# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lawrence v. Texas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0585%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 558

## Text

< Supmame Cwuss, ve .
A : FILED
No. 02-102 JAN 16 2003
| OPFE OF TAR RAM

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

JOHN GEDDES LAWRENCE and TYRON GARNER,

Petitioners,

Vv.

STATE OF TEXAS

¢

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court Of Appeals Of Texas,
Fourteenth District

SJ

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

o

ALFRED P. CARLTON, JR.*
President

AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
RUTH N. BORENSTEIN

BETH S. BRINKMANN

SETH M. GALANTER

750 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, Illinois 60611

(312) 988-5215

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ..........ccccccceeceeeeees

THE TEXAS HOMOSEXUAL CONDUCT LAW IS
UNCONSTITUTIONAL AND CONTRARY TO THE
RULE OF LAW BECAUSE IT INFRINGES INDIVID-
UAL LIBERTY AND IRRATIONALLY SINGLES OUT
A DISCRETE GROUP FOR SECOND-CLASS TREAT-

A. Laws That Criminalize Private, Noncommer-

cial Sexual Conduct Between Consenting
Adults Contravene The Rule Of Law.............

1.

The ABA’s policies urging the repeal of

sodomy laws and prohibiting sexual ori-
entation discrimination reflect a growing
consensus that the rule of law does not
tolerate intrusions into private, non-
commercial sexual conduct between con-
senting adults or invidious distinctions
based on sexual orientation.....................

Despite the improved treatment of many
gay men and lesbians in society, and
within the legal profession in particular,
the retention of criminal laws that single
out same-sex conduct continues to en-
courage irrational discrimination............

Petitioners’ Criminal Convictions Under The
Texas Homosexual Conduct Law Violate Lib-
erty and Privacy Interests Protected By The
Due Process Clause And Bowers v. Hardwick
Therefore Should Be Overruled .....................

14

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

1. Bowers should be overruled because the
weight of this Court’s modern precedents
supports the conclusion that the right of
consenting adults to engage in intimate
human conduct implicates a fundamen-
tal liberty interest protected by the Due
Process Clause and a more complete ac-
count of the history of sodomy laws sup-
ports that View ...........:cccceeeereenseeeeeeeeenennes 16

2. Bowers should be overruled because it
relied upon an improper narrowing of
the Constitution’s special protections for
family and the home................ccccecseeeeeeees 19

3. Bowers should be overruled because it is
inconsistent with Romer v. Evans............ 22

C. Petitioners’ Criminal Convictions Under The
Texas Homosexual Conduct Law Violate The
Equal Protection Clause ..............cccccccseeeeeeeees 25

1. The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law dis-
criminates against gay men and lesbians
by criminalizing conduct by same-sex
couples that is not criminal when en-
gaged in by different-sex couples............. 25

2. Under the Equal Protection Clause, the
desire to harm and stigmatize members
of a group, such as gay men and lesbi-
ans, is not a legitimate governmental in-

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page
APPENDICES
Official Policies and Constitutional Amendments of
the American Bar Association...............00000000000000..00....... la

American Bar Association Report No. 2 (Aug. 1973)......10a

A Sampling of Major Law Firms That Have Policies
Specifically Prohibiting Discrimination Based On
Sexual Orientation ............0..cccccccccecsscesseeseseeeeeeeceeece.n, 17a

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203 (1997)..........0ceeeeeeee 15, 22
Aguilar v. Fetins, 473 U.S. 402 (1985) ........ccccceecerreeeeeees 15
Booth v. Maryiand, 482 U.S. 496 (1987)..........::cccceeeeeeeees 15
Boy Scouts of Am. v. Dale, 530 U.S. 640 (2000)..............0++ 2
Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986) ...............+. passim
Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616 (1886)..............--e0-+0 19
Burnet v. Coronado Oil Gas Co., 285 U.S. 393
—————————————— 22
Campbell v. Sundquist, 926 S.W.2d 250 (Tenn. Ct.
App.), appeal denied (Tenn. 1996) ...............csssseeeeeeeeees 23
C . Population Servs. Int'l, 431 U.S. 678
r- * “teeecrinratbewanndisnatecdear attri 16, 17, 19
Childers v. Dallas Police Dep't, 513 F.Supp. 134
(N.D. Tex. 1981), aff’d mem., 669 F.2d 732 (5th
0 13
City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Ctr., Inc., 473
et 28
Columbia Union Coll. v. Clark, 527 U.S. 1013
EEE 22
Commonwealth v. Wasson, 842 S.W.2d 487 (Ky.
————————— 23
Cruzan v. Missouri Dep't of Health, 497 U.S. 261
_———————————— 16, 25
Department of Agric. v. Moreno, 413 U.S. 528 (1973)....... 28 -
Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972) ..........cccccceeeeeeeeee 27

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Florida Bd. of Bar Exam’rs re N.R.S., 403 So.2d
I diceveustssedenensennesess 1l

Florida ex rel. Florida Bar v. Kimball, 96 So.2d 825
Sua SIUTII antethecensesestenitcnaiasiehninrtniitnitediainsinaihireiesiartamainiaiteasaaes 11
Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972) ..........cccccecceccceoees 29
Grady v. Corbin, 495 U.S. 508 (1990)...........ccccccccceeeeeeeeees 15
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) ...9, 16, 17, 19
Gryczan v. State, 942 P-2d 112 (Mont. 1997) ..............0.00... 23
Honselman v. People, 48 N.E. 304 (Ill. 1897) .............c00000- 18
Hunter v. Underwood, 471 U.S. 222 (1985)........ccccccccccceceee i)
In re Boyd, 307 P.2d 625 (Cal. 1957)..........cccccccccccceeeceeeeeeee 11
James v. Douglas, 941 F.2d 1539 (11th Cir. 1991)............ 23
Jegley v. Picado, 80 S.W.3d 332 (Ark. 2002).......0.00...cc00000- 23
The King v. Wiseman, 92 Eng. Rep. 774 (K.B. 1716)......... 18
Kyllo v. United States, 533 U.S. 27 (2001)..............c0000-- 5, 19
Lochner v. New York, 198 U.S. 45 (1905)...........ccccccecocceeeee 15

Louisville Gas & Elec. Co. v. Coleman, 277 U.S. 32
Ne 28
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967).........cccccccccceseeseeseeeees 28
Marcum v. McWhorter, 308 F.3d 635 (6th Cir. 2002)........ 23
Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494 (1977).......... 20
Nabozny v. Podlesny, 92 F.3d 446 (7th Cir. 1996)............. 23

Nashville, Chattanooga & St. Louis Ry. v. Browning,
aac ee thetic etna 29

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Payne v. Tennessee, 501 U.S. 808 (1991)...........00eeeeeee: 15, 24
Pennsylvania v. Union Gas Co., 491 U.S. 1 (1989) ........... 15
Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pa. v. Casey,

I EE passim
Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896) ...........-::cseeeeeeeees 15
Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) ........ccccccccesseeeeeeeeereeeees 17
Post v. State, 715 P.2d 1105 (Okla. Crim. App. 1986)........ 26
Powell v. State, 510 S.E.2d 18 (Ga. 1998)............cccceeeeeeeeee 23
Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. New York, 336 U.S.

BI CR ccccccecenccsseccecenrsnesnsssensssanscncnscsscesssemnensmsemensensees 25
Ring v. Arizona, 122 S. Ct. 2428 (2002)..........:..cceeeeeeeeees 15
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973).........:.:ccccccccseseeeeeeneeneeeees 23
Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996) ............cccceeeeee passim
School Dist. of Grand Rapids v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373

( 15
Seminole Tribe of Fla. v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44 (1996) ....... 15
South Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. 805 (1989)............... 15
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969) ...........ccceeeeeeeeeees 19
State v. Morales, 826 S.W.2d 201 (Tex. App. 1992),

rev'd, 869 S.W. 2d 941 (Tex. 1994) ..........cccccceceeeereeeeeesees 29
Stemler v. City of Florence, 126 F.3d 856 (6th Cir.

, a 23
Sterling v. Burough of Minersville, 232 F.3d 190 (3d

SS 23

:
}

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Toonen v. Australia, U.N. GAOR, Hum. Rts.
Comm., 50th sess., 448th mtg., U.N. Doc.
CCPR/C/50/D/488/1992 (1994) ........ccccccccccccececeecseeeeeeseee. 24
TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Res. Corp., 509 U.S.
EES ane, oon eer te eae 29
Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57 (2000) ...ccccccccccccccooceoceeeee. 20
Union Pacific R. Co. v. Botsford, 141 U.S. 250
ae er ee Ne ee EE 16
United States v. Carolene Prods. Co., 304 U.S. 144
ea icteric tetracaine ieee ial 29
United States v. Dixon, 509 U.S. 688 (1993)..................... 15
Vacco v. Quill, 521 U.S. 793 (1997) ......cccccccceccecseececeeseeeeee. 22
Vasquez v. Hillery, 474 U.S. 254 (1986) .....cccccccccccccceceeoeeee 22
Village of Willowbrook v. Olech, 528 U.S. 562 (2000)........ 27
Walton v. Arizona, 497 U.S. 639 (1990) ..............cceeeecceeeeee 15
Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702 (1997) ...cccccccec.... 29
CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES
U.S. Const. amend. XIV
§ 1, Due Process Clause..............0.....c..cccsec..see-.-+. passim
§ 1, Equal Protection Clause ..0.0...........ccccccecceseeeeees passim
Tex. Pen. Code § 21.01(1) ................ccccccsccosescocscocceoecececeeess, 25
ELE a eee passim
CourRT RULES
Fla. C.J.C. Canon 3(5) (2002) .........ccccccccecccecececeeseecesseseeee. 12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Kan. Sup. Ct. R. 601A Canon 3(B)(5) (2002)... 12
XIV La. Sup. Ct. R. XVII, § 5(G)(1) (2002) .......eceeceereeeeeeees ll
Miss. C.J.C. Canon 3(B)(5) (2002) ...........cccseeeeeeeeenennnnennenen 12
Okla. Stat. tit. 5, app. 4, Canon 3(B)(4) (2003) .........--+++. 12
Tex. C.J.C. Canon 3(B)(6) (2002) .......ccccccceeeeeeeeeeneeeeeeeeenees 12
Utah C.J. Admin. Canon 3(B)(5) (2002) ...........:cccceeeeeeeeenes 12
MISCELLANEOUS
American Academy of Pediatrics, Technical Report:
Coparent or Second-Parent Adoption by Same-

Sex Parents, 109 Pediatrics 341 (Feb. 2002) ..............+-. 20
American Bar Ass'n, Model Code of Judicial oa
Condsct (1900) ...0..0csccccccccccccccccccesccesscsesescsccceseeeeesssessess
American Bar Ass'n, Policy & Procedures Handbook .
(BOOB) ..ccccoceccccccccccccocscsocsssescesocsssssssossosossosssoooonssossssososssoes
American Bar Ass'n, Standards for Approval of ,

Law Schools (2002) ..........-::-sssesssccceerseceseereeseneessseerenennees 1
American Law Institute, Principles of the Law of ‘a
Family Dissolution (2002)........ssscescesseseeseresnsenseneensners
American Law Institute, Model Penal Code and -
Commentaries (1980) .........:ssssesserssssesereeneenernsnnsnsnssnenes
American Law Institute, Model Penal Code at
(Tentative Draft No. 4, 1955)..........csssesssesesenenereesenenees '

American Law Institute, Transcript of Proceedings

(1955)............ccccccscsscssssssrosssssssssessessnsessssssonsnssessssssaseseoees 9

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Dan Black et al., Demographics of the Gay and
Lesbian Population in the United States: Evi-
dence from Available Systematic Data Sources,
37 Demography 139 (May 2000) .0........cccccccccecceocecseeceeees 20
D’Vera Cohn, Count of Gay Couples Up 300%,
Wash. Post, Aug. 22, 2001, at AB o...cccccccccccccccocccocecoceeees. 19
William N. Eskridge, Jr., Hardwick and
Historiography, 1999 U. Ill. L. Rev. 631....... 8, 9, 10, 26, 27

