# Amicus Curiae Brief — SEC v. Edwards

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0636%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 389

## Text

JUN 2 6 2093

Supreme © ou LS
FILLED
}

No. 02-1196

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 2002
THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE
COMMISSION,
Appellant,
AGAINST
ETS PAYPHONES, INC.
AND

CHARLES E. EDWARDS,

Appellees.

OnA yee From the United States
Court ofz ppeals for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF FOR PUBLIC INVESTORS
ARBITRATION BAR
ASSOCIATION, INC. AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES
AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

JOSEPH C. LONG
COUNSEL FOR
PUBLIC INVESTORS
ARBITRATION BAR
ASSOCIATION, INC.
2609 Acacia Ct.
Norman, OK 73072
(405) 364-5471
June 26, 2003

|

No. 02-1196

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 2002
THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE
COMMISSION,
Appellant,
AGAINST
ETS PAYPHONES, INC.
AND

CHARLES E. EDWARDS,

Appellees.

On A , aes From the United States
Court of ppeals for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF FOR PUBLIC INVESTORS
ARBITRATION BAR
ASSOCIATION, INC. AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES
AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

JOSEPH C. LONG
COUNSEL FOR
PUBLIC INVESTORS
ARBITRATION BAR
ASSOCIATION, INC.
2609 Acacia Ct.
Norman, OK 73072
(405) 364-5471
June 26, 2003

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF
FOR PUBLIC INVESTORS ARBITRATION
BAR ASSOCIATION, INC. AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF THE UNITED STATES
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

The Public Investors Arbitration Bar Association, Inc.
("PIABA") is a national non-profit voluntary public bar
association with a membership of some 550 attorneys. In order
to be a member of PIABA, an attorney must devote a significant
portion of his or her practice to representing public investors
(non-industry members) in private arbitrations involving
securities matters. PLABA hereby respectfully moves for leave to
file the attached brief, as Amicus Curiae, in the present case.
Permission of the appellant, the United States Solicitor General,
has been obtained. Permission of Charles E. Edwards, appellee,
was sought and denied.

The interest of PLABA in this case arises from the fact that
a number of members are involved in private arbitrations where
hundreds of investors purchased ETS investments or similar
interests in payphones offered by other companies. The decision
of this Court could strongly influence the outcome of these future
arbitrations.

Beyond the issue of whether payphones schemes involve
the sale of securities in the form of investment contracts, this
Court's decision will impact a number of other similar
investments presently being offered to the public. These
investments include automated teller machines, credit card
processing units, and Internet access terminals, among others.
None of the interests in these schemes are registered as securities
and many are fraudulent. If the decision of the Eleventh Circuit
is allowed to stand, the payphone and the other major schemes
will go largely unregulated. Further, the public investors will be
denied the information and protection which the state and federal
securities acts were designed to provide.

The focus of the brief of the Solicitor General on behalf
of the Securities and Exchange Commission is limited to the
Eleventh Circuit's analysis of the ETS payphone operation and its
implications decision on the federal securities acts. The brief,
which PIABA as Amicus Curiae seeks permission to file, will,
however, have a wider focus. It will address the impact of this
Court's decision on arbitration, state securities laws, and other

types of similar schemes. It will provide the Court with an ~

understanding of the potential impact that the Court's decision
_ will have in these broader areas.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph C. Long

Counsel for the Public Investors
Arbitration Bar Association, Inc.

2609 Acacia Court

Norman, OK 73072

(405) 364-5471

June 26, 2003

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Statement of Interest of the Public Investor’s
Arbitration Bar Association, Inc. ................. l
IDs Seeebcwdtdcvuddadsdusdctésnons 2
PE etcndnncdeddndéedadétddeesdscadssadncanies 6
Point I
United Housing Does Not Justify the
Exclusion of Payment of Interest and Other
Fixed Amounts From the “Profits” Element
EET dkvlonededucsceadodecsskanses 7
A. The Language of United Housing
Does Not Demand Such Result ............ 7
B. Earlier Supreme Court Cases Do Not
Support the Exclusion of Fixed-Return
or Interest Bearing Instruments From
Coverage Under the Investment
cs ccdcceuabesdeesccece 10
c. Exclusion of Fixed Payments or
Interest From “Profits” Under the
Howey Test Finds No Support in the
State Law Origins of the Concept
of “Investment Contracts” ............... 13
D. The Public Policy Behind the Securities
Act of 1933 Does Not Support the
Exclusion of Fixed Payments or
Interest from “Profits” Under the
Dt Dieses cenkhoedsicaseunéee 16

iv

E. Exclusion of Fixed Payments or Interest
From “Profits” Under the Howey Test
Is Contrary to the Holdings in Many
Other Lower Federal Court Decisions ...... 19

F. Exclusion of Fixed Payments or Interest
From “Profits” Under the Howey Test is
Contrary to the Position Taken by the SEC .. 21

G. Exclusion of Fixed Payments or Interest
From “Profits” Under the Howey Test is
Contrary to the Position Taken by Many
PEED ccncccdecceccecseenecesces 22

H. \ Exclusion of Fixed Payments or Interest
\From “Profits” Under the Howey Test is
ontrary to the Position Taken by State
ecurities Agencies ...........-.++0005: 23

Point I

In Reversing the Eleventh Circuit, the
Court Should Conduct an Overall Review

GOT n cc cccccccccccccucecesccusces 25
A. The Court Should Not Simply

Redefine “Profits” to Include

Interest and Fixed Payments ............. 26
B. The Court Should Undertake a

Reconsideration of the Whole Concept

of What is a Security and Identify the

Elements of “Securitiness” .............. 26

DOE oo ccccccccccccscsscececcececcoecccooenes 29

SLE PEPE SG

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Bayhi v. State, 629 So.2d 782 (Ala. Crim.

ER Ge eae ep 22
Bell v. Health-Mor, Inc., 549 F.2d 342
a 9,21

Bonner v. City of Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206
te 20

Department of Banking and Finance v.
Mehl, 2002 WL 31452438 (Fla. Sec.
Div., Final Order, Oct. 17, 2002) ......... 24

Fidelity Inv. Ass'n v. Emmerson, 318 Ill. 548,
i 15

In re Abbett, Sommer & Co., 44 S.E.C. 104,
1969 WL 95369 (1969) ...........000... 21

In re ETS Payphones, Inc., 2001 WL 422179

(Ala. Sec. Comm’n Feb. 6, 2001) .......... 3
In re ETS Payphones, Inc., 2002 WL 1586379

(Ind. Div. Sec. June 7, 2002) .............. 3
In re Ellsworth, 2003 WL 21207816 (Mo.Div.

BR, FE BOD oc cccccccccccccccces 25
dn re Mack, 2003 WL 21269563 (Ohio

Dept.Comm., May 30, 2003) ............. 25
In re National Communications Marketing, Inc.,

2001 WL 236889 (Wash. Sec. Div.

PD Sete d din cud o bacndeeuene de 3

vi

In re Ray, 2003 WL 21269561 (Ohio
Dept.Comm., May 22, 2003) ............. 25

In re Union Home Loans, 26 S.E.C. Dkt 1517,
1982 WL 522493 (Dec. 16, 1982) ......... 21

Kerst v. Nelson, 171 Minn. 191,
213 N.W. 904 (1927) ... 0... 0... eee eee 15

Khadem v. Equity Sec. Corp., 494 F.2d 1224,
1229 (9" Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S.

