# Amicus Curiae Brief — Verizon Communications Inc. v. Law Offices of Curtis v. Trinko, LLP

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0617%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 398

## Text

In The MAY 2 3 2003
Supreme Court of the Anited ates

¢

FICE OF TME ORERK

VERIZON COMMUNICATIONS INC.,

Petitioner,
v.

LAW OFFICES OF CURTIS V. TRINKO, LLP,

Respondent.
Sd

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States Court
Of Appeals For The Second Circuit

¢

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, THE STATES OF
ALABAMA, DELAWARE, INDIANA, NEBRASKA,
NEW HAMPSHIRE, OKLAHOMA AND UTAH
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

o

JERRY W. KILGORE
Attorney General of Virginia

WILLIAM H. HurRD
State Solicitor

MAUREEN RILEY MATSEN
WILLIAM E. THRO
Deputy State Solicitors

JUDITH WILLIAMS JAGDMANN
Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record

C. MEADE BROWDER, JR.
Senior Assistant Attorney General

SARAH OXENHAM ALLEN
RAYMOND L. DOGGETT, JR.
Assistant Attorneys General
900 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 786-2436

[Additional Counsel Listed On Inside Cover]

OOOO
COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

WILLIAM H. Pryor, JR.

Attorney General of
Alabama

Office of the Attorney
General

11 South Union Street

Montgomery, Alabama
36130

(334) 353-3915

M. JANE BRADY

Attorney General

State of Delaware

820 North French Street

Wilmington, Delaware
19801

(302) 577-8400

STEVE CARTER

Attorney General of
Indiana

Indiana Government
Center South

Fifth Floor

302 West Washington
Street

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

(317) 232-6201

JON BRUNING

Attorney General of
Nebraska

Office of the Attorney

General

2115 State Capitol Building

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509

(402) 471-2683

PETER W. HEED

Attorney General of
New Hampshire

Office of the Attorney
General

33 Capitol Street

Concord, New Hampshire
03301

(603) 271-3655

W.A. DREW EDMONDSON

Attorney General of
Oklahoma

2300 North Lincoln
Boulevard

Suite 112

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
73105-4894

(405) 521-3921

MARK L. SHURTLEFF

Attorney General of Utah

Office of the Attorney
General

236 State Capitol

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114

(801) 538-1191

I.

Il.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Under Antitrust Principles Recognized by This
Court, Respondent Fails to State a Claim ..........

B. The Theories Relied Upon by the Second
Circuit, Without More, Do Not Establish
an Antitrust Violation. ..........................+.

1. Zven if the Essential Facilities Doc-
trine Can Serve as the Basis for a
Section 2 Monopolization Claim, the
Traditional Elements of the Section 2
Claim Must Be Pled. ..........................

2. Allegations of a Dangerous Probabil-
ity of Monopolizing a Second Market
are Necessary to State a Monopoly
Leveraging Claim. .........................s0++

IN PASSING THE TELECOMMUNICATIONS
ACT OF 1996, CONGRESS INTENDED NEI-
THER TO EXPAND NOR TO CONTRACT THE
AVAILABILITY OF AN ANTITRUST CLAIM ....

A. State and Federal Regulation is a Proper
Consideration in Antitrust Analysis........

B. By Enacting the Telecommunications Act
of 1996, Congress Built on the Tradi-
tional Authority of States to Regulate
Providers of Local Telephone Service ......

8

11

11

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page Page
C. The Decision of the Second Circuit is Unrea- em

tory Oversight Established by Congress and Abcor Corp. v. AM Int'l, Inc.,
Could Hamper the States’ Ability to Fa- FD ee ee Se I Bie rcrccscsccecesesccnssssssccscssasssessssenes 4
Se a a ee Advanced Health-Care Servs. v. Radford
: ORL, .cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccsoccossoccscossooes Community Hosp.,
CORSO AMIN ccceccccccccccncccescccccccscsccsscsssescssccsccssssseees 16 910 F.2d 139 (4th Cir. 1900)...................cccccsresssesssseesseees 4

Alaska Airlines v. United Airlines,
948 F.2d 536 (9th Cir. 1991)....................c cece 2,9, 10

