# Amicus Curiae Brief — Crawford v. Washington

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0690%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 541 U.S. 36

## Text

MOTION FILED y
JUL 9 4 9803 No. 02-9410

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

, 4

MICHAEL D. CRAWFORD
Petitioner,

V.

WASHINGTON,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Court of Washington

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE AND BRIEF AMICUS
CURIAE OF LAW PROFESSORS SHERMAN J. CLARK,
JAMES J. DUANE, RICHARD D. FRIEDMAN, NORMAN
GARLAND, GARY M. MAVEAL, BRIDGET
MCCORMACK, DAVID A. MORAN, CHRISTOPHER B.
MUELLER, AND ROGER C. PARK, IN SUPPORT OF

PETITIONER
David A. Moran Richard D. Friedman
Of Counsel Counsel of Record
471 West Palmer 625 South State Street
Detroit, Michigan 48202 Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109

(313) 577-4829 (734) 647-1078

No. 02-9410

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

MICHAEL D. CRAWFORD
Petitioner,

v.
WASHINGTON,
Respondent.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AM/JCUS CURIAE

OF LAW PROFESSORS SHERMAN J. CLARK, JAMES J.

DUANE, RICHARD D. FRIEDMAN, NORMAN GARLAND,

GARY M. MAVEAL, BRIDGET MCCORMACK, DAVID A.

MORAN, CHRISTOPHER B. MUELLER, AND ROGER C.
PARK, IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Pursuant to Rule 37.2(b), Sherman J. Clark, James J.
Duane, Richard D. Friedman, Norman Garland, Gary M.
Maveal, Bridget McCormack, David A. Moran, Christopher B.
Mueller, and Roger C. Park respectfully move this Court for
leave to file the attached brief amicus curiae in support of
petitioner. Petitioner has granted consent, but respondent has
refused consent.

This case raises important questions about the meaning of
the Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment to the
Constitution, which is a central aspect of our criminal justice
system. In particular, the second Question Presented in the
petition for certiorari suggests that the currently prevailing

2

framework of doctrine under the Clause be reconsidered, to be
replaced by one limiting the scope of the Clause to statements
that are testimonial in nature but prescribing unequivocally that
such statements may not be introduced against an accused
unless he has had an opportunity to confront the maker of the
statement. Amici are law professors who have had considerable
experience dealing with the Confrontation Clause, variously
writing, teaching, and litigating about it. We believe that a
reconceptualization along the lines proposed by petitioner
would be a great improvement in the law. Our imterest in this
case is not to support either prosecution or defemse — in some
settings the structure we propose would favor ome side and in
some settings the other — but to assist the placement of the
Confrontation Clause on a proper footing, as expressing a rather
narrow but hard-edged right.

Sherman J. Clark is Professor of Law at the University of
Michigan Law School. He is the author of An Accuser-
Obligation Approach to the Confrontation Clause, 81 NEB. L.
REV. 1258 (2003), which supports and offers an.explanation for
the “testimonial” approach to the Confrontation Clause.

James J. Duane is Professor at Regent University School
of Law. He teaches Evidence and Triak Advocacy, among other
courses. He is co-author, with Glen Weissenberger, of
FEDERAL EVIDENCE (4" ed. 2004). Among the topics related to
confrontation on which be has written are conspirator
statements and declarations against interest.

Richard D. Friedman is Ralph W. Aigler Collegiate
Professor of Law aa the University of Michigan Law Schoui
He has written extensively on the Confrontation Clause, and has
advocated the testimonial approach to that Clause in several
articles. ‘He is general editor of THE NEW WIGMORE: A
TREATISE ON EVIDENCE, and author of THE ELEMENTS OF
EVIDENCE (2d ed. 1998).

Norman M. Garland, Professor, Southwestern University
School of Law, has been teaching Evidence for 32 years, first at

te?

lw

Northwestern University School of Law and then at
Southwestern. He has authored numerous books and articles
dealing with evidence, criminal law, and criminal procedure.

Gary M. Maveal is Associate Professor, University of
Detroit Mercy School of Law, and has taught Evidence for 14
years. Previously, he was an Assistant United States Attorney
for the Eastern District of Michigan.

Bridget M. McCormack is Associate Dean for Clinical
Affairs and Clinical Professor of Law at the University of
Michigan Law School. She is the co-author with Prof.
Friedman of Dial-/n Testimony, 150 U.PA.L. REV. 1171 (2002),
which advocates the testimonial approach.

David A. Moran is Assistant Professor of Law at Wayne
State University Law School. Previously, he was an attorney
with the Michigan State Appellate Defender’s Office. In that
capacity, he litigated several cases highlighting the difficulties
that state trial courts have in applying the Roberts framework .
See, e.g., Bulls v. Jones, 274 F.3d 329 (6"Cir. 2001) (granting
habeas relief where state trial court admitted non-testifying co-
defendant's police statement as substantive evidence against
defendant). He and Prof. Friedman are working together on a
volume, part of THE NEW WIGMORE, dealing with some aspects
of the law of hearsay and confrontation.

Christopher B. Mueller is the Henry S. Lindsley Professor
of Procedure and Advocacy at the University of Colorado
School of Law. For the last 30 years, he has taught and written
about evidence law, often with Laird C. Kirkpatrick (now Dean,
University of Oregon School of Law). Among the works by
Mueller and Kirkpatrick are FEDERAL EVIDENCE (2d ed. 1994)
(5 volumes), EVIDENCE (3d ed. 3002), MODERN EVIDENCE (2nd
ed. 1999), and EVIDENCE UNDER THE RULES (4th ed. 2000).
Professor Mueller has also written specifically about various
aspects of hearsay, including difficulties in applying the
doctrine to statements by alleged co-offenders. See Tales Out
of School. Spillover Confessions and Against-interest

4

Statements Naming Others, 55 UNiv. MIAMI L. REV. 929
(2001); The Federal Coconspirator Exception: Action,
Assertion, and Hearsay, 12 HOFSTRA L. REV. 232 (1984).

Roger C. Park holds the James Edgar Hervey Chair in
Litigation at Hastings College of the Law, University of
California. He was a member of the faculty of the University of
Minnesota Law School for more than twenty years. Many of
his law review articles focus on hearsay evidence, some of them
from an empirical standpoint. Among his numerous books on
evidentiary topics is CASES AND MATERIALS ON EVIDENCE (9"
ed. 1999, with Jon R. Waltz).

Because we believe that current doctrine undervalues the
significance of the confrontation right in our constitutional
scheme, and we believe this case offers an opportunity to
redress the situation, we respectfully seek leave to file the
attached brief amicus curiae.

Bothy
D hak

Richard D. Fnedman
Counsel of Record

625 South State Street

Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109
(734) 647-1078

David A. Moran

Of Counsel

471 West Palmer
Detroit, Michigan 48202
(313) 577-4829

July 24, 2003

—
- tee Alt.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
ARGUMENT

I. THE TEXT OF THE CONFRONTATION
CLAUSE SUPPORTS A TESTIMONIAL
APPROACH TO THE CLAUSE, AND NOT
THE ROBERTS FRAMEWORK.

Il. THE HISTORY UNDERLYING THE
CONFRONTATION CLAUSE SUPPORTS
A TESTIMONIAL APPROACH TO THE
CLAUSE, AND NOT THE ROBERTS
FRAMEWORK.

Ill. THE TESTIMONIAL APPROACH
REFLECTS VALUES WARRANTING
CONSTITUTIONAL PROTECTION,
AND THE ROBERTS FRAMEWORK
DOES NOT.

tJ

A)

IV. AS COMPARED TO THE ROBERTS
FRAMEWORK, THE TESTIMONIAL
APPROACH GIVES BETTER GUIDANCE
TO THE LOWER COURTS, IS MORE
PRACTICAL TO IMPLEMENT,

AND IS LESS SUSCEPTIBLE TO
MANIPULATION.

