# Amicus Curiae Brief — Illinois v. Lidster

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0632%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 419

## Text

No. 02-1060

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

STATE OF ILLINOIS, PETITIONER
Vv.

Rosvent S. LIDSTER

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

CHRISTOPHER A. WRAY
Acting Assistant Attorney
General

MICHAEL R. DREEBEN
Deputy Solicitor General

PATRICIA A. MILLETT
Assistant to the Solicitor
General

PATTY MERKAMP STEMLER
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D. C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

eS
Neen ss

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether an informational checkpoint, at which police
officers briefly stop all oncoming motorists to distribute
flyers that seek information concerning a hit-and-run
accident that occurred at the location of the checkpoint,
violates the Fourth Amendment as construed in City of
Indianapolis v. Edmond, 531 U.S. 32 (2002).

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

RES GED GR GD cccserncsesnsesrssssssnsnecsesscsesessenenssessess
IID, ccccccreneemmeemnenemmnemsseesmmnemacsmememesnemecemesmenenenees
I GS GRINE cence
Argument:
Informational checkpoints that advance important
public safety interests and that intrude minimally
on motorists’ liberty do not violate the Fourth
REED cnn

A.

The Fourth Amendment permits vehicle check-
points where the government interests at stake
justify the measure, there are explicit constraints
on police discretion, and the intrusion on motorists
GN cncenennesenmneenneneneee

B. ‘'nformational checkpoints advance substantial
governmental interests distinct from the gen-
eral interest in crime detection, and they are
reasonable under this Court’s balancing test ..........
1. Informational checkpoints effectively promote
eee
a. Effective investigation of crime ............
b. Protection of roadway safety .................
2. Canvassing motorists to seek the volun-
tary assistance of witnesses to specific
crimes serves a public interest distinct
from the general interest in crime
GOURD ccnnsennesssscsnnnscssmnsnssnesessemnsnemnessssesmeseeneeses
3. The intrusion on motorists’ liberty is
ee
SD ce

(IIT)

18

& 8

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 532 U.S. 318

(2001) ......02++ saamnumemmmemanseane 17, 23
Breithaupt v. Abram, 352 U.S. 432 (1957) .. 14-15
Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47 (1979) 7,9
Burns v. Commonwealth, 541 S.E.2d 872 (Va.),

cert. denied, 534 U.S. 1043 (2001) 13
Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S. 433 (1973) .... 7
Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967) ........... 19, 20
Cardwell v. Lewis, 417 U.S. 583 (1974) 7
Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42 (1970) . 7
City of Indianapolis v. Edmond, 531 U.S. 32

(2000) - passim
Colorado v. Bertine, 479 U.S. 367 (1987) ... 22
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971) ............ 21
Delaware v. Prowse, 440 U.S. 648 (1979) ..........00000 6, 12, 17, 25
Drushella v. City of Elgin, Illinois, No. 86 C 2307,

1987 WL 5902 (N.D. Ill. Jan. 26, 1987) 22
Ferguson v. City of Charleston, 532 U.S. 67 (2001) ........ 10, 19
Frank v. Maryland, 359 U.S. 360 (1959) 19, 22
Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. 307 (1978) ............... 7
Maryland v. Wilson, 519 U.S. 408 (1997) ..........cccccccececeeees 24
Michigan Dep't of State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S. 444

GERI erunssnsessesmmanenasensnnmeessnmnennementenemnnn passim
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) ... 21
New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325 (1985) 7
New York v. Class, 475 U.S. 106 (1986) ...... = 24
Pennsylvania v. Labron, 518 U.S. 938 (1996) ...............+- 24
Pennsylvania v. Mimms, 434 U.S. 106 (1977) 0.0.2... 7
Reed v. Gardner, 986 F.2d 1122 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 510 U.S. 947 (1993) 22
Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218 (1973) ............. ll
Segura v. United States, 468 U.S. 796 (1984) 26, 27
Skinner v. Railway Labor Executives’ Ass'n,

GD GE, GD ccna 17

V
Cases—Continued: Page

South Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364 (1976) ....... 7, 22, 24
Seep Ce, Gla, Ge eee B Ge cerrerserneseseeneemn 24
United States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S. 873

a sehen iin iliaatatastinensitee 7,17
United States v. Drayton, 536 U.S. 194 (2002) ......... 12, 21, 26
United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543

(1976) - lata tienen titearinatimaeaes passim
United States v. Montoya de Hernandez, 473 U.S.

ee eens sedaiiaaralaa aeasnarenmaanaapenemttios 18
United States v. Ortiz, 422 U.S. 891 (1975) 0..........cccccceoee 26
United States v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798 (1982) ...........-cesssseses0: 17, 22
Wyoming v. Houghton, 526 U.S. 295 (1999) ............ccceceeeee 24

‘onstitution and statute:

ee ee passim
Prosecutorial Remedies and Other Tools to End the

Exploitation of Children Today Act of 2003, Pub. L.

No. 108-21, § 303, 117 Stat. 662-663 (to be codified at 42

TED ectnatnsinnstenstreinenstinsesennnnepenteiinaeeniniieenennnaren 14

Miscellaneous:

Bureau of Transp. Statistics, U.S. Dep’t of Transp.,

Nat'l Transp. Statistics 2002, sreainbienennee 17
148 Cong. Rec. $8483 (daily ed. Sept. 10, 2002) ................... 14
Dep't of Police, Village of Lombard, Operation of

Departmental Vehicles, Gen. Order No. 240-20

Gem, SR, GEG cccenenssczsssensssensssssnsssssssssmmneseensenmemsmrassscnssenessese: 25
Department of Transp. and Related Agencies Appro-

priations for Fiscal Year 1998: Hearings Before the

Subcomm. on Transp. and Related Agencies of the

Senate Comm. on Appropriations, 105th Cong., 1st
ee 12

VI
Miscellaneous—Continued: Page
Fed. Highway Admin., U.S. Dep’t of Transporta-
tion, Traffic Control Devices Handbook (1983) ...........-.-. 25

Brenda Kilby, Roadblocks Used to Get Kidnapping
Information, Tulsa World (July 23, 1995), available in

