# Petitioners Brief — PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc. v. Book

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0590%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 538 U.S. 401

## Text

Supreme Court of the United States

PACIFICARE HEALTH SYSTEMS, INC., et al.,

Petitioners.

JEFFREY BOOK, D.O., et ai.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITIONERS’ BRIEF

WILLIAM E. GRAUER*
CHRISTOPHER R. J. PACE

JAMES W. QUINN
JEFFREY S. KLEIN

COOLEY GODWARD LLP EDWARD SOTO

4401 Eastgate Mall GREGORY S. COLEMAN **

San Diego, CA 92121 WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES LLP

(858) 550-6000 767 Fifth Avenue

* Counsel of Record camsaniaaee wea

for PacifiCare Health .

Systems, Inc., and PacifiCare ** Counsel of Record for

Operations, Inc. UnitedHealth Group Incorporated
and UnitedHealthcare, Inc.

Counsel for Petitioners

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

-

‘a

A

y

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a district court must compel arbitration of a
plaintiff's RICO claims under a valid arbitration agreement
when that agreement contains limitations on statutorily
available remedies.

ii
PARTIES TO PROCEEDINGS BELOW AND
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The parties to the proceedings in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit were (a) plaintiffs-appellees
Jeffrey Book, D.O., Dennis Breen, M.D., Michael Burgess,
M.D., Edward L. Davis, D.O., Glenn L. Kelly, M.D., Manual
Porth, M.D., and Charles B. Shane, M.D., and (b) defendants-
appellants Foundation Health Systems, Inc., n/k/a Health Net,
Inc., PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc., n/k/a PacifiCare Health
Plan Administrators, Inc., The Prudential Insurance Company
of America, UnitedHealth Group Incorporated, f/k/a United
HealthCare Corporation, UnitedHealthcare, Inc., and Well-
Point Health Networks Inc. This brief on the merits is being
filed on behalf of petitioners UnitedHealth Group Incor-
porated, UnitedHealthcare, Inc., PacifiCare Health Systems,
Inc., and PacifiCare Operations, Inc. The corporate disclosure
statement for these entities is contained in the petition for
writ of certiorari and is incorporated by reference. No
amendments to that statement are needed to make the
statement current.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED w.0.0....ccccccccccccccccecececeeceseeneees i

PARTIES TO PROCEEDINGS BELOW AND
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ......... i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..00.0......ccccccccccccceceeeeeeeees bone Vv
OPINIONS BELOW 0.00.00.ooooccccccccccccceccscsececseeseseseeereesees I
OT cncencsnsncemneensantcanarnceeamemninsenatnanenmamaameas I
FEDERAL STATUTES INVOLVED 1.00.00. cccccccccceees 2
ee 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT 000...0.o.ccccccccccccccscesceeevees 5
ee 7

I. ARBITRATORS, NOT COURTS, SHOULD
ADDRESS THE VALIDITY OF ARBITRAL
LIMITATIONS ON REMEDIES IN THE
Pe Mee enannensininsiinsnnmsunitinicnancsiantatenes 7

A. Congress Enacted a Limited Role for
Courts in Enforcing Arbitration Agree-

1. The FAA Inquiry: Did the Parties
Agree To Arbitrate the Dispute at Issue
and Is the Arbitration Agreement
aE esiseeeaisiiatniiinsesinsncniiiiasianaiiailiiante 11

2. The Final Inquiry: Did Congress Intend
To Preclude Arbitration of the Statu-
OOTY CORRES G8 BURR .nnoccccccccccccccesccceccseess 12

(iti)

iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

B. Congress Intended Arbitrators To Address
Questions Regarding the Availability of
Remedies in the First Instance ....................

THE DAMAGE LIMITATION PROVI-
SIONS COULD NOT JUSTIFY EXCUSING
RESPLNDENTS FROM ARBITRATING
THEIR RICO CLAIMS ............-ccceeeeeeeeennenennnnes

A. A Limitation on Punitive Damages Does
Not Prevent an Award of RICO Treble

B. The Limitation on “Extracontractual Dam-
ages” in Dr. Porth’s Arbitration Agreement
Does Not Impermissibly Limit RICO

C. The Damage Limitation Provisions Are an
Enforceable Part of the Parties’ Con-

D. Even if the Damage Limitation Provisions
Are Unenforceable, Respondents’ RICO
Claims Were Still Arbitrable ......................

CONCLUSION ........:..cccccscscssssssssssssessenssensesesssossonsoeseess

STATUTORY APPENDIRX ...............:cccccceeeeeerenenenennnnenes

15

28

32

33

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

AT&T Techns., Inc. v. Communications Workers
of Am., 475 U.S. 643 (1986) .........ccccccccsseceeeeeeees
Aetna Cas. Sur. Co. v. P&B Autobody, 43 F.3d
PED Cah acinseniicttiniieniiesiianiaiibeitieidimsines
Arkcom Digital Corp. v. Xerox Corp., 289 F.3d
a ccertisinticstninninnseaniirianisasindiamanianiensis
Baravati v. Josephthal, Lyon & Ross, Inc., 28
ee
Barnes v. Gorman, \122 S.Ct. 2097 (2002)............
Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight Sys., Inc.,
Ss Se ereneesnnsnennnennmmnensninenn
Bonny v. Soc’y of Lloyd's, 3 F.3d 156 (CA7
Suna ncmescnsesmmencicimmeememmeneeumntnneaminmmenens

a tenssarnnmincnnenensniiinmmmnmansneeniamntieunatemenuniees
Bowen v. Amoco Pipeline Co., 254 F.3d 925
SS aE cerennentucisncentepuncnagentinninensnentediensnans
Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969) ..............
Carter v. Berger, 777 F.2d 1173 (CA7 1985)........
Central Bank of Denver v. First Interstate Bank
of Denver, 511 U.S. 164 (1994) 000... cccccceeeeeees
Coddington Enters., Inc. v. Werries, 54
F.Supp.2d 938 (N.D. Mo. 1999) 0000... ccccceeees
DBM Tech., Inc. v. Local 227, United Food &
Commercial Workers Int'l Union, 257 F.3d
ee vee
D.H. Overmeyer Co. v. Frick Co., 405 U.S. 174

Davis v. Prudential Sec., Inc., 59 F.3d 1186
iia nena ilar
EEOC v. Waffle House, Inc., 534 U.S. 279

Page

35

36

Fe cerenenpmutcaneenienestnmniscmmanmessnemmcennants 11, 12, 39

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Eastern Associated Coal Corp. v. United Mine
Workers of Am., 531 U.S. 57 (2000)...........00000+ 17
Evans v. Jeff D., 475 U.S. 717 (1986) 0.00 36, 37
First Options of Chicago, Inc. v. Kaplan, 514
UB. FEB (1DDS) ncccecceccccccsscrescessssssscsssssscese 11, 17, 22, 26
Friedman's Inc. v. West Virginia ex rel. Dunlap,
No. 02-315, 71 U.S.L.W. 3163 (filed Aug. 27,
ye 34
Gannon v. Circuit City Stores, Inc., 262 F.3d 677
Ol) | . 41,42
Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500
UB. 2D (1 DPA ) .ncccccccccescccsecccscscsccccsesccosssnssssssosees passim
Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Prods. Co., 43 F.3d
13046 CCAD 19D5S) .cccccccccrecccsesreccsercssccsescsessscssesees 26
Great W. Mortgage Corp. v. Peacock, 110 F.3d
222 (CA3 1997) .22.00cccrecceecsccsecesesseccecsecssecssesossoes 26
Green Tree Fin. Corp.—Ala. v. Randolph, 531
Ub], 13, 14, 18, 24
Greenberg v. Bear, Stearns & Co., 220 F.3d 22
ON > 24
Halligan v. Piper Jaffray, Inc., 148 F.3d 197
(CA2 1996) ..ncccceccscceccserscessrecvseccecsecssnsscsscsscsensees 24
Herrington v. Union Planters Bank, N.A., 113
F.Supp.2d 1026 (S.D. Miss. 2000)............-00+++ 42
Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., No. 01-
800 (argued Oct. 9, 2002) ..........c.ceceeeeeeneeeenensnens 12
In re Humana Managed Care Litig., 285 F.3d
971 (CAI 1 2002) ...00.ccecccsecscocecccccscccecsecssecseseees 5, 26, 28
In re Managed Care Litig., 132 F.Supp.2d 989
(S.D. Fle. 2000)......00..cccccccccssccsecssecsessesesesesossevers passim
In re Managed Care Litig., 143 F.Supp.2d 1371
(S.D. Fla. 2001 )............c-ccssccercecseccsesessesseees 5, 11, 12, 28

Inv. Partners, LLP v. Glamour Shots Lic., Inc.,
298 F.3d 314 (CAS 2002) ..........cccceceeeneee 26, 30, 31, 34

Vil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938) ....cccccccceee. 35
John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S.
ey pe i rvnctencrscinsiiiasisintipastneatantegastaisateiaitaes 17, 22, 27
Jones v. Fujitsu Network Communications, Inc.,
81 F.Supp.2d 688 (N.D. Tex. 1999) 000. 42
LaPrade v. Kidder, Peabody & Co., Inc., 246
J 7 SE ee 24
Larry's United Super, Inc. v. Werries, 253 F.3d
TE aTITTTEccsiensieichiciieniiiinianiasiensessiianbeteininitaeme 26
Lipcon v. Underwriters at Lloyd's, London, 148
ee ee ED MINIT cniesiccistinneiieniiaiesitbiiniietinees 38
Liquid Air Corp. v. Rogers, 834 F.2d 1297 (CA7
Si cnemrenenniysitapnentniatipnmaiaies Senenesteununtescmesss 30
Long v. Silver, 248 F.3d 309 (CA4 2001) ............. 34

MCI Telecommunications Corp. v. Matrix Com-
munications Corp., 135 F.3d 27 (CAI 1998).... 26, 34
Major League Baseball Players Ass'n v. Garvey,

Se 17
Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc.,
Tee 23, 34

Metro E. Ctr. for Conditioning & Health v.
Qwest Communications Int'l, Inc., 294 F.3d

0 ee 26
Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-

Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) ......ccccc000. passim
Molzof v. United States, 502 U.S. 301 (1992)....... 30
Montes v. Shearson Lehman Bros., Inc., 128 F.3d

eT HEU ccenniticnntineninitpancertinneiinemonnsnssen 24, 25
Moses H. Cone Mem'l Hosp. v. Mercury Constr.

ee passim
NLRB v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 175

Gee errssinnradescorsecsrensnannnunennmeanmmmnentecenenmenses 35

Vill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Nat'l Equip. Rental, Ltd. v. Szukhent, 375 U.S.
eee 35

Nat'l Post Office Mailhandlers, Watchmen,
Messengers and Group Leaders Div.,
Laborers Int'l Union of N. Am., AFL-CIO v.
United States Postal Serv., 75\ F.2d 834 (CA6

DBD ecccceccsssnsnsnsstscssensanssensteesessnsnnessnnsssnsessnenneses 25
New York v. Hill, 528 U.S. 110 (2000)............00000 35, 40
Oubre v. Entergy Operations, Inc., 522 U.S. 422

(DBE) nccacccccccncssescsesccssessncccsssssnnssssenssnessssosssssnssoss 37
Paladino v. Avnet Computer Techs., Inc., 134

F.3d 1054 (CAL 1 1998) .....ccccccecsceeseeeeeeeesenees 26, 33, 39
Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg. Co.,

388 U.S. 395 (1967)........ccccccccscseceeresseresereseennes 9, 18, 26
Quiller v. Barclays American/Credit, Inc., 764

F.2d 1400 (CALL 1985) .......ccccccccceereeeeeeeeeeeneees 41
Raytheon Co. v. Automated Bus. Svs., Inc., 882

F.2d 6 (CAI 1989)..........cccccesccecssessessereseeresennsens 34
Richards v. Lloyd's of London, 135 F.3d 1289

ACAD 1DDB) ncccccccccocceccseccssessoccssccssessccssscssssescosnees 38
Roby v. Corp. of Lloyd’s,.996 F.2d 1353 (CA2

IDBS) ..cccccecsccccstecsssssssevsessssososssssssssssssonsssossossooesess 38
Rodriguez de Quijas vy. Shearson/American

Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989) ......ccccceereeees 13
Scherk v. Alberto-Culver Co., 417 U.S. 506

