# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lawrence v. Texas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0585%3A41

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 558

## Text

Sapreme (e

FER Onn?
No. 02-102 14 200

————————e
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

JOHN GEDDES LAWRENCE

and TYRON GARNER,
Petitioners,

V.

STATE OF TEXAS,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Texas Court of Appeals for the Fourteenth District

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE CENTER FOR THE
ORIGINAL INTENT OF THE CONSTITUTION
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

JORDAN W. LORENCE MICHAEL P. FARRIS*
JOSHUA W. CARDEN CENTER FOR THE ORIGINAL
ALLIANCE DEFENSE FUND INTENT OF THE

15333 N. Pima Road CONSTITUTION

Suite 165 P.O. Box 1776

Scottsdale, AZ 85260 Purcellville, VA 20134
(480) 444-0020 (540) 338-1776

*Counsel of Record

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS @ WASHINGTON, D.C. # 1-800-347-8208

TABLE OF CONTENTS
ee Cr I siete neenctcnersesscccanereseemseiemnessnneereeesesenes ll
INTEREST OF AMICUS IN THIS CASE ................ccsssessseessssreeees l
EET GE RIEITETINEIIIIE ontoncccnedesonteccccensenssnesteernesneeescestessec 2

I. THE HISTORIC AUTHORITY OF THE STATES TO
CRIMINALIZE SODOMY IS WELL-SETTLED............... 3

A. Proscriptions Against Sodomy Have Deep
Religious, Political, and Legal Roots................... wipenneial 6

B. The History of State Legislation Reveals That Same-
Sex Sodomy Was Uniformly Condemned................... 10

C. The Records of Appellate Courts Do Not Support
the Claim That the States Avoided Prosecuting or
Condemning Same-Sex Sodomy ..............:ccccccceeeeeeeees 14

D. Amici for Petitioners Confuse a General Rule of
Evidence with a Constitutional! Right ..................:cc 18

E. Nothing in the History or Text of the Equal
Protection Clause Supports a Different Result from
This Court’s -Due Process Clause Decision in
SIND IIIT (iccrmnticntndsmuccesctanapiasiondnenuedsecmnesens 20

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD FOLLO\ THE ORIGINAL
INTENT OF THE FRAMERS AND DECLINE
PETITIONERS’ INVITATION TO LEGISLATE
ke __,___«_ re ENTE TTT TETETE 24

ii

A. Ina Republic, Laws Are Created Only by

FE ET eT EET widnnentieiiail 24

B. Legislative Trends Do Not Create New
Comstitatiaannl BRAID ..cccccessosssssssesenssasnnnisiaiaaeuaiaaaie 26
COIN TIIIUIIN .20000000s0s0secesecensesisssesesncnsbesseunnsnielalsiniannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnE 29
APPTINIEX ..000000:0ccccvscocersnssenceseossebienaunenedsensenininnnnnniinnnnnnnnE A-1

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Anderson vy. State,

20 Tex. App. 312 (1886)......cc-cccvescssseesssseessseesessseeseesseeesenee 19
Ausman v. Veal,

ES TTT ors cn ences cneesncseansssncnescscssenscenees 13
Barnes v. Glen Theater,

Ic emcernmenenel 4
Bartholomew v. Illinois,

cence cmentncenennns 16
Bowers v. Hardwick,

SE Ge oxcecencrsonsnscssccvsnsvcessesscssces 2, 3, 23, 28, 29
Central State University v. American .iss'n of
University Professors,

EES 22
Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, Inc.,

I a sceeninnenemenel 22
Coburn v. Harvey,

18 Wis. 147 (January Term 1864) ..............ccccccccccseeeeeeneees 13
Commonwealth v. Poindexter,

LEI, (ITI cxcccssensnsnsnanesecsnsesnsesscssvcssseses 16
Commonwealth v. Snow,

STITT OEE centineecenenseensqnsvscecenenenevenaceenssscesccsesvees 19

iv

Cross v. State,

17 Tex. Ct. App. 476, 1885 WL 6739 (1885)............0.c0000 24
Day-Brite Lighting, Inc. v. Missouri,

es Cae Ce trtcirnctecnistintntittinstintninitivaianinin 27
Eldred v. Ashcroft,

Oe 4

Foster v. State,
1 Ohio C.D. 261, 1886 WL 2557

ce 20
Gray v. People,

a a I ciicenercierstinsecsiapeatictennintttasnicisisinaiiaaiiniaigiaaas 17
Herring v. State,

Se Be Ce cteninnetnteennincnininiapiiniainnianiiiniin 16
Hicks v. State,

8) 0 Oe 19
Honselman v. People,

CG Se 17, 18, 19, 24
Hutchinson v. State,

ab Fe Be a ceteiecertenrnentntteitinintitrtnaprititaiaanaiiiae 16

Int'l Bhd. Of Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and
Helpers Union v. Denver Milk Producers Inc.,
ee 28

Vv
Jones v. State,

101 S.W. 1012 (Tex. Crim. App. 1907).............cccccccceeeeeees 19
Kelly v. People,

Se le PE Se neneestinmeninnsentnnininnciinennited 16
Medis v. State,

SPA Mil, fe 00 17, 18
Mercer v. State,

ee 17
Oregon v. Mitchell, |

A 21
Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,

ee CE cectnichrrnppunticaniiinetamrentitimminstinnasntinmedinin 21
People v. Deschessere,

Ps i Ge icrsitciecnnniscinsenintionengrecipmmennntal 18
People v. Hickey,

ee re Ce atrerrmcanerpniienncienntiatanienanticnnninnanets 17
People v. Williams,

SE AEE ccreiastecreiiehineennniiniegniaibiegumamnnsieidiel 15
Republic of Hawaii v. Edwards,

Be Ie OE iininiceacentnitannnnnenniatinniinniopumnimnaniinnas 19
Romer v. Evans, |

gE 23

Roe v. Wade,

te Gh)

San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodriguez,
oh Sf

Stafford 's Case,

12 Co. Rep. 36, 77 Eng. 1318 (1607)

State v. Carey,

yy

State v. Gage,

116 N.W. 596 (lowa 1908) ............ccccceees

State v. Hull,

eee

Smith v. State,

(EE

-_-

Sweenie v. Nebraska,

80 N.W. 815 (Neb. 1899)...........ccccccceeeees

Territory v. Mahaffrey,

FF Gl)

United States v. Verdugo-Urquidez,

494 U.S. 259 (1990)........c.ccccccececesesseseseees

U.S. v. Salerno

481 U.S. 739 (1997) ceccocessessssseeeeenneneeee

See eee eee eee ee

vii

U.S. Term Limits v. Thornton,

ee I itinctiiecrienentenemeninesticcnimnnimnueiinnatil 4
West Virginia Board of Education v. Barnette,

en I sienstessiannrenitictntnnctienoneserasnenceemnsesbiniinensinael 26
Constitutions Page
es Ca cecsencestnessnsemssnsecscscsecesenenessexmasensesneesnsensetoamnentit 2
Pe eID cetrernapnncintemnansnccmneenesemsnmsemgemmaanti passim
West Virginia Const., art- XI § 8 (1863)...........cccccccceseeeeeeeeees ae 13
Statutes Page
1 California, Statutes 1850, ch. 99, § 48 o.......cccccccccesceseeeseeeeenees 13
1 Digest of Kentucky Statute Law 36 § 8 (Littell & Swigert,
eds., Frankfort, KY:Kendall & Russell, 1822) ................cccesceseeees 13
1 Mo. Rev. Stat., ch. 50, Art. VIII, 7 (1856) ............ccccccceeceeeeeereees 14

1 The Revised Statutes of the State of North Carolina,
Passed by the General Assembly at the Session of 1836-7
CT 9,11

ee ee SEE iciccinnitentssiintntacineinesrineenntintntjeontuninnes 13,14
2 Digest of the Statute Laws of Kentucky of a Public and

Permanent Nature 1265 § 4 (Frankfort:Albert G. Hodgen,
Bap excecssensanenssenenenntennsemsnussnesmsacsscemsentuenmananastanabsmmmmsanenmmeamnniisi 13

Vill

2 Laws of New York 1777-1789, ch. XXI (21) (enacted Feb. 14,

a 9,11
2 Statutes of South Carolina (enacted Dec. 12, 1712)..........000 9,12
Bs Ge, CF Cae iecenccssticcctneneemeennermennsnneneemenmmnesstinne 7
9 Hennings Statutes of Virginia 1775-1778, ch. V (5) § VI

eee 9,12
2D TRAE Vile GR. 6 CRB cccesccevecevsncesssnssmssssecscsencescentecessscensennoces 7
Acts and Laws of the State of Vt. (1779) .....csssesesseeseerseeeenesenees 14
Acts of the General Assembly, ch. DC (600) § 7 (New Jersey)

|) ee 11,12
Act of Mar. 31, 1860, 32, Pub. L. 392, in 1 Digest of Statute

Law of Pa. 1700-1903, (Purdon 1905)..........sssseserseeseeeseesseseenees 14
FT TE 13
Ape, Gish... Br. Fa, Ra. FY CB eccsseccscsssesancssscssssessssecsssesssssssesvses 13
The Code of Virginia. Second Edition, Including Lagistation to

the Year 1860 (enacted Mar. 19, 1860)...........:c0scseesereeeesereesverees 12
Conn. Gen. Stat., Tit. 122, ch. 7 (1866)........ccccssssssessesseeeeeeseesenees 13
Babs Baw, Bad., Br. THE CRAG ccnccsscssscacsssvssscssssscssccesessscsmnseesscneses 13

A Digest of the Laws of New Jersey 162 § 9 and 161 § 3
Gensel Aad. BG, CGE cececcsssnsmsennsensnsasestesesesmemeanmssesscnn 12, 13

ix
Fla. Rev. Stat., div. 5, (passed 1868) (1892)............cccccccccsceseeeeeeees 13
ey Ces IL ti GA IO ccnceterssneiininiciniaenanntnnunionsniinernnnment 13
La. Rev. Stat., Crimes and Offences (1856) ..............cccccccceceeeeeeeees 13

