# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lawrence v. Texas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0585%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 558

## Text

Semoea:o Court Un
= | FILED

4) JAN 16 2003

No. 02-102

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

JOHN GEDDES LAWRENCE and TYRON GARNER,

Petitioners,
v.

STATE OF TEXAS,
Respondent.

On Wait oF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF TEXAS - FourTEENTH DisTRICT

AMICI CURIAE BRIEF
OF THE -
LOG CABIN REPUBLICANS
AND
LIBERTY EDUCATION FORUM
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONERS

C. MArTIN MEEKINS M. ELaine JOHNSTON
Counsel of Record Wuire & Case LLP
C. RANDOLPH FISHBURN 1155 Avenue of the Americas
Wuire & Case LLP New York, NY 10036
633 West Fifth Street
Suite 1900
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 620-7700

Counsel for Amici Curiae

——$—$>_— —

178522 g

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

i
yo
rig ©
:
\ Ny £
Bx re :
Path ia wh
< ¥: 2 r
> s. ° . vA
af NS - a
SOONG). 3 Seine
in Ae ad 8 Pee
eh Fee: kt
mr ered, giPan'h,
as. y F Cee
AS iret ae
mss Tae
he ie FO Co
a aa ie +
a4
pa me Prd ee i
PE ES. > ‘
CRI es
Sous” Wied on ®, at Pa wh 7 .
ae” es eras se é ?
RiGee SM ay ee ry
é aig Ae Ae dys
Re Pidavee oa ost
Ht Remy ees P Ok
Sve eh! &
PR re LN a rary Nae re
os ce baci wy ‘2 oi
pgs dag A, Sh cha fect
: aes a eRe
ea STO oak A Ba
vs eae oa ne ge
1S) Ee SMES B
» Apne! Soe OK 7,
ats (5 *- a
, Fpl , age es
sees 2 hts vis
aiiAy AY, iets 5, A tek
tas rae era oh
hatch} a ra
a ie ae Pie
s “i 2? © fe, f
DE
Pa ” oe gS
ee Bret. FS ie
. P| fs Fi Dw
a he a a
~ ? 4
ae, he ne
oi fhe me
: ue
ths oy
SS
Saas, *
A )
_

gts ey , [
ae we | a
hs eta, . >

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table of Cited Authorities .................008.

Interest of Amici Curiae

Summary of Argument ...

Argument

I. The Court Should Reconsider Bowers v.
Hardwick and Recognize that Fundamental
and Constitutionally Protected Right to
Privacy Protects the Intimate Relationships
for All American Families from ene

State Intrusion. ............

A.

Protection of a Broadly Defined Family
Se eee ee
Liberty for All Americans.

Intimate Relationships Occupy a “Private
Realm of Family Life the State Cannot

Social and Cultural Developments Since
1986, and a Decent Regard for the Rights
of All Americans, Require that this Court
Revisit its Bowers Holding. .........

il il

Contents TABLE OF CITEDAUTHORITIES

Page Page
D. The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law CASES
and Others Like It Constitute an
Unjustified State Intrusion on Ordered Baker v. Wade,
Liberty; and If the Rights of All 553 F. Supp. 1121 (N.D. Tex.
Americans to Undertake Intimate 1982), aff'd on other grounds 743 F.2d 236
Expressive Conduct Is to Be Protected, (Sth Cir. 1984), rev'd, 769 F.2d 289
All “Sodomy” Laws Must Be Struck tt .c Seven ddentdecedndees 040s 9
ite telecine eheee veces 23
Board of Directors of Rotary
Ne ce. ce eecéanees 26 International v. Rotary Club,
481 U.S. 537 (1987) .. 2... .. cece cece cece. 9, 14, 16

| Bowers v. Hardwick,
PE ED aseeddcccsecececsaddées passim

Boy Scouts of America v. Dale,
ED + 600ne 6ebssnces en dec 15-16, 21

Brown v. Board of Education,
DINED sccacceaddcccacsisdeses 22

Carey v. Population Services International,
TED coseonenésoseucesedsces 7,13

Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur,
ee oe 7, 8,14

Corfield v. Coryell, 6 Fas. Cas. 546
| (C.C.E.D. Pa. 1823) (no. 42320) ...........2. 7

County of Sacramento v. Lewis,
i ££.’ beens scecnetod ces 7

iv
Cited Authorities
Page

Cruzan v. Director, Missouri

Department of Health,

Gy GK ED heccwadbeccusteuneneses 7,24
Doe v. Bolton,

Gs SEED sccdccesnccukbodéosebacns 7
Eisenstadt v. Baird,

SPEED tencuseoeeseusdesseeens 13
Ginsburg v. New York,

Se PE eb cencceéaecdcoeneenuus 12
Griswold v. Connecticut, .

Be En ED dnnvencsaducessbesece 7, 8,12
Lawrence v. State of Texas,

41 S.W.3d 349 (Tex. App. — Houston

ED éccceceéesuceceveuceses 5,24
Loving v. Virginia,

De Pen os deeeedeetsedoueauces 12, 15, 18
Meyer v. Nebraska,

DRED covceceaswesscseuesects 7,18
Michael H. v. Gerald D..,

ee Ss CEE nnceccdsnecddseecee cuss 13

Moore v. City of East Cleveland,
Te 7, 8, 16, 23

-——-— —_—- —

Vv

Cited Authorities
Page
Olmstead v. United States,
ee CE ED Se cddcccneveosecenscess 12,14
Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton,
SP ED 64 coc bedscccnccececesies 9,14
Pierce v. Society of the Sisters of the
Holy Name of Jesus & Mary,
DE SEED cneeubéetdcdcdoesesonce 7
Planned Parenthood of Southeastern
Pennsylvania, Inc. v. Casey,
Se PEED ccceccccceces: 7, 13, 18, 23,24 ©
Plessy v. Ferguson,
SED sedeencenésenecésoneuds 4
Poe v. Ullman,
ED ccccdcedceseesecaseedess 7,24
Post v. State, 715 P.2d 1105
Ss AA, DED ccc scdccccscancccens 4
Prince v. Massachusetts,
, =f er 7, 8, 12, 16
Quiltoin v. Walcott,
SED ccccenccecenceseseceece 14
Roberts v. United States Jaycees,
SE PEE Gacccucdcecocenuceesece 9,14

