# Amicus Curiae Brief — Nike, Inc. v. Kasky

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0611%3A17

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 654

## Text

Ee ——

CO Oe ee ae ne

| FFB 28 2003
No. 02-575 ;

rE
Jn the Supreme Court of the United States.

—— ae 0 we _———~

NIKE, INC., ETAL., PETITIONERS

MARC KASKY

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
ROBERT D. MCCALLUM, JR.
Assistant Attorney General
PAUL D. CLEMENT
Deputy Solicitor General
JEFFREY P. MINEAR
JEFFREY A. LAMKEN
Assistants to the Solicitor
General
TEAL LUTHY
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

The United States will address the following question,
which is embraced within Question 2 of the petition for a
writ of certiorari:

Whether the First Amendment, as applied to the States
through the Fourteenth Amendment, permits a private
party to seek redress for a company’s allegedly false and
misleading statements about the production of the goods
that the company sells, if the private party himself did not
rely on those statements, purchase the goods, or suffer any
actual injury by reason of such reliance.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Summary of argument ............:ccsssssssesserereeeseeneeees Puesesnenenmemess
Argument:
The First Amendment prohibits States from em-
powering private persons who have suffered no harm
to seek judicial relief for allegedly false statements .......
I. The First Amendment permits reasonable
governmental regulation of speech that is false,
deceptive, or Misleading .............0ssvsereseerereseseeeneneees
A. The traditional private causes of action for
fraud and deception include self-limiting
features that ensure consistency with the
Pe BD, ccnnecnenmnneen
B. The traditional mechanisms by which the
government directly regulates false advertis-
ing also include self-limiting features that
ensure consistency with the First Amend-

II. The First Amendment bars respondent’s private
lawsuit, which rests on a novel legal regime that
can chill protected speech ...........cccesesssessenenesereeeereeerees
A. California law authorizes a private cause of

action that transgresses the First Amend-

B. There is no need in this case to decide whether
the allegedly false statements at issue here
are “commercial” or non-commercial” speech ..

I ccceemnsseemnemeeenneeen

(III)

os ae

S&

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Alden v. Maine, 527 U.S. 706 (1999)
ALPO Petfoods, Inc. v. Ralston Purina Co., 913 F 2d

ts es Ge cennesrteeennnmnemnmnnies
Bank of the West v. Superior Court, 833 P.2d 545

(Cal. 1992)
Bolger v. Youngs Drug Prods. Corp., 463 U.S. 60

GED cectesnnceneaeeemsnnes
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485

GREIIGD cxsnsssssnsnsssscensssccrmsssssasse
Bristol-Myers Co. v. FTC, 738 F.2d 554 (2d Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1189 (1985)
Carlson v. Coca-Cola Co., 483 F.2d 279 (9th Cir.

1973)
Central Hudson Gas & Elec. Corp. v. Public Serv.

Comm'n, 447 U.S. 557 (1980) ......
Cliffdale Assocs., In re, 103 F.T.C. 110 (1984) ...............
Cohen v. Cowles Media Co., 501 U.S. 663 (1991) .............
Colligan v. Activities Club of N.Y., Ltd., 442 F.2d

686 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1004 (1971) ..............
Committee On Children’s Television, Inc. v. General

Foods Corp., 673 P.2d 660 (Cal. 1983) ,
Cortez v. Purolator Air Filtration Prods. Co.,

999 P.2d 706 (Cal. 2000)
Donaldson v. Read Magazine, 333 U. S. 178 (1948) .........
Dun & Bradstreet Inc. v. Greenmoss Builders,

Inc., 472 U.S. 749 (1985)
Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc. v. FTC, 605 F.2d

964 (7th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 934

I
Fletcher v. Security Pac. Nat'l Bank, 591 P.2d 51

Ge BSD ccrtessemenernnensemengenmesttinteisneniaennneeninss
FTC v. Any Travel Serv., Inc., 875 F.2d 564

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 954 (1989) ..............
FTC v. Febre, 128 F.3d 530 (7th Cir. 1997) .......ccccccecceceree

18

17

17
17

- ——_— os SS —

Cases—Continued: Page
FTC v. Gem Merch. Corp., 87 F.3d 406 (11th Cir.
a 17
FTC v. Pantron I Corp., 33 F.3d 1088 (9th Cir.
1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1083 (1995) .............ccceceseenees 17
Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974) .............. 12,
13, 21, 22
Harry & Bryant Co. v. FTC, 726 F.2d 993
(4th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 820 (1984) ...........cccecese-0 18
Holloway v. Bristol-Myers Corp., 485 F.2d 986
(D.C. Cir, 1973) ......-sececreeneeees — 16,19, 20
Johnson & Johnson v. Carter-Wallace, Inc.,
631 F.2d 186 (2d Cir. 1980) eatanenessseepeendenmnenateaenann 16
Kraus v. Trinity Mgmt. Servs., Inc., 999 P.2d 718
(Cal. 2000) eat 24
Koningsberg v. State Bar, 366 U.S. 36 (1961) ...........00.00+. 18
Lujan v. National Wildlife Fed’n, 497 U.S. 871
—— 27
Lynch v. Blount, 330 F. Supp. 689 (S.D.N.Y. 1971),
aff’d mem., 404 U.S. 1007 (1972) .........cccesecnereensneneneneenreees 16
Moore v. New York Cotton Exch., 270 U.S. 593
(1926) - 16-17

National Comm'n On Egg Nutrition v. FTC, 570
F.2d 157 (7th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 821

eee ee 19
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U. S. 254

(BBB GD nccenscescsrsrsuszssessssssssssensnssnansessnsnsesesessesss 11, 12, 20, 21, 22, 25
Novartis Corp. v. FTC, 293 F.3d 783 (D.C. Cir.

IBD cccenscsnsnsccssesezsesszzsesesssssnsnensnsrersmessansnsnesssenssesssssseeuses 15, 16, 17
Palsgraf v. Long Island R.R., 162 N.E. 99 (N.Y.

SS 13
Parkway Baking Co. v. Freihofer Baking Co.,

255 F.2d 641 (Sd Cir. 1968) .............0-cccerervsesesssesessesssessesersess 16

Pizza Hut, Inc. v. Papa John’s Int'l, Inc., “271 F.3d
489 (5th Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 532 U.S. 920
(2001) sephensitespmanamenmenemasmmnntonents 16

VI

Cases—Continued: Page

Porter & Dietsch, Inc. v. FTC, 605 F.2d 294

(7th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 950 (1980) ............ 16
Public Clearing House v. Coyne, 194 U.S. 497

a 15
Removatron Int'l Corp. v. FTC, 884 F.2d 1489

(1st Cir. 1989) 16
Reno v. Catholic Soc. Servs., Inc., 509 U.S. 43

(1993) 27
Riley v. National Fed’n for the Blind of N.C., Inc.,

487 U.S. 781 (1988) 21
Serbin v. Ziebart Int'l Corp., 11 F.3d 1163 (3d Cir.

1993) 17
Silver v. United States Postal Serv., 951 F.2d 1033

(9th Cir. 1991) 16
Smith v. Richards, 38 U.S. (13 Pet.) 26 (1839) ................. 10
Standard Oil v. FTC, 577 F.2d 653 (9th Cir. 1978) ......... 28
Stewart v. Wyoming Cattle Ranche Co., 128 US.