Aspen Skiing Co. v. Highlands Skiing Corp.,
8 ee 2, 4,5

Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women
v. NCAA,
| 735 F.2d 577 (D.C. Cir. 1964)............c.cscesssesssseseseseseeseees 9

AT&T v. Iowa Utils. Bd.,
Ee 5

Bell Atlantic-Maryland Inc. v. MCI,
240 F.3d 279 (4th Cir. 2001), vacated and
remanded on other grounds, 535 U.S. 635 (2002) ......... 13

Blue Cross & Blue Shield United of Wisconsin v.
Marshfield Clinic,
en 3

City of Anaheim v. Southern California Edison Co.,
OU 7

Concord v. Boston Edison Co.,
eee 11

Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Servs., Inc.,

Se ey Ge ett icnetahiccintinennnnsicresntteinetanimnsgepianmeuneneaes 5
Fineman v. Armstrong World Industries,

ee Pe Ce Ce rnreiemencnnsnnmmmen 9

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
In re: Bell Atlantic-New York Authorization Under
Section 271 of the Communications Act to Provide
In-Region, Interlata Service in the State of New York,
15 F-C.C.R. 5413 (Mar. 9, 2000) ...00.0......ccccceceesescereeseneeneneenees 14
M & M Med. Supplies & Serv. v. Pleasant Valley Hosp.,
981 F.2d 160 (4th Cir. 1992) (en banc) ...............ccccceeeeeees 8
Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,
Sn TT ssccniacaieaicendesiesesiieeiia cia icincenaetaralamanianinnrmaeinn 4
MCI Communications Corp. v. AT&T,
of e 6, 11
MCI WorldCom Inc. v. Bell Atlantic-New York,
2000 WL 363378 (N.Y.PS.C. Feb. 11, 2000).................. 14
MCI WorldCom Inc. v. Bell Atlantic-New York,
~ 2000 WL 1531916 (N.Y.PS.C. Jul. 27, 2000)................. 14
Oiympia Equip. Leasing Co. v. Western Union Tel. Co.,
| 2
Papasan v. Allain,
ns I anirniisisairesantnintaciietasiiesiiciniaeianiaatainniataiinintl 8
Southern Pac. Communications Co. v. AT&T,
740 F.2d 960 (D.C. Cir. 19B4).......cccccccccccccccsssscscsseeserseees 7
Spectrum Sports, Inc. v. McQuillan,
inserts iieirneteniennninienlinninnininriitininniisinimiitinanael 3,8
United States v. E. I. DuPont de Nemours & Co.,
Se IE UTI csicincin inst ieiesineieieeatiaharericnmanaitatiiienitiamceanas 3
United States v. Grinnell Corp.,
a atid acnciataiiaitneteniintasesnieaiisihddtadiliiastaatiatiniia 3

ile SS Sb

———— NT eR re

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Verizon Communications, Inc. v. FCC,

CE 2
Willman v. Heartland Hosp. E.,

eee 8
STATUTES
Se is UII insncnseninninrsininnnnesnsmatianninpinimesieeees 1, 13
Sy Se SIT cic ceersiniercnieenstcmnnteinniataniaieanaiainaiendastmamamenaets 2
en ictininrricinssinnndeinnnaemeiaiemneinnemenanesl 13
a es ST inecininrcsipenensinicnmemeniuceniesdeenininiieunadin 13
ye ee cicerennntetncnnnetnisiimnecnnsnnsnensninneniniamseasil 13
a ey ee carceneniintnictunanseniarmnanimnniniiiitatiennnsimeniel 13
Br le Se trcinisnstsrrennnredeenmensnmmsensansniinemmenaasimem 13
Pub. L. No. 104-104, 110 Stat. 56 (47 U.S.C. 151 et

I iiticintintinrndiiianncanmspeniatscimnnniasiiiaeeninsniniiinemeasinta 12
OTHER AUTHORITIES
3 Phillip Areeda & Herbert Hovenkamp, Antitrust

Bey STE inesnccstrncaiensiineniinimensasinnnebnestenietenesel 4, 6,8
3A Phillip Areeda & Herbert Hovenkamp, Antitrust

ee eee cccrtincnienstesscennintecnemenennimiinmenel 6, 12
Robert Bork, The Antitrust Paradox (1978) ..............---+-+»: 4
Robert Pitofsky, Donna Patterson & Jonathan Hooks,

The Essential Facilities Doctrine Under U.S.

