# Amicus Curiae Brief — South Florida Water Management District v. Miccosukee Tribe of Indians

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0612%3A34

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 957

## Text

i 72
No. 02-626

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited

¢

CLERK

SOUTH FLORIDA WATER
MANAGEMENT DISTRICT,

Petitioner,
v.

MICCOSUKEE TRIBE OF INDIANS, et al.,

Respondents.
o

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

¢

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE NATIONAL
WILDLIFE FEDERATION, NATURAL RESOURCES
DEFENSE COUNCIL, SIERRA CLUB, AMERICAN
RIVERS, NATIONAL AUDUBON SOCIETY,
NATIONAL PARKS CONSERVATION
ASSOCIATION AND WORLD WILDLIFE FUND
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

o

HOWARD I. Fox JAMES MURPHY
EARTHJUSTICE NATIONAL WILDLIFE
1625 Massachusetts FEDERATION
Avenue, N.W. 1400 16th Street, N.W.
Suite 702 Suite 501
Washington, D.C. 20036-2212 Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 667-4500 (202) 797-6893
Counsel of Record for Amici Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Curiae National Wildlife National Wildlife
Federation, Natural Federation

Resources Defense Council,

Sierra Club, American

Rivers, National Audubon

Society, National Parks

Conservation Association

and World Wildlife Fund November 14, 2003

OOS SS“
‘ COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (890) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

Page

ED GIF GUE peecenncssonsasensennsnniesnenniantnianions i

STATEMENT OF INTEREST ...................ccesseeceeeseeees 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .................ccccceseeeeeeeeeees 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. .................cccceseeeeeeeeeeees 3

EE coneetinssneineintnminniiaiiniiindis 4
I. ON THE FACE OF §§ 301(a) AND 402(a), AS

Il.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ELUCIDATED BY USAGE OF THE TERM
“DISCHARGE” IN § 401, S-9’s PUMPING
CONSTITUTES THE “DISCHARGE OF ANY
PUPEMEF ERRIT Es crncveerensecoerseseveremnsssncnqvsuseqnenenns

A. §S-9’s Pumping Constitutes a Discharge...

(1) The Statutory Term “Discharge” Must
Be Given Meaning, and That Mean-

ing Should Be Consistent With Usage

Elsewhere in the Act .................0e0eceees

(2) Both the Plain Meaning of the Term,
and Usage of the Same Term in
§ 401(a), Confirm That S-9’s Pumping
Constitutes a “Discharge.” .................

B. The Water Pumped Through S-9 Con-
QUID “TEINS censevepusnssenccsesescnesnianesees

C. Discharge of Water Containing Pollut-
ants Constitutes the “Discharge of Any
POS cocsnssenusininnnnntiinnticeniniienn

S-9’s PUMPING FITS WITHIN THE § 502(12)
DEFINITION OF “DISCHARGE OF A POL-

© GFN Ee ccoesneveescesseemncsrecsnesensseneesnenneenpecsones

8

III.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

A. S-9’s Discharge Constitutes the “Addition” of
Pollutants to United States Waters................

(1) Circuit Precedent Unanimously Holds
That Diversions Between Waterbod-
ies Constitute “Additions.” .................

(2) By Regulating Discharges of “Dredged
Material” and “Dredged Spoil,” the Act
Confirms That Discharges Need Not
Come From an Outside Source...........

B. S-9 Is a “Point Source.” .............ccccceceeeeees
C. Pollutants Are Added to WCA3 “From” S-

SECTION 304(f)(2)(F) OFFERS NO BASIS
FOR OVERRIDING THE ACT’S SUBSTAN-
TIVE PROVISIONS CONCERNING DIS-
CHARGE OF POLLUTANTS ...........ccccceeseeeees

THE RULES OF STATUTORY INTERPRE-
TATION FAVOR THE APPLICABILITY OF
THE ACTS POINT SOURCE PROVISIONS

A. Applicability of Point Source Requirements to
S-9 Is Well Within Congress’ Commerce
Clause Power Over the Concededly Navigable
Waters at Issue Here, and Thus Does Not Im-
plicate Federalism-Driven Clear State-
STTIID cncncsansenseessnecesnsesonessessssess

B. Exempting S-9’s Pumping of Phosphorus-
Laden Stormwater From Point Source
Requirements Would Produce Absurd
tia dietteeatiaatiiiincementenpnansssscnsesens

17

19

19

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

C. The Rule of Lenity Offers No Basis for

Narrowing the Reach of the Act’s Point
Source Provisions ...........-.ccssccccccccseseesseees 29

CONCLUSION ...0cccccoccsccsscccccccccccssssceccsscsscosssssssosssess 30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Alabama Rivers Alliance v. FERC, 325 F.3d 290

a Gs Gi eenenssncssnsensecsncestrennnensindieenmncinnenes 7,9, 10
Appalachian Power Co. v. Train, 545 F.2d 1351 (4th

EEE Gia cccnccsnsmnnnnnenensctsnsiansninansnnenaibiiiinininieninibindaaniien 10
Arkansas v. Oklahoma, 503 U.S. 91 (1992)..............ccc00000 29
Avoyelles Sportsmen’s League v. Marsh, 715 F.2d

oP 13, 14
Borden Ranch Partnership v. U.S. Army Corps of

Engineers, 261 F.3d 810 (9th Cir. 2001), aff’d,

Se Ce Ge Ge cracerennnsnstinnanicsneusidtuvnimennttineaemnens 14
Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S. 470 (1917)............... 22
Catskill Mountains Chapter v. City of New York,

a ne Se Sa ee Ge ccncctnnnerenensinnennnmnn 9
Chao v. Mallard Bay Drilling, 534 U.S. 235 (2002).......... 24
Desert Palace v. Costa, 123 S. Ct. 2148 (2003)................... 6
Dubois v. United States Department of Agriculture,

BR ee 9
Egelhoff v. Egelhoff, 532 U.S. 141 (2001) .............ccccceeeeeeee 27
Milwaukee v. Illinois, 451 U.S. 304 (1981)............ 26, 28, 29
Minnehaha Creek Watershed District v. Hoffman,

597 F.2d 617 (8th Cir. 1979)............cscccccccrscccesesseseees 17, 25
National Mining Association v. U.S. Army Corps of

Engineers, 145 F.3d 1399 (D.C. Cir. 1998)................000+. 15
National Wildlife Federation v. Consumers Power