(ID PG) .ccccccccssccssccscsssssccssscsssenssssssnsssnssensssncssenossnss 8
Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218

(1973) ...cccceeveees samemesumessnapennamasseesneenesenqncenganmsaneete 35
Scott v. Prudential Sec., Inc., 141 F.3d 1007

ACAI 19DG) nccccccceccccccccccccscsssscsescsssssssssssssososoees 24
Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479

(BDBS) .ncccccscccsccsscsscccscssssessescsssseseseosssesnssescssesseseee 37, 38

ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon,
nn a iaitineiiiecainantaiititcaseainieadiiliceaieen passim
Sheldon vy. Vermonty, 269 F.3d 1202 (CAI0
SET ciapsinscccasiidanadesetiitatiipieidinniditestiinbetitmadiasesies 24
Shutte v. Thompson, 82 U.S. 151 (1872) ....ccccccc000 35
Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 US. |
Ene ec 9, 10, 17, 39
Surman v. Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &
Smith, 733 F.2d 59 (CAB 1984) .....cccccccccccecceeees 34
The Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. |
[Eire aanestierrensnnsenpatnnetensenesnndiansitinsionunesinedetitecgsinaes 14, 15
Thompson v. Irwin Home Equity Corp., 300 F.3d
eee 26
United States v. Khattak, 273 F.3d 557 (CA3
IIa cnccaneasnciieenentcaensnecsmensdiiisitnitesatatenimasiaaatamaes 35
United States v. Mezzanatto, 513 U.S. 196
ee ee 35, 36
United Steelworkers of Am. v. Enter. Wheel &
Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960) .......cccccccceeesseees 17, 20
United Steelworkers of Am. v. Warrior & Gulf
Nav. Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960)........ccccccccceeseeeees 11, 32
Vermont Agency of Natural Res. v. United States
ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765 (2000).........c0000000 31
Vimar Seguros y Reaseguros, S.A. v. M/V Sky
Reefer, 515 U.S. 528 (1995) .......cccccccceeeseeeees 15, 19, 22
Vineberg v. Brunswick Corp., 391 F.2d 184
| ee 4
Volt Info. Sciences, Inc. v. Bd. of Trustees, 489
Be SE srsccnneciensiatnccnidenenccnssnninans 10, 29, 36, 39
W.R. Grace & Co. v. Rubber Workers, 461 U.S.
Hao MT in ctatibeneedteenenenennnensnnseinmeenenpentainimennnsies 20, 25

Williams v. Cigna Fin. Advisors Inc., 197 F.3d
See ann TEN itiincttenicinaiiinititininasiatpentindiiiitianes 24

x
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Wonderland Greyhound Park, Inc. vy. Autotote

Sys., Inc., 274 F.3d 34 (CAL 2002)........ccccecceeeee 24
Zechman v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, Inc., 742 F.Supp. 1359 (N.D. Ill.

Di cecececsutinnssnindesscactinsenmentininieninccaimsetimantionas 42
FEDERAL STATUTES
Pi BF ccsesesnsscnsstsenierensnitintensacstsmmemmeniantnionn 2,7
|! ot een passim
DI, Bi esccenscccsssctnnscrvesconnsscsnenncensssenessonenncenanes passim
2) i Rendsvonnaniinvns passim
DUEL. BBB cccncccccsevcesccsesscccssscssseocsvessenvenssevsacssnencie passim
SS lt 40
RE dl | Eee 2, 30, 31, 37, 39
FB EIB. SERGE GD ceccerecccsccveesscssccsssrcssscsssemansseesees l
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Arbitration of Interstate Commercial Disputes,
Joint Hearings Before the Subcomms. of the
Comms. on the Judiciary, Congress of the
United States, on S. 1005 and H.R. 646, 68th
Cong., Ist Sess. (1924) ..........0ccccrcscsererersseresssees 8
Organized Crime Control Act: Hearings on S. 30
Before Subcomm. No. 5 of the House Comm. on

the Judiciary, 91st Cong., 2nd Sess. (1970) ....... 38
116 Cong. Rec. 972 (1970).......cccccsceeseeeeeeereeeeneens 37
116 Cong. Rec. 35,346 (1970).......ccccceeeeeeeeereeeees 31
116 Cong. Rec. 35,363 (1970).......ccccceceecereeeeeenees 38
116 Cong. Rec. 36,296 (1970).......cccecceereeereeeeeenees 38
H.R. Rep. No. 68-96 (1924)......ccccccseesseereeneeneeenees 9,39
S. Rep. No. 91-617 (1969).......ccccecseceeeereeneeneeneees 31

S. Rep. No. 94-1011 (1976), reprinted in 1976
EF at ot SG. Sees 37

xi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

S. 2048, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967)
S. 2049, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967)
S. 1623, 91st Cong., Ist Sess. (1969)

MISCELLANEOUS
BLACK’S LAw DICTIONARY (7th ed. 1999)

of Foreign Arbitral Awards, art. V.(2)(b), 21
U.S.T. 2517

1993)
Judith A. Morse, Note, Treble Damages Under
RICO: Characterization and Computation, 6|
NOTRE DAME L. REV. 526 (1986) ..........:ccccccc0ee.
| RESTATEMENT (THIRD) OF FOREIGN.RELATIONS
LAW OF THE UNITED STATES §482(2)(d)

CCRC ee eee eee
SRT eee

Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement

leh LE

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 02-215

PACIFICARE HEALTH SYSTEMS, INC., ef al.,
Petitioners,

V.

JEFFREY Book, D.O., et al., .
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITIONERS’ BRIEF

Petitioners respectfully request the Court to reverse the
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-A10) is
reported at 285 F.3d 971. The relevant decisions of the
district court (Pet. App. Al1-A46, A47-A54) are reported at
143 F.Supp.2d 1371 and 132 F.Supp.2d 989.

JURISDICTION

The Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1). The
court of appeals issued its judgment on March 14, 2002, and
denied a petition for rehearing or rehearing en banc on June
21, 2002. Pet. App. AS5-A56. Petitioners timely filed their
petition for writ of certiorari on August 6, 2002.

2
FEDERAL STATUTES INVOLVED

This case involves §§2, 4, 10, and 11 of the Federal
Arbitration Act (FAA), 9 U.S.C. §1 et seq., and §1964 of the
Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO),
18 U.S.C. §1961 et seg. The text of these provisions is set
out in the appendix to this brief.

STATEMENT

This case is a consolidated multi-district litigation that was
initially filed by a group of physicians accusing managed
health care organizations, with whom they had contracted, of
not properly paying claims they had submitted. This lawsuit
was brought in violation of the physicians’ arbitration
agreements, and they have concomitantly sought to expand
the litigation by effectively nullifying the application of
thousands of arbitration agreements by which physicians have
contractually bound themselves to resolve their disputes
through arbitral proceedings.’

United and PacifiCare process hundreds of millions of
claims each year, and it is inevitable that disputes
occasionally will arise with physicians regarding the

disposition of some of those claims. Given the sheer volume _

of claims, it is essential for petitioners to have an effective
dispute resolution mechanism that appropriately balances the
parties’ interests in fairness and efficiency. To that end,
petitioners have internal grievance processes that address
physician complaints about the treatment of claims. Issues
that are not resolved at that level may be submitted to internal
appeals processes. A physician may initiate an arbitration
proceeding to resolve any remaining issues only when neither

' Subsequent to the orders that are the subject of this proceeding, the
district court certified a nationwide plaintiff class of approximately
600,000 physicians. The court of appeals has granted a Rule 23(f)
petition to review that decision, and issues relating to class treatment of
arbitrable claims are not currently before the Court.

3

the grievance process nor the appeals process is successful.
Typically, physicians who contract with United and
PacifiCare execute an agreement to handle their disputes
through this nonlitigation mechanism.

In addition to their vast superiority in efficiency, peti-
tioners’ grievance-appeal-arbitration processes also control
litigation costs, ensuring a cost-effective means of resolving
disputes without many of the costs and risks associated with
prolonged litigation. The cost of litigating with a physician
over even a single claim can be onerous, and the risk of jury
verdicts far out of proportion to the amount of the claim is
substantial. As the Court has cogently observed, “The rea-
sons for favoring arbitration are as wise as they are obvious:
litigation is costly and time consuming . . . .””

Respondents Glenn Kelly, M.D., and Manual Porth, M.D.,
individually or as members of larger physician groups,
entered into physician agreements with United. Those
agreements contained arbitration provisions under which Drs.
Kelly and Porth agreed to submit “any disputes about their
business relationship” with United “to binding arbitration.”
J.A.168, 212. Each agreement also sought to limit any arbi-
tration award of punitive or exemplary damages. J.A.168,
212 (Dr. Kelly’s arbitration agreement with United limited
the arbitrator’s ability to award “punitive or exemplary dam-
ages”); J.A.212 (Dr. Porth’s arbitration agreement with
United limited the arbitrator’s ability to award “extracon-
tractual damages of any kind, including punitive or exem-
plary damages”); J.A.168.

Respondents Jeffrey Book, D.O., and Dennis Breen, M.D.,
individually or as members of larger physician groups, were
similarly bound by their physician contracts to arbitrate

? Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight Sys., Inc., 450 U.S. 728, 747
(1981) (Burger, C. J., dissenting).

4

disputes with PacifiCare.’ The PacifiCare agreements
required Drs. Book and Breen to arbitrate “any controversy”
“arising out of” their respective agreements, and further
stated that the “arbitrator shall have the power to grant all
legal and equitable remedies and award compensatory
damages provided by [State] law, except that punitive
damages shall not be awarded.” J.A.84, 106-07, 146-47.

Respondents disregarded their contractual commitments to
arbitrate when they sued petitioners and others on August 14,
2000. R.167.1.4 Respondents claimed to be “victims of a
scheme implemented by Defendants in violation of the
Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organization Act (RICO),”
id., at 2, and they also alleged various other federal and state-
law causes of action, including claims for breach of contract
and quantum meruit: The defendants, including petitioners,
timely moved the district court to compel respondents to
arbitrate all of their claims. See R.320.6-7; R.421.6-7;
R.583.11-16, 18.

The district court granted in part and denied in part the
various defendants’ motions to compel arbitration. See /n re
Managed Care Litig., 132 F.Supp.2d 989, 992 (S.D. Fla.
2000). The district court held that petitioners’ arbitration
agreements were generally enforceable and sufficiently broad
to encompass respondents’ claims against petitioners.” But,

> Breen is not a named plaintiff in the most recent amended complaint,
but he is a member of the certified class and is still the subject of an order
granting and denying arbitration, on which the Court granted a writ of
certiorari. Moreover, respondents are seeking leave to file another
amended complaint that does list Breen as a named plaintiff.

* Citations to the underlying record will reference the docket number
and relevahit page numbers.

‘> The district court correctly held that so long as respondents’
“allegations ‘touch matters’ covered by the arbitration agreement, then
those claims must be arbitrated, irrespective of how the allegations are
labeled.” Jn re Managed Care Litig., 132 F.Supp.2d, at 993. The district
court held that respondents’ allegations (including their RICO allegations)

5

while recognizing that RICO claims are subject to arbitration,
the district court declined to compel respondents to arbitrate
their RICO claims because it held that they could not obtain
“meaningful relief” in arbitration on those claims as a result
of the damage limitation provisions. /d., at 1000-01, 1005.
Rather than limiting its review to questions of arbitrability,
the district court chose to examine the arbitration agreements’
damage limitation provisions; interpreted those provisions to
preclude an award of RICO treble damages (even though no
provision expressly says that); and held that, because the
damage limitation provisions did not permit “meaningful re-
lief” in arbitration, respondents would be completely relieved
of their obligation to arbitrate their RICO claims. /d.; see
also In re Managed Care Litig., 143 F.Supp.2d 1311, 1375
(S.D. Fla. 2001).

The court of appeals affirmed the district court’s holding
that respondents were not required to arbitrate their RICO
claims because they could not obtain RICO treble damages in
arbitration. See Jn re Humana Managed Care Litig., 285 F.3d
971, 973-74 (CAI1 2002) (“We affirm in its entirety the
district court’s order for the reasons set forth in its compre-
hensive opinion found at 132 F.Supp.2d 989 (S.D. Fla.
2000).”).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Court should reject the lower courts’ attempt in this
case to significantly enlarge the gatekeeping function that the
courts necessarily perform when asked to compel arbitration.
The Court has properly limited the courts’ function in
determining a motion to compel arbitration to determining:
(1) whether the parties are bound by an arbitration agreement ;
whose scope covers the parties’ dispute, (2) whether under §2

“touch[ed] matters” relating to their arbitration agreements. /d, at 1000
n.3, 1001 n.4, 1005 n.9. Respondents did not dispute those conclusions

on appeal.