Antitrust Law, 70 Antitrust L.J. 443 (2002)................... 6

1

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI

The States have significant responsibilities in both
antitrust enforcement and enforcement of the regulatory
scheme developed by the Telecommunications Act of 1996.
The States, therefore, have a strong interest in promoting
sound judicial decision-making in the application of
antitrust law to activities undertaken pursuant to the
Telecommunications Act of 1996 and in promoting the
rational development of case law in this area. There are
difficult legal issues inherent in subjecting incumbent
providers of local telephone services to new duties to assist
their competitors, while continuing their obligations under
antitrust law. These difficulties counsel a cautious ap-
proach which has been utterly forsaken by the decision of
the Second Circuit.

¢

ARGUMENT

I. UNDER ANTITRUST PRINCIPLES RECOGNIZED
BY THIS COURT, RESPONDENT FAILS TO
STATE A CLAIM.

The Second Circuit’s opinion expands the duty of
incumbent providers of local telephone service to assist
competitors beyond the antitrust duties imposed on
monopolists under Section 2 of the Sherman Act. Although
the Telecommunications Act of 1996 (“the Act”) imposes
new obligations on incumbent providers to open their
markets to competition, it does not alter the applicability
of the Sherman Act. Instead, Congress expressly provided
that “nothing in this Act ... shall be construed to modify,
impair, or supersede the applicability of any of the anti-
trust laws.” 47 U.S.C. § 152 note. Thus, the elements of an

2

antitrust action remain the same. ihe Second Circuit’s
opinion is problematic because it permits an antitrust
claim to go forward absent factual allegations supporting
all elements required under Section 2 of the Sherman Act.

The Act provides that incumbent local exchange
carriers must allow entering competitors to interconnect
with incumbents’ telephone networks on terms to be
worked out between the incumbents and the new entrants.
State public utility commissions (“State Commissions”) are
to arbitrate the agreements between the incumbents and
their competitors, and the State Commissions have au-
thority to set rates “that would subject both incumbents
and entrants to the risks and incentives that a competitive

market would produce.” Verizon Communications, Inc. v.
FCC, 535 U.S. 467, 476 (2002). See also 47 U.S.C. 251(c).

The duties imposed on a monopolist under the anti-
trust laws, however, are different from the duties imposed
on the incumbents under the Act. Under antitrust law,
even a firm with monopoly power has no general duty to
assist its rivals. Aspen Skiing Co. v. Highlands Skiing
Corp., 472 U.S. 585, 600-01 (1985). See also Olympia
Equip. Leasing Co. v. Western Union Tel. Co., 797 F.2d 370,
375-76 (7th Cir. 1986) (Posner, J.). In addition, a monopo-
list that has obtained its position lawfully can reap the
benefits of its success by dernanding whatever rates it can
receive from the marketplace. Such conduct, standing
alone, is not an antitrust violation. Alaska Airlines v.

3

United Airlines, 948 F.2d 536, 548-49 (9th Cir. 1991).’ As
this Court has acknowledged:

The law directs itself not against conduct which
is competitive, even severely so, but against con-
duct which unfairly tends to destroy competition
itself. It does so not out of solicitude for private
concerns but out of concern for the public inter-
est.

Spectrum Sports, Inc. v. McQuillan, 506 U.S. 447, 458
(1993).