PEED. vn eceéddenkecedesneessecuecs 21
King v. Pope, 91 S.W.3d 314 (Tenn. 2002) ...... 4,22
Landreth Timber Co. v. Landreth,

re eh Oe occ ececececescccecsa 28
Manns v. Skolnik, 666 N.E.2d 1236

GUE, BA, TED cc ccccccccccccccecccess 22
McCormick v. Shively, 267 Ill. App. 99 (1932) ..... 15

Meason v. Bank of Miami, 652 F.2d 542,
550, N. 17 (5 Cir. 1981) .............. 9, 20

Mosley v. State, 253 Ga. App. 710,
560 S.E.2d 305 (2002) ............645. 4,22

Payable Accounting Corp. v. McKinley,
667 P.2d 15, 19 (Utah 1983) ............. 23

People v. Coster, 151 Cal. App.3d 1188,
199 Cal. Rptr. 253 (App. 1983) ........... 23

People v. Figueroa, 41 Cal. 3d 714, 715
P.2d 680, 224 Cal. Rptr. 7119 (1986) ...... 23

Vii
People v. White, 12 P.2d 1078 (Cal. App. 1932) . 12, 14

Rasch v. State, 579 S.E.2d 817

SE ED 20 ceseescesescévvececes 22
Reves v. Ernst & Young,

494 U.S. 56 (1990) .... 0... 6.0045. 12, 19, 26
SEC v. Alpha Telecom, Inc., 187 F. Supp.2d

SN EL MED co cehocenccceeccecues 20
SEC v. C. M. Joiner, 320 U.S. 344 (1943) ...... 10, 22

SEC v. Capital Holdings, L.L.C., CA No. 03-RB-0923
(D. Colo., filed May 21, 2003)............ 22

SEC v. ETS Payphones, Inc., 123 F.
Supp.2d 1349 (N.D. Ga. 2000) ........... 19

SEC v. Herula, C.A. No. 02-154-ML
Ss Ges SU A ED oc cceeccececececes 21

SEC v. Infinity Group Co., 212 F.3d 180,
PEED ccccncveccesvccccusce 20

SEC v. Nat'l Executive Planners, Lid.,
503 F.Supp. 1066 (M.D.N.C. 1980) ....... 21

SEC v. Phoenix Telecom, LLC, 2000
U.S. Dist. LEXIS 22314 (N.D. Ga.
PT cc veeusedebaheesceesesees 20
SEC v. Ralston Purina Co., 346 U.S. 119 (1953) ... 16
SEC v. SG, Ltd., 265 F.3d 42, 54 (1* Cir. 2001) .... 22

SEC v. United Benefit Ins. Co.,
ee ED ok kctcccusecsacecces 9

Vili

SEC v. W.J. Howey Co., 328 U.S. 293 (1946)
2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20,

22, 24, 25, 26, 27, 29

SEC v. Weeks Sec. Inc., 483 F.Supp. 1239,

1243-1244 (S.D. Tenn. 1980) ............ 21
SEC v. Yoder, No. #:03-CV-0418AF

(N.D. Ind., filed June 19, 2003) ........... 21
State v. Evans, 154 Minn. 95,

FG Fi ee SPEND cc cccccceveccccesse 15
State v. Gerisch, 49 P.3d 392 (Idaho 2002) ...... 4, 22

State v. Gopher Tire & Rubber Co.,
146 Minn. 52, 177 N.W. 937 (1920) .... 14, 15

State v. Philips, 108 Wash.2d 627,

Pe PE hb oe dececccvecedesess: 22
State of New York v. Justin, 237 F.

Supp.2d 368 (W.D.N.Y. 2002) ........... 24
Stevens v. Liberty Packing Corp., 161 A.

893, 195 COEF. Ci, ISSR) cc cccccccess 12, 14
Stigall v. Sec. of State, Case No:EN-

18727 Final Decision

(Ga. Sec. Div. Sept. 6, 2002) ............ 24

Szpunar v. State, 783 N.E.2d 1213
ek ie BE oa ci nesdiccdivcedns 4, 22

United Housing Foundation v. Forman,
421 U.S. 837 (1975) . 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 13, 20, 21, 26

ix

United States v. Carman, 577 F.2d
556, 563 (9 Cir. 1978) ...........00000. 20

United States v. Farris, 614 F.2d
GOO, GOR Ge, TOFD onc cc cccccccccecs 20

United States v. Jones, 712 F.2d
1316 (9" Cir.), cert. denied
464 US. 986 (1983) .................. 3, 20

Webster v. U.S.I. Realty Co., 170 Minn. 360,
ok re eee 15

Statutes:

Cahill’s Revised Statutes 1931, Ch. 12, 9259(1) .... 15

Miscellaneous:

12, Joseph C. Long,
Blue Sky Law §1:16 (2002) .............. 14

12, Joseph C. Long,
Blue Sky Law §1:17-1:18 (2002) ....... 12, 14

12, Joseph C. Long,
Blue Sky Law §2:58 (2002) .............. 8

Cal. Corp. Comm’n, Press Release 00-16 (2000) ....3

7 ee. oe
vs.

In the
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 2002

The United States Securities and Exchange Commission,

Appellant,
against

ETS Payphones, Inc.
and
Charles E. Edwards,

Appellees,

On Appeal From the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
Brief for the Public Investor's Arbitration
Association, Inc., as Amicus Curiae

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF THE
PUBLIC INVESTOR'S ARBITRATION BAR
ASSOCIATION, INC.

The Public Investors Arbitration Bar Association,
Inc.("PIABA"), is a national non-profit voluntary public bar
association with a membership of some 550 attorneys. In order
to be a member of PIABA, an attorney must devote a significant
portion of his or her practice to representing public investors
(non-industry members) in private arbitrations involving
securities matters. -

The interest of PLABA in this case arises from the fact that
a number of members are involved in private arbitrations where
hundreds of investors purchased ETS investments or similar

2

interests in payphones offered by other companies. The decision
of this Court will strongly influence the outcome of these actions.

Beyond the issue of whether payphones schemes involve
the sale of securities in the form of investment contracts, this
Court's decision will impact a number of other similar
investments presently being offered to the public. There are
similar investment plans presently being offered to the general
public involving automated teller machines, credit card
processing units, and Internet access terminals among others.
None of the interests in these schemes are registered as securities
and many are fraudulent. If the decision of the Eleventh Circuit
is allowed to stand, the payphone and the other major schemes
will go largely unregulated. Further, the public investors will be
denied the information and protection which the state and federal
securities acts were designed to provide.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

PIABA believes the SEC has greatly understated the true
issue in the present case. The real issue is whether any debt
security or contract requiring the payment of a fixed return can be
an investment contract. The Eleventh Circuit interpreted this
Court's decision in United Housing Foundation v. Forman, 421
U.S. 837 (1975), defining the "profit" element of Howey’ test for
investment contracts, to exclude either the payment of interest or
a contract fixed-return obligation. It reached this conclusion
based upon its reading of United Housing requiring that the
investor's profit must come from the earnings of the company.
Interest or fixed return contract obligations may or may not come
from the earnings of the enterprise because these obligations must
be paid without regard to whether the enterprise earns a profit.

