# Amicus Curiae Brief — Sell v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0684%3A21

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 166

## Text

4
a.
‘ ‘
bs :
~esa aS Ww «& ns &*

No. 02-5664

IN ody ‘
Supreme Court of the Clnited States

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AND
BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN PSY CHEATRIC
ASSOCIATION AND AMERICAN ACADEMY OF
PSYCHIATRY AND THE LAW AS 4107 CORTAL
SLPPORTING RESPONDENT

aL (;. |
& |
220 19th Street. \W
Suite SOO
Washington. DC 20036
* Counsel of Record (202) 775-0184

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 02-5664

Dr. CHARLES THOMAS SELL, DDS,
Petitioner.

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF FOR
THE AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC ASSOCIATION
AND THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF PSYCHIATRY
AND THE LAW AS AMICI CURIAE
SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

The American Psychiatric Association (APA) and the
American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law (AAPL)
respectfully move for leave to file a brief as amici curiae in
this case. Although respondent, the United States, has
granted consent (by letter filed with the Clerk), petitioner
has not.

The APA, with approximately 42,000 members, is the
Nation’s leading organization of physicians specializing in
psychiatry. The APA has participated as amicus in many
cases involving mental-health issues, including Kansas v.

Crane, 532 U.S. 782 (2001), Olmstead v. L.C. by Zimring,
527 U.S. 581 (1999), Kansas v. Hendricks, 521 U.S. 346
(1997), Foucha v. Louisiana, 504 U.S. 71 (1992), Riggins v.
Nevada, 504 U.S. 127 (1992), Washington v. Harper, 494
U.S. 210 (1990), and Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418
(1979). It also participated at the court’s invitation in United
States v. Gomes, 289 F.3d 71 (2d Cir. 2002), involving issues
similar to those presented here.. AAPL, with roughly 2500
psychiatrists dedicated to excellence in practice, teaching, and
research in forensic psychiatry, has participated in, e.g.,
Crane, supra, Penry v. Johnson, 532 U.S. 782 (2001), and
Jaffee v. Redmond, 518 U.S. | (1996).

The members of the APA and AAPL are physicians
engaged in treatment, research, and forensic activities, and
many of their members regularly perform roles in the
criminal justice system. The organizations and their members
have substantial knowledge and experience relevant to the
issues in this case. Both organizations seek to ensure that the
Court has well-grounded facts about antipsychotic
medications, including the new generation of medications
post-dating Riggins, and appreciates the adverse
consequences-for the patient, for other patients at an
institution, for the legal system’s interests-of not giving
medications that are the medically appropriate treatment for
psychotic illnesses and the only realistic hope of restoring
competence.

For these reasons, the APA and AAPL ask that their
motion be granted.
Respectfully submitted.

RICHARD G. TARANTO*

FARR & TARANTO

1220 19th Street, NW

Suite 800

Washington, DC 20036
* Counsel of Record (202) 775-0184

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ae iv
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ........ccccccccccseseseeecseecsees I
a I
LL 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...............cccccccccessceseeesees 8
EE ee 9

|. THE LEGAL FRAMEWORK OF RIGGINS V.

NEVADA AND WASHINGTON V. HARPER..... )

ll. THE INTEREST IN RESTORING
COMPETENCE TO STAND TRIAL CAN
JUSTIFY INVOLUNTARY ANTIPSYCHO-

TIC MEDICATION IF IT IS MEDICALLY
EE 11

A. Antipsychotic Medications Are An
Accepted, Often Essential Treatment for

a 13

1. Conventional Antipsychotic Medica-
a Demenanennenen 14
2. The Newer Antipsychotic Medications ... 16
3. Delusional Disorder ........................c0c0000 19

B. The Interests Supporting Medication Are
EEE ee 22

C. First Amendment and Fair Trial Interests
Should Not Alter the Constitutional

lata nts certenentncnecenencncensnsne 25
a 25
Se 27
EEE 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Pages
Barker v. Wingo, 407 U.S. 514 (1972) ........cccccccees 23
Drope v. Missouri, 420 U.S. 162 (1975)............0+ 29
FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529
OO OO 13

Flanagan v. United States, 465 U.S. 259 (1984)... 23
FTC v. Simeon Management Corp., 532 F.2d 708

I , Fie cctsinccccscconctisiicaseanninsiataitiiaaiiiasiiiiitianiinie 13
Garrett v. United States, 417 U.S. 773 (1985)....... 22
Godinez v. Moran, 509 U.S. 389 (1993)................ 12,29
Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co.,

OU 19
Gray v. Maryland, 523 U.S. 185 (1998)................ 22
Jackson v. Indiana, 406 U.S. 715 (1972)............... 25
Moran v. Burbine, 475 U.S. 412 (1986) ................ 22
Neil v. Biggers, 409 U.S. 188 (1972) ........cccccccceeees 19
Olmstead v. L.C. by Zimring, 527 U.S. 581

a cccccreneccssnsinaiitannsnisisniesibinianiaintiiaiaieasdiastesliaeaiinidiniiis 23
Pate v. Robinson, 383 U.S. 375 (1966).................. 29
Richardson v. Marsh, 481 U.S. 200 (1987)........... 22
Riggins v. Nevada, 504 U.S. 127 (1992)...........0000 passim
Texas v. Cobb, 532 U.S. 162 (2001)..................... 22
United States v. Gomes, 289 F.3d 71 (2d Cir.

EERE enc er vr ee eo te Nera ee l
United States v. Rutherford, 442 U.S. 544

Ce icricssnieanneartnienaiasituntiaiiiiaiiiainataiiisadibalaaiaidaaiasiaaiiials 13
United States v. O'Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968) ..... 27
United States v. Weston, 255 F.3d 873 (D.C. Cir.

5 | a passim
Washington v. Harper, 494 U.S. 210 (1990)....... 9,11, 16
Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753 (1985) ..............000000 22

ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
OTHER MATERIALS

Sy eITaiiss Sit Se cietisbiiteieteaiceticenbieapnceniiailipeabaiinacain
Si nistnsiontustivatesinsbensenisniguiinenianapnbateinmioemes

Gira Picenpnomemeenunniieneremmtiteninniansiinnenibes

Abroms, Defining Milieu Therapy, 21 Archives
Gen. Psychiatry 553 (1969) .000.......cccccceseeeeeeeee

Amarasingham, Social and Cultural Perspectives
on Medication Refusal, 137 Am. J. Psychiatry
Fe ee iicitcratiemninetienmntneiininioninients

American Psychiatric Association, Brief as

Amicus Curiae in Riggins v. Nevada ............. 10,

American Psychiatric Association, Diagnostic
and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders,
Pe te cecescmmesnmmn

American Psychiatric Association, Diagnostic
and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders,
Fourth Edition-Text Revision (2000).................

American Psychiatric Association, Practice
Guideline for the Treatment of Patients With
Schizophrenia, 154 Am. J. Psychiatry No. 4
fg eee

Appelbaum & Gutheil, Rotting With Their Rights
On, 7 Bull. Am. Acad. Psychiatry & L. 306

Baldessarini, Psychopharmacology, in A.
Nicholi, Jr., ed., The Harvard Guide to
Psychiatry (3d €d. 1999) .......ccccccccecsesseeseeseeseeenes

Berg et al., Constructing Competence: Formu-
lating Standards for Legal Competence to
Make Medical Decisions, 48 Rutgers L. Rev.
PE eee nicenansnemmmininicmee

R. Berkow, et al., eds., Merck Manual of Medical
Information, Home Edition (1997) .................+..

24

16, 26

26

17

12

12

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Bonnie, The Competence of Criminal
Defendants: Beyond Dusky and Drope, 47
Miami L. Rev. 539 (1993) .............ccccscccsesscesseees

A. Breier et al., eds., Current Issues in the
Psychopharmacology of — Schizophrenia

Brook et al, Intramuscular Ziprasidone
Compared With Intramuscular Haloperidol in
the Treatment of Acute Psychosis, 61 J.
Clinical Psychiatry 933 (2000) ..............ccccccceeeee

A. Fauci et al., Harrison's Principles of Internal
Medicine (14th ed. 1998) ...............cccccceeeceeeeeeeees

Felthous et al, Are Persecutory Delusions
Amenableto Treatment?, 29 J. Am. Acad.
Psychiatry & L. 461 (2001) 20.0... ccceeeeeeeeeees

Geddes, Prevention of Relapse in Schizophrenia,
346 N.E.J. Moet. SE (2BGZ)....ccccccccccccceeccccscccnsseees

Geddes, Atypical Antipsychotics in the Treatment
of Schizophrenia: Systematic Overview and
Meta-Regression Analysis, 321 British Med.
Bh Gee Ce cieinnniccnnintsnuninnntintiennnitiianimaniniatn

Gervin et al., Spontaneous Abnormal Involuntary
Movements in First-Episode Schizophrenia
and Schizophreniform Disorder: Baseline Rate
in a Group of Patients From an Irish
Catchment Area, 155 Am. J. Psychiatry 1202

