# Amicus Curiae Brief — Roper v. Simmons

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0716%3A25

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 543 U.S. 551

## Text

—— oe” ay
Supreme Court, U.S |

i a

!
'

No. 03-633 ~~

jul 16 20%4

ECLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

DONALD P. ROPER, Superintendent.
POTOSI CORRECTIONAL CENTER.
Petitioner.
Vv.

CHRISTOPHER SIMMONS.
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Missouri

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL LEGAL AID AND
DEFENDER ASSOCIATION, AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

MICHAEL MELLO *

VERMONT LAW SCHOO!

P.O. Box 96, Chelsea St..

South Royalton, Vermont 05068
(802) 831-129]

JEFFREY D. ROBINSON

GLOVE TIE E. WASHINGTON
BAACH, ROBINSON & LEWIS
1201 F. St... N.W. Ste. 500
Washington, D.C. 20004-1225
(202) 659-7205

* Counsel of Record Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

A I a EL I TIE TED
WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....00......c.cccccccceesseeeeseeeneees iv
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE .........cccccccsseeseeeeesees l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT......0..........ccccccceeseeeeeeeees 2

I. THE EXECUTION OF A MINOR WHO
WAS UNDER THE AGE OF EIGHTEEN AT
THE TIME OF THE OFFENSE WOULD
VIOLATE EVOLVING STANDARDS OF
SEI: W nccecccencssnssinjuensociseninnitianeseandeeinenees 3

A. The Traditional Two-Prong Eighth
Amendment Analysis: From Gregg to
Coker to Ford to Thompson to Atkins, and
the Penry/Stanford Aberration..................... 4

B. The First Prong (Objective Indicia): In
Most States and for Most Purposes, Age
Eighteen Marks the Bright-Line Boundary
Between Childhood and Adult Respon-
eee chniniitnurttebciiinntenmnssetiniinsinaiionsanne

LES Se a ee ONS ee en ee 14

3. Other Nations: Allies in the War on
FIA SELENE RE Rae oe SO 18

(i)

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

C. The Second Prong (the Court’s Independ-
ent Judgment on Deterrence and Retribu-
tion): Establishing a Bright-Line Age
Limit of 18 Years Will Not Undermine
Deterrence or Retribution, Because the
Reasons For Treating Minors Differently
From Adults Apply With Special Force
Here, Since the Developmental Differ-
ences Between Adolescents and Adults
Diminish the State’s Interest in Inflicting
the Death Penalty on Minors ...................+

1. The Law Treats Children Differently
Because Children Are Different ..............

2. Retribution and Deterrence......................

D. A Bright-Line Rule Is Appropriate Here,
Because There Is No Viable Basis for
Distinguishing Among Minors for Pur-
poses of Administration of the Death
Penalty, and Because a Bright-Line Rule
Would Best Serve the Principles of
FoR SCORES .....ccccvsscessscsscnsessessesssuneneaaannna

1. The Abostind ClGGD cccocccsccsessscdniesenanne
2. Thee Risk Of TgRG cecccccccescccceenesseeee

3. Federalism: A Bright-Line Rule is Less
Injurious to Principles of Federalism.......

CONCLUSION: “Being Able to Stay Outside and See
the Moon amd Sear... a” cccsscscssccoscesecsesnesnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Page

19

19
20

22
23
25

26

27

iii
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

APPENDIX A

enemies
APPENDIX B

Right to Serve OM Jury ..........ccccccccececesececssecseseseecesees
APPENDIX C

EES
APPENDIX D

Right to Marry Without Parental Consent...............
APPENDIX E

Consent to Most Forms of Medical Treatment
APPENDIX F

Right to Drive-Without Parental Consent
APPENDIX G

Right to Purchase Pornographic Materials...............
APPENDIX H

Right to Participate in Legalized Gambling in any

APPENDIX |
Right to Patronize Pool Halls ..............ccccecececeseeeeeeeees
APPENDIX J

Right to Pawn Property or to Sell Junk or Precious
I ceeseuonen

4a

7a

iV Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page Page
CASES - Stanford v. Kentucky, 492 U.S. 361
Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 8 20.24 Se itelatantentiiaat id 6, 7, 12, 14, 16, 18, 19, 20, 22, 27
SEES: 4,6, 7, 13, 14, 16, 18, 20, = State v. Furman, 858 P.2d 1092 (Wash. 1993)...... 12
Bellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622 (1979) ..vsessevensee 24, Tennard v. Dretke, No. 02-20038, 542US.

Carey v. Population Services International, 431 ; (U.S. June 24, Seem rae 17.
U.S. 678 (1977) ....eccccccecseeceesenencensnnnnensensnnnsnnanees Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815 1989)... j
Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 384 (197M) renee — Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958)...... ae 4,5

Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982) ...-.--- ee Yarborough v. Alverado, No. 02-1684, 542 US,
Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986)... .- —_, 72 U.S.L.W. (U.S. June 1, 2004)............ 25
Furman vy. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972) ......-+-+++ 14, ,
Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968)......... m4 TATUTES
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)... 4, +~ 50 U.S.C.S. app. § 454(a), (c) (2004)... 8
HL. v. Matheson, 450 U.S. 398 (1981).......-000000 ’ H.B. 374, 1999 Leg. Sess., 1999 Montana Laws . 12
Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, No. 03-66%, $42 US.__ Kan. Crim. Code Ann. § 21-4622 (Vernon 2001)... 12
U.S. June 28, 2004) .......cccccccccceeeeeeeeeeennenneneeennns N.Y. Crim Proc. Law § 400.27 McKj ;
amine v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971) ‘ 1 S. 426, 112th Leg., “a iva, tee evans -
Miller El v. Dretke, No. 03-9659 (certiorari South Dakota 2004 Session Laws, $.B. 182... 12
ted, June 28, 2004)..........ccceccceeeeeereesernsenenes Wyoming 2004 Session Laws. Ch. 29 (HB. 5).
sane Soneay v. TL.O., 469 U.S. 325 (1985).......-... ; LE o ( ua
New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982)........-+++ GISLATIVE MATERIALS
Parham v. JR... 422 U.S. 584 (1979) pocccoccosoooosoososs ‘ = 134 Cong. Rec.-House 1108 (Oct. 21, 1988)
Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989).......-6, 14, 16, (codified at 21 U.S.C. §848(1) (2003)... 12
People v. LeVallee, No. 71, ___ N.Y. ___ (June - 18 U.S.C. §2591(a)(2)(D) ..ccseecccscsescsesseseeeeosess...... 12
ORR SRE I aOR: nn Establishing Constitutional Procedures gg tig
Planned Parenthood of Central Missowi v. | Imposition of Capital Punishment: Report of
Danforth, 428 U.S. 52 (1976). ......ceceeeeeeeenenerenes the Committee on the J udiciary, 99th Cong.,
Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833 - emt. nce agg RT TOD Re 12
DODD. ...ncccccoceccocessecesessssssssassosssssensnsncsssssessssessenss House Rep. No. 92-37. 92d C “
Pn 7 Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944)... 23 (1971)... ee ne eR Ba spendin ace ; 12
Rasul v. Bush, No. 03-334, 542 U.S. ____ (U.S. 19 Lowering the Voting Age to 18: Hearings Before
June 28, 2004)..........-ccccecececceeeeesereneesnnnessnnnnnennes 7 the Subcomm. on Constitutional Amendments
Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 (1984). ..0. -o-eceeeeeee "os of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, 91st
Skipper v. South Carolina, 476 U.S. 1 (1986)...... Cong., 2d Sess. (1970) ..ccccccceeseeossseeeeen x
Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447 (1984)... Sen. Rep. No. 92-26, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1971)... 12

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

PERIODICALS

Barrick, Daniel, Benson to Veto Raising
Minimum Death Penalty Age, Valley News
V0.2, Agel 34, BOBS q.....ccccccsccscesccssesssccssccssnsssese

Coyle, Marcia, Death Row Inmate Back at High
Court: Is 5th Circuit Defying a Supreme Court
Ruling?, NATIONAL L.J. June 21, 2004 .............

Feld, Barry, Competence, Culpability and
Punishment: Implications of Atkins for
Executing and Sentencing Adolescents, 32

HorstTrRA L. REV. 463 (forthcoming 2004)... 6, 14, 22, 26

Gillers, Stephen, Deciding Who Dies, 129 U. Pa.
BR GS yy
Mello, Michael “Jn the Years When Murder
Wore the Mask of Law”: Diary of a Capital
Appeals Lawyer, 24 VT. L. REV. 583 (2000).....
Mello, Michael, Friendly Fire: Privacy vs.
Security After September 11, 38 CRIM. L.
0 xx
Note, Juvenile Curfew Ordinances and the
Constitution, 76 Mich. L. Rev. 109 (1977) .......
Saharsky, Nicole, Comment, Consistency as a
Constitutional Value: A Comparative Look at
Age in Abortion and Death Penalty
Jurisprudence, 85 MINN. L. REV 1119 (2001)...
Saunders, Anne, AP, NH Senate Favors State
Ban on Executing Minors, Valley News [Vt.],
8 Le
Verhouek, Sam, Texas Legislator Proposes the
Death Penalty for Murderers as Young as 11,
N.Y. Times, April 18, 1998 ............:ccccscesseeeneeees
Wallis, Claudia Secrets of the Teen Brain, TIME,

15

28

17

10

24

22

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Wilson, Mark, Convicted Sniper Lee Boyd Malvo
Sentenced to Life, USA Today, March 10,
oe einrinciciiecriciiniiniiainiatiaiiasinysstipes tinted

BOOKS AND OTHER MATERIALS

Amnesty International, Juveniles: The Death
Penalty Gives Up On Juvenile Offenders
(July 28, 2003), at http://www.amnestyusa.org/
ee crnicsssisissrcsiniiitainiitanatininiamssasitiiass

BARTOLLAS, CLEMENS, JUVENILE DELINQUENCY
Sree icieiireieieniciiadeanticneseabitahtmaninncnaitlaiieistias et ceantiaiaie

BERNS, WALTER, FOR CAPITAL PUNISHMENT
ee iccesnssnsienesienenctatiniremintaninitanmsiasiatiiiealies ttatitiiee

Institute of Judicial Administration/American
Bar Association, Standards Relating to
Transfer Between Courts, at Standard § 1.1A
and Commentary (1980) .............ccccccccccsseesceeeeeee

Institute of Judicial Administration/American
Bar Association, Juvenile Justice Standards,
Standards Relating to Juvenile Delinquency
and Sanctions, Standard 2.1 and Commentary

Institute of Juvenile Administration/American
Bar Association, Juvenile Justice Standards,
Standards Relating to Transfer Between
I er cad A

LEHR, DICK AND ZUCKOFF, MITCHELL,
JUDGMENT RIDGE: THE TRUE STORY BEHIND
THE DARTMOUTH MURDERS (2004)............000000.

MELLO, MICHAEL DEATHWORK (2002) ..............0..

National Conference of Commissioners on
Uniform State Laws, Uniform Juvenile Court

Act of 1968, § 2.1(1) (1979)..........cccccscsesseceeseees

Page

20

18
21

20

10

13
28

11

Vili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Streib, Victor The Juvenile Death Penalty
Today: Death Sentences and Executions
for Juvenile Crimes, Jan. 1, 1973-April
30, 2004, available at http://www.law.onu.

Page

GED exccccecocsersnsesenneesonsvestonse 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 26, 27

Twentieth Century Fund Task Force on
Sentencing Policy Toward Young Offenders,
Confronting Youth Crime (1978).......:00000000008+

United States Department of Health, Education
and Welfare, Welfare Administration,
Children’s Bureau, Standards For Juvenile and
Family Courts (1966)...........ccscccseseersesseeeneersees

United States Department of Justice, National
Institute for Juvenile Justice and Delinquency
Prevention, Working Papers of the National
Task Force to Develop Standards and Goals
for Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Pre-
vention, Jurisdiction-Delinquency, vol. IV, at
SD

1]

11

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 03-633

~

DONALD P. RoPER, Superintendent,
POTOSI! CORRECTIONAL CENTER,

Petitioner,
Vv.