Richard H. Fallon, Jr., “The Rule of Law” as a
Concept in .Constitutional Discourse, 97 Colum.
a ee Oe iin nieinliteertrciteeniatiietamertciiaeneteeiinateatntnas einen 7

Peter Finn & Taylor McNeil, The Response of the
Criminal Justice System to Bias Crime: An Ex-

Ploratory Review (1987) .......cccccccccccecesessssessessseeseseeeeseses 14
Anne B. Goldstein, History, Homosexuality, and
Political Values, 97 Yale L.J. 1073 (1998)...................... 18

E.J. Graff, Welcoming the Invisible Bar: Lesbian
and Gay Attorneys, Diversity & the Bar, June
Eas OUP Ealiiacsinisinssietiistcsintttiiniceetiscitiniiattansitaataatninstaetnnsepeence 10

Hillary Greene, Undead Laws: The Use of Histori-
cally Unenforced Criminal Statutes in Non-
Criminal Litigation, 16 Yale L. & Pol'y Rev. 169

ITA Perneatienieeieicelaeenaeteeeteite i 12
Mark Hansen, Bolstering Benefits, 84 A.B.AJ. 32
ee edn icnittteniariaitiaaeaetiiaseesaiattcaest tale tt tie 21

Human Rights Campaign Foundation, The State of
the Workplace for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and
Transgender Americans 2001 .......00.c0ceccsceessesessesesse. 10, 21

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

International Covenant on Civil and Political
Rights, opened for signature Dec. 19, 1966, 999

CIES EE. FO sercscrsncecnssonsesesansedesewenecsemeienteenmemesnnanies 2, 24

Law School Admission Council, Out & In: Informa-
tion for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgendered

Law School Applicants (2001) ...........c:ssceeseeeeeeeeseeees 11, 21

Christopher R. Leslie, Creating Criminals: The
Injuries Inflicted by “Unenforced” Sodomy Laws,

35 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 103 (2000).......... 12, 13, 14, 26

John May, The Law of Crimes (2d ed. 1893) ............::0e0000

Robert B. Mison, Comment, Homophobia in Man-
slaughter, 80 Cal. L. Rev. 133 (1992)...............ccceeees 13,

National Inst. of Mental Health Task Force on
Homosexuality, Final Report and Background
I Ce ertascncinnenbintatentintsdainciviiadiniatidnennetimenons

Report of the District of Columbia Bar Task Force
on Sexual Orientation and the Legal Workplace
(Bae. 1988) ..020.0ccccscceccsesceccsescovsessevsecvesvecsevsonsosessonsoosoeces

Deborah L. Rhode & David Luban, Legal Ethics (3d
a a ntidiintdeieniahithiaieineidirenbcanlasianaaienttastarieanciaaiamanaiaaiiniiciindiiiintie

Paul Tappan, The Habitual Sex Offender: Report
and Recommendations of the [New Jersey] Com-
mission on the Habitual Sex Offender (1950)................

Penny Weaver, Pro-Gay Danburg Ousted by Wong,
Houston Voice, Nov. 8, 2002, at 1..............ccceceeeeeeeeeeeeeees

Donald T. Weckstein, Recent Developments in the
Character and Fitness Qualifications for the
Practice of Law, 40 B. Examiner 17 (1971)...................

Sherri Williams, Judicial Reprimand Suggested,
Clarion-Ledger, Dec. 21, 2002, at 2B...................cccceeeees

ender.

Owe -m

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Two Firms Rated Best for Working Moms, N.Y. Lawyer,
http//www.nylawyer.com/news/02/10/100102r.html,
5 __ HERE SERTR ESSE SENG Ucn naire Lone anol 21
138 Cong. Rec. 8070-8071 (1992).........ccccccscsecescecceesceeseeee, 24

1

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

The American Bar Association (ABA) is the leading
national membership organization of the legal profession.
It has a membership of more than 400,000 attorneys
throughout the United States, including attorneys in
private law firms, corporations, nonprofit organizations,
government agencies, and prosecutorial and public de-
fender offices, as well as legislators, law professors, and
students.’ The ABA’s membership is composed of attor-
neys, including gay and lesbian attorneys, in all 50 States.

Over the past 30 years, the ABA has sought repeatedly
to further the rule of law by advocating the elimination of
laws that criminalize noncommercial, private sexual
conduct between consenting adults, as well as laws and
policies that discriminate against gay men and lesbians. In
1973, the ABA, through its House of Delegates,’ adopted
a policy urging States to repeal all laws criminalizing
noncommercial sexual contact between consenting adults

’ Letters from all parties consenting to the filing of this brief are
being filed with the Clerk of this Court along with this brief. No counsel
for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no person other
than amicus curiae, or its counsel, made a monetary contribution to the
preparation or submission of this brief.

* Neither this brief nor the decision to file it should be interpreted
to reflect the views of any judicial member of the ABA. No inference
should be drawn that any member of the Judicial Division Council has
participated in the adoption or endorsement of the positions in this
brief. This brief was not circulated to any member of the Judicial
Division Council prior to filing.

* The House of Delegates is the ABA’s policy-making body, compris-
ing over 500 delegates and representing various entities within the
ABA, as well as the legal profession as a whole. Reports that recom-
‘mend the adoption of specific policy positions are submitted by ABA
sections, committees, affiliated organizations, state and local bar
associations and individual ABA members. The full House votes on the
recommendations and those that are passed by the House become the
official policies of the ABA.

2

in private. See App., infra, 1a.‘ The ABA has since adopted
a series of other policies that make clear its support for the
equal treatment of all persons, regardless of sexual orien-
tation, in employment, housing, public accommodations,
education, and judicial proceedings. See App., infra, 3a
(policy adopted August 1987 regarding bias-motivated
crimes); App., infra, 3a-4a (policy adopted August 1989
regarding discrimination in employment, housing, and
public accommodations); App., infra, 4a (Model Code of
Judicial Conduct, Canon 3B(5), adopted August 1990);
App., infra, 4a (policy adopted August 1991 regarding bias
in federal judicial system); App., infra, 4a-5a (policy
adopted February 1992 regarding discrimination on
university campuses). Relying upon those policies, the
ABA filed briefs as amicus curiae in Romer v. Evans, 517
U.S. 620 (1996), and in Boy Scouts of America v. Dale, 530
U.S. 640 (2000).

The ABA also has adopted policies that support equal
treatment by the government of family relationships
involving gay men and lesbians, including those involving
adoption, child custody and visitation rights, and crime
victim compensation funds. See App., infra, 8a (policy
adopted August 1995 regarding child custody and visita-
tion); App., infra, 8a-9a (policy adopted February 1999
regarding adoption); App., infra, 9a (policy adopted August
2002 regarding same-sex domestic partners’ eligibility for
crime-victim compensation funds). In addition, in 1979,
the ABA adopted a policy urging the United States to
ratify the International Covenant on Civil and Political
Rights, opened for signature Dec. 19, 1966, 999 U.N.TS.
171, which commits State parties to respect the civil rights
of all persons within their jurisdiction. See App., infra, la-3a.
That treaty, ratified by the United States in 1992, includes
provisions that the United Nations Human Rights Commit-
tee has construed to prohibit the criminalization of

* The ABA policies cited in this brief are reprinted below in the
appendix. See App., infra, la-9a.

3

consensual adult sodomy and discrimination on the basis
of sexual orientation. See note 15 infra.

The ABA has made special efforts to eliminate dis-
crimination against gay men and lesbians who are, or wish
to become, attorneys. In 1992, the ABA amended its
constitution to make the National Lesbian and Gay Law
Association an affiliated organization with a vote in the
House of Delegates. See App., infra, 5a, codified at Consti-
tution of the ABA, § 6.8(a). In 1994, the ABA incorporated
into its Standards for Approval of Law Schools a require-
ment that accredited institutions not discriminate on the
basis of sexual orientation in admissions. See App., infra,
5a-8a. In 1996, the ABA adopted a policy urging state and
local bar associations to study bias against gay men and
lesbians within the legal profession and the criminal
justice system and to make recommendations to eliminate
such bias. See App., infra, 8a. Most recently, in 2002, the
ABA amended its constitution to specify that state or local
bar associations may not be represented in the House of
Delegates if they discriminate on the basis of sexual
orientation. App., infra, 9a, codified at Constitution of the
ABA, § 6.4(e).

Given the nature and extent of the concerns addressed
in the ABA policies described above, the ABA has a strong
interest in the proper resolution of the questions presented
in this case to ensure the protection of liberty and equal
justice under law.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law infringes indi-
vidual liberty by authorizing the State, through its crimi-
nal law, to intrude upon intimate associations, to
undermine bodily integrity, and to invade the privacy of
the home. It also irrationally singles out a discrete group
for second-class treatment. The statute thereby under-
mines the rule of law and should be declared unconstitu-
tional.

A. Thirty years ago, amicus curiae, the American
Bar Association (ABA), adopted a policy urging States to

4

repeal laws that criminalize private, noncommercial
sexual contact between consenting adults. That 1973 ABA
policy, like the similar recommendation of the American
Law Institute’s Model Penal Code, was rooted in concerns
that criminal sodomy statutes undermined the rule of law
because no legitimate government interest warranted
criminalizing the conduct; enforcement required intrusive
police investigations; many Americans engaged in the
conduct in disregard of the criminal prohibition, thereby
undermining the public’s respect for the law; the laws
were arbitrarily enforced and members of racial minorities
tended to be the persons prosecuted; there was a serious
question of the statutes’ constitutionality; and, although
the laws applied to both heterosexual and homosexual
conduct, they were most often enforced against, and used
to discriminate against, gay men and lesbians. Since 1973,
the ABA has adopted a series of other policies that make
clear its support for the equal treatment of all persons,
regardless of sexual orientation.

All but 13 States now have repealed or judicially
invalidated their criminal sodomy statutes. Contrary to
the practices of an earlier era, state bars across the nation
have determined that qualified gay men and lesbians
should not be denied admission to the legal profession
based on their sexual orientation. A majority of state
courts, as well as many national law firms and law
schools, have adopted policies prohibiting discrimination
based on sexual orientation. The success of those policies
demonstrates the irrationality of discrimination based on
sexual orientation.

The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law and similar
statutes, however, continue to stigmatize gay men and
lesbians. The laws are used to justify discrimination
against gay men and lesbians as second-class citizens not
entitled to the same government protections as other
members of society. Declaring Texas’s Homosexual Con-
duct Law unconstitutional will remove that untenable
justification for such conduct and will vindicate the rule of
law.

5

B. The criminal convictions of petitioners under the
Texas statute violate constitutionally protected liberty and
privacy interests. Although the Court held in Bowers v.
Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186, 191 (1986), that “homosexual
sodomy” was not protected by the Due Process Clause,
that holding is inconsistent with the weight of this Court’s
modern precedents regarding the Constitution’s special
protections for intimate association, bodily integrity, and
the privacy of the home. In Planned Parenthood of South-
eastern Pennsylvania v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 857 (1992),
the Court reaffirmed two lines of precedent that, over
more than a hundred years, have recognized that the
substantive component of the Due Process Clause protects
“liberty relating to intimate relationships” and “personal
autonomy and bodily integrity.” An adult’s right to engage
in private, noncommercial, consensual intimate conduct is
protected under the rationale of those lines of cases as
reiterated and refined in Casey. Bowers departed from
those cases by describing the historical right at issue as
“homosexual sodomy” and did not take into account the
fact that, at the time the Fourteenth Amendment was
ratified in 1868, nearly all of the States criminalized all
sodomy. States’ criminal statutes did not single out same-
sex conduct until the mid-20th Century.