CONCLUSION

20

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES
Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719 (1968) 21,24
Bourjaily v. United States. 22, 24, 25-26

483 U.S. 171 (1987)

California v. Green, 3, 14,21, 23
399 U.S. 149 (1970)

Coy v. lowa, 487 U.S. 1012 (1988) 15, 16, 21
Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415 (1965) 21, 23, 25
Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74 (1970) 22
Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 499 (1986) 14
Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184 (1957) 23
Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990) 19, 22, 27
Kentucky v. Stincer, 482 U.S. 730 (1987) 14
Lee v. Illinois, 1, 14, 16, 21, 23,

476 U.S. 530 (1986) 25, 26, 27, 28
Lilly v. Virginia, 1,6, 11, 14, 18, 21,

527 U.S. 116 (1999) 23, 25, 27, 28, 29
Maryland v. Craig. 8, 14, 15, 16, 21, 23

497 U.S. 836 (1990)

iV Vv

Mancusi v. Stubbs, 408 U.S. 204 (1972) 21, 25 OTHER CASES

Mattox y. United States, 156 U.S. 237 (1895) 16, 21, 25 “ A tr an sole. 98 tne fn Be.

Ohio v. Roberts. 1.5.6. 11. 14, 91 Eng. Rep. 1387 (K.B. 1696)
a damaceaciiae Saidi v. France, 17 E.H.R.R. 251 (1993)

a ee eer ” Case of Thomas Tong, 84 Eng. Rep. 1061

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965) 21, 23, 25 (K.B. 1662),

Silverstein v. Chase, 260 F.3d 142 (2d Cir. 2001) 29 FEDERAL RULES

Tennessee v. Street, 471 U.S. 409 (1985) 19, 23 Fed. R. Evid. 801(c)

Teegued v Borg, 828 F.2d 571 (9th Cir. 1987) 17 Fed. R. Evid. 801(d)(2)(E)

United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S. 387 (1986) 6, 22, 26, 27 Fed. R. Evid. 804(b)(2)

United States v. Owens, 484 U.S. 554 (1988) 8, 21-22, 23 Fed. R. Evid. 804(b)(6)

United States v. Salerno, 805 U.S. 317 (1992) 15 SECONDARY SOURCES

ie | Berger, Adolf, Encyclopedic Dictionary of
United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218 (1967) 18 Reman Law, 43. Pt. 2 Taare. Ans. Pra. SOC.
Watkins v. Sowders, 449 U.S. 341 (1981) 14 335, 735 (1953)
White v. Illinois, 502 U.S. 346 (1992) 6, 14, 22, 26, 27 Clark, Sherman J., An Accuser-Obligation

Approach to the Confrontation Clause,
Williamson v. United States, 512 U.S. 594 (1994) 29 81 Nes. L. REv. 1258 (2003)
Friedman, Richard D., Confrontation and
the Definition of Chutzpa,
31 ISRAEL L. REV. 506 (1997)

In re Winship, 358 361-64 (1970) 15 )

vi

Friedman, Richard D., Confrontation:
The Search for Basic Principles,
86 GEO. L.J. 1011 (1998)

Friedman, Richard D., The Conundrum of
Children, Hearsay, and Confrontation,
65 LAW & CONTEMP. PROBS. 243
(Winter 2002)

Friedman, Richard D., & McCormack,
Bridget, Dial-In Testimony, 150 U. PA.
L. REV. 1171 (2002)

Jonakait, Randolph N., Restoring the Confron-
tation Clause to the Sixth Amendment,
35 UCLA L. REV. 557 (1988)

Kirst, Roger W., Appellate Court Answers
to the Confrontation Question in Lilly v.
Virginia, 53 Syr. L. REV. 87 (2003)

LEMPERT, RICHARD O.,GROSS, SAMUELR. &
LIEBMAN, JAMES S., A MODERN APPROACH
TO EVIDENCE (3d ed. 2000)

Levie, Joseph H., Hearsay and Conspiracy,
52 MICH. L. REV.1159 (1954)

MUELLER, CHRISTOPHER B., &
KIRKPATRICK, LAIRD C. , FEDERAL
EVIDENCE (2d ed. 1994)

OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY(2d ed. 1989)

Posner, Richard A., An Economic Approach

22,

, 22

27

28

26

19

15

Vii

to the Law of Evidence, 51 STAN. L. REV.
1477 (1999)

Swift, Eleanor, Smoke and Mirrors: The Failure
of the Supreme Court's Accuracy Rationale in
White v. Illinois Requires a New Look at Con-
frontation, 22 CAP. U. L. REV. 145 (1993)

MISCELLANEOUS
Book of Acts, c. 25
Book of Deuteronomy, c. 19

European Convention on Human Rights,
Articles 6(1) and 6(3)(d)

Statements of Scalia, J., 535 U.S. 1159, and
of Breyer, J., dissenting, 535 U.S. 1162,
in conjunction with the decision not

to transmit to Congress a proposed amend-
ment to Fed. R. Crim. P. 26 (2002).

18,

27

12

22

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE'

The interest of amici is set forth in the accompanying
motion for leave to file this brief amicus curiae.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

We adopt the statement of the case in the petitioner’s brief,
with these additional comments. Like Lee v. //lindis, 476 U.S.
530 (1986), and Lilly v. Virginia, 527 U.S. 116 (1999), this case
is an example of what might be called station-house testimony.
Sylvia Crawford, the petitioner’s wife, made a tape-recorded
statement to investigating officers at the police station on the
night of the alleged crime. Sylvia was unwilling to testify at
trial against her husband, and was deemed by all parties to be
unavailable as a witness. Over petitioner’s objection, Sylvia’s
statement was introduced, and petitioner was convicted. Amici
file this brief to address the second Question Presented in the
petition for certiorari:

Whether this Court should reevaluate [the] Confrontation
Clause framework established in Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S.
56 (1980), and hold that the Clause unequivocally
prohibits the admission of out-of-court statements insofar
as they are contained in “testimonial” materials, such as
tape-recorded custodial statements.

' No counsel for any party authored any part of this brief. Part
of the cost of preparing and submitting this brief was paid for by
research funds provided by the University of Michigan Law School
to Richard Friedman and under his control. The brief does not
necessarily reflect the views of that Law School or of any of its
faculty other than amici curiae. Except as just noted, no persons or
entities other than the amici curiae made any monetary contribution
to the preparation or submission of this brief.

2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

By granting certiorari in this case, the Court has created an
opportunity to replace an unsatisfactory conception of the
Confrontation Clause with one that is historically well
grounded, textually faithful, intuitively appealing, and
straightforward in application. This conception confines the
Clause to its proper sphere and at the same time makes clear the
place of the confrontation right as one of the fundamental
cornerstones of our system of criminal justice. Adopting this
conception will also make the law far easier than current
doctrine for the lower courts to follow, because the
Confrontation Clause decisions of this Court will be explained
by reference to a robust, easily understood principle with deep
roots in the Anglo-American tradition and, indeed, throughout
Western jurisprudence. This principle is that the testimony of
a witness may not be used against an accused unless it was
given under the conditions prescribed for testimony, among
which are that it be under oath or affirmation, that it be given in
the presence of the accused, and that it be subject to cross-
examination.

Implementation of the principle requires recognition that
a Statement may be testimonial in nature even though it was not
made under the conditions prescribed for testimony. Thus, a
statement made knowingly to authorities accusing another
person of a crime is clearly a testimonial statement — even
though it was made without oath or cross-examination and in
the presence of no one but the authorities. If a report by the
authorities of a statement made in this way may be considered
by the trier of fact, then a system has been created that tolerates
the giving of testimony behind closed doors. The very point of
the Confrontation Clause was to prevent the creation of such a
system. That a statement was made absent the conditions
required by the system for testimony does not render the
statement non-testimonial in nature — rather, if the statement

_

!