A. The Traditional Elements of a Section 2
Claim

In order for “monopolization” to be a violation of Section
2 of the Sherman Act, two elements must be shown: (1) the
possession of monopoly power, defined as the power to
control prices or exclude competition, United States v. E. I.
DuPont de Nemours & Co., 351 U.S. 377, 391 (1956); and
(2) deliberateness. United States v. Grinnell Corp., 384
U.S. 563, 570-71 (1966). The “deliberateness” element has
been defined as “the willful acquisition or maintenance of
[monopoly] power as distinguished from growth or devel-
opment as a consequence of a superior product, business
acumen, or historic accident.” Jd. (emphasis added). Deliber-
ateness has also been described as “anticompetitive,”

' In stark contrast to the regulation of telephone rates by State
Commissions, the antitrust laws specifically decline the responsibility
of setting the rates that monopolists can charge. See Blue Cross & Blue
Shield United of Wisconsin v. Marshfield Clinic, 65 F.3d 1406, 1413 (7th
Cir. 1995) (“the antitrust laws are not a price-control statute or a
public-utility or common-carrier rate-regulation statute”).

4

“predatory,” or “exclusionary.” 3 Phillip Areeda & Herbert
Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law, 650c, at 69 (2d ed. 2002);
Aspen Skiing, 472 U.S. at 602.

The deliberateness element is absent when a monopo-
list engages in conduct that disadvantages a competitor,
but does so in pursuit of legitimate business objectives or
to enhance efficiency. See, e.g., Aspen Skiing, 472 U.S. at
604-05; Abcor Corp. v. AM Int'l, Inc., 916 F.2d 924, 927
(4th Cir. 1990) (“A desire to increase market share or even
to drive a competitor out of business through vigorous
competition on the merits is not sufficient.”). The monopo-
list who violates Section 2 is the one who adversely affects
competition by engaging in economically irrational behav-
ior. See, e.g., Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio
Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 589 (1986) (the sacrifice of short-term
profits may be viewed by the predator as “an investment
in future monopoly profits (where rivals are to be killed),”
quoting Robert Bork, The Antitrust Paradox 145 (1978));
Advanced Health-Care Servs. v. Radford Community
Hosp., 910 F.2d 139, 148 (4th Cir. 1990) (“If a plaintiff
shows that a defendant has harmed consumers and
competition by making a short-term sacrifice in order to
further its exclusive, anti-competitive objectives, it has
shown predation by that defendant.”).

This Court’s opinion in Aspen Skiing further ex-
plained that, in order for conduct to be “exclusionary,” it
must do more than merely harm a smaller rival. It must
impair competition in an “unnecessarily restrictive way.”
472 U.S. at 605. “If a firm has been ‘attempting to exclude
rivals on some basis other than efficiency,’ it is fair to
characterize its behavior as predatory.” Id. (quoting Bork,
supra, at 138 (1978)).

aa ~
PP ———— ee ee ee 7

— a

5

A monopolist does not have to cooperate with its rivals
under the antitrust laws, unless the refusal to deal consti-
tutes purposeful and anticompetitive conduct. Aspen
Skiing, 472 U.S. at 600-01. In order for failure to cooperate
with a rival to be “exclusionary” under Section 2, at a
minimum it must occur without a legitimate business or
efficiency reason and make no economic sense other than
as an intentional effort to injure competition by preserving
or acquiring higher monopoly profits. Jd. at 608, 610-11.
See also Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Servs.,
Inc., 504 U.S. 451, 482-83 (1992).

Respondent failed to allege exclusionary conduct in
this case. The Second Circuit, however, decided that the
amended complaint was sufficient to state a claim under
either the essential facilities doctrine or a monopoly
leveraging theory. Pet. App. 29a. Its decision, if upheld,
would unreasonably expand the scope of antitrust law in
the telecommunications context beyond any theory ap-
proved by this Court, a result not contemplated by the Act
and not necessary to enforce either the Act or antitrust
law.

B. The Theories Relied Upon by the Second
Circuit, Without More, Do Not Establish
an Antitrust Violation.

1. Even if the Essential Facilities Doctrine
Can Serve as the Basis for a Section 2 Mo-
nopolization Claim, the Traditional Ele-
ments of the Section 2 Claim Must Be Pled.