vi

Cited Authorities

Rochin v. State of California,
SE EE 56 codcescudedeecunctos

Roe v. ‘Wade,
I TED csp cesacveocdsceeeses 7,

Romer v. Evans,
ne olccoseeceaneeas vetéives

Skinner v. Oklahoma ex rel. Williamson,
ED cided peeehdedbsovevess

Smith v. Organization of Foster Families,
ge

Stanley v. Georgia,
PD cs dcnceecanetesheceanes

Stanley v. Illinois,
ED one ced hdekenwiobeunas

Thornburgh v. American College of

Obstetricians & Gynecologists,
ee EE cncccdecouseen ccticnees

Troxel v. Granville,
DE sccecbuuebiteseeveuess 7,

Turner v. Safley, ”
SEED écsucdttcadecunseuaces &

vii
Cited Authorities
Page

Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas,

PED és éccvcesaceheeedeseseses 19
Washington v. Glucksberg,

DT TD songensscegsndeteesenss 7
West Virginia Board of Education v. Barnette,

See EEE. Sbdc0cceeseccesccecs 10, 15, 22
Wisconsin v. Yoder,

SEED cut dbaednaesestecdecses 12

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

U.S. Constr. amend. XIV, $b... ccc ccc ccc cece 8, 16
Exec. Order No. 13,087, 63 Fed. Reg. 30,097

Cache 6é 6aadnendede sieves seses 21
Exec. Order No. 11,478, 34 Fed. Reg. 12,985

DE, c6ndueGébeuesesbécnesotbscess 21
Ata. Cope §§ 13A-6-60(2), 13A-6-65(a)(3) ...... 9
Pt Cn cdédieuegbbseseevedueeeseed 20
Conn. Gen. Star. § 46, 81(a) ef seg. ............. 20
D.C. Cope Ann. § 1-2541(c) (1981) ............. 20

Pe EL IUD 6 vc decevocedveusesoese 9

-~

vill

Cited Authorities

1991 Haw. Sess. Laws 2

IDAHO Cope § 18-6605 ..

Kan. Stat. ANN. § 21-3505(a)(1) .......0000 eee

La. Rev. Stat. ANN. § 14:89 2.0... . cee ee ees

1989 Mass. Legis. Serv. 516 (West) .............

2001 Md. Laws ch. 340 .

1993 Minn. Sess. Law Serv. ch. 22 (West) .......

Miss. Code Ann. § 97-29-59 ........0..cceeeee.

Mo. Rev. Star. § 558.011
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 566.090
1999 Nev. Stat. ch. 410 .

1997 N.H. Laws ch. 108

1991 N.J. Sess. Law ch. 519 (West) .............

2002 N.Y. Lawsch.2 ..

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-177

Page

21

21

ix
Cited Authorities
Page
Se es POE 50-0 00006066866000000000 9
1995 R.I. Pub. Laws ch. 95-32 ..............45. 21
S.C. Cope Ann. § 16-15-120 .............0055. 9
es ee IED 6 5:606.000066000600 6008002 4, 16
Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-403(1) ................. 9
Va. Cope ANN. § 18.2-361(A) ...........00000 9
1992 Vt. Acts & Resolves 135 ................. 21
1981 Wisc. Laws ch. 112 tent e tent eee eee eees 21
Austin, Tex., Cope, Vol. I, tit. VII(2001) ........ 21
Dallas, Tex. Municipal Ordinance No. 24927 (2002),
amending Dallas, Tex. Cope ch. 15B
Fort Worth, Tex., Cope, ch. 17, art. I11(2001) .. = 21
Houston, Tex., Cope ch. 2, tit. XIV (2002) ....... 21
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS
THe Fepera.ist No. 10 (James Madison)......... 7

x

Cited Authorities

MISCELLANEOUS

American Academy of Pediatrics, Co-Parent or
Second-Parent Adoption by Same-Sex Parents,
109 Pepiatrics 339 (Feb. 2002) ..............

Anna Quindlen, The Right to Be Ordinary:
Weddings, Scouting, Surviving —
Gay Men and Lesbians Are More Than
What They Do in Bed,
NewswekK, Sept. 11, 2000 at 82 ..............

Bryant & Demian, Relationship Characteristics
of American Gay and Lesbian Couples,
1 J. Gay & LesBian Soc. Servs. 101 (1994) ....

Carlyle Murphy and Bill Broadway, D.C.
Church Authorizes Same-Sex Unions,
Wasu. Post, Dec. 10, 2001 at BI] .............

Charles Black, The Unfinished Business
of the Warren Court,
46 Wasu. L. Rev. 3, 32 (1970) ...............

Christopher R. Leslie, Creating Criminals:
The Injuries Inflicted By “Unenforced”
Sodomy Laws,
35 Harv. C.R.-C.L.L. Rev. 103 (2000) .........

Page

18

18

19

ll

xi

Cited Authorities
Page

Dennis M. Mahoney, Church to Allow
Same-Sex Ceremonies,

Co_umsBus DispaTcH (O10),
i ee si ice ctesvasau asian ows 19

Gaiutra Bahadur and Andy Alford, A New Haven
for Gay Couples: the Suburbs Census Shows
Lesbians Lead Exodus from Cities to Newly
Accepting Areas,
Aus. AMER. STATESMEN, Aug. 22,2001 atAl .... 18

Harriet Barovick, Rainbow Network; As Gay
Families Increase, So Do Support Services
Designed Just For Them, -
Time, April 15, 2002 at F10 ................. 20

Jeremy Quittner, Paths to Success: Companies
With the Best Sexual Orientation Rules,
Tue Apvocate, Oct. 23, 2001 at 28 ........... 19-20

John C. Jeffries, Jr.,
Justice Lewis F. Powe tt, 302-05
(Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1994) .............. 17

Kelley Davenport, Family is Love:
There Gre 600,000 Same-Sex Couples
Heading Households in the United States,
According to Latest Census,
State J.-ReG. (SPRINGFIELD ILL.),
Bent. BO, FOGR AAG 20. nc cccccccccceccveces 18

xii

Cited Authorities

Laurie Goodstein, Church Allows Same-Sex
Ceremonies; Presbyterian Ministers May
Now Conduct “Holy Union” Services for
Gay Couples,
ORANGE County (CAL) REG.,
Se SE REE 06.60 ce sececcteecneeseuee

L. Kurdeck, Sexuality in Homosexual and
Heterosexual Couples,
SEXUALITY IN CLOSE RELATIONSHIPS
(K. McKinney & S. Sprecher eds. 1991) .......

Monty Phan, Newspapers Announce Gay Unions,
THE Miami HERALD, Aug. 21, 2002 atC3 .......

