# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lawrence v. Texas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0585%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 539 U.S. 558

## Text

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

¢

JOHN GEDDES LAWRENCE AND TYRON GARNER,

Petitioners,
v.

STATE OF TEXAS,

Respondent.
S

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court Of Appeals Of Texas
Fourteenth District

4

AMICUS BRIEF OF STONEWALL LAW
ASSOCIATION, PARENTS, FAMILIES, & FRIENDS
OF LESBIANS & GAYS, TEXAS HUMAN RIGHTS
FOUNDATION, LESBIAN/GAY RIGHTS LOBBY, GAY
& LESBIAN ADVOCATES & DEFENDERS,
NATIONAL CENTER FOR LESBIAN RIGHTS,

& HUMAN RIGHTS CAMPAIGN
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

o

~ CLAIRE SWIFT KUGLER STEPHEN G. TIPPS
EDWARDS & GEORGE, L.L.P. Counsel of Record
5847 San Felipe REBECCA L. ROBERTSON
Suite 2375 ROGER DONLEY
Houston, TX 77057 Scott F. WENDORF
(713) 339-3233 BAKER BOTTS L.L.P.
One Shell Plaza
910 Louisiana
Houston, TX 77002
(713) 229-1234

(713) 229-1522 (facsimile)

Counsel for Amici Curiae

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

See

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE.............::c0:c0000e0000s 1
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT. .............:c0000000000 2
CIID iviitcincriiiibicialaitai tiga liieiatatsitaees Blistitieas 3

I. The direct and indirect harms caused by
same-sex sodomy laws make gay and lesbian
Americans second-class citizens..................... 3

II. The Homosexual Conduct Law and other
laws like it simply cannot be justified by
appeals to “morality.” ..........ccccrcccresccosssscoesesees 12

COT AIDS cc cccvcececsccveccssccsscssscocescessocscossnnscosssesoes 20

li

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
FEDERAL CASES

Baker v. Wade, 553 F. Supp. 1121 (N.D. Tex. 1982),
rev'd, 769 F.2d 289 (5th Cir. 1985)..............ccccee0ee 5, 6, 14
Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986) .................. 3, 4, 6
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954)............ 4

Childers v. Dallas Police Dep’t, 513 F. Supp. 134
iene iianeinieninesinemnennenensenees )

Gay Student Servs. v. Texas A&M Univ., 737 F.2d
Ee ee 8

In re Naturalization of Longstaff, 538 F. Supp. 589

(N.D. Tex. 1982), aff'd, 716 F.2d 1439 (5th Cir.
EEE ESO ee 7

Plumley v. Landmark Chevrolet, 122 F.3d 308 (5th
EEE 9

STATE CASES

Bottoms v. Bottoms, 457 S.W.2d 102 (Va. 1995) ................. i)
Ex parte D.W.W., 717 So. 2d 793 (Ala. 1998)... 9
Gryczan v. Montana, 942 P.2d 112 (Mont. 1997)............... 16

Head v. Newton, 596 S.W.2d 209 (Tex. Civ. App.—
Houston [14th Dist.] 1980, mo writ) ..............cccccccccceeeeeees 4

Jilek v. Chatman, 613 S.W.2d 558 (Tex. Civ. App.—
Beaumont 1981, mo Wit) .............ccccccccscceceeeeeeeeeeereeeeeeeees 7
Kentucky v. Wasson, 842 S.W.2d 487 (Ky. 1992).......... 16, 19

Pruett v. Texas, 463 S.W.2d 191 (Tex. Crim. App.
ENS 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
STATUTES

ALA. CODE § 13A-6-65 (1994) .........ccccccccccccecessssssssssseeseenees 13
FLA. STAT. ANN. § 800.02 (1992) .0...........cccceseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 13
IDAHO CODE § 18-6605 (1997) ........cccccccccceceeseersreseeeeeeeenes 13

KAN. CrIM. CopDE ANN. §§ 21-3501(2), 21-3505
(I hv crensascencsncnesssanunesntoesengiosnmnsacnsesssansmnsuesmmenennesenninds 14
LA. REV. STAT. ANN. § 14:89 (1986) ............ccccccccceceeeeeeeeeeees 13
MIss. CODE ANN. § 97-29-59 (1973) ...........cccccccecceeeeeeeeeeenes 14
Mo. ANN. Start. §§ 566.010, 566.090 (1999).................:0e 14
N.C. GEN. STAT. § 14-177 (19938) ...........ccccccceeceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 14
OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 21, § 886 (1999) .00........ccccccceeeeeeeeeees 14
S.C. CODE ANN. § 16-15-120 (1998)............cccccccececeeeeeeeeeeees 14
Tex. PEN. CODE ANN. § 21.01 (Vernon 1999) ...............:0000 3
TEX. PEN. CODE ANN. § 21.06 (Vernon 1999)............. passim
UTAH CODE ANN. § 76-5-403 (1995) ..........ccccccccceceeeeeeeneeeees 14
VA. CODE ANN. § 18.2-361 (1996)............cccccceesereeeeeeeereeeeees 14

MISCELLANEOUS

American Ass’n of Sex Educators, Counselors, and
Therapists, Code of Ethics (1993).............cccccccsereereeeeeees 18

American Psychiatric Ass’n, Fact Sheet: Gay and
I Cie ccctecccccevesevssensstscccnssencsesssenstnecceeses 18

American Psychiatric Ass’n, DIAGNOSTIC AND
STATISTICAL MANUAL OF MENTAL DISORDERS
Ce TIPU W dctececietvennttusvabitnenettitniibaginibinennninnbiniennss 15

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page

American Psychol. Ass’n, Resolution of the Ameri-
can Psychological Association Council of Repre-
ee tccctrnciciciercneristnstnnninsnsinensnsinnatiniasasniases
Jorge C. Armesto, Developmental and Contextual
Factors that Influence Gay Fathers’ Parental
Competence: A Review of the Literature, 3 Psy-
CHOL. OF MEN AND MASCULINITY 67 (2002).................0+.

Associated Press, Gay Rights Supporters’ Meeting
Site Draws Protest, DALLAS MORNING NEWS, Jan.
a Ee eee

BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY (6th ed. 1990) ..0.............ccccccceeeee

Bertram J. Cohler & Robert M. Galatzer-Levy, THE
COURSE OF GAY AND LESBIAN LIVES: SOCIAL AND
PSYCHOANALYTIC PERSPECTIVE 294 (2000) ..............000000.

S. Cole et al., Elevated Physical Health Risk Among
Gay Men Who Conceal Their Homosexual Iden-
tity, 15 HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY 243 (1996)................c0000++

T. Cowan, GAY MEN AND WOMEN WHO ENRICHED

Anthony R. D’Augelli, Developmental Implications
of Victimization of Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual
Youth, in STIGMA AND SEXUAL ORIENTATION: UN-
DERSTANDING PREJUDICE AGAINST LESBIANS, GAY
— AND BISEXUALS 187 (Gregory M. Herek ed.,
Seca iececia icine itiniitineraiteatinaleatintsiniatiacathtaiaiieatae 5,

John D’Emillio, Capitalism and Gay Identity, in
LESBIANS, GAY MEN, AND THE LAW 26 (William
I a, i lt

\edentiene F —

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Robert B. Dean & Harold Richardson, Analysis of
MMPI Profiles of Forty College-Educated Overt
Male Homosexuals, 28(6) J. CONSULTING Psy-

Anne H. Faulkner & Kevin Cranston, Correlates of
Same-Sex Sexual Behavior in a Random Sample
of High School Students, 88 AM. J. PUB. HEALTH

Linda Garnets & Douglas Kimmel, Lesbian and
Gay Male Dimensions, in PSYCHOLOGICAL PER-
SPECTIVES ON HUMAN DIVERSITY IN AMERICA 143
(Jacqueline D. Goodchilds ed., 1991).............ceccceeeeeeees

Anne B. Goldstein, History, Homosexuality, and
Political Values: Searching for the Hidden De-
terminants of Bowers v. Hardwick, 97 YALE L.J.
SETI CITE cncrtiniceicpecsenatennedipemaniunnbengntetmieemenguentenmmemmenests

Ryan Goodman, Beyond the Enforcement Principle:
Sodomy Laws, Social Norms, and Social Panop-
tics, 89 CAL. L. REV. 643 (2001) ..............cccceceeeeees 3, 11,

John Gonsiorek & J.R. Rudolph, Homosexual
Identity: Coming Out and Other Developmental
Events, in HOMOSEXUALITY: RESEARCH IMPLICA-
TIONS FOR PUBLIC POLiIcy 161-76 (John Gonsiorek
& James Weinrich eds., 1991).................cccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeees

Stephanie E. Griest, Hate Crimes Act Named for
Byrd Heads for House, AUSTIN AM. STATESMAN,
8 Oe 8,

A. Nicholas Groth & H. Jean Birnbaum, Adult
Sexual Orientation and Attraction to Underage
Persons, in SEXUAL ABUSE OF CHILDREN: SE-
LECTED READINGS 87 (Barbara McComb Jones et
Oo A, Tee icnciennisnesenenenmmmmnensvememmnmnnsmmmnamnacssiacssanes

12

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

David M. Halperin, Is There a History of Sexuality?,
reprinted in LESBIAN AND GAY STUDIES READER
(Henry Abelove et al., eds., 1993) ..............ccccccccceeeeeeeeees

S. Hammersmith & M. Weinberg, Homosexual
Identity: Commitment, Adjustment and Signifi-
cant Others, 36 SOCIOMETRY 56 (1973) ...........c.cccc0eceeeees

Diana Hassel, The Use of Criminal Sodomy Laws
in Civil Litigation, 79 TEx. L. REv. 813 (2001)..............

Gregory Herek, The Context of Anti-Gay Violence:
Notes on Cultural and Psychological Heterosex-
ism, 5 J. INTERPERS. VIOLENCE 316 (1990).....................

Gregory M. Herek, Myths about Sexual Orientation:
A Lawyer's Guide to Social Science Research, 1
LAW & SEXUALITY 133 (1991) ..........cccscccesseeseseeeseereeeeeess

G. Herek, Why Tell If You’re Not Asked? Self-
Disclosure, Inter-Group Contact, and Heterosexu-
als’ Attitudes Toward Lesbians and Gay Men, in
Out IN FORCE: SEXUAL ORIENTATION AND THE
MILITARY 197, 211 (G. Herek et al. eds., 1996)..............

Evelyn Hooker, The Adjustment of the Male Overt
Homosexual, 21 J. PROJECTIVE TECH. 18 (1957)............

Polly R. Hughes, Bill Would Ban Gay Texans From
Adopting Children, HOUSTON CHRON., Dec. 11,

Nan D. Hunter, Life After Hardwick, 27 Harv. C.R.-
ll Be Bs GS CI cnczensssncenecenssemseasensnsntiniconsszeseenenes

Carole Jenny et al., Are Children at Risk for Sexual
Abuse by Homosexuals?, 94 PEDIATRICS 41 (July

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Michael King & Annie Bartlett, British Psychiatry
and Homosexuality, 175 BRITISH J. OF PSYCHIA-
eget steranaienanaaet anette aera

James Krajeski, Homosexuality and the Mental
Health Professions: A Contemporary History, in
TEXTBOOK OF HOMOSEXUALITY AND MENTAL
HEALTH 20 (Robert P. Cabaj & Terry S. Stein eds.,

Edward O. Laumann et al., THE SOCIAL ORGANIZA-
TION OF SEXUALITY: SEXUAL PRACTICES IN THE

UNITED STATES 360 (1994).............cccccccsseccecesseeeeeeeeeeee 4,16

Lesbian and Gay Issues, 38(3) NASW News (Na-
tional Ass’n of Social Workers), Mar. 1993, at 15..........

