# Appellees Brief — United States v. American Library Assn., Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0600%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appellees Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 194

## Text

No. 02-361

lp £004

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 2002

_— >

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et ai.,

Appellants,

AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION, INC., ez ai.,

ON APPEAL FROM

Appellees.

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

BRIEF OF APPELLEES
MULTNOMAH COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY, et al.

Stefan Presser

ACLU of Pennsylvania

125 South Ninth Street

Suite 701

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107
(215) 592-1513

David L. Sobel
Electronic Privacy
Information Center
1718 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Suite 200
Washington, D.C. 20009
(202) 483-1140

Christopher A. Hansen
(Counsel of Record)

Ann Beeson

Steven R. Shapiro

American Civil Liberties
Union Foundation

125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 549-2500

Charles S. Sims
PROSKAUER ROSE LLP
1585 Broadway

New York, New York 10036
(212) 969-3000

(counsel continued on inside front cover)

IBEST AVAILABLE COPY
ine

Lee Tien

Electronic Frontier Foundation
454 Shotwell Street

San Francisco, California 94110
(415) 436-9333

FOR PLAINTIFF MULTNOMAH COUNTY
PUBLIC LIBRARY:

Thomas Spoonsler, County Attorney
Multnomah County

501 N.E. Hawthorne Boulevard

Suite 500

Portland, Oregon 97214

(503) 988-3138

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ne GED serepevncesccencersnnsssnessnecemsesesoces iv
ST ae l
COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE..................... 2
A. The Three-Judge Court’s Findings of Fact ...... 3

1. Public Libraries and Internet Access........... 3

2. Statutory Requirements...................:0:0000++ 6

3. Available Blocking Programs .................... 7

4. Blocking of Protected Speech.................... 8

5. The Inevitability of Overblocking.............. 11

6. The Inadequacy of CIPA’s Unblocking
ee 15

7. The Inability of Any Library To Comply

i a ee 17

8. Less Restrictive Alternatives...................... 19

B. The Three-Judge Court’s Legal Analysis ........ 21
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....00.......::cccccccceseeeeeeeeeeeee 22
ITT ss iideecersta nian tenstpnnennsennseneennssnesnanensesessonsns 24

Page
I. The Three-Judge Court’s Injunction
Should Be Affirmed Because CIPA
Induces Public Libraries To Violate The
i a atalial 24

A. CIPA’s Content-Based Restrictions
On Speech Are Subject to Strict
ID cccnaneenentinennneniitiniaiemneannel -24

1. Like Traditional Public Forums,
Internet Access at Public Libraries
Promotes Core First Amendment

2. Strict Scrutiny Applies Because
The Government Seeks to
Selectively Exclude Protected
Speech From A Vast Democratic
Pe icrncennennnnnensenineeneiatemnannnns 27

B. CIPA’s Content-Based Restrictions

tf ee 29
The Mandated Use of Blocking
5 Programs Is Not Narrowly Tailored
To Prevent Access to Illegal
TD cccsemnsssnsercenssnemsnmessenneeenenn 29

1. Libraries Have Other Less
Restrictive Means To Help Patrons

Find What They Want And Avoid
Unwanted And Illegal Content.......... 33
C. The Disabling Provisions Fail to Cure
eo) 35
ii

a <«

Page
D. The Government’s Arguments Ignore
The Record and Misconstrue the
I 39

II. CIPA Imposes A Prior Restraint On
ER I SEAS 42

III. CIPA Imposes An Unconstitutional
Condition On Funding Of Internet
Access at Public Libraries ......000000000000.cc0... 45

ean NETITTI cieccecineseitniininisinsilannantaeiestneteensipsintiibitamiiaesiina 49

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

Cases
Arkansas Education Telev. Comm'n v. Forbes,

OL ee 27, 40, 41
Ashcroft v. Free Speech Coalition,
en ee 32
Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan,

gS 23, 36, 44, 45
Blount v. Rizzi,
eT 23, 36, 43
Board of County Comm'rs v. Umbehr,

ee Ge incteertsncieniinsasittetteiensnnseentinemnenssammiees : wee 45
Board of Educ. v. Pico,

ee 25
Butler v. Michigan,

a 22, 33

City of Madison Joint School Dist. No. 8 v. Wisconsin
Employment Relations Comm'n,
og ee 28

Cornelius v. NAACP Legal Def. & Educ. Fund, Inc.,
473 U.S. 788 (1985)..........ccc00e0 seaiandanmsiaieaaitaianeianentl 27, 41

Denver Area Educ. Telecom. Consortium, Inc. v. FCC,
eee 36

Drive In Theatres, Inc. v. Huskey,
Re ce EG Be icccecccsctctcnsntiesnccnsenesszcsscctecseteel 44

FCC v. League of Women Voters,
er ea MIE ctictinnieicitiiabaiesiineaa 28, 46, 48

First Nat'l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti,
Say PU: UII ITEIPTTIII ascinbinnciiateeincsaiinceicheapicihaiiiiiinaahe 46

Forsyth County v. Nationalist Movement,
ee 45

Freedman v. Maryland,
| eee 42, 45

International Soc 'y for Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v. Lee,
IRIE RER EE Sa enE TERI OEE a. 27

Interstate Circuit v. Dallas,
Teen 44

Kreimer v. Bureau of Police,
we 24, 27

Lamont v. Postmaster General,
ERE ee ee 36

Legal Servs. Corp. v. Velazquez,
ee ee Ta rnseerrcseieeniiinsennenedininsentiniiapesinamnccotaniiiadiniinias 28, 47

Mainstream Loudoun v. Bd. of Trustees of the Loudoun
County Library,
24 F. Supp. 2d 552 (E.D. Va. 1998)... cece eens 27, 43, 47

Page

Minarcini v. Strongsville City School Dist.,

Pi Tf 4g.) Caso 24
Near v. Minnesota,
POU 43
Perry Educ. Ass'n v. Perry Local Educators’ Ass n.,
O10 8 27, 48
Perry v. Sindermann,

OO ee 45
Procunier v. Martinez,

GOB TEE. FE Ce ccecncnennensssecensceenensrresesssstmnemneciemnnened 46
Reno v. American Civil Liberties Union,

BE en passim

Rosenberger v. Rector and Visitors of the University of
Virginia,

a ee ccenirnteccnincreinniainciceniinnnisinnuiiiigs 21, 28
Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173 (1991) ..........cccceeeeeeeeeeees 46, 48
Sable Communications of California, Inc. v. FCC,

og! ee 22, 23, 29

~perr ier v. City of Birmingham,

oo | 45
South Dakota v. Dole,

EF 22

vi

Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad,

REE vnc en ae 28, 44
Sund v. City of Wichita Falls,

121 F. Supp. 2d 530 (N.D. Tex. 2000)...........cccccccceseecseeees 25
The Florida Star v. B.J.F.,

ee iain icecream 32
Turner Broad. Sys., Inc. v. FCC,

nani isi etd neha teerriaceteacsiinainaaielaaieil 32
United States v. Playboy Entertainment Group, Inc.,
ee icecarrtiinstsceinrscinceaimnensmieranatnciatsitieiinniined passim
Virginia v. American Booksellers Ass'n,
RN TE 46
Watchtower Bible & Tract Society of New York, Inc. v.

Village of Stratton,

SI iicciaethditesstienrasiciaenrasien etadiernrranrnaaaiaaaaiieni 37
Widmar v. Vincent,
| een NODE 27, 41
Statutes
ER 1,6, 7, 15
AF ies Ob I cctcerccteresecierenensnennntesnn 1, 7, 15, 35, 45, 48
Other Authorities
EERE EEE env an eC Ro 26

INTRODUCTION

This Court should affirm the unanimous decision of a
three-judge court striking down the Children’s Intemet
Protection Act (CIPA), 20 U.S.C. § 9134 (f); 47 U.S.C. §
254 (h)(6), the first statute in our nation’s history that
imposes federal speech restrictions on local libraries around
the country. Based on extensive findings of fact from an
eight-day tral, the lower court correctly held that CIPA
induces public libraries to violate the First Amendment when
they offer free Internet access to patrons. The statute
requires libraries to install blocking programs that inevitably
censor a substantial amount of protected speech for adults
and minors. Indeed no blocking program offers content
categories that are limited -- or even tied in any way -- to
CIPA’s legal definitions of obscenity, child pornography, or
material that is “harmful to minors.” In contrast to the
ineffective blocking programs mandated by CIPA, which are
both overly broad and ultimately ineffective, libraries around
the country have devised a number of less restrictive ways to
assist patrons who wish to avoid content they find offensive.
Under this Court’s well-established First Amendment rules,
CIPA fails the strict scrutiny required of content-based
speech restrictions.

Ignoring the extensive tral record, the government
argues that CIPA should be upheld under rational basis
review because it is consistent with the traditional discretion
of libraries to select books for their collections. Yet under
CIPA, the federal government, not a local librarian, dictates
what speech libraries nationwide must exclude from the
patrons. The federal government, not a local librarian,
requires library patrons and staff to use blocking programs
manufactured by private companies for profit. It does so
knowing that these companies: (1) use their own broad
content categories to block speech rather than the statute’s

legal definitions of unprotected expression; (2) block huge
amounts of text though the statute requires blocking of
images only; (3) refuse to disclose their secret block lists to
the federal government, local governments, or libraries that
must install them; and (4) make their decisions without any
input from or regard for the views of librarians or local
communities, much less prior judicial review. The
government also knows that the blocking programs, if
installed: (1) will block library patrons and staff from
accessing speech that does not meet the categories of the law
or the separate, broader categories defined by the private
companies; (2) will block speech that local libranans and
local communities have chosen to provide to patrons; (3) will
block library patrons and staff from reading constitutionally
protected speech literally millions of times; and (4) cannot
reliably block the speech defined by the statute.

Far from an exercise of local discretion, CIPA
substitutes the federal government’s judgment for that of
librarians. After closely considering local concerns, 93% of
all public libraries chose not to mandate the use of blocking
programs. The federal government now seeks to override
those decisions, and to install private software companies as
censors in our nation’s libraries. Because CIPA threatens to
distort the democratic, speech-enhancing qualities of both
public libraries and the Intermet, the three-judge court
correctly enjoined its enforcement.

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE :

Two suits challenging the constitutionality of CIPA
were filed in the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania, and were consolidated. The
plaintiffs in this case (hereinafter “Multnomah plaintiffs”)
include large urban libraries serving Portland, Oregon and
Santa Cruz, California; library systems serving rural and
suburban communities in south central Wisconsin and

2

Westchester County, New York; and _ sstate library
associations in Connecticut, Maine, and Wisconsin. The
Multnomah plaintiffs also include seven individuals who use
their local libranes for Internet access. For example,
plaintiff Emmalyn Rood used the Internet at her library in
her early teens to “research issues relating to her sexual
identity.” J.S. App. 22a. Finally, the Multnomah plaintiffs
include eight Web sites that were blocked by major blocking
programs even though they provided no information that was
illegal. Two of the Web sites are for political candidates.
AfraidtoAsk.com and Planned Parenthood provide medical
information about sex. PlanetOut provides information of
interest to gay and lesbian communities. /d. at 23a-24a.

