# Amicus Curiae Brief — Virginia v. Hicks

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0601%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 113

## Text

Y | "Supreme Ceurt, U.S.

FILED

No. 02-371 MAR @ 2003

“OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,
Petitioner,

Vv.

KEVIN LAMONT HICKS,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF THE STATES OF ALABAMA, ALASKA,
DELAWARE, FLORIDA, HAWAII, INDIANA, MISSISSIPPI,
MISSOURI, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, SOUTH DAKOTA,
TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, AND THE COMMONWEALTH OF
PUERTO RICO IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER,

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON

Attorney General of Missouri

JAMES R. LAYTON

State Solicitor

ERWIN O. SWITZER, Il

Special Chief Counsel
Counsel of Record

P.O. Box 899

Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573) 751-3321

Fax: (573) 751-0774

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Additional counsel listed inside cover

Michele L. Jackson

State Appeals Coordinator
Office of the Attorney General
11 South Union St.
Montgomery, AL 36130

Gregg D. Renkes
Attorney General
PO Box 110300
Juneau, AK 99801

M. Jane Brady
Attorney General

820 N. French St.
Wilmington, DE 19801

Mark J. Bennett
Attorney General
425 Queen Street
Honolulu, HI 96813

Steve Carter

Attorney General

302 W. Washington St.
IGCS, 5" FI.
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Charles J. Crist, Jr.

Attorney General

The Capitol PL-01
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1050

Mike Moore
Attorney General
PO Box 220
Jackson, MS 39205

Jim Petro

Attorney General

30 E. Broad St., 17" FI.
Columbus, OH 43215

W.A. Drew Edmondson
Attorney General

2300 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4894

Hardy Myers
Attorney General
1162 Court St. NE
Salem, OR 97301

Lawrence E. Long
Attorney General

500 East Capitol Ave
Pierre, SD 57501-5070

Paul G. Summers

Attorney General &
Reporter of Tennessee

PO Box 20207

Nashville, TN 37202-0207

Greg Abbott

Attorney General

PO Box 12548

Austin, TX 78711-2548

Mark L. Shurtleff
Attorney General
236 State Capitol
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Anabelle Rodriguez
Secretary of Justice

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

-
ea

t

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

May a criminal defendant escape conviction by
invoking the overbreadth doctrine even though (i) his
own offense did not involve any expressive conduct,
and (ii) his conduct was not proscribed by that portion
of the government policy he challenges as overbroad?

In this context, does the Constitution recognize a
distinction between actions taken by a governmental
unit as landlord and actions taken by a governmental
unit as sovereign?

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
SST SUSU so dcdccniccconeceskseenns i
TABLE OF AUTHIORITIES $3.2... cccccccccccccccces iii
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ............0.0005: l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..................055- 2

ARGUMENT

I. As an exception to the general rules of standing,
the overbreadth doctrine should be applied
SE ccccccccctcsnsséddeneseusecucecesis +

Il. The overbreadth doctrine should apply only to
laws that are directed to expressive activities and

that are capable of chilling protected speech, and
to defendants who engage in expressive activities. . . 6

Ill. By establishing a low standard for invalidation of
criminal trespass laws, the Virginia Supreme
Court’s ruling seriously threatens public safety. . . . 12

IV. Those who will suffer most from the invalidation

of trespass laws or other public safety laws, persons
who are among the most vulnerable in our society,
should not be burdened with more crime. ........ 19

GES ccc ccscnsncccesaedassectdacocosaue 21

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973) . 5, 6, 8-12, 20

Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940) .......... 9
City of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Publishing Co.,

GP ae POGUE cc ccescccccsccccsesss 12,19
Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 536 (1965) .... 2.6.66 6c ees 9
Edwards v. South Carolina, 372 U.S. 229 (1963) ........ 4
Forsyth County, Ga. v. Nationalist Movement,

Fa Sh CP GUE cc cccseccccccsscecesecss 19
Garner v. Louisiana, 368 U.S. 157 (1961) ............. 9
Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972) ............ 5,19
Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169 (1972)... 2.2... 6.6.2 eee 17

Hicks v. Virginia, 54& S.E.2d 249 (Va. App. banc 2001) . 11
Hill v. Colorado, 530 U.S. 703 (2000) ............. 9,12
Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589 (1967) .... 17
New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982) ........ 5, 6, 8,9
Sweezy v. New Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234 (1957) ........ 17

Teamsters Union v. Vogt, Inc., 354 U.S. 284 (1957) ...... 9

iv

Virginia v. Hicks,

563 S.E.2d 674 (Va. 2002) ......... 3, 7, 11-14,18

Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981) ..............