Patty Reihert, Supreme Court Takes Houston
Sodomy Case,
e- § SS > epee

PRINCIPLES OF THE LAW OF FAMILY DISSOLUTION:
ANALYSIS AND RECOMMENDATIONS
DE. ctutesnddecéuceeuanddeducnsus

Sean Jensen, Former Viking Esora Tuaolo Has
Found Peace Since He Said He Was Gay,
St. PAuL PIONEER Press (MINN.),
Pt DED cecicacy ceuakheseiewd Jus

Page

——e

ml

——

xii

Cited Authorities
Page
Thomas A. Stewart, Gay in Corporate America,
Fortune, Dec. 16, 1991 at 42 ................ 19
Times Will Begin Reporting Gay Couples’
Ceremonies,
N.Y. Times, Aug. 18, 2002 at A30 ............ 19

2 ee, 6 ere ae

|

No. 02-102

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

JOHN GEDDES LAWRENCE and TYRON GARNER,

Petitioners,
v.

STATE OF TEXAS,
Respondent.

On Writ oF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF TEXAS - FOURTEENTH DisTRICT
—<—<—<—<—<_€<_<€_—_««««=—=====««==£&£==££&£=====£££=§«=—=_=—<==========£ $$$ $—$— $$ $$—<=_<=$$$ $< $$$ $$$ $$$ $—$$—$— $$$ $—$—$—$—$—$—$—$—$— $— $— $— $—_$— $—$—$—_—_—_—_—_—_—_—_—_—_—<—<—<—<—<—<—<——<———i
AMICI CURIAE BRIEF

OF THE
LOG CABIN REPUBLICANS
AND
LIBERTY EDUCATION FORUM
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONERS

The Log Cabin Republicans and Liberty Education
Forum respectfully submit this brief amici curiae in support
of the petitioners in this case.’

1. Letters from petitioners and respondent indicating consent
to file this brief are on file with the Clerk. Pursuant to Rule 37.6,
amici state that no counsel for any petitioner or respondent authored
this brief in whole or in part. Nor did any person or entity, other than
amici, make a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission
of this brief.

2

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The Log Cabin Republicans is a nonprofit corporation
organized in 1978 under the laws of the District of Columbia.
The largest organization associated with the Republican
Party that is dedicated to interests of the gay and lesbian
community, the Log Cabin Republicans has over fifty
chapters across the United States, including several chapters
in the State of Texas. It stands for, among other things, limited
government, individual liberty, individual responsibility, free
markets, and a strong national defense, as well as the belief
that the moral values underlying these principles are
consistent with the equal protection of laws for gay and
lesbian Americans. Throughout its history, the Log Cabin
Republicans and its members have supported political
candidates, community activities and educational initiatives
that provide equal rights under the law to all Americans,
promote nondiscrimination against or harassment of persons
who are gay or lesbian, and encourage participation in the
Republican Party by gay and lesbian Americans. The
membership of Log Cabin Republicans includes both
heterosexual and homosexual Republicans.

The Liberty Education Forum was established as an
educational research foundation dedicated to advancing the
conservative principles of individual liberty, individual
responsibilities, free markets and limited government. Since
1996, the Liberty Education Forum has advanced these
conservative principles by sponsoring a variety of education
publications and programs that endeavor to protect the
individual freedoms of gay and lesbian Americans.

———

——>— ee

3
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The State of Texas extended its criminal law into the
homes of its citizens in an unjustified intrusion into the sphere
of protected privacy that the Constitution of the United States
creates for certain intimacies expressed in American family
life. Amici join the Petitioners before this Court to argue that
the fundamental privacy rights ensconced in the Bill of Rights
and incorporated in the Fourteenth Amendment entitle all
Texans under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment to demand that the Texas Legislature provide

- substantial justification for its intrusion into the intimate lives

of some Texans. We believe that it cannot.

Allowing this Texas law to stand would jeopardize
longstanding constitutional traditions that have placed the
highest value upon both the protection of the American family
and the sanctity of the home against governmental intrusion.
The mere invocation by the State of Texas of the term
“morality” cannot defend a law that so implicates its citizens’
most intimate affairs in the most private of realms.

This Court confronted similar issues in Bowers vy.
Hardwick. See 478 U.S. 186 (1986). We acknowledge
that the text of the United States Constitution has not been
altered since that time. Significant social and cultural
developments since Bowers, though, have resulted in a clearer
understanding that members of a// American families have a
fundamental right to enjoy intimate association without fear
of government intrusion, and that the variety of American
family life that must be protected under that rubric includes
gay and lesbian couples. Thus, whatever might have been
the presumed propriety of Bowers in 1986, it is clear now
that its holding must be overturned.

;

4

The Texas law challenged here and others like it have
survived under the protection of the Bowers precedent, which
denied to gays and lesbians the heightened-scrutiny
protections for their intimate associations, which have been
recognized to protect the private, intimate associations of
other American families. That precedent must be abjured,
and such laws must be subjected to heightened scrutiny,
which will require states to offer a far more powerful
justification than the one offered here: that the State of Texas
has criminalized gay and lesbian relationships simply because
a majority of Texas legislators once disapproved of them.
Such legislation is “inconsistent, not only with that equality
of rights which pertains to citizenship, national and state,
but with the personal liberty enjoyed by everyone within the
United States.” Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896)
(Harlan, J., dissenting).

Amici also join the Petitioners’ argument that the Texas
Homosexual Conduct Law violates the Equal Protection
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment because it bears no
rational relationship to a legitimate state interest. The Court
should hold that mere “morality” cannot justify state-
sponsored discrimination against gay and lesbian Americans.
See Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996). (Amici do not
repeat Petitioners’ argument in this brief.)

ARGUMENT

The State of Texas has criminalized homosexual conduct
in Section 21.06 of the Texas Penal Code (“Homosexual
Conduct Law” or “Section 21.06”). Texas threatens to punish
such conduct with imprisonment even if engaged in by
consenting adults in a committed relationship, behind closed
doors in their own home. At issue in this case is whether the

5

fundamental right to privacy traditionally afforded in
American family life really does protect its most intimate of
associations.

The Texas Court of Appeal — Fourteenth District found
that “homosexual conduct” was not a right “implicit in the
concept of ordered liberty” or “deeply rooted in this Nation’s
history and tradition.” Lawrence v. State of Texas, 41 S.W.3d
349, 361 (Tex. App. — Houston [14th District] 2002).
The court also concluded that the state’s prohibition of
homosexual conduct is rationally related to a legitimate state
interest, the preservation of public morality. /d. at 356.

