# Amicus Curiae Brief — Elk Grove Unified School Dist. v. Newdow

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0659%3A27

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 542 U.S. 1

## Text

Supreme Coun US.
FILED
| DEC 1 & 2603
No. 02-1604 3 ) CEFICE OFTHE CLERK |
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
®
ELK GROVE UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT,
Petitioner,
Vv.
MICHAEL A. NEWDOW, ET AL.
Respondents.

»

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH
CIRCUIT

4

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF WALLBUILDERS, INC.
in support of the Petitioner,

4

Barry C. Hodge

Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae
Steven W. Fitschen
The National Legal Foundation
2224 Virginia Beach Blvd., Suite 204
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
(757) 463-6133

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..............cccccsssssssersssssesssseeseneses i
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE.............cccccscscessessesseees 1
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .............ccccsssssserssseeees 1
ARGUMEEN T 200ccccccccccocsessscosssscssssssscssssssssessssccosescsioscsosceossees 2

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION
SHOULD BE REVERSED BECAUSE IT
ERRED BY NOT GIVING DEFERENCE
TO THE DICTA OF THIS COURT
WHICH AS STATED THAT THE
PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE IS
CONSTITUTIONAL ...ccoccccoscocscoocssccscscesecsscocecs 3

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION
SHOULD BE REVERSED BECAUSE IT
MISAPPLIED THIS COURT’S RULING
IN LYNCH V. DONNELLY AND LEE V.
WEISMAN TO HOLD THE PLEDGE
UNCONSTITUTIONAL IN PUBLIC
SCHOOLS. cccccscccsscccssceccsccsccssccssccsssecsssssesssscoocsses 7

CONCLUSION acccccccccccceseccccccssscccccoscssccosssossssssssssssoossseesses 13

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Page(s)
Abington Sch. Dist. v. Schempp, '

376 UG. FEB (BD icccccessccinsonnsissumann 7
Cerro Metal Prods. v. Marshall,

620 F.26 S66 (36 Cie. SSID ccccccsinsnisiintensiaiimmammaan 5
County of Allegheny v. ACLU,

G2 UD. S73 (OGD ccceccsincrocctcntntainaiaamnnan 4,6,7,8
Lee v. Weisman,

$05 US. $7, S67 (00 nccocssstunsescciainimaaaan 1,7, 10-13
Lynch v. Donnelly,

46S U.S. SEB (IBC ccsccosssscsccnnitiiusnammeammniaa 1, 7-11, 13
Navajo Nation v. U.S. Dep't of Health and

Human Serv., 285 F.3d 864 (9th Cir. 2002)............... 6
Newdow v. United States Cong.,

292 F.3d 597 (9 Cir. 2002) ......sscessseccsnecessesssneeesneees 2
Newdow v. United States Cong.,

328 F. 3d 466 (9" Cir. 2002) ........scccsseeeee 2-4, 6-8, 10
Seminole Tribe v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44 (1996) ...........0006 4
Sherman v. Cmty. Consol. Sch. Dist. 21,

980 F.2d 437 (7tha Cir. 1992) ...ccccccccrccccecesesccseceeses 3,4

United States v. Baird, 85 F.3d 450 (9th Cir. 1996) ......... 6,7

il

Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 (1985) .......eeceeeceeeeeereteee 3,7
West Virginia Bd. of Educ. v. Barnette,
319 U.S. 624 (1943)........ccccccsresrecserceecssseressessenanes 6,7
Zal v. Steppe, 968 F.2d 924 (9th Cir. 1992).........eceereereerereens 6
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Michael Sean Quinn, Argument and Authority in Common
Law Advocacy and Adjudication: An Irreducible
Pluralism of Principles, 74 Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 655
(1999) ....ccccccsessscsssssnsesssneenenenenensnnsnensnsnensnesesnenensnes 4,5

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

WallBuilders, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) organization that is
dedicated to the restoration of the moral and religious
foundation on which America was built. As such, the
organization has a direct interest in seeing that students are
allowed to say the full and official version of the Pledge of
Allegiance in their schools. WallBuilders has a large base of
supporters who are equally concerned with this issue.