J. Leserman et al., Gay Identification and Psycho-
logical Health in HIV-Positive and HIV-Negative
Gay Me::, 94 J. APPLIED Soc. PSYCHOLOGY 2193

Christopher R. Leslie, Creating Criminals: The
Injuries Inflicted by “Unenforced” Sodomy Laws,
35 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. REV. 103 (2000) ...............+.. 4, 6,

William Masters & Virginia Johnson, HUMAN
SEXUAL INADEQUACY (1970)..........ccsccccsecccsseecessecsssceeseeees

David McWhirter & Andrew Mattison, THE MALE
COUPLE: HOW RELATIONSHIPS DEVELOP 262 (1984) .......

Stuart Michaels, The Prevalence of Homosexuality
in the United States, in TEXTBOOK OF HOMOSEXU-
ALITY AND MENTAL HEALTH, 55-56 (Robert P. Ca-
baj & Terry S. Stein eds., 1996) ............cccccccseeeeerereeees

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Bonnie M. Mucklow & Gladys K. Phelan, Lesbian
and Traditional Mothers’ Responses to Adult Re-
sponse to Child Behavior and Self Concept, 44
PSYCHOL, REP. 880 (1979) .......ccssscseeeeseersrerneenensennenenenes 17

Charlotte J. Patterson, Children of Lesbian and
Gay Parents, 63 CHILD DEV. 1025 (1992)........ccceeeeeeeeees 17

Charlotte J. Patterson & Raymond W. Chan, Gay
Fathers and Their Children, in TEXTBOOK OF
HOMOSEXUALITY AND MENTAL HEALTH 383
(Robert P. Cabaj & Terry S. Stein eds., 1996)..........00008 17

Gary Remafedi, The Relationship Between Suicide
Risk and Sexual Orientation: Results of a Popu-
lation-Based Study, 88 AM. J. PUB. HEALTH 57

Ginger D. Richardson, Gay Rights Effort Likely to
Be Tabled, Ft. WORTH STAR-TELEGRAM, Jan. 19,

Marcel T. Saghir et al., Textbook of Homosexuality:
III. Psychiatric Disorders and Disability in the
Male Homosexual, 126(8) AM. J. PSYCHOL. 1079
(1970)....c.ceccoscersescosssssorsorrensenseresssvensenssnssnssvensscnssensesenss 15

Edward P. Sarafino, An Estimate of Nationwide
Incidence of Sexual Offenses Against Children, 58

CHILD WELFARE 127 (1979) ......-:::cccseeerereseeeneenernnsnnnnerenes 17
Pepper Schwartz & Philip Blumstein, AMERICAN

COUPLES 193, 201 (1983)........:-:sssseeeeserssereeennsnnnsnnsrensens 5
Texas Dept. of Public Safety, Crime in Texas (1997)......... 10

Bruce Tomaso, Stephen F. Austin Senate Bans Gay
Group, DALLAS MoRNING NEws, Nov. 2, 1994, at

ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Mike Ward, Gay Groups Urge Veto of Penal Code
With Sodomy Law, AUSTIN AM. STATESMAN, May
29, 1993, at B10 ........s-sererererenrersnsnenenenensnsenenensnnnnanansnsnsers 8

Jo Ann Zuniga, Gay Parents Are Fighting Back
Against Blackmail, Court Bias, HOUSTON
CHRON., June 27, 1994, at BADD... cccccccccscscccccscecsssssonsssoeses 7

—

a

1

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

The amici’ share an interest in challenging Texas
Penal Code § 21.06, the so-called “Homosexual Conduct
Law,” which criminalizes certain sexual conduct for same-
sex couples but not heterosexual ones. The amici are the
Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston; Parents,
Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays of Houston;
the Texas Human Rights Foundation; Lesbian/Gay Rights
Lobby of Texas; Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders;
the National Center for Lesbian Rights; and the Human
Rights Campaign.’ Amici are a diverse group of local,
state, and national organizations united by a commitment
to equality for gay men and lesbians. Their work on behalf
of gay and lesbian citizens includes prosecuting impact
litigation, lobbying state and federal governments for non-
discriminatory laws, educating the public through re-
search and information initiatives, and providing legal and
other support to persons affected by discrimination on the
basis of sexual orientation.

The amici know all too well that discrimination is
often rationalized by reference to same-sex sodomy laws
like the cne Petitioners have asked this’ Court to review.
These organizations and their members have a special
interest in ensuring that rights guaranteed by the United
States Constitution are not undermined by laws like
§ 21.06, which contains an unwarranted sexual orienta-
tion- and sex-based classification and unfairly authorizes
government intrusion into the private lives of certain

‘ The parties have consented to the filing of this brief. Counsel for
a party did not author this brief, in whole or in part. No person or
entity, other than the amici curiae, their members, and their counsel,
made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this
brief.

* More detailed statements of interest from the amici are included
in the attached Appendix.

2

citizens. The amici therefore support Petitioners applica-
tion for a writ of certiorari.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

It is critically important that the Court review the
constitutionality of Texas’s Homosexual Conduct Law,
which criminalizes the sexual conduct of same-sex part-
ners but permits heterosexual couples to engage in the
very same acts without penalty. Such laws, whether or not
enforced, have devastating effects on gay and lesbian
citizens and their families. By singling out gays and
lesbians as sexual criminals, § 21.06 and other same-sex
sodomy laws stigmatize gays and lesbians and thereby
legitimize discrimination, hatred, and even violence
against them. ,

The huge burden that same-sex sodomy laws impose
on the most private aspect of the lives of gay and lesbian
citizens also merits this Court’s attention. Although the
law targets only same-sex couples, the objective data show
that the specific sexual behavior targeted by the law is
widely practiced by heterosexuals as well. There is no

credible evidence that the sexual expression of gay men

and lesbians is somehow deviant or detrimental. To the
contrary, there is ample evidence that, as with hetero-
sexuals, sexual intimacy is vital to the health and well-
being of gay and lesbian adults and is an important
component of stable, loving same-sex relationships.

Nor is it possible to identify any justification for same-
sex sodomy laws that could balance these substantial
harms. The traditional justification — that homosexuality
poses a moral threat against which society must be de-
fended — cannot withstand scrutiny. Despite what their
proponents say, same-sex sodomy laws have little to do
with “traditional morality.” For example, not until 1974
did Texas first single out gays and lesbians for special
condemnation.

3

Because the Homosexual Conduct Law targets a
politically disfavored group and imposes unique and
substantial harms on that group, the law simply cannot be
reconciled with our highest constitutional values. This
Court should grant certiorari.

ARGUMENT

I. The direct and indirect harms caused by
same-sex sodomy laws make gay and lesbian
Americans second-class citizens.

This Court should grant certiorari to consider the
constitutionality of the Homosexual Conduct Law, Texas
Penal Code § 21.06,° because the harms that the law
inflicts on homosexual citizens of Texas are real and
substantial. Although courts and commentators have
sometimes presumed that sodomy laws are harmless
because such laws are rarely enforced,‘ this presumption
is fundamentally flawed.* In fact, even when unenforced,

* Texas’s Homosexual Conduet Law prohibits certain sex acts only
when performed by same-sex partners. That law provides:
(a) A person commits an offense if he engages in deviate
sexual intercourse with another individual of the same sex.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misde-
meanor.

Tex. PEN. CODE ANN. § 21.06 (Vernon 1999). “Deviate sexual inter-
course” is defined as “any contact between any part of the genitals of
one person and the mouth or anus of another person” or “the penetra-
tion of the genitals or the anus of another person with an object.” Id.
§ 21.01.

* See, e.g., Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186, 198 n.2 (1986)
(Powell, J., concurring) (“The history of nonenforcement [of the statute]
suggests the moribund character today of laws criminalizing this type
of PIivate, aw ce ~~. conduct.”).

* See Ryan Goodman, Beyond the Enforcement Principle: Sodomy
Laws, Social Norms, and Social Panoptics, 89 CAL. L. REV. 643, 648
(2001) (arguing that “the relevant legal actors ... are encouraged to

(Continued on following page)

4

criminal laws nevertheless may have profound effects on
society. Laws such as Texas’s Homosexual Conduct Law
harm gay and lesbian citizens by inhibiting mental and
emotional health, providing justification for a wide range
of private and official discrimination, and facilitating anti-
gay violence.’

First and most fundamentally, the Homosexual
Conduct Law and other laws like it interfere with healthy
mental and emotional development.’ As scientific and
sociological literature on the subject demonstrates,’ sexual
expression is a vital component of personal psychological
well-being.” It is likewise essential to healthy intimate

conclude that sodomy laws do not really matter”); Christopher R. Leslie,
Creating Criminals: The Injuries Inflicted by “Unenforced” Sodomy
Laws, 35 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 103, 104 (2000) (undertaking a case
study of sodomy laws to illustrate “how the mere existence of an

‘unenforced’ criminal law creates a-criminal-class whose members are
treated as felons, even though they have been convicted of no crime”).

* See Leslie, supra note 5, at 103.

" Of course, Texas’s Homosexual Conduct Law was enforced in this
case, thus negating any comfort that gays and lesbians in Texas may
take from the supposed “history of nonenforcement,” Hardwick, 478
U.S. at 198 n.2, of similar statutes in other states. Gay and lesbian
Texans presently are subject to an immediate threat of prosecution,
which causes fear and anxiety to them as well as their families, friends,
colleagues, employers, and others in the heterosexual community.

* See Leslie, supra note 5, at 116-21.

* This Court considered evidence of such harms in Brown v. Board
of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954). In Brown, the Court considered the
detrimental psychological and emotional effects of school segregation on
blacks. The Court looked to psychological and sociological journals to
examine the social and personal implications of denying blacks equal
educational opportunities. Just as the Court noted that “the impact is
greater when [school segregation) has the sanction of the law,” this
Court should consider the harmful psychological and social impact that
upholding the Homosexual Conduct Law will have on gay and lesbian
Americans. See id. at 494.

* EDWARD O. LAUMANN ET AL., THE SOCIAL ORGANIZATION OF
SEXUALITY: SEXUAL PRACTICES IN THE UNITED STATES 360 (1994)
(Continued on following page)

5

relationships between adults; in both heterosexual and
homosexual relationships, sex functions to strengthen the
partners’ interpersonal bonds and as an expression of the
couple’s feelings for each other.” The Homosexual Conduct
Law necessarily takes a psychological toll on gay and
lesbian Texans by intruding into this most personal of
activities and by penalizing intimate relations so funda-
mental to healthy adulthood.” Indeed one federal court
has recognized that the Homosexual Conduct Law has a
negative effect on the mental health of gay and lesbian
Texans. “

(national study by University of Chicago finding persons who have
sexual experiences report higher levels of happiness than those who
have no sexual experiences); WILLIAM MASTERS & VIRGINIA JOHNSON,
HUMAN SEXUAL INADEQUACY (1970); John Gonsiorek & J.R. Rudolph,
Homosexual Identity: Coming Out and Other Developmental Events, in
HOMOSEXUALITY: RESEARCH IMPLICATIONS FOR PUBLIC POLICY 161-76
(John Gonsiorek & James Weinrich eds., 1991).