This Court, in Bowers, made some assertions that could
provide sanction for the Fourteenth District’s conclusions.
There the Court refused to recognize that the fundamental
rights that the Constitution generally afforded to the American
family included protection of certain expressions of intimacy
that various states group under the label “sodomy.” Perhaps
capturing the sentiment of at least some Americans in 1986,
Chief Justice Burger characterized instances of that
expression undertaker by members of the same sex, though
both private and consensual, as “an offense of ‘deeper
malignity’ than rape, a heinous act ‘the very mention of which
is a disgrace to human nature, and ‘a crime not fit to be
named.”’” Bowers, 106 U.S. at 197.

Whatever the validity of such calumnies as an expression
of the public morality of 1986, they represent today only
ethical arcana. The increased social visibility of gays and
lesbians since Bowers has resulted in a deeper and broader
understanding of American family life, one that includes
families comprised of gays and lesbians. Indeed, gay and
lesbian couples hold “covenant ceremonies” in many of our

6

Nation’s churches and synagogues and celebrate those
ceremonies with the community in our newspapers.

These dramatic social and cultural developments have
been matched by significant change in demographics,
commerce and law since Bowers. Today, the public presence
of gay and lesbian families in American life is undeniable.
A significant number of American businesses recognize an
American family that includes gays and lesbians by providing
to such families the same employment benefits that are
afforded to married heterosexual couples. The laws of many
of our state and local governments have moreover matured
to support an institution of family comprised of gays and
lesbians, including laws that protect gays and lesbians from
discrimination and that allow them to adopt children.

Thus, despite Chief Justice Burger’s explication of
American morality in 1986, it is clear in 2003 that gay and
lesbian couples are no longer the targets of disdain and scorn
that he described. The Court can no longer deny that
the privacy protections generally afforded the American
family must necessarily protect too their rights to intimate
association without eviscerating the privacy protections for
all other American families. All of this demands that the Court
re-examine its holding in Bowers and strike down laws such
as the Texas law at issue as an unjustified state intrusion
into the private lives of American citizens, an assault on
the concept of ordered liberty and a violation of the
U.S. Constitution.

7

I. The Court Should Reconsider Bowers v. Hardwick and
Recognize that Fundamental and Constitutionally
Protected Right to Privacy Protects the Intimate
Relationships for Ali American Families from
Unjustified State Intrusion.

The foundational commitment of the United States of
America was to ensure to “all Men” the “unalienable
Rights” of “Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness.”
Our Framers acknowledged this commitment by constructing
a Constitution designed to prevent the majoritarian abuse of
power and afford each American a sphere of protected
conduct that could not be invaded by any combination of
interests. THe Feperaist No. 10 (James Madison). Those
protections are included in the Due Process, Privileges or
Immunities, and federal-government power-restricting
Clauses of the Bill of Rights, as supplemented by the

Fourteenth Amendment and construed by this Court. —

See Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 399-400 (1923); Pierce
v. Society of the Sisters of the Holy Name of Jesus & Mary,
268 U.S. 510, 534-35 (1925); Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S.
497, 539-45 (1961) (Harlan, J., dissenting); Griswold v.
Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 486-99 (1962); Roe v. Wade, 410
U.S. 113, 152-53 (1973); Doe v. Bolton, 410 U.S. 179, 200
(1973); Cleveland Bd. Of Educ. v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632
(1974); Carey v. Population Servs. Int'l, 431 U.S. 679, 684-
85 (1977); Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494,
501-03 (1977); Cruzan v. Director, Missouri Dep t. of Health,
497 U.S. 261, 278-79 (1990); Planned Parenthood v. Casey,
505 U.S. 833, 846-51 (1992); Prince v. Massachusetts, 321
U.S. 158 (1994); Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702,
719-20 (1997); County of Sacramento v. Lewis, 523 U.S. 833,
840 (1998); Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57, 65-66 (2000);
see also Corfield v. Coryell, 6 Fas. Cas. 546 (C.C.E.D. Pa.
1823) (no. 2320).

This Court has made clear that the right to private
relationships within families is one of the inalienable rights
ensconced in the Bill of Rights guaranteed to all Americans,
and is applicable to the states through the Fourteenth
Amendment. The Court has provided the highest level of
constitutional protection under the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment to American family life because family
“is deeply rooted in this Nation’s history and tradition” and
contributes so powerfully to the happiness of individuals. Moore,
431 U.S. at 503 (plurality opinion); see Prince, 321 U.S. at 166
(1994). The “freedom of personal choice in matters of . . . family
life is one of the liberties protected by the Due Process Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment.” Cleveland Bd. of Educ., 414
U.S. at 639-40. This protection arises because the Constitution
prevents government “from standardizing its [citizens] by
forcing all to live in certain narrowly defined family patterns.”
Id. at 506 (plurality opinion).

The Court has afforded these constitutional protections
within a broad context of American family life. In Griswold,
the court defined the family as “an association that promotes a
way of life, not causes; a harmony in living, not political faiths;
a bilateral loyalty, not commercial or social projects.” Griswold,
381 U.S. at 486. The Court in Moore in fact warned of “cutting
off any protection of family rights at the first convenient,
if arbitrary boundary the boundary of the nuclear family.”?
Moore, 431 U.S. at 502 (plurality opinion).

This Court’s recognition that the family is not a cause, not
a polity, not a project has been-supplemented by an explanation
of what a family is: at its heart, it is an intimate association.
2. Notwithstanding its Bowers holding, the Court traditionally

has rejected a narrow analysis of fundamental rights afforded to the
family. See, e.g., Moore, 431 U.S. at 504-05.

9

The Court has thus consistently recognized that a right to familial
association must include a right to intimate association. See Paris
Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49, 63 (1973); Roberts v.
United States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609, 617-18 (1984); Board of
Dirs. of Rotary Int'l v. Rotary Club of Duarte, 481 U.S. 537
(1987). The State of Texas, for one, also recognized the
importance of intimate association for some when it am*~ . a
the Texas Penal Code to legalize sodomy for hete.osexual
couples.’ |

The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law and others like it in
Oklahoma, Missouri, and Kansas stand for the principle that
the fundamental right to intimate associations in family life is
afforded only to those who adhere to an ideal of family once
held by the Texas Legislature.‘ The Texas law, by its terms,
applies only to same-sex couples. Broader sodomy laws that
apply (at least facially) to all Americans remain on the books in
nine other American states.’ While these broader laws do not

3. The legislature only singled out “‘the private homosexual acts
of consenting adults’” for continued criminalization out
of “‘fear {| [of] a backlash against the entire Penal Code
[revision] should such acts be decriminalized.’” Baker v. Wade,
553 F. Supp. 1121, 1151 (N.D. Tex. 1982) (quoting Von Beigel,
The Criminalization of Private Homosexual Acts: A Jurisprudential Case
Study of a Decision by the Texas Bar Penal Code Revision Committee,
6 Human Ruouts 23 (1977)), aff'd on other grounds, 743 F.2d 236 (Sth
Cir. 1984), rev'd, 769 F.2d 289 (Sth Cir. 1985), rehearing én banc denied,
774 F.2d 1285 (Sth Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 478 U.S. 1022 (1986).

