# Amicus Curiae Brief — Elk Grove Unified School Dist. v. Newdow

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0659%3A75

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 542 U.S. 1

## Text

— . Ye qo ¢ FAA
I :

4
ee ; }> 4 Cl S RK

No. 02-1624

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED
STATES

ELK GROVE UNIFIED. SCHOOL DISTRICT AND
DAVID W. GORDON, SUPERINTENDENT,
PETITIONERS
Vv.

MICHAEL A. NEWDOW, ET AL.,
RESPONDENTS

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
For the Ninth Circuit

Brief Amicus Curiae of American Atheists
In Support of Respondents

JAMES H. PYLE PAUL SANFORD
11975 El Camino Real Counsel of Record
Suite 200 6113 Jason Court
San Diego, CA 92130 Aptos, CA 95003
(858) 623-1111 (831) 588-0528

Counsel for Amicus Curiae American Atheists

AMERICAN ATHEISTS
P.O. Box 5733
Parsippany, NJ 07054-6733
(908) 276-7300

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a public school policy that requires teachers to
lead willing students in reciting the pledge of Allegiance,
which includes the words “under God,” violates the
Establishment Clause of the First Amendment, as applicable
through the Fourteenth Amendment.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED. .......0cseccccsesccssescees i
TABLE OF CONTEINTS.....ccccscssssecsoscsessunsenss il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ..............sesseeseeee iv
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE...........00000000 l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..............0eeeeeees 2
ARGUMENT .......000000000000000000000000snnennennnnenne 3

I. THE PROTECTIONS GUARANTEED
UNDER THE RELIGION CLAUSES
OF THE FIRST AMENDMENT......... 3

A. The Drafters of the Bill of
Rights Intended to Separate
Government from Religion by
Broadly Protecting the “Rights
of Conscience” from
Government Intrusion............. 3

B. Atheists are Protected by the
First Amendment................4 1]

Il. THE ADDITION OF THE WORDS
“UNDER GOD” TO THE PLEDGE
OF ALLEGIANCE VIOLATES
THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE
OF THE FIRST AMENDMENT......... 16

il ™

A. The Ninth Circuit Properly
Applied Existing

B. The Intent and Effect of the
1954 Act was to Denigrate and
Disparage those with Atheistic
Views as Part of a Political
Strategy to Distinguish “Us”
from the “Godless
iin cicceeinecooucber 16

+d “Under God” is an Unnecessary

D. The Sectarian Pledge Created
by the 1954 Act Prevents
Atheists From Pledging
Allegiance to Their Country...... 24

E. Public Law 107-293 Does Not
Rehabilitate the Unconstitutional

Nature of the Sectarian
ST iciiiddeteseneésescececers 26
Ill. CALIFORNIA EDUCATION CODE
SECTION 52720 IS
UNCONSTITUTIONAL.................... 27
ces 30

iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578
ieee ccccsctacseenndbesnsentnnmapinintinndenstaemgendanannle 28
Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. |
i a ctccscumancincesndsemieenieninctidiestadinennienenn 3
Newdow v. U.S. Congress, 292 F.3d 598
, Bet icecccessccccesccnscssencnsensetansinsenonnns 25
Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290
Ci Accossénecuntnssebennieabennnenniemenninctieusanaiaina 29
Sch. Dist. of Abington v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203
GE cccicecndcosenesisncinenientsouiiebgueninnieueentes 24
Torcaso v. Watkins, 367 U.S. 488
ie sduccssstnccanednneqnccssoessnermccemaninnnnts 14, 15
Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38
CRD cvecsccccnncsessnncopnsccsessanecsesinmeoninan passim
W. Virginia State Board of Educ. v. Barnett,
SOP Ue Ge i icneskcodentcconssmsnncessonensnenin 24
FEDERAL AUTHORITIES
CD, CURIE. GUIDING, Bcccccsscccescsssesccssecssescceses 4,10

Pub. L. No. 83-1683, 1954 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2339....13, 18

rm

Pub. L. No. 107-293, 116 Stat. 2057 (2002)........... 26
H.J. Res. 303 (77th Cong.), 56 Stat. 377 (1942)...... 22

H.J. Res. 243 (83rd Congress), 68 Stat. 249 (1954).... 3

1 ANNALS OF CONG. 729. ..........0220cceeeeeeeeeecees 8,9, 10

100 CONG. REC. S 6231 (1954)................2020e: 17, 23

100 CONG. REC. S 8617 (1954)..............205 18, 19, 20
STATE AUTHORITIES

California Education Code § 52720 (1989).............. 27
OTHER AUTHORITIES

David Kravets, Judge Says His Ruling on Pledge Had
Supreme Court Precedents, PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER,
Juby $, 2002, at A1O..........ccccccssccccccsccccccsescsescess 25

Herb Silverman, The Story Behind Atheist's

Invocation and Aftermath of Walkout,

CHARLESTON NET, April 14, 2003, available at
http://charleston.net/stories/04 1403/

com 14silverman.shtml.................-.:.ce0ceeeeeeeeeees 28

James Madison, Detached Memoranda (1817), in
Elizabeth Fleet, Madison's “Detached Memoranda,”
3 WM & Mary Q. 534, 560 (3rd Series, 1946) ......... 3,7

James Madison, Letter from James Madison to

Edward Livingston (July 10, 1822), in

9 THE WRITINGS OF JAMES MADISON 98

(Gaillard Haart od., 1910)............c.ccccccscsccccccesesesees 6

vi

James Madison, Letter from James Madison to
Jesse Jones and Others (June 3, 1811) in
- 3 THE PAPERS OF JAMES MADISON,
PRESIDENTIAL SERIES 323
(J.C.A. Stagg, J. Kerr Cross, & S. Holbrook
| anieemiseaaisnianial 7

James Madison, Letter from James Madison to

Rev. Jasper Adams (1832) in

9 THE WRITINGS OF JAMES MADISON 484
I CI eaiennaseenaanen 7,14

James Madison, Memorial and Remonstrance
against Religious Assessments (June 20, 1785) in
8 THE PAPERS OF JAMES MADISON 295

(Robert A. Rutland & William M.E. Rachal eds.,

Madalyn Murray O’ Hair, Atheism, American

Athetists, af
http://www.atheists.org/Atheism/atheism.html
CS ee l

MERRIAM-WEBSTER ’S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY
NII, UIT cconsntnccendtinsonededmbnaannientt 11, 24, 27

Michael J. Perry, Freedom of Religion in the
United States: Fin de Siecle Sketches,
I a ecietial 25

Steven G. Gey, “Under God,” The Pledge of
Allegiance, and Other Constitutional Trivia,
eR ee 16, 25, 29

Vii

Thomas Jefferson, Jefferson's Works:
Autobiography (January 6, 1821), in

| THE WRITINGS OF THOMAS JEFFERSON |
(Andrew A. Lipscomb & Albert Ellery Bergh eds.,