Co., 862 F.2d 580 (6th Cir. 1988) ...............ccsesccecceeesseees 10

OO IIT Be

~ 2 eb. co

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
National Wildlife Federation v. Gorsuch, 693 F.2d
ae Ge i crtrccnennccnsenansnsnnnsremannnmemmnannns 10
New York v. FERC, 535 U.S. 1 (2002).................sssseseeeeeerees 23
Norfolk & Western Rwy. Co. v. Ayers, 538 U.S. 135,
ee 24
PUD No. 1 v. Washington Department of Ecology,
A 2, 6, 7, 24
Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County v.
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 531 U.S. 159
ee 3, 5, 19, 20, 22, 23
Train v. Natural Resources Defense Council, 421
ee, Ge Ce ceneenesensssesnsnsatimnemmmmnmemennnee 26
US Airways v. Barnett, 535 U.S. 391 (2002) ..............00000+ 24
United States v. Brace, 41 F.3d 117 (3d Cir. 1994)............ 14
United States v. Deaton, 209 F.3d 331 (4th Cir.
TT concctntnnanensnenenipensinbeieneniinenntennnteeibmenemnS 14
United States v. Deaton, 332 F.3d 698 (4th Cir.
ITT nccndnnsnsnsnensinnescnnnsnnanansanaeenensnieennitenntentintetd 20, 21, 22
United States v. Huebner, 752 F.2d 1235 (7th Cir.
BIT nonecssnenssssensntussnnnspessmnnnmmnnninengenmmuesnnnennenmens 14
United States v. M.C.C. of Florida, 772 F.2d 1501
(11th Cir. 1985), vacated on other grounds, 481
U.S. 1034 (1987), discharge analysis reaffirmed
on remand, 848 F.2d 1133 (11th Cir. 1988).................... 14
United States v. Oakland Cannabis Buyers’ Coop-
erative, 532 U.S. 483 (2001) .......cccccccccccccccescoccccessocccescess 27

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, 474 U.S.

Sas ee iarstisserennenecninecinainnnininnnnmmenenienemmmenennamemneunented 20
United States v. Thompson /Center Arms Company,

ey eae aI Eee ciciteclinentcntecntinendindisiiininiiacinenendmeneel 30
STATUTES
Clean Water Act § 101, 33 U.S.C. § 1251.....2, 23, 24, 25, 29
Clean Water Act § 301, 33 U.S.C. § 1811................... passim
Clean Water Act § 303, 33 U.S.C. § 1313.........00000..c ee 26
Clean Water Act § 304, 33 U.S.C. § 1314............... 17, 18, 26
Clean Water Act § 306, 33 U.S.C. § 1316.......0000...cccc cee 26
Clean Water Act § 307, 33 U.S.C. § 1317..............ccccccceeeees 12
Clean Water Act § 401, 33 U.S.C. § 1341................... passim
Clean Water Act § 402, 33 U.S.C. § 1342 ......000000...... passim
Clean Water Act § 404, 33 U.S.C. § 1344................... passim
Clean Water Act § 502, 33 U.S.C. § 1362................... passim
REGULATIONS
eee ir eieeeceseniecidseniaceieienetaeaeaiasianianmneatasiteantaiiaindi 11,17
eee 26
en 26
| 26

Se cretrernnsesenscepemnemmenmemeneien 11

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
117 Cong. Rec. 38798-38854 (Nov. 2, 1971)..........00++ 12, 25
118 Cong. Rec. 10662 (March 28, 1972).............ccsecseeeeeeeees 25
123 Cong. Rec. 26712 (August 4, 1977) .........ccssssseeeeeeeees 13
123 Cong. Rec. 26767 (August 4, 1977) ..........ccccseesereeees 13
H.R. Rep. No. 911, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. (1972) ..........s:++++: 25
S. Rep. 370, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) ........:ccsceseseeeeeees 13
S. Rep. 414, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1971).............cceeeeeeeeeeee 25
CouRT RULES
© Ge, BR Se ce GB ceenecencsnreernremation 1

1

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

National Wildlife Federation, Natural Resources
Defense Council, Sierra Club, American Rivers, National
Audubon Society, National Parks Conservation Association
and World Wildlife Fund all have a long history of in-
volvement in, and expertise concerning, the protection of
our Nation’s waters and the implementation of the Clean
Water Act. Through testimony in Congress, comments and
other advocacy in the Executive Branch, and litigation in
the courts, they have pursued these interests repeatedly
during the three decades since enactment of the seminal
1972 amendments that gave the Act its current structure.
All of these organizations have members who use and rely
on a wide array of waters throughout our Nation for
recreation, scientific study, and protection of their health,
safety, property, drinking water, and food supply.’

S

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

At issue is whether the core protections of the Clean
Water Act apply to South Florida Water Management
District’s practice of pumping huge quantities of pollutant-
laden stormwater uphill from a collection canal in a
developed urban and suburban area, into a natural wet-
land area in the Everglades. The Act’s core objective is to
“restore and maintain the chemical, physical, and biological

* Pursuant to S. Ct. R. 37.3(a) and 37.6, the undersigned represent
that (1) all parties consented to the filing of this brief, (2) no counsel for
any party authored this brief in whole or in part, and (3) no person or
entity other than the above-named amici curiae and their counsel made
a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

2

integrity of the Nation’s waters,” §101(a), and no one
denies the substantial adverse effect that the river-sized
flow of phosphorus-laden stormwater pumped by peti-
tioner is having on the water quality and ecosystem of the
precious Everglades. Instead, the dispute is whether the
Act’s central safeguard — its point source permitting
program — encompasses that pumping.

As we show below, S-9’s pumping plainly amounts to
the “discharge of any pollutant” triggering point source
requirements. Indeed, the highly manipulated activities at
issue here bear no resemblance to the surface runoff that
the United States cites (at 5 n.1) as the “textbook exam-
ples” of nonpoint pollution.

Petitioner and the United States seek to avoid point
source requirements on the ground that the polluted
stormwater canal from which the pumped water is drawn
itself constitutes a water covered by the Act — and that
moving pollutants from one covered water (the canal) to
another (the Everglades) does not constitute a discharge of
those pollutants. This argument is textually untenable, as
we show below. Moreover, by allowing the unpermitted
diversion of polluted water from any covered waterbody to
any other, the argument would open the door to major
degradation of less polluted waterbodies by more polluted
ones. Such an approach cannot be reconciled either with
the Act’s core objective of restoring and maintaining the
integrity of covered waters, or with its provision for water
quality standards designed to protect “the specific uses
and attributes of a particular body of water.” PUD No. 1 v.
Washington Dept. of Ecology, 511 U.S. 700, 717 (1994).

+

3

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Petitioner and the United States pay scant attention
to the key statutory phrase defining the applicability of
the permit requirement: “discharge of any pollutant.”
Under the plain meaning of the term, informed by usage of
that same term in another Clean Water Act provision
(§ 401), S-9’s pumping plainly qualifies as a “discharge.”
Moreover, no one disputed below that the phosphorus in
the pumped water is a “pollutant.”

S-9’s pumping also constitutes the “addition of any
pollutant to navigable waters from any point source” within
the meaning of the Act’s definition of “discharge of a pollut-
ant.” It is undisputed that the Everglades waters to which S-
9 pumps pollutants are “navigable waters” protected by the
Act, and that S-9 constitutes a “point source.” Petitioner’s
and the United States’ claim that S-9 does not cause an
“addition” of pollutants relies on older appellate precedent,
ignoring a recent contrary D.C. Circuit decision. That claim
is also irreconcilable with § 404 of the Act, which expressly
applies the Act’s point source permit program to the “dis-
charge of dredged ... material,” a practice described by
legislative history as “moving spoil material from one place
in the waterway to another, without the interjection of new
pollutants.” Appellate decisions have consistently held that
relocation of dredged material from one place in United
States waters to another constitutes an “addition” triggering
point source requirements.