J. Gorman, The Essential Guide to Psychiatric

ene 15,

T. Gmnsso et al., MacArthur Competence
Assessment Tool for Treatment (1998)..............

Pages

12

17

19
16, 17

12

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Pages

Gutheil & Appelbaum, “Mind Control,”
“Synthetic Sanity,” “Artificial Competence, ”
and Genuine Confusion: Legally Relevant
Effects of Antipsychotic Medication, 12
8, ee 26
Kane ef al., Clozapine for the Treatment-
Schizophrenic, 45 Archives Gen. Psychiatry

ee trraresnciinnaiticiapiiandtanntaininainastniieaianainsnine 15
Kane, Treatment of Schizophrenia, 13
Schizophrenia Bull. 133 (1987)... 14

Kane & Malhotra, Clinical Psychopharmacology
of Schizophrenia and Psychotic Disorders, in
G. Gabbard, ed., Treatments of Psychiatric
Cigars (SE CB. TOE) occcececcececsececccsccsecocseses 16,17, 18
Kaye & Reed, Tardive Dyskinesia: Tremors in
Law and Medicine, 27 J. Am. Acad.
oo ea 16, 18, 19
Khot ef al., Not All That Moves Is Tardive
Dyskinesia, 148 Am. J. Psychiatry 661

LE TEAL ALARR See ee ee eRe 19
A. Komaroff, ed., Harvard Medical School
Family Health Guide (1999) .000........cccccccccceeeeees 12

Loebel et al., Duration of Psychosis and
Outcome in First-Episode Schizophrenia, 149
Am. J. Psychiatry 1183 (1992) occ ceeeeeeee 23
Marder, Antipsychotic Medications, in A.
Schatzberg & C. Nemeroff, The American
Psychiatric Press Texthook of

Psychopharmacology (2d ed. 1998) 0.0.0.0... 17
A. Munro, Delusional Disorder: Paranoia and
eo 7, 20-22

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Pages

Opjordsmoen & Retterstol, Outcome _ in
Delusional Disorder in Different Periods of
Time, 26 Psychopathology 90 (1993) ............... 7
Otto et al, Psychometric Properties of the
MacArthur Competence Assessment Tool-
Criminal Adjudication, 10 Psychological
Asssessment 435 (1998) ...........0sscrccsssssrsseseeees 12
Paul, “The New Pharmacotherapy of Schizo-
phrenia,” in A. Breier et al., Current Issues in
the Psychopharmacology of Schizophrenia

Physician's Desk Reference (57th ed. 2003) ......... 4
Pinals & Buckley, Novel Antipsychotic Agents
and Their Implications for Forensic
Psychiatry, 27 J. Am. Acad. Psychiatry & L. 7

ee nctnercnenasemqnesinsvesndnistanarenmensnvindecieniituntonss 19
N. Poythress, et al., Adjudicative Competence:

The MacArthur Studies (2002 ).............cccceeeeeeeees 12
J. Preston, Consumer's Guide to Psychiatric

NS Ge ncnrensenesscersetesntennensemeenneennemesenes 26

J. Preston, J. O'Neal, & M. Talaga, Handbook of
Clinical Psychopharmacology for Therapists
| 10, 17, 23

Rivas-Vazquez ef al., Atypical Antipsychotic
Medications: Pharmacological Profiles and
Psychological Implications, 31 Prof.
Psychology: Res. & Prac. 628 (2000)................ 18

B. Sadock & V. Sadock, Kaplan & Sadock’s
Comprehensive Textbook of @sychiatry (7th
GR, GID cocccccessensssnsenssannenasessanmnenssconnsnneesanenssane passim

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Silva, Effects of Pimozide on the Psycho-
pathology of Delusional Disorder, 22 Prog.
Neuro-Psychopharmacol. & Biol. Psychiatry
er ae iccctnivnisitsntaieatinianrininmmiennsatiacsiaiasiitiaianis

D. Tapley, et al, eds. Columbia University
College of Physicians & Surgeons Complete
Home Medical Guide (3d rev. ed. 1995)...........

U.S. Brief in United States v. Rutherford ..............

P. Weiden, P. Scheifler, R. Diamond, & R. Ross,
Breakthroughs in Antipsychotic Medications

Fis Oe Pencrnsseccessmnmsmesnenmnasensssenennsennmnenenins 10, 14,

Wyatt, Neuroleptics and the Natural Course of
Schizophrenia, 17 Schizophrenia Bull. 325

Pages

17, 19

BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC
ASSOCIATION AND THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF
PSYCHIATRY AND THE LAW AS AMICI CURIAE
SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE
Amici’s interest is stated in the accompanying motion.
INTRODUCTION

A government can justify involuntary medication to restore
a criminal defendant’s competence to stand trial on several
necessary conditions, most importantly that such medication
is medically appropriate for the individual, i.e., warranted on
the normal medical grounds balancing the benefits of the
medication to the patient against the risks of side effects. The
decisions in United States v. Weston, 255 F.3d 873 (D.C. Cir.
2001), in United States v. Gomes, 289 F.3d 71 (2d Cir. 2002),
and in this case allow involuntary medication to restore
competence for trial on sufficiently serious charges if the
medication is medically appropriate for the individual, it
holds a reasonable prospect of serving its purpose of restoring
competence, and no realistic alternatives holds a similar pros-
pect of achieving that end. This brief supports that standard.”
How the medical aspects of that standard apply in a particular
case is necessarily a case-specific factual question.

The sufficiency of the government’s interest in trying
certain charges ultimately requires a value judgment. Amici
have no distinctive perspective on whether that judgment

' No party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no person except
amici and their members made a monetary contribution to the preparation
or submission of this brief. S. Ct. R. 39.6.

? This case presents no question as to capital punishment, which might
involve special considerations. Nor does the issue before this Court
involve the procedures required for involuntary medication; such
procedures should recognize that delaying treatment (through years of
appeals) can cause not only deterioration in the patient’s condition but
physical changes in the brain that make later treatment more difficult and
less effective.

2

might vary according to the seriousness of the charges and, if
so, what principle might sensibly and workably define any
constitutional line. However drawn, the judgment should
reflect an accurate appreciation of the medical context and the
possible results of refusing medications (e.g., deterioration of
condition, increased difficulty of later treatment, warehousing
of defendants, loss of evidence and ability to try defendants).

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner, a dentist, has a history of mental illness. Pet.
App. 3. He required hospitalization for a psychotic episode in
1982, and he was released following a course of “con-
ventional” antipsychotic medication (haloperidol (Haldol)).
JA242; see JAI51 (second episode: vision of leopard).

In 1997, petitioner was charged with numerous counts of
fraud against Medicaid and against private insurance com-
panies, as well as money laundering. He was initially found
competent to stand trial and released on bond. At a bond-
revocation appearance, he ranted and spat at the magistrate,
and the subsequent bond-revocation hearing included evi-
dence of his deteriorating mental condition. New charges of
conspiring and attempting to kill a witness and an FBI agent
were soon added to the fraud charges. Pet. App. 3, 14. As
trial preparations proceeded, petitioner “filed a notice of
intent to introduce evidence of a mental disease or defect”
(Pet. xii), and his counsel requested a new competency
determination. Petitioner was found incompetent based on a
diagnosis—by both petitioner’s and the government’s psychol-
ogists—of delusional disorder, persecutory type. Pet. App. 3°,
see Pet. App. 36, JA145,149-51 (describing delusions).

> The court of appeals’ opinion (Pet. App. 3 n.3) notes that, under the
standard classification system set forth in the APA’s Diagnostic and
Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition [“DSM-IV"| at
296-301 (1994), a delusional disorder is characterized by the presence, for
a month or more, of one or more delusions of a non-bizarre nature, i.e., a
fixed, firm, evidence-resistant, false belief in “generally plausible ideas
that can conceivably occur in real life” (such as being followed, infected,

3

While committed, petitioner was under the care of Dr.
DeMier, a psychologist, with Dr. Wolfson the consulting
psychiatrist. Both determined, and later testified at an
administrative hearing, that antipsychotic medications were
likely to restore petitioner to competency and to be “the only
way he could be restored to competency.” Pet. App. 3. After
petitioner refused medications, a medical hearing officer (a
psychiatrist) “concluded that antipsychotic medication was
the treatment of choice” for his psychotic symptoms. Pet.
App. 4; see JA143-54.

2. At the judicial hearing, Drs. DeMier and Wolfson, on
direct and cross-examination, testified to the following:

e Petitioner has a psychosis. Dr. DeMier had adopted the
diagnosis of delusional disorder, persecutory type, when
petitioner was found incompetent to stand trial. Dr. Wolfson
endorsed that diagnosis tentatively, without yet ruling out
schizophrenia as an alternative diagnosis, indicating that the
appropriate treatment is the same regardless. JA166-68,228-
31,257-60. (Earlier, Drs. DeMier and Wolfson both sug-
gested a possible diagnosis of schizophrenia. JA150.)

e The psychosis, whatever the definitive diagnosis, is best
treated with antipsychotic medication, which is “clearly indi-
cated” as “the only treatment that we could reasonably expect
to improve [petitioner’s] condition,” given the lackof effec-
tive alternatives, the benefits provided, and the recognized but
controllable risks of the medications. JA179; see JA168,180
(no effective alternatives), 187-91 (side effects), 191 (im-
provement unlikely without medication), 220-21 (psycho-
therapy typically not successful with delusional disorder),

deceived by one’s spouse, etc.); lack of visual or auditory hallucinations
(false perceptions) indicative of schizophrenia; and lack of general
impaired functioning and of otherwise obviously bizarre behavior. If the
delusion is of being persecuted, the diagnosis is of “persecutory” type of
delusional disorder. Other types involve delusions about, for example, the
condition of one’s body or erotic attachments. /d The current DSM-/V-
TR at 323-39 (2000) (“TR” for “Text Revision”) is comparable.