Thomas Jefferson, Jefferson's Works: Notes

on Virginia, Query XVII (1782) in

2 THE WRITINGS OF THOMAS JEFFERSON 217
(Andrew A. Lipscomb & Albert Ellery Bergh eds.,

Thomas Jefferson, Letter from Thomas Jefferson
to Benjamin Rush( April 21, 1803), in

10 THE WRITINGS OF THOMAS JEFFERSON 379
(Andrew A. Lipscomb & Albert Ellery Bergh eds.,

Thomas Jefferson, Letter from Thomas Jefferson
to Edward Dowse, (April 19, 1803), in

10 THE WRITINGS OF THOMAS JEFFERSON 376
(Andrew A. Lipscomb & Albert Ellery Bergh eds.,

Thomas Jefferson, Letter from Thomas Jefferson
to Peter Carr (August 10, 1787), in

6 THE WRITINGS OF THOMAS JEFFERSON 256
(Andrew A. Lipscomb & Albert Ellery Bergh eds.,

Unknown, Petition Online, The Warning: God

and Prayer is the topic(read and sign or ignore)

Petition, available at

http://www. petitiononline.com/KeepGod/petition. htm!
(last visited January 25, 2004)..............20ceeeeeeeeee eens 24

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

American Atheists is a volunteer organization active
in protecting the rights of Atheists and promoting tolerance
and understanding of the Atheist viewpoint. Founded in
1963 by Madalyn Murray O’ Hair, for over thirty years
American Atheists has been dedicated to the separation of
church and state and a tireless advocate of the Atheist cause.
American Atheists’ perspective is rooted in the philosophy
of materialism, “which holds that nothing exists but natural
phenomenon.” No gods, spirits, fairies, or other imagined
entities pull at the strings of humanity. The materialist
philosophy of Atheism promotes a positive viewpoint and
provides the impetus to effect change. In the words of Ms.
O’ Hair,

Materialism compels faith in the human
intellect, in the power of knowledge of man’s
ability to fathom all the secrets of nature and
to create a social system based upon reason
and justice. Materialism’s faith is in man and
his ability to transform the world by his own
efforts. It is a philosophy in every essence
optimistic, life-asserting, and radiant. It
considers the struggle for progress as a moral
obligation, and impossible without noble
ideals that inspire men to struggle, to perform
bold, creative work.’

' The parties have consented to the filing of this brief. Copies of the
letters of consent are on file with the Clerk of the Court. Counsel for
American Atheists authored this brief in its entirety. No person or entity,
other than American Atheists, its supporters or its counsel, made a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

? Madalyn Murray O’Hair, Atheism, American Athetists, af
http://www.atheists.org/Atheism/atheism.html (last visited February 3,
2004).

* Id.

Given American Atheists’ unswerving dedication to the
Atheist cause for over three decades, and the undisguised
attack on Atheism and its materialist philosophy launched by
the engrafting of the words “under God” into the Pledge of
Allegiance in 1954, American Atheists submits this brief in
support of Respondent and urges the Court to affirm the
decision of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Torrents of blood have been spilt in the old
world, by vain attempts of the secular arm to
extinguish Religious discord, by proscribing
all difference in Religious opinions. Time has
at length revealed the true remedy. Every
relaxation of narrow and rigorous policy,
wherever it has been tried, has been found to
assuage the disease. The American Theatre
has exhibited proofs, that equal and complete
liberty, if it does not wholly eradicate it,
sufficiently destroys its malignant influence
on the health and prosperity of the State. If
with the salutary effects of this system under
our own eyes, we begin to contract the bonds
of Religious freedom, we know no name that
will too severely reproach our folly. At least
let warning be taken at the first fruits of the
threatened innovation.’

Though these words were penned by James Madison over
two hundred years ago, they resonate with equal clarity
today. The locations may have changed, but the religious

* Memorial and Remonstrance against Religious Assessments (June 20,
1785) in 8 THE PAPERS OF JAMES MADISON, 295, 300 (Robert A. Rutland
& William M.E. Rachal eds., 1973) (citations omitted).

bloodshed continues. Madison's cure for this disease was
simple: the greatest protection against religious strife and
bloodshed is to guarantee equal and complete liberty for all
with regard to religious opinions. It is this guiding principle
that serves as the foundation of the Religion Clauses of the
First Amendment. The insertion of the words “under God”
by the “Joint Resolution to codify and emphasize existing
rules and customs pertaining * « the display and use of the
flag of the United States of America” (the “1954 Act”),° and
the continued governmental “suggestion” that these words
be repeated daily in our children’s classrooms, is an
unconstitutional infringement upon the rights of conscience
of every Atheist.

ARGUMENT

I. THE PROTECTIONS GUARANTEED UNDER
THE RELIGION CLAUSES OF THE FIRST
AMENDMENT

A. The Drafters of the Bill of Rights Intended to
Separate Government from fteligion by
Broadly Protecting the “Rights of Conscience”
from Government Intrusion

As this Court has consistently stated over the past 50
years, the First Amendment was intended to erect “a wall of
separation between church and State.”’ Admittedly the
record is spotty with regard to the precise meaning each and
every representative attributed to the phrase that ultimately
became the Religion Clauses of the First Amendment.

* HJ. Res. 243, 83rd Congress, 68 Stat. 249 (1954).

° As James Madison noted in his Detached Memoranda, “An advisory
Govt is a coniradiction in terms.” Elizabeth Fleet, Madison's “Detached
Memoranda,” 3 WM & MARY Q. 534, 560 (3rd Series, 1946).

’ Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1, 16 (1947)).

However, it is beyond doubt that the broad edict that
“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of
religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof” was
intended to keep the meddling hands of government out of
the inherently personal realm of religion.®

James Madison, Jefferson’s ally in advancing Virginia's
Statute of Religious Liberty,” played “as large a part as
anyone in the drafting of the Bill of Rights.”"° “The
language Madison proposed for what ultimately became the
Religion Clauses of the First Amendment was this: “The
civil rights of none shall be abridged on account of religious
belief or worship, nor shall any national religion be
established, nor shall the full and equal rights of conscience
be in any manner, or on any pretext, infringed.””'' Though
this precise wording was not ultimately adopted, it is
illustrative of the scope of freedom this key actor sought to
guarantee, and is in complete harmony with his efforts in
securing and promoting feligious freedom in Virginia prior
to the first Congress. Notably, Madison’s Memorial and
Remonstrance against Religious Assessment to the General
Assembly of the Commonwealth of Virginia gives a fair
assessment of his views on where the line of demarcation
between church and state should lie. In a part representative
of the whole, Madison said:

If “all men are by nature equally free and
independent,” all men are to be considered as
entering into Society on equal conditions; as
relinquishing no more, and therefore retaining
no less, one than another, of their natural
rights. Above all they are to be considered as

* U.S. CONST. amend. I.

* Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 92 (1985) (Rehnquist, J. dissenting).
Id.

'! Id. at 94 (citing | ANNALS OF CONG. 434 (Joseph Gales ed., 1789)).

retaining an “equal title to the free exercise of
Religion according to the dictates of
conscience.” Whilst we assert for ourselves a
freedom to embrace, to profess and to observe
the Religion which we believe to be of divine
origin, we cannot deny an equal freedom to
those whose minds have not yet yielded to the
evidence which has convinced us. If this
freedom be abused, it is an offence against
God, not against man: To God, therefore, not
to men, must an account of it be rendered.'”

This unabashed statement of broad and unequivocal religious
freedom, embracing all forms of belief or disbelief, made in
the context of opposition to a proposed governmental
religious enactment, suggests that Madison would agree with
Jefferson’s “wall of separation” précis. Though Madison
may have subscribed to the contemporary school of thought
that federal governmental powers were so limited as to
render the Bill of Rights unnecessary, it is unlikely that
Madison would have voted for a Bill of Rights that would
allow civil authority to trample the very rights he found so
precious. Regardless, there is no need to speculate as to
whether Madison believed that there should be a “wall of
separation” between church and state. In a letter to Edward
Livingston dated July 10, 1822, written some thirty-three
years after he participated in the drafting of the Religion
clauses. Madison wrote:

Notwithstanding the general progress made
within the two last centuries in favour of this
branch of liberty, & the full establishment of
it, in some parts of our Country, there remains

'? Memorial and Remonstrance against Religious Assessments (June 20,
1785) in 8 THE PAPERS OF JAMES MADISON, 295, 300 (Robert A. Rutland
& William M.E. Rachal eds., 1973) (citations omitted).

in others a strong bias towards the old error,
that without some sort of aHiance or coalition
between Govt. & Religion neither can be duly
supported. Such indeed is the tendency to
such a coalition, and such its corrupting
influence on both the parties, that the danger
cannot be too carefully guarded agst. And in
a Govt. of opinion, like ours, the only
effectual guard must be found in the
soundness and stability of the general opinion
on the subject. Every new & successful
example therefore of a perfect separation
between ecclesiastical and civil matters, is of
importance. And | have no doubt that every
new example, will succeed, as every past one
has done, in shewing that religion & Govt.
will both exist in greater purity, the less they
are mixed together. ”

Further, in a letter to the Rev. Jasper Adams written in 1832,
Madison provided some guidance to be used in tracing the
appropriate line of demarcation between church and state.
Here Madison unequivocally stated:

[I]t may not be easy, in every possible case, to
trace the line of separation between the rights
of religion and the Civil authority with such
distinctness as to avoid collision and doubts
on unessential points. The tendency to
unsurpastion on one side or the other, or to a
corrupting coalition or alliance between them,
will be best guarded agst. by an entire
abstinence of the Gov’t from interference in

'3 Letter from John Madison to Edward Livingston (July 10, 1822), in 9
THE WRITINGS OF JAMES MADISON 98, 101—102 (Gaillard Hunt ed.,
1910) (emphasis added).

any way whatsoever, beyond the necessity of
preserving public order, and protecting each
sect agst. trespasses on its legal rights by
others."

From these writings, it is clear that Madison viewed “perfect
separation” between god and government as an appropriate
goal, and that any doubts as to where the line should be
drawn are best resolved by pursuing a policy of complete
government abstinence from religious debate. This view is
no different from Jefferson’s “wall of separation.”

It is obvious that Madison viewed the complete
separation of church and state as a necessity, both in his
work in Virginia prior to the drafting of the Bill of Rights,
and in his writings thereafter. Some of Madison’s other
writings also make it clear that he believed that this type of
strong separation was guaranteed by the Constitution. For
example, Madison declared in his Detached Memoranda,
written in 1817, that “[s]trongly guarded is the separation
between Religion & Govt in the Constitution of the United
States....”'° Further, in a letter explaining his objection to
a bill containing a grant of public land to the Baptist Church,
Madison told the church in 1811 “[h]aving always regarded
the practical distinction between Religious and Civil Govt as
essential to the purity of both, and as guaranteed by the
Const: of the U. S. | could not have otherwise discharged my
duty on the occasion which presented itself.”'® Any
argument that Madison, “undoubtedly the most important

'* Letter from James Madison to Rev. Jasper Adams (1832) in 9 THE
WRITINGS OF JAMES MADISON 484, 487 (Gaillard Hunt ed., 1910).

'S Blizabeth Fleet, Madison's “Detached Memoranda,” 3 WM & MARY
Q. 534, 555 (3rd Series, 1946).

'° Letter from James Madison to Jesse Jones and Others (June 3, 1811) in
3 THE PAPERS OF JAMES MADISON, PRESIDENTIAL SERIES 323, 323
(J.C.A. Stagg, Jeanne Kerr Cross, & Susan Holbrook Perdue eds., 1996).

architect .. .”'’ of the Bill of Rights, did not buy into
Jefferson’s “wall of separation” doctrine would ignore
Madison’s own words and pervert his clearly expressed view
of the rights guaranteed under the Constitution.

Though Madison was arguably the single most
important participant in the drafting of the Bill of Rights, and
his intent with regard to religious freedom is clear, he did not
act alone. The words of others that helped shape the
Religion Clauses of the First Amendment also shed light on
this discussion. In discussing the proposed amendment,
Senators Sylvester and Huntington indicated that they feared
that the proposed form “no religion shall be established by
law, nor shall equal rights of conscience be infringed” could
have a tendency to abolish or do violence to religion.'®
Others quibbled with the verbiage or thought the provision
unnecessary.'” However, the only view stated with regard to
the intent of the amendment was that it was to protect the
rights of conscience as pertaining to the inherently personal
subject of religion.” -

Senator Carroll noted that “As the rights of
conscience are, in their nature, of peculiar delicacy, and will
little bear the gentlest touch of governmental hands; and as-
many sects have concurred in opinion that they are not well

'? Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 97 (1985) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).
'8 See | ANNALS OF CONG. 729-30 (Joseph Gales ed., 1789). Senator
Sylvester stated that he feared this clause would have “a tendency to
abolish to abolish religion altogether.” /d. at 729. Senator Huntington
feared that this language “might be taken in such latitude as to be
extremely hurtful to the cause of religion.” /d. at 730.

' Id. at 730. Senator Gerry felt the clause should be changed to say “that
no religious doctrine shall be established by law.” /d. Senator Sherman
believed that “Congress had no authority whatever delegated to them by
the Constitution to make religious establishments” and therefore would
have the Amendment “struck out.” /d.