There is no merit in petitioner’s attempt to invoke a
federalism-driven clear statement test like that applied in
Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County v. U.S. Army
Corps of Engineers, 531 U.S. 159 (2001). Because the
Everglades wetlands at issue here are concededly “naviga-
ble waters” entitled to the Act’s protection, application of

4

the point source requirement to control undisputed ad-
verse water quality impacts to those waters constitutes a
legitimate exercise of Congress’ power to protect the
channels of commerce from injurious uses.

Moreover, Congress built a prominent state role into the
Act’s point source permit program. Permits are issued by
Florida, applying the state’s own water quality standards
and its judgments about technology-based requirements. The
modest degree of accountability built into the program is
fully appropriate given the legitimate federal interest in
protection of the Everglades and other priceless waters.

+

ARGUMENT

I. ON THE FACE OF §§ 301(a) AND 402(a), AS
ELUCIDATED BY USAGE OF THE TERM
“DISCHARGE” IN § 401, S-9°S PUMPING CON-
STITUTES THE “DISCHARGE OF ANY POL-
LUTANT.”

The applicability of §301(a)’s prohibition, and
§ 402(a)’s NPDES permitting authority, both hinge on
whether there has been a “discharge of any pollutant.” As
we show below, it is indisputable that (1) S-9’s pumping
constitutes a “discharge,” and (2) the phosphorus con-
tained in the pumped water constitutes a “pollutant.”
Thus, petitioner’s position amounts to the implausible
claim that a discharge containing a pollutant does not
constitute the “discharge of any pollutant.”

A. S-9’s Pumping Constitutes a Discharge.

Petitioner and its allies spend virtually all their
attention on the definition of “discharge of a pollutant,”

5

§ 502(12), offering various parsings of that definition’s
terms (such as “addition”). While their analysis of the
§ 502(12) definition is fundamentally flawed for reasons
discussed later in this brief, as an initial matter they err
by overlooking the statutory term “discharge” itself.

(1) The Statutory Term “Discharge” Must
Be Given Meaning, and That Meaning
Should Be Consistent With Usage Else-

where in the Act.

The flaw in petitioner’s approach is demonstrated by
the same SWANCC decision upon which petitioner itself so
prominently relies. There the Court construed “navigable
waters,” which is defined in § 502(7) as “the waters of the
United States, including the territorial seas.” However, the
Court rejected an argument that, given the § 502(7) defini-
tion, “the use of the word navigable in the statute does not
have any independent significance.” 531 U.S. at 172
(quoting Solicitor) (ellipses and internal quotations omit-
ted). The Court concluded: “We cannot agree that Con-
gress’ separate definitional use of the phrase ‘waters of the
United States’ constitutes a basis for reading the term
‘navigable waters’ out of the statute.” Id. (emphasis added).

So here. The operative phrase in both § 301(a) and
§ 402(a) speaks of “discharge.” Under SWANCC, that word
cannot be read “out of the statute” simply because it is
statutorily defined. On the contrary, “discharge” must be
given meaning.

Moreover, that meaning should comport with usage
elsewhere in the Act. Significantly, § 401(a) requires a state
certification for any activity “which may result in any dis-
charge into the navigable waters.” (Emphasis added). Under

6

this Court’s precedent, the “normal rule of statutory con-
struction” is that “identical words used in different parts of
the same act are intended to have the same meaning.” See,
e.g., Desert Palace v. Costa, 123 S.Ct. 2148, 2155 (2003)
(citations and internal quotations omitted). As shown below,
petitioner’s interpretation would give the term “discharge” in
§§ 301(a) and 402(a) a meaning dramatically different from
the one it has in § 401(a).

(2) Both the Plain Meaning of the Term, and
Usage of the Same Term in § 401(a), Con-
firm That S-9’s Pumping Constitutes a

”

“Discharge.

The plain meaning of “discharge,” and usage of that
same term in § 401(a), lead inescapably to the conclusion
that S-9’s pumping constitutes a “discharge.”

Plain meaning. Though indicating that “(d]ictionary
definitions provide guidance to the meaning of the statute,”
Pet. Br. 26, petitioner never applies such a definition to the
statutory term “discharge.” However, Justice Scalia did so in
PUD No. 1 v. Washington Dept. of Ecology, 511 U.S. 700
(1994). As noted in the PUD majority opinion, it was undis-
puted that the passage of water through a dam’s tailrace
constituted a “discharge.” Jd. 711. Justice Scalia dissented on
another point, but did not disagree that there was a dis-
charge. To the contrary, he noted that “[tJhe term ‘discharge’
is not defined in the CWA, but its plain and ordinary mean-
ing suggests ‘a flowing or issuing out,’ or ‘something that is
emitted.’ Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary 360
(1991).” Id. 725. The flowing or issuing out and emitting of
water from the proposed Elkhorn Dam in PUD met that test,
even though the water would not originate in the outside
world, but rather would flow from the river upstream of the

ee ee ee

7

dam to the river below it. Similarly, the flow of water and
pollutants through S-9, from one United States water (C-11)
to another (WCA3), meets that definition as well, and is thus
a “discharge.”

Section 401(a). PUD addressed Clean Water Act § 401,
which requires a state certification for any activity “which
may result in any discharge into the navigable waters.”
(Emphasis added.) The Court noted: “There is no dispute
that petitioners were required to obtain a certification from
the State pursuant to § 401. Petitioners concede that, at a
minimum, the project will result in two possible discharges,”
including “the discharge of water at the end of the tailrace
after the water has been used to generate electricity.” 511
U.S. at 711 (emphasis added). This conclusion is consistent
with lower court precedent finding that flow through dams
and other similar facilities constitutes a “discharge” within
the meaning of § 401(a). See, e.g., Alabama Rivers Alliance v.
FERC, 325 F.3d 290 (D.C. Cir. 2003). Under this approach, S-
9’s pumping of water and pollutants from C-11 to WCA3
clearly constitutes a discharge. As noted above, the “normal
rule of statutory construction” is that the term “discharge” in
§§ 301(a) and 402(a) should be construed consistently with
the same word in §401(a) — rather than diametrically
opposite as petitioner advocates.

B. The Water Pumped Through S-9 Contains
“Pollutants.”

As the Eleventh Circuit noted, “[nJo party disputes
that ... the water released by the [S-9] station contains
pollutants.” Pet. App. 4a-5a (emphasis added). In particu-
lar, it contains phosphorus, a common component of
“industrial, municipal, and agricultural waste.” § 502(6)

(defining “pollutant”).

8

Petitioner’s half-hearted attempt to retract that conces-
sion adds nothing to petitioner’s erroneous argument con-
cerning “discharge.” Specifically, petitioner argues that, once
a substance has been discharged into United States waters,
it stops being a “pollutant” and becomes “pollution.” Pet. Br.
28. However, given that a “discharge” can occur when water
passes from one side of a dam to the other, petitioner’s
argument is untenable. Because such water is itself being
“discharged,” the phosphorus contained in such water
constitutes “industrial, municipal, and agricultural waste
discharged into water” under the definition of “pollutant.”
§ 502(6) (emphasis added).