6

of the FAA there are grounds at law or equity justifying the
revocation of the arbitration agreement, and (3) when a
federal statutory claim is asserted, whether Congress has
expressed a clear intent that such a claim not be arbitrated
at all.

In this case, none of those factors would prevent
arbitration, and the Court should not weaken the protections
of the FAA by empowering judges to abrogate private
arbitration agreements simply by finding fault with previ-
ously agreed-upon provisions in those agreements limiting
arbitral procedures or remedies. The interpretation and
enforcement of those provisions is well within the scope of
the arbitrator’s contractually assigned role, and those deci-
sions are best made in the first instance by the arbitrator as
part of the overall arbitral process. An expansion of the
courts’ role at the motion-to-compel stage to evaluate the
terms under which the parties agreed to arbitrate would upset
the contractual expectations of the party seeking arbitration—
by shifting to the court determinations intended for the
arbitrator—and would severely frustrate the FAA’s support
for arbitration by significantly delaying the mechanism
through which the FAA enforces arbitration. That kind of
prearbitration scrutiny also would dramatically expand the
limited prearbitration review authorized by §§2 and 4 of the
FAA and impinge upon the broader postarbitration review
envisioned under §§10 and 11 of the Act. The Court has
repeatedly noted that postarbitration review is ‘sufficient to
ensure that an arbitrator has complied with the controll-
ing law. "

A who believes that a remedial limitation is not vali
may a that contention before the arbitrator, who is bound
to apply controlling law. Allowing district courts to evaluate
such provisions in the first instance not only usurps the role

7

of the arbitrator, but also exhibits a strong distrust of the
arbitral process because it improperly presupposes that
arbitrators will not, or cannot, correctly apply the law in
assessing challenges to remedial limitations in arbitration
agreements.

But even assuming that the lower courts could properly
undertake to evaluate the damage limitation provisions in
petitioners’ arbitration agreements at the motion-to-compel
Stage, those provisions did not impermissibly restrict
respondents’ RICO remedies in arbitration so as to excuse
respondents from arbitrating their RICO claims altogether.
RICO treble damages were not intended to be primarily
punitive, and even if there were some uncertainty on that
account, the strong presumption favoring arbitration should
have required the district court to adopt an interpretation of
the damage limitation provisions that would permit
arbitration. Most importantly, commercial parties may freely
contract to restrict available remedies, including extracon-
tractual and punitive damages, whether in an arbitration
clause or elsewhere in a contract. And, finally, even if the
damage limitation provisions were not themselves enforce-
able against RICO claims, the proper remedy would have
been to restrict the applicability of the damage limitation
provisions, not to strike the parties’ agreement to arbitrate the
RICO claims altogether.

ARGUMENT

I. ARBITRATORS, NOT COURTS, SHOULD
ADDRESS THE VALIDITY OF ARBITRAL

LIMITATIONS ON REMEDIES IN THE FIRST
INSTANCE.

In 1925, Congress enacted what is now known as the
Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §1, et seg. (FAA). The text,
legislative history, and consistent judicial interpretation of the
FAA illustrate that Congress intended the Act to provide a

8

legal basis for the enforcement of arbitration agreements that
would limit the courts’ involvement in the arbitration process.

A. Congress Enacted a Limited Role for Courts in
Enforcing Arbitration Agreements.

The FAA was intended to end judicial hostility toward
arbitration agreements and to strengthen enforcement of
contractual agreements to arbitrate. Gilmer v. Interstate/
Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 24 (1991); Scherk v.
Alberto-Culver Co., 417 U.S. 506, 510-11 (1974). At the
core of the Act is Congress’s belief that agreements to
arbitrate are, in and of themselves, “business contracts” that
should be enforced by the courts in the same manner as any
other business contract would be enforced. “An agreement
for arbitration is in its essence a business contract. It differs
in no essential [respect] from other commercial agreements.
It should stand upon the same plane and be regarded by the
law in the same light . . . .” Arbitration of Interstate
Commercial Disputes, Joint Hearings Before the Subcomms.
of the Comms. on the Judiciary, Congress of the United
States, on S. 1005 and H.R. 646, 68th Cong. 38 (1924).

Congress’s mandate that courts end their historical hostility
toward arbitration and treat arbitration agreements like other
commercial or business contracts is clear from the language
of the FAA, and in particular §2, the “primary substantive
provision” of the FAA. See Moses H. Cone Mem'l Hosp. v.
Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24 (1983). Section 2
provides that a written arbitration agreement “shall be valid,
irrevocable, and enforceable, save upon such grounds as exist
at law or in equity for the revocation of any contract.” 9
U.S.C. §2 (emphasis added). That section declares “a liberal
federal policy favoring arbitration agreements.” Moses H.
Cone Mem’! Hosp., 460 U.S., at 24; see Mitsubishi Motors
Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 625

9

(1985) (“The ‘liberal federal policy favoring arbitration
agreements’ manifested by [§2] and the Act as a whole, is at
bottom a policy guaranteeing the enforcement of private
contractual arrangements . . . .”) (internal citations omitted).

In enacting §2, Congress sought to end the days when a
party could agree to arbitrate a dispute according to specific
terms and then, having the dispute come to fruition, change
its mind and simply walk away from the agreement without
repercussion. See H.R. REP. No. 68-96, at 2 (1924). Absent a
valid defense to the core agreement to arbitrate, like fraud,
duress, mistake, or other common-law contract defenses,
Congress intended arbitration agreements to be enforced like
other contracts. See Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin
Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 395, 404 n.12 (1967).

Congress did not want parties objecting to arbitration to be
able to force lengthy court proceedings, at great expense, over
whether they have to arbitrate. On the contrary, the FAA was
designed to reflect a “statutory policy of rapid and
unobstructed enforcement of arbitration agreements.” Moses
H. Cone Mem 'l Hosp., 460 U.S., at 23. A party should not be
permitted “to ignore the [arbitration] contract and resort to the
courts” precisely because “[s]uch a course could lead to
prolonged litigation, one of the very risks the parties, by
contracting for arbitration, sought to eliminate.” Southland
Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1, 7 (1984); see also Moses H.
Cone Mem'l Hosp., 460 U.S., at 22 (“Congress’ clear intent”
in the FAA was “to move the parties to an arbitrable dispute
out of court and into arbitration as quickly and easily as
possible”); Prima Paint, 388 U.S., at 404 (discussing the
“unmistakably clear congressional purpose that the arbitration
procedure, when selected by the parties to a contract,
be speedy and not subject to delay and obstruction in
the courts”).

To achieve swift resolution of controversies regarding the
enforcement of an arbitration agreement, Congress indicated

10

that a court’s role in reviewing an arbitration agreement
should be limited to examining (1) whether the dispute is
within the scope of the parties’ arbitration agreement;
(2) whether the agreement to arbitrate is revocable on
grounds at law or in equity; and (3) when one of the parties
asserts a federal statutory claim, whether Congress has clearly
expressed an intent that the statutory claim not be arbitrated.
See Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 628; Southland Corp., 465 U.S.,
at 10-11. :

“The court shall hear the parties, and upon being
satisfied that the making of the agreement for arbitration
or the failure to comply therewith is not in issue, the
court shall make an order directing the parties to proceed
in arbitration in accordance with the terms of the
agreement.” 9 U.S.C. §4.

Congress wanted arbitrators, not courts, to hear and
determine any issues beyond challenges to the making or
scope of arbitration agreements. Because “arbitration is
strictly a matter of contract, the parties to an arbitration
agreement [are] ‘at liberty to choose the terms under which
they will arbitrate.” Volt Info. Sciences, Inc. v. Bd. of
Trustees, 489 U.S. 468, 472 (1989) (citations omitted).

Courts can give effect to this important federal policy
favoring arbitration only by refraining—at the motion-to-
compel stage—from additional inquiries into the meaning and
significance of procedural or remedial limitations in an
otherwise enforceable arbitration agreement and leaving those
determinations to the arbitrator in the first instance. Unless
the party objecting to arbitration can establish that the
arbitration agreement may be revoked under §2 or that
Congress has categorically expressed its intent that certain
federal statutory claims not be arbitrable, the court should
enforce the agreement according to its terms.

—

-l. The FAA Inquiry: Did the Parties Agree To
Arbitrate the Dispute at Issue and Is the
Arbitration Agreement Revocable?

“[T]he question of arbitrability—whether the [arbitration
agreement] creates a duty for the parties to arbitrate the
particular grievance—is undeniably an issue for judicial
determination.” AT&T Techns., Inc. v. Communications
Workers of Am., 475 U.S. 643, 649 (1986). Because arbi-
tration is “a matter of contract between the parties,” First
Options of Chicago, Inc. v. Kaplan, 514 U.S. 938, 943
(1995), a court asked to compel arbitration of a dispute must
first “determine whether the parties agreed to arbitrate that
dispute.” Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 626; see EEOC v. Waffle
House, Inc., 534 U.S. 279, 294 (2002) (“Because the FAA is
‘at bottom a policy guaranteeing the enforcement of private
contractual arrangements,’ we look first to whether the parties
agreed to arbitrate a dispute, not to general policy goals, to
determine the scope of the agreement.”) (internal citation
omitted). The parties’ intentions control that determination,
“but those intentions are generously construed as to issues of
arbitrability.” Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 626. “An order to
arbitrate the particular [dispute] should not be denied unless it
may be said with positive assurance that the arbitration clause
is not susceptible of an interpretation that covers the asserted
dispute. Doubts should be resolved in favor of coverage.”
United Steelworkers of Am. v. Warrior & Gulf Nav. Co., 363
U.S. 574, 582-83 (1960).

There is no question that respondents’ RICO claims are
within the scope of their arbitration agreements. The
agreements plainly state that they will arbitrate “any disputes
about their business relationship” with United and “[a]ny
controversy” or “claim arising out of” their agreements
with PacifiCare. J.A.84, 106, 146, 168, 212. The district
court specifically held—-and respondents have not disputed in
this Court—that the parties’ arbitration agreements reached
the RICO claims. See In re Managed Care Litig., 143

12

F.Supp.2d, at 1375; In re Managed Care Litig., 132
F.Supp.2d., at 994, 1000 n.3, 1001 n.4.°

Nor is there any dispute in this case about §2 revocation
issues. Neither of the lower courts found that the arbitration
agreements could be revoked on §2 grounds. To the contrary,
the lower courts both upheld the arbitration agreements
themselves, and the district court ordered respondents to
arbitrate various claims under their respective arbitration
agreements. Thus, the issue in this particular case is not
whether the arbitration agreements could be revoked under
§2. Instead, the issue is solely whether the district court
could refuse to order arbitration of respondents’ RICO claims
based on perceived inadequacies in the damage limitation
provisions.

2. The Final Inquiry: Did Congress Intend To
Preclude Arbitration of the Statutory Claims
at Issue?

Ordinarily the inquiry would conclude with the recognition
that the parties irrevocably agreed to arbitrate a dispute within
the scope of a valid agreement. See Waffle House, 534 U.S.,
at 294 & n.9. The Court has acknowledged, however, that
Congress can, if it desires, preclude the arbitration of certain
statutory claims. Mitsubishi formally recognized that
Congress can make claims under a particular statute
nonarbitrable, notwithstanding the FAA. 473 U.S., at 625-28.
The Court emphasized, however, that it will not lightly
conclude that Congress intended to preclude arbitration, but
instead will assume that Congress intends statutory claims to

® Another arbitration case currently pending before the Court, Howsam
v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., No. 01-800 (argued Oct. 9, 2002), also
involves a “who decides” issue. But Howsam raises serious questions
about the scope of the parties’ agreement to arbitrate that do not exist in
this case. The lower courts in this case determined that respondents
clearly agreed to arbitrate their disputes with United and PacifiCare.