° See id. at 729-31.

secured under the present Constitution, he said he was much
in favor of adopting the words.””'. Senator Madison stated
that he believed that the words suggested were intended to
protect the “rights of conscience,” and that the intent was “as
well expressed as the nature of the language would admit.” =
Senators Huntington and Livermore also stated their
understanding that the amendment was to broadly protect the
“rights of conscience.””? No senator expressed a different
understanding of the intent of the amendment."

Though there were no long-winded debates recorded
in this scant record, it seems fair to state that “the most
important architect” of the Bill of Rights and the others that
chose to speak on the intended meaning of the proposed
amendment believed that they were broadly securing
protection for “rights of conscience” as pertaining to
religion. Given that no senator stated a contrary
understanding of the meaning of the proposed amendment, it
seems reasonable to say that the general consensus was that
the intent was to broadly protect the “rights of conscience”
from government intrusion.

21 Id. (emphasis added).

? Id.

** Senator Huntington stated that “[h]e understood the amendment to
mean what had been expressed by the gentleman from Virginia; but that
others might find it convenient to put a different construction upon it.”
He also said “He hoped, therefore, the amendment would be made in
such a way as to secure the rights of conscience ... .” /d. at 730. Senator
Livermore stated that he “was not satisfied with that amendment; but he
did not wish them to dwell long on the subject. He thought it would be
better if it were altered, and made it to read in this manner, that Congress
shall make no laws touching religion, or infringing the rights of
conscience.” /d. at 731.

** See id. at 729-31.

*® Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 97 (1985) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

~ 10

In addition to showing a consensus understanding of
the intent of the amendment, the record also shows that many
were loathe to quibble with the exact wording of the
provision, so long as it secured protection for the “rights of
conscience.” Senator Carroll indicated that “[h]e would not
contend with gentlemen about the phraseology, his object
was to secure the substance [of protection for the rights of
conscience]. . . © Senator Livermore was not satisfied by
the chosen wording, preferring the form “Congress shall
make no laws touching religion, or infringing the rights of
conscience,” but did not wish to dwell on the matter.”’
Senator Madison, though satisfied with the wording, offered
a minor revision to satisfy the minds of others.”* The early
version of the First Amendment discussed in the
congressional record, commanding that “no religion shall be
established by law, nor shall equal rights of conscience be
infringed,” passed the Senate by a vote of thirty one for,
twenty against.”” Subsequent revision of the precise wording
was done with little fanfare.°’ Ultimately, both the House
and Senate settled on “Congress shall make no law
respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the
free exercise thereof.””' Adoption of this broadly phrased
amendment in the Senate sparked no outcry from those
believing that the intent was to protect the “rights of
conscience.” The lack of objection to the broadly worded
phrase ultimately adopted, and Madison’s own words later
describing the Constitutional protection from government
intervention into religion, leads to the reasonable corclusion
that the people responsible for the Religion Clauses of the
First Amendment believed that they had been successful in

2° | ANNALS OF CONG. at 730.

” Id at 731.

8 Id

” Id

® See Wallace, 472 U.S. at 91-114 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).
*" US. CONST. amend. I.

securing strong protection for the “rights of conscience”
from the meddling hand of government.

B. Atheists are Protected by the First
Amendment

This section, though it should seem unnecessary, is
directed to the erroneous belief that the drafters of the
Religion Clauses, with their inherent biases rooted in their
personal religious beliefs, never intended to include
“irreligion” among the “sects” protected from discrimination.
This is pure nonsense. The drafters of the Religion Clauses
could have chosen, but did not, to adopt phrasing narrowly
protecting the rights of all to worship their respective god,
while excluding protection for those professing no such
belief. Instead, they chose to offer broad protection for the
“rights of conscience” of all.

The term “conscience” referred to the same concept
then as it does now, the internal moral compass that guides
human beings in their choices between right and wrong.”
The concept of “freedom of conscience” as pertaining to
religion simply meant that given the inherently personal
nature of religion, citizens should be free to look to their own
conscience in making these deeply personal choices.*> What

*? Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary defines “conscience” as “the
sense or consciousness of the moral goodness or blameworthiness of

one's own conduct, intentions, or character .. . .” MERRIAM-WEBSTER’S
COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY 245 (10th ed. 1997). Jefferson described
“conscience” as “a sense of right and wrong... .” Letter from Thomas

Jefferson to Peter Carr (August 10, 1787), in 6 THE WRITINGS OF
THOMAS JEFFERSON 256, 257 (Andrew A. Lipscomb & Albert Ellery
Bergh eds., 1905).

* In the words of Madison: “The Religion then of every man must be left
to the conviction and conscience of every man, and it is the right of every
man to exercise it as these may dictate. This right is in its nature an
unalienable right. It is unalienable; because the opinions of men,

1?

—

~

a strange world it would be if the freedom to follow your
conscience in religious matters were suddenly cut off if your
conscience directed you to step beyond the palate of
offerings of recognized theology. Fortunately the drafters
imposed no such limitation. Madison’s view, as expressed in
Virginia, was that in matters of religion, freedom of
conscience had no bounds. If one chose to “abuse” that
freedom, it was between them and god, not man.”* Jefferson
put it this way:

The error seems not sufficiently eradicated
that the operations of the mind as well as the
acts of the body are subject to the coercion of
the laws. But our rulers can have authority
over such natural rights only as we have
submitted to them. The rights of conscience
we never submitted, we could not submit. We
are answerable for them to our God. The
legitimate powers of government extend to
such acts only as are injurious to others. But it
does me no injury for my neighbor to say

depending only on the evidence contemplated by their own minds,
cannot follow the dictates of other men .. . .”. Memorial and
Remonstrance against Religious Assessments (June 20, 1785) in 8 THE
PAPERS OF JAMES MADISON, 295, 300 (Robert A. Rutland & William
M.E. Rachal eds., 1973) (citations omitted).

‘4 “Whilst we assert for ourselves a freedom to embrace, to profess and to
observe the Religion which we believe to be of divine origin, we cannot
deny an equal freedom to those whose minds have not yet yielded to the
evidence which has convinced us. If this freedom be abused, it is an
offence against God, not against man: To God, therefore, not to men,
must an account of it be rendered.” Memorial and Remonstrance against
Religious Assessments (June 20, 1785) in 8 THE PAPERS OF JAMES
MADISON, 295, 300 (Robert A. Rutland & William M.E. Rachal eds.,
1973).