Laws of the State of Delaware 1797, ch. 22a § 5 (enacted in
A I ea a eA CS 11

Laws of New Hampshire 1784-1792, ch. 42 (enacted February
iy Bee neettererancinemennninanenememnnsenrnetinaniveedioomenannee 7,9, 11,12

Laws of Ore., Crimes - Against Morality, etc., ch. 7, 655 (1874)..14
Laws of South Carolina 1868-187] 175 (enacted Feb. 4, 1869) ...12

Maryland Laws, Thomas Sim Lee, Esq., Governor, ch. LVII

| ee TREN ETE 11
Mass. Gen. Stat., Ch. 165 (1860) ..cccssssssssscssssssssssssssssssseseseesssnsveseees 14
Me. Rey. Stat., Tit. XII, ch. 160 (1840)....ccccccccssssssssssssssssseessssveeeees 13
Mich. Rev. Stat., Tit. 30, ch. 158 (1846) .....cccccscsssssssssssssseesseeesseee 14
Minn. Stat., ch. 96 (1859) ...cccscccsccssssssssssscsssssesssessessssssssseseesssnessees 14
Miss. Rev. Code, ch. 64, LIL, Art. 238 (1857) .eccsssscsssssssssssssssseeeeees 14
N.C. Rev. Code, ch. 34, 6 (1855) ..ccccccvsssssssssssssssssssssssssseseeeeeeeseseen 14

Perpetual Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1780-
1789, (enacted March 3, 1785) ..........cccccccssesseseeeereeneenees 7, 8,11, 12

Public Laws of New Hampshire June 1812 5-6 § 6 (enacted

es eee ccineitnciactchteietcciesinieienenciiaiaeeilristliaialaialieialh 12, 13
Public Laws of the State of Rhode Island and Providence
FPR, Cir ely OF DW itensertcsenssessenenittinninniinne. -ciibingeiaai 9,12
Public Statute Laws Of The State of Connecticut, 1808 tit.
LXVI (66), ch. 1 § 2 (enacted Dec. 1, 1642) .....cccccceseeeeees 7, 8, 11
Revised Statutes of the State of New York (enacted Dec. 10,
ae sencecececessesasunanesesesssnectassosesoscensscouseqssessooossessnecesanenetese 12
GR & Gea, SAR, Si Be CP cernretientatnteniniinitnittinniiinanaiinds 14
Statutes at Large of Pennsylvania, 1682-180] vol. 13, (1682-
1801), ch.. MDXVI (1516) (enacted Apr. 5, 1790) ........ccccecceeeees 12
Bema. Cn, GB GB, Bat, 0, GED CID cecvescesesescssenssccsnccsnssessonnstinees 14
Tex. Rev. Stat., Tit. 10, ch. 5, Art. 342 (1887) (passed 1860)........ 14
Secondary Authorities Page

2 The Journal of William Stephens 1743-1745 3 (E. Merton
Coulter, ed., Athens, GA: Univ. of Georgia Press, 1958-59)........ 11

3 Detailed Reports on the Salzburger Emigrants Who Settled in
Americe. Edited by Samuel Urlsperger 314 (William H.
Brown, trans., Athens,GA: Univ. of Georgia Press, 1972)............ 11
4 W. Blackstone, Commesntar tee .....cccccccccssscssccscsceseccceccsceccsssscees 6,7

The Bible, Romans 1:26-27; Romans 9 (K.J.V.) ......cccccccsceeseeeeees 7,8

——

aa

xi

ee eh, Seeaees TEES GIG BC Ee cccencecccnesecestocescnsccscccenenscceses 7,8

Edward Coke, The Third Part of the Institutes of the Laws of
I Se Ce cen ececnccsnesesecnnenetecreescemnemnesnseeteetimnamennenenstengnated 6

George Washington, The Writings of Washington, John C.
Fitzpatrick, ed. (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing
Office, 1932), Vol. XI, from General Orders at Valley Forge on
SEEN TEER: Sr Uti icsichincsiseninionieeeunitedhiipitannneniiedneniinibicedtitinidideninnnieiniaionel 10

James Wilson, 2 The Works of James Wilson (1967) (from
DOSRIISD GOVE ON BTS GING F708) cccxcccecenscesessssccersscensessnesesesnensncnnnes 10

John Locke, Second Treatise on Civil Government (Prometheus
SI ccncicitiemineninnieniiesieneinnnetninetamnsntiniions 25, 26

Letter from Thomas Jefferson to Edmund Pendleton dated
RET, Be Pe ecerttccengeenienitinmmnenennmenmane 8

The Journal of William Stephens 1743-1745 (E. Merton
Coulter, ed., Athens, GA: Univ. of Georgia Press, 1958-59) ........ 11

(Justice) Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Some Thoughts on Autonomy
and Equality in Relation to Roe v. Wade, 63 N.C. L. REV. 375
(Justice) Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Speaking in a Judicial Voice,
BF A Fade Bs SU, BEy Re QD cccsncensenccnscvescnsceszenseneneneensvsns 27

Thomas Jefferson, Writings 756-57 (Mermill D. Peterson ed.,
Rey CORRIDOR TI. BI cccccessesncnccescecesensscnsessesescnessnsscosnces 9

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 02-102

JOHN GEDDES LAWRENCE and TYRON GARNER,
Petitioners,

Vv.

} THE STATE OF TEXAS,
Respondent.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE CENTER FOR THE
ORIGINAL INTENT OF THE CONSTITUTION IN
SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF AMICUS IN THIS CASE’

The Center for the Original Intent of the Constitution (COIC)
operates under the auspices of Patrick Henry College. The COIC
contends that the interpretation of the Constitution according to the
original intent of the Founders provides the only sure safeguard for
the preservation of limited government and individual rights. The

ee ™

* All parties have consented to the submission of this brief through letters
filed with the Clerk of the Court. Amicus states that no portion of this brief was
authored by counsel for a party and that no person or entity other than amicus or
its counsel made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of
this brief.

COIC exists to systematically research and advocate constitutional
interpretation according to the principle of original intent.

Our Founders established a federal government with limited
and enumerated powers. The limits on federal power were
originally intended to protect both the authority of the states and
the liberties of the people.

Our interest is to preserve the blessings of liberty for ourselves
and our posterity. U.S. CONST. pmbl. We seek to do this by
holding the federal government to the terms of our original social
contract: the Constitution. Faithful adherence to the original intent
of the Founders is essential, not only because of their place in our
nation’s history, but also because of their position as the elected
representatives of the people. We preserve self-government by
elevating the written will of those elected officials who wrote and
ratified the Constitution over the opinions of unelected judges.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The central purpose of this brief is to respond to various
historical arguments raised in three Amici Curiae briefs filed on
behalf of Petitioners by the American Civil Liberties Union
(“ACLU Brief”), the Cato Institute (“Cato Brief”), and the Brief of
Professors of History (“Historians Brief”).

Contrary to the imaginative arguments contained in these

briefs, the history of this country reflects a deep conviction that
sodomy is criminally punishable conduct and not a constitutionally
protected activity. The history of both state legislation and court
decisions support the view adopted by this Court in Bowers v.
Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986), namely that neither the Bill of
Rights nor the Fourteenth Amendment limit the authority of the
states to punish homosexual sodomy.

Petitioners’ amici inaccurately suggest that there was a de facto
rule protecting consensual same-sex sodomy since the early days
of the Republic. The proof of this argument is to be found, they
contend, in a number of cases where sodomy convictions were
reversed because they had been based on nothing more than the
testimony of the accomplice—that is, the willing partner in the
alleged sexual activity. However, even a cursory review of these
cases reveals that the reason for the dismissal was found in a
simple rule of evidence that is equally applicable to cases
involving horse thieves or perjurers. Many states had the rule that
a criminal conviction could not be sustained upon the testimony of
an accomplice alone. If the testimony was corroborated, then the
conviction could stand. This was a rule of evidence governing all
crimes giving no more rise to a claim of constitutional protection
for sodomy than it does for horse theft. |

The Texas law is grounded on a moral judgment. There is
nothing irrational or arbitrary about such a judgment upon which to
base a valid Equal Protection claim. Those who wish to legalize
sodomy have been quite successful, in the years since Bowers, in
in repealing these laws. This Court should decline to
constitutionalize an issue that belongs in the state legislatures.

THE HISTORIC AUTHORITY OF THE STATES TO
CRIMINALIZE SODOMY IS WELL-SETTLED

The historical evidence clearly shows that state legislatures
have always possessed a broad authority to outlaw private,
consensual sex, and that they also prohibited same-sex sodomy
specifically since the earliest days of American history. Enactment

of the Bill of Rights in 1791 and the Fourteenth Amendment in
1868 did not alter that state legislative authority.

This Court has frequently looked to the Constitution’s “text,
history and precedent” to determine its meaning. Eldred v.
Ashcroft, __ U.S. ___, 123 §.Ct. 769, 777 (2003). As this Court
recently reiterated in Eldred v. Ashcroft, “a page of history is worth
a volume of logic.” /d., quoting New York Trust Company v.
Eisner, 256 U.S. 345, 349 (1921); see also U.S. Term Limits, Inc.
v. Thornton, 514 U.S. 779, 790 (1995) (“Against this historical
background, we viewed the Convention debates as manifesting the
Framers’ intent that the qualifications in the Constitution be fixed
and exclusive.”). .