CHRISTOPHER SIMMONS,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Missouri

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL LEGAL AID AND
DEFENDER ASSOCIATION, AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE '

The National Legal Aid and Defender Association
(NLADA), a nonprofit corporation, works to support indigent
defender services and civil legal assistance to those who
cannot afford lawyers. Through its Defender Legal Services
division, NLADA provides training, information, and tech-

' Amicus files this brief with the consent of all parties. Letters of
consent have been lodged with the Clerk of the Court. No counsel for a
party authored this brief in whole or in part. No person or entity, other
than amicus, its members, or its counsel made a monetary contribution for
the preparation or submission of this brief.

2

nical assistance to public defender offices and others who
provide legal services to indigent criminal defendants.
NLADA’s American Council of Chief Defenders is a leader-
ship council that is dedicated to promoting fair justice
systems and ensuring that citizens who are accused of crimes
have adequate legal representation. NLADA has approxi-
mately 680 program members, representing 12,000 lawyers,
including nonprofit organizations, government agencies, legal
aid organizations, and law firms; NLADA also has approxi-
mately 1,000 individual members.

NLADA traces its roots to the National Alliance of Legal
Aid Societies, which was formed by 15 legal aid societies in
1911. It is the oldest and largest national nonprofit member-
ship association that devotes its resources exclusively to
serving the equal justice community.

NLADA is a leading voice in public policy debates on
equal justice issues. In pursuit of its efforts, NUADA has filed
amicus curiae briefs in major constitutional cases before this
Court that involve the administration of the criminal justice
system. For example, NLADA filed an amicus brief in
Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 816, 839 n.* (1988)
(mentioning NLADA brief). Undersigned counsel represented
NLADA on the Thompson amicus brief.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
This is a brief about line-drawing.

We begin with the premise—accepted by the plurality,
concurrence, and dissent in Thompson v. Oklahoma—that
there is “some age below which a juvenile’s crimes can never
constitutionally be punished by death.” Thompson v. Oklaho-
ma, 487 U.S. 815, 848 (1988) (concurring opinion); id at 828-
29 (plurality opinion); id. at 872 (dissenting opinion).

This case presents the question invited by such an assump-
tion: At what age does our culture set the line? The answer is
age 18. Throughout the American legal system, age 18 is the

3

recognized dividing line between adult responsibilities and
childhood. Eighteen is the only principled line here as well.

Age 18 is the only principled line the Court can draw here.
In most states and for most purposes, minority status—
defined as lower than age 18—confers a host of legal
disabilities. These legal disabilities are powerful objective
indicia that in this country age 18 is the line separating child-
hood from adulthood. Minors are treated differently because
minors are different. The diverse legal disabilities imposed
upon minors are bottomed on the common sense and empiri-
cally supported notion that minors lack maturity, judgment,
impulse control and experience. Nineteen states now bar the
execution of juvenile offenders, and 12 additional states and
D.C. bar executions altogether.

Any other line would be arbitrary—-and arbitrariness is
antithetical to the eighth amendment.

ARGUMENT

I. THE EXECUTION OF A MINOR WHO WAS
UNDER THE AGE OF EIGHTEEN AT THE
TIME OF THE OFFENSE WOULD VIOLATE
EVOLVING STANDARDS OF DECENCY

The Court made clear in Thompson that some minimum
age of susceptibility to the punishment of death must be
recognized by a constitutional guarantee that brings to bear
evolving standards of decency in fixing the outer boundaries
of that criminal sanction. Thompson, 487 U.S. at 828-29
(plurality); id. at 848 (concurrence); id. at 872 (dissent). The
problem, here as elsewhere in the evolution of constitutional
y resides in drawing the line. Shall it be 10, 11,7 12, 15, 18,

0, 21?

* This is not a hypothetical. See Sam Verhouek, Texas Legislator
Proposes the Death Penalty for Murderers as Young as 11, N.Y. Times,
April 18, 1998.

4

The inevitability of the difficult task of linedrawing is
endemic to a Constitution that has chosen not to leave it to the
vagaries of isolated juries and trial judges to determine
exclusively and irremediably the state of our national con-
science. If a constitutional line exists here—and Thompson
shows that it does—the appropriate place to draw it is at least
far clearer in relation to the present subject than in many
constitutional areas. The overwhelming concentration of
the relevant indicators fix age 18 as the line of full adult
responsibility with a clarity that is not merely convenient but
compelling when the gravest penal sanction of a society is
sought to be exacted of its youth.

A. The Traditional Two-Prong Eighth Amend-
ment Analysis: From Gregg to Coker to Ford to
Thompson to Atkins, and the Penry/Stanford
Aberration

The cruel and unusual punishments clause of the eighth
amendment “must draw its meaning from the evolving
standards of decency that mark the progress of a maturing
society.” Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304, 311-12 (2002)
(quoting 7rop v. Dulles 356 U.S. 86, 101 (1958)). “The basic
concept under lying the eighth amendment is nothing less
than the dignity of man.” Atkins, id. (quoting Trop, supra).
Standards of decency evolve and should be “judged not by the
standards that prevailed in 1685 when Lord Jeffreys presided
over the ‘Bloody Assizes’ or when the Bill of Rights was
adopted, but rather by those that currently prevail.” Atkins,
536 U.S. at 311.

A claim that capital punishment is unconstitutionally
excessive—as applied to a category of crimes or to a category
of criminals—has traditionally been tested against a two-
prong analysis. The Court’s traditional substantive eighth
amendment jurisprudence has its genesis in the landmark
1976 case Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976). The Gregg

5

Court held capital punishment was not cruel and unusual
punishment as applied to the crime of aggravated murder.

In providing analytical content to the facially vague phrase
“the evolving standards of decency that mark the progress of a
maturing society,” the Court in Gregg crafted a two-prong
test. The first prong was an attempt to identify the objective
indicia that reflect the public attitude toward a given sanction.
These objective indicia involved examining societal values as
reflected in legislative enactments and jury decisions.

The second prong of Gregg’s proportionality analysis was
subjective. It required the Justices to apply their independent
judgment to determine whether the punishment at issue
served the legitimate goals of punishment—principally deter-
rence and retribution. /d. at 183.

One year after Gregg, the Court applied the same two-
prong test to the crime of rape. In Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S.
584 (1977), the Court reaffirmed that objective indicia such as
legislative enactments and jury verdicts were the beginning of
proportionality analysis, but they were not the end: “The
Constitution contemplates that in the end our own [the
Court’s] judgment will be brought to bear on the question of
the death penalty under the eighth amendment.” /d. at 597:
accord Gregg, 428 U.S. at 182-83. Hence the importance of
the second prong of Gregg’s traditional analysis. Accord
Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782, 799 (1982) (applying two-
prong test to crime of felony murder); Ford v. Wainwright,
477 U.S. 399 (1986) (applying two-part test to executing
the insane.)

When the Court first addressed the issue of capital
punishment for juvenile offenders, the lead opinion applied
the traditional two-prong test first articulated in Gregg.
Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815, 836 (1988). Then, in
twin cases decided in 1989, the Court seemed to dramatically
constrict the first prong of the traditional two-part analysis,

6

and the Court appeared to delete the second prong altogether.
Stanford v. Kentucky, 492 U.S. 361 (1989) (juvenile offend-
ers); Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989) (mentally re-
tarded offenders).

Two years ago the Court returned to its traditional two-
prong analysis. In Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002), the
Court revisited the issue of capital punishment for the
mentally retarded and overruled Penry. Atkins’s analysis more
closely resembles that in Thompson, Gregg, Coker, Enmund,
and Ford, than that in Stanford and Penry. The Atkins Court
first looked at the objective evidence of legislative intent
provided by state legislation barring the death penalty. Then it
undertook an independent examination of whether the
imposition of the death penalty on the mentally retarded
constitutes cruel and unusual punishment under today’s
evolving standards of decency. /d. at 313.

We believe that the traditional two-prong analysis—
employed from Gregg to Coker to Enmund to Ford to
Thompson, and reaffirmed in Atkins—is correct. Penry and
Stanford were anomalies. Applying the traditional test to
mental retardation, the Court overruled Penry. Applying the
traditional test to the juvenile death penalty, the Court should
overrule Stanford.’

B. The First Prong (Objective Indicia): In Most
States and for Most Purposes, Age Eighteen
Marks the Bright-Line Boundary Between
Childhood and Adult Responsibilities

Throughout the American legal system, age 18 is recog-
nized as the dividing line between adult responsibility and
childhood. This bright line is reflected in objective indicia

> See generally In re Stanford, 536 U.S. 304 (2002) (Stevens, J., joined
by Breyer, Ginsburg and Souter, J.J.) (opinion respecting denial of certio-
rari); Barry Feld, Competence, Culpability and Punishment: Implications
of Atkins for Executing and Sentencing Adolescents, 32 HOFSTRA L. REV.
463 (forthcoming 2004).

J

such as the enactments of legislatures, the actual behavior
of capital juries, the opinions of respected professional
organizations, and the norms of international conduct. E.g.,
Thompson, supra, Atkins, supra; but see Stanford, supra.
Linedrawing here should be “informed by objective factors to
the maximum possible extent.” Arkins, 536 U.S. at 312:
Coker, 433 U.S. at 592.

The laws and policies discussed in this section reflect an
almost universal judgment that minors ought to be treated
differently from adults. Generally, there are no exceptions to
that judgment. Public officials do not consider requests by
especially mature minors to allow them to vote, serve as
jurors, or drink alcoholic beverages. As a society, we treat
those under age 18 as categorically different from adults.
These lines reflect clear distinctions between children and
adults, distinctions that require the Court to draw the line at
age 18 for the imposition of the death penalty.

1. Legislative Enactments

Stanford only considered a single type of legislative
enactments: statutes addressing the narrow issue of execution
eligibility for juvenile offenders. By contrast, Thompson
considered the full spectrum of statutes demarking the line
between adulthood and childhood. We believe that the
inclusive approach of Thompson is correct.

The “law has generally regarded minors as having a lesser
capability for making important decisions,” Carey v. Popula-
tion Services International, 431 U.S. 678, 693 n.15 (1977),
and “recognizes a host of distinctions between the rights and
duties of children and those of adults.” New Jersey v. T.L.O.,
469 U.S. 325, 350 n.2 (1985) (Powell, J., concurring). Be-
cause of these distinctions, the Court has “sustained legisla-
tion aimed at protecting the physical and emotional well-
being of youth even when the laws have operated in the
sensitive area of constitutionally protected rights.” New York
v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 757 (1982). The “state’s interest in

8

the welfare of its young citizens justifies a variety of protec-
tive measures. Because he may not foresee the consequences
of his decision, a minor may not make an enforceable bargain.
He may not lawfully work or travel where he pleases, or even
attend exhibitions of constitutionally protected adult motion
pictures. Persons below a certain age may not marry without
parental consent.” H. L. v. Matheson, 450 U.S. 398, 421-22
(1981) (Stevens, J., concurring) (quoting Planned Parenthood
of Central Missouri v. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52, 102 (1976)
(Stevens, J., dissenting)).

As the plurality observed in Thompson, “[i]t would be
ironic if these assumptions that we so readily make about
children as a class—about their inherent difference from
adults in their capacity as agents, as choosers, as shapers of
their own lives—were suddenly unavailable in determining
whether it is cruel and unusual to treat children the same as
adults for purposes of inflicting capital punishment.”
Thompson, 487 U.S. at 825 n.23 (plurality).

