# Amicus Curiae Brief — Dow Chemical Co. v. Stephenson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0593%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 999

## Text

a

| Supreme Court. US

—~ +

| ‘oF iy
4 DEC 19 ap
No. 02-271 |
CLERK
IN THE as $i}
Supreme Court of the United States

DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY, MONSANTO COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

DANIEL RAYMOND STEPHENSON, SUSAN STEPHENSON,
DANIEL ANTHONY STEPHENSON, EMILY ELIZABETH
STEPHENSON, JOE ISAACSON, and
PHYLLIS LISA ISAACSON,

Respondents.

On Wait oF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES Court OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE DEFENSE RESEARCH INSTITUTE
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

PaTRICK LYSAUGHT
Counsel of Record
Paut S. PENTICUFF
ELIZABETH S. RAINES
BAKER STERCH! COWDEN
& Rice LLC
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Crown Center
2400 Pershing Road, Suite 500
Kansas City, MO 64108-2504
(816) 471-2121

178046 g

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

*
in 7
os - oe,
. * 7. an |
~ + ="
a :
ao {~ x
A 7 ee
*. ha ° /
“ " J
+e ‘
oe
, <3 x
ath, Se
is,
é

ee
$ Te
¥ : ¥ ee é
ae meas £ ted
Ca, fy, ee ue
ee “ 3
abe 3 nt
y ee mi
pss. ” ® ; leds AS
oe ess tee
erste a
4° 7 »y ‘
cbt Pe eas oh.
; ‘ ore
fuga, SS He
> 2 > ~—s
ny gh SRF De
: wk
7 “aes CA aS
ce ye A arel cae
FE 2 Ao ae sv Ay
ny Sete %
he ee ee ae
Bg, Be) Fina
Pe) ? Conde
as 5S iy
Pg A ob
Tele
ae
wa?
. ~
‘
4

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. The Second Circuit’s Expansive Collateral

Attack Ruling Shakes The Foundations of
Every Class Action Decision in This Country
and Threatens to Undermine if Not Destroy
One of the Civil Justice System’s Most

Important Tools in Resolving Disputes. ... .

The Defendants’ Interest in Finality
Outweighs A So-Called “Absent” Class
Member’s Interest in Having Their Day in
Court, and to Undermine Such Finality
Denies Defendants Due Process Of Law,
While Undermining the Usefulness of Class
Action Settlements in Our Civil Justice

eaten enVeCieeue binhén dees 6

. The Second Circuit’s Attempt to

Retroactively Apply Current Legal Standards
and Factual Realities, in Hindsight, to The
Agent Orange Decision Flies in The Face
of This Court’s Limits on Retroactive
Application of The Law and Further Erodes
The Bedrock Principle of Finality, upon
Which All Settlements Are Built. .........

23

ul

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980) ........... )
Amchem Products, Inc v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591
CIDDT) . wc cccvccvevcsscceseuseeseueeenuee passim
Bano v. Union Carbide Corp., 273 F.3d 120 (2d Cir.
BOOED on ccccccccccesveseuesunns anne 4
C.L. Grimes v. Vitalink Communications Corp.,
17 F.3d 1553 (3d Cir. 1994) ..........ce eee 8,19
Clark-Cowlitz Joint Operating Agency v. Federal
Energy Regulatory Comm'n, 755 F.2d 366
(D.C. Cle. 19BS) .. cvescccccesscasenuyuaueen 3
Epstein v. MCA, 179 F.3d 641 (9th Cir.) ......... 19
Federated Department Stores, Inc. v. Moitie,
432 U.S. 904 (1GS1) .. cvccccccccccsususegeen 9,10

Harper v. Virginia Dept. of Taxation, 509 U.S. 86
CIDR) ... ccvcccecscvcctecnecdeeeunnn EEE 25, 26

Hart Steel Co. v. Railroad Supply Co., 244 U.S. 294
Up eee 9

In re Agent Orange Product Liability Litigation,
597 F. Supp. 740 (E.D.N.Y. 1984) ..........-. 7,15

ul

Cited Authorities
Page
In Re Agent Orange Prod. Liab. Litig., 611 F. Supp.
cobs tee ecesecocecocces 7
In re Agent Orange Prod. Liab. Litig., 996 F.2d 1425
EEE 5
In re Agent Orange Product Liability Litigation MDL
No. 381, 818 F.2d 155 (2d Cir. 1987) ......... 16, 20
In re Exxon Valdez, 229 F.3d 790 (9th Cir. 2000)
DUPER EESGbGesesdcccccccecoccece 4
In re General Motors Corp. Pick-up Truck Fuel Tank
Prods. Liab. Litig., 55 F.3d 768 (3d Cir. 1995) ... 4
Johnson v. New Jersey, 384 U.S. 719 (1966) ..... 25
Miranda vy. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) ........ 25
Nottingham Partners v. Trans-Lux Corp., 925 F.2d
EE 19
Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp., 527 U.S. 815 (1999)
DP PPEREEGBSECER SCO COSC Ceo SC CCC ese eees passim
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 707 (1984)
DPE P Shee ape sescccesesoccccce ce 19
Reed v. Allen, 286 U.S. 191 (1932) ............. 9,10

iv

Cited Authorities
Page
Reynoldsville Casket Co. v. Hyde, 514 U.S. 749
TODD oc ccccccccccccccccccccessossccesoes 26
Schiavone v. Fortune, 477 U.S. 21 (1986) ........ 21
Southern Pac. R. Co. v. United States, 168 U.S. 1
COED ccccccctccvcesdassvcessenevecsesees 18
Stephenson v. Dow Chemical Co., 273 F.3d 249 |
(24 Cie. 2001) 2. cccccccccccccccesccsccces passim
Walker v. Armco Steel Corp., 446 U.S. 740 (1980) r
CONSTITUTIONS, STATUTES AND RULES
Cal. Code Civ. Proc. § 340(3) .........----e eee 21
Dad, B. Gon RED cc cccccccecesocccccesceasese 20, 24
Pie.Be. 6 GB.0CS) 2. ccccccccccccccccccccecces 21
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 516.120 ..........-ce ee eeueee 21
ARTICLES AND REPORTS
Asthma Spray Settlement Approved, Nov. 27, 1995,
available in 1995 WL 4415241 ..........555. 29

Vv
Cited Authorities

Page

Big Class Action, at http://www. bagclassaction.com/

settlements/consumer html (reporting class action

settlements and verdicts) (last visited Dec. 18,
Dy sbusnenesdcupdaacseasentddbichescees 29

Bruce L. Hay, Some Settlement Effects of Preclusion,
LE i ctensucceneeedsecens 20

Bruce Vincent, Suit Claims Chrysler Hid Latch
Defect, Tex. Law., Dec. 18, 1995 ............. 29

Class Action Reports Inc., at http://www.classaction
reports/stats2.htlm (reporting federal class actions
filed through 2001) (last visited Dec. 11, 2002) . . . 27, 28

Deborah R. Hensler, A Glass Half Full, A Glass Half
Empty: The Use of Alternative Dispute Resolution
in Mass Personal Injury Litigation, 73 Tex. L.
EE onosebdbieevaddendendecer: 17

Federal Jurisdiction & Procedure, 116 Harv. L. Rev.
PD NeUekdcendecwdeonneceonces 27

Geoffrey P. Miller, Full Faith & Credit to Settlements
in Overlapping Class Actions: A Reply to
Professors Kahan and Silverman, 73 N.Y.U.L.
i whe duanddvdeuddeahedsiescne 23

Heart Valve Maker Settles Suit, Cui. Day L. BuLt.,
Aug. 20, 1992, at 1

vl

Cited Authorities

Judge Oks Race Bias Pact, Nat’. L.J., Feb. 8, 1993,
> © | ReerrrrrrrTrririt ttt

Marcel Kahan & Linda Siberman, The Inadequate
Search for “Adequacy” in Class Actions: A
Critique of Epstein v. MCA, Inc. 73 N.Y.U.L. Rev.
FES CIDBED on cccccccecccccccccccccccccsses

Marian Segal, “A Status Report on Breast Implant
Safety”, November 1995, FDA Consumer .....