STATUTES
a i el
a ne

i

SCHOLARLY AUTHORITIES

Richard H. Fallon, Making Sense of Overbreadth,
Ee EEE ccccceséevceseeeeues

The First Amendment Overbreadth Doctrine,
83 Harv. L. Rev. 844 (1970) ..................
OTHER

Regulation Two, Marshal of the Supreme Court
Regulations, United States Supreme Court

Building and Grounds, approved Oct. 4, 1994. ...

14

No. 02-371

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,
Petitioner,
Vv.
KEVIN LAMONT HICKS,

Respondent.

BRIEF OF THE STATES OF ALABAMA, ALASKA
DELAWARE, FLORIDA, HAWAII, INDIANA, MISSISSIPPI,
MISSOURI, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, SOUTH DAKOTA,
TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, AND THE COMMONWEALTH OF
PUERTO RICO IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER,

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Attorneys general — and thus the chief law enforcement
officers — of their respective states and commonwealths, submit
this brief on behalf of their states or commonwealths as amici
curiae. Under varying schemes, the Attorneys General are
called upon to enforce laws that protect the welfare and safety
of their states’ citizens. They are also responsible for defending
laws, policies, and actions against constitutional attacks. The
Virginia Supreme Court has construed the First Amendment in
a way that implicates both of these missions.

2

The Virginia Supreme Court’s expansive interpretation
of the First Amendment overbreadth doctrine threatens to make
susceptible to overbreadth challenges public safety and other
laws that were heretofore outside the doctrine’s reaci:. Schools,
libraries, and courthouses have strict restrictions on unautho-
rized persons entering all or portions of their property. Trespass
laws and polices are often the first law enforcement tools that
keep potentially dangerous persons from entering, and thus
protect adults and children who reside on, work on, attend
school on, or visit government property. The Virginia Supreme
Court interpreted the overbreadth doctrine in a way that could
lead to declarations that many trespass policies are invalid and
thereby make government-owned property less safe for resi-
dents and for the public.

The amici seek to defend the continued ability of
government officials to protect public safety through the
enforcement of criminal laws, including laws against
trespassing on government property.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The overbreadth doctrine as interpreted by tinis Court is
narrow. It allows a court to invalidate a law or policy if its mere
existence, as opposed to its application, deters or “chills”
potential speakers, regardless of whether the statute has been
unconstitutionally applied to the defendant or litigant.
Moreover, even when there is a chilling effect of a law or policy
directed toward conduct, it can be invalidated only when the
interest in preventing chilling of protected speech outweighs the
legitimate sweep of that law.

Though narrow, the doctrine is an extraordinary depar-
ture from the traditional rules of standing. It allows a person to
challenge a statute based on its potential application to persons
not before the court. Therefore, it is only applied sparingly and

as a last resort.

Here, the Virginia Supreme Court should not have
invoked the overbreadth doctrine to invalidate the policies of
the Housing Authority’ barring from a housing development
non-residents, non-employees, and persons who “cannot
demonstrate a legitimate business or social purpose for being on
the premises.”

The policy at issue is part of the enforcement
mechanism for an ordinary criminal law — a trespass statute —
that only incidentally affects speech. And the person invoking
the overbreadth doctrine was not even engaging in First
Amendment expressive activity. When the main focus of the
law or policy is not the restriction of speech, but the protection
of the public, and the person subject to the charge at issue is not
engaging in expressive activity, the likelihood of chilling from
the existence of the law is too remote to justify its invalidation.
Here, the Virginia Supreme Court invoked the overbreadth
doctrine with neither a finding nor evidence that the Housing
Authority policy had a chilling effect on speech.