1995 WL 5614662 13
Dianne Klein, Sudden Death on the Streets, Los Angeles
Times (May 1, 1994) 16

Stephen Moore & Julian L. Simon, The Greatest
Century That Ever Was: 25 Miraculous Trends
of the Past 100 Years, (Cato Inst., Policy Analysis
No. 364) (Dec. 15, 1999) 12
National Highway Traffic Safety Admin., U.S. Dep’t of
Transp.:
Traffic Safety Facts 2001: A Compilation of Motor
Vehicle Crash Data from the Fatality Analysis
Reporting System and the General Estimates
System (2002), .......... 12
Traffic Safety Fdcts 2001: Rural/Urban Compari-
son (2002), .............0++« 15
Office of Justice Programs, Dep’t of Justice, Non-
family Abducted Children: National Estimates

and Characteistics (Oct. 2002) 13
Phoenix Cops Look for Missing Girl, Associated
Press (Jan. 7, 1999) ..........ccssesereeees meeeteiatipanmnen 13

Pat Reavy et al., Sister’s Story: New Details Emerge,
Deseret News (June 19, 2002), 13
Research on the Problem of Violent Aggressive Driving:
Hearings Before the House Comm. on Transp. and
Infrastructure, Subcomm. on Surface Transp., 105th
Cong., Ist Sess. (1997) 16
Road Rage: Causes and Dangers of Aggressive
Driving: Hearing Before the Subcomm. on Surface
Transp. of the House Comm. on Transp. and Infra-
structure, 105th Cong., Ist Sess. (1997) eons 15

Vil

Miscellaneous—Continued: ° Page
Targeting Aggressive Drivers, Police Face
Tough Road, Washington Post (Feb. 20, 1997) .............++. 16
United States Dep’t of Transp., Analysis of the
Capital Beltway Crash Problem (Mar. 1996) .......-.---+-+++++ 15

Pe ES RE EE oe agree 2 -

ee

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 02-1060
STATE OF ILLINOIS, PETITIONER
Vv.

ROBERT S. LIDSTER

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case involves the validity under the Fourth
Amendment of a vehicle checkpoint whose purpose is to
allow law enforcement officers to provide information
to motorists about a crime and to seek the public’s
assistance in solving that crime. The Federal Bureau of
Investigation (generally in conjunction with local law
enforcement agencies), the United States Park Police of
the Department of the Interior’s National Park Service,
and the Department of Agriculture’s Forest Service
conduct similar informational checkpoints to seek infor-
mation about crimes committed within their respective
jurisdictions, to alert motorists to important public
safety and regulatory information, and to help locate
missing persons. Because such checkpoints are an
important and effective means of seeking information

(1)

2

and protecting the public, the federal government has a
substantial interest in this case.

STATEMENT

1. On August 30, 1997, the police department in
Lombard, Illinois, established an informational check-
point at the scene of a fatal hit-and-run accident. The
checkpoint was established in the same location as the
hit-and-run accident, on the same day and at approxi-
mately the same time one week later, with the purpose
of locating witnesses to the hit-and-run who could
“provide information about the offender or his vehicle.”
Pet. App. 23. Between six and twelve marked police
vehicles participated in the checkpoint with their lights
activated. Jd. at 2. Traffic slowed at the checkpoint so
that all of the cars individually approached a police
detective, who was wearing an orange reflective vest
bearing the word “Police.” As each car approached, the
officer handed a flyer to the driver requesting informa-
tion about the accident. Jbid. The flyer “ALERT[ed]”
motorists that there had been a “FATAL HIT & RUN
ACCIDENT,” and asked for “ASSISTANCE IN
IDENTIFYING THE VEHICLE AND DRIVER
INVOLVED IN THIS ACCIDENT WHICH KILLED A 70
YEAR OLD BICYCLIST.” J.A. 14. The flyer identified
the time and place of the accident, and described the
suspect vehicle. J.A. 14-15. The officer distributing the
flyers did not ask for the driver’s name, license, or
insurance information, nor did he ticket for plain-view
infractions like seatbelt violations. Each stop lasted
approximately 10 to 15 seconds. J.A. 31.

As respondent approached the officer at the check-
point, he “narrowly missed hitting [the] officer” with
his minivan. Pet. App. 6. After jumping out of the
way, the officer approached the vehicle to ask why the

3

driver had almost hit him. Jd. at 24. When respondent
answered, the officer smelled alcohol on his breath and
noticed that his speech was slurred. Jbid. The officer
then directed respondent to a side street, where
another officer performed a number of sobriety tests.
Ibid. After those tests, the police arrested respondent
for driving under the influence. /bid.

2. Respondent moved to quash his arrest and sup-
press evidence on the ground that the checkpoint was
unconstitutional. The trial court denied the motion. It
found that the decision to establish the checkpoint was
made by a supervisory official, the police operated the
checkpoint in a regularized manner, and the detention
was for a minimal period of time. J.A. 36-37. Respon-
dent subsequently was convicted at a bench trial of
driving under the influence of alcohol. Pet. App. 3.

The Illinois appellate court reversed. Pet. App. 23-
28. The appellate court concluded that this Court's
intervening decision in City of Indianapolis v. Ed-
mond, 531 U.S. 32 (2000), precluded the operation of the
informational checkpoint in this case because “the
express purpose of the roadblock was to search for
evidence of a crime,” Pet. App. 26, and “a criminal
investigation can never be the basis for a roadblock,” id.
at 27.

3. A divided Illinois Supreme Court affirmed. Pet.
App. 1-22. The supreme court concluded that, under
Edmond, the Fourth Amendment prohibits any check-
point the primary purpose of which is “general crime
control.” Jd. at 7. The court found no difference, for
Fourth Amendment purposes, between “a police in-
vestigation tool such as canvassing” for witnesses and a
checkpoint aimed at uncovering crimes committed by
the motorists themselves. /d. at 8.

4

Three Justices dissented. Pet. App. 12-22. Those
Justices interpreted Edmond to prohibit checkpoints
that are “designed to detect through ‘interrogation and
inspection * * * that any given motorist has com-
mitted some crime,’” id. at 16 (quoting Edmond, 531
U.S. at 44). The informational checkpoint here, in the
dissent’s view, was not subject to Edmond because it
was not aimed at “discovering that the subjects of the
seizure have committed some crime.” Pet. App. 14.
The dissenting Justices further reasoned that “can-
vassing for information about a deadly hit-and-run
crime that happened on the roadway would serve the
purpose of highway safety in a similar fashion to
checking licenses to ensure that only qualified drivers
are operating motor vehicles.” Jd. at 16.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Informational checkpoints are consistent with the
Fourth Amendment because the important public
safety interests effectively served by such checkpoints
outweigh the minimal intrusion imposed on motorists
using the public highways. This Court has long recog-
nized that the Fourth Amendment does not prevent
police officers from approaching individuals in public
places and seeking their voluntary cooperation in an
investigation. Informational checkpoints are an impor-
tant means by which, in a highly mobile society, law
enforcement officers can similarly advise motorists that
a crime has been committed and seek information and
their voluntary assistance in solving it. Informational
checkpoints are commonly used to alert the motoring
public to the disappearance of a child or to identify
witnesses to crimes committed near roadways. Pro-
viding important information to motorists about crimes
that endanger public safety and affording those

5

individuals the opportunity voluntarily to assist the
police in the investigation of those crimes promotes
responsible citizenship and is vital for law enforcement
to operate effectively in a free society.