3

was testimonial in nature, the absence of those conditions
renders the testimony intolerable. Put another way, the
Confrontation Clause gives the accused more than a right to
confront “all those who appear and give evidence at trial."
California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149, 175 (1970) (Harlan, J..
concurring). Its primary impact is to ensure that prosecution
witnesses do give their evidence at trial, or if necessary at a
pretrial proceeding at which the accused is able to confront
them.

Like the right to counsel and the right to a jury trial, the
right to confront witnesses is subject to waiver, and it is also
subject to forfeiture, for the accused has no ground to complain
if his own wrongdoing caused his inability to confront the
witness. Like those other rights, the right to confront adverse
witnesses can . nd should be applied unequivocally. That is, if
the statement is a testimonial one and the right has not been
waived or forfeited, then the right should apply without
exceptions. This simple approach is possible because the scope
of the right, properly conceived, is quite narrow. It does not
reach out-of-court statements in general, but only those that are
testimonial in nature.

Under the currently prevailing doctrine, by contrast, the
scope of the Clause is extremely broad: Any hearsay statement
made by an out-of-court declarant is presumptively excluded by
the Clause. A flat exclusionary rule of such breadth would be
impractical, and so the doctrine exempts from the presumptive
rule many statements that are deemed to be reliable —
purportedly so reliable that cross-examination would be of little
value. Statements that fit within “firmly rooted” hearsay
exceptions are deemed reliable without more. Just which of the
many hearsay exceptions — a term used in this brief to cover
both exceptions proper to the rule against hearsay and
exclusions from the definition of hearsay — are considered to be
“firmly rooted” is a question that this Court has only partially
resolved. On an ad hoc basis, the Court has declared hearsay

4

exceptions, or parts of them, either within that category or not,
but the Court has never offered a clear set of criteria for
determining what makes an exception “firmly rooted.” If a
statement does not fit within a “firmly rooted “ exception, it
may yet satisfy the reliability requirement, if the statement is
deemed to have “individualized guarantees of trustworthi:

This standard is heavily fact-bound and demands case-by -. use
review. Even if a statement is deemed reliable, the
Confrontation Clause may bar its use if the declarant is
available to be a witness. As with reliability, the criteria for the
unavailability requirement are unclear. If the statement falls
within the exception for former testimony, the declarant must
be unavailable or the Clause will preclude its use; if the
statement falls within the exceptions for spontaneous
declarations, statements made for purposes of medical
treatment, and conspirator declarations, unavailability is not
required; in other contexts it is not yet known whether the
unavailability requirement applies.

This framework is unpredictable and over-complicated,
and so it too frequently yields very bad results in the lower
courts. The framework is capable of producing good results;
indeed, adopting the approach proposed in this brief would not
require the Court to overrule any of its Confrontation Clause
decisions. But the existing framework reaches good results
consistently only if it is manipulated. In this respect, it
resembles the Ptolemeian astronomical system. That system,
too, was capable of yielding good results, but only if it was
manipulated and made ever more complex to ensure that its
results matched empirical observations. Ultimately, then, the
system failed to explain coherently the phenomenon it was
trying to describe. Because the system’s predictive power was
thus limited, it became necessary to adopt a new organizing
principle. In the confrontation context, too, a new organizing
principle is necessary: rather than treating the Confrontation
Clause as a generalized attempt to exclude unreliable hearsay

—_—— ----—--—— - -

5

evidence, the Court should recognize that the Clause is a
guarantee that /estimony offered against an accused must be
given in the manner prescribed for centuries, in the presence of
the accused and subject to cross-examination.

ARGUMENT

1. THE TEXT OF THE CONFRONTATION CLAUSE
SUPPORTS A TESTIMONIAL APPROACH TO THE
CLAUSE, AND NOT THE ROBERTS
FRAMEWORK.

We begin with the text of the Confrontation Clause. It
provides in simple terms:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the
right . . . to be confronted with the witnesses against him.

Now compare how this language squares respectively with
the prevailing framework established by Roberts and with the
testimonial approach proposed here. The prevailing framework
was laid out by Roberts, 448 U.S. at 66. As subsequently
modified, it has these principal elements:

1. “/W]hen a hearsay declarant is not present for cross-
examination at trial,” use of the hearsay declaration is
presumptively barred by the Confrontation Clause. The basic
definition of hearsay, as expressed in Federal Rule of Evidence
801(c), is “a statement, other than one made by the declarant
while testifying at the trial or hearing, offered in evidence to
prove the truth of the matter asserted.” The text of the
Confrontation Clause does not refer to hearsay, however, and
nothing in it suggests that its scope is as broad as the definition
of hearsay. A person who makes a statement in the ordinary
course of her affairs, without any reasonable anticipation of

6

litigation, is a hearsay declarant if the statement is later offered
at trial to prove the truth of what it asserts, but it would be an
unnatural reading to conclude that this makes her a “witness”
within the meaning of the Confrontation Clause.

2. Even though it is hearsay, an out-of-court statement
may be admitted against an accused (subject to the possible
applicability of an unavailability requirement) if it is
sufficiently reliable. Under this doctrine, statements are deemed
reliable if the evidence either “falls within a firmly rooted
hearsay exception" or “contains ‘particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness’ such that adversarial testing would be
expected to add little, if anything, to the statements’ reliability.”
Lilly, 527 U.S. at 124-25, quoting in part Roberts, 448 U.S. at
66. Nothing in the text of the Confrontation Clause, however,
suggests that if a statement falls within the scope of the Clause
its use against the accused may yet be allowed because of a
judicial determination that the statement is reliable. The Clause
says that in a// criminal prosecutions the accused shall enjoy the
right to be confronted with ‘he witnesses against him, not
simply those whom judges deem sufficiently unreliable to
warrant cross-examination. The Clause contains no hint of a
reliability test, and no suggestions of exceptions to its
categorical bar.’

In short, the Roberts framework depends on a set of
concepts — hearsay, reliability, and exceptions — none of which

> As originally articulated by Roberts, the framework also
generally precluded use of hearsay unless the declarant was
unavailable to testify at trial. Subsequent cases have cut back on this
requirement. It applies to former testimony, as in Roberts itself, it
has been held not to apply to statements falling within the exceptions
for conspirator statements, United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S. 387
(1986), spontaneous declarations, and statements made in the course
of receiving medical care, White v. Illinois, 502 U.S. 346 (1992). In
other contexts its applicability is unclear.

-

is supported by the text of the Confrontation Clause.
In contrast, that text squares very well with the testimonial
approach, the core of which may be expressed as follows:

Use against an accused of the statement of a witness — that
is, a Statement that is testimonial in nature — violates a
right of the accused unless the accused has or has had an
adequate opportunity to confront the witness.’

The key aspect of this approach is equating a witness with a
person who makes a testimonial statement. But that is a very
natural reading. The Latin for witness is festis. Adolf Berger,
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Roman Law, 43, Pt. 2 TRANS. AM.
PHIL. SOc. 335, 735 (1953). That word shares a root with
testimonium, the core meaning of which is “the testimony of a
witness.” /d And that, of course, is the source of the English
word testimony. The derivation appears to be through the Old
French, 17 THE OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY 833 (2d ed.
1989); thus, in the modern French witness is témoin and
testimony is /émoinage.

Of course, to give this approach life, it is necessary to
invest the word festimonial with meaning. As discussed in Part
IV, there is some ambiguity about the edges of the word’s
meaning.’ For now, though, it suffices to say that a statement

* A subsidiary principle is that if the accused has had an
adequate opportunity to confront the witness at an earlier time but,
without fault of the prosecution, the witness is unavailable to testify
at trial, then the witness's prior statement may be used. Part IV
contrasts this principle and the unsatisfactory method by which the
prevailing framework treats unavailability.