C. Discharge of Water Containing Pollutants
Constitutes the “Discharge of Any Pollut-
ant.”

Given that S-9’s pumping constitutes a “discharge,” and
that the discharge contains “pollutants,” it is untenable for
petitioner to contend that S-9 does not effectuate the “dis-
charge of any pollutant.” §§ 301(a), 402(a) (emphasis added).
Thus, petitioner’s attempt to tease that conclusion out of the
Act’s definition section (specifically, § 502(12), defining
“discharge of a pollutant”) should be approached with
considerable skepticism. As shown below, petitioner’s argu-
ments concerning the § 502(12) definition fall short.

II. S-9°S PUMPING FITS WITHIN THE § 502(12)
DEFINITION OF “DISCHARGE OF A POLLUT-
ANT.”

The Act defines “discharge of a pollutant” to encompass
inter alia “any addition of any pollutant to navigable waters
from any point source.” § 502(12). Petitioner’s attempts to
draw support from this definition are meritless.

9

A. §S-9’S Discharge Constitutes the “Addition”
of Pollutants to United States Waters.

Petitioner prominently relies on the definition’s use of
“addition,” claiming that the pollutants contained in S-9’s
pump water were already present in the C-11 canal and
thus are not “add[ed]” to navigable waters by S-9. This
argument is meritless.

(1) Circuit Precedent Unanimously Holds
That Diversions Between Waterbodies
Constitute “Additions.”

Decisions of at least four circuits have recognized that
diversions constitute “additions.” Beyond the Eleventh
Circuit decision under review here, and the First and
Second Circuit decisions discussed in petitioner’s brief,’
the D.C. Circuit recently held that an “addition” occurs
when water flows through a dam.

In Alabama Rivers, the D.C. Circuit addressed
whether there was a “discharge” requiring certification
under § 401(a). The project at issue — modification of a
hydroelectric facility - would produce “an increased flow of
water, and particularly of low dissolved oxygen (DO)
water.” 325 F.3d at 296. In construing § 401(a)’s term
“discharge,” the court “found the definition of ‘discharge of
a pollutant’ and ‘discharge of pollutants’ instructive as ‘the
nearest evidence we have of definitional intent by Con-
gress.” Id. 299 n.12 (citation omitted). That definition
includes the term “addition.” § 502(12).

* Dubois v. United States Department of Agriculture, 102 F.3d 1273
(1st Cir. 1996); Catskill Mountains Chapter v. City of New York, 273
F.3d 481 (2d Cir. 2001).

10

Under that standard, the “plain language” of § 401(a)(1)
compelled the conclusion that

Alabama Power’s installation and operation of
the new turbine generators at its Martin Dam
Project is an “activity ... which may result in
any discharge” within the meaning of section
401(a\(1). As discussed above, “the word ‘dis-
charge’ contemplates the addition ... of a sub-
stance or substances” into the navigable waters.
Here, the Commission concluded that the re-
placement turbines would increase the flow of
water into the river by approximately 900 cfs.
Thus, at the very least, the replacement turbines
will release low DO water into the river at an in-
creased rate of 900 cfs. The installation and opera-
tion of the replacement turbines is therefore an

"activity that “may result in any discharge.”

Id. 299 (emphasis added; citation omitted).

Fhough heavily relying on a D.C. Circuit decision
issued twenty years earlier, National Wildlife Federation
v. Gorsuch, 693 F.2d 156 (D.C. Cir. 1982), neither peti-
tioner nor the United States have seen fit to alert this
Court to that same court’s far more recent analysis of the
statutory term “addition” in Alabama Rivers.’

* Aside from Gorsuch, whose reasoning conflicts with the more
recent Alabama Rivers decision by the same court, petitioner also relies
prominently on National Wildlife Federation v. Consumers Power Co.,
862 F.2d 580 (6th Cir. 1988). That decision - which we submit was
erroneous — addresses only recirculation of water and pollutants out of
and back into a single water body. Moreover, Appalachian Power Co. v.
Train, 545 F.2d 1351, 1377 (4th Cir. 1976), though it opined (incorrectly)
on the term “addition,” did so in the context of reviewing effluent
regulations defining the proper terms of a point source permit — not
whether such a permit is required in the first instance.

a eee er es

11

(2) By Regulating Discharges of “Dredged
Material” and “Dredged Spoil,” the Act
Confirms That Discharges Need Not
Come From an Outside Source.

The Act’s treatment of “dredged material” and
“dredged spoil” confirms the error in petitioner’s argu-
ments concerning the term “addition.” Those statutory
provisions likewise refute the United States’ extraordinary
argument (at 19) that “{o)nce a pollutant is present in one
part of ‘the waters of the United States,’ its simple convey-
ance to a different part is not a ‘discharge of a pollutant’.
within the meaning of the Act.”

1972 Amendments. Enacted in 1972, § 301(a) prohib-
its the “discharge of any pollutant,” and § 502(6) defines
“pollutant” to include “dredged spoil.” Likewise enacted in
1972, § 404(a) authorizes the Secretary of the Army to
issue permits for the “discharge of dredged or fill mate-
rial.” (Emphasis added.) Contrary to petitioner’s and the
United States’ attempt to dismiss their relevance, these
two provisions are highly germane to this case, because
they are governed by the same statutory definition at issue
here — specifically, § 502(12), which defines “discharge of a
pollutant” as “any addition of any pollutant to navigable
waters from any point source.” (Emphasis added.)

The very nature of dredged spoil and dredged material
— as confirmed by longstanding EPA and Corps regulations
— is that they originate in United States waters. 40 C.F.R.
§ 232.2 (EPA regulation defines “dredged material” as
“material that is excavated or dredged from waters of the
United States”) (emphasis added). Accord, 33 C.F.R.
§ 323.2(c) (Corps regulation). Thus, any discharge of
dredged material inherently involves moving material that

12

originated in United States waters — not introducing
material to those waters from an external source.

Indeed, according to the sponsor of the floor amend-
ment that first proposed assigning the Corps permitting
authority over dredged material discharge, such discharge
involves “moving spoil material from one place in the
waterway to another, without the interjection of new
pollutants.” 117 Cong. Rec. 38854 (Nov. 2, 1971) (emphasis
added) (Sen. Ellender). Accord, id. 38853 (“The disposal of
dredged material does not involve the introduction of new
pollutants; it merely moves the material from one location
to another.”) (emphasis added).

1977 Amendments. The 1977 Amendments further
refute petitioner’s contention that an addition — and a
discharge — occurs only when material is introduced from
outside United States waters. Those amendments enacted
conditional exemptions for specified kinds of dredged
material discharges, § 404(f)(1), but provided that those
same discharges are subject to point source requirements
for toxics, § 404(f)(1) (citing CWA § 307, 33 U.S.C. § 1317),
and must obtain a point source permit where impacts on
United States waters would be significant. § 404(f)(2).