To deny same-sex couples protection from criminal
prosecution for private noncommercial, consensual sexual
conduct is also inconsistent with the Court’s decisions that
recognize the heightened protection accorded by the
Constitution to conduct that takes place in the home. See
Kyllo v. United States, 533 U.S. 27, 37 (2001). Bowers
relied upon the conclusion that there had been no connec-
tion demonstrated between homosexual activity and the
family. That connection has since been well documented
through census figures that establish that more than one
million people in this country live with a same-sex partner,
and through studies that indicate, for example, that
approximately 22% of partnered lesbians and 5% of
partnered gay men are raising children in their homes —
forming families that are nontraditional, but entitled to
constitutional protection from state interference.

6

Finally, Bowers should be overruled because it is
inconsistent with Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996).
Romer’s holding that the mere desire to make gay men and
lesbians “unequal to everyone else” was not a legitimate
government interest, id. at 635, is irreconcilable with
Bowers’ holding that the “belief of a majority of the elec-
torate in Georgia that homosexual sodomy is immoral and
unacceptable” is sufficient to justify a criminal sodomy
law, 478 U.S. at 196.

C. . The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law also rests on —

a classification that is not rationally related to any legiti-
mate government interest and thus violates the Equal
Protection Clause. The disparate treatment of homosexual
and heterosexual sodomy is a modern development that
reflects the unwillingness of the majority to be subject to
the same criminal strictures that are imposed on the
minority, contrary to a fundamental tenet of the rule of
law. There is no relationship between the State’s asserted
interest in encouraging marriage and biological reproduc-
tion, Br. in Opp. 18, and the classification at issue. The
State’s classification allows unmarried heterosexuals to
engage in nonprocreative sexual conduct, but prohibits
other unmarried persons (gay and lesbian couples) from
engaging in the very same conduct. Tradition and history
do not support the State’s unequal treatment because
sodomy laws singling out same-sex conduct are of only
recent vintage. Ultimately, the State’s only rationale for
the Texas Homosexual Conduct Law is the “communal
belief that the [homosexual] conduct is wrong and should
be discouraged.” Br. in Opp. 19. But that belief is not
sufficient to justify a criminal sanction in light of the
Court’s holding in Romer that mere disapproval of homo-
sexuality does not constitute a “legitimate government
purpose” for “singling out a certain class of citizens for
disfavored legal status or general hardships.” 517 U.S. at
634, 633. Indeed, Texas’s admitted practice of rarely
enforcing the criminal statute undermines any claim that
the statute actually furthers a legitimate state interest.

7

ARGUMENT

THE TEXAS HOMOSEXUAL CONDUCT LAW IS
UNCONSTITUTIONAL AND CONTRARY TO THE
RULE OF LAW BECAUSE IT INFRINGES INDI-
VIDUAL LIBERTY AND IRRATIONALLY SINGLES
OUT A DISCRETE GROUP FOR SECOND-CLASS
TREATMENT.

A. Laws That Criminalize Private, Noncommercial
Sexual Conduct Between Consenting Adults
Contravene The Rule Of Law.

The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law, Tex. Pen. Code
§ 21.06, and other statutes that criminalize private,
noncommercial sexual behavior between consenting adults
contravene the rule of law. Conceptually, the “rule of law”
is a broad term that encompasses both procedural and
substantive limitations on government power. At its core,
it requires evenhanded and neutral enforcement of rules
that respect the rights of individuals as autonomous
beings to live their lives free from arbitrary governmental
restraints. See generally Richard H. Fallon, Jr., “The Rule
of Law” as a Concept in Constitutional Discourse, 97
Colum. L. Rev. 1 (1997). The American Bar Association
(ABA) is committed to advancing the rule of law in the
United States and throughout the world. See American
4 _ Policy & Procedures Handbook 2, Goal VIII

1. The ABA’s policies urging the repeal of sod-
omy laws and prohibiting sexual orientation
discrimination reflect a growing consensus
that the rule of law does not tolerate intru-
sions into private, noncommercial sexual
conduct between consenting adults or in-
— distinctions based on sexual orienta-

on.

In 1973, the ABA adopted a policy urging States “to
repeal all laws which classify as criminal conduct any form

8

of noncommercial sexual contact between consenting
adults in private, saving only those portions which protect
minors or public decorum.” App., infra, la. That policy
represented the culmination of decades of study by States
and the legal profession regarding the tension between
protecting individual liberty and using the criminal law to
regulate noncommercial sexual behavior between consent-
ing adults in the privacy of their homes, particularly when
such laws often were enforced arbitrarily to target gay
men and lesbians.

Beginning after World War II, several state commis-
sions studying criminal sexual offenses, including those in
New Jersey, New York, Illinois, and California, published
influential reports arguing that private, noncommercial
consensual same-sex’ sexual conduct is not the proper
concern of the law. See William N. Eskridge, Jr., Hardwick
and Historiography, 1999 U. Ill. L. Rev. 631, 661-662. One
well-known report concluded that state laws should
distinguish between conduct that merely may offend
community morals (e.g., homosexual conduct), and dan-
gerous, aggressive conduct that is an actual threat to the
community. See Paul Tappan, The Habitual Sex Offender:
Report and Recommendations of the [New Jersey] Commis-
sion on the Habitual Sex Offender 17-18 (1950). Those
reports were relied and expanded upon by the American
Law Institute (ALI) in 1955 in the course of drafting its
Model Penal Code. See Model Penal Code § 207.5(1)
commentary at 277-278 (Tentative Draft No. 4, 1955).

The ALI, under the direction of Herbert Wechsler as
Chief Reporter, determined that statutes criminalizing
consensual adult sexual conduct undermine the rule of law
in at least three ways. First, the ALI concluded that no
legitimate government interest warrants criminalizing
private conduct between consenting adults that does not
harm other people, particularly in light of the intrusive
police investigations that would be necessary if the stat-
utes were to be enforced. Jd. § 207.5 commentary at 277,
278, 279. As Judge Learned Hand explained during the
debate on the question whether to recommend the de-
criminalization of consensual sodomy: “I think it is a

9

matter of morals, a matter very largely of taste, and it is
not a matter that people should be put in prison about.”
American Law Institute, Transcript of Proceedings 129
(May 19, 1955). Second, the ALI concluded that sodomy
laws criminalize conduct in which many Americans (both
heterosexual and homosexual) engage and that respect for
the law is undermined by such widespread disregard for a
criminal prohibition. See Model Penal Code §§ 207.1, 207.5
commentary at 206, 276 (Tentative Draft No. 4, 1955).
Third, it concluded that sodomy laws were being enforced
arbitrarily. The large majority of offenders escaped detec-
tion, and those who were criminally prosecuted and
imprisoned tended to be drawn from racial minority
groups. Id. at 205, 278.° Moreover, sodomy laws created a
significant risk of blackmail. Jd. at 278-279; see also
National Inst. of Mental Health Task Force on
ee Final Report and Background Papers 6 &
n. estimating more than ten

subjected to blackmail). a

The 1973 ABA policy stemmed from rule-of-law
concerns similar to those that motivated the ALI. The ABA
policy recommended the repeal of all laws that regulated
noncommercial sexual contact between consenting adults
in private. App., infra, la. The Report supporting adoption
of the policy specifically relied upon the ALI’s assessment
of the high cost that the laws imposed on personal autonomy
and the lack of any corresponding benefit to the State. See
App., infra, 12a, 14a. The Report also pointed to decisions of
this Court, including Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479
(1965), and stated that “there is a serious question of the
constitutionality of such statutory prohibitions against

* Historically, the enforcement of criminal sodom
ally, y laws often was
tainted by racial considerations. See Eskridge, supra, at 649 (in 1880
more than half the people imprisoned for sodomy were people of color in
the South); cf. Hunter v. Underwood, 471 U.S. 222, 226-227, 232 (1985)
(reliance o~ sodomy convictions was a mechanism for disenfranchising
black men).

10

consensual sodomy.” Jd. at 13a. The Report noted that
another reason for repealing the sodomy laws was that
they were “most often applied against homosexuals, both
in enforcement of the statutes themselves and as a basis
for discrimination against homosexuals on the ground that
they are most likely violating the law.” Jd. at 12a.

At the time the ABA adopted the 1973 policy, nine
States (Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois,
New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, and Oregon) al-
ready had repealed their criminal laws prohibiting con-
sensual adult sodomy; in another two States (Alaska and
Florida), state courts had partially invalidated their laws.
See Eskridge, supra, at 686 tbl. In the 30 years since then,
such laws have been legislatively repealed or judicially
invalidated in all but 13 States. Pet. 4, 24.

Since 1973, the ABA has also adopted many policies
urging the elimination of sexual orientation discrimina-
tion. See pages 2-3, supra. Many leading law firms have
implemented nondiscrimination policies that parallel the
recommendations of the ABA. Law schools likewise have
proscribed sexual orientation discrimination in compliance
with ABA policy.’ The success of nondiscrimination policies

* For example, a review of forms submitted by law firms to the
National Association for Law Placement (NALP) reveals that 81 of the
nation’s 100 top revenue-producing law firms indicated that they have
nondiscrimination polices that expressly apply to sexual orientation.
See, e.g., App., infra, 17a-19a. Moreover, several other major law
firms, whose responses on their NALP forms did not so indicate,
specify on their websites that they have such policies. Cf. Human
Rights Campaign Foundation, The State of the Workplace for Lesbian,
Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Americans 2001, at 5 (59% of Fortune
500 companies have adopted policies to prohibit sexual orientation
discrimination); E.J. Graff, Welcoming the Invisible Bar: Lesbian and
Gay Attorneys, Diversity & the Bar, June 2002, at 13 (collecting
examples, including Texas-based Gardere Wynne Sewell LLP, in
which openly gay and lesbian lawyers serve in key management
positions in law firms).

” See American Bar Ass’n, Standards for Approval of Law Schools,
Standard 210(a) (2002) (requiring ABA-accredited law schools to “foster

(Continued on following page)

11

adopted by legal employers and law schools demonstrates
irrationality of discrimination based on sexual orienta-
on.

Finally, state courts across the nation have deter-
mined that qualified gay men and lesbians should not be
denied admission to the legal profession because of their
sexual orientation. In the past, a number of States had
excluded known gay men and lesbians from the bar on the
rationale that their presumed violation of criminal sodomy
laws meant that they did not meet the “good moral charac-
ter” requirement. See, e.g., Florida v. Kimball, 96 So.2d
825 (Fla. 1957); In re Boyd, 307 P.2d 625 (Cal. 1957); ef.
Donald T. Weckstein, Recent Developments in the Charac-
ter and Fitness Qualifications for the Practice of Law, 40
B. Examiner 17, 20 (1971) (in anticipation of bar’s “moral
character” requirement, about one-third of law schools
would “take a hard look at .. . homosexual activity before
admitting an applicant”). But state bars all across the
nation, even in States that still criminalize sodomy, have
since rejected that rationale and revised their rules and
policies to permit gay and lesbian applicants to become
licensed attorneys based on the determination that
whether one engages in consensual same-sex sodomy does
not affect whether one is of “good moral character.” See,
e.g., Florida Bd. of Bar Exam’rs re N.R.S., 403 So.2d 1315
(Fla. 1981); XIV La. Sup. Ct. R. XVII, § 5(G)\(1) (2002).
Indeed, not only have all States ceased the practice of
excluding gay men and lesbians from the legal profession,
but a majority of state courts have adopted policies to
protect lesbian and gay lawyers, litigants, and court

and maintain equality of opportunity in legal education ... without
discrimination or segregation on ground of race, color, religion, national
origin, sex, or sexual orientation” in admissions and hiring); Law School
Admission Council, Out & In: Information for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual &
Transgendered Law School Applicants 3, 6-11 (2001) (reporting that all
ance day nah vespended to survey had peliey poehibiting coma!
en ination and listing 118 law schools with openly
and lesbian faculty members). ra ward

12

ersonnel from manifestations of bias and prejudice, in
sewer with the ABA’s Model Code of Judicial Conduct."