Minority status means younger than age 18. Eighteen years
is the line selected by Congress and the states in their
enactment and ratification of the twenty-sixth amendment to
the Constitution governing voting age. Following extensive
hearings. both state and federal legislatures agreed to give
constitutional significance to age 18 as the time when young
people should first be permitted to participate in the
most basic civic responsibility of adults in a democracy.
See Lowering the Voting Age to 18: Hearings Before the
Subcomm. on Constitutional Amendments of the Senate
Committee on the Judiciary, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. (1970); Sen.
Rep. No. 92-26, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1971); House Rep. No.
92-37, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1971). Eighteen also is the
minimum age at which a citizen may be drafted into the
armed services as well as the minimum age at which a
person may enlist without parental consent. 50 U.S.C.S. app.
§ 454(a), (c) (2004 ).

9

As the plurality noted in Thompson, 487 U.S. at 839-848
(Appendices A-F), in most states and for most purposes, a
“minor” means one below age 18:

@ All states and DC set the age of majority at age 18 or
older. Forty-six jurisdictions set age 18 as the age of
majority; two jurisdictions set the age at 21, two set it
at 19, and one does not set a uniform age of majority.
See Appendix A (collecting current statutes).

@ In no jurisdiction may anyone below the age of 18
serve on a jury. Forty-seven jurisdictions require ju-
rors to be 18 years or older, two require jurors to be at
least 19 years and two require jurors to be at least 21.
See Appendix B (collecting current statutes).

® No jurisdiction has lowered its voting age below 18.
See Appendix C (collecting current statutes).

@ All jurisdictions but four require unemancipated
minors to be 18 years old to marry without parental
consent. In one jurisdiction, the minimum age is 19; in
two states the minimum age is 16; in another jurisdic-
tion, females may marry at age 15 without parental
consent. See Appendix D (collecting current statutes).

® Thirty-two jurisdictions establish 18 as the age of
consent ‘ most forms of non-emergency medical
treatment, one state sets the age at 21, one jurisdiction
puts the age at 17, two jurisdictions put the age at 16,
two set the age at 14, two permit treatment if the
minor is able to understand the decision, and eight
jurisdictions have no legislation in this area. See
Appendix E (collecting current statutes).

©@ Forty-one jurisdictions require a person to be age 18 to
receive a driver’s license without parental consent;
two jurisdictions set the age at 17, while eight set it at
16. See Appendix F (collecting current statutes).

10

© In forty-five jurisdictions, a person must be age 18 to
purchase pornographic materials; four jurisdictions
set the age at 17, one jurisdiction sets it at 16, and
one jurisdiction has no legislation in this area. See
Appendix G (collecting current statutes).

®@ No jurisdiction allows legalized gambling by people
younger than age 18. Of the forty-eight jurisdictions
which permit legalized gambling, 42 set the minimum
age at 18, five set it at 21, one sets it at 19. See
Appendix H (collecting current statutes).

@ Of the sixteen jurisdictions which have in recent years
set a minimum age for admission to pool halls, twelve
states put the age at 18, three set the age at 16, and
one puts it at 19. See Appendix I (collecting current
statutes).

@ Of the twenty-nine jurisdictions which have in recent
years set a minimum age for the right to pawn
property or to sell to junk or precious metal dealers,
twenty-five set the age at 18, while three set the age
at 16, and one at age 19. See Appendix J (collecting
current statutes).

@ Many localities have juvenile curfew ordinances. The
“most common upper age limit” is 18. See Note,
Juvenile Curfew Ordinances and the Constitution, 76
Mich. L. Rev. 109, 140 (1977).

Contemporary legislative attitudes toward minors are
reflected further in the development of juvenile justice
systems. “Juvenile courts exist because Americans admit
to a fundamental difference between children and adults.”
See Institute of Juvenile Administration/American Bar
Association, Juvenile Justice Standards, Standards Relating to
Transfer Between Courts 1 (1980). Every state has a
comprehensive juvenile court system, the principal purpose of
which is to rehabilitate and the premise of which is that

minors are not fully responsible for their offenses and
therefore should be treated more benignly than their adult
counterparts. See McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528
$51-52 (1971) (White J., concurring). eae

Most model standards reflect the jud

majority of jurisdictions which set a care ahs oe
juvenile courts. See United States Department of Health,
Education and Welfare, Welfare Administration, Children’s
Bureau, Standards For Juvenile and Family Courts 36 (1966)
(Successful experience in these courts over many years has
established the soundness of this age level [18 years] of
Jurisdiction ); National Conference of Commissioners on
Uniform State Laws, Uniform Juvenile Court Act of 1968

§ 2.1(i) (1979) (18 years); United States Department of le
tice, National Institute for Juvenile Justice and Delinquency
Prevention, Working Papers of the National Task Force to
Develop Standards and Goals for Juvenile Justice and Delin-
quency Prevention, Jurisdiction-Delinquency, vol. IV, at 10-
11 (1977) (18 years); Institute of Judicial Administration/
American Bar Association, Standards Relating to Transfer
Between Courts, at Standard § 1.1A and Commentary (1980)
(18 years); Institute of Judicial Administration/ American Bar
Association, Juvenile Justice Standards, Standards Relating to
Juvenile Delinquency and Sanctions, Standard 2.1 and

Commentary (1980) (18 years); Twentieth Century Fund Task

Force on Sentencing Policy Toward Young Offenders,

Confronting Youth Crime 9 (1978) (18 years).

As to capital punishment specifically, the legislati

' ive mes-

Sage supports the notion that if an age must be chosen,
cighteen is the only principled line. Congress—our national
legislature—consistently sets age 18 as the minimum age for
execution eligibility. The federal death penalty legislation
— in the Anti-Drug Abuse Act provides
a sentence of death “shall not be carried out upon a
person who is under 18 years of age at the time the crime was

12

committed.” 134 Cong. Rec.-House 1108 (Oct. 21, 1988)
(codified at 21 U.S.C. §848(1) (2003)). When federal death
penalty legislation was proposed in 1986, no minimum age
was specified. An amendment to the bill, setting 18 as the
minimum age, passed without recorded disagreement. See
Establishing Constitutional Procedures for the Imposition of
Capital Punishment: Report of the Committee on the Judici-
ary, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 30 (1986). In 1994, Congress en-
acted the Federal Death Penalty Law, adding 50 new federal
capital offenses. Again, the minimum age selected by our
national legislature was age 18. 18 U.S.C. §2591(a)(2)(D).

At the state level, protection for minors under death penalty
statutes has increased dramatically in the past quarter century.
A 1961 Associated Press survey of legal possibilities in
criminal proceedings involving juveniles showed a much
harsher legal environment. See New York Times, Jan. 7,
1962, at 81, col. 1. Of forty-one death penalty states at that
time, the minimum age for the death penalty was age 7 in
sixteen states, age 8 in three states, age 10 in three states and
ages 12 to 18 in nineteen states. /d. Even at the time of
Stanford in 1989, 11 states banned the juvenile death penalty.

Since Stanford, seven additional states have set the mini-
mum age for execution eligibility at 18 years old. Four did so
by statute. See South Dakota 2004 Session Laws, S.B. 182
(approved March 3, 2004); Wyoming 2004 Session Laws, ch.
29 (H.B. 5) (approved March 3, 2004); S. 426, 112th Leg.,
Reg. Sess., Indiana Laws; H.B. 374, 1999 Leg. Sess., 1999
Montana Laws. Two states did so by newly reinstating capital
punishment, but only for those offenders who were at least 18
years old. See Kan. Crim. Code Ann. § 21-4622 (Vernon
2001); N.Y. Crim Proc. Law § 400.27 (McKinney 2002). One
state supreme court held that its capital statute cannot be
construed to allow imposition of the juvenile death penalty.
See State v. Furman, 858 P.2d 1092, 1102-03 (Wash. 1993).

13

Thus, of the 38* death penalty states in the United States, a
total of 18 states require a minimum age of 18 for capital
punishment. Add the federal civilian and military death
penalty statutes, and the number rises to 20—one jurisdiction
more than the 18 states Atkins identified as prohibiting
execution of the mentally retarded. Atkins, supra at 314-15. If
the 12 states and D.C. that bar capital punishment altogether
are included, the combined total becomes 30 states that bar
juvenile execution—the same number as the 30 states that
prohibited execution of the mentally retarded at the time
Atkins was decided. See Victor Streib, The Juvenile Death
Penalty Today: Death Sentences and Executions for Juvenile
Crimes, Jan. 1, 1973-April 30, 2004, available at http://www.
law.onu.edu (last visited July 7, 2004) [hereinafter “Streib”).°

On March 3, 2004, Governors Mike Rounds of South
Dakota and Dave Freundenthal of Wyoming signed into state
law bipartisan legislation banning the execution of those who
were under age 18 at the time of their crimes. On February 19,
2004, in a state still traumatized by the brutal murders of two
Dartmouth College professors, see generally Dick LEHR AND
MITCHELL ZUCKOFF, JUDGMENT RIDGE: THE TRUE STORY
BEHIND THE DARTMOUTH MURDERS (2004), the New Hamp-
shire Senate voted that the state should not execute offenders
younger than age 18. See Anne Saunders, AP, NH Senate
Favors State Ban on Executing Minors, Valley News [Vt.],
Feb. 20, 2004. On April 23, 2004, the New Hampshire House
followed suit. See Daniel Barrick, Benson to Veto Raising

* New York’s highest court recently declared that state’s capital statute
unconstitutional based on the New York constitution. See People v.
LeVallee,No.71, = N.Y.___ (June 24, 2004).

* Professor Streib counts Missouri as an age-18 state, based on the
lower court’s decision in this case. We do not count Missouri. For us, the
purpose of this state nose-counting is to demonstrate that state legislatures
have set age 18 at the line separating childhood from adulthood. The
minimum age in Missouri was set by a state supreme court interpreting the

14

Minimum Death Penalty Age, Valley News [Vt.], April 24,
2004. The governor vetoed. Many other states have consid-
ered similar bills. See Feld, supra.

Further, as was the case with Askins, the legislative change
has all been in one direction: raising the minimum age for
execution eligibility. No state since Stanford has lowered the
age from 18 to 17 or 16, even though Stanford empowered
states to do so. To the contrary, the minimum age has either
stayed the same or been raised. Streib, supra. The only two
states to reinstate capital punishment since Stanford set 18 as
the minimum age. /d.

In any event, statutes authorizing the death penalty for
minors are not determinative. The legislatures that permit
execution for crimes committed by minors do not deem those
same minors sufficiently mature to vote, sit on a jury or
engage in a wide variety of adult activities. See Appendices
A-J. Further, as we will now show, capital statutes authoriz-
ing the death penalty for minors have led to only a minuscule
number of juvenile death sentences and actual executions. In
sum, death penalty legislation alone cannot reveal society’s
evolving standards of decency. Accord Thompson, supra;
Atkins, supra; but cf. Stanford, supra; Penry, supra.

2. Jury Determinations and Actual Executions

In addition to legislative enactments, the “second societal
factor the Court has examined in determining the acceptabil-
ity of capital punishment to the American sensibility is the
behavior of juries.” Thompson, 487 U.S. at 831 (plurality);
accord Atkins, 536 U.S. at 316. In the three decades since
Furman vy. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972), the Court has
consistently looked to the pattern of jury verdicts in support
of a conclusion about the death penalty’s constitutionality,
either generally or for particular crimes or offenders.