Even if there had been some evidence that the existence
of the Housing Authority policy deterred someone from
engaging in protected speech, the interest in preventing the
chilling would be outweighed by the government interest in
public safety. Trespass laws serve a critical function. When
public housing developments _ open-air drug markets, when
courthouses are threatened wiu. vioterrorism attacks, and when
schools are subjected to gunfire, trespass laws are often the first

' The Richmond Redevelopment and Housing Authority
is referred to herein as the Housing Authority.

? Virginia v. Hicks, 563 S.E.2d 674, 676 (Va. 2002).

4

line of defense. The essential safety role those laws play should
not be subordinated to a mere conjecture that they may be
applied to prevent someone from engaging in protected speech.

The holding of the Virginia Supreme Court ignores the
safety interest of those using government property. The court's
holding does not deprive those who live on private property of
the benefit of trespass laws. But it takes that protection away
from the poor who live in public housing — and not because the
trespass laws and policies have affected speech, but merely
because they might. It also takes trespass protection away from
others who use the government’s real estate, whether they be
library patrons, school and college students, or even visitors to
this Court.

This Court should reiterate the narrow scope of the
overbreadth doctrine, bringing its focus back to its traditional
and appropriate limits so as to protect persons on government

property.
ARGUMENT

I. As an exception to the general rules of standing, the
overbreadth doctrine should be applied sparingly.

Attorneys general and other government officials
frequently hear the cry that a statute, regulation. or policy is
“overbroad.” The Virginia Supreme Court, losing sight of the
core principles of the overbreadth doctrine as set forth by this
Court, has expanded the doctrine to unprecedented lengths.

The overbreadth doctrine is an exception to the tradi-
tional rule governing constitutional adjudication, i.e., that a
person to whom a statute may constitutionally be applied cannot
challenge the statute on the ground that it could be unconsti-

5

tutionally applied to others.’ That traditional rule exists be-
cause “courts are not roving commissions assigned to pass
judgment on the validity of the Nation’s laws.’ Nevertheless,
this Court has concluded that “the First Amendment needs
breathing space,” and established overbreadth as an exception
to the general rule. That exception, under which litigants are
permitted to challenge a statute on its face even though their
own rights of free expression have not been violated, is based
on a “judicial prediction or assumption that the statute’s very
existence may cause others not before the court to refrain from
constitutionally protected speech or expression.”* This poten-
tial for self-censorship is sometimes referred to as the “chilling”
effect of such a law.°

Holding that a law is facially overbroad in violation of
the First Amendment brings two consequences. First, if the
challenge occurs in a criminal case, the defendant goes free.’
Second, any enforcement of that law is forbidden, at least until
the law is changed or is given a limiting construction that
“remove[s] the seeming threat or deterrence to constitutionally

> New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 767 (1982);
Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601, 610 (1973). The
doctrine is occasionally applied, as here. to policies rather than
a Statute, regulation, or ordinance. For simplicity, we refer
generically to “laws.”

* Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 610-11.
‘Jd. at 612.

© Ferber, 458 U.S. at 772, n.27: Broadrick, 413 U.S. at
618.

” Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972).

6

protected expression.”* Because these consequences are so

severe, this Court calls the application of the overbreadth
doctrine “strong medicine” that should be “employed by the
Court sparingly and only as a last resort.” The overbreadth
doctrine is to be applied only when “facial invalidation of a
Statute is truly warranted” and “carefully tied to the circum-
stances.”'°

The Virginia Supreme Court failed to explain why the
extraordinary remedy of invalidating a policy, particularly one
primarily directed to protecting public safety, was “truly
warranted.” The Virginia court’s blurry vision obscures the
principles underlying the overbreadth doctrine, letting courts
stray and jeopardizing safety in public housing, schools, and
courthouses.

Il. The overbreadth doctrine should apply only to laws
that are directed to expressive activities and that are
capable of chilling protected speech, and to defen-
dants who engage in expressive activities.

