# Amicus Curiae Brief — Grutter v. Bollinger

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0591%3A029

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 306

## Text

(a!) (8)

Nos. 02-241 and 02-516

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

Supreme Court of the Unitdwstatesic ren

BARBARA GRUTTER,
Petitioner,

V.

LEE BOLLINGER, JEFFREY LEHMAN, DENNIS SHIELDS, and the
BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN,
Respondents,

JENNIFER GRATZ and PATRICK HAMACHER,
Petitioners,
Vv.

LEE BOLLINGER, JAMES J. DUDERSTADT, and the BOARD OF

REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN,
Respondents,

On Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE ASIAN AMERICAN LEGAL
FOUNDATION AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

ANTHONY K. LEE DANIEL C. GIRARD

580 California Street, 16th Floor GORDON M. FAUTH, JR.

San Francisco, California 94104 Counsel of Record

(415) 439-4862 GIRARD GIBBS &

DE BARTOLOMEO LLP

601 California Street, Suite 1400
San Francisco, California 94108
(415) 981-4800

Counsel for Amicus Curiae The Asian American Legal Foundation

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

51

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..............cccccececocecesescsessseees iii
STATEMENT OF INTEREST ................ccccceceseccececsesess l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .............cccccccesesceceseseeeee, 3
POET siribicieridiiadieaivimasitiiniienasaielatiia tial ass 8

I. USE OF RACE 1S “ODIOUS” AND
SHOULD BE RESERVED FOR SITUA-
TIONS WHERE IT WILL VINDICATE
RATHER THAN TRAMMEL THE RIGHTS
OUI pciinitithtnicninteriatinteiirssimpmriaiys 8

A. A Decision Elevating Diversity To A
Compelling State Interest Would Likely
Result In Renewed Discrimination Against
San Francisco’s Chinese American School-
TN seciteciiacetineaiiinininii Diced iia iia 8

B. The Experiences Of The Named Plaintiffs
And Class In Ho Demonstrate That Man-
dated Diversity Harms Individuals, Even
Members Of Groups That Have Histor-
ically Suffered Discrimination..................... 11

C. Settlement Was Reached In Ho Only
Because The Law Was Clear That The
Goal Of Diversity Would Not Justify The
School District’s Use Of Race ..................0.. 14

D. The Historical Treatment Of Chinese
Americans Amply Illustrates The Wrong

bers Of Racial Group6...............:.csesssseseseseee 15

(i)

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

E. Placing Priority On Group Identity
Inevitably Results In The Trammeling Of
Individual Rights..............ssssseeereeneeneennes

F. A Pedagogical Desire For Diversity Can-
not Rise Above The Constitution’s Guar-
antee Of Equal Protection To Individuals...

G. The Result In Bakke Does Not Support
The Non-Remedial Use of Race ..............00+

Il. AS THERE IS NO OBJECTIVE STANDARD
BY WHICH RACIAL DIVERSITY MAY BE
MEASURED OR LIMITED IN SCOPE OR
TIME, THE UNIVERSITY’S ADMISSIONS
PROGRAMS CANNOT BE NARROWLY
TAILORED TO ADVANCE A COM-
PELLING STATE INTEREST.............0000seesesee0s

A. The University’s Lack Of An Objective
Standard For “Racial Diversity” Renders
Its Use Of Race Capricious..............eeeesees

B. Lacking Any Attainable Goals Or Tem-
poral Limits, The University’s Admissions
Programs Would Classify Students By

C. The University Failed To Consider And
Use Race-Neutral Means To Achieve
Diversity, Preferring The Impermissible

18

21

23

25

25

27

28

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S.
EE 6, 7, 20, 21, 24, 26, 27
Brown v. Bd. of Educ., 347 U.S. 483 (1954).......... 17, 20
Gong Lum v. Rice, 275 U.S. 78 (1927) ...ccccccccccceees 16

Gratz v. Bollinger, 122 F. Supp. 2d 811, 820, 825
SS EE Sree ene 22, 25

Grutter v. Bollinger, 288 F.3d 732, 749-52
ee 7, 17, 22, 25-27

Ho Ah Kow v. Nunan, 12 F. Cas. 252 (C.C.D.
EE 15

Ho v. San Francisco Unified Sch. Dist., San
Francisco NAACP v. San Francisco Unified
Sch. Dist., 59 F. Supp. 2d 1021 (N.D. Cal.

Sean liibicncenenesreitniienrateiiinptianssnaauiaiaetineaes 1, 4, 9, 13-16
Ho v. San Francisco Unified Sch. Dist., 147 F.3d

854, 864 (N.D. Cal. 1998)... 1, 3, 4, 9-13, 16
Ho v. San Francisco Unified Sch. Dist., 965 F.

SE 9, 10
In re Ah Chong, 2 F. 733 (C.C.D. Cal. 1880)........ 15
In re Lee Sing, 43 F. 359 (C.C.D. Cal. 1890)........ 16
In re Tiburcio Parrott, 1 F. 481 (C.C.D. Cal.

EL a 15
Lee v. Johnson, 404 U.S. 1215 (1971) coccccccccccccccees 17
Metro Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC, 497 U.S. 547

EE 2,21, 24
New York City Transit Auth. v. Beazer, 440 U.S.

8 TE ae 23

Northeastern Fla. Ch. of Assoc. Gen. Contrac-

tors of America v. City of Jacksonville, 508
8 eee 23

Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896) ...........-. 16

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke, 438 U.S.

a 22, 23
Richmond v. Croson, 488 U.S. 469, 493

I ———_——__—_—_———_——————————— 6, 8, 20, 24-27
San Francisco NAACP v. San Franeisco Unified

Sch. Dist., “? F. Supp. 34 (N.D. Cal. 1983)..... 9, 10
Shaw v. Reno, 509 U.S. 630, 643 (1993) ..........-+. 8, 26, 28
Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1, 22 (1948).......... 6, 21, 22
Tape v. Hurley, 66 Cal. 473, 6 P. 12 (1885).......... 4, 16
Unified States v. Wong Kim Ark, 169 U.S. 649

| 16

Wygant v. Jackson Bd. of Educ., 476 U.S. 267,
ee 24, 26
Vick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886) ...cscc-.. 15,17

OTHER AUTHORITIES

James E. Bowman, Anthropology: From Bones
to the Human Genome, 568 Annals Am. Acad.
Pol. & Soc. Sci., 140, 141 (March 2000 ............ 25
Lee Cheng, Group Preferences and the Law,
U.S. House of Representatives Sub-Committee
on the Constitution Hearings (June 1, 1995), at
http://www. house. gov/judiciary/274.him. .......... 11
Pat K. Chew, Asian Americans: The “Reticent”
Minority And Their Paradoxes, 36 Wm. &
Mary L. Rev. 1, 28-31 (Oct. 1994) ...........csesees 19, 20
Alan M. Dershowitz and Laura Hanft,
Affirmative Action and the Harvard College
Diversity-Discretion Model: Paradigm or
Pretext, 1 Cardozo L. Rev. 379, 385-399

v
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Selana Dong, “Too Many Asians”: Challenge of
Fighting Discrimination Against Asian-
Americans and Preserving Affirmative Action,

47 Stan. L. Rev. 1027, 1057 n.36 (May 1995)... 19, 23

Michael Dorgan, Desegregation or Racial Bias?,

San Jose Mercury, June 5, 1995, at 1A.............. 12

Nathan Glazer, Diversity Dilemma, The New
Republic, June 22, 1998, at http://www.tnr.
com/archive/0698/062298/glazer062298.htm! ... 18

Julian Guthrie, S.F. School Race-Bias Case Trial
Starts Soon, San Francisco Examiner, Feb. 14,

Jerry Kang, Negative Action Against Asian
Americans: The Internal Instability Of
Dworkin’s Defense Of Affirmative Action,
31 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 1, 36 (Winter

Joyce Kuo, Excluded, Segregated and Forgotten:
A Historical View of the Discrimination of
Chinese Americans in Public Schools, 5 Asian
L.J. 181, 207-208 (May 1998) .000.......cccccccceceeee 4
David I. Levine, The Chinese American
Challenge to Court-Mandated Quotas in San
Francisco's Public Schools: Notes from a
(Partisan) Participant-Observer, 16 Harv.