2. Despite the improved treatment of many gay
oe and lesbians in society, and within the
legal profession in particular, the retention
of criminal laws that single out same-sex
conduct continues to encourage irrational

discrimination.

Laws that criminalize private same-sex intimate
conduct, even those not regularly enforced, serve to legiti-
mize discrimination, hatred, and even violence against gay
men and lesbians. By branding gay and lesbian citizens as
lawbreakers, such laws impose a government-sanctioned
stigma that impedes the efforts of gay men and lesbians to
obtain equal justice under law. See generally Christopher
R. Leslie, Creating Criminals: The Injuries Inflicted by
“Unenforced” Sodomy Laws, 35 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 103
(2000); Hillary Greene, Undead Laws: The Use of Histori-
cally Unenforced Criminal Statutes in Non-Criminal
Litigation, 16 Yale L. & Pol’y Rev. 169 (1997). a

Despite the progress that has been made in eliminat-
ing discrimination within the legal profession and society
as a whole, criminal sodomy laws are still cited as a
justification for discrimination against gay and lesbian
Americans. In a recent study, one law firm in Virginia
explained that it does “not employ and would not knowingly
employ a homosexual attorney” because sodomy “is a

* More than 30 States, including seven of the States that make
sodomy a criminal offense, expressly prohibit judges from a
bias or prejudice based on sexual orientation in the performance o
their judicial duties. See, eg., Fla. C.J.C. Canon 3(5) (2002); Idaho
C.J.C. Canon 2(C) (2002); Kan. Sup. Ct. R. 601A Canon 3(B)5) (2002);
Miss. C.J.C. Canon 3(B)(5) (2002); Okla. Stat. tit. 5, app. 4, Canon
3(B\(4) (2003); Tex. C.J.C. Canon 3(B\6) (2002); Utah C.J. Admin.
Canon 3(B)(5) (2002); see also Deborah L. Rhode & David Luban, Legal

Ethics 53 (3d ed. 2001).

iat Fata

13

—

crime in Virginia” and “[i]t therefore would be wrong...
for a law firm to employ homosexuals or condone homo-
sexual conduct.” Report of the District of Columbia Bar
Task Force on Sexual Orientation and the Legal Workplace
App. C, at 39 cmt. 166 (Mar. 1999), Similarly, the Texas
Homosexual Conduct Law has been used to justify opposi-
tion to the candidacy of an openly gay justice of the peace.
As one member of the candidate’s own party argued,
“whether you like it or not, there is a state law that
prohibits sodomy in the state of Texas, and having a judge
who professes to have a lifestyle that violates state law...
is wrong.” Penny Weaver, Pro-Gay Danburg Ousted by
Wong, Houston Voice, Nov. 8, 2002, at 1; cf Childers v.
Dallas Police Dep’t, 513 F. Supp. 134, 138 (N.D. Tex. 1981)
(in suit for employment discrimination, supervisor in
Dallas Police Department testified that he told a gay
applicant that he would not be hired in part “because his
sexual practices violated state law”), aff’d mem., 669 F.2d
732 (5th Cir. 1982).

Criminal sodomy laws are also viewed by some mem-
bers of society, including some participants in the legal
system, as a justification for setting gay men and lesbians
apart as second-class citizens not entitled to the same
government protections as other members of society. See
Leslie, supra, at 123-124. Such attitudes have been exhib-
ited by some members of the judiciary in States that have
such laws. For example, in 1988, a Texas judge explained
his refusal to impose a life sentence on a defendant con-
victed of killing two gay men on the ground that “I don’t
much care for queers cruising the streets {and] ... [I] put
prostitutes and gays at about the same level... and I'd be
hard put to give somebody life for killing a prostitute.”
Robert B. Mison, Comment, Homophobia in Manslaughter,
80 Cal. L. Rev. 133, 163 (1992). Similarly, a Florida judge
presiding over a pre-trial hearing of defendants charged
with beating a gay man to death in 1987 asked the prose-
cutor “That’s a crime now, to beat up a homosexual?” and

14

when told that it was, responded, “Times really have
changed.” Jbid.* Because the existence of sodomy laws re-
inforces those attitudes, many gay men and lesbians who
are crime victims are reluctant to come forward for fer:
that the focus will be on their status as putative law-
breakers rather than as victims. See Leslie, supra, at 125.
That reluctance, in turn, contributes to the fact that gay
men and lesbians are frequent victims of hate crimes. See
id. at 122; Peter Finn & Taylor McNeil, The Response of
the Criminal Justice System to Bias Crime: An Exploratory
Review 2, 17 (1987).

Thus, even when not enforced, sodomy laws encourage
irrational and arbitrary treatment of gay men and lesbi-
ans. Declaring Texas’s Homosexual Conduct Law unconsti-
tutional will remove that untenable justification for such
conduct and will vindicate the rule of law.

B. Petitioners’ Criminal Convictions Under The
Texas Homosexual Conduct Law Violate Liberty
and Privacy Interests Protected By The Due
Process Clause And Bowers v. Hardwick There-
fore Should Be Overruled.

The ABA’s policy urging repeal of criminal sodomy
statutes applies to all such statutes, whether they are
facially neutral or targeted at homosexual conduct alone.
That 30-year-old policy reflects the principle that intimate,

* See also Sherri Williams, Judicial Reprimand Suggested, Clarion-
Ledger, Dec. 21, 2002, at 2B (reprimand recommended for Mississippi
judge who wrote a letter to a newspaper stating “[iJn my opinion, gays
and lesbians should be put in some type of mental institute”); State Bar
of Arizona Web site, http//www.azbar.org/Sections/Committees/SOG)/
summary.asp (state bar study found that 13% of judges and attorneys have
observed negative treatment by judges in open court toward those per-
ceived to be gay or lesbian, 45% have heard negative remarks about a
lesbian or gay person in the context of a particular case, and 8% have heard
court personnel indicate a preference not to work with a lawyer because he
or she is perceived to be gay or lesbian).

15

sexual conduct between two consenting adults that occurs
in the privacy of the home should not be the basis of a
criminal conviction absent some truly compelling govern-
ment interest.” In Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186
(1986), however, a sharply divided Court held that “homo-
sexual sodomy” was not protected by the substantive
maa of the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due Process
ause.

Although the doctrine of stare decisis should generally
be followed, it “is not an inexorable command,” Payne v.
Tennessee, 501 U.S. 808, 828 (1991) (overruling Booth v.
Maryland (1987), and South Carolina v. Gathers (1989)),
particularly in constitutional cases, see Seminole Tribe of
Fla. v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 63 (1996) (overruling Pennsyl-
vania v. Union Gas Co. (1989))." Overruling a prior
decision is particularly warranted when “facts, or an
understanding of facts, [have] changed from those which
furnished the claimed justifications for the earlier consti-
tutional resolution[ ].” Planned Parenthood of Southeast-
ern Pa. v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 863 (1992) (discussing
rationale for overruling Lochner v. New York and Plessy v.
Ferguson). Viewed in the proper factual context, Bowers’
holding is inconsistent with more recent precedents that
reaffirm the Constitution’s special protections for intimate
association, bodily integrity, and activities that occur in
the home. Moreover, Bowers rested on an incomplete

_ account of the history surrounding the right at issue and

In the present case, Texas conceded that it could establish no
interest that would meet that requirement. Pet. App. 76a (at oral
argument in the state appellate court, respondent’s counsel could not
“even see how he could begin to frame an argument that there was a
compelling State interest”).

" See also Ring v. Arizona, 122 S. Ct. 2428 (2002) (overruling
Walton v. Arizona (1990)); Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203 (1997)
(overruling Aguilar v. Felton (1985), and School Dist. of Grand Rapids
v. Ball (1985)); United States v. Dixon, 509 U.S. 688 (1993) (overruling
Grady v. Corbin (1990)); Payne, 501 U.S. at 828 n.1 (collecting cases
from prior 20 Terms overruling 33 constitutional decisions).

16

inaccurate factual assumptions about the lives and family
relationships of gay men and lesbians. Finally, Bowers
cannot be reconciled with the Court’s more recent decision
in Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996). For all these
reasons, Bowers should be overruled.

1. Bowers should be overruled because the
weight of this Court’s modern precedents sup-
ports the conclusion that the right of consent-
ing adults to engage in intimate human
conduct implicates a fundamental liberty in-
terest protected by the Due Process Clause
and a more complete account of the history of
sodomy laws supports that view.

In Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania
v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833 (1992), this Court identified two
“lines of decisions” in which the Court, for more than a
hundred years, has recognized that the substantive
component of the Due Process Clause protects “liberty
relating to intimate relationships” and “personal auton-
omy and bodily integrity.” Id. at 857; see also Cruzan v.
Missouri Dep’t of Health, 497 U.S. 261, 287-288 (1990)
(O’Connor, J., concurring) (citing, inter alia, Union Pacific
R. Co. v. Botsford, 141 U.S. 250, 251 (1891)). In determin-
ing whether an adult’s right to engage in private consen-
sual, intimate conduct is a component of liberty protected
as a substantive matter by the Due Process Clause, the
Court need only look to those lines of decisions, particu-
larly to Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965), and
Carey v. Population Services International, 431 U.S. 678
(1977).

In Griswold, the Court held that the State could not
prohibit married couples from using contraception and
thus concluded that the State could not require married
couples to refrain from non-procreative sexual activity.
Carey extended that holding to unmarried persons. While
the majority in Carey framed that right in terms of the
“right to decide to prevent conception” and disclaimed any

on ene ee

17

broader holding, 431 U.S. at 688 n.5, the Court’s ruling did
not protect merely a right to abstain from sexual relations.
Rather, that decision and Griswold mean that adults have
a right to be free of state interference in deciding whether
and how to conduct their intimate sexual relationships.
Justice Powell acknowledged as much in describing the
right at issue as “the constitutionally protected privacy in
decisions concerning sexual relations.” Jd. at 711 (Powell,
J., concurring in part and concurring in judgment).

By characterizing Griswold and Carey as involving
only the right not to procreate, Bowers failed to capture
the full scope of the right at issue in those cases. As the
Court has since explained in Casey, those opinions and
their predecessors were rooted in the second Justice
Harlan’s conclusion that the Due Process Clause includes
“a freedom from all substantial arbitrary impositions and
purposeless restraints.” 505 U.S. at 848 (quoting Poe v.
Uliman, 367 U.S. 497, 543 (1961) (Harlan, J., dissenting
from dismissal on jurisdictional grounds)). The same rule-
of-law principles of individual autonomy and privacy that
informed the recommendations of the ALI and ABA to
repeal criminal sodomy laws are reflected in the Casey
Court’s conclusion that matters “involving the most
intimate and personal choices a person may make in a
lifetime, choices central to personal dignity and autonomy,
are central to the liberty protected by the Fourteenth
Amendment.” Id. at 851. Because Griswold and Carey
establish that substantive due process protects the right of
consenting adults to engage in intimate sexual conduct in
the privacy of their homes, this Court should overrule
Bowers and hold that the Texas Homosexual Conduct Law
violates the Constitution.