Thus, the Court, while considering legislation as one meas-
ure of society’s evolving standards of decency, still looks

15

beyond those indicators to learn whether they are accurate.
There is a good reason to do so:

Each lawmaker confronts capital punishment abstractly. No
life depends on her vote. Legislative response tells us the
degree to which we are willing to have laws permitting
execution, but sentencing and execution tell us the degree to
which we are willing to carry them out. A statute, further-
more, is static. It remains until changed. As public opinion
shifts, older statutes become less reliable indicators of current
values. Forces influence legislators that do not affect jurors. A
legislator may believe, for example, that death penalty propo-
nents in his constituency are more likely than its opponents to
be single- issue voters or are more likely to organize against
him, if he opposes capital punishment, than will opponents if
he supports it. A constituency’s willingness to vote based on a
single issue and its degree of organization likely influence a
lawmaker’s decision and may skew the degree to which
the pattern of legislation reflects community sentiment. Of
course, legislative action may accurately reflect community
sentiment on the acceptability of the death penalty, either
generally or in classes of cases. But without a pattern of jury
response, we cannot know whether this is true or whether,
instead, various political factors have combined to obscure
the community view. The jury, because it is so directly
involved, is needed to avoid guessing wrong.

Stephen Gillers, Deciding Who Dies, 129 U. Pa. L. REv. 1,
72-73 (1980).

A total of 227 juvenile death sentences have been imposed
since 1973, only three percent of the approximately 7,445
death sentences imposed for offenders of all ages. See Streib,
supra at 8. Of these 227 juvenile death sentences imposed in
the modern era, only 72 remain currently in force. /d. For the
155 juvenile death sentences finally resolved either by
reversal or execution, the reversal rate is 86% (133 of 155).
Id. Only 14% (22 of 155) resulted in execution. /d.

16

Since 2000, the juvenile death sentencing rate appears to
have- declined significantly. Seven such sentences were
imposed annually in 2000 and 2001—half the typical rate in
the preceding six years. /d. In 2002, only four juvenile death
sentences were imposed. /d. Only two such sentences were
imposed in 2003, and only one was imposed in the first five
months of 2004. /d.

In short, capital juries rarely sentence juvenile offenders to
death. Actual juvenile executions have become rarer still. In
Atkins, this Court found persuasive the fact that execution of
the mentally retarded had become truly unusual. Many states
that nominally had the death penalty on their books no longer
imposed it at all or had never imposed it on a mentally
retarded person, and only a total of five persons known to be
mentally retarded had been executed in the United States in
the thirteen years following the Court’s decision in Penry. See
Atkins, 536 U.S. at 316.

The practice of executing those under 18 has become
similarly uncommon today. Although twenty-two states theo-
retically permit the death penalty for juveniles, only six
(Missouri, Texas, Virginia, Georgia, Oklahoma, and Louisi-
ana) have actually executed a juvenile offender since Stanford
was decided fifteen years ago. Streib, supra, at 3-4. Of these
six states, only three have executed juvenile offenders since
1993—Texas, Virginia, and Oklahoma. /d. at 4. Louisiana
last executed a juvenile offender in 1990, Georgia in 1993. /d.
at 3. Missouri executed Frederick Lashley in 1993. That is the
only officially recorded execution of a juvenile offender in
Missouri since the state took over executions from Missouri’s
counties in 1937.

Perhaps most telling is that, while at least 366 juvenile
offenders have been executed in this country since 1642
(when the first juvenile offender execution occurred), only
twenty-two of the 366 were carried out during the current era
(1973-2004). Jd Of these twenty-two executions, Texas,

-_

17

Virginia, and Oklahoma together account for eighty-one
percent of the juvenile executions; Texas alone accounted for
59 percent.° /d. at 5. Although Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas,
Delaware, Idaho, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nevada, Pennsyl-
vania, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming all theoretically
permit the death penalty for 16-year-olds, and while Florida,
New Hampshire, and North Carolina theoretically permit it
for 17-year-olds, none of these states has executed a juvenile
since the death penalty was re-established in 1976. /d. at 3-4,
6. All but South Dakota and New Hampshire, however, have
executed other offenders during that period. Indeed, even
where juries have imposed a death sentence on a juvenile
since the reinstatement of the death penalty in 1976, its
application has consistently been reversed by the courts on a
variety of grounds, making South Carolina the only other state
(other than Texas, Louisiana, Missouri, Georgia, Virginia,
e ~ nai to carry out a juvenile execution since 1976.
. at 5.

* Texas and Virginia ought not be allowed to skew the Court’s survey
of our national standards of decency. The Court should treat Texas and
Virginia as social scientists would treat outliers in a statistical analysis—
Statisticians always clip the outliers. Federal constitutional law in this area
should be broad and non-regional.

Further the Texas and Virginia execution rates should be clipped
statistically, because both states have particularly dysfunctional systems of
capital punishment. Both states grossly underfund capital defense at both
the trial and appellate level. Neither the Virginia Supreme Court nor the
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals provide meaningful state appellate court
review. Neither the Fifth Circuit not the Fourth Circuit provide meaningful
federal habeas appellate review. Cf Tennard v. Dretke, No. 02-20038,
542 US. ___, (U.S. June 24, 2004) (sharply-worded reversal of Fifth
Circuit); Banks v. Dretke, No. 02-8286, 542 U.S. __, 72 U.S.L.W. 4193
(U.S. Feb. 24, 2004) (same); Marcia Coyle, Death Row Inmate Back at
High Court: Ils 5th Circuit Defying a Supreme Court Ruling?, National
L.J., June 21, 2004 (discussing Miller El v. Dretke, No. 03-9659
(certiorari granted, June 28, 2004); Michael Mello, Friendly Fire: Privacy
vs. Security After September 11, 38 Crim. L. Bull. 367, 393-94 n.53
(2003) (discussing Fourth Circuit).

18

More mentally retarded persons than juveniles have been
executed, in more states, since the death penalty was
reinstated in 1976. As Atkins noted in regard to the mentally
retarded, in light of the small number of executions of
juvenile offenders carried out in the last decade, legislatures
in states with a juvenile death penalty may have seen little
reason to pass legislation barring it. Atkins, supra at 316.
Juveniles are so seldom executed that, other than perhaps in
Texas, Virginia, and Oklahoma, the death penalty for
juveniles has become so truly unusual that its potential
application is more hypothetical than real.

3. Other Nations: Allies in the War on
Terrorists

That it would offend civilized standards of decency to
execute a person who was less than 18 years old at the time of
the offense also finds support in the views that have been
expressed by “other nations that share our Anglo-American
heritage.” Thompson, 487 U.S. at 830 (plurality); see also
Atkins, 536 U.S. at 313; but see Stanford, 492 U.S. at 369 n.1.

The domestic legislative evidence that age 18 is the appro-
priate boundary between minority and adult responsibility
coincides with international law. The international rejection
of the juvenile death penalty was already strong at the time of
Stanford. Today, the United States stands alone: The U.S. is
the only country in which the execution of those under 18 is
officially sanctioned, and the only country that has not signed
the UN’s Convention on the Rights of the Child, which
prohibits the practice. See Amnesty International, Juveniles:
The Death Penalty Gives Up On Juvenile Offenders (July 28,
2003), at http://www.amnestyusa.org/abolish/juveniles. Of the
last seven juvenile offender executions, five occurred in the
United States. See Streib, supra, at 7.

Perhaps more importantly, the September 11, 2001 terrorist
attacks occurred since Stanford was decided. We are now a
nation at war. The reality of war affects constitutional

19

adjudication. E.g., Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, No. 03-6696, 542 U.S.
___ (U.S. June 28, 2004); Rasul v. Bush, No. 03-334, 542
U.S. _ (U.S. June 28, 2004).

The United States cannot win the war against terrorists
without the active cooperation of other nations. After
September 11, the good opinion of the world is no longer a
matter simply of U.S. pride; it is a matter of national self
defense and survival. Whether we like it or not, most of the
rest of the world finds capital punishment barbaric, the
juvenile death penalty more barbaric still. The geopolitical
reality is that elimination of our juvenile death penalty would
increase worldwide respect for and cooperation with America
as we lead the global war on terror. As we lead the war on
terrorism, it will be essential that our domestic standards of
law and morality match or exceed the standards of our allies
in this war.

C. The Second Prong (the Court’s Independent
Judgment on Deterrence and Retribution):
Establishing a Bright-Line Age Limit of 18
Years Will Not Undermine Deterrence or
Retribution, Because the Reasons For Treating
Minors Differently From Adults Apply With
Special Force Here, Since the Developmental
Differences Between Adolescents and Adults
Diminish the State’s Interest in Inflicting the
Death Penalty on Minors

1. The Law Treats Children Differently Because
Children Are Different

The previous section documented ways in which the law
treats children differently from adults. This section discusses
the reason: The law treats children differently because
children are different. Specifically, children are different in
ways directly connected to the goals of capital punishment—
retribution and deterrence. See Thompson, supra; but see
Stanford, supra (no discussion of deterrence or retribution).

20

The Thompson plurality explained what every parent worth
her salt knows from experience: “Less culpability should
attach to a crime committed by a juvenile. ... Inexperience,
less education, and less intelligence make the teenager less
able to evaluate the consequences of his or her conduct while
at the same time he or she is much more apt to be motivated
by mere emotion or peer group pressure.” Thompson, supra
at 835.

2. Retribution and Deterrence

The Court has said that retribution—the expression of soci-
ety’s outrage at particularly offensive conduct—is a legitimate
penological goal of capital punishment. Thompson, 487 U.S.
at 836 (plurality); Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447, 461-62
(1984); Enmund, 458 U.S. at 800-01; Gregg, 428 U.S. at 183;
Atkins, 536 U.S. at 319; but see Stanford, supra (no discus-
sion of retribution); Penry, supra (same).

As the Thompson plurality observed, the philosophical
premises of retribution fail when applied to minors. Thomp-
son supra at 834-35. The morality of the anger which fuels
the desire for retribution is based on the killer’s violation of
the social compact. Society has entrusted its citizens with
rights, one of which is freedom, and the murderer has grossly
abused that freedom. WALTER BERNS, FOR CAPITAL PUNISH-
MENT 155 (1979). The fallacy of this retributive argument as
it applies to minors is precisely that society does not entrust
minors with such freedom. States do not trust their minors
to vote, sit on juries or engage in a wide variety of adult
activities.

It is no accident that even in an era in which the public
perceives a significant increase in juvenile crime and where
public support for capital punishment is overwhelming, juries
almost never vote to execute minors—even for especially
hideous and high-profile crimes. See, e.g., Mark Wilson,
Convicted Sniper Lee Boyd Malvo Sentenced to Life, USA
Today, March 10, 2004. Many jurors, given the task of ex-

21

pressing the common sense judgment of the community,
recognize that adolescents are developmentally distinct from
adults, that adolescents grow up, and that young people are
uniquely capable of being rehabilitated. Juries recognize that
it is unrealistic and inhumane to treat young offenders as if
they have fully mature judgment and control.

Thompson recognized that, in refusing to vote for the ulti-
mate retribution for minors, juries understand the common
sense and empirically supported assumption that minors lack
the maturity, experience, sophistication and judgment neées-
sary to make many important decisions. “Inexperience, less
education, and less intelligence make the teenager less able to
evaluate the consequences of his or her conduct while at the
same time he or she is much more apt to be motivated by
mere emotion or peer pressure than is an adult. The reasons
why juveniles are not trusted with the privileges and respon-
sibilities of an adult also explain why their irresponsible
conduct is not as morally reprehensible as that of an adult.”
Thompson, 487 U.S. at 835 (plurality). “Children, by defini-
tion, are not assumed to have the capacity to take care of
themselves.” Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253, 265 (1984).