Pursuant to the statute, a special three-judge court
was convened. After a period of discovery, the court held an
eight-day tnal at which it heard the testimony of twenty
witnesses and admitted hundreds of exhibits, including
depositions. /d. at 6a. On May 31, 2002, before the statute
would have required libraries to install blocking programs,
the three-judge court unanimously concluded that the statute
was unconstitutional and enjoined its application. The court
made “extensive findings of fact,” id. at 7a, that consume
almost one hundred pages in the Appendix to the
Jurisdictional Statement. The government does not argue
that any of these facts are clearly erroneous.

A. The Three-Judge Court’s Findings of Fact
1. Public Libraries and Internet Access

The three-judge court made a number of findings
about the nature of public libraries and their provision of
Internet access to the public. Specifically, the court found
that libraries share a common mission to provide patrons
with the widest possible range of information and ideas. J.S.
App. 33a. See also e.g. J.A. 35-36 (Morgan testimony); 79-

3

80 (Cooper testimony); 423-442 (Chelton Rebuttal Report).
That principle was endorsed by all of the librarians that
testified below, and is incorporated into the American
Library Association’s Bill of Rights and Freedom to Read
Statement. J.A. 358-50, 366-73 (PX 1, 9). In practice,
however, libraries cannot carry every book on their shelves
because of limited space. Faced with this physical
constraint, librarians apply professional standards to select
particular books, tapes, and other matenals for their
collections in order to meet the needs of their local
communities. J.S. App. 35a; J.A. 36 (Morgan testimony). '
In making these assessments, librarians try to provide library
patrons with the books they want to read. Librarians do not,
generally speaking, limit their library collections to books
that the staff considers “worthy” or “educational.” E.g. J.A.
79-80 (Cooper testimony); 423-442 (Chelton Rebuttal
Report). Libraries routinely provide access to purely
recreational material, including some that is sexually
explicit. J.S. App. 32a-33a; See also eg. J.A. 40-41
(Morgan testimony); 80, 84-85 (Cooper testimony); 428 (PX
83, Chelton Rebuttal Report).

Librarians also routinely provide patrons with access
to materials not in their collections “through the use of
bibliographic access tools and interlibrary loan programs.”
J.S. App. 34a; J.A. 42-43 (Morgan testimony); 83-84
(Cooper testimony). They do not apply selection criteria
when using these methods; instead, they provide the patron
with any resource they can obtain. J.A. 79-80 (Cooper
testimony). Some libraries allow patrons to obtain
interlibrary loan materials without going through a librarian.
J.A. 83 (Cooper testimony).

' For example, one of the branches of the Portland, Oregon library stocks
Russian language materials for its Russian émigré population. J.A. 81
(Cooper testimony).

4

All of the defendants’ experts agreed that, either
through direct selection or through techniques such as
interlibrary loan, libraries should provide patrons with any
information they seek so long as the information is legal.
J.A. 266-67 (Cronin testimony), 293 (Davis testimony).
Librarians are trained to use just about any means to assist a
patron in obtaining information he or she seeks. J.S. App.
33-34a. Increasingly, they turn to the Internet, which “vastly
expands the amount of information available to patrons of
public libraries.” J.S. App. 36a.

“The vast majority of public libraries offer Internet
access to their patrons.” /d.; Jt. Tnal Stip. para 263. There
is an enormous demand for the service. J.S. App. 36a.
“Public libraries play an important role in providing Internet
access to citizens who would not otherwise possess it.” Jd.
Indeed, libraries are the primary source of Internet access for
poor families. /d. at 36a-37a, 130a.

The court found that the provision of Internet access
at public libraries is notably different than the selection of
materials for physical collections. /d. at 120a-127a.
Through the Internet, libranans provide access to a vast
range of Internet content regardless of any librarian’s
judgment that patrons will want to read any particular page
or that any particular page meets professional selection
standards. Jd. at 124a. “[{W)]hen public libraries provide
their patrons with Internet access, they intentionally open
their doors to vast amounts of speech that clearly lacks
sufficient quality to ever be considered for the library’s print
collection.” J.S. App. 123a. Indeed, “almost none” of the
Web sites made available will have been reviewed by “either
the library’s collection development staff or even the
filtering companies.” Jd. at 125a, 137a (libraries do not
exercise “editorial discretion” on the Internet). Library
Internet access works so that “[a]ny member of the public
with Internet access could ... tonight jot down a few musings

5

on any subject under the sun, and tomorrow those musings
would become part of public libraries’ online offerings.” /d.
at 125a. To the extent that libraries find it necessary to place
limits on Internet access, the vast majority of libraries merely
ration limited resources and make no _ content-based
exclusions. /d. at 36a.

2. Statutory Requirements

The Children’s Internet Protection Act (CIPA)
applies to every local library in the country that receives
funds under two popular federal programs. /d. at 14a-16a.
Under CIPA, libraries*must install and operate “technology
protection measures” on every computer that provides
Internet access. 47 U.S.C. § 254(h)(6); 20 U.S.C. § 9134(f).
These measures must be functioning on computers used by
staff as well as patrons, adults as well as minors, and
computers privately funded as well as those subsidized by
the federal program. J.S. App. 18a. When the computer is
being used by an adult, the “technology protection measures”
must “protect against access” to “visual depictions” that are
obscene or child pornography. When the computer is being
used by a minor (under 17), it must additionally prevent
access to “visual depictions” that are “harmful to minors.” 47
U.S.C. § 254(h)(6); 20 U.S.C. § 9134(f); JS. App. 202a.

The statute applies to any library that receives federal
funds from either the “e-rate” program or as an LSTA grant.
47 U.S.C. § 254(h); 20 U.S.C. § 9134; J.S. App. 14a-16a.
More than fifty percent of public libraries participate in one
or both of these programs; there are over 16,000 libraries
nationwide. GX 37 at 4, Public Libraries and the Internet
2000: Summary Findings and Data Tables, Tr. 10/28/02 at
47. If the library is receiving e-rate funding (most libraries
do), a library administrator “may disable the technology
protection measure concerned, during use by an adult, to
enable access for bona fide research or other lawful

6

purpose.” 47 U.S.C. § 254(h)(6)(D); J.S. App. 168a n.33. If
the library receives no e-rate funding, but does receive LSTA
funds, it may disable the “technology protection measure”
for adults or minors “for bona fide research or other lawful

purpose.” 20 U.S.C. § 9134(f)(1) and (3).
3. Available Blocking Programs

Because Internet blocking programs are the only
“technology protection measures” currently available for
libraries to comply with CIPA, the three-judge court made
extensive findings about their operation and efficacy. J.S.
App. 48a-94a. Internet blocking programs, or filters, are
software products created and sold by private companies for
profit. These products categorize and then block speech on
the Internet. For example, one well-known product,
Websense, has created 30 categories ranging from “Abortion
Advocacy” to “Job Search” to “Tasteless” and “Adult.” Jd.
at 50-S5la. If a library utilizes the software, persons
attempting to access a site on the category list will be
blocked from doing so. Jd.

There is no technology in existence, or likely to come
into existence, that can “protect against access” to the
categories defined by the statute. /d. at 6a, lla, 68a; Jt.
Trial Stip. para 274, 291. All of the existing products use
categories much less precisely defined, and much broader,
than the statute. J.S. App. 49a-5la. None even purports to
apply the legal categories defined by the statute. Jt. Tnal
Stip. para 291. “[T}here is no judicial involvement in the
creation of the filtering software companies’ category
definitions.” J.S. App. S5la. All of the existing products
apply their categories uniformly without regard to local
values or community standards. /d.

Although the statute only requires blocking of “visual
depictions,” none of the available producis categorizes based

7

solely on visual depictions and none blocks visual depictions
without also blocking text. /d. at 56a, 93a. Neither judges
nor librarians are involved in the products’ decision to
categorize and block particular Web sites. /d. at 5la, 53a; Jt.
Tnal Stip. para 292. Web pages that are blocked by the
products are not notified. J.S. App. 53a.

The products consider their block site lists “to be
proprietary information, and hence . . . unavailable to
customers or the general public for review, so that public
libraries that select categories when implementing filtering
software do not really know what they are blocking.” JS.
App. 7a; Jt. Trial Stip. para 290. Neither the federal
government, which mandates its use, nor the librarians who
must install it, nor the patrons and staff who must live with
it, can obtain a list of the speech that has been blocked. J.S.
App. 52a-53a.

All of the parties agreed, and the court found, that all
of the available products substantially overblock, i.e., they
block sites that do not fit either the category definitions
established by the companies or the differently (and more
narrowly) defined statutory categories. /d. at 7a, 8a, lla,
12a, 48a-94a. J.A. 131-223 (Nunberg testimony), 295-357
(Edelman testimony), 467-474 (PX 109, Janes report); PX
110-119, 122-123, 128-135, 162A-K, 165-169 (screen shots,
lodged with the Court). All of the products also substantially
underblock, i.e., they fail to block sites that meet the
category or statutory definitions. J.S. App. 22a, 68a-94a.

4. Blocking of Protected Speech

As the three-judge court concluded, the software
mandated by CIPA “erroneously block[s] a huge amount of
speech that is protected by the First Amendment.” J.S. App.
91a; 12a. The court estimated the number of Web pages
erroneously blocked to be “[a]t least tens of thousands . . .

8

even when considered against the filtering companies’ own
category definitions.” /d. at 93a. The number that are
blocked and do not meet the statute’s categories, is “of
course much higher.” /d. The court found that it is difficult
to calculate overblocking rates accurately, though a number
of witnesses tried. Jd. at 68a-79a. The court ultimately
found that even defendants’ expert identified rates of
overblocking of “between nearly 6% and 15%.” Jd. at 49a.
These rates “greatly understate the actual rates of
overblocking that occurs” for a variety of reasons. /d. at 79a,
75a-76a. Because of the vast amount of content on the Web
and large number of library patrons around the country who
access the Internet daily, defendants’ expert admitted that
even using his estimate, library patrons would be wrongly
denied access to Web sites millions of times. Finnell
testimony 4/1/02 at 178-179.