" See, e.g., PEPPER SCHWARTZ & PHILIP BLUMSTEIN, AMERICAN
COUPLES 193, 201 (1983) (“[A] good sex life is central to a good overall
relationship.”).

” Td. at 201, 205-06; Davin MCWHIRTER & ANDREW MATTISON, THE
MALE COUPLE: HOW RELATIONSHIPS DEVELOP 262 (1984).

* Gonsiorek & Rudolph, supra note 10; Anthony R. D’Augelli,
Developmental Implications of Victimization of Lesbian, Gay, and
Bisexual Youth, in STIGMA AND SEXUAL ORIENTATION: UNDERSTANDING
PREJUDICE AGAINST LESBIANS, GAY MEN, AND BISEXUALS 187, 191
(Gregory M. Herek ed., 1998) (describing the psychological conse-
quences of stigmatization on gay, lesbian, and bisexual youth).

“ As that court explained in Baker v. Wade, 553 F. Supp. 1121
(N.D. Tex. 1982), rev’d, 769 F.2d 289 (5th Cir. 1985):

(The existence of these criminal laws, even if they are not
enforced (like § 21.06), does result in stigma, emotional
stress and other adverse effects. The anxieties caused to
homosexuals — fear of arrest, loss of jobs, discovery, etc. ~
can cause severe mental health problems. Homosexuals, as
criminals, are often alienated from society and institutions,
particularly law enforcement officials.
(Continued on following page)

6

Moreover, the Homosexual Conduct Law is psycho-
logically harmful because it “fuel{s] internalized homopho-
bia in some homosexuals, including .. . self-derision, self-
hatred, hatred of others in the group, and acting out self-
fulfilling prophesies about one’s own inferiority.” And
sodomy laws necessarily inhibit — indeed all but turn into
self-incrimination - what has been demonstrated to be a
psychologically necessary action for many gays and lesbi-
ans: that of “coming out” to friends and family by revealing
a previously repressed or hidden sexual orientation.” By
encouraging gays and lesbians to repress or hide their
sexual orientation with the threat of criminal sanction, the
Homosexual Conduct Law in fact encourages conduct that
may be unhealthy both mentally and physically. "’

Id. at 1130. The district court’s findings were based upon the testimony
of a psychiatrist and a sociologist “whose qualifications as experts in
the field of homosexuality were outstanding and whose testimony was
very credible [and consistent with) the positions adopted by various
medical and psychiatric associations.” Jd. at 1129, 1132.

* Leslie, supra note 5, at 117 (quoting Brief of Amici Curiae
American Psychological Association and the American Public Health
Association in Support of Respondents at 7, Bowers v. Hardwick, 478
U.S. 186 (1986) (No. 85-140)).

* See, e.g., S. Hammersmith & M. Weinberg, Homosexual Identity:
Commitment, Adjustment and Significant Others, 36 SOCIOMETRY 56, 78
(1973) (concluding that “having . . . ‘settled into’ a homosexual identity
... leads to better psychological adjustment as indicated by a more
stable, positive self-image, fewer anxiety symptoms, and less depres-
sion”); J. Leserman et al., Gay Identification and Psychological Health
in HIV-Positive and HIV-Negative Gay Men, 24 J. APPLIED Soc.
PSYCHOLOGY 2193, 2205 (1994) (presenting findings that “better
psychological health [is] related to gay self-acceptance, participating in
gay organizations and groups, socializing with other gay men, and
parental disclosure and acceptance of being gay”).

" See, e.g., G. Herek, Why Tell If You're Not Asked? Self-Disclosure,
Inter-Group Contact, and Heterosexuals’ Attitudes Toward Lesbians and
Gay Men, in Out IN Force: SEXUAL ORIENTATION AND THE MILITARY
197, 211 (G. Herek et al. eds., 1996) (noting that “closeted gay women
and men may experience a painful discrepancy between their public

(Continued on following page)

7

The Homosexual Conduct Law also enables individu-
als and institutions to cite the fact that “homosexual
conduct” is illegal in order to rationalize all manner of
discrimination against gay and lesbian Texans. Because
some forms of sexual expression by gays and lesbians are
illegal, the argument goes, the people who participate in
them are criminals. Employers, bureaucrats, school
administrators, lawmakers, litigants, and others routinely
use such logic to support disadvantaging gays and lesbi-
ans. For example, those who advocate depriving gays and
lesbians of full citizenship have claimed that the Homo-
sexual Conduct Law justifies closing the public library to
gay groups; denying permanent residence to a homosex-
ual immigrant;” depriving gay parents of custody of their
children;” prohibiting gays from fostering or adopting

and private lives,” causing them to feel “they are living a lie,” and
further noting that not coming out can “create considerable strain for
lesbian and gay male couples, who must hide or deny their relationship
to family and friends,” which ultimately “may have a deleterious effect
on psychological adjustment”); S. Cole et al., Elevated Physical Health
Risk Among Gay Men Who Conceal Their Homosexual Identity, 15
HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY “43 (1996) (finding that “those who concealed the
expression of their homosexual identity experienced a significantly
higher incidence of cancer . . . and several infectious diseases”).

" Associated Press, Gay Rights Supporters’ Meeting Site Draws
Protest, DALLAS MORNING News, Jan. 15, 1996, at 8D (describing
protesters’ objection to a gay group’s meeting in the San Antonio public
library because gays “engage in deviant conduct that is illegal under
the state penal code”).

” See, e.g., In re Naturalization of Longstaff, 538 F. Supp. 589, 590-
92 (N.D. Tex. 1982) (rejecting plea of homosexual immigrant because he
had violated the Homosexual Conduct Law and therefore lacked good
moral character), aff’d, 716 F.2d 1439 (5th Cir. 1983).

* Jo Ann Zuniga, Gay Parents Are Fighting Back Against Black-
mail, Court Bias, HOUSTON CHRON., June 27, 1994, at All (reporting
that common tactic of vilifying homosexual parent in custody battle is
“give(n) ... teeth” by § 21.06); cf Jilek v. Chatman, 613 S.W.2d 558
(Tex. Civ. App.—Beaumont 1981, no writ) (relying, in part, on evidence

(Continued on following page)

children;” banning gay and lesbian student groups on
college campuses;” opposing protection of gays and lesbi-
ans from discrimination in employment;” and denying gay
and lesbian Texans protection under proposed hate crime
legislation.”

Indeed, such laws routinely are used in civil litigation
— particularly in the areas of family law and public em-
ployment law — to disadvantage gay people who have
never even been charged, let alone convicted of any

of father’s admitted bisexuality and history of same-sex relationships to
uphold order transferring custody from father to mother).

" Polly R. Hughes, Bill Would Ban Gay Texans From Adopting
Children, HousTON CHRON., Dec. 11, 1998, at A38 (noting that the
sponsor of a bill to prohibit gays from fostering or adopting children in
state custody relied on Homosexual] Conduct Law); see also Mike Ward,
Gay Groups Urge Veto of Penal Code With Sodomy Law, AUSTIN AM.
STATESMAN, May 29, 1993, at B10 (reporting that conservative groups
had favored retention of the sodomy ban in the revised penal code
because the law serves as a basis for denying gay and lesbian couples
the right to adopt).

* Bruce Tomaso, Stephen K Austin Senate Bans Gay Group,
DALLAS MORNING NEws, Nov. 2, 1994, at 1A (quoting student leader
who said that student government voted to ban gay student group
because “(w]e felt they're in contradiction to Texas state law”); see also
Gay Student Servs. v. Texas A&M Univ., 737 F.2d 1317, 1320 n.4 (5th
Cir. 1984) (quoting university administrator's argument that “it would
be most inappropriate for a state institution officially to support a (gay)
student organization which is likely to incite, promote and result in acts
contrary to and in violation of the Penal Code of the State of Texas”).

* Ginger D. Richardson, Gay Rights Effort Likely to Be Tabled, FT.
WorTH STAR-TELEGRAM, Jan. 19, 1999, at 1 (reporting that city council
member killed a measure to add gays and lesbians to Fort Worth
antidiscrimination ordinance because it would be at odds with Homo-
sexual Conduct Law).

* Stephanie E. Griest, Hate Crimes Act Named for Byrd Heads for
House, AUSTIN AM. STATESMAN, Mar. 12, 1999, at B10 (quoting state

lawmaker who opposed extending protections to gays and lesbians
because “the act of homosexuals is illegal” (sic)).

crime.” In the area of family law, the presumption that a
gay parent is violating a state sodomy law motivates the
outcome in many custody decisions.” See, e.g., Ex parte
D.W.W., 717 So. 2d 793, 796 (Ala. 1998) (upholding restric-
tions on lesbian mother’s visitation rights, reasoning in
part that “the conduct inherent in lesbianism is illegal in
Alabama” and that the mother’s “[e]xposing her children
to such a lifestyle, one that is illegal under the laws of this
state and immoral in the eyes of most of its citizens, could
greatly traumatize them”); Bottoms v. Bottoms, 457 S.W.2d
102, 108 (Va. 1995) (noting that, although “a lesbian
mother is not per se an unfit parent,” “[clonduct inherent
in lesbianism is punishable as a Class 6 felony in the
Commonwealth ... ; thus, that conduct is another impor-
tant consideration in determining custody”). Similarly,
sodomy statutes have been used as a basis for denying
public employment to homosexuals.” See, e.g., Childers v.
Dallas Police Dep’t, 513 F. Supp. 134, 142-43 n.13 (N.D.
Tex. 1981) (“The- overriding reason that the Plaintiff was
not hired [as a storekeeper for the property storeroom of
the Dallas Police Department] was because he admitted to
engaging in homosexual conduct prohibited by Texas penal
statutes.”). Thus the mere presence in a state’s criminal
code of a statute like the Homosexual Conduct Law is
enough to stigmatize gay and lesbian citizens.”

* See Diana Hassel, The Use of Criminal Sodomy Laws in Civil
Litigation, 79 Tex. L. REV. 813, 813-14 (2001).

* See generally id: at 822, 831-36.

” See generally id. at 836.

* The stigmatization that follows from criminalizing sex acts
between same-sex partners should not be underestimated. In Texas,
merely saying that another is homosexual is slanderous per se because
of the implication that he or she has violated the Homosexual Conduct
Law. Head v. Newton, 596 S.W.2d 209, 210 (Tex. Civ. App.—Houston
[14th Dist.) 1980, no writ); see also Plumley v. Landmark Chevrolet, 122
F.3d 308, 310 (5th Cir. 1997) (same).

10 .

By stigmatizing gays and lesbians as “outlaws,” the
Homosexual Conduct Law and its counterparts in other
states also contribute to an atmosphere of hatred and
violence that puts gay men and lesbians at risk. As one
scholar has observed, “the relationship between homosex-
ual sodomy laws and homophobic violence is not merely
coincident, but coordinate: the criminalization of homo-
sexual sodomy and criminal attacks on gay men and
lesbians work in tandem.”” In Texas, for example, gays
and lesbians are among the most frequent victims of bias-
motivated crimes, including rape, robbery, murder, as-
sault, intimidation, and vandalism.” Gay and lesbian
youth, in particular, routinely are tormented with epi-
thets, bullied, and even attacked by their peers,” often
with severe consequences for their physical and mental
health.” Sodomy laws facilitate such violence by providing
a means for its perpetrators to “rationalize their violence

” Gregory Herek, The Context of Anti-Gay Violence: Notes on
Cultural and Psychological Heterosexism, 5 J. INTERPERS. VIOLENCE 316
(1990).

