# Amicus Curiae Brief — Ashcroft v. American Civil Liberties Union

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0700%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 542 U.S. 656

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S
FILED

NOV 2 6 2003

_

?

OFFICE OF THE CLERK |

No. 03-218

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

JOHN ASHCROFT, ATTORNEY GENERAL
OF THE UNITED STATES,
PETITIONER.

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION, ET AL..,

RESPONDENTS.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF OF FOCUS ON THE FAMILY AND THE
FAMILY RESEARCH COUNCIL
AS AMICI CURIAE, SUPPORTING PETITIONER

WILLIAM WAGNER
Counsel of Record
STEVE REED
35 N. Lake Ave. PHILIP J. PRYGOSKI
Pasadena, CA 9110] COOLEY LAW SCHOOL
(626)449-4521 300 South Capitel
Lansing, MI 48933
PAT TRUEMAN (517) 371-5140

801 G. Street NW
Washington D.C. 2001
(202)393-2100

——— ——

TABLE OF CONTENTS
FE nec a a aE II
Fg EC a ee CT l
gE TER Ten ee 3
gf ESR ae en 3
RESETS RSS AR Le Rte eo OP a 5

THE COURT OF APPEALS COMMITTED CLEAR ERROR IN
APPLYING STRICT SCRUTINY TO THE CHILD ONLINE
Ei Gh a

A. The “Harmful to Minors” Material Proscribed in
COPA is Commercial Child Obscenity. As such, it
Deserves, and Therefore Receives, NO Protection
under the First Amendment to the United States
a SE Te ea 5

B. COPA’S Provisions are Rationally Related to
Legitimate Government Interests ..................... 25

C. Judged in Relation to the COPA’s Plainly

Legitimate Sweep, COPA is not Substantially
RENNES ESS Oe ne nN 26

EE ee ROE LET 28

II

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

ACLU v. Ashcroft, 322 F.3d 240 (3" Cir.

BOOS). «0 000ccccsesecsecesensesedensaenieiee 4,5,7
ACLU v. Reno, 31 F.Supp. 2d 473 (E.D. Pa. 1999)... 27
Ashcroft v. A.C.L.U., 535 U.S. 564 (2002)........ 7,26,27
Boston Beer Co. v. Massachusetts, 97 U.S. 25(1878)..10

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973).......... 26
Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15 (1971) ............05. 17
Collin v. Smith, 578 F.2d 1197 (7" Cir.), cert. denied,

439 U.S. DIG CIDTE) .....00000cccceccevccnnnnneneeneenee 13

FCC v Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S: 726 (1978)..14,17
Ginsberg v. State of New York, 390 U.S. 629

CDEP occoscencecscansneee 7,9,14-16,18,19,24,25,27
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15

Li : Sr 7, 12-14,18,19,23-25,27
New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747

1 7: rr 14,22,23,26,28,29
Paris Adult Theater I v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49

Ch LL) Serr 7,8,11,19,25,28,29
Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) ..........ccccc eeu eee 9

Pope v Illinois, 481 U.S. 497 (1987)............. 19,24, 27
Reno v ACLU, 521 U.S. 844 (1997)...........00.00.. 15, 26
Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957)........ 7,11,23
Schenck v. U.S., 249 U.S.47 (1919)........ ccc cceceeees 11

Smith v. United States, 431 U.S. 291 (1977)..18,19,24,27

Constitution and statutes:

U.S. Conde: Amends. I ......0ccccccesccsnusnnuennne 7

Child Online Protection Act of 1998 (COPA),
47 U.S.C. § 231 .ccccccccccccescnnsunneeaneeen 3, 5-7,18

— ee + -

Il

Miscellaneous:

MODEL PENAL CODE §207.10 (2) (Tentative

hana icetasonconsccoscesece 12
Committee Report on COPA,
H.R. Rep. No. 105-775 (1998)..............060. 19-21, 27

Hearings on Legislative Proposals to Protect Children
from Inappropriate Materials on the Internet: Before the
Subcomm. on Telecommunications, Trade, and
Consumer Protection of the House Comm. on
Commerce, 105th Cong. 9 (1998) [Hearings] ....... 9,21

S. Rep. No. 106-141 (1999) .......... cece cc ece eee eee ees 21

Henkin, Morals and the Constitution: The Sin of
Obscenity, 63 Colum. L.R. 391, (1963)...............08 10

l
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

This amicus curiae brief is filed on behalf of Focus
on the Family and the Family Research Council.’

Focus on the Family is a Christian, non-profit
organization committed to strengthening the emotional,
psychological, and spiritual health of children and their
families in the United States and throughout the world.

Focus on the Family’s Founder and Chairman, Dr.
James Dobson, a distinguished child psychologist, served as
a Commissioner on the Attorney General's Commission on
Pornography in 1985-86 and is the author of scores of books,
pamphlets, and papers on child development, education,
marriage, and society.

Focus on the Family and Dr. Dobson have produced
two major videos, “A Winnable War” and “Fatal Addiction:
Ted Bundy’s Final Interview”, which directly discuss the
harms of pornography to children, men, women, and families
in America, as well as Dr. Dobson’s interview with Ted
Bundy and his book Pornography: Addictive, Progressive
and Deadly. Tom Minnery of Focus was compiler and editor
of the book Pornography: A Human Tragedy, chronicling
analyses and commentary on the testimony and findings of
the Attorney General’s Commission on Pornography. In
addition, Focus continues to produce resource materials on
these issues, such as “An Overview of Online Pornography:

' In accordance with Rule 37(6), amici certify that this brief was
authored entirely by Counsel of Record for amici and that no part
of the brief was authored by any attorney for a party. The Alliance
Defense Fund provided a monetary contribution to the preparation
or submission of this brief; no other person or entity other than
amici curiae or their counsel provided a monetary contribution to
the preparation or submission of this brief.

