17, 88 (1979)."° |

Ww .

Amici Counties incorrectly cite New Jersey v. Wilson, 11 U.S. (7
Cranch) 164 (1812), for the proposition that the Noniatereourse Act éid
not apply to Indian lands within states. Brief Amicus Curiae of Madison
& Oneida Counties at 14. No Indian was a party in Wilson, and the
decision did not involve or address the validity of a tribal conveyance,
reservation status, or any tribal possessory rights. This Court simply
SE arn Ctmnae dale cqpiast Wow lereay wougin Wy nen-tadian
purchasers d as to which the State had promised tax i i
USS. at 165-67, ar

The exclusive federal power over tribal relations and the federal
statutory restraints on alienation also created a trust or fiduciary
responsibility in the United States with respect to the tribes and tribal land.
See Cherokee Nation v. Georgia, 30 U.S. (5 Pet. ) 1, 17 (1831); Seminole

16

As noted, the 1788 Treaty was signed during the period
governed by the Articles of Confederation (though after New
York had signed the Constitution and the required nine states
had established it), New York was acting as one of the
successors to the discovering sovereign (the Crown) when it
entered into that Treaty. In that capacity, New York acquired
most of the Oneida lands, while the Oneida “reserved”
300,000 acres “forever.” Thus, New York exercised its
purported right to purchase most of the Oneida’s land, while
simultaneously recognizing the Oneida’s aboriginal rights in
the reserved tracts of laid. The Treaty constituted a routine
exercise of a “discovering” sovereign’s right to purchase
certain lands while “reserving” other lands to the Oneida in
fulfillment of the sovereign's trust obligation with respect to
the Tribe’s aboriginal rights of possession. See also
Worcester, 31 U.S. at 552.

The text of the 1788 Treaty leaves no doubt as to its proper
construction. It dispositively states that the Oneida
“reserved” lands “forever” — language that, in this setting, has
an estab'ished meaning. The word reservation originally
meant “land reserved from an Indian cession to the federal
government regardless of the form of tenure.” See Cohen
Handbook, at 34. When the term is used as an aid to judicial
construction, it denotes rights reserved from a cession made
by the Indians to the government, rather than rights granted to
the Indians by the government. See Winans, 198 U.S. at 381
(“[T]he treaty was not a grant of rights to the Indians, but a
grant of right from them, — a reservation of those not granted.
And the form of the instrument and its language was adapted
to that purpose”) (emphasis supplied). As Professor Cohen
explains,

Nation v. United States, 316 U.S. 286, 296-97 (1942). And, it is the trust
responsibility which, in turn, gave rise to the canons of construction
requiring that an agreement between a discovering sovereign (or its
successor) and a tribe must be construed as the tribe would have
understood it. See Mille Lacs, 526 U.S. at 196.

17

“Indian reservations” acquired their name from the
fact that when Indians ceded land, they commonly made
“reservations” of land to be retained in Indian
ownership. This practice goes back at least to 1640,
when Uncas, the Mohican chief, deeded a large area to
the Colony of Connecticut, out of which he carved a
reservation for himself and his tribe.” [Original Indian
Title, supra, at 35 n.17 (citing | Trumbull, History of
Connecticut 117 (1818)).]''

Sherrill’s reading of the 1788 Treaty would give the State
greater rights than the United States would have had upon
entering into the same Treaty. This extraordinary, counter-
historical interpretation should be rejected.

Sherrill’s reading of the Treaty is doomed not only because
it contravenes the ordinary usage of “reservation,” but also
because it is utterly inconsistent with any understanding the
Oneida would have had. Worcester, 31 U.S. at 552, is
directly on point. There, the Court interpreted a treaty
“allott{ing}” Cherokee territory. Georgia argued that
“allotted” meant land given to the Cherokee by the United
States while “marked out” meant land demarcated as between
sovereigns. Rejecting this technical argument, the Court said
it was not “reasonable to suppose that the Indians, who could
not write, and most probably could not read, who certainly
were not critical judges of our language, should distinguish
the word ‘allotted’ from the words ‘marked out.’” /d. See id.
at 582 (M’Lean, J., concurring) (“[h]ow the words of the

'' See also United States v. Alcea Band of Tilanooks, 329 U.S. 40, 52
(1946) (whether a tract of land “was properly called a reservation .. . or
unceded Indian country .. . is a matter of little moment . . . the Indians’
right of occupancy has always been held to be sacred; something not to be
taken from him except by his consent”) (omissions in original); Minnesota
v. Hitchcock, 185 U.S. 373, 390 (1902) (“[I]}n order to create a reservation,
it is not necessary that there should be a formal cession or a formal act
setting apart a particular tract. 't is enough that from what has been done
there results a certain defined tract appropriated to certain purposes.”).