383 (1888) 10
Stop Youth Addiction, Inc. v. Lucky Stores, Inc.,

950 P.2d 1086 (Cal. 1998) . 21
United States Postal Serv. v. Athena Prods., Lid.,

654 F.2d 362 (5th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S.

915 (1982) 18
Vermont Agency of Nat. Res. v. United States ex

rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765 (2000) 23
Vidal Sassoon, Inc. v. Bristol-Myers Co., 661 F.2d

272 (2d Cir. 1981) - 18

Constitution, statutes and regulations:

US. Const.:

Amend. 1 ....... passim

Amend. XIV . 8,18
Federal Trade Commission Act, 15 U.S.C. 41 et seg..... 15, 16

15 U.S.C. 45(a) 15

15 U.S.C. 52 , 15

I: ye 17

—— — —_ <<

- —_——— cme er ee ee

Vil
Statutes and regulations—Continued: Page
ee 19
Lanham Trade-Mark Act, 15 U.S.C. 1051 et seq. ...... 15, 16, 17
OL) ___ 15
39 U.S.C. 3005 sommianiateemndematentidticn 15
)) . 19
Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code (West 1997):
§§ 17200 et seq. sane sienanmanineimmmes 1
(QQ easemesnnsanapeentemnen 24
§ 17204 - —_ sunepmemeenase 21
URI ccecsccesecsssassnsenssssnsnsescssessseresssssensssssnsessesnsnsnsssusnssssisste 21, 24
16 C.F.R:.
Pt. 1:
a EE, 19
Pt. 260 siasiemrebennemeamneanenammpeniagesnesadtinestnian 19
Miscellaneous:
W. Keeton, Prosser & Keeton on Torts (Lawyer's ed.
Biba CO. BODE) cnccccccscssscscsessrecsczssensnssrensnsnscesensesssnesvocesossssscssece 11,12
Letter from James C. Miller, III, FTC Chairman,
to Rep. John D. Dingell (Oct. 14, 1983) .............s+v00 15-16, 27
D. Pridgen, Consumer Protection and the Law
ee 10, 11, 12, 15
Restatement (Second) of Contracts (1981) ............00000« 11,12
Restatement (Second) of Torts (1977) ...........csseseesereerees 10, 11
en 11

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 02-575
NIKE, INC. ET AL., PETITIONERS
v.
MARC KASKY

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case presents important questions respecting the
relationship between the First Amendment and laws that
prohibit commercial entities from making false statements in
the marketplace respecting products and services. The
United States, which enforces a variety. of laws that are
designed to prevent fraud and protect the public from
injurious false statements, has a substantial interest in those
questions.

STATEMENT

Respondent Mare Kasky, sued petitioners Nike, Inc., et
al., in state superior court under the State of California’s
unfair competition laws. Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 17200 et
seq. (West 1997). See First Amended Complaint (Compl.)
paras. 1, 13.' Claiming no personal injury and, instead, pur-

! Respondent’s first amended complaint is reprinted in petitioners’
lodging on file with the Clerk of this Court.

(1)

porting to act on behalf of the general public, respondent
alleged that Nike made false representations respecting the
working conditions of those who manufactured Nike’s pro-
ducts. Jd. paras. 1, 8. Respondent sought injunctive relief,
including disgorgement of monies that Nike allegedly ac-
quired on account of those statements. Compl., Prayer for
Relief para. 1. The superior court granted Nike’s demurrer
and dismissed the complaint. Pet. App. 80a-8la. The Cali-
fornia Court of Appeal affirmed, holding that Nike’s alleged
misstatements were part of a public dialogue protected by
the First Amendment. /d. at 66a-79a. The California Su-
preme Court reversed, holding that Nike’s statements in-
stead constituted “commercial speech” that is subject to
state laws regulating false and misleading advertisements.
Id. at 1a-65a."

1. Nike is a well-known manufacturer and retailer of
athletic shoes and apparel, with annual revenues in 1997 of
$9.2 billion and annual advertising expenditures approximat-
ing $1 billion. Compl. paras. 1, 13. Most of Nike’s products
are manufactured by subcontractors located in China, Viet-
nam, and Indonesia, and most of the workers that make Nike
products are women under the age of 24. /d. para. 21. In
recent years, various persons and organizations have criti-
cized the working conditions under which Nike products are
manufactured in Asia. See, e.g., id. para. 18.

Nike has entered into a memorandum of understanding
with each of its subcontractors, pursuant to which the sub-
contractor assumes legal responsibility for ensuring compli-
ance with applicable governmental regulations regarding
minimum wages, overtime, health and safety, environmental
hazards, and ensuring that workers making Nike products
will not be put at risk of physical harm. Compl. para. 22 &

2 For purposes of this proceeding, the facts alleged in the complaint
are assumed to be true.

3

Exh. O. In 1997, Nike commissioned an independent investi-
gation of its Asian operations, headed by former U.S.
Ambassador to the United Nations Andrew Young. /d.
para. 55. Mr. Young formed a firm—“GoodWorks Inter-
national”—to conduct the investigation, and the firm issued
its report in July 1997. Jd. paras. 55, 56.

2. In April 1998, respondent, a “resident of the City and
County of San Francisco, California,” Compl. para. 8, sued
Nike for unfair and deceptive practices under California's
unfair competition law “on behalf of the General Public of the
State of California.” Id. para. 1. Respondent charged that
“in order to maintain and/or increase its sales,” Nike made a
number of “false statement: and/or material omissions of
fact” concerning the working conditions under which Nike
products are manufactured. /bid. In particular, respondent
alleged that Nike made the following statements, which
respondent contended were false and deceptive: (1)
“workers who make NIKE products are protected from and
not subjected to corporal punishment and/or sexual abuse,”
(2) “NIKE products are made in accordance with applicable
governmental laws and regulations governing wages and
hours,” (3) “NIKE products are made in accordance with
applicable laws and regulations governing health and safety
conditions,” (4) “NIKE pays average line-workers double-
the-minimum wage in Southeast Asia,” (5) “workers who
produce NIKE products receive free meals and health care,”
(6) “the GoodWorks International (Andrew Young) report
proves that NIKE is doing a good job and ‘operating mor-
ally,’” and (7) “NIKE guarantee[s] a ‘living wage’ for all
workers who make NIKE products.” [bid.

Respondent affirmatively alleged that he suffered “no
harm or damages whatsoever regarding himself individu-
ally” by reason of Nike’s allegedly false and misleading
statements. Compl. para. 8. Respondent nonetheless sought
a preliminary and permanent injunction enjoining Nike from

“(mjisrepresenting the working conditions under which
NIKE products are made,” ordering the company to “under-
take a Court-approved public information campaign to cor-
rect” any Nike statements that are found to be misleading or
deceitful, and requiring Nike to “disgorge all monies” which
Nike is found to have acquired by means of its unlawful and
unfair business practices. Compl., Prayer for Relief para 1.
Respondent also sought attorneys’ fees and costs. bid.

3. Nike filed a demurrer to the complaint, contending
that respondent’s suit was barred by the First Amendment
and the California Constitution. Following a hearing, the
trial court sustained the demurrer without leave to amend
and entered a judgment of dismissal. Pet. App. 80a-8la.
Respondent appealed, and the California Court of Appeal
affirmed, holding that Nike’s statements “form[ed] part of a
public dialogue on a matter of public concern within the core
area of expression protected by the First Amendment.” /d.
at 79a.