* The same can be said about the term confront. In most cases,
the meaning is clear: The witness must testify in the presence of the
accused, subject to cross-examination. Questions such as when or

that is made with the reasonable anticipation that it will be used
in a criminal prosecution should be considered testimonial.
while a statement that is made in the ordinary course of affairs,
with no prospect of evidentiary use in the offing, is not
testimonial. —
The text of the Confrontation Clause is important in .nis
context not only because of its intrinsic authority but also
because. as we will now show, it expresses a fundamental
principle with deep historical roots: A witness may not testify
against an accused unless she confronts him with the testimony.

ll. THE HISTORY UNDERLYING THE
CONFRONTATION CLAUSE SUPPORTS A
TESTIMONIAL APPROACH TO THE CLAUSE,
AND NOT THE ROBERTS FRAMEWORK.’

If an adjudicative system is rational, then it must rely in
large part on the testimony of witnesses and prescribe the
conditions under which they may testify. For many systems,
one such condition is that testimony must be given under oath.
Another common condition, characteristic of the common law
system but not limited to it, is that testimony of a prosecution
witness must be given in the presence of the accused, subject to
questioning by him or on his behalf. The ancient Hebrews
required confrontation, Deut. 19:15-18, as did the Romans. A

whether the witness and the accused may be in different rooms but
connected by a video transmission, see, e.g., Maryland v. Craig, 4°7
U.S. 836 (1990), or whether the accused’s opportunity to cross-
examine was adequate, see, e.g., United States v. Owens, 484 U.S.
554 (1988), are not presented by the current case.

> A more extensive historical discussion, with fuller citations, is
in Richard D. Friedman & Bridget McCormack, Dial-Jn Testimony,
150 U.PA. L. REV. 1171, 1202-09 (2002).

9

Roman governor, Festus, pronounced: “It is not the manner of
the Romans to die before the accused has met his accusers face
to face. and has been given a chance to defend himself against
the charges.” Acts, 25:16.

Once the irrational methods of medieval adjudication, such
as trial by ordeal and by battle, withered away, Western legal
systems developed different approaches to testin.ony.
Continental systems tended to take testimony on written
questions — behind closed doors and out of the presence of the
parties — for fear that the witnesses would be coached or
intimidated. By contrast, beginning in the 15" century and
continuing for centuries afterwards, numerous English judges
and commentators — John Fortescue, Thomas Smith, Matthew
Hale, and William Blackstone among them — praised the open
and confrontational style of the English criminal trial. In a
celebrated 16" century description, for example, Smith spoke
approvingly of an “altercation” between accuser and accused.
Nearly two centuries later, Sollom Emlyn proclaimed: “In other
Countries, the Witnesses are examin’d in private, and in the
Prisoner’s Absence; with us, they are produced face to face, and
deliver their Evidence in open Court, the Prisoner himself being
present, and at liberty to cross-examine them.” And later in the
18" century Blackstone spoke of “the confronting of adverse
witnesses” as being among the advantages of “the English{]
way of giving testimony, ore fenus” — that is, by word of mouth,
or orally.

To be sure, the norm of confrontation was not always
respected. First, a set of courts in English followed continental
procedures rather than those of the common law. Precisely for
that reason, they were politically controversial, and most of
them (notably the Court of Sta: Chamber), being viewed as
arms of an unlimited royal power, did not survive the upheavals
of the 17" century. The equity courts did survive, but without
criminal jurisdiction, and well before the end of that century the
common law courts had a sophisticated body of doctrine

10

governing when depositions taken in equity, subject to cross-
examination on written questions, could be used in lieu of
testimony at trial because the witness was unavailable.
Second, justices of the peace were required by statute to
examine felony witnesses, and these examinations were
admissible at trial, even though the witness had not been cross-
examined, if the examination was taken under oath and the
witness was then unavailable. This treatment — which almost
certainly was one of the chief abuses at which the Confrontation

Clause was aimed - was a continuing source of controversy, _

and in 1696, in the celebrated case of Rex v. Paine,* the court
refused to extend it to misdemeanor cases; eventually, the
practice was abolished by statutes for felony cases as well.

Finally, and perhaps most significantly, in politically
charged cases the Crown, trying to control its adversaries
through the criminal law, sometimes used testimony taken out
of the presence of the accused. Thus, the battle for
confrontation was most clearly fought in the treason cases of
Tudor and Stuart England. Even early in the 16" century,
treason defendants demanded that witnesses be brought before
them; often they used the term “face to face.”” Sometimes these
demands were heeded, but what is most notable is that they
found recurrent legislative support, acts of Parliament
repeatedly requiring that accusing witnesses be brought “face to
face” with the accused. By the middle of the 17" century, the
battle was won, and courts routinely required that treason
witnesses testify before the accused and be subjected to
questioning by him.

The notorious case of Walter Raleigh was one of many in
which Crown prosecutors used confessions made by alleged
accomplices of the accused even though the confessions were
not made under oath or before the accused; the self-accusing

° 87 Eng. Rep. 584, 90 Eng. Rep. 527, 90 Eng. Rep. 1062, 91
Eng. Rep. 246, 91 Eng. Rep. 1387 (K.B. 1696).

nature of such statements was said to be an adequate substitute
for the usual requirements of testime :y. But in 1662, the
judges of the King’s Bench ruled unanimously and definitively
in Tong 's Case that a pretrial confession “cannot be made use
of as evidence against any others” than the confessor himself.’

The confrontation right naturally found its way to America.
There, the right to counsel developed far more quickly than in
England, and with it an adversarial spirit that made
confrontation especially crucial. The right became a particular
focus of American concerns in the 1760s when the Stamp Acts
and other Parliamentary regulations of the colonies provided for
the examination of witnesses upon interrogatories in certain
circumstances. Not surprisingly, the early state constitutions
guaranteed the confrontation right. Some used the time-
honored “face to face” formula; others, following Hale and
Blackstone, adopted language strikingly similar to that later
used in the Sixth Amendment’s Confrontation Clause.

This account has not mentioned reliability. Though one of
the advantages perceived for confrontation was its contribution
to truth-determination, the confrontation right was not
considered contingent, inapplicable upon a_ judicial
determination that the particular testimony was unreliable.

Similarly, the law against hearsay has not played a role in
this account. Hearsay law, like evidence law more generally,
was not well developed at the time the Clause was adopted,
much less during the previous centuries. In expressing a
fundamental procedural principle governing how testimony
must be given, the Clause was not meant to constitutionalize the _
law of hearsay. The Roberts framework is a latter-day con-
struct, with no historical roots.

Thus, recent developments under the European Convention
on Human Rights are noteworthy. The Convention contains

’ Case of Thomas Tong, 84 Eng. Rep. 1061, 1062 (K.B. 1662),
cited in Lilly, 527 U.S. at 141 (Breyer, J., concurring).

12

nothing resembling a hearsay rule, of course, because most of
the judicial systems falling under it do not have hearsay law.
But Articles 6(1) and 6(3)(d) of the Convention contain,
respectively, a general protection of a criminal defendant's
right to a fair trial and a specific protection of his right "to
examine or have examined witnesses against him." Under
these provisions, the European Court of Human Rights has
issued a series of decisions establishing a right of
confrontation, which it has referred to as such.* Thus, the
confrontation right, which gained its strongest recognition in
the common law system but long predated it, is once again a
fundamental part of Western jurisprudence.

Il. THE TESTIMONIAL APPROACH REFLECTS
VALUES WARRANTING CONSTITUTIONAL
PROTECTION, AND THE ROBERTS
FRAMEWORK DOES NOT.

Securing testimony by a declarant, face-to-face with an
accused, nearly always has some benefits in comparison to mere
presentation of a prior statement by that declarant. But only
when the prior statement was itself testimonial in nature is there
justification for a systematic constitutional rule rejecting use of
the statement, even if the declarant is unavailable to be a
witness, if the accused has not had an opportunity to confront
her.