18

treaty were understood by this unlettered people, rather than
their critical meaning, should form the rule of construction”).

Even if the 1788 Treaty could be read to have created some
new state-law right of possession, the Constitution and the
Nonintercourse—Aet placed disposition of that right under
exclusive federal control. Indeed, the Act flatly prohibited
any “sale of lands” by Indians without federal authorization,
including sales to states “having the right of pre-emption to
such lands.” Ch. 33, §4, 1 Stat. at 138. “The federal
restraints on alienation and exclusive control over the
extinguishment of Indian title constitute federal regulatory
action under the Indian Commerce Clause; they do not result
from either federal claims to an interest in land owned by
tribes or the tenure by which the tribal land is held.” Cohen
Handbook at 514-15 (emphasis supplied). New York’s
continuing purchases of Oneida lands after adoption of the
Constitution violated the Nonintercourse Act, and failed to
extinguish the treaty-recognized aboriginal rights in the lands.

(b) Sherrill’s second argument is that even assuming the
Oneida parcels are in a federal reservation, they are not
“Indian country.” Sherrill maintains that Ver.ie crafted a
new test to assess whether a reservation is Indian country,
requiring that the federal government not only set aside, but
also engage in active, continuous administrative
superintendence of, reservation lands. This argument is
plainly wrong.

“Indian country” has always included reservations set aside
by federal treaties. See Venetie, 522 U.S. at 528 n.3 (“[wle
ha[ve] also held, not surprisingly, that Indian reservations
[a]re Indian country”). Venetie does not remotely suggest that
a court, when considering such reservation lands, must
separately assess whether the government has subjected those
same lands to continuous administrative supervision. Nor do
this Court’s earlier precedents. The leading case is Donnelly
v. United States, 228 U.S. 243, 269 (1913), where this
Court — without any reference to the need for a continuous

19

superintendence inquiry — firmly declared that “nothing can
more appropriately be deemed ‘Indian country’... than a
tract of land that... is lawfully set apart as an Indian
reservation,” whether originally occupied by the tribe or set
aside from the public domain. The federal government
ultimately possesses the authority to enact laws governing
Indian reservations; and this Court has, accordingly, deemed
reservation lands to fall under federal superintendence by
definition. See Venetie, 522 U.S. at 529 (“{in United States v.
McGowan, 302 U.S. 535, 539 (1938)], {w]e reasoned that,
like Indian reservations generally, the [non-reservation
Indian] colony had been ‘“‘validly set apart for the use of the
Indians ... under the superintendence of the Government’”””)
(omission in original) (emphasis supplied).

In contrast, Venetie considered lands governed by the
Alaska Native Cla:ms Settlement Act (“ANCSA”). As the
Court detailed, ANCSA expressly revoked all reservations in
Alaska (excepi one) and extinguished all aboriginal claims to
land in the State, and conveyed land in fee simple to state-
chartered Alaska Native corporations. Because ANCSA
expressly terminated the Alaska lands’ reservation status
(§ 1151(a)) and because the lands had not been taken into
federal trust (§ 1151(c)), the Court considered only whether
the lands fell within the third distinct category of Indian
country lands — whether the lands were “‘dependent Indian
communities.”” Jd. at 527. In answering “no,” the Court
considered it critical that the lands were freely alienable and
could be used for non-Indian purposes, and found that
ANCSA expressly terminated federal superintendence of the
land at issue. Finally, the Court concluded that an express
goal of ANCSA was to avoid “‘a lengthy wardship or
trusteeship,”” severely “undercut[ting]” any finding of federal
superintendence. /d. at 533-34. Nothing in Venetie, which
addresses the “dependent Indian community” definition,
Suggests that a federal reservation is not “Indian country”
under federa! law.

20

The 1788 Treaty reserved Oneida lands; that reservation
shortly thereafter became subject to federal authority. It is
“Indian country” as matter of federal law.