4. See Oxxa. Star. tit. 21, § 866 (as applied to exclude heterosexual
conduct, see Post v. State, 715 P.2d 1105 (Okla. Crim. App. 1986));
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 566.090; Kan. Star. Ann. § 21-3505(a)(1).

5. Ata. Cove §§ 13A-6-60(2), 13A-6-65(a)(3); FLa. Star. ANN.
§ 800.02; IpaHo Cope § 18-6605; La. Rev. Star. ANN. § 14:89; Miss.
Cone ANN. § 97-29-59; N.C. Gen. Star. § 14-177; S.C. Cove Ann. § 16-
15-120; Utan Cope ANN. § 76-5-403(1); Va. Cove Ann. § 18.2-361(A).

10

facially discriminate against gays or lesbians, they too
are unconstitutional. All of these laws constitute an
unconstitutional attempt to enforce its view of family life by
propelling the criminal lav’ deep into the American home
without even claiming .o vindicate the state interests of
protecting public decency, protecting vulnerable persons, or
restricting coercive commercial trade in activities offensive
to public morality.

In response to any constitutional concern, the State of
Texas merely suggests that gay and lesbian Texans should
avail themselves of the legislative process to win their
fundamental rights. Patty Reinert, Supreme Court Takes
Houston Sodomy Case, Hous. Curon., Dec. 3, 2002 at 1.
But the fundamental right of privacy reserved to all citizens
by the United States Constitution enjoys protection from the
vagaries of the political process; it is thus no answer to tell
those deprived of their privacy rights to protect them in the
political arena.

Were Texas a political subdivision of the United
Kingdom, which recognizes a parliamentary government
where the legislative will is supreme, its position might be
correct, but American states must attend to the radically
different form of government that the United States has
developed: “The very purpose of a Bill of Rights was to
withdraw certain subjects from the vicissitudes of political
controversy. . . . [F]undamental rights may not be submitted
to vote; they depend on the outcome of no elections... .”
West Va. Bd. of Educ. v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 638 (1943).

Amici thus believe that this case presents to the Court an
important opportunity for it to clarify that the privacy
protections the Court has expiicated for the expression of

rn PII nm ee

a.

ll

intimate relationships in American family life, and to strike
down laws that violate that privacy protection for some
Americans without even pretending to vindicate an
articulated state interest.

Should the Court fail to overrule Bowers and allow the
State of Texas to so intrude upon the most intimate of
relationships of its citizens in the most private of realms,

then we might almost as well not have any law of
constitutional limitations, partly because the thing
is sO Outrageous in itself, and partly because a
constitrtional law inadequate to deal with such
an outrage would be too feeble, in method and
doctrine, to dal with a very great amount of
equally outrageous material. Virtually all the
intimacies, privacies and autonomies of life would
be regulable by the legislature — not necessarily
by the legislature of this year or last year, but, it
might be, by the legislature of a hundred years
ago, or even by an administrative board in due
form thereunto authorized by a recent or long-dead
legislature.

Charles Black, The Unfinished Business of the Warren Court,
46 Wasu. L. Rev. 3, 32 (1970).

A. Protection of a Broadly Defined Family Is Implicit in
the Concept of Ordered Liberty for All Americans.

The Court has long recognized certain rights to be
fundamental to the concept of ordered liberty for all
Americans because “the Constitution embodies a promise
that a certain private sphere of individual liberty will be kept

12

largely beyond the reach of government.” Thornburgh v.
American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists,
476 U.S. 747, 772 (1986). Among those rights implicit in
the ordered concept of liberty, the Court has consistently
acknowledged a “private realm of family life which the state
cannot enter.” Prince, 321 U.S. at 166; see also Roe at 152-
153; Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 231-33 (1973); Stanley
v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 651 (1972); Ginsburg v. New York,
390 U.S. 629, 639 (1968); Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1
(1967); Skinner v. Oklahoma ex rel. Williamson, 316 U.S.
535, 541 (1942).

Affirming such values of American liberty long before
the Court’s progeny of Griswold, Justice Brandeis wrote:

The makers of our Constitution undertook to
secure conditions favorable to the pursuit of
happiness. They recognized the significance of
man’s spiritual nature, of his feelings and of his
intellect. They knew that only a part of the pain,
pleasure and satisfaction of life are to be found in
material things. They sought to protect Americans
in their beliefs, their thoughts, their emotions and
their sensations. They conferred, as against the
government, the right to be let alone — the most
comprehensive of rights and the right most valued
by civilized men.

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438, 478 (1928)
(dissenting opinion).

The Court has not limited these constitutional protections
only to Americans who are married. Since Griswold, this
Court has recognized that all Americans, regardless of status,

en OEE cn mennee

ry

13

possess the same liberty interest to make their own intimate
choices in “matters so fundamentally affecting a person.”
Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438, 452 (1972); see also Casey,
505 U.S. at 898; Carey, 431 U.S. at 685. Neither do those
activities and relationships lose their intimate status when
engaged in for reasons other than procreation. In fact, the
Court has reasoned that certain fundamental rights arise not
just because they touch upon childbearing, but because they
arise solely in the context of a “field that by definition
concerns the most intimate of human activities and
relationships.” Carey, 431 U.S. at 685.

The protections of American family life have not been
limited by an immutable constitutional view of the American
family. See, e.g., Troxel, 530 U.S. at 63 (“The demographic
changes of the past century make it difficult to speak of an
average American family. [It] varies greatly from household
to household”); id. at 85 (Stevens, J., dissenting); id. at 98-
101 (Kennedy, J., dissenting); Michael H. v. Gerald D., 491
U.S. 110, 133 (1989) (concurring opinion of O’Conner and
Stevens, J.J.) (Recognizing “enduring ‘family’ relationships
may develop in unconventional settings”); Stanley, 405 at
651 (Even “family relationships unlegitimized by a marriage
ceremony’).

In short, this Court has long recognized that the
U.S. Constitution protects a broadly defined concept of
American family life and the intimate relationships implied
by the existence of those families — not as a function of
reproduction, but as a function of the inherent right of each
individual to form the intimate connections of his or her own
choosing.