13

be arbitrable unless Congress itself has evinced in the
Statute’s text or legislative history an intention to preclude
arbitration, id., at 628, or there is an inherent conflict that puts
arbitration at odds with the statute’s underlying purposes. See
Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220,
227 (1987). When statutory claims are at issue, the final part
of the court’s motion-to-compel inquiry is whether Congress
has expressly precluded arbitration of the statutory cause of
action at issue. Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 628; see Green Tree
Fin. Corp.—Ala. v. Randolph, 531 U.S. 79, 90 (2000).

The Court’s prior decisions in this area have repeatedly
focused on whether Congress categorically intended to
exempt certain statutory claims from arbitration. See
Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 627 (“[I]t is the congressional
intention expressed in some other statute on which the courts
must rely to identify any category of claims as to which
agreements to arbitrate will be held unenforceable.”)
(emphasis added); id., at 628 (“if Congress intended the
substantive protection afforded by a given statute to include
protection against waiver of the right to a judicial forum, that
intention will be deducible from text or legislative history”).
Consistent with that view, the Court has determined that
parties may effectively vindicate in arbitration causes of
action created by the Securities Act, the Securities Exchange
Act, RICO,’ the Sherman Act, and the Age Discrimination in
Employment Act of 1967. See Rodriguez de Quijas v.
Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477, 483 (1989);
McMahon, 482 U.S., at 242; Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 637,
640; Gilmer, 500 U.S., at 25, 28.

” McMahon addressed the arbitrability of RICO claims and held that
they are arbitrable. See 482 U.S., at 238 (“There is nothing in the text of
the RICO statute that even arguably evinces congressional intent to
exclude civil RICO claims from the dictates of the Arbitration Act.”); id.
(“There is no hint in [the] legislative debates that Congress intended for
RICO treble-damages claims to be excluded from the ambit of the
Arbitration Act.”).

14

Respondents’ “effective vindication” or “meaningful
relief” argument does not relate to the categorical arbitrability
of RICO claims, but instead is an attempt to inappropriately
extend the Court’s categorical, statute-level review to specific
arbitral procedures or remedies agreed to by the parties. In
the face of the FAA’s statutory text and the pe icy concerns
requiring limited review at the motion-to-compel stage,
respondents want the courts to independently review, before
arbitration, the agreed-upon terms of the arbitration
agreement to ensure that the parties have not limited the
respondents’ ability to obtain all statutorily authorized
remedies. None of the Court’s cases, however, permit a court
to consider free-ranging “effective vindication” claims
separate from the categorical review of statutory rights or
traditional §2 revocation analysis.® “At this interlocutory

* In Green Tree, the Court refused to allow a plaintiff to avoid
arbitration of her Truth in Lending Act (TILA) claims even though she
argued that her “arbitration agreement’s silence with respect to costs and
fees creates a ‘risk’ that she will be required to bear prohibitive arbitration
costs if she pursues her [TILA] claims in an arbitral forum.” 531 U.S., at
90. The Court suggested that “[{i]t may well be that the existence of large
arbitration costs could preclude a litigant . . . from effectively vindicating
her federal statutory rights in an arbitral forum,” id., but then held that the
plaintiff had failed to carry her burden of proving “that arbitration would
be prohibitively expensive.” /d., at 92. The cost-of-arbitration issue in
Green Tree had nothing to do with what procedures should be utilized, or
what statutory remedies should be afforded, in arbitration. Rather, the
Court in Green Tree, citing 9 U.S.C. §2, id, at 89, focused on whether a
party can avoid arbitration if she can prove that she will be cut off from
access to any dispute-resolution forum altogether due to the high costs of
arbitration. See id., at 92 (a party has the burden to make a showing of
“prohibitive expense” to avoid arbitration); id., at 93 (Ginsburg, J.,
concurring and dissenting) (the question of “is the arbitral forum adequate
to adjudicate the claims at issue” is distinct from the question of “is that
forum accessible to the party resisting arbitration”) (emphasis in original).
Cf. The Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. 1, 18 (1972) (stating
that a party can invalidate a choice-of-forum clause if “the contractual
forum will be so gravely difficult and inconvenient that [the party] will for

15

stage it is not established what law the arbitrators will apply
to [respondents’] claims or that [respondents] will receive
diminished protection as a result.” Vimar Seguros y
Reaseguros, S.A. v. M/V Sky Reefer, 515 U.S. 528, 540
(1995); accord id., at 542 (O’Connor, J., concurring in the
judgment).

Respondents cannot reasonably assert that the terms of
their arbitration agreements completely foreclose their
statutory remedies for the alleged RICO violations. But, in
any event, and for the reasons that follow, permitting
prearbitration court review of consensual partial restrictions
on statutory remedies would dramatically alter the Court’s
established motion-to-compel analysis and seriously weaken
the Court’s long-standing support for arbitration under the
FAA.

B. Congress Intended Arbitrators To Address
Questions Regarding the Availability of
Remedies in the First Instance. :

Once a court has determined that the parties have
contractually agreed to arbitrate the statutory claims and that
Congress has not barred arbitration of those claims, no further
inquiry is required or permitted under §2 or §4 of the FAA,
and the court should compel arbitration. In this case,
respondents do not dispute that their RICO claims are
generally arbitrable; rather they assert only that the damage
limitation provisions to which they agreed are improper.
Those allegedly invalid damage limitation provisions,
respondents argue and the courts below held, render their
agreements to arbitrate unenforceable as to their RICO
claims. To get to that result, respondents had to ask the

all practical purposes be deprived of his day in court”). The Court’s
resolution of the issue was consistent with its traditional §2 revocation
analysis and its categorical review of statutory rights.

16

district court to: (1) bypass the general arbitrability issue;
(2) interpret the damage limitation provisions and declare
them improper as a matter of law; (3) speculatively conclude
that the arbitrator would not properly apply the law to the
_ provisions (which is inherent in the district court’s declaration

that respondents could not obtain “meaningful relief”);
(4) reject all of petitioners’ defenses of the damage limitation
provisions; and (5) then finally rule that the invalidity of the
damage limitation provisions somehow invalidated the entire
arbitration agreement as to the RICO claims independent of

any known §2 grounds.

In essence, the district court interpreted and made
substantive determinations, not about the scope of what the
parties agreed to arbitrate, but about the merits of the matters
that the parties indisputably agreed to arbitrate. But that kind
of extensive review is precisely what is not supposed to occur
at the motion-to-compel stage, not only because it contradicts
the text and legislative history of §2 and §4 of the FAA, but
also because it ignores the parties’ contractual agreement to
arbitrate the dispute, usurps the role of the arbitrator,
demonstrates a distrust of the arbitral process that the FAA
was intended to dispel, and improperly preempts the court’s
postarbitration review under §10 (grounds for judicial vacatur
of an arbitral award) and §11 (grounds for judicial
modification or correction of the arbitral award) of the FAA.

Parties ordinarily do not catalog specific causes of action
that they want to address through alternative dispute
resolution at the time they execute an arbitration agreement;
they instead broadly agree, for instance, to arbitrate “any
disputes about their business relationship,” J.A.168, 212, and
contractually agree on the general rules of the arbitration and
any remedial limitations that they mutually accept. When
parties agree to remedial limitations in an arbitration
agreement, they have agreed not only to the limitation itself,

17

but also to have the limitation applied or interpreted by the
arbitrator. See First Options, 514 U.S., at 945. “They have
‘bargained for’ the ‘arbitrator’s construction’ of their
agreement.” Eastern Associated Coal Corp. v. United Mine
Workers of Am., 531 U.S. 57, 62 (2000) (quoting United
Steelworkers of Am. v. Enter. Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S.
593, 599 (1960)); see Major League Baseball Players Ass'n
v. Garvey, 532 U.S. 504, 509-10 (2001).

In respondents’ view, however, when an arbitration
agreement limits available remedies, the party asserting a
Statutory cause of action is entitled to litigate, before
arbitration, whether that specific limitation allows
“meaningful relief” in arbitration. And, because a plaintiff
simply may choose to assert a statutory cause of action, a
plaintiff who seeks to avoid arbitration easily may delay or
frustrate the arbitration agreement merely by challenging a
remedial limitation on the ground that it violates the
plaintiff's right to a full statutory remedy. A plaintiff might
challenge any number of remedial agreements between the
parties, including, for example, an arbitration agreement
capping the payment of attorneys’ fees, an agreement for
liquidated damages, or an agreement otherwise limiting
compensatory or punitive damages.

Regardless of the outcome, the mere process of being
forced to litigate the meaning and effect of the remedial
provisions of the arbitration agreement will effectively deny
the nonobjecting party’s contractual right to arbitration. See
Southland Corp., 465 U.S., at 7 (stating that “prolonged
litigation” is “one of the very risks the parties, by contracting
for arbitration, sought to eliminate”); John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543, 558 (1964) (stating that delay in
ordering arbitration “may entirely eliminate the prospect of a
speedy arbitrated settlement of the dispute, to the
disadvantage of the parties”). That process, if endorsed,
would eviscerate a party’s right to enforce an arbitration

18

agreement that is otherwise valid under §2 of the FAA and
would directly conflict with the Court’s directive that “the
Arbitration Act ‘provides no basis for disfavoring agreements
to arbitrate statutory claims by skewing the otherwise hos-
pitable inquiry into arbitrability.”” McMahon, 482 U.S., at
226 (internal citations omitted); see also Moses H. Cone
Mem’! Hosp., 460 U.S., at 22-23 & n.27; Prima Paint, 388

U.S., at 404..

These kinds of disputes should be and are best resolved by
the arbitrator in the first instance. The parties contractually
committed to allow an arbitrator to resolve the merits of their
disputes and award any appropriate remedy that is authorized
under the applicable law and in accordance with the arbi-
tration agreement. The arbitrator should resolve challenges to
remedial limitations because, in addition to the fact that the
parties agreed to it, only the arbitrator can determine on a
complete record what, if any, remedies would be appropriate.
Inquiring into the potential availability of a particular remedy
before the arbitrator has made any determination that the
claimant might be entitled to that remedy is purely con-
jectural and cannot properly justify blocking arbitration of the
claim altogether.’ Instead, once the court determines that the
parties have agreed to arbitrate the claim, the court should
defer to the arbitrator’s role in initially interpreting the terms
of the arbitration agreement and applying the controlling law
in light of the entire arbitration record.

9 Indeed, the review undertaken by the district court in this case was far
more speculative than the weakness alleged in the arbitration agreement in
Green Tree. See 531 U.S., at 91. The damage limitation provisions used
as the basis for excusing respondents from arbitration would have become
relevant only if: (1) petitioners did not waive their reliance on the
provisions; (2) the arbitrator ruled in respondents’ favor; (3) the parties
did not settle the dispute; and (4) the arbitrator declined to treble the

damages.

i

19

The Court for this reason has previously declined to
speculate on whether or how provisions in the parties’
arbitration agreement would somehow affect the plaintiff's
ability to prosecute or recover on her claim in arbitration and
has left those questions to the arbitrator in the first instance.
In Mitsubishi, for example, the Court expressly declined to
consider at the motion-to-compel stage a claim that the
arbitral panel could potentially apply the wrong law and,
accordingly, affect the plaintiff's prosecution of its antitrust
claims. 473 U.S., at 637 n.19. The Court recognized that the
potential choice-of-law questions were outside the confines of
the limited test for arbitrability and, therefore, were for the
arbitrator to address in the first instance with the possibility
for review by the court at the award-enforcement stage:

“We therefore have no occasion to speculate on [the law
to be applied by the arbitral panel] at this stage in the
proceedings, when Mitsubishi seeks to enforce the
agreement to arbitrate, not to enforce an award . . . [T]he
national courts of the United States will have the
opportunity at the award-enforcement stage to ensure
that the legitimate interest in the enforcement of the
antitrust laws has been addressed.” /d., at 637 n.19, 638.

Building on Mitsubishi, the Court in Vimar Seguros
continued to distinguish between the narrow review permitted
before arbitration and the broader postarbitration review in
order to define those issues that should be left to the arbitrator
in the first instance. Questions regarding what law will apply
are to be “decided in the first instance by the arbitrator.” 515
U.S., at 541. The Court specifically declined to speculate at
the motion-to-compel stage about “what law the arbitrators
will apply to petitioner’s claims,” or about whether
“petitioner will receive diminished protection” as a result of
the choice-of-law decision. /d., at 540. Those issues were
“premature” because “[rjespondents seek only to enforce the
arbitration agreement” and the lower court would have the

20

““opportunity at the award-enforcement stage to ensure that
the legitimate interest in the enforcement of the . . . laws has
been addressed.’” /d. (quoting Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 638).