Bowers sought to distinguish those lines of cases by
describing the interest at stake as the right to engage in
“homosexual sodomy” and by suggesting that the long
history of sodomy laws militates against constitutional
protection of that right. But Bowers did not address the
significance of the fact that it was not until the mid-20th
Century that sodomy laws singled out same-sex intimate
conduct. Historically, States prohibited certain forms of

18

sexual conduct among all adults, includimg both homosex-
ual and heterosexual, both married andi single. In 1868,
the year of the Fourteenth Amendment's ratification, 32 of
the then-37 States criminalized sodomy. See Bowers, 478
U.S. at 193. In all but one of those States, the criminal
prohibition of sodomy included conductt engaged in by
different-sex couples.” The laws were focused on particu-
lar conduct, rather than the identity of the participants.
Indeed, under those laws, even the comduct of married
couples could be punished. See John May, The Law of
Crimes § 203 (2d ed. 1893) (“Sodomy . . . may be committed
... by aman with a woman - his wife, in which case, if she
consent, she is an accomplice.”); Honselrman v. People, 48
N.E. 304, 305 (Ill. 1897) (“this is a crime committed
between two persons both of whom conisent, and it may
even be committed by husband and wife”).

Bowers provided no reasoned basis: for disregarding
that history of equivalent treatment of same-sex and
different-sex sodomy and redefining the lliberty interest at
issue in a way that excludes intimate sexual conduct
engaged in by persons of the same sex. Mlore fairly viewed,
the historical practice of criminalizing sodomy between
consenting adults in private is essentiially incompatible

" Between 1791 and 1868, no State enacted = law that “singled out
sexual acts between men for special prohibition..” Anne B. Goldstein,
History, Homosexuality, and Political Values, 97 Yale LJ. 1073, 1084
(1998). Sodomy laws enacted prior to 1791 iin Connecticut, New
Hampshire, and Massachusetts, arguably prohilbited only male-male
conduct. See id. at 1082 n.60. By the time the Fourteenth Amendment
was ratified, however, two of those three States had amended their
criminal sodomy laws so that they applied to male-female couples as
well. See id. at 1084 nn.66 & 68 (laws of Connescticut and Massachu-
setts were amended in 1821 and 1805, respectivesly, in ways that made
clear that sodomous conduct was proscribed for all couples). Indeed,
there is some indication that the laws in those States had always
prohibited male-female sodomy, as similar pirohibitions had been
interpreted to include sodomous conduct betweem a man and a woman.
See The King v. Wiseman, 92 Eng. Rep. 774, 775 (IK.B. 1716).

Bt ae

19

with the two “lines of decisions” identified in Casey, 505
U.S. at 857, and exemplified by Griswold and Carey. The
holdings of those cases should control here.

2. Bowers should be overruled because it relied
upon an improper narrowing of the Consti-
tution’s special protections for family and
the home.

To deny same-sex couples constitutional protection
from criminal prosecution for their private sexual conduct
is also inconsistent with the decisions of the Court that
recognize the heightened protection that the Constitution
provides for conduct that takes place in the home. See
Kyllo v. United States, 533 U.S. 27, 37 (2001) (“In the
home, our cases show, all details are intimate details,
because the entire area is held safe from prying govern-
ment eyes.”); Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616, 630
(1886) (“[i]t is not the breaking of his doors and the rum-
maging of his drawers that constitutes the essence of the
[constitutional] offence, but it is the invasion of his inde-
feasible right of personal security, personal liberty, and
private property”); see also Griswold, 381 U.S. at 485-486;
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557, 565 (1969). The precincts
of the home are no less inviolate when those residing
within are gay or lesbian.

. Bowers also relied upon inaccurate factual assump-
tions about the family relationships of gay men and
lesbians. In so doing, Bowers discounted the effect on
families of laws criminalizing private, consensual sexual
conduct between adults of the same sex. In Bowers, the
Court said that “[nJo connection between family, marriage,
or procreation, on the one hand, and homosexual activity,
on the other, has been demonstrated.” 478 U.S. at 191. But
since Bowers was decided, that connection has been well
documented.

It is now known that hundreds of thousands of gay
men and lesbians have stable relationships, are parents,
and raise their children in a family setting. See D’Vera
Cohn, Count of Gay Couples Up 300%, Wash. Post, Aug.

20

22, 2001, at A3 (Census Bureau reports 1.2 million people
indicated in 2000 census that they live with a same-sex
“unmarried partner”); Dan Black et al., Demographics of
the Gay and Lesbian Population in the United States:
Evidence from Available Systematic Data Sources, 37
Demography 139, 150 (May 2000) (estimating, based on
1990 census data, that about 22% of partnered lesbians
and 5% of partnered gay men are raising children in their
home); cf. American Academy of Pediatrics, Technical
Report: Coparent or Second-Parent Adoption by Same-Sex
Parents, 109 Pediatrics 341 (Feb. 2002) (at least one
million children in the United States, and likely many
more, have at least one gay or lesbian parent). The Consti-
tution protects families from state interference, see Troxel
v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57 (2000), even when the family in
question is not a “traditional” one. See id. at 98 (Kennedy,
J., dissenting); Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 US.
494, 506 (1977) (plurality) (overturning criminal convic-
tion on substantive due process grounds because “the
Constitution prevents East Cleveland from standardizing
its children — and its adults — by forcing all to live in
certain narrowly defined family patterns”).

Through its policies urging nondiscrimination on the
basis of sexual orientation in addption, child custody, and
visitation, the ABA has repeatedly acknowledged the
importance of ensuring that the laws do not undermine the
stability of families formed by gay and lesbian couples. See
page 2, supra; see also American Law Institute, Principles
of the Law of Family Dissolution § 2.12(d) & (e) (2002)
(recommending that States prohibit judges from consider-
ing sexual orientation or extramarital sexual conduct in
determining legal custody of children); id. § 2.12 cmt. f
reporter’s notes (collecting studies showing that “there is no
correlation between a parent’s sexual identity and that of
the child, and no diminution in measures of self-esteem or
social adjustment” based on the sexual orientation of the
parents; that “being raised by a homosexual parent is no
worse for a child than being raised by a heterosexual
parent”; and that “gay men and lesbians are no more likely

to molest children than heterosexual adults”). Similarly, the

21

legal profession and corporate America now provide health
and other benefits (including adoption leave) to gay men
and lesbians for their domestic partners and their chil-
dren. Local governments have established domestic
partnership registries and offer a range of benefits to gay
and lesbian families, even in States with sodomy laws.”

As noted above, when the facts upon which a decision
is premised have changed, or new information is brought to
light, it is appropriate for the Court to revisit that decision.
See P. 15, supra. Thus, as Justice Brandeis explained, “in
cases involving [the application of the substantive compo-
nent of the Due Process Clause], this court must, in order
to reach sound conclusions, feel free to bring its opinions
into agreement with experience and with facts newly

” For example, 57 of the nation’s top revenue-producing law
that reported to NALP that they prohibit discrimination on the basis of
sexual orientation, see note 6, supra, and App., infra, 17a-19a, also
indicated that they provide benefits to the same-sex partners of their
employees. Moreover, as is the case with policies of nondiscrimination
based on sexual orientation, see note 6, supra, a number of other major
law firms provide more detailed information on their websites specify-
ing that they offer such benefits. See also Two Firms Rated Best for
Working Moms, N.Y. Lawyer, http://www.nylawyer.com/news/02/10/
100102r.html, Oct. 1, 2002 (discussing firms offering adoption leave
that affirmatively includes gay and lesbian attorneys); Mark Hansen,
Bolstering Benefits, 84 A.B.A.J. 32 (1998) (before offering health and
other benefits to partners of gay and lesbian employees, the Houston
firm of Vinson & Elkins “surveyed other firms it regards as its peers
only to learn that many already offer such coverage”). Law schools
likewise are providing such benefits to their employees and students.
See Law School Admission Council, supra, at 6-11. Those actions reflect
a more general trend in corporate policies. See Human Rights Cam-
paign Foundation, supra, at 18 (reporting that 4,285 employers in all 50
States provide domestic partner health insurance benefits to same-sex
partners).
* See, e.g., Human Rights Campaign Foundati supra

56 Gating dies and coumtion Gad cir demactie mutts be
benefits and/or have domestic partner registries in Florida, Louisiana,
Missouri, North Carolina, and Texas, all of which have sodomy laws).

22

ascertained.” Burnet v. Coronado Oil Gas Co., 285 US.
393, 412 (1932) (Brandeis, J., dissenting), quoted with
approval in Vasquez v. Hillery, 474 U.S. 254, 266 (1986).

3. Bowers should be overruled because it is
inconsistent with Romer v. Evans.

In Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996), the Court
held that a State violated the Equal Protection Clause by
enacting a provision that was justified solely by a desire to
deny gay men and lesbians the rights enjoyed by other
citizens. Romer’s holding that the mere desire “to make
[gay men and lesbians] unequal to everyone else” was not
a legitimate governmental interest, id. at 635, is inconsis-
tent with Bowers’ holding that the “belief of a majority of
the electorate in Georgia that homosexual sodomy is
immoral and unacceptable” was sufficient to justify 4
criminal sodomy law, 478 U.S. at 196. As the dissenting
Justices in Romer observed, the majority’ decision in
Romer cannot be reconciled with the decision in Bowers.
See 517 U.S. at 640-642 (Scalia, J., dissenting, joined by
Rehnquist, C.J., and Thomas, J.). Respondent admits as
much when it asserts that Bowers permits a State to fine
or imprison a homosexual for engaging in sodomy, but
concedes (Br. in Opp. 19) that Romer would not permit a
State to discourage an individual from engaging in sodomy

by denying a “practicing homosexual }” the opportunity to_

attend a public university. Given the inconsistency be-
tween Bowers and the subsequent decision in Romer,
Bowers should be overruled. See Agostini v. Felton, 521
U.S. 203, 235-236 (1997) (“[S]tare decisis does not prevent
us from overruling a previous decision where there has
been a significant change in or subsequent development of
our constitutional law.”). pa

Romer applied long-settled Equal Protection use
principles i oe been cited with approval by the Court
in a variety of settings. See, e.g., Vacco v. Quill, 521 U.S.
793, 799 (1997); Columbia Union Coll. v. Clark, 527 US.
1013, 1015 (1999) (Thomas, J., dissenting from the denial
of certiorari).

23

Bowers has not fared as well. Lower courts have
struggled with the scope of Bowers’ holding, particularly
after Romer. See, e.g., Marcum v. McWhorter, 308 F.3d
635, 645 (6th Cir. 2002) (Clay, J., concurring in judgment);
Sterling v. Burough of Minersville, 232 F.3d 190, 194-195
(3d Cir. 2000); Stemler v. City of Florence, 126 F.3d 856,
873-874 (6th Cir. 1997); Nabozny v. Podlesny, 92 F.3d 446,
458 & n.12 (7th Cir. 1996); James v. Douglas, 941 F.2d
1539, 1543 (11th Cir. 1991). A number of state courts have
rejected the reasoning of Bowers as inconsistent with rule-
of-law norms. See Jegley v. Picado, 80 S.W.3d 332 (Ark.
2002); Powell v. State, 510 S.E.2d 18 (Ga. 1998); Gryczan v.
State, 942 P.2d 112 (Mont. 1997); Campbell v. Sundquist,
926 S.W.2d 250 (Tenn. Ct. App.), appeal denied (Tenn.
1996); Commonwealth v. Wasson, 842 S.W.2d 487 (Ky.
1992).

Indeed, the majority opinions of this Court have not
embraced Bowers. In addition to the notable absence of
any reference to Bowers in the Court’s opinion in Romer,
Bowers’ analysis has not been relied upon in any majority
opinion in a case involving the definition of “liberty” for
purposes of substantive due process. Cf. Casey, 505 U.S. at
855 (discussing constitutional decisions that were over-
ruled by the Court because related principles of law had
developed that “left the old rule no more than a remnant of
abandoned doctrine”). Nor has the holding of Bowers given
rise to any individual or societal reliance that would
warrant its retention despite its flaws. Cf. id. at 856, 858
(declining to overrule Roe v. Wade, “[e]ven on the assump-
tion that the central holding of Roe was in error,” because,
in part, “people have organized intimate relationships and
made choices that define their views of themselves and
their places in society, in reliance on the availability of
abortion in the event that contraception should fail”). In the
years since Bowers was handed down, its reasoning has been
steadily undermined by subsequent legal developments in
the States. Numerous States have repealed or invalidated

24

their criminal sodomy laws. See Pet. 24." Thirteen States
and hundreds of localities have enacted civil rights protec-
tions for gay men and lesbians in their stead.