4

229-30, 235 (therapy may help after medication, but unlikely
“success or meaningful benefit from other therapy interven-
tions” without medication), 266 (same).

e Without antipsychotic medication, petitioner’s condition
will likely deteriorate, and delayed treatment will likely take
longer to work and not work as well. JA168,231.

e Delusions often respond to antipsychotic medication
(JA218,230,280-81), and petitioner “can be restored to
competency, as a result of treatment with anti-psychotic
medications” (JA179). See JA245 (“good chance”), 300-02
(citing period of a few weeks to months). Dr. DeMier had
two delusional disorder patients who were treated with anti-
psychotic medications, one with haloperidol (Haldol), one of
the older generation, the other with olanzapine (Zyprexa), one
of the newer medications, and saw improvements in both and
restoration of competence in one (the one given Haldol).
JA178-79,187-88. Dr. Wolfson had an 80% success rate on a
somewhat larger group of patients. JA244.

e For delusional disorder, the literature discusses one of the
older medications, pimozide (Orap), as beneficial, but the
newer generation of “atypical” antipsychotics might now be
preferable: they have “substantial advantages,” notably their
“more benign side effect profile” than the conventional
antipsychotics. JA239-41 by

‘Dr. Wolfson mentioned, among the new “atypical” medications,
quetiapine (Seroquel) and olanzapine (Zyprexa), as well as ziprasidone
(Geodon or Zeldox), and observed that, once medication is ordered, it is
reasonable to give patients a choice among appropriate alternatives.
(Flexibility in changing medication, without renewed hearings and delays,
also makes medical sense.) Dr. Wolfson noted, in 1999, that the atypicals
were available only for oral administration, not for injection, so the
atypicals called for patient cooperation. JA241,300-01.

in June 2002, an injectable form of ziprasidone (Geodon) was
approved for marketing in the United States. Physician's Desk Reference
2601 (57" ed. 2003). In Germany, an injectable form of risperidone
(Risperdal), another atypical medication, was approved last summer.

5

e Haldol allowed petitioner’s 1982 release from the hos-
pital; reducing the dose controlled a muscle spasm side-
effect. JA242-43.

e Although “there is a conventional wisdom that patients
with delusional disorder respond less to medication,” Dr.
Wolfson’s experience and the case reports in the literature
actually show favorable results in many cases. JA246.

e There are “some potential unpleasant side effects from
antipsychotic medications,” just as “there are for most medi-
cations that are used in any medical specialty.” JA236. Stiff-
ness and restlessness problems can occur with conventional
(typical, traditional) antipsychotics, but they can be treated;
and possible sedating effects can likewise be dealt with.
JA236-37. “[MJost patents don’t have to expect problematic
side effects as the cost of having their illness treated and
having control of their own thoughts and minds.” JA237. As
for the potentially serious neuroleptic malignant syndrome,
the risk is very small, perhaps | in 10,000, and the costs of
the continuing illness are much greater. JA238-39.

Petitioner submitted a declaration by Dr. Cloninger, a
psychiatrist, recommending against medication. Noting that
delusional disorder “is a rare condition,” unlike schizo-
phrenia, so that psychiatric experience is limited (JA30), he
distinguished medication’s effectiveness for schizophrenia
and its effectiveness for delusional disorder. After citing a
1988 textbook, he reported finding only one article containing
“systematic data * * * about the treatment of a large series of
cases of Delusional Disorder,” a 1993 article reporting “‘a
long-term follow up study’” of 72 Norwegian patients,
comparing the long-term results of a group first admitted to
hospitals in 1946-1948 (before antipsychotics were intro-
duced) to a group first admitted in 1958-61 (after the earliest
antipsychotics were introduced), and finding no “more
favorable outcome” for the latter group. JA30-31. “In other
words, there is no evidence that neuroleptics are beneficial for
patienis with Delusional Disorder.” JA31; see JA31-32.

6

Dr. Cloninger, noting petitioner's 1982 treatment with
antipsychotic medication, stated that petitioner’s “delusions
did not respond as evidenced by his immediately discon-
tinuing treatment” and that petitioner “regarded that treatment
as a terrible experience.” JA32.° Neuroleptics “always are
associated with risk of side effects,” and “treatments that
carry any risk at all” should not be given involuntarily, he
wrote, “in the absence of documented evidence of benefit to
the person.” JA32. He therefore recommended “treatment
* * * limited to basic support and voluntary symptomatic
treatment,” including “‘a safe supportive milieu with access to
exercise and reading material” and voluntary antidepressant
medication (paroxetine (Paxil)). JA32; see JA149,294. Dr.
Cloninger did not testify and so was not cross-examined.

Dr. Wolfson responded to Dr. Cloninger’s brief declara-
tion, criticizing its broad conclusions. The absence of large

scale, double blind, placebo control studies—which are

impractical with delusional disorder (particularly paranoid)
patients—does not support a conclusion that medications are
ineffective; and case reports and a statistical analysis of prior
studies in fact show significant beneficial response.
JA247-49,278-79. Moreover, the 1993 article cited by Dr.
Cloninger does not show ineffectiveness. It reports only
certain long-term results (not short-term effectiveness), based
on two groups of patients from the era when only the very
first antipsychotic medications were available; the article
reserves judgment on how informative even as to long-term

* Dr. Cloninger did not address the apparent effectiveness of medi-
cation in allowing petitioner’s release from the hospital in 1982 and did
not explain why ineffectiveness was shown by petitioner’s discontinuance
of medication. Patients stop medications for other common reasons: ¢.g.,
the medications did their job and are no longer needed; a patient believes
the medications are no longer needed or (as with delusional disorder) does
not consider himself ill or dislikes side effects. The article cited by Dr.
Cloninger recognizes the frequency of “noncompliance” (not taking pre-
scribed medication) with delusional disorder patients. See note 6, infra.

;

resuits the lack of difference between the groups is, noting
that delusional disorder patients often do not take their medi-
cations over time; and the article notes reports of pimozide’s
benefits for delusional disorder. JA248-50,278-79.°

3. The magistrate (like the medical hearing officer
previously) found that, with side effects subject to control, the
medical benefits of antipsychotic medication far outweigh any
risk, such medication was likely to restore competence (enable
petitioner to communicate rationally with counsel), and there
were no realistic alternatives. Pet. App. 24-26. The district
court, noting the ability to control risks of side effects, found
that the record supports the same findings and, hence, the order
of medication, also noting the prematurity of concerns about
any adverse effects from medications on trial rights. /d. at 29-
46. The Eighth Circuit drew the same conclusions (id. at 7-
10), basing the judgment only on the fraud and money-
laundering charges. Pet. App. 7.’

* The limited significance of the 1993 article for the question of
relevance here—short-term effectiveness of any of the whole range of
antipsychotic medications now available, including the 1990s generation—
is evident in the article itself. Opjordsmoen & Retterstol, Outcome in
Delusional Disorder in Different Periods of Time, 26 Psychopathology 90
(1993); JAI35-43. The paper notes that “pimozide has * * * been
reported to be beneficial” for delusional disorder patients. /d at 90. The
paper observes that such patients are “often difficult to treat because of
denial, projection and reluctance to take drugs” (id) and that, while
delusional disorder might be more resistant to treatment than schizo-
phreni. “[a)nother explanation might be that there are more problems
with compliance [patients’ actually taking their medication] in delusional
disorder than in schizophrenia,” for “[pjaranoid patients are usually very
sensitive to all side effects of drugs.” /d at 93. The paper notes “the
difficulties encountered in doing research in this field,” so treatment for
this disorder “still seems to be terra incognita, and controlled drug trials
are strongly needed.” /d; see also A. Munro, Delusional Disorder:
Paranoia and Related Ilinesses 229 (1999) (“noncompliance with
psychiatric treatment is a common feature of delusional disorder”).

” In disregarding the other charges (attempt and conspiracy to commit
murder), the court merely said: “It is possible that [petitioner's] threats

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The similar analyses of the Eighth, Second, and D.C.
Circuits skould be followed by this Court. Criminal
defendants, like others, have an undoubted liberty interest in
avoiding forced bodily intrusions, including any kind of
medication, psychiatric or otherwise. But the interest is not
absolute, and just as avoiding danger to self or others suffices
to justify medically appropr'a*e medication, so should the
government interest in restoring competence to stand trial (on
charges this Court deems sufficiently serious). There are
weighty interests in resolving criminal charges and in
avoiding the harmful effects of leaving individuals without
needed treatment. The crucial conditions are that the medi-
cation be medically appropriate, under the normal medical
balancing of benefits and risks (taking account of the
manageability of risks); hold a reasonable prospect of
restoring competence; and be reasonably necessary to achieve
the goal, considering alternatives.