* According to recent hate crime statistics, only blacks were more
often the victims of hate crimes. Texas Dept. of Public Safety, Crime in
Texas (1997); see also Griest, supra note 24, at B10 (recounting personal
stories of sister of a gay man who had been shot three times and set on
fire; prominent lesbian whose neighbor threatened to kill her; minister
who found a rainbow flag burning on church lawn).

" For example, one recent study concluded that gay, lesbian, and
bisexual teens report “significantly greater exposure to violence” than
their peers, are three times as likely to miss school because they feel
unsafe, and are twice as likely to have been injured or threatened with
a weapon at school. Anne H. Faulkner & Kevin Cranston, Correlates of
Same-Sex Sexual Behavior in a Random Sample of High School
Students, 88 AM. J. Pus. HEALTH 262, 263-64 (1998).

“ D’Augelli, supra note 13, at 189-91; Gary Remafedi, The
Relationship Between Suicide Risk and Sexual Orientation: Results of a
Population-Based Study, 88 AM. J. PUB. HEALTH 57 (1998) (concluding
that homosexual and bisexual teenagers are at greater risk of suicide
than other teens).

11

as vigilante enforcement of sodomy laws.”” Such laws
further promote anti-gay violence by deterring homosexual
victims of bias-motivated crimes from reporting those
crimes to the police; “[tJhis underreporting, and the conse-
quent lower risk of arrest, encourages attacks against gay
citizens.”™
The link between the existence of sodomy laws on the
books and the psychological and social harms described
above is not merely speculative. Findings from recent
empirical research show that laws like the Homosexual
Conduct Law do, in fact, cause serious psychological and
social harm to individuals, groups, and social institutions,
even if unenforced.” One empirical study found that an
“unenforced” sodomy law:
¢ “bolstered [gays’ and lesbians’) parents’ fear
and hostility towards homosexuality”;
* supported “hostility and threats posed by in-
dividuals outside the family”;”
¢ “fractured” the “relationship many people
have to the law and to the police force in gen-
eral,” causing lesbians and gays to not “rely on

* Leslie, supra note 5, at 124 (“Many anti-gay attackers perceive
themselves as performing legitimate law enforcement by bashing gay
people who elude prosecution under state sodomy laws.”).

“ Id. at 125.

* Goodman, supra note 5. Goodman’s empirical study is an
ethnographic study that compared groups of South African gays and
lesbians before and after the repeal of South Africa’s sodomy laws. Id.
at 647-48. South Africa was chosen because it gave an opportunity for
an examination of “the social effects of sodomy laws ... in a legal
regime in which sodomy laws existed under similar conditions as they
do in the United States.” Jd. at 647. “[Llike their American counter-
parts, (the South African sodomy laws) were generally not enforced.” Jd.
at 679.

* Id. at 692.
” Id. at 694.

—=—__—.

12

the police for problems that arise in situations
_ tangentially related to their sexual iden-
tity;” |

* caused “an internal schism within those les-

bian and gay individuals who wish to view
themselves as law-abiding members of soci-
ety;”” and

¢ played “a significant role in strengthening

anti-gay ideologies in other institutions of cul-
tural authority.”

Overturning § 21.06 and similar statutes is essential
not only to removing the barriers to full citizenship for gay
men and lesbians, but also to changing the environment of
hatred and bigotry that leads to violence. This Court
should reject any suggestion, therefore, that the Petition-
ers’ constitutional challenge is somehow trivial. The direct
and indirect harms that laws like the Homosexual Con-
duct Law cause to gay and lesbian Americans are
immeasurable.

Il. The Homosexual Conduct Law and other laws
like it simply cannot be justified by appeals
to “morality.”

Section 21.06, with its discriminatory bias against
same-sex intimacy, finds no support in “traditional”
notions of morality. To the contrary, it is only relatively
recently that such acts have been proscribed solely be-
tween people of the same sex.” Before the concept of a

* Id. at 708, 732.
* Id. at 732.
” Id. at 663.

“ Nan D. Hunter, Life After Hardwick, 27 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. REv.
531, 539 (1992) (tracing historical evolution of the term “sodomy” -
from a catchall description of all non-procreative sex to the modern

(Continued on following page)

13

unique “homosexual identity” gained currency in late
nineteenth- and early twentieth-century American cul-
ture,” “sexual touchings between men were determined to
be licit or illicit according to criteria that applied equally
to heterosexual practices. ... Although illicit sexual acts
were seen as sinful, immoral, criminal, or all three, before
the 1870s illicit sexual acts be\.ween men were not seen as
fundamentally different from, or necessarily worse than,
illicit acts between a man and a woman.””

Even today, of the thirteen states that outlaw sodomy,
nine apply their sodomy bans to both gay and non-gay
people alike.“ Only four states, including Texas, punish

usage as a synonym for anal intercourse, particularly between two men
~ and documenting the attendant shifts in American law).

“ Scholars have observed that, although same-sex relationships
have been documented throughout history, the concept of homosexuality
(or, for that matter, heterosexuality) as a defining characteristic of one’s
identity is relatively recent. Comparing modern Western notions of
sexual identity to those of antiquity, for example, one scholar reports:
“(TJhe currently fashionable distinction betweer homosexuality and
heterosexuality (and similarly between ‘homosexuals’ and ‘heterosexu-
als’ as individual types) had no meaning for the classical Athenians:
there were not, so far as they knew, two different kinds of ‘sexual-
ity’... .” David M. Halperin, Js There a History of Sexuality?, reprinted
in LESBIAN AND Gay STUDIES READER (Henry Abelove et al., eds., 1993).
Making a similar point about American history, another scholar notes
that “colonial society lacked even the category of homosexual or lesbian
to describe a person,” though colonial court records refer to incidents of
sexual acts between two women or two men. John D’Emillio, Capitalism
and Gay Identity, in LESBIANS, GAY MEN, AND THE Law 26, 28 (William
Rubenstein ed., 1993). It was only in the 1920s and 1930s that Ameri-
can scientific literature began describing homosexuality “as a condition,
something that was inherent in a person, a part of his or her ‘nature.’”
Id. at 29.

“ Anne B. Goldstein, History, Homosexuality, and Political Va. ues:
Searching for the Hidden Determinants of Bowers v. Hardwick, 97 YA."
L.J. 1073, 1088 (1988).

“ See ALA. CODE § 13A-6-65 (1994); FLA. Stat. ANN. § 800.02
(1992); IDAHO Cope § 18-6605 (1997); La. Rev. STAT. ANN. § 14:89

(Continued on following page)

14

solely same-sex conduct,“ and Texas’s ban on “homosexual
conduct” is only 28 years old.

The legislative history of Texas’s Homosexual Conduct
Law demonstrates just how recently discrimination
against gay people has surfaced in American law. The first
Texas sodomy statute, enacted in 1860, was interpreted to
prohibit bestiality and anal sex, whether committed by
husband and wife, unmarried heterosexuals, or homo-
sexuals. See Baker v. Wade, 553 F. Supp. 1121, 1148 (N.D.
Tex. 1982) (citing Tex. Pen. Code art. 342 (1860)), aff'd on
other grounds, 743 F.2d 236 (5th Cir. 1984), rev'd, 769 F.2d
289 (5th Cir. 1985); Pruett v. Texas, 463 S.W.2d 191 (Tex.
Crim. App. 1970). In 1943, the statute was amended to
prohibit all oral and anal sex. Tex. Pen. Code art. 524
(1943). It was not until 1974 that the Texas Legislature
repealed the general prohibition on sodomy. That year the
Legislature enacted the Homosexual Conduct Law, for the
first time criminalizing consensual relations only between
people of the same sex. Jd. § 21.06 (Vernon’s 1999). The
common misconception that gays and lesbians have
“always” been singled out and their sexual relations
criminalized is belied by the facts.

Defenders of these modern-day same-sex sodomy
statutes often resort to the position (as the State of Texas
did below) that homosexuality is malum in se, inherently
wicked or evil by its very nature.“ But the outdated
stereotype of gays and lesbians as perverted and morally
corrupt has long been discredited. Modern research

(1986); Miss. CopE ANN. § 97-29-59 (1973); N.C. Gew Star. § 14-177
(1993); S.C. CopE ANN. § 16-15-120 (1998); UTAH CopE ANN. § 76-5-403
(1995); Va. Cope ANN. § 18.2-361 (1996). .

“ Kan. Crm. Cope ANN. §§ 21-3501(2), 21-3505 (1995); Mo. ANN.
Stat. §§ 566.010, 566.090 (1999); OxLa. Star. ANN. tit. 21, § 886 (1999).

“ BLAck’s Law DicTIONARY (6th ed. 1990).

15

demonstrates not only that homosexuality is “normal” (i.e.,
a natural orientation for some people), but also that gays
and lesbians are productive, well-adjusted citizens.
Substantial scientific and psychologica! research has
shown that homosexuality is not an “abnormal” condi-
tion.“ Because of these studies, the American Psychiatric
Association removed homosexuality as a mental illness
from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental
Disorders in 1973.“ Subsequent research has confirmed
that gays and lesbians show no more psychopathology
than heterosexuals.” “Indeed, virtually all systemic study

“ Recent studies have confirmed that the number of gay men and
women is between two and ten percent of the general population. See,
e.g., Stuart Michaels, The Prevalence of Homosexuality in the United
States, in TEXTBOOK OF HOMOSEXUALITY AND MENTAL HEALTH, 55-56
(Robert P. Cabaj & Terry S. Stein eds., 1996).

“ For example, as early as 1957, one landmark study concluded
that homosexuality is “within the normal range, psychologically.”
Evelyn Hooker, The Adjustment of the Male Overt Homosexual, 21 J.
PROJECTIVE TECH. 18, 30 (1957); see also Robert B. Dean & Harold
Richardson, Analysis of MMPI Profiles of Forty College-Educated Overt
Male Homosexuals, 28(6) J. CONSULTING PSYCHOL. 483, 485 (1964)
(finding no significant difference between functioning heterosexuals
and homosexuals); Marcel T. Saghir et al., Textbook of Homosexuality:
III. Psychiatric Disorders and Disability in the Male Homosexual,
126(8) AM. J. PSYCHOL. 1079, 1086 (1970) (study of 35 unmarried
heterosexual men and 89 gay males finds “an absence of striking
differences”).

“ AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC ASS’ N, DIAGNOSTIC AND STATISTICAL
MANUAL OF MENTAL DISORDERS (1973) (“DSM-II”). The World Health
Organization followed suit in its International Classification of
Diseases, dropping the term homosexuality as a diagnosis in 1992. See
Michael King & Annie Bartlett, British Psychiatry and Homosexuality,
175 BRITISH J. OF PSYCHIATRY 106, 106 (1999).

” Gregory M. Herek, Myths about Sexual Orientation: A Lawyer's
Guide to Social Science Research, 1 LAW & SEXUALITY 133, 142 (1991)
(review of dozens of studies shows no relationship between gay or
lesbian sexual orientation and psychopathology); James Krajeski,
Homosexuality and the Mental Health Professions: A Contemporary
History, in TEXTBOOK OF HOMOSEXUALITY AND MENTAL HEALTH, supra

(Continued on following page)

16

has shown sexual orientation to be independent of
psychopathology.””