Multnomah plaintiffs’ expert, Mr. Edelman, devised
and implemented a process to identify Web pages blocked by
four leading commercial blocking programs that do not fit
within those programs’ self-defined blocking categones. Mr.
Edelman first created a database of Web page addresses,
including substantial portions of site listings from the
popular Yahoo and Google Web directories. Each address
from the database was tested against each blocking program
to determine which programs blocked which pages. Most of
these Web pages were tested multiple times over a period of
several months. Edelman submitted a CD-ROM that
contained screen shots of over 6,000 sites, most of which the
court found were examples of overblocking. J.S. App. 79a-
86a; J.A. 467-474 (Janes expert report), The CD-ROM,
which has been lodged with the Court, also contains an index
to the sites, listing the site name and information about it
from the site itself and from the Google and Yahoo index
system, the dates on which it was blocked, the product that
blocked it, and the product category assigned it. The court
found that “many times the number of pages that Edelman

9

identified are erroneously blocked by one or more of the
filtering programs that he tested.” J.S. App. 85a-86a.

Largely on the basis of its own analysis of the
Edelman CD-ROM, the three-judge court identified a
number of specific examples of sites or pages that had been
overblocked, whether measured by the statutory categones
or the broader product categories. Jd. at 86a-89a. Each of
the plaintiff Web sites was wrongly blocked. J.A. 299
(Edelman testimony); Supp. Lodging 22 (PX 122-23,
Edelman CDs). Two of those sites, by Wayne L. Parker and
Jeffery Pollock, were created by political candidates to
promote their candidacy. J.S. App. 24a. Another site,
afraidtoask.com, is operated by a doctor and provides
information about medical issues that many people find
embarrassing. For example, afraidtoask.com has a section
discussing normal variations in penis size. Many of those
accessing afraidtoask.com do so through mechanisms that
ensure their anonymity. J.A. 237 (Bertman testimony).
Another of the sites, planetout.com, is a gay rights site that
was one of the sites plaintiff Emmalyn Rood tried to access
as she was doing research about her sexual identity. J.A.
223-32 (Rood testimony). In addition, the undisputed
evidence at trial showed the following examples of wrongly
blocked sites: The Web page of the Republican National
Committee, JX 5 at 59, Walker deposition, Tr. 4/3/02 at 90; a
Calgary Firefighters Museum site, Supp. Lodging 22, 108-
109 (PX 123, 168); a site teaching piano playing, Supp.
Lodging 22, 99 (PX 123, 165); the cover of Cosmopolitan
magazine, Supp. Lodging 81 (PX 162G); a juggling site,
Supp. Lodging 72 (PX 162B); a site about Navy units, Supp.
Lodging 19-21 (PX 119); a teen health site on sexually
transmitted disease, PX 160A, Tr. 3/28/02 at 217; an
abstinence site, Supp. Lodging 22 (PX 123), PX 160E, Tr.
3/28/02 at 217; and a scholarly discussion of biblical
attitudes towards homosexuality, PX 160D, Tr. 3/28/02 at
217. The Edelman CD-ROM, provides numerous other

10

examples. Supp. Lodging 22 (PX 122-23); See also J.A.
187-199 (Nunberg testimony); Plaintiffs’ Joint Proposed
Findings of Fact, 221-263.

Library experts testified that at least several hundred
of the examples of overblocking were sites librarians would
affirmatively select for the library’s collection if traditional
selection methods applied to the Internet. J.S. App. 82a n.
17. For example, many libraries affirmatively refer patrons
to the site of the Lewis Knighten Cancer Center, but it was
blocked. Lipow testimony, 4/2/02 at 153; Supp. Lodging 31
(PX 129). Another site blocked was alphasearch, a major
search engine to which many libraries link. Lipow
testimony, 4/2/02 at 154; Supp. Lodging 37 (PX 130). All of
these sites are collected, and screen shots provided, in
Appendix A on the Edelman CD-ROM.

5. The Inevitability of Overblocking

The three-judge court also concluded that all
blocking programs inevitably overblock and underblock
because of limitations inherent in the technology, and made
lengthy findings in support of this conclusion. J.S. App.
48a-94a; 150a-15la. It ultimately found that there is no
“technology protection measure” that will do what CIPA
requires without also blocking access to a vast amount of
speech that is constitutionally protected for both adults and
minors. /d. at 7a, 12a, 13a, 48a-94a. As an initial matter, all
of the products necessarily overblock because the categories
of speech they use are broader than the categories defined by
the statute, and because their blocking decisions are based on
text as well as image. /d. at 5la, 60a; 74a; compare JS.
App. 49a-5la with 71a-18a; Jt. Trial Stip. para 312; see also
J.A. 181 (Nunberg testimony). A number of other factors
inevitably cause overblocking.

11

First, categorizing the Web is an impossible task in
part due to “the Internet’s size, rate of growth, rate of
change, and architecture.” J.S. App. 68a, 54a. The majority
of Web pages cannot be found by the methods used by the
software companies. /d. at 28a-29a, 56a. Those pages are
accessible through a variety of means by library patrons. /7.;
J.A. 156, 176 (Nunberg testimony). Even the portions of the
Web that software companies can find, the “indexable Web,”
consists of at least 2 billion pages. J.S. App. 30a.
Approximately 1.5 million pages are added each day. J.S.
App. 30a; See also J.A. 168 (Nunberg testimony). The
content of particular Web sites is also highly dynamic, with
pages constantly being removed or changed. J.S. App. 29a-
30a. “Individual Web pages have an average life span of
approximately 90 days.” /d.

Second, to review all of the dynamic content on the
Web, blocking software companies have hired “between
eight_and a a few dozen employees.” /d. at 60a. Software
companies must use a combination of automated search
techniques and human review to categorize the vast content
on the Web, both of which are subject to serious error. J.A.
162-168 (Nunberg testimony). At least one of the products
allows computers to make decisions about sites to block
without human review. J.S. App. 60a. These sites are listed
solely on the basis of text and without reference to any visual
image. Jt. Trial Stip. para 309. The products very rarely
review a site again once they have initially categorized it,
though content changes constantly. J.S. App. 53a, 64a-65a;
Jt. Trial Stip. para 323. It is obvious that a comprehensive
review and evaluation of Web sites by these companies is
impossible. J.S. App. 68a, 54a.

Third, the products are unable to differentially block
access to video files, audio files, chat rooms, or discussion
groups. Regardless of whether a movie, for example,
contains one or a dozen sexually explicit scenes, the products

12

must either block or fail to block the entire movie. J.A. 335
(Edelman testimony).

Fourth, the products overblock because they
primarily block at the level of the root domain rather than at
the level of an individual Web page. J.S. App. 6la. To take
one example trom the record, at least one product blocks all
of the pages in the online magazine Salon (www.salon.com),
no matter how innocuous, because there are some pages in
Salon that they believe meet their criteria. /d. at 62a. There
may be hundreds or thousands of pages under a single root
URL. Jt. Trial Stip. para 243.

Fifth, the Internet’s addressing system causes serious
overblocking or underblocking. Every Web page can be
located by its Web address (a URL such as
Www .uscourts.gov) or its IP address (a series of numbers).
J.S. App. 26a-28a, 62a. Millions of Web pages with vastly
different content may share a single IP address. /d. If the
software companies fail to block by IP address, users could
bypass the blocking program by accessing forbidden sites
using the IP address. If the product blocks by IP address,
users will be unable to access any of the multiple sites at a
given IP address, no matter how harmless the content. /d.
All of the companies block by IP address as well as URL.
J.A. 321 (Edelman testimony). One company said that it
received fifty complaints a week about overblocking caused
by IP blocking. J.A. 199 (Nunberg testimony).

Sixth, overblocking is caused by so-called “loophole”
sites. J.S. App. 62a-64a. Loophole sites allow a user to
access a site using a Web address other than its primary
address. There are three major kinds of loophole sites:
caches (e.g., Google provides its own cache copy of any
Web page it indexes), translation sites (which provide a Web
page roughly translated into another language), and
anonymizers (which allow access to a Web page while

13

masking the user’s identity). Jd. To take one of these
examples: Google searches for Web sites. When it finds a
site, such as afraidtoask.com, it automatically makes a copy
of that site (in a “cache”) and gives it a name such as
“http://216.239.57.100/...www.afraidtoask.com...” The
entire content of afraidtoask can be accessed from this
alternate address as well as afraidtoask’s orginal address.
The blocking products must either prevent access to all
loophole sites, which “necessarily results in a significant
amount of overblocking, because the vast majority of pages
that are cached, for example, do not contain content that
would match a filtering company’s category definitions” or
must allow access “thus resulting in _ substantial
underblocking.” /d. at 64a. The Google cache alone
represents hundreds of millions of sites. J.A. 205 (Nunberg
testimony). All of the products block loophole sites. J.A.
200, 205 (Nunberg testimony).

Finally, the evidence established that all of the
blocking programs also inevitably underblock due to the
same inherent technological problems that lead to
overblocking. In addition, the companies’ human reviewers
only review a very small percentage of the Web. The vast
majority of Internet content is deemed not to meet the
blocking company categories and is thereby excluded from
human review by computers using an imprecise and secret
method of text analysis. J.S. App. 53a-64a. For that small
percentage not excluded by a computer, “[h]uman reviewers
generally focus on English language Web sites, and are
generally not required to be multi-lingual.” /d. at 60a. Even
with the products engaged, a library patron will be able to
find material that meets either the categories of the statute or
the categories set by the products. J.A. 179 (Nunberg
testimony); see also PX 121 at 27-8, Edelman expert report,
Tr. 4/2/02 at 127; JX 8 at 12, 164, Dussome deposition, Tr.
4/2/02 at 90; JX 9 at 93, Gallagher deposition, Tr. 4/2/02 at
90; JX 10 at 14, Blakeman deposition, Tr. 4/2/02 at 90.

14

me me

6. The Inadequacy of CIPA’s Unblocking
Provisions

The three-judge court also made findings about the
feasibility of unblocking sites wrongly blocked by the
programs, and the effect of requiring patrons to seek
permission to access blocked sites. CIPA allows, but does
not require, libraries to unblock sites upon the request of an
adult patron (or a minor in some cases) with a “bona fide
research or other lawful purpose.” 20 U.S.C. §9134(f)(3); 47
U.S.C. §254 (h) (6)(D). All of the blocking software
products offer a method for doing some unblocking. J.S.
App. 52a.

The feasibility of unblocking according to the
requirements of the statute was not established. The
products do not permit multiple people to unblock. Thus,
only one person in a library system, no matter how large or
busy the system, can have authority to unblock. J.A. 336-37,
339 (Edelman testimony). The products also do not permit a
librarian to unblock text while continuing to block only a
specific visual image or vice versa. J.A. 223 (Nunberg
testimony). The government failed to prove that any product
was capable of unblocking for adults but not minors, for one
patron or one terminal only (as opposed to all patrons or all
terminals), or for only a specified time period based on a
particular patron’s purpose. J.A. 341-342 (Edelman
testimony).