2

The Problems, a Legal Review, and Activist Organizations”,
“The Power of the Picture’, “When Sex Becomes An
Addiction”, “An Affair of the Mind”, and “Toxic Porn.”
Worldwide, countless concerned citizens, public officials,
professionals, and parents have seen and read these videos
and books. Millions of people hear Focus on the Family’s
daily radio broadcasts dealing with family concerns and
interests on over 2,000 outlets in North America. Its
monthly magazine has a circulation of nearly two million.
Focus on the Family regularly communicates and counsels
with victims and families who have children devastated by
pornography, molestation, and abuse. See: www.family.org.

Family Research Council is a non-profit, research
and educational organization dedicated to articulating and
advancing a family-centered philosophy of public life. FRC
is a voice for the pro-family movement in Washington, D.C..,
and provides policy analysis, legislative assistance, and
research for pro-family organizations. It also seeks to
educate legislators on issues that affect American families.

In addition to providing policy research and analysis
for the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the
federal government, FRC works to inform the news media,
the academic community, business leaders, and the general
public about family issues that affect the nation. Its research,
publications, and films on the impact of pornography have
been distributed to over 400,000 scholars, students,
organizations, and citizens. FRC’s legal and public policy
experts are continually sought out by members of Congress
and State legislators for assistance and advice on the unique
relationship between parents and their children.

FRC has participated in numerous amicus curiae
briefs in the United States Supreme Court and federal courts,
including those involving the regulation and harmful effects

ee

3

of pornography, obscenity, and child pornography. FRC
publishes and disseminates resource materials, legal
memoranda, and public policy studies on pro-family issues.
These publications include discussions on the problems and
legal controversies surrounding pomography. See:
www .frc.org.

Focus on the Family and Family Research Council
work to preserve and protect the family and have particular
knowledge about the social and legal impact of pornography
that will be helpful to the Court in this case.

CONSENT TO FILE BRIEF

Petitioner and Respondents, through their counsel of
record, consented to the filing of this Brief Amici Curiae in
support of Petitioner. Their letters of consent are on file with
the Clerk of the Court.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

To protect our nation’s children, and to preserve a
decent society, Congress may, consistent with the First
Amendment, restrict commercialized child obscenity on the
Internet that is “harmful to minors.” Congress may do so,
regardless of whether such material is deemed obscene to
adults. In this regard, amici contend that the “harmful to
minors” material restricted by the Child Online Protection
Act, 47 U.S.C. § 231 (1998), is a category of material wholly
outside the protection of the First Amendment.

Thus, the Court of Appeals committed clear error in
applying strict scrutiny to COPA. The court below
erroneously assumed that COPA’s provisions constituted

4

content-based regulation of expression protected by the First
Amendment. ACLU v. Ashcroft, 322 F.3d 240, 247, 251 (3rd
Cir. 2003). Acting on this incorrect assumption, the Court of
Appeals treated COPA’s provisions as presumptively invalid
and erroneously subjected the statute to strict scrutiny. /d.

Before deciding the constitutionality of COPA, amici
request this Court to determine whether the commercialized
“child ob: senity”, restricted as “harmful to minors” by
COPA, deserves protection under the First Amendment.
Good and serious reasons exist for this Court to hold that
such material is unprotected by the First Amendment. These
reasons include:

1) The Government has an interest in
maintaining a decent society through
restrictions on commercialized obscenity;

2) The Government has an interest in
protecting our children from exploitation and
exposure to commercialized obscene
materials;

3) The commercialized child obscenity,
restricted as “harmful to minors” in COPA. is
in fact, dangerously harmful to our children
and their future;

4) Permitting a commercial onslaught of
child obscenity to our children lacks any
value worthy of protectic’:; and

5) Recognizing and classifying commercial
child obscenity, as a category of material
unprotected by the First Amendment is
consistent with this Court’s prior decisions.

COPA is rationally related to the government's
interest in protecting our nation’s children from

5

commercialized child obscenity, and in preserving a national
right to a decent society.

Amici, therefore, urge this Court to reverse the Court
of Appeals and uphold the constitutionality of the COPA as
passed by Congress.

ARGUMENT

THE COURT OF APPEALS COMMITTED CLEAR ERROR
IN APPLYING STRICT SCRUTINY TO THE
CHILD ONLINE PROTECTION ACT

The Court of Appeals erroneously assumed that
COPA’s provisions constituted content-based regulation of
expression protected by the First Amendment. ACLU v.
Ashcroft, 322 F.3d 240, 247, 251 (3rd Cir. 2003) Acting on
this incorrect assumption, the Court of Appeals treated
COPA’s provisions as presumptively invalid and erroneously
subjected the statute to strict scrutiny. /d. Because COPA’s
provisions do not restrict protected speech under the First
Amendment, this Court should hold COPA’s provisions
constitutional if its provisions are rationally related to a
legitimate government interest. (See discussion infra in
subsection A and subsection B of this brief).

A. THE “HARMFUL TO MINORS” MATERIAL PROSCRIBED IN
COPA IS COMMERCIAL CHILD OBSCENITY. AS SUCH, IT
DESERVES, AND THEREFORE RECEIVES, NO PROTECTION
UNDER THE FIRST AMENDMENT TO THE. UNITED STATES
CONSTITUTION

As passed by Congress, COPA provides that:

Whoever knowingly and with knowledge of the
character of the material, in interstate or foreign

6

commerce by means of the World Wide Web, makes
any communication for commercial purposes that is
available to any minor and that includes any material
that is harmful to minors shall be fined not more than
$50,000, imprisoned not more than 6 months, or
both. 47 U.S.C. § 231 (a).