The analysis should be the same whether the needed
medication is a psychiatric or nonpsychiatric one. Whether
particular medications meet the crucial conditions in a
particular case is a matter for case-specific determination
based on medical judgments. Those judgments take account
of the particular illness at issue and whatever likelihood there
is of side effects from the typically short-term use of
medications needed for the goal of competence restoration.

after his first indictment were a manifestation of his delusional disorder
***” Pet. App. 7.8. That rationale for ignoring the murder-reiated
charges is unrelated to the interests justifying medication (adjudicating
charges). Moreover, that rationale might bar involuntary medication in
any insanity-defense case, no matter how serious (ne offense. If a
defendant charged with actua/ murder claimed insanity based on a mental
illness that also makes him incompetent, it could equally be said that “[i}t
is possible that [the murder was] a manifestation of his [insanity].”
Petitioner himself has raised a mental-illness defense, so even the fraud
and moneylaundering might be “a manifestation of” his mental illness.

9

In particular, they take account of the significant advances in
antipsychotic medications post-dating this Court’s decisions
in Riggins v. Nevada, 504 U.S. 127 (1992), and Washington
v. Harper, 494 U.S. 210 (1990), including the new generation
of antipsychotic medications that, as a class, have better side-
effect profiles than the earlier medications.

Neither First Amendment interests nor Sixth Amendment
trial-right interests should alter the basic judgment about
justifying involuntary administration of medically appropriate
medication. Such medication typically enhances rather than
impairs speech interests, and, in any event, the government
justification sufficient for due process analysis would suffice
under the First Amendment as well. Likewise, appropriate
medication typically enhances rather than impairs a
defendant’s ability to participate effectively at trial, and, in
any event, any concerns about possible sedating or other
adverse effects on demeanor or testifying ability are properly
considered at a later stage, after competence is restored. The
defendant may plead guilty and avoid trial; adverse effects
often will not occur at all; and any adverse effects are broadly
subject to being controlled by adjustment of medication, so
the mere possibility of such effects should not stand in the
way of restoring competence.

ARGUMENT
I. THE LEGAL FRAMEWORK OF RIGGINS V.
NEVADA AND WASHINGTON V. HARPER

Based on the longstanding legal recognition of personal
autonomy, there is a due process liberty interest in refusing
unwanted antipsychotic medication, like any other medi-
cation, but the interest “is not absolute.” Weston, 255 F.3d at
876; see Riggins, 504 U.S. at 135; Harper, 494 U.S. at 220,
222-23. Harper and Riggins illustrate the two sides of that
principle. Harper establishes the sufficiency, for justifying
involuntary medication, of the state interest in avoiding dan-
ger in a custodial setting, where the medication is medially
appropriate. Riggins recognizes the constitutional interest

10

itself by holding, as argued by the APA, that the State must
justify involuntary medication, which the State had not been
required to do in Riggins at all. Riggins, 504 U.S. at 136.
Riggins makes clear, too, that this principle is properly
enforced in the criminal proceeding itself, rather than in a
collateral suit challenging unjustified involuntary medication.
It was on that question—a point of disagreement with the
dissent (Riggins, 504 U.S. at 146 (Thomas, J., dissenting))-
that it was relevant for the Riggins Court (and the APA) to
observe that certain medications, especially if given in high
doses, may affect a criminal defendant’s appearance, and role,
as a criminal defendant. See APA Riggins Br. 12-15;
Riggins, 504 U.S. at 137; id. at 142-43 (Kennedy, J.,
concurring in the judgment) (quoting APA brief).* Indeed,
Riggins had been given very high doses of thioridazine
(Mellaril), a conventional antipsychotic medication with
significant sedating effects that many other medications, both
older and newer ones, do not have. /d. at 137.” Such

* Possible side effects, differing even among the conventional medi-
cations, include restlessness, “parkinsonism” (characterized by tremors or
diminished range of facial expression or slowed movements or speech),
and sedation. “There is, however, little reliable evidence that properly
used antipsychotic medication has any significant adverse effect on
attention or perception. And it is well established that the foregoing side-
effects are readily subject to reversal or control by adjusting doses or
prescribing counteracting medication.” APA Riggins Br. 10-11 (citations
omitted).

* See, e.g., J. Preston, J. O’Neal, & M. Talaga, Handbook of Clinical
Psychopharmacology for Therapists 178-79 (2d ed. 2001) (tables listing
medications, dosages, and side effects); P. Weiden, P. Scheifler, R.
Diamond, & R. Ross, Breakthroughs in Antipsychotic Medications
94 (1999) (publication of National Alliance for the Mentally III) (table of
conventional medications and side effects); id at 111 (noting differences
in sedating effects even among various older medications, let alone among
end after a few weeks; “[s]edation is very sensitive to dose adjustments”).
The dosage of Mellaril given to Riggins was 800 mg, the very highest
indicated dose. Riggins, 504 U.S. at 129, 131.

potential side effects, being relevant to the criminal trial,
justify a demand for state justification in the criminal case.
This point must not be overstated. The Court did not
decide, and the APA did not urge, that such potential effects
defeat a State interest in restoring competence or that they
even weigh heavily, given that side effects are broadly subject
to being monitored and controlled, whether by switching
medications, lowering doses, or taking other action. All
Riggins decided was that (a) a criminal defendant may insist,
in the criminal case, on the State justifying involuntary
(medically appropriate) medication and (b) dangerousness in
custody is sufficient justification (Riggins, 504 U.S. at 135;
Harper, 494 U.S. at 225-26), while the need to restore
competence “might” be (Riggins, 504 U.S. at 136). And the
entire consideration of antipsychotic medications in Riggins,
as in Harper, was in a medical context now dramatically
altered: a new generation of medications has, since 1990,
transformed practices in the treatment of psychotic illnesses.
Il. THE INTEREST IN RESTORING COMPET-
ENCE TO STAND TRIAL CAN JUSTIFY
INVOLUNTARY ANTIPSYCHOTIC MEDICA-
TION IF IT IS MEDICALLY APPROPRIATE
Antipsychotic medication should be treated like other
medication. Because an individual has a constitutional
interest in avoiding any involuntary bodily intrusion, a
justification is required to administer any type of medication
to an objecting individual, including one who is incompetent
to stand irial. The medical, and legal, judgment should be
similar whether, for example, antithyroid medications (with
their side-effect risks) are being considered for a thyroid
condition like Grave’s disease (see A. Fauci et al., Harrison's
Principles oj Internal Medicine 2026-27 (14th ed. 1998)) or
an antipsychotic medication (with its particular side-effect
risks) is being considered for a mental illness. In each case,
the individual’s side of the constitutional balance is protected
by the essential requirement of medical appropriateness of the

12

particular medication for the individual, considering the
treatment benefits and risks. On the other side of the balance,
the public interest at issue here (adjudicating serious criminal
-charges) is a great one; and that interest typically is
accompanied by additional interests as well.'°

In undertaking the analysis, it is critical to bear in mind
that virtually all medications, whether psychiatric or non-
psychiatric, involve risks of side effects.'’ This commonplace

' Amici here assume that petitioner's refusal of medication was a
competent one. Incompetence to stand trial, involving inabilities to
understand proceedings or assist in one’s defense (Godinez v. Moran, 509
U.S. 389 (1993)), is conceptually and practically distinct from competence
to make a rational choice about medication. See T. Grisso ef al,
MacArthur Competence Assessment Tool for Treatment (1998), Otto et
al., Psychometric Properties of the MacArthur Competence Assessment
Tool-Criminal Adjudication, \0 Psychological Asssessment 435 (1998);
Berg et al., Constructing Competence: Formulating Standards for Legal
Competence to Make Medical Decisions, 48 Rutgers L. Rev. 345 (1996),
Bonnie, The Competence of Criminal Defendants: Beyond Dusky and
Drope, 47 Miami L. Rev. 539 (1993); N. Poythress, ef al., Adjudicative
Competence: The MacArthur Studies (2002). For an individual who is
incompetent to refuse treatment (as well as to stand trial), autonomy
The question here assumes no such special weakening of autonomy
interests and addresses the State’s interest in restoring competence to
stand trial, not other state interests, as justification for involuntary

"' See, e.g, A. Komaroff, ed., Harvard Medical School Family Health
Guide 1151 (1999) (“Every medication, including nonprescription drugs,
has the potential to cause side effects or adverse reactions.”); D. Tapley, ef
al., eds. Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons Complete
Home Medical Guide 836 (3d rev. ed. 1995) (“All drugs—even aspirin-can
have unpleasant side effects in some people.”); R. Berkow, ef al., eds.,
Merck Manual of Medical Information, Home Edition 26 (1997) (“Most
drugs * * * have some undesired effects.”; “Since all drugs can harm as
well as help, safety is relative. The wider the margin of safety
(therapeutic window)-the spread between the usual effective dose and a
dose that produces severe or life-threatening side effects-the more useful
the drug.”; “Some drugs must be used despite their having a very narrow