This Court has warned that the overbreadth doctrine is
“strong medicine.”'' But the way the doctrine was applied by
the Virginia Supreme Court, it was more than strong medicine.
It was an amputation.

The Virginia Supreme Court did not invalidate that

* Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 613.
* Id. at 613.

'° Ferber, 458 U.S. at 769.

'' Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 613.

j
|
|

>

state’s trespass statute.'* Instead, it invalidated the Housing
Authority’s trespass policy as being facially overbroad. The
Virginia court called the Housing Authority policy partially
written and partially unwritten. The written portion makes the
trespass statute applicable to any non-resident or non-employee
or any other person who “cannot demonstrate a legitimate
business or social purpose for being on the premises.”'’ The
court found the “unwritten” portion in the testimony of a
manager of the Housing Authority regarding hypothetical
situations.'* As the Commonwealth of Virginia points out in its
brief on the merits, that testimony may be more accurately
described as reflecting an “unwritten addendum” to a written
policy. Moreover, the Virginia court resorted to use of an
oxymoron when it stated that an “unwritten” policy is “facially”
overbroad."

The Virginia Supreme Court’s ruling is disturbing. It in
effect repeals Virginia’ s trespass law, but only in selected areas:
Housing Authority properties and government property to
which trespass policies of similar specificity apply. Those
trespass laws and policies provide obvious public safety
benefits. They afford privacy and security to persons who live,
work, or visit the areas that they cover. These benefits remain
in place for most Virginia residents. But persons who live in
public housing, and presumably for anyone on government
property covered by an unauthorized-persons trespass policy

'? The trespass law under which defendant Hicks was
convicted is Va. Code § 18.2-119.

'? Hicks, 563 S.E.2d at 676.
'* 563 S.E.2d at 680.

1S Id.

8

similar to that of the Housing Authority, have lost the protec-
tion of the Virginia trespass law.

Respondent obtained that result even though the
Virginia court did not jump all the hurdles prerequisite to an
overbreadth finding. A court considering an overbreadth chal-
lenge must determine whether the party making the challenge
has standing to do so as well as whether substantively the
doctrine should apply in the particular factual situation. The
question on which this Court granted certiorari deals with the
standing issue, i.e., can defendant Hicks bring an overbreadth
challenge here? The Commonwealth of Virginia has briefed
that issue thoroughly and its analysis will not be repeated here.
But in addition to the important concerns regarding standing,
amici are also concerned with the deficiencies in the Virginia
court’s substantive analysis.. By applying the overbreadth
doctrine without a finding or evidence that the contested
trespass policy has a chilling effect, or even an explanation of
why the interest in public safety is outweighed by the interest in
deterring a chilling effect, the Virginia court has created a very
troubling precedent — one with significant adverse implications.

Courts and commentators have noted that the
overbreadth doctrine should not be applied in a fashion that
threatens public safety, i.e., that it should not be applied to
ordinary criminal laws, and to trespass laws in particular. For
instance, this Court in Broadrick v. Oklahoma recognized a
distinction between applying the overbreadth doctrine to laws
that primarily regulate speech and applying it to laws that do so
only indirectly or incidentally: “{[O]verbreadth claims, if enter-
tained at all, have been curtailed when invoked against ordinary
criminal laws that are sought to be applied to protected con-
duct.”"® And in New York v. Ferber, this Court stated: “[T]he

'© Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 613.

|
|
'

ree
——

9

Court’s practice when confronted with ordinary criminal lav .
that are sought to be applied against protected conduct is not to
invalidate the law in toto, but rather to reverse the particular
conviction.”'’ This Court further observed in Broadrick that
when it had overturned breach-of-peace convictions in the past,
it did so on as-applied grounds, and considered references in
those opinions to facial overbreadth to be dicta."*

Additionally, this Court has stated that the function of
the overbreadth doctrine “attenuates” as the behavior moves
from “pure speech” toward conduct (even if expressive) that
“falls within the scope of otherwise valid criminal laws that
reflect legitimate state interests.”'? Even if the conduct-directed
law does deter speech, “there comes a point where that effect —
at best a prediction — cannot, with confidence, justify invali-
dating a statute on its face.” When conduct, and not merely
speech is involved, the overbreadth must be both real and
substantial, when compared to the statute’s “plainly legitimate
sweep.””' Thus, while chilling is a prerequisite to an over-
breadth invalidation, it is not sufficient. The nature and degree
of the chilling must be weighed against the legitimate sweep of
the law.