Tellingly, among the discharges that are subject to
point source requirements in the above-specified circum-
stances are several that involve relocation of dredged
material within the same waterbody. These include, for
example, discharges associated with “plowing” and “the
maintenance of drainage ditches.” § 404(f)(1)(A) and (C).

Moreover, Congress worded § 404(f)(1)(C) narrowly to
encompass only the “maintenance,” but not the construc-
tion, of drainage ditches. Thus, Congress confirmed that
ditch construction — which involves relocation of dredged
material over short distances — lacks even a conditional

13

exemption from permitting.‘ Congress’ treatment of ditch
construction further refutes petitioner’s claim that a
discharge occurs only when material is introduced from
outside of United States waters.

Finally, the 1977 Amendments added an exemption
for agricultural drainage, but limited it to “minor drain-
age.” § 404(f)(1)(A) (emphasis added). The drafters ex-
plained that “(t]he exemption for minor drainage does not
apply to the drainage of swampland or other wetlands.” S.
Rep. 370, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 76 (1977).* Congress’ intent
to regulate discharges associated with agricultural drain-
age activities - which likewise typically involve relocation
of dredged material ov. short distances — offers yet
further evidence against petitioner’s claim that relocation
of pollutants within United States waters involves no
discharge at all.

Judicial precedent. A series of appellate decisions
extending back two decades has without exception found
that a discharge occurs when dredged material is relocated
from one place in United States waters to another. Indeed,
those decisions have unanimously confirmed that a dis-
charge occurs when dredged material is relocated within a
single waterbody.

The seminal case of Avoyelles Sportsmen’s League v.
Marsh, 715 F.2d 897 (5th Cir. 1983), held:

No one has urged here that the materials must

come from an external source in order to consti-

tute a discharge necessitating a § 404 permit, nor

* Accord, 123 Cong. Rec. 26712 (August 4, 1977) (Senator Muskie).
* Accord, 123 Cong. Rec. 26767 (August 4, 1977) (Senator Muskie);
id. (Senator Dole).

14

would we expect them to, since § 404 refers to

“dredged” or “fill” material. ... “(D]redged” ma-

terial is by definition material that comes from

the water itself. A requirement that all pollutants

must come from outside sources would effectively

remove the dredge-and-fili provision from the
statute.
Id. 924 n.43 (emphasis added).

Relying on this principle, Avoyelles and other appel-
late decisions have found that relocating dredged or fill
material within a single waterbody constitutes an “addi-
tion.” See, e.g., Avoyelles, 715 F.2d at 920-26 (relocation of
soil and other material within wetland constituted a
discharge); United States v. M.C.C. of Florida, 772 F.2d
1501, 1505-06 (11th Cir. 1985), vacated on other grounds,
481 U.S. 1034 (1987), discharge analysis reaffirmed on
remand, 848 F.2d 1133 (11th Cir. 1988) (tugboat propellers
added dredged material by stirring up sediment that then
settled on adjacent seagrass beds); United States v.
Deaton, 209 F.3d 331 (4th Cir. 2000) (relocation of dredged
material from a ditch to the edge of the ditch constituted
an “addition”); United States v. Huebner, 752 F.2d 1235,
1241-43 (7th Cir. 1985) (§ 404 permit required for use of
earthmoving equipment to spread soil around wetlands);
United States v. Brace, 41 F.3d 117, 127-29 (3d Cir. 1994)
(same); Borden Ranch Partnership v. U.S. Army Corps of

* Petitioner argues unpersuasively that M.C.C. is distinguishable
because it involved the use of boat propellers to “rip up sediment.” Pet.
Br. 30 n.4. To the contrary, because the sediment indisputably origi-
nated in United States waters, M.C.C. stands as strong refutation of
petitioner’s and the United States’ argument that a discharge exists
only when pollutants are introduced into United States waters from an
outside source.

‘15

Engineers, 261 F.3d 810 (9th Cir. 2001), aff’d, 537 U.S.
999 (2002) (same).

Even the most restrictive appellate decision on the
issue agrees that relocation of dredged material within
United States waters — indeed, within a single waterbody
— can constitute an addition. In National Mining Assn. v.
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 145 F.3d 1399 (D.C. Cir.
1998), the court held that “incidental fallback,” which
occurs when dredged material is returned “virtually to the

~spot from which it came,” id. 1403 (emphasis added), does
not constitute an “addition.” Jd. 1405. However, the court
confirmed that relocation of dredged material to a different
spot — even within the same waterbody — can constitute an
“addition” and thus a discharge.

For example, National Mining expressly confirmed
that it did not intend to question the regulation of “rede-
posits at some distance from the point of removal.” 145
F.3d at 1407 (emphasis added). The amount of relocation
the National Mining court considered sufficient to trigger
§ 404 jurisdiction was minimal. Jd. 1407, 1402 (confirming
that the court was not questioning § 404 jurisdiction over
“sidecasting,” a practice that “involves placing removed
soil ... by the side of an excavated ditch”). Likewise,
National Mining expressly confirmed that plowing -
which likewise involves minimal relocation of dredged
material — can constitute an “addition.” Jd. 1405.

In short, Congress’ express provision for regulation of
discharges of “dredged spoil” and “dredged material”
stands in strong refutation to petitioner’s and the United
States’ argument that an “addition” occurs only when
pollutants are introduced into United States waters from
an outside source.

16

B. S-9 Is a “Point Source.”

As the Eleventh Circuit observed, “/nJo party disputes
that the S-9 pump station and, in particular, the pipes
from which water is released constitute a point source.”
Pet App. 4a-5a (emphasis added). Indeed, no other conclu-
sion is possible given the Act’s broad definition of point
source as “any discernible, confined and discrete convey-
ance, including but not limited to [inter alia] any pipe,
ditch, channel, tunnel, [or] conduit.” § 502(14) (emphasis
added).

C. Pollutants Are Added to WCA3 “From” S-9.

Noting § 502(12)’s reference to addition of a pollutant
“from” a point source, petitioner argues that pollutants are
not being added to WCA3 “from” S-9: “The S-9 pump
station is not the starting point, source, or origin of any
pollutants. Any pollutants are added to the navigable
waters of the C-11 Canal from other sources within the
surrounding area or already exist in the environment.”
Pet. Br. 27 (internal quotations omitted). As the United
States correctly points out, however, a point source is by
express statutory definition a “conveyance,” § 502(14),
thus “signiflying] that a point source itself need not
generate or be the originating source of the pollutant.”
U.S. Br. 21 (emphasis added). Petitioner does not and
could not deny that Congress intended the NPDES point
source program to encompass municipal sewage treatment
plants and stormwater systems — both of which convey

‘ rather than originate pollutants. U.S. Br. 22 n.6 (citing

CWA §§ 301(b)(1)(B) and 402(p)).

—- —— <a

17

III. SECTION 304(f)(2)(F) OFFERS NO BASIS FOR
OVERRIDING THE ACT’S SUBSTANTIVE PRO-
VISIONS CONCERNING DISCHARGE OF POL-

LUTANTS.