By limiting its consideration at the motion-to-compel stage
to issues related to the making and scope of the arbitration
agreement, and by refraining from considerations of whether
and to what extent provisions in an agreement may affect the
parties’ rights and remedies in arbitration, a court does more
than just pay lip service to the “emphatic federal policy in
favor of arbitral dispute resolution”; rather, it advances that
policy and, in turn, satisfies the goals of the FAA. See
Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 631. By contrast, when a court
undertakes to evaluate the validity or effect of a provision of
the parties’ substantive agreement, the court usurps the role of
the arbitrator and deprives the parties of the contractual
bargain that the FAA was intended to protect. See W.R.
Grace & Co. v. Rubber Workers, 461 U.S. 757, 764-65
(1983) (parties to an arbitration agreement have bargained to
have the arbitrator interpret the contract); Enter. Wheel & Car
Corp., 363 U.S., at 599 (same). Even if the arbitrator is free
to reinterpret the contractual provisions as part of a
subsequent arbitration, the parties will have already litigated
in court issues central to the dispute and will have lost forever
the efficiency and cost-effectiveness that were part of the
arbitration bargain. See Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 633 (“[I)t is
often a judgment that streamlined proceedings and expe-
ditious results will best serve their needs that causes parties to
agree to arbitrate their disputes.”).

In addition to improperly substituting the court’s judgment
for that of the arbitrator, the district court’s prearbitration
merits review of the parties’ damage limitation provisions
expresses, at minimum, a “general suspicion of . . . the
competence of arbitral tribunals.” McMahon, 482 U.S., at
231. That suspicion is dramatically revealed in the district

21

court’s conclusion that the unavailability of punitive damages
would preclude respondents from effective vindication of
their substantive RICO rights in arbitration. That conclusion
improperly presumed, first, that the district court was better
suited than the arbitrator to interpret the scope of the parties’
agreement to limit punitive damages and, second, that the
arbitrator would be unable or unwilling to correctly interpret
and apply the law to the parties’ agreement. It was neither
factually credible nor legally permissible for the district court
to prognosticate that the arbitrator would not follow
controlling law, particularly since all of the arbitration
agreements in this case «xpressly instruct the arbitrator to
follow the law. J.A.84, 106-07, 146-47, 168, 212. This Court
has repeatedly declined to presume that arbitrators will be
incompetent or unwilling to decide the issues placed before
them. See Gilmer, 500 U.S., at 30; Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at
634. “[W]e have indicated that there is no reason to assume
at the outset that arbitrators will not follow the law; although
judicial scrutiny of arbitration awards necessarily is limited,
such review is sufficient to ensure that arbitrators comply
with the requirements of the statute.” McMahon, 482 U.S., at
232; see also Gilmer, 500 U.S., at 32 n.4 (same).

That distrust of the arbitral process improperly led the
district court to perform a prearbitration substantive analysis
that is both premature and more intrusive than the
postarbitration judicial review contemplated by §§10 and 11
of the FAA. Issues of how provisions in an arbitration
agreement may affect the parties’ rights and remedies in
arbitration are outside the scope of a court’s motion-to-
compel inquiry; they are appropriate for judicial review only
at the award-enforcement stage after the arbitrator has
addressed them in the first instance.'° See Mitsubishi, 473

'° The Court has previously suggested that, on postarbitration review, it
would have little hesitation condemning as against public policy
agreements whose provisions operate to foreclose completely a party’s

22

U.S., at 637 n.19; see also John Wiley & Sons, 376 US., at
557.'' When parties agree to resolve disputes in an arbitral
forum, the parties’ bargain is not merely to forgo a judicial
forum in favor of an arbitral one in the first instance, but
necessarily also to conform the scope of judicial review of the
arbitral award to the standards provided for in the FAA. See
9 U.S.C. §§10-11; First Options, 514 U.S., at 942; cf. Gilmer,
500 U.S., at 31 (“[B]y agreeing to arbitrate, a party ‘trades the
procedures and opportunity for review of the courtroom for
the simplicity, informality, and expedition of arbitration.””)
(quoting Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 628). In the face of a valid
agreement to arbitrate, that review should occur only after the
parties have gone through the arbitration for which they have
bargained. See, e.g., McMahon, 482 U.S., at 242 (plaintiffs,

ability to pursue statutory remedies (as opposed to when remedies may
still be available but could simply be affected by the terms of the
agreement). See Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 637 n.19; Vimar Seguros, 515
U.S., at 540. That dictum is consistent with a court’s authority to refuse

to enforce foreign judgments that offend “the public policy of the United
States.” 1 RESTATEMENT (THIRD) OF FOREIGN RELATIONS LAW OF THE

UNITED STATES §482(2)(d); Convention on the Recognition and
Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, art. V(2)(b), 21 U.S.T. 2517.

'! In John Wiley & Sons, effectively anticipating the Mitsubishi test for
arbitrability, the Court acknowledged the limitations on its authority under
the Labor Management Relations Act at the motion-to-compel stage:

“Once it is determined, as we have, that the parties are obligated to
submit the subject matter of a dispute to arbitration, ‘procedural’
questions which grow out of the dispute and bear on its final
disposition should be left to the arbitrator. Even under a contrary
rule, a court could deny arbitration only if it could confidently be
said not only that a claim is strictly ‘procedural,’ and therefore
within the purview of the court, but also that it should operate to bar
arbitration altogether, and not merely limit or qualify an arbitral
award.” 376 U.S., at 557-58.

23

“having made the bargain to arbitrate” their RICO claims,
would “be held to their bargain”). '?

Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 514 U.S.
52 (1995), confirms that there is no need for a district court to
conduct prearbitration review of available remedies. On
postarbitration review, the Court examined a lower court
decision vacating in part an arbitration award that included
punitive damages. The Court substantively reviewed the
respondents’ claims that the arbitration panel had no authority
to award punitive damages because the underlying contract
was governed by New York law, which did not permit
arbitrators to award punitive damages, and ultimately decided
that the award “should have been enforced as within the
scope of the contract.” /d., at 64. Because the Court’s review
occurred at the postarbitration stage, the Court had the
benefit of knowing not only the arbitrators’ views on the
matter, but also that the issue was ripe because the arbitrators
had in fact awarded punitive damages. See id., at 54-55. The
key to Mastrobuono, and what harmonizes it with Mitsubishi
and other prearbitration cases, is that the Court was
conducting the postarbitration inquiry contemplated by §10,
rather than the limited arbitrability review authorized by
§§2 and 4.

The Court has emphasized that postarbitration judicial
review under §§10-11 is sufficient to ensure that arbitral
decisions effectively vindicate rights available under statutes,
such as RICO, that create arbitrable claims.'? See Gilmer,

'? The district court’s pre-evaluation of what would have happened
during an arbitration is particularly troubling because the respondents in
this case have disclaimed to petitioners, the district court, and the court of
appeals any intention of arbitrating any claim that is sent to arbitration.
R.1244.1; R.1272.4-5; R.1637.1-2; Appellees’ Response to Motion for
Stay of Proceedings, at 17-18 (5/21/2001).

'* Respondents incorrectly argued that the second part of the court’s
motion-to-compel inquiry is more general: to determine “whether [any]

24

500 U.S., at 32 n.4; McMahon, 482 U.S., at 232 (noting that
judicial review in accordance with the FAA is “sufficient to
ensure that the arbitrators comply with the requirements of
the statute”). Adequate postarbitration review would be
available in this case. If the arbitrator concludes that the
arbitration agreements preclude an award of RICO treble
damages, then the district court could properly address during
award-enforcement proceedings whether that result violates a
cognizable public policy—with the benefit of the arbitrator’ 8
determination on the merits of respondents’ RICO claims."

Courts have been willing to invalidate an award when the
arbitrator has plainly failed to vindicate a party’s statutory
rights.'° But the district court in this case formulated its own

legal constraints external to the parties’ agreement [to arbitrate] foreclosed
the arbitration of those claims,” and argued that this language justified the
court’s review of the damage limitation provisions. Brief in Opposition to
Petition for Writ of Certiorari, at 7. That reading improperly attempts to
expand the Mitsubishi test by substituting any external “constraint” for the
sole focus of the Court’s review: whether there was evidence that
“Congress itself has evinced an intention to preclude a waiver of judicial
remedies for the statutory rights at issue.” Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 628;
see Green Tree, 531 U.S., at 90; Gilmer, 500 U.S., at 26; McMahon, 482
U.S., at 227.

'* The courts of appeals have articulated several grounds— including
the violation of public policy and the manifest disregard of the law—that
would permit a district court to subsequently vacate an arbitration award.
See Wonderland Greyhound Park, Inc. v. Autotote Sys., Inc., 274 F.3d 34,
35-36 (CAI 2002); Sheldon v. Vermonty, 269 F.3d 1202, 1206 (CAI0
2001); DBM Tech., Inc. v. Local 227, United Food & Commercial
Workers Int'l Union, 257 F.3d 651, 659-60 (CA6 2001); LaPrade v.
Kidder, Peabody & Co., Inc., 246 F.3d 702, 706 (CADC 2001);
Greenberg v. Bear, Stearns & Co., 220 F.3d 22, 27 (CA2 2000); Williams
v. Cigna Fin. Advisors Inc., 197 F.3d 752, 757-61 (CAS 1999); Scott v.
Prudential Sec., Inc., 141 F.3d 1007, 1017 (CA11 1998).

'S See, e.g., Halligan v. Piper Jaffray, Inc., 148 F.3d 197, 204 (CA2
1998) (vacating an arbitral award when arbitrators showed manifest
disregard for the law in denying a claim for damages urder the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act); Montes v. Shearson Lehman Bros.,

25

interpretation of the damage limitation provisions and then
proceeded to hold that the provisions, as interpreted, violated
public policy, all before any arbitration made the issues ripe
for judicial review.'°

Allowing a court to usurp the arbitrator’s role in
performing the merits review also creates an unacceptable
risk of gamesmanship and strategically motivated objections.
Before arbitration, §4 authorizes judicial intervention only
when a party allegedly “fail[s], neglect[s], or refus[es]” to
arbitrate. In the absence of a failure or refusal to arbitrate, the
dispute proceeds directly to the arbitral forum and judicial
review occurs, if at all, only after the arbitration is completed.
Parties who willingly comply with a valid arbitration
agreement get exactly what they bargained for—contractual
interpretation and dispute resolution by the arbitrator. See
W.R. Grace, 461 U.S., at 764-65. Allowing a party to obtain
substantive judicial review simply by interposing an objection
to arbitration turns the congressional policy favoring
enforcement of arbitration agreements on its head by
providing parties to valid arbitration agreements with a

Inc., 128 F.3d 1456, 1464 (CAI1 1997) (reversing district court's
affirmance of arbitration award on the basis that it manifestly disregarded
the law of Fair Labor Standards Act).

'° Even if the district court were permitted to reach the issue whether a
waiver of RICO treble damages violated public policy, and even if the
court were correct that a waiver does violate public .policy, that
determination should not have absolved respondents of their obligation to
arbitrate their RICO claims. If the arbitrator were to enter an award for a
RICO violation without having trebled the amount of compensatory
damages, on postarbitration review the district court, if required, could
easily vacate the award or modify it to comply with RICO by performing
a simple mathematical computation. See, eg, Nat'l Post Office
Mailhandlers, Watchmen, Messengers and Group Leaders Div., Laborers
Int'l Union of N. Am., AFL-CIO vy. United States Postal Serv., 75\ F.2d
834, 844-45 (CA6 1985) (directing district court on remand to enter
judgment modifying arbitration award to include back pay).

26

perverse incentive to breach their agreements to arbitrate.
The party who decides, in hindsight, that it prefers litigation
to arbitration gets precisely what it contractually agreed to
waive, and the other party to the arbitration agreement is
denied the benefit of its bargain. Parties should be held to
their predispute bargain to arbitrate even when, after a dispute
arises, they may regret their agreement to submit to an
arbitral forum. See First Options, 514 U.S., at 942;
McMahon, 482 U.S., at 242; Prima Paint, 388 U.S., at 404.