B. The Reacquired Lands Are Not Alienable And,
In Any Event, Congress Has Not Authorized
State And Local Taxation.

Sherrill and its amici try desperately to force this case into
the procrustean bed of Yakima and Cass County, which they
read to say that alienable land in Indian country is taxable.
They argue that even though the Oneida lands were
unlawfully alienated, the Oneida’s reacquiz‘tion does not
bring the restrictions on alienability back into effect, and the
Oneida must petition the United States for trust status under
25 U.S.C. § 465, to reinstate their lands’ tax-immune status.

Yakima and Cass County, however, arose in the distinct
historic context of the allotment era statutes — federal laws
authorizing the transfer of Indian lands and expressly
allowing the imposition of state and local taxes. Here, in
marked contrast, the initial transfer of land from the Oneida
violated federal law. And, Congress has never authorized
state and local taxation of tribal lands within this reservation.

Under the Constitution, absent some exercise of federal
authority, tribes retain sovereignty over their members and
lands and aboriginal title. See Cherokee Nation, 30 U.S. at 16
(a tribe is a “distinct political society, separated from others,
capable of managing its own affairs and governing itself”).
Thus, once the Constitution was enacted, states ceased to
have jurisdiction vis-a-vis tribes and tribal lands, which were
immune from state laws unless otherwise provided by
Congress. See Cohen Handbook at 388; Worcester, 31 U.S.
at 556-57." “The policy of leaving Indians free from state

'2 Indeed, in addressing apportionment of population among the States
for purposes of representation in the House of Representatives and federal
taxation, the Constitution expressly excludes “Indians not taxed,” U.S.
Const. art. I, § 2, ch. 3, “an accurate description of the status of [tribal]

21

jurisdiction is deeply rooted in the Nation’s history.” Rice v.
Olsen, 324 U.S. 786, 789 (1945).

The general rule of federal preemption of state property
taxes on tribal land operated without difficulty during the
initial federal Indian eras of isolation and removal. In the late
19th century, however, Congress “retreated from the
reservation concept and began to dismantle the territories that
it had previously set aside as permanent and exclusive homes
for Indian tribes.” Yankton Sioux, 522 U.S. at 335. Through
the General Allotment Act of 1887 (“GAA”) and other
allotment statutes, Congress allotted reservation lands to
individual Indians and opened “surplus” land to non-Indian
homesteading. /d. at 335-36 (ch. 119, 24 Stat. 388). Allotted
land under the GAA could not be taxed until the restrictions
on its sale were lifted; but a 1906 amendment to the GAA
permitted the Secretary of the Interior to eliminate such
restrictions and to issue a fee patent at which time “all
restrictions as to... taxation of said land shall be removed.”
Ch. 2348, 34 Stat. 182, 183 (codified at 25 U.S.C. § 349).
Similar provisions were enacted with respect to many other
allotments. See Cohen Handbook at 410-11 nn.54, 55 (citing
statutes). Massive quantities of allotted land were lost.

Relevant here, the GAA and other allotment acts were
deemed expressly to authorize state and local taxation of
allotted land after restrictions on its sale were lifted. See
GAA § 6, 25 U.S.C. § 349 (state laws apply to allottees who
receive a fee patent to land); Goudy v. Meath, 203 U.S. 146
(1906) (relying on § 6 to uphold state taxation of allotted
Indian land in a reservation when federal restrictions expired).

Congress “formally repudiated” the allotment policy by
passing the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934, see Yankton
Sioux, 522 U.S. at 339, which provided that no further
allotment of tribal land should take place and sought to

Indians in 1789,” a time “when Indians were not subject to any ordinary
laws save those of their tribes,” Cohen Handbook at 388, 389.

22

encourage tribal self-determination. Ch. 576, § 4, 48 Stat.
984, 985 (codified as amended at 25 U.S.C. § 464). That Act,
however, simply stanched the tribes’ hemorrhaging of lands.
When Congress reversed course, tribes had already lost
ownership of vast lands which were no longer tax exempt.
Yakima and Cass County arose in this context.

In Yakima, the County sought to tax lands owned by
individual tribal members pursuant to the GAA. The Court
found in the GAA (as amended by the Burke Act) a clear
congressional intent to allow taxation of allotted lands after
they became fully alienable. Put differently, once the lands
became freely alienable, the landowners, though tribal
members, no longer held the land in federal trust, but rather as
any non-Indian landholders would.