This brief is filed pursuant to the consent of the
counsel of record of all parties.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit erred in
ruling that the Elk Grove Unified School District’s policy of
having elementary aged school children recite the Pledge of
Allegiance is unconstitutional. In ruling the Pledge
unconstitutional, the Ninth Circuit overlooked this Court’s
dicta concerning the constitutionality of the Pledge. This
brief will show that certain types of dicta_should be viewed
as binding authority or nearly binding authority. The Ninth
Circuit has itself decided that this Court’s dicta are on the
upper end of the precedential continuum. The Ninth Circuit
should have been guided by this Court’s dicta and ruled the
policy of the school district constitutionally sound.

The Ninth Circuit also misapplied this Court’s rulings
in Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 676, 693, 716, (1984),
and Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577 (1992), when it ruled that
the Pledge of Allegiance was unconstitutional when reciied
in public schools. A proper understanding of Lynch shows
that the use of the Pledge in public schools is constitutional.

‘No counsel for any party has authored this brief in whole or in
part. No person or entity has made any monetary contribution to
the preparation or submission of this brief, other than the Amicus
Curiae, its members, and its Counsel.

The Ninth Circuit also failed to recognize Lee's self-
limiting principles and misapplied the effect of its ruling on
the present case. There are several significant factual
differences between Lee and the present case that the Ninth
Circuit ignored.

ARGUMENT

The second question certified by this Court asks
“fw]hether a public school district policy that requires
teachers to lead willing students in reciting the Pledge of
Allegiance, which includes the words ‘under God,’ violates
the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment, as
applicable through the Fourteenth Amendment.” A negative
answer could be arrived at two ways. Either the inclusion of
the phrase “under God” could be declared unconstitutional in
all settings including the one examined here or the use of the
phrase could be declared unconstitutional only in the specific
context being examined by the certified question.
Interestingly, the Ninth Circuit originally held both the
former and the latter, Newdow v. United States Cong., 292
F.3d 597, 612 (9" Cir. 2002) (withdrawn), then modified its
opinion to limit it to the latter, Newdow v. United States
Cong., 328 F.3d 466, 490 (9" Cir. 2002).

While numerous reasons could be advanced as to why
“under God” does not violate the Establishment Clause, only
one will be advanced here, namely the numerous
pronouncements from this Court as to the Pledge’s
constitutionality. Indeed, one could speculate that becoming
convinced of this fact too late, the Ninth Circuit modified its
opinion in hopes that the new opinion might survive review
by this Court. Therefore, after demonstrating why the Pledge
per se is constitutional, this brief will go on to show why
using the Pledge in the public school setting is also
constitutional.

> This brief will only addvess issues related to this question.

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION SHOULD
BE REVERSED BECAUSE IT ERRED BY NOT
GIVING DEFERENCE TO THE DICTA OF
THIS COURT WHICH HAS STATED THAT
THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE IS
CONSTITUTIONAL.

The debate between the majority and minority
opinions below, as well as Judge O’Scannlain’s dissent from
denial of rehearing was very largely over whether to decide
the issuc of the constitutionality of the Pledge of Allegiance
by trying te extend the logic of this Court’s Establishment
Clause precedent or by using this Court’s dicta regarding the
Pledge of Allegiance. Newdow v. United States Cong., 328
F.3d 466, 471-82 (9th Cir. 2003) (O’Scanniain, J., dissenting
from denial of rehearing en banc); id. at 482-90 (majority
opinion); id. at 490-93 (minority opinion).”

The problem with trying to apply this Court's
precedent in a new context is that this Court’s Establishment
Clause jurisprudence has often been unpredictable, as various
Justices of this Court have acknowledged. See, e.g., Wallace
v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 107-12 (1985) (Rehnquist, J.,
dissenting) (stating that the application of the Establishment
Clause since the late 1940s has little value because it has no
basis in history and “‘is difficult to apply and yields
unprincipled results.”). With this type of unpredictable
Establishment Clause jurisprudence, this Court should adopt
the approach of the dissent below, which has also been
employed in the Seventh Circuit’s decision in Sherman v.
Community Consolidated School District 21, 980 F.2d 437, -
439 (7th Cir. 1992). Following this Court’s dicta would have
been the best alternative for the Ninth Circuit. As the
Seventh Circuit aptly stated, “[{a}n inferior court had best
respect what the majority (of the United States Supreme
Court] says rather than read between the lines. If the Court

’ This was also true of the original, now withdrawn opimion, Newdow v.
United States Cong., 292 F.3d 597 (2002).

proclaims that a practice is consistent with the establishment
clause, we take its assurances seriously. If the Justices are
just pulling our leg, let them say so.” /d. at 448.