13

there are twenty gods, or no God. It neither
picks my pocket nor breaks my leg. -

Regardless of the slant contemporaries may choose to
put on the enactments of people operating during a deeply
religious period, when belief in god was an assumed norm, it
is indisputable that the drafters of the Bill of Rights intended
that all should have the equal right to follow their
conscience, wherever it leads them, with regard to the
intensely personal matter of religion. The oft-repeated
mantra that “our Nation was founded on a fundamental belief
in god,””* is as misleading today as it was the first time it
was uttered. A far more accurate statement is that our
Nation was founded by people who generally believed in
god, but who also had the wisdom to recognize the potential
for mischief in mixing religion and government. In the
words of Madison:

What influence in fact have ecclesiastical
establishments had on Civil Society? In some
instances they have been seen to erect a
spiritual tyranny on the ruins of Civil
authority; in many instances they have been
seen upholding the thrones of political
tyranny: in no instance have they been seen
the guardians of the liberties of the people.
Rulers who wished to subvert the public
liberty, may have found an established Clergy
convenient auxiliaries. A just Government,
instituted to secure & perpetuate it needs them
not. Such a Government will be best

© Jefferson's Works: Notes on Virginia, Query XVII (1782) in 2 THE
WRITINGS OF THOMAS JEFFERSON 217, 221 (Andrew A. Lipscomb &
Albert Ellery Bergh eds., 1905) (emphasis added).

© Act of May 28, 1954, Pub. L. No. 83-1683, 1954 U.S.C.C_A.N. 2339,
2340.

14

supported by protecting every Citizen in the
enjoyment of his Religion with the same
equal hand which protects his person and his
property; by neither invading the equal rights
of any Sect, nor suffering any Sect to invade
those of another.”’

The drafters of the Bill of Rights saw fit to draw a practical
distinction between holding a belief in god, and directing
others to believe in god. The former was the lens through
which they saw the world; the latter was the mischief they
sought to prevent. They recognized that people’s minds “can
be directed only by reason and conviction, not by force or
violence,”** and that a just government has no need to try.
Accordingly, they limited the legitimate domain of
government with respect to religion to “the necessity of
preserving public order, & protecting each sect agst.
trespasses on its legal rights by others.”

The plain language of the Establishment Clause
unequivocally secures the right of all to follow their
conscience with regard to the personal matters of religion.
Though some may weakly argue that it did not include
Atheists under its umbrella at the time the Bill of Rights was
drafted, there can be no doubt that it certainly does today.
This court has repeatedly acknowledged as much. In
Torcaso v. Watkins, 367 U.S. 488 (1961), the majority
unequivocally stated:

>” Memorial and Remonstrance against Religious Assessments (June 20,
1785) in 8 THE PAPERS OF JAMES MADISON, 295, 300 (Robert A. Rutland
& William M.E. Rachal eds., 1973).

** Id. at 302.

»° Letter from James Madison to Rev. Jasper Adams (1832) in 9 THE
WRITINGS OF JAMES MADISON 484, 487 (Gaillard Hunt ed., 1910)

(emphasis added).

15

We repeat and again reaffirm that neither a
State nor the Federal Government can
constitutionally force a person “to profess a
belief or disbelief in any religion.” Neither
can constitutionally pass laws or impose
requirements which aid all religions as against
non-believers, and neither can aid those
religions based on a belief in the existence of

God as against those religions founded on
different beliefs.”

Far from an isolated minority view, this statement finds
broad support in the words and actions of this Court and its
various members through the decades, and has been
reiterated in more recent decisions of this Court.*' To
paraphrase Jefferson, the Constitution of the United States
includes within the mantle of its protection the Jew and the
Gentile, the Muslim and the Hindu, and the infidel of every
denomination.”

” Torcaso v. Watkins, 367 U.S. 488, 495 (1961) (citations omitted).

*' For example: “At one time it was thought that this right merely
proscribed the preference of one Christian sect over another, but would
not require equal respect for the conscience of the infidel, the Atheist, or
the adherent of a non-Christian faith such as Islam or Judaism. But when
the underlying principle has been examined in the crucible of litigation,
the Court has unambiguously concluded that the individual freedom of
conscience protected by the First Amendr..:nt embraces the right to
select any religious faith or none at all.” Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38,
52-53 (1985) (footnotes omitted).

** Jefferson made essentially the same statement referring to the Virginia
Statute for Religious Libery. See Jefferson’s Works: Autobiography
(January 6, 1821), in | THE WRITINGS OF THOMAS JEFFERSON |, 67
(Andrew A. Lipscomb & Albert Ellery Bergh eds., 1905).

16

Il
THE ADDITION OF THE WORDS “UNDER GOD” TO
THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE VIOLATES THE
ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE OF THE FIRST
AMENDMENT

A. The Ninth Circuit Properly Applied Existing
Establishment Clause Doctrine

This brief does not review the Ninth Circuit's
analysis of the 1954 Act in the context of this Court's
previous guidance because it is part of the record, and
“funder any fair reading of the relevant precedents, the
Ninth Circuit . . . correctly applied [the authoritative]
Establishment Clause doctrine.”*’ Rather, the focus of this
section will be on the facts surrounding the 1954 Act and the
gross infringement of the sectarian Pledge on the Atheist’s
freedom of conscience.

B. The Intent and Effect of the 1954 Act was to
Denigrate and Disparage those with Acheistic
Views as Part of a Political Strategy to Distinguish
“Us” from the “Godless Communists”

To understand the magnitude of affront the sectarian
Pledge imposes on this Nation’s Atheist community, one
only needs to look to the record documenting the 1954
insertion of the words “under God” into the previously
secular Pledge of Allegiance. The record unabashedly paints
the picture of a government taking a stand on an inherently
personal religious matter: the belief or disbelief in god.
Further, the government purposefully takes this stand at the
express expense of the Atheist.

* Steven G. Gey, “Under God,” The Pledge of Allegiance, and Other
Constitutional Trivia, 81 N.C. L. REV. 1865, 1870 (2003).

17

The affront begins with the words Senator Ferguson
suggested to be added to the Pledge. “under God.” The
plainly read meaning and intended import of the Pledge after
revision is that our Nation is subservient to and draws its
power from a deity. The Committe: on the Judiciary, to
which the resolution to add the offending words was
referred, acknowledged (or perhaps more accurately,
declared) as much. In pertinent part, Senator Ferguson’s
letter to the Chairman asserted that “a government deriving
its powers from the consent of the governed must look to
God for divine leadership,” that “[n]o nation can be strong
except in the strength of God or safe except in His defense,”
that “one of the greatest differences between the free world
and the Communists [is] a belief in God,” and that
Communists suffer from “spiritual bankruptcy” because they
lack such a belief in god, and that “[t]he phrase ‘under God’
recognizes . . . the guidance of God in our national affairs . . .
”“ Suffice it to say that these statements trample the beliefs
of those who view “god” as an imagined creation of man.

The statement issued by the House of Representatives
was no less offensive.