The correctness of this interpretation is a matter of
national public interest. Both the SEC and the state securities

1SEC v. W.J. Howey Co., 328 U.S. 293 (1946).

Aomaae

3

agencies spend a great deal of their enforcement resources dealing
with novel or unusual securities. By far the most used portion of
the Statutory definition of a security in these cases is that of
“investment contracts.” Virtually all these novel securities cases
also involve either Ponzie schemes or fraudulent conduct, often
aimed at the unsophisticated and the elderly. The losses to the
general public are enormous.

To understand the size of the problem, it should be noted
that in addition to the SEC, at least 18 state securities agencies
have taken action against ETS.’ When enforcement activities
against other payphone operations are included, the number of
state enforcement actions soars to over 200.2 The State of

California alone has issued 143 Desist and Refrain Orders against
54 such entitles.‘

This is, however, merely the tip of the iceberg. In the
past, the agencies have had to deal with similar schemes
involving automatic teller machines and other sale and lease-back
promotions ranging from railroad cars to trailer trucks. See e.g.,
United States v. Jones, 712 F.2d 1316 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,
464 U.S. 986 (1983)(trailer trucks).

These problems will also continue into the future. Ads are
presently running on national television offering similar contracts
on both Internet site locations and credit card confirmation

*See e.g., In re ETS Payphones, Inc., 2002 WL 1586379 (Ind. Div.
Sec. June 7, 2002); In re ETS Payphones, Inc., 2001 WL 422179 (Ala. Sec.
Com. Feb. 6, 2001); and In re National Communications Marketing, Inc., 2001
WL 236889 (Wash. Sec. Div. Feb. 26, 2001).

*Westlaw search, MSEC-CS, payphones / /s securities. The search
was done on March 11, 2003.

“Cal. Corp. Comm'n, Press Release 00-16 (2000), available at
WWW.COIP.ca. gov.

4

machines. Many are advertising that they are the successor to the
payphone opportunities!

Beyond the sale and lease-back cases, the SEC and state
agencies have had to deal with wide-spread Ponzi schemes
involving promissory notes and international banking transaction
frauds. See e.g., State v. Gerisch, 49 P.3d 392 (Idaho 2002);
Mosley v. State, 253 Ga. App. 710, 560 S.E.2d 305 (2002) The
states have also been faced with the fraudulent sale of viatical
settlement contracts.

If the Eleventh Circuit decision is upheld, the SEC will
lose its most effective weapon to control and combat these
schemes. Further, while the state courts are not obligated to
follow federal decisions, they often do. Thus, a huge gap in both
the federal and state agency enforcement programs will result.
The white collar criminals will have carte blanche to conduct
these various schemes with impunity.

The problem will also hamper criminal prosecutions and
civil recovery. If the interests are not investment contracts or
securities, criminal enforcement actions, such as Szpunar v.
State, 783 N.E.2d 1213 (Ind: App. 2003), could not be brought.
Nor would the state agencies be able to bring administrative
actions and civil injunctive proceedings, such as King v. Pope, 91
S.W.3d 314 (Tenn. 2002).

This brief will attempt to accomplish two things. First, it
will address why the Eleventh Circuit's position in the present
case is wrong and should be overruled. Then, it will outline the
two approaches the Court can take in overruling the Eleventh
Circuit and establishing a meaningful and consistent public policy
in this area.

There are numerous reasons why this Court should reverse
the decision of the Eleventh Circuit. PIABA will demonstrate
that the Eleventh Circuit's reading of United Housing was
mechanical and unwarranted. It will also show that the United

:
f
|!
}

ee

5

Housing restrictions on "profits" are not supported by this Court's
prior cases and the origins of the “investment contract” concept.
Finally, PLABA will show that the United Housing restriction, as
interpreted by the Eleventh Circuit, is inconsistent with the
decisions of the other federal courts, the SEC, the state courts,

_ and the state securities agencies.

Assuming that the Court is willing to overturn the
Eleventh Circuit's decision, PLABA will then outline how the
Court can accomplish this result. PIABA believes that the Court
can accomplish this task in either of two ways.

The easiest and simplest approach would be to rule that
interest or any fixed income can be considered a "profit" under
the third element of the Howey test. While this approach will
accomplish the appropriate result and is attractive because of its
simplicity, PLABA would urge the Court to follow the second
approach.

The Court should use this case as a vehicle for a broad
rethinking of the elements of an investment contract and of a
security in general. During the last fifty years, since the decision
in SEC v. W.J. Howey Co., the Court has dealt with the
definition of an investment contract and that of a security in
general on a piece-meal basis. Time is overdue for the Court to
take the time to harmonize its various pronouncements as to what
is a security and develop a single logical approach te this issue
which is consistent with the intent of Congress in passing the
Securities Act of 1933. In other words, in a logical and consistent
manner, the Court needs to identify the elements of "securitiness"
as well as of investment contracts.

In performing this task, the Court should determine the
true nature of "securitiness" and a number of artificial tests which
have grown up in the lower federal courts. The cases are largely
the result of the Court’s imprecision in its past pronouncement on
the subject. The test should not be burdened with restrictions or

6

\
limitations which have no relevance to defining that which
Congress sought to regulate in passing the Securities Act of 1933.

This Court, in many other areas, has sought to return to
the original intent of Congress as determined by the language of
the statute itself, its legislative history, and historical development
as gleaned from similar statutes which Congress sought to use as
a drafting model. The need is for a test to identify in a consistent
and rational way, what are the elements of “securitiness.”

In summary, PIABA urges the Court to reverse the
decision in the present case and undertake the task of identifying
the appropriate elements of "securitiness”.

ARGUMENT

Technically, there is only one issue before the Court. This
question is whether the Eleventh Circuit was correct in holding
that an obligation to pay a fixed monthly amount for the use of
payphones under a purchase and service contract prevents that
agreement from being an investment contract. The Eleventh
Circuit concluded that “the expectation of profits” element of the
Howey test is not met by any interest-bearing agreement or
contract requiring the payment of a fixed return. In doing so, the
Eleventh Circuit interpreted United Housing Foundation v.
Forman, 421 U.S. 837 (1975), which defined the "profit"
element of Howey test to exclude either the payment of interest
or a fixed-return. This conclusion was based upon its reading of
United Housing to require that the investor's profit must come
from the earnings of the company or enterprise. Interest bearing
or fixed-return obligations may or may not come from such
earnings because these debts must be paid without regard to the
enterprise’s profit.

-

7

POINT I

UNITED HOUSING DOES NOT JUSTIFY THE
EXCLUSION OF PAYMENT OF INTEREST AND
OTHER FIXED AMOUNTS
FROM THE "PROFITS" ELEMENT
OF THE HOWEY TEST

The language of United Housing does not require the
exclusion of fixed-return or interest-bearing instruments from
being investment contracts. Nor do the prior decisions of this
Court. Further, such exclusion finds no support in either the
policy behind the Securities Act of 1933 or the state law origins
of the "investment contracts" concept.