First, this Court has “never adopted” the essential
facilities doctrine as a basis for liability in a Section 2 case.
AT&T v. Iowa Utils. Bd., 525 U.S. 366, 428 (1999) (Breyer,

6

J., concurring in part and dissenting in part). In addition,
the doctrine has been widely criticized by leading antitrust
commentators. See, e.g., 3A Phillip Areeda & Herbert Ho-
venkamp, Antitrust Law, 4 771c, at 173 (2d ed. 2002) (“the
essential facility doctrine is both harmful and unnecessary
and should be abandoned”); Robert Pitofsky, Donna Patterson
& Jonathan Hooks, The Essential Facilities Doctrine Under
U.S. Antitrust Law, 70 Antitrust L.J. 443, 443 (2002) (“If U. S.
scholarship were the last word on the subject, one would be led
to conclude that the essential facilities doctrine should be
described narrowly or fully abandoned.”).’

Second, although respondent may have adequately
pled the elements peculiar to an essential facilities claim,’
it still must allege all other elements of a Section 2
monopolization violation. As discussed above, a Section 2
violation requires “exclusionary” or “predatory” conduct by
the monopolist. The essential facilities doctrine does not and
should not be permitted to eliminate the need to allege
deliberateness in order to state a Section 2 violation. See, e.g.,
3 Areeda & Hovenkamp, supra, | 650c at 69. In addition,

* There are four elements that are said to establish liability under

the essential facilities doctrine:
(1) control of the essential facility by a monopolist; (2) a
competitor’s inability practically or reasonably to duplicate
the essential facility; (3) the denial of the use of the facility to
a competitor; and (4) the feasibility of providing the facility.
MCI Communications Corp. v. AT&T, 708 F.2d 1081, 1132-33 (7th Cir.
1983).

* The Second Circuit found that respondent did allege that AT&T's
access to petitioner’s local loop was essential to AT&T's ability to
compete in the local telephone service market and that it would be
prohibitively expensive for it to create independent facilities. Pet. App. -
29a.

— <r eee

7

several lower courts have rejected essential facilities claims
in regulated industries because the defendants were found
to have legitimate business reasons for denying access
to the essential facility. See, eg., Southern Pac.
Communications Co. v. AT&T, 740 F.2d 980, 1009 (D.C.
Cir. 1984) (holding that AT&T’s regulatory justification
defense for denial of access to its telephone network, based
on its status as an entity regulated under a “public
interest” standard, was reasonable and made in good faith,
rather than because of competitive considerations); City of
Anaheim v. Southern California Edison Co., 955 F.2d
1373, 1381 (9th Cir. 1992) (holding that defendant had a
legitimate business reason for denying access to its low-
cost power source, so that its entire customer base could
benefit from its low-cost power, rather than having it
siphoned off by only a few customers).

Even under an essential facilities theory, respondent
must show that petitioner has an antitrust duty, not just a
duty under the Act, to provide access to the local exchange
network. In order to establish this antitrust duty, respon-
dent must allege that petitioner’s failure to provide such
access would not make economic sense unless it intended
to harm competition in the local telephone service market.‘
Respondent has not done so.

* In their amicus brief supporting petitioner’s request for review by
this Court, the United States and the Federal Trade Commission noted
that respondent did allege that petitioner “had no valid business
reason” for its behavior. Brief for the United States and the Federal
Trade Commission as Amici Curiae, Verizon Communications, Inc. v.
Law Offices of Curtis V. Trinko, on petition for a writ of certiorari, Dec.
17, 2002, at 13. As the United States pointed out, however, a conclusory
legal assertion couched as a factual allegation is not a sufficient

(Continued on following page)

8

2. Allegations of a Dangerous Probability
of Monopolizing a Second Market are
Necessary to State a Monopoly Lever-
aging Claim.

As with the essential facilities doctrine, the Second
Circuit treats monopoly leveraging as if it constitutes a
stand-alone violation of Section 2, absolving respondent of
the need to plead all necessary elements of such a viola-
tion. This Court has never accepted such a view of monop-
oly leveraging. The Second Circuit found that a monopoly
leveraging claim can be made by alleging that a monopo-
list in one market is using that power to gain a “competi-
tive advantage” in a second market. Pet. App. 30a. But
this sets the bar too low. As this Court has explained, a
firm does not violate Section 2 unless it actually monopo-
lizes or dangerously threatens to monopolize the second
market. Spectrum Sports, 506 U.S. at 459. No antitrust
claim is made under the Court’s existing antitrust juris-
prudence when the firm is alleged merely to use its domi-
nant position in one market to gain a competitive
advantage in another. See 3 Areeda & Hovenkamp, supra,
4 652a, at 89-90.