Nor is there any scientific reason to view the sexual
practices of gay and lesbian couples as anything other
than healthy and normal.” The sexual conduct of gays and
lesbians is comparable to that of heterosexuals. The sexual
activity that is the subject of the Homosexual Conduct
Law is widely practiced by heterosexuals as well as homo-
sexuals. Approximately 75% of both heterosexual men and
heterosexual women have engaged in oral sex. Twenty-five
percent of heterosexual men and 20% of heterosexual
women have experienced anal intercourse.” Despite the
widespread incidence of this conduct, it is illegal only if
engaged in by people of the same sex.

Scientists and social workers also have focused on the
ability of gay men and lesbians to function in society.
Research repeatedly has shown that gay and lesbian
parents have the same quality of parenting skills as
heterosexual parents and that children raised by gay and

note 47, at 20 (finding that, beginning in the 1960s, many studies that
used standardized psychological instruments began to provide a “firm
research basis for the finding that homosexuality does not equate with
psychopathology”).

“ BERTRAM J. COHLER & ROBERT M. GALATZER-LEVY, THE COURSE
OF GAY AND LESBIAN LIVES: SOCIAL AND PSYCHOANALYTIC PERSPECTIVE
294 (2000).

“ For example, the transmission of disease, particularly HIV, is not
peculiar to same-sex intercourse. See, e.g., Gryczan v. Montana, 942
P.2d 112, 124 (Mont. 1997) (noting that “heterosexual contact is now the
leading mode of HIV transmission in this country”); Kentucky v.
Wasson, 842 S.W.2d 487, 501 (Ky. 1992) (rejecting HIV transmission as
justification for Kentucky's “sodomy” law because there was no
distinction “between male-male and male-female anal intercourse as a
method of preventing AIDS”).

“ LAUMANN ET AL., supra note 10 at 318-19 (national survey of
sexual practices published by the University of Chicago).

17

lesbian parents are as well-adjusted as children raised by
heterosexual parents.” “As with heterosexual parents, the
ability of gay and lesbian parents to foster the healthy
development of their children appears to be more related
to unique family dynamics and other contextual factors
and less tied to parents’ sexual orientation than society
would have us believe.”” Contrary to prevalent myths and
stereotypes, moreover, gay men and women are no more
likely than heterosexuals to commit child sexual abuse.
For example, in a study of 269 children seen for sexual
abuse, researchers found that only one adult offender
could be identified as a lesbian and that only one offender
could be identified as a gay man. In contrast, 77% of abuse
against girls and 74% of abuse against boys was commit-
ted by the adult male heterosexual partner of a female
family member.” Same-sex sodomy statutes cannot be

“ See Bonnie M. Mucklow & Gladys K. Phelan, Lesbian and
Traditional Mothers’ Responses to Adult Response to Child Behavior
and Self Concept, 44 PSYCHOL. REP. 880 (1979) (finding no differences
between lesbian and heterosexual mothers in self-concept, maternal
attitudes, or responses to slides of children’s behaviors); Charlotte J.
Patterson, Children of Lesbian and Gay Parents, 63 CHILD DEV. 1025,
1036 (1992) (review of 30 studies showed “no evidence to suggest that
psychosocial development among children of gay men or lesbians is
compromised in any respect relative to that among offspring of hetero-
sexual parents”); Charlotte J. Patterson & Raymond W. Chan, Gay
Fathers and Their Children, in TEXTBOOK OF HOMOSEXUALITY AND
MENTAL HEALTH, supra note 47, at 383 (available data suggest that five
to ten percent of children of gay fathers, about the same percentage as
those raised by heterosexuals, grow up to be gay or bisexual).

“ Jorge C. Armesto, Developmental and Contextual Factors That
Influence Gay Fathers’ Parental Competence: A Review of the Literature,
3 PSYCHOL. OF MEN AND MASCULINITY 67 (2002) (citations omitted)
(explaining further that “children of gay and lesbian parents do not
appear to differ from children of heterosexual parents in terms of
gender identity development, sex role behavior, sexual orientation,
mental! health, self-concept, or intelligence”).

“ Carole Jenny et al., Are Children at Risk for Sexual Abuse by
Homosexuals?, 94 PEDIATRICS 41, 41-42 (July 1994); see also Edward P.

(Continued on following page)

18

justified with the argument that discrimination against
homosexuals or proscriptions on consensual, same-sex
sexual activity are necessary for the welfare of society.”

Lesbians and gay men are a diverse and capable
group of people. “[T]he gay male and lesbian community is
diverse and multiethnic and differs by gender, socioeco-
nomic status, and few generalizations apply across cul-
tural borders.... Research on mental health has
documented that as individuals, couples, and a social
community, gay men and lesbians do not show lower levels
of adjustment.”™ Far from posing a threat to society,
gay men and lesbians continuously have made unique and
significant contributions.”

Sarafino, An Estimate of Nationwide Incidence of Sexual Offenses
Against Children, 58 CHILD WELFARE 127, 133 (1979) (finding abuse of
boys by peer-oriented homosexual males is “scarce”); A. Nicholas Groth
& H. Jean Birnbaum, Adult Sexual Orientation and Attraction to
Underage Persons, in SEXUAL ABUSE OF CHILDREN: SELECTED READINGS
87, 89 (Barbara McComb Jones et al., eds., 1980) (finding no abuse of
boys by peer-oriented homosexual males; instead, the study found that
offenders either have been sexually attracted exclusively to children
during their lives or are heterosexual males frustrated by their
relationships).

" See American Psychiatric Ass’n, Fact Sheet: Gay and Lesbian
Issues (1996) (calling for nondiscrimination on the basis of sexual
orientation); American Psychol. Ass’n, Resolution of the American
Psychological Association Council of Representatives (1975), (same); Lesbian and Gay
Issues, 38(3) NASW News (National Ass’n of Social Workers), Mar.
1993, at 15 (“NASW will support the repeal of all laws against any form
of consensual adult sexual activity.”); American Ass’n of Sex Educators,
Counselors, and Therapists, Code of Ethics (1993), (calling for nondiscrimination on the basis of
sexual orientation).

“ Linda Garnets & Douglas Kimmel, Lesbian and Gay Male
Dimensions, in PSYCHOLOGICAL PERSPECTIVES ON HUMAN DIVERSITY IN
AMERICA 143, 174-75 (Jacqueline D. Goodchilds, ed., 1991).

” See, e.g., T. COWAN, GAY MEN AND WOMEN WHO ENRICHED THE
WORLD (1988) (discussing achievements of various individuals believed

(Continued on following page)

19 -

As the Kentucky Supreme Court held when striking
down Kentucky's ban on consensual sexual relations
between same-sex partners:

In the final analysis we can attribute no legisla-

tive purpose to this statute except to single out

homosexuals for different treatment for indulg-

ing their sexual preference by engaging in the

same activity heterosexuals are now at liberty to

perform.... We need not sympathize, agree
with, or even understand the sexual preference of

homosexuals in order to recognize their right to
equal treatment before the bar of criminal jus-

tice.

Kentucky v. Wasson, 842 S.W.2d 487, 501 (Ky. 1992). Same-
sex sodomy laws cannot be squared with the Constitution’s
requirement that all citizens receive equal treatment
under the law. This Court should grant the writ of certio-
rari and address the important constitutional issues raised
by these laws and the burdens they impose on gay and
lesbian Americans.

to be gay, lesbian, or bisexual, including authors, mathematicians,
politicians, economists, scientists, and artists).

20

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the petition for writ of

certiorari should be granted.

CLAIRE SWIFT KUGLER
EDWARDS & GEORGE, L.L.P.
5847 San Felipe

Suite 2375

Houston, TX 77057

(713) 339-3233

Dated: August 19, 2002

Respectfully submitted,

STEPHEN G. TIPPS
Counsel of Record

REBECCA L. ROBERTSON

ROGER DONLEY

Scott F. WENDORF

BAKER BOTTS L.L.P.

One Shell Plaza

910 Louisiana

Houston, TX 77002

(713) 229-1234

(713) 229-1522 (facsimile)

Counsel for Amici Curiae

App. 1
APPENDIX

The Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston
(“Stonewall Lawyers”) is a non-profit bar association
founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting human
rights and, in particular, the rights of gay, lesbian, bisex-
ual, and transgender citizens of Texas. Its members
include attorneys, law professors, law students, and local
lawmakers. Many of the organization’s members have
been in the position of defending a gay or lesbian client’s
rights — in the workplace, at school, as parents — against
an assault justified on the grounds that “homosexual
conduct” is criminal in Texas.

Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays
of Houston, Texas (“P-FLAG”) is the local chapter of an
international, grassroots organization founded by parents
of gays and lesbians to support, educate, and advocate for
the families and friends of gays and lesbians, as well as for
gays and lesbians themselves. P-FLAG actively promotes
the health and well-being of gays and lesbians and their
families and friends through monthly meetings, public
awareness campaigns, speaker panels for educational and
corporate institutions, scholarships to deserving high
school seniors and college students, lobbying and testifying
at legislative hearings, and individual support via a
telephone hotline and the Internet. P-FLAG parents
regularly suffer with their children the harms that come
from discrimination based on their son’s or daughter's
sexual orientation, including harassment, violent crimes, -
vandalism, threats, and loss of employment. The mere
existence of same-sex sodomy statutes (no matter how
rarely enforced) exacerbates these problems, as the stat-
utes often are used to rationalize and excuse such dis-

The mission of the Texas Human Rights Foundation
(the “Foundation”) is to end discrimination against les-
bian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered persons, and
persons with HIV and AIDS, through public education,

App. 2

high impact litigation, and legal assistance. The Founda-
tion sponsors a hotline for Texans who have questions
about their rights or need legal help because of discrimina-
tion, and it publishes a widely distributed resource book-
let, AIDS & the Law, in both English and Spanish. As part
of its litigation strategy, the Foundation funded two earlier
legal challenges to Texas’s same-sex sodomy statute. The
Foundation believes that Petitioners’ case presents this
Court with an important opportunity finally to resolve
whether same-sex sodomy statutes are unconstitutional.

The Lesbian/Gay Rights Lobby of Texas (“LGRL”)
works toward the elimination of social, legal, and economic
discrimination based on sexual orientation through lobby-
ing, education and research directed toward the Texas
Legislature and other state governmental agencies. LGRL
has advocated for the rights of gay and lesbian Texans on
issues such as discrimination in the workplace and in
public schools and colleges, hate crime legislation, and
increased protections and services for people living with
HIV. During the 2001 legislative session, LGRL once again
lobbied for the repeal of Texas’s Homosexual Conduct Law.
Due in part to LGRL’s efforts, the bill to repeal § 21.06 was
voted out of the House Criminal Justice Committee, but it
was not brought to a vote before the legislative session
adjourned. The Texas Legislature does not reconvene until
2003.

Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders (“GLAD”) is a
public interest law firm founded in 1978. GLAD’s mission
is to secure and advocate for the legal rights and interests
of lesbians, gay men, and bisexuals, and it does so through
litigation and public education in the six New England
states. GLAD has considerable legal expertise in the area
of civil rights and civil liberties for gay men, lesbians, and
bisexuals. Throughout its nearly 25-year history, GLAD
has represented individuals who have been charged with
violating laws regulating intimate conduct in several
states. GLAD challenged the Massachusetts sodomy law

App. 3

in GLAD v. Reilly, 436 Mass. 132 (2002) as well as the
Rhode Island law, State v. Lopes, 660 A.2d 707 (R.I. 1995).
GLAD believes these laws impose a stigma on gay people
and that persons charged under these laws face a serious
risk of harm to their physical safety as well as to their
professional livelihood if they are publicly identified.