When, as in the case at hand, informational check-
points are designed to canvas possible witnesses to
vehicular crimes committed on the public roadways, the
checkpoints also directly advance the public interest in
roadway safety, in the same manner as the sobriety
checkpoints previously upheld by this Court against
Fourth Amendment challenge. Informational check-
points are often the only practicable means of locating
witnesses to such crimes in order to assess liability
accurately and ultimately to remove dangerous drivers
from the roadway.

Those important public interests outweigh the neg-
ligible intrusion informational checkpoints impose on
motorists. As this Court has recognized, travelers on
the public roadways are already subject to a variety of
limitations on their freedom of movement and an
ongoing duty to submit to stops or inspections for
roadway safety purposes. Against that backdrop, the
10 to 15 second stop that occurred here, during which a
uniformed officer provided all drivers with a flyer
seeking information about a crime, imposes no
appreciable intrusion on motorists’ liberty. The regu-
larized manner in which the checkpoint was operated
and the informational nature of the interchange with
motorists, moreover, eliminated any subjective intru-
sion on the motorists.

The Illinois Supreme Court did not deny the impor-
tant public interests served by the informational
checkpoint, nor did it disagree with the minimally intru-
sive character of the brief stop. The court instead
concluded that the fact that tle informational check-

6

point advanced what it considered to be general crime
control purposes made it per se invalid under the
Fourth Amendment. In so holding, the court found the
informational checkpoint functionally indistinguishable
from the narcotics-detection checkpoint invalidated by
this Court in City of Indianapolis v. Edmond, 531 U.S.
32 (2000).

Edmond, however, proscribed checkpoints designed
both to uncover hitherto unknown criminal activity and
to gather evidence implicating the seized motorists in
those crimes. The narcotics checkpoint in Edmond thus
implicated the Fourth Amendment’s protection against
seizures and searches designed to incriminate the
target. The informational checkpoint conducted here
bears little relationship to such general crime-detection
checkpoints. The checkpoint sought only to educate the
traveling public about the commission of a specific,
known crime that-threatened their safety and to seek
their voluntary assistance in removing a dangerous
driver from the road. There is a significant consti-
tutional and practical difference between law-
enforcement conduct that seeks information through
voluntary cooperation, and police conduct that seeks
incrimination through individualized inspection and
targeted questioning.

ARGUMENT

INFORMATIONAL CHECKPOINTS THAT ADVANCE
IMPORTANT PUBLIC SAFETY INTERESTS AND THAT
INTRUDE MINIMALLY ON MOTORISTS’ LIBERTY DO
NOT VIOLATE THE FOURTH AMENDMENT

The “essential purpose” of the Fourth Amendment is
“to impose a standard of ‘reasonableness’ upon the

exercise of discretion by government officials.” Dela-
ware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 653-654 (1979) (footnote

7

omitted). The Fourth Amendment does not impose an
“irreducible requirement” of individualized suspicion.
United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543, 561
(1976). Instead, the reasonableness of seizures that are
less intrusive than a traditional arrest turns on “a bal-
ance between the public interest” served by the
practice and “the individual’s right to personal secur-
ity free from arbitrary interference by law officers.”
Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47, 50 (1979) (quoting Penn-
sylvania v. Mimms, 434 U.S. 106, 109 (1977) (per
curiam), and United States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 422 US.

873, 878 (1975)).

What is reasonable “depends on the context,” New
Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325, 337 (1985), and “(t]he fact
that automobiles occupy a special category in Fourth
Amendment case law is by now beyond doubt,” Mar-
shall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. 307, 315 n.10 (1978).
See also South Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364, 367
(1976) (“This Court has traditionally drawn a distinction
between automobiles and homes or offices in relation to
the Fourth Amendment.”); Cady v. Dombrowski, 413
U.S. 433, 439 (1973) (“there is a constitutional difference
between houses and cars”) (quoting Chambers v.
Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 52 (1970)). For more than a
quarter century, the Court has stressed that “one’s
expectation of privacy in an automobile and of freedom
in its operation are significantly different from the
traditional expectation of privacy and freedom in one’s
residence.” Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 561. That dis-
tinction arises, in part, because of the “obviously public
nature of automobile travel,” under which cars rou-
tinely “travel{] public thoroughfares where both [their]
occupants and [their] contents are in plain view.”

n, 428 U.S. at 368; see also Cardwell v. Lewis,

417 U.S. 583, 590 (1974).

8

Against that background and this Court’s cases ad-
dressing vehicle checkpoints, the informational check-
point conducted in this case is constitutional. The
checkpoint advances important governmental interests
that are distinct from the general interest in crime
control. Balancing those objectives against the minimal
intrusiveness of the stop, the checkpoint complies with
the standard of reasonableness that this Court has
applied in upholding checkpoints in other contexts.

A. The Fourth Amendment Permits Vehicle Check-
points Where The Government Interests At
Stake Justify The Measure, There Are Explicit
Constraints On Police Discretion, And The
Intrusion On Motorists Is Limited

This Court has addressed the constitutionality of
vehicle checkpoints under the Fourth Amendment on
three occasions. In United States v. Martinez-Fuerte,
the Court upheld the Border Patrol’s use of permanent,
fixed checkpoints on roads leading to the interior of the
country. The Court found the “law enforcement needs
served by the checkpoints”—controlling the flow of
illegal aliens and smuggling—to b¢ “substantial[]},” 428
U.S. at 556-557 & n.12, while “the consequent intrusion
on Fourth Amendment interests is quite limited,” id. at
557. The checkpoint’s interference with legitimate
traffic was “minimal,” and the exercise of discretion
by officers was limited by the “regularized manner
in which established checkpoints are operated.” Jd. at
559.