Some circuits have reserved judgment on whether a
monopoly leveraging claim requires showing a dangerous
probability of monopolizing a second market instead of
showing merely that the monopolist gained a competitive
advantage in that market. See, e.g., M & M Med. Supplies &

allegation of exclusionary conduct that makes no economic sense except
to harm competition. Id. at 14 (citing Papasan v. Allain, 478 U.S. 265,
286 (1986)).

9

Serv. v. Pleasant Valley Hosp., 981 F.2d 160, 169 (4th Cir.
1992) (en banc); Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for
Women v. NCAA, 735 F.2d 577, 586 n.14 (D.C. Cir. 1984);
Willman v. Heartland Hosp. E., 34 F.3d 605, 613 (8th Cir.
1994). However, two other circuits have decided the issue.
They require proof of a dangerous probability of success in
monopolizing the second market, noting that the antitrust
laws allow monopolies that have arisen from efficiency and
natural market forces, and therefore, attaching antitrust
liability when a firm merely gains a competitive advantage
in another market does violence to traditional Section 2
analysis. Fineman v. Armstrong World Industries, 980 F.2d
171 (3d Cir. 1992); Alaska Airlines, 948 F.2d at 536.

Respondent's amended complaint alleges that peti-
tioner has monopoly power over a wholesale market in
which it provides access to the local network exchange to
competitive carriers. J.A. 29. Respondent further alleges
that petitioner uses its power in the wholesale market to
gain a competitive advantage in a retail market in which
both petitioner and its competitors sell local telephone
service to consumers. Jd. A claim under the Sherman Act,
however, is not implicated by the conduct pled unless
reopondent also alleges that petitioner was using anticom-
petitive behavior to create a second monopoly in the retail
local telephone service market:

... the elements of the established actions for
“monopolization” and “attempted monopoliza-
tion” are vital to differentiate between efficient
and natural monopolies on the one hand, and
unlawful monopolies on the other. ... The anti-
competitive dangers that implicate the Sherman
Act are not present when a monopolist has a law-
ful monopoly in one market and uses its power to

10

gain a competitive advantage in the second mar-
ket. By definition, the monopolist has failed to
gain, or attempt to gain, a monopoly in the second
market. Thus, such activity fails to meet the sec-
ond element necessary to establish a violation of
Section 2. Unles *“e monopolist uses its power in
the first marke! *< acquire and maintain a mo-
nopoly in the second market, or to attempt to do
so, there is no Section 2 violation.

Alaska Airlines, 948 F.2d at 548 (emphasis added). This
element is missing from respondent's allegations.

- In sum, just as the allegation of a monopoly position
in a market, by itself, does not state a Section 2 monopoli-
zation claim, so, too, the allegation of the use of monopoly
power, without more, does not state « claim for the delib-
erate acquisition or maintenance of monopoly power in
violation of Section 2. A necessary element of the claim is
that the challenged conduct lacks any business justifica-
tion other than an intent to harm competition. This
element is absent from the Second Circuit’s two antitrust
theories of liability and was not alleged in respondent's
amended complaint. Thus, the Second Circuit’s decision
transforms duties that the incumbent local exchange
carriers must perform under the Act (including duties
under incumbent-competitor contracts arbitrated by State
Commissions) into antitrust duties. Such an expansion of
potential antitrust liability eliminates one of the tradi-
tional elements of a Section 2 Sherman Act claim. It has
no precedent in this Court’s jurisprudence and is unwar-
ranted.

ee

11

Il. IN PASSING THE TELECOMMUNICATIONS
ACT OF 1996, CONGRESS INTENDED NEI-
THER TO EXPAND NOR TO CONTRACT THE
AVAILABILITY OF AN ANTITRUST CLAIM.