Within the statute, Congress precisely defined “material that
is harmful to minors” --

The term “material that is harmful to minors” means
any communication, picture, image, graphic image
file, article, recording, writing, or other matter of any
kind that is obscene or that--

(A) the average person, applying contemporary
community standards, would find, taking the material
as a whole and with respect to minors, is designed to
appeal to, or is designed to pander to, the prurient
interest;

(B) depicts, describes, or represents, in a manner
patently offensive with respect to minors, an actual or
simulated sexual act or sexual contact, an actual or
simulated normal or perverted sexual act, or a lewd
exhibition of the genitals or post-pubescent female
breast; and

(C) taken as a whole, lacks serious literary, artistic,
political, or scientific value for minors. 47 U.S.C. §
231(e)(6).

Before deciding whether COPA is constitutional, this
Court should first inquire whether the material restricted by
the statute is unprotected by the First Amendment.

—

7

The First Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides that “Congress shall make no law . . .
abridging the freedom of speech.” U.S. Const. Amend. I.
Historically, this Court has never included within the
protection of the First Amendment, material of the kind
proscribed by COPA. See, e.g., Roth v. United States, 354
U.S. 476, 482-485 (1957); Paris Adult Theater I v. Slaton,
413 US. 49, 54 (1973); Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15, 23
(1972); Ginsberg v. State of New York, 390 U.S. 629, 635
(1968); see also, Ashcroft v. A.C.L.U., 535 U.S. 564, 574
(2002).

Amici request inis Court to recognize that the
“harmful to minors” material restricted by COPA is a
category of material wholly outside the protection of the
First Amendment. No party contests this point with regard to
COPA’s restriction on traditional adult obscenity, as stated in
the first part of the definition providing that material is
“harmful to minors” if it is “obscene.” See ACLU v. Ashcroft,
322 F.3d at 246 n.6.

As in cases involving adult obscenity and child
pornography, amici believe that Congress is also entitled to
restrict commercialized child obscenity on the Internet that is
“harmful to minors.” Amici request this Court to recognize
that the commercial child obscenity, restricted by COPA as
“harmful to minors,” also falls outside the protection of the
First Amendment. Amici provide the following reasons in

support:

Reason I — The Government has an interest in maintaining a
decent society through restrictions on commercialized
obscenity.

In Paris Adult Theater I, (hereinafter Paris) this
Court affirmed the existence of a legitimate government

8

interest in maintaining a decent society by restricting
commercialized obscenity:

The States have a long-recognized legitimate interest
in permitting regulation of obscene material in local
commerce and in_ all places of public
accommodation, as long as these regulations do not
run afoul of specific constitutional prohibitions. In an
unbroken series of cases extending over a long
stretch of this Court’s history it has been accepted as
a postulate that the primary requirements of decency
may be enforced against obscene publications.
(internal quotes and citations omitted) Paris, 413
USS. at 57.

In particular, Chief Justice Burger, for the Court in
Paris, held that a legitimate state interest exists in restricting
commercialized obscenity -- even where effective safeguards
“against exposure to juveniles and to passersby” exist. /d.
This Court expressly recognized that the American public
has a right to maintain a decent society:

These include the interest of the public in the quality
of life and the total community environment, the tone
of commerce in the great city centers, and, possibly,
the public safety itself... It concerns the tone of the
society, the mode, ... the style and quality of life,
now and in the future *** there is a nght of the
Nation and of the States to maintain a decent society.
(quotation marks and citation omitted) Jd. at 58-59.

It is certainly clear that Congress, in working toward
passage of COPA, believed in a mght of our nation to
maintain societal decency. For example, at a hearing on
legislative proposals, one member of Congress cited to a
recent national poll finding that “the number one concern on

9

the minds of voters is the moral decline of our society.”
Legislative Proposals to Protect Children from
Inappropriate Materials on the Internet: Before the
Subcomm. on Telecommunications, Trade, and Consumer
Protection of the House Comm. on Commerce, 105th Cong.
9 (1998) [hereinafter, Hearings], (statement of the Rep.
Oxley). Congressman Oxley’s statement cautioned that:

If we as a nation hope to address the coarsening of
our culture and the loss of values among our young
people, we have to begin by addressing the most
serious threat, and do so by protecting kids from the
degrading content readily available on the Internet.
Id.

In Ginsberg, this Court upheld the constitutionality of
the state criminal child obscenity statute upon which
Congress patterned COPA. Ginsberg itself noted that the
state court of last resort, in upholding the legislature’s power
to employ variable concepts of obscenity, relied on “its
power to protect the health, safety, welfare and morals of its
community...” Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 636. Thus, if the
physical and psychological states of our children are of
obvious importance, the moral condition of our nation’s
youth is at least as compelling. As Justice Harlan stated in
his opinion in Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497, 545-46 (1961):

Yet the very inclusion of the category of morality
among state concerns indicates that society is not
limited in its objects only to the physical well-being
of the community, but has traditionally concerned
itself with the moral soundness of its people as well.
Indeed to attempt a line between public behavior and
that which is purely consensual or solitary would be
to withdraw from community concern a range of

10

subjects with which every society in civilized times
has found it necessary to deal . . .

The broader issue in the instant case is whether the
Constitution permits a state to regulate on the basis of
morality. The more specific (and perhaps easier) question is
whether a state may constitutionally regulate commercial
child obscenity on the basis of morality.

Consideration of the Court’s obscenity jurisprudence,
on its own terms, reveals that the prevailing test for
obscenity is rooted in the state’s interest in preserving
morality and decency. A careful analysis reveals that,
“[o]bscenity laws. . .are based on traditional notions, rooted
in this country’s religious antecedents, of governmental
responsibility for communal and individual ‘decency’ and
‘morality’.” Henkin, Morals and the Constitution: The Sin
of Obscenity, 63 Colum. L.R. 391, (1963).