In Michigan Department of State Police v. Sitz, 496
U.S. 444 (1990), the Court upheld sobriety checkpoints
at which cars were briefly stopped and drivers exam-
ined for signs of intoxication. The Court noted that the
“magnitude” of the State’s interest in combating the

9

problem of drunk driving was undisputed, id. at 451.
On the other side of the ledger, the Court found, the
intrusion on motorists stopped at sobriety checkpoints
was “minimal.” Jd. at 452. While the Court made clear
that no searching examination of the sobriety check-
point’s “effectiveness” was required in order to sustain
them, id. at 454, the Court concluded that the ability of
the checkpoints to advance the States’ interest was
sufficient to strike the balance “in favor of the state
program.” /d. at 455.

In City of Indianapolis v. Edmond, the Court invali-
dated a narcotics-detection checkpoint program the
“primary purpose” of which was “to uncover evidence
of ordinary criminal wrongdoing,” 531 U.S. at 42. While
recognizing that checkpoints could be legitimately
established for law enforcement purposes, the crucial
factor for the Court was that “the primary purpose of
the Indianapolis checkpoint is to advance the general
interest in crime control.” Jd. at 44 n.1 (emphasis
added). The Court reasoned that the intrusion on mo-
torists’ liberty occasioned by the suspicionless stops
was not justified by the “generalized and ever-present
possibility that interrogation and inspection may reveal!
that any given motorist has committed some crime.”
Id. at 44.

In all three cases, the Court evaluated the consti-
tutionality of the checkpoints by applying the Brown v.
Texas balancing test, under which the Court weighs
“the gravity of the public concerns served by the
seizure, the degree to which the seizure advances the
public interest, and the severity of the interference
with individual liberty,” 443 U.S. at 51. See Edmond,
531 U.S. at 47 (“The constitutionality of such checkpoint
programs still depends on a balancing of the competing
interests at stake and the effectiveness of the pro-

10

gram.”); Sitz, 496 U.S. at 450 (“Martinez-Fuerte, supra,
which utilized a balancing analysis in approving high-
way checkpoints for detecting illegal aliens, and Brown
v. Texas, supra, are the relevant authorities here.”);
Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 557-562. See also Fer-
guson v. City of Charleston, 532 U.S. 67, 83-84 n.21
(2001) (distinguishing analysis of cases involving
“special needs” searches from analysis of “roadblock
seizures,” for which the Court has “applied a balancing
test to determine Fourth Amendment reasonable-
ness”). Edmond made clear that the pursuit of “general
crime control ends,” 531 U.S. at 43, is not a sufficiently
grave public concern to support a program of
suspicionless seizures, id. at 44. But Edmond did not
preclude the use of checkpoints in all law-enforcement
situations. 531 U.S. at 44 & n.1.

B. Informational Checkpoints Advance Substantial
Governmental Interests Distinct From The
General Interest In Crime Detection, And They
Are Reasonable Under This Court's Balancing
Test

Informational checkpoints are tailored to serve im-
portant public objectives. In this case, the checkpoint
sought to provide the public with information about
criminal activity in order to locate witnesses to a hit-
and-run. Properly understood, such checkpoints serve
purposes that are distinct from general crime control,
Edmond, 531 U.S. at 43, and reviewed under the Brown
v. Texas balancing test, the important public interests
served by such checkpoints justify the minima! intrus-
ion on motorists’ liberty.

11

1. Informational Checkpoints Effectively Promote
Public Safety

While there are a variety of informational check-
points, such checkpoints can serve at least two
important purposes relevant to this case. First, they
ean assist in the location of witnesses to a crime.
Second, they can directly promote roadway safety.’

a. Effective Investigation of Crime. Informational
checkpoints enable officers to locate witnesses who
might otherwise be unaware of a crime or unaware that
they have information necessary to its solution. The
ability to question such witnesses is often critical to law
enforcement. See Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S.
218, 225 (1973) (discussing “the acknowledged need for
police questioning as a tool for the effective enforce-
ment of criminal laws”). Without such questioning,
“those who were innocent might be falsely accused,
those who were guilty might wholly escape prosecution,
and many crimes would go unsolved” with the result
that “the security of all would be diminished.” /bid.
Accordingly, this Court has long recognized that “(law

| Informational checkpoints also can be used to inform the
public or to seek information about situations that do not involve
criminal conduct. The federal Forest Service—which is respon-
sible for policing over 193 million acres of land, encompassing
nearly 400,000 miles of road, with just 600 officers—informs us that
it considers the use of strategically situated informational check-
points critical to its efforts to locate missing hikers, to coordinate
with motorists the most efficient and productive shared use
of National Forest System lands during times of peak demand
(such as the opening of hunting or fishing seasons), and to warn
motorists of bear attacks, fire hazards, and sudden changes in road
conditions. Those types of checkpoints clearly do not serve general
crime control interests under Edmond and are unquestionably
valid under the Fourth Amendment.

12

enforcement officers do not violate the Fourth Amend-
ment’s prohibition of unreasonable seizures merely by
approaching individuals on the street or in other public
places,” such as on public transportation, “and putting
questions to them if they are willing to listen.” United
States v. Drayton, 536 U.S. 194, 200 (2002).

Not all crimes can be investigated by approaching
individuals on the street. The United States has be-
come “the most mobile society on earth.”* Ninety-one
percent of all Americans own a car,’ and Americans
travel roughly 2.8 trillion vehicle miles annually.‘ “Many
people spend more hours each day traveling in cars
than walking on the streets.” Prouse, 440 U.S. at 662.
As a consequence, informational checkpoints are often
the only practicable means available for police to
alert an entire category of often critical potential
witnesses—passing motorists—to the fact that a crime
has been committed and that activities they witnessed
may be relevant. The need to notify drivers is espe-

2 Department of Transp. and Related Agencies Appropria-
tions for Fiscal Year 1998: Hearings Before the Subcomm. on
Transp. and Related Agencies of the Senate Comm. on Appropria-
tions, 105th Cong., Ist Sess. 56-57 (1997) (Jane F. Garvey, Acting
Administrator, Fed. Highway Admin.).

3 Stephen Moore & Julian L. Simon, The Greatest Century
That Ever Was: 25 Miraculous Trends of the Past 100 Years 22
(Cato Inst., Policy Analysis No. 364) (Dec. 15, 1999).

4 National Highway Traffic Safety Admin., U.S. Dep’t of
Transp., Traffic Safety Facts 2001: A Compilation of Motor Ve-
hicle Crash Data from the Fatality Analysis Reporting System
and the General Estimates System at inside front cover
(2002), ; see also Bureau of Transp. Statistics, U.S. Dep’t of
Transp., National Transp. Statistics 53, Table 1-32 (2002), .