458 U.S. at 773.

'® Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 614-15, distinguishing
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940); Garner v.
Louisiana, 368 U.S. 157 (1961); Edwards v. South Carolina,
372 U.S. 229 (1963); Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 536 (1965);
Teamsters Union v. Vogt, Inc., 354 U.S. 284 (1957).

'? Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 615.
20 Id
*! Id.; Hill v. Colorado, 530 U.S. 703, 731-32 (2000).

10

Commentators have endorsed these principles expressly
as to trespass laws, even in advocating an expansion of the
overbreadth doctrine, because “courts should hesitate to find
substantial overbreadth” to a statute “that aims to promote state
interests unrelated to the content of expression and that
infringes First Amendment interests only incidentally.’ That
is because

when the government has not targeted
expressive activity, courts cannot reasonably
require a regulation to achieve the degree of
precision that is warranted when a law centrally
implicates speech. Only a small likelihood will
typically exist that the statute reflects a covert
effort to discriminate on the basis of content.
Moreover, the government's valid interest in
being able to enforce the statute will frequently
be important.”

An often-cited Harvard Law Review Note presents a
similar analysis. The author observes that overbreadth scrutiny
applies when the “primary conduct ... at issue must to a
substantial extent be the kind of expressive and associational
behavior which at least has a colorable claim to the protection
of the [first] amendment.”

2 Richard H. Fallon, Making Sense of Overbreadth, 100
YALE L.J. 853, 896 (1991). See also id. at 908 (advocating
greater use of overbreadth doctrine).

° Id. at 897.

** Note, The First Amendment Overbreadth Doctrine, 83
HARV. L. REV. 844, 860 (1970).

OS eer ~

~ OS wrt,

1]

The Virginia Supreme Court took the overbreadth
doctrine to a new level when it applied that doctrine to an
ordinary criminal law, and to conduct that was not expressive
conduct protected by the First Amendment.”* The likelihood of
a chilling effect in such circumstances is remote. Here, the
Virginia court invalidated the Housing Authority policy without
concluding that the policy deterred or was likely to deter anyone
from engaging in protected expressive activity. There was no
evidence that anyone interested in engaging in protected
expressive activity even knew of the Housing Authority policy.
An unknown policy does not deter conduct.

Using the overbreadth doctrine as anything other than “a
last resort”’* to attack laws that really do deter speech threatens
the fair and proper use of the criminal law. Courts considering
the doctrine must recognize that it is not applied broadly; here,
as in many other instances where a criminal defendant wants to
invoke overbreadth to avoid prosecution, we are only at “a point
where [the chilling] effect — at best a prediction — cannot, with
confidence, justify invalidating a statute on its face.””’ It must
be an extraordinary circumstance where a defendant whose
actions have absolutely nothing to do with speech is able to
avoid prosecution because a statute might, at some other time

** In the instant case, defendant Hicks merely claimed to
be delivering diapers to his son when he was charged with a
trespass violation. Hicks, 563 S.E.2d at 677, 684. Hicks had
previously been convicted of damaging property at the Housing
Authority. Hicks v. Virginia, 548 S.E.2d 249, 252 (Va. App.
banc 2001), aff'd in part and vacated in part, 563 S.E.2d 674
(Va. 2002).

*° Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 613.

*” Id. at 613, 615.

a, Se ae

12
in some other, so far entirely hypothetical circumstance, be
invoked to inhibit speech.

Ill. By establishing a low standard for invalidation of
criminal trespass laws, the Virginia Supreme
Court's ruling seriously threatens public safety.