Settlements, Awards, Nat’t L.J., July 29, 1991, at 6,
Oe DD oo 0d6nduse60eees6use00nedebeedne ess

Silicone Breast Implants in Relation to Connective
Tissue Discases and Immunologic Dysfunction,
A Report by a National Science Panel to the
Honorable Sam C. Pointer Jr. Coordinating Judge
for the Federal Breast Implant Multi-District
Litigation (Nov. 30, 1998) ..........--0e0e5:

Stanford Law School Securities Class Action
Clearinghouse, at Attp://securities.standord.edu/
1002/CD98 (reporting securities class action
settlements) (last visited Dec. 18, 2002) .......

Thomas E. Willging, Laura L. Hooper & Robert J.
Nienmic, An Empirical Study of Class Actions in
Four Federal District Courts: Final Report of the
Advisory Committee on Civil Rules 60 (1996),
available at Attp://wwwfjc.gov. ..... 6.660565:

Page

29

23

12

29

12

28

27

l

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Defense Research Institute (“DRI”) is an organization
with more than 21,000 individual lawyer and 400 corporate
members throughout the United States. It seeks to advance the
cause of the civil justice system in America by ensuring that
issues important to the defense bar, to its clients and to the
preservation and enhancement of the judicial process are
properly and adequately addressed.

These objectives are accomplished through the publishing
of scholarly material, educating the bar by conducting seminars
on specialized areas of law, through testimony before Congress
and state legislatures on select legislation impacting the civil
justice system, and by participation as amicus curiae on issues
of significance to the defense bar and its clients. DRI also
provides a national forum for networking by members of state
and local defense organizations who share a concern for the
proper and efficient operation of the civil justice system. '

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

When a defendant enters into a class action settlement, as
with all settlements, the most important benefit that the
defendant receives, indeed, the only benefit the defendant
receives, is that it will no longer be subject to lawsuits or claims
based on the issues underlying the class action. Once the trial
court approves a class action judgment or settlement and direct
appeals are exhausted, the parties, including a defendant, should
be able to rely on the final judgment as being truly final. This is
the sole benefit of the bargain that inures to the defendant
following a class action settlement, which is a contract validated
as to its fairness by the court. It is in the defense of this bargained-

1. Pursuant to Rule 37(6) of the Supreme Court of the United States,
DRI states that counsel for petitioner and respondent had no part in
authoring any portion of this brief. No one other than DRI made a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.
Pursuant to Rule 37(3)(a) of the Supreme Court of the United States,
DRI states that all parties to this case have consented to the filing of
amicus curiae briefs.

2

for benefit, not only here, but as much more broadly implicated
in virtually all class action settlements, past and future, that
amicus curiae, the Defense Research Institute, speaks. .

The Second Circuit’s decision in this case creates a virtually
limitless right of so-called “absent class members” to collaterally
attack a class action settlement on the grounds of “adequacy of
representation.”? The Second Circuit’s flawed analysis ignores
certain indisputable facts, including that the incorrectly
denominated “absent” class members (a) received fair notice
under the law in this case’; and (b) had their full and fair

rtunity to challenge the adequacy of their representation
in me as in the trial court at the time of the sporsoeame
roval.* Simply put, plaintiffs in the suit below were no
“sbeent” class in they were class members who derived
specific benefits by their inclusion within the class. Their
interests were adequately represented despite the fact that they
claim otherwise now. Furthermore, the Second Circuit’s decision
fails to give appropriate judicial recognition to the fact that the
trial court had already determined that the class representatives
were adequate for the entire class, which determination was
twice affirmed on appeal. Essentially, the Court of Appeals
decision broadly states that an “absent” class member can
challenge the adequacy of representation in a class action if he
can articulate any culpable reason, including any changes in the
2. Presumably, the legal principle, to the extent one exists (which
amicus curiae denies), on which the Second Circuit has created such an
unfettered right to attack a final judgment could be applied with equal
vigor to any circumstance that might cause someone to second guess a
class settlement after it becomes final. . ;
3. As recognized by the Second Circuit's opinion, the notice
standard is, “notice ‘reasonably = to apprise interested parties
f the action.”” Jd. at 260.
. gore : Circuit acknowledges the procedural history of the
underlying claims and class action settlement, but fails to accord the
careful and correct substantive and procedural undertakings by the trial
court any deference. See, Stephenson v. Dow Chemical Co., 273 F.3d
249 (2d Cir. 2001).

3

law or facts that would affect the initial class action settlement
had it been known then. Under such a rule, no class action
settlement, past, present or future is beyond the pale of attack.

Under the Second Circuit's analysis, the finality of every
class action settlement, and judgment entered thereon, as
approved and finalized by any court, even after direct appeal or
after the time for appeal has passed, is subject to an attack based
upon virtually any claim that the settlement was unfair or that a
class member was not adequately represented. At a time when
both the plaintiff and defense bar must increasingly rely on class
actions to obtain settlements of claims with multiple plaintiffs,
the Second Circuit’s ruling undermines and seriously threatens
the usefulness of the class action device as a method for resolving
such litigation. More importantly, it is antithetical to important
legal policy principals, including predictability’, mutuality and
finality.

Although this Court has recently given new guidance as to
how the class action settlement requirements are to be analyzed,
the Second Circuit’s decision goes far beyond this Court’s ruling
in Amchem Products, Inc. v. Windsor, §21 U.S. 591(1997) and
Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp., 527 U.S. 815 (1999).° Despite the

5. Sound judicial policy should be based on judicial economy,
fairness, predictatility and clarity. See, e.g., Clark-Cowlitz Joint
Operating Agency v. Federal Energy Regulatory Comm'n, 755 F.2d 366,
372 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (discussing the judicial goals of “clarity, consistency,
judicial economy, efficiency and the avoidance of needless expense”);
(in ruling on matters, “courts should consider the preservation of
constitutional rights, clarity, judicial economy, the likelihood of
inconsistent results and possibilities for confusion”).

6. Amchem and Ortiz require a trial court, in certifying a class
action, to secure “structural assurance of fair and adequate representation
for the diverse groups and individuals affected” by a class action
settlement were present and conformed with due process. Amchem, 521
U.S. at 626; Ortiz, 527 U.S. at 856. This was a somewhat more stringent
and specific standard than that which governed the pre-Amchem
jurisprudence, which required that the settlement be “fair, adequate and

(Cont'd)

4

lack of any cognizable legal policy reason for doing so, the

Second Circuit’s decision provides a limitless power to

collaterally attack a class action settlement by previously bound

class members who are willing to do so. All that is necessary is
for such class members to claim they were not adequately
represented and thus, they were not bound by the class
settlement. Under that analysis and approach, defendants who
settle class claims literally cannot protect themselves against
future litigation after a class settlement is reached. If that is the
case, the judicial policy favoring settlement will be completely
frustrated.’ Additionally, if any such a broad collateral attack is
to be permitted, which amicus curiae steadfastly opposes, sound
judicial policy requires that this Court not retroactively apply
the class action law of today to the Agent Orange settlement of

1984.

I. The Second Circuit’s Expansive Collateral Attack
Ruling Shakes The Foundations Of Every Class Action
Decision In This Country And Threatens To Undermine
If Not Destroy One Of The Civil Justice System’s Most
Important Tools In Resolving Disputes.

The Second Circuit’s decision permits a collateral attack

on a class action settlement that has been final for nearly 20

years. Defendants who entered into the settlement of such

disputed claims had no reason to anticipate that nearly two
decades after they secured collective peace with the courts’

(Cont'd) |

reasonable”, as a opposed to satisfying ordinary class action certification

requirements. Amchem, 521 U.S. at 618, 621-22. By extending the class
action certification “prerequisites” to settlement class actions, Amchem
vastly expanded the necessary inquiry at the trial court level. There is
no language in either Amchem or Ortiz that supports retroactive
application of these standards, which is the approach embraced by the
Second Circuit’s decision in this case.