Our American Government is founded on the
concept of the individuality and the dignity of
the human being. Underlying this concept is
the belief that the human person is important
because he was created by God and endowed
by him with certain inalienable rights which
no civil authority may usurp. The inclusion
of God in our pledge therefore would further
acknowledge the dependence of our people
and our Government upon the moral

** 100 CONG. REC. 6231 (1954).

18

directions of the Creator. Af the same time it
would serve to deny the atheistic and
materialistic concepts of communism with its
attendant subservience of the individual.”

In addition to this ignorant and intolerant attack on Atheism,
the House went on to state that the intent of the revision was
to ensure that schoolchildren were “daily impressed” with
this “true understanding of our way of life.”“* As in the
Senate, the House also disregarded the conscience of the
Atheist in its stampede to use religion to distinguish “us”
from the “godless communists.”

The Congressional record documenting the
celebration after the insertion of the words “under God” into
the Pledge presents an even greater insult. Senator Ferguson,
seemingly pleased that the Pledge of Allegiance now
recognizes that “we are a people who do believe in and want
our Government to operate under divine guidance,” and that
these “words which forever . . . will be on the lips of
Americans,” saw it fitting to include in the Congressional
record two contemporary descriptions of the first Flag Day
celebration utilizing the newly sectarian Pledge.*’ Of
particular note is the bombastic account by Dr. Harris, the
Senate’s Chaplain. Apparently capturing the spirit of the
newly sectarian Pledge, upon unanimous consent Dr. Harris’
column documenting the ceremony was added to the
record.** The religious message of the sectarian Pledge was
not lost on Dr. Harris, nor likely missed by those watching
the ceremony broadcast on the CBS Television Morning
Show. In the words of Dr. Harris,

*° Act of May 28, 1954, Pub. L. No. 83-1683, 1954 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2339,
2340 (emphasis added).

*° See id. at 2341. :

*? 100 CONG. REC 8617 (1954).

48 Id

19

To put the words “under God” on
million of lips is like running up the
believer's flag as the witness of a great
nation’s faith. /t is also displayed to the gaze
of those who deny the sacred sanctities which
it symbolizes.

On that June day . . . as the radio
carried their voices to listening thousands,
together these lawmakers [Senator Ferguson
and others] repeated the pledge which is now
the Nation’s. Then, appropriately, as the flag
was raised a bugle rang out with the familiar
strains of “Onward, Christian Soldiers!”

Dr. Harris proceeded to quote in part “the magnificent words
of President Eisenhower” as expressed in his Flag Day
speech. President Eisenhower’s speech in pertinent part
reads as follows:

From this day forward, the millions of
our schoolchildren will daily proclaim in
every city and town, every village and rural
schoolhouse, the dedication of our Nation and
our people to the Almighty. To anyone who
truly loves America, nothing could be more
inspiring than to contemplate this
rededication of our youth, on each school
morning, to our country’s true meaning.

Especially is this meaningful as we
regard today’s world. Over the globe,
mankind has been cruelly torn by violence
and brutality and, by the millions, deadened

* Id. (emphasis added.)
*° Id.

20

in mind and soul by a materialistic philosophy
of life.
* * *

In this way we are reaffirming the
transcendence of religious faith in America’s
heritage and future; in this way we shall
constantly strengthen those spiritual weapons
which forever will be our country’s most
powerful resource, in peace or war.”

After quoting from President Eisenhower's speech,
Dr. Harris launched into a tirade that at best would be
described an indictment of every Atheist’s personal choice of
conscience. Dr. Harris preached, inter alia, that “[t}he
results of blasphemous denials of God on a tremendous scale
already are being shudderingly shown by the baneful social
pattern of Atheistic materialism,” that those who do not"
believe in god should be “called before the bar of reason . .
..” that Atheism is “absurd,” that “[m]an will either choose to
be governed by God or condemn himself to be ruled by
tyrants,” and that “[a]ny so-called freedom, if it is not under
God, is under the sentence of death.”

In incorporating, as Senator Ferguson described, the
“eloquent” * words of Dr. Harris into the Congressional
record by unanimous consent, the 100th Senate adopted
these words as their own, to forever reflect the ignorance and
intolerance of those subverting a fundamental constitutional
right. Speaking with one voice, the 100th Senate denigrated
and disparaged the personal choice of conscience of Atheists
everywhere, including those peacefully residing within
America’s borders and faithfully serving her ideals of
freedom.

*! Id. at 8618 (emphasis added).
*? Id. (emphasis added).
*° Id. at 8617.

Cc. “Under God” is an Unnecessary Part of an
Otherwise Patriotic Exercise

There is a view that the words “under God” could
“serve as an acknowledgment of religion with ‘the legitimate
secular purposes of solemnizing public occasions, [and]
expressing confidence in the future.’”°* However, the
unspoken assumption underpinning this view is that there
was at least some need for solemnity that went unserved
prior to the 1954 Act. Given t’:2 serious implications of
mixing religion and government, and the repeated warnings
against such an alliance by Jefferson and Madison,”° there
should at least be some cognizable need for solemnity served
by such a religious enactment.

Francis Bellamy put pen to paper in 1892 and crafted
a simple, honest expression of patriotism that substantially
endures to this day. He wrote “I pledge allegiance to my flag
and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation
indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.”°° These brief
words were intended to capture the essence of America, and
to serve as an appropriate means to commemorate the raising
of the flag over our Nation’s schools on Columbus Day,
1892.°’ The words “one Nation indivisible” referenced the
continued vitality of the United States following the Civil
War, and “liberty and justice for all” sought to sum up the
American dream. ** Though various revisions were made to

** Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 78 n.5 (1985) (O’Connor, J.,
concurrence) (citing Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 693 (1984)).

*° See, e.g, Memorial and Remonstrance against Religious Assessments
(June 20, 1785) in 8 THE PAPERS OF JAMES MADISON, 295, 300 (Robert
A. Rutland & William M.E. Rachal eds., 1973).

*© 100 CONG. REC. 8618 (1954).

*” Id.

8 Id.

the Pledge over the years to clarify it’s meaning, it survived
until 1954 without asserting this Nation’s subservience to a
god.

In drafting the Pledge, it is significant that Mr.
Bellamy chose to allude to the Civil War, the bloodiest
conflict in our Nation’s history. Such a reference could not
be taken lightly, and in fact it was received as a positive
message of national unity to a country still healing.’ Given
that the Civil War was still fresh in the memories of
Americans at the time Francis Bellamy’s secular Pledge was
introduced, it is unlikely that this earliest version was recited
with anything but solemn reverence and hope for the future.

Secular versions of the Pledge served this Nation
through both World Wars. The formal codification of the
Pledge in 1942 brought with it official direction with regard
to the appropriate decorum when reciting the Pledge. In
pertinent part, H.J. Res. 303, 56 Stat. 377 directs that “the
pledge of allegiance to the flag . . . be rendered by standing
with the right hand over the heart . . . standing at attention,
men removing the headdress. Persons in uniform shall
render the military salute. The intent of this official
direction, consistent with history and practice, was to make
uniform the already unmistakably solemn event of public
recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance. This official
direction, and the decades of solemn recitation of the Pledge
prior to the addition of the words “under God” in 1954, cut
against any argument that there was any need for solemnity
to be served by the addition of the words “under God” in
1954.