14

B. Intimate Relationships Occupy a “Private Realm of
Family Life the State Cannot Enter.”

Consistent with the ideals of liberty and the pursuit of
happiness, the Court has consistently recognized that
paramount to the security of liberty protected by the Bill of
Rights are “choices to enter into and maintain certain intimate
human relationships . . . against undue intrusion by the state
because [of] the role of such relationships in safeguarding
the individual freedom that is central to our constitutional
scheme.” Roberts, 468 U.S. at 617-618. “[T]he constitutional
shelter. . . reflects the realization that individuals draw much
of their emotional enrichment from close ties with others.
Protecti[on] . . . safeguards the ability independently to define
one’s identity that is central to any concept of liberty.” Jd. at
619; see also Quiltoin v. Walcott, 434 U.S. 246, 255 (1978);
Smith v. Organization of Foster Families, 431 U.S. 816, 844
(1977); Cleveland, 414 U.S. at 639-40; Olmstead, 277 U.S.
at 478 (Brandeis, J., dissenting); Bd. of Dirs. of Rotary Int'l,
481 U.S. at 545. The Court has further held that personal
affiliations entitled to such protection were those exemplified
in family relationships. Roberts, 468 U.S. at 619.

Paramount to the protection of choosing and maintaining
intimate human relationships is sexual intimacy, which
constitutes “a sensitive, key relationship of human existence,
central to family life, community welfare, and the
development of human personality.” Paris Adult Theatre I,
413 U.S. at 63; see Bowers, 106 U.S. at 205 (dissenting
opinion) (quoting Roberts, 468 U.S. at 619) (the “ability
independently to define one’s identity that is central to any
concept of ‘liberty’ cannot truly be exercised in a vacuum;
we all depend on the ‘emotional enrichment of close ties
with others’”). Sexual intimacy is in fact necessary to form

15

and nurture intimate relationships central to families of all
Americans, regardless of sexual orientation.°

This Court, even when some find a certain type of
American family unpopular or immoral, has kept a citizen’s
right to choose with whom one forms intimate relationships
elevated from government’s reach. See, e.g., Loving, 388 U.S.
at 12. Justice Jackson explained for this Court,

we apply the limitations of the Constitution
with no fear that freedom to be intellectually
and spiritually diverse or even contrary will
disintegrate the social organization....
[Freedom] to differ is not limited to things that
do not matter much. That would be a mere shadow
of freedom. The test of its substance is the right
to differ as to things that touch the heart of the
existing order.

West Va. Bd. of Educ., 319 U.S. at 641-42.

The U.S. Constitution therefore reserves to all Americans
the inalienable right to choose those with whom they
make their most intimate of associations and maintain
that relationship free from unjustified state intrusion.’

6. See, e.g., L. Kurdeck, Sexuality in Homosexual and
Heterosexual Couples, Sexua.ity tN CLOSE RELATIONSHIPS 177-91
(K. McKinney & S. Sprecher eds. 1991).

7. This Court has, of course, recognized the right of private
organizations to develop their own rules of associational exclusion
in contexts much less intimate, much less central to human happiness,
and thus much less constitutionally protected than the associations
at issue in this case. See Boy Scouts of Am. v. Dale, 530 U.S. 640

(Cont'd)

16

So important is this right that the Court has found that the
First Amendment broadly protects al/ “those relationships,
including family relationships, that presuppose deep
attachments and commitments to the necessarily few
other individuals with whom one shares not only a
special community of thoughts, experiences, and beliefs
but also distinctly personal aspects of one’s life.” Rotary Int 'l,
481 U.S. at 545.

It is therefore deeply rooted in our Nation’s rich tradition
that all Americans are entitled to be free from the reach of a
criminal law predicated solely on the state’s desire to dictate
the consensual, private, physical, and emotional interactioms
undertaken between citizens in the privacy of their homes.
For if the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment
has any meaning, it must protect a “private realm of family
life which the state cannot enter.” Moore, 431 U.S. at 499
(plurality opinion) (quoting Prince, 321 U.S. at 166).

(Cont'd)

(2000). Because that case presented a situation in which the private
organization wished to exclude gays from association, a decision
upholding laws like Section 21.06 would directly suggest that gay
and lesbian Americans lack for their most intimate associations
_ fundamental protections that can be employed by heterosexwal
Americans in casual association to exclude gays and lesbians. So far
from rendering sexual orientation a protected category, then, the Court
would declare that gays and lesbians are, and may be treated as, a
pariah class against whom — but never for whom - the rights of private
association may function.

Se

~ 17

C. Social and Cultural Developments Since 1986, and a
Decent Regard for the Rights of All Americans,
Require that this Court Revisit its Bowers Holding.

Despite the recognition of previous fundamental rights
afforded in American family life, particularly the right to form
intimate associations, the Court in Bowers refused to
rec »gnize such rights extended to gay and lesbian Americans.
Rather, the Court found that “[n]o connection between family,
marriage or procreation on the one hand and homosexual
activity on the other hand has been demonstrated, either by
the Court of Appeals or by respondent.” Bowers, 106 U.S. at
191.

As the quote above indicates, Bowers embraces
the notion that gay and lesbian relationships and their
intimate associations do not deserve the fundamental
privacy protections provided to heterosexual relationships
and their intimate associations. Bowers was wrong when
written, as a signatory of the majority opinion subsequently
acknowledged. See John C. Jeffries, Jr., Justice Lewis
F. Powe, 302-05 (Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1994). In the
seventeen years since that decision, however, American
culture and mores have developed in a manner that belies
that conclusion and renders it inappropriate to the world of
the twenty-first century.

The Court must therefore reconsider its prior denial of
the fundamental constitutional right to privacy to an entire
class of Americans — gays and lesbians — in light of the
revolution in American cultural development in the last
twenty years. This Court has an obligation now to give full
meaning to am essential aspect of liberty, thereby correcting
the failure of an earlier generation and a gross injustice to a

18

class of American citizens. See, e.g., Turner v. Safley, 482
U.S. 78, 94-99 (1987); Roe, 410 U.S. at 861-63; Loving, 388
U.S. at 12; Meyer, 262 U.S. at 402; Casey, 505 U.S. at 847-
48. Indeed, the very foundation upon which Bowers was built
has been shown to be false. See Casey, 505 U.S. at 862-63.

Since Bowers, our Nation has come to acknowledge and
respect that American family life includes gay and lesbian
relationships.* The 2000 United States Census in fact counted
at least 600,000 households of unmarried same-sex partners,
living in 99.3% of American counties.’ Gay and lesbian
relationships are regarded as enduring, providing long-term
and deep sustenance to each member of the couple. See, e.g.,
Bryant & Demian, Relationship Characteristics of American

Gay and Lesbian Couples, 1 J. Gay & Lessian Soc. Servs.
101 (1994).