4. The California Supreme Court reversed the superior
court’s judgment and remanded the case for further pro-
ceedings. The court held that Nike’s statements constituted
“commercial speech” and were therefore unprotected by the
First Amendment from California’s laws barring false and
misleading commercial messages. The court concluded that
they constituted commercial speech because they were
“directed by a commercial speaker to a commercial audience,
and because they made representations of fact about the
speaker’s own business operations for the purpose of pro-
moting the sales of its products.” Pet. App. la.

The court explained that, in determining “whether parti-
cular speech may be subjected to laws aimed at preventing
false advertising or other forms of commercial deception,
categorizing a particular statement as commercial or non-
commercial speech requires consideration of three elements:
the speaker, the intended audience, and the content of the

message.” Pet. App. 17a-18a (emphasis omitted). The court
found that respondent’s allegations in this case satisfied all
three elements of its commercial speech test. First, the
court found that Nike is a commercial speaker because the
company manufactures, distributes and sells athletic shoes
and apparel worldwide. /d. at 2la. Second, the court deter-
mined that Nike’s statements were made to a commercial
audience. “Nike’s letters to university presidents and direc-
tors of athletic departments,” the court stated, “were ad-
dressed directly to actual and potential purchasers of Nike’s
products.” Jbid. In addition the court observed that
respondent’s complaint alleged that “Nike’s press releases
and letters to newspaper editors, although addressed to the
public generally, were also intended to reach and influence
actual and potential purchasers of Nike’s products.” Ibid.
Third, the court determined that “[iJn describing its own
labor policies, and the practices and working conditions in
factories where its products are made, Nike was making
factual representations about its own business operations.”
Id. at 22a.

The court ultimately concluded that “[s)peech is com-
mercial in its content if it is likely to influence consumers in
their commercial decisions” and that “(flor a significant seg-
ment of the buying public, labor practices do matter in
making consumer choices.” Pet. App. 28a. The court empha-
sized that its decision “in no way prohibits any business
enterprise from speaking out on issues of public importance
or from vigorously defending its own labor practices.” Id. at
2a. “It means only that when a business enterprise, to
promote and defend its sales and profits, makes factual rep-
resentations about its own products or its own operations, it
must speak truthfully.” Ibid.*

3 The court saw no need “to articulate a separate test for commercial
speech under the state Constitution.” Pet. App. 29a. Instead, “[hJaving

Justice Chin, joined by Justice Baxter, dissented. The dis-
senting justices criticized the majority for “[hJandicapping
one side” in an “important worldwide debate” regarding
globalization of manufacturers. Pet. App. 31a. They empha-
sized that “Nike’s statements regarding its labor practices in
China, Thailand, and Indonesia provided vital information on
the very public controversy concerning using low-cost
foreign labor to manufacture goods sold in America.” /d. at
34a. “At the very least,” they stated, “this case typifies the
circumstance where commercial speech and noncommercial
speech are ‘inextricably intertwined.’” Jd. at 37a. Justice
Brown also dissented. She agreed with her dissenting col-
leagues that “the commercial elements of Nike’s press
releases, letters, and other documents were inextricably
intertwined with their noncommercial elements.” Id. at 59a.
In addition, Justice Brown criticized the “rigid dichotomy”
between commercial and noncommercial speech, which in
her view “fails to account for the realities of the modern
world—a world in which personal, political, and commercial
arenas no longer have sharply defined boundaries.” /d. at
43a. Justice Brown concluded that the courts need to “adapt
the commercial speech doctrine to the realities of today’s
commercial world,” id. at 64a, by “develop[ing] a more
nuanced approach that maximizes the ability of businesses to
participate in the public debate while minimizing consumer
fraud.” Id. at 44a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The California Supreme Court mistakenly ruled that re-
spondent’s private action should proceed because the suit,
according to that court, challenges “commercial speech” that
is not subject to the First Amendment’s protections. The

concluded that the speech at issue is commercial speech under the federal
Constitution,” the court “reach{ed] the same conclusion under the Califor-
nia Constitution.” /bid.

California Supreme Court overlooked a more fundamental
difficulty with respondent’s suit. Respondent seeks judicial
relief for allegedly false statements that have concededly
caused respondent no harm whatsoever. The First Amend-
ment does not countenance that novel form of private action
in light of its severe threat to freedom of speech.

I. The First Amendment permits reasonable regulation
of speech that is false, deceptive, or misleading, through the
mechanisms of private causes of action and direct govern-
ment regulation. A traditional common-law private suit for
misrepresentation presents no First Amendment difficulties
because it contains features that obviate potential constitu-
tional concerns. A private plaintiff who seeks relief for
misrepresentation must show that he reasonably relied on
the false statement and consequently suffered actual injury.
Those requirements limit the prospect of liability to cases
that implicate the government’s interests in preventing
fraud and compensating injured individuals, and thereby
ensure that the lawsuit does not chill protected expression.
Similarly, the government’s traditional means of regulating
false advertising present no First Amendment difficulties.
The government’s enforcement powers are constrained by
statutory and institutional limitations that avoid intrusions
on protected speech.

II. Respondent’s unconventional lawsuit, by contrast,
rests on a private cause of action, sanctioned by California’s
unfair competition laws, that lacks traditional safeguards.
Respondent claims the right under California’s laws to
obtain judicial relief for a company’s allegedly false state-
ments respecting its products, even though respondent did
not rely on those statements or suffer any injury whatso-
ever. The First Amendment does not tolerate this novel
species of private action, which poses a serious threat of
unjustifiable chill to legitimate speech on matters of public
interest. Because this private enforcement mechanism is

incompatible with the First Amendment, respondents suit
should be dismissed without regard to whether the allegedly
false statements at issue constitute “commercial” or “non-
commercial” speech.

ARGUMENT

THE FIRST AMENDMENT PROHIBITS STATES
FROM EMPOWERING PRIVATE PERSONS WHO
HAVE SUFFERED NO HARM TO SEEK JUDICIAL
RELIEF FOR ALLEGEDLY FALSE STATEMENTS

Nike and respondent have joined issue throughout these
proceedings on whether the statements in question here
constitute part of a public dialogue on matters of public
interest, and are therefore entitled to the First Amend-
ment’s protections, or whether those statements instead
constitute “commercial speech” that is subject to laws that
regulate false or misleading advertising. That characteriza-
tion of the issue, however, obscures the key feature of this
case that should control its disposition. The First Amend-
ment, which is applied to the States through the Fourteenth
Amendment, allows government regulation of speech that is
false, deceptive, or misleading. It does not, however, allow
States to create legal regimes in which a private party who
has suffered no actual injury may seek redress on behalf of
the public for a company’s allegedly false and misleading
statements.

Regardless of whether Nike’s statements are “commer-
cial” or “non-commercial” speech, they are not actionable in a
private suit unless the plaintiff alleges not only that the
statements were false, but that he himself relied on them
and, as a result, suffered injury in fact warranting judicial
relief. In the context of private causes of action, those
requirements ensure that any restriction on speech is justi-
fied by the government’s interest in preventing actual fraud
and compensating injured individuals. Those same require-

ments give substantial protection for speech, even by a
corporation, that does not injure individuals or materially
affect their purchasing decisions. California’s contrary re-
gime unduly burdens and deters speech—whether commer-
cial or non-commercial—and is inconsistent with First
Amendment values.