Blackletter L.J. 39, 54 (Spring 2000)................. 4
Victor Low, The Unimpressible Race (East/West
Ee 4
Charles McClain, Jn Search of Equality (Univ. of
8 ES 4
Leo Rennert, President Embraces Minority
Programs, Sacramento Bee (Metro Final),
NF a er 19

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Elmer Clarence Sandmeyer, The Anti-Chinese
Movement in California (Univ. of Ill. Press
|, |

Evan P. Schultz, Group Rights, American Jews,
and the Failure of Group Libel Laws,
66 Brook. L. Rev. 71, 111-12 (Spring 2000).....

Lawrence Siskind, Racial Quotas Didn't Work in
SF Schools, op-ed, San Francisco Examiner,

Reflections on The Shape of the River, 46
UCLA L. Rev. 1583, 1608 (June 1999).............

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Nos. 02-241 and 02-516

BARBARA GRUTTER,
Petitioner,
Vv.
LEE BOLLINGER, JEFFREY LEHMAN, DENNIS SHIELDS, and the
BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN,

Respondents,

JENNIFER GRATZ and PATRICK HAMACHER,
Petitioners,

Vv.

Lee BOLLINGER, JAMES J. DUDERSTADT, and the BOARD OF
REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN,

Respondents,

On Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE ASIAN AMERICAN LEGAL
FOUNDATION AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

The Asian American Legal Foundation (“AALF”), based in
San Francisco, California, was founded to protect and
promote the civil rights of Asian Americans.' Americans of

' Letters of consent by all parties to the filing of this brief have been filed
with the Clerk. No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in
part, and no person or entity, other than Amicus Curiae, its members, or
its counsel, made a monetary contribution to the — or
submission of the brief.

2

Asian origin have a particular interest in the law governing
the use by public officials of race and ethnicity in admissions
to state-supported academic institutions. Despite the fact that
Asian Americans are considered culturally “different” from
other Americans and have historically experienced—and
continue to experience—overt racial and ethnic prejudice,
diversity-based admission schemes are almost always used to
exclude Asian Americans from educational institutions.

Diversity has been invoked as a justification for infringing
upon the constitutional rights of San Francisco’s Chinese
American children. In Ho v. San Francisco Unified School
District, 147 F.3d 854, 864 (N.D. Cal. 1998), schoolchildren
of Chinese descent sued to end a consent decree that
mandated racial and ethnic admissions quotas to achieve
diversity. In Ho, after five years of litigation, and after the
court found that the defendants had almost no chance of
demonstrating a remedial purpose for their race-conscious
admissions scheme, rather than face trial, the San Francisco
Unified School District and the San Francisco NAACP
abandoned the defense of the racial classification scheme and
agreed to modify the consent decree that required the
assignment of students to schools based on race. See Ho v.
San Francisco Unified Sch. Dist., San Francisco NAACP v.
San Francisco Unified Sch. Dist., 59 F. Supp. 2d 1021 (N.D.
Cal. 1999). AALF members supported the Ho litigation from
the outset.

AALF is deeply concerned about the issues presently
before this Court in Gratz v. Bollinger, No. 02-516, and
Grutter v. Bollinger, No. 02-241. By granting preferences to
applicants from certain ethnic groups, the admissions pro-
grams of the University of Michigan college and law school
(together, the “University”) place racial barriers before
are unjustified by any remedial purpose. With the University
unable to articulate any such remedial purpose, its ability to
use race in admissions stands or falls on whether creation of

3

an ethnically diverse student body is a compelling govern-
ment interest. A decision by this Court that diversity is a
compelling government interest will have implications far
beyond this case, however. Among other things, such a
decision would strongly encourage the San Francisco Unified
School District to return to a system of race-based assign-
ments, which the plaintiffs in Ho fought so long to end.

If this Court rules that race-conscious treatment can be
justified by the goal of diversity, the San Francisco school
district will likely reimpose its racial quotas. Moreover, upon
graduation from high school, members of the Ho plaintiff
class will face a proliferation of similar barriers as they apply
to college and, later, graduate and professional schools. Not
that any person should be disfavored because of his or her
race, but it would be ironic indeed were Chinese Americans
to find themselves classified as a “non-preferred” ethnicity in
the 21st century, when a dominant theme of their history in
this country has been one of de jure discrimination.

Amicus curiae AALF submits that the examples of both
this history and the Ho case caution against allowing equal-
protection rights to be eroded in the name of social agendas
that, no matter how well-intentioned, would subordinate the
rights of the individual to the purported good of some greater
whole. Accordingly, AALF and its constituents respectfully
ask this Court to hear their arguments in favor of Petitioners.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In furtherance of the goal of a diverse student body, the
University of Michigan has enacted race-based admissions
programs at its college and law school which, unchecked by
any remedial purpose, will continue in perpetuity. This use of
race violates the Fourteenth Amendment right of University
applicants to the equal protection of the laws. If the Court
upholds the University’s consideration of race in admissions,
the decision will reawaken race-based treatment of individ-
uals in settings far b~yond the halls of higher education.

4

In San Francisco, for instance, such a ruling would threaten
that, after a century-and-a-half-long struggle to be treated as
individuals, children of Chinese descent might again be
singled out for unequal treatment by the city’s school system.
In particular, any holding that elevated racial diversity to a
compelling state interest would endanger the remedy recently
secured in Ho v. San Francisco Unified School District. \n
that case, the school district sought to prevent “racial iso-
lation” through a consent decree which classified all children
in the district into nine arbitrarily-defined ethnic groups, and
required that members of four ethnic groups be present at
each of the city’s schools. Ho, 147 F.3d 854, 856 (9th Cir.
1998). Furthermore, no one group could constitute more than
45 percent of the student body at any “regular” school or
40 percent at any “alternative” school, with the result that
Chinese American children, who were the most numerous of
the defined groups, faced formidable obstacles in gaining
admission to schools of their choice. See id. at 856-59; David
1. Levine, The Chinese American Challenge to Court-
Mandated Quotas in San Francisco's Public Schools: Notes
from a (Partisan) Participant-Observer, 16 Harv. BlackLetter
J. 39, 54 (Spring 2000).