7. See Bano v. Union Carbide Corp., 273 F.3d 120, 129 (2d.Cir
2001); In re Exxon Valdez, 229 F.3d 790, 795 (9th Cir. 2000); Jn re
General Motors Corp. Pick-up Truck Fuel Tank Prods. Liab. Litig., 55
F.3d 768, 805 (3d Cir. 1995).

5

blessing, they would be hauled into court yet again. Years after
all the settlement funds have been disbursed, and after petitioners
have relied on the trial and appellate courts’ approval of the
class action settlement to protect them from future “Agent
Orange” litigation, two individuals otherwise bound by that
settlement have mounted a collateral attack on the original
settlement.’ Respondents simply assert that they were not
adequately represented in the original proceeding and as a result
they could not be bound to the terms of the settlement. Such
claims were pursued despite the fact the Second Circuit approved
the original class settlement on two occasions. See Jn Re Agent
Orange Prod. Liab. Litig., 996 F.2d 1425 (2d Cir. 1993), cert.
denied, 510 U.S. 1140 (1994). Now, the Second Circuit has
inexplicably reversed its earlier course by allowing a collateral
attack in the instant case. The Second Circuit now allows a twice-
rejected collateral attack on the class settlement, purportedly

8. The Second Circuit, avoiding a discussion of the true result,
suggests that plaintiffs are not attacking the class action settlement at all
by its assertion, “Plaintiffs do not attack the merits on finality of the
settlement itself, but instead argue that they were not proper parties to
that judgment. If plaintiffs were not proper parties to that judgment, as
we concluded below, res judicata cannot defeat their claims.” Stephenson,
273 F.3d at 259. Despite plaintiffs’ efforts to claim otherwise, they do
directly attack the sanctity of the class action settlement and judgment
by the district court. In effect, their argument is that anyone otherwise
bound by the class action settlement can escape its effect by coming
into court alleging that their interests were not adequately protected.
Such claims can be asserted under the Second Circuit’s analysis
irrespective of the merits of such claim, as the Court held —

We are therefore concerned only with whether they were
afforded due process in the earlier litigation. Part of the
due process inquiry (and part of the Rule 23(a) class
certification requirements) involves assessing adequacy of
representation and intra-class conflicts. The claims’ ultimate
merits have no bearing on whether the class previously

certified adequately represented the plaintiffs.
Id. at 261.

6

based on both newly announced legal standards’ that did not
exist at the time of the original determination.

To fully appreciate the potentially broad application of the
decision of the Court of Appeals below, one need only look
briefly at the history surrounding this case. The “Agent Orange”
controversy was a lightening rod for media coverage from the
1970s through the 1990s. Government use of various defoliants,
combined with belated sympathy for Vietnam veterans and the
burgeoning environmental movement pushed this issue to
the forefront of the collective national consciousness. It is
inconceivable that at the time of the initial class action
determination in this case that the overwhelming majority of, if
not all, Vietnam veterans were well aware of their exposure to
“Agent Orange” and had notice of their stake as class members. "°
Those who were not ill in 1984 either knew or should have
known that they could be directly impacted by the class action
settlement if they developed symptoms they attributed to “Agent
Orange.” If the “window” of benefits set to expire in 1994 was
not enough to protect them or others, they certainly had the
opportunity to timely object to the terms of the settlement. Judge
Weinstein below, based upon the existing law and facts as known

9. Itis not uncommon for parties to regret, for good reason, a past
settlement. Often it is because some subsequent event occurs which
makes liability, damages or some other pertinent factor clear, when at
the time it was not. Presumably, a class member could attack a settlement
of a class action by arguing class counsel should have more vigoruusly
pursued certain avenues of discovery, critical liability facts would have
been uncovered. This is true despite the fact that the critical information
did not become public knowledge until decades after the settlement.
There is no end to the mischief the Second Circuit’s decision portends.

10. Rule 23 requires, under the circumstances, the best practicable
notice be given to class members. The district court provided notice be
given to class members by mail, as well as by television, radio and print
media over the course of several months from March 1984 through the
early summer of 1984. The Second Circuit found that notice to meet the
requirements under the rule. Stephenson, 273 F.3d at 255.

7

and knowable, crafted a useful mechanism for future recovery,
with a fixed endpoint for benefits that expired on December
31, 1994."'

Based upon the information available when the settlement
occurred, there was no reason to differentiate be*veen pre- 1994
and post-1994 injuries. The year “1994” though arbitrary, was
not arbitrarily chosen. The “science” purporting to support
plaintiffs’ claims was so weak that the tria! court judicially
concluded that after the 1994 date plaintiff class members would
have many ailments that were similar to those asserted on behalf
of the class, yet they could not be traceable to exposure to Agent
Orange."* See, e.g., In Re Agent Orange Prod. Liab. Litig., 611
F. Supp. 1376, 1418 (E.D.N.Y. 1985). In simple terms, the Court
concluded that as the class members grew older and experienced

11. The Agent Orange class was composed of
those persons who were in the United States, New Zealand
or Australia Armed Forces at any time from 1961 to
1972 who were injured while in or near Vietnam by
exposure to Agent Orange or other phenoxy herbicides,
including those composed in whole or in part of 2,4,5-
trichlorophenoxyacetic acid containing some amount of
2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin. The class also includes
spouses, parents, and children of the veterans born before
January 1, 1984 directly or derivatively injured as a result
of the exposure.
In re “Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation, 597 F. Supp. 740,
756 (E.D.N.Y. 1984).

12. The Second Circuit’s analysis may be as simple as this, you
cannot be bound by a class action settlement if you received no direct
payment under its terms. It found that,

It is true that on direct appeal and on the Ivy/Hartman
litigation we previously concluded that there was adequate
representation of all class members in the original Agent
Orange settlement. However, neither this Court nor the
district court has addressed specifically the adequacy of
representation for those members of the class whose injuries
manifested after depletion of the settlement funds.
Stephenson, 273 F.3d at 258-59.

8

the maladies that accompany the aging process, the already scant
“science” suggesting a causal connection with “Agent Orange”
would exceed the outer limits of medical probability.'’ Thus, a
final date, which had to be chosen, was set as a limit on recovery
for future claims and benefits.

Presumably, the Second Circuit decision was in part a
reflection of its belief that respondents receive no benefit from
the class settlement. While that should not impact the sanctity
and finality of the class action settlement and judgment, it is
also simply not true. First, the $35 million set aside for the Class
Assistance Program eventually became $71.3 million, and was
at least of indirect benefit to them, as is true as to all other class
members. Additionally, they were protected class beneficiaries
under the terms of the class settlement agreement during the
liability window established under its terms. Merely because
they did not develop symptoms within the window does not
mean they were not protected and did not receive benefit from
the settlement. Neither of these benefits would have been
available to them except for the terms of the settlement they
now attempt to disavow.

By allowing purportedly “absent” class members to
collaterally attack the Agent Orange settlement, the Second
Circuit has pushed the envelope as to when such a collateral
attack may occur over the brink of rationality. Unknowingly,
the Court of Appeals has ushered in a judicial construct that
places virtually no value on a defendant’s right to finality in a
class action settlement context. It has also subverted the
“important policy interest of judicial economy,” which is served
by “permitting parties to enter into comprehensive settlements
that ‘prevent relitigation of settled questions at the core of a
class action.’” C.L. Grimes v. Vitalink Communications Corp.,
17 F.3d 1553, 1563 (3d Cir. 1994).

13. As Judge Weinstein stated during the hearing in the instant
case, in summarizing the lack of scientific data to support plaintiffs’
claims, “{hjad there been no settlement, there would have been no
recovery for the veterans.”

9

This Court has long recognized the “vital public interests”
served by the finality, clarity, certainty, and predictability that
res judicata promotes. See Federated Department Stores, Inc.
v. Moitie, 452 U.S. 394, 401 (1981). It has defined res judicata
as, “a rule of fundamental and substantial justice, ‘of public
policy and of private peace,’ which shouid be cordially regarded
and enforced by the courts... .” /d. citing Hart Steel Co. v.
Railroad Supply Co., 244 U.S. 294, 299 (1917). Respondents’
alleged nghts and interests here do not outweigh or countenance
overriding the vital purposes served by res judicata and collateral
estoppel, which are to “relieve parties of the cost and vexation
of multiple lawsuits, conserve judicial resources, and, by
preventing inconsistent decisions, encourage reliance on
adjudication.” Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 94 (1980).