The circumstances presented here are not remotely
analogous. In Yakima, the Court addressed the consequences
of transactions authorized — indeed, required — by federal
statute. Here, the Court addresses the consequences of
transactions forbidden by federal law. Under Yakima, the
Court found that Congress expressly made the allotted lands
taxable and that the tribe’s reacquisition of such land, even in
Indian country, did not automatically repeal the statute and
reconfer a tax exemption. Congress never authorized taxation
of tribal lands in the Oneida reservation. Indian title to the
parcels at issue was never quieted; they are tribal lands which
are not freely alienable under the plain text of the
Nonintercourse Act. See 25 U.S.C. § 177. See also 25 C.F.R.
§ 152.22(b) (trust lands, restricted lands, “and any other land
owned by an Indian tribe may only be conveyed where
specific statutory authority exists”).

Cass County is likewise inapposite. There, this Court
construed the Nelson Act of 1889, which implemented the
allotment policy for the Chippewa Tribes of Minnesota. It
required the Chipppewa to cede title to land in the state; the
United States then either allotted lands to tribal members as
under the GAA, sold the lands as pine lands to the highest

23

bidder, or sold the land as “surplus” to non-Indians under the
Homestead Act. In the 1980s, half a century after
congressional repudiation of allotment, the Leech Lake Band
repurchased fee land within its reservation. Cass County
assessed property taxes against the reacquired parcels.

The Court found that the County could tax the Tribe’s
reacquired lands. The Nelson Act reflected an “unmistakably
clear” congressional intent to authorize taxation because it
terminated the Indian right of possession and made the lands
freely alienable. 524 U.S. at 113-14. Thus, like Yakima,
Cass County fundamentally turned on a_ congressional
authorization of the initial alienation and a clearly-expressed
congressional intent to permit taxation of lands after they had
become freely alienable. Neither circumstance obtains here.
And, Cass County reaffirms the longstanding principle of
tribal lands’ tax immunity absent clear congressional action.

Sherrill misuses cases arising out of the federal allotment
statutes to justify taxation of lands lost to the Tribe through
unlawful transactions. Tribal reacquisition remedies illegal
transactions, and reactivates the lands’ tax exemption and the
Nonintercourse Act’s restrictions on alienability.

C. The Oneida Reservation Was Never Diminished
Or Disestablished.

A necessary consequence of the exclusive federal authority

__—over the alienation of tribal lands and the resultant federal

trust obligation is that “only Congress” can disestablish or

. diminish a reservation. Solem, 465 U.S. at 470. Neither a

state, cf. Oneida II, 470 U.S. at 234, nor private individuals,
see United States v. Celestine, 215 U.S. 278, 286-87 (1909),
can alter the status of reservation lands. “Once a block of
land is set aside for an Indian reservation and no matter what
happens to the title of individual plots within the area, the
entire block retains its reservation status until Congress
explicitly indicates otherwise.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 470

(emphasis supplied).

24

This Court has never permitted de facto diminishment or
disestablishment of a reservation. To the contrary, in light of
the federal trust obligation, diminishment or disestablishment
requires a “‘clear and plain’” congressional act. ‘Yankton
Sioux, 522 U.S. at 343 (quoting United States v. Dion, 476
U.S. 734, 738-39 (1986)).> The standard is particularly high
for a reservation guaranteed and allegedly abrogated by
federal treaty, because Congress’s intention to abrogate a
treaty must be “clearly express[ed],” Mille Lacs, 526 U.S. at
202, and because a treaty must be interpreted not simply with
respect to Congress’s intent, but as “the Indians themselves
would have understood [it],” id. at 196."4

In support of its argument that the Oneida reservation was
disestablished, Sherrill cites only the 1838 Treaty of Buffalo
Creek — not an act of Congress but a bilateral treaty — in
which, inter alia, the Oneida exchanged lands in Wisconsin
for lands in Kansas. This Treaty does not in any way, let
alone clearly, reflect an agreement to disestablish the
Oneida’s New York reservation. The Oneida’s assent was
obtained only after a federal agent explicitly explained that
the Treaty allowed them to “remain where they are forever.”
JA 146. And, the Oneida did not, in fact, leave the land.