Gay and lesbian couples moreover celebrate
commitments to their relationships in our Nation’s churches
and synagogues.'® Furthermore, in the long-standing

8. Gaiutra Bahadur and Andy Alford, A New Haven for Gay
Couples: The Suburbs Census Shows Lesbians Lead Exodus from
Cities to Newly Accepting Areas, Aus. Amer. STATESMEN, Aug. 22,
2001 at Al; Anna Quindlen, The Right to Be Ordinary: Weddings,
Scouting, Surviving - Gay Men and Lesbians Are More Than What
They Do in Bed, Newsweek, Sept. 11, 2000 at 82.

9. Kelley Davenport, Family is Love: There are 600,000 Same-
Sex Couples Heading Households in the United States, According to
Latest Census, State J.-Rec. (Sprinoriecp Ii.), Sept. 20, 2002 at 6A.
This figure is likely understated because of current U.S. Census
Bureau methodology.

10. See, e.g., Laurie Goodstein, Church Allows Same-Sex
Ceremonies: Presbyterian Ministers May Now Conduct “Holy

(Cont'd)

19

American tradition of celebrating such events with the
community, they now celebrate their unions in our Nation’s
newspapers.'' In its announcement to publish such events,
the New York Times wrote, “[i]n making this change, we
acknowledge the newsworthiness of a growing and visible
trend in society toward public celebrations of commitment
by gay and lesbian couples — celebrations important to many
of our readers, their families and friends.” Times Will Begin
Reporting Gay Couples’ Ceremonies, N.Y. Times, Aug. 18,
2002 at A30. Gay and lesbian relationships cannot therefore
be dismissed “as a mere collection of unrelated individuals.”
Smith, 431 U.S. at 844; cf. Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas,
416 U.S. 1 (1974).

Since Bowers, both commerce and law have changed
dramatically to recognize family relationships formed by gay
and lesbian Americans. Leading businesses have recognized
the importance of gay and lesbian families by providing
domestic partnerships employment benefits equal to those
of heterosexual married couples. See, e.g., Thomas A.
Stewart, Gay in Corporate America, Fortune, Dec. 16, 1991
at 42; Jeremy Quittner, Paths to Success; Companies With
the Best Sexual Orientation Rules, The Advocaté, Oct. 23,

(Cont'd)

Union” Services for Gay Couples, Onance County (Cat) Rec., May
25, 2000 at AS; Carlyle Murphy and Bill Broadway, D.C. Church
Authorizes Same-Sex Unions, Wasu. Post, Dec. 10, 2001 at Bl;
Dennis M. Mahoney, Church to Allow Same-Sex Ceremonies,
Co.umsus Dispatcu (Ono), Nov. 18, 2000 at 1A.

11. In an undeniable trend, over 180 newspapers in United States
communities now publish announcement of gays ard lesbians
“unions.” See, e.g., Monty Phan, Newspapers Announce Gay Unions,
Tue Miami Herap, Aug. 21, 2002 at C3.

20

2001 at 28. Today, nine states, the District of Columbia, and
129 municipalities offer government-sponsored domestic-
partner benefits. In recognition of the sheer number of family
relationships formed by gays and lesbians, the American Law
Institute has devoted an entire chapter to domestic partnership
in its most recent work on family law. See PRINCIPLES OF THE
Law OF FAMILy DissOLUTION: ANALYSIS AND RECOMMENDATIONS
(A.L.L. 2002).

Like other American families, many gay and lesbian
couples adopt and raise children even though they cannot
together procreate. See, e.g., Sean Jensen, Former Viking
Esora Tuaolo Has Found Peace Since He Said He Was Gay,
St. PauL Pioneer Press (Minn.), Nov. 17, 2002 at 1C (Mr.
Tuaolo and his partner are the adoptive parents of twins);
Harriet Barovick, Rainbow Network: As Gay Families
Increase, So Do Support Services Designed Just For Them,
Time, April 15, 2002 at F10. In support of these families, the
vast majority of every state permits gays and lesbians to adopt
children individually, jointly and/or through second-parent
adoptions."

Recognizing that American family life includes gays and
lesbians but acknowledging the lingering animus towards
them, an ever-increasing number of states and municipalities,
including at least four cities in Texas, have now added sexual
orientation to laws barring discrimination in housing,
employment, public accommodations, and other areas.'’

12. See, e.g., American Academy of Pediatrics, Co-Parent or
Seco~d-Parent Adoption by Same-Sex Parents, 109 Pepiatrics 339
(Feb. 2002).

13. 1999 Cal. Stat. 592; Conn. Gen. Star. § 46, 81(a) ef seg.;
D.C. Cope Ann. § 1-2541(c) (1981); 1991 Haw. Sess. Laws 2; 2001
(Cont'd)

21

Even the executive branch of the United States government
respects that American family life includes homosexuals and
that gays and lesbians are deserving of protection from
discrimination, notwithstanding the families they choose to
form.'*

Indeed, this Court has itself acknowledged that
“it appears that homosexuality has gained greater societal
acceptance” since the days of Bowers. Boy Scouts of Am.,
520 U.S. at 660. As demonstrated by these undeniable,
dramatic changes in American culture and mores, Bowers
no longer represents an accurate statement of the national
mind, much less the constitutional law.

As conservative organizations that recognize the
importance of reliance upon precedent and strict construction,
amici do not support “judicial activism” or decisions that
create “constitutional law having little or no cognizable roots
in the language or design of the Constitution.” Bowers, 478
U.S. at 194. Overturning Bowers, however, will not be an
act of judicial activism, nor will it create rights out of whole

(Cont'd)

Md. Laws ch. 340; 1989 Mass. Legis. Serv. 516 (West); 1993 Minn.
Sess. Law Serv. ch. 22 (West); 1999 Nev. Stat. ch. 410; 1997 N.H.
Laws ch. 108; 1991 N.J. Sess. Law ch. 519 (West); 2002 N.Y. Laws
ch. 2; 1995 R.I. Pub. Laws ch. 95-32; 1992 Vt. Acts & Resolves
135; 1981 Wisc. Laws ch. 112; Austin, Tex., Cope, Vol. I, tit. VII
(2001); Dallas, Tex. Municipal Ordinance No. 24927 (2002),
amending Dallas, Tex. Cope ch. 15B; Fort Worth, Tex., Cope,
ch. 17, art. II] (2001); Houston, Tex., Cope ch. 2, tit. XIV (2002).