When the prosecution offers an ordinary hearsay statement,
made without any anticipation of evidentiary use, it will often
be better, taking into account considerations of truth
determination and cost, to admit the statement rather than to

* E.g., Saidi v. France, 17 &.H.R.R. 251, 270 (1993) ("Neither
at the stage of the investigation nor during the trial was the applicant
able to examine or have examined the witnesses concerned. The lack
of any confrontation deprived him in certain respects of a fair trial").

13

~

exclude it. Considering just truth determination, live testimony
of the declarant, perhaps supplemented by the hearsay
statement, is presumably preferable to presentation of the
hearsay statement alone. But sometimes the declarant cannot
be feasibly produced as a witness, and so the choice is between
admitting the statement and hearing nothing from the declarant.
If the statement is significantly probative and not particularly
prejudicial, which is true of much hearsay, it is better to admit
it than to exclude it. And even if it would be possible to
produce the declarant as a witness, the marginal benefits of
insisting that this be done might not be worth the cost of doing
so.

But whether such a non-testimonial hearsay statement
should or should not be admitted is, of course, a matter of local
evidentiary law. Ifa particular jurisdiction concludes that the
probative value of such hearsay statements outweighs the
prejudicial effect, either categorically or on a case-by-case
basis, that jurisdiction should not be precluded by the
Confrontation Clause from allowing such statements into
evidence. Conversely, if the particular jurisdiction concludes
that such statements should not be admitted, that choice is also
entitled to respect. By decoupling the Confrontation Clause
from the minutiae of the hearsay rules, the testimonial approach
would allow each jurisdiction to make its own determination as
to what non-testimonial hearsay should be admitted in criminal
cases.

Now consider the situation in which the prior statement
was testimonial — that is, made with reasonable anticipation of
evidentiary use. In this context, the same factors continue to
weigh, and with additional force, against admission of the prior
statement if the accused has not had an opportunity to confront
the declarant. But additional factors apply as well. The
fundamental difference is this: When the statement is
testimonial, the question is not simply an evidentiary one,
whether the particular statement should be included in the body

14

of information presented to the trier of fact. Rather, there is
now a basic procedural issue, of how testimony against an
accused shall be given. And there is no doubt that the
constitutional demand is that such testimony be given face to
face with the accused, subject to cross-examination. Cf Lilly,
527 U.S. at 142 (Breyer, J., concurring), quoting Maryland v.

Craig, 497 U.S. 836, 862 (1990) (Scalia, J., dissenting) ("[T]he _

Confrontation Clause does not guarantee reliable evidence; it
_guarantees specific trial procedures that were thought to assure
reliable evidence, undeniably among which was ‘face-to-face’
confrontation"). Insisting on such confrontation as the required
method for giving testimony serves several important
instrumental purposes:

@ Confrontation guarantees openness of procedure, which
among other benefits ensures that the witness’ testimony is not
the product of torture or of milder forms of coercion or
intimidation. This is particularly important given the contrast
to early continental systems, in which coercion of witnesses
examined privately was very common.

® Confrontation provides a chance for the defendant,
personally or through counsel, to dispute and explore the
weaknesses in the witness’ testimony. In Thomas Smith’s day
that chance came in the form of a wide-open altercation. Today
it comes in the form of cross-examination, usually through
counsel. The Court has repeatedly endorsed Wigmore’s
characterization of cross-examination as “beyond any doubt the
greatest legal engine ever invented for the discovery of truth."”

° § JOHN H. WIGMORE, EVIDENCE § 1367, p. 32 (James
Chadbourn rev. 1974), quoted in part in Lilly, 527 U.S. at 123
(plurality opinion); White, 502 U.S. at 356; Craig, 497 U.S. at 844
. Perry v. Leeke, 488 U.S. 272, 283 n.7 (1989); Kentucky v. Stincer,
482 U.S. 730, 736 (1987); Green, 399 U.S. at 158; Ford v.
Wainwright, 477 U.S. 499, 415 (1986); Lee, 476 U.S. at 540; Watkins
v. Sowders, 449 U.S. 341, 348 n.4 (1981); Roberts, 448 U.S. at 63

15

Of course, as Wigmore recognized, cross-examination may
sometimes lead the trier of fact away from the truth rather than
towards it. But the constitutionally required “beyond a
reasonable doubt” standard of persuasion in a criminal case
reflects the extreme disutility of a false conviction. See Jn re
Winship, 358 361-64 (1970). The same consideration demands
that the accused be able to cross-examine adverse witnesses
even if sometimes that requirement prevents the conviction of
a guilty person.

® Confrontation discourages falsehood as well as assists in
its detection. The prospect of testifying under oath, subject to
cross-examination, and in the presence of the accused makes
false accusation much more difficult than it would be otherwise.
Craig, 497 U.S. at 846; Coy v. Jowa, 487 U.S. 1012, 1019- 20.
(1988) ("It is always more difficult to tell a lie about a person
‘to his face’ than ‘behind his back.').'°

@ If, as is usually the case, the confrontation occurs at trial
or in a videotaped proceeding, the trier of fact has an

n.6; cf. United States v. Salerno, 505 U.S. 317, 328 (1992) (Stevens,
J., dissenting) (“Even if one does not completely agree with
Wigmore's assertion . . . one must admit that in the Anglo-American
legal system cross-examination is the principal means of
undermining the credibility of a witness whose testimony is false or
inaccurate.”).

© See also Richard A. Posner, An Economic Approach to the
Law of Evidence, 51 STAN. L. REV. 1477, 1490 (1999) (“The witness
whose credibility would be destroyed by cross-examination will not
be called at all or will try to pull the sting of the cross-examiner by
acknowledging on direct examination the facts that a cross-examiner
could be expected to harp on.”). Of course, the same prospect may
deter the giving of truthful testimony. But, again, the tradeoff
accords with the fundamental value underlying the “beyond a
reasonable doubt” standard. Craig, 497 U.S. at 846-47; Coy, 487
U.S. at 1020.

16

opportunity to assess the demeanor of the witness. Craig, 497
U.S. at 844; Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237, 242-43
(1895) (confrontation gives the accused the opportunity “of
compelling [the witness] to stand face to face with the jury in
order that they may look at him, and judge by his demeanor
upon the stand and the manner in which he gives his testimony
whether he is worthy of belief.").

®@ Confrontation eliminates the need for intermediaries,
and along with it any doubt about what the witness's testimony
is.

Beyond these instrumental purposes, confrontation serves
a "strong symbolic purpose" — again, one that has substantial
force only when the prior statement is testimonial — that has
been repeatedly recognized by this Court. Craig, 497 U.S. at
846: Lee, 476 U.S. at 540. Even if confrontation had no impact
on the quality of prosecution evidence, it would be important to
protect because, as the Court said in Coy and repeated in Craig,
"there is something deep in human nature that regards
face-to-face confrontation between accused and accuser as
‘essential to a fair trial in a criminal prosecution.” It is not only
fairness to the accused that is at stake, but also the moral
responsibility of witnesses and of society at large, for
“requiring confrontation is a way of reminding ourselves that
we are, or least want to see ourselves as, the kind of people who
decline to countenance or abet what we see as the cowardly and
ignoble practice of hidden accusation.” Sherman J. Clark, An
Accuser-Obligation Approach to the Confrontation Clause, 81
NEB. L. REV. 1258 (2003).

The symbolic value of confrontation is enhanced by the
historical background that we have reviewed in Part II of this
brief. Indeed, even if confrontation served no other value at all,
it would be important to honor the right that accused persons
have had for many centuries governing how witnesses against
them may testify. Like Festus, we can say that it is not our way
to allow an accused to be convicted of a crime without his

17

having had a chance to have the witnesses against him testify to
his face.