Even assuming that unblocking according to the
statute were feasible, the court found that “many patrons are
reluctant or unwilling to ask librarians to unblock Web pages
or sites that contain only materials that might be deemed
personal or embarrassing, even if they are not sexually
explicit or pomographic.” J.S. App. 47a, 172a. For
example, plaintiff Emmalyn Rood testified “that she would
have been unwilling as a young teen to ask a librarian to

15

disable filtering software so that she could view materials
concerning gay and lesbian issues.” J.S. App. 47a.
Similarly, plaintiff Mark Brown testified that he would have
been unwilling to ask a librarian to unblock a site when
doing research on his mother’s breast cancer. J.S. App.
172a-73a. Plaintiff Dr. Bertman testified that many users
came to his site, afraidtoask.com, through one of the
“loophole” methods, an anonymizer, to preserve their
anonymity. J.A. 237 (Bertman testimony). Thus, even
though he is a physician, and even though his site assures
readers that it will protect their privacy, his readers did not
even want him to know the address of the computer from
which they accessed his information.

The court also found that “[t]he pattern of patron
requests to unblock specific URLs in the various libranes
involved in this case” confirmed that “patrons are largely
unwilling to make unblocking requests unless they are
permitted to do so anonymously.” J.S. App. 47a. For
example, defendants’ expert testified that the Greenville
Public Library in South Carolina wrongly blocked close to a
hundred sites in a two-week period (a serious underestimate
of actual overblocking, as the court found), but the library
has received only twenty-eight unblocking requests in almost
two years. Id.

Even when sites were unblocked, the process took
“between 24 hours and a week.” /d. at 46a. Because most
libraries have more demand for Internet access than Internet
access terminals, they often ismit the time each patron may
use the computer. J.A. 73-74 (Morgan testimony).
Librarians testified that few patrons would interrupt their
limited access time to request an override. /d.; J.S. App.
174a.

16

eee

7. The Inability of Any Library To
Comply with the Statute

The government did not provide evidence of a single
library that was in compliance with the statute. The
government offered testimony from some libraries that
currently use blocking software. All but one refused to block
staff computers, although staff blocking is required by the
statute. Ewick testimony 4/3/02 at 31; J.A. 259 (Sudduth
testimony). These libraries made both blocking and
unblocking decisions based on the categories defined by the
software companies, not the more limited categories defined
by the statute. JX 1 at 42-43; Dooley Deposition, Tr. 4/3/02
at 90; JX 2 at 35-36, Majilton Deposition, Tr. 4/3/02 at 90;
JX 3 at 77, Stewart Deposition Tr. 4/3/02 at 90; JX 4 at 25-
26, Saferite Deposition Tr. 4/3/02 at 90; JX 5 at 32-34,
Walker Deposition, Tr. 4/3/02 at 90; Biek testimony 3/28/02
at 111-12; James testimony 3/29/02 at 15; Belk testimony
3/29/02 at 58. The Westerville, Ohio and Greenville, South
Carolina libraries blocked categories as broad as “tasteless.”
Barlow testimony 4/1/02 at 26; James testimony 3/29/02 at
16. Though the statute requires blocking only of images, all
but one library blocked text as well as images, and made
unblocking decisions based on text as well as images. E.g.
Barlow testimony 4/1/02 at 52-54; James testimony 3/29/02
at 15. Tacoma, which blocked only images, blocked any
image, no matter how innocuous, on a page that met the
blocking software company’s category. Biek testimony
3/28/02 at 48. “None of these libraries [proffered by the
government] makes differential unblocking decisions based
on the patrons’ age. Unblocking decisions are usually made
identically for adults and minors. Unblocking decisions even
for adults are usually based on suitability of the Web site for
minors.” J.S. App. 47a; JX 4 at 14, 45, 70, Saferite

17

deposition, Tr. 4/3/02 at 90; JX 5 at 34, Walker deposition,
Tr. 4/3/02 at 90; Biek testimony 3/28/02 at 113; James
testimony 3/29/02 at 15; Belk testimony 3/29/02 at 71;
Barlow testimony 4/1/02 at 42, 44. The libraries all blocked
or unblocked a site for all their patrons for all time; none
unblocked for only one patron or for a limited time period.
JX 1 at 48-49, Dooley deposition Tr. 4/3/02 at 90; Barlow
testimony 4/1/02 at 33; Ewick testimony 4/3/02 at 33, 57.
See also J.A. 341-42 (Edelman testimony). Though the
statute permits unblocking only for “bona fide research
purposes,” no library used this standard in determining
whether to unblock a site. E.g. Belk Testimony 3/29/02 at
71-73.

Government witnesses who currently use blocking
software in their libraries all admitted that the programs both
overblocked and underblocked. E.g. J.S. App. 77a-78a.
Indeed, even in Tacoma where a librarian claims to review a
list of every single site blocked to see if he can find errors,
there is still overblocking. Id. at 46a, 78a, 173a.
Defendants’ experts agreed that all of the libraries they
studied demonstrated both overblocking and underblocking.
Id. at 71a-79a. No library was able to unblock sites without
a delay, often of up to a week. Jd. at 174a.

The use of blocking software reached stark levels of
irrationality and arbitrariness. For example, in Tacoma, the
library on which the government most heavily relied, the
witness testified that the software blocked patrons from
viewing the pictures in the online version of Playboy
magazine. If asked to unblock these pictures, even by a
middle-aged, female sex researcher, he said he would refuse
to do so. At the same time, the library allowed all patrons,
regardless of age, to view the same pictures in Playboy
magazine on microfilm machines that were functionally
indistinguishable from the library’s computers. J.A. 250-252
(Biek testimony).

18

ee

8. Less Restrictive Alternatives

Prior to the hammerlock imposed by CIPA, more
than 90% of public libraries had exercised their local
discretion not to require the use of blocking programs, in part
because of their deficiencies. J.S. App. 3a, 45a; Jt. Trial
Stip. para 271; see also J.A. 54 (Morgan testimony); 104
(Cooper testimony). Instead, as the three-judge court found,
libranes have developed a variety of methods for assisting
patrons in finding the content they want and avoiding
unwanted content. J.S. App. 37a-48a.

Some libraries offer patrons the option of voluntarily
using blocking software. Jd. at 45a; J.A. 53 (Morgan
testimony). Some of those libraries allow parents to decide
whether their child will use blocking software or not. J.A.
53 (Morgan testimony); J.S. App. 162a-163a. When library
patrons are given the chance to use blocking software, 80%
refuse to use the software. J.A. 56 (Morgan testimony).

Many libraries also offer “training to patrons on how
to use the Internet, including how to access the information
they want and to avoid the materials they do not want.” J.S.
App. 4la. Among other things, libraries offer links to sites
that have been screened by librarians and found to be
especially valuable for library patrons. /d. at 4la-42a. These
links do “not preclude patrons from attempting to access
other Internet Web sites.” /d. at 42a.

In addition, libraries have devised a variety of
techniques for minimizing the risk that a patron will view
material he or she finds objectionable on a computer being
used by another patron. /d. at 42a-44a. Some libraries place
their monitors so that it is difficult for non-users to see the
screen. Others offer “privacy screens” or provide recessed
monitors so that passers-by cannot see another user’s screen.
Id. Other libraries put the monitors in the middle of high

19

traffic areas to inhibit users from accessing objectionable
material. J.S. App. 44a. Libraries also offer software that
automatically erases a screen if there is no activity by a
patron for a specified time in order to assure that the next
user not be subjected to material that user finds
objectionable. J.A. 58 (Morgan testimony).

Though the government seeks to justify use of
blocking software by describing behavioral problems in the
library, the three-judge court found that behavioral problems
existed in libraries before there was an Internet and persist
even in libraries that use blocking software. Libraries
continue to deal with behavior problems by enforcing
general behavioral rules. J.S. App. 41a, 146a-47a; J.A. 462-
66 (PX 106, Multnomah County Library Policy).

Most libraries also have Internet use policies that
prohibit users from accessing illegal material. J.S. 37a. In
the event that librarians observe material on a user’s Internet
screen that is clearly illegal, they can and do call the police.
J.A. 61 (Morgan testimony); 453-61 (PX 105, Multnomah
County Library policy); see also Hamon testimony, 3/25/02
at 217-221.

Methods other than blocking software have proven
very effective in minimizing any problems caused by some
patrons objecting to material in the library. Libraries that did
not use mandatory blocking software testified that they had
very few complaints related to the content of Internet sites.
J.A. 61-69 (Morgan testimony); 109-111 (Cooper
testimony). The three-judge court found that the government
had not provided any evidence of the relative feasibility,
cost, and effectiveness of these various alternatives to
blocking software. J.S. App. 45a, 146a.

20

St ee

B. The Three-Judge Court’s Legal Analysis

The three-judge court held that CIPA was
unconstitutional because it induces libraries “to engage in
activities that would themselves be unconstitutional.” Jd. at
97a. The court analogized to the public forum doctrine,
finding that “[a]lthough a public library’s provision of
Internet access does not resemble the conventional notion of
a forum as a well-defined physical space, the same First
Amendment standards apply.” Id. at 108a (citing
Rosenberger v. Rector and Visitors of the University of
Virginia, 515 U.S. 819 (1995)). More specifically, the court
found that strict scrutiny applies because CIPA — and the
blocking programs it imposes - single out disfavored speech
for exclusion based on content in a forum otherwise
designated for unrestricted expressive activity on a wide
range of topics. /d. at 118a.

Although the court found that the state would have a
compelling interest in preventing access to illegal speech, the
government had to prove that CIPA’s blocking mandate “is
narrowly. tailored to further those interests, and that no less
restrictive means of promoting those interests exists.” /d at
148a. “Given the substantial amount of constitutionally
protected speech blocked by filters studied,” the court
concluded that CIPA was “not narrowly tailored.” J.S. App.
149a. The court also held that “there are plausible, less
restrictive alternatives to the use of software filters that
would serve the government's interest.” /d. at 158a. Finally,
the court concluded that the disabling provisions of CIPA did
not cure its unconstitutionality. “[{T]he content-based burden
that the library’s use of software filters places on patrons’
access to speech suffers from the same constitutional
deficiencies as a complete ban on patrons’ access to speech
that was erroneously blocked by filters, since patrons will

21

often be deterred from asking the library to unblock a site
and patron requests cannot be immediately reviewed.” /d. at
176a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

As the three-judge court recognized, “[t}he legal
context in which this extensive factual record is se: is
complex,” and “[{t}here are a number of potential entry points
into the analysis.” Jd. at 9a. Ultimately, under all of the core
constitutional principles, CIPA “lacks the precision that the
First Amendment requires when a statute regulates the
content of speech.” Reno v. American Civil Liberites Union,
521 U.S. 844, 874 (1997).