13

fact is recognized, for example, in the longstanding law
governing drug approval, under which “safety” itself is
always a balancing of benefits and risk. FDA v. Brown &
Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120, 142 (2000)
(“virtually every drug or device poses dangers under certain
conditions”); id. at 140 (“safety” under FDCA means that a
drug’s or device’s “probable therapeutic benefits must out-
weigh its risk of harm”).'? Medical decisions always involve
balancing such risks against the benefits of the medication in
(a) relieving suffering and (b) improving functioning. See
Weston, 255 F.3d at 876-77 (medical appropriateness, as
judged by professionals, is measured “by examining the
capacity of antipsychotic drugs to alleviate [the individual’s]
schizophrenia (the medical benefits) against their capacity to
produce harm (the medical costs, or side effects)”). That
balance is part of the medical appropriateness determination
itself, as the testimony and findings here confirm, whether the
subject is antipsychotic medication for a mental illness or
nonpsychiatric medication for a non-mental illness.
A. Antipsychotic Medications Are An Accepted,
Often Essential Treatment for Many Psychoses
Antipsychotic medications are not only an accepted but
often essential, irreplaceable treatment for psychotic illnesses,

margin of safety.”; examples are anticlotting drug, warfarin, and

i ic drug, clozapine).

" Id. at 142 (“drugs are safe within the meaning of the Act because, for
certain patients, the therapeutic benefits outweigh the risk of harm”),
United States v. Rutherford, 442 U.S. 544, 556 (1979) (safety means that
the “potential for inflicting death or physical injury is not offset by the
possibility of therapeutic benefit”); FTC v. Simeon Management Corp.,
532 F.2d 708, 714 (9th Cir. 1976) (per Kennedy, J.) (“many risky medical
procedures may be regarded by the FDA as ‘safe,’ in light of their greater
potential benefits.”); U.S. Brief in Rutherford at 31-32 (“A drug is ‘safe,’
within the meaning of the Act, if the benefits expected to be achieved
through its administration outweigh the costs or risks incurred. No drug is
completely ‘safe’ in the lay person’s sense of the word, since every
drug—aspirin not excepted—involves risks.”) (footnotes omitted).

14

- as most firmly established for schizophrenia, because the

benefits of antipsychotic medications for patients with
psychoses, compared to any other available means of
treatment, are so palpably great compared with their generally
manageable side effects. See Weston, 255 F.3d at 877 n.2.
That was so for the antipsychotic medications prevalent in
1990: e.g., haloperidol (Haldol), thiothixene (Navane),
chlorpromazine (Thorazine), thioridazine (Mellaril), or
pimozide (Orap). See B. Sadock & V. Sadock, Kaplan &
Sadock’'s Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry ch. 31.17 at
2356-77 (7th ed. 2000) [“Textbook”’] (“Dopamine Receptor
Antagonists (Typical Antipsychotics)”). It remains true with
the post-Riggins generation of antipsychotic medications,
which, while each carrying its own combination of side-effect
risks (like virtually every drug), have lower risks of the older
drugs’ more troublesome side effects. The newer drugs
include risperidone (Risperdal), olanzapine (Zyprexa),
quetiapine (Seroquel), and ziprasidone (Geodon (elsewhere,
Zeldox)). See Breakthroughs in Antipsychotic Medications at
94-95; Textbook ch. 31.26 at 2455-74 (“Serotonin-Dopamine
Antagonists”). '°

1. Conventional Antipsychotic Medications. Even at the
time of Riggins, before the atypicals, antipsychotic drugs
were central to treating both acute and chronic psychoses
such as schizophrenia. In 1987, the National Institute of
Mental Health concluded that such drugs “remain the primary
modality in the treatment of an acute episode or an acute
exacertation of a schizophrenic illness,” having “a dramatic
effect on the symptoms of schizophrenia (e.g., delusions,
hallucinations, and thought disorder) within 4-6 weeks,
although improvement may continue well after that interval.”
Kane, Treatment of Schizophrenia, 13 Schizophrenia Bull.

'’ As the Textbook chapter titles show, the older medications worked
principally through their effect on dopamine, one of the neurotransmitter
amino acids, while both dopamine and serotonin (another neurotransmitter
amino acid) are affected by the newer generation.

15

133, 134, 142 (1987). The drugs were similarly central to
long-term treatment of chronic psychosis, being “of enormous
value in reducing the risk of relapse and_ rehos-
pitalization.” /d. at 143. Medication was commonly essen-
tial: “The available data do not support the feasibility of
substituting any psychotherapeutic strategy for drug treatment
on an indefinite basis.” /d. at 142; see Kane et al., Clozapine

for the Treatment-Resistant Schizophrenic, 45 Archives Gen.

Psychiatry 789 (1988) (earliest of newer medications).

That accepted standard of care, even in 1990, fully
accounted for side effects, reflecting the devastating character
of the illnesses being treated.'* This Court reviewed some of
the side effects of the older antipsychotic medications in

'' See Paul, “The New Pharmacotherapy of Schizophrenia,” in A.
Breier et «/., Current Issues in the Psychopharmacology of Schizophrenia
xvii-xviii (2001) (schizophrenia afflicts '2-1% of the world’s population,
“is associated with a high degree of morbidity and mortality” (including a
10% suicide rate), and “the illness almost invariably requires
institutionalization and both acute and chronic intervention (at great
emotional and financial expense), “ but “effective pharmacotherapy is
available for most patients with this disorder”); J. Gorman, The Essential
Guide to Psychiatric Drugs 197-98 (3d ed. 1997) (“there is no debate that
schizophrenia is a horrible illness. It strikes people in late adolescence to
early adulthood and often never goes away. * * * [Most] endure many
hospitalizations, are unable to work, and have little social interaction.
Schizophrenia devastates the early adult years of most patients. The situ-
ation is almost equally grim for families * * *. Living with a [person with
schizophrenia] is usually a full-time and harrowing job. The patient lives
in his or her own world, entertaining bizarre ideas and listening to voices.
He may talk without making sense, pace the floors all night, and occa-
sionally become violent or threatening. Parents, acting as if they have
toddlers, are afraid to leave their [children with schizophrenia] alone.
They, like the patient, become prisoners of the illness. So, although
schizophrenia may seem romantic or interesting to philosophers, it is
plainly awful to its victims. * * * The hallmarks of schizophrenia are
hallucinations, delusions, thought disorder, and disorganized behavior.
These[] are often called positive symptoms. There are also negative
symptoms such as abnormal affect, loss of motivation, and social
isolation.”).

16

Harper, 494 U.S. at 229-30 (describing acute dystonia;
akathisia; neuroleptic malignant syndrome; and _ tardive
dyskinesia); see Riggins, 504 U.S. at 134. But it was true
even in 1990 that “[mJost of th[e] side-effects *** may be
controlled by lowering dosages or by adding another medi-
cation; such side effects ordinarily cease when antipsychotics
are discontinued.” APA Riggins Br. 10 (footnote on tardive
dyskinesia omitted); see Weston, 255 F.3d at 877 (“While
there are potential side effects, the professional judgment of
the medical experts was that ‘each of these potential side
effects is generally manageable.””); note 9, supra (even
among conventional medications, wide variation in sedating
effects). With respect to tardive dyskinesia, two facts are
especially significant for short-term treatment of most
psychoses: first, “[a]lthough the risk of TD is frightening and
serious, so is the risk of allowing acute psychosis to remain
uncorrected” (Essential Guide to Psychiatric Drugs at 219);
second, “TD virtually never develops after only a few weeks
or months of taking the antipsychotic drugs.” /d.'*

2. The Newer Antipsychotic Medications. The medical
context “has changed substantially during the 1990s.” Text-
book at 1199. With the newer medications, it is all ‘he more
firmly true that medications are commonly essential to

“ Tardive dyskinesia appears to develop at rate of “about four percent
per year of cumulative drug exposure for at least the first five years” with
the older medications. Kaye & Reed, Tardive Dyskinesia: Tremors in
Law and Medicine, 27 J. Am. Acad. Psychiatry & L. 315, 315 (1999); see
Kane & Malhotra, Clinical Psychopharmacology of Schizophrenia and
Psychotic Disorders, in G. Gabbard, ed.. Treatments of Psychiatric
Disorders 1027. 1038 (3d ed. 2001) (“Prospective studies have suggested
an incidence of 5% per year of antipsychotic exposure in young adults,
with a substantially higher incidence in elderly persons. The majority of
cases are mild and not necessarily progressive even with continued
antipsychotic exposure. However, some patients develop a severe and
disabling form of the condition. If medication can be discontinued, the
prognosis is often favorable, but discontinuation is often not feasible.”).