14. See Exec. Order No. 11,478, 34 Fed. Reg. 12,985 (Aug. 8,
1969), as amend by Exec. Order No. 13,087, 63 Fed. Reg. 30,097
(June 2, 1998) (adding “sexual orientation” to the non-job-related
grounds upon which an employment decision cannot be based).

22

cloth.'* Bowers itself worked the unwarranted judicial
activism by excluding a class of people — gays and lesbians
— from a set of long-established constitutional rights
without the slightest textual support for its conclusions.
The Constitution does not make gays and lesbians second-
class citizens. It does not, of course, mention sexuality at
all. Any attempt, like that of Bowers, then, to deprive gays
and lesbians of certain rights provided to other Americans
itself works judicial activism — the particularly ugly judicial
activism of writing into the Constitution the notion that
“We, the Majority of Justices, disapprove of gays and
lesbians, and therefore exclude them from otherwise
universal protections.”

The fundamental right to privacy guaranteed all
Americans must stand as a “necessary corollary of giving
individuals freedom to choose how to conduct their lives” —
and with whom — “is acceptance of the fact that different
individuals will make different choices.” Bowers, 478 U.S.
at 205-06 (Blackmun, J., dissenting). Bowers denied
erroneously a fundamental constitutional right of American
citizens over and against the state for which no countervailing
rights of other individuals were at stake. See also West Va.
Bd. of Educ., 319 U.S. 624, 630 (1943); Brown v. Bd. of
Educ., 347 U.S. 483, 494-95 (1954). In his dissent to Bowers,
Justice Blackmun wrote:

The fact that individuals define themselves in a
significant way through their intimate sexual

15. No matter the basis for the Court's Bowers holding, Amici
do not “believe that . . . judicial exercise of judgment could be avoided
by freezing ‘due process of law’ at some fixed stage of time or thought
is to suggest that the most important aspect of constitutional
adjudication is a function for inanimate machines and not for judges.”
Rochin v. State of California, 342 U.S. 165, 171-72 (1952).

23

relationships with others suggests, in a nation as
diverse as ours, that there may be many ‘right’
ways of conducting those relationships, and that
much of the richness of a relationship will come
from the freedom to choose the form and nature
of these intensely personal bonds.

Id. at 205 (Blackmun, J., dissenting).

Indeed, “[u]nless we close our eyes to the basic reasons
why certain rights associated with the family have been
accorded shelter under the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due
Process Clause, we cannot avoid applying the force and
rationale of these precedents to the family choice involved
in this case.” Moore, 431 U.S. at 499.

D. The Texas Homosexual Conduct Law and Others Like
It Constitute an Unjustified State Intrusion on
Ordered Liberty; and If the Rights of All Americans
to Undertake Intimate Expressive Conduct Is to Be
Protected, All “Sodomy” Laws Must Be Struck Down.

Recognition of the fundamental right to privacy for
Americans to express their most intimate of family
associations does not end the constitutional inquiry as
“(njot all governmental intrusion is of necessity
unwarranted.” Casey, 505 U.S. at 875 (opinion of O’Connor,
Kennedy, and Souter, J.J.). The Court must also consider
whether laws like the Texas Homosexual Conduct Law
further a compelling state interest without imposing an undue
burden on those affected. Jd. at 878. See also Thornburgh,
476 U.S. at 828-29. Such considerations require that this
Court not only invalidate the specific Texas statute before it,
but that the Court strike down all laws that purport to
illegalize “sodomy.”

24

There exists no countervailing state interest for these
laws comparable to those weighed by this Court in other
recent cases involving fundamental liberties.'° The lower
court in fact recognized that the justification urged by Texas
was a generalized and amorphous interest in “moral values,”
though the state has been unable or unwilling to delineate
the specific public values at stake!” Lawrence, 41 S.W.3d at
354. Moreover, the means with which Texas and other states
have chosen to advance their “interests” unduly burden the
fundamental right of all Americans to life, liberty, and the
pursuit of happiness for they use “the full power of the
criminal law,” Poe, 367 U.S. at 548 (Harlan, J., dissenting),
to enforce their aesthetic whims.'* These statutes must fall.

Neither are such laws that are facially neutral with
regard to forbidding “sodomy” acceptable. Because these
laws define sexual intimacy in such a way that makes criminal
virtually any form of intimate expression available to same-
sex couples, they condemn de facto gay and lesbian
relationships. The Court would work the profoundest nullity
to forbid Texas to regulate “sodomy” for gay and lesbian,

16. See, e.g., Casey, 505 U.S. at 871-79 (opinion of O’Connor,
Kennedy, and Souter, J.J.) (potential human life); Troxel, 530 U.S.
at 73 (plurality opinion of O’Connor, J.) (welfare of children);
Cruzan, 497 U.S. at 280-281 (existing human life).

17. Amici further believe that other debunked justifications for
such laws (e.g., such as public health concerns) veil an animus or
bias towards gays and lesbians and do not constitute a compelling
interest to so burden the fundamental right of Americans to express
their most intimate of family associations.

18. Christopher R. Leslie, Creating Criminals: The Injuries

Inflicted by “Unenforced” Sodomy Laws, 35 Harv. C.R.-C.L.L. Rev.
103 (2000).

25

but not for heterosexual, couples but effectively allow other
states to criminalize virtually all intimate expressive conduct
of which gays and lesbians couples are capable.

Meanwhile, the Court, as noted above, has already
extended the privacy protection to intimate heterosexual
conduct that occurs out of wedlock and for purposes other
than for procreation. No constitutional explanation can now
exist, then, for this Court to differentiate among kinds of
private, consensual, intimate expressions between couples,
except procreation-regarding distinctions the Court has long
since rejected or those based upon the biased, uniformed,
and repudiated view of same-sex intimacy express by Chief
Justice Burger in Bowers.

The thinly-veiled interests promulgated by these states,
as exemplified by the State of Texas, and aimed at forcing a
view of American family life on all citizens cannot support
laws that represent a crack in the foundational commitment
of the Untied States of America. The Texas Homosexual
Conduct Law and all others like it infringe upon the most
personal of liberties guaranteed to all Americans by the U.S.
Constitution and should be struck down.

26

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, amici respectfully urge
that Bowers be overruled and the judgment of the Texas Court
of Appeals — Fourteenth District be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

C. MARTIN MEEKINS
Counsel of Record

C. RANDOLPH FISHBURN

Wuire & Case LLP

633 West Fifth Street

Suite 1900

Los Angeles, CA 90071

(213) 620-7700

M. ELAINE JOHNSTON

Wuire & Case LLP

1155 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10036

Counsel for Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0585%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