Respondents seek a potential windfall by attempting to
litigate their claims separately from the class to which they
belong. This Court has made clear that collateral attacks will
not be sanctioned where litigants seek a windfall by claiming
they are not bound by a prior judgment. See id. at 400-01.
The words of this Court spoken years ago in Reed vy. Allen, 286
U.S. 191, 198-99 (1932), ring as true today and pinpoint why a
collateral attack on a class settlement nearly 20 years old by
plaintiffs who are within the class should not be upheld:

The predicament in which respondent(s] fin[d]
themselves is of [their] own making... . . [this Court]
cannot be expected for [their] sole relief, to upset
the general and well-established doctrine of res
judicata, conceived in the light of the maxim that
the interest of the state requires that there be an end
to litigation — a maxim which comports with
common sense as well as public policy. And the
mischief which would follow the establishment of
precedent for so disregarding this salutary doctrine
against prolonging strife would be greater than the
benefit which would result from relieving some case
of individual hardship.

10

Moreover, the res judicata effect of the court-approved
settlement cannot be “altered by the fact that the judgment may
have been wrong or rested on a legal principle subsequently
overruled in another case.” Federated, 452 U.S. at 398. A “final
judgment” of the scope and magnitude here cannot be
collaterally attacked based on subsequent precedent or factual
developments without creating “uncertainty and confusion” and
“undermining the conclusive character” of court-approved
settlements, “consequences which it was the very purpose of
the doctrine of res judicata to avert.” Federated, 452 U\S. at
398-99. The time-honored propositions quoted in Reed explain
why the Second Circuit’s decision to apply Amchem and Ortiz
retroactively to permit a collateral attack is unjustifiable:

... all controversies and contentions involved are
set at rest by a judgment or decree lawfully rendered
which, in its terms, embodied a settlement of the
right of the parties. It would undermine the
foundation of the principle upon which it is based if
the Court might inquire into and revise the reasons
which led the court to make the judgment. We are
unable to find reason or authority supporting the
proposition that because a judgment may have been
given for wrong reasons or has been susequently [sic]
reversed, that is any the less effective as an estoppel
between the parties while in force.
Reed, 286 U.S. at 199-200, quoting Deposit Bank v. Frankfort,
191 U.S. 499 (1903). By allowing this unprecedented collateral
attack two decades after the trial court’s final approval of the
class settiement, which was twice upheld on direct appeal, the
conceptual framework and practical benefits of a Rule 23
settlement are being grossly subverted and perhaps destroyed.

As briefly mentioned, important principles are at stake here,
including that of mutuality. A defendant would never be allowed
to collaterally attack a class action settlement based on a change
in circumstances, whether legal or factual, as the following
hypothetical demonstrates. Consider that an airline and

ll

manufacturer of the aircraft involved in a crash agreed, in a
class action settlement, to pay benefits to the estates of over
200 individuals who perished. The class action lawsuit alleged
a defective fuel tank caused a mid-air explosion of the airplane,
resulting in the untimely deaths and seeking actual and punitive
damages. Under the impression that there was potential liability
for compensatory damages and some potential for punitive
damages (while denying same in the settlement papers), the
airline and the manufacturer agreed to pay a substantial sum of
money to the surviving heirs of each passenger. Many years
after the settlement is finalized and approved by the trial court,
and the time for direct appeal has passed, new findings surface
that call into question the basis for the class action settlement.
Simultaneously, a government investigation of terrorism
determines that it was not, in fact, a fuel system defect in the
ill-fated airplane, but rather, a ground-to-air missile, launched
by a terrorist group, which caused the explosion and subsequent
crash. Unquestionably, it is now patently clear to all parties that
there was no defect in the design, manufacture or maintenance
of the plane which caused or contributed to the mid-air
explosion. Instead, it was an act of cowardice in an undeclared
war by an extreme terrorist group that ended more than 200
lives. Could the airline or manufacturer of the aircraft reopen
the class settlement based on this information, seeking to recoup
the money mistakenly paid out in settlement? The answer would
be a resounding “no.” Despite the “unfairness” of such a result,
it is the right result.'*

14. A “real-life” example of the above airline hypothetical is found
in the continuing saga of “breast-implant” litigation. Although numerous
cases were settled in the early 1990s, including class action cases, the
science regarding the alleged adverse effects of these implants was not
well developed. As additional scientific studies were performed, it
became clear that rates of immune-related diseases and connective tissue
diseases (the primary claim of the plaintiffs in breast implant cases)
were not higher for women with silicone breast implants, Ss :

ont’

12

Plaintiffs in this case, however, seek to reopen a court-
approved class settlement based on a much less convincing
argument. Plaintiffs have cast themselves in the role of “absent
class members” whose interests were inadequately protected in
the 1984 settlement.'* The alleged “inadequate representation”
is based on their effort to spin-doctor their status in 1984 as
being different from other potential class member who likewise
had not yet suffered any alleged health effects from Agent Orange
as of 1984. They were not then nor are they now different than

(Cont'd)

studies of the Mayo Clinic and the Harvard Nurses’ Health Study.
See Manian Segal, ‘A Status Report on Breast Implant Safety’, November
1995, FDA Consumer. Shortly thereafter, Judge Pointer, the Coordinating
Judge for the Federal Breast Implant Multi-District Litigation, appointed
a neutral panel of scientists to determine whether scientific data supported
plaintiff's claims that silicone breast implants caused connective tissue
disease and immunologic dysfunction. Their report, in summary,
concluded on November 30, 1998 that there was no scientific support
for such claims. See, Silicone Breast implants in Relation to Connective
Tissue Diseases and Immunologic Dysfunction, A Report by a National
Science Panel to the Honorable Sam C. Pointer Jr. Coordinating Judge
for the Federal Breast Implant Multi-District Litigation, pp. 1-8
(November 30, 1998). Would it be appropriate for breast implant
manufacturers to seek to re-open past settlements, class action or
otherwise, to address this information? “No” is the simple answer yet
plaintiffs in this case seek the same type of relief.

15. As noted, plaintiffs, with the Second Circuit's blessing, seek
to avoid the application of the doctrine of mutuality by contending they
were never bound by the class settlement and judgment (See n.8).
Apparently, if these two plaintiffs had developed symptoms on or before
December 31, 1994, they would be bound and mutuality would apply,
but because they did not, they magically are not bound. This approach
ignores the fact that the district court had concluded that the 1994 cutoff
was fair based upon all that was known and knowable at the time. Now,
second-guessing what the trial court found as fair, the Second Circuit
creates its own ad hoc subclass of persons who manifested no injury by
December 31, 1994 and concludes that its new subclass was not

adequately represented.

13

all of the other class members who had not yet developed any
identifiable symptoms from exposure. In fact, all individuals
who were not ill in 1984 were represented, and a fund was
created that would disburse benefits for a 10-year period
following the settlement approval.'* If the plaintiffs below had
developed symptoms of any specific illness listed in the
settlement before 1994, they would have received benefits.
Because they did not develop symptoms in that time-period,
they were not eligible to receive direct monetary payments from
the class settlement. All class members, including plaintiffs
below, did receive the indirect benefit of the monies paid to
various Vietnam Veterans’ agencies. Plaintiffs were certainly
within the group, all “Agent Orange” exposed and injured
individuals, which the trial court and Second Circuit found to
be adequately represented."’

16. The settlement provided that defendants would pay a total of
$180,000,000 into a settlement fund. Stephenson, 273 F.3d at 252. $10
million of this fund would indemnity defendants against future state
court actions alleging same claims. /d. The majority of the $180 million
settlement proceeds (75%) were to be distributed to veterans and
surviving spouses or children from January 1, 1985 through December
31, 1994. Id. at 253. This amounted to roughly $135 million (75% of
$180 million). The remaining roughly $35 million ($45 million minus
$10 million for indemnity) was to be used to establish the Agent Orange
Class Assistance Program, which made grants to entities serving Vietnam
veterans and their families. /d. Ultimately, the fund paid out $196.5
million. /d. at 255. Of that amount, $73.2 million was paid to veterans
with injuries on or before May 7, 1984, $52 million was paid to veterans
whose injuries manifested after May 7, 1984, and $71.3 million was
paid to the Class Assistance Program. /d. The $10 million originally set
aside for indemnification was transferred back to the district court and
was paid as part of the $71.3 million distributed by the Class Assistance
Program. /d.