One must analyze obscenity law within the larger
context of morals legislation in general. A state (or the
federal government) certainly has the power to prohibit
certain conduct solely because it contravenes the collective
moral code of the community. The power of the government
to regulate for the advancement and preservation of morals
and decency is a time-honored principle of law:

“Whatever differences of opinion may exist as to the
extent and boundarnes of the police power, and
however different it may be to render a satisfactory
definition of it, there seems to be no doubt that it
does extend to. . .the preservation of good order and
the public morals.” Boston Beer Co. v.
Massachusetts, 97 U.S. 25, 33 (1878).

1]

This power of the government to regulate ‘or
purposes of morality and decency is reflected in laws
prohibiting prostitution, incest, adultery, and polygamy, to
name a few. These offenses include “victimless” crimes, in
which the only discernible evil is that of immorality. An
analysis of the test for restricting adult obscenity reveals that
such is an appropriate power of government.

When the Supreme Court first had occasion to deal
with the issue of obscenity in Roth, 354 U.S. 476, it did not
adopt the clear and present danger test, which had its origin
in Schenck v. United States, 249 U.S. 47 (1919). The clear
and present danger test is a device used by the courts to
connect speech with conduct the government may regulate
(i.e., non-speech evil). If, for instance, speech causes a
breach of the peace, the government may certainly punish
the person who directly brought about the substantive evil
that the government has a nght to prevent. If the rationale
for proscribing obscenity were simply that it caused rapes or
sexual assaults, there would have been no need to create an
entire new category of unprotected speech. But, if the
rationale for obscenity laws was to maintain standards of
morality and decency and to preserve the moral tone of the
community (see, e.g., Paris, 413 U.S. at 57-59), another
method of analysis was needed. The Court adopted this new
approach by creating the Roth test: “Whether to the average
person, applying contemporary community standards, the
dominant theme of the material, taken as a whole, appeals to
the prurient interest.” 354 U.S. at 489

In elaborating on what obscenity meant, from a
constitutional perspective, the Court stated that “a thing is
obscene if, considered as a whole, its predominant appeal is
to prurient interest, i.e. a shameful or morbid interest in
nudity, sex, or excretion, .. .” Roth 354 U.S. at 487-88 n. 20

12

quoting MODEL PENAL CODE §207.10 (2) (Tentative Draft
No. 6, 1957).

The clanfying quotation from the Model Penal Code
focuses on an unhealthy lustful, shameful, or morbid interest
in nudity, sex, or excretion. This clearly and unequivocally
- posits morality and decency as the justification for
prohibiting obscenity, even as to adults. These bases for
creating a new category of unprotected speech become even
more compelling when applied to children.

In its revised obscenity test from Miller, this Court
retained the “prurient interest” test, and also asked whether
the work depicts or describes, in a patently offensive way,
sexual conduct specifically defined by the applicable state
law. 413 U.S. at 27. The thrust of the obscenity test is
clearly not that any evil conduct must accompany the speech.
The use of “prurient interest” as the touchstone for
obscenity, as well as the focus on “patently offensive” in the
Miller test, are clear indicators that obscene speech
comprises a category of unprotected activity precisely
because it offends contemporary standards of morality and
decency.

Another aspect of Miller points in the direction of the
concept of obscenity having a close relationship to decency.
In describing what a state could clearly prohibit as obscene
under Miller, the Court lists, “[pjatently offensive
representations or descriptions of ... excretory functions...”
413 U.S. at 25. The evil a state addresses with such a statute
is an offense to a person’s sensibilities caused by am explicit
description of excretory functions. This kind of statute is not
directed to speech causing any sort of anti-social sexual
behavior; rather its focus is on maintaining an acceptable
level of decency and preventing injury to an adult’s moral
sensibilities. That such is an acceptable reason for a state to

--

—_

13

regulate speech is even more remarkable because the usual
rule is that a government cannot regulate speech simply
because it offends someone. See, e.g., Collin v. Smith, 578
F.2d 1197 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 916 (1978)
(striking down a local ordinance which made it a crime to
display any material that causes racial or religious hatred).
Obscenity regulation is permissible because the speech
effects are a special kind of offense to the morality and
decency of the community. Morality and decency, then, are
placed on a higher level than psychic or emotional
sensibilities.

Prior to enunciating the test for obscenity in Miller,
this Court discussed the rationale for certain categories of
speech being unprotected by the First Amendment:

There are certain well-defined and narrowly limited
classes of speech, the prevention and punishment of
which have never been thought to raise any
Constitutional problem. These include the lewd and
obscene . . . It has been well observed that such
utterances are no essential part of any exposition of
ideas, and are of such slight social value as a step to
truth that any benefit that may be derived from them
is clearly outweighed by the social interest in order
and morality. Miller, 413 U.S. at 20-21 (internal
quotation marks and citations omitted).

The last word in this excerpt is especially instructive.
Morality is the prevailing value when balanced against
speech that is not an essential part of any exposition of ideas.
This is precisely the balance struck by Congress when it
promulgated COPA. Commercial child obscenity is
balanced against society's interest in protecting and
preserving the moral values of our nation’s children.

14

Commercial child obscenity, as carefully defined by
COPA in conformance with the Miller standards, is clearly
not a category of speech that is an essential part of any
exposition of ideas. Wen placed up against society's
interest in protecting cw children and preserving societal
decency, no question exists about which value is more
important.

Reason II -- The Government has an interest in protecting
our children from _ exploitation and exposure to
commercialized obscene materials.

In New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 765-66 (1982),
this Court concluded that non-obscene child pornography fell
into a category of material not entitled to protection under
the First Amendment. In reaching its conclusion, this Court
reaffirmed that:

It is evident beyond the need for elaboration that a
State's interest in safeguarding the physical and
psychological well-being of a minor is compelling. A
democratic society rests, for its continuance, upon the
healthy, well-rounded growth of young people into
full maturity as citizens. Accordingly, we have
sustained legislation aimed at protecting the physical
and emotional well-being of youth even when the
laws have operated in the sensitive area of
constitutionally protected nghts. Ferber, 458 U.S. at
756-57 (1982) (Internal quotation marks and citations
omitted).