To determine whether Congress has clearly diminished or
disestablished a reservation through unilateral legislation, this
Court considers three factors — the text of the statute, the

'3 See, e.g., Yankton Sioux, 522 U.S. at 357-58 (1894 surplus land act);
Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399, 407 (1994) (1905 Proclamation effectuating
1902 Act); Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584, 598 (1977) (1904
surplus land act); DeCoteau v. Dist. County Court, 420 U.S. 425, 445
(1975) (1891 surplus land act); United States v. Santa Fe Pac. R.R., 314
U.S. 339, 357 (1941) (1883 act creating reservation at tribe’s request
diminished old reservation).

'* Although no “particular form of words” is required, the statutory or
treaty language must be clear, Hagen, 510 U.S. at 411 (citing Solem, 465
U.S. at 475); and ambiguities in the language are resolved in favor of
continued reservation status. See South Dakota v. Bourland, 508 U.S.
679, 687 (1993).

25

surrounding circumstances or historical context, and the
interpretive knowledge that can be gained from transactions
following the federal act. See Hagen, 510 U.S. at 411; Solem,
465 U.S. at 470-71. Even when transported wholesale to the
context of a bilateral treaty, none of these factors supports
diminishment or disestablishment here.

Sherrill sees the Buffalo Creek Treaty as a mandatory
removal treaty vis-a-vis the Oneida, but that interpretation
finds no support in the text — the “most probative evidence of
diminishment,” Hagen, 510 U.S. at 411 — and is directly
refuted by a federal agent’s contemporaneous explanation of
the Treaty’s terms. The Treaty contains no language that can
be construed as a cession of Oneida lands in New York, see
Pet. App. A147-48. It ceded the Wisconsin lands of the New
York Indians and provided for the removal of the New York
Indians “[iJn_ consideration of that) cession and
relinquishment.” Id. at A149. In Article 13 addressing the
Oneida, the Treaty makes removal conditional, occurring only
upon the “mak[ing] of satisfactory arrangements with the
Governor of the State of New York for the purchase of their
lands at Oneida.” Jd at A155. Moreover, the Treaty
expressly contemplated that the Oneida and some other New
York tribes might not remove, providing that:

such of the tribes of the New York Indians as do not
accept and agree to remove to the country set apart for
their new homes within five years, or such other time as
the President may . . . appoint, shall forfeit all interest in
a SO set apart, to the United States. [/d at

This is a far cry from clear evidence of an agreement t
disestablish the reservation. geri
Dispositively, moreover, before the Oneida assented to the
Treaty, federal Commissioner Ransom Gillet explained its
meaning, as reflected in a document provided and explained
to the Oneida chiefs ard then submitted to the Senate with the

26

Treaty: “the treaty does not and is not intended to compel the
Oneidas to remove from their reservation in the State of New
York . . . unless they shall hereafter voluntarily sell their lands
where they reside & agree to do so.... [t]hey will not be
compelled to sell or remove.” JA 146. This is plainly the
meaning of the text that would have been understood by the
Oneida. See Washington v. Wash. State Commercial
Passenger Fishing Vessel Ass'n, 443 U.S. 658, 676 (1979)
(treaties are construed “‘not according to the technical
meaning of its words to learned lawyers, but in the sense in
which they would naturally be understood by the Indians’”
(quoting Jones v. Meehan, 175 U.S. 1, 11 (1899))).

The Court has found clarity and disestablishment in
congressional acts explicitly forfeiting tribal authority over
lands.'* But when Congress merely expresses an intent to
open a reservation to settlement in the future, that is
insufficient to disestablish a reservation. For example, Solem
distinguished a direction to “‘sell and dispose’ of” unallotted
reservation land from the immediate “language of cession”
that clearly diminishes a reservation. 465 U.S. at 473; see
also Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481, 495-96 (1973) (a
declaration that lands are “‘subject to settlement, entry, and
purchase” is insufficient to disestablish). In Santa Fe, 314
U.S. at 354-55, Congress created a new reservation for the
Walapai to induce removal, but the Walapai “did not accept
the offer which Congress had tendered.” /d at 354.

'S See Rosebud Sioux, 430 U.S. at 597 (the tribe does “‘hereby cede,
surrender, grant, and convey to the United States all their claim, right,
title, and interest in and to’” the unallotted lands of their reservations)
(quoting 33 Stat. 256); DeCoteau, 420 U.S. at 445 (the tribe would “‘cede,
sell, relinquish, and convey” its unallotted lands to the United States)
(quoting 26 Stet. 1036); Or. Dep't of Fish & Wildlife v. Klamath Indian
Tribe, 473 U.S. 753, 768 (1985) (recognizing similar cession language as
being a “broad and unequivocal conveyance of the Tribe's title to the
land”); Hagen, 510 U.S. at 407-08 (tribal lands will “be restored to the
public domain .... [and] opened to entry, settlement, and disposition”)
(internal quotation marks omitted) (quoting 34 Stat. 3119-20).