Since 1977 the National Center for Lesbian Rights
(“NCLR”) has advocated for fairness and equality for
lesbians under the law. NCLR’s legal advocacy extends to
gay men, bisexual and transgendered individuals as well,
primarily in the areas of family security and protection,
elder law, rights of youth and fair immigration policy.
NCLR has witnessed first-hand the ravages of “homosex-
ual conduct” laws on the fair and objective application of
the law to lesbians and gay men in this country. From
child custody cases to employment or protection of youth
from harassment, such laws are deployed to deny lesbians
and gay men equal treatment under the law.

The Human Rights Campaign (“HRC”) is America’s
largest gay and lesbian organization, with over 450,000
members nationwide. HRC lobbies lawmakers for fairer
laws, educates the public through information initiatives,
helps define the national debate on public policies impor-
tant to gay and lesbian Americans, and through its bipar-
tisan PAC, works to elect fair-minded candidates to public
office. HRC is dedicated to ensuring that gay, lesbian,
bisexual and transgender Americans can be open, honest
and safe at home, at work, and in the community.

PETITIONER’S
BRIEF ©

No. 02-102 JAN 16 2003

7 OFFIC & OF THE @LERX.
IN THE recat eta a sss. atte ie

Supreme Court of the United States

JOHN GEDDES LAWRENCE AND TYRON GARNER,

Petitioners,
Vv.
STATE OF TEXAS,
Respondent.
On Writ of Certiorari to the
Court of Appeals of Texas
Fourteenth District
BRIEF OF PETITIONERS
PAUL M. SMITH RUTH E. HARLOW
WILLIAM M. HOHENGARTEN Counsel of Record
DANIEL MACH PATRICIA M. LOGUE
SHARON M. MCGOWAN SUSAN L. SOMMER
JENNER & BLOCK, LLC LAMBDA LEGAL DEFENSE
601 13th Street, N.W. AND EDUCATION FUND, INC.
Washington, DC 20005 120 Wall Street, Suite 1500
(202) 639-6000 New York, NY 10005

MITCHELL KATINE (212) 809-8585

WILLIAMS, BIRNBERG &
ANDERSEN, L.L.P.
6671 Southwest Freeway,
Suite 303
Houston, TX 77074
(713) 981-9595
Counsel for Petitioners

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

5 4)
\4 ~
” +!

é hap rl

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether Petitioners’ criminal convictions under the Texas
“Homosexual Conduct” law - which criminalizes adult,
consensual same-sex intimate behavior, but not identical
behavior by different-sex couples - violate the Fourteenth
Amendment right to equal protection of the laws?

Whether Petitioners’ criminal convictions for adult consensual
sexual intimacy in the home violate their vital interests in
liberty and privacy protected by the Due Process Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment?

Whether Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986), should be
overruled?

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ......cccccccccccccccscccss i
ED «cs cbedesisedvcvececscesceseees ii
TAB OF AUTIROIEEED oc ccccccccccccccccccccccess V
OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW ................... l
ET dicetceuechedhdevedereseodouceesecess |

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS .. 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 22... ccc ccccccccccccccees 2
A. Petitioners’ Arrests, Convictions,

PGES cevesccccccccceseccvccccccees 2

B. The Homosexual Conduct Law ............. 4

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ......................55. 8

TT hits dinbenesoasée senencedseeéeoeecnses 10

I. Section 21.06 Violates Constitutional Rights
to Liberty and Privacy Possessed by All
PE vccccececcccecccecceccccceccescscoees 10

A. American Adults Have Fundamental Liberty
and Privacy Interests in Making Their Own
Choices About Private, Consensual Sexual
DE hed dadacdunenseseductobsseseces 11

TABLE OF CONTENTS - continued
Page

1. Well-Established Protections for
Intimate Relationships, Bodily
Integrity, and the Privacy of the
Home Converge in This Vital
PRMD occccccccccecescccecesess 11

2. There Is No Constitutional Exception
to Liberty for Gay and Lesbian
GCHRREED oc cccccccccccscoscecsccese 16

Ww

Objective Considerations Support
Recognition of Fundamental Interests
FERED oc ccccccccccccccccesccccoocces 19

Texas Cannot Justify Section 21.06’s Criminal
Prohibition of Petitioners’ and Other Adults’

Private Sexual Intimacy ...........-.--055: 25
Bowers Should Not Block Recognition and
Enforcement of These Fundamental

, PPPPPPPRTETELTTITTLI LILLE ELE 29

II. Section 21.06 Discriminates Without Any Legitimate
and Rational Basis, Contrary to the Guarantee of
Equal Protection ....... 6... ..0eeeee reese eenees 32

A.

Section 21.06’s Classification Is Not

Rationally Related to Any Legitimate Purpose
and Serves Only the Illegitimate Purpose of
Disadvantaging One Group ..........-+--- 34

CONCLUSION

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS - continued

Page
The Broader Realities Reinforce This Law’s
Affront to Core Principles of Equal
ua theo at 40

1. The Homosexual Conduct Law Brands
Gay Persons As Second-Class Citizens
and Licenses Wide-Ranging
Discrimination Against Them ....... 41

2. The Homosexual Conduct Law Reflects
and Helps Fuel a Continuing History of
Discrimination Against Gay
PY 680s ctdulnedeccentauccs 45

Equal Protection Concerns Are Particularly
Strong Here Because of the Personal Burdens
Imposed by This Criminal Law

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Adams v. State, 86 S.W. 334 (Tex. Crim. App.

BOG onc ccccccccccccccccccccccccccsescsccscccces 5
Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 US.

200 (1995)... cece cece c cee cceecceeeetereeneees 30
Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203 (1997) .......- 0.0055: 29
Atkins v. Virginia, 122 S. Ct. 2242 (2002) ......---+.+> 24
Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 532 U.S. 318

(QOOT) cece cece cece cece eee eeeecseeneeeeeeeees 27
BE&K Construction Co. v. NLRB, 122 S. Ct. 2390

(2002)... cece cc cccccccccccccceccuccscesscceees 27
Baker v. Wade, 769 F.2d 289 (Sth Cir. 1985) ...........-- 7
Baker v. Wade, 553 F. Supp. 1121 (N.D. Tex.

1982), rev'd, 769 F.2d 289 (Sth Cir. 1985) ........ 5, 7,44
Board of Directors of Rotary International v.

Rotary Club of Duarte, 481 U.S. 537 (1987) ........-.- 12
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) .....-..... 11

Board of Trustees of the University of Alabama

v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356 (2001) ..... 2... eee eee 34, 39, 40
Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971) .........+++: 49
Bottoms v. Bottoms, 457 S.E.2d 102 (Va. 1995) .........- 42
Boutilier v. INS, 387 U.S. 118 (1967) ...... 6... eee e ees 46
Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986) ........-. passim

Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483
(BOBO) on ccccccccccccccccccccccsecscsesccces 30, 32

ee eee

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

| Page
Burdine v. Johnson, 66 F. Supp. 2d 854 (S.D.

Tex. 1999), aff'd, 262 F.3d 336 (5th Cir. 2001),

cert. denied, 122 S. Ct. 2347 (2002) .... 0.00... oe, 44
C.M. v. State, 680 S.W.2d 53 (Tex. App. 1984) .......... 5

Campbell v. Sundquist, 926 S.W.2d 250 (Tenn.
STR aarp 22, 23, 24

Carey v. Population Services International,

Se UE Ses ecsudedédecavesceccectcsces 10
Childers v. Dallas Police Department, 513 F.

Supp. 134 (N.D. Tex. 1981), aff'd, 669 F.2d

PEED CS Ob snntsedeccoveccucsécescescce 44
City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, Inc.,

SED osackencessscosese 10, 34, 37, 39, 40
City of Dallas v. England, 846 S.W.2d 957 (Tex.

PUP EEE G6. neKdenseuececvceccccceseucuisccces 7,44
Commonwealth v. Bonadio, 415 A.2d 47 (Pa. 1980) ...... 24
Commonwealth v. Wasson, 842 S.W.2d 487

Se ES HeNeednddneedekéescaceecuces 22, 23, 33, 35
County of Sacramento v. Lewis, 523 U.S. 833

SEE SUS RGAR Ken NSbNAdadhudebeudevdacccdscceese 19
Cruzan v. Director, Missouri Department of

Health, 497 U.S. 261 (1990) ............ 10, 13, 25, 26, 50
Ex parte D.W.W., 717 So. 2d 793 (Ala. 1998) ........... 42
Dickerson v. United States, 530 U.S. 428 (2000) ......... 30
Doe v. Commonwealth's Attorney for the City

of Richmond, 425 U.S. 901 (1976) .... 2.0.0.0... 00.02. 7

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
Doe v. Ventura, No. MC 01-489, 2001 WL 543734

(Minn. May 15, 2001) ......... cece eee cece ees 23
Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972) ..... 6... 6c eee 32
Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972) .......... 9,12, 41
Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474 (1988) .............565. 14
Gitlow v. New York, 268 U.S. 652 (1925) ...........665. 32
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479

GIUEED ccccccncuccecesscsccnesesececs 9, 10, 12, 14, 20
Gryzcan v. State, 942 P.2d 112 (Mont. 1997) ........ 23, 24
Ex parte H.H., 830 So. 2d 21 (Ala. 2002) .............. 42
Head v. Newton, 596 S.W.2d 209 (Tex. App. 1980) ...... 45
In re ].M., No. SO2A1432, 2003 WL 79330 (Ga. Jan.

TED vv ccccccccuscccescccesccccccessssuscene 23
].P. v. P.W., 772 S.W.2d 786 (Mo. Ct. App. 1989) ....... 43
Jegley v. Picado, 80 S.W.3d 332 (Ark.

PEED cs cvcecoscecnecccecossocesooss 22, 23, 35, 38, 43
Kyllo v. United States, 533 U.S. 27 (2001) .............. 14
Lewis v. State, 35 S.W. 372 (Tex. Crim. App.

BE se oc vcsacccdeccecocncevscctsceseusccesses 5, 21
Lofton v. Kearney, 157 F. Supp. 2d 1372 (S.D.

FE ED weececenccescopetcovonsscesocucccesese 18
In re Longstaff, 538 F. Supp. 589 (N.D. Tex.

1982), aff'd, 716 F.2d 1439 (Sth Cir. 1983) ............ 27

Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) ............55. 20, 24

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
M.L.B. v. S.L.J., 519 U.S, 102 (1996) ... 6... eae, 48, 49
McLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184 (1964) ......... 32, 34
Maher v. Roe, 432 U.S. 464 (1977) 2.0... eee 28
Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1 (1964) . 2... eee 32
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) .......... 10, 20, 29
Michael H. v. Gerald D., 491 U.S. 110 (1989) ........ 18, 20
Michigan Organization for Human Rights v.

Kelley, No. 88-815820 CZ (Mich. Cir. Ct.

Poapee Cami Fay DS, TOGO) ance ccccccccesvcvvens 23
Minnesota v. Olson, 495 US. 91 (1990) .. 2... 6. ee. 14
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) ............... 30
Mississippi University for Women v. Hogan,

SP PEED So chesecectesccccneseseccecces 38
Mitchell v. United States, 526 U.S. 314 (1999) .......... 31
Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494

SUOUD CeSdeeveecedenresusessecceccccccecscecens 10
Munoz v. State, 281 S.W. 857 (Tex. Crim. App.