AL THE LANGUAGE OF UNITED HOUSING
DOES NOT DEMAND SUCH RESULT

The language of United Housing Foundation, Inc. v.
Forman, 421 U.S. 837 (1975), does not require the interpretation
given to it by the Eleventh Circuit. The thrust of United Housing
was to distinguish those cases where the receiving of a true
"profit" was the motivating force behind the investor's investment
from those cases where the purchaser of the property was
motivated by "the desire to use or consume the item purchased..."
423 U.S. at 852. In attempting to make this distinction, the Court
made the following statement about the "profits" element of the
Howey test, which the Eleventh Circuit relied to exclude interest-
bearing and fixed-return contracts from coverage as investment
contracts.

[The Howey] test, in shorthand form, embodies
the essential attributes that run through all of
the Court's decisions defining a security. The
touchstone is the presence of an investment in
a common venture premised on a reasonable
expectation of profits to be derived from the
entrepreneurial or management efforts of

8

others. By profits, the Court has meant either
capital appreciation resulting from the
development of the initial investment as in
Joiner, supra, ... or a participation in the
earnings resulting from the use of investor's
funds, as in Tcherepnin v. Knight.... In such
cases the investor is ‘attracted solely by the
prospect of a return’ on his investment. Id.
[Emphasis added. ]

The first example of "profits," capital appreciation, does
not cause any problem. It is the second clause "a participation in
the earnings resulting from the use of the investor's funds" which
causes the problem. Read out of context, the phrase "earnings
resulting from the use of investor's funds" could lend support to
the Eleventh Circuit exclusion of debt and fixed payment
instruments, if earnings are defined as gross or net profits of the
enterprise. These obligations as debts must be paid regardless of
profits or earnings. However, the Eleventh Circuit’s
interpretation is not the only possible interpretation. PIABA
suggests that it is not the best interpretation for two reasons.”

First, the language must be put in context. When this is
done, several things are clear. It is evident that the Court believes
the Howey test, including its profits element, to be the litmus test
for securities in general. If this is true, debt instruments can not
be excluded because notes, bonds, debentures, and evidences of
indebtedness are specifically included within the statutory
definition. Thus, there would seem to be no intent to exclude
interest or other fixed-payment instruments. Also, the
questionable language is followed by the last sentence which
reads: “In such cases the investor is ‘attracted solely by the
prospect of a return’ on his investment.” The emphasis here

5See a more detailed discussion of these reasons, in the Author's
treatise, Blue Sky Law §2:58 (2002).

eg sO A IO IE

9

is on the expectation of a return to the investor. “Return”
includes interest, dividends, and fixed-return payments.

Finally, it is clear that the language used was an example
based upon the prior cases of the Court. As it happens, the Court,
at that time, had never considered an investment contract case
involving either a fixed return or a debt security. Recognizing
this fact, the Fifth Circuit in Meason v. Bank of Miami, 652 F.2d
542, 550, N.17 (Sth Cir. 1981), commented that the quoted
language "seems to us to be dubious value in [the note] context."

. These three factors, taken together, mitigate against an
intent to exclude some types of returns such as interest or fixed
payments.

Second, if read the way the Eleventh Circuit did, the focus
of the "profits" element would be reversed. The Howey test
focuses on the expectation of a profit to the investor. It does
not focus on the enterprise in which the investment is made
making a profit. The investor doesn’t care whether the

enterprise makes a profit so long as his expectation of a return is
fulfilled.

For example, in Bell v. Health-Mor, Inc., 549 F.2d 342
(Sth Cir. 1977), the investor was to receive ten dollars off the cost
of his vacuum for every referral made. The ten dollars was paid
whether the referral bought a vacuum or not. All that was
required to receive the ten dollars was for the referral to allow a
demonstration of the vacuum. The Fifth Circuit held the
agreement to be an investment contract, despite the fact that the
ene cleaner company might not make a profit because no sale
is e.

*The Court has considered variable annuity contracts in SEC v. United
Benefit Ins. Co., 387 U.S. 202 (1967) which have a fixed-return floor on the
investment. The focus of the case, however, for investment contract purposes,
was on the variable annuity feature.

10

The basis for the Eleventh Circuit's exclusion of fixed-
return or interest-bearing debt securities on the other hand is that
the enterprise must pay these obligations, so long as it is solvent,
without regard to whether it makes a profit.

B. EARLIER SUPREME COURT CASES DO
NOT SUPPORT THE EXCLUSION OF
FIXED-RETURN OR INTEREST BEARING
INSTRUMENTS FROM COVERAGE
UNDER THE INVESTMENT CONTRACT
ANALYSIS

This Court's first decision to deal with the concept of an
investment contract was SEC v. C.M. Joiner, 320 U.S. 344
(1943). The Court in Joiner recognized that the definitions of a
security found in both the Securities Act of 1933 and the
Exchange Act of 1934 are not true definitions. Instead, they were
definitions by enumeration. Some of the instruments named in
the definition were "pretty much standardized and the meaning
alone carries well settled meaning." 320 U.S. at 351. "Others are
of a more variable character and were necessarily designated by
more descriptive terms, such as ... ‘investment contract’...." Jd.

It also recognized that:

[T]he reach of the Act does not stop with the
obvious and commonplace. Novel, uncommon, or
irregular devices, whatever they appear to be, are
also reached if it be proved as a matter of fact that
they were widely offered or dealt in under terms
or courses of dealing [that] established [them] as
‘investment contracts.’ Id.

Finally, the Court concluded:
The test rather is what character the instrument is

given in commerce by the terms of the offer, the
plan of distribution, and the economic

. ead
mansicegney Fest. +

11

inducements held out to the prospect. In the
enforcement of an act such as this it is not
inappropriate that promoters' offering be judged as
being what they were represented to be.’

Id. at 352-353.

The Court found the oil and gas interests offered by Joiner
were investment contracts. In doing so, it refrained from
providing a test to identify “investment contracts.” Nothing,
however, in the Court's decision hints that fixed-return or debt
securities should be excluded from classification as “investment
contracts.”

Three years later, in SEC v. W.J. Howey Co., 328 U.S.
293 (1946), again considered what constituted an investment
contract. The Court made two important observations in Howey.

First, it noted that the term "investment contracts" was not
a defined term either in the statute itself or the legislative history.
However, the term had been in use under the state securities or
Blue Sky laws where "it had been broadly construed by state
courts so as to afford the investing public, a full measure of
protection.”

Then, the Court went on to note that “investment
contracts”’:

[E}mbodies a flexible rather than static principle,
one that is capable of adaptation to meet the

| This statement is particularly important in the present case because
it emphasizes what the investors thought they were getting. In this case, the
contracts were technically cast in the form of fixed payments for rent of the
phone. From the perspective of many investors, they were making an
investment which would receive a return on that investment, and would not
participate in the management of the investment. They were buying an
investment contract, not a contract for the payment of rent on a payphone.

12

countless and variable schemes devised by those
who seek the use of the money of others on the
promise of profits. Jd. at 299.