I. THE FIRST AMENDMENT PERMITS REA-
SONABLE GOVERNMENTAL REGULATION OF
SPEECH THAT IS FALSE, DECEPTIVE, OR
MISLEADING

For two centuries, the First Amendment has comfortably
co-existed with the private common-law causes of action and
legislation that protect purchasers of goods and services
from deception, including fraud, intentional misstatements,
and negligent or innocent misrepresentation. Courts and
legislatures have developed legal principles to ensure the
integrity of representations made in the marketplace. Those
principles encourage commerce by allowing marketplace
participants to rely on representations that may affect their
decisions whether to buy or sell goods and services. Those
traditional government limitations on false statements are
unquestionably compatible with the First Amendment.

A. The Traditional Private Causes Of Action For
Fraud And Deception Include Self-Limiting Fea-
tures That Ensure Consistency With The First
Amendment

The courts have long recognized that false statements in
the marketplace are actionable, irrespective of the public’s
right of free speech, if the statements induce reliance and
result in actual injury. The traditional principles that govern
judicial actions for commercial misrepresentations have
always required a substantial link between the challenged
statements and the resulting injury. That required link
eliminates the prospect that a private action for misrep-

10

resentation respecting a commercial product or transaction
might chill protected speech.

For example, the common law has long permitted fraud
actions against individuals who make knowingly false repre-
sentations for the purpose, and with the effect, of inducing
others to act in justifiable reliance thereon. See Restate-
ment (Second) of Torts § 525 (1977); eg., Stewart v.
Wyoming Cattle Ranche Co., 128 U.S. 383 (1888). To bring
such an action, however, a private plaintiff must show more
than that the seller made a false statement, or even a
knowingly false statement. The plaintiff also must show that
he actually relied on the misrepresentation in deciding
whether or not to enter into the transaction, that the mis-
representation was material, and that he suffered damage as
a result. See D. Pridgen, Consumer Protection and the Law
§ 2.2, at 2-5 (2002).

This Court’s decision in Smith v. Richards, 38 U.S. (13
Pet.) 26 (1839), illustrates the important role of materiality
and reasonable reliance. In that case, the Court ruled that
the defendant was liable for misstatements respecting the
character of a gold mine that the purchaser bought in
reliance on the seller’s representations. The Court affirmed
the rescission of the resulting agreement, stating:

We think we may safely lay down this principle, that
wherever a sale is made of property, not present, but at a
remote distance, which the seller knows the purchaser
has never seen, but which he buys upon the repre-
sentation of the seller, relying on its truth, then the
representation, in effect, amounts to a warranty; at least,
that the seller is bound to make good the representation.

Id. at 42. The Court considered the seller’s intent to be
irrelevant, stating, if “he takes upon himself to make a
representation to another, upon the faith of which the other

1]

acts, no doubt he is bound; though his mistake was perfectly
innocent.” /d. at 35-36.

A common-law action for fraud generally requires a
showing of intent to deceive or a knowing or reckless false-
hood. See Restatement (Second) Torts § 525; Bose Corp. v.
Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485, 502 & n.19 (1984) (noting
the “kinship” between the “actual malice” standard of New
York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964), and the
“motivation that must be proved to support a common-law
action for deceit”). Nonetheless, consistent with Smith, the
common law courts often allow private remedies for even
innocent misrepresentation, so long as the misstatements
have induced reasonable reliance and result in actual harm.
Invoking principles of unjust enrichment, state courts have
reasoned that it would be “inequitable to allow a person who
made a misrepresentation (however innocently) to retain the
benefit of the bargain induced by her own misrepresenta-
tion.” D. Pridgen, supra, § 2.25, at 2-62; id. § 2.25, at 2-63
(“the trend seems to be to place the loss on the innocent
defendant who has misrepresented rather than the innocent
plaintiff who has been misled.”).*

The common law courts have nevertheless cabined the
scope of such actions by limiting recovery to those suffering
actual injury and by restricting the available forms of relief.
The plaintiff must seek relief for the injuries he himself
suffered on account of his reasonable reliance on the

4 Courts and commentators have reached similar conclusions based on
theories that misrepresentations may render contracts voidable or result
in a breach of warranty. See Restatement (Second) of Contracts §§ 159,
164 (1981) (innocent misrepresentation may render contract voidable if
“assent is induced” by it, the misrepresentation is “material,” and reliance
is justifiable); Uniform Commercial Code § 2-313, Official Cmt. (seller’s
affirmation to the buyer concerning the goods that forms part of the
bargain “creates an express warranty”); W. Keeton, Prosser & Keeton on
Torts § 107, at 748 (Lawyer's ed. 5th ed. 1984).

12

materially false statements. See D. Pridgen, supra, § 2.26, at
2-64; Prosser & Keeton on Torts § 108; Restatement (Second)
of Contracts § 164, at 446 (cmts. b and c). The corresponding
relief is typically limited to rescission, or a measure of dam-
ages “only to the extent necessary to compensate the
plaintiff for the fact that he was induced to part with
something more valuable than that which he has received,” a
measure of damages “substantially the same as rescission.”
Prosser & Keeton on Torts § 107, at 748.

The self-limiting principles of common-law actions for
fraud, misrepresentation, and deceit ensure that such actions
generally raise no serious First Amendment concerns. The
traditional common-law actions for misrepresentation all
require, as an initial matter, that the challenged statement
be false or misleading. As the Court has explained in
connection with defamation suits, “there is no constitutional
value in false statements of fact.” Gertz v. Robert Welch,
Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 340 (1974). “Neither the intentional lie
nor the careless error materially advances society’s interest
in ‘uninhibited, robust, and wide-open’ debate on public
issues.” Jd. at 340 (quoting Sullivan, 376 U.S. at 270).

Further, the common law’s traditional limits on who may
sue ensure that private lawsuits or the threat thereof do not
become an inappropriate means of restricting or chilling the
free flow of useful information. As this Court has recog-
nized, “erroneous statement(s] of fact” are “inevitable in free
debate” respecting public issues, Gertz, 418 U.S. at 340, and
they occur in the marketplace as well. Consequently, pun-
ishing or imposing liability for all untruthful or misleading
speech, at the behest of any person who may be motivated to
sue, could inhibit a speaker from voicing his view, “even
though [he] believe[s] [it] to be true and even though it is in
fact true, because of doubt whether it can be proved in court
or fear of the expense of having to do so.” Sullivan, 376 U.S.
at 279. Such a regime could cause individuals “to make only

13

statements which ‘steer far wider of the unlawful zone,’”
thereby “dampen[ing] the vigor and limit{ing] the variety of
public debate.” /bid.

The traditional private causes of action for misrepresenta-
tion pose scant risk of impinging on First Amendment values
because they do not allow private plaintiffs to bring lawsuits
based on misrepresentations “in the air,” divorced from their
actual effects. Cf. Palsgraf v. Long Island R.R., 162 N.E. 99
(N.Y. 1928) (“Proof of negligence in the air, so to speak, will
not do.”). A plaintiff has no cause of action unless he has
entered into a transaction (or was deterred from doing so) in
reliance on a misrepresentation and was injured as a result.
See pp. 9-12, supra. Those requirements ensure that law-
suits, and the threat thereof, properly reflect society’s
strong interests in ensuring the integrity of transactions and
compensating those suffering actual injury—not the plain-
tiff’s desire to squelch an expression or viewpoint with
which he happens to disagree. The Court made essentially
this point in Gertz in applying a less demanding standard of
scienter for claims seeking compensation for “actual injury,”
as opposed to presumed or punitive damages. The Court
recognized “the strength of the legitimate state interest in
compensating private individuals for wrongful injury to
reputation,” but also noted that this “interest extends no
further than compensation for actual injury.” Gertz, 418 U.S.
at 348, 349. And because the traditional suit for mis-
prepresentation is directed at what is essentially conduct—
the inducement and execution of a purchase or sale—rather
than the content of the speech itself, it poses diminished risk
of chilling protected expression.