Even in cases in which some chilling exists, courts must
balance the chilling effect of the law or policy against its
“plainly legitimate sweep.”* Here, the public safety interests
served by the Housing Authority’s trespass policy were
substantial: the undisputed record showed that the primary goal
was to “eradicate illegal drug activity in ... an ‘open-air.drug
market” in the housing complex.”

Rendering criminal trespass laws useless in protecting
government property creates great danger to public safety. Ina
society where we see guns at schools and bombs and anthrax at
courthouses, trespass laws are a major tool for law enforcement

officials. These laws are not typically mere “keep off the -

grass” regulations enacted to make property maintenance easier.
Invalidating them poses a much greater threat than does
invalidating speech-restriction laws or expressive-conduct-
restriction laws. It is not hard to appreciate the difference
between the effect on public safety of invalidating a law barring
outsiders from a housing complex invaded by an open-air drug
market and the effect of invalidating a law requiring a permit to
place newspaper racks on a public sidewalk.” In considering

** Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 615; Hill, 530 U.S. at 731-32.
** Hicks, 563 S.E.2d at 676.

* Compare this case to City of Lakewood v. Plain
Dealer Publishing Co., 486 U.S. 750 (1988)(invalidating

13

whether to invalidate laws or policies, courts should give great
weight to the benefits of the “plainly legitimate sweep” of
trespass laws or other ordinary criminal laws.

The Housing Authority policies barring persons without
a “legitimate business or social purpose for being on the
premises””' are similar to policies for many government owned
places. A typical example is the trespass policy for the United
States Supreme Court Building. This Court’s regulations give
the Marshal of the Supreme Court nearly complete discretion
to bar the general public from all or any portion of the Supreme
Court Building or grounds, and to determine who is or is not a
member of the “general public”:

In order to protect the Supreme Court Building
and grounds, to protect the persons and property
therein, or to maintain suitable order and
decorum, the Marshal of the Supreme Court,
pursuant to the responsibilities outlined in 40
U.S.C. § 13/, may, at any time, declare the
Supreme Court Building and grounds, or any
portion thereof, closed to the general public.
Any person who, having been informed of the
closure of the building or grounds or portion of
the building or grounds, enters the closed area
without the authorization of the Marshal or
refuses to leave the closed area after being
requested to do so shal! be subject to arrest and

ordinance requiring permits for placement of newspaper racks
on public property, with permits issued at the discretion of the
mavor).

"Id at 676.

14

subject to penalties set forth in 40 U.S.C.
§ 13m.”

Appropriately, this regulation is no more definite than
the Housing Authority regulation barring access to any person
who is not a resident, is not an employee, or “cannot demon-
strate a legitimate business or social purpose for being on the
premises.””’ In fact, the Housing Authority regulation is even
more definite in its phrasing than the Supreme Court’s bar on
the “general public” accessing certain areas. The regulation on
its face contains no standards for the exercise of the Marshal's
discretion that would prevent the Marshal from engaging in
viewpoint discrimination in defining “general public” or in
deciding who can access which areas.

And there is nothing wrong with that, except in the eyes
of the Virginia Supreme Court. In that court’s view, standard-
less discretion alone leads to an invalidation of a trespass-type
policy. Under the Virginia court’s decision, the Supreme Court
Building trespass regulation would be invalid.

The implications of the Virginia Supreme Court’s
analysis would be staggering for the Supreme Court Building.
A person planning terrorist activity might trespass onto restric-
ted parts of the building to learn about the floor plans, access,
and other details of the non-public portions of the building. If
he is then arrested, the Virginia court’s analysis would allow
him to argue that the broad discretion given to the Marshal
makes him immune from conviction. Moreover, an overbreadth

* Regulation Two, approved October 4, 1994, provided
to counsel Erwin O. Switzer by the Supreme Court of the
United States Police via facsimile on February 14, 2003.

® Hicks, 563 S.E.2d at 676.

15

ruling would leave this Court entirely without trespass
regulations, at least until it could come up with something that
meets the Virginia court’s standard.