Finally, the Court announced the now famous test for an
investment contract:

[A]n investment contract for purposes of the
Securities Act means a contract, transaction or
scheme whereby a person invests his money in a
common enterprise and is led to expect profits
solely from the efforts of the promoter or a third
party. Jd. at 298-299.

Based on this discussion, the Court concluded the scheme
in Howey was an investment contract. Again, there is nothing in
the language used or the Court's discussion which suggests that
the profit can not be in the form of fixed payments or interest on
debt securities. In fact, the SEC notes that two of the state cases
relied upon by the Court in Howey involved fixed income or
"guaranteed" returns. See People v. White, 12 P.2d 1078 (Cal.
App. 1932) and Stevens v. Liberty Packing Corp., 161 A. 193,
195 (N.J. Ch. 1932).°

The only support for the Eleventh Circuit's position is the
dicta in Reves v. Ernst & Young, 494 U.S. 56 (1990). In Reves,
the Court established when promissory notes would be securities.
In footnote 4, the Court discussed the concept of “profits.” It first
said: “We emphasize that by ‘profits’ in the context of notes, we
mean ‘a valuable return on an investment,’ which undoubtedly
includes interest.”

Then it added the following dicta:

For a detailed discussion of these cases and the other state and lower
federal court cases cited in Howey, see the Author's treatise, Joseph C. Long,
Blue Sky Law §§1:17-1:18 (2002).

ae 6 A ae 9 gag Mem OA 5

ek et EL TE TS aN TL sete

13

We have, of course defined "profit" more
restrictively in applying the Howey test to what
are claimed to be investment contracts. [Citing
Forman] To apply this restrictive definition to the
determination whether an instrument is a "note"
would be to suggest that notes paying a rate of
interest not keyed to the earnings of the enterprise
are not "notes" within the meaning of the
Securities Acts. Because the Howey test is
irrelevant to the issue before us..., we decline to
extend its definition of "profits" beyond the realm
in which that definition applies. 494 U.S. at 953,
N.4.

The first part of this dicta appears to confirm the Eleventh
Circuit's interpretation of United Housing. The Court, however,
makes clear that its statement is dicta because the issue was not
before the Court. Further, the last part of the dicta indicates that
the Court might re-consider the definition of "profits" in respect
to investment contracts in an appropriate case. The present case
presents the Court with such an opportunity.

Cc. EXCLUSION OF FIXED PAYMENTS OR
INTEREST FROM "PROFITS" UNDER THE
HOWEY TEST FINDS NO SUPPORT IN
THE STATE LAW ORIGINS OF THE
CONCEPT OF "INVESTMENT
CONTRACTS"

In Howey, the Court indicated that Congress had taken the
definition of a security from previous state statutes. That
definition, as were many sections of the originally proposed
Securities Act of 1933, was drawn from the Uniform Sale of
Securities Act adopted by the National Conference of
Commissioners on Uniform State Laws. In turn, the Uniform
Sale of Securities Act incorporated features of earlier state

14

securities. The words "investment contract" first appeared in the
Arkansas Securities Act of 1913.’

Because of this incorporation of state law, the Howey
Court indicated that it was appropriate to look to state law case
for the definition of "investment contracts," since no definition
was included in either the Securities Act of 1933 or the Uniform
Sale of Securities Act. The Court said:

By including an investment contract within the
scope of §2(1) of the Securities Act, Congress was
using a term the meaning of which had been
crystalized by this prior judicial interpretation. It
is therefore reasonable to attach that meaning to
the term as used by Congress, especially since
such a definition is consistent with the statutory
aims.

Howey, 328 U.S. at 298.

The Court then proceeded to examine some eight state
cases decided prior to the enactment of the Securities Act of
1933.'° As noted above, SEC pointed out that two of these cases,
People v. White, 12 P.2d 1078 (Cal. App. 1932) and Stevens v.
Liberty Packing Corp., 161 A. 193, 195 (NJ. Ch. 1932),
involved a fixed income or "guaranteed" return. Clearly, these
cases do not support the exclusion of fixed-return or interest-
bearing instruments from coverage under investment contracts.

As the Howey Court noted, the first case to attempt to
define "investment contract" was State v. Gopher Tire &

91913 Ark. Acts 214, at 904. See the Author's treatise, 12 Joseph C.
Long, Blue Sky Law §1:16 (2002).

For a discussion of those eight cases, see the Author's treatise, 12
Joseph C. Long, Blue Sky Law §1:17 (2002).

<p SRE SR TNE alae

15

Rubber Co., 146 Minn. 52, 177 N.W. 937 (1920). The court in
Gopher concluded that an investment contract was a contract
involving "[t}he placing of capital or laying out of money in a way
intended to secure income or profit from its employment..."
[Emphasis added.] The use of the word “income” clearly would
cover the receipt of interest or a fixed-return payment.
Subsequent Minnesota cases affirm this conclusion.

State v. Evans, 154 Minn. 95, 191 N.W. 425 (1922),
involved the sale of an interest in land under an installment plan.
The contract provided that the investor could surrender his
interest in the land and be paid a bonus of seventy dollars per
each thousand invested over and above the return of his
investment. The court found the arrangement to be an investment
contract under the Gopher test. Five years later, Webster v.
U.S.I. Realty Co., 170 Minn. 360, 212 N.W. 806 (1927), a
similar land sale contract with a cash out option which paid
interest was found to be an investment contract. See also Kerst
v. Nelson, 171 Minn. 191, 213 N.W. 904 (1927).

Examples of interest bearing or fixed-return contracts
being held to be investment contracts was not confined to
Minnesota. For example, both Fidelity Inv. Ass'n v. Emmerson,
318 Ill. 548, 149 N.E. 530 (1925) and McCormick v. Shively,
267 Ill. App. 99 (1932) involve such agreements.''

From these cases and other pre-1933 state cases, it
becomes abundantly clear that the Eleventh Circuit's restriction on

**In fact, the Illinois Act of that period defined investment contract.
It indicated that a contract involving:

a sum of money [to be paid] at a future date, either with or
without interest, in consideration of a payment or payments
made or contemplated to be made by such purchaser or
holder, ... are hereinafter referred to as investment contracts.

Cahill's Revised Statutes 1931, Ch.12, 9259(1).

16

"profits" does not find support in the early state cases. Investment
contract, prior to 1933, involved the expectation of the receipt of
income in the form of profits, interest, or the payment of a fixed
return.

D. THE PUBLIC POLICY BEHIND THE
SECURITIES ACT OF 1933 DOES NOT
SUPPORT THE EXCLUSION OF FIXED
PAYMENTS OR INTEREST FROM
"PROFITS" UNDER THE HOWEY TEST

Probably the most important argument against adopting
the Eleventh Circuit's exclusion of fixed-payments and interest
from a "profit" comes from the purpose and public policy behind
the Securities Act of 1933. The purpose of the Act was to ensure
that the investing public had the necessary information to make
an informed decision whether to purchase the security. The public
policy behind the Act should be to define a definition of a
"security" in such a way that all investors who need such
information are covered by the Act, and those who do not are
excluded. Cf SEC v. Ralston Purina Co., 346 U.S. 119 (1953).