A number of circuits have addressed whether the validity
of a limitation on remedies in an arbitration clause should be
addressed by the district court or the arbitrator in the first
instance and have concluded, in line with the Court’s
precedent, that the decision should be made by the arbitrator
in the first instance. See Boomer-v. AT&T Corp., 309 F.3d
404, 419 n.6 (CA7 2002); Thompson v. Irwin Home Equity
Corp., 300 F.3d 88, 91-92 (CAI 2002); Metro E. Ctr. for
Conditioning & Health v. Qwest Communications Int'l, Inc.,
294 F.3d 924, 929 (CA7 2002); Arkcom Digital Corp. v.
Xerox Corp., 289 F.3d 536, 539 (CA8 2002); Larry's United
Super, Inc. v. Werries, 253 F.3d 1083, 1086 (CA8 2001);
MCI Telecommunications Corp. v. Matrix Communications
Corp., 135 F.3d 27, 33 n.12 (CAI 1998); Great W. Mortgage
Corp. v. Peacock, 110 F.3d 222, 228, 232 (CA3 1997); but
see Inv. Partners, LLP v. Glamour Shots Lic., Inc., 298 F.3d
314, 316 (CAS 2002); In re Humana Managed Care Litig.,
285 F.3d, at 973-74 & n.3; Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Prods.
Co., 43 F.3d 1244, 1247-49 (CA9 1995).

The district court could not justifiably rely on the Eleventh
Circuit’s Paladino decision because the court in that case
impermissibly decided issues that should have been left to the
arbitrator in the first instance, i.e., when it held that it could
deny arbitration if the relief available in arbitration was not
“sufficiently meaningful.” See Paladino v. Avnet Computer
Techs., Inc., 134 F.3d 1054, 1060 (CAI11 1998). The district

27

court’s evaluation in this case whether respondents could
obtain “meaningful relief’ in their prospective arbitrations
similarly ran afoul of the limitations of §2, usurped the role of
the arbitrator, deprived the parties of the benefit of their
bargain, exhibited improper distrust for the arbitral process,
and failed to recognize the adequacy of postarbitration
review. Rather than attempting to determine whether the
arbitration agreement provided “meaningful relief’ at the
motion-to-compel stage—an analysis that should have been
foreclosed by Mitsubishi, McMahon, John Wiley & Sons, and
Gilmer—the district court should have simply sought to
determine whether the arbitration agreement itself was
revocable under §2 and then compelled arbitration of the
RICO claims."’

’ The district court also refused to compel arbitration of Dr. Kelly’s
ERISA claims, unjust enrichment claims, and claims for violation of state
prompt pay laws because of a provision in his arbitration agreement that
required arbitration to be commenced within one year after either party
notifies the other in writing of a dispute. See /n re Managed Care Litig.,
132 F.Supp.2d, at 1001. The district court improperly construed this
diligent-prosecution requirement as an impermissible “one year statute of
limitations” on Dr. Kelly’s claims that excused him from arbitrating his
ERISA and other statutory claims, see id, although the court also
inconsistently stated that it was “not persuaded that the statute of
limitations provision is a strong enough factor, on its own, to overcome
the FAA’s strong presumption in favor of arbitration,” and ordered
arbitration of Keily’s contractual claims. /d. Apparently recognizing this
impropriety, the district court later issued an order to Dr. Kelly to show
cause why the district court should not reverse its position and compel Dr.
Kelly to arbitrate his state prompt pay claims. R.1199.3-5. Assuming,
arguendo, that Dr. Kelly’s arbitration agreement did contain an
impermissible one-year statute of limitations provision on claims brought
in arbitration, the district court should have compelled Dr. Kelly to
arbitrate his ERISA, unjust enrichment, and state prompt pay claims for
the very same reasons that it should have ordered arbitration of the RICO
claims. Once the district court determined that Dr. Kelly entered into an
agreement to arbitrate ERISA, unjust enrichment, and state prompt pay
claims, and further determined that the ERISA statute did not preclude a

28

Il. THE DAMAGE LIMITATION PROVISIONS
COULD NOT JUSTIFY EXCUSING
RESPONDENTS FROM ARBITRATING THEIR
RICO CLAIMS.

Even if the district court could have properly reviewed the
validity of the restriction on punitive damages found in the
physicians’ respective arbitration agreements, the court still
erred in its interpretation and application of the provisions. In
ruling that respondents’ RICO claims were exempt from
arbitration, the district court first interpreted the provisions
limiting punitive damages strictly to prohibit treble damages
under RICO, held that the provisions would not allow for
meaningful relief in the arbitration, and then declared that the
entire arbitration agreement would not be enforced in
connection with the physicians’ RICO claims. See In re
Managed Care Litig., 143 F.Supp.2d, at 1375; Jn re Managed
Care Litig., 132 F.Supp.2d, at 1000-01. With or without the
damage limitation provisions, respondents can enforce their
RICO rights in arbitration, and the RICO claims should have
been sent to arbitration.

waiver of judicial rights, then the district court should have compelled
these claims to arbitration, leaving to the arbitrator to decide in the first
instance whether Dr. Kelly’s arbitration agreement contained an
impermissible one-year statute of limitations. Subsequent to the district
court's refusal to compel arbitration of Dr. Kelly’s unjust enrichment
claim, respondents attempted to waive this claim, and requested the court
of appeals to stay the unjust enrichment claim. See Appellees’
Consolidated Reply Brief, at 34 n.9 (6/4/2001). The court of appeals did
not stay the unjust enrichment claim and it improperly refused to compel
Dr. Kelly to arbitrate his unjust enrichment claim. See /n re Humana
Managed Care Litig., 285 F.3d, at 973-74.

29

A. A Limitation on Punitive Damages Does Not
Prevent an Award of RICO Treble Damages.

The lower courts refused to compel arbitration of
respondents’ RICO claims because they incorrectly construed
the language in the arbitration agreements restricting the
arbitrator’s ability to award “punitive” damages as
encompassing RICO treble damages. But the district court’s
determination that RICO treble damages are “a form of
punitive damages,” id., at 1001, does not accurately reflect
the purposes of RICO treble damages and should not have
served as a basis for disregarding both the damage limitation
and the agreement to arbitrate itself (at least as to the RICO
claims). Statutory treble damages are not themselves punitive
damages in the ordinary sense of the term, and RICO
legislative history and the substantial differences between
statutory treble damages and traditional punitive damages
confirm that RICO treble damages should not be considered
“punitive damages” within the context of the arbitration
agreements. Even if there were some uncertainty about how
the term should be interpreted, that. uncertainty should have
been resolved in favor of arbitration. See Moses H. Cone
Mem 'l Hosp., 460 U.S., at 24-25 (obligating district courts to
resolve “any doubts concerning the scope of arbitral issues
... in favor of arbitration, whether the problem at hand is the
construction of the contract language itself or an allegation of
waiver, delay, or a like defense to arbitrability”); see also
Volt, 489 U.S., at 476 (same).'*

The term “punitive damages” that appears in the arbitration
agreements is a familiar term that generally describes a
category of common-law damages independently awarded to

'® That is particularly true in light of United’s concession below that—
because United does not believe that RICO treble damages are punitive
damages— it would not assert the damage limitation provisions to bar an
award of RICO treble damages in arbitration. R.582.14-16.

30

punish a defendant for its conduct. See Molzof v. United
States, 502 U.S. 301, 306 (1992) (“‘Punitive damages’ is a
legal term of art that has a widely accepted common-law
meaning.”). Treble damages, on the other hand, are a
statutorily created category of damages that serve disparate
purposes and whose nature and practice differ significantly
from common-law punitive damages. See /nv. Partners, 298
F.3d, at 317. RICO treble damages are not within the
common-law meaning of the term of art “punitive damages.”
See Molzof, 502 U.S., at 306.

Moreover, multiple damages provisions in federal statutes
are also distinguishable from punitive damages because they
are not enacted primarily for punitive purposes. See BLACK’S
LAW DICTIONARY, definition of “MULTIPLE DAMAGES” (7th
ed. 1999) (citing DAN B. Dospss, LAW OF REMEDIES §3.12, at
359 (2d ed. 1993)) (“[MlJultiple damages statutes may be
enacted for entirely non-punitive purposes.”). That is true of
RICO treble damages. See Liquid Air Corp. v. Rogers, 834
F.2d 1297, 1310 n.8 (CA7 1987) (“Although there is some
sense in which RICO treble damages are punitive, they are
largely compensatory in the special sense that they ensure
that wrongs will be redressed in light of the recognized
difficulties of itemizing damages.”); accord Aetna Cas. Sur.
Co. v. P&B Autobody, 43 F.3d 1546, 1572 (CAI 1994) (“It
may reasonably be argued . . . that RICO damages are
primarily compensatory in nature.”); see also Carter v.
Berger, 777 F.2d 1173, 1175-76 (CA7 1985).

Indeed, it is clear from the legislative history of RICO’s
treble damages provision—on which the Court relied in
McMahon—that it was enacted for “non-punitive purposes”
and should not have been defined as punitive damages in
interpreting the arbitration agreements. In McMahon, the
Court observed that the legislative history of §1964(c) reveals
an “emphasis on the remedial role of the treble damages
provision.” 482 U.S., at 241. “This focus on the remedial

31

function of §1964(c),” the Court added, “is reinforced by the
recurrent references in the legislative debates to §4 of the
Clayton Act as the model for the RICO treble-damages
provision.” /d., at 241 (citing 116 CONG. REC. 35,346); see
also S. Rep. No. 91-617, at 81-82 (1969) (stating that RICO
was not intended “to visit punishment on any individual” or
to be “penal”); Judith A. Morse, Note, Treble Damages
Under RICO: Characterization and Computation, 61 NOTRE
DAME L. REV. 526, 547 (1986) (“Congress intended treble
damages not as a means for punishing the defendant, but as a
remedy for the plaintiff.”). The legislative history was cited
in McMahon, along with an analogy to the antitrust laws, in
support of what the Court called “the priority of the
compensatory function of [the treble damages provision] over
its deterrent function.” McMahon, 482 U.S., at 240.

Without strong evidence that Congress actually enacted
RICO treble damages primarily as a form of punitive
damages, it was improper for the district court simply to
assume that it was so for the purpose of holding that the
provision could not properly be applied to respondents’ RICO
claims, especially when that conclusion then formed the basis
for releasing respondents from their obligation to arbitrate
their RICO claims altogether. Even if the Court were to
determine that RICO treble damages have a punitive
component, as the Court has done in some other treble
damages contexts,’ “they are not ‘punitive’ for purposes of
interpreting the scope of an arbitration clause.” Inv. Partners,
298 F.3d, at 318 (holding that “the prohibition in the parties’
arbitration agreement against awarding ‘punitive damages’
does not extend to statutory treble damages’’).

'? See, e.g., Vermont Agency of Natural Res. v. United States ex rel.
Stevens, 529 U.S. 765, 785-86 (2000) (stating that the treble damages and
civil penalties authorized by the False Claims Act are “essentially punitive
in nature’’).

32

Although the district court in this case recognized the
Court’s rulings requiring that arbitration agreements be
construed generously in favor of arbitration, see /n re
Managed Care Litig., 132 F.Supp.2d., at 993 (citing Moses H.
Cone Mem’! Hosp., 460 U.S., at 24; Mitsubishi, 473 US., at
625-26), it nevertheless interpreted the term “punitive
damages” in the arbitration agreements unnecessarily broadly
in order to bar arbitration. Given this Court’s recognition of
Congress’s strong expression that RICO treble damages are
not primarily punitive and the inherent differences between
RICO’s statutory treble damages and punitive damages, at the
very least there are serious doubts regarding whether RICO
treble damages should be considered “punitive damages
within the scope of the arbitration agreements. Those doubts
should have required the lower courts to interpret the damage
limitation provisions in the arbitration agreements so as to
preserve the parties’ agreement to arbitrate their disputes. See
Warrior & Gulf Nav. Co., 363 U.S., at 582-83 (stating that a
dispute should be arbitrated “unless it may be said with
positive assurance that the arbitration clause is not susceptible
of an interpretation that covers the asserted dispute”).

B. The Limitation on “Extracontractual Dam-
ages” in Dr. Porth’s Arbitration Agreement
Does Not Impermissibly Limit RICO Treble
Damages.