Petitioner and the United States rely heavily on
§ 304(f)(2) in arguing that diversions constitute nonpoint
source pollution, rather than the discharge of pollutants.
However, § 304(f) on its face is an “information” provision
that does not purport to amend the Act’s substantive
provisions, or to define the terms used therein. Moreover,
the word “nonpoint” appears only in § 304(f)(1), not in
§ 304(f)(2) or the prefatory language introducing § 304(f).

Beyond these fundamental objections, petitioner’s
argument suffers from another fatal flaw. Section 304(f)(2)
cannot possibly be construed as a list of exclusively non-
point source problems, because the listed items include
several that plainly involve point source discharges. For
example, § 304(f)(2)(F) its’ .f references the “the construc-
tion of dams, levees, channels, causeways, or flow diver-
sion facilities,” which plainly involves point source
discharges. See, e.g., Minnehaha Creek Watershed District
v. Hoffman, 597 F.2d 617, 624-27 (8th Cir. 1979) (construc-
tion of dams involved “discharge of dredged or fill mate-
rial” requiring a permit under § 404); 33 C.F.R. § 323.2(f)
(Corps’ definition of “discharge of fill material” includes
several items enumerated in § 304(f(2)F) — specifically,
“dams,” “levees,” and “causeways”). Likewise, other sub-
paragraphs of § 304(f)(2) reference “agricultural
activities” and “mining activities,” which under the ex-
press terms of the Act involve point source discharges. See
§§ 502(14) (definition of “point source” includes “any ...
concentrated animal feeding operation”); 301(p) (providing
for discharge permits for certain mining-related discharges),

18

402(1(2) (exempting certain mining-related discharges
from §402 permit requirements, but only where such
discharges “are not contaminated by contact with, or do
not come into contact with, any overburden, raw material,
intermediate products, finished product, byproduct, or
waste products located on the site of such operations.”).

Finally, in their focus on the purely informational
§ 304(f)(2), petitioner and the United States have entirely
overlooked a different Clean Water Act provision that
expressly addresses the relationship between flow changes
and the point source permit requirement — and does so in a
way that cuts diametrically against petitioner’s and the
United States’ proffered interpretation. Enacted in 1977,
§ 404(f) provides that discharge of dredged or fill material
associated with various listed activities is conditionally
exempt from the § 301(a) discharge prohibition and the
§ 402(a) and 404(a) permit requirements, § 404(f)(1), but
cautions:

Any discharge of dredged or fill material into the

navigable waters incidental to any activity hav-

ing as its purpose bringing an area of the navi-

gable waters into a use to which it was not

previously subject, where the flow or circulation

of navigable waters may be impaired or the reach

of such waters be reduced, shall be required to

have a permit under this section.
§ 404(f(2) (emphasis added). This provision expressly
recognizes that point source discharges can involve im-
pairment of the flow or circulation of navigable waters,
and requires that such discharges have a point source
permit.

EP

19

IV. THE RULES OF STATUTORY INTERPRETA-
TION FAVOR THE APPLICABILITY OF THE
ACT’S POINT SOURCE PROVISIONS TO S-9.

Petitioner offers three principles of statutory interpre-
tation that allegedly militate against applicability of point
source requirements to S-9. All of these arguments are
meritless.

A. Applicability of Point Source Require-
ments to S-9 Is Well Within Congress’
Commerce Clause Power Over the Con-
cededly Navigable Waters at Issue Here,
and Thus Does Not Implicate Federalism-
Driven Clear Statement Principles.

Petitioner (at 34-37) seeks to invoke the federalism-
driven “clear statement” test discussed in SWANCC. The
foregoing discussion shows that the Act’s point source
provisions clearly apply here, and thus would meet that
test. However, consideration of the waters, the activities, and
the statutory program at issue here confirms the inapplica-
bility of federalism-driven clear statement principles.

The Waters at Issue. Petitioner’s clear stateinent
argument ignores a fundamental difference between
SWANCC and this case. There, the dispute was whether
certain waters — an “abandoned sand and gravel pit”
described by the Court as “nonnavigable, isolated, intra-
state waters,” 531 U.S. at 166, 174 (emphasis added) —
were properly subject to point source requirements. That
was the context for SWANCC’s observation that, “[w]here
an administrative interpretation of a statute invokes the
outer limits of Congress’ power, we expect a clear indica-
tion that Congress intended that result.” Jd. 172 (empha-
sis added).

20

However, SWANCC left undisturbed United States v.
Riverside Bayview Homes, 474 U.S. 121 (1985), which
upheld point source jurisdiction over adjacent wetlands.
Explaining Riverside Bayview, SWANCC noted: “It was
the significant nexus between the wetlands and ‘navigable
waters’ that informed our reading of the CWA in Riverside
Bayview Homes.” 531 U.S. at 167 (emphasis added). Here,
such a nexus plainly exists: no one denies that WCA3
constitutes “navigable waters” under the Act. Accordingly,
protection of WCA3’s water quality is not at the “outer
limits” of the Act’s constitutional reach, and there is no
need to invoke a clear statement rule. To the contrary,
protection of “navigable waters” is a core and legitimate
concern of the Act.

Indeed, that principle was recently confirmed by the
Fourth Circuit, which held that clear statement principles
do not govern the United States’ application of Clean
Water Act point source requirements to certain wetlands.
United States v. Deaton, 332 F.3d 698, 704-08 (4th Cir.
2003). Having determined that the wetlands were within
Congress’ Commerce Clause power, the court concluded
that application of point source requirements

does not invade an area of authority reserved to
the states. The power to protect navigable waters
is part of the commerce power given to Congress
by the Constitution, and this power exists along-
side the states’ traditional police powers. “Al-
though States have important interests in
regulating ... natural resources within their bor-
ders, this authority is shared with the Federal
Government when the Federal Government exer-
cises one of its enumerated powers.... ” Minne-
sota v. Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians, 526
U.S. 172, 204, 143 L. Ed. 2d 270, 119 S. Ct. 1187
(1999).

eee =

er NE Sl Bally ae be

21

Id. 707-08 (emphasis added). In short, application of point
source requirements to navigable waters “does not invoke
the outer limits of Congress’s power or alter the federal-
state framework,” and thus “does not present a serious
constitutional question that would cause us to assume that
Congress did not intend to authorize the regulation.” Id.
708 (emphasis added).

The Activities at Issue. While not disputing that the
waters at issue are well within the Commerce Clause,
petitioner erroneously argues that some subset of activities
affecting those waters — specifically, those involving “water
management and allocation” — should be singled out and
subjected to federalism-driven clear statement principles.
Pet. Br. 35.

First, the circumstances of this case belie the conten-
tion that it only addresses “concern[s] of the States.” See
Pet. Br. 35 (emphasis added). The Corps of Engineers built
the facilities at issue here (the S-9 pump, C-11 canal, and
the L-33 and L-37 levees) pursuant to federal statute;
those facilities are governed by planning requirements
established by the Secretary of the Army pursuant to
federal statute; and huge sums of federal funds are being
spent in the process. Pet. App. 3a; U.S. Br. 7-9. These are
not tenable circumstances for an argument that point
source regulation would intrude into matters of purely
state or local interest.