The Court in Howey properly identified the category of
investors who need the protection of the Act, when it said: “[AJll
the elements of a profit-seeking business venture are present here.
The investors provide the capital and share in the earnings
and profits; the promoters manage, control and operate the
enterprise.” Jd. at 299. [Emphasis added. ]

Put another way, a security is present when the capital
providing function is separated from the management function.
The investor supplies at least part of the capital. The promoter or
a third party supplies the management and control of the
operation. The investor needs to be supplied information about
the company, its product, and the company's success in the
marketing of the product. Further, the investor needs information
about the people to whom he is entrusting his money.

EN a ee

17

Finally, the investor needs to be informed about his
investment. Does it carry the right to vote in the entities affairs
and to what extent? What return does the investment yield and

does that yield vary, or is it fixed? Will this return be paid as

long as the entity is solvent or is it dependent upon the profits of
the enterprise? Where does the investment rank in bankruptcy
and liquidation? What are the chances that investor will actually
receive his return?

There are two types of investments where the investor
does not need this information. As the above quoted language
from Howey points out, the first example is where the investor
actively engages in the operation or management of the enterprise.
An example of this active participation is the general partnership
where all partners exercise their statutory partnership rights to
manage the partnership. Under this scenario, the investor, by
participating in management, is in control of his own destiny.
Further, the investor, by virtue of his participation, has access to
the information necessary to make an informed investment
decision.

The second type of investment is where the investment is
totally passive. An example of this type of investment is where
the investor, himself,'? purchases a piece of raw land. He does
not plan to develop the land or use it for agricultural purposes.
The land is to remain idle. The investor hopes, however, that the
land will appreciate in value. However, such appreciation is not
related to anyone's concerted effort.

The above quoted language from Howey serve to
eliminate the first situation where there is no need for investor
protection. It indicates that there must be an investment with the
expectation of a profit and the investor is passive. These are the

*?If he hires someone to exercise his special expertise in selecting the
land, then an investment contract results because the selection process is the
necessary active element.

18

first and third elements of the Howey test, investment with the
expectation of a profit to come from the efforts of others.

The passive investment scenario is eliminated by the
Howey common enterprise element. When properly construed,
it requires nothing more than two people joining together to
accomplish a common goal of making a profit for the investor.
To accomplish this goal, someone other than the investor must

actively generate the expected profits.

Thus, the Howey test is designed to meet the public policy
of eliminating those persons who do not need the protection of the
securities acts under “the investment contract” portion of the
definition of a security. Or, as will be developed below, it
identifies the elements of "securitiness" which should be applied

to all parts of the definition.

In construing the various parts of the Howey definition,
this public policy must be the pole star. No artificial element or
requirement should be added which does not aid in identifying
those people the Act was intended to cover.

A prime example of such an artificial test is the division
over the meaning of “common enterprise.” The Sixth and
Seventh Circuits, based upon the facts of Howey, claim that
there must be multiple investors. The Ninth Circuit requires the
promoter or third party to share in the profits of the enterprise.

Neither of these requirements furthers the goal of
identifying persons to be protected. A single investor buying
what otherwise would be an investment contract needs the same
protection as when two or more investors buy the same
investment. Likewise, the investor who receives all the profits
generated by the promoter or third party needs the protection of
the Act, if he is passive, as does a similar investor who only

receives part of the profits.

19

PIABA submits that the Eleventh Circuit's elimination of
interest and fixed-returns from the definition of profit is merely
another artificial restriction. The Court in Reves in the footnote
quoted above recognized that for the purposes of promissory
notes "profits" should include interest. The same is obviously
true for bonds, debentures, and other evidences of indebtedness
contained in the statutory definition.

The question then becomes whether there is something
inherent in the nature of an "investment contract" that requires
different treatment. PIABA submits that the answer to this
question is “no.”

PIABA believes the Howey test outlines the elements of
“securitiness.". PIABA also believes that these elements are
found in all the enumerated terms in the definition of a security.
Therefore, "profit" should not be treated differently under the
"investment contract" portion of the definition than it is when
dealing with other portions of the definitions such as notes,
bonds, debentures, or other evidences of indebtedness. A "profit"
for the purpose of identifying those persons needing the
protection of the securities is a "profit" whether it takes the form
ofa dividend, interest, or payment under a fixed-return obligation.

The Eleventh Circuit, by excluding interests and payment
under fixed-return obligations, has simply created another
irrelevant artificial test which does not help accomplish the
purpose and public policy behind the Securities Act of 1933.
This Court should strongly reject such effort.

E. EXCLUSION OF FIXED PAYMENTS OR
INTEREST FROM "PROFITS" UNDER THE
HOWEY TEST IS CONTRARY TO THE
HOLDINGS IN MANY OTHER LOWER
FEDERAL COURT DECISIONS

Two federal district courts, in addition to the trial court in
the present case, SEC v. ETS Payphones, Inc., 123 F. Supp.2d

20

1349 (N.D.Ga. 2000), rev’d _ F.3d__ (11 Cir. 2002), have
held that payphone schemes similar to that in the present case are
investment contracts. SEC v. Phoenix Telecom, LLC, 2000
U.S. Dist. LEXIS 22314 (N.D. Ga. Aug. 2, 2000) and SEC v.
Alpha Telecom, Inc., 187 F. Supp.2d 1250 (D. Ore. 2002).

Since the United Housing decision, both the Third and
the Ninth Circuits have rejected the exclusion of interest or fixed
payments from the Howey definition of profit. In doing so, they
have held that fixed-return or debt securities can be investment

contracts.

The Third Circuit in SEC v. Infinity Group Co., 212
F.3d 180, 189 (3d Cir. 2000), stated "the definition of security
does not turn on whether the investor receives a variable or fixed
rate of return.” Similarly, in United States v. Carman, 577 F.2d
556, 563 (9th Cir. 1978), the court rejected the defendant's
argument that the student loans involved in that case were not
investment contracts. The contracts provided that the return on
these student loans carry a fixed interest return. Further, the
interest was guaranteed by the federal government. The Ninth
Circuit held these contracts to be investment contracts. See also
United States v. Farris, 614 F.2d 634, 641 (9th
Cir.1979)(promissory notes on real estate) and United States v.
Jones, 712 F.2d 1316 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 986
(1983)(sale and lease back of semi-trailer).

Finally, the Eleventh Circuit decision in the present case
is in conflict with other binding decisions by the Fifth Circuit
prior to the creation of the Eleventh Circuit. In Bonner v. City
of Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206 (11th Cir. 1981)(en banc), the
Eleventh Circuit adopted as precedent all decisions of the former
Fifth Circuit decided prior to October 1, 1981.

Immediately before the creation of the Eleventh Circuit,
the Fifth Circuit in Meason v. Bank of Miami, 652 F.2d 542,
550, N.17 (Sth Cir. 1981) recognizing that this Court had never

21

had a note case before it, rejected the district court's holding that
an investment was not a security, merely because the investor
received a fixed-return on the investment.” It stated the
definition of "profits" in the United Housing case "seems to us
to be dubious value in [the note] context." Similarly, in Bell v.
Health-Mor, Inc., 549 F.2d 342 (Sth Cir. 1977), the Fifth Circuit
found an investment contract where the purchaser of a vacuum
cleaner was to receive ten dollars for every referral made. The ten
dollars was payable, if the referral allowed a demonstration of the
vacuum whether or not a sale was made.