In light of the Court’s more recent decision in Romer
holding that a desire to deny gay men and lesbians the
rights enjoyed by other citizens is not a legitimate gov-
ernment interest, as well as the actions by States verifying
the conclusion of Romer — decriminalizing sodomy, protect-
ing gay men and lesbians from discrimination, and provid-
ing health and other benefits for the families of gay men
and lesbians — Bowers should be overruled. That is par-
ticularly so because Bowers was “decided by the narrowest
of margins, over spirited dissents challenging the basic
underpinnings” of that decision, has “been questioned by
Members of the Court in later decisions and [has] defied
consistent application by the lower courts.” Payne, 501
U.S. at 828-830.

“ Similar developments have taken place at the international
level. Article 17(1) of the International Covenant on Civil and Political
Rights prohibits signatories from engaging in “arbitrary or unlawful
interference with [a person’s) privacy, family, home or correspondence.
999 U.N.TS. at 177. That provision is construed by the United Nations
Human Rights Committee to prohibit a signatory from criminalizing
consensual sodomy. See Toonen v. Australia, U.N, GAOR, Hum. Rts.
Comm., 50th sess., 448th mtg. 74 8.2-8.6, U.N. Doc. CCPR/C/50/D/
488/1992 (1994). Moreover, Article 26 of the Covenant, which requires
that each country’s law “guarantee to all persons equal and effective
protection against discrimination on any ground such as race, colour,
sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social
origin, property, birth or other status,” 999 U.N.T.S. at 179, is construed
to proscribe discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation. See
Toonen ¥ 8.7. The Covenant was ratified by the United States in 1992.
See 138 Cong. Rec. 8070-8071 (1992). A determination that the Texas
Homosexual Conduct Law violates the Constitution would, in addition
to comporting with rule-of-law principles underlying American juris-
prudence, also bring the United States into compliance with its
international commitments.

25

C. Petitioners’ Criminal Convictions Under The
Texas Homosexual Conduct Law Violate The
Equal Protection Clause.

Even if the Court determines that Bowers should not
be overruled, the judgment of the Texas Court of Appeals
should be reversed because the Texas Homosexual Con-
duct Law is based on a classification that is not rationally
related to a legitimate governmental interest and thus
violates the Equal Protection Clause. This issue was not
addressed in Bowers, see 478 U.S. at 196 n.8, but is par-
ticularly pertinent in this case because, unlike the facially
neutral law in Bowers, the Texas Homosexual Conduct
Law expressly applies only to homosexual conduct.

1. The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law dis-
criminates against gay men and lesbians by
criminalizing conduct by same-sex couples
that is not criminal when engaged in by dif-
ferent-sex couples.

The Equal Protection Clause is designed to prevent
legislative excesses by requiring “the democratic majority
to accept for themselves and their loved ones what they
impose on you and me.” Cruzan v. Missouri Dep't of
Health, 497 U.S. 261, 300 (1990) (Scalia, J., concurring);
see also Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. New York, 336
U.S. 106, 112 (1949) (Jackson, J., concurring) (“[TJhere is
no more effective practical guaranty against arbitrary and
unreasonable government than to require that the princi-
ples of law which officials would impose upon a minority
must be imposed generally.”). The Texas Homosexual
Conduct Law violates that fundamental tenet of the rule of
law by substantially limiting gay and lesbian couples from
engaging in sexual intimacy but permitting heterosexuals
(married or single) to engage in intimate acts that Texas
concedes are the “same act[s]” that are prohibited for
homosexuals. Br. in Opp. 18. Those acts are defined by
Texas law as “deviate sexual intercourse” regardless of
who engages in them, see Tex. Pen. Code § 21.01(1), but

26

Texas criminalizes the conduct only when it is engaged in
by same-sex couples.

That disparate treatment of homosexual and hetero-
sexual sodomy is a modern development that reflects the
unwillingness of the majority to be subject to the same
strictures imposed upon the minority. See p. 18, supra. In
1962, when the ALI recommended the repeal of all crimi-
nal sodomy laws involving consenting adults, every State
had a criminal law that prohibited all sodomy, regardless
_ of the sex or sexual orientation of the couples involved. See
Christopher R. Leslie, Creating Criminals: The Injuries
Inflicted by “Unenforced” Sodomy Laws, 35 Harv. C.R.-C.L.
L. Rev. 103, 111 (2000). It was only in 1969, in response to
that recommendation, that a State (Kansas) decriminal-
ized sodomy for heterosexuals but not for same-sex cou-
ples. Seven other States (Arkansas, Kentucky, Missouri,
Montana, Nevada, Tennessee, Texas) then followed suit
and redefined their sodomy laws to single out same-sex
conduct. See William N. Eskridge, Jr., Hardwick and
Historiography, 1999 U. Ill. L. Rev. 631, 664, 691.”

The partial repeals in those eight States thus at-
tempted to cure the ALI’s rule-of-law objection that the
State was regulating private intimate conduct — conduct
that was “anything but uncommon” among the heterosex-
ual majority. American Law Institute, Model Penal Code
and Commentaries § 213.2 cmt. at 363 (1980). In singling
out gay men and lesbians, however, those States violated
another rule-of-law requirement articulated by the ALI,

“ Besides the Texas statute, only two States (Kansas and Missouri)
still have in effect sodomy statutes that, on their face, criminalize only
same-sex sodomy. Nevada repealed its same-sex sodomy statute in
1993; courts in Arkansas, Kentucky, Montana, and Tennessee invali-
dated their same-sex sodomy laws on state constitutional grounds after
Bowers. See Eskridge, supra, at 633 n.il, 686 tbl. The sodomy law in
Oklahoma, although written to encompass both heterosexual and
homosexual sodomy, currently applies only to homosexual sodomy due
to the judicial invalidation of the statute as it applied to heterosexual
couples. See Post v. State, 715 P.2d 1105 (Okla. Crim. App. 1986).

27

namely the evenhanded application of the criminal law.
The discriminatory intent behind those changes was clear.
For example, Arkansas repealed its general sodomy law in
1975 as part of a comprehensive criminal code revision (as
recommended by the ALI’s Model Penal Code and the
ABA), but in 1977 enacted a new law prohibiting only
same-sex sodomy. See Eskridge, supra, at 664, 687 tbl. The
chief sponsor of the law claimed at the time that the new
law was “aimed at weirdos and queers.” Petition for
Certiorari in Limon v. Kansas, No. 02-583, at 5 (Oct.
2002).

2. Under the Equal Protection Clause, the de-
sire to harm and stigmatize members of a
group, such as gay men and lesbians, is not a
legitimate governmental interest.

The Equal Protection Clause provides that the State
may not treat an individual differently from similarly
situated individuals absent a rational basis for the differ-
ential treatment. See Village of Willowbrook v. Olech, 528
U.S. 562, 564 (2000) (per curiam). The classification
created by the Texas Homosexual Conduct Law is not
rationally related to any legitimate governmental objec-
tive. Respondent suggests that the law encourages “mar-
riage” and “biological reproduction.” Br. in Opp. 18. But
there is no relationship between those interests and the
classification at issue, which allows some unmarried
people (heterosexuals) to engage in non-procreative inti-
mate relationships while prohibiting other unmarried
people (gay and lesbian couples) from engaging in the very
same conduct. Cf. Hisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438, 447
n.7, 453-454 (1972) (even if State had power to prohibit
distribution of contraceptives to all persons, State has no
rational basis for prohibiting distribution of contraceptives
only to unmarried persons).

Respondent also invokes tradition and history. Br. in
Opp. 18-19. But those arguments cannot sustain the
classification embodied in Texas’s law, which criminalizes
only homosexual sodomy and permits the heterosexual

28

sodomy that had, as a historical matter, been equally
disfavored by the law. See page 18, supra. Rather than
justifying the classification under the Equal Protection
Clause, this deviation from historical practice should
trigger a more “careful consideration” to determine
whether it is “obnoxious to the constitutional provision.”
Romer, 517 U.S. at 633 (quoting Louisville Gas & Elec. Co.
v. Coleman, 277 U.S. 32, 37-38 (1928)).

Ultimately, the only rationale relied upon by Texas for
prohibiting homosexuals from engaging in “the same act”
that is lawful for heterosexuals is the “communal belief
that the [homosexual] conduct is wrong and should be
discouraged.” Br. in Opp. 18, 19.” But that belief is not
sufficient. As the Court held in Romer, mere disapproval of
homosexuality does not constitute a “legitimate govern-
mental purpose” for “singling out a certain class of citizens
for disfavored legal status or general hardships.” 517 U.S.
at 634, 633. “[I]f the constitutional conception of ‘equal
protection of the laws’ means anything, it must at the very
least mean that a bare ... desire to harm a politically
unpopular group cannot constitute a legitimate governmen-
tal interest.” Ibid. (quoting Department of Agric. v. Moreno,
413 U.S. 528, 534 (1973)); see also City of Cleburne v. Cle-
burne Living Ctr., Inc., 473 U.S. 432 (1985). Indeed, exercises
of government power based on considerations “such as

" Respondent also describes this “communal belief” in terms of
“public morality.” Br. in Opp. 15, 16, 18. But respondent's use of that
label to describe the government interest does not negate the Court's
obligation to determine whether the —— po ye is vn in
bias or judice. Experience teaches t judice someti is
clothed = terms. See Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1, 3 (1967)
(lower court relied upon the “fact that [God] separated the races” to
“show| ] that he did not intend for the races to mix” in upholding anti-
miscegenation law); Moreno, 413 U.S. at 535 n.7 (adverse treatment of
households of unrelated persons originally defended on moral grounds).
In this case, from its origins and effects, the Texas Homosexual Conduct
Law leaves little doubt that the State’s asserted interest in serving
“public morality” is in reality nothing more than a desire to express its
disapproval of gay people through the criminal law.

29

caprice, passion, bias, and prejudice are antithetical to the
rule of law.” TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Res. Corp., 509
U.S. 443, 475 (1993) (O’Connor, J., dissenting).”

Texas thus has failed to articulate a legitimate gov-
ernmental interest that is served by its Homosexual
Conduct Law. Yet even if such an interest could be identi-
fied, Texas’s conceded practice of “rarely, if ever, en-
forc{ing]” the law criminally, State v. Morales, 826 S.W.2d
201, 203 (Tex. App. 1992), rev’d on jurisdictional grounds,
869 S.W.2d 941 (Tex. 1994), undermines any claim that the
law actually furthers that interest. See Furman v. Georgia,
408 U.S. 238, 312-313 (1972) (White, J., concurring)
(“common sense and experience tell us that seldom-
enforced laws become ineffective measures for controlling
human conduct” and thus the decision to apply law to only
a few individuals makes the government’s interest “too
attenuated”); id. at 310 (Stewart, J., concurring) (similar);
cf. Nashville, Chattanooga & St. Louis Ry. v. Browning,
310 U.S. 362, 369 (1940) (“Deeply embedded traditional
ways of carrying out state policy ... are often ... truer
than the dead words of the written text.”).

The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law renders gay men
and lesbians strangers to the law and brands them crimi-
nals for engaging in the same intimate consensual conduct
that is lawful for the majority. Such misuse of the criminal

* The criminal sodomy law at issue here shares another common
feature with the state enactment held unconstitutional in Romer. The
provision in Romer barred localities from enacting statutes protecting
gay men and lesbians from discrimination; state sodomy laws can serve
as a functional bar to the enactment of laws prohibiting sexual orienta-
tion discrimination or hate crimes, particularly at the local level. As
petitioners recount (Pet. 14-16), the existence of sodomy laws skews the
political process by permitting opponents of these laws to label gay men
and lesbians as criminals who should not be entitled to invoke the
protections of the government and thus interferes with normal democ-
ratic processes. Cf. United States v. Carolene Prods. Co., 304 U.S. 144,
152-153 n.4 (1938); Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 737 (1997)
(O’Connor, J., concurring).