Similarly, Thompson acknowledged, exempting juveniles
from capital punishment would not undermine the deterrent
effect of capital punishment. The “death penalty has little
deterrent force against defendants who have reduced capacity
for considered choice.” Skipper v. South Carolina, 476 U.S.
1, 13 (1986) (Powell, J., concurring). The Thompson plurality
noted that adolescents are less likely than adu! s to calculate
consequences rationally; this, indeed, is the premise under-
lying the states’ guardianship and protection of minors. It is
unlikely that cold, rational calculation of risks and conse-
quences is involved when minors commit crimes. Thompson,
supra at 837-38; see also CLEMENS BARTOLLAS, JUVENILE
DELINQUENCY 102 (1985).

22

The Thompson plurality grounded its analysis of retribution
and deterrence in research conducted by behavioral psycholo-
gists. At the time of Thompson and Stanford, developmental
psychologists had long reported differences between the
thinking and behavior of children, adolescents, and adults.
The psychological literature remains solid on this score. See

Feld, supra.

However, recent neuroscience research since Stanford sug-
gests that these behaviors have organic roots—in brain
development, biological maturation, and intellectual function-
ing. See generally Feld, supra at section Ill. A. 4 (summariz-
ing studies). In other words, a “hard-science explanation may
exist for the soft-science observations of social scientists.
Neurobiological science suggests that the human brain does
not achieve physiological maturity until the early twenties,
and that adolescents simply do not have the same physiologic
capability as adults to make mature decisions or to control
impulsive behavior.” /d.; see also, e.g., Claudia Wallis,
Secrets of the Teen Brain, Time, May 10, 2004 (cover story).

The unifying narrative theme of the social science materials
cited in Thompson, and of the neuroscience research
conducted since Thompson and Stanford, provide empirical
support for the common sense idea that adolescents act
differently because they are different. These differences go
directly to the retributive and deterrent justifications for

capital punishment.

D. A Bright-Line Rule Is Appropriate Here,
Because There Is No Viable Basis for Distin-
guishing Among Minors for Purposes of
Administration of the Death Penalty, and
Because a Bright-Line Rule Would Best Serve
the Principles of Federalism

The quandary of line-drawing among minors is, of course a
dilemma that the Court has faced on prior occasions. In
numerous cases, in numerous factual contexts, the Court has

23

consistently sounded a single, overarching theme: that
minors—simply by virtue of their status as minors—can be
deprived of the rights and privileges of adults. The Court’s
decisions sanctioning legal disabilities for minors treat
juveniles as a coherent class, and establish the age of majority
as the demarcation between the period of childhood and
the period of adulthood. E.g., Ginsberg v. New York, 390
U.S. 629 (1968); Parham v. J.R., 422 U.S. 584 (1979);
Schall, supra.

It is instructive to consider the context in which the Court
has previously decided questions of juvenile law. Typically,
the question presented is whether a certain minor, or class of
minors, is sufficiently mature or sophisticated to be treated as
an adult and freed of a statutory or administrative restriction
that affects all young people. The Court has repeatedly re-
jected such attempts to draw distinctions between subgroups
of minors, and instead has relied on generalizations about the
unique nature of childhood and the universal characteristics of
children, to treat minors as a single coherent class. E.g.,
Schall, 467 U.S. at 265 (“[c)hildren, by definition, are not
assumed to have the capacity to care for themselves”); Prince
v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 168 (1944) (upholding the
state's right to restrict a minor’s employment opportunities,
because “(t]he state’s authority over children’s activities is
broader than over like actions of adults”).

1. The Abortion Cases

The series of decisions addressing the privacy rights of a
young woman to an abortion constitute the only factual
context in which the Court has tolerated case-by-case deter-
minations on the basis of the relative maturity or immaturity
of individual youths. E.g., Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505
US. 833 (1992) (upholding parental consent requirement for
immature minors); Planned Parenthood of Missouri, supra:
Bellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622 (1979); HL. v. Matheson.
supra. However, the Court has permitted such case-by-case

24

determinations only in order to avoid irrevocable harm. In
Bellotti, the Court recognized that “considering her probable
education, employment skills, financial resources, and emo-
tional maturity, unwanted motherhood may be exceptionally
burdensome for a minor.” 443 U.S. at 642. Accordingly, the
Court struck down a parental veto statute that would have
imposed the “grave and indelible” consequences of “un-
wanted motherhood” upon mature minors who were capable
of rationally considering the alternatives. /d.

A question is sometimes raised as to how a young teen can
have the maturity to decide whether or not to have an abortion
and yet not be mature enough to be subject to the death
penalty. The broadest response to the question is that devel-
opmental maturity is always conditional. A teen who is
considered able to handle the question of abortion may not be
mature enough to act as a guardian or to serve in public
office. Contemplating the future consequences of bearing (or
not bearing) a child is inherently very different from fore-
seeing the consequences of killing another person—an act
that for a young teen can hardly be labeled a decision in an
adult sense, especially in light of what has been learned
recently about the functioning of the adolescent brain. See
Nicole Saharsky, Comment, Consistency as a Constitutional
Value: A Comparative Look at Age in Abortion and Death
Penalty Jurisprudence, 85 MINN. L. REV 1119 (2001).

The response from a jurisprudential perspective is even
clearer. From Furman and Gregg to Thompson and Atkins,
the mandate is fairness, and the calculus is consistency. The
eighth amendment is offended by the absence of either. Cases
raising the issue of the autonomy interest of a pregnant minor
vis a vis other protectable interests under law do not concern
punishment, let alone cruel and unusual punishment. The
bright-line that is so essential in establishing consistent
classifications under the death penalty scheme is, indeed,
counterproductive in the teen abortion/parental notification

25

context, since the focus is on individual maturity, rather than
legal presumptions flowing from one’s age. See Bellotti v.
Baird, 443 U.S. 622, 647 (1979). In sum, teen applicants for
autonomy in making decisions about abortion are not even to
be compared with each other, and even less with minors
facing the death penalty.

Unlike the prior cases involving minors’ rights, where an
individual minor (or a litigant acting on behalf of the minor)
sought to divide artificially the general class of minors into

subclasses of mature and immature minors for the sake of —

expanding mature minors’ rights, here it is the state that is
asking the Court to engage in such artificial case-by-case
decision making. The state asserts, in effect, that certain
minors are sufficiently mature and sophisticated so as to fall
outside the general category of youth and be subjected to the
perquisites (here, the penalties) of adulthood.

The case-by-case decision making urged by the state cannot
be squared with the Court’s prior decisions in the area of
minors’ rights. There can be no justification for employing a
one-way analysis that forbids case-by-case decision making
for the sake of expanding minors’ rights while employing that
very same form of decision making for the sake of extinguish-
ing the greatest of all rights, the right to life.

2. The Risk of Error

We understand that different people mature at different
rates: “17'%2 -year-olds vary widely.” Yarborough v. Alverado,
No. 02-1684, 542 U.S. _, 72 U.S.L.W. 4415, 4420 (U.S.
June 1, 2004) (O’Connor, J., concurring). There is nothing
magical about the | 8th birthday.

Establishing a bright-line at age 18 may mean that some
especially mature minors might escape the death penalty.
However, trials are imprecise instruments, and “maturity” is a
slippery concept at best—which means that, under the status
quo, some especially immature minors are sentenced to death.

26

That is one message behind the 86% reversal rate in juvenile
capital cases. See Streib, supra at 8. Both the status quo and
the bright-line rule we advocate carry risks of error.- We
believe that the risk of error ought to be allocated in favor of
life over death. See Feld, supra at section IV.

But focusing on offender maturity and blameworthiness
obscures a larger societal truth: This is not just about who the
killers are. This is also about who we are as a society. The
controlling eighth amendment inquiry turns on our nation’s
standards of decency. Perhaps some 17-year-olds are mature
enough to die; perhaps some even deserve to die. But we
should still choose not to kill them. America should not
execute people who were children—so defined by a wide
constellation of objective indicia—when they committed
murder. We should be better than that.

3. Federalism: A Bright-Line Rule is Less
Injurious to Principles of Federalism

Federalism also supports a bright-line rule. The govern-
ment argues that states should be free to set the execution
eligibility age limit to lower than age 18, that establishing a
bright-line rule at age 18 would offend principles of federal-
ism. But a bright-line age limit would be less injurious to
principles of federalism than the status quo today. Today, we
know that the Constitution sets some minimum age for execu-
tion eligibility. We just do not know what that age might be.
This vagueness matters: The reversal rate for juvenile death
sentences is 86% (133 of 155). See Streib, supra at 8. Nearly
nine out of ten juvenile death sentences have been reversed.
Many of those reversals have been at the hands of federal
habeas courts. The status quo, not a bright-line age limit of
18. constitutes an unwarranted federal intrusion into state
control of its criminal procedure.

An absolute age limit of age 18 would be less of an intru-

sion on state criminal processes, because it would be clear-
cut, in contrast to the current vagueness. Such vagueness

27

compels continual intervention by the federal courts into state
criminal proceedings—not on the basis of applying a concrete
principle but by the corrosive and irritating process of case-
by-case review. The vagueness of the status quo has not
meant, and will not mean, /ess federal intervention in state
criminal prosecutions than would be the case if the eighth
amendment, were construed to establish a bright-line age limit
of 18. The status quo means more federal intervention on a
case-by-case basis—and the relations between federal and
state courts would suffer from it. A bright-line age limit of 18

would be a more appropriate adaptation of the eighth amend-
ment to the demands of federalism.

Finally, the practical implications with respect to persons
already on death row do not militate against overruling
Stanford and establishing a bright-line at age 18. The 72
juvenile offenders currently on death row constitute only two
percent of the total death row population of approximately
3,500. See Streib, supra at 11. Since 1973, almost all actual
executions have been of adult offenders, so the overall execu-
tion rate would be largely unaffected even if the Court were to
establish a bright-line at 18. See Streib, supra at 5. For
example, Texas has executed 321 persons in the current era,
only 13 (four percent) of whom were juveniles. /d. Outside of
Texas the rest of the United States has executed 588 persons
in the current era, only 19 (1.5 percent) of whom were
juvenile offenders. /d.

CONCLUSION: “Being Able to Stay Outside and
See the Moon and Stars. .. .”

The inevitability of the difficult task of linedrawing is
endemic to a Constitution that has chosen not to leave it to the
vagaries of isolated juries and trial judges to determine exclu-
sively and irremediably the state of our national conscience. If
a constitutional line exists here—and Thompson shows that it
does—the appropriate place to draw it is at least far clearer in
relation to the present subject than in many constitutional

28

areas. The overwhelming concentration of the relevant objec-
tive indicators fix age 18 as the line of full adult responsibility
with a clarity that is not merely convenient but compelling
when the gravest penal sanction of a society is sought to be
exacted of its youth.

Amid the legal arguments and counter arguments made in
cases such as this, it is easy to lose track of the truth that these
cases affect real lives. Death row prisoners are real people.
Their murder victims are real people.

During the 1980s, undersigned counsel represented a Flor-
ida death row prisoner named Paul Magill. See MICHAEL
MELLO, DEATHWORK 148-161 (2002); Michael Mello, “/n the
Years When Murder Wore the Mask of Law”: Diary of a
Capital Appeals Lawyer, 24 VT. L. REV. 583, 596-97 n.67,
1026-27. 1096-1124, 1148-50 (2000). Magill was 17 years
old when he committed murder. He is 47 today. In 1988,
Magill was resentenced to life in prison. Counsel remains in
touch with Paul Magill and Mary Lou Magill, Paul’s mother.
Counsel recently received a letter from Paul:

January 31, 2004
Dear Mike

Greetings from Sunny Florida. It’s a sunny 50 something
outside now. The temp has been up and down for the
past couple months. The weatherman can’t seem to make up
his mind.