Tne Ho case demonstrates the modern-day dangers of
Kafkaesque social engineering in a multi-racial society.
It also came against the backdrop of a long history of de jure
discrimination against individuals of Chinese descent in San
Francisco. Viewed by many as faceless members of a
“yellow horde,” these individuals were often the victims of
state action aimed at protecting others from the supposed
numbers of their race. See, e.g., Charles McClain, Jn Search
of Equality (Univ. of Cal. Press 1994); Elmer Clarence Sand-
meyer, The Anti-Chinese Movement in California (Univ. of
Ill. Press 1991); Victor Low, The Unimpressible Race (East/
West Publishing Co. 1982). The onus extended to Chinese
American children who sought to attend the state’s schools.
See id.; Joyce Kuo, Excluded, Segregated and Forgotten: A

5

Historical View of the Discrimination of Chinese Americans
in Public Schools, 5 Asian L.J. 181, 207-208 (May 1998). In
one such example, in Tape v. Hurley, 66 Cal. 473, 6 P. 12
(1885), the court had to order San Francisco public schools to
admit a Chinese American girl. In response, the State of
California established separate “Chinese” schools, to which
Chinese American schoolchildren were restricted by law until
well into the twentieth century. See Ho, 147 F.3d at 864.

As discussed more fully below, in case after case, the rights
of people of Chinese descent were vindicated only by strict
application of the Fourteenth Amendment’s protection of
individual rather than group rights. In Ho, for example,
defendants agreed to cease assigning students by race only
after the court made clear that they were unlikely to succeed
In proving, under strict scrutiny, that their assignment scheme
furthered any remedial purpose. See Ho, 59 F. Supp. 2d at
1024, 1025. The right secured in Ho—essentially the right of
all Americans to be free of racial classification by the
government—will again be endangered if this Court issues a
ruling allowing state institutions to adopt race-based diversity
programs, freed from the constraints of any remedial purpose.

There is ample reason to look askance at any program that
classifies people by ethnicity to achieve some “ideal” racial
composition. There is no difference between a policy of
admitting some people because there are “not enough” of
their race and a policy of excluding others because there are
“too many” of theirs. This country’s most respected
universities have a shameful history of such policies, namely,
the admission ceilings first adopted for Jewish students in the
1920s, out of concerns over Jewish “over-representation” at
those schools. Indeed, the arguments the University now
makes about the salutary effects of its race-conscious admis-
sions policies here were eerily foreshadowed by Harvard
University’s claims about its Jewish quotas back then.
“Harvard initiated its diversity-discretion program to decrease
the number of Jewish students; President Lowell of Harvard

6

called it a ‘benign’ cap, which would help the University get
beyond race.” Jerry Kang, Negative Action Against Asian
Americans: The Internal Instability Of Dworkin’s Defense
Of Affirmative Action, 31 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 1, 36
(Winter 1996).

The San Francisco admissions policy challenged by the Ho
litigants similarly reduced “over-representation” in the city’s
schools by Chinese Americans. Strictly limited to 45 or 40
percent of any school’s student body (for regular and
alternative schools), Chinese Americans were, because of
their numbers, “capped out” at the most desirable schools.
See Levine, supra, at 55-56. A notorious manifestation of this
racial ceiling was at Lowell High School, considered the best
high school in the district and one of the best in California.
Lowell was the only school in the district that accepted and
rejected applicants on the basis of numerical qualifications,
i.e., grades and test scores. See id. Because admission on a
strictly by-the-numbers basis would have caused Lowell’s
student body to be more than 40 percent Chinese American,
the San Francisco school district required Chinese American
applicants to score higher than members of any other racial
group, including White, Korean and Japanese, to gain admis-
sion. See id.; Lawrence Siskind, Racial Quotas Didn't Work
in SF Schools, op-ed, San Francisco Examiner, July 6, 1994.
Thus, like Jewish applicants to American universities in the
past, Chinese American applicants to Lowell throughout the
1980s and 1990s were being penalized for their ethnicity and
success, until the Ho case finally brought these practices to
an end.

As the jurisprudence of this Court makes clear, state use of
race is always suspect and should be strictly reserved for
remedial settings. That limitation is mandated by the
personal nature of the right in question—a right that vests
solely in the individual. See Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1,
22 (1948); Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200,

t «(Cs

227 (1995). Accordingly, the personal right not to be bur-
dened by racial classification should be abridged only in the
narrow circumstance where such action is unavoidable in
restoring to other individuals their usurped constitutional
rights. Otherwise, as this Court warned in Richmond v. Cro-
son, 488 U.S. 469, 493 (1989), the state’s interference threat-
ens to subvert the goals of the Fourteenth Amendment, pro-
moting feelings of “racial inferiority” and “racial hostility.”

Also demonstrating that diversity cannot rise to a com-
pelling government interest is the impossible task the Uni-
versity faced in narrowly tailoring its admissions programs to
its vague goal of diversity. As the Sixth Circuit noted in this
matter, to be narrowly tailored, a race-conscious remedial
program must be limited in scope and time, and must have
been adopted only after consideration of race-neutral
alternatives. Grutter v. Bollinger, 288 F.3d 732, 749-52
(6th Cir. 2002). At best, however, race is an unhappy proxy
for the personal attributes the University believes constitute
diversity. It is thus not strange that the University’s diversity
programs, enacted for pedagogical purposes, are capricious
with respect to those that are favored, and formless, in that
they will shift with every change in the pedagogical per-
ception of diversity and will continue without end.

The Sixth Circuit implicitly recognized the impossibility of
narrowly tailoring a diversity program. It accorded “defer-
ence” to the University with respect to “which groups to
target” for its race-determinative admissions plans /d. at 751.
It found that, unlike in a remedial setting, a diversity program
“does not have a self-contained stopping point.” /d. at 752.
But there is nothing in equal-protection jurisprudence to
support the notion that, under the strict-scrutiny test, a reme-
dial program enacted to restore constitutional rights should be
held to a higher standard than a diversity program that
deprives disfavored individuals of their constitutional rights.
Such logic would also fly in the face of the rule that, in exam-

8

ining use of race, there should be “consistency” and applica-
tion of the “same standard of justification.” Adarand, 51 5
U.S. at 224. The only reasonable conclusion is that the Uni-
versity’s admissions programs cannot survive strict scrutiny.

In short, the University’s goal of diversity, however well-
intentioned, should be pursued using means other than the
dangerous proxy of race. Here, the use of race Is not needed
to restore to any individuals their constitutional rights. Given
that lack of necessity, there is simply no justification for race-
conscious programs that abridge individual rights. As with
the Hippocratic oath taken by physicians, here the cardinal
rule should be, “First, do no harm.”

For these and other reasons set forth herein, the Uni-
versity’s race-conscious admissions programs should be
found unconstitutional.

ARGUMENT

I. USE OF RACE IS “ODIOUS” AND SHOULD BE
RESERVED FOR SITUATIONS WHERE IT
WILL VINDICATE RATHER THAN TRAM-
MEL THE RIGHTS OF INDIVIDUALS.

A. A Decision Elevating Diversity To A Com-
pelling State Interest Would Likely Result In
Renewed Discrimination Against San Fran-
cisco’s Chinese American Schoolchiidren.

This Court has repeatedly warned that “[c]lassifications of
citizens solely on the basis of race ‘are by their very nature
odious to a free people whose institutions are founded upon
the doctrine of equality.”” Shaw v. Reno, 509 U.S. 630, 643
(1993) (quoting Hirabayashi v. United States, 320 US. 81,
100). Use of race “threaten[s] to stigmatize individuals by
reason of their membership in a racial group and to incite
racial hostility.” Jd. at 643. Accordingly, the Fourteenth
Amendment provides that “[n]Jo State [actor] shall . . . deny to

9

any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the
laws.” See Croson, 488 U.S. at 493.