30

sanction is antithetical to the rule of law, which “implies
equality and justice in its application.” Papachristou v.
City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156, 171 (1972). The Texas
Homosexual Conduct Law should be declared unconstitu-

tional.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the judgment of the
Texas Court of Appeals should be reversed.

JANUARY 2003

Respectfully submitted,

ALFRED P. CARLTON, JR.*
President

AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
RUTH N. BORENSTEIN

BETH S. BRINKMANN

SETH M. GALANTER

750 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, Illinois 60611
(312) 988-5215

*Counsel of Record

1.

la

OFFICIAL POLICIES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

AMENDMENTS OF THE
AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION

Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, August 1973

Be It Resolved, That the legislatures of the sev-
eral states are urged to repeal all laws which
classify as criminal conduct any form of non-
commercial sexual conduct between consenting
adults in private, saving only those portions
which protect minors or public decorum.

i
2. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, February
1979

Be It Resolved, That the American Bar Associa-
tion favors the ratification by the United States
of the International Covenant on Civil and Po-
litical Rights and urges the Senate to give its ad-
vice and consent to ratification of the Covenant
subject to the following reservations, declara-
tions, statements and understandings recom-
mended to the Senate by the Departments of
State and Justice (and an understanding on
“right to life”):

A. The Constitution of the United States and
Article 19 of this Covenant contain provisions for
the protection of individual rights, including the
right of free speech, and nothing in this Cove-
nant shall be deemed to require or authorize leg-
islation or other action by the United States
which would restrict the right of free speech pro-
tected by the Constitution, laws, and practice of
the United States.

B. The United States’ adherence to Article 6
(concerning the “right to life”) is subject to the
Constitution and other laws of the United States.

2a

C. The United States reserves the right to im-
pose capital punishment on any perrson duly con-
victed under existing or future laws permitting
the imposition of capital punishmenit.

D. The United States does not adlhere to Para-
graph (5) of Article 9 or to the third clause of
Paragraph (1) of Article 15 (comypensation for
unlawful arrest, and retroactive ligshter criminal
penalties).

E. The United States considers the (prisoner
segregation and rehabilitation stamdards) rights
enumerated in Paragraphs (2) and! (3) of Article
10 as goals to be achieved progresssively rather
than through immediate implementtation.

F. The United States understamds that sub-
paragraphs (3)(b) and (d) of Article» 14 do not re-
quire the provision of court-appovinted counsel
when the defendant is financially able to retain
counsel or for petty offenses for whhich imprison-
ment will not be imposed. The Unitted States fur-
ther understands that Paragraph ((3)(e) does not
forbid requiring an indigent defendiant to make 4
showing that the witness is necesssary for his at-
tendance to be compelled by tme court. The
United States considers that provissions of United
States law currently in force consstitute compli-
ance with Paragraph (6). The Unitted States un-
derstands that the prohibitiom on double
jeopardy contained in Paragraph (77) is applicable
only when the judgment of acquiittal has been
rendered by a court of the same governmental
unit, whether the Federal Governrment or a con-
stituent unit, which is seeking a neew trial for the
same cause.

3a

G. The United States declares that the (natural
resources utilization) right referred to in Article
47 may be exercised only in accordance with in-
ternational law.

H. The United States shall implement all the
provisions of the Covenant over whose subject
matter the Federal Government exercises legis-
lative and judicial jurisdiction; with respect to
the provisions over whose subject matter con-
stituent units exercise jurisdiction, the Federal
Government shall take appropriate measures, to
the end that the competent authorities of the
constituent units may take appropriate measures
for the fulfillment of this Covenant.

I. The United States declares that the provi-
sions of Articles 1 through 27 of the Covenant are
not self-executing.

3. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, August 1987

BE IT RESOLVED, That the ABA condemns
crimes of violence including those based on bias
or prejudice against the victim’s race, religion,
sexual orientation, or minority status, and urges
vigorous efforts by federai, state, and local offi-
cials to prosecute the perpetrators and to focus

public attention on this growing national prob-
lem.

Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, August 1989

BE IT RESOLVED, That the American Bar Asso-
ciation urges the Federal government, the states
and local governments to enact legislation, sub-
ject to such exceptions as may be appropriate,
prohibiting discrimination on the basis of sexual
orientation in employment, housing and public

4a

accommodations. “Sexual orientation” means
heterosexuality, bisexuality and homosexuality.

5. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, August 1990

BE IT RESOLVED, That the American Bar Asso-
ciation adopts the Model Code of Judicial Con-
duct (August 1990), as amended, including the
Preamble, Terminology Section, Canons, text,
Commentary and Application Section, to replace
the ABA Code of Judicial Conduct (adopted Au-
gust 1972, as amended August 1982 and August
1984).

6. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, August 1991

BE IT RESOLVED, That the American Bar Asso-
ciation supports the enactment of authoritative
measures requiring studies of the existence, if
any, of bias in the federal judicial system, includ-

ing bias based on race, ethnicity, gender, age, ~

sexual orientation and disability, and the extent
to which bias may affect litigants, witnesses, at-
torneys and all those who work in the judicial
branch. -

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Ameri-
can Bar Association urges that such studies in-
clude the development of remedial steps to

:

5a

who contravene university policies by discrimi-
nating on the basis of sexual orientation.

8. Amendment adopted by tie House of Delegates,
August 1992

PROPOSAL: Amend the Constitution to provide
that the National Lesbian and Gay Law Associa-
tion (hereinafter “NLGLA”) is an affiliated or-
ganization.

Amend Section 6.8(a)(1) to read as follows:

(1) The American Judicature Society, the
American Law Institute, the Association of
American Law Schools, the Conference of Chief
Justices, the Hispanic National Bar Association,
the National Asian Pacific American Bar Associa-

tion, the National Association of Attorneys Gen-

eral, the National Association of Bar Executives,
the National Association of Women Judges, the
National Bar Association, the National Confer-
ence of Bar Examiners, the National Conference
of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, the
National Conference of Women’s Bar Associa-
tions, the National Lesbian and Gay Law Asso-
ciation and the National Organization of Bar
Counsel.

address and eliminate any bias found to exist. 9. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, August 1994

7. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, February BE IT RESOLVED: That Standard 211 of the
1992 American Bar Association Standards for the Ap-

BE IT RESOLVED, That the American Bar Asso-
ciation opposes any efforts by government to
withhold funds from, or otherwise penalize, edu-
cational institutions for denying access to cam-
pus placement facilities to government employers

proval of Law Schools be amended to read as fol-
lows:

(a) The law school shall maintain equality of
opportunity in legal education, including em-
ployment of faculty and staff, without discrimi-
nation or segregation on ground of race, color,

6a

religion, national origin, sex or sexual orienta-
tion.

(b) Alaw school shall not use admission policies
or take other action to preclude admission of ap-
plicants or retention of students on the basis or
race, color, religion, national origin, sex or sexual
orientation.

(c) The denial by a law school of admission to a
qualified applicant will be treated as made upon
the ground of race, color, religion, national origin,
sex or sexual orientation if the ground of denial
relied upon is

(i) a state constitutional provision or stat-
ute that purports to forbid the admission of
applicants to a school on the ground of race,
color, religion, national origin, sex or sexual
orientation; or

(ii) an admissions qualification of the
school that is intended to prevent the ad-
mission of applicants on the ground of race,
color, religion, national origin, sex or sexual
orientation though not purporting to do so.

(d) The denial by a law school of employment to
a qualified individual will be treated as made
upon the ground of race, color, religion, national
origin, sex or sexual orientation if the ground of
denial relied upon is an employment policy of the
school which is intended to prevent the employ-
ment of individuals on the ground of race, color,
religion, national origin, sex or sexual orientation
though not purporting to do so. —

(e) This Standard does not prevent a law school
from having a religious affiliation or purpose and
adopting and applying policies of admission of

7a

students and employment of faculty and staff
that directly relate to this affiliation or purpose
so long as (1) notice of these policies has been
given to applicants, students, faculty and staff
before their affiliation with the law school, and
(2) the religious affiliation, purpose or policies do
not contravene any other Standard, including
Standard 405(d) concerning academic freedom.
These policies may provide a preference for per-
sons adhering to the religious affiliation or pur-
pose of the law school, but shall not be applied to
use admission policies or take other action to
preclude admission of applicants or retention of
students on the basis of race, color, religion, na-
tional origin, sex or sexual orientation. This
Standard permits religious policies as to admis-
sion, retention and employment only to the ex-
tent that they are protected by the United States
Constitution. It shall be administered as if the
First Amendment of the United States Constitu-
tion governs its application.

(f) Equality of opportunity in legal education
includes equal opportunity to obtain employ-
ment. Each school should communicate to every
employer to whom it furnishes assistance and fa-
cilities for interviewing and other placement
functions the school’s firm expectation that the
employer will observe the principle of equal op-
portunity and will avoid objectionable practices
such as

(i) refusing to hire or promote members of
groups protected by this policy because of
the prejudices of clients or of professional or
official associates;

8a

(ii) applying standards in the hiring and
promoting of such individuals that are
higher than those applied otherwise;

(iii) maintaining a starting or promotional
salary scale as to such individuals that is
lower than is applied otherwise; and

(iv) disregarding personal capabilities by
assigning, in a predetermined or mechanical
manner, such individuals to certain kinds of
work or departments.

10. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, August
1995

RESOLVED, That the American Bar Association
supports the enactment of legislation and the
implementation of public policy providing that
child custody and visitation shall not be denied
or restricted on the basis of sexual orientation.

11. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, August
1996

RESOLVED, That the American Bar Association
urges state, territorial and local bar associations
to study bias in their community against gays
and lesbians within the legal profession and the
justice system and make appropriate recommen-
dations to eliminate such bias.

12. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, February
1999
RESOLVED, That the American Bar Association
supports the enactment of laws and implementa-
tion of public policy that provide that sexual ori-
entation shall not be a bar to adoption when the

9a

adoption is determined to be in the best interests
of the child.

13. Policy adopted by the House of Delegates, August
2002

RESOLVED, That the American Bar Association
urges federal, state, territorial, and local gov-
ernments to enact legislation, promulgate regu-
lations, or take other necessary action to ensure
that an unmarried surviving partner who shared
a mutual, interdependent, committed relation-
ship with a victim of terrorism or other crime can
qualify for crime victim compensation and assis-
tance funds provided by that government to eli-
gible spouses.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That eligibility for such
funds should be determined without reference to
intestate succession laws and should not affect
the operation of such laws.

14. Amendment adopted by the House of Delegates,
August 2002

Amend §6.4(e) of the Constitution to read as fol-
lows:

§6.4(e) A state or local bar association may not be
represented in the House if its governing docu-
ments discriminate with respect to membership
because of race, sex, religion, creed, color, na-
tional origin, ethnicity, age, persons with dis-
abilities and/or sexual orientation.

10a

REPORT NO. 2 OF THE SECTION OF
INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

RECOMMENDATION’

Be It Resolved, That the legislatures of the several
states are urged to repeal all laws which classify as crimi-
nal conduct any form of noncommercial sexual conduct
between consenting adults in private, saving only those
portions which protect minors or public decorum.

REPORT

This resolution and report were approved by the
Council of the Section of Individual Rights and Responsi-
bilities at its May 12, 1973, meeting in Washington, D.C.
An identical resolution was passed by the Section of
Criminal Law on February 11, 1973. The Executive Coun-
cil of the Young Lawyers Section passed a similar resolu-
tion on May 20, 1972,’ and the Law Student Division
adopted the same position at the 1972 Annual Meeting.