The self-limiting features of the private common-law
actions for misrepresentation also obviate abstract and often
difficult inquiries into whether a particular statement should
receive lesser constitutional protection based on whether it
might be characterized as “commercial” or “non-commercial”

14

speech. The government has a compelling interest in en-
suring that consumers are not induced to make purchases
based on materially false statements and have an appropri-
ate level of confidence in the representations that are made,
regardless of the subject matter of the statements. On the
other hand, speech that does not injure individuals or mate-
rially affect their purchasing decisions cannot be affected by
private actions for misrepresentation. By requiring the pri-
vate plaintiff to be an actual purchaser who relied on a
misrepresentation that was material to the transaction and
suffered actual injury as a result, the common-law actions
ensure a sufficient nexus between the speech and the inte-
grity of the underlying transactions that the government has
an interest in promoting and protecting. There is, accord-
ingly, no need for an abstract inquiry into the “commercial”
nature of the speech. The falsity of the statement, its
materiality to an identifiable transaction or incident, and the
private plaintiff’s reasonable reliance leading to actual injury
provide a sufficient and constitutionally permissible basis for
relief.

B. The Traditional Mechanisms By Which The Gov-

ernment Directly Regulates False Advertising Also
Include Self-Limiting Features That Ensure Con-
sistency With The First Amendment

The United States and the individual States have long
recognized the need for direct government regulation of
advertising to protect the public from false or misleading
commercial statements. Sensible regulation promotes mar-
ket efficiencies, because it frees consumers from the need to
conduct individual investigations into the truthfulness of
advertising and enables them to make commercial decisions
with greater confidence than in a market where the mandate
of caveat emptor alone controls. Congress and the States
have accordingly enacted legislation to prevent deceptive or

—— ———— —~

15

misleading advertising and to remedy, through government
enforcement actions, injuries that cannot be effectively
cured through private suits. As in the case of traditional
common-law actions, the traditional mechanisms of direct
government regulation have inherent safeguards that avoid
chilling protected speech.

A primary source of federal regulation is the Federal
Trade Commission Act (FTC Act). See 15 U.S.C. 41 et seq.
The FTC Act empowers the Federal Trade Commission
(FTC) to issue cease and desist orders against “unfair meth-
ods of competition in or affecting commerce, and unfair or
deceptive acts or practices in or affecting commerce,” 15
U.S.C. 45(a), including the dissemination of “false advertise-
ments.” 15 U.S.C. 52.° Similarly, Congress has empowered
the Postal Service to proceed against false and fraudulent
schemes that use the mails. See 39 U.S.C. 3005; Donaldson
v. Read Magazine, 333 U.S. 178, 191 (1948); Public Clearing
House v. Coyne, 194 U.S. 497 (1904). Finally, the Lanham
Trade-mark Act, 15 U.S.C. 1051 et seq., provides for a civil
action under federal law against any person who, “in com-
mercial advertising or promotion, misrepresents the nature,
characteristics, qualities, or geographic origin of his or her or
another person’s goods, services, or commercial activities.”
15 U.S.C. 1125(a)(1)(B).

The FTC applies a three-pronged test to determine
whether advertising is deceptive within the meaning of the
FTC Act. The FTC inquires whether: “(1) a claim was
made; (2) the claim was likely to mislead a reasonable con-
sumer and (3) the claim was material.” Novartis Corp. v.
FTC, 223 F.3d 788 (D.C. Cir. 2000) (citation omitted); see
generally Letter from James C. Miller, III, FTC Chairman,
to Rep. John Dingell (Oct. 14, 1983) (FTC Policy Statement),

5 Numerous States have similar authority under so-called Little FTC
Av. See D. Prigden, supra, § 3.5.

16

available in In re Cliffdale Assocs., Inc., 103 F.T.C 110, 174-
184 (1984) (App.). A claim is “material,” under the Com-
mission’s standards, if it is one that “is important to con-
sumers and, hence, likely to affect their choice of, or conduct
regarding, a product.” Novartis, 223 F.3d at 786 (quoting
Cliffdale, 103 F.T.C. at 165). To be actionable under the
postal fraud statute or the Lanham Act, the false or mis-
leading statement must likewise be material to a consumer’s
decision, see Silver v. United States Postal Serv., 951 F.2d
1033, 1042 (9th Cir. 1991) (postal statute); Lynch v. Blount,
330 F. Supp. 689, 693 (S.D.N.Y. 1971), aff’d mem., 404 U.S.
1007 (1972) (postal statute); Pizza Hut, Inc. v. Papa John’s
Int'l, Inc., 227 F.3d 489, 495 (5th Cir. 2000) (Lanham Act),
cert. denied, 532 U.S. 920 (2001).’

The Federal Trade Commission has exclusive authority to
initiate proceedings under the FTC Act; there is no private
right of action of any kind. See Carlson v. Coca-Cola Co.,
483 F.2d 279, 280 (9th Cir. 1973); Holloway v. Bristol-Myers
Corp., 485 F.2d 986, 1002 (D.C. Cir. 1973); see also Moore v.

6 “The Commission has historically presumed materiality for certain
categories of claims: (1) all express claims, (2) intentional implied claims
and (3) claims that ‘significantly involve health, safety, or other areas with
which the reasonable consumer would be concerned,’ including a claim that
‘concerns the purpose, safety, efficacy, or cost of the product or service,’
its ‘durability, performance, warranties or quality,’ or ‘a finding by

another agency regarding the product.’” Novartis, 223 F.3d at 786

(quoting FTC Policy Statement, Cliffdale, 103 F.T:C. at 182)).

7 Neither the FTC Act, see, e.g., Removatron International Corp. v.
FTC, 884 F.2d 1489, 1495 (1st Cir. 1989); Porter & Dietsch, Inc. v. FTC,
605 F.2d 294, 309 (7th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 950 (1980), nor the
postal statute, see Lynch v. Blount, 330 F. Supp. 689, 692-694 (S.D.N.Y.
1971), aff'd mem., 404 U.S. 1007 (1972), nor the Lanham Act, see Johnson
& Johnson v. Carter-Wallace, Inc., 631 F.2d 186, 189 (2d Cir. 1980);
Parkway Baking Co. v. Freihofer Baking Co., 255 F.2d 641, 648 (3d Cir.
1958), requires, as a precondition to relief, a demonstration that the defen-
dant had an intent to deceive.