There can be no doubt that the University’s race-conscious
admissions programs burden individuals of the non-favored
races. The University argues that the diversity brought to the
halls of its college and law school is well worth the sacrifice
of those displaced by its use of race. Whatever the benefits of
this skin-deep diversity, however, it comes at a heavy price.
It would also be a mistake to assume that the issues at stake
here concern only the pedagogical needs and goals of higher
education. Any decision upholding diversity as a compelling
government interest justifying the use of race would have a
chilling effect on individual rights far beyond academia.
Even in education alone, the influence of such a decision
would be felt all the way down to the elementary-school and
kindergarten level.

In particular, in a relevant case which AALF respectfully
brings to the Couft’s attention, such a decision would likely
result in San Francisco’s schoolchildren of Chinese descent
again facing race-based discrimination in the city’s public
school system. In Ho v. San Francisco Unified School Dis-
trict, which began in 1994, San Francisco’s Chinese Ameri-
can schoolchildren were forced to turn to the courts for
redress of their Fourteenth Amendment rights, in order to halt
the school district’s policy of classifying and assigning them
to the city’s K-12 schools on the basis of their race. See Ho,
147 F.3d 854; Ho, 59 F. Supp. 2d 1021 (on remand); Ho vy.
San Francisco Unified Sch. Dist., 965 F. Supp. 1316 (1977)
(decision giving rise to appeal in 147 F.3d 854).

In Ho, the plaintiffs collaterally challenged a consent
decree entered in San Francisco NAACP vy. San Francisco
Unified School District, 576 F. Supp. 34 (N.D. Cal. 1983). In
that earlier case, a race-based assignment program was
enacted with the goal of preventing “racial isolation” in the
city’s schools. See Ho, 965 F. Supp. at 1322; see also Ho,

10

147 F.3d at 859. As explained when the consent order was
entered: “The key objective of the student desegregation plan
is to eliminate racial/ethnic segregation or identifiability in
any school, classroom, or program, and to achieve throughout
the system the broadest practicable distribution of students
from all the racial/ethnic groups comprising the general
student population.” San Francisco NAACP, 576 F. Supp. at
40. Under the admissions program, nine ethnic groups were
arbitrarily defined, including “Chinese”; members of at least
four of the groups were required to be present at each school;
and no one group could represent more than 45 percent of the
student body at any regular school or 40 percent at any
alternative school. See id.; see also Ho, 147 F.3d at 856.

While the San Francisco admissions program was purport-
edly remedial in nature, in fact, the promotion of diversity
was the only real purpose. In particular, there had never been
any findings of a constitutional violation to necessitate a race-
based remedy. See Ho, 965 F. Supp. at 1320. And sig-
nificantly, the “remedy” was secured on behalf of a class
defined as “all children of school age who are, or may in the
future become, eligible to attend the public schools of the
S.F.U.S.D.” /d. at 1322 (emphasis added); San Francisco
NAACP, 576 F. Supp. at 36. As described by the district
court, “This plan is designed to provide relief for all San
Francisco school children; it does not address the needs of
any particular racial or ethnic group.” 576 F. Supp. at 49.

Moreover, by the time of the Ho challenge, the school
district had enlarged the original nine racial categories to
thirteen, to take into account the emergence of additional
racial groups in the district. See Ho, 147 F.3d at 858.
Nevertheless, despite the numerous racial categories, no
provision was made for the growing number of children of
mixed race, or for those who preferred not to declare their
race. See id. at 862 (“They were not given the option

of refusal.”’).

B. The Experiences Of The Named Plaintiffs And
Class In Ho Demonstrate That Mandated
Diversity Harms Individuals, Even Members

Of Groups That Have Historically Suffered
Discrimination.

The heaviest burden of the school district’s diversity
assignment program fell on students identified as “Chinese.”
With d long history in San Francisco, over the years Chinese
Americans had come to constitute the largest identifiable
ethnic group in the city. See Levine, Supra, at 55-56. Ac-
cordingly, in the student assignment process, a child identi-
fied as Chinese was most likely to be “capped out” at many
desired schools and forced to attend a non-chosen school
often far from his or her neighborhood. See id. At Lowell
High School, an academic “alternative” high school that
admits students from middle school based on a score derived
from a combination of grades and standardized-test results
the mandated diversity was maintained by forcing Chinese
applicants to score higher than applicants of all other groups
including White, Japanese, and Korean, in order to gain
admission. See id.; Siskind, supra. Also, even where prefer-
ences were not required to maintain the racial caps, the
district nevertheless adopted a policy of granting preferences

to applicants classified as “Hispanic” and “Afri
r -
can.” See Ho, 147 F.3d at 858. nn

The parents of affected children and other concerned
Chinese Americans, including officials of the Chinese Ameri-
can Democratic Club, remonstrated with the school district
but the unlawful discrimination continued. See Levine ogre,
at 56-58. Parents’ frustration mounted as their children were
turned away from schools for no other reason than that

there were ‘too many Chinese.” /d. at 61. Children were
stigmatized. “He was depressed and angry that he was
rejected because of his race. Can you imagine, as a parent
seeing your son’s hopes denied in this way at the age of 142”

12

Julian Guthrie, S.F. School Race-Bias Case Trial Starts Soon,
San Francisco Examiner, Feb. 14, 1999, at C-2 (quoting
mother of student “capped out” at Lowell). As Lee Cheng,
Secretary of AALF, testified in a written statement for
hearings held by the U.S. House of Representatives, Sub-

Committee on the Constitution:

Many Chinese American children have internalized their
anger and pain, confused about why they are treated
differently from their non-Chinese friends. Often they
become ashamed of their ethnic heritage after con-
cluding that their unfair denial is a form of punishment

for doing something wrong.

Lee Cheng, Group Preferences and the Law, U.S. House of
Representatives Sub-Committee on the Constitution Hearings
(June 1, 1995), at http://www.house.gov/judiciary/274.htm.

Another byproduct of the mandated diversity plan was
“rampant dishonesty,” as parents of all races attempted to
misreport children’s racial identity to gain admission to
desired schools. See Michael Dorgan, Desegregation or
Racial Bias?, San Jose Mercury, June 5, 1995, at IA.
“{S}jome black families in Bayview-Hunter’s Point have gone
so far as to take Hispanic surnames to protect their children
from busing.” /d. at 1|0A. “People know if they want to go to
a particular school that has a lot of Caucasians, they should
put down something other than Caucasian, and they do.” /d.
at 10A (quoting School Board President Dan Kelly).

On July 11, 1994, the Ho class action was filed by three
Chinese American schoolchildren denied admission to city
schools because of their race, suing on behalf of themselves
and “all children of Chinese descent of school age who were
current residents of San Francisco and who were eligible to

7On the school enrollment forms, parents were threatened with
“perjury” if they misreported the race of their child. See Ho, 147 F.3d

at 862.