These symbolic and historic functions, as well as the
instrumental values achieved by making confrontation the
prescribed method for giving testimony, refute the notion that
the confrontation right may be abrogated on a case-by-case
basis. That is, it would be inappropriate to hold that confron-
tation is unnecessary in a given case because the quality of the
particular witness’s testimony is good enough even without
confrontation. The Sixth Amendment does not provide that if
the quality of the prosecution evidence in a given case is good
enough then we may dispense with the right to jury or the right
to counsel. The right to confront adverse witnesses should be
treated the same way.

Indeed, this is clearly the rule with respect to in-court
witnesses. Suppose a prosecution witness gives significant
direct testimony at trial but that the accused, through no fault of
his own, has no opportunity to cross-examine — perhaps the
witness dies or simply refuses to answer the accused’s
questions. The direct testimony must be struck, without regard
to its reliability.'' There is no reason why the rule should be
different with respect to a witness who makes a testimonial
statement out of court but then fails, for reasons other than the
accused's wrongdoing, to testify at trial. Such testimony should
not be allowed to help convict the accused.

The testimonial approach, then, reflects a basic principle
that is central to our system of criminal justice. The Roberts
framework, by contrast, does not implement values warranting
constitutional protection. That approach purports to make
reliability, or trustworthiness, the crucial consideration. But the

'' See, e.g., Toogood v. Borg, 828 F.2d 571, 572-73 (9th Cir.
1987) (explaining that when a prosecution witness cannot or will not
submit to cross-examination, the direct testimony is struck, but that
if this is inadequate a mistrial is required).

18

enterprise is misguided. See, e.g., Eleanor Swift, Smoke and
Mirrors: The Failure of the Supreme Court's Accuracy
Rationale in White v. Illinois Requires a Naw Look at
Confrontation, 22 Cap. U. L. REV. 145, 148 (1993) (“The
Court's accuracy rationale is the product of smoke and mirrors,
rather than of a realistic analysis of the values underlying
confrontation.”’).

A trial is not, and as a practical matter cannot be, limited
to trustworthy evidence. Indeed, were there truly trustworthy
evidence with respect to a given factual issue, the issue would
not have to be tried at all, or at least the outcome would be
virtually a foregone conclusion. In a trial all sorts of evidence
that taken alone might be very untrustworthy is presented to the
trier of fact. This includes the live testimony of witnesses
testifying from personal knowledge and subject to cross-
examination — the paradigm of acceptable evidence and yet a
species that is often highly unreliable. See, e.g., United States
v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218 (1967); ELIZABETH F. LOFTUS & JAMES
M. DOYLE, EYEWITNESS TESTIMONY: CIVIL AND CRIMINAL (3d
ed. 1997). The trier of fact must assess all the evidence, and
even though the individual items may be unreliable the
evidence may be enough in the aggregate to support a finding
of proof beyond a reasonable doubt.

Nevertheless, the perception has arisen that only if hearsay
is sufficiently reliable is it safe to dispense with the usual
requirement of cross-examination. See Lilly, 527 U.S. at 123
(plurality opinion, speaking of statements containing guarantees
of trustworthiness “such that adversarial testing would be
expected to add little, if anything, to the state ~ents'
reliability”). The perception is unfounded empirically. i here
is no good support for the conclusion that jurors tend
systematically to over-value hearsay, and in some settings they
seem to under-value it. Roger C. Park, Visions of Applying the
Scientific Method to the Hearsay Rule, MicH. ST. DCL L. REV.
(2003, forthcoming). To the extent that the “mission”-of the

zoe * pdt it

nO nb ca

19

Confrontation Clause is to "advance the accuracy of the truth-
determining process in criminal trials," Tennessee v. Street, 471
U.S. 409, 415 (1985) (citation and internal quotation marks
omitted), the attempt to exclude hearsay not deemed sufficiently
reliable is self-defeating.

Moreover, the doctrine that proceeds from this attempt is
unworkable. Suppose that the doctrine were taken literally, and
hearsay were allowed only “if the declarant's truthfulness is so
clear from the surrounding circumstances that the test of
cross-examination would be of marginal utility.” /daho v
Wright, 497 U.S. 805, 820 (1990). If this standard were applied
conscientiously, very few statements would meet it — and there
is no ground for confidence that hearsay law would identify
them. For example, it is self-evident that statements by
conspirators in furtherance of their criminal enterprise, admis-
sible in federal court pursuant to Fed. R. Evid. 801(d)(2)(E), are
not a particularly trustworthy class of assertions. See 4
CHRISTOPHER B. MUELLER & LAIRDC. KIRKPATRIC K, FEDERAL
EVIDENCE 295 (2d ed. 1994) (“the case for reliability is at best
marginal”). Similarly, consider which of the following is more
likely to reflect a reasonable assessment by defense counsel
when a dying declaration is admitted, pursuant to rules like Fed.
R. Evid. 804(b)(2): (1) “If only | could cross-examine the
declarant, | could explore whether she really had an opportunity
to observe her assailant, whether her mind was clear at the time
she accused my client, and whether she had a grudge against
him,” or (2) “It doesn’t matter that I couldn’t cross-examine.
She knew she was about to die when she spoke, and no one
would want to meet with her Maker with a lie on her lips, see
Wright, at 820, so 1 couldn’t have done a thing with her.” We
do not contend that such statements should always be excluded
— but only that they should not be admitted on the clearly false
ground that they are reliable.

Finally, it is singularly inappropriate for the adjudicative
system to say to an accused, in effect, “Yes, it is true that you

20

did not get a chance to question this witness. But we have
concluded that this does not matter, because the statement was
so reliable that cross-examination would have made very little
difference.” Such a ruling ignores not only the human values
underlying the Confrontation Clause but also the defend ~ s
right to present his case to, and to attempt to persuade, the er
of fact.

In sum, the Confrontation Clause is meant not to ensure
that only reliable evidence is presented at trial but to guarantee
the traditional principles by which testimony is given. T is
proposition points the way to the manner in which the Clause
can be implemented faithfully and practically.

IV. ASCOMPARED TO THE ROBERTS FRAMEWORK,
THE TESTIMONIAL APPROACH GIVES BETTER
GUIDANCE TO THE LOWER COURTS, IS MO!
PRACTICAL TO IMPLEMENT, AND IS LEs>»
SUSCEPTIBLE TO MANIPULATION.

The testimonial approach can be articulated in terms of
four basic questions.

First, was the statement testimonial in nature? The
statement falls within the scope of the Confrontation Clause if
and only if the answer is affirmative. This question can be
made operational in various ways. One practical possibility is
an objective test that would ask: Would a reasonable person in
the declarant’s position anticipate that the statement would
likely be used for evidentiary purposes? Adoption of the
testimonial approach in this case does not require marking out
the precise bounds of the class of testimonial statements
because here, as in most cases, the exact wording of the test
would not be decisive. It is clear that Sylvia Crawford's
statement to the police was testimonial, under any reasonable
approach. The statement was electronically recorded by the
police in a police station after the incident at issue. The

CAT GES

m ie ag?

21

recording was made with considerable ceremony, clearly for use
in later proceedings, and Ms. Crawford spoke in response to
questioning much as if in a deposition — but without oath or
cross-examination. If statements made in such circumstances
are allowed as proof at trial, then under any plausible view the
declarant is testifying when she makes such a statement, for
there is no doubt that a reasonable person in her position would
anticipate that her statements would likely be used as evidence
in a future criminal proceeding.

Just as in this case, the question of whether a given
statement should be considered testimonial can usually be
rather easily resolved, as indicated by the following “rules of
thumb,” see Richard D. Friedman, Confrontation: The Search
for Basic Principles, 86 Geo. L.J~1011, 1040-43 (1998). A
statement made knowingly to the authorities that describes
criminal activity is almost always testimonial. A statement
made by a person claiming to be the victim of a crime and
describing the crime is usually testimonial, whether made
directly to the authorities or not. If, in the case of a crime
committed over a short period of time, a statement is made
before the crime is committed, it almost certainly is not
testimonial. A statement made by one participant in a criminal
enterprise to another, intended to further the enterprise, is not
testimonial. And neither is a statement made in the course of
going about one's ordinary business, made before the criminal
act has occurred or with no recognition that it relates to criminal
activity.