17

responsible treatment of psychoses like schizophrenia.'° The
newer “atypical” antipsychotic drugs not only have proved
effective for many people (including some for whom typicals
did not work well) but are widely recognized to “have a
‘more favorable side effect profile’” as a class than the older
medications, as the testimony in Weston established and Dr.
Wolfson’s testimony in this case reiterates. See Weston, 255
F.3d at 877 n.3 (noting side effects as a class; importantly,
amici note, side effects differ even among the atypicals).

It is important to avoid generalizations that either over-
simplify or get ahead of the ever-continuing research on
particular medications.'’ Nevertheless, it is clear that major

'© See also Kane & Malhotra, supra, at 1027-28 (“Pharmacological
treatment is a critical component in the short- and long-term management
of schizophrenia.”); Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for
Therapists at 177 (“Antipsychotic medications have truly revolutionized
the treatment of psychotic disorders. Their effectiveness is so vastly
superior to previous treatments that they have ushered in a new era in the
treatment of severe mental illnesses.”); Baldessarini, Psychophar-macol-
ogy, in A. Nicholi, Jr., ed., The Harvard Guide to Psychiatry 444, 450 (3d
ed. 1999) (effectiveness within a few days or weeks; “acute psychosis or
exacerbations of chronic psychosis, especially of schizophrenia, are
routinely treated with antipsychotic medications in adequate doses”);
Marder, Antipsychotic Medications, in A. Schatzberg & C. Nemeroff, The
American Psychiatric Press Textbook of Psychopharmacology 309 (2d ed.
1998) (“these drugs have become standard treatments in psychiatry and
medicine”); Geddes, Prevention of Relapse in Schizophrenia, 346 N.E.J.
Med. 56 (2002) (“the preponderance of the evidence now supports the use
of risperidone as a first-line treatment for patients with schizophrenia,
both to induce remission and to prevent relapse”). (The last-cited article
updates Geddes, Atypical Antipsychotics in the Treatment of Schizo-
phrenia: Systematic Overview and Meta-Regression Analysis, 321 British
Med. J. 1371, 1375 (2000) (atypicals and typicals comparably effective
and tolerable overall; atypicals cause fewer “extrapyramidal” side effects;
recommending use of typicals first).)

'? Sources describing particular drugs and what is known about them,
including their own risks of side effects, include the Textbook sections
cited above; The Essential Guide to Psychiatric Drugs, supra, Break-
throughs in Antipsychotic Medications, supra, A. Breier et al., eds.,

18

progress has been made, particularly in reducing the tradition-
ally most troublesome side effects (and also in helping previ-
ously hard-to-treat psychoses), by the introduction of the
newer atypical medications in the last decade. See Weston,
255 F.3d at 886 n.7 (“Antipsychotic drugs have progressed
since Justice Kennedy discussed their side effects in Riggins.
There is a new generation of medications having better side
effect profiles.”). Each such medication, like any medication,
has its own side-effect risks: for example, for some of them, a
risk of weight gain and, from long-term use, a risk of dia-
betes. But the side-effect profiles are significantly improved
from the older generation, and the improvements include
what strongly appears, from an accumulating body of evi-
dence, to be a substantial reduction of the risk of tardive
dyskinesia.'* As one paper noted, because of the lower risks

Current Issues in the Psychopharmacology of Schizophrenia (2001); and
the APA’s Practice Guideline for the Treatment of Patients With Schizo-
phrenia, 154 Am. J. Psychiatry No. 4 (April 1997 Supp.); see also
Rivas-Vazquez ef al., Atypical Antipsychotic Medications: Pharmacolog-
ical Profiles and Psychological Implications, 3\ Prof. Psychology: Res.
& Prac. 628 (2000) (“newer antipsychotic agents may make patients
with schizophrenia more amenable to psychosocial and rehabilitative
interventions”).

'* Kane & Malhotra, supra, at 1027 (“Overall, the new-generation
antipsychotic drugs do provide clear advantages in terms of reducing
adverse effects (particularly drug-induced parkinsonism, akathisia, and, it
is hoped, tardive dyskinesia).”); id at 1034-35 (for olanzapine, a 1997
study showed “a significantly lower incidence of treatment-emergent
dyskinesia among olanzapine-treated patients”) (citation omitted); id at
1035 (“In summary, as a class, the second-generation antipsychotics
clearly have advantages over conventional drugs particularly in the area of
adverse effects (with the exception of weight gain [a side effect of some,
but not all, of the newer drugs]).”); Kaye & Reed, supra, at 316 (“4after
over 10 years of clinical use, there are still no confirmed cases of TD from
exposure to clozapine”; for risperidone, olanzapine, and quetiapine, “evi-
dence for increased safety” is “impressive. The apparent incidence of TD
with risperidone is between 0.03 and 2.4 percent. With olanzapine the

19

of neuromuscular problems, the standard of care for schizo-
phrenia is rapidly moving toward the newer antipsychotics,
even with their own side effects, as the first line of
treatment. '”

3. Delusional Disorder. The effects of medication for a
particular individual with a particular diagnosis is a matter for
a case-specific factual determination, as was made based on
expert testimony at multiple judicial levels in this case. Cf
Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co., 336 U.S.
271, 275 (1949) (under “two court” rule, Court rarely disturbs
concurrent findings, or case-specific applications of accepted
legal principles, of two courts below); Neil v. Biggers, 409
U.S. 188, 193 n.3 (1972). Nevertheless, some general infor-
mation about delusional disorder—the relatively rare disorder
(compared to schizophrenia) that is, at least tentatively,
involved in this case—is useful in considering the record here.
As that record indicates, the evidence respecting treatment of
delusional disorder is less definitive than for schizophrenia

incidence of TD is 0.5 to | percent compared with 4.5 to 7.5 percent for
haloperidol.”) (footnotes omitted)

Aside from the reduced risk of tardive dyskinesia from the new
medications, there is some evidence, since Riggins, that the abnormal
involuntary movements characteristic of tardive dyskinesia are at least
partly the result of the psychotic illness itself, rather than of the
medications. Gervin et al., Spontaneous Abnormal Involuntary Move-
ments in First-Episode Schizophrenia and Schizophreniform Disorder:
Baseline Rate in a Group of Patients From an Irish Catchment Area, \55
Am. J. Psychiatry 1202 (1998); Khot et al., Not All That Moves Is Tardive
Dyskinesia, 148 Am. J. Psychiatry 661 (1991); see Weiden, supra, at 109
(tardive dyskinesia can worsen upon stopping older medications, which
may, during use, suppress symptoms of the disease).

"Kaye & Reed, supra, at 331; see Pinals & Buckley, Novel Anti-
psychotic Agents and Their Implications for Forensic Psychiatry, 27 J.
Am. Acad. Psychiatry & L. 7 (1999). Progress in this field is continuing.
See note 4, supra (new injectable atypicals); Brook et al., Intramuscular
Ziprasidone Compared With Intramuscular Haloperidol in the Treatment
of Acute Psychosis, 61 J. Clinical Psychiatry 933 (2000); Geddes
(2002), supra.

20

and other more common psychotic illnesses (which also are
less resistant to collecting systematic data); fairly recent
summaries can be found in the pertinent chapter of the 2000
Textbook at 1243-64 (Manschreck, Delusional Disorder and
Shared Psychotic Disorder), and the 1999 Munro book,
supra. Against this background, the testimony of Drs. De-
Mier and Wolfson, including the responses to Dr. Cloninger,
supports the findings about medication here—its medical
appropriateness, the prospects for restoring competence, and
the lack of realistic alternatives.

Patients with delusional disorders are relatively uncom-
mon, have often not been identified in a distinct diagnosis, are
outside many clinicians’ experience, and have been difficult
to study systematically because they “do not regard them-
selves as mentally ill and actively oppose psychiatric
referral.” Textbook at 1243, 1244, 1248-50. Although, for
such reasons, delusional disorder “has generally been re-
garded as resistant to treatment” (id. at 1262), “[l]imited but
growing evidence supports * * * [delusional disorder’s] dis-
tinctiveness from schizophrenia and mood disorder as well as
its treatability.” /d. at 1243; id. (“recent reports suggest that
favorable responses to psycho-pharmacologic and psycho-
therapeutic interventions are more common than previously
thought”). Although the disorder can remit over time, it also
can be lifelong; it generally develops by “gradual, progressive
involvement with the delusional concern”; meanwhile,
patients “suffer” and “often feel demoralized, miserable,
isolated, and abandoned.” /d. at 1261-62. Non-pharma-
cologic treatments have “not been studied enough to justify
recommendation.” /d. at 1262. Medication has been more
successful, though “the results required to support this prac-
tice empirically have been only partially obtained.” /d. at
1262 (emphasis added). In particular, case reports and stud-
ies based on them—which are “especially valuable” as evi-
dence (id. at 1263) given the difficulties of obtaining more
systematic studies-have shown success with pimozide

or.

21

(Orap), an older medication, lesser success with other typical
neuroleptics, and some success with “atypical” medications.
Id. at 1251, 1253, 1262-63.