Pe ea

13

attend public schools of the school district.” Levine, supra, at

res The named plaintiffs’ situations amply illustrate the
iscrimination meted out to Chinese Ameri i

by the school district: oe

Brian Ho was five years old at the time it started
In 1994, he was turned away from his he csltboseed
schools when he applied to kindergarten because the
schools were capped out for children of Chinese descent
= was assigned to a school in another neighborhood. .

atrick Wong, then fourteen Oo i -
mission to Lowell High School + ae
rejected because his index score was below the
minimum required for Chinese American applicants.

tried to apply to a fourth high school, a

. a , newl
established academic high school, his mother was told
that all spaces for Chinese Americans were filled even
though spaces for applicants of other racial or ethnic
groups were still available.
The family of Hillary Chen, then eight ol
from north of Golden Gate Park to a el eden oo
of the park in December 1993. Hilary was not allowed
to — om any of three elementary schools near her
new home use Chinese Ameri
at all three schools. a

Id. at 61.

C. Settiement Was Reached In Ho Only Because
The Law Was Clear That The Goal Of
Diversity Would Not Justify The School Dis-
trict’s Use Of Race.

After some five years of vigorous litigati
on, the Ho case
settled on the first day of trial, with defendants agreeing

14

to cease using race to assign students to the city’s schools,
and agreeing to end the mandatory requirement of self-
identification by race on student enrollment forms. See Ho,
59 F. Supp 2d 1021 (approving settlement).

Beyond question, settlement in Ho would never have been
reached if the district court and the Ninth Circuit (on an
interlocutory appeal from the district court’s denial of plain-
tiffs’ request for dissolution of the consent decree) had not
emphasized to defendants that, under this Court’s decisions in
cases such as Croson and Adarand, the goal of diversity
provided no justification for use of race, and that at trial the
school district would have to prove a past constitutional
violation tied to its present use of race—a burden defendants
were extremely unlikely to carry. See Ho, 147 F.3d at 864-65
(“[T]he temporary expedient of using race is to compensate
individual persons themselves injured by the malevolent use
of race.”); Ho, 59 F. Supp. 2d at 1024-25 (noting burdens
placed by Ninth Circuit’s ruling and district court’s prior
finding that “defendants had shown little likelihood of
prevailing at trial”).

* Even after settlement was reached, the school district tried to obtain
the district court's approval of a new admissions plan that, like the
University's admissions programs at issue here, would have used race as a
non-exclusive “diversity” factor. Under the proposed plan, instead of im-
posing the hard-and-fast quotas and caps ended by the settlement, the
school district would have granted preference in student assignment based
on a “diversity index” composed of four factors, one of which was
race/ethnicity:

(1) Low socio-economic status;

(2) Limited proficiency in English;

(3) Limited math and reading achievement levels; and
(4) Racial/ethnic diversity.

Levine, supra, at 110-11. The district court struck down the proposed
assignment plan for failing to meet the constitutional test of strict scrutiny

15

Thus, key to the Ho plaintiffs’ vindication of their consti-
tutional rights was the recognition by the district court, and
ultimately the school district, that the goal of diversity could
not be used to justify the district’s use of race. Therefore, if
this Court, in deciding Gratz and Grutter, elevates diversity
to a compelling government interest, the San Francisco
Unified School District will most likely again try to imple-
ment a race-based student assignment program, depriving the
city’s Chinese American schoolchildren of the relief secured
in Ho. It is also likely that other school districts around the
country would similarly subject millions of other school-
children to race-conscious assignment policies.

D. The Historical Treatment Of Chinese Ameri-
cans Amply Illustrates The Wrong Of Treating
Individuals As Faceless Members Of Racial
Groups.

The experience of Chinese Americans, as exemplified in
Ho and other cases, illustrates why group identity should
never be elevated above individual rights. The struggle by
Chinese American schoolchildren in Ho against race-based
treatment was particularly ironic in that, for much of the
preceding century and a half, Americans of Chinese descent
had struggled against racial discrimination, often in San
Francisco. Throughout their history in this country, indi-
viduals of Chinese descent have sought to participate in and
contribute to American society but have often faced signifi-
cant barriers because of their race. See, e.g., McClain, supra;
Sandmeyer, supra; Low, supra. Their experiences included
some so dire as to give rise to the expression “a Chinaman’s
Chance,” a term meaning “having little or no chance of
succeeding.” News Watch Diversity Style Guide, at http://

and for violating the terms of the settlement agreement. See id. at 113-14.
Again, without “diversity” as a compelling state interest, defendants could
not meet the constitutional test.

16

newswatch.sfsu.edu/guide. Time and again, Chinese Ameri-
cans have received equal treatment only after appealing to the
federal judiciary for the protections afforded individuals by

the United States Constitution.

For example, in Ho Ah Kow v. Nunan, 12 F. Cas. 252
(C.C.D. Cal. 1879) (No. 6,546), a district court invalidated
San Francisco’s infamous “Queue Ordinance” on equal-
protection grounds. In /n re Ah Chong, 2 F. 733 (C.C.D. Cal.
1880), the court found unconstitutional an act forbidding
Chinese Americans from fishing in California waters. In /n
re Tiburcio Parrott, | F. 481 (C.C.D. Cal. 1880), the court
declared unconstitutional a provision of California’s 1879
constitution that forbade corporations and municipalities from
hiring Chinese. In Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886),
this Court ruled that Chinese were “persons” under the
Fourteenth Amendment and could not be singled out for
unequal burden under a San Francisco laundry licensing
ordinance. In Jn re Lee Sing, 43 F. 359 (C.C.D. Cal. 1890),
the court found unconsti-utional the “Bingham Ordinance,”
which mandated residential segregation of Chinese Ameri-
cans. In United States v. Wong Kim Ark, 169 U.S. 649
(1898), this Court ruled that a Chinese American boy, born in
San Francisco, could not be prevented by San Francisco
officials from returning to the city after a trip abroad.

Chinese American schoolchildren were long denied access
to the public schools. In Tape v. Hurley, 66 Cal. 473, 6 P. 12
(1885), the court had to order San Francisco public schools to
admit a Chinese American girl who was denied entry
because, as stated by the State Superintendent of Public
Instruction, public schools were not open to “Mongolian
children.” See McClain, supra, at 137. In response, the
California legislature authorized separate “Chinese” schools,
to which Chinese American schoolchildren were restricted by
law until well into the twentieth century. See Ho, 147 F.3d at

17

864; see also Kuo, supra, at 207-08 (noting that “Chinese”
were segregated even when “Japanese” were not).

Even though it is not widely recognized, the experiences of
Chinese American schoolchildren had much to do with the
shaping of “separate but equal” jurisprudence as it related to
education. In Wong Him y. Callahan, 119 F. 381 (C.C.N._D.
Cal. 1902), the district court denied a child of Chinese
descent the right to attend his neighborhood school in San
Francisco, reasoning that the “Chinese” school in Chinatown
was “separate but equal.” 119 F. at 382. In Gong Lum vy.
Rice, 275 U.S. 78 (1927), this Court affirmed that the
separate-but-equal doctrine articulated in Plessy v. Ferguson,
163 U.S. 537 (1896), applied to schools, finding that a nine-
year-old Chinese American girl residing in Mississippi could
be denied entry to a “white” school because she was a
member of the “yellow” race. /d. at 87.

Thus, in Lee v. Johnson, 404 U.S. 1215 (1971), Justice
Douglas wrote that California’s “establishment of separate
schools for children of Chinese ancestry . . . was the classic
case of de jure segregation involved {and struck down] in
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 [1954]... .” dd.
at 1216. “Brown v. Board of Education was not written for
blacks alone. It rests on the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment, one of the first beneficiaries of
which were the Chinese people of San Francisco. See Yick
Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356.” 404 U.S. at 1216.