Thus, testimonial statements include not only statements
made as testimony at the trial itself, see Coy; Craig, but also
testimony given at a prior trial, see Mattox; Mancusi v. Stubbs,
408 U.S. 204 (1972); or other judicial proceeding, see Pointer
v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965); Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719
(1968); Green; Roberts, and statements, like the one in this
case, knowingly made to investigating authorities, see Douglas
v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415 (1965); Green; Lee: Lilly; United

22

States v. Owens, 484 U.S. 554 (1988). At the other end, some
statements, including those made in furtherance of a conspiracy,
see United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S. 387 (1986), Bourjaily v.
United States, 483 U.S. 171 (1987), can be rather easily deemed
non-testimonial, because they were made absent any indication
of evidentiary use, see Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74 (1970), and
these uv not raise a concern under the Confrontation Clause
(though other bodies of law, including the jurisdiction’ s hearsay
law, may require exclusion). Inevitably, some cases remain
near the borderline,'’ but that fact itself is not troublesome.
Assuming the statement was testimonial, so that the
declarant should be deemed to have been acting as a witness in
making it, then the accused had a right to confront the witness.
The second basic question, then, is: Will the accused have had
an adequate opportunity to confront the witness? \n some
settings, this question poses interesting issues, such as whether
the witness may testify via an electronic connection to the

" See, e.g., Wright, White; Friedman & McCormack, supra, | 50
U. PA. L. REV. at 1241-43. Amici candidly acknowledge that
statements by young children will present some of the closest issues
under the testimonial approach, just as they do in the current
framework. Pre-trial statements by children to care-givers such as
parents and physicians may be considered non-testimonial in some
circumstances even though statements by adults in similar
circumstances would likely be considered testimonial. Depending on
the context, the statement of a very young child of limited
understanding might be considered for purposes of the Confrontation
Clause to be more like the barking of a dog, and so non-testimonial,
than like the accusatory statement of an adult. A statement by a child
in response to questioning by a police officer or physician to whom
the child has been referred because of suspicions of abuse is more
likely to be testimonial than is a spontaneous statement by the child
before abuse has been suspected. See generally Richard D Friedman,
The Conundrum of Children, Hearsay, and Confrontation, 65 LAW
& CONTEMP. PROBS. 243, 249-52 (Winter 2002).

23

courtroom, see Craig,’ whether an opportunity to cross-
examine at as preliminary hearing suffices for purposes of the
Confrontation Clause, Green, or whether the witness’s memory
loss at the time of cross-examination unduly impairs the
accused’s confrontation opportunity. Owens. Usually, though,
the answer to this question is clear, as it was, for example, in
Pointer, Douglas, Lee, and Lilly, and as it is here; Michael
Crawford did not have an opportunity to cross-examine Sylvia.

If the accused will not have had an adequate opportunity to
confront the witness, then introduction of the testimonial
Statement to prove the truth of what it asserts'* violates the
accused’s confrontation right unless the answer to the third
question is in the affirmative: Did the accused waive the right
to confrontation by failing to object, or forfeit it by
misconduct?'* The accused might forfeit the right, for example,

* See also Statements of Scalia, J., 535 U.S. 1159, and of
Breyer, J., dissenting, 535 U.S. 1162, in conjunction with the
decision not to transmit to Congress a proposed amendment to Fed.
R. Crim. P. 26 (2002).

'* Cf Tennessee v. Street, 471 U.S. 409(1985)(no confrontation
violation where statement was not introduced to prove the truth of
what it asserted).

'* In the Washington appellate and supreme courts, but not in
opposing certiorari, the State contended that petitioner, who
strenuously asserted his confrontation right, nevertheless forfeited it
by invoking marital privilege to keep Sylvia from testifying at trial.
Even assuming that absent an assertion of privilege by petitioner
Sylvia would have testified at trial — which does not appear to be true
— petitioner clearly did not commit misconduct by asserting a right
the State granted to him as a matter of law, and so the state courts
correctly rejected the forfeiture argument. Cf Fed. R. Evid.
804(b\(6) (providing for forfeiture of hearsay objection by
“wrongdoing”), Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184 (1957)

24

by intimidating the witness, kidnapping her, or murdering her.
An accused cannot complain about his inability to confront the
witness if it is his own wrongful conduct that created that
inability. This principle - rather than the fiction that cross-
examination would be practically useless anyway because a
declarant would not to die with a lie on her lips — best explains
the admissibility of certain statements by dying witnesses. '°

If the testimonial statement was made at an earlier time,
and the accused then had an adequate opportunity to confront
__ the w: ness, a fourth question arises: Has the witness been
shown to be unavailable to testify at trial? \f the answer is
negative, then the statement may not be used, because live
testimony is possible and preferred. See Barber; Roberts, 448

(rejecting claim that defendant forfeited double jeopardy right
against retrial on acquitted offense by successfully asserting statutory
right to appeal conviction on lesser offense).

'© If the trial court determines as a threshold matter that the
reason the victirr nnot testify at trial is that the accused murdered
her, then the ac.used should be deemed to have forfeited the
confrontation right, even though the act with which the accused Is
charged is the same as the one by which he allegedly rendered the
witness unavailable. Just as in Bourjaily, bootstrapping does not
pose a genuine problem. See Richard D. Friedman, Confrontation
and the Definition of Chutzpa, 3\ ISRAEL L. REV. 506 (1997).

Note that if one took the rationale of the dying declaration
exception seriously, it would justify admitting any statement made
on the verge of death. The facts that the exception is limited to
statements concerning the caus. of the apparently impending death,
and that within the criminal context it 1s limited to homicide cases,
suggest that the motivating concern is that the victim cannot testify
against the assailant at trial because the assailant killed her.

Children who might otherwise testify at trial are particularly
susceptible to intimidation by criminal defendants, in which case
forfeiture might apply. See generally Friedman, Conundrum, supra,
65 LAW & CONTEMP. PROBS. (Winter 2002) at 252-55.

25

U.S. at 63 (“the Confrontation Clause reflects a preference for
face-to-face confrontation at trial”). If the answer is
affirmative, however, the Confrontation Clause poses no
obstacle to admissibility of the statement, unless the
prosecution’s wrongdoing caused the unavailability. See
Mattox, Mancusi; Roberts. Taking the testimony at trial would
be ideal, but the ideal is not possible; an opportunity for
confrontation is what is essential, and the accused has had it.

We do not contend that resolution of all Confrontation
Clause cases becomes easy under the testimonial approach. We
do contend that this approach makes easy analysis of cases that,
like Pointer, Douglas, Lee, Lilly, and this case, pose the core
concerns underlying the Confrontation Clause. See Lilly, 527
U.S. at 143 (Scalia, J.) (describing the case as involv.ig “a
paradigmatic Confrontation Clause violation”). Some cases are
close to the borderline, but that is as it should be. We also
contend that this approach poses the questions that trial courts
should be asking in addressing cases under the Clause,
questions that will lead to appropriate results. Indeed, as the
citations have suggested, we believe that this approach is
consistent with the results of all the Court’s Confrontation
Clause precedents.

That the Court has reached sensible results under the
Roberts framework does not suggest that the framework is
accomplishing its purpose. On the contrary, the Court has
reached sensible results only by manipulating the framework.
The framework itself has not led to the results, but has only
obscured the unarticulated principle that supports them.