13

cially acute in policing high-speed roadways or non-
urban settings, where neighbors may be distant and
pedestrian traffic minimal. Individuals driving by an
incident may be the only witnesses to a crime, yet they
may not realize that what they saw was significant
unless and until approached by the police. See, ¢.g.,
Burns v. Commonwealth, 541 S.E.2d 872 (Va.) (up-
holding against Fourth Amendment challenge an
informational checkpoint conducted to locate witnesses
to the rape and murder of a 73-year-old woman), cert.
denied, 534 U.S. 1043 (2001).

For example, informational checkpoints are often
used in missing children cases, including in the recent
disappearance and recovery of Elizabeth Smart in
Utah. See Pat Reavy, et al., Sister’s Story: New Details
Emerge, Deseret News (June 19, 2002), ; see also
Phoenix Cops Look for Missing Girl, Associated Press
(Jan. 7, 1999) (informational checkpoint used where
child disappeared from a roadside while awaiting ice
cream truck); Brenda Kilby, Roadblocks Used to Get
Kidnapping Information, Tulsa World (July 23, 1995),
available in 1995 WL 5614662. Because nearly half of
all nonfamily child abductions involve taking the child
in a vehicle,’ it is vital that police be able to communi-
cate quickly and directly with motorist-witnesses and
to seek the assistance of the motoring public in locating
the abductor’s vehicle in the crucial hours following an

abduction or disappearance.°

5 Office of Justice Programs, Dep’t of Justice, Nonfamily Ab-
ducted Children: National Estimates and Characteristics 9 &
Table 5 (Oct. 2002).

6 Those same considerations make informational checkpoints
useful to help locate missing adults and lost Alzheimer patients.

14

Those considerations animated, in significant part,
the recent passage of federal Amber Alert legislation,
which provides federal funding for the States’ adoption
and implementation of “motorist information systems to
notify motorists about abductions of children.” See
Prosecutorial Remedies and Other Tools to End the
Exploitation of Children Today Act of 2003, Pub. L. No.
108-21, § 303, 117 Stat. 662-663 (to be codified at 42
U.S.C. 5791b). Informational checkpoints, which permit
analogous notifications on local and more rural roads,
are considered an important adjunct to the Amber
Alert program. See 148 Cong. Rec. $8438 (daily ed.
Sept. 10, 2002) (Sen. Feinstein) (“{I}f you can identify a
license plate, you may well save the life of a child.”).

In short, informational checkpoints are a critical
means by which police accomplish in a modern, highly
mobile society law-enforcement purposes that have
long been considered acceptable under the Fourth
Amendment: approaching persons on highly regulated
public roadways—a place “where [the police} ha{ve] a
right to be,” California v. Ciraolo, 476 U.S. 207, 213
(1986)—to canvas for witnesses and to seek the public’s
voluntary assistance in solving a crime.

b. Protection of roadway safety. Informational
checkpoints used to investigate crimes committed on
the public roadways and to remove dangerous and
irresponsible drivers from the road also serve the
additional purpose of directly promoting roadway
safety, in the same manner as the sobriety checkpoints
upheld by this Court in Sitz, supra. In Sitz, the Court
sustained sobriety checkpoints against a Fourth
Amendment challenge, in part, because they advanced
the significant public interest in stemming the “slaugh-
ter on our highways” caused by drunken drivers. 496
U.S. at 451 (quoting Breithaupt v. Abram, 352 U.S. 432,

15

439 (1957)). That “close connection to roadway safety,”
Edmond, 531 U.S. at 43 (discussing Sitz), warranted the
minimal intrusion on motorists occasioned by sobriety
checkpoints.

The use of informational checkpoints to solve acci-
dents caused by aggressive driving and hit-and-run
accidents serves identical public safety goals by helping
police get dangerous drivers off the roadway. Aggres-
sive drivers pose the same “type of immediate, vehicle-
bound threat to life and limb,” Edmond, 531 U.S. at 43,
as drunken drivers. In 1996, almost 42,000 people died
and more than 3 million were injured in police-reported
crashes. Those crashes cost the Nation $150.5 billion a
year. Approximately one-third of those crashes and
two-thirds of the resulting fatalities are attributed to
behavior associated with aggressive driving.’ “[A]g-
gressive driving may be a factor in more than 50 per-
cent of auto crashes, based on the experience of the
Washington Beltway.” United States Dep't of Transp.,
— of the Capital Beltway Crash Problem (Mar.
1996).

Hit-and-run drivers pose a similar threat to roadway
safety. In 2001, hit-and-run accidents accounted for
seven percent of all fatal crashes—on the order of
1000 deaths—in urban areas. National Highway Traffic
Safety Admin., U.S. Dep’t of Transp., Traffic Safety
Facts 2001: Rural/Urban Comparison 2 (2002),
. There were 18,317 hit-and-run

1 Road Rage: Causes and Dangers of Aggressive Driving:
Hearing Before the Subcomm. on Surface Transp. of the House
Comm. on Transp. and Infrastructure, 105th Cong., Ist Sess. 104
(1997) (statement of Hon. Ricardo Martinez, M.D., Administrator,
National Highway Traffic Safety Admin.).

16

injuries in 1992 in Los Angeles County alone. See
Dianne Klein, Sudden Death on the Streets, Los
Angeles Times, at Al (May 1, 1994).

For federal law enforcement agencies, like the
United States Park Police, informational checkpoints
serve a key role in investigating and solving such
crimes. That is because such incidents often occur in
locations, like federal parkways, where motorists are
the only potential witnesses. With respect to ag-
gressive driving, moreover, commission of the under-
lying vehicular offenses can take place over miles of
roadway. One of the more publicized aggressive driv-
ing incidents, which resulted in the deaths of three
people in April 1996, spanned more than seven miles of
the George Washington Memorial Parkway in Virginia,
as two drivers battled each other for at least 15 minutes
at speeds approaching 80 miles per hour.® Witnesses
that see the resulting accidents, however, may not be
able to say what led up to it, while drivers who
witnessed the earlier speeding or weaving may be
unaware that an accident ever occurred. See Targeting
Aggressive Drivers, Police Face Tough Road, The
Washington Post, at V01 (Feb. 20, 1997) (“But as police
and prosecutors step up efforts to catch and convict
aggressive drivers, they’re finding it painstaking and
difficult to conduct the investigations and build their
cases. The main problem is tracking down witnesses
who saw the aggressive behavior and who can tell a
jury who started it.”).