It is a settled constitutional principle within our federal
republic that states possess general police powers. Inherent within
these powers lies the duty to regulate the “health, safety, and
morals” of their members. Barnes v. Glen Theater, 501 U.S. 560,
569 (1991) (referencing public indecency statutes which were
designed to protect morals and public order). States have used this
police power to promote marriage and direct the sexual activities
of their citizens into marriage by criminalizing a wide variety of
nonmarital sex acts, such as polygamy, rape, fornication, adultery,
prostitution and incest. While crimes such as rape and incest are
not consensual, adultery, prostitution, polygamy and fornication
are private acts between consenting adults that have been regulated
throughout our nation’s history. As we shall demonstrate, states
have possessed and properly exercised the authority to regulate
deviate sexual! conduct including sodomy at all relevant times in
our nation’s history.

The historical briefs filed by Petitioners’ Amici Curiae erect
numerous straw men by referencing Senator Joseph McCarthy,'

' Historians Brief at 16; Cato Brief at 13; ACLU Brief at 20 & n. 39.

using phrases like “same-sex couples” and “Homosexual Conduct
Law”, and generally discussing everything except the text of the
Texas statute at issue.* The Historians Brief, in particular, shines
the spotlight or Hollywood (p. 15), employment law (pp. 17, 25),
medicine (p. 21), the Senate (pp. 15-16), modern religious
denominations (pp. 21-22), child custody (p. 25), and other “recent
historical scholarship” (p. 29). We confine our analysis to the
sources this Court has consistently employed for constitutional
analysis and avoid irrelevant, albeit entertaining, issues like the
treatment of homosexuality by Hoilywood.

Five arguments from the historical briefs warrant specific
refutation: 1) the prohibition of same-sex sodomy is a creation of
the recent past with no true roots in historical or religious tradition,
2) there is no historical support for the prohibition of sodomy
because statutory language has changed; 3) case law reveals our
nation has traditionally protected sodomy between “consenting
adults acting privately”; 4) the lack of enforcement of sodomy laws
and a “national trend” of liberalization warrant this Court’s
extension of a fundamental privacy right to same-sex sodomy, and
5) the Equal Protection Clause prohibits the states from banning
same-sex sodomy.

? Histonans Brief at 11; Cato Brief at 18 (“gay [male-male] couples”);
ACLU Brief at 28.

> Historians Brief at 1; Cato Brief at 1.
* Only the Cato Brief uses language from the statute (p. 1) and cites the

statute (p. 28). Neither the text of the statute nor the citation appear in the other
cup bieoentach tested

A. Proscriptions Against Sodomy Have Deep Religious,
Political, and Legal Roots.

Sodomy was considered a heinous crime under common law. °
Blackstone’s writings are widely recognized as the best
embodiment of English common law. His Commentaries were the
standard legal textbook in the early days of our nation, and that
work was frequently cited by early American courts. In this work,
Blackstone discussed the “infamou, crime against nature” and
referenced the royal edicts prescribing its punishment.° Blackstone

* “Buggery is . . . committed by carnall knowledge against the ordinance of
the Creator and order of nature, by mankind with mankind, or with brute beast,
or by womankind with bruite beast.” Edward Coke, The Third Part of the
Institutes of the Laws of England 58-59 (1641). Thus, the term included anal
intercourse between two men. See also Stafford's Case, 12 Co. Rep. 36, 37, 77

Eng. Rep. 1318 (1607).

* Blackstone referred to the “infamous crime against nature” as “a crime not
fit to be named; ‘peccatum illud horribile, inter christianos non nominandum.’”

4 Commentaries *215-16. Under Vil, ish la i
cocane vata Henry English law punished “buggery”

Forasmuch as there is not yet sufficient and condign punishment appointed
and limited by the due course of the Laws of this Realm for the detestable
and abominable Vice of Buggery committed with mankind or beast: It may

therefore please the King's Highness with the assent of the Lords Spiritual

as they do in the cases of other felonies.

described the offense itself as one of “deeper malignity” than rape,
a heinous act “the very mention of which is a disgrace to human
nature,” and “a crime not fit to be named.” 4 W. Blackstone,
Commentaries *215. The common law of England, including its
prohibition of sodomy, provided the basis for the original state
sodomy laws.

In early America, the Bible served as the source for many
criminal laws. Early colonial statutes often quoted the Biblical
passages of Leviticus 18:22 (“Thou shalt not lie with mankind as
he lieth with womankind; it is an abomination.”) and 20:13 when
establishing prohibitions against sodomy.’ States not using the
Leviticus language referred to prohibited conduct as the. “crime
against nature.” The phrase “crime against nature,” which appears
in Blackstone’s Commentaries and numerous state statutes,
harkens back to the Apostle Paul’s condemnation in Romans 1:26-
27 of those who “change the natural use into that which is against
nature,”* as other amici have noted. Historians Brief at 5.
However, their brief incorrectly concludes that Paul did not
consider the phrase to apply to same-sex behavior. /d.

1808 tit. LXVI (66), Chap. 1 § 2, p. 295; Massachusetts, Perpetual Laws of the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1780-1789, p. 187, Act of Mar. 3, 1785; New
Hampshire, of New Hampshire, 1784-1792, ch. 42, at 596 (enacted Feb. 8, 1791).

* “For this cause God gave them up unto their vile affections for even their
women did change the natural use into that which is against nature: And
likewise also the men leaving the natural use of the woman, burned im their lust
one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and
receiving in themselves of their error which was meet.” Romans 1:26-27 (KJV).

Contrary to the assertion in the Historians Brief at 5, Paul’s
lack of reference to Sodom does not negate his condemnation of
what we now term sodomy.’ The Leviticus prohibition against
sodomy made no reference to the destruction of the city of Sodom,
but the command was clear nevertheless. Those who drafted early
state and colonial laws drew on this Biblical background as the
best means to express what was otherwise deemed unspeakable. '°

The Historians Brief at 4, argues that states are “strikingly
inconsistent in their definition of the acts encompassed by the term
[sodomy].” The Historians Brief at 5. It then proceeds to discuss
the variety of definitions for “unnatural acts” presented in “Latin
theology, canon law, and confessional practice.” Although the
scope of prohibited “unnatural acts” may have varied from
generation to generation, until very recent times, same-sex sodomy
has been included in virtually every state’s list of prohibited sexual
acts.

Thomas Jefferson, the primary author of the Declaration of
Independence, is one of the Founders who saw no inconsistency
between the principles of individual liberty and the state
prohibition of sodomy. In a letter to Edmund Pendleton dated
August 26, 1776, Jefferson discussed his opinions on proper
penalties for criminal activity. At the time of the Revolution, most
states punished sodomy by death.'’ According to Jefferson,
however,

* Although the Apostle Paul did not refer to Sodom and Gomorrah in
Romans 1: 26-27 (the “crime against nature” passage); later in the same epistle,
Paul referenced the towns of Sodom and Gomorrah in an obviously negative
light. See Romans 9:29.

"© See Part L.C, infra.

"' Connecticut, Public Statute Laws of the State of Connecticut, 1808 tit.
LXVI (66), ch. 1 § 2, at 295 (enacted Dec. 1, 1642); Massachusetts, Perpetual

Punishments I know are necessary, & I would provide them,
strict & inflexible, but proportioned to the crime. Death might
be inflicted for murder & perhaps for treason if you would take
out of the description of treason all crimes which are not such
in their nature. Rape, buggery &c—punish by castration. '

Although Jefferson recommended a different punishment, he still
believed that sodomy was a criminal offense.

As commander of the Continental Army in 1778, George
Washington dishonorably discharged Lieutenant Enslin for
attempting to commit sodomy with another soldier, John Monhort.
In his military order, Washington stated his deep disdain for the
crime of sodomy:

His Excellency the Commander in Chief approves the sentence

and with abhorrence and detestation of such infamous crimes
orders Lieut. Enslin to be drummed out of camp tomorrow

Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1780-1789, at 187 (enacted Mar.
3, 1785); New Hampshire, Laws of New Hampshire, 1784-1792, ch. 42, at 596
(enacted Feb. 8, 1791); New York, 2 Laws of New York 1777-1789, ch. XXI
(21), at 45 (enacted Feb. 14, 1787); North Carolina, 1 The Revised Statutes of
the State of North Carolina, Passed by the General Assembly at the Session of
1836-7, at 293, 297-98 (enacted Oct. 16, 1749); Rhode Island, Public Laws of
the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, 1798, § 8, p. 586; South
Carolina, 2 Statutes of South Carolina at 465, 493 (enacted Dec. 12, 1712);
Virginia, 9 Hennings Statutes of Virginia 1775-1778, ch. V (5) § VI, at 127
(enacted May 1776).

Thomas Jefferson, Writings 756-57 (Merrill D. Peterson ed., Library
Classics of the U.S. 1984).

10

morning by all the drummers and fifers in the Army never to
return. |

James Wilson, both a signer of the Declaration and the
Constitution and one of the original Justices of this Court, wrote a
commentary on American law. James Wilson, 2 The Works of
James Wilson (1967) (from lectures given in 1790 and 1791).
When the subject turned to sodomy, Wilson refused even to
discuss the details of the act: “The crime not to be named
[sodomy], I pass in a total silence.” /d. at 656.

. These examples from some of early America’s key statesmen

demonstrate the cultural atmosphere at the time of our nation’s
founding. It is clear that none of them ever envisioned a day when
the federal Constitution would be used as a tool to overturn the
decisions of elected state representatives concerning the
punishment of sodomy.

B. The History of State Legislation Reveals That Same-Sex
Sodomy Was Uniformly Condemned.

States freely prohibited same-sex sodomy throughout
America’s history, as well as other nonmarital sexual activity, such
as polygamy, adultery, fornication and prostitution. The
legislatures perceived no restraint on their power to do this by
either the Bill of Rights or the Fourteenth Amendment. Since the
passage of these Amendments, state laws have varied, but this fact
simply supports the conclusion that this area of law was entirely in
the hands of the states. No connection can be established between
either the adoption of the Bill of Rights or the Fourteenth
Amendment and alterations in sodomy statutes. An examination of

> George Washington, The Writings of Washington, John C. Fitzpatrick, ed.
(Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1932), Vol. XI, pp. 83-84,
from General Orders at Valley Forge on March 14, 1778.