The concern of the Section in urging adoption of this
resolution is twofold: first, that enforcement of laws
relating to private, consenting, noncommercial sexual
conduct between adults requires an expenditure of en-
forcement manpower that could better be used to protect
public safety and necessitates police practices that are
often reprehensible or unsavory; and, second, that such

* The recommendation was approved. See page 473.

‘ The resolution of the Young Lawyers Section is annexed as
Exhibit A to this report.

*? The resolution of the Law Student Division is annexed as Exhibit
B to this report.

lla

laws impinge on the constitutionally protected zone of
privacy that surrounds each individual and serve no valid
state purpose.

The purpose of the proposal is neither to advocate nor
condemn any particular form of sexual activity between
consenting adults. Such questions are best left to the
private morals and conscience of each individual. This
report is concerned only with what in our society should be
the proper scope of the criminal law. The Council of the
Episcopal Diocese of New York has clearly articulated the
position which underlies this report:

In matters of private morality, the State
rightly seeks to give the protection of the law to
the young, the innocent, the unwilling, and the
incompetent. However, while adultery, fornica-
tion, homosexual acts, and certain deviant sexual
practices among competent and consenting adults
may violate Judeo-Christian standards or moral
conduct, we think that the Penal Law is not the
instrument for the control of such practices when
privately engaged in, where only adults are in-
volved, and where there is no coercion. We favor
repeal of those statutes that make such practices
among competent and consenting adults criminal
acts.

* Statement, On Private Sexual Morality, adopted by the Council of
the Episcopal Diocese of New York, March 18, 1971. See also Resolution
On Homosexuals and the Law, adopted April 12, 1969, by the Council
for Christian Social Action of the United Church of Christ: “Even while
we proclaim a unity under God which transcends our division ... we
still honor variations among men in their political loyalties, lifestyles,
and sexual preferences.”

12a

The philosophy of government underlying this view
was long ago stated by John Stuart Mill:

The only purpose for which power can be
rightfully exercised over any member of a civi-
lized community, against his will, is to prevent
harm to others.‘

With respect to laws concerning consensual sodomy or
the “crime against nature,” eight states — Colorado, Con-
necticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, North Dakota, Ohio,
and Oregon — have already removed such provisions from
their penal codes. Such revision was recommended by the
Model Penal Code of the American Law Institute.’ A
similar recommendation — subsequently enacted into law —
was made by the Commission on Homosexual Offenses
and Prostitution in Great Britain.‘ Such provisions apply
to both heterosexual and homosexual conduct, but are
most often applied against homosexuals, both in enforce-
ment of the statutes themselves and as a basis for dis-
crimination against homosexuals on the ground that they
are most likely violating the law.’

* J.S. Mill, On-Liberty

* American Law Institute, Model Penal Code §207, Comment 227-
78 (Tent. Draft No. 4, 1955).

* Report of the Commission on Homosexual Offenses and Prostitu-
tion, Great Britain (1963).

" Thus, in Matter of Kimball, 40 NY A.D. 2d 252 (2d Dept. 1973),
the New York Appellate Division for the Second Department, in a case
involving the application of an acknowledged homosexual for admission
to the Bar, stated: “Accordingly, so long as this statute is in effect (Penal
Law §130.38), homosexuality, which, in its fulfillment, usually entails
commission of such a statutorily prescribed act, is a factor which could
militate against the eligibility of an applicant for admission to the Bar

(Continued on following page)

13a

A task force of the National Institute of Mental Health
has recommended repeal of such provisions to help allevi-
ate this discrimination and the resulting harm it causes
the affected individuals.’

Further, there is a serious question of the constitutional-
ity of such statutory prohibitions against consensual sodomy.
The language of some of the statutes is so vague that it
renders the statute unconstitutional.’ Others are of ques-
tionable validity as a result of extensions of the doctrine of
the right of privacy, particularly with respect to the body.”
Those which create classifications based on marital status,

who proposes to pursue this way of life in disregard of the statute.” 40
A.D. 2d at 257. See the discussion of discrimination against homosexu-
als in Report of the Commission on Sex & Law and the Committee on
Civil Rights of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, Intro.
475, 28 Record of the Assoc. of the Bar of the City of New York 148
(1973). See also Government Created Employment Disabilities and the
Homosexual, 82 Harv. L. Rev. 1738 (1969); The Consenting Adult
Homosexual and the Law: An Empirical Study of Enforcement and
Administration in Los Angeles County, 13 U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 643 (1969).

* The report of the task force states: “We believe that most
professionals working in this area — on the basis of their collective
research and clinical experience and the present overall knowledge on
the subject —- are strongly convinced that the extreme opprobrium that
our society has attached to homosexual behavior, by way of criminal
statutes and restrictive employment practices, has done more social
harm than good and goes beyond what is necessary for the maintenance
of public order and human decency.” Final Report of the Task Force on
Homosexuality, National Institute of Mental Health, October 10, 1969,
published in SIECUS Newsletter, Vol. V1, No. 2, December 1970, pp. 3-
12, at p. 10. See also Position Paper on Homosexuality and Mental
Illness, National Association for Mental Health, October 17, 1970.

* Franklin v. Florida, 257 So. 2d 21 (Fla. 1971).

* Roe v. Wade, __ U.S. ___, 35 L. Ed. 2d 147 (1973); Doe v. Bolton,
__._ U.S. __, 35 L. Ed. 2d 201 (1973); Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S.
479, 14 L. Ed. 2d 510 (1965).

l4a

such as the New York statute,” are subject to constitu-
tional attack on that basis also as establishing a discrimi-
natory classification.”

The constitutional weakness of the sodomy statutes as
a result of expansion of the right of privacy also extends to
statutory prohibitions on adultery and fornication.” Penal
Code provisions against adultery and fornication are
seldom enforced, in any event. The Model Penal Code of
the American Law Institute also recommended deletion of
these provisions from the criminal law.”

It is the view of this Section that, even aside from the
question of the constitutionality of statutory prohibitions
on sodomy, adultery, and fornication, these provisions
should be eliminated from the criminal law for the reason
stated in the Model Penal Code: “No harm to the secular
interests of the Community is involved in atypical sexual
practice in private between consenting adult partners.””
The consequence of this, as stated by St. Thomas Aquinas,

" N.Y. Penal Law §130.38.
* Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438, 31 L. Ed. 2d 349 (1972).

” United States v. Moses, 41 U.S.L.W. 2298 (D.C. Super. Ct., Crim.
No. 17778-72, Nov. 3, 1972), held that Congress could not constitution-
ally prohibit fornication, sodomy, or adultery among consenting adults.

“ See New York County Lawyers Association Committee on Civil
Rights, Report of the Committee for Proposed Changes in the New York
State Penal Law in Regard to the crimes of Adultery, Consensual
Sodomy, and Prostitution (February 2, 1973).

* Model Penal Code, op. cit.

* Id.

15a

is that “(P)rivate sin is different from public crime, and
only the latter lies in the province of man-made law.””

One significant effect of attempting to enforce private
morality which has only in recent years begun to be fully
appreciated is the strain such efforts place on the police by
diverting their energies and manpower from enforcement
of violent crimes. This effect has been explored through
investigations by many groups, including the Commission
on Correctional Facilities and Services of the American
Bar Association; the San Francisco Committee on Crime;
the New York State Legislative Hearings on Victimless
Crimes; the National Alliance for Safer Cities; the Presi-
dent’s Crime Commission; and the National Council on
Crime and Delinquency.”* The consensus of these groups is
that a change in attitude about the function of the crimi-
nal law and elimination of many offenses relating to
morality from the criminal codes are necessary steps to
free the police to concentrate on violent crimes. Further,
there is concern over the methods the police must use to
enforce such provisions.”

” Quoted in statement of Rev. Leon A. Dickinson, Jr., Secretary for
Chaplains and Religion and Health, United Church of Christ, at New
York State Legislative Hearings on Victimless Crime (New York City,
Sept. 13, 1971). .

* For a summary of the recommendations of these and other
groups on the question of victimless crimes, see E. Kiester, Crimes with
No Victims (Alliance for a Safer New York, 1972). See also Olivieri and
Finkelstein, Report on “Victimless Crime” in New York State, 18 N.Y.
Law Forum 77 (1972).

* New York City Police Commissioner Patrick Murphy has stated:
“By charging our police with responsibility to enforce the unenforceable
we subject them to disrespect and corruptive influences (and) provide
the organized criminal syndicates with illicit industries upon which

(Continued on following page)

16a

This report is not to be taken as: advocating elimina-
tion of all the so-called “victimless ccrimes.” It has been
urged that some of the crimes so classsified do in fact often
have victims. Prostitution is the meost frequently cited
example, where either the prostitutee or the patron may
suffer assault. The resolution here proposed would not
urge legalization of prostitution, but. would apply only to
noncommercial sexual activities. Norr does it recommend
repeal of existing provisions which prrotect minors and the
public decorum. Rather, we urge thae retention of these
provisions. The Section does urge, however, that other
offenses regarding noncommercial sexxual conduct between
consenting adults in private are thee types of “victimless
crimes” which should be eliminated frrom the criminal law.

For all the reasons stated above», we urge adoption of
the resolution by the House of Delegaates.
MccNeill Smith
Chaairman

17a

A Sampling Of Major Law Firms That Have
Policies Specifically Prohibiting Discrimination
Based On Sexual Orientation’
Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld
Andrews & Kurth
Arnold & Porter
Baker & Hostetler
Baker & McKenzie
Baker Botts
Bingham McCutchen
Brobeck, Phleger & Harrison
Bryan Cave
Buchanan Ingersoll
Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft
Cahill Gordon & Reindel
Chadbourne & Parke

Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton

Covington & Burling
Cozen O’Connor

Cravath, Swaine & Moore
Davis Polk & Wardwell

" These 81 firms are all among the 100 top revenue-producing law
firms as listed in The AmLaw 100, The American Lawyer, July 2002, at
125. Information about the firms’ policies was based on the firms’
enon SP a ral Association for Law Placement.

ational Association for Law Placement,

Employers (2002), also available at Pha ann Ne i ys
firms whose anti-discrimination policies expressly reference sexual
orientation are included. As noted above, see Br. 10 n.6, several other
major law firms, whose responses on their NALP forms did not indicate
they have such policies, specify on their websites that they do have such

18a

Debevoise & Plimpton
Dechert
Dorsey & Whitney
Duane Morris
Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner
Foley & Lardner
Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Goodwin Procter
Greenberg Traurig
Hale & Dorr
Haynes & Boone
Heller Ehrman White & McAuliffe
Holland & Knight
Howrey Simon Arnold & White
Hunton & Williams
Jenner & Block ~
Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue
Katten Muchin Zavis
Kaye Scholer
Kilpatrick Stockton
King & Spalding
Kirkpatrick & Lockhart
Latham & Watkins f
LeBoeuf, Lamb, Greene & MacRae
Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw
Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy
Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovskv & Popeo
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
Morrison & Foerster
Nixon Peabody
O’Melveny & Myers

19a

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker

Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison

Pillsbury Winthrop

Piper Rudnick

Proskauer Rose

Quarles & Brady

Reed Smith

Ropes & Gray

Schulte Roth & Zabel

Seyfarth Shaw

Shaw Pittman

Shearman & Sterling

Sidley Austin Brown & Wood
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
Squire Sanders & Dempsey
Stroock & Stroock & Lavan
Sullivan & Cromwell

Swidler Berlin Shereff Friedman
Testa, Hurwitz & Thibeault
Thelen Reid & Priest

Troutman Sanders

Vinson & Elkins

Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
Weil, Gotshal & Manges
White & Case
Willkie Farr & Gallagher
Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
Winston & Strawn

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0585%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