8 See Research on the Problem of Violent Aggressive Driving:
Hearings Before the House Comm. on Transp. and Infrastructure,
Subcomm. on Surface Transp., 105th Cong., Ist Sess. 153 (1997)
(testimony of David K. Willis, President and Chief Executive
Officer, AAA Found. for Traffic Safety).

ma —

17

For similar reasons, “(h]it-and-run cases are among
the hardest to solve, police say, because there is often
little evidence left behind.” Susan Carroll, Hit-and-
Run Deaths Often Go Unsolved, The Arizona Republic
(Feb. 25, 2003), . Informa-
tional checkpoints directly address those “formidable
law enforcement problems” on the public roadways,
Martinez-Fuerte, 428 US. at 552, by alerting motorist-
witnesses that an accident or crime occurred and that
any information they have might be relevant, which in
turn allows law enforcement to piece together a more
comprehensive picture of the incident, more accurately
evaluate liability issues, and more expeditiously remove
dangerous drivers from the road. In short, for solving
crime in a mobile society—especially when time is of
the essence or the crime occurs on a high-speed road-
way or in a non-urban setting—there is often an
“absence of practical alternatives” to canvassing motor-
ists through an informational checkpoint. Brignoni-
Ponce, 422 U.S. at 881; see also United States v. Ross,
456 U.S. 798, 806 (1982) (“impracticability” of otherwise
accomplishing law enforcement goals weighs in the
Fourth Amendment balance); Prouse, 440 U.S. at 655."

® The Illinois Appellate Court’s assumption that “more
traditional law enforcement techniques would have been just as, if
not more effective” (Pet. App. 28), misapprehends the difficulties
involved in investigating roadway crimes like hit-and-run acci-
dents. In any event, this Court has long refused to incorporate a
“least restrictive means” test into the Fourth Amendment’s re-
quirement of reasonableness. See Atwater v. City of Lago Vista,
532 U.S. 318, 350-351 (2001); Skinner v. Railway Labor Executives’
Ass’n, 489 U.S. 602, 629 n.9 (1989) (“It is obvious that ‘(t]he logic of
such elaborate less-restrictive-alternative arguments could raise
insuperable barriers to the exercise of virtually all search-and-

18

2. Canvassing Motorists To Seek the Voluntary Assis-
tance of Witnesses to Specific Crimes Serves a Public
Interest Distinct from the General Interest in Crime
Detection

The Illinois Supreme Court invalidated petitioner’s
informational checkpoint because, in its view, it served
only the government’s general interest in crime control,
which Edmond held was insufficient to support a
suspicionless checkpoint stop. Pet. App. 7-8. That
analysis is incorrect for at least two reasons.

First, Edmond’s prohibition on checkpoints that ad-
vance the “general interest in crime control,” 531 U.S.
at 40, did not prohibit all checkpoints designed to ad-
vance any type of criminal law enforcement interest.
Edmond identified a Fourth Amendment prohibition on
checkpoints that are designed to discover and punish
criminal activity by the stopped motorists them-
selves. That is, Edmond addressed checkpoints, like
the Indianapolis narcotics checkpoint, that are designed
to elicit, through “interrogation. and inspection,” evi-
dence “that any given motorist has committed some
crime” unknown to the officers. Jd. at 44. In describing
the constitutional flaw in the narcotics checkpoint, the
Court emphasized that the Fourth Amendment pro-
hibits a program “under which authorities might simply
stop cars as a matter of course to see if there just
happens to be a felon leaving the jurisdiction.” Jbid.;
see also id. at 41 (narcotics checkpoint’s “‘proximate
goal is to catch drug offenders’”); id. at 44 (narcotics

seizure powers’ because judges engaged in post hoc evaluations of
government conduct ‘can almost always imagine some alternative
means by which the objectives of the [government] might have
been accomplished.” (quoting Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 556-
557 n.12, and United States v. Montoya de Hernandez, 473 U.S.
531, 542 (1985)) (citation omitted).

19

checkpoint aimed at exploiting the “generalized and
ever-present possibility” that examining any given
group of motorists would reveal some type of criminal
conduct); Ferguson, 532 U.S. at 81, 85 (finding
Edmond’s “general interest in crime control” to be
present when blood tests of hospital patients were
undertaken “for the specific purpose of incriminating
those patients”) (emphasis omitted)."°

Suspicionless seizures designed to gather evidence
against the individual seized implicate the Fourth
Amendment’s historic guarantee of

self-protection: the right to resist unauthorized en-
try which has as its design the securing of informa-
tion to fortify the coercive power of the state
against the individual, information which may be
used to effect a further deprivation of life or liberty
or property.

Frank v. Maryland, 359 U.S. 360, 365 (1959) (emphasis
added). Such searches and seizures, however, stand in
stark contrast to a brief stop of an individual that does
not target him in the detection and investigation of
crime. While such informational stops may seek to aid
law enforcement, they do not do so by seeking evidence
to be used against the person seized. See Camara v.
Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523, 537 (1967) (“[Blecause
the inspections are neither personal in nature nor aimed
at the discovery of evidence of crime, they involve a

10 Edmond also recognized that “there are circumstances that
may justify a law enforcement checkpoint where the primary pur-
pose would otherwise, but for some emergency, relate to ordinary
crime control.” 531 U.S. at 44. The examples noted by the Court
(i.e., a checkpoint to prevent “an imminent terrorist attack”) also
focus generally on apprehension of a criminal who is himself
stopped at the checkpoint.

20

relatively limited invasion of the urban citizen’s pri-
vacy.”) (discussing Frank)."