Thus, it is clear that “[t}he well-being of its children
is ... a subject within the State’s constitutional power te
regulate...” Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 639; see also, FCC y,
Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726, 749-50 (1978)
(government's interest in the well-being of its youth justified

—_ <> ——— I —

15

special treatment of non-obscene indecent broadcasting
received by adults and children); and Reno v. ACLU, 521
U.S. 844, 849 (1997) (addressing Congress's earlier attempt
to restrict sexually explicit material on the Internet, this
Court acknowledged that the Government has an interest in
protecting children from harmful materials -- and noted the

Act’s legitimate purposes.)

Similar to COPA, the statute upheld in Ginsberg
made it a crime “knowingly to sell *** to a minor under 17
... any picture *** which depicts nudity *** and which is
harmful to minors,” ... and “any *** magazine *** which
contains *** (such pictures) *** and which, taken as a
whole, is harmful to minors.” Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 633.

The obscene materials commercially sold to a child
in Ginsberg were

‘harmful to minors’ in that they had, within the
meaning of [the statute] that quality of ***
representation *** of nudity *** (which) *** (i)
predominantly appeals to the prunent, shameful or
morbid interest of minors, and (ii) is patently
offensive to prevailing standards in the adult
community as a whole with respect to what is
suitable material for minors, and (iii) is utterly
without redeeming social importance for minors.
Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 632-33.

Even though the material at issue in Ginsberg was
“not obscene for adults,” this Court recognized the statute's
restrictions as “obscenity of material sold to minors under
17.” Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 634-35. In upholding the statute,
this Court acknowledged that it, like COPA, was “a variable
from the formulation for determining obscenity [used by the
Court for adults].” Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 635.

16

This Court discussed the efficacy of adopting a
concept of “variable obscenity” as a tool to determine
whether material obscene to children falls into a category of
speech unprotected by the First Amendment:

Variable obscenity . . . furnished a useful analytical
tool for dealing with the problem of denying
adolescents access to material aimed at a primary
audience of sexually mature adults. For variable
obscenity focuses attention upon the make-up of
primary and peripheral audiences in_ varying
circumstances, and provides a reasonably satisfactory
means for delineating the obscene in_ each
circumstance.” Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 634, n4
(emphasis added; internal quotation marks and
citations omitted).

COPA does precisely what this Court alluded to in
Ginsberg. Its legislative history and its carefully crafted
language deal only with material intended for an audience of
sexually mature adults, and that is by statutory definition
unprotected as to minors. COPA also focuses on the primary
(child) audience and the peripheral (adult) audience, and
draws a constitutionally appropriate distinction between the
two classes.

Perhaps the most important factor in analyzing the
appropriateness of the concept of variable obscenity is that of
the “varying circumstances” surrounding the dissemination
of speech. The most salient circumstance is the method of
communication -- the Web. This medium is intrinsically
different from books, movies, magazines, records, TV, radio,
or any other medium of communication with which this
Court has dealt in the past. The paradigm has changed. An
almost universally available medium of communication for

17

the dissemination of commercial child obscenity changes the
constitutional calculus in profound ways.

The Court has always analyzed speech cases
transactionally. That is, it looks at who the speaker is, who
the audience is, and what the method of communication is.
As each of these variables changes, the analysis may change.
For instance, in FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, the Court
upheld a restriction on the broadcast of a sexually and
excretorily explicit monologue by George Carlin. 438 U.S.
726 (1978). The monologue was broadcast on the radio,
during daytime hours, and heard by a child. /d. at 729-730.
These factors led the Court to uphold a time restriction on
the broadcast, observing that there were other ways for
consumers to receive the information. /d. at 749-50.

However, in Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15, 91
(1971), the Court reversed a conviction for breach of the
peace occasioned by a person having a vulgar message on a
jacket inside a courthouse. The main factor that
distinguished Pacifica from Cohen was the medium of
communication. In Pacifica, the transmission over the
airwaves was found to be very intrusive into the nght of a
parent to control what his child heard, because it was an
auricular assault, and the burden was on the disseminator to
change the time of his speech. 438 U.S. at 748-50. In Cohen,
on the other hand, a visual assault in a courthouse was not
pervasive enough to punish the gesture, and Justice Harlan,
for the Court, suggested that the solution to the problem was
simply for the viewer to look away. Cohen, 403 U.S. at 21-
22.

Transmission by the Internet is the most intrusive,
pervasive medium of communication ever created. In the
otherwise privacy and safety of home, the Internet's
omnipresent accessibility to our children makes it an

18

especially dangerous method of transmitting commercial
child obscenity.

Like COPA in the instant case, the statute in
Ginsberg simply adjusted “the definition of obscenity to
social realities by permitting the appeal of this type of
material to be assessed in term of the sexual interests of such
minors.” Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 638 (internal quote and
citations omitted). Here, as in Ginsberg, the government
was justified in restricting “the availability of sexual material
to minors since it was rational for the legislature to find that
the minors’ exposure to such material might be harmful.”
Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 639. In this regard, Ginsberg
recognized that:

[C]onstitutional interpretation has consistently
recognized that the parents’ claim to authority in their
own household to direct the rearing of their children
is basic in the structure of our society. It is cardinal
with us that the custody, care and nurture of the child
reside first in the parents, whose primary function
and freedom include preparation for obligations the
state can neither supply nor hinder. The legislature
could properly conclude that parents and others,
teachers for example, who have this primary
responsibility for children’s well-being are entitled to
the support of laws designed to aid discharge of that
responsibility. /d.