17

New York Cotton Exch., 270 U.S. 598, 603 (1926).2 The
government need not show, of course, that it relied on the
misleading statements or that the government itself was
injured. Rather, the government has the unique sovereign
responsibility to protect the public. Because the government
has a responsibility to prevent deceptive and fraudulent
practices from causing injury, it may take enforcement
action without regard to whether any person has relied on
the misrepresentations or has yet been injured thereby. The
focus of government enforcement, instead, is typically
whether the false claims are material to consumer choice.
The government’s remedies are consonant with the role of
government enforcement. “[{I]n proper cases,” the FTC
“may seek and after proper proof, the court may issue, a
permanent injunction,” 15 U.S.C. 53(b), which may include
monetary equitable relief, such as restitution and dis-
gorgement. See FTC v. Febre, 128 F 3d 530, 537 (7th Cir.
1997) (disgorgement); FTC v. Gem Merch. Corp., 87 F.3d
466, 469-470 (11th Cir. 1996) (disgorgement); FTC v. Pan-
tron I Corp., 33 F.3d 1088, 1102-1103 (9th Cir. 1994) (restitu-
tion), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1083 (1995); FTC v. Amy Travel
Serv., Inc., 875 F.2d 564, 571 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S.
954 (1989).

Neither this Court, nor any other, has suggested that
these traditional forms of government regulation of false ad-
vertising produce unacceptable chill or impinge on First
Amendment values. See, e.g., Bristol-Myers Co. v. FTC, 738

8 The Lanham Act requires plaintiffs to allege competitive injury and
does not permit false advertising suits by consumers. See Serbin v.
Ziebart Int'l Corp., 11 F.3d 1163 (3d Cir. 1993); Colligan v. Activities Club
of N.Y., Ltd., 442 F.2d 686, 694 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1004 (1971).
Moreover, an award in a Lanham Act false advertising case “based on
defendant’s profits” appears to “require[] proof that the defendant acted
willfully or in bad faith.” ALPO Petfoods, Inc. v. Ralston Purina Co., 913
F.2d 958, 968 (D.C. Cir. 1990) (Thomas, J.).

18

F.2d 554, 562 (2d Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1189
(1985); Harry & Bryant Co. v. FTC, 726 F.2d 993, 1001-1002
(4th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 820 (1984); Encyclopaedia
Britannica, Inc. v. FTC, 605 F.2d 964, 972 (7th Cir. 1979),
cert. denied, 445 U.S. 934 (1980); United States Postal Serv.
v. Athena Prods., 654 F.2d 362, 367 (5th Cir. 1981), cert.
denied, 456 U.S. 915 (1982); Vidal Sassoon, Inc. v. Bristol-
Myers Co., 661 F.2d 272, 276 n.8 (2d Cir. 1981). Cf.
Konigsberg v. State Bar, 366 U.S. 36, 50-51 (1961) (“general
regulatory statutes, not intended to control the content of
speech but incidentally limiting its unfettered exercise, have
not been regarded as the type of law the First or Fourteenth
Amendment forbade Congress or the States to pass, when
they have been found justified by subordinating valid gov-
ernmental interests”).

Moreover, the institutional checks on government enforce-
ment provide ample protection for protected speech. As an
initial matter, government enforcement is subject to public
interest constraints that tend to avoid First Amendment
conflicts. Because the government has exclusive authority
to prosecute false advertising, because its prosecutions must
meet materiality standards, and because it has limited
resources to prosecute consumer fraud, federal officials must
exercise their discretion so as to select for prosecution those
cases that represent the best use of public resources. Unlike
private parties, federal officials are politically accountable
for their decisions. They are subject to public and congres-
sional oversight, which creates strong incentives to exercise
enforcement discretion wisely. The government’s enforce-
ment actions are accordingly limited to those false state-
ments most likely to harm consumers. Cf. Alden v. Maine,
527 U.S. 706, 759-760 (1999).

In addition, the government has discretion in selecting
remedies that balance the public interest against legitimate
rights of free expression. The government may, and fre-

19

quently does, seek to remedy false statements through
prospective relief requiring cessation of false advertising or
correction of misstatements, without pursuing restitution or
disgorgement of profits. See, e.g., National Comm’n On Egg
Nutrition v. FTC, 570 F.2d 157 (7th Cir. 1977) (FTC entered
a final order directing petitioners to cease and desist from
disseminating advertisements containing statements to the
effect that there is no scientific evidence that eating eggs
increases the risk of heart and circulatory disease), cert.
denied, 439 U.S. 821 (1978). Indeed, for those cases initiated
as administrative proceedings, the FTC does not have
authority to seek monetary relief unless it brings a separate
case in district court and shows that the defendant engaged
in dishonest or fraudulent conduct. See 15 U.S.C. 57b(a)(2).°
Furthermore, the FTC and the Postal Service have devel-
oped a coherent body of decisions on consumer fraud that
channel agency decision-making and enable individuals and
corporations to determine before they speak what sorts of
statements might make them subject to suit. See, e.g.,
Guides for the Use of Environmental Marketing Claims, 16
C.F.R. Pt. 260. They also may seek guidance from the FTC
on proposed conduct, and any guidance that the government
provides becomes part of the public record. See 16 C.F.R.
1.1-1.4. As the District of Columbia Circuit has explained,
the federal government’s body of decisions help to “provid/e]
certainty and specificity to the [broad] proscriptions of the
Act” by allowing “for the centralized and orderly develop-
ment of precedent applying the regulatory statute to a diver-
sity of fact situations.” Holloway v. Bristol-Meyers Corp.,
485 F.2d 986, 998 (1973). In contrast, “[p]rivate litigants are

9 The Postal Service's remedial authority extends only to denying
fraudulent schemes the use of the mails, refusing to pay postal money
orders, and issuing cease and desist orders. 39 U.S.C. 3005(a). The
statute does not speak to injunctive or restitutionary relief.

20

not subject to the same constraints,” and “may institute
piecemeal lawsuits, reflecting disparate concerns and not a
coordinated enforcement program,” thereby “burden{[ing]
not only the defendants selected but also the judicial sys-
tem.” Jd. at 997-998. This Court similarly recognized the
greater risk to First Amendment interests from private
defamation suits relative to criminal prosecutions. Sullivan,
376 U.S. at 277-278.

Il. THE FIRST AMENDMENT BARS RESPON-
DENT’S PRIVATE LAWSUIT, WHICH RESTS ON
A NOVEL LEGAL REGIME THAT CAN CHILL
PROTECTED SPEECH

There is no question that the United States or a State may
recognize the traditional private causes of action for mis-
representation, cr take direct government action to prevent
or remedy false advertising, without transgressing the First
Amendment. xespondent’s lawsuit, however, falls outside
those traditional and fully constitutional domains. The law-
suit at issue here is predicated on California’s novel con-
sumer protection laws, which lack the constraining features
that have traditionally served to prevent any conflicts from
arising between the First Amendment and laws that
prohibit fraud and regulate false advertising. In particular,
California’s apparently unique provision that a private party
may sue for misrepresentation—even though the party did
not reasonably rely on the statement, did not make a pur-
chase, and was not injured in any way—has the capacity to
chill protected speech. The state courts cannot, consistent
with the First Amendment, provide a forum for such private
suits. See Cohen v. Cowles Media Co., 501 U.S. 663, 668
(1991) (A State’s enforcement of legal obligations “through
the official power of the [State’s] courts * * * is enough to
constitute ‘state action’ for purposes of the Fourteenth
Amendment.”).

:—— .

—

21

A. California Law Authorizes A Private Cause Of
Action That Transgresses the First Amend-
ment

California’s unfair competition laws provide an unusual
private judicial remedy. Unlike traditional common law
causes of action, federal prohibitions, and the consumer pro-
tection laws of other States, California permits private law-
suits challenging allegedly false advertising without regard
to the traditional limitations that obviate First Amendment
concerns, with the resulting possibility of chilling the scope
of public debate and the free flow of useful information. See
Riley v. National Fed’n for the Blind of N.C., Inc., 487 U.S.
781, 794 (1988); Sullivan, 376 U.S. at 279.