Nor can the applicability of clear statement canons
hinge on whether petitioner believes the activity at issue
to be “traditional.” See Pet. Br. 35. Aside from the obvious
implausibility of positing a “tradition” of modern technolo-
gies (in this case, huge mechanized pumps), our environ-
mental statutes would be eviscerated if “traditional”
activities were insulated from regulation. After all, piping

22

untreated sewage and industrial effluent into rivers was
“traditional” before passage of the Act, but petitioner does
not argue that federalism concerns are implicated by
regulating those practices.

Finally, it is crucial to remember that the waters at
issue here — unlike SWANCC’s abandoned sand and gravel
pit — are undisputedly a legitimate object of federal protec-
tion. The notion that some activities injurious to those
waters should be singled out for a federalism-driven clear
statement rule is meritless.

Thus in Deaton, the Fourth Circuit noted SWANCC’s
observation that “Congress enacted the Clean Water Act
under ‘its traditional jurisdiction over waters that were or
had been navigable in fact or which could reasonably be so
made,’” 332 F.3d at 706 (quoting SWANCC, 531 U.S. at
172), and found that “[t]he power over navigable waters is
an aspect of the authority to regulate the channels of
interstate commerce.” This is significant, because “Con-
gress’s power over the channels of interstate commerce,
unlike its power to regulate activities with a substantial
relation to interstate commerce, reaches beyond the
regulation of activities that are purely economic in na-
ture.” Jd. In particular, “the authority of Congress to keep
the channels of interstate commerce free from immoral
and injurious uses has been frequently sustained.” Jd.
(emphasis added) (quoting Caminetti v. United States, 242
U.S. 470, 491 (1917)).

Applying that principle to the Clean Water Act, the
Fourth Circuit found a federalism-driven clear statement
rule unwarranted. In particular, “Gongress’s authority
over the channels of commerce is . . . broad enough to allow
it to legislate, as it did in the Clean Water Act, to prevent
the use of navigable waters for injurious purposes.” Id.

23

707 (emphasis added). The injurious purposes addressed
by the Act encompass “degrad[ation of] the quality of the
navigable waters.” Jd. (emphasis added).

It is undisputed that the activity at issue here —
pumping phosphorus-laden water into navigable water
that serves as a natural conservation area — is injurious to
the Act’s core water quality goals. Pet. Br. 13 (“Urban and
agricultural development has introduced pollutants into
the ecosystem at rates that cannot be assimilated. The
resulting imbalance of the ecosystem is manifest in de-
clined faunal populations and an increase in invasive
flora.”). Thus, application of point source requirements to
that activity does not “invoke[] the outer limits” of Con-
gress’ power, see SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 172, and federal-
ism-driven clear statement principles do not apply.

Indeed, invocation of federalism principles here would
reduce them to a caricature. Surely the applicability of
constitutionally driven clear statement canons cannot turn
on such details as whether phosphorus is piped into WCA3
from other United States waters or from a source outside
of those waters. See Pet. Br. 31-32. In either case, waters
of the United States - in whose protection there is a
legitimate federal interest — are degraded.

The Program at Issue. Petitioner's federalism
argument relies heavily on CWA §101(b)’s “policy” of
preserving state prerogatives. As initial matter, petitioner
errs in suggesting that a policy can shunt aside the Act’s
substantive point source provisions. See, e.g., New York v.
FERC, 535 U.S. 1, 22 (2002) (federalism savings clause in
Federal Power Act is “a mere policy declaration that cannot
nullify a clear and specific grant of jurisdiction, even if the
particular grant seems inconsistent with the broadly

24

expressed purpose”) (citation and internal quotations
omitted).’

Moreover, if the Act’s policies are to guide interpreta-
tion, petitioner fails to explain why the Act’s central
objective to restore and maintain the integrity of United
States waters (§ 101(a)) should not carry the day. See, e.g.,
Chao v. Mallard Bay Drilling, 534 U.S. 235, 245 n.9 (2002)
(rejecting interpretation that would narrow a regulatory
statute’s protective reach: “Such large gaps in the regula-
tion of occupational health and safety would be plainly
inconsistent with the purpose of the OSH Act.”); US
Airways v. Barnett, 535 U.S. 391, 397 (2002) (rejecting
reading under which statutory provision “could not accom-
plish its intended objective”); Norfolk & Western Rwy. Co.
v. Ayers, 538 U.S. 135, 123 S. Ct. 1210, 1225, 1228 (2003)
(rejecting reading “inconsistent with the Act’s overall
recovery facilitating thrust” in favor of one that “accords
with the [Act]’s overarching purpose”).

But even if the Act’s federalism policy were accorded
substantive effect, application of point source permitting
requirements is fully consistent with it. In multiple ways,
Congress built a prominent state role into the Act’s point
source program.

First, Congress expressly provided that states can
assume authority to implement the NPDES program,
§ 402(b) and (c) — as indeed Florida and 44 other states

” Likewise, the § 101(g) provision addressing allocation of “quanti-
ties” of water is expressly presented as a “policy” - and in any event
does not control this case, which involves application of NPDES
requirements to protect water quality. See PUD, 511 U.S. at 720-721.

|
!
{
.
{
j
|
|

25

have done.* The authors of the 1972 Act stressed that
“permits granted by States under section 402 are not
Federal permits — but State permits.” H.R. Rep. No. 911,
92d Cong., 2d Sess. 127 (1972) (emphasis added).

Congress’ decision to allow delegations of § 402 au-
thority to states is no mere incidental feature of the 1972
Act, but is integral to Congress’s intent. Indeed, § 101(b) —
the very provision relied on by petitioner — confirms “the
policy of Congress that the States ... implement the
permit programs under sections 1342 and 1344 [§§ 402
and 404].” (Emphasis added.)

Significantly, when the 1972 Amendments were
enacted, the Corps was beginning to implement an ex-
panded federal permitting program under the 1899 Refuse
Act. The legislative history expresses Congress’ intent that
the federal-state balance be restored by allowing states to
administer the Act’s discharge permitting program. See,
e.g., 1972 House Rep. at 125 (criticizing the Refuse Act’s
“total usurpation of enforcement of water quality control
by the Federal Government” as “inconsistent with the
Federal-State partnership that is necessary if we are ever
to have clean and safe waters”; instead, “(t]he role of the
States must be clearly recognized”). See also S. Rep. 414,
92d Cong., Ist Sess. 70-72 (1971); 117 Cong. Rec. 38798
(Nov. 2, 1971) (Sen. Muskie); id. 38808 (Sen. Montoya); 118
Cong. Rec. 10662 (March 28, 1972) (Cong. Roe).

Not only are states permit issuers, they also serve a
key role in establishing the content of permits — both

* See http,/cfpub.epa.gov/npdes/statestats.cfm. Section 404 likewise
allows delegation of dredge-and-fill permitting authority to states.
§ 404(g) and (1 ). See Minnehaha, 597 F.2d at 627.