11

the history of sodomy statutes does not lend credence to the
contention by several briefs that sodomy statutes were rarely, if
ever, enforced following the passage of the Bill of Rights. ACLU
Brief at 11, 12; Historians Brief at 7.

At the time of the passage of the Bill of Rights in 1791, ten of
the states clearly banned same-sex sodomy. At that time, twelve of
the thirteen original states prohibited sodomy either by statute or
by their adoption of the English common law.'* Two of these
prohibitions do not explicitly define the crime, but the other ten
states specifically prohibited same-sex sodomy. Five of the states
banned same-sex sodomy by statute, and the other five prohibited
same-sex sodomy because of their adoption of English common
law'* In 1776, for example, Maryland had adopted its Declaration

'* Georgia is the only state not to have clearly adopted English common law
or a sodomy statute by 1791. However, Georgia did adopt such a statute later,
showing that its Legislature did not believe the new Bill of Rights limited its
authority to criminalize sodomy. Georgia certainly punished sodomy - in 1734,
a man received 300 lashes for engaging in sodomy. 3 Detailed Reports on the
Salzburger Emigrants Who Settled in America . . . Edited by Samuel Urlsperger
314 (William H. Brown, trans., Athens, GA: Univ. of Georgia Press, 1972). In
1743, another man received the death penalty. 2 The Journal of William
Stephens 1743-1745 3 (E. Merton Coulter, ed., Athens, GA: Univ. of Georgia
Press, 1958-59).

'* Five states had statutory provisions against same-sex sodomy:
Connecticut, Public Statute Laws of the State of Connecticut, 1808 tit. LX VI
(66), ch. 1 § 2, at 295 (enacted Dec. 1, 1642); Massachusetts, Perpetual Laws of
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1780-1789, at 187 (enacted Mar. 3, 1785);
New Hampshire, Laws of New Hampshire, 1784-1792, ch. 42, at 596 (enacted
Feb. 8, 1791); New York, 2 Laws of New York 1777-1789, ch. XXI (21), at 45
(enacted Feb. 14, 1787); North Carolina, 1 The Revised Statutes of the State of
North Carolina, Passed by the General Assembly at the Session of 1836-7, at
293, 297-98 (enacted Oct. 16, 1749). Five states adopted English common law
with its explicit prohibition of same-sex sodomy: Delaware, Laws of the State of
Delaware 1797, ch. 22a § 5, at 67 (enacted 1719); Maryland, Maryland Laws,
Thomas Sim Lee, Esq., Governor, ch. LVII (57), art 10; New Jersey, Acts of the

12

of Rights which incorporated the English common law along with
its sodomy prohibition.'® Six years prior to the passage of the Bill
of Rights, Massachusetts enacted a law that prohibited sodomy.
The application of that iaw continued after the ratification of the
Bill of Rights.'’ Earlier in the same year the Bill of Rights was
ratified, New Hampshire revised its 1679 sodomy law to a same-
sex sodomy statute which was still on the books in 1805.'*
Importantly, none of the states viewed the ratification of the Bill of
Rights as limiting or removing the power of the legislatures to ban
sodomy, including same-sex sodomy.

At the time of the Fourteenth Amendment’s ratification, eight
states specifically prohibited same-sex sodomy, including -five of
the original states which retained their earlier sodomy laws.'” At

General Assembly, ch. DC (600) § 7, at 93 (emacted Mar. 18, 1796); South
Carolina, 2 Statutes of South Carolina at 465, 493 (enacted Dec. 12, 1712);
Virginia, 9 Hennings Statutes of Virginia 1775-1778, ch. V (5) § VI, at 127
(enacted May 1776). Two states had general sodomy statutes: Rhode Island,
Public Laws of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, 1798, § 8,
p. 586; and Pennsylvania, Statutes at Large of Pennsylvania, 1682-1801 vol. 13,
(1682-1801), p. 511, chap. MDXVI (1516) (enacted Apr. 5, 1790).

'® See Part 1.A. infra.

'” Perpetual Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1780-1789, at
187 (enacted Mar. 3, 1785).

'® Laws of New Hampshire 1784-1792, ch. 42, at 596 (enacted Feb. 8,
1791).

' Five original states retained their laws with only minor changes: New
Hampshire, Public Laws of New Hampshire June 1812 5-6 § 6 (enacted June 19,
1812); New Jersey, A Digest of the Laws of New Jersey 162 § 9 (enacted Apr.
16, 1846); New York, Revised Statutes of the State of New York, at 46 (enacted
Dec. 10, 1828); South Carolina, Laws of South Carolina 1868-1871 175
(enacted Feb. 4, 1869); Virginia, The Code of Virginia. Second Edition,
Including Legislation to the Year 1860 (enacted Mar. 19, 1860). Georgia

Comat tl

13

least two more state courts explicitly applied the same-sex
definition of common law sodomy.” For example, New
Hampshire’s 1812 same-sex sodomy law remained in effect after
1868, with only the penalty altered”' And New Jersey’s
prohibition of same-sex sodomy was in force both before and after
the ratification of the Fourteenth Amendment.” At least twenty-
two of the remaining states outlawed sodomy, although the
definition of the crime also included acts committed by members
of the opposite sex.”> Although sodomy was not universally

clarified its law, see note 9, infra. Two states admitted after 1791 prohibited
same-sex sodomy by adopting Virginia’s law: Kentucky, 1 Digest of Kentucky
Statute Law 36 § 8 (Littell & Swigert, eds., Frankfort, KY: Kendall & Russell,
1822) (incorporating English common law through Virginia law); 2 Digest of
the Statute Laws of Kentucky of a Public and Permanent Nature 1265 § 4
(Frankfort: Albert G. Hodgen, 1834) (lowering the penalty, but retaining the
criminal statute); West Virginia, West Virginia Const., art. XI § 8 (1863)
(incorporating English common law through Virginia law).

© “Sodomy is a connection between two human beings of the same-sex —
the male — named from the prevalence of the sin in Sodom.” Ausman v. Veal, 10
Ind. 355 (May Term 1858) (defining the term “sodomy” as used in a slander
case); Coburn v. Harvey, 18 Wis. 147 (Jan. Term 1864) (Wisconsin Supreme
Court construed the history of Wisconsin as having adopted the common law of
England, thus incorporating its same-sex sodomy law).

2! Public Laws of New Hampshire Jane 1812 5-6 § 6 (enacted June 19,
1812).

2 4 Digest of the Laws of New Jersey 162 § 9 (enacted Apr. 16, 1846).
Interestingly, New Jersey also added sodomy to the list of crimes that would
support a death sentence in a felony-murder conviction. /d. At 161 § 3.

2 Alabama, Ala. Rev. Code 3604 (1867); Arkansas, Ark. Stat., ch. 51, Art.
IV, 5 (1858); California, Statutes 1850, ch. 99, § 48, p. 99; Connecticut, Conn.
Gen. Stat., Tit. 122, ch. 7, 124 (1866); Delaware, Del. Rev. Stat., ch. 131, 7
(1893); Florida, Fla. Rev. Stat., div. 5, 2614 (passed 1868) (1892); Illinois, /I/.
Rev. Stat., div. 5, 49, 50 (1845); Louisiana, La. Rev. Stat., Crimes and Offences,
5 (1856); Maine, Me. Rev. Stat., Tit. XII, ch. 160, 4 (1840); Maryland, 1 Md.

14

proscribed, all thirty-one states that prohibited sodomy necessarily
included same-sex sodomy in their definitions. No state viewed the
Fourteenth Amendment as limiting their authority to enact statutes
prohibiting same-sex sodomy.

C. The Records of Appellate Courts Do Not Support the
Claim That the States Avoided Prosecuting or
Condemning Same-Sex Sodomy.

The historical briefs“ contend that shadows indicating the right
of consensual sodomy can be discovered in the fact that
enforcement efforts appear to be sparse on the record found in
appellate decisions. Several historical and logical fallacies
underlie this argument.

First, appellate case law is not the best source for accurate
social science research, concerning either current law or more
distant history. Generally, many convictions are not appealed.

Second, and more importantly, the amici making this
argument, particularly the ACLU, concede that a great majority of
the reported cases contain factual -situations that they deem

Code, Art. 30, 201 (1860); Massachusetts, Mass. Gen. Stat., ch. 165, 18 (1860);
Michigan, Mich. Rev. Stat., Tit. 30, ch. 158, 16 (1846); Minnesota, Minn. Stat.,
ch. 96, 13 (1859); Mississippi, Miss. Rev. Code, ch. 64, LII, Art. 238 (1857);
Missouri, 1 Mo. Rev. Stat., ch. 50, Art. VIII, 7 (1856); North Carolina, N.C. Rev.
Code, ch. 34, 6 (1855); Oregon, Laws of Ore., Crimes - Against Morality, etc.,
ch. 7, 655 (1874); Pennsylvania, Act of Mar. 31, 1860, 32, Pub. L. 392, in 1
Digest of Statute Law of Pa. 1700-1903, p. 1011 (Purdon 1905); Rhode Island,
R. I. Gen. Stat., ch. 232, 12 (1872); Tennessee, Tenn. Code, ch. 8, Art. 1, 4843
(1858); Texas, Tex. Rev. Stat., Tit. 10, ch. 5, Art. 342 (1887) (passed 1860);
Vermont, Acts and Laws of the State of Vt. (1779).

** The three amicus briefs are those by the ACLU, Cato, and the Historians.

15

“unclear.”** Reasoning from silence is always dangerous. This is
especially true when, as here, there is a documented revulsion
which led to a disinclination to discuss the details of these sexual
crimes.