59
Id.
H.J. Res. 303, 77th Congress, 56 Stat. 377 (1942).

23

The solemn nature of the secular Pledge was also
acknowledged by Senator Homer Ferguson when he sought
to introduce the words “under God” into the Pledge. In an
attempt to show the need to introduce religion into our
Pledge to distinguish “us” from the “godless communists,”
Senator Ferguson quoted a sermon by Reverend George M.
Docherty, in which Rev. Docherty preached: “[i]ndeed, apart
from the mention of the phrase, “the United States of
America,’ it could be the pledge of any republic. In fact, I
could hear little Moscovites repeat a similar pledge to their
hammer-and-sickle flag in Moscow with equal solemnity.”

Are we to now believe that some important need for
solemnity existed and was only adequately served by the
addition of the purely religious words “under God” to the
Pledge? Prior to the sectarian revision of the Pledge, was
there a great outcry about the lack of solemnity of the secular
Pledge? Of course not. The secular Pledge solemnly stood
through two World Wars without the taint of religion.
Reciting the Pledge of Allegiance, whether with hand on
heart or while rendering a military salute, has always been a
uniquely solemn event. It is an affirmation of commitment
to America’s promise of liberty and equality, and a
recognition that these precious freedoms have been
maintained only through the great sacrifice of those that have
come before us. This is not a situation where civil authority
was required to choose between alternative means to lend
solemnity to an otherwise lighthearted occasion. This is a
situation where the ecclesiastical establishment adds
absolutely nothing to an already solemn event. No reasoned
“solemnity” justification exists where, as here, wholly
secular means fully achieve that goal.°

*' 100 CONG. REC. 6231 (1954) (emphasis added).

** As Justice Douglas aptly noted: “What the Framers meant to
foreclose . . . are those involvements of religious with secular institutions
which . . . use essentially religious means to serve governmental ends,

D. The Sectarian Pledge Created by the 1954 Act
Prevents Atheists From Pledging Allegiance to
Their Country

There is a temptation among many to discount the
indignation felt by members of this Nation’s Atheist
community when standing with silent respect while others
pledge allegiance to their country. After all, since West
Virginia State Board of Education v. Barnett, 319 U.S. 624
(1943), they can no longer be commanded to verbally
acknowledge that their Nation is subservient to a deity in
which they do not believe. How much of an imposition can
it be to simply “sit down and shut up!’®’ while people who
believe in god pledge allegiance to their nation with favored
reverence? The only proper answer to such a question is to
put yourself in the shoes of the disfavored minority, whose
views on religion are generally treated with utter disrespect
by the theistic majority.

“Pledge” as relevant to this discussion means “a
binding promise or agreement . . . ,"°* whereas “allegiance”
in this context refers to “the fidelity owed by a subject or
citizen to a sovereign or government.” Like an oath, the
Pledge of Allegiance is an affirmation of loyalty and fidelity
to ones country while serving a tenured term as a citizen of

where secular means would suffice.” Sch. Dist. of Abington Township
v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203, 295 (1963) (Douglas, J., concurring).
However, here it is oo merely that secular means suffice, but rather a
situation where the secular means fully achieved the goal for over fifty
years prior to the offending ecclesiastical establishment.

* Petition Online, The Warning: God and Prayer is the topic (read and
sign or ignore) Petition, available at

http://www .petitiononline.com/KeepGod petition. html (last visited
January 25, 2004) (directing Atheists to “sit down and shut up” while the
majority enjoys governmental support of their religious preference).

* MERRIAM-WEBSTER ’S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY 893 (10th ed. 1997).
Id. at 30.

25

this great Nation. This is the setting in which the Atheist is
told to step off the bus. To any patriotic American, the
Pleége of Allegiance should be a public affirmation of
loyalty to the noble ideals of equality and freedom for which
our country has struggled. Instead it is “an unavoidable slap
in the face” to the patriotic Atheist.

Engrafting the v is “under God” into the Pledge of
Allegiance has turned weuids that were meant to unite into
words destined to divide. An Atheist cannot be expected to
“seamlessly and without fanfare or even notice . . . omit the
‘under God’ from her own recital of the Pledge,”®’ as the
continued inclusion of these words is a recurrent reminder of
her Nation’s disdain for her. These words call for recitation
by the favored or silent protest by the disfavored. There is
no middle ground. Why should an Atheist even bother to
pledge allegiance to a nation that rejects him? This is not a
minor trespass on an insignificant corner of the Atheist’s
ideological backyard; this is a daily message of disfavor.

The words “under God” have more than a “de
minimus” tendency to promote religion,” and have not been
sanitized of their religious meaning by the sands of time.”
If the words “under God” no longer evoke a religious
meaning, or their ability to promote religion is de minimus,
then it would seem to be of little consequence to restore the
Pledge to its previous secular state. Are we to believe that

** Steven G. Gey, “Under God,” The Pledge of Allegiance, and Other
Constitutional Trivia, 81 N.C. L. REV. 1865, 1893 (2003).

*’ Michael J. Perry, Freedom of Religion in the United States: Fin de
Siecle Sketches, 75 IND. L.J. 295, 316 n.71 (2000).

“* Newdow v. U.S. Congress, 292 F.3d 598, 613-615 (9th Cir. 2002).
“The insertion of God into the pledge may have been for religious
reasons ... but five decades later, the phrase under God no longer evokes
a religious experience." David Kravets, Judge Says His Ruling on Pledge
Had Supreme Court Precedents, PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER, July 5, 2002,
at Al0.

26

those seeking to retain the words “under God” are merely
devoted historians nostalgic for those good old Cold War
days? Before dismissing as “de minimus” the religious
message sent by the sectarian Pledge, I respectfully ask the
Court to at least consider the perspective of those whose
beliefs are trampled by this governmental endorsement. It is
the Atheist’s view that is most relevant to this analysis, and
not the view of the favored class. The theist, who benefits
daily and would never find such an endorsement offensive,
may not even notice the words. It is the opinion of the
Atheist that carries the most authority, because it is the
Atheist that is singled out for the daily “slap in the face.”

To truly understand the impact of the sectarian
Pledge on the Atheist, the reasonable jurist must consider an
edit of the sectarian Pledge to reflect the appropriate degree
of favor to a religious concept opposed to his or her own. To
the theoretical “nondenominational” Deist or to the
Christian, I suggest considering a sectarian Pledge
containing the words “one Nation, freed from the shackles of
‘god’... .” To the Jew, I suggest “one Nation, under Jesus
Christ our Savior. .. .” Only after seriously contemplating
the daily message of disfavor can one begin to understand an
Atheist’s offense to words barely noticed by the believer.