A. State and Federal Regulation is a Proper
Consideration in Antitrust Analysis.

“(W]here regulatory and antitrust regimes coexist,
antitrust analysis must sensitively ‘recognize and reflect
the distinctive economic and legal setting’ of the regulated
industry to which it applies.” Concord v. Bosion Edison
Co., 915 F.2d 17, 22 (1st Cir. 1990) (citations omitted)
(Breyer, C.J.). This is not to say that a regulated entity has
immunity from antitrust laws or that antitrust laws are
unenforced in a regulated environment. Jd. at 21-22.
Rather, as the First Circuit recognized in Concord, “anti-
trust courts can and do consider the particular circum-
stances of an industry” and adjust the rules to the
existence, extent and nature of regulation. Jd. at 22-23
(citation omitted). In Concord, the First Circuit noted the
difficulty in addressing the antitrust allegation without
acting like a regulatory agency. Id. at 25-26. When a
function is already served by regulators, courts are right-
fully reluctant to perform such an undertaking. Similarly,
the Seventh Circuit has explained that “[aJn industry's
regulated status is an important ‘fact of market life,’ the
impact of which on . . . competitive decisions is too obvious
to be ignored.” MCI Communications Corp., 708 F.2d at
1105 (citation omitted).

Respondent attempted to allege an antitrust action
arising out of conduct that is the subject of extensive state
ont Gent lati The S 1 Circuit aband ;
traditional antitrust analysis to permit respondent’s claim
to go forward. In so doing, it has written substantial new

12

antitrust law without adequate consideration of the
regulated nature of the relevant market. Although this
Court has not addressed the question whether or how a
regulatory scheme should impact antitrust analysis, the
opinions of the First and Seventh Circuits provide useful
guidance.’ At a minimum, they support a finding: that the
Act was not intended to create new and lower standards
for pleading an antitrust cause of action in the telecom-
munications industry. But that is precisely what the
Second Circuit did.

B. By Enacting the Telecommunications Act
of 1996, Congress Built on the Traditional
Authority of States to Regulate Providers
of Local Telephone Service.

The express purpose of the Act is “[t]o promote compe-
tition and reduce regulation in order to secure lower prices
and higher quality services for American telecommunica-
tions consumers and encourage the rapid deployment of
new telecommunications technologies.” Pub. L. No. 104-
104, 110 Stat. 56 (1996). To that end, the Act calls upon
the States to perform an important role in facilitating
transition to a competitive market. The provisions of the
Act recognize and rely upon “the benefit of employing the
vast resources and expertise of State public service com-
missions to resolve ongoing disputes arising from the

* A leading antitrust scholar claims that the antitrust savings
clause in the Act “preserves not merely the basic application of the
antitrust laws, but also the system of regulatory deference and express
or implied immunity in favor of federal and state agencies that has
always governed antitrust disputes in regulated or partially deregu-
lated industries.” 3A Areeda & Hovenkamp, supra, 4 785b2 at 292.

13

administration and interpretation of interconnection
agreements.” Bell Atlantic-Maryland Inc. v. MCI World-
Com, Inc., 240 F.3d 279, 305 (4th Cir. 2001), vacated and
remanded on other grounds, 535 U.S. 635 (2002). The Act
employs the State Commissions in a variety of roles to
carry out its purposes.

Under the Act, State Commissions may be called upon
to mediate differences between incumbents and competi-
tors engaged in negotiating the terms of interconnection
agreements. 47 U.S.C. § 252(a)(2). They serve as arbitra-
tors of open issues that cannot be resolved through the
parties’ good faith negotiations. 47 U.S.C. § 252(b). In the
context of these arbitrations, State Commissions may
establish rates for interconnection, services, or network
elements, and may impose conditions upon the parties that
they deem necessary to ensure that the interconnection
obligations created by the Act are met. 47 U.S.C. §§ 252(c),
(d). Ultimately, the State Commissions must approve all
interconnection agreements, whether developed through
negotiation or arbitration. 47 U.S.C. § 252(e).