1. CIPA regulates protected speech on the basis of its
content. Under this Court’s longstanding precedents it would
clearly be unconstitutional if imposed as a direct mandate on
public libraries. See Reno, 521 U.S. at 879; United States v.
Playboy Entertainment Group, Inc., 529 U.S. 803, 813
(2000); Sable Communications of California, Inc. v. FCC,
492 U.S. 115, 126 (1989); Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380
(1957). CIPA’s censorship system is no less constitutional
simply because Congress chose to impose it indirectly on
libraries. As the government concedes, Congress may not
use its spending authority “to induce the States to engage in
activities that would themselves be unconstitutional.” South
Dakota v. Dole, 483 U.S. 203, 210 (1987). CIPA fails this
test because it induces libraries to use blocking software that
inevitably blocks access to a huge amount of protected

speech.

Internet access at public libraries uniquely promotes
First Amendment values. Because CIPA seeks to selectively
and arbitrarily exclude protected speech from a vast
democratic forum otherwise dedicated to unrestricted online
communication, it is properly subject to strict scrutiny.

22

Applying strict scrutiny, CIPA must be struck down because
the government failed to prove it is narrowly tailored to
serve a compelling government interest. See Reno, 521 US.
at 879. Playboy, 529 U.S. at 813; Sable, 492 U.S. at 126.

2. CIPA’s blocking mandate also imposes an
unlawful prior restraint by effectively silencing speech prior
to its dissemination in public libraries, without judicial
review or even the semblance of First Amendment due
process.

3. As a condition on the receipt of a federal
benefit, CIPA is equally unconstitutional. It requires
libranes to block speech even where Internet terminals are
wholly funded by non-federal dollars, and distorts the usual
function of public libraries in providing uncensored access to
information on the Internet.

In summary, under any legal theory, government-
mandated blocking programs are blunt instruments in an area
that requires far more sensitive tools. See Bantam Books,
Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 US. 58, 66 (1963). “The First
Amendment requires the precision of a scalpel, not a
sledgehammer.” J.S. App. 156a. As this Court has
explained, and as the case so clearly demonstrates, “the line
between speech unconditionally guaranteed and speech
which may legitimately be regulated,” suppressed, or
punished “is finely drawn.” Blount v. Rizzi, 400 U.S. 410,
417 (1971) (quoting Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 525
(1958)). Error in marking that line “exacts an extraordinary
cost.” Playboy, 529 US. at 817-18.

23

ARGUMENT

I. The Three-Judge Court’s Injunction Should Be
Affirmed Because CIPA Induces Public Libraries
To Violate The First Amendment.

A. CIPA’s Content-Based Restrictions On
Speech Are Subject to Strict Scrutiny.

1. Like Traditional Public Forums,
Internet Access at Public Libraries
Promotes Core First Amendment
Values.

If there was ever a context in which government
should not be allowed to impose content controls through its
spending power, it is Internet access at public libraries. As
the three-judge court correctly found, public libraries and the
Internet have many qualities analogous to traditional public
forums, which are entitled to the utmost protection of the
First Amendment. Sidewalks and public parks are protected
by strict scrutiny because their “speech-facilitating character
. . . makes them distinctly deserving of First Amendment
protection.” J.S. App. 129a. Like these traditional forums,
Internet access at public libraries “uniquely promote[s] First
Amendment values.” /d. The very purpose of public
libraries is to provide free access to books, ideas, resources,
and information for education, employment, enjoyment and
self-government. J.A. 35-36 (Morgan testimony), 79-80
(Cooper testimony); 423-442 (Chelton Rebuttal Report).
The public library is “the quintessential locus for the receipt
of information.” Kreimer v. Bureau of Police, 958 F.2d
1242, 1255 (3d Cir. 1992); see also Minarcini v. Strongsville
City School Dist., 541 F.2d 577, 582 (6™ Cir. 1976) (“A
library is a mighty resource in the free marketplace of

24

ideas.”’) (citing Abrams v. United States, 250 U.S. 616 (1928)
(Holmes, J., dissenting); Sund v. City of Wichita Falls, 121
F. Supp. 2d 530, 547 (N.D. Tex. 2000) (“The right to receive
information is vigorously enforced in the context of a public
library.”). Like other traditional forums, public libraries are
“generally open to any member of the public” who enters
them. J.S.App. 129a-130a. By providing free access to
information, public libraries have always played an
equalizing role that allows all individuals, regardless of their
income level, to participate fully in our democracy by
becoming informed, literate, educated, and culturally
enriched. Especially in public libraries, “the State may not,
consistently with the spirit of the First Amendment, ‘contract
the spectrum of available knowledge.’”” Board of Educ. v.

~Pico, 457 U.S. 853, 866 (1982) (quoting Griswold yv.

Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 482 (1965)).

The Internet has now provided unprecedented
opportunities to expand the scope of information from
around the globe that is available to users in public libraries, ~
at substantially less cost than comparable amounts of printed
material. Though the Internet “provides relatively unlimited,
low-cost capacity for communication of all kinds,’ Reno,
521 U.S. at 870, large segments of our society still lack
access to the Internet at home or work. J.S. App. 36a-37a.
“By providing Internet access to millions of Americans to
whom such access would otherwise be unavailable, public
libraries play a critical role in bridging the digital divide
separating those with access to new information technologies
from those that lack access.” Jd. at 130a and n.26.

In addition to opening their doors to all members of
the public seeking information, public libraries are like
traditional public forums because they provide broad access
to a wide range of speakers when they offer Internet access.
“By providing patrons with Internet access, public libranes
in effect open their doors to an unlimited number of potential

25

speakers around the world, inviting the speech of any
member of the public who wishes to communicate with
library patrons via the Internet.” J.S. App. 134a. As this
Court found, content on the Internet is “as diverse as human
thought.” Reno, 521 U.S. at 870.

In fact, the volume and diversity of speech on the
Internet “far exceeds the volume of speech available to
audiences in traditional public fora.” J.S. App. 134a. As this
Court explained in striking down prior attempts to censor
this important medium,

Through the use of chat rooms, any person
with a phone line can become a town crier
with a voice that resonates farther than it
could from any soapbox. Through the use of
Web pages, mail exploders, and newsgroups,
the same individual can become a
pamphleteer.

Reno, 521 U.S. at 870. See also LESSIG, CODE 167, 185
(1999) (“The architecture of the Internet, as it is ight now, is
perhaps the most important model of free speech since the
founding. . . . The model for speech that the framers
embraced was the model of the Internet — distribute, non-
centralized, fully free and diverse.’’).

Because of the Internet’s speech-enhancing qualities,
“the growth of the Internet has been and continues to be
phenomenal,” /d. at 885. “Technology expands the capacity
to cnoose; and it denies the potential of this revolution if we
assume the Government is best positioned to make these
choices for us.” Playboy, 529 U.S. at 818. Internet access at
public libraries “presents unique possibilities for promoting
First Amendment values,” J.S. App. 136a, and the three-
judge court thus correctly held that CIPA’s content-based
restrictions are subject to strict scrutiny. J.S. App. 138a.

26

2. Strict Scrutiny Applies Because the
Government Seeks to _ Selectively
Exclude Protected Speech From a Vast
Democratic Forum.

Library Internet access is also subject to strict
scrutiny when viewed as a designated public forum, because
the government seeks to selectively and arbitrarily exclude
protected speech from a forum otherwise dedicated to
unrestricted online communication. A designated public
forum is “property that the State has opened for expressive
activity by part or all of the public.” Jnternational Soc'y for
Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v. Lee, 505 U.S. 672, 678
(1992); Arkansas Education Telev. Comm'n v. Forbes, 523
U.S. 666, 678 (1998). Regulation that excludes disfavored
content from a designated forum is “subject to the same
limitations as that governing a traditional public forum.”
Lee, 505 U.S. at 678; see also Mainstream Loudoun v. Bd. of
Trustees of the Loudoun County Library, 24 F. Supp. 2d 552,
563 (E.D. Va. 1998); cf Kreimer, 958 F.2d at 1259. The
three-judge court correctly noted that “the relevant forum for
analysis is not the library’s entire collection, which includes
both print and ‘electronic media, . . . but rather the specific
forum created when the library provides its patrons with
Internet access.” J.S. App. 108a; see Cornelius v. NAACP
Legal Def. & Educ. Fund, Inc., 473 U.S. 788, 801 (1985);
Perry Educ. Ass'n v. Perry Local Educators’ Ass'‘n., 460
U.S. 37 (1983); Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981).

Internet access at public libraries easily qualifies as a
designated public forum. As the lower court explained,
“where the state designates a forum for expressive activity
and opens the forum for speech by the public at large on a
wide range of topics, strict scrutiny applies to restrictions
that single out for exclusion from the forum particular speech
whose content is disfavored.” J.S. App. 118a. Conversely,
“the more narrow the range of speech that the government

27

chooses to subsidize (whether directly, through government
grants or other funding, or indirectly, through the creation of
a public forum) the more deference the First Amendment
accords the government in drawing’ content-based
distinctions.” Jd. at 112a. Thus, in Southeastern
Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 420 U.S. 546, 559 (1975), this
Court applied heightened scrutiny to invalidate a town’s
exclusion of the rock musical “Hair” from a theater
otherwise open for the public at large to use for
performances. In Rosenberger, 515 U.S. at 833, this Court
applied strict scrutiny in stniking down funding restrictions
on student newspapers because the funding program was
designed to “encourage a diversity of views from private
speakers.” And in FCC v. League of Women Voters, 468
U.S. 364 (1984), this Court invalidated prohibitions against
editorializing by public radio networks under strict scrutiny
because the federal program broadly funded diverse speech
on a wide range of subjects. See also Legal Servs. Corp. v.
Velazquez, 531 U.S. 533, 543 (2001); City of Madison Joint
School Dist. No. 8 v. Wisconsin Employment Relations
Comm'n, 429 U.S. 167 (1976) (holding that school board
may not exciude certain speakers from meetings open to
direct citizen involvement).

Applying these principles to this case, there may be
no better example of a diverse range of speakers, viewpoints,
and readers than Internet access at public libraries. “The
unique speech-enhancing character of Internet use in public
libraries derives from the openness of the public library to
any member of the public seeking to receive information,
and the openness of the Internet to any member of the public
who wishes to speak.” J.S. App. 135a-136a. “[B]y
providing patrons with even filtered access, the library
permits patrons to receive speech on a virtually unlimited
number of topics, from a virtually unlimited number of
speakers, without attempting to restrict patrons’ access to
speech that the library, in the exercise of its professional

28

-- n

judgment, determines to be particularly valuable.” Jd. at
121a.

When public libraries provide Internet access, they
“create[] a forum for the facilitation of speech, almost none
of which either the library’s collection development staff or
even the filtering companies have ever reviewed.” Jd. at
125a. By forcing libranes to use blocking programs, CIPA
“risk[{s] fundamentally distorting the unique marketplace of
ideas that public libraries create when they open their
collections, via the Internet, to the speech of millions of
individuals around the world on a virtually limitless number
of subjects.” /d. at 126a.