Dr. Munro, a leading researcher in the field, likewise noted
in 1999 the “gloomy outlook” among “physicians not familiar
with the modern literature”; observed that this “illness which,
if allowed to go untreated, is certainly both severe and
disabling”; and concluded that “[m]Jany anecdotal treatment
results, and a small number of double-blind drug trials,
appear to show a consensus that delusional disorder, despite
its traditional resistance to treatment, can now be regarded as
an eminently treatable illness.” Munro at 3-4, 6. He added
that “pimozide tends to be the most widely used drug” and
“appears to give very good results, but * * * the evidence is
still insufficient to know whether it is inherently superior to
other neuroleptics in treating delusional disorder.” /d. at 6.

Munro explained that delusions “can fluctuate in intensity
over time, even in the absence of treatment”; and treatment
does not “necessarily cure delusions, but * * * can allay them
to the point where they are either no longer evident or
interfere minimally with normal functioning.” /d. at 32. One
reason the reports of treatment are still mostly “anecdotal”
(i.e., reports of small numbers of cases, not statistically large
samples), id. at 227, is “the notorious reluctance of delusional
disorder patients to engage in psychotropic drug trials.” /d. at
229; id. at 237 (“delusional disorder patient’s excessive
wariness and suspicion” may make “conventional double-
blind drug trials * * * all but impossible”). The reports
“overall add[] up to a refutation of the belief that delusional
disorder is irremediable,” and “[v]irtually all of these reports
refer to psychopharma-cological treatment.” /d. at 227; see
id. at 234 (no evidence “suggests that psychological
approaches are effective in treating actual delusional dis-
order”). As to doses and duration: starting with a very low
dose (1-2 mg daily) of pimozide or other medication, and
gradually increasing (up to 4-6 mg), “it takes about two

22

weeks of continuous, adequate treatment to produce signifi-
cant amelioration of the delusion,” though “in some patients it
may be six weeks or longer.” /d. at 233. As of 1999,
pimozide was “the best documented and most cost effective
intervention in delusional disorder.” /d. at 238. Although
“{t}reatment aspects of delusional disorder are in crying need
of good, experimentally-based drug trials” (id. at 240), Munro

concluded in 1999: “delusional disorder, properly diagnosed

and adequately treated, has an optimistic outlook. Whatever
the neuroleptic employed, the overall rate of response, total
or partial, 1s approximately 80 per cent, an outcome that
compares well with any other in psychiatry. It is clearly
desirable to identify and, if possible, treat cases.” Jd. at 237.~°
B. The Interests Supporting Medication Are
Weighty

This Court has often described the “compelling interest in
finding. convicting, and punishing those who violate the
law.” Moran v. Burbine, 475 U.S. 412, 426 (1986): accord
Texas \. Cobb, 532 U.S. 162, 172 (2001); Gray v. Maryland,
523 U.S. 185, 202 (1998) (Scalia, J., dissenting); McNeil v.
Wisconsin, 501 U.S. 171, 181 (1991); Richardson v. Marsh,
481 U.S. 200, 210 (1987): Garrett v. United States, 471 U.S.
773, 796 (1985) (O’Connor, J., concurring); Winston v. Lee,
470 U.S. 753, 762 (1985). More pointedly, the interest in
adjudicating the charges, one way or the other, is a great one.
See Riggins, 504 U.S. at 135-36 (quoting //linois v. Allen, 397
U.S. 337, 347 (1970) (Brennan, J., concurring): “[c]onstitu-
tional power to bring an accused to trial is fundamental to a

” See Felthous et al, Are Persecutory Delusions Amenable to Treat-
ment’, 29 J. Am. Acad. Psychiatry & L. 461 (2001) (describing reasons
for lack of systematic studies: summarizing evidence of positive results of
medication, noting limitations-seven patients. short treatment, long-term
delusions-of Silva, Effects of Pimozide on the Psychopathology of Delu-
sional Disorder, 22 Prog. Neuro-Psychopharmacol. & Biol. Psychiatry
331 (1998)). The chapter relied on by Dr. Cloninger (JA91-135), from
1988, notes that “[a}ntipsychotic medication may be useful.” JA106.

— oe

ene Seti -

23
scheme of ‘ordered liberty’ and prerequisite to social justice
and peace”). The Court has also recognized the public
interest in prompt adjudication. See Flanagan v. United
States, 465 U.S. 259, 264-65 (1984); Barker v. Wingo, 407
U.S. 514, 519-20 (1972).

Importantly, these interests supporting restoration of com-
petence rarely stand alone when medication is medically
appropriate. Although a defendant may judge the risk of
conviction an overriding one, or otherwise wish to forego the
benefits of needed medication, the Court should not ignore
the real costs of leaving a defendant untreated when he needs
such treatment. These include the costs to the defendant
himself (a concern that is especially strong if competency to
make treatment decisions is also impaired). Languishing
without treatment leaves in place the suffering and impair-
ment of functioning that psychoses cause—the core reasons for
medication qualifying as medically appropriate. In addition,
there is evidence (though it is not definitive) that delaying
treatment, like allowing other kinds of disease to fester, can
cause physical alterations (here, in brain structures) to make a
psychotic condition worse, harder to treat, and more likely to
recur after treatment.”' The costs for the individual include,
as well, the other individual harms from needless institu-
tionalization the Court recognized (at the APA’s urging) in
Olmstead v. L.C. by Zimring, 527 U.S. 581 (1999).

Though treatment should not be given unless appropriate
for the individual, of course, other individuals also are ad-

2" See J. Preston, supra, at 112 (“there is now evidence to support the
notion that being psychotic is damaging to the brain”); Loebel et ai.,
Duration of Psychosis and Outcome in First-Episode Schizophrenia, 149
Am. J. Psychiatry 1183 (1992); Wyatt, Neuroleptics and the Natural
Course of Schizophrenia, \7 Schizophrenia Bull. 325 (1991), Baldes-
sarini, supra, at 451 (“There is some evidence that abrupt discontinuation
of antipsychotic medication is associated with more frequent and earlier
relapses * * *.”); Textbook at 38-40, 1198 (untreated episodes may create
brain structures worsening illness and making it more refractory).

24

versely affected by leaving the individual untreated. The
families of severely disturbed individuals suffer many conse-
quences of their loved ones’ psychoses, through both the loss
of self and the behavior such psychoses cause. And when an
individual is in an institution, leaving him untreated can be
unhealthy for other individuals served by the institution, even
when the individual is not physically dangerous. The
treatment environment is important, as reflected in the
emphasis over the past decades on de-institutionalization and
improvement of institutions. That environment is harmed,
e.g., impairing calm and confidence, by exposure to the
agitation, disruption, senseless communication, and languish-
ing associated with untreated psychoses. See Amarasingham,
Social and Cultural Perspectives on Medication Refusal, 137
Am. J. Psychiatry 353 (1980); Abroms, Defining Milieu
Therapy, 2\ Archives Gen. Psychiatry 553 (1969). |

Leaving untreated a defendant who is incompetent to stand
trial harms other public interests too. If enough time passes,
the government may lose its ability to try the charges at all.
With competence unlikely to return without medication, there
is a genuine potential for defendants to refuse medication for
lengthy periods-the more serious the charges, perhaps, the
greater the potential—while waiting for evidence to grow stale
or the cases against them otherwise to weaken. And since
refusal of medication often will leave the individual confined,
the government will incur mounting costs of institutional-
ization. A collateral consequence of institutionalizing many
patients who cannot be given medically appropriate treat-
ment, moreover, is damage to the government’s ability to hire
and retain professional staff, forced to act more as jailers or
custodians than as caregivers.

Under 18 U.S.C. §§ 4241, 4246, there is a realistic possi-
bility of long-term, open-ended confinement of many crimi-
nal defendants found incompetent to stand !rial. Confinement
is allowed if incompetence remains and “release would create
a substantial risk of bodily injury to another person or serious

25

damage to property of another.” /d. § 4246. The relevant
risk is not judged by reference to restraints possible in prison.
Many criminal defendants who are incompetent to stand trial
would remain confined indefinitely under this statute (let
alone under broader standards Congress might choose to
adopt for defendants incompetent only as a result of their own
refusal of appropriate medication). Without needed medica-
tion, restoration of competence is unlikely according to the
best medical prediction at the time of decision, and in any
event the possibility is not bounded by any knowable
duration. Given the dearth of comparably effective alterna-
tives to antipsychotic medication, a defendant may remain
incompetent to stand trial indefinitely.

Whatever constitutional questions might arise on a full
analysis, indefinite confinement in likely circumstances of
incompetence based on refusal of medication is not precluded
by Jackson v. Indiana, 406 U.S. 715 (1972). Jackson was not
being held under a finding of dangerousness, so the decision
is inapplicable to standards for confinement based on danger.
In any event, all Jackson held was that, when an individual
was confined (outside normal civil commitment processes)
for the purpose of restoring competence, that confinement
became impermissible if the individual could not be restored
to competence, because such confinement is not reasonably
related to its purpose. But Jackson does not restrict the
confinement of an individual who voluntarily prevents his
own restoration to competence-for whom confinement is
reasonably related to the purpose of the confinement.