The ACLU reads these allegedly “unclear” cases through the
skewed vision of twenty-first century Americans who are
accustomed to hearing explicit and graphic depictions of sexual
activity. Such was not the case in the early days of America,
especially if the subject was same-sex sodomy. Cultural values in
those times made people, even judges, highly reluctant to record
the particular facts of a case involving consensual sodomy.

~ The lack of explicit factual detail does not indicate any lack of
definitional clarity. Sodomy prosecutions were not unknown. In
Smith v. State, 150 Ark. 265, 234 S.W. 32, 33 (1921), the court
said in one sodomy prosecution, “The evidence is revolting in
detail, and it could therefore serve no good purpose to set forth.”
Moreover, a nineteenth century state court noted, “Every person of
ordinary intelligence understands what the crime against nature
with a human being is.””°

Thus, given the reluctance of the courts to provide details, it
cannot be said with any certainty that prosecutions for “private
sodomy” were out of the ordinary. In fact, some courts expressly
indicated that privacy was not a factor in sexual crimes.”’ Others

? Using the ACLU Brief’s calculations, approximately 73 Texas cases and
79 cases from other states were “unclear.” ACLU Brief at 14 ns. 17 & 18.

® People v. Williams, 59 Cal. 397, 398 (1881).
2” See State v. Gage, 116 N.W. 596 (Iowa 1908) (ruling that sodomy could

be established by witnesses or circumstantial evidence); Sweenie v. Nebraska,
80 N.W. 815 (Neb. 1899) (holding that adultery and fornication were crimes

16

equated “sodomy,” or the “crime against nature,” with crimes
where consent or privacy were irrelevant.”®

Third, amici’s assertion that societal approbation for
consensual acts of same-sex sodomy can be found in the silence of
the appellate records is simply not true. Insofar as appellate courts
are the correct measure of societal acceptance of consensual
sodomy, it is beyond reasonable dispute that such acts were
severely condemned.

In the period immediately following the adoption of the
Fourteenth Amendment, appellate court decisions continued to
echo the historical revulsion for the act of sodomy and the
understanding that consent was no defense. See, e.g.,
Commonwealth v. Poindexter, 118 S.W. 943, 943 (Ky.App. 1909)
(“The acts charged against the appellees are so disgusting that we
refrain from copying the indictment in the opinion.”); Herring v.
State, 46 S.E. 876, 881-82 (Ga. 1904.) (“After much reflection, we
are satisfied that, if the baser form of the abominable and
disgusting crime against nature—i.e., by the mouth—had prevailed
in the days of the early common law, the courts of England could
well have held that that form of the offense was included in the
current definition of the crime of sodomy.”); Kelly v. People, 61
N.E. 425, 426 (Ill. 1901) (“We did not say the definition of the
crime was ‘generic,’ but did hold that, because of the abominable
nature of the crime, it was not necessary to set forth in detail the
manner in which it was committed”’).

regardless of privacy); Hutchinson v. State, 24 Tenn. 142 (1844) (holding that
adultery is an offense no matter how privately the intercourse is carried on).

8 See, e.g,, Bartholomew v. Illinois, 104 Ill. 601 (1882) (listing sodomy
with burglary, robbery, incest, larceny, forgery, bigamy and others).

;
;
:

~ ear?

17

Several appellate court decisions have established that
consensual activity was clearly prosecutable, and that the existence
of consent served only to differentiate evidence requirements. In
the context of a case involving incest, the Texas Court of Appeals
quotes an authority which is applied to consensual sodomy:

But alike in adultery and, it is believed, in fornication and in
incest, where the crime consists in one's unlawful carnal
knowledge of another, it is immaterial whether the other
participated under circumstances to incur guilt or not, --just as
sodomy may be committed either with a responsible human
being, or an irresponsible one, or a beast. [I]t must be
considered that in sodomy cases, the question of consent of the
party with whom the act is committed, is not a material one.
The crime is complete in either case if the act be committed.

Mercer v. State, 17 Tex. Ct. App. 452, 464 (1885) (internal
quotation marks omitted).

In Medis v. State, 11 S.W. 112 (Tex.Ct.App. 1889), the Texas
appellate court discussed the issue of consent, clarifying that the
testimony of a third party would be required if both parties
consented to the act. In People v. Hickey, 41 P. 1027 (Cal. 1897)
the California appellate court ruled that “it was not an element in
the offense where the act is done or attempted with the consent of
the other party.” 41 P. at 1028. Consent provided no immunity in a
sodomy prosecution.

In Honselman v. People, 48 N.E. 304 (Ill. 1897) the Illinois
court ruled that uncorroborated evidence alone, given by a
consenting partner, was sufficient to convict both parties of
sodomy. Citing Gray v. People, 26 Ill. 344 (1861), concerning the
difficulty of proof, the Illinois court stated, “The offense should be
clearly proved, but it is one committed in secrecy and ordinarily

18

not capable of being otherwise proved than by the testimony of a
participant, and the law is, that the uncorroborated testimony of an
accomplice is legally sufficient to sustain a conviction.”
Honselman, 48 N.E. at 305. Unlike several other state courts, the
Illinois court ruled that corroborating evidence submitted by a third
party was not required for the conviction of private, consensual
sodomy.

Finally, in State v. Gage, 116 N.W. 596 (Iowa 1908), the Iowa
court ruled that either third-party testimony or circumstantial
evidence of penetration would be sufficient for conviction in a
sodomy case. Once again, we see an example of state courts
applying sodomy statutes to private, consensual activity. Although
some states had higher evidence requirements for conviction, all
states cited above clearly held consensual sodomy to be criminally
actionable.

D. Amici for Petitioners Confuse a General Rule of
Evidence with a Constitutional Right.

The Cato Brief places significant weight on a rule of evidence
which supposedly created a de facto “immunity for sodomy within
the home between consenting adults.” Cato Brief at 11. Some
states have or had a general rule of evidence that the
uncorroborated testimony of one accomplice was not sufficient
evidence for conviction.” This rule applied to crimes generally,
not just sodomy or other sexual crimes where notions of privacy

See, e.g., State v. Carey, 122 P. 868 (Nev. 1912) (noting the requirement
that an accomplice must be corroborated by other evidence), People v.
Deschessere, 74 N. Y. Supp. 761 (1902) (same); People v. Hickey, 41 P. 1027
(Cal. 1895) (same); Medis v. State, 11 S.W. 112 (Tex.Ct.App. 1889) (same).

19

might arguably play some role.*® From this rule, the Cato Brief
illogically derives the principle that any action between consenting
adults within the home was immune from prosecution merely
because the testimony of one partner was insufficient evidence.

Even if this were an accurate statement, it would be improper
to infer a quasi-constitutional rule of privacy from a mere rule of
evidence that was intended to ensure the truth of courtroom
testimony, see e.g. Hicks v. State, 156 Tenn. 359 (1912)
(explaining accomplice rules). There are many cases in which
convictions were upheld when there was evidence beyond that
supplied by the accomplice.”

The requirement of corroborating testimony was not a rule of
common law. Several state courts explicitly refused to follow the
rule ir absence of a statutory provision. See, e.g., Republic of
Hawaii v. Edwards, 11 Haw. 571 (1898) (“no statute in Hawaii
requires that on a charge of sodomy, the testimony of an
accomplice should be corroborated by other evidence”);
Honselman v. Illinois, 48 N.E. 304 (Ill. 1897) (“the law is that the
uncorroborated testimony of an accomplice is legally sufficient to
sustain a conviction”).

* See, e.g., State v. Hull, 26 lowa 292 (1868) (rule requiring corroboration
for the testimony of accomplice in a case involving two horse thieves);
Anderson v. State, 20 Tex.App. 312 (1886) (rule applied in a perjury case).

*" See, e.g, Jones v. State, 101 S.W. 1012 (Tex. Crim App. 1907)
(upholding conviction on the testimony of only one witness); Territory v.
Mahaffrey, 3 Mont. 112 (1878) (convicting upon corroborating testimony);
Commonwealth v. Snow, 111 Mass. 411 (1873) (same).

20

Moreover, none of the cases cited by the amici regarded
consent as an affirmative defense to the charge.*” The Cato Brief’s
“consent” argument deduces incorrectly that the primary function

of the sodomy laws prior to this century was “filling a regulatory -

gap as regards non-consensual sexual activity.” Cato Brief at 11.
Carrying this argument to its logical extreme, their rationale would
lead to the conclusion that the Framers also intended the Bill of
Rights and the Fourteenth Amendment to prohibit laws against
fornication or adultery because those laws forbid private,
consensual sex. This is ludicrous. No objective reader of
fornication or adultery statutes can conclude that “consent” was a
mitigating factor ~ defense for the crime. Rape statutes provided
sufficient grounds for the prosecution of “non-consensual” sex.
The evidence indicates that adultery, fornication, and sodomy
Statutes served the additional purpose of preserving the moral and
legal standard that sex was reserved for traditional marriage.

E. Nothing in the History or Text of the Equal Protection
Clause Supports a Different Result from This Court’s
Due Process Clause Decision in Bowers v. Hardwick.

A new law is usually intended to change an old law. This is
just as true with regard to constitutional amendments as it is with
ordinary legislation, with one critical exception. The Bill of Rights
was designed to preserve the rights which the founding generation
considered to be their natural inheritance.

Thus, the Framers of the Bill of Rights did not purport to
“create” rights. “Rather, they designed the Bill of Rights to
prohibit our Government from infringing rights and liberties

*? “Tt must be considered that in sodomy cases, the question of consent of
the part with whom the act is committed, is not a material one. The crime is
complete in either case if the act be committed. . . .” Foster v. State, 1 Ohio C.D.
261, 1886 WL 2557 at *4 (Ohio Cir. Ct. 1886).