Because CIPA is properly subject to strict scrutiny, it
is presumptively invalid, and must be struck down unless the
government can prove it is narrowly tailored to serve a
compelling government interest. See Reno, 521 U.S. at 879;
Playboy, 529 U.S. at 813; Sable, 492 U.S. at 126. Over
ninety pages of factual findings, none disputed by the
government, establish that the government failed to meet
their burden in this case.

B. CIPA’s Content-Based Restrictions Fail Strict
Scrutiny.

1. The Mandated Use of Blocking
Programs Is Not Narrowly Tailored To
Prevent Access to Illegal Speech.

As the three-judge court’s detailed findings clearly
establish, CIPA suppresses a vast amount of Internet content,
that is fully protected by the First Amendment, and is thus
not narrowly tailored to serve the government’s interest in
prohibiting access to illegal images. Blocking programs
“block many thousands of Web pages that are clearly not
harmful to minors, and many thousands more pages that,

29

while possibly harmful to minors, are neither obscene nor
child pornography.” J.S. App. 148a-149a. Even the
defendants’ own expert concluded that “between 6% and
15%” of blocked Web pages contain no content that meets
“even the filtering products’ own definitions of sexually
explicit content, let alone the legal definitions of obscenity or
child pornography.” Jd at 149a. This evidence “significantly
underestimate[s] the amount of speech that filters
erroneously block, and at best provide[s] a rough lower
bound on_ the filters’ rates of overblocking.” Id.
Defendant’s expert conceded that even using his estimate,
library patrons would be wrongly denied access to Web sites
millions of times. Finnell testimony 4/1/02 at 175-179.

Indeed, given the fundamental flaws of blocking
programs, the three judge court found that the mandatory use
of such programs by public libraries is inherently too blunt a
tool to satisfy the constitutional requirements of narrow
tailoring. J.S. App. 152a. “[A]ny technology protection
measure that blocks a sufficient amount of speech to comply
with CIPA ... will necessarily block substantial amounts of
speech that does not fall within these categories.” Jd. at
15la. Because automated methods of reviewing content are
severely flawed,

[fliltering companies are left with the
Sisyphean task of using human review to

? The government’s argument that plaintiffs’ expert testimony established
only a 1% overblocking rate is a shocking mischaracterization of the
evidence and the court’s findings. Govt. Br. at 34-35. Edelman
specifically testified that his research did not attempt to establish an
overblocking percentage, due to the inherent difficulties of doing so. J.A.
296-306, 350-356 (Edelman testimony). The court itself issued detailed
factual findings about those difficulties, JS. App. 85a (accepting
government argument that Edelman’s results cannot be generalized
beyond his 6,775 sites), and found that all of the evidence significantly
underestimated the actual amount of overblocking. /d. at 85a-86a.

30

identify from among the approximately two
billion Web pages that exist, the 1.5 million
new pages that are created daily, and the
many thousands of pages whose content
changes from day to day, those particular
Web pages to be blocked.

Id. at 150a. To cope with the Web’s size, blocking programs
use a variety of techniques, which necessarily cause them to
block protected content. See also Section AS, supra.

They routinely block every page of a Web site that
contains only some content falling with the companies’ own
definitions; they block text as well as images; they block
entire Web sites containing fully protected speech simply
because those sites share IP addresses with sites that fall
within their category definitions; they block access to entire
video files, audio files, chat rooms, and discussion groups
regardless of how little content meets their category
definitions; and they generally fail to review pages again
once categorized to determine whether the content has
changed. J.S. App. 150a.

“(T]he filters required by CIPA block substantial
numbers of Web sites that even the most puritanical public
library patron would not find offensive.” J.S. App. 155a.
For example, the products blocked the Lakewood High
School alumni page and a political party in Uganda. J.A.
318; 326 PX 166, 169 (screen shot). They also blocked a
soccer site in the United Kingdom and The Journal of
Contemporary Obituaries. PX 162 I, 162 K (screen shots,
lodged) Finnell testimony 4/1/02 at 161-169.

The government failed to produce evidence of any
blocking program “that avoids overblocking a substantial
amount of protected speech.” Jd. at 15la. Yet it contends
that blocking millions of Web pages, most with content

31

nowhere close to the line of illegal speech, is a “negligible”
side effect of its mission to prevent access to illegal speech.
As this Court said just last term, “(t]he argument. . . that
protected speech may be banned as a means to ban
unprotected speech . . . turns the First Amendment upside
down. The Government may not suppress lawful speech as
the means to suppress unlawful speech.” Ashcroft v. Free
Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. 234, 122 S. Ct. 1389, 1401
(2002).

Just as all programs necessarily overblock, they all
necessarily fail to block access to sites that clearly fall within
their own category definitions for sexually explicit material,
and that may be illegal. J.S. App. 65a-66a. Because of the
nature of all classification systems, “[t]here is an inherent
tradeoff between any filter’s rate of overblocking . . . and its
rate of underblocking.” /d. at 66a. The government’s library
witnesses who used blocking programs all experienced
underblocking problems in their libraries. /d. at 77a. Even
with blocking programs installed, then, any determined
patron will easily be able to access sexually explicit material
on library computers. J.A. 179 (Nunberg testimony). CIPA
fails to achieve the government’s goal to prevent access to
illegal material “in a direct and material way.” Turner
Broad. Sys., Inc. v. FCC, 512 U.S. 622, 624 (1994). As
Justice Scalia wrote in The Florida Star v. B.J.F., “a law
cannot be regarded as . . . justifying a restriction upon
truthful speech, when it leaves appreciable damage to
[defendant’s] supposedly vital interest unprohibited.” 491
U.S. 524, 541-42 (1989) (Scalia, J., concurring). CIPA
clearly fails the strict scrutiny required when fundamental
First Amendment rights are at stake. Reno, 521 U.S. at 874.

32

2. Libraries Have Other Less Restrictive
Means to Help Patrons Find What
They Want and Avoid Unwanted and
Illegal Content.

Even assuming that the breadth of CIPA’s impact on
protected speech could ever be justified, see Butler v.
Michigan, 352 U.S. 380 (1957), the government clearly
failed to meet its “heavy burden ... to explain why a less
restrictive provision would not be as effective as [CIPA].”
Id. at 879. As the three-judge court found, a number of
alternative methods further the government’s stated interests
in a manner far less burdensome on protected speech than
the mandatory use of blocking programs for all adults and all
minors, including library staff. J.S. App. 157a-167a; see
generally Section A8, supra. The vast majority of America’s
libraries use these methods, and not mandatory blocking for
adults, to help patrons find information they want and avoid
unwanted and illegal content. Plaintiffs’ libraries testified
that they receive few complaints when using these methods.
Id. While these alternatives may not be perfect, the
government failed to prove that they are less effective than
blocking programs. As the lower court found, the
government offered no data “comparing the use of library
computers to access child pornography and . . . obscenity in
libraries that use blocking software and in libraries that use
alternative methods.” Jd. at 16la. Especially because
blocking programs are themselves far from effective, “i]t is
no response that [a less restrictive alternative] . . . may not go
perfectly every time.” Playboy, 529 U.S. at 824.

In particular, almost all libraries have Internet use
policies that forbid access to illegal content.

33

Libranes can ensure that their patrons are
aware of such policies by posting them in
prominent places in the library, requiring
patrons to sign forms agreeing to comply with
the policy before the library issues library
cards to patrons, and by presenting patrons,
when they log on to one of the library’s
Internet terminals, with a screen that requires
the user to agree to comply with the library’s
policy before allowing the user access to the
Internet.

J.S. App. 158a. Almost all libraries also offer training in
Internet usage, and provide lists of Web sites selected by
librarians as appropriate for children or of particular
relevance to their local communities. Section A8, supra.
Some libraries place unblocked computers in well-trafficked
areas to discourage violations of Internet use policies. Other
libraries have installed privacy screens or recessed monitors,
or have segregated computer terminals, to prevent unwanted
exposure to material viewed by others. J.S. App. 165a-166a.

Similar alternatives exist to prevent minors from
accessing material harmful to minors. Some libraries also
offer the optional use of blocking software. Others have
policies that allow parents to decide whether their children
will use blocking programs, or policies that require only
younger children to use them. /d. at 162a-163a. CIPA
replaces parental decision-making about appropriate Internet
use with the federal government’s blanket judgment. “A
court should not assume that a plausible, less restrictive
alternative would be ineffective; and a court should not
presume parents, given full information, will fail to act.”
Playboy, 529 U.S. at 824. In sum, the government “failed to
show that the less restrictive alternatives . . . are ineffective
at furthering the government’s interest.” J.S. App. 167a.

34

¢. The Disabling Provisions Fail to Cure
CIPA’s Defects.

The three-judge court held that CIPA’s disabling
provisions do not cure its constitutional defects. J.S. App.
167a-177a. For a host of reasons, that conclusion was
correct. As an initial matter, libraries that receive e-rate
funding may only override the software for adults with
“bona fide research or other lawful purpose[s].” 47 U.S.C. §
254(h)(6)(D). For teenagers in thousands of libraries across
the country, the provision is no help at all in alleviating
CIPA’s tremendous overblocking of protected speech.
Furthermore, any inquiry into a patron’s purpose is contrary
to good librarianship. J.A. 122 (Cooper testimony).

The provisions are also unworkable for practical
reasons. It is not possible to unblock visual images without
also unblocking text and vice versa. Section A6, supra. The
government also failed to prove that any software permits
unblocking for a single patron based on his purpose, while
continue to block access by those with less “bona fide”
purposes. /d. In addition, processing unblocking requests
could take up to a week. J.S. App. 46a.

To make matters worse, the unblocking provisions
are impossibly vague. J.S. App. 167a-170a. The statute
refers to the patron’s “purpose” and not the nature of the site.
Thus, it appears to require librarians to inquire into the “bona
fide” nature or “lawfulness” of the patron’s purpose in
seeking to access a site regardless of whether the site is
illegal. The government asks the Court to ignore the word
“purpose” and to treat the provision as permitting unblocking
of any lawful site. But this interpretation would render the

“bona fide research” language superfluous.

Even assuming the government’s interpretation
would provide any useful guidance to librarians, it would

35

place librarians in the business of making essentially
unreviewable decisions concerning the legal categories of
obscenity. This Court has repeatedly required that those
decisions be made by courts, not by administrative officials,
even in the context of non-criminal proceedings. Blount v.
Rizzi, 400 U.S. 410 (1971); Bantam Books v. Sullivan, 372
U.S. 58 (1963). Librarians have repeatedly disavowed any
expertise in making these legal judgments and expressed
certainty that the provision would result in arbitrary and
inconsistent judgments by different individual librarians with
different values and concerns. J.A. 124 (Cooper testimony).