As you can see by my return address, I’m no longer at
Union. | got transferred out of the triangle (Starke, Raiford,
Lake Butler) this past October, after 27 years in that area.
After 10 days in transit at Lake Butler and Orlando CFRC, I
arrived here on October 13. Got to see a lot of new buildings
and road construction on the way here. And this place is so
much bigger than FSP or UCI. It’s still strange living in an
open bay dorm and being able to stay outside and see the
moon and stars unti] 9:30 pm.

~

29

Two and a half weeks after getting here, I started work in
the Pride Work furniture factory here. So I’ve now worked for
PRIDE 8 years and 4 months. I’m focusing solely on inven-
tory control now, so I have less responsibilities than I had at
Union Pride Metal. That goes along with my cut in pay and
hours worked. Where I was getting a hundred hours every 2
weeks at 55¢ at Union, I’m now getting 64 hours at 45¢, a
drastic reduction in income. I’ve also lost over 30 Ibs. which
has helped a great deal.

There are more programs here. I’m currently involved in
the Lifer’s Club, which offers a number of instructional and

self improvement programs.

I’ve started putting together a Parole Plan, in anticipation
of my second Parole Hearing next year in May. I’ve been
attempting to contact people who could be prospective em-
ployers, transition programs. So far I haven’t heard anything
back. After over 27 years there are very few people I am fa-
miliar with in Marion County. I’ve been fishing for addresses
and introducing myself to total strangers. I’m having to de-
velop some very different communication skills from those
I’ve relied on during my time in prison. It’s like I’m a
salesman, knocking on doors and making my sales pitch to
people who don’t know me and have no reason to trust me. I
try to tell them as much as I can about me, without taking too
much time and boring them. You don’t happen to know any-
body in the Ocala/Belleview area whom | could contact,
do you?

I hope all is well with you and Deanna.
Sincerely yours,

Paul Magill
# 059128

30
Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL MELLO *

VERMONT LAW SCHOOL

P.O. Box 96, Chelsea St.,

South Royalton, Vermont 05068
(802) 831-1291

JEFFREY D. ROBINSON
GEOVETTE E. WASHINGTON
BAACH, ROBINSON & LEWIS
1201 F. St., N.W. Ste. 500
Washington, D.C. 20004-1225
(202) 659-7205

* Counsel of Record Attorneys for Amicus Curiae”

July 16, 2004

* Counsel gratefully acknowledges the assistance of several Vermont
Law School students who provided invaluable assistance on this brief:
Bakhtyar Talia, Alexander Nuti-de-Baisi, Forrest Bell, Kristen Campbell,
Barrett Schultz, and Heather Whitney.

This brief is dedicated to Ida S. Mello. See generally Yvonne Lamb, A
Local Life: Ida S. Mello: Virginia Woman's Warmth, Caring Knew No
Boundry, Wash. Post, March 21, 2004.

APPENDIX A
Age of Majority”

Cumulative Totals by Age — 50 States & D.C.

™ One state (MO) has no uniform age of majority.

2a
Totals (50 States and D.C.)
Age 18 19 21 Not Uniform
Number 46 2 2 l
STATE AGE CITATION
AL 19 Ala. Code §26-1-1 (2003)
AK 18 Alaska Stat. §25.20.010 (2003)
AZ 18 Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §1-215 (2003)
AR 18 Ark. Stat. Ann. §9-25-101 (2003)
CA 18 Cal. Fam. Code §6500 (2004)
8) 18 Colo. Rev. Stat. §13-22-101 (2004)
CT 18 Conn. Gen. Stat. §1-1d (2003)
DE 18 Del. Code Ann. tit. 1, §701 (2003)
DC 18 DC St. §46-101 (2003)
FL 18 Fla. Stat. Ann. §743.07 (2003)
GA 18 OCGA §39-1-1 (2003)
HI 18 Haw. Rev. Stat. §577-1 (2003)
ID 18 Idaho Code §32-101 (2003)
IL 18 755 ILCS 5/11-1 (2003)
IN 18 In. St. 1-1-4-5, IC 1-1-4-5 (2003)
IA 18 lowa Code Ann. §599.1 (2003)
KS 18 Ks. St. §38-101 (2002)
KY 18 Ky. St. §2.015 (2003)
LA 18 LSA-C.C. art. 29 (2003)
ME 18 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 1, §72 (2003)
MD 18 Md. Code, art. 1, §24 (2004)
MA 18 M.G.L.A. 4 §7, cl. (51) (2004)
MI 18 Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §722.52 (2003)
MN 18 Mn. St. §645.451 (2004)
MS 21 Miss. Code. Ann. §1-3-27 (2003)
MO - No Uniform Age
MT 18 Mt. St. 41-1-101 (2003)
NE 19 Neb. St. §43-2101 (2003)
NV 18 Nev. Rev. Stat. §129.010 (2003)
NH 18- NH. Rev. Stat. Ann. 21:44 (2003)

18
18
18

18
18
18

18
18
21
18
18
18
18
18

18
18

«18

18
18
18

18

3a

N.J.S.A. 9:17B-3 (2003)

N.M. St. §28-6-1 (2003)

McKinney’s D.R.L. §2, McKinney’s CPLR
§105() (2004)

N.C.G.S.A. §48A-2 (2003)

N.D. St. 14-10-01 (2003)

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §3109.01 (Baldwin
2003)

15 Okl. St. Ann. §13 (2003)

O.R.S. §109.510 (2001)

1 Pa. C.S.A. §1991 (2003)

R.1. §15-12-1 (2002)

S.C. Const. art. XVII, §14 (2003)

S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §26-1-1 (2003)
Tenn. Code Ann. §1-3-105 (2003)
V.T.C.A., Civil Practice & Remedies Code
§129.001 (2003)

Utah Code Ann. §15-2-1 (2003)

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 1, §173 (2003-2004)
Va. Code Ann. §1-13.42 (2003)

Wa. St. 26.28.010 (2004)

W. Va. Code §2-2-10 (aa) (2003)

W.S.A. §938.02(1) (2003) (defining
“adult” for all purposes except criminal
investigation or prosecution
Wyo. Stat §14-1-101 (2003)

4a
APPENDIX B

Right to Serve on Jury

Cumulative Totals by Age — 50 States & D.C.

0 .—_—__——- —

Sa

Totals (50 States and D.C.)

Age
Number

STATE

AL
AK
AZ
AR
CA
CO
CT
DE
DC
FL

GA

HI
ID
IL
IN
IA
KS
KY
LA

ME
MD

18
47

AGE
19
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18

18
18

18
21

19 l

2 2

ITATION

Ala. Code §12-16-60(a)(1) (2003)

Ak. Stat. §09.20.010(a)(3) (2003)

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §21-301(D) (2003)
Ark. Stat. §16-31-101(2003) (by inference)
West’s Ann. Cal. C.C.P. §203 (2004)
C.R.S.A. §13-71-109(2)(a) (2004)

Conn. Gen. Stat. §51-217 (2003)

De. St. tit. 10, §4509(b)(2) (2003)

D.C. Code Ann. §11-1906(b)(1)(C) (2003)
Fla. Stat. Ann. §40.01 (2003)

Ga. Code Ann., §15-12-163(b)(2) (2003);
Ga. Code Ann., §15-12-60(a) (2003)

Haw. Rev. Stat. §612-4(a)(1) (2003)

Idaho Code §2-2092)(a) (2003)

705 ILCS 305/2 (2003)

IC 33-4-5-7(B)(1) (2003)

1.C.A. §607(A).4 (2003)

Kan. Stat. Ann. §43-156 (2002)

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §29A.080(2)(a) (2003)
La. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 401(a)(2)
(2003)

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14, §1211 (2003)
Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. §8-104
(2004)

Mass. Gen. Laws. Ann. ch. 234, §1 (2003),
ch. 51, §1 (2003)

Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §600.1307a(1)(a)
(2003)

Minn. Gen. R. Prac., Rule 808(b) (2003)
Miss. Code Ann. §13-5-1 (2003)

21

18

19
18

18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18

18
18
18
18

18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18

6a

V.A.M.S. §494.400 (2003), V.A.M.S.
§494 425 (2003)

Mont. Code Ann. §3-15-301 (2003), Mt.
Const. art. 4, §2 (2003)

Neb. Rev. Stat. §25-1601 (2003)

Nev. Rev. Stat. §6.010 (2003), 55 ILCS
§/1-5013 (2003)

N.H. Rev. Stat. §500-A:7-a (2003)
N.J.S.A. 2B:20-1 (2003)

N.M. St. §38-5-1 (2003)

N.Y. Judiciary Law §510(2) (2003)
N.C. Gen. Stat. §9-3 (2003)

N.D. Cent. Code §27-09.1-08(2)(b) (2003)
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §2313.42 (2003)
Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 38, §28 (2003)

Or. Rev. Stat. §10.030(2)(c), (3 (ac)
(2003) .

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 42, §4521 (2003)

R.1. Gen. Laws §9-9-1(a)(2) (2003)
S.C. Code Ann. §14-7-130 (2003)

S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §16-13-10
(2003)

Tenn. Code Ann. §22-1-101 (2003)
Tex. Gov't Code Ann. §62.102 (2003)
Utah Code Ann. §78-46-7(1)(b) (2003)
Vt. St. tit. 4, §962 (2003-2004)

Va. Code Ann. §8.01-337 (2003)
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §2.36.070 (2004)
W. Va. Code §52-1-8(b)(1) (2003)
W.S.A. §756.02 (2003)

Wyo. Stat. §1-11-101 (2003)

7a
APPENDIX C
Right to Vote

8a

Totals (50 States and D.C.)

Age

18

Number 51
STATE AGE CITATION

AL
AK

AZ

AR
CA

18
18

18
18
18
18
18
18

Al. Const. Amend. No. 579 (2003)

Ak. Const. art. 5, §1 (2003); Ak. St.
§15.05.010 (2003)

Az. St. §16-121 (2003); Az. Const. art. 7,
§2 (2004)

Ar. Const. art. 3, §1 (2003)

Cal. Const. art. 2, §2 (2004)

Colo. Rev. Stat. §1-2-101 (2004)

Ct. Const. art. 6, §1 (2003); Conn. Gen.
Stat. §9-12 (2003)

De. St. tit. 15, §1701 (2003)

D.C. St. §1-1001.02(2\b) (2003)

Fla. Stat. Ann. §97.041 (2003)

Ga. Const. art. 2, §1, para 2(2003)
Haw. Rev. Stat. tit. 2, §11-12 (2003)
Idaho Code §34-402 (2003)

Il. St. ch. 10 §5/7-43 (2003)

In. St. 3-7-13-1 (2003)

1.C.A. §48A.5 (2003)

Kan. Const. art. 5, §1 (2003)

Ky. Const. §145 (2003)

La. Const. art. 1, §10(A) (2004); La. Rev.
Stat. Ann. §18:101 (2003)

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 21-A, §111(2)
(2003)

Md. Code, Election Law, §3-102(a) (2004)

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 51, §1 (2004)
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §168.492 (2003)
Minn. Stat. Ann. §201.014 (2003)

Miss. Const. art. 12, §241 (2003)

Mo. Const. art. VIII, §2 (2003)

9a

Mont. Const. art. [V, §2 (2003); Mt St 13-
1-111 (2003)

Neb. Rev. St. Const. art. VI, §1 (2003);
Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-223 (2003)

Nev. Rev. Stat. §293.485 (2003)

N.H. Const., Pt. 1, Art. 11 (2003)

N.J. Const. art 2, §1, para. 3 (2003)
N.M. St. §1-21-2 (2003)

N.Y Elec. Law §5-102 (2003)

N.C. Gen. Stat. §163-55 (2003)

N.D. Const. art. Il, §1 (2003)

Ohio Const. art. V, §1 (2003); Ohio Rev.
Code Ann. §§3503.01 & 3503.11 (2003)
Okla. Const. art. II], §1 (2003)

Or. Const. art. I], §2 (2003)

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 25, §2811 (2003)

R.I. Gen. Laws §17-1-3 (2003)

S.C. Code Ann. §7-5-610 (2003)

S.D. Const. art. VII, §2 (2001); S.D.
Codified Laws Ann. §12-3-1 (2001)
Tenn. Code Arn. §2-2-102 (2003)
V.T.C.A., Election Code §11.002 (2003)
Ut. St. §20A-2-101 (2003)

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 17, §2121 (2003-2004)
Va. Const. art. Il, §1 (2003)

Wash. Const. art. VI, §1, (2003)

W. Va. Code §3-1-3 (2003)

Wis. Const. art. 3, §1 (2004) W.S.A. 6.02
(2003); W.S.A. 6.05 (2003)

Wy. St. §22-3-102 (2003)

10a lla

APPENDIX D Totals (50 States and D.C.)
Bb 6b Bb FY
Right to Marry Without Parental Consent ” mber 1 2 47 1

STATE AGE CITATION

AL 18 Ala. Code §30-1-5 (2003)

AK 18 Alaska Stat. §25.05.171 (2003) (judge may
permit minor to marry without parental
consent, even in the face of parental
opposition, in certain circumstances)

Cumulative Totals by Age — 50 States & D.C.