In the context of the long history of Chinese Americans in
San Francisco, the Ho case presents distinct ironies. As
described above, the challenged race-based assignment plan
had as its stated goal the promotion of diversity and
elimination of racial identification, and yet San Francisco was
and is one of the most diverse cities in the nation, a fact
reflected in the composition of its schools. It boasts a true
multi-ethnic population with no single group in the majority,
and in many ways exemplifies the diversity toward which the

18

country strives. In spite of all this, the goal of diversity
became a tool of oppression wielded principally against
Chinese American schoolchildren—members of a community
that had suffered similar discrimination in the past. If nothing
else, Ho shows that once the state is allowed to use race for
non-remedial purposes, the rights of all individuals are in

danger.

E. Placing Priority On Group Identity Inevitably
Results In The Trammeling Of Individual

Rights.

Proponents of diversity as a compelling interest typically
focus on the perceived pedagogical value or other benefits
that diversity brings. See Grutter, 288 F.3d at 736-37.
Underlying this argument, however, is the mistaken assump-
tion that it is just to deprive an individual of benefits because
the “group” with which the individual is identified already
has “more than its fair share.” This kind of thinking invari-
ably is used to oppress individuals, diminishing them as
persons in proportion to the perceived numbers of their
“group.” Obviously, in most cases, the burden will fall
heaviest on the poorer or weaker members of the dis-

favored group.

In one noteworthy and cautionary example in higher
education, in the 1920s, Harvard College and other prominent
universities reacted to the perceived “over-representation” of
Jews in their student bodies by setting up informal quotas and
“diversity” programs that persisted through the 1950s. See
Evan P. Schultz, Group Rights, American Jews, and the
Failure of Group Libel Laws, 66 Brook. L. Rev. 71, 111-12
(Spring 2000); Alan M. Dershowitz and Laura Hanft,
Affirmative Action and the Harvard College Diversity-
Discretion Model: Paradigm or Pretext, | Cardozo L. Rev.
379, 385-399 (1979); Nathan Glazer, Diversity Dilemma, The
New Republic, June22, 1998, at http://www.tnr.com/
archive/0698/062298/glazer062298. html. These institutions

19

argued that their diversity schemes were beneficial to all and
would lessen ethnic tension. “Harvard initiated its diversity-
discretion program to decrease the number of Jewish stu-
dents, President Lowell of Harvard called it a ‘benign’

which would help the University get beyond race.” com
Supra, at 36. Yet the undeniable effect was to single out
individuals for unequal treatment merely because they were
identified with a particular religion or ethnicity. “In the
1930s, it was easier for a Jew to enter medical school in

Mussolini’s Italy than in Roosevelt’s America.” Siskind,
supra.

In Ho, a similar sentiment was voiced—that “Chinese”
already had “enough,” and that Chinese American individuals
who were turned away had no right to complain:

“[T}he Chinese are the largest group at most of the best
schools in the city. They can’t have it all. If anything,
I'd say lower the caps, don’t raise them—otherwise

we're headed back to segregated schools, only all
Chinese instead of all white.”

Selana Dong, “Too Many Asians”: Challenge of F ighting
Discrimination Against Asian-Americans and Preserving
Affirmative Action, 47 Stan. L. Rev. 1027, 1057 n.36 (May
1995) (citation omitted) (quoting Lulann McGriff, former
president of San Francisco NAACP); see also Levine supra
at 138 (observing that to some, “the Ho case is about how
much is ‘enough’ for one racial or ethnic group”).

Today, even outside of the Ho litigation, some similarly
consider Chinese Americans to be Over-represented in the
nation’s academic institutions. See Glazer, supra; Dong,
supra, at 1057, nn.4-5; Leo Rennert, President Bubrese
Minority Programs, Sacramento Bee (Metro Final), Apr. 7
1995, at Al (reporting that former President Clinton, in
speaking favorably about race-based admissions programs
commented that otherwise, “‘there are universities in Cali-

20

fornia that could fill their entire freshman classes with
nothing but Asian Americans”). “To keep a lid on the
number of Jewish students—denounced as ‘damned curve
raisers’ by less talented classmates—the universities imposed
quotas, sometimes overt, sometimes covert... . Today’s
‘damned curve raisers’ are Asian Americans, who are
winning academic prizes and qualifying for prestigious
universities in numbers out of proportion to their percent 2°
of the population.” Kang, supra, at 47 n.189 (quoting Don
Nakanishi, A Quota on Excellence, in The Asian American
Educational Experience: A Sourcebook for Teachers and
Students, at 275 (quoting Los Angeles Times reporter Linda
Matthews)) (internal quotation marks omitted). And again,
mandated “diversity” is seen as the answer. See Pat K. Chew,
Asian Americans: The “Reticent” Minority And Their Para-
doxes, 36 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 1, 61-64 (Oct. 1994)
(universities use quotas to limit Asian American enrollment).

The goal of mandated diversity, espoused by the University
here, emphasizes the group over the individual. The Con-
stitution says nothing about “ideal” racial mixtures or
diversity, however. Nor should it, given that individuals have
an undeniable existence with interests that can be trammeled,
while race is a malleable concept at best, easily subject to
misuse. As history shows, discretion to consider ethnicity in
the pursuit of a diverse student body invariably leads to
oppression. See Dershowitz & Hanft, supra, at 399 (“Both
then and now ... such unlimited discretion makes it possible
to target a specific religious or racial group—then for
decrease, and now for increase . . . .”).

It is for such reasons that the Constitution has been wisely
construed to protect individuals against classification by race.
In Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483, for example,
this Court recognized the inherent inequality in allowing
schools to segregate students on the basis of race. That same
reasoning should apply here.

21

F. A Pedagogical Desire For Diversity Cannot

Rise Above The Constitution’s Guarantee Of
Equal Protection To Individuals.

This Court’s jurisprudence teaches that the Fourteenth
Amendment's stricture on race-based treatment by the state is
absolute, except where such action is necessary to further the
compelling State interest of vindicating the rights of
individuals who were subject to racial discrimination. As this
Court warned in Croson, 488 U.S. 469, unless racial
classifications are “reserved for remedial settings, they may
in fact promote notions of racial inferiority and lead to the
politics of racial hostility.” /d. at 493. As explained by the
dissent in Metro Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC, 497 U.S. 547
(1990), later vindicated by this Court in Adarand, 515 U.S.
200, “[m]odern equal protection doctrine has recognized only
one such interest: remedying the effects of racial discrim-

ination.” Metro Broadcasting, 497 U.S. at 612 (O’Connor
J., dissenting).

Thus, as this Court declared in Adarand, there are no
“benign” racial classifications. “{T]he Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments to the Constitution protect persons, not groups.
It follows from that principle that all governmental action
based on race . . . should be subjected to detailed judicial
inquiry to ensure that the personal right to equal protection of
the laws has not been infringed.” 515 U.S. at 227 (emphasis
added). As this Court has repeatedly emphasized, the “rights
created by the first section of the Fourteenth Amendment are,
by its terms, guaranteed to the individual.” Shelley, 334 U.S.
at 22 (emphasis added).