Below, the majority opinion recognized that this
Court has stated in dicta that the words “one nation under
God” in the Pledge of Allegiance are constitutional.

Newdow, 328 F.3d at 489. However, the majority did not
give deference to this Court’s dicta, as it stated it would. /d.
The question for this Court to resolve is whether the Ninth
Circuit gave inadequate deference to this Court’s dicta. For
the reasons stated in the discussion below, the Ninth Circuit
should have been guided, if not bound, by this Court’s dicta
regarding the constitutionality of the Pledge.

Dictum is “{ajn opinion expressed by a court, but
which, not being necessarily involved in the case, lacks the
force of atiiuilication....” Michael Sean Quinn, Argument
and Authority in Common Law Advocacy and Adjudication:
An Irreduecible Pluralism of Principles, 74 Chi.-Kent L. Rev.
655, 710(1999). Judges and attorneys often divide dicta into
obiter dicta and judicial dicta to determine the precedential
value of individwal dictum. Id. at 712-13. Obiter, or mere,
dicta is an opinion expressed in passing and has less
persuasive value. /d. at 713. Judicial dicta are “court's
reasoned consideration and elaboration upon a legal norm”
and have much more persuasive authority. /d. at 713-14.

In fact some courts, including this Court, give judicial
dicta great weight. In Seminole Tribe v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44
(1996), this Court adhered to judicial dicta which was
regarded as a “well-established rationale upon which the
Court based the results of its earlier decisions.” /d. at 67.
Similarly, this Court has stated that the “principle of stare
decisis directs us to adhere not only to the holdings of. . .
prior cases, but also to . . . explications of the governing rules
of law.” County of Allegheny v. ACLU, 492 U.S. 573, 668
(1989) (emphasis added).

Likewise, the Third Circuit Court of Appeals has ——

noted that “[a] . . . distinction has been drawn between

‘judicial dictum ' and ‘obiter dictum’: Judicial dicta are
conclusions that have been briefed, argued, and given full
consideration even though admittedly unnecessary to
decision. A judicial dictum may have great weight.” Cerro
Metal Prods. v. Marshall, 620 F.2d 964, 978 n.39 (3d Cir.
1980). Indeed, judicial dicta are of such serious consequence
that some courts consider judicial dicta issued by supreme
courts to be binding precedent: “A Wisconsin court has
stated it thus: ‘When a court of last resort intentionally takes
up, discusses, and decides a question germane to, though not
necessarily decisive of, the controversy, such decision is not
a dictum but is a judicial act of the court which it will
thereafter recognize as a binding decision.’” /d. (citation
omitted).

Furthermore, the distinction between obiter dictum
and judicial dictum is not a bright line. Michael Sean Quinn,
Argument and Authority in Common Law Advocacy and
Adjudication: An Irreducible Pluralism of Principles, 74
Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 655, 717-18 (1999). Hard and fast
divisions “are probably wrong” and can lead to “intellectual
chicanery.” Jd. at 730, 776. It is not easy to determine what
constitutes judicial dictum. Id. at 735. In fact, dicta are
better thought of as being on a continuum. /d. at 740. Under
this view, obiter dicta, in which a court has not deliberated
over what it has said, see id., rest at the lower end of the
continuum; judicial dicta rest at the upper end of the
spectrum and should guide future litigation, id. at 730; but
other “shades” of dicta exist between the two extremes and
should be given various degrees of weight. Therefore, it is
important under this view to realize that dicta, even dicta
other than that which is technically judicial dicta, can lie very
close to that end of the continuum and can be worthy of
receiving precedential or near-precedential value. Certainly,
the Seventh Circuit, unlike the Ninth Circuit, considered this
Court's Pledge dicta either to be judicial dicta or to be
sufficiently close to that end of the spectrum to guide the
litigation before it. See infra.