GREED wecevsdecsdecaneedeneneresuccesescecesccese 5
Nabozny v. Podlesny, 92 F.3d 446 (7th Cir. 1996) ....... 47
New York Transit Authority v. Beazer, 440 U.S.

PED ob eceniesccenecsccenescccssceceeceeses 41
Norton v. Macy, 417 F.2d 1161 (D.C. Cir. 1969) ........ 47
O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975) ........... 37

1X

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
One Eleven Wines & Liquors, Inc. v. Division

of Alcohol Beverage Control, 235 A.2d 12

Re oer rere 46
One, Inc. v. Olesen, 241 F.2d 772 (9th Cir.

1957), rev'd, 355 U.S. 371 (1958) «0... 6. eee eee eens 47
Padula v. Webster, 822 F.2d 97 (D.C. Cir. 1987) .......-. 30
Palmore v. Sidoti, 466 U.S. 429 (1984) .........5555- 37, 38
Paris Adult Theatre | v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49 (1973) .... 12, 13
Payne v. Tennessee, 501 U.S. 808 (1991) ......--- 29, 31, 32
Pierce v. Society of the Sisters of the Holy Names

of Jesus & Mary, 268 U.S. 510 (1925) ....... 10, 16, 20, 28
Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania |

v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833 (1992) ... 6... cece renee passim
Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982) ... 6-66. sere eres: 49, 50
Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) .......--. 14, 15, 26, 28
Post v. State, 715 P.2d 1105 (Okla. Crim. App. ,

19BG) oo. cccccccccccncccccreccsccccseccesersess
Powell v. State, 510 S.E.2d 18 (Ga. 1998) .........-- 23, 24
Prindle v. State, 21 S.W. 360 (Tex. Crim. App. :

TODB) cc ccccccccccccccecsecscccccseecccseeeess
Railway Express Agency v. New York, 336 U.S. =

106 (1949) 00... cece cece eee eee eee eee nen e ees
Rinaldi v. Yeager, 384 U.S. 305 (1966) ...-..- 6+. see ees 34
Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609

(19B4) ccc cece eee eee eee erence nena ences 12, 13

——_—_ — — a

—

xX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973)... 0.000.000... 10, 20, 28
Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996) .............. passim

San Antonio Independent School District v.
Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973) .... 0.0... eee cece eee 49

Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44 (1996) ... 29

Shahar v. Bowers, 114 F.3d 1097 (11th Cir. 1997) ....... 42

Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969) ..... 0.0.2.0... 14

State v. Ciuffini, 395 A.2d 914 (NJ. Super. Ct.
GEN Gs ohn due nEEh uted ExeaSeckséackene 24

State v. Cogshell, 997 S.W.2d 534 (Mo. Ct. App. 1999) .... 7

State v. Morales, 826 S.W.2d 201 (Tex. App. 1992),
rev'd on jurisdictional grounds, 869 S.W.2d 941

PM idct na eheuaseunsekenekekidne hdc passim
State v. Morales, 869 S.W.2d 941 (Tex. 1994) ............ 8
State v. Smith, 766 So. 2d 501 (La. 2000) .............. 23
T.B. v. L.R.M., 786 A.2d 913 (Pa. 2001) ............... 18
Thomas v. Bynum, No. 04-02-00036-CV, 2002

WL 31829509 (Tex. App. Dec. 18, 2002) ......... 44, 45
Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57 (2000) —.......... passim
Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987)... 2.0... 20
United States Department of Agriculture v.

Moreno, 413 U.S. 528 (1973) ........... 10, 37, 39, 40, 41
Vance v. Bradley, 440 U.S. 93 (1979) ............... 40, 46
Vasquez v. Hillery, 474 US. 254 (1986) ..............-. 31

xl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Walls v. City of Petersburg, 895 F.2d 188 (4th Cir.
DOOD cv nivcindedsevedsdvecssvesssctecsteseeess 42

Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702 (1997) 13, 19, 20, 26
West Virginia State Board of Education v. Barnette,

SED UG. GOO CHIE on cc cccccccccccccecss 16, 29, 30, 32
Western & Southern Life Insurance Co. v. State
Board of Equalization, 451 U.S. 648 (1981) ............ 34
_ Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357 (1927) ........6055: 37
Williams v. State, No. 98036031 /CL-1059
(Md. Cir. Ct. Balt. City Oct. 15,1998) ............-. 23
STATUTES
, is i S| ererrrrrrrrrrrrrr rrr etre 2
U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 1 .........0 2 eee eee eee 2, 48
Ale. Code § 1SA-S-7laM1) .... cc ccc ccccccccccceces 27
Ale. Codie § ISA-G-GOER) 2... ccc ccccccccccccccccces 6, 27
Ala. Code § 13A-6-65(a)(3) 2.2... 6c eee ee eee es 6
| ff w FePerrrrrrrrerrre Tri rere 22
Rate, Rov. Seat. GS TDBER on cc ccccccccsvcesccccesons 23
Asia. Rev. Stat. § US.1412 2... nccccccccccccccccccess 23
2001 Ariz. Legis. Serv. 382 (West) ............+55. 23, 24
1999 Cal. Legis. Serv. ch. 592 (West) ........-000-0055 31
1971 Colo. Sess. Laws ch.121 ........6 00 e cece eees 43

1991 Conn. Legis. Serv. 91-58 (West) ...........--+55 31

a ak) es

Xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
ie diliue in danceaveceasibel rs 23
EE Ee es oe eA 23
Human Rights Act of 1977, D.C. Laws 2-38........... 31
Ee ee ee ee eee 23
Fla. Stat. Ann. § 775.082(4)(b) .................000., 27
SD SIU ob etd codvudencdccckccncdaus 23
Re ee ee ee 6, 27
EE ee 23
1991 Hawaii Sess. Laws Act2 ...................... 31
I ne ee ee Se rk) 23
I rte inh ha Dn 2 Wh) 6, 27
I eS i aL od 27
Faw We Cota. Bik. SPARS 2... cece cc cccccccccces 23
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-3505 ....................0.. 22, 27
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-3505(a)(1) .........00.0..00000.. 7
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-4502(1)(b) .........00000...0... 27
1969 Kan. Sess. Laws ch. 180 .............. cdabnates 22
Bove ey. BOW, MAND, GOB oo. occ ccc ecccccccecccess 22
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 14:89 ....................... 6, 27
SS FS) eee 27
Se I GIT ov ccccccccccccccncccccsicces 31
Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 272,§18 ...............000000- 23

xill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 277 § 39 ....... 0. cece eee e eens 23
1989 Mass. Legis. Serv. ch. 516 (West) ....---..--5+> 31
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 750.335 .....---6++seeeees 23
Minun. Stat. § 609.34 0.0.0... cece ccc ccc eeceeeeneees 23
1993 Minn. Sess. Law Serv. ch. 22 (West) ............- 31
Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-23 ....... 0. cece eee ee eee 27
Miles. Code Ann. § 97-291 .........sccseceees 2 Jae 23
Miss. Code Ann. § 97-29-59 2.0... cece eee eee 6, 27
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 558.011 (seuenneses sacs vudnnesen 27, 28
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 566.090 ........- esses eee eens 7,22, 27
1977 Mo. Laws sec. 1, § 566.090 .... 0... 6. cee ee eee 22
1973 Mont. Laws ch. 513...........555 vue euunanees de 22
N.C. Gem. Stat. $14-177 ... ccc cccccccccsvccsnss 6, 27
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-184 .......... cece cree eee ceeees 23
ere 27
N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-20-10 .. 2... . ccc ee eee eee 23
1997 N.H. Laws ch. 108 ......... cece cece cece eees 31
2001 N.M. Laws ch. 32 ........cccccecceccesccceees 24
1991 N.J. Sess. Law Serv. ch. 519 (West) ........--+-- 31
WOO] N.Y. Lawe Gn. 2... cccccccccccccccsccveees 31, 47
1977 Nev. Stat. Ch. 598 .. 1. ccc cece ec cecceecceees 22

UL ek NS rrr rrr 23

XIV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
PPA k6.c.ci convkcicacacededetuue 31
Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 201.193 ...................... 23
Soe ee OOD, BR GD ois ivi ovis sc voas cccccecdeccen 7, 27
2002 Okla. Sess. Law Serv. ch 460, § 8 (West) ......... 27
R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-10-1 ...................000005,, 23
1995 R.I. Pub. Laws ch. 95-32 ...............0000005, 31
Se ENE ness Wreiece bu cee ee 23
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-15-60 2.0.00... 0. cc cece cc uee. 23
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-15-80 ............. 0... cece eee. 23
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-15-120 .........0 0... cee, 6, 27
S.C. Code Ann. § 23-3-430 2.0.0.0... cece cece cece, 27
1989 Tenn. Pub. Acts ch. 591 .......0..00...0000005. 22
Tex. Alco. Bev. Code § 11.46(a)(3) ................... 27
ee A! Pee 3
Tex. Occ. Code § 164.051(a)(2)(B) ..............0.00. 27
Tex. Occ. Code § 301.409(a)(1)(B) ...........0..0.... 27
Tex. Occ. Code § 401.453(a) ... 2.00.00. eee eee 27
Ben. Coc. Codie § GGL. ZBMAME) .. wo ccc cc cccccccccss 27
Tex. Occ. Code § 1053.252(2) 0.2.0... cece ccc eae 27
Tem. Coc. Codie § SBG0. BGR 2... ccc ccc cece cccccccece 27
Pe IEEE kcédebicccededetvectclavaucs 6
Wet, Pam, Ce GAR BOD on. cccccccccccccccvecces 2,5

XV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
Tex. Pen. Code § 21.06 .......55: cece eee e eee 2, 3, 6, 33
Tex. Pen. Code § 21.07(a)(2) ..... 6.6 cece eee cerns 6
Tex. Pen. Code § 21.08 .........cc cece eee eee reeeees 6
Tar, Pam, Code Q Zh. 21... ccc ccc ccccccccvecvcveccces 6
Tex. Pen. Code § 22.011(a) ........ 5c cece eee e eee e ene 6
Tex, Pam. Code $40.02 .... nc cc cccccccccccsccecccees 6
Tex. Pen. Code art. 342 (1860) ... 6.2... cece eee ees 5, 21
Tex. Pen. Code arts. 499-504 (1954)... 6... eee res 5
Tex. Transp. Code § 512.022(f) .....-- 0-0 eee ee sees: 27
1943 Tex. Gen. Law Serv. ch. 112,§1 .......-6 5000 5,21
1973 Tex. Gen. Laws ch. 399, § 1 «2.2... 52 eee eens 5, 22
1973 Tex. Gen. Laws ch. 399, §3 ...... 5c eee eens 5,22
1993 Tex. Sess. Law Serv. ch. 900 (Vernon) .......--+>. 5
H.B. 687, 2001 Leg. 77th (R) Sess. (Tex.) ..--.-- 600 sees 5
Austin, Tex., City Code, vol. I, tit. VIL... .-.--...e0s. 31
Dallas, Tex., Mun. Ordinance 24927 (May 8, 2002) ..... 31
Fort Worth, Tex., Code of Ordinances, ch. 17,
cs ccd teheesenedevecoscccoccces 31
Houston, Tex., City Code, ch. 2, tit. ae 31
Utah Code Ann. § 76-3-204(2) .. 0... 6. cece ee ees freee 27
Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-403(1) «0.6... eee 6, 27