C. First Amendment and Fair Trial Interests
Should Not Alter the Constitutional Balance

1. Speech Interests. First Amendment interests do not
alter the constitutional balance for antipsychotic medications
that are justified under the due process standard already
discussed. The medications, when appropriate, aim to clear
the hallucinations and delusions produced by psychosis, or to
allow the patient to recognize and control their dominating

26

influence. They thus alleviate the mental suffering and func-
tional impairments, producing “/oss of freedom,” characterize
severe mental illness. See DSM-IV-TR at xxxi (emphasis
added). The medications, when properly used to treat the
severely mentally ill, positively promote First Amendment
interests by enhancing abilities to concentrate, read, learn,
and communicate. The evidence contradicts the “view of
these drugs as mind-altering, thought-inhibiting, or destruc-
tive of personality in a negative sense. In fact, the beneficial
effects of the medication on complex aspects of mentation
suggest that the opposite conclusion is true: the medications
reinforce the most important aspects of mental functioning.”
Relatedly, as the APA explained in Riggins, “[t}he mental
health produced by antipsychotic medication is no different
from, no more inauthentic or alien to the patient than, the
physical health produced by other medications, such as peni-
cillin for pneumonia (which might be labeled ‘synthetic
fitness’ or ‘synthetic health’).” APA Riggins Br. 9; see
Riggins, 504 U.S. at 141 (Kennedy, J., concurring in the
judgment).”’

* Gutheil & Appelbaum, “Mind Control,” “Synthetic Sanity,” “Arti-
ficial Competence,” and Genuine Confusion: Legally Relevant Effects of
Antipsychotic Medication, 12 Hofstra L. Rev. 77, 119 (1983); see
Felthous, supra, at 466 (“Rather than mind restricting, the medication is
mind liberating.”); Appelbaum & Gutheil, Rotting With Their Rights On,
7 Bull. Am. Acad. Psychiatry & L. 306, 310 (1979). 4

“These days, when people are treated with modern psychiatric
medication, one of the most common remarks therapists hear once the
medications begin to take effect is, ‘1 am beginning to feel like myself
again.’ This is a very important point to emphasize. Although some
medications do have unpleasant side effects, and some misuse of these
drugs certainly continues, the goal of appropriate psychiatric treatment is
twofold: (1) to reduce human suffering and (2) to promote the develop-
ment and expression of autonomy. This a far cry from the chemical
Straitjackets of the mental hospitals’ back wards in the 1950s.” J. Preston,
Consumer 's Guide to Psychiatric Drugs 14 (2000)

~

xv -

27

In any event, the analysis does not change by adding any
First Amendment interest to the personal-autonomy interest
protected by due process standards. “{Gjovernment regula-
tion is sufficiently justified if it is within the constitutional
power of the Government; if it furthers an important or
substantial governmental interest; if the governmental interest
is unrelated to the suppression of free expression; and if the
incidental restriction on alleged First Amendment freedoms is
no greater than is essential to the furtherance of that interest.”
United States v. O'Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 377 (1968). Those
conditions are met if the due process justification is
established—if the medication is needed to serve the public
interest in adjudicating serious criminal charges, an interest
unrelated to suppressing any free expression.

2. Fair Trial Interests. The Court (and the APA) in
Riggins acknowledged that antipsychotic medication can
create adverse effects on a defendant's role at trial, thus
triggering a duty of justification on the part of the government
enforceable in the criminal case. But the interest in avoiding
such effects does not alter the basic weight of the com-
petence-restoration justification. In the majority of cases,
resolved by guilty plea, effects at trial are immaterial. More-
over, unless there is an unusual reason to know otherwise at
the outset, legitimate interests in avoiding unjustified adverse
inferences by the jury can readily be addressed after com-
petence is restored. Finally, an interest in “appearing psy-
chotic” does not deserve significant weight.

The effect of administering appropriate medication will, in
all likelihood, be the very opposite of impairing trial rights.
Such medication likely will “‘enhance some of Weston’s trial
rights, particularly his right to consult with counsel and to
assist in his defense.’”” Weston, 255 F.3d at 883 & n.6.
Moreover, such medication “will more likely improve,” not
impair, “Weston’s ability to relate his belief system to the
jury.” Jd. at 884. And, while a criminal defendant has a
“right to be present at trial in a state that does not prejudice

28

the factfinder against him”—which could occur through, e.g., a
“flattened emotional affect” from some medication—“medica-
tion will likely enhance rather than impair [a defendant’s]
right to a fair trial,” including by restoring the ability to
present more appropriate facial responses. /d. at 885.

Critically, although “[t]he possibility of side effects from
antipsychotic medication is undeniable,” the ability of “treat-
ing physicians and the district court to respond to them sub-
stantially reduces the risk they pose to trial fairness.” Weston,
255 F.3d at 885. The effects can be monitored and typically
controlled (id. at 885-86), whether through choosing among
the medications (which have widely varying risks of side
effects on movement, sedation, etc.), reducing dosages,
adding a counteracting medication, or otherwise. Physicians’
ability to control such effects, moreover, can be directly
supplemented—for purposes of alleviating any illegitimate
adverse effect on the defense—by the district court’s manage-
ment of the case. The district court can inform the jury of the
medication and its effects and can allow testimony on those
effects, disabusing the jury of adverse illegitimate inferences
from demeanor. /d. at 886. With those bases for addressing
fair-trial concerns, the Weston court sensibly concluded:
“Whether antipsychotic medication will impair Weston’s
right to a fair trial is best determined when the actual effects
of the medication are known, that is, after he is medicated.”
255 F.3d at 886 n.8. The Gomes court and the Eighth Circuit
here reached the same sound conclusion.

A case involving a defense of insanity should not be
materially different. The constitutional analysis should focus
on reliable evidence, not tactical considerations that, though
they may be real, exploit unfair or unreliable evidentiary
inferences. With the ability to monitor and control harmful
demeanor effects, the ability to inform the jury of medica-
tion’s effects, and the availability of other more probative
evidence on the issue of insanity, there is a relatively “small
risk” that a jury would take a medicated defendant’s “testi-

29

mony (if he decides to testify) as an indication that he must
have been sane at the time of the crime, or that he is making it
up, or that he deserves no sympathy.” Weston, 255 F.3d at
884. The same assessment applies to the defendant’s general
appearance at trial, whether as witness or at counsel table.

Any interest a defendant may have in affirmatively appear-
ing before the jury in an unmedicated state does not warrant
being given significant weight here. Most basically, where
medication is needed to restore competence, denying medi-
cation cannot generally produce the trial (with defendant
unmedicated) that this interest invokes. Seemingly, the de-
fendant would have to take medication to become competent,
then waive his competence at trial (if waiver is lawful), then
stop medication and return to incompetence for trial. But
petitioner objects even to the first step; in any event, there is
surely a strong interest in not requiring the judicial system to
try an incompetent defendant.”

In addition, the evidentiary significance of demeanor in
legitimately establishing the defendant’s insanity at the time
of a crime is not particularly strong. An individual’s psy-
chotic state may not be evident in his or her appearance or
demeanor. A person who appears calm may be no more or
less insane—“as a result of a severe mental disease or defect,
[he] was unable to appreciate the nature and quality or the
wrongfulness of his acts” (18 U.S.C. § 17)+than an individual
who exhibits anxious or active forms of behavior. Moreover,
even without medication, a defendant’s courtroom demeanor
may differ from what it was at the time of the charged
offense: time, the courtroom setting, or the structured prison
environment can alter demeanor. The evidentiary nexus
between demeanor and sanity is relatively weak.

* Such a trial might be unlawful. See 18 U.S.C. § 4241(a); Godinez,
509 U.S. at 396; Drope v. Missouri, 420 U.S. 162 (1975); Pate v.
Robinson, 383 U.S. 375 (1966); see Pet. App. 7 (“The government may
not constitutionally bring an incompetent defendant to trial * * *.”).

30

At the same time, other evidence diminishes any adverse
effect from the absence of an unmedicated demeanor and
more reliably addresses the issue of insanity at the time of the
offense. The jury may be educated, by the judge or by expert
witnesses, about the fact that the defendant is taking medi-
cation and why he may not “appear psychotic.” The defend-
ant may be videotaped in an unmedicated state close in time
to the offense. Psychiatric experts and other witnesses will
often provide more reliable evidence about the defendant’s
state of mind at the time of the offense. See also Weston, 255
F.3d at 884-85 (a defendant has no general right “to replicate
on the witness stand his mental state at the time of the crime,”
giving examples of intoxication and heat of passion). The
constitutional analysis of administration of needed medica-
tion, in sum, should not be altered for insanity-defense cases.

CONCLUSION

Antipsychotic medications should be treated no differently
from other medications. When medically appropriate (based
on a_ benefit-risk balance), and reasonably likely and
reasonably needed to restore competence, such medication
may constitutionally be compelled for that purpose in a case
involving a serious enough offense.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD G. TARANTO*

FARR & TARANTO

1220 19th Street, NW

Suite 800

Washington, DC 20036
* Counsel of Record (202) 775-0184

January 22, 2003 5

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0684%3A21. Public record. Not legal advice.