By including in the Act a statutory role for State
Commissions, Congress utilized the infrastructure and
expertise closest to the local exchange service markets —
State Commissions - to facilitate the transition to a competi-
tive market. Congress’ reliance on that regulatory role for the
States argues against the Second Circuit's expansion of
antitrust claims to include claims based solely on the duties
imposed by the Act. As shown by the savings clause, found at
47 U.S.C. § 152 note, the Act was not intended to limit
antitrust claims, but neither was it intended to alter the
elements or lower the bar for successfully pleading them.

14

C. The Decision of the Second Circuit is Unrea-
sonably Expansive in Light of the Regulatory
Oversight Established by Congress and
Could Hamper the States’ Ability to Facili-
tate Transition to Market Competition.

There is currently a combined state and federal
regulatory system in place pursuant to the Act to facilitate
the transition of the local telephone market to competition.
In fact, the conduct that respondent complains of was the
subject of a regulatory proceeding before the FCC and the
New York Public Service Commission.* Any antitrust claim
based on the same conduct must conform to traditional
antitrust law. As explained above, respondent's pleading
omits allegations that, if true, would establish a necessary
element of an antitrust cause of action. Omitting these
allegations expands the reach of antitrust jurisprudence.
Such an expansion could be counterproductive in the
context of the regulatory framework established by Con-
gress. Where such an expansion was not clearly intended
by Congress, it is important that it not be undertaken
without recognition of the impact that such an expansion
of antitrust law in the telecommunications area might
have, given the regulatory structures in place for enforce-
ment of the Act.

* Order, In re: Bell Atlantic-New York Authorization Under Section
271 of the Communications Act to Provide In-Region, Interlata Service
in the State of New York, 15 F.C.C.R. 5413 (Mar. 9, 2000); Order
Directing Improvements to Wholesale Service Performance, MCI
WorldCom Inc. v. Bell Atlantic-New York, 2000 WL 363378 (N.Y.PS.C.
Feb. 11, 2000); Order Addressing OSS Issues, MCI WorldCom Inc. v.
Bell Atlantic-New York, 2000 WL 1531916 (N.Y.P.S.C. Jul. 27, 2000).

15

There is inherent tension between the operation of a
congressionally prescribed state and federal regulatory
structure, like that provided by the Act, and the use of
antitrust laws to enforce the provisions of the same Act.
This tension arises on at least three fronts:

¢ the unique regulatory expertise in highly
technical subject matter that resides in the
State Commissions and the FCC, and which
is not typically found in courts hearing pri-
vate antitrust enforcement actions;

¢ the potential for conflicting adjudications re-
garding incumbent obligations arising under
the Act in regulatory proceedings as com-
pared to federal antitrust actions and the ef-
fect such uncertainty might have on the
anticipated transition of the market to com-
petition; and

¢ the absence, in private antitrust actions, of
the unique representation of the public in-
terest provided by the state regulatory body.

The existence of these tensions does not mean that the
regulatory mechanisms set forth by Congress preclude the

continued operation of traditional antitrust principles in
the telecommunications industry. The tensions do under-

score, however, the complexity implicit in the coexistence

of the two enforcement schemes and the resulting need for
caution in using the Act as an occasion for reducing the
elements necessary to make out a claim under Section 2 of
the Sherman Act. The consequences of unnecessary and

unanticipated changes in the reach of antitrust law as
applied to activity under the Act are difficult to predict,
and the careful balance of competing concerns demanded

by the nature of the telecommunications market, counsel

16

against adoption of the ill-advised decision of the Second
Circuit in this case.

¢

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
should be REVERSED.

Respectfully submitted,

JERRY W. KILGORE
Attorney General of Virginia

WILLIAM H. HURD
State Solicitor

MAUREEN RILEY MATSEN
WILLIAM E. THRO
Deputy State Solicitors

JUDITH WILLIAMS JAGDMANN
Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record

C. MEADE BROWDER, JR.
Senior Assistant Attorney General

SARAH OXENHAM ALLEN
RAYMOND L. DOGGETT, JR.
Assistant Attorneys General

900 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 786-2436 (voice)
(804) 371-0200 (facsimile)

Counsel for the Commonwealth
of Virginia
May 23, 2003

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0617%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