Finally, even putting aside the provision’s
infeasibility, vagueness, and delegation of judgments to
administrative officials, the disabling provision still
unconstitutionally deters patrons from accessing protected
speech. As the lower court held, the “requirement that
library patrons ask a state actor’s permission to access
disfavored content violates the First Amendment.” J.S. App.
170a. This Court has struck down numerous content-based
restrictions that require recipients to identify themselves
before being granted the nght to access or communicate
disfavored speech. See, e.g., Lamont v. Postmaster General,
381 U.S. 301 (1965) (invalidating federal statute requiring
postmaster to halt delivery of communist propaganda absent
affirmative request); Denver Area Educ. Telecom.
Consortium, Inc. v. FCC, 518 U.S. 727 (1996) (striking
down federal law requiring cable users to request sexually
explicit programming in writing); Playboy, 529 U.S. at 803
(invalidating law requiring cable users to request access to
scrambled sexually explicit programming). As this Court
explained just last term, “It is offensive -- not only to the
values protected by the First Amendment, but to the very
notion of a free society -- that in the context of everyday
public discourse a citizen must first inform the government
of her desire to speak to her neighbors and then obtain a
permit to do so.” Watchtower Bible & Tract Society of New

36

York, Inc. v. Village of Stratton, 536 U.S. 150, 122 S.Ct.
2080, 2089 (2002) (striking down local ordinance that
prohibited door-to-door canvassers from “promoting any
cause” without first obtaining a permit). It is equally
offensive that a citizen must obtain government approval
before accessing protected but disfavored speech on the
Internet in her public library.

The deterrent effect of the disabling provisions is “a
matter of common sense as well as amply borne out by the
trial record.” J.S. App. 172a. For example, plaintiff
Emmalyn Rood testified that as a gay teen she would have
been unwilling to ask a librarian to disable blocking
programs so that she could research issues related to her
sexual identity. J.S. App. 47a. Plaintiff Mark Brown would
have been equally embarrassed to ask a librarian to unblock
sites when he was researching his mother’s breast cancer.
Id. at 172a-73a. Many patrons would also not want to
relinquish precious time during their Internet sessions to
request unblocking that may take up to week. J.A. 127
(Cooper testimony); J.S. App. 46a. Significantly, the three-
judge court found that the reluctance of patrons to request
unblocking is also established “by the low number of patron
unblocking requests, relative to the number of erroneously
blocked Web sites, in those public libraries that use software
filters and permit patrons to request access to incorrectly
blocked Web sites.” /d. at 173a.

Ignoring specific findings of the three-judge court,
the government argues that requiring patrons to ask
permission to view blocked sites is no different than other
questions patrons ask of librarians daily. The analogy misses
the mark. Librarians know from experience that patrons are
unwilling to discuss their private concerns, and for that
reason offer services to allow patrons to ask questions of
librarians, or check out books, even through interlibrary loan,
anonymously. J.A. 83 (Cooper testimony). Library patrons

37

can generally access print material without identifying

themselves, by simply taking a book off a shelf and reading -

it at a library desk.

Even more fundamentally, asking a librarian to
unblock a site that may be illegal is vastly different than
asking for help to find a book. When a book is in the
library’s catalogue, the library has sent the unmistakable
signal to the patron that it will assist the patron in getting that
book. When a patron attempts to access an Internet site and
is presented with a message, “THIS SITE IS BLOCKED BY
THE LIBRARY DUE TO FEDERAL LAW REQUIRING
BLOCKING OF OBSCENITY AND OTHER ILLEGAL
SPEECH,” the patron is sent an equally unmistakable signal
that the library disapproves of the site. The patron may not
know that the decision to block the site was not made by a
librarian, but by an employee of a software company in
California. The patron may also not know that the software
is astonishingly inaccurate. For example, if the software
blocks the Republican National Committee Web site, the
patron may wrougly conclude that the site is mis-named and
is really a site with sexually explicit material. The deterrent
effect of the disabling provisions thus far exceeds even the
common reluctance of patrons to seek assistance.

Given the content-based burden the disabling
provision imposes on protected speech, and its strong
deterrent effect, the provision “fail[s] to cure CIPA’s lack of
narrow tailoring.” Jd. at 177a; see also Playboy, 529 U.S. at
812 (“It is of no moment that the statute does not impose a
complete prohibition. The distinction between laws
burdening and laws banning speech is but a matter of
degree”’).

38

D. The Government’s Arguments Ignore the
Record and Misconstrue the Relevant Law.

Rather than grapple with the findings and
overwhelming evidence against them, the government argues
that the First Amendment is practically irrelevant to this case
because CIPA’s federal filtering requirement is consistent
with a library’s traditional collection decisions and thus
subject only to rational basis review. This analysis ignores
the three-judge court’s specific findings to the contrary, and
is flawed in numerous ways. First, CIPA imposes the federal
government’s censorship standard on libranes nationwide,
and is thus a far cry from a library’s exercise of its own
editorial judgment. Indeed, 93% of libraries had already
decided, after much review, not to mandate filters for all
users. CIPA directly overrides those local decisions.
Mandated filtering under CIPA, by definition, eliminates
rather than preserves library discretion.”

Second, the lower court found that there are
“fundamental differences” between the book selection
process and the provision of Internet access. J.S. App. 124a.
Unlike decisions to include books in their print collections,
when offering Internet access librarians do not exercise
editorial discretion and select only pre-approved speech for
inclusion. When public libraries provide patrons with
Internet access, they allow any member of the public to

> The government also implies that under the three-judge court's
rationale, there would be a “perverse incentive” for public libraries to
make available less information to preserve their discretion. The
government offered no evidence at trial to support the theory that
libraries would offer access only to preselected sites if they could not
mandate filters. Their own witnesses specifically rejected that approach.
J.S. App. 42a.

39

receive speech “from anyone around the world who wishes
to disseminate information over the Internet.” /d. at 137a-
138a. CIPA is thus easily distinguishable from cases cited
by the government which upheld the government’s exercise
of editorial discretion in selecting certain speech for
inclusion in a state-created forum. As the three-judge court
explained, in those cases “the state actor exercising the
editorial discretion has at least reviewed the content of the
speech that the forum facilitates.” J.S. App. 12la (citing
NEA vy. Finley, 524 U.S. 569 (1998) (NEA examined the
content of artworks it chose to subsidize on the basis of
artistic excellence); Forbes, 523 U.S. at 673 (public
broadcaster specifically reviewed and approved each speaker
permitted to participate in debate). In providing patrons
with even filtered Internet access, “a public library creates a
forum for the facilitation of speech, almost none of which
either the library’s collection development staff or even the
filtering companies have ever reviewed.” /d. at 125a, 123a,
7a. Unlike a public library’s decision to carry books on a
selected topic, “members of the general public . . . define the
content that public libraries make available to their patrons
on the Internet.” /d. at 124a-125a. Moreover each of the
cases cited by the government involved practical limits on
the number of speakers that could be accommodated; these
limits simply do not apply to Internet access.

Third, the government again misstates the record
when it suggests that using filters is akin to the reliance by
some libraries of third-party vendors or book reviews to
make book selection decisions. Govt. Br. at 27. These
resources are a transparent means of assisting librarians in
including material in their collections. As the three-judge
court specifically found, when using these resources
“librarians still retain ultimate control over their collection
development and review all of the materials that enter their
library’s collection.” J.S. App. 35a; see also /d. at 123a. In
stark contrast, blocking programs censor rather than select,

40

~~

~ mo:

-_

and libraries have no idea what Web sites the program
ultimately blocks. /d. at 125a.

Fourth, the government argues that there is no tenable
ground for subjecting book collection to rational basis
review and Internet access to strict scrutiny. Yet this Court
has recognized that there may well be different types of
forums, subject to differing levels of scrutiny, within the
same physical space or organizational structure. So, for
example, a televised debate with “an open-microphone
format” is subject to strict scrutiny, while a debate in which
the same station controls the content is not. Forbes, 523
U.S. at 680; cf Cornelius, 473 U.S. at 801-02 (recognizing
that different standards would apply to the federal charity
drive than to the federal workplace generally); Widmar, 454
U.S. at 264 (applying different standard to university
meeting facilities than to state university generally). In
addition, the issues that warrant less-than-strict-scrutiny in
collection decisions (the necessity of choice, in light of cost
and space constraints), are simply not present when Congress
mandates censorship at public library Internet terminals
nationwide.

Fifth, the government argues that the three-judge
court’s approach must be wrong because it “would nsk
transforming the role of public libraries in our society.”
Govt. Br. at 19. That argument is exactly backward. In fact,
it is CIPA that risks changing librarians from information
providers into censors. CIPA forces libraries to install filters
that, out of the “vasi democratic forum” of the Internet,
“single out for exclusion particular speech on the basis of its
disfavored content.” /d. at 138a.

Finally, the government suggests that mandated
filtering is reasonable because “a library patron would only
infrequently need to have access to a Web site that has been
blocked in order to obtain the information he or she seeks.”

4

Govt. Br. at 34. This argument approaches the absurd. It
implies that the Internet contains only facts, and not fiction,
art, opinion, and vast amounts of unique expression. By
analogy, the government would hardly sanction the removal
of Edgar Allen Poe from library shelves because Charles
Dickens remains available, or suggest the painter Yves
Tanguy as an appropriate substitute for Frida Kahlo, or the
Beatles for Beethoven. Even Web sites containing factual
information can, of course, be unique. Plaintiff Jeffrey
Pollock used his Web site to promote his campaign for
Congress; when it was blocked, it was little comfort that
Web users could reach his opponent’s site. This Court has
held that “one is not to have the exercise of his liberty of
expression in appropnate places abridged on the plea that it
may be exercised in some other place.” Reno, 521 U.S. at
880. The government suggests an even more twisted re-
writing of the First Amendment: that one speaker may be
silenced so long as another remains free to speak.*

II. CIPA Imposes A Prior Restraint On Speech.

CIPA’s blocking mandate also imposes an unlawful
prior restraint by effectively silencing speech prior to its
dissemination in_ public libraries, without judicial
determination or even the semblance of First Amendment
due process. See generally, Freedman v. Maryland, 380
U.S. 51, 58 (1965) (invalidating film censorship statute as
prior restraint because it lacked several procedural
safeguards necessary “to obviate the dangers of a censorship
system”). Though the three-judge court did not reach
plaintiffs’ prior restraint argument, it warrants analysis as an

* CIPA would clearly fail constitutional scrutiny even under rational
basis review. There may be no better example of irrationality than
mandated government use of a product that secretly categorizes and
blocks a huge amount of speech that comes nowhere close to the type of
content the law was intended to restrict

42

independent reason for stinking down the statute. The only
other court to consider the constitutionality of mandatory
Internet blocking at a public library invalidated the practice
as a prior restraint. See Mainstream Loudoun, 24 F. Supp.
2d at 570 (because mandatory blocking policy “has neither
adequate standards nor adequate procedural safeguards,” it is
an unconstitutional prior restraint). By mandating the use of
blocking programs that block speech that is not even close to
the line between protected and unprotected speech, CIPA
imposes a classic system of prior restraint which
presumptively violates the Constitution. See Near v.
Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697, 713 (1931) (stating that “the chief
purpose of the [First Amendment] is to prevent previous
restraints upon publication”). Blocking programs function
literally as automated censors, blocking speech in advance of
any judicial determination that it is unprotected. They
arbitrarily and irrationally block thousands of Web pages
that are fully protected. In this Court’s words, “[t]his is . . .
the essence of censorship.” Jd.