AZ 18 Az. St. §25-102 (2003)

AR 18 Ark. Stat. Ann. §9-11-102 through 9-11-
105 (2003)

CA 18 West's Ann. Cal. Fam. Code §301 (2004);
Ca. Fam. §302 (2004)

CO 18 Colo. Rev. Stat. §14-2-106(1 (a1) (2004)

CT 18 Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-30 (2003)

DE 18 Del. Code Ann. tit. 13, §123 (2003)

DC 18 D.C. Code §46-411 (2003)

FL 18 Fla. Stat. Ann. §741.04 (2003); West's
F.S.A. §741.0405 (2003)

GA 16 OSCGA §19-3-37 (1982)

HI 18 Haw. Rev. Stat. §572-2 (2003)

ID 18 Idaho Code §32-202 (2003)

IL 18 750 LL.C.S. 5/203 (2003)

IN 18 LC. 31-11-1-4 (2003); LC. 31-11-1-6
(2003)

IA 18 lowa Code Ann. §595.2 (2003)

KS 18 Kan. Stat. Ann. §23-106 (2002)

KY 18 Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §402.210 (2003)

LA 18 La. Civ. Code Ann. art. 87 (Supp. 1988)

(minors not legally prohibited from
marrying, even without parental consent,
but marriage ceremony required); La. Rev.
Stat. Ann. §9:21 (Supp. 1988) (official

18
16

18
18
18
15

18
18
19

18
18
18
18
18
18
18
18

12a

may not perform marriage ceremony in ™
which a minor is a party without parental UT
consent; Comments to Civ. Code Ann. art. VT
87 suggest that such a marriage is valid but | VA
that official may face sanctions) WA
Me. St. tit. 19, §652 (2003) WV
Md. Fam. Law Code Ann. §2-301 (Supp. WI

1987) WY

Mass. Gen. Laws. Ann. Ch. 207 §7 (2004)
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §551.103 (2003)
Minn. Stat. Ann. §517.02 (2004)

Miss. Code Ann. §93-1-5(d) (Supp. 1987)
(female may marry at 15 without parental
consent)

Mo. Ann. Stat. §451.090 (2003)

Mont. Code Ann. §40-1-202 (2003)

Neb. Rev. Stat. §42-105 (2003); Neb. St.
§43-2101 (2003)

Nev. Rev. Stat. §122.020 (2003)

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §457:5 (2003)
N.J.S.A. 37:1-6 (2003)

N.M. Stat. Ann. §40-1-6 (2003)
McKinney’s D.R.L. §15 (2004), N.Y.
Dom. Rel. §15 (2003)

N.C. Gen. Stat. §51-2 (2003)

N.D. Cent. Code §14-03-02 (2003)

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §3101.01 (2003)
Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 43, §3 (2003)

Or. Rev. Stat. §106.060 (2001)

23 Pa. C.S.A. §1304 (2003)

R.1. Gen. Laws §15-2-11 (2003)

S.C. St. §20-1-250 (2003); SC ST §20-1-
100 (2003)

S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §25-1-9 (2003)
Tenn. Code Ann. §36-3-106 (2003)

l3a

V.T.C.A., Family Code §2.101 (2003):
V.T.C.A., Family Code §2.102 (003) ’
Utah Code Ann. §30-1-9 (2003)

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 18, §5142 (2003-2004)
Va. Code Ann. §20-48 (2003)

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §26.04.210 (2004)
W. Va. Code §48-2-301 (2003)

Wis. Stat. Ann. §765.02 (2003)

Wyo. Stat. §20-1-102(c) (2003)

l4a
APPENDIX E

Consent to Most Forms of Medical Treatment

Cumulative Totals by Age — 50 States & D.C.

|
35
nD-
25
20

lSa

Totals (50 States and D.C.)
Age 14 15 16 17 18 21 Other
Number 2 02 1 321 13
STATE AGE CITATION
AL 14 Ala. Code §22-8-4 (2003)
AK 18 Alaska Stat. §25.20.025 (2003)
AZ 18 Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §44-132 (2004)
AR Minor of
Sufficient
Intelligence Ark. Code Ann. §20-9-602 (2003)

CA - Any

Minor Cal. Fam. Code §6920 (2004)
CO 18 Colo. Rev. Stat. §13-22-103 (2003)
CT 18 Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §46b-150d (2003)
DE 18 Del. Code. Ann. tit. 13, §707 (2004)
DC - No Legislation
FL Any

Minor Fla. Stat. Ann. §743.064 (2003)
GA 18 Ga. Code Ann. §31-8-2 (2002)
HI 17 Haw. Rev. Stat. §577A-2 (2003)
ID 14 Idaho Code §39-801 (2003)
IL 18 410 Ill. Comp. Stat. 210/1 (2004)
IN 18 Ind. Code Ann. §16-36-1-3 (Michie 2004)
IA 18 lowa Code §147.137 (2003)
KS 18 Kan. Stat. Ann. §38-122 (2003)
KY 18 Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §216B.400 (Michie

2002)

LA 18 La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §40:1095 (2004)
ME 18 Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 32, §3292 (2003)
MD Any

Minor Md. Code Ann., Health-Gen. §20-102

(2003)

MA 18 Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 112, §12F (Law. Co-

op. 2004)

l6a

No Legislation

Minn. Stat. Ann. §144.341 (2003)
Miss. Code Ann. §41-41-3 (2004)
Mo. Ann. Stat. §431.061 (2004)
Mont. Code Ann. §41-1-402 (2003)
No Legislation

Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. 129.030 (2004)
No Legislation

N.J. Stat. Ann. §9:17B-1(A) (2004)
N.M. Stat. Ann. §24-10-1 (2003)
N.Y. Pub. Health Law§ 2504 (2003)
N.C. Gen. Stat. §90-21.1 (2004)
N.D. Cent. Code §14-10-17.1 (2003)
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §2317.54 (Anderson
2003)

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 63, §2602 (2003)
Or. Rev. Stat. §109.640 (2001)

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 35, §10101(2003)
R.I. Gen. Laws §23.4.6-1 (2003)
S.C. Code. Ann. §20-7-280 (Law. Co-op.
2003)

S.D. Codified Laws §20-9-4.2 (2003)

Tenn. Code. Ann. §63-6-229 (2003)

Tex. Fam. Code Ann. §32.003 (2004)

No Legislation

No Legislation

Va. Code Ann. §16.1-334 (2003)

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §26.28.015(5)
(2004)

No Legislation

No Legislation

Wyo. Stat. Ann. §35-2-614 (2003)

17a
APPENDIX F

Right to Drive Without Parental Consent

Cumulative Totals by Age — 50 States & D.C.

18a
Totals (50 States and D.C.)
Age 146 WU 423
Number 8 2 41
STATE AGE CITA.IiON
AL 16 Ala. Code §32-6-7(1) (2003)
AK 18 Alaska Stat. §28.15.071 (2003)
AZ 18 Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §28-3160 (2004)
AR 18 Ark. Code Ann. §27-16-702 (2003)
CA 18 Cal. Veh. Code §12512 (2004)
CO 18 Colo. Rev. Stat. §42-2-108 (2003)
CT 18 Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §14-36 (2003)
DE 18 Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §2707(a) (2004)
DC 16 D.C. Code Ann. §50-1401.01 (2003)
FL 18 Fla. Stat. Ann. §322.09 (2003)
GA 18 Ga. Code Ann. §40-5-26 (2002)
HI 18 Haw. Rev. Stat. §286-112 (2003)
ID 18 Idaho Code §49-310 (2003)
IL 18 625 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/6-103 (2004)
IN 18 Ind. Code Ann. §9-24-9-3 (Michie 2004)
1A 18 lowa Code §321.177 (2003)
KS 16 Kan. Stat. Ann. §8-237 (2003)
KY 18 Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann §186.470 (Michie
2002)
LA 18 La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §32:407 (2004)
ME 18 Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 29, §1302 (2003)
MD 18 Md. Code Ann., Transp. §16-103 (2003)
MA 18 Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 90, §8 (Law. Co-op.
2004)
MI 18 Mich. Comp. Laws §257.308 (2003)
MN 18 Minn. Stat. Ann. §171.04 (2003)
MS 17 Miss. Code Ann. §61-1-23 (2004)
MO 16 Mo. Ann. Stat. §302.060 (2004)
MT 16 Mont. Code Ann. §61-5-105 (2003)
NE 17 Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. §60-4,118.05 (2003)
NV 18 Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. 483.250 (2004)

18
18
18
18
18
18
18

16
18
17
16
18

18
18
16
18
18
18
18
18

18
18

19a

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §263:17 (2003)

N.J. Stat. Ann. §39:3-10 (2004)

N.M. Stat. Ann. §66-5-11 (2004)

N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law §502(2)(b) (2003)
N.C. Gen. Stat. §20-10 (2004)

N.D. Cent. Code §39-06-08 (2003)

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §4507.07 (Anderson
2003)

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 47, §6-107 (2003)

Or. Rev. Siat. §807.060(2)(a) (2001)

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 75, §1503(a)(7) (2003)
R.I. Gen. Laws §31-10-3 (2003)

S.C. Code. Ann. §56-1-100 (Law. Co-op.
2003)

S.D. Codified Laws §32-12-6 (2003)

Tenn. Code. Ann. §55-50-312 (2003)

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. §521.204 (2004)
Utah Code Ann. §53-3-211 (2003)

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 23, §607 (2003)

Va. Code Ann. §46.2-334(2003)

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §46.20.100 (2004)
W. Va. Code §§ 17B-2-3 to 17B-2-3(a)
(2003)

Wis. Stat. Ann. §343.08 (2003)

Wyo. Stat. Ann. §31-7-112 (2003)

20a
APPENDIX G

Right to Purchase Pornographic Materials

Cumulative Totals by Age — 50 States & D.C.