We do not use this example to criticize this Court's
policies in any way. The point is the opposite. This Court's
security policies are appropriate and reasonable; the Virginia
Supreme Court’s analysis and its necessary results are not. The
nation would be severely endangered if the trespass policies of
the Supreme Court Building were easily invalidated. Depriving
the residents of a single housing development of the protection
of trespass policies would not have the same broad impact. But
those people also deserve protection.

We cannot quantify the scope of the problem that
affirming the Virginia court’s holding would create. Formal
policies like this Court’s Regulation Two are not catalogued.
But they certainly exist in a variety of other contexts, protecting
those who use government property. Three generic examples
are libraries, elementary and secondary schools, and colleges.

Public Libraries: Libraries pride themselves on
providing opportunities for children and adults to study and
learn in a quiet, safe environment. To achieve those goals, lib-
raries will revoke library privileges and ban persons who
disrupt those activities, whether by fighting, stealing, drug-
activity. or other inappropriate or offensive behavior. The
trespass laws are used to keep such persons out if they try to
return.

Consider the case of a young adult who seeks out an
enemy gang member at a library and begins an assault. The
library revokes the assailant’s privileges. The assailant returns
and is arrested for trespassing. Under the Virginia Supreme
Court analysis, the assailant could avoid a conviction if the
library used general terms (such as “inappropriate behavior”) or

16

if the branch manager thought she had wide discretion to decide
whose privileges to revoke. This would be the case even
though there had never been a revocation on unconstitutional
grounds, or perhaps not even a revocation at all. Moreover, not
only would the assailant be free to return, but the library would
be unable to exclude anyone from the library whose privileges
were revoked.

Elementary and high schools: Schools face many
potential dangers from outsiders. Drug dealers or pedophiles
may lurk near or on school grounds. Children may be subjected
to kidnaping from bitter, non-custodial parents. Students
expelled or suspended for bringing weapons to school may want
to re-enter school property to settle a score. But schools also
benefit from the presence of outsiders. Schools readily invite
many, including include police officers, judges, and artists, to
speak to classes or assemblies or otherwise interact with
students. And they invite parents and other volunteers, whose
contributions are often critical to the schools’ success.

The policies of many schools contain general
descriptions of who is authorized to be on the school premises.
Given the wide variety of possible non-students and non-
employees who may visit a school, it is quite reasonable to use
a phrase like “legitimate business or social purpose” to describe
who may enter school property. But according to the Virginia
Supreme Court, if a school uses such a description to describe
the classes of persons who are not deemed trespassers, the
trespassers could go unpunished, and the school would find
itself unable to enforce the trespass policy at all.

College campuses: While state-run college campuses
often make portions of their properties available to the public,
there are many portions of the campus that are restricted to
varying degrees. These include laboratories, dormitories, and
administrative offices.

Se

17

The Virginia Supreme Court's holding would be
particularly problematic on college campuses. For instance, a
policy that barred from a women’s dormitory non-residents and
persons without a legitimate social or business purpose for
being there would seem to be invalid under the Virginia court's
test. This would be particularly likely if the policy did not
expressly preclude the possibility of viewpoint discrimination,
such as permitting the lobby to be used for pep rallies to support
the football team but not for demonstrations to discontinue the
football program. If there is a constitutional problem with that
distinction, the problem should not provide a defense to a
trespasser who is stalking a resident. And that perceived defect
should not be a basis for invalidating the trespass policies
altogether, making it impossible to arrest anyone im the
dormitory for trespassing. Facial invalidation is an unwarranted
remedy. .

It is particularly ironic that the Virginia decision would
reduce the protection granted by trespass laws to those present
on college campuses. “The college classroom with its sur-
rounding environs is peculiarly the ‘marketplace of ideas’....”
Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169, 180-81 (1972), citing Keyishian
v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589, 603 (1967); Sweezy v. New
Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234, 249-250 (1957) (Warren, C.J.,
plurality opinion), 262 (Frankfurter, J., concurring in result).
But it will not remain an effective marketplace if trespass laws
are eliminated as a method of protecting the safety of those who
live and speak on campus. Indeed this Court has recognized
that first amendment rights on campus are for “persons entitled
to be there,” Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263, 269 (1981), a
statement that necessarily implies that others may be excluded.
Again, trespass laws and policies are an essential tool in that
exclusion.