While the Fourteenth Amendment protects individuals
from racial classification, there is no countervailing principle
that would subordinate individual rights to the University’s
perceived need for some ethnic mix constituting “diversity.”
The goal of diversity cannot substitute for a remedial purpose,
because diversity is “simply too amorphous, too insubstantial,

22

and too unrelated to any legitimate basis for employing racial
classifications.” Metro Broadcasting, 497 U.S. at 612
(O’Connor, J., dissenting). More important, in any equal-
protection analysis, the rights of the individual are paramount.
In both Ho and the instant cases, a state actor has essentially
argued that diversity programs are benign because they are
not motivated by animus and are applied impartially. In
Shelley, 334 U.S. 1, this Court rejected the notion that equal
protection is not violated when individual rights are tram-
meled as a result of the state’s impartial enforcement of a
scheme with discriminatory impact on an individual. In that
case, the Court considered whether states might enforce
covenants in residential deeds restricting occupancy to Cau-
casians. See 334 U.S. at 4-7. Rejecting the argument that,
because the state courts were equally willing to uphold
restrictive covenants against Caucasians, such action did not
violate individuals’ rights to equal protection, the Court
explained, “The rights established are personal rights... .
Equal protection of the laws is not achieved through
indiscriminate imposition of inequalities.” /d. at 22
(emphasis added).

Similarly, here, as in Shelley and Ho, the University may
not trammel the rights of individuals of one group merely
because it does so dispassionately and is equally willing to
trammel the rights of members of other groups. And here, as
in Shelley and Ho, because the Constitution protects indi-
viduals, the rights of affected individuals should be placed
above all other considerations, including the perceived good
of having present some ideal racial mix.

G. The Result In Bakke Does Not Support The
Non-Remedial Use Of Race.

In upholding the University’s race-conscious admissions
programs, the courts below reasoned that they were following
Justice Powell’s articulation in Regents of the University of
California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978), that in certain

23

hypothetical circumstances diversity could rise to a com-
pelling government interest. See Grutter, 288 F.3d at 739:
Gratz v. Bollinger, 122 F. Supp. 2d 811, 820, 825 (E.D. Mich.
2000). That statement, however, was essentially dictum
expressed only by Justice Powell. Also, Justice Powell failed
to consider that the Harvard Plan, upon which he expressly
based his dictum concerning a constitutional diversity-

discretion plan, was originally designed to keep J
Harvard College: . ahi

In Bakke, for example, Justice Powell lauded Harvard
University’s “soft” diversity-discretion model of affirm-
ative action as constitutionally preferable to a Strict,
hard quota system as adopted by the University of
California. He failed to mention, however, that Har-
vard’s program had anti-Semitic roots. Harvard initiated
its diversity-discretion program to decrease the number
of Jewish students . . . .
Kang, supra, at 36. More to the point, the Bakke opinion did
not uphold the admissions program in question; it found it
unconstitutional. See 438 U.S. at 272, 320. Thus, Justice
Powell’s speculation as to a program that might be found
constitutional can say little about the present case. See New
York City Transit Auth. v. Beazer, 440 U.S. 568, 582 n.22
( 1979) (noting this Court’s policy of “strict necessity” in
deciding constitutional issues, as well as its long-standing
refusal to issue advisory opinions).

Similarly, here, the University’s admissions programs do
not merit lenient treatment because of any purportedly
attenuated effect on non-favored applicants, or because race
is only one of the factors considered in admissions. As stated
by this Court, it is not the ultimate result of the racial
classification that constitutes the harm, but the imposition of
the classification itself: “The ‘injury in fact’ in an equal
protection case of this variety is the denial of equal treatment
resulting from the imposition of the barrier, not the ultimate
inability to obtain the benefit.” Northeastern Fla. Ch. of

24

Assoc. Gen. Contractors of America v. City of Jacksonville,
508 U.S. 656, 666 (1993).

Furthermore, for the applicants who are affected, the effect
is neither attenuated nor slight. That is, even if the Uni-
versity’s consideration of race diminished the odds of admis-
sion for non-favored applicants, such as Chinese American
applicants, by only | percent—the University concedes the
figure is much higher—it would still constitute a higher
barrier than that faced by members of favored races. Most
important, it is undeniable that many such applicants are
denied entry solely based on race. That is, notwithstanding
the University’s attempts to hide race among the other factors
considered, the rejected applicant would have been granted
entry if he or she had been a member of a favored race. For
such an applicant, the precise odds of entry and any
attenuated effect of race in the process are quite meaningless;
this person was rejected because of race.

Therefore, even if the University is right that its use of race
creates a diversity that promotes the general good, the “mere
recitation of a ‘benign’ or legitimate purpose for a racial
classification is entitled to little or no weight,” Cvoson,
488 U.S. at 500, and cannot rise to a compelling government
interest. “Social scientists may debate how peoples’ thoughts
and behavior reflect their background, but the Constitution
provides that the government may not allocate benefits or
burdens among individuals based on the assumption that race
or ethnicity determines how they act or think.” Metro Broad-
casting, 497 U.S. at 602 (O’Connor, J., dissenting).

25

il. AS THERE IS NO OBJECTIVE STANDARD BY
WHICH RACIAL DIVERSITY MAY BE
MEASURED OR LIMITED IN SCOPE OR
TIME, THE UNIVERSITY’S ADMISSIONS
PROGRAMS CANNOT BE NARROWLY
TAILORED TO ADVANCE A COMPELLING
STATE INTEREST.

A. The University’s Lack Of An Objective Stand-
ard For “Racial Diversity” Renders Its Use Of
Race Capricious.

As set forth above, the University’s goal of diversity
cannot constitute a compelling government interest to justify
classification of applicants by race. Even assuming it could,
however, the University’s use of race is too vague and
capricious to withstand strict scrutiny. As this Court has
stated, “racial classifications... are constitutional only if
they are narrowly tailored measures that further compel-
ing government interests.” Adarand, 515 U.S. at 227. “The
means chosen to accomplish the State’s asserted purpose
must be specifically and narrowly framed to accomplish that
purpose.” Wygant v. Jackson Bd. of Educ., 476 U.S. 267, 280
(1986) (opinion of Powell, J.).

Under the admissions programs at issue, preference is
granted to applicants from ethnic groups “which have been
historically discriminated against,” in particular, African
Americans, Hispanics, and Native Americans. Grutter, 288
F.3d at 737; see also Gratz v. Bollinger, 122 F. Supp. 2d
at 827. There has never been any showing, however, that
members of the favored groups will contribute more to
diversity than members of other ethnic groups that are also
under-represented. Here, “(t]he concept of ‘diversity’ is so
vague that it lends itself to a myriad of widely divergent and
ever-changing definitions capable of masking the criteria
actually at work.” Dershowitz & Hanft, supra, at 404. For
example, while the University’s programs target “African

26

American,” that itself is an imprecise term, including groups
that genetically and culturally are quite different from
each other:

“Black” subjects, for example, may include slave
descendants, whose ancestors were from West Africa,
but may also include recent immigrants from South
Asia, the horn of Africa, South Africa, certain Pacific
Islands, and even Australia. The genetic diversity
between some of these groups (as estimated from a
number of DNA homology studies) is a great as the
disparity between some groups of “blacks” and “whites.”