21

presumed to be pre-existing.” United States v. Verdugo-Urquidez,
494 U.S. 259, 288 (1990) (Brennan, J., dissenting). “The law is
perfectly well settled that the first ten amendments to the
Constitution, commonly known as the Bill of Rights, were not
intended to lay down any novel principles of government, but
simply to embody certain guaranties and immunities which we had
inherited from our English ancestors.” T. Cooley, Constitutional
Limitations, ch. X (4th ed. 1878), quoted in Pacific Mut. Life Ins.
Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 34 (1991) (Scalia, J., concurring).

However, the Fourteenth Amendment, like the Thirteenth and
Fifteenth, was intended to change the law. The core purpose of the
Fourteenth Amendment was to overturn those state laws that failed
to guarantee equal protection and due process to biack Americans.
This Court’s “suspect classification” doctrine closely approximates
this intention. With regard to race, all laws existing at the time of
the ratification of the Amendment should have been considered
presumptively unconstitutional. While this Court has built a
complex system of suspect, intermediate, and rational
classifications for Equal Protection analysis, it has never held that
the Equal Protection Clause was designed to eliminate all state
laws which make distinctions between people and their conduct.

The Fourteenth Amendment was surely not intended to make
every discrimination between groups of people a constitutional
denial of equal protection. Nor was the Enforcement Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment intended to permit Congress to
prohibit every discrimination between groups of people. On the
other hand, the Civil War Amendments were unquestionably
designed to condemn and forbid every distinction, however
trifling, on account of race.

Oregon v. Mitchell, 400 U.S. 112, 127 (1970)(opinion of Black,

J). a

22

This Court has been reluctant to expand the “suspect
classification” to include every group seeking the protection of this
constitutional status. See, e.g., San Antonio Independent School
District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973) (wealth is not a suspect
class); Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, Inc., 473 U.S. 432
(1985) (mental retardation is not a “quasi-suspect” classification).
Lawyers lack no diligence in mining the phrases employed by this
Court over the decades when endeavoring to argue that their clients
should be included in this or another “protected” category. It is the
words and phrases of the Framers of the Fourteenth Amendment
that must be dispositive if the principle of republicanism—vwe elect
the rulers who make the law—is to retain any meaning.

The essence of the Equal Protection Clause prohibits arbitrary
treatment of people. See, e.g., Central State University v. American
Ass'n of University Professors, 526 U.S. 124, 129 (1999)
(Ginsburg, J., concurring). Racial discrimination is presumptively
arbitrary. But any arbitrary, irrational treatment of people is
prohibited. The debate about classifications and levels of scrutiny
at times obscures reality; it is only arbitrariness that can possibly
explain the outcomes of this Court’s Equal Protection
jurisprudence. Distinctions based on time-honored standards of law
should be accorded some deference, but in the end arbitrary
classifications cannot stand.

Texas outlawed same-sex sodomy because it views the practice
as immoral. Petitioners’ Opening Brief at 37. As this brief fully
documents, this position is absolutely consistent with the time-
honored traditions of this nation. Unless this Court is prepared to
say that the moral traditions of this nation and western civilization
are categorically arbitrary, it must affirm the decision below.

23

This Court has already settled this crucial question in Bowers.
“The law, however, is constantly based on notions of morality, and
if all laws representing essentially moral choices are to be
invalidated under the Due Process Clause, the courts will be very
busy indeed.” 478 U.S. 186, 196 (1986). It cannot be seriously
contended that there is a difference between the Due Process
Clause and the Equal Protection Clause insofar as these clauses
affect the ability of a state to base its law on moral judgments.

Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996), has done nothing to
change this principle. Romer is based on the principle that no
group should be limited in its ability to employ the political
process for its own protection. Romer is fundamentally about
political rights, not homosexual rights. States are still free to enact
whatever moral judgments they wish regarding homosexual
behavior. The briefs supporting Petitioners demonstrate only that
those who support the legalization of sodomy have been very
successful in moving the legislatures to adopt their moral views.

Moral judgments underlie every law. Disputes about moral
choices belong to the legislative arena where the views of the
people ultimately have control. This Court simply does not have
the constitutional mandate to substitute its judgment for that of the
elected representatives of the people on matters that boil down to
nothing more than moral judgments.

24

THIS COURT SHOULD FOLLOW THE ORIGINAL
INTENT OF THE FRAMERS AND DECLINE
PETITIONERS’ INVITATION TO LEGISLATE
FROM THE BENCH

A. In a Republic, Laws Are Created Only by Legislatures.

Petitioners and their amici have urged this Court to radically
rewnte the criminal laws of this nation. Sodomy once was
considered a crime so unspeakable that courts declined to describe
the behavior in any detail.*? Now this very reluctance caused by
moral revulsion is asserted as a basis for the anti-historical
contention that the Framers of the Constitution intended to protect
consensual sodomy.

The briefs filed by those who support the legalization of same-
sex sodomy demonstrate that they have made significant progress
toward their political goals. Far fewer states punish sodomy now
than at earlier times in our nation’s history.** However, unsatisfied
with the pace of change, these political advocates ask this Court to
finish the process in one swift judicial act. Their argument is
cloaked in supposed historical analysis and constitutional

_™ See, eg., Honselman v. Illinois, 48 N.E. 304, 305 (Ill. 1897) (“The
existence of such an offense is a disgrace to human nature. The legislature has
not seen fit to define it further than by the general term, and the records of the
courts need not be defiled with the details of different acts which may go to
constitute it.”); Cross v. State, 17 Tex. Ct. App. 476, 1885 WL 6739 at *2
(1885) (“the crime of sodomy is too well known to be misunderstood, and too
disgusting to be defined further than by merely naming it. I think it unnecessary
therefore, to lay the carnaliter cognovit in the indictment.”).

* Cato Brief at 17, 26, Historians Brief at 29; ACLU Brief at 21-24.

25

reasoning. In reality, these submissions contain wishful thinking
presented as accurate history, and political rhetoric thinly disguised
as constitutional analysis.

Elected officials in Congress proposed the Fourteenth
Amendment. Elected officials in the states ratified the Fourteenth
Amendment. If the meaning of the language of the Fourteenth
Amendment is twisted from that intended by those who drafted and
ratified it, we will witness not an act of social progress but one of

judicial tyranny.
John Locke wrote:

Nor can any edict of anybody else, in what form soever
conceived, or by what power soever backed, have the force and
obligation of a law which has not its sanction from that
legislative which the public has chosen and appointed; for
without this the law could not have that which is absolutely
necessary to its being a law, the consent of the society, over
whom nobody can have a power to make laws but by their own
consent and by authority received from them; and therefore all
the obedience, which by the most solemn ties any one can be
obliged to pay, ultimately terminates in this supreme power,
and is directed by those laws which it enacts.*°

Locke quotes Richard Hooker, Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical
Polity (1593), to demonstrate the tyrannical nature of laws created
by any other process.

The lawful power of making laws to command whole politic
societies of men, belonging so properly unto the same entire
societies, that for any prince or potentate, of what kind soever

35 John Locke, Second Treatise on Civil Government 74 (Prometheus Books
1986) (1690).

26

upon earth, to exercise the same of himself, and not by express
commission immediately and personally received from God, or
else by authority derived at the first from their consent, upon
whose persons they impose laws, it is no better than mere
tyranny. Laws they are not, therefore, which public
approbation hath not made so.*°

Locke understood the important role of republican
governmental principles for the preservation of liberty. Those who
fancy the term “civil libertarian,” and yet seck to change the law
through the judiciary, seek not liberty, but an act that is “no better
than mere tyranny.”

It is not the role of this Court to inquire into the social policy
ramifications of anti-sodomy laws. A ruling based on an
examination of such matters would be exactly the sort of judicial
legislation that this Court condemned in West Virginia Board of
Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 650 (1943). In that case, this
Court held: “The framers of the Constitution denied such
legislative powers to the federal judiciary . . . [and] did not grant to
this Court supervision over legislation.” Rather, this Court should
consider only those arguments founded on analysis which is truly
legal in character.

B. Legislative Trends Do Not Create New Constitutional
Rights.

Each of the historical briefs filed in this case notes a “national
trend” toward repealing or altering sodomy statutes. State
legislatures have indeed made changes to sodomy laws,
broadening, narrowing, or abolishing them. However, it does not
follow that the alteration or repeal of sodomy statutes in some

6 Id.

27

states enshrines sodomy as a fundamental right guaranteed by the
Bill of Rights and the Fourteenth Amendment. The fact that some
states have changed or repealed their sodomy laws provides no
support for the thinly veiled request for this Court to act as a
“super-legislature.””’ Defining the criminality of certain forms of
sexual conduct, such as same-sex sodomy, is a policy issue that has
historically and properly been left to the state legislatures.

Prior to her appointment to this Court, Justice Ginsburg
criticized the Supreme Court for imposing the broad holding of
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973), on the states. She noted “in my
judgment, Roe ventured too far in the change it ordered.” Ruth
Bader Ginsburg, Some Thoughts on Autonomy and Equality in
Relation to Roe v. Wade, 63 N.C. L. REV. 375, 381 (1985). She
further observed that the national trend “toward liberalization of
abortion statutes” (also noted by this Court in Roe) quickly ended
when the Court greatly restricted the states’ authority to regulate
abortion. Jd. at 379-80; see also Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Speaking in
a Judicial Voice, 67 N.Y.U. L. REV. 1185, 1205 (1992) (“Roe v.
Wade . . . invited no dialogue with legislators. Instead, it seemed
entirely to remove the ball from the legislators’ court.

In 1973, when Roe was issued, abortion law was in a state of
change across the nation.”).

As in Roe, this Court has received a request to constitutionalize
a divisive and highly visible political issue. Public respect for the
rule of law is diminished whenever unelected officials remove the
ability of the public to settle moral and political issues in the
legislative chamber. Contrast the public reaction to Bowers v.