27

Congress’s intent that the Walapai remove did of
disestablish the Tribe’s reserved lands; tribal rights in those
lands terminated only many years later after the Tribe
unequivocally accepted the new reservation and agreed to
remove. /d. at 358. Similarly, Congress’s expressed desire
that the Oneida remove in the future did not affirmatively
disestablish their reservation, as the solemn assurances made
by the government’s negotiator amply confirm.'°

The Treaty’s historical context does not provide the
“unequivocal evidence” missing from the text. See Yankton
Sioux, 522 U.S. at 351. The Treaty effected the New York
tribes’ exchange of their lands in Wisconsin for lands in
Indian Territory (now Kansas), but the United States had
varying success in convincing the affected tribes to remove.
The Seneca and Tuscarora nations agreed to remove within
five years (agreements that were later reversed). The Cayuga
and Onondaga were promised money if they removed, but did
not agree to do so. Pet App. A1l53-54. The St. Regis
Mohawks secured a supplement to the treaty providing that
“the Government shall not compel them to remove.” 7 Stat.
561, 561 (1838). As noted, the Oneida made only a
conditional agreement and ultimately did not remove.

In reality, Sherrill and its amici rely heavily, indeed
virtually exclusively, on the third, and “least compelling”
factor (Yankton Sioux, 522 U.S. at 356) used to determine
diminishment or disestablishment — land transactions after the
Treaty. But they ignore that this evidence is only an aid to
interpretation of the federal treaty or statute — and is “an
unorthodox and potentially unreliable method of...

'° Sherrill incorrectly claims that “(t}his Court has recently recognized
that an agreement to remove ‘as soon as’ an expected imminent event
occurs is a present agreement to remove.” Pet.’s Br. 35. A footnote in
Mille Lacs listed removal treaties executed in 1837, including a treaty with
the Saganaw Chippewa in which the tribe ceded over 100,000 acres to the
United States. See 526 U.S. at 190 n.4. This cession, not the phrase “as
soon as,” made the Saganaw Chippewa treaty a “removal treaty.”

28

interpretation” at that. Solem, 465 U.S. at 472 n.13. This
Court has never found de facto disestablishment based solely
upon demographic patterns. Here, where the Treaty and the
negotiating history belie any claim of disestablishment, these
patterns have no place in the analysis.'’

Moreover, Sherrill is not relying on demographic changes
resulting from the implementation of a Treaty. Instead,
Sherrill relies on sales that preceded and followed the Treaty
and violated the Nonintercourse Act. Sherrill’s real argument
is that the 1838 Treaty somehow ratified illegal sales that took
place before its negotiation (including sales of the parcels
here) and authorized future illegal sales. This Court has
already rejected this kind of post hoc ratification argument
absent express language of ratification. See Oneida II, 470
U.S. 246-48 & n.19. The Treaty text cannot bear this weight.

In any event, this Court has discussed demographics only in
the context of allotment acts approving land sales. /Ilegal
land sales before and after a treaty are neither relevant nor
probative. Put differently, the argument that illegal sales of
Oneida lands can diminish or disestablish a federal
reservation turns federal supremacy into a charade.'* The
Treaty of Buffalo Creek does not reflect any “clear and plain”
intent to diminish or disestablish the Oneida reservation.

'” See, eg., Yankton Sioux, 522 U.S. at 356-57 (subsequent
demographics “reinforce{d] our holding” that surplus land act diminished
reservation); Hagen, 510 U.S. at 420 (subsequent demographics did “not
controvert{]” finding that surplus land act diminished reservation).

'§ Amici’ s arguments that the United States acquiesced in state and local
jurisdiction over Oneida lands after they were illegally alienated and that
the Oneida abandoned their lands are not relevant to the disestablishment
question. Neither passive acquiescence nor abandonment after an illegal
sale can stand in for a treaty clearly expressing the parties’ agreement to
disestablish. And, even if third-party possession of lost lands might limit
a tribe’s right to possession, see United States v. Creek Nation, 295 U.S.
103, 110-11 (1935), this Court has never suggested that such
circumstances limit tribal sovereignty if the tribe in fact obtains possession
by purchasing the lands from the non-Indian third party.