18

The threat posed by interlopers seems obvious — and not
just in libraries, in schools, on college campuses, and in court-
houses. Without being graphic, it is easy to imagine real and
substantial harm that would occur if government trespass
policies were broadly invalidated, as the Virginia Supreme
Court’s rule would require. The infestation of drugs and other
crimes in the Housing Authority development is obviously of
great import. When balancing the threat of chilling against the
public safety concerns as advanced by ordinary criminal laws
that only incidentally affect speech, the public safety concern
will typically, if not always, outweigh the concern with chilling.

Indeed, our research revealed no pre-Hicks cases in
which such significant safety concerns were outweighed by the
interests of combating a chilling. In the rare case invalidating
laws pursuant to the overbreadth doctrine, the safety concerns
served by the law at issue are typically less significant than are
those served by ordinary criminal laws. For example, this Court
has invalidated laws under the overbreadth doctrine only a few
times in the last thirty years. And in each instance, the statute
at issue had obvious free speech implications, regulating such
things as the placement of newspaper racks on public

me + oe

” oe

19

sidewalks, parade permits,” or the use of foul language.”
None of those laws implicated serious public safety concerns.

The Virginia Supreme Court’s analysis, if adopted by
this Court, would threaten public safety interests in many
contexts. This Court should not allow the overbreadth doctrine
to be expanded to undercut trespass or other ordinary criminal
laws.

IV. Those who will suffer most from the invalidation of
trespass laws or other public safety laws, persons
who are among the most vulnerable in our society,
should not be burdened with more crime.

Under the Virginia Supreme Court’s standards, law
enforcement tools would be at their weakest where the public
most likely would assume that the vigilance to protect public
safety is greatest. The persons most affected will be those who
live in government-owned public housing. Persons who can

* City of Lakewood, 486 U.S. 750 (1988)(invalidating
ordinance requiring permits for placement of newspaper racks
on public property, with permits issued at the discretion of the
mavor).

** Forsyth County, Ga. v. Nationalist Movement, 505
U.S. 123 (1992)(invalidating parade permit ordinance in which
the permit fee could be varied in the discretion of the
government permitting official).

*° Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518, 518, 527
(1972)(invalidating ordinance against use of “opprobrious
words or abusive language ... tending to cause a breach of the
peace,” construed to bar any “words offensive to some who hear
them”).

20

afford to live on private property — in luxury condominiums or
apartment complexes — lose noi trespass protection.

If this Court approves of the low threshold set by the
Virginia Supreme Court, more and more trespass policies will
be invalidated. And more and more criminal trespassers will go
free. The drug-dealer at the public housing complex who seeks
to ensnare new victims cannot be tossed out or arrested unless
caught in the act. The plotting burglar can case a residence with
impunity. The potential assailant can sit and wait indefinitely
for a former girlfriend to emerge from her residence.

The Virginia Supreme Court’s concern with freedom of
speech does not justify the adverse impacts of its holding.
Those who live in an “open-air drug market” will find little
solace in a court’s efforts to protect them the “possible inhibi-
tory effects” on the airing of grievances left to fester.*’ Parti-
cularly when the societal benefit of judicial repeal of policies is
marginal, the courts should not leave the poorest and most
vulnerable members of society to shoulder another burden.

*”” Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 612.

2|

CONCLUSION

The First Amendment overbreadth doctrine should not
be expanded. Before allowing a defendant to invoke the rights
of non-litigants, courts should give great weight to the
legitimate public interests at stake. Failure to do so imposes
unnecessary risks on the poor in public housing and other
persons who live, work, or visit government property.

Respectfully submitted,

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON

Attorney General

JAMES R. LAYTON

State Solicitor

ERWIN O. SWITZER, Ill

Special Chief Counsel
Counsel of Record

Supreme Court Building

P.O. Box 899

Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573) 751-3321

Fax: (573) 751-0774

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

March 5, 2003

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0601%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