F. EXCLUSION OF FIXED PAYMENTS OR
INTEREST FROM "PROFITS" UNDER THE
HOWEY TEST IS CONTRARY TO THE
POSITION TAKEN BY THE SEC

. As the SEC notes in its Brief Seeking Certiorari, 23-24,
and its brief on the merits, both the exclusion of interest and fixed
payments from the definition of "profit" runs contrary to the long
standing position of the SEC in its administrative actions. See
e.g., In re Abbett, Sommer & Co., 44 S.E.C. 104, 1969 WL
95369 (1969) and In re Union Home Loans, 26 S.E.C. Dkt
1517, 1982 WL 522493 (Dec. 16, 1982).

Further, the Commission has argued in its enforcement
cases involving "Prime Bank" and various other schemes that
such schemes are investment contracts. This position is taken in
spite of the fact that most of the schemes provide the investor
with a guaranteed rate of return. See also SEC v. Herula, C.A.
No. 02-154-ML (D. R.I. June 20, 2003)(Prime Bank); SEC v.
Yoder, No. #:03-CV-0418AF (N.D. Ind., filed June 19, 2003);

**Meason indicates other courts have not accepted the idea

{ that a

fixed return disqualifies the finding of an investment contract., citing Khadem

v. Equity Sec. Corp., 494 F.2d 1224, 1229 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S.

pnd may SEC v. Nat'l Executive Planners, Ltd., 503 F.Supp. 1066
-D.N.C. 1980); and SEC v. Weeks Sec. Inc., 483 F.Supp. 1239, 1243-

(S.D. Tenn. 1980). ” castes

22

SEC v. Capital Holdings, L.L.C., CA No. 03-RB-0923 (D.
Colo., filed May 21, 2003).

This argument appears to have been accepted by the
courts. For example, SEC v. SG, Ltd., 265 F.3d 42, 54 (1st Cir.
2001) involved virtual reality shares. Relying heavily upon
Joiner, the First Circuit found the shares to be investment
contracts. In discussing the "profits" element of Howey, the court
noted: “SG flatly guaranteed that investments in the shares of the
privileged company would be profitable, yielding monthly returns
of 10% and annual returns of 25%. In our view, these profit-
related guarantees constitutes not-very-subtle form of economic
inducement....”

G. EXCLUSION OF FIXED PAYMENTS OR
INTEREST FROM "PROFITS" UNDER THE
HOWEY TEST IS CONTRARY TO THE
POSITION TAKEN BY MANY STATE
COURTS

Many state courts have rejected the idea that fixed fee
agreements and debt securities can not be investment contracts.
These courts have construed the definition of "investment
contracts” under the state securities acts to cover both fixed
payment agreements and promissory notes. See e.g., State v.
Gerisch, 49 P.3d 392 (Idaho 2002); Mosley v. State, 253 Ga.
App. 710, 560 S.E.2d 305 (2002); Bayhi v. State, 629 So.2d 782
(Ala. Crim. App. 1993); State v. Philips, 108 Wash.2d 627, 741
P.2d 24 (1987), all promissory note cases. See also Manns v.
Skolnik, 666 N.E.2d 1236 (Ind. App. 1996)(a contractual
obligation to pay fixed return case). The most recent of this series,
Rasch v. State, 579 S.E.2d 817 (Ga. App. 2003), was decided
while the petition for certiorari was pending before this Court.
More specifically, two state cases, King v. Pope, 91 S.W.3d 314
(Tenn. 2002)(a payphone case with fixed monthly payments
similar to ETS), and Szpumar v. State, 783 N.E.2d 1213 (Ind.

Qh STS

23

App. 2003)(another payphone scheme), have held that payphone
sales involve the sale of an investment contract.

Several of these state decisions speak directly to the
question of whether fixed fees or interest can qualify as “profits.”
In Payable Accounting Corp. v. McKinley, 667 P.2d 15, 19
(Utah 1983), the court said "the critical factor is not whether the
rate of return is fixed, but whether the ‘investment transaction is
so structured that the money to pay off the investor eventually
will be generated by the venture or enterprise.”

In People v. Figueroa, 41 Cal. 3d 714, 715 P.2d 680, 224
Cal. Rptr. 7119 (1986)(en banc) also addressed the issue of fixed
payments, saying:

Many "investment contracts” ...contemplate both a
variable and a fixed return. The investment
contracts in [People v. Coster, 151 Cal. App.3d
1188, 199 Cal. Rptr. 253 (App. 1983)], for
example purported to give the investor a 20
percent "fixed" return on principal and 1 percent
of the gross company income. [Citation omitted. ]
Both kinds of return, as well as a recoupment of
principal depended on the success of the
business.... It would be illogical to [to exclude] a
promissory note transaction simply because the
promised return ... is to take the form of interest at
a "fixed" rate. Id. at 740, 715 P.2d at 698, 224 Cal.
Rptr. at 737. [Emphasis added. ]

H. EXCLUSION OF FIXED PAYMENTS OR
INTEREST FROM “PROFITS” UNDER THE
HOWEY TEST IS CONTRARY TO THE
POSITION TAKEN BY STATE SECURITIES
AGENCIES

Likewise, the state securities agencies themselves have
rejected the idea that an instrument calling for either the payment

24

of interest or a fixed fee can not be investment contracts. As
noted in Point I, at least 18 state securities agencies have brought
administrative enforcement actions against ETS. New York has
also brought an action against another company offering a similar
fixed return plan. State of New York v. Justin, 237 F. Supp.2d
368 (W.D.N.Y. 2002). At least two of these state ETS cases were
contested cases, and both were decided after the Eleventh
Circuit's opinion in the present case. Both rejected the Eleventh
Circuit's position. In Stigall v. Sec. of State, Case No:EN-18727
Final Decision (Sept. 6, 2002), slip op. at 13. the Georgia
Commissioner said:

The Commissioner rejects the Eleventh Circuit's
analysis of the third element of Howey as being
inextricably intertwined with its narrow view of
“profits.” ... [T]he fact that there is a contractual
guarantee of payment which might be satisfied
from the capital of the enterprise is as irrelevant in
this case as it would be in a case involving a
promissory note. "The statutory policy of
affording broad protection to investors is not to be
thwarted by unrealistic and irrelevant formulae."

Likewise, in Department of Banking and Finance v.
Mehl, DOAH Case No. 02-0526, 2002 WL 31452438 (Fla. Sec.
Div., Final Order, Oct. 17, 2002), the Florida Comptroller
rejected the Eleventh Circuit approach under the Act. The
Comptroller said "Florida law does not use such a narrow
construction of ‘profits,’ it has not distinguished between fixed or
variable returns to the investor." As outlined in Point I, sixteen
other state securities agencies have also taken action against ETS
under the investment contract analysis. A number of new orders

25

have been entered during this Court’s deliberation whether to
grant certiorari.’