For example, the Court has held that conspirator statements
fall within a “firmly rooted” hearsay exception and thus satisfy
the Roberts reliability requirement. Bourjaily, 483 U.S. at 182-
84. But the Court did not even suggest that conspirator
declarations are a particularly reliable set of statements. Quite
the reverse is true. See id at 201 (Blackmun, J.. dissenting)
(“this exemption has never been justified primarily upon

26

reliability or trustworthiness grounds and its reliability
safeguards are not extensive”); /nadi, 475 U.S. at 405 (“It is no
victory for common sense to make a belief that criminals are
notorious for their veracity the basis of law.” (quoting Joseph
H. Levie, Hearsay and Conspiracy, 52 MICH. L. REV.1159,
1166 (1954))). It would be much better to recognize that
conspirator statements are simply not testimonial and so do not
fall within the scope of the Confrontation Clause at all.

On the other side, consider Lee. At issue was a confession
by an accomplice who, while inculpating the accused, also
accepted responsibility for a central role in a cold-blooded and
brutal murder. Justice Blackmun argued powerfully that the
confession was “thoroughly and unambiguously adverse to his
penal interest,” and that because the portion inculpating the
accused was inseverable from the portion inculpating the
declarant the statement could not be dismissed as merely an
attempt to shift blame to the accused. 476 U.S. at 551-53.
Nevertheless, a bare majority refused to treat the statement as
a declaration against interest, saying in a footnote, “That
concept defines too large a class for meaningful Confrontation
Clause analysis.” 476 U.S. at 544 n.5. This is an ironic
response, given that the Roberts framework aims to simplify
analysis by exempting from the Confrontation Clause categories
of statements that fall within “firmly rooted” hearsay exceptions
and so are deemed “without more” to be reliable. The majority
then reached the highly contestable conclusion that the
statement was not reliable, and so held that admission of the
statement violated Lee’s confrontation right. This awkward
holding would have been unnecessary had the Court simply
recognized that the accomplice’s statement to the police was
clearly testimonial; accordingly, it could not be introduced
against Lee unless she had an opportunity to confront the
accomplice.

Finally, consider the Court’s treatment of unavailability.
In Roberts, the Court appeared to state a broad rule that hearsay

ee

27

would not be admissible unless the declarant was shown to be
unavailable to be a witness. But in /nadi and again in White the
Court restricted this principle, declining to apply it to the
statements involved there and implying that it applied only to
former testimony.'’ That the Court “effectively abandoned” the
unavailability requirement except for former testimony,
Randolph N. Jonakait, Restoring the Confrontation Clause to
the Sixth Amendment, 35 UCLA L. Rev. 557, 561 (1988), was
perplexing to knowledgeable observers. Calling this “an ironic
result,” for example, one leading textbook says:

The major deficiency of hearsay is thought to be the
absence of cross-examination, and one of the central
concerns of the Confrontation Clause is to ensure that the
cross-examination of testifying witnesses is not unduly
hampered. Now it appears that the one traditional hearsay
exception that turns on the opportunity for cross-
examination may face a hurdle under the Confrontation
Clause that no other hearsay exception need jump.

RICHARD O. LEMPERT, SAMUEL R. Gross & JAMES S.
LIEBMAN, A MODERN APPROACH TO EVIDENCE 756-57 (3d ed.
2000). See also, e.g., Swift, supra, 22 CAP. U.L. REV. at 146-
47 (criticizing White's “blanket rejection of an unavailability
requirement in most cases” and summarizing negative academic
response).

The testimonial approach explains the conundrum. Former
testimony should not be used in lieu of trial testimony if it is
reasonably possible to cause the witness to testify at trial. But
if the testimony of the witness cannot be secured at trial, then
the former testimony is a satisfactory substitute, assuming the

' In other settings, the Court has avoided the issue of
unavailability. Lilly, 527 U.S. at 124 n.1 (plurality opinion); Wright,
497 U.S. at 816; Lee, 476 U.S. at 539.

28

accused had an adequate opportunity at an earlier time to
confront the witness. If the accused did not have such an
opportunity — as in this case, in Lee, and in Lilly — then the prior
testimonial statement may not be used in place of trial
testimony, whether the witness is available or not, so long as
the accused did not waive or forfeit the confrontation right. If,
on the other hand, the statement is not testimonial in nature,
then the Confrontation Clause poses no obstacle to its
admissibility (though local evidentiary rules might), whether the
declarant is available or not. To a considerable extent, the
hearsay exceptions other than the one for former testimony
define, or can be manipulated to define, categories of evidence
that are not testimonial. Statements falling within such cate-
gories should present no confrontation issue, irrespective of
unavailability.

In short, the Court’s results have been better than its
reasons. It is therefore not surprising that lower courts have
found the doctrine enunciated by the Court difficult to follow
and have often reached unacceptable results, sometimes
tolerating what clearly amounted to station-house testimony.
For example, even though every member of the Court in Lilly
agreed that the admission of a non-testifyin, accomplice’s
police confession against the defendant violated the
Confrontation Clause notwithstanding the State’s claim that the
confession fell within the statement against penal interest
hearsay exception, many lower courts since Lilly have admitted
police confessions from non-testifying accomplices under that
very same exception, often finding such statements to be
exceptionally “trustworthy.” See Roger W. Kirst, Appellate
Court Answers to the Confrontation Question in Lilly v.
Virginia, 53 SyR. L. REV. 87 (2003) (reviewing post-Lilly
cases). Only if the Court articulates the underlying principle
that has guided its decisions will the lower courts be able to
follow its lead consistently.

The Court should resist the temptation to put off until

29

another day the restructuring that it needs to do. There will
never be a case in which achieving a sensible result will require
the Court to reject the current framework. But, as we have
shown, that fact does not suggest that the framework is
succeeding. On the contrary, it means that the framework is so
malleable as to have no guiding force. A court can reach any
result it sees fit under the current framework. If it is inclined to
hold that the Confrontation Clause does not preclude
admissibility of a given statement, it can find adequate case-
specific “indicia of trustworthiness” to cite. If it is inclined to
hold that the Clause does preclude admissibility, it can cite
reasons why the particular statement is not in fact sufficiently
trustworthy, and as in Lilly it can hold that the “firmly rooted”
prong does not apply because the hearsay exception in issue is
not “firmly rooted” to the extent the exception is deemed to
cover statements of a given description. Alternatively, except
when a federal court reviews a state conviction, the court can
issue a restrictive ruling on hearsay law, and thus exclude the
evidence without reaching the confrontation issue, though doing
so has collateral consequences in making hearsay law unduly
rigid in contexts where the confrontation right is not at stake.'*
If the Court continues to use the present framework, it can

continue to reach sensible results, but the lower courts will also

continue to manipulate the doctrine to reach unpredictable and

indefensible results. The Court should not forsake the opportu-

nity to articulate and protect a noble principle of long standing,
one that will provide clear guidance to the lower courts.

'* Thus, for example, Williamson v. United States, 512 U.S. 594
(1994), construed the exception for declarations against interest far
more restrictively than most prior authorities suggested, see 2
MCCORMICK ON EVIDENCE 344-45 (John William Strong, gen. ed. 4"
ed. 1992). The Williamson rule has limited applicability of the
exception in civil as well as criminal cases. See Silverstein v. Chase,
260 F.3d 142 (2d Cir. 2001).

30

CONCLUSION

Current doctrine relies on hearsay law to do the work that
should be performed by the Confrontat: »n Clause, and this has
been detrimental to both. It has made hearsay law overly rigid,
and it has obscured the meaning of the Clause. Once it is
recognized that the scope of the Clause is narrower than that of
hearsay law, that it applies only to those statements that are
testimonial in nature, the essence of that right becomes
apparent: It protects one of the central procedural aspects of our
system of criminal justice, the presentation of testimony in the
presence of the accused and subject to cross-examination. That
right may be waived or forfeited, but it is not subject to
exceptions nor can it be trumped by a judicial determination
that the particular statement at issue is reliable.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard D. Friedman
Counsel of Record

625 South State Street

Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109
(734) 647-1078

David A. Moran

Of Counsel

471 West Palmer
Detroit, Michigan 48202
(313) 577-4829

July 24, 2003

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0690%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