Ironically, the Ninth Circuit itself has placed dicta
issued by this Court on the upper end of the continuum. See
United States v. Baird, 85 F.3d 450, 453 (9th Cir. 1996).
According to the Ninth Circuit, Supreme Court dicta is to be
treated “with due deference.” /d. One Ninth Circuit judge
has stated that this Court’s dicta must not be discarded
lightly. Navajo Nation v. U.S. Dept. of Health and Human
Services, 285 F.3d 864, 877 (9th Cir. 2002) (Fletcher, J.,
dissenting). Another stated, “/d/icta of the Supreme Court
have a weight that is greater than ordinary judicial dicta as
prophecy of what the Court might hold. We should not
blandly shrug it off because they were not a holding.” Zal v.
Steppe, 968 F.2d 924, 935 (9th Cir. 1992) (Noonan, J.,
concurring in part and dissenting in part). The Ninth Circuit,
therefore, has placed Supreme Court dicta high on the
continuum giving it great weight—even when that the dictum
is not judicial dictum. For example, this Court’s dicta at
issue in Zal must be considered obiter dicta, yet Judge
Noonan pointed out the weight they deserved. See id.

Certainly, this Court’s dicta regarding the Pledge of
Allegiance are worthy of even more weight since they are
much closer to the judicial dicta end of the continuum.
While the constitutionality of the Pledge may not have been
extensively briefed and argued, the pertinent Establishment
Clause test and principles were briefed and argued in all the
cases in which the Pledge was used as an illustration. For
example, this Court has stated, “Our previous opinions have
considered in dicta the motto and the pledge, characterizing
them as consistent with the proposition that government may
not communicate an endorsement of religious belief.”
County of Allegheny v. ACLU, 492 U.S. 573, 602-03 (1989).
This Court also stated that one’s “religious y based refusal”
to recite the Pledge should not interfere with the right of
others to recite it. See Newdow, 328 F.3d at 492 (Fernandez,
J., concurring in part and dissenting in part) (citing West

Virginia Bd. of Educ. v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 642 (1943)).
In fact, five current Justices of this Court, as well as eight

prior Justices, have recognized that including “under God” in
the Pledge of Allegiance does not impose a danger to society
by establishing a theocracy or inhibiting one’s religious
beliefs. Jd. at 491 (citing County of Allegheny v. ACLU, 492
U.S. 573, 602-03, 672-73 (1989); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472
U.S. 38, 78 n.5 (1985); Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668,
676, 693, 716, (1984); Abington Sch. Dist. v. Schempp, 374
U.S. 203, 306-08 (1963).

The majority opinion below dismissed this Court’s
dicta because this Court has never directly addressed the
issue and has not applied the Establishment Clause tests to it.
Newdow, 328 F.3d at 489. Based on the Ninth Circuit’s own
precedent, Supreme Court dicta should be given great
deference. Baird, 85 F.3d at 453. This Court has stated
multiple times that the Pledge does not violate the
Establishment Clause. See Newdow, 328 F.3d at 491
(Fernandez, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part)
(noting cases cited in the previous paragraph). Because this
Court has declared the Pledge to he constitutional on multiple
occasions, and because each of the cases addressed basic
First Amendment principles, this Court did not make those
statements regarding the Pledge without due consideration.
Therefore, the Ninth Circuit erred by not being guided by the
applicable dicta from this Court. Had it been so guided, it
would have upheld the constitutionality of the Pledge.
Indeed, this Court has already decided the issue.

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION SHOULD BE
REVERSED BECAUSE IT MISAPPLIED THIS
COURT’S RULINGS IN LYNCH V. DONNELLY
AND LEE V. WEISMAN TO HOLD THE PLEDGE
UNCONSTITUTIONAL IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS.