E. Public Law 107-293 Does Not Rehabilitate the
Unconstitutional Nature of the Sectarian Pledge

Immediately following the Ninth Circuit's decision in
this case, Congyess attempted to scrub the unconstitutional
intent from the sectarian Pledge by codifying the Pledge
anew.” Ironically, this politically expedient effort only
underscored the constitutional infirmity of the sectarian
Pledge and did nothing to shore it. Even if this attempted

” See Act of Nev. 13 2002, Pub. L. 107-293 § 2, 116 Stat. 2057, 2060.

historical revision of the intent underlying the 1954 addition
of “under God” to the Pledge were successful, the sectarian
Pledge still fails constitutional muster. A plain reading of
the “new” sectarian Pledge reveals the untouched cracks
beneath its shiny new paint.

“| pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of
America and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation
under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.””'
Notably, the words “under God” remain in the Pledge.
“Under” in this context means “in or into a position below or
beneath something,”’* whereas “God” here means “the
Being perfect in power, wisdom, and goodness who is
worshiped as creator and ruler of the universe.””’ The
message sent by this “new” sectarian Pledge is precisely the
same as the old: our government is subservient to a deity.
The Pledge continues to cast its eye of disfavor on those who
view god as figment of man’s imagination. For all the
reasons described previously above, this second codification
of the sectarian Pledge remains unconstitutional.

Ill.
CALIFORNIA EDUCATION CODE SECTION 52720
IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL

Regardless of the State of California’s intent in
enacting Education Code section 52720, it is impossible to
divorce the intent and effect of the sectarian Pledge from the
action of the State Government in promoting its daily recital.
Further, as this Court has repeatedly acknowledged, the

71

Id
% MERRIAM-WEBSTER’S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY 1287 (10th ed. 1997).
™ Id. at 500.

28

school setting in which this statute has its effect merits
heightened concern.’

Religious views are inherently personal in nature.
Although some see fit to share them freely, others are more
comfortable keeping such views to themselves. Jefferson
was against sharing his religious views with the public,
“because it would countenance the presumption of those who
have endeavored to draw them before that tribunal, and to
seduce public opinion to erect itself into that inquisition over
the rights of conscience which the laws have so justly
proscribed.’ This perspective resounds in the heart of the
Atheist, whose minority view usually meets with disdain or
outrage. ”°

™ For example: “The Court has been particularly vigilant in monitoring
compliance with the Establishment Clause in elementary and secondary
schools. Families entrust public schools with the education of their
children, but condition their trust on the understanding that the classroom
will not purposely be used to advance religious views that may conflict
with the private beliefs of the student and his or her family. Students in
such institutions are impressionable and their attendance is involuntary.
The State exerts great authority and coercive power through mandatory
attendance requirements, and because of the students’ emulation of
teachers as role models and the children's susceptibility to peer pressure.
Furthermore, ‘the public school is at once the symbol of our democracy
and the most pervasive means for promoting our common destiny. In no
activity of the State is it more vital to keep out divisive forces than in its
schools ...."” Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 583-584 (1987)
citations omitted.)

Letter from Thomas Jefferson to Benjamin Rush (April 21, 1803), in
10 THE WRITINGS OF THOMAS JEFFERSON 379, 380-81 (Andrew A.
Lipscomb & Albert Ellery Bergh eds., 1905).

”© Consider this recent attempt by a non-theist to give an invocation at the
opening of a city council meeting. In a measure calculated to show their
contempt for his views, a significant number of the council members

staged a walkout. In the words of Councilman George, “He can worship
a chicken if he wants to, but I'm not going to be around when he does it.”
Herb Silverman, The Story Behind Atheist's Invocation and Afiermath of

29

Children, embroiled in the process of socialization,
are particularly sensitive to peer pressure.’ To offer a child
the alternative of acknowledging her country’s subservience
to a deity of which she doubts or rejects, or sitting in silent
protest, is to offer no choice at all. Children have the
unfortunate ability and tendency to be cruel and insensitive.
If Jefferson, drafter of the Declaration of Independence and a
man of indubitable moral courage, was loathe to share his
personal religious views, it is unconscionable that we should
require it of a child. By forcing a child to sit in silent protest
while the majority comfortably stands and recites the
sectarian Pledge is to put the child’s religious views before
the harsh court of juvenile public opinion. That child is
marked as a non-believer and set up for proselytization and
harassment. The child will likely be stigmatized and
subjected to the cruelest verbal and physical assaults. *
Further, given that allegiance to one’s country is also
implicated by the Pledge, “[a] student who refuses to recite
the Pledge will be tainted as both unreligious and unpatriotic
{as well.]””” To knowingly condone such a choice is
unbefitting a Nation that purports to guarantee freedom for
the “rights of conscience” of all.

-~

Walkout, CHARLESTON NET, April 14, 2003, available at
http://charleston.net/stories/04 1403/com_14silverman.shtml.

” “We stressed in Lee the obvious observation that ‘adolescents are often
susceptible to pressure from their peers towards conformity, and that the
influence is strongest in matters of social convention.”” Santa Fe Indep.
Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290, 311-312 (2000).

™ This is precisely what happens. The attacks range from merely
annoying (bible verses and other religious artifacts mysteriously
appearing in books, on desks, etc.) to violent (beatings and other physical
attacks). Affidavits describing specific instances of abuse in detail can
be furnished upon request.

” Steven G. Gey, “Under God,” The Pledge of Allegiance, and Other
Constitutional Trivia, 81 N.C. L. REV. 1865, 1895 (2003).

30

CONCLUSION

This Court offers the last bastion of protection for the
sometimes unpopular application of constitutionally
guaranteed freedoms. You will undoubtedly face a
maelstrom of outrage in remaining faithful in this case to the
constitutional ideal of freedom of conscience for all. This
should not deter protection of this precious freedom. This
Court should speak with one voice and hew down the daring
and dangerous efforts of those who have sought to seduce
the public opinion to substitute itself into that tyranny over
the rights of conscience that the laws have so justly
abdicated.*’ This Court should affirm the opinion of the
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Respectfully Submitted,
JAMES H. PYLE PAUL SANFORD
11975 El Camino Real Counsel of Record
Suite 200 6113 Jason Court
San Diego, CA 92130 Aptos, CA 95003
(858) 623-1111 (831) 588-0528

*° Paraphrasing Jefferson. See Letter from Thomas Jefferson to Edward
Dowse, (April 19, 1803), in 10 THE WRITINGS OF THOMAS JEFFERSON
376, 378 (Andrew A. Lipscomb & Albert Ellery Bergh eds., 1905).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0659%3A75. Public record. Not legal advice.