The district court refused to compel arbitration of Dr.
Porth’s RICO claims after concluding that he could not
recover RICO treble damages in arbitration because his
arbitration agreement prohibits the arbitrator from awarding
“extracontractual damages, including punitive or exemplary
damages.” See In re Managed Care Litig., 132 F.Supp.2d, at
1000. The court erred, however, in reading the “extra-

contractual damages” limitation as a general bar on any
damages other than for breach of contract, rather than a

33

specific limitation on breach-of-contract damages. The
limitation on “extracontractual damages” serves merely as a
limit on the arbitrator’s ability to award non-economic
damages, such as punitive damages, and would not, for the
reasons stated above, bar an award of RICO treble damages.
See DAN B. Dosss, LAW OF REMEDIES §12.1(1), at 753 (2d.
ed. 1993) (“Punitive damages and mental anguish damages
are thus considered ‘extracontractual,’ and usually denied in
pure contract cases.”); Barnes v. Gorman, 122 S.Ct. 2097,
2102 (2002) (“punitive damages, unlike compensatory
damages and injunction, are generally not available for
breach of contract”).”°

The limitation on extracontractual damages does not
prevent Dr. Porth from asserting claims against United in
arbitration; it merely represents the parties’ mutual agreement
to limit any damages to expectancy-type damages under their
contractual relationship. Again, the parties were entitled to
arrange their contractual affairs as they saw fit, and the courts
should not, in the absence of express congressional intent, bar
the application of an express waiver of statutory rights.

C. The Damage Limitation Provisions Are an
Enforceable Part of the Parties’ Contractual
Agreements.

Even if the Court de“ermines that the damage limitation
provisions in the arbitration agreements must be interpreted

* The lower courts concluded that this “prohibition on extracontractual
damages is precisely the type of arbitration agreement that was found
unenforceable in Paladino.” In re Managed Care Litig., 132 F.Supp.2d,
at 1000. In fact, the Paladino arbitration clause was dramatically different
because it authorized the arbitrator “to award damages for breach of
contract only,” see Paladino, 134 F.3d, at 1056, and thus was interpreted
to restrict the party to a single cause of action. Dr. Porth’s arbitration
agreement, by contrast, merely limits him to expectancy-type damages
and bars punitive damages, but does not limit the kinds of claims Dr.
Porth could assert against United.

34

as a bar to RICO treble damages, that limitation was valid and
enforceable and could not justify releasing respondents from
their obligation to arbitrate their disputes with petitioners. As
sophisticated actors,” respondents were free to contract and
structure their arbitration agreements according to their busi-
ness needs, including a mutual waiver of punitive damages.
Physicians may find themselves facing the possibility of an
award of punitive damages when they are accused of
submitting fraudulent claims, and it was eminently reasonable
for both parties to bilaterally agree to waive the right to assert
punitive damages in arbitration. Prior to Mastrobuono,
several circuits permitted parties to contractually waive
punitive damages and have subsequently relied on Mastro-
buono to support that conclusion. See, e.g., Inv. Partners,
298 F.3d, at 318 n.1 (finding that “[p]rovisions in arbitration
agreements that prohibit punitive damages are generally
enforceable”) (citing Mastrobuono, 514 U.S., at 56-57);
Bowen v. Amoco Pipeline Co., 254 F.3d 925, 939-40 (CA10
2001); Long v. Silver, 248 F.3d 309, 319 (CA4 2001); MCI
Telecommunications Corp. v. Matrix Communications Corp.,
135 F.3d 27, 33 n.12 (CAI 1998); Baravati v. Josephthal,
Lyon & Ross, Inc., 28 F.3d 704, 709-10 (CA7 1994);
Raytheon Co. v. Automated Bus. Sys., Inc., 882 F.2d 6, 12
(CAI 1989); Surman v. Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &
Smith, 733 F.2d 59, 63 (CA8 1984).”

2! The district court expressly found as a factual matter that the parties
to this dispute are sophisticated actors. See In re Managed Care Litig.,
132 F.Supp.2d, at 998.

22 A few state courts have at least arguably indicated a contrary view.
As of the date of filing of this brief, at least one petition is pending before
the Court seeking to resolve a claimed conflict between the near-uniform
view of the federal courts that waivers of punitive damages are
enforceable and the contrary view of a state court. See Friedman's Inc. v.
West Virginia ex rel. Dunlap, No. 02-315, 71 U.S.L.W. 3163 (filed Aug.

27, 2002).

35

The Court has repeatedly emphasized the presumption that
parties may voluntarily waive constitutional~ and statutory’
rights and remedies by agreement.”* See New York v. Hill,
ape 110, “y (2000) (“We have ... in the context of a

ad array of ccnstitutional and statutory visions,
articulated a general rule that presumes the availability of
waiver . . . .”) (internal quotation marks omitted); United
States v. Mezzanatto, 513 U.S. 196, 200-01 (1995) (stating
that “[rjather than deeming waiver presumptively unavailable
absent some sort of express enabling clause, we instead have
adhered to the opposite presumption”) (citing Shutte v.
Thompson, 82 U.S. 151, 159 (1872) (providing that “a party
may waive any provision, either of a contract or of a statute
intended for his benefit”)). Without an affirmative indication

” In United States v. Mezzanatto, $13 U.S. 196, 201
stated that “[a] criminal defendant may knowingly and nn a
many of the most fundamental protections afforded by the Constitution.”
See, é.g., Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218, 248-49 (1973) (hold-
ing that a person may consent to an unreasonable search and seizure):
Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238, 243 (1969) (permitting waiver of right
to jury trial, right of confrontation, and privilege against self-incrim-
ination); Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 465 (1938) (holding that a
person may waive right to counsel).

24

See, e.g., NLRB v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S.

(0007) Gueelting Gen “0 exten ey een tata omy Sn exetnatn
right to strike during the contract term, and his right to refuse to cross a
lawful picket line”); United States v. Khattak, 273 F.3d 557, 561 (CA3
2001) oo mee of appeal under 18 U.S.C. §3742 (1994), and
stating to waive ri ... logi
the ability to waive constitutional tery Apia ae aoa

* Due process rights to notice and hearing prior to civil judgment are
also subject to waiver. See D.H. Overmeyer Co. v. Frick Co., 405 U.S.
174, 185 (1972) (quoting Nat'l Equip. Rental, Lid. v. Szukhent, 375 U.S
311, 315-16 (1964)) (“I}t is settled ... that parties to a contract may
agree in advance to submit to the jurisdiction of a given court, to permit
notice to be served by the opposing party, or even to waive notice
altogether.”) (alteration in original).

36

of congressional intent to the contrary, “statutory provisions
are subject to waiver by voluntary agreement of the parties.
Mezzanatto, 513 U.S.., at 201.

These principles apply with equal force to arbitration
agreements, given Congress’s and the Court’s emphasis on
giving full effect to the parties’ intent. See Volt, 489 U;S., at
479 (“Arbitration under the [FAA] is a matter of consent, not
coercion, and parties are generally free to structure their
arbitration agreements as they see fit.”); Davis v. Prudential
Sec., Inc., 59 F.3d 1186, 1193 (CAI1 1995) (“[A]n agreement
to arbitrate is equivalent to voluntarily entering into a
contract, the terms of which the parties are free to specify.”)
(citing Baravati, 28 F.3d, at 709) (“[S}hort of authorizing trial
by battle or ordeal or, more doubtfully, by a panel of three
monkeys, parties can stipulate to whatever procedures they
want to govern the arbitration of their disputes; parties are as
free to specify idiosyncratic terms of arbitration as they are to
specify any other terms in their contract.”). And, “[hjaving
made the bargain to arbitrate, . . . part[ies] should be held to it
unless Congress itself has evinced an intention to preclude a
waiver of judicial remedies for the statutory rights at issue.”
Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 628.

When congressional intent to preclude waiver is not made
abundantly clear, the Court has allowed parties to waive
statutory rights and remedies. In Evans v. Jeff D., 475 U.S.
717, 719-20 (1986), the respondents contested the waiver of a
statutory eligibility for attorney’s fees under the Civil Rights
Attorney’s Fees Awards Act of 1976 contained in a
settlement agreement. The Court found no support in the
Act’s text or legislative history to preclude waiver, but did
explain its findings: aS"

“{Njowhere [does the legislative history] suggest that
Congress intended to forbid all waivers of attorney's
fees .. . . Congress . . . neither bestowed fee awards
upon attorneys nor rendered them nonwaivable or

37

nonnegotiable; instead, it added them to the arsenal of
remedies available.” /d., at 731-32 (citing S. Rep. No. -
94-1011, at 5 (1976), reprinted in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N.
5912). |

The Court has invalidated waivers of statutory rights and
remedies only in narrow circumstances when Congress has
clearly demonstrated an intent, most often in the statute’s text
or legislative history, to forbid waivers. See, e.g., Oubre v.
Entergy Operations, Inc., 522 U.S. 422, 426-28 (1998)
(invalidating waiver of Age Discrimination in Employment
Act claims when signed waiver failed to conform with the
specific requirements of the Older Workers Benefit
Protection Act). In the RICO context, however, no congres-
sional policy demands invalidation of a waiver of treble
dafhages agreed to by sophisticated parties. Congress has not
expressed any intent to prevent waiver of RICO treble
damages, and respondents were not coerced or subjected to
any improper disadvantage. To the contrary, nothing in either
the text or the legislative history of RICO, including its treble
damages provision, provides any basis to suggest that
individuals cannot agree to waive its remedies.

If anything, the legislative history of the RICO treble
damages provision in particular supports the conclusion that
waiver would not thwart any articulated legislative policy.
The treble damages provision was added late in the legislative
process without extensive deliberation, and the version of the
bill that passed the Senate, S. 30, was limited to injunctive
remedies and did not contain the treble damages provision.
See Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479, 487 (1985);
116 CONG. REC. 972 (1970). The Senate had rejected earlier
versions of the bill that did contain the treble damages
provision in identical form. See Sedima, 473 U.S., at 487
(citing S. 1623, 91st Cong., Ist Sess., §4(a) (1969); S. 2048,
S. 2049, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967)). The treble damages
provision now contained in §1964(c) was added to S. 30 in
the House relatively late in the legislative process on the

38

recommendation of the American Bar Association. See
Organized Crime Control Act: Hearings on S. 30 Before
Subcomm. No. 5 of the House Comm. on the Judiciary, 9\st
Cong., 2nd Sess., at 543-44 (1970) (seeking to add “an
amendment to include the additional civil remedy of
authorizing private damage suits based upon the concept of
Section 4 of the Clayton Act”). Following the passage of
S.30 as amended in the House, see 116 CONG. REC. 35,363-
64 (1970), the Senate adopted the bill that contained the
treble damages provision without seeking a conference. See
Sedima, 473 US., at 488 (citing 116 CONG. REC. 36,296
(1970)). In all of these proceedings, there is no mention
whatsoever of any effort to preclude the waiver of any
remedies under RICO.

Recognizing the absence of any congressional intent to
preclude waiver of RICO treble damages, the courts of
appeals have uniformly enforced arbitration clauses with
forum selection clauses that effectively waived recovery of
RICO treble damages by agreeing to resolve their claims in
countries without similar RICO laws. See Roby v. Corp. of
Lloyd’s, 996 F.2d 1353, 1366 (CA2 1993) (“That RICO
provides treble damages and seeks to deter persistent
misconduct does not dissuade us from our view that the
[plaintiffs’] contract clauses must be enforced.”); Lipcon v.
Underwriters at Lloyd's, London, 148 F.3d 1285, 1299 n.20
(CAI11 1998); Richards v. Lloyd's of London, 135 F.3d 1289,
1296 (CA9 1998) (en banc); Bonny v. Soc'y of Lloyd's, 3
F.3d 156, 159-61 (CA7 1993).