When Congress enacted COPA it, like the legislature
that promulgated the statute in Ginsberg, “expressly
recognized the parental role in assessing sex-related material
harmful to minors” according to an adult community
standard with regard to what is suitable to minors. Ginsberg,
390 U.S. at 639; see also 47 U.S.C. § 231 (e)6)(1998);
Miller, 413 U.S. at 24-25 (1973), Smith v. United States, 431

re ~--

19

U.S. 291, 300-02, 309 (1977), and Pope v Illinois, 481 U.S.
497, 500-01 (1987). Moreover, nothing in COPA restricts
“the discretion of the parent to purchase material for their
children who are under the age of 17.” See, H.R Rep. No.
105-775, at 15 (1998).

Ginsberg further recognized an independent interest
of the government in protecting the “welfare of children” and
ensuring they are “safeguarded from abuses which might
prevent their growth into free and independent well-
developed ... citizens.” Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at 640-41
(internal quotation marks and citation omitted). In Miller,
this Court stated, “States have a legitimate interest in
prohibiting dissemination or exhibition of obscene material
when the mode of dissemination carries with it a significant
danger of offending the sensibilities of unwilling recipients
or of exposure to juveniles.” Miller, 413 U.S. at 18-19.
Miller then upheld the constitutionality of a criminal
obscenity statute and articulated the test for obscenity
adopted by Congress in COPA. 413 U.S. at 24-25 (1973), as
modified by Smith, 431 U.S. at 300-02, 309 (1977), and
Pope, 481 U.S. at 500-01 (1987). Finally, in Paris this
Court, as in previous decisions, again “pointedly recognized
the high importance of the state interest in regulating the
exposure of obscene materials to juveniles and unconsenting
adults,” Paris, 413 U.S. at 57 citing inter alia, Miller, 413
U.S. at 18-20.

Reason III — The Commercialized Child Obscenity,
Restricted as “Harmful to Minors” in COPA is, in Fact,
Dangerously Harmful to our Children and Their Future.

Evidence in the record links the material proscribed
in COPA to criminal and other dangerously unhealthy
conduct. For example, in its report accompanying COPA,
Congress documeriied how the material restricted by COPA

20

harms children. H.R. Rep. No. 105-775, at 11 (1998).
Specifically, the report indicated that:

A child’s sexual development occurs gradually
throughout childhood. Exposure to pornography
shapes children’s sexual perspectives by providing
them with information on sexual activity intended for
adults. The type of information provided by
pornography, however, does not provide children
with a normal sexual perspective. Unlike learning
provided in an educational or home setting, exposure
to pornography is counterproductive to the goal of
healthy and appropriate sexual development in
children. . . . /d. (citing Brooks, Assistant Chief of
Psychology Services, Department of Veterans
Affairs, The Centerfold Syndrome (1996)).

The report also summarized testimony before
Congress highlighting the dangers of exposing children to
material restricted by the statute:

Pornography produces “permission-giving beliefs”
for sexual pathology and sexual violence and that
pornography produces distortions that change an
individual’s belief system. As a result, children
exposed to pornography can become victims or
victimizers, encouraged by the strong sexual images
contained in pornography found on the World Wide
Web. H.R. Rep. No. 105-775, at 11 (1998), citing
testimony of Dr. Mary Anne Layden.

Indeed, in a congressional hearing, Congress received
compelling evidence of horrendous problems that occur in
adults, from their exposure as children to material proscribed
by COPA. The problems include unhealthy, harmful sexual
addiction, suicide, rape, and other cnmes of violence. See

21

Hearings, 105th Cong. 55-57, 84 (1998)(statement of Dr.
Mary Anne Layden). For example, Dr. Layden testified that
for the past 13 years she had specialized in the treatment of
sexual violence victims and perpetrators. In all those 13
years she had not treated one case of sexual violence that did
not include material proscribed by COPA as a substantial
factor. See Hearings, 105th Cong. 56 (1998) (statement of
Dr. Mary Anne Layden).

Moreover, according to the Federal Bureau of
Investigation, the Internet and other on-line services have
become “one of the most prevalent techniques by which
pedophiles and other sexual predators” identify and recruit
“children for sexually explicit relationships.” Hearings,
105th Cong. 26 (1998) (Statement of Stephen R. Wiley,
Chief, Violent Crmes and Major Offenders Sections,
Federal Bureau of Investigation).

The congressional report accompanying COPA also
noted “the body of research indicating that pornography has
significant impact on attitudes and values, and that such
impact is clearly harmful to minors.” H.R. Rep. No. 105-
775, at 11 (1998) citing testimony from the organization
Enough is Enough.

When Congress passed the Child Internet Protection
Act (CIPA), another statute designed to protect the well-
being of children on the Internet, it documented additional
evidence of the danger facing our children. S. Rep. No. 106-
141, at 1 (1999). The Senate Report documented the
increased access to the Internet by schools and libraries
receiving federal assistance, and then reported that:

Though the Internet represents tremendous potential
in bringing previously unimaginable education in
information opportunities to our nation’s children,

22

there are very real risks associated with the use of the
Internet. Pornography, including obscene material,
child pornography, and indecent material is available
on the Internet. This material may be accessed
directly and intentionally, or may tum up as the
unintended product of a general Internet search .. .
the aggressive tactics of commercial pornographers
on the Internet expose children to random, and
unintended exposure to sexually explicit material. /d.
at 2.

The Senate Report next documented how the
exposure to pornography harms children and _ their
development. /d. at 3. The Report continued by documenting

the increasing incidents of pedophiles utilizing the
Internet to lure and seduce children into illegal and
abusive sexual activity. In many cases, such activity
is the product of individuals, taking advantage of the
anonymity provided by the Internet to stalk children
. . . [A]n increasingly disturbing trend is that of
highly organized, and technologically sophisticated
groups of pedophiles who utilize advanced
technology to . . .__ sexually exploit and abuse
children. /d. at 3-4.