Just as this Court’s dicta indicates the
constitutionality of the Pledge per se, so it indicates the
constitutionality of the Pledge in the public school setting.
Indeed, the Ninth Circuit admitted as much and attempted,

albeit feebly, to deal with this fact. The Ninth Circuit wrote,

Our opinion, however, is not inconsistent with
this dicta. In Allegheny, the Court noted that it
had “considered in dicta the motto and the
pledge, characterizing them as consistent with
the proposition that government may not
communicate an endorsement of religious
belief.” 492 U.S. at 602-03. And in Lynch,
the Court observed that students recited the
pledge daily, but only to support its point that
there is a long tradition of “official
acknowledgment” of religion. 465 U.S. at
674, 676. Neither of these two references
speaks to the issue here. We may assume
arguendo that public officials do not
unconstitutionally endorse religion when they
recite the Pledge, yet it does not follow that
schools may coerce impressionable young
school children to recite it, or even to stand
mute while it is being recited by their
classmates.

Newdow v. United States Cong., 328 F.3d at 489.

Even on the face of this assertion, one might believe
that the Ninth Circuit had come to the exact opposite
conclusion from the one justified by this Court’s
pronouncement in Lynch. One might logically conclude that
this Court had given the Pledge’s use in public schools a
clean bill of health and that the Ninth Circuit’s use of the
word “coerce” was gratuitous—especially in light of the
record in this case (which clearly indicates that the student
participants are willing participants).

However, were one inclined not to come to this
conclusion merely on the face of the Ninth Circuit’s
assertion, one need merely look at the larger context of the
Lynch quotation to see that the Ninth Circuit’s

characterization of it is not accurate. It is true that this Court
in Lynch noted the recitation of the Pledge “by many
thousands of school children every vear,” as an example of
official acknowledgement of religion.” 465 U.S. at 676.
However, this Court said much more that is germane to the
present analysis—things that the Ninth Circuit ignored.

This Court went on to characterize school children’s
recitation of the Pledge as one of the “illustrations of the
Government's acknowledgment of our religious heritage and
governmental sponsorship of graphic manifestations of that
heritage” that it had summarized. /d. at 677. The Pledge
would constitute the latter—‘a governmental sponsorship of
graphic manifestations of that heritage.” /d. Furthermore,
this Court also used the Pledge and the other examples to
explain why actions, which explicitly recognize or benefit
religion do not always violate the Establishment Clause:

This history may help explain why the
Court consistently has declined to take a rigid,
absolutist view of the Establishment Clause.
We have refused “to construe the Religion
Clauses with a literalness that would
undermine the ultimate constitutional
objective as illuminated by history.” In our
modern, complex society, whose traditions
and constitutional underpinnings rest on and
encourage diversity and pluralism in all areas,
an absolutist approach in applying the
Establishment Clause is simplistic and has
been uniformly rejected by the Court.

Rather than mechanically invalidating
all governmental conduct or statutes that
confer benefits or give special recognition to
religion in general or to one faith—as an
absolutist approach would dictate—the Court
has scrutinized challenged legislation or
official conduct to determine whether, in

-

10

reality, it establishes a religion or religious
faith, or tends to do so. Joseph Story wrote a
century and a half ago: “The real object of the
[First] Amendment was. . . to prevent any
national ecclesiastical establishment, which
should give to an hierarchy the exclusive
patronage of the national government.”

Id. at 678 (citations omitted).

Thus, had the Ninth Circuit read Lynch
correctly, it would have understood that this Court
has characterized the recitation of the Pledge by
school children as a “governmental sponsorship of
graphic manifestations of [our religious] heritage”
that “confer[s] benefits or give[s] special recognition
to religion,” but that nonetheless does not violate the
Establishment Clause. /d. at 677-78. Had the Ninth
Circuit so understood Lynch, it could have (and
Amicus argues should have) rejected the School
District’s argument that the religious content of the
Pledge is minimal,* Newdow, 328 F.3d at 488, and yet
upheld its use under the test from Lee v. Weisman,
505 U.S. 577 (1992), which Ninth Circuit employed.

Indeed, Lynch and Lee are in complete
agreement that each Establishment Clause case must
be decided based upon its own unique characteristics.
Immediately after the passages quoted above, the
Lynch Court noted that

[ijn each case, the inquiry calls for line-
drawing; no fixed, per se rule can be framed.
The Establishment Clause like the Due
Process Clause is not a precise, detailed
provision in a legal code capable of ready

* Similarly, this Court need not rely upon “ceremonial deism” or

“civil religion” arguments.