*” See Day-Brite Lighting, Inc. v. Missouri, 342 U.S. 421, 423 (1952) (“Our
recent decisions make plain that we do not sit as a super-legislature to weigh the
wisdom of iegislation nor to decide whether the policy which it expresses
offends the public welfare.”).

28

Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986), with that to Roe. Those
disappointed with the Bowers decision have successfully petitioned
many legislative bodies for change. Opponents of Roe march on
this Court since there is no other realistic venue for relief.

This Court should stay out of this public policy dispute and leave it
to the state legislatures to decide.

38 4 dditionally, this Court should dismiss the cert petition as improvidently
granted due to the deficient record. This case does not provide the facts for this
Court to address the significant issues raised in the Questions Presented
involving the constitutionality of private sex acts engaged in by consenting
adults. The record in this case only shows that the Petitioners were adult males
who engaged in “anal sodomy.” Pet. App. 129a. & 14a.

Under the record of this case, the factual possibilities exist that one of
Petitioners lacked capacity to consent, that the sodomy was forced, or that
Petitioners engaged in commercial prostitution, or performed their act in public
view or before an audience. Petitioners have not presented evidence refuting
those factual alternatives. It is Petitioners’ burden to prove that these facts do
not exist in a case, in order to give this Court a clean vehicle to rule on the
substantive legal questions. At best, all Petitioners can do is make a facial
challenge to the Texas law, which means this Court should apply the standard
articulated in U.S. v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739, 745 (1987) (a party seeking facial
invalidation of a statute “must establish that no set of circumstances exists under
which the Act would be valid”).

This Court should not reexamine a major Constitutional question, and also
overturn an earlier decision when it is unclear that the facts of this case present
an opportunity for this Court to rule on such a question Jnt'l Bhd. of Teamsters,
Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers Unions v. Denver Milk Producers, Inc.,
334 U.S. 809 (1948) (per curiam) (“Because of the inadequacy of the record, we
decline to decide the Constitutional issues involved.”).

DEON

29

CONCLUSION

The Texas law prohibits conduct-sodomy between individuals
of the same gender—as many other states and their courts have
historically done. There is no fundamental right “deeply rooted in
this Nation’s history and traditions” to engage in same-sex
sodomy. Bowers, 478 U.S. at 192-193. The Texas Court of
Appeals’ decision should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL P. FARRIS* JORDAN W. LORENCE

CENTER FOR THE ORIGINAL JOSHUA W. CARDEN

INTENT OF THE CONSTITUTION ALLIANCE DEFENSE FUND
P.O. Box 1776 15333 N. Pima Rd., Ste. 165
Purcellville, VA 20134 Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(540) 338-1776 (480) 444-0020

*COUNSEL OF RECORD
February 18, 2003

Our thanks to Matthew L. Brownfield, Jeffrey C. Cavanaugh, Daniel
S. Chapin, Rachel A. Denlinger, David A. Handermann, Rachel J.
Kozlowski, Zachary J. Martin, Dan O’Brien, Kyle D. Pousson, David
J. Shaw, Stephen L. Shipp, Sumi Thomas, Joel Tetreau, and Galen N.
Thorp for their assistance on this brief.

APPENDIX

A-l

APPENDIX 1 ©

State Sodomy Laws in 1791

Connecticut

That if any man shall lie with mankind, as he lieth with
womankind, both of them have committed abomination, they
both shall be put to death; except it shall appear that one of the
parties was forced, or under fifteen years of age; in which case
the party forced, or under the age aforesaid, shall not be liable
to suffer the said punishment.

The Public Statute Laws of the State of Connecticut, 1808 title
LXVI (66), ch. 1, § 2, p. 295.

Delaware

That if any person or persons shall commit sodomy, or
buggery, or rape or robbery, . . . he or they so offending, or
committing any of the said crimes within this government, their
counsellors, aiders, comforters and abettors, being convicted
thereof, as above-said, shall suffer as felons, according to the
tenor, direction, form and effect of the several statutes in such
cases respectively made and provided in Great Britain; any act
or law of this government to the contrary in any wise not
withstanding.

Laws of the State of Delaware, 1797, ch. 22a, § 5, p. 67 (passed in
1719).

A-2

Maryland

Maryland had no sodomy statute in 1791, but the Declaration
of Rights of Maryland, section 3, a portion of the Maryland State
Constitution passed in 1776 said “that the inhabitants of Maryland
are entitled to the common law of England. . . .” Sodomy was a
crime under the common law (see section on North Carolina).

Every person duly convicted of the crime of sodomy, shall be
sentenced to undergo a similar confinement for a period not
less than one year nor more than ten years, under the same
conditions as are herein after directed.

Maryland Laws, ch.. CXXXVIII (138), art. IV, § 8.
Massachusetts

That if any man shall lay with mankind as he layeth with a
woman, or any man or woman shall have carnal copulation
with any beast or brute creature, and be thereof duly convicted,
the offender, in either of those cases, shall be adjudged guilty
of felony, shall be sentenced to suffer the pains of death, and
the beast shall be slain, and every part thereof burned. And be
it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, that such order and
form of process shall be had and used, in trial of such
offenders, and such judgment given, and execution done, upon
the offender, as in cases of murder.

Perpetual Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1780-
1789, p. 187, Act of March 3, 1785.

New Hampshire

That if any man shall carnally lie with a man, as a man carnally
lieth with a woman, or if any man or woman shall have carnal
copulation with any beast, or brute creature, and be thereof
convicted, the offender in either of those cases before
mentioned, shall suffer death, and the beast shall be slain and
burned.

Laws of New Hampshire, 1805, p. 267 (passed February 8, 1791).
New Jersey

That sodomy, or the infamous crime against nature, committed
with mankind or beast, shall be adjudged a high crime and
misdemeanor, and be punished by fine and solitary
imprisonment at hard labour, for any term not exceeding
twenty-one years.

Acts of the General Assembly, March 18, 1796, ch. DC, § 7, p. 93.
New York

That the detestable and abominable vice of buggery,
committed with mankind, or beast, shall be from henceforth
adjudged felony; and such order and form of process therein
shall be used against the offenders, as in cases of felony at the
common law; and that every person being thereof convicted,
by verdict, confession, or outlawry, shall be hanged by the
neck, until he or she shall be dead.

Laws of New York, ch.. 21, p. 391 (passed February 14, 1787).

A-4

North Carolina

When the Bill of Rights was ratified in 1791, North Carolina
had adopted the English common law statute of Henry VIII which
was the basis for the common law’s crime of buggery (see section
on South Carolina):

A-5

inflicted; that is to say, every person convicted of robbery,
burglary, sodomy or buggery or as accessory thereto before the
fact shall forfeit to the commonwealth all and singular the
lands and tenements, goods and chattels whereof he or she was
seized or possessed at the time the crime was committed and at
any time afterwards until conviction and be sentenced to

Forasmuch as there is not yet sufficient and condign
punishment appointed and limited by the due course of the
Laws of this Realm, for the detestable and abominable vice of
Buggery committed with mankind or beast: It may therefore
please the King’s Highness, with the assent of his Lords
spiritual and temporal, and the Commons of this present
Parliament assembled . . . That the same offense be from
henceforth adjudged Felony . . . And that the offenders being
hereof convict . . . shall suffer such pains of death and losses
and penalties of their goods, chattels, debts, lands, tenements
and hereditaments, as Felons be accustomed to doe [sic]
according to the order of the Common-laws of this Realm.
And that no person offending in any such offense, shall be
admitted to his Clergy, And that Justices of Peace shall have
power and authority, within the limits of their Commissions
and Jurisdictions, to hear and determine the said offense, as
they do use to doe [sic] in cases of other Felonies .. .

25 Henry VIII, ch. 6.

Pennsylvania

That the pains and penalties hereinafter mentioned shall be
inflicted upon the several offenders who shall from and after
the passing of this act commit and be legally convicted of any
of the offences hereinafter enumerated and specified, in lieu of
the pains and penalties which by law have been heretofore

undergo a servitude of any term or time at the discretion of the
court passing the sentence not exceeding ten years in the public
gaol or house of correction of the county or city in which the
offence shall have been committed and be kept at such labor
and fed and clothed in such manner as is herein after directed.

The Statutes at Large of Pennsylvania, 1682-1801, vol. 13,.(1682-
1801), p. 511, ch. MDXVI (1516).

Rhode Island

That every person who shall be convicted of sodomy, or of
being accessary [sic] thereto before the fact, shall, for the first
offence [sic], be carried to the gallows in a cart, and set upon
said gallows, for a space of time not exceeding four hours, and
thence to the common gaol, there to be confined for a term not
exceeding three years, and shall be grieviously fined at the
direction of the Court; and for the second offence [sic] shall
suffer death.

The Public Laws of the State of Rhode Island and Providence
Plantations, 1798, § 8, p. 586, “An Act to Reform the Penal
Laws.”

South Carolina

Forasmuch as there is not yet sufficient and condign [sic]
Punishment appointed and limited by the due Course of the

A-6

Laws of this Realm, for the detestable and abominable Vice of
Buggery committed with the Mankind or Beast: (2) It may
therefore be enacted, That the same offence be from henceforth
adjudged felony, and such Order and Form of Process therein
to be used against the Offenders as in Cases of Felony at the
Common Law; (3) and that the Offenders being hereof convict
[sic] by Verdict, Confession, or Outlawry, shall suffer such
Pains of Death, and Losses and Penalties of the Goods,
Chattels, Debts, Lands, Tenements and Hereditaments, as
Felons be accustomed to do, according to the Order of the
Common Laws of this Realm; (4) and that no Person offending
in any such Offence, shall be admitted to his Clergy; (5) and
that Justices of Peace shall have Power and Authority,. within
the Limits of their Commissions and Jurisdictions, to hear and
determine the said Offence, as they do use to do in Case of
other Felonies.