2la
Totals (50 States and D.C.)
Age 16 17 18 No
Legislation
Number 1 4 45 l

STATE AGE CITATION

AL 18 Ala. Code §13A-12-200.5 (2003)

AK - No Legislation

AZ 18 Ariz. Rev. Stat. §13-3506 (2004)

AR 18 Ark. Code Ann. §5-68-502(2) (2003)

CA 18 Cal. Penal Code §313.1 (2004)

8) 18 Colo. Rev. Stat. §18-7-502 (2003)

CT 18 Conn. Gen. Stat. §53a-196 (2003)

DE 17 Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §1365 (2004)

DC 17 D.C. Code Ann. §22-2001(b) (2003)

FL 18 Fla. Stat. Ann. §847.012 (2003)

GA 18 Ga. Code Ann. §16-12-103 (2002)

HI 16 Haw. Rev. Stat. §712-1215 (2003)

ID 18 Idaho Code §18-1513 (2003)

IL 18 720 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/11-21 (2004)

IN 18 Ind. Code Ann. §35-49-3-3 (Michie 2004)

IA 18 lowa Code §728.2 (2003)

KS 18 Kan. Stat. Ann. §21-4301a (2003)

KY 18 Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §531.030 (Michie
2002)

LA 17 La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §14:91.11 (2004)

ME 18 Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 17, §2911 (2003)

MD 18 Md. Code Ann., Criminal Law §11-203
(2003)

MA 18 Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 272, §28 (Law. Co-
op. 2004)

MI 18 Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §750.142 (West
2004)

MN 18 Minn. Stat. Ann. §617.293 (West 2004)

18

18
18
18
18
18
18
17

18
18

18
18

22a

Miss. Code Ann. §97-5-27 (2003)
MO 18 Mo. Ann. Stat. §753.040
(West 2003)

Mont. Code Ann. §45-8-206 (2003)

Neb. Rev. Stat. §28-208 (2003)

Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. 201.265 (2003)

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §571-B:2 (2003)

N.J. Stat. Ann. §2C:34-2(b) (2003)

N.M. Stat. Ann. §30-37-2 (2003)

N.Y. Penal Law §§ 235.21 to 235.22
(2004)

N.C. Gen. Stat. §19-13 (2003)

N.D. Cent. Code §12.1-27.1-03 (2003)
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §2907.31 (West
2003)

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 21, §1040.76 (West
2003)

Or. Rev. Stat. §167.065 (2001)

18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §5903(a)(2) (West
2003)

R.I. Gen. Laws §11-31-10 (2003)

S.C. Code. Ann. §16-15-345 (Law. Co-op.
2003)

S.D. Codified Laws §22-24-28(2003)
Tenn. Code. Ann. §§ 39-17-911 and 39-
17-914 (2003)

Tex. Penal Code Ann. §43.24(b) (2003)
Utah Code Ann. §76-10-1206 (2003)

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, §§ 2802 to 2802(a)
(2004)

Va. Code Ann. §18.2-391(2003)

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §9.68.080 (2004)
W. Va. Code §61-8A-2 (2003)

Wis. Stat. Ann. §944.21(4) (2003)

Wyo. Stat. Ann. §6-4-302(b)ii) (2003)

23a
APPENDIX H

Right to Participate in Legalized Gambling in any Form

Cumulative Totals by Age — 50 States & D.C.

0 —

Totals (50 States and D.C.)

Age 18 19 21 N
Number 42 1
STATE TYPE A
AL Pari-mutuel 19
Betting
AK -
AR sO Pari-mutuel_==‘(18
Betting
AZ Lottery 21
Pari-mutuel 21
Betting
CA Lottery 18
CO Lottery 18
Pari-mutuel 18
Casinos 21
CT Lottery 18
Pari-mutuel 18
DE Lottery 18
DC Lottery 18
FL Small Stakes 18
Lottery 18
GA Lottery 18

24a

islation or
i blin

CITATION

Ala. Code §11-65-44
(2003)

No Legislation

Arkansas Stat. §23-110-
405 (2003)

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §5-
515 (2003)

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §5-
112 (2003)

Cal. Govt. Code §8880-52
(2004)

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. §24-
35-214 (2004)

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. §12-
60-601 (2004)

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. §12-
47.1-809 (2004)

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann §12-
813 (2003)

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §12-
576 (2003)

Dela. Const. art. 2, §17
(2003)

D.C. Code §3-1334 (2003)
Fla. Stat. Ann. §849.085
(2003)

Fla. Stat. Ann. §24.1055
(2003)

Ga. Code Ann. §50-2710
(2003)

HI

~ ID

IL

IN

IA

KS

KY

LA

ME

MD

MA

Social
Gambling
Lottery
Lottery
Casinos
Lottery
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Cc asinos
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Lottery
Lottery
Casinos
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Lottery
Lottery

Pari-mutuel

25a

Haw. Rev. Stat. 712-1231
(2003)

Ida. Stat. §67-7413 (2003)
20 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann.
§1605/15 (2003)

230 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann.
§10/18 (2003)

Ind. Code Ann. §4-30-11-3
(2003)

lowa Code Ann. §99E.18(2)
(2003)

lowa Code Ann.
§99D.11(7) (2003)

lowa Code §99F.9(5)
(2003)

Kan. Stat. Ann. §74-8708
(2002)

Kan. Stat. Ann. §74-8839
(2002)

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§154A.990 (2003)

La. Rev. Stat. §47:9025
(2003)

La. Rev. Stat. §27:260
(2003)

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 8,
§374 (2003)

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit 8,
§275-D (2003)

Md. State Govt. §9-124
(2004)

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch.
10, §24 (2004)

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch.
128A, §10 (2004)

MI

MO

MT

NE

NV

NH

NJ

NM

NY

NC

Lottery
Lottery
Casinos
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Casinos
Generally
Lottery
Generally
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Casinos
Lottery
Casinos

Lottery

26a

Mich. Comp. Laws Ann.
§432.29 (2003)

Minn. Stat. Ann. §349A.12
(2003)

Miss. Code Ann. §75-76-
155 (2003)

Mo. Ann. Stat. §313.280
(2003)

Mo. Ann. Stat. §313.670
(2003)

Mo. Ann. Stat. §313.817
(2003)

Mont. Code Ann. §23-5-
158 (2003)

Neb. Rev. Stat. §9-430
(2003)

Nev. Rev. Stat. §463.350
(2003)

N.H. Rev. Stat. §287-F:8
(2003)

N.H. Rev. Stat. §284-33
(2003)

N.J. Stat. Ann. §5:9-15
(2003)

N.J. Stat. Ann. §5:5-65
(2003)

N.J. Stat. Ann. §5:12-

i 19(2003)

N.M. Stat. Ann. §6-24-15
(2003)

N.M. Stat. Ann. §11-13-1
(2003)

N.Y. Tax Law §1610
(2003)

No Legislation

ND

OH

OK

OR

PA

RI

SC

SD

VA

Lottery
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Lottery
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Lottery
Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Casinos
Pari-mutuel

Lottery

Lottery
Pari-mutuel
Lottery

Pari-mutuel

27a

N.D. Cent. Code §53-12-24
(2003)

Ohio Rev. Code Ann.
§3770.08 (2003)

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 3A,
§208.4 (2003)

Or. Rev. Stat. §461.600
(2001)

Or. Rev. Stat. §462.190
(2001)

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 72,
§3761-309 (2003)

R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. §42-
61-9 (2002)

R.I. Gen. Laws Ann.-§41-4-
2 (2002)

S.C. Code Laws Ann. §59-
150-210 (2003)

S.D. Codified Laws §42-
7A-32 (2003)

S.D. Codified Laws §42-7-
76 (2003)

S.D. Codified Laws §42-
7B-35 (2003)

Tenn. Code Ann. §4-36-310
(2003)

Tex. Govt. Code Ann.
§466.3051 (2003)
Gambling Illegal

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 31, §661
(2003)

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 31, §613
(2003)

Va. Ann. Code §58.1-4015
(2003)

Va. Ann. Code §59.1-403

WA

WV

Wi

WY

Lottery
Lottery
Lottery

Pari-mutuel

28a

29a
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. APPENDIX I
§67.70.120 (2004) Right to Patronize Pool Halls

W.Va. Code §29-22-11

(2003)
i" Ann. §565.17 Cumulative Totals by Age -- 50 States & D.C. |

Wyo. Stat §11-25-109
(2003)

30a
Totals (50 States and D.C.)
Ages 146 «618 ©6119) NA
Numbers 3 2 41 35
STATE AGE CITATION
AL 19 Ala. Code §34-6-9 (2003)
AK - No Legislation
AZ - No Legislation
AR 18 Ark. Stat. Ann. §5-27-224(e) (2003)
CA - No Legislation
CO - No Legislation
CT 18 Conn. Gen. Stat. §53-28] (Repealed 1994)
DE - No Legislation
DC - No Legislation
FL 18 Fla. Stat. Ann. §849.04 (2003)
GA - No Legislation
HI : No Legislation
ID - No Legislation
IL - No Legislation
IN - No Legislation
1A - No Legislation
KS - No Legislation
KY 18 Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §436.320 (2003)
LA 18 La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §26.90 (2003)
ME 16 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 26, §773 (2003)
MD - No Legislation
MA 18 Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch.140, §179
(2003)
MI - No Legislation
MN - No Legislation
MS 18 Miss. Code Ann. §97-5-11 (2003)
MO 16 Mo. Ann. Stat. §318.090 (2003)
MT - No Legislation
NE - No Legislation
NV - No Legislation
NH - No Legislation

16
18

3la

No Legislation

No Legislation

N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law §465 (Repealed 1988)
N.C. Gen. Stat. §14-317 (2003) (minors
may not enter premises where alcohol
sold)

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 18, §7105 (2003)
R.I. Gen. Laws §5-2-13 (2002)

S.C. Code Ann. §20-7-350 (Repealed
1996)

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

Wyo. Stat. §33-6-108(b) (2003)

32a
APPENDIX J

Right to Pawn Property or to Sell Junk or
Precious Metals to Dealers

50 States & D.C.

Cumulative Totals by Age --.

ce

33a

Totals (50 States and D.C.)

Ages 16 18 19 NA

Numbers 3 2 1 22

STATE AGE CITATION

AL 19 Ala. Code §5-19A-8 (2003)

AK - No Legislation

AZ 16 Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §44-1627 (Repealed
1988)

AR - No Legislation

CA 16 Cal. Fin. Code §21207 (2004)

CO 18 Colo. Rev. Stat. §12-56-104 (2003)

CT 18 Conn. Gen. Stat. §21-47 (2003)

DE 18 Del. Code Ann. tit. 24, §2312 (2003)

DC - No Legislation

FL 18 Fl. Stat. Ann. §743.07 (2003)

GA - No Legislation

HL - No Legislation

ID - No Legislation

IL 18 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. ch. 23, para. 2366
(2003)

IN 18 Ind. Code Ann. §28-7-5-36 (2003)

IA - No Legislation

KS 18 Kan. Stat. Ann. §16-717 (2002)

KY 18 Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §226.030 (2003)

LA - No Legislation

ME - No Legislation

MD - No Legislation

MA - No Legislation

MI 18 Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §750.137 (2003)

MN 18 Minn. Stat. Ann. §609.81 (Repealed 1996)

MS - No Legislation

MO 18 Mo. Ann. Stat. §568.070 (2003)

MT 18 Mont. Code Ann. §45-5-623 (2003)

NE 18 Neb. Rev. Stat. §69-210 (2003)

NV 18 Nev. Rev. Stat. §647.140 (2003)

34a

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §398:2 (2003)
N.J. Stat. Ann. §45:22-31 (2003)
N.M. Stat. Ann. §56-12-14 (2003)
No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §4727.10 (2003)
Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 59, §1511 (2003)
Or. Rev. Stat. §726.270 (2001)

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 63, §281-29 (2003)
R.I. Gen. Laws §19-26-12 (2003)

No Legislation

No Legislation

No Legislation

Tex. Fin. Code §371.176 (2003)

No Legislation

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 9, §3870 (2003)
No Legislation

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §19.60.066(3)
(2004)

No Legislation

Wis. Stat. Ann. §948.63 (2003)

No Legislation

aw)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0716%3A25. Public record. Not legal advice.