The arbitration agreements addressed in Roby and the
related cases represented a sweeping waiver of all RICO
remedies, yet the courts nevertheless held that private parties
could voluntarily waive their right to any RICO remedies. As
sophisticated commercial actors, the parties in this case were
free to determine what remedies would potentially be
available in arbitration. Because the damage limitation

39

provisions in this case are far less expansive and potentially
apply only to RICO treble damages, respondents will still be
able to pursue RICO causes of action in arbitration and, if
they prevail, recover “the damages [they] sustain[ed] and the
cost of the suit, including a reasonable attorney’s fee,” under
§1964(c). If the parties’ arbitration agreements must be
construed to bar an award of RICO treble damages in
arbitration, then it necessarily follows that the parties
reasonably and properly agreed that untrebled compensatory
damages would be adequate in arbitration.”°

By invalidating the parties’ contractual damage limitation
provisions and holding the arbitration agreements
unenforceable as to respondents’ RICO claims, the lower
courts improperly overreached their authority to review
arbitration agreements and contradicted not only
congressional intent establishing a “liberal federal policy
favoring arbitration agreements,” Moses H. Cone Mem’l
Hosp., 460 U.S., at 24, but also the ability of parties to

*° The Court has remarked that, “by agreeing to arbitrate a statutory
claim, a party does not forgo the substantive rights afforded by the statute;
it only submits to their resolution in an arbitral, rather than a judicial,
forum.”” Gilmer, 500 U.S., at 26 (quoting Mitsubishi, 473 U.S., at 628);
accord Waffle House, 534 U.S., at 295-96 n.10. A party may agree to
limit statutory remedies as part of a valid agreement to arbitrate, and a
party who does so still enjoys the statute’s substantive protections. The
Eleventh Circuit’s contrary rule, that “the arbitrability of [statutory]
claims rests on the assumption that the arbitration clause permits relief
equivalent to court remedies,” Paladino, 134 F.3d, at 1062, would require
a special exception in the arbitration context to the rule that parties may
validly contract to relinquish statutory rights. Such an arbitration-specific
exception would be wholly anomalous given that “parties are generally
free to structure their arbitration agreements as they see fit” under the
FAA, Volt, 489 U.S., at 479, and the exception would offend the most
basic objective of the FAA—“to place ‘{aJn arbitration agreement . . .
upon the same footing as other contracts, where it belongs.’” Southland
Corp., 465 U.S., at 16 (quoting H.R. REP. NO. 68-96, at | (1924)).

40

contract freely (both to resolve disputes in arbitration and to
waive statutory protections). See Hill, 528 U.S., at 114; Volt,
489 U.S., at 479.77

D. Even if the Damage Limitation Provisions Are
Unenforceable, Respondents’ RICO Claims
Were Stil! Arbitrable.

Finally, even if the district court could correctly review the
damage limitation provisions of the arbitration agreements
and correctly ruled that the parties could not agree to waive
RICO treble damages in arbitration, the court still should not
have excused respondents from arbitrating their RICO claims.
By doing so, the district court strongly contradicted the
federal policy favoring arbitration established by §2. See
Moses H. Cone Mem’! Hosp., 460 U.S., at 24 (“Section 2 [of
the FAA] is a congressional declaration of a liberal federal
policy favoring arbitration agreements. . . .”).

If the district court believed that the damage limitation
provisions could not be applied to respondents’ RICO claims,
the court could have easily enforced the arbitration
agreements without any limitation on respondents’ claims for
treble damages under RICO. Both Dr. Porth’s and Dr.
Kelly’s arbitration agreements expressly provide that the
arbitrator “shall be bound by controlling law.” J.A.168, 212.
Dr. Book’s and Dr. Breen’s agreements similarly state that
“(t]he arbitrator shall not have the power to commit errors of
law or legal reasoning.” J.A.84, 146. If RICO is interpreted
to categorically prohibit any contractual waiver of treble

2? Respondents also have alleged in their complaint that petitioners are
civilly liable under 18 U.S.C. §2 because they aided and abetted violations
of RICO. The question of whether a private party can waive rights under
18 U.S.C. §2 is simple: A private party cannot enforce 18 U.S.C. §2 ina
civil proceeding, see Central Bank of Denver v. First Interstate Bank of
Denver, 511 U.S. 164, 190-91 (1994), so nothing in that statute, its
legislative history, or its purpose could restrict a private party’s waiver of
its provisions.

4]

damages claims, then an arbitrator would be bound to apply
that law even in the face of the parties’ agreement to the
contrary. Thus, notwithstanding the parties’ damage
limitation provisions, the arbitrator would be not only
empowered but actually required to award treble damages if
RICO liability is established. In light of this obligation, there
was no justification for undermining the parties’ agreement to
arbitrate respondents’ RICO claims, or for assuming that the
arbitrator would not properly apply controlling law.

In any event, even if the district court believed that the
damage limitation provisions were unenforceable against
respondents’ RICO claims, the court should have enforced
the remainder of the parties’ arbitration agreement because
the clauses could have been severed from the arbitration
agreements without rendering the agreements meaningless.
See, e.g., Gannon v. Circuit City Stores, Inc., 262 F.3d 677,
682 (CA8 2001) (“[I]f we were to_hold entire arbitration
agreements unenforceable every time a particular term is held
invalid, it would discourage parties from forming contracts
under the FAA and severely chill parties from structuring
their contracts in the most efficient manner for fear that minor
terms eventually could be used to undermine the validity of
the entire contract. Such an outcome would represent the
antithesis of the ‘liberal policy favoring arbitration
agreements.’”) (quoting Moses H. Cone Mem’! Hosp., 460
U.S., at 24); Quiller v. Barclays American/Credit, Inc., 764
F.2d 1400, 1402 (CA11 1985) (provisions of contract held to
be contrary to federal regulations severable if contract would
not be rendered meaningless); Vineberg v. Brunswick Corp.,
391 F.2d 184, 186 (CAS 1968) (stating that it is a “well
known principle of contract law that an illegal contract
provision, or one contrary to public policy, when invalidated,
will be severed from the remainder of the contract if it is
possible to do so without leaving the remainder of the
contract meaningless”). In the arbitration context, courts
have severed provisions from arbitration agreements that

42

otherwise would have rendered the agreement unenforceable.
See, e.g., Herrington v. Union Planters Bank, N.A., 113
F.Supp.2d 1026, 1033 (S.D. Miss. 2000) (citing Jones v.
Fujitsu Network Communications, Inc., 81 F.Supp.2d 688,
693 (N.D.-Tex. 1999)).

The essential terms of the arbitration agreements
demonstrate the desire and intent of the parties to arbitrate all
disputes arising out of their “business relationship” or
“agreement.” J.A.84, 106, 146, 168, 212. The inclusion of
the damage limitation provisions clearly was ancillary to the
primary intent of the parties to submit all disputes to
arbitration and to avail themselves of the significant benefits
of the arbitration forum. See Coddington Enters., Inc. v.
Werries, 54 F.Supp.2d 938, 940 (N.D. Mo. 1999) (citing
Zechman v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 742
F.Supp. 1359, 1364 (N.D. Ill. 1990) (“to the extent the court
can infer that the essential term of the provision is the
agreement to arbitrate, that agreement will be enforced
despite the failure of one of the terms of the bargain”)).

If the damage limitation provisions could not be validly
applied to respondents’ RICO treble damages claims, then
severance of offending provisions would have been the best,
and perhaps the only, way to reconcile the parties’ agreement
to arbitrate with the strong federal policy favoring
enforcement of arbitration agreements. See Moses H. Cone
Mem’! Hosp., 460 U.S., at 24-25 (“[A]s a matter of federal
law, any doubts concerning the scope of arbitrable issues
should be resolved in favor of arbitration.”). Respondents
have not asserted, and could not assert, that they would not
have agreed to an arbitration agreement without a damage
limitation provision. See Gannon, 262 F.3d, at 682-83
(severing a provision limiting punitive damages from an
otherwise enforceable arbitration agreement because the
severance did not affect the party’s contractual intent to
arbitrate and “excluding the provision only allows her the

43

opportunity to arbitrate her claims under more favorable
terms than those to which she agreed”). The parties clearly
intended to arbitrate all disputes arising out of their business
or contractual relationships, and the district court’s refusal to
enforce the arbitration agreements at issue seriously
undermines the important federal policy underlying the FAA.

CONCLUSION
For these reasons, the judgment of the court of appeals

. Should be reversed.
Respectfully submitted,
WILLIAM E. GRAUER * JAMES W. QUINN
CHRISTOPHER R. J. PACE JEFFREY S. KLEIN
COOLEY GODWARD LLP EDWARD SOTO
4401 Eastgate Mall GREGORY S. COLEMAN **
San Diego, CA 92121 WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES LLP
(858) 550-6000 767 Fifth Avenue
Cc lof R New York, NY 10153
for PacifiCare Health (212) 310-8000
Systems, Inc., and PacifiCare vai Counsel of Record for
Operations, Inc. UnitedHealth Group Incorporated
Counsel for Petitioners
December 6, 2002 |

la
STATUTORY APPENDIX

9 U.S.C. §2:

A written provision in any maritime transaction or a
contract evidencing a transaction involving commerce to
settle by arbitration a controversy thereafter arising out
of such contract or transaction, or the refusal to perform

the whole or any part thereof, or an agreement in writing
to submit to arbitration an existing controversy arising
out of such a contract, transaction, or refusal, shall
be valid, irrevocable, and enforceable, save upon such
grounds as exist at law or in equity for the revocation of
any contract.

9 U.S.C. 84:

A party aggrieved by the alleged failure, neglect, or
refusal of another to arbitrate under a written agreement
for arbitration may petition any United States district
court which, save for such agreement, would have
jurisdiction under Title 28, in a civil action or in
admiralty of the subject matter of a suit arising out of the
controversy between the parties, for an order directing
that such arbitration proceed in the manner provided for
in such agreement. Five days’ notice in writing of such
application shall be served upon the party in default.
Service thereof shall be made in the manner provided by
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The court shall
hear the parties. and upon being satisfied that the making
of the agreement for arbitration or the failure to com-
ply therewith is not in issue, the court shall make an
order directing the parties to proceed to arbitration in
accordance with the terms of the agreement. The hearing
and proceedings, under such agreement, shall be within
the district in which the petition for an order directing
such arbitration is filed. If the making of the arbitration
agreement or the failure, neglect, or refusal to perform

2a

the same be in issue, the court shall proceed summarily
to the trial thereof. If no jury trial be demanded by the
party alleged to be in default, or if the matter in dispute
is within admiralty jurisdiction, the court shall hear and
determine such issue. Where such an issue is raised, the
party alleged to be in default may, except in cases of
admiralty, on or before the return day of the notice of
application, demand a jury trial of such issue, and upon
such demand the court shall make an order referring the
issue or issues to a jury in the manner provided by the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, a specially call ;
jury for that purpose. If the jury fi at no agreemen
in welling for arbitration was made or that there is no
default in proceeding thereunder, the proceeding shall
be dismissed. If the jury find that an agreement for
arbitration was made in writing and that there is a default
in proceeding thereunder, the court shall make an order
summarily directing the parties to proceed with the
arbitration in accordance with the terms thereof.

9 U.S.C. §10:

(a) In any of the following cases the United States
court in and for the district wherein the award was made
may make an order vacating the award upon the
application of any party to the arbitration—

(1) where the award was procured by corruption,
fraud, or undue means.

(2) where there was evident partiality or corruption
in the arbitrators, or either of them.

(3) where the arbitrators were guilty of misconduct
in refusing to postpone the hearing, upon sufficient
cause shown, or in refusing to hear evidence pertinent
and material to the controversy; or of any other
misbehavior by which the rights of any party have
been prejudiced.

3a

(4) where the arbitrators exceeded their powers, or
so imperfectly executed them that a mutual, final, and
definite award upon the subject matter submitted was
not made.

(5S) If an award is vacated and the time within
which the agreement required the award to be made
has not expired, the court may, in its discretion, direct
a rehearing by the arbitrators.

(b) The United States district court for the dis-
trict wherein an award was made that was issued
pursuant to section 580 of title 5 may make an order
vacating the award upon the application of a person,
other than a party to the arbitration, who is adversely
affected or aggrieved by the award, if the use of
arbitration or the award is clearly inconsistent with the
factors set forth in section 572 of title 5.

9 U.S.C. §11:

In either of the following cases the United States court
in and for the district wherein the award was made may
make an order modifying or correcting the award upon
the application of any party to the arbitration—

(a) Where there was an evident material mis-
calculation of figures or an evident material mistake in
the description of any person, thing, or property
referred to in the award.

(b) Where the arbitrators have awarded upon a
matter not submitted to them, unless it is a matter not
affecting the merits of the decision upon the matter —
submitted.

(c) Where the award is imperfect in matter of form
not affecting the merits of the controversy.

4a

The order may modify and correct the award, so as to
effect the intent thereof and promote justice between the

parties.
18 U.S.C. §1964(c):

Any person injured in his business or property
by reason of a violation of section 1962 of this chapter
may sue therefor in any appropriate United States dis-
trict court and shall recover threefold the damages he
sustains ....

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0590%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