It is clear in the instant matter that the danger to our
children is real. When the constitutionality of a statute like
COPA is at issue, this Court traditionally has accepted
legislative findings in connection with the potential danger
and harm to children. Ferber, 458 U.S. at 757-58

23

Reason IV — Permitting a commercial onslaught of patently
offensive sexual material to children (designed to appeal to a
child’s unhealthy lustful, shameful, morbid interest in sex —
and lacking serious literary, artistic, political, or scientific
value), lacks constitutional value.

Like adult obscenity and child pornography statutes.
amici acknowledge that commercial child obscenity
restrictions “run the risk of suppressing protected
expression.” See Ferber, 458 U.S. at 756. Amici submit,
however, that material of the kind described in COPA lacks
constitutional value, due to its extreme detachment from the
fundamental principles protected by the First Amendment.

“The protection given speech and press was
fashioned to assure unfettered interchange of ideas for the
bringing about of political and social changes desired by the
people.” Roth, 354 U.S. at 484. Again, commercial child
obscenity, as carefully defined by COPA in conformance
with the Miller standards, is clearly not a category of speech
that is an essential part of any exposition of ideas. The value
of permitting a commercial onslaught of patently offensive
sexual material to children (designed to appeal to a child’s
unhealthy, shameful, morbid interest in sex — and lacking
serious literary, artistic, political, or scientific value) is,
therefore, “exceedingly modest, if not de minimis;” See
Ferber, 458 U.S. at 763, Miller, 413 U.S. at 34-35.

Free speech ranks among the most cherished of our
fundamental freedoms. Amici suggest that it is exceedingly
doubtful, however, that the framers of our Constitution
intended to protect pedophiles and commercial peddlers of
pornography who provide access to patently offensive hard-
core sexually explicit material to our children. “[T]o equate
the free and robust exchange of ideas and political debate
with commercial exploitation of obscene material demeans

24

the grand conception of the First Amendment and its high
purposes in the historic struggle for freedom.” Miller, 413
US. at 34.

“Harmful” sexually explicit material for adults, ought
not be constitutionally protected when someone, for
commercial purposes, makes it available to children —
whether at the newsstand, the World Wide Web, or
anywhere else. This is especially true when the commercial
peddler of porn intrudes via the Internet into the sanctity of
one’s home to sell their wares. Too much is at stake, whether
in terms of our nation’s right to societal decency, or the well-
being of our children.

Reason V -- Recognizing and classifying commercial child
obscenity, as a category of material unprotected by the First
Amendment, is consistent with this Court’s prior decisions.

In the instant case, Congress deliberately drafted the
“harmful to minors” definition in COPA consistent with this
Court's jurisprudence in the area of child obscenity.

Congress patterned COPA after the child obscenity
requirement upheld in Ginsberg, drawing on the three-part
test for obscenity for minors modified in Miller, 413 U.S. at
24-25, Smith, 431 U.S. at 300-02, 309 (holding that an
“average person, applying contemporary community
standards” also serves as the standard in the second prong,
determining the patent offensiveness of the material) and
Pope v Illinois, 481 U.S. at 500-01 (holding that in prong
three, “a reasonable person” standard is applied to the
serious value determination). Thus, when Congress defined
"material that is harmful to minors" in COPA, it created a
Millerized-Ginsberg definition for what is obscene for
minors. It is important to note that this Court has directed its

25

holdings, “not at thoughts or speech, but at depiction and
description of specifically defined sexual conduct” that may
be properly regulated. See, Paris, 413 U.S. at 69.

A careful reading of COPA’s provisions, in the light
of these cases, bnghtly illuminates congressional
understanding of this Court’s constitutional jurisprudence
when it promulgated COPA. Thus, classifying commercial
child obscenity, as a category of material unprotected by the
First Amendment, is consistent with this Court’s prior
decisions.

B. COPA’S PROVISIONS ARE RATIONALLY RELATED TO
LEGITIMATE GOVERNMENT INTERESTS

The commercial child obscenity, proscnbed in COPA
as “harmful to minors” is, for the five reasons discussed in
the previous section, a category of speech wholly outside the
protection of the First Amendment. To protect our nation’s
children, and to preserve a decent society, Congress may,
consistent with the First Amendment, therefore, restrict
commercialized child obscenity on the World Wide Web.
Moreover, this is true even if, in the extremely unlikely
event, such material is not also obscene to adults. Restricting
commercial peddlers of child obscenity from selling their
material to our children on the Web is rationally related to
the government’s national interest in maintaining a decent
society. It is also rationally related to the government’s
interest in protecting the well-being of our children. COPA
is, therefore, constitutional. See, e.g., Ginsberg, 390 U.S. at
641-43; Miller, 413 U.S. at 18-19; Paris, 413 U.S. at 57.

26

el JUDGED IN RELATION TO THE STATUTE’S PLAINLY
LEGITIMATE SWEEP, THE CHILD ONLINE PROTECTION ACT IS
NOT SUBSTANTIALLY OVERBROAD

“(T]he wide-reaching effects of a court striking down
a Statute on its face, at the request of one whose own conduct
may be punished despite the First Amendment,” are
undisputed. Ferber, 458 U.S. at 769 quoting Broadrick v.
Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601, 613 (1973). This Court, therefore,
recognizes “that the overbreadth doctrine is ‘strong
medicine’” and employs it ‘with hesitation, and then only as
a last resort.”” Jd. Indeed, “[t]he traditional rule is that a
person to whom a statute may constitutionally be applied
may not challenge that statute on the ground that it may
conceivably be applied unconstitutionally to others in
situations not before the Court.” Ferber, 458 U.S. at 767.
Given that this traditional rule is grounded in Article III of
the United States Constitution (limiting the jurisdiction of
federal courts to actual cases and controversies), any
exception — like the overbreadth doctrine — “must be
carefully tied to the circumstances in which facial
invalidation of a statute is truly warranted.” Ferber, 458 U.S.
at 768-69. Thus, to succeed in a facial challenge to a statute
like COPA “the overbreadth of a statute must not only be
real, but substantial as well, judged in relation to the statute’s
plainly legitimate sweep.” Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 615;
Ashcroft v. ACLU, 535 U.S. at 584