James E. Bowman, Anthropology: From Bones to the Human
Genome, 568 Annals Am. Acad. Pol. & Soc. Sci., 140, 141
(March 2000). The University’s capricious preferences
violate the principle that use of race must be justified by
particularized findings, to guard against the danger that it “is
merely the product of unthinking stereotypes or a form of
racial politics.” Croson, 488 U.S. at 510.

Similarly, in the case of the law school, the director of
admissions stated that the goal is to produce a “critical mass’
[of each group] with sufficient numbers to ensure under-
represented minority students do not feel isolated... :
Grutter, 288 F.3d at 737. Other witnesses “testified that
‘critical mass’ was not a set number or percentage.” /d.
Given that none of the favored applicants is entitled to a
remedial preference, and that a non-favored applicant is
denied admission for each preferential admission granted, a
program narrowly tailored to cause as little harm as possible
cannot leave this “critical mass” undefined.

B. Lacking Any Attainable Goals Or Temporal
Limits, The University’s Admissions Programs
Would Classify Students By Race Forever.

As in Ho, the University’s admissions programs fail strict
scrutiny because, lacking particularized and attainable goals,
they would continue to classify applicants by race forever.

27

Use of race is “odious” even where necessary, Reno, 509

at 643, and this Court has wisely cautioned against shahdinn
race-conscious programs that are “ageless in their reach into
the past, and timeless in their ability to affect the future.”
Croson, 488 U.S. at 498 (internal quotation marks omitted)
(quoting Wygant, 476 U.S. at 276); see also Adarand, 515
U.S. at 238 (program must be appropriately limited in time).

In Grutter, the Sixth Circuit acknowledged that, under the
vague guidelines of the University’s law school admission
program, the University’s use of race would continue
indefinitely. 288 F.3d at 751-52. The Sixth Circuit erred,
however, in finding that a temporal limit was not necessary
because “[uJnlike a remedial interest, an interest in academic
diversity does not have a self-contained stopping point.” /d
The Sixth Circuit's ruling ignores this Court’s admonishment
that there must be “consistency” and the “same standard of
justification” in reviewing programs for possible equal
protection violations. See Adarand, 515 U.S. at 224. It also
would produce the illogical result that a race-conscious pro-
gram designed to remedy actual de jure segregation, that is
one that seeks to restore to individuals their constitutional
rights, would be held to a stricter standard than a race-
conscious program designed merely to further peda-
gogical ends.

One also cannot assume, as did the Sixth Circuit, that in
any case, “the admissions policy is ‘sensitive to the possi-
bility that [it] . . . might someday have satisfied its purpose.””
Grutter, 288 F.3d at 752 (citation omitted). In Ho, where
there was a purported remedial purpose, diversity was none-
theless 4 goal that clearly was going to be pursued forever.
See Levine, supra, at 51, 56. Here, as the Sixth Circuit itself
recognized, there is no prior constitutional violation against
which to gauge the completeness of the present “remedy.”
The law school’s diversity program favors members of
ethnic groups deemed under-represented by granting them

28

preference in the admissions process. Grutter, 288 F.3d at
737. While the focus is on African American, Hispanic, and
Native American candidates, the University, freed from the
constraints of any remedial purpose, also looks to the
ethnicity of applicants who purportedly represent the
diversity of the world. See id. at 736 (highlighting Viet-
namese, Bangladesh, and Argentinian applicants).

In short, the University’s race conscious admissions pro-
grams are impermissibly tailored to the perpetual use of race.

C. The University Failed To Consider And Use
Race-Neutral Means To Achieve Diversity, Pre-
ferring The Impermissible Proxy Of Race.

The University’s admissions programs are also flawed
because it failed to consider and use the true, race-neutral
measures of the diversity it seeks, preferring instead the easy
but flawed proxy of race. In Croson, 488 U.S. 469, one of the
reasons this Court struck down a program which granted
race-based preferences in construction contracts was that the
city had failed to consider race-neutral alternatives. See id. at
507; see also Adarand, 515 U.S. at 237-38 (upholding same
requirement). Here, where the goal is not to restore indi-
vidual rights but simply to promote diversity for pedagogical
purposes, the University’s failure to find alternatives that do
not trammel individual rights is even more glaring.

The University is mistaken in assuming that color of skin is
an adequate proxy for the personal attributes it seeks,
particularly in our multi-ethnic society. This Court has ex-
plained that such thinking “bears an uncomfortable resem-
blance to political apartheid. It reinforces the perception that
members of the same racial group—regardless of their age,
education, economic status, or the community in which they
live—think alike, share the same political interests, and will
prefer the same candidates at the polls.” Shaw v. Reno, 509
U.S. at 647. “We have rejected such perceptions elsewhere
as impermissible racial stereotypes.” /d. Indeed, as various

29

scholars have found, race-conscious admissions programs do
foster unfortunate Stereotypes, detrimental even to members
of those ethnic groups “favored” by the program:
When few Jews could get into Ivy League school
Jewish Students had to be sented Sa
admission, a Jewish Stereotype was created: Jews are
smart. Admitting black students by lower standards has
precisely the opposite effect: it reinforces the pernicious
notion that blacks are not academically talented.
Stephan Thernstorm and Abigail Thernstrom, Reflections on
ts _ of the River, 46 UCLA L. Rev. 1583, 1608 (June
True diversity is a goal best pursued without recourse to
race. It is simplistic to assume that any given African
American candidate has suffered adversity and disadvantage,
thereby gaining valuable perspective or experience, while
assuming that the opposite is true for any given Chinese
American candidate. Even where such a generalization could
be made for a group as a whole, common sense tells us it
would never be true of all individuals in the group. See
Thernstrom, supra, at 1624-25 (focus on race ignores true
measures of diversity, producing “homogeneously upper-
middle-class” student bodies). Returning to the example of
the two random African American and Chinese American
candidates, a statement that the person has experienced
adversity might be true for both, either, or neither of the two.
All that can be known a priori is that both individuals deserve
to be considered on their own merits, undistorted by the prism

of a diversity scheme such as those advocated by the
University here.

30
CONCLUSION

In the 19th century, children of Chinese descent were
denied equal access to San Francisco public schools solely
because of their race. A hundred years later, in the Ho case,
Chinese Americans were again singled out for unequal
treatment. If nothing else, these experiences demonstrate the
danger of allowing the state to use race except in the most
limited circumstance, such as where such use is strictly nec-
essary in order to provide a remedy to individuals deprived of
constitutional rights. Pedagogical needs and goals, including
the desire for a diverse student body, simply cannot provide
such a compelling interest. Any program that allows state
actors to promote diversity through consideration of race will
inevitably result, as in Ho, and as in the instant cases, in
discrimination against individuals based on race. And, as
such use of race will be unbounded by any fixed, remedial
goal, it will continue without end, to the detriment of
our society.

For all of the reasons set forth herein, the University’s
race-conscious admissions programs further no compelling
governinent interest, are not narrowly tailored to further any
such interest, and should be found to violate Petitioners’ right
to the equal protection of the laws.

Respectfully submitted,

ANTHONY K. LEE DANIEL C. GIRARD

580 California Street, 16th Floor GORDON M. FAUTH, JR.

San Francisco, California 94104 = Counsel of Record

(415) 439-4862 GIRARD GIBBS &

De BARTOLOMEO LLP

601 California Street, Suite 1400
San Francisco, California 94108
(415) 981-4800

Counsel for Amicus Curiae The Asian American Legal Foundation

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0591%3A029. Public record. Not legal advice.