17. The Second Circuit concluded that for purposes of the Agent
Orange litigation, “injury occurs when a deleterious substance enters a
persons body, even through its adverse effects are not immediately
apparent.” /vy/Hartman, 996 F.2d ai 1433-34. Of course, this would
include plaintiffs.

14

Based on subsequent favorable application of the military
contractor defense and the complete paucity of evidence
supporting a causal link between Agent Orange and health
problems, defendants, like the airline in the above hypothetical,
could conceivably challenge the 1984 court-approved
settlement. Legal principals of finality, however, would bar such
a claim. Similarly, plaintiffs’ collateral attack on the 1984
judgment should be rejected to appropriately uphold the
principle of finality that is at the core of all settlements in our
civil justice system. Mutuality, a corollary but no less important
legal principle, mandates that the same rule of finality must
apply to all parties to a class action settlement. Final judgments
approving a class settlement must be given a fair meaning and
be extended to protect those who have settled irrespective of
whether they are a plaintiff or defendant.

Il. The Defendants’ Interest In Finality Outweighs A So-
Called “Absent” Class Member’s Interest In Having
Their Day In Court, And To Undermine Such Finality
Denies Defendants Due Process Of Law, While
Undermining The Usefulness Of Class Action
Settlements In Our Civil Justice System.

In a typical non-class action settlement, a defendant receives
nothing from a plaintiff other than the legal assurance that it
will never again be subject to a claim or a lawsuit for the settled
claims in that case. This is the benefit of the bargain which is

“purchased” by the defendant through an exchange of
consideration, usually a monetary payment. By settling a case,
defendant obtains a shield, which forever protects it from any

attempt by plaintiff to recover damages against the defendant
within the scope of the matters settled.'* Regardless of the terms

18. Defendants, of course are not claiming that a settlement or
judgment is never subject to collateral attack. The exceptions to this
rule, not present here, would include cases where plaintiffs can prove
fraud, misrepresentation, bad faith, duress, undue influence, or
inadequate consideration. The instant case does not >

( ,

15

used to describe this bar, whether it be “res judicata” or
“collateral estoppel”, settlement acts to prohibit future claims
that fall within the scope of the settlement, and is the single
asset taken by a defendant from any settlement. Without the
assurance that the litigation is finally over, a defendant would
never engage in settlement talks, much less agree to pay money
for nothing.

In a class action context, the bar to future claims and
lawsuits is of even greater importance to the defendant. Class
action settlements are many times reached early in litigation in
an effort to resolve the claims and thus often occur without
defendant fully developing liability defenses that might
effectively defeat a plaintiff’s claims. As is the case in any
settlement, but more significantly in settling class action claims,
numerous factors are taken into account, including the current
law on important issues, the facts relevant to liability and
damages, the proclivities of the trial judge and jury pool likely
to decide the controversy, the ability of the opposing counsel,
and a host of other factors, depending upon the circumstances. '®
(Cont'd)
allegations so any issues regarding the standards for collateral attack in

such egregious situations is not before the Court and need not be
addressed.

19. In examining the fairness of the class settlement, Judge
Weinstein considered multiple factors. He considered 14 separate
categories of concerns expressed by class members, ranging from
concerns regarding financial help for those too ill to work to the need to
settle now “to get on with life.” Jn re “Agent Orange” Product Liability
Litigation, 597 F.Supp. 740, 764-72 (E.D.N.Y. 1984). Judge Weinstein
also examined the factual problems with the plaintiffs’ claims, specifically
addressing “evidence of causality,” “Scientific Studies on Casuality”
and “knowledge of government and defendants.” /d. at 799-851.
He examined government action on the issue, before announcing his
approval regarding the fairness of the plan and the “nuts and bolts” of
administering the settlement. /d. at 851-62. Indeed, it is difficult to
imagine a more detailed or thoughtful consideration of fairness issues
under the class action rules in existence at the time of Judge Weinstein’s
decision.

16

Because of the vast number of individual claims by plaintiffs,
defendant generally does not develop case-specific liability and
damage evidence as to each and every individual plaintiff prior
to a class settlement. Such evidence might lower the value or
even eliminate individual plaintiff's claims (particularly in cases
involving personal injury). In the class action context, the best
claims are lumped in with the worst claims, and though there
may be different levels of recovery based on various factors
associated with particular class plaintiffs, all plaintiffs receive
a negotiated “fair share” of the settlement proceeds paid by the
defendant.

Defendants often, as is true here, settle class action cases
because to do ~~ is the most efficient means to deal with the
possibility of hundreds or thousands of lawsuits.” This is true
even when liability is, at best, thin. Without the class settlement
vehicle, such litigation could drain a corporation of significant
financial resources, the vast majority of which would otherwise
be paid in legal fees to defend multiple cases or paid in verdicts
to a few plaintiffs in certain plaintiff-friendly venues. In reaching
a class settlement, a defendant sometimes pays a premium that
would not be justifiable based on an individual case evaluation,
but it does so because it receives, in return, the assurance that it
will never be haled into court for the wrongs covered within the
scope of the settlement. Furthermore, plaintiffs are not
discriminated against based on factors beyond their control, such
as the venue where their individual claim must be pursued.

The nature of mass tort class actions such as this one
amplifies not only the public policies that require finality in
litigation but also the potential for abuse of the broad new avenue
for collateral attack established by the Second Circuit. As one

20. Approximately 123,531 potential class members, including
Vietnam veterans, were sent notices of the Agent Orange class settlement.
In re: Agent Orange, 818 F.2d at 167-68. This notice, in addition to
media coverage and other notice required by the Court, resulted in an
estimated 240,000 claims by 1987. /d.

17

commentator who has studied mass tort class action settlements,
such as the Dalkon Shield IUD litigation, observed:

Mass personal injury litigation also appears to
stimulate a higher rate of claiming than is associated
with ordinary personal injuries. . . . The precise rate
of claiming in mass torts is indeterminate because
no databases record the number of people who have
used the products involved in the various litigations
and who have been injured. In response to notices
of the pendency of Dalkon Shield manufacturer A.H.
Robins’ bankruptcy, 327,064 plaintiffs filed claims.

The court determined that 197,000 plaintiffs
demonstrated sufficient evidence of using the Dalkon
Shield to merit payment. These numbers represent
13% and 8% respectively of the 2.5 million IUD
users in the United States, of whom an unknown
but smaller number were actually injured by the
Dalkon Shield. Of the 180,000 people reportedly
affected by salmonella-contaminated dairy products
marketed by Jewel Food Stores, 30,000 — about
17% — filed claims against Jewel Food. These
numbers suggest that claiming rates may be at least
two to three times higher than for product-related
injuries generally. Whatever the overall rate of
claiming, the history of mass torts has shown that
publicizing the possible link between product use
and injuries and the availability of legal remedies
— whether through mass media coverage, lawyer
advertising, or court-ordered notices — results in
a large increase in the number of claims that are
filed... .
Deborah R. Hensler, A Glass Half Full, A Glass Half Empty:
The Use of Alternative Dispute Resolution in Mass Personal
Injury Litigation, 73 Tex. L. Rev. 1587, 1598-99 (1995). In
this case, all who were exposed to Agent Orange, including
plaintiffs, had a right to benefits under the class settlement. Like

18

the other mass tort actions cited in the previous example, this
one was highly publicized. The “numerositvy, commonality,
interdependence of case values, scientific controversy, heated
emotional atmosphere, and increased propensity to claim,” not
only increased defendants’ exposure to liability but also
increased all potential plaintiffs’ opportunities to participate,
make their claims known and receive benefits. Hensler, supra,
at 1600. .