Informational checkpoints differ from narcotics
checkpoints in precisely that respect. As in this case,
informational checkpoints are not designed to identify
general wrongdoing by the persons stopped at the
checkpoint and to collect evidence against them. In-
stead, they are designed to provide and obtain infor-
mation relevant to public safety. Informational check-
points, in other words, view motorists primarily as
allies in solving a known crime, not as potential
perpetrators of yet-to-be-discovered crimes. “(T]he
Lombard police department did not seek to interrogate
and inspect motorists to ferret out evidence that the
motorists themselves had committed crime that was as
yet unknown to police.” Pet. App. 6 (emphasis added).
“(T]he officers did not testify that they expected even
to catch the offender [at the checkpoint]; they merely

‘1 The specific holding of Frank—that health inspectors may
enter and inspect a homeowner’s premises without a warrant—
was overruled in Camara v. Municipal Court, supra. Camara
concluded that the distinction that Frank drew between the
“historic interests of ‘self protection’” furthered by the Fourth
Amendment and interests in “personal privacy” did not justify
allowing a warrantless intrusion into “the sanctity of [the] home.”
387 U.S. at 530-531. Camara also noted that “inspections of the
kind we are considering here do in fact jeopardize ‘self-protection’
interests of the homeowner,” because fire, health, and housing
codes are enforced by criminal sanctions. Jd. at 531. Camara’s
reasoning is thus consistent with the conclusion that a brief seizure
(not a search) of an automobile (not a home) at a regularized check-
point is less intrusive on Fourth Amendment interests when the
purpose of the checkpoint is to distribute and seek information
about a specific past crime by an unknown suspect, rather than to
cast about for evidence of possible ongoing crimes comitted by the
motorists themselves.

21

wanted to get a more accurate description of him.” Jd.
at 26. The concern voiced in Edmond that a
suspicionless stop might be routinely used by police to
troll for criminal activity and to identify criminals
traveling in their cars is thus not implicated here.
Second, and equally importantly, giving individuals
the opportunity voluntarily to assist the police in the
investigation of crime furthers an essential need in a
free society, and the Fourth Amendment does not pro-
hibit such interactions. “It is an act of responsible
citizenship for individuals to give whatever information
they may have to aid in law enforcement.” Miranda v.
Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 477-478 (1966); see also Coolidge
v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 488 (1971) (“{I]t is no
part of the policy underlying the Fourth and Four-
teenth Amendments to discourage citizens from aiding
to the utmost of their ability in the apprehension of
criminals.”). The Fourth Amendment poses no barrier
to police approaching pedestrians, bicyclists, or in-
dividuals on public transportation, offering them flyers,
and asking questions. See, e.g., Drayton, 536 U.S. at
200. Restricting an individual’s movement to ask such
questions would, of course, implicate the Fourth
Amendment. But the questions themselves do not.
Accordingly, the fact that the officer at petitioner’s
checkpoint “search[ed] for evidence of a crime” (Pet.
App. 26), in the attenuated sense that he alerted in-
dividuals (who happened to be in cars) to the fact of an
investigation and offered information about the crime,
does not make the checkpoint an ordinary crime-
detection or crime-control measure. Furthermore,
safety plainly requires that, for police to speak to a
motorist, the motorist’s car must be stationary. For
that reason, the act of briefly stopping cars at the
checkpoint was more analogous to a “routine, non-

22

criminal procedure[],” Opperman, 428 U.S. at 370 n.5,
designed “to guard the police from danger,” Colorado v.
Bertine, 479 U.S. 367, 372 (1987), than to the general
crime-control practice at issue in Edmond’s narcotics-
detection checkpoint.”

The Illinois Appellate Court suggested, without ex-
planation, that the presence of a second officer on a side
street “tend[ed] to discredit the explanation that the
police were merely seeking information.” Pet. App. 27.
Nothing in the record, however, substantiates the
court’s assertion of “police subterfuge,” ibid. Rather, it
is responsible police planning when conducting any
checkpoint to have in place a mechanism for dealing
with any motorists or pedestrians who, like respondent,
pose an immediate threat to public safety. The pre-
paration of the police to deal with such contingencies
does not make ordinary crime control the “primary
purpose” of the informational checkpoint. Edmond, 531
US. at 41."

Nor is there a danger that upholding the checkpoint
here will make such stops a ubiquitous intrusion on the

'2 In that regard, informational checkpoints resemble the types
of “noncriminal” public-safety inspections, Opperman, 428 U.S. at
368, of carriages, ships, and other modes of transportation (in-
cluding modern-day weigh stations) carried out by law enforce-
ment since the founding of the Republic, see Ross, 456 U.S. at 805;
Frank, 359 U.S. at 367-368.

‘8 Had the Lombard police department knowingly allowed
respondent to continue to drive, after exhibiting indicia of drunk-
enness and nearly running over a police officer, the department
could have opened itself to liability for any injuries or deaths
caused by respondent further down the road. See, eg., Reed v.
Gardner, 986 F.2d 1122 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 947 (1993);
Drushella v. City of Elgin, Illinois, No. 86 C 2307, 1987 WL 5902
(N.D. Ill. Jan. 26, 1987).

;
;
‘

23

traveling public. Informational checkpoints are estab-
lished in response to specific, known criminal incidents
—they do not seek to uncover otherwise unknown
criminal conduct by motorists, as did the narcotics-
detection checkpoint in Edmond. Further, the
character of the crimes susceptible to investigation
through canvassing motorists, ordinary resource limita-
tions, the case-sensitive judgments of experienced law-
enforcement investigators, and “the good sense” and
“political accountability” of law-enforcement officials,
Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 532 U.S. 318, 353 (2001),
provide practical constraints on the frequency with
which informational checkpoints are employed. See
also Sitz, 496 U.S. at 453-454 (“(TJhe decision as to
which among reasonable alternative law enforcement
techniques [to adopt] * * * remains with the govern-
mental officials who have a unique understanding of,
and a responsibility for, limited public resources,
including a finite number of police officers.”’).

3. The Intrusion on Motorists’ Liberty Is Minimal

The constitutionality of informational checkpoints
under the Fourth Amendment turns on balancing the
important objectives that are effectively served by such
stops against the degree of intrusion on motorists.'* In

4 The petition does not challenge the Illinois Supreme Court’s
holding that the brief stop at the checkpoint constituted a seizure,
see Pet. 4, 10, and this Court has stated that “[i]t is well estab-
lished that a vehicle stop at a highway checkpoint effectuates a
seizure within the meaning of the Fourth Amendment.” Edmond,
531 U.S. at 40. See also Pet. App. 24 (Officer “Vasil stated that -
{respondent’s} van had already been stopped pursuant to the
roadblock before nearly striking him”). It may be, however, that
some informational checkpoints may be so brief or otherwise
unintrusive as not to rise to the level of a Fourth Amendment
encounter. A traffic delay alone does not amount to a seizure

24

evaluating the level of intrusion for purposes of Fourth
Amendment analysis, it is critical that automobiles,
unlike homes or offices, are already subject to a “web of
pervasive regulation.” New York v. Class, 475 U.S.
106, 112 (1986).