A postmaster who opened all letters and refused to
deliver letters with the word “sex” in them would clearly be
violating the First Amendment’s rule against prior restraints.
See Blount v. Rizzi, 400 U.S. 410 (1971) (stnking down
statute that allowed Postmaster General to halt use of mail
for commerce in allegedly obscene materials). As the Court
has explained, “[t]he United States may give up the Post
Office when it sees fit, but while it carries it on the use of the
mails is almost as much a part of free speech as the right to
use our tongues.” /d. at 416 (citations omitted). Similarly,
having chosen to fund Internet access, the government “may
not thereafter selectively restrict certain categories of
Internet speech because it disfavors their content.” See
Mainstream Loudoun, 2 F. Supp. 2d at 795-96.

“(A]ny system of prior restraints of expression comes
to [the court] bearing a heavy presumption against its

43

constitutional validity.” Bantam Books, 372 U.S. at 70
(morality commission, whose purpose was to recommend
prosecution of obscenity, imposed unconstitutional prior
restraint by sending notices to booksellers that certain books
were objectionable); see also Conrad, 420 U.S. at 559
(municipal board’s denial of permission for performance of
the rock musical “Hair” at a city auditorium, because of
reports that the musical was “obscene,” was an
unconstitutional prior restraint); Drive In Theatres, Inc. v.
Huskey, 435 F.2d 228, 230 (4th Cir. 1970) (invalidating as
“unconstitutional prior administrative restraint” a sheriff's
practice of seizing and terminating exhibition of R-rated
movies).

The government argues that a library’s use of filters
is no more a prior restraint than a library’s decision not to
subscribe to Playboy. But CIPA is a federal mandate for all
libraries nationwide who participate in much-needed funding
programs, not a local library book collection decision.

The government once again argues that the speech
can be obtained elsewhere. Once again, this court has
rejected that argument. Reno, 521 U.S. at 880. Surely
Dallas could not have defended its movie censorship on the
grounds that the movie could be seen in Houston or, at a later
time, it was available on video. Interstate Circuit v. Dallas,
390 U.S. 676 (1968). In addition, for many Americans, their
only means of accessing the Internet is at a library. Section
Al, supra.

In marked contrast to the local book selection
process, CIPA cuts libraries out of the decision-making
process entirely. In fact, by delegating the authority to
restrict speech to third-party, non-governmental actors who
will not reveal what they are censoring, or the rules being
used, CIPA compounds the constitutional infirmities inherent
in any prior restraint. Additionally, the government's

44

argument ignores the public forum qualities of the Internet
even in public libraries. There is no question that the
decisions of blocking programs “to list particular
publications as objectionable do not follow judicial
determinations that such publications may lawfully be
banned.” Bantam Books, 372 U.S. at 70. CIPA’s disabling
provisions inflict further First Amendment injury by vesting
librarians with unbridled discretion to undo selectively the
blocking companies’ censorship decisions. See Forsyth
County v. Nationalist Movement, 505 U.S. 123, 133 (1992)
(“The First Amendment prohibits the vesting of such
unbridled discretion in a government official”);
Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147, 150-51
(1969) (“a law subjecting the exercise of First Amendment
freedoms to the prior restraint of a license” is
unconstitutional absent “narrow, objective, and definite
standards to guide the licensing authority”). CIPA’s
censorship system comes nowhere close to the judicial
review that is required when First Amendment rights are at
stake. See, e.g., Freedman, 380 U.S. at 58-59.

Iii. CIPA Imposes an Unconstitutional Condition
on Funding of Internet Access at Public
Libraries. .

CIPA is also an unconstitutional condition on the
receipt of a federal benefit. See Board of County Comm'rs v.
Umbehr, 518 U.S. 668, 674 (1996); Perry v. Sindermann,
408 U.S. 593, 597 (1972). The statute requires any library
that participates in the e-rate or LSTA programs to install
blocking software on “any of its computers with Internet
access” during “any use of such computers.” 20 U.S.C.
9134(f)(1)(B); 47 U.S.C. § 254(h)(6)(C) (emph. added).
CIPA requires libraries to block speech even where Internet
terminals are wholly funded by non-federal dollars. This
Court invalidated exactly that practice in League of Women
Voters, holding that the government may not use its spending

45

power to bar grantees “from using even wholly private funds
to finance its” expressive activity. 468 U.S. at 400.

Although the three-judge court did not rule on
plaintiffs’ unconstitutional conditions claim, it included a
lengthy footnote analyzing the relevant cases. J.S. App.
180a-188a n.36. Because “the First Amendment is not
phrased in terms of who holds the right, but rather what is
protected,” J.S. App. at 183a n.36, plaintiffs clearly have a
valid unconstitutional conditions claim based on the First
Amendment nghts of their patrons.” See, e.g., Procunier v.
Martinez, 416 U.S. 396, 409 (1974) (recognizing that First
Amendment protects the right to receive information);
Virginia v. American Booksellers Ass'n, 484 U.S. 383, 392-
93 (1988) (booksellers have standing to sue on behalf of
their customers); J.S. App. 188a n.36. As this Court has
explained, “the question must be whether [the government
is] abridg[ing] expression that the First Amendment was
meant to protect.” First Nat'l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435
U.S. 765, 776 (1978). Contrary to the government’s
argument, then, it is irrelevant that CIPA imposes its
conditions on libraries rather than on their patrons directly.
Govt. Br. at 41. This Court has previously entertained
unconstitutional conditions claims both by the organizations
that receive federal funding and their constituents. See e.g.,
Velazquez, 531 U.S. at 537 (lawyers and clients sued to
declare restriction on advocacy invalid); Rust v. Sullivan,
500 U.S. 173, 181 (1991) (doctors and patients sued to
invalidate restriction on use of Title X funds); League of
Women Voters, 468 U.S. at 370 n.6 (station owner and
viewers sued to invalidate conditions on station’s receipt of
federal funds).

* Thus, this Court need not decide whether public libraries, as municipal
entities, have their own independent First Amendment nghts.

46

In Velazquez, the Court invalidated a restriction on
funding because the program funded private speech, not
governmental speech, and because the restriction distorted
the traditional function of the medium. 531 U.S. at 544-45.
Similarly, CIPA distorts the usual function of public libraries
to provide uncensored access to information. The Legal
Services Corporation (“LSC”) was established to distribute
federal funds to eligible local grantee organizations “for the
purpose of providing financial support for legal assistance in
noncriminal proceedings or matters to persons financially
unable to afford legal assistance.” Jd. at 536. Congress,
however, prohibited legal representation funded by recipients
of LSC moneys if the representation involved an effort to
amend or otherwise challenge existing welfare law. Jd.

The Court held that this condition on the use of LSC
funds violated the First Amendment rights of LSC grantees
and their clients.° When the government “designs a program
to facilitate private speech, and not to promote a govern-
mental message,” and “seeks to use an existing medium of
expression and to control it . . . in ways which distort its
usual functioning,” the distorting restriction must be struck
down. /d. at 534 (“[rJjestricting LSC attorneys in advising
their clients and in presenting arguments and analyses to the
courts distorts the legal system by altering the traditional role
of the attorneys”). See also League of Women Voters, 468
U.S. at 396-97 (prohibitions against editorializing by public

° Velasquez also condemned the program because it required viewpoint
discrimination. 531 U.S. at 533, citing Board of Regents v. Southworth,
529 U.S. 217, 229 (2000). Because blocking programs make their
censorship decisions in secret, there is no way to know whether they are
viewpoint discriminatory. For example, blocking programs may block
content targeted to the gay and lesbian community not because it is
actually sexually explicit, but because the vendors disapprove of that
lifestyle. The potential for viewpoint discrimination certainly adds to its
constitutional defects. See Mainstream Loudoun, 24 F. Supp. 2d at 565-
67.

47

radio networks were an impermissible restriction, even
though the government enacted the restriction to control the
use of public funds; First Amendment forbade the
government from using the forum in an unconventional way
to suppress speech inherent in the nature of the medium).
When the government conversely “establishes a subsidy for
specified ends,” “certain restrictions may be necessary to
define the limits and purposes of the program.” /d. (citing,
inter alia, Perry Ed. Assn. v. Perry Local Educators’ Assn.,
460 U.S. 37, (1983); Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173 (1991)).

CIPA seeks to distort an existing medium of
expression at public libraries by requiring them to:

(1) deny patrons access to constitutionally
protected speech that libraries would
otherwise provide to patrons; and (2) delegate
decision making to private’ software
developers who closely guard their selection
criteria as trade secrets and who do not
purport to make their decisions on the basis of
whether the blocked Web sites are
constitutionally protected or would add value
to a public library’s collection.

J.S. App. 187a n.36. Like the improper effect of the funding
restriction this Court invalidated in Velazquez, “(bly
interfering with public libraries’ discretion to make available
to patrons as wide a range of constitutionally protected
speech as possible, the federal government is arguably
distorting the usual functioning of public libraries as places
of freewheeling inquiry.” J.S. App. 187a n.36.

48

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the judgment of the
three judge court should be affirmed.

Respectfully Submited,

Christopher A. Hansen
(Counsel of Record)

Ann Beeson

Steven R. Shapiro

American Civil Liberties Union
Foundation

125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 549-2500

Stefan Presser

ACLU of Pennsylvania

125 South Ninth Street, Suite 701
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107
(215) 592-1513

Charles S. Sims

Proskauer Rose LLP

1585 Broadway

New York, New York 10036-8299
(212) 969-3000

David L. Sobel
Electronic Privacy Information Center
1718 Connecticut Avenue NW,
Suite 200
Washington, D.C. 20009
(202) 483-1140

49

Lee Tien

Electronic Frontier Foundation
454 Shotwell Street

San Francisco, California 94110
(415) 436-9333

FOR PLAINTIFF MULTNOMAH
COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY
Thomas Sponsler, County Attorney
Multnomah County
501 N.E. Hawthorne Blvd.,
Suite 500
Portland, OR 97214
(503) 988-3138

Dated: February 10, 2003

50

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0600%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