In summary, there is no basis in the language of the
Securities Act, the prior case law from this Court, the history of
the concept of “investment contract,” or the public policy and
purpose behind the Act to support the Eleventh Circuit's
exclusion of interest and payment under a fixed-return contract
from the definition of "profits" under the Howey test. Further,
such limitation runs contrary to the holdings of other federal
courts, the SEC, the state courts, and the state securities agencies
which have held that interest may constitute a profit for
investment contracts purposes.

POINT I

IN REVERSING THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT,
THE COURT SHOULD CONDUCT AN
OVERALL REVIEW OF "SECURITINESS"

Assuming that the Court is willing to overturn the
Eleventh Circuit's decision, PIABA suggests that the Court can
accomplish the result of assuring that interest and payments under
fixed-return contracts are included in the definition of "profits" in
either of two ways. The easiest and simplest approach would be
to rule that interest or any fixed income can be considered a
"profit" under the "profit" element of the Howey test. The second
way is for the Court to use this case as a vehicle for a broad
rethinking of the elements of an “investment contract” and of a
“security” in general. PIABA urges the Court to follow the
second choice.

4Seee.g., Inre Mack, 2003 WL 21269563 (Ohio Dept.Comm., May
30, 2003); In re Ray, 2003 WL 21269561 (Ohio Dept.Comm.,, May 22, 2003);
and In re Ellsworth, 2003 WL 21207816 (Mo.Div. Sec., April 29, 2003).

26

A. THE COURT SHOULD NOT SIMPLY
REDEFINE "PROFITS" TO INCLUDE
INTEREST AND FIXED PAYMENTS

As noted above, the simplest way to resolve the present
case is to reverse the Eleventh Circuit. It can, at the same time,
disaffirm the dicta in both United Housing and Reves. Then, the
Court can make crystal clear that "profits" under Howey includes
both interest bearing agreements and fixed-return contracts. In so
doing, the Court would bring the definition of "profits" under the
investment contract portion of the definition in line with the
definition "profits" used in the Reves case for promissory notes.

While this approach will accomplish the appropriate result
and is attractive because of its simplicity, PLABA would urge the
Court not to limit its pronouncement in this way. This approach
is merely applying another band-aid to an area where prior case
law by this Court, as well as the other federal courts, is in serious
confusion. This confusion has resulted in losing sight of the
purpose of, and policy goals behind the Securities Acts.

B. THE COURT SHOULD UNDERTAKE A
RECONSIDERATION OF THE WHOLE
CONCEPT OF WHAT IS A SECURITY AND
IDENTIFY THE ELEMENTS OF
"SECURITINESS"

PLABA urges the Court to use the present case as a vehicle
for a broad re-thinking of the elements of an investment contract
and of a security in general. It has been almost sixty years since
the landmark decision in SEC v. W.J. Howey Co. During this
period, the Court has dealt with the definition of a security as well
as the definition of an investment contract on a piece-meal basis.
This approach has resulted in a great of uncertainty in an area
where predictability is extremely important.

PIABA believes that time is overdue for the Court to take
the time to re-think the entire concept of what is a security. In

27

doing so, the Court can harmonize its various pronouncements
and develop a single logical approach to this issue. The result
should be a definition of investment contracts, and "securitiness"
in general, which is consistent with the intent of Congress in
passing the Securities Act of 1933.

a In performing this task, the Court should strive to
eliminate a number of artificial tests which have grown up under
various elements of the Howey test. These artificial or
mechanical tests do not help identify the people which Congress
intended to have the protection of the Securities Act. These tests
have developed largely because of the imprecision of the Court in
its past pronouncements. These tests merely burden the definition
of investment contracts, and securities in general, with restrictions
or limitations which has no relevance to defining that which
Congress sought to regulate by passing the Securities Act of 1933.

This Court, in many other areas, has sought to return to
the original intent of Congress as determined by the language of
the statute itself, its legislative history, and historical development
as gleaned from similar statutes which Congress sought to use as
4 drafting model. The Court needs to undertake such a re-analysis
in the securities area and develop, in a consistent and rational
way, what are the elements of “securitiness.”

PIABA believes the Court in Howey long ago identified
the four proper elements of a security. As discussed above in
Point ID, these are an investment in active enterprises motivated
by the expectation of a profit or return to the investor where some
one other than the investor will perform the managerial and
~—ecagare functions necessary to generate that profit or

The investment should not be limited to money, but
should include services performed or the use of property given to
the enterprise.

28

The enterprise must be actively doing something to
generate the expected profit. Further, it should make no
difference whether there is only one investor or many. Likewise,
it is irrelevant whether the promoter or third person participates
in the profits or return.

The profits or return should include interest, dividends,
and fixed payments. Further, it should not be limited to the
payment of money, but should include the distribution of other

securities or property.

Finally, to be excluded under the efforts of others test, the
right to participate in management must come from the ownership
of the securities and not the holding of an office such as an officer
or director of a corporation. Also, the right to participate in
management must be a right to directly participate in the
management of the enterprise, and not be indirect management as
in the case of election of the directors of a corporation.

To confirm these elements of "securitiness", the Court
should apply the above elements to stock in a corporation. The
Court in Landreth Timber Co. v. Landreth, 471 U.S. 681, 105
S.Ct. 2297 (1985), held that stock was the quid essential example
of a security.

To obtain stock in a corporation, the shareholder must
invest money, property, or services in the corporation. The
corporation is actively doing something, such as manufacturing
goods or performing services, to generate a profit. The investor
has made his investment in the corporation in the expectation that
he will receive a profit in the form of dividends or an appreciation
in the value of his stock.

Finally, his stock ownership may or may not give him the
right to participate in the election of the board of directors and on
certain extraordinary events such as merger or sale of assets. Yet
this right is a derivative right. It does not allow the shareholder
to direct the day-to-day operations, merely elect the directors who

RR elle 2 ag OEE eee ee ee,

oe we

——_ OL CLE ce

29

are responsible for such operations. Stock then has all the
essential elements of "securitiness" identified by Howey.

A similar result will be reached, if the elements are
applied to bonds and debentures. The active enterprise element
will eliminate from coverage under the Act of those notes and
evidences of indebtedness used to fund the purchase of car, boat,
or home where the purchaser is consuming the goods for his own
personal use rather than employing them in an active enterprise
to generate a profit.

After over ninety years of securities regulation, it is time
to positively identify the elements of the interests to be regulated
rather than relying upon a laundry list of items which might or
might not carry the elements of a security. PIABA urges the
a to use the present case to undertake such an identification

SUMMARY

Based upon the above outlined cases and agreements,
PIABA urges the Court to reverse the Eleventh Circuit and find
the ETS interest to be investment contracts. In doing so, PIABA
urges the Court to reject the idea that a "profit" under the Howey
test can not be interest or the payment of a fixed return. Finally,
PIABA urges the Court to undertake a re-thinking of the area of
what is a security. In doing so, the Court should isolate the
elements of "securitiness" common to all securities: PIABA
believes that these elements are found in the Howey test as
interpreted above.

Dated: June 26, 2003
Norman, OK 73072

30

Respectfully submitted,

e Public Investors
Arbitration Bar Association

2609 Acacia Ct.
Norman, OK 73072
(405) 364-5471

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0636%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