Under California law, “any person” may sue for false
advertising in a representative capacity “acting for itself, its
members or the general public,” see Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code
§§ 17204, 17535 para. 2, without establishing any injury or
satisfying the reguiar requirements for certifying a class.
See, e.g., Stop Youth Addiction, Inc. v. Lucky Stores, Inc.,
950 P.2d 1086, 1091 (Cal. 1998). To obtain injunctive relief, a
plaintiff need only show that the defendant’s practices are
“likely to deceive” the public. Committee On Children’s
Television, Inc. v. General Foods Corp., 673 P.2d 660, 668
(Cal. 1983). “Allegations of actual deception, reasonable
reliance, and damage are unnecessary.” Id. at 668 (empha-
sis added). Those provisions, in the context of private party
suits, create severe First Amendment concerns, particularly
in connection with the broad remedies that California law
affords. They open the door to private lawsuits that seek
judicial relief despite the fact that the allegedly false
statements caused no actual injury to the plaintiff and
potentially no injury to anyone.

As this Court explained in Gertz, there is a “strong and
legitimate state interest in compensating individuals for
injury”—in that case injury to reputation. 418 U.S. at 348.

22

As noted above, the common law properly recognizes that
misrepresentation is actionable if the plaintiff reasonably
relies on a false statement that results in tangible harm. But
here, as in Gertz, the state interest in providing a remedy in
private litigation generally “extends no further than com-
pensation for actual injury.” Jd. at 349. See Sullivan, 376
U.S. at 277 (expressing concern that Alabama defamation
law imposes liability “without the need for any proof of
actual pecuniary loss”). The State’s interest in protecting
transactions and consumers does not justify a legal regime in
which a private plaintiff may sue, not to seek personal
redress for any harm resulting from the misstatement, but
rather because the plaintiff disagrees, as a theoretical
matter, with the content or accuracy of the statement. Gertz
is particularly instructive because the Court adopted a
heightened standard of scienter for a plaintiff to obtain
presumed or punitive damages without showing actual
injury because the authorization of recovery “without evi-
dence of actual loss” was “an oddity of tort law.” 418 U.S. at
349. That is precisely the circumstance presented here.
California law is anomalous in allowing a private plaintiff to
sue without any allegation of injury. In fact, respondent ex-
pressly “alleges no harm or damages whatsoever regarding
himself individually.” Compl. para. 8."°

Respondent’s suit poses a particular prospect for chilling
speech because California law appears to allow private

10 To be sure, the Court allowed the recovery of presumed and punitive
damages upon a less demanding showing in cases involving speech on a
matter of purely private concern in Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss
Builders, Inc., 472 U.S. 749 (1985). But although that result suggests that
speech on purely private matters may be subject to even less protection, it
provides no support for a statute that dispenses with any requirement
that the plaintiff suffer actual injury. The chill that concerned the Court
in Sullivan and Gertz would have been much greater if the defamation
actions at issue there were not limited to those allegedly defamed.

23

parties to obtain substantial monetary awards based on no
more than a threshold showing of materiality. So long as the
“likely to deceive” threshold is met, the California courts
may order restitutionary relief at the behest of a private
party without regard to whether that party was deceived or
injured. The court need only determine such relief is
“necessary to prevent the use or employment of an unfair
practice.” Bank of the West v. Superior Court, 833 P.2d 545,
553 (Cal. 1992); Committee on Children’s Television, 673
P.2d at 668-669; Fletcher v. Security Pac. Nat'l Bank, 591
P.2d 51, 54 (Cal. 1979)."

California’s broad license to “private attorneys general,”
coupled with the absence of any requirement that the
plaintiff show actual deception, reliance, or injury, poses a
threat to speech respecting commercial activities and con-
duct. The California regime lacks the institutional checks
that have traditionally accompanied government enforce-
ment schemes, including legislative oversight and public ac-
countability, and raises the prospect of vexatious and abu-
sive litigation. Cf. Vermont Agency of Nat. Res. v. United
States ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765, 775-776 (2000) (noting
the historic abuse of “informer statutes”). The California re-
gime allows private lawsuits that are motivated, not by the
need to redress for actual harm, but rather by disagreement
with the speaker’s policies, practices, or points of view, or by
the prospect of financial gain.

California’s regime is particularly troubling because the
scope of restitutionary relief appears wide-ranging and pro-
vides potentially enormous rewards to entrepreneurial plain-
tiffs. By its terms, the law authorizes the courts, at the

1 A representative plaintiff proceeding under the California unfair
competition law may not obtain damages or attorney's fees. Pet. App. 6a.
See Cortez v. Purolator Air Filtration Prods. Co., 999 P.2d 706, 712 (Cal.
2000); Bank of the West, 833 P.2d at 552.

24

behest of a private party, to “make such orders or judgments
* * * as may be necessary to restore to any person in
interest any money or property, real or personal, which may
have been acquired by means of such unfair competition.”
Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17203; accord id. § 17535 para. 1
(“The court may make such orders or judgments * * *
which may be necessary to restore to any person in interest
any money or property, real or personal, which may have
been acquired by means of any practice in this chapter
declared to be unlawful.”).

For example, the California Supreme Court has rejected
the argument that “in order to obtain any monetary recov-
ery under section 17535,” private plaintiffs “must present
individual proof that each allegedly defrauded consumer
seeking restitution did not know of the fraud.” Fletcher, 591
P.2d at 56. The court explained that the statute’s provision
for restitution of money that “may have been acquired” by
means of an unfair practice “is unquestionably broad enough
to authorize a trial court to order restitution without
requiring the often impossible showing of the individual’s
lack of knowledge of the fraudulent practice in each
transaction.” Jd. at 56-57. Thus, an order for restitution
under the California unfair competition law “may require the
defendant ‘to surrender all money obtained through an
unfair business practice’ including ‘all profits earned as a
result of an unfair business practice.’” Pet. App. 6a (quoting
Kraus v. Trinity Mgmt. Servs., Inc., 999 P.2d 718, 725 (Cal.
2000)). Respondent seeks to avail himself of this power to its
full extent by requesting an order requiring Nike “to
disgorge all monies which NIKE acquired by means of any
act” that is found to be an unlawful practice under the
California unfair competition law. Compl., Prayer for Relief
para. 1. The provision of broad authority to seek such
remedies without proving an actual injury to specified indivi-
duals is by no means inappropriate for governmental

a

25

agencies charged with enforcing the law. Such agencies are
subject to numerous constraints and can be expected to
exercise appropriate discretion in the invocation. See pp. 14-
20, supra. Indeed, Congress has granted the FTC such
authority. But to arm millions of private citizens with such
potent relief, and to permit them to demand it without
showing of injury to themselves or anyone else, unacceptably
chills speech, particularly unpopular speech that is likely to
become the target of such lawsuits.”