This Court struck down Congress’s first attempt to
protect the nation’s children from exposure to indecent
sexually explicit matenal on the Internet. Reno v ACLU, 521
U.S. 844 (1997) (holding the Communications Decency Act
of 1996 (CDA) unconstitutional.) As recognized in Ashcroft,
Congress, in drafting COPA, responded to the overbreadth

27

objections to the CDA relied upon by the Court in the Reno
decision:

First, while the CDA applied to communications over
the Internet as a whole, including, for example, e-
mail messages, COPA applies only to maternal
displayed on the World Wide Web. Second, unlike
the CDA, COPA covers only communication made
“for commercial purposes.” And third, while the
CDA prohibited “indecent” and “patently offensive”
communications, COPA restricts only the narrower
category of “material that is harmful to minors”
Ashcroft v. ACLU, 535 U.S. at 569-70; see also H.R.
Rep. No. 105-775, at 16 (1998).

Thus, it is clear that Congress intended to limit the
scope of COPA to address an expressly narrow part of the
child obscenity problem. As discussed previously, Congress
patterned the definition of “harmful to minors” in COPA
after the child obscenity requirement upheld in Ginsberg,
drawing on the three-part test for obscenity for minors
modified in Miller, 413 U.S. at 24-25, Smith, 431 U.S. at
300-02, 309, and Pope, 481 U.S. at 500-01. The plain
language used in COPA, as construed in this Court’s
obscenity jurisprudence, cannot, by definition, censor or
inhibit protected speech of any kind. This is especially true
in light of COPA’s affirmative defenses, which further
narrow the scope of COPA’s coverage. Thus, Congress
made clear it did not intend the provisions of COPA to apply
to serious treatment of sexual issues. In any case, the
materials Respondents allege are at risk are not at risk.
Indeed, the District Court opinion in this case reveals that the
trial court found none of the material at issue even
potentially “harmful to minors.” ACLU v. Reno, 31 F.Supp.
2d 473, 480, 484-86 (E.D. Pa. 1999). COPA’s provisions
virtually eliminate any possibility of selective prosecutorial

28

enforcement, especially when read in the bright light of this
Court’s obscenity jurisprudence. Judged in relation to the
COPA’s plainly legitimate sweep, any overbreadth here is
illusory, and, in context, certainly not substantial.

“When a federal court is dealing with a federal statute
challenged as overbroad, it should, of course, construe the
statute to avoid constitutional problems, if the statute is
subject to such a limiting construction.” Ferber, 458 U.S. at
769 n. 24.

ONCLUSION

Amici ask that this Court not take away the right of
the American adult community to preserve societal decency
and to protect its children. Who we are morally, as
individuals and as a nation, is a fabric made up of much
more than express opinions. Here it is important to note
again that, in the decisions relied upon by amici, this Court
has directed its holdings, “not at thoughts or speech, but at
depiction and description of specifically defined sexual
conduct” that may be properly regulated. See, Paris, 413
U.S. at 69.

Your amici suggest that permitting a commercial
onslaught of patently offensive sexual material to children
(designed to appeal to a child’s unhealthy, shameful, morbid
interest in sex) will physically desensitize our children to that
higher sentiment of individual and collective decency.
Collectively, if this Court sanctions such a commercial
offensive against our nation's children in the name of free
speech, expect the remnants of what is left of our national
moral fabric to unravel.

—

29

Undeniably, we stand at a constitutional construction
site. Those who came before us built a constitutional
democratic republic upon fundamental foundations of
decency. It is now our watch. It is well for us to recall,
therefore, the ancient truth that “righteousness exalts a
nation.” Proverbs 14:34 (NIV).

If, in the name of free expression, we guarantee the
night of individuals to engage in obscene harmful conduct to
our children, we merely create an illusion of a nation willing
to protect fundamental freedoms. Such a course inevitably
erodes the fundamental foundations of our country. In the
end, the structural institutions of free government may stand
for a time; the very essence for which they stand, however,
ceases to exist.

Here the “evil to be restricted” “overwhelmingly
outweighs the expressive interests, if any, at stake.” Ferber,
458 U.S. at 763-64. The class of material defined in COPA
“bears so heavily and pervasively on the welfare of children”
and on a national nght to decency in society, that its
commercialization on the Internet overwhelmingly tips the
balance of any competing interests. Ferber, 458 U.S. at 763-
64; Paris, 413 U.S. at 57-61. Moreover, the method of
transmission into the privacy and safety of our home, is the
most intrusive, pervasive medium of communication ever
created. Indeed, the Internet's ubiquitous accessibility to our
children makes it a particularly dangerous method of
transmitting commercial child obscenity. Amici contend,
therefore, that it is permissible to consider these materials
wholly undeserving of the protections afforded by the First
Amendment.

COPA’s provisions are rationally related to the
governmental interests of protecting our nation’s children,
and preserving a decent society. Congress may, therefore,

30

consistent with the First Amendment, _ restrict
commercialized child obscenity on the Internet that is
“harmful to minors.” Amici here provide this Court with
good, serious reasons to reach such a holding. For these
reasons, amici urge this Court to reverse the Court of
Appeals and uphold the constitutionality of COPA as passed
by Congress.”

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM WAGNER
Counsel of Record
STEVE REED
35 N. Lake Ave. PHILIP J. PRYGOSKI
Pasadena, CA 91101 CooLey LAW SCHOOL
(626)449-452] 300 South Capitol
Lansing, MI 48933
PAT TRUEMAN (517) 371-5140
801 G. Street NW

Washington D.C. 2001
(202)393-2100

November 26, 2003

* Amici, in the alternative, suggest that COPA is narrowly tailored
to compelling governmental interests, and would therefore, on that
alternative basis, also urge reversal.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0700%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