29

ll. A FINDING THAT THE TRIBAL LANDS AT
ISSUE ARE IN INDIAN COUNTRY WILL NOT
HAVE THE APOCALYPTIC CONSEQUENCES
SHERRILL AND ITS AMICI PREDICT.

Sherrill and its amici claim, in vastly overblown terms, that
an adverse decision in this case will yield dire consequences.
Their arguments are entirely misplaced.

First, Sherrill and its amici address their arguments to the
wrong audience. This Court has repeatedly held that “Indian
treaties cannot be rewritten or expanded beyond their clear
terms to remedy a claimed injustice.” Choctaw Nation of
Indians v. United States, 318 U.S. 423, 432 (1943); see also
N.W. Bands of Shoshone Indians v. United States, 324 U.S.
335, 353 (1945). This rule is often invoked in situations
where the equities would otherwise weigh in favor of revising
a treaty to benefit a tribe. Fidelity to treaty terms is at least as
important where those terms support the tribal position, as do
the terms of the 1788, 1794, and 1838 Treaties. Indeed, this
Court has already accepted “the potential consequences” of its
decision in Oneida Il. See 470 U.S. at 253.

As noted above, other States that violated the
Nonintercourse Act fashioned congressionally-approved
settlements with affected tribes. The policy issues arising
from the taxation of land are appropriately addressed through
such settlements. Sherrill’s true complaint lies with New
York for its failure to negotiate such an agreement.

Second, Sherrill and its amici seek to obscure that the
questions presented concern whether Sherrill may circumvent
the traditional tax-immune status of tribally-owned lands in a
reservation. This case has no relevance to whether the Tribe
may tax or otherwise regulate reservation lands that it does
not own, i.e., almost all of the Oneida reservation. This Court
has sharply limited the ability of tribes to exercise such
jurisdiction. See Atkinson Trading Co. v. Shirley, 532 U.S.
645 (2001); Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. 544 (1981).

30

Third, the impact that a reaffirmation of longstanding
principles of tribal tax immunity would have on New York
and its subdivisions is vastly exaggerated. Numerous states
and counties have within their borders non-taxable tribal land
holdings that dwarf the amount of land realistically at issue
here. But while New York and its subdivisions have
submitted numerous briefs amicus curiae to the Court, no
other governmental entity has supported _ petitioner,
suggesting they do not suffer fiscal chaos as a result of the
presence of tribal land and, indeed, often thrive through
contributions made by Indian tribes to their economies. See
Brief Amicus Curiae of Puyallup and Southern Ute Tribes,
and Pueblo of Acoma.

Sherrill’s assertions on this subject ring particularly hollow.
The Oneida Nation seeks to act fairly not only with respect to
the third-party landowners from whom it purchased property,
but also with regard to the counties and municipalities
affected by those purchases. Accordingly, the Tribe operates
a Silver Covenant Chain Grant program, providing direct
grant monies to local governments and school districts based
on the amount of tribal landholdings within their boundaries.
See JA 216-19. In the case of county and municipal
government units, those grant monies are equivalent to the

taxes the Tribe would have paid on its landholdings absent its -

tax immunity. /d at 216-17 In the case of the school
districts, the Tribe pays twice to three times as much in grants
as it would in taxes. /d. at 219. Sherrill, however, has
steadfastly refused to accept any grant monies from the Tribe.
See CA2 J.A. A-1587. Sherrill has elected to fight the Tribe
rather than to cooperate with it, and should not be heard now
to complain about the consequences of its own choice.

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed.

RIYAZ A. KANJI

KANJI & KATZEN, PLLC
201 South Main Street

Suite 1000

Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2177
(734) 769-5400

JOHN DOSSETT

NATIONAL CONGRESS OF
AMERICAN INDIANS

851 SW Sixth Avenue

Suite 1650

Portland, OR 97204

(503) 248-0783

Respectfully submitted,

CARTER G. PHILIPS*
VIRGINIA A. SEITZ
MATTHEW J. WARREN
SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &
WOOD LLP
1501 K Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 736-8000

MARK E. HADDAD

SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &
WOOD LLP

555 W. Fifth Street

40th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90013

(213) 896-6000

Counsel for Respondents

September 30, 2004

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0725%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