Currently, parties must meet the Amchem and Ortiz
requirements in order for a class settlement to be approved by
the court under the present interpretation of Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 23. Prior to the Amchem decision, individual
courts crafted divergent standards in their interpretation of
federal class action rules, but most often, the individual class
action settlements were approved by the district courts and
subject to direct appeal, just as this instant case was appealed
twice to the Second Circuit.

The Second Circuit’s decision in this case goes far beyond
any constitutional or statutorily required approach. Likewise, it
goes far beyond holdings involving class action law under Rule
23 as promulgated by this Court.”' The Second Circuit's ruling
essentially nullifies the only benefit a defendant receives in a
class action settlement, the benefit of finality. By effectively
taking from defendants this single but significant benefit, the
Second Circuit ignores not only the precedent of this Court, but
also ignores the critical importance of finality to the fair and
efficient administration of our civil justice system.

Finality, indeed, is a bedrock principle in our civil justice
system, and the principle is “administered” by the courts through
the doctrine of “res judicata”. See, e.g., Southern Pac. R. Co.
v. United States, 168 U.S. 1, 49 (1897). When parties settle a
class action or a judgment is rendered in a class action, the

21. It is assumed without any discussion in the Second Circuit’s
opinion below that Amchem and Ortiz are to be given retroactive effect.
Not a single word in either of these decisions supports such an
application.

19

Court’s determination normally binds absent class members.
See Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 812 (1984).
“As a judgment, the settlement and release of claims is a contract
that not only is agreed upon by the parties, but also is stamped
with the imprimatur of the court with jurisdiction over the parties
and the subject matter of the lawsuit.” C.L. Grimes, 17 F.3d at
1557. The best approach for the efficient administration of justice
is to hold that the question of adequacy of representation in a
settled class action cannot be reopened via a subsequent
collateral attack. See Epstein v. MCA, 179 F.3d 641 (9th Cir.)
cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1004 (1999). If an “absent class member”
wishes to challenge a class action settlement, they should either
opt out, object to certification or object to the settlement in the
trial court. /d. Where the claims asserted fall within a court-
approved settlement agreement and release, that judgment and
contract precludes collateral claims by any class member, even
if they object to the settlement, if the court employed “acceptable
procedural safeguards,” which include notice of the class action
plus an opportunity to be heard and participate. CL. Grimes,
17 F.3d at 1557, 1560-61, citing Nottingham Partners v. Trans-
Lux Corp., 925 F.2d 26, 32-33 (1st Cir. 1991).
Here, the court ordered extensive dissemination of notice
by plaintiffs’ counsel. ” Plaintiffs did not object to the class

22. The following excerpt from the Second Circuit’s opinion
upholding the class settlement describes the notice ordered by the Court:
(1) Written notice was to be mailed to (a) all persons who had filed
actions in the federal district courts, or had filed actions in state courts
later removed to federal court, that were pending in or transferred to the
Eastern District; (b) all persons who had intervened or sought to do so;
(c) each class member then represented by counsel associated with the
PMC who had not yet commenced an action or sought to intervene;
(d) all persons then listed on the United States Government’s Veterans’
Administration “Agent Orange Registry”; (2) Announcements were to
be sent to the major radio and television networks, and to radio stations
with a combined coverage of at least one half of the audience in each of
the top 100 radio markets; (3) Notice was to be published in certain

(Cont'd)

20

settlement, nor did they opt out, and cannot now be heard to
complain. Respondents’ effort to spin-doctor their status in the case
below as “absent” class members is telling indeed. If they were not
members of the class bound by the settlement, there would be no
need to challenge the class settlement at all. Since they were to be
bound by the terms of the class settlement, they were accorded the
same rights to object or opt out as any other members of the class.”
See Fed. R. Civ. P. 23. Whether the decision not to opt out or object
was aconscious one or whether the result of inadvertence, the result
is the same.

In looking at “preclusion rules”, (claim and issue preclusion),
their “classic” role in the legal system is to “bring litigation to a
close.” Bruce L. Hay, Some Settlement Effects of Preclusion, 1993
U. Iw. L. Rev. 21. This “spare{s] both victorious parties and the
courts that burden of repeatedly litigating matters already decided.” /d.
The “classic role”, however, is not the only important role of issue
preclusion. As professor Hay points out, “by limiting in advance
the number of times a claim can be litigated, preclusion rules
determine a claim’s expected value in court to each party.” Jd.

(Cont'd)

leading national newspapers and magazines, in servicepersons’
publications, and in newspapers in Australia and New Zealand;
(4) A toll-free “800” telephone number was to be obtained and staffed
by persons who would provide callers with basic information about the
litigation; (5) Notice was to be sent to each state governor requesting
that he or she refer the notice to any state agency dealing with the
problems of Vietnam veterans. The notice sent to individual veterans
_. . informed potential class members of the pendency of the class action
and their right to opt out of the Rule 23(b)(3) class. The notice made
clear that exclusion could be effectuated only by written request, and an
“Exclusion Request Form” was attached to the notice for convenience.
In re Agent Orange Product Liability Litigation MDL No. 381,818 F.2d
155 (2d Cir. 1987).

23. If this were not a settlement class, but either a class certified
for trial and tried to a defense verdict or had the trial court on motion for
summary judgment entered judgment for all defendants, all class
members including these plaintiffs, would be bound. Rule 23
contemplates they would be, because if not the rule would be useless.

21

In other words, if there were no preclusion rules, other factors,
such as the relative wealth of the parties and/or their desire for
repeated litigation would improperly skew the settlement value of
lawsuits. Instead of the merits of the case determining the factors
to consider for settlement, the spectre of re-litigation would force
the party who was less able to wage war in the courts to give up a
substantial amount of “value” during settlement negotiations.”

By stripping the mantle of finality from the Agent Orange
settlement, the Second Circuit not only imperils closed cases,
but also negatively impacts the ability of parties to settle future
class action lawsuits based on the merits. The lurking possibility
of a collateral attack poisons the well of settlement talks by
eliminating a defendant’s ability to call any settlement “final.”

“Finality” is also enshrined in our jurisprudence in the area
of statutes of limitation. This Court has correctly characterized
the public policy behind such statutes, stating “[t]he statute of
limitations establishes a deadline after which the defendant may
legitimately have peace of mind; it also recognizes that after a
certain period of time it is unfair to require the defendant to
attempt to piece together his defense to an old claim.” See Walker
v. Armco Steel Corp, 446 U.S. 740, 751 (1980); see also
Schiavone v. Fortune, 477 U.S. 21, 31 (1986) (“Of course, there
is an element of arbitrariness here, but that is a characteristic of
any limitations period. And it is an arbitrariness imposed by the
legislature and not by the judicial process.”)*

24. The author does not believe that the abolition or weakening of
claim preclusion would end the settlement of cases, as he is of the opinion
parties would rationally sign agreements that would limit re-litigation.
Professor Hay believes that the “main effect” of preclusion lies beyond
the notion of bringing “finality” to proceedings Jd. at 24. Rather, the
preclusion rules prevent a party from “extract[ing] from her opponent a
settlement unrelated to the merits of a dispute.” Jd. at 32.

25. For example, the statutes of limitations for personal injury
actions vary widely from state to state, Fla. St. § 93.11(3) (four-year
statute of limitations); Cal. Code Civ. Proc. § 340(3) (one-year statute
of limitations, recently changed to a two-year statute by S.B. No. 688
(1)); Mo. Rev. Stat. § 516.120 (five-year statute of limitations).

22

In its analysis below, the Second Circuit, with the hindsight
easily developed decades after an event decided that a ten-year
window was not enough. Apparently, it believes that the district
court got it wrong by not providing for a longer latency period.
Interestingly, the Second Circuit has concluded that the trial
court got it wrong, but it is just as likely the trial court got it
right. For example, it may be that (a) there is indisputable
medical evidence of alternate causation for the injuries about
which plaintiffs Stephenson and Isaacson now complain, and
(b) that it is scientifically certain no one after 1994 could have
a medical condition caused by Agent Orange. The broad-based
right to collaterally attack a class action settlement envisioned
by the Second Circuit exists irrespective of whether there is
any interest to protect at all. In other words, even if Judge
Weinstein was right, not only on the law but on the science, the
collateral attack as embodied in the opinion below is still
available.