11

application. The purpose of the Establishment
Clause “was to state an objective, not to write
a statute.” The line between permissible
relationships and those barred by the Clause
can no more be straight and unwavering than
due process can be defined in a single stroke
or phrase or test. The Clause erects a “blurred,
indistinct, and variable barrier depending on
all the circumstances of a particular
relationship.”

Lynch, 465 U.S. at 613 (citations omitted).

Similarly, the Lee Court wrote that “our jurisprudence
in this area is of necessity one of line-drawing... .” 505
U.S. at 598. It both distinguished its case from other
Establishment Clause cases, id. at 596-96, and emphasized
the unique features of its case, noting that

{t]}hese dominant facts mark and control the
confines of our decision: State officials direct
the performance of a formal religious exercise
at promotional and graduation ceremonies for
secondary schools. Even for those students
who object to the religious exercise, their
attendance and participation in the state-
sponsored religious activity are in a fair and
real sense obligatory, though the school
district does not require attendance as a
condition for receipt of the diploma.

Id. at 586. Thus, Lee is self-limiting. The Lee Court went on
to stress that “[e]veryone knows that in our society and in our
culture high school graduation is one of life's most significant
occasions.” /d. at 594. The Court also explicitly pointed out
that its holding did not apply to all state action involving
religion:

12

We do not hold that every state action
implicating religion is invalid if one or a few
citizens find it offensive. People may take
offense at all manner of religious as well as
nonreligious messages, but offense alone does
not in every case show a violation. We know
too that sometimes to endure social isolation
or even anger may be the price of conscience
or nonconformity.

Id. at 597-98.

Because significant differences exist between the
daily recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and a “formal
religious exercise” at one’s once-in-a-lifetime high school
graduation ceremony, there is no incompatibility between
Lynch's strong support for the constitutionality of the daily
recitation of the Pledge and Lee’s holding of
unconstitutionality of graduation prayers.” First, there is a
difference between the Pledge which retains some religious
content— indeed, as argued above, it retains significant
religious content—and a formal religious ceremony including
corporate prayer to the God that the Pledge merely
acknowledges. Second, while the Lee Court believed that in
a “fair and real sense” the graduation ceremony was
obligatory, the daily recitation of the Pledge is voluntary,
Newdow, 328 F.3d at 483.

This latter point deserves some clarification. At first
blush, one might think the opposite is true. As the Lee Court
pointed out, at least in some sense, participation in the
graduation ceremony was voluntary, 505 U.S. at 583,
whereas attendance at school is compulsory (and for many
students, public schools are the only option). However, such
an analysis would miss the point. What made the Lee

> Amicus does not believe that Lee was rightly decided but
recognizes it as a binding precedent of this Court. Therefore,
Amicus believes that its reconciliation of Lee and Lynch is both
valid and important to the proper resolution of the instant case.

13

graduation ceremony obligatory “in a fair and real sense”
was that it was a stand-alone ceremony of great significance
in the life of the graduates. They did not have to attend the
ceremony to .eceive their diploma, but to fail to do so would
have deprived themselves and their families of participation
in a significant “rite of passage.”

On the other hand, while the public school students of
the Defendant School] District are obligated to attend school,
they are freely permitted to decline to participate in the
Pledge. Thus, there is no obligatory ceremony at all,
religious or otherwise. At worst, non-participating students
might suffer “social isolation or. . . anger,” which the Lee
Court declared to be “the price of conscience or non-
conformity.” Jd. at 598.

Because Lynch has so clearly spoken to the
constitutionality of the use of the Pledge in public
schools and because Lynch and Lee can re reconciled,
the Pledge’s religious content doe not render its use
unconstitutional.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Amicus respectfully
requests this Court to reverse the Court of Appeals for
Ninth Circuit and hold that the School District’s
policy is constitutional.

Respectfully submitted,
This 19th day of December 2003

Barry C. ge

Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae
The National Legal Foundation
2224 Virginia Beach Blvd., Ste. 204
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
(757) 463-6133

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0659%3A27. Public record. Not legal advice.