26

water-quality based and technology-based. First, in
contrast to the federal air quality standards mandated two
years previously by the 1970 Clean Air Act, see Train v.
Natural Resources Defense Council, 421 U.S. 60, 64-65
(1975), the authors of the 1972 Water Act opted for state
water quality standards. § 303(a)-(c). To meet these state
standards, Congress provided for state pollution caps
(“total maximum daily loads”). § 303(d).

As for technology-based requirements, the Act does
provide for national standards — but has built-in flexibility
in the form of feasibility tests. See, e.g., §§ 301(b), 304(b),
306(aX(1). Moreover, for categories like diversions, for
which national standards have not been promulgated,
technology-based requirements are set on a case-by-case
basis by the permit writer — which, in Florida and the
other 44 delegated states, is the state. See 40 C.F.R.
§§ 122.44(aX(1), 125.3(c\2); Milwaukee v. Illinois, 451 U.S.
304, 324 (1981) (where “EPA ha[d] not promulgated
regulations mandating specific control guidelines [for
sewer overflows] because of a recognition that the problem
is ‘site specific,” Court noted that “[dJecision is made on a
case-by-case basis, through the permit procedure.”) (em-
phasis added).

Thus, state agencies issue state permits, applying state
judgments about technology-based requirements and
implementing state water quality standards and state
TMDLs. Moreover, state courts review these permits. 40
C.F.R. § 123.30. Given the pervasiveness with which
Congress designed a state role into the very core of the
point source program, there is no valid basis for using
federalism principles to shunt that program aside.

In short, the present case is not appropriate for federal-
ism-driven clear statement rules, instead presenting a

See ee —

27

normal statutory interpretation issue. See, e.g., Egelhoff v.
Egelhoff, 532 U.S. 141, 151 n.4 (2001) (rejecting suggestion
that “the resolution of this case depends on one’s view of
federalism;” instead, “we are called upon merely to inter-
pret ERISA”). Accord, United States v. Oakland Cannabis
Buyers’ Cooperative, 532 U.S. 483, 494 n.7 (2001).

B. Exempting S-9’s Pumping of Phosphorus-
Laden Stormwater From Point Source
Requirements Would Produce Absurd Re-

sults.

Petitioner claims that applying point source require-
ments to S-9 would produce “absurd” and “disastrous”
results. Pet. Br. 37-45. To the contrary, exempting S-9 from
those requirements would be absurd.

While petitioner, the United States, and other amici
spill much ink discussing other fact patterns they fear
might be swept into the Act’s point source requirements,
this case is about one facility only: S-9. According to the
United States itself, the question whether there has been
a discharge “depend[s] on the facts of the particular case.”
U.S. Br. 24 (emphasis added). This particular case
strongly counsels application of point source requirements
— and differs substantially from other hypotheticals posed
by petitioner and its allies.

Significantly, this case does not involve the “textbook
examples of nonpoint sources” — i.e., “various forms of
runoff, which reach waterbodies by flowing over or perco-
lating through topographical features.” U.S. Br. 5 n.1
(emphasis added). Nor does it involve a facility like a dam,
which passes water along a course it would have followed
naturally — i.e., from upstream to downstream. Finally, it

28

does not involve a practice lacking significant adverse
water quality impacts.

To the contrary, at issue here is a highly human-
controlled system under which phosphorus-laden runoff is
collected in human-made conveyances, and then pumped
several feet uphill into another waterbody — causing serious
degradation of water quality. Under these circumstances, it
would be absurd not to apply the Act’s point source require-
ments, whose very essence is to regulate the “conveyance” of
pollutants to protect the integrity of United States waters.
§§ 502(14), 101(a). Indeed, “Congress’ intent in enacting the
[1972] Amendments was clearly to establish an all-
encompassing program of water pollution regulation,” under
which “fejvery point source discharge is prohibited unless
covered by a permit.” Milwaukee, 451 U.S. at 318 (emphasis in
original; footnote omitted).

~ Because S-9 is already subject to permitting under
Florida law, see Pet. Br. 17, petitioner cannot credibly
argue that applying a permit requirement to S-9 is in itself
absurd. Instead, petitioner argues that the specific re-
quirements associated with the NPDES program — espe-
cially its technology-based requirements — were intended
to apply only to flows that are “continuous and of known
quantity,” Pet. Br. 39-40, and to the “original sources” of
pollutants rather than those who convey them. Pet. Br. 42-
43. See also U.S. Br. 27. This argument flies in the face of
the Act, which expressly confirms applicability of point
source requirements to stormwater and combined sewer
overflows, § 402(p)-(q) — both of which involve irregular

we

29

flows with varying pollutant loads that do not originate
with the discharging entity.’

Petitioner also claims that NPDES would interfere
with other ongoing programs to protect water quality. Pet.
Br. 40-42. To the contrary, the NPDES program would
foster compliance with water quality standards, see p. 26,
supra, thus serving one of the Act’s “cent:al objectives.”
Arkansas v. Oklahoma, 503 U.S. 91, 106 (1992). The
content of the permit would be established by Floride,
applying the state’s judgments concerning both water-
quality-based and technology-based requirements. See pp.
24-26, supra. The United States itself argues that the
NPDES program has “considerable flexibility,” that its
burdens “may be relatively modest,” and that it “may be
reconcilable with, and integrated into,” other ongoing
water quality efforts. U.S. Cert. Opp. 17-18. In short, three
decades after passage of the 1972 Act, and two decades
after the date by which Congress intended United States
waters to be fishable and swimmable, § 101(a)(2), there is
nothing “absurd” or “disastrous” about protecting Florida’s
navigable waters through the sensible accountability and
oversight associated with the NPDES program.

C. The Rule of Lenity Offers No Basis for
Narrowing the Reach of the Act’s Point
Source Provisions.

The rule of lenity cited by petitioner applies only
where a statute is ambiguous on the issue at hand.

* See US. Br. 22 n.6; Milwaukee, 451 US. at 324; http//www.cfpub2.epa.
id=5 sn
id=5.

30

United States v. Thompson/Center Arms Company, 504
U.S. 505, 517-18 (1992). On the issue cited by petitioner’s
rule-of-lenity discussion — namely, whether pollutants
have to “originate from the point source” (Pet. Br. 45) — the
Act is not at all ambiguous. See U.S. Br. 22 n.6 (discussing
the Act’s express provisions for permitting of sewage
treatment plants and stormwater systems).
+

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Eleventh Circuit should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

HOWARD I. Fox

EARTHJUSTICE

1625 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.

Suite 702

Washington, D.C. 20036-2212

(202) 667-4500

Counsel of Record for Amici Curiae
National Wildlife Federation,
Natural Resources Defense Council
Sierra Club, American Rivers,
National Audubon Society,
National Parks Conservation

JAMES MURPHY

NATIONAL WILDLIFE FEDERATION

1400 16th Street, N.W., Suite 501

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 797-6893

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
National Wildlife Federation

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0612%3A34. Public record. Not legal advice.