A-7

and made divers evil disposed Persons have been the more
bold to commit the said most horrible and detestable Vice of
Buggery aforesaid, to the high Displeasure of Almighty God.

II. Be it enacted, That the said Statute before mentioned, made
in the 25th Year of the said late King Henry the 8th, for the
Punishment of the said detestable Vice of Buggery, and every
Branch, Clause, Article and Sentence therein contained, shall
from and after the 1st Day of June next coming be revived, and
from thenceforce shall stand, remain, and be in full Force,
Strength and Effect for every, in such Manner, Form and
Condition, as the same Statue was at the Day of the Death of
the said late King Henry the Eighth, the said Statute of Repeal
made in the said Ist Year of the said late Queen Mary or any
Words general or special therein contained, or any other Act or
Acts, Thing or Things, to the contrary notwithstanding.

Public Laws of the State of South Carolina, 1790, p. 49. Public Laws of the State of South Carolina, 1790, p. 65.
The English common law statute banning sodomy issued by Henry Virginia
VIII reads:
Before 1792, Virginia relied on the English common law which
Where in the Parliament begun at London the 3d Day of made sodomy a punishable crime (see Hennings Statutes of
November in the 21st Years of the late King of most famous Virginia, vol. 9, 1775-1778, ch. V, § VI, p. 127). Virginia passed a
Memory, King Henry the Eighth, and after by Prorogation specific sodomy ban in i 792:
holden at Westminster in the 25th Year of the Reign of said |
~ late King, there was one Act and Statute made, entitled, An Act That if any do commit the detestable and abominable vice of
for the Punishment of the Vice of Buggery, whereby the said buggery, with man or beast, he or she so offending, shall be
detestable Vice was made Felony, as in the said Estatute [sic] adjudged a felon, and shall suffer death, as in case of felony,
more and large it doth and may appear: (2) Forasmuch as the without the benefit of clergy.
said Statute concerning the Punishment of the said Crime and
Offence of Buggery standeth at this present repealed and void Virginia Statutes at Large, 1835, p. 113.

by Virtue of the Statute of Repeal made in the 1st Year of the
Reign of the late Queen Mary: Sithence which Repeal so had

A-8

State Sodomy Laws in 1868
Alabama
‘Crimes against nature, either with mankind or any beast, are

punishable by imprisonment in the penitentiary not less than
two or more than ten years.

Alabama Code, 1852, § 3235, p. 583.

Arkansas
Every person convicted of sodomy, or buggery, shall be
imprisoned in said jail and penitentiary house, for a period not
less than five, nor more than 21 years.

Statutes of Arkansas, 1858, ch. 51, Art. IV, § 5, p. 335 (passed in
1838).

California
The infamous crime against nature, either with man or beast,
shall subject the offender to be punished by imprisonment in

the State Prison for a term not less than five years, and which
may extend to life.

Statutes 1850, ch. 99, § 48, p. 99.
Florida
Whoever commits the abominable and detestable crime against

nature, either with mankind or with any beast, shall be
punished by imprisonment in the State penitentiary not

exceeding twenty years.
Florida Laws 1868, ch. 1637, Subchap. 8, § 17, p. 98.
Georgia

Sodomy and bestiality shall be punished by hard labour in the
penitentiary, during the natural life or lives of person or
persons convicted of these detestable crimes.

Lamar'’s of Georgia, 1810-1819, § 35, p. 571.
Illinois

The infamous crime against nature, either with man or beast,
shall subject the offender to be punished by imprisonment in
the penitentiary for a term not less than one year, and may
extend to life.

Revised Statutes of 1844-45, ch. 30, Div. 5, § 50, p. 158.
Kansas

Every person who shall be convicted of the detestable and
abominable crime against nature, committed with mankind or
with beast, shall be punished by confinement and hard labor
not exceeding ter years.

Art. 7, ch. 31, § 249, General Statutes of 1868 (found at vol. 2, p.
340, Statutes of Kansas, 1897).

A-10

Kentucky

Whoever shall be convicted of the crime of sodomy or buggery
with man or beast, he shall be confined in the penitentiary not
less than two nor more than five years.

Revised Statutes of 1852, ch. 28, Art. IV, § 11, p. 381.
Louisiana

Whoever shall be convicted of the detestable and abominable
crime against nature, committed with mankind or beast, shall
suffer imprisonment at hard labor for life. .

Revised Statutes of Louisiana, 1856, “Crimes and Offences,” § 5,
p. 136.

Maine

Whoever commits the crime against nature, with mankind or
with a beast, shall be punished by imprisonment not less than
one, nor more than ten years.

Revised Statutes of 1857, ch. 124, § 3, p. 684.

Michigan
Every person who shall commit the abominable and detestable
crime against nature, either with mankind or with any beast,
shall be punished by imprisonment in the State prison not more
than fifteen years.

Compiled Laws of 1857, § 5871, p. 1543.

|

A-11

Minnesota

Every person who shall commit sodomy, or the crime against
nature, either with mankind or any beast, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the territorial [sic] prison, not more than five
years, nor less than one year.

Minnesota Statutes 1858, ch. 96, § 13, p. 729.

Mississippi

Every person who shall be convicted of the detestable and
abominable crime against nature, committed with mankind or
with a beast, shall be punished by imprisonment in the
penitentiary for a term not more than ten years.

Laws of 1857, ch. 64, Art. 238, § 52,p. 611. —_

Missouri

Every person who shall be convicted of the detestable and
abominable crime against nature, committed with mankind or
with beast, shall be punished by imprisonment in the
penitentiary not less than ten years.

Revised Statutes 1855, ch. 50, § 7, p. 624.

Nevada

The infamous crime against nature, either with man or beast,
shall subject the offender to be punished by imprisonment in
the state prison for a term not less than five years and which
may extend to life.

A-12

The Compiled Laws of Nevada in Force from 1861-1900, § 4699,
sec. 45, p. 915 (approved November 26, 1861).

Oregon

If any person shall commit sodomy or the crime against nature
either with mankind or beast, such person, upon conviction
thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment in the penitentiary
not less than one year, nor more than five years.

Oregon Organic and General Laws, 1845-64, ch. 48, § 639, p. 560
(passed October 19, 1864).

Tennessee

Crimes against nature, either with mankind or any beast, are
punishable by imprisonment in the penitentiary not less than
five nor more than fifteen years.

Code of Tennessee, 1858, § 4843, p. 868.

Texas

If any person shall commit with mankind or beast the
abominable and detestable crime against nature, he shall be
deemed guilty of sodomy, and on conviction thereof, he shall
be punished by confinement in the penitentiary for not less
than five nor more than fifteen years.

Penal Code of the State of Texas, 1879, art. 342, p. 46 (passed on
February 11, 1860).

A-13

Vermont

Vermont had no criminal sodomy statute until 1937, although
Vermont courts recognized sodomy as a crime at common law,
which could be punished. See State v. La Forrest, 71 Vt. 311, 45
A. 225 (1899). This is the text of the Vermont criminal sodomy
statute passed in 1937:

A person participating in the act of copulating the mouth of
one person with the sexual organ of another shall be
imprisoned in the state prison not less than one year nor more
than five years.

Vermont Statutes of 1947, ch. 370, § 8480, p. 1593.
West Virginia

If any person shall commit the crime of buggery, either with
mankind or with any brute animal, he shall be confined in the
penitentiary not less than one nor more than five years.

Code of West Virginia—1870, ch. 149, § 12, p. 694 (passed in
1868).

Wisconsin
Every person who shall commit sodomy, or the crime against
nature, either with mankind or beast, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison, not more than five years nor
less than one year.

Revised Statutes of Wisconsin, 1858, ch. 170, § 15, p. 975.

A-14

After 1868

Indiana

Indiana did not have a criminal sodomy law at the time of the
passage of the 14" Amendment, but passed the following law in

1881:

Whoever commits the abominable and detestable crime against
nature, by having carnal knowledge of a man or beast, or who,
being a male, carnally knows any man or any woman through
the anus, and whoever entices, allures, instigates, or aids any
person under the age of twenty-one years to commit
masturbation or self-pollution--is guilty of sodomy, and, upon
conviction thereof, shall be imprisoned in the State prison not
more than fourteen years nor less than two years.

Revised Statutes of Indiana—1897, ch. 5, art. 5, § 2118, p. 338.

Iowa

Iowa did not have a criminal sodomy law at the time of passage of
the 14" Amendment, but later passed the following law in 1892:

Any person who shall commit sodomy, shall be imprisoned in
the penitentiary not more than ten years nor less than one year.

Annotated Code of Iowa, 1897, § 4937, p. 941, passed 24 General
Assembly, ch. 39.

A-15

Ohio

Ohio did not have a criminal sodomy law in 1868, at the time of
ratification of the Fourteenth Amendment. The Ohio Legislature
later passed a criminal sodomy statute in 1885:

Sec. 1 That whoever shall have carnal copulation against
nature, with another human being or with a beast, shall be
deemed guilty of sodomy, and shall, on conviction thereof, be
imprisoned in the penitentiary not more than twenty years.

Ohio Laws 1885, p. 241 (passed May 4, 1885).
Nebraska

Nebraska had a criminal sodomy law while it was a territory, but
not for a few years after it became a state. The Statutes of the
Nebraska Terriwry of 1866 had a criminal sodomy statute at § 47,
“Offenses Against Persons,” p. 599. Nebraska had no criminal
sodomy law at the time the states ratified the Fourteenth
Amendment in 1868. The Nebraska State Legislature later passed
such a law in 1875, using the exact language of the earlier
territorial sodomy law.

That infamous crime against nature e:ther with man or beast,
shall subject the offender to be punished by imprisonment in
the penitentiary for a term not less than one year, and my [sic]
extend to life.

Compiled Statutes, 1881, § 245, p. 805.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0585%3A41. Public record. Not legal advice.