The opinion of the Second Circuit suggest that the strength
of or merits of plaintiffs’ claims in no way impact the issues of
adequacy of representation and thus the right to pursue a
collateral attack.”°

It is inconceivable that is true. Rather it is unquestionable
that adequacy of representation is inextricably intertwined with
whether the settlement was fair and adequate, which directly
implicates the strength and merits of the class members claims.
Here, the trial court analyzed the potential impact of various
liability issues such as the government contractor defense and
the strength or weakness of the science surrounding the class
claims. It is more than conceivable that petitioners paid nearly
two hundred million dollars to settle meritless claims which
had they been fully defended would have resulted in these
plaintiffs and other class members receiving nothing. When class
members, including plaintiffs, receive benefits under a

26. See n.8.

23

settlement which probably would not have been available if a
decision on the merits had been reached, it is counter-intuitive
to conclude they were not adequately represented.

The doctrine of finality dovetails seamlessly with the class
action device, which is intended to determine the rights of
multiple individuals with respect to similar claims against a
defendant, by using an efficient system designed for such
purpose. Permitting virtually unlimited collateral attacks,
such as the one in this case, seriously “undermine[s]” the very
efficiencies sought to be achieved by the class action
mechanism.” Marcel Kahan & Linda Siberman, The Inadequate
Search for “Adequacy” in Class Actions: A Critique of Epstein
v. MCA, Inc., 73 N.Y.U.L.Rev. 765 (1998). Indeed, one
commentator goes so far as to state that “all class action
settlements however generous to the class, however competently
litigated and however much the product of adversarial, arm’s
length negotiations between the parties, would be open to
collateral attack in a subsequent forum.” Geoffrey P. Miller,
Full Faith & Credit to Settlements in Overlapping Class Actions:
A Reply to Professors Kahan and Silverman, 73 N.Y.U.L.REv.
1167, 1189 (1998). For countless legal policy and practical
reasons, the Second Circuit’s ruling must not be the law.

Ill. The Second Circuit’s Attempt To Retroactively Apply
Current Legal Standards And Factual Realities, In
Hindsight, To The Agent Orange Decision Flies In The
Face Of This Court’s Limits On Retroactive Application
Of The Law And Further Erodes The Bedrock Principle
Of Finality, Upon Which All Settlements Are Built.
Whether these two plaintiffs were “adequately represented”

in the class action litigation and global settlement approval, to

which they were parties under the class definition, is an issue
that goes directly to the merits of the 1983 class certification,
the 1984 fairness hearing and the 1987 affirmation of both on

24

appeal.”’ Rather than viewing plaintiffs’ representation in context
of 1984 class action law, the Second Circuit has retroactively,
and thus impermissibly, applied the Amchem and Ortiz decisions
to support its conclusion that plaintiffs may collaterally attack
the class settlement because they claim they were not adequately
represented back in 1983, 1984 and 1987. See Stephenson, 273
F.3d at 251. (“This appeal requires us to determine the effect of
the Supreme Court’s londmark class action decisions in Amchem
...and Ortiz... ,on a previously settled class action concerning
exposure to Agent Orange during the Vietnam War.”).
Amchem and Ortiz are seminal opinions carefully
delineating the criteria courts must consider and follow when
evaluating any class settlement under Rule 23, Fed. R. Civ. P.
The Amchem holding of this Court was improperly applied
retroactively herein below, because
when this Court applies a rule of federal law to the
parties before it, that rule is the controlling
interpretation of federal law and must be given full
retroactive effect in all cases still open on direct
review and as to all events, regardless of whether
such events predate or postdate our announcement
of the rule.

27. If the Second Circuit is right, that plaintiffs here can escape
the res judicata effect of the settlement and judgment of the trial court,
the result will be catastrophic for the defendants. According to the Second
Circuit, Plaintiffs were not adequately represented below because of
the inherent conflict arising between those who have current injuries,
those whose injuries would become manifest after the settlement but
before December 31, 1994 and those whose injuries were recognized
only after that date. If so, then all parties to the settlement could
collaterally attack it because none of these groups or subclasses, nor
any others that could be dreamed up, were adequately represented since
counsel had divided loyalties as between and among each. Thus, any
member of the class, whichever group or subclass they find themselves
in has the same right to collaterally attack the judgment and seek
additional compensation or other relief based upon the allegation of
inadequate representation.

25

Harper v. Virginia Dept. of Taxation, 509 U.S. 86, 96 (1993)
(emphasis added). Accordingly, the Second Circuit’s retroactive
application of Amchem and Ortiz to sanction this attempted
collateral attack contradicts clear, longstanding and well

reasoned precedent to the contrary.
An example of the appropriate limits of retroactivity can

be found from application of the now well recognized Miranda

warnings. This Court did not retroactively apply Miranda v.
Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) to release every convicted criminal
who was not “read their rights” in each case finalized prior to
Miranda. See Johnson v. New Jersey, 384 U.S. 719, 921 (1966)
(holding that Miranda was to be applied prospectively only).”*
Similarly, Amchem should not be applied retroactively to the
instant case. To do so would open every previously settled class
action to such a collateral attack. Moreover and just as
importantly, purported compliance with Amchem and Ortiz
offers no safe haven from the type of collateral attack permitted
by the Second Circuit’s ruling. As here, a plaintiff simply need
allege that they were not adequately represented, despite any
and all attempts by the trial court to strictly comply with the
holdings in Amchem and Ortiz. Allowing such collateral attacks
is antithetical to the universally recognized legal policies of
certainty, mutuality and finality which are essential to the proper
functioning and preservation of our civil justice system.
Morc»ver, there are other compelling legal, equitable and
public policy reasons why new legal principles should not apply
retroactively in any effort to support a collateral attack on a

28. This Court stated in Johnson that “[r)etroactive application of
... Miranda would seriously disrupt the administration of our criminal
laws. It would require the retrial or release of numerous prisoners found
guilty by trustworthy evidence in conformity with previously announced
constitutional standards.” Johnson, 384 U.S. at 731. Similarly, in the
instant case, retroactive application of Amchem and Ortiz would disrupt
(ce oP ho yap eget

and judgments that were finalized in accordance with due process
requirements in existence at the time.

26

class settlement entered into and approved more than a decade
earlier. It is fundamentally unfair to settling defendants and the
rest of the class and an affront to judicial economy to permit
plaintiffs, who fall within a class bound by a court-approved
settlement in a case finally 2: posed of and well after the time
for direct appeal, to laurel. a collateral attack based on
subsequent decisional law. As held by this Court for good reason,
“[n]jew legal principles, even when applied retroactively, do not
apply to cases already closed.” Reynoldsville Casket Co. v. Hyde,
514 U.S. 749, 758 (1995). Here, the situation is not at all fairly
comparabie to that which exists when the law changes while a
case is still pending. See Harper, 509 U.S. at 96-98.
Constitutional and policy concerns that compel a presumption
of retroactivity in pending cases, such as “the prohibition of
selective temporal barriers,” are nowhere present here.
See Harper, 509 U.S. at 97. The chief concern is that parties
who are able to negotiate and craft a mutually agreeable
settlement have sufficient confidence that it will remain

The Second Circuit’s analysis, as noted, widely opens the
door to collateral attack by class members. Not only does it
apply in this case, and other cases that went to final judgment
well before Amchem and Ortiz, but the Second Circuit’s open-
door policy on collateral attack would apply equally to future

29. Predictability is critical when the business and legal realms collide.
The parties and the court in the Agent Orange settlement did everything by
the book and in fact and in part wrote the book, which others have since
read and followed. The parties and court had a right to rely on the current
status of the law which they did. No one could have predicted in 1984 or
1994 that the Second Circuit would say now that the trial court did it
wrong. Especially after twice saying it did it right. To allow retroactive
application of Amchen and Ortiz to this class action settlement, as well
as all others previously finalized, will have a chilling effect on litigants’
ability and willingness to make critical decisions in litigation, including
those involving settlement in reliance on current law. They will never
know when they might be whipsawed by newly crafted legal opinions,
losing the benefits they bargained for under current law.