Automobiles * * * are subjected to pervasive and
continuing governmental regulation and controls, in-
cluding periodic inspection and licensing require-
ments. As an everyday occurrence, police stop and
examine vehicles when license plates or inspection
stickers have expired, or if other violations, such as
exhaust fumes or excessive noise, are noted, or if
headlights or other safety equipment are not in
proper working order.

Opperman, 428 U.S. at 368. See also Wyoming v.
Houghton, 526 U.S. 295, 303-305 (1999) (passengers, as
well as drivers, have a reduced expectation of privacy
in cars traveling on the public thoroughfares); Penn-
sylvania v. Labron, 518 U.S. 938, 940 (1996) (per

within the meaning of the Fourth Amendment. Traffic backups can
be caused by a wide variety of governmental action, ranging from
the normal operation of traffic lights at rush hour to investigating
and clearing a roadway accident. Maryland v. Wilson, 519 U.S.
408, 420 (1997) (Stevens, J., dissenting) (“a traffic jam caused by
construction or other state-imposed delay not directed at a parti-
cular individual” does not “constitute[] a seizure of that person”).
And a brief request to converse at a checkpoint, incident to a
slowing down of traffic, does not necessarily constitute a seizure,
any more than a request by the token collector at a toll both as to
whether a motorist had seen a particular car would constitute a
seizure. In either case, the motorists may be free to leave without
answering the authorities’ questions. Cf. Terry v. Ohio, 392 US. 1,
16 (1968) (seizure requires that an officer both “accost[{) an
individual and restrain{] his freedom to walk away”) (emphasis
added).

ye or ee

25

curiam) (noting “the individual’s reduced expectation of
privacy in an automobile, owing to its pervasive regu-
lation”). The “automobile is subject to state regulation
resulting in numerous instances of police-citizen con-
tact,” Prouse, 440 U.S. at 662, and the “practice of
stopping automobiles briefly for questioning” at a
checkpoint as part of that regulatory scheme “has a
long history evidencing its utility” and “is accepted by
motorists as incident to highway use,” Martinez-Fuerte,
428 U.S. at 560-561 n.14. For those reasons, the Court
has recognized, in other contexts, that the intrusion on
motorists “stopped briefly” at a checkpoint “is slight.”
Sitz, 496 U.S. at 451.

The objective intrusion on liberty occasioned by the
informational stop at issue here can only be character-
ized as negligible. Each stop lasted only 10 to 15
seconds. J.A. 31. That is shorter than any checkpoint
previously upheld by this Court, see Sitz, 496 U.S. at
448 (25 second stop at sobriety checkpoint); Martinez-
Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 547 (three to five minute stop at
immigration checkpoint), and is significantly shorter
than the time motorists routinely sit stopped at traffic
lights or busy intersections. See Fed. Highway Admin..,
U.S. Dep’t of Transp., Traffic Control Devices Hand-
book 4-100 (1983). The Lombard Police Department
designs its checkpoints, moreover, to avoid “undue con-
gestion” and to “maintain[] an orderly flow of traffic.”
Department of Police, Village of Lombard, Operation of
Departmental Vehicles, Gen. Order No. 240-20, at 7
(Jan. 30, 1997). And unlike the checkpoints previously
upheld by the Court, the informational checkpoint does
not involve any demand for licenses or paperwork from
the driver, any probing questioning, or any ticketing for
minor, plain-view traffic infractions like seatbelt vio-
lations. J.A. 31. No search is undertaken at all.

26

See Segura v. United States, 468 U.S. 796, 806 (1984)
(plurality opinion of Burger, C.J.) (“Different interests
are implicated by a seizure than by a search,” given the
“generally less intrusive nature of a seizure.”).

The subjective intrusion on law-abiding motorists
(Sitz, 496 U.S. at 452) was also minor. When the officer
approached the motorists, they learned that their
individual actions were not under investigation in any
way. The officer simply handed out a flyer and spoke
briefly to the motorist about the accident. Nor did
the checkpoint give officers discretion to handpick
motorists for seizure, which might create apprehension.
J.A. 24-25; ef. Sitz, 496 U.S. at 453. The presence of
marked police cruisers and uniformed officers demon-
strated the checkpoint’s official character. Pet. App. 2;
J.A. 34. Consequently, the “motorist can see that other
vehicles are being stopped, he can see visible signs of
the officers’ authority, and he is much less likely to be
frightened or annoyed by the intrusion.” Martinez-
Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 558 (quoting United States v. Ortiz,
422 U.S. 891, 895 (1975)). In short, the regularity of the
checkpoint procedures provided “visible evidence,
reassuring to law-abiding motorists, that the stops are
duly authorized and believed to serve the public
interest,” Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 559.

There was, therefore, “‘nothing coercive [or] con-
frontational about the encounter,’” Drayton, 536 U.S.
at 204, in this case. The informational checkpoint
served only to facilitate the roadway counterpart to the
long-accepted law enforcement technique of canvassing
for witnesses and approaching them for voluntary ques-
tioning. That conduct is not a seizure at all when ap-
plied to pedestrians and individuals on public trans-
portation. Jd. at 200-204. While the need to halt
motorists to communicate the same information to them

a

27

does (at least in some circumstances) implicate the
Fourth Amendment, the intrusion is a modest and
justifiable one.

* * * * *

In sum, the brief, non-intrusive provision of im-
portant public-safety information that occurred here
poses no real threat to motorists’ liberty. Rather, the
checkpoint in this case exemplifies the reasons for up-
holding informational checkpoints: they are a uniquely
effective means of canvassing for witnesses to specific,
known crimes, and they do not have the purpose of
general crime control directed at the motorists them-
selves. The actions of the Lombard police department
in establishing and operating the checkpoint in this case
therefore did not violate respondent’s Fourth
Amendment rights.”

'8 This case presents no question whether, even if the check-
point itself had violated respondent’s Fourth Amendment rights,
the police would still have been justified in arresting him based on
the intervening event of his erratic driving; and, if so, whether the
fact that respondent’s drunk driving was the cause of his arrest
renders the exclusionary rule for any antecedent checkpoint vio-
lation inapplicable. Cf. Segura, 468 U.S. at 815 (suppression is
inappropriate unless “the challenged evidence is in some sense the
product of illegal governmental activity”).

28

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the Illinois Supreme Court should

be reversed.
Respectfully submitted.

JULY 2003

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General

CHRISTOPHER A. WRAY
Acting Assistant Attorney
General

MICHAEL R. DREEBEN
Deputy Solicitor General

PATRICIA A. MILLETT
Assistant to the Solicitor
General

PATTY MERKAMP STEMLER
Attorney

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0632%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