California’s grant of such novel, broad, and unconstrained
powers to private plaintiffs threatens to dampen protected
expression. Companies like Nike that seek to engage in a
debate on issues of public concern with a connection to their
own operations (if only to respond to their critics) may well
think long and hard before subjecting themselves to the risk
of a judgment, at the behest of a single resident in California,
that divests them of their profits on the basis of a statement
that, after the fact, is held to have been “likely to deceive”
the public, even if it injured no one. California’s private
cause of action may thus deter commercial speakers from

‘addressing the very issues of public concern about which

they may be most knowledgeable, despite the fact that the
speakers believe their statements “to be true” and even
though the statements are “in fact true”—“because of doubt
whether [they] can be proved in court or fear of the expense
of having to do so.” Sullivan, 376 U.S. at 279. The potential
for massive monetary liability for past statements may cause
even a company of Nike’s size to refrain from presenting its
side of the story, or to do so only in vague—and far less

2 It is not an answer to those remedial concerns to allow the case to go
forward and determine the constitutionality of the remedies at a later
juncture. The lack of any requirement of injury or reliance, while com-
pounded by the availability of potentially broad disgorgement remedies,
suffices to render the state law incompatible with the First Amendment.

26

informative—generalities. If this result were to obtain,
debate on public issues would be the poorer.
B. There Is No Need In This Case To Decide Whether
The Allegedly False Statements At Issue Here Are
“Commercial” or “Non-Commerical” Speech

Because the above-described defects in California’s
private enforcement regime render it inconsistent with the
First Amendment, this Court has no occasion to decide
whether the speech at issue here is in fact “commercial”
within the meaning of its cases. Indeed, the Court ought not
address that issue, because it arises here, in a particularly
abstract form, only by virtve of the unusual—and we think
unconstitutional—private cause of action that is unique to
California law.

As noted above, in typical private actions for dece} “ion or
misrepresentation, there is rarely, if ever, any need \. dis-
tinguish between commercial and non-commercial speech. If
a plaintiff can show that he was deceived by a material
misrepresentation, reasonably relied on it, and entered (or
refrained from entering) into an actual transaction because
of it, the misrepresentation provides a basis for relief that
does not implicate First Amendment concerns. Suits of that
sort provide ample breathing room for legitimate free ex-
pression. There is simply no need for the courts to evaluate
the “nature” of the speech divorced from the actual com-
mercial transactions that they are alleged to have affected.
The fact that the statement was “material” to the trans-
action, induced reasonable reliance, and caused injury,
renders the statement actionable without inquiry into its
“commercial” or “non-commercial” character.

Nor does the issue often arise in government enforcement
cases. Agencies like the FTC have established guidelines for
enforcement that take context into account and focus their
limited resources on the cases that matter most—those most

27

likely to have an effect on actual transactions. Their enforce-
ment actions thus reflect society’s strong interest in ensur-
ing the integrity of actual or proposed transactions, not
abstract disagreements with the speaker. When an agency
like the FTC brings an enforcement action, the court also has
the benefit of the agency’s expertise, investigation, and
record.

Significantly, the determination whether the speech at
issue here is “commercial” or “non-commercial” will likely
confuse rather than clarify the standards. In other contexts,
this Court has repeatedly recognized the benefits of awaiting
suit by an individual suffering actual injury, so that “the
scope of the controversy [will be] reduced to more manage-
able proportions, and its factual components fleshed out, by
some concrete action.” Lujan v. National Wildlife Fed’n,
497 U.S. 871, 891 (1990); see Reno v. Catholic Soc. Servs.,
Inc., 509 U.S. 43, 58-59 (1993) (noting, for similar reasons,
that mere passage of a statute and issuance of regulations do
not give a complainant a ripe claim absent agency action
“applying the regulation to him”). Reaching the commercial
speech issue in this abstract context raises serious risks of
unintended consequences.

For example, in an effort to create breathing room for
speech on matters of public concern, Nike appears broadly to
suggest that speech is not commercial unless it addresses the
“characteristics of Nike products,” Pet. 13—by which Nike
presumably means the “purpose, safety, efficacy, or cost of
the product or service,’ its ‘durability, performance, warran-
ties or quality,” Novartis, 223 F.3d at 786 (quoting FTC
Policy Statement, Cliffdale, 103 F.T.C. at 182)—and cannot
encompass representations concerning Nike’s means of
production made in what the company characterizes as a
broader debate on more general matters of public concern,
Pet. 14-15.

28

Whatever the usefulness of that sort of categorization in
the context of this case, it has little application—and could
cause significant mischief—if applied elsewhere. In today’s
environment, the means used to produce goods, no less than
the quality of the goods themselves, have profound signifi-
cance for some consumers, who are willing to pay more to
achieve desirable environmental or social ends. Thus, the
FTC would undoubtedly be empowered to bring an action
against, for example, a coffee grower that represented that it
employed rain-forest-protective practices or a tuna producer
that represented its tuna as “dolphin safe” if, in fact, those
representations were false. Such representations are mate-
rial to many consumers and can induce reliance. Although
those representations say nothing about the actual quality of
the product and deal with production practices thousands of
miles away, they nevertheless influence consumer choice and
allow sellers to command premiums from consumers who are
willing to pay more to protect rain forests or marine
mammals.”

13 Furthermore, such statements, if false, may be actionable even if
they appeared in the context of advertisements addressing a matter of
public concern, such as sound forest or ocean management. Consumers
derive information on products from a variety of sources, and this Court
has correspondingly refused to “grant broad constitutional protection to
any advertising that links a product to a current public debate,” since
“many, if not most, products may be tied to public concerns.” Central
Hudson Gas & Elec. Corp. v. Public Serv. Comm'n, 447 U.S. 557, 563 n.5
(1980). See, ¢.g., Bolger v. Youngs Drug Prods. Corp., 463 U.S. 60, 67-68
(1983); Standard Oil v. FTC, 577 F.2d 653, 659 (9th Cir. 1978) (“when
discussion of a matter of public concern becomes a vehicle for sale of a
product, the representations which bear on the characteristics of the
product may take on increased importance in the mind of the public, and it
is appropriate for the [FTC] to consider this factor in determining
whether the advertising is misleading or deceptive”) (Kennedy, J.). The
forum for such statements is simply not dispositive. For example, if a
manufacturer who markets rain-forest-friendly coffee falsely extols the

29

In this instance, Nike’s customers may, or may not, place
reliance on the company’s statements respecting the work-
ing conditions in its production facilities. That inquiry would
be crucial if Nike’s statements were the subject of a tradi-
tional private action for misrepresentation or a government
enforcement action. But those statements are instead the
subject of a peculiar species of suit that avoids that inquiry
and, in the process, runs afoul of the First Amendment.
Because it is precisely the unconstitutional aspects of re-
spondent’s suit that prompt the difficult questions concern-
ing “commercial speech,” the Court would be wise to leave
those questions for another day. Rather, the Court should
rule that the First Amendment bars private suits, such as
respondent’s, that challenge the truthfulness of representa-
tions that caused the plaintiff himself no harm.

virtues of its environmental practices in an Earth Day op-ed, there is no
reason those statements should be off-limits to a fraud action that other-
wise meets the requirements of the common law. Just as the fact that the
statements at issue in Sullivan came in a paid advertisement did not take
them outside the protection of the First Amendment, the mere fact that
material and fraudulent statements appear in an editorial forum should
not take those statements wholly outside the law of fraud.

30

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the California Supreme Court should be
reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General

ROBERT D. MCCALLUM, JR.
Assistant Attorney General
PAUL D. CLEMENT
Deputy Solicitor General
JEFFREY P. MINEAR
JEFFREY A. LAMKEN
Assistants to the Solicitor
General
TEAL LUTHY
Attorney

FEBRUARY 2003

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0611%3A17. Public record. Not legal advice.