27

actions. The Court’s holding will potentially impact hundreds
of thousands of plaintiffs and those defendants who have entered
into court-approved settlements with them, as is illustrated by a
brief review of some relevant statistics on class action filings
and settlements. For example, between 1973 and 1996 (before
Amchem and Ortiz), the average number of class actions filed
annually in federal courts was approximately 1,568.” Federal
Judiciary Center researchers have determined that, in four federal
district courts, 62% to 100% of certified class actions have
settled. See Federal Jurisdiction & Procedure, 116 Harv.L. Rev.
332 (Nov. 2002), citing, Thomas E. Willging, Laura L. Hooper
& Robert J. Niemic, An Empirical Study of Class Actions in
Four Federal District Courts: Final Report to the Advisory
Committee on Civil Rules 60 (1996), available at http://
www.fjc.gov. The large percent resolved by settlement is
consistent with the federal court policies of encouraging
settlement and minimizing protracted, expensive litigation.
To allow courts to apply new legal principles retroactively to
class actions settled long ago would thwart these policies.
Defendants nationwide, like petitioners here, have
justifiably relied on court-approved class settlements based on
the law and facts, known or knowable, when they agreed to
settle and the court rendered its decision. Petitioners, like other
class-action defendants, have spent hundreds of millions of
dollars in reliance on the trial court’s decision that, based on
the applicable legal principles, the settlement was consistent
with Rule 23 (as it was interpreted at the time of the class
determination) which would preclude further expensive and
time-consuming litigation. Petitioners here had no reason to
believe that the district court’s decision to approve the class
settlement was potentially incorrect or could not be fully relied
upon as to its finality. In fact, it was not at the time incorrect nor
should it be subject to collateral attack long after it became final.
30. See Class Action Reports Inc., Statistics tbl.2. at http://

www.classactionreports/stats2.htm (reporting federal class actions filed
through 2001) (last visited Dec. 11, 2002).

28

Petitioners expended a substantial amount of money based on
these understandings and they should not be forced to relitigate
the same claims based on new law or alleged facts that did not
exist at the time.

As the number of class actions filed (pending) in federal

courts has risen from 1,356 in 1996 to 3,092 in 2001, it becomes
even more imperative that current and future defendants who
pay substantial or potentially bankrupting amounts of money to
settle class claims have confidence that their court-approved
settlement will not be subject to collateral attack based on law
made long after the case has closed. See Class Action Reports
Inc., supra, Statistics tbl.2. Furthermore, the Second Circuit’s
willingness to apply the Amchem and Ortiz analyses to determine
the adequacy of representation in this case can only encourage
plaintiffs and lawyers, who in hindsight feel “left out,” “unfairly
compensated,” or now wish they had objected, to pursue a
judicially approved but potentially disastrous second chance to
challenge this and virtually every other significant class
settlement. The level of uncertainty created by the retroactive
application of new legal principles after the time for direct review
has passed places an undue hardship on all who have invested
substantial time, resources and money in multi-million and
multi-billion dollar settlements, including the courts who have
shepherded such class actions through various phases to ultimate
resolution. Imagine the chaos that surely would ensue if all class
action settlements — past, present or future — were subject to
such unlimited collateral attack, as the following nine random
examples demonstrate:
* Cendant Securities Litigation: $3.525 billion recent settlement
with plaintiffs who alleged that Cendant, its predecessor
corporation and three of its officers violated the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934 by publishing false and misleading financial
statements.”

31. Stanford Law School Securities Class Action Clearinghouse,
at http//secutrities.standord.edu/1002/CD98/ (reporting securities class
action settlements) (last visited Dec. 18, 2002).

29

* Chrysler Minivan Litigation: $120,000,000 {1995 dollars)
settlement with approximately 3.3 million plaintiffs who alleged
that Chrysler minivans manufactured between 1984 and 1995 have
defective rear hatch door locks.”

* Bjork-Shiley Convexco-Concave Heart Valve Litigation:
Estimated $215 million (1992 dollars) settlement with 51,000
plaintiffs who alleged that Pfizer, Inc. knew that heart valves sold
between 1979 and 1986 could fracture and possibly cause death.*’
* EEOC v. Western Electric: $66 million (1991 dollars) settlement
with more than 13,000 plaintiffs who alleged that AT&T denied
gre Deoran maar naaponee 1965 and 1977."

* Albuterol Ltigiation: $150 million (1995 doilars) settlement with
approximately 12,000 plaintiffs after Copley Pharmaceutical
announced that its asthma spray was contaminated with bacteria.**
* Airline Ticket Price Fixing: $458 million (1993 dollars) settlement
by seven major airlines with plaintiffs who alleged that these airlines
conspired to artificially inflate domestic airline ticket prices.”

* Haynes v. Shoney $ Inc.: $105 million (1993 dollars) settlement
with more than 50,000 plaintiffs who alleged Shoney’s
discriminated against them based on race.*’

* Lucent Technologies Phone Leasing Litigation: Approximately
$300 million settlement with plaintiffs who alleged that they paid

32. See Vincent, Bruce, Suit Claims Chrysler Hid Latch
Defect, Tex. Law., Dec. 18, 1995, at 2; Big Class Action, at Attp://
www. bigclassaction.com/settlements/automotive.html (reporting class
action settlements and verdicts) (last visited Dec. 18, 2002).

33. Heart Valve Maker Settles Suit, Cui. Dany L. But., Aug. 20,
1992, at 1.

34. Settlements, Awards, Nat’. L.J., July 29, 1991, at 6, col. 3.

35. Asthma Spray Settlement Approved, Nov. 27, 1995, available
in 1995 WL 4415241.

36. Big Class Action, at http://www.bigclassaction.com/
settlements/travel. html (reporting class action settlements and verdicts)
(last visited Dec. 18, 2002).

37. Judge Oks Race Bias Pact, Nat’. L.J., Feb. 8, 1993, at 21,
col.1.

30

“unconscionably high rental charges” to AT&T and Lucent for
residential phones.”*

¢ Pondimin and Redux Litigation: Estimated $13,200,000,000
settlement by Wyeth with approximately 370,000 plaintiffs who
took the prescription diet drugs Pondimin and Redux.”

The view of retroactivity embraced by the Second Circuit
discounts both the procedural and substantive care surrounding
this settlement and defendants’ judicially mandated right to peace.
The uncertainty created by the possibility of collateral attack after
settlement is only compounded and complicated by a rule that
encourages that new decisional law be applied retroactively.
Complete consideration of the facts, circumstances and public
policies implicated by this attempted collateral attack leads to the
conclusion that it is manifestly unfair and unjust to deprive
defendants of finality in this respect. It is similarly unjust to subject
every other defendant who has, or may in the future, enter into
court-approved class settlements to similar collateral attacks, after
a decision that is otherwise final. Defendants in class actions who
compensate the class(es) through a settlement must be able to rest
assured that the court’s and the parties’ legal assessment of the
settlement’s legitimacy will not be nullified based on subsequent
changes in the law. At some point, “final” must mean final; in this
case, that time is here and now.

Critical legal principles which have served our justice system
well require that it be made crystal clear to all that the unlimited
collateral attack on class action settlements encouraged and
authorized by the Second Circuit’s opinion is not the law.

38. Big Class Action, at http://www.bigclassaction.com/
settlements/consumer.html (reporting class action settlements and
verdicts) (last visited Dec. 18, 2002).

39. Big Class Action, at hitp://www.bigclassaction.com/
settlements/pharmaceutical.html (reporting class action settlements and
verdicts) (last visited Dec. 18, 2002).

wey

Respectfully submitted,

Patrick LySAUGHT

Counsel of Record

Paut S. PENnTICUFF

ELizABeTH S. RAINES

BAKER STERCH! COWDEN

& Rice LLC

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Crown Center

2400 Pershing Road, Suite 500
Kansas City, MO 64108-2504
(816) 471-2121

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0593%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