——— ae a -

XVi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-10 ........................ 27
Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-344 .......... 0.0000... 23
Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-361 ....................... 27
Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-361(A) ..................... 6
1992 Vt. Acts & Resolves 135 ................... 31
W. Va. Code § 61-8-3 .......000000........... 23
1981 Wis. Laws ch. 112 ..................... 31
MISCELLANEOUS

American Law Inst., Principles of the Law of Family

Dissolution: Analysis and Recommendations § 2.12

0 a 18
American Psychological Ass’n, Minutes of the

Annual Meeting of the Council of Representatives,

30 Am. Psychologist 620 (1975) ................ 16, 17
American Psychiatric Ass'n, Position Statement:

Psychiatric Treatment and Sexual Orientation

(1998), available at http:/ / www.psych.org
/archives/980020.pdf ..................... 46

A. Steven Bryant & Demian, Relationship

Characteristics of American Gay and Lesbian

Couples, 1 J. Gay & Lesbian Soc. Servs. 101

PE AUEREDC0RShee6ecccdédccccécceccccccec 17

John D’Emilio & Estelle B. Freedman, Intimate

Matters: A History of Sexuality in America (1988) ... 21, 45

XVil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
R.A. Dyer, Two Men Charged Under State's Sodomy
Law, Hous. Chron., Nov. 6, 1998, at Al ....-...+++++: 2
Employers That Offer Domestic Partner Health
Benefits, available at http:/ / www.hrc.org/
worknet/dp/index.asp (accessed Jan. 15, 2003) ..... 18
William Eskridge, Channeling: Identity-Based
Social Movements and Public Law, 150 U. Pa. .
4

L. Rev. 419 (2001) ....0 cece eee eee eee teen eee erees

Howard Fischer, Hull OKs Repeal of ‘Archaic’ Sex
Laws, Ariz. Daily Star, May 9, 2001, at Al ....... 24, 25

James A. Garland, The Low Road to Violence:
Governmental Discrimination as a Catalyst for
Pandemic Hate Crime, 10 L. & Sexuality 1 (2001) ...... 46

Anne B. Goldstein, History, Homosexuality, and
Political Values, 97 Yale L.J. 1073 (1988) .......---++:

John C. Gonsiorek & James D. Weinrich, The
Definition and Scope of Sexual Orientation, in
Homosexuality: Research Implications for Public

Policy (J. Gonsiorek & J. Weinrich eds., 1991) ........ 33

Diana Hassel, The Use of Criminal Sodomy Laws

in Civil Litigation, 79 Tex. L. Rev. 813 (2001) ......--.
Hidden From History: Reclaiming the Gay

and Lesbian Past (Martin Duberman, Martha

Vicinus & George Chauncey, Jr. eds., 1990) ......--.
Polly Hughes, Bill Would Ban Gay Texans From

Adopting Children, Hous. Chron., Dec. 11, 1998,

OY. PPPPTTTTTTTT TTT

a P

—_

XViil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Pa
Dianna Hunt, Plan to Ban Anti-Gay Bias in Fort "
Worth Dies, Dallas Morning News, Jan. 20,
SOIDONEID So sentticnenesceucavavecsecécecacs.. 44
Nan D. Hunter, Life After Hardwick, 27 Harv.
C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 531 (1992) 0.0. 42
Kenneth L. Karst, The Freedom of Intimate
Association, 89 Yale L.J. 624 EE atcndenvcucnceces 15
Jonathan N. Katz, Gay/Lesbian Almanac ees 46
Jonathan N. Katz, Gay American History: Lesbians
and Gay Men in the U.S.A. (rev. ed. ere 45, 46, 47
Terry S. Kogan, Legislative Violence Agai
gainst Lesbians
and Gay Men, 1994 Utah L.Rev.209 ............ 42
Lawrence A. Kurdeck, Sexuality in Homosexual
and Heterosexual Couples, in Sexuality in Close
Relationships (K. McKinney & S. Sprecher eds.,
DINED os vcasccscccessesccccscceccccccecccccces, 17
Edward O. Laumann et al., The Social Organization
of Sexuality (1994) .......000 00 33
Arthur S. Leonard, Legislative Notes, 1998 Lesbian/
EP NINIIEE baacubnatuseiesesssoneccss..... 44
Lesbians, Gay Men and the Law (William B.
Rubenstein ed., 1993) ............................ 45
ee ! pm Leslie, Creating Criminals: The
nyunes Inflicted by “Unenforced” Sodomy Laws,
35 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 103 a 17, 48
Model Penal Code and Commentaries a ae 6, 45

xix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

National Ass‘n of Social Workers, Policy Statement
on Lesbian and Gay Issues, reprinted in Nat'l Ass'n
of Social Workers, Social World Speaks: NASW
Policy Statements 162 (3d ed. 1994) ............2205. 17

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, Hate Crime
Laws in the U.S., available at http:/ / www.ngltf.
org/downloads/hatecrimeslawsmap.pdf
(accessed Jan. 14, 2003) .... 2.6... cece cece eees 31

Amit R. Paley, The Secret Court of 1920, Harv.
Crimson, Nov. 21, 2002, available at http:
/ /www.thecrimson.com/article.aspx?ref=
255428 (accessed Jan. 14, 2003) ...... 6. cece 47

People for the American Way Foundation,
Hostile Climate: Report on Anti-Gay Activity
CTD on cccccccccccccccccvccccccesecesesecseses 43

Letitia A. Peplau, Lesbian and Gay Relationships,
in Homosexuality (J. Gonsiorek & J. Weinrich
OD, TIFED occcccccvcccscncccsccccecess sencseess 17

Ellen C. Perrin, Technical Report: Coparent
or Second-Parent Adoption by Same-Sex Parents,

109 Pediatrics 341 (Feb. 2002) ....... 2.6... - eee eeee 18
Richard A. Posner & Katharine B. Silbaugh, A

Guide to America’s Sex Laws (1996) ..........66-555 23
Richard A. Posner, Sex and Reason (1992) .......... 13, 22
Lewis F. Powell, Jr., Stare Decisis and Judicial

Restraint, 1991 J.S. Ct. Hist. 13.2.2... 666.66 e ee eee 29

Resolution of the American Psychiatric Ass'n
(Dec. 15, 1973), 131 Am J. Psychiatry 497 (1974) ..... 16

OPO

XX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Jed Rubenfeld, The Right of Privacy, 102 Hav. L.
TED Stdndubudtinnnksdeddvseecusedcuive 16

William B. Rubenstein et al., Some Demographic
Characteristics of the Gay Community in the United
States (Williams Project, UCLA School of
ed a available at http:/ / www1.law.ucla.
u/~erg/pubs/GD/GayDemographics. pdf
(accessed Jan. 15, 2003) ”
A Vicious Attack on Gay Student, Beaten, Burned
and Left for Dead, N.Y. Newsday, Oct. 10, 1998,
GROUP oe esansavdnsccadncstneccccaccncceese Between 1969 and 1989,
Texas and seven other States legislatively replaced general laws
with laws targeting homosexual couples. See infra at 21-22 &

* “Homosexual conduct” is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a
fine of up to $500. Tex. Pen. Code §§ 21.06(b), 12.23.

> Ala. Code §§ 13A-6-60(2), 13A-6-65(a)(3); Fla. Stat. Ann. § 800.02;
Idaho Code § 18-6605; La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 14:89; Miss. Code Ann. § 97-29-
59; N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-177; S.C. Code Ann. § 16-15-120; Utah Code Ann.
§ 76-5-403(1); Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-361(A).

7

note 15. Four of those discriminatory laws have already been
judicially invalidated, and one has been repealed. See id. Now
only Texas and two other States criminalize same-sex conduct
but not identical different-sex conduct by statute, while one other
State has reached the same result through judicial construction
of a facially evenhanded law.° Similarly, all but a few States have
repealed criminal laws prohibiting fornication. Infra note 18.

Since its enactment, Section 21.06 has narrowly survived
several federal and state constitutional challenges. In Baker v.
Wade, a federal district court held that Section 21.06 violates the
constitutional rights of privacy and equal protection. 553 F.Supp.
at 1125. The court rejected the State’s claimed justifications for
Section 21.06 and found that, even when not enforced, the law
results in serious harms to gay persons, including employment
discrimination. Id. at 1130, 1146-47. Although the Texas Attorney
General withdrew the State’s appeal, a divided en banc Fifth Circuit
allowed an appeal by an intervenor and reversed, citing the
summary affirmance in Doe v. Commonwealth's Attorney, 425 U.S.
901 (1976). Baker v. Wade, 769 F.2d 289, 292 (5th Cir. 1985) (en
banc).

In the early 1990s, Texas Courts of Appeals declared Section
21.06 unconstitutional in two cases exercising state equity
jurisdiction. City of Dallas v. England, 846S.W.2d 957 (Tex. App.
1993); State v. Morales, 826S.W.2d 201 (Tex. App. 1992), rev'd on
jurisdictional grounds, 869S.W.2d 941 (Tex. 1994). In both cases,
the intermediate appellate court struck down the Homosexual
Conduct Law under the Texas Constitution and found that the
statute inflicted severe harms beyond the direct threat of criminal

convictions. See England, 846S.W.2d at 959; Morales, 826S.W.2d

at 202. As the State itself stipulated in Morales, Section 21.06

Kansas and Missouri have same-sex-only statutes, Kan. Stat. Ann.
§ 21-3505(a)(1); Mo. Rev. Stat. § 566.090, although one intermediate court of
appeals in Missouri has held that State’s statute applicable only to non-
consensual conduct, State v. Cogshell, 997 S.W.2d 534 (Mo. Ct. App. 1999).
Oklahoma’s general statute has been construed to exclude different-sex
couples. Okla. Stat. tit. 21, § 886; Post v. State, 715 P.2d 1105 (Okla. Crim.
App. 1986).

8

“brands lesbians and gay men as criminals and thereby legally
sanctions discrimination against them in a variety of ways
unrelated to the criminal law.” Id. at 202-03.

In 1994, Morales was set aside by the Texas Supreme Court
as reaching beyond the power of the State’s equity courts. 869
S.W.2d at 943-47. The court ruled that constitutional review
should occur in the context of a criminal prosecution, with final
review in the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals. Id.’ In the present
criminal case, however, the Court of Criminal Appeals refused
to exercise its jurisdiction to review the validity of the law, Pet.
App. 1a, 2a, leaving its burdens in effect throughout Texas.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

As the experience of Lawrence and Garner vividly illustrates,
Section 21.06 puts the State of Texas inside its citizens’ homes,
policing the details of their most intimate and private physical
behavior and dictating with whom they may share a profound
part of adulthood. Texas has enacted and enforced a criminal
law that takes away - from same-sex couples only - the freedom
to make their own decisions, based upon their own values and
relationships, about the forms of private, consensual sexual
intimacy they will engage in or refrain from. The State defends
this law only by saying the majority wants it so. Texas asserts
a power of the majority to free itself from state dictates about
private, consensual sexual choices, while using the criminal law
to condemn and limit the choices of a minority.

This law and its application to Petitioners violate both the
guarantee of equal protection and fundamental liberties
safeguarded by the Fourteenth Amendment. Petitioners explain
below why the equality claim and the liberty claim are each well
rooted in the Constitution. The Court, however, need not rule
on both constitutional violations if it chooses to focus on one

7 Although the Texas Supreme Court did not review England, due to
a jurisdictional defect in that court, see Morales, 869 S.W.2d at 942 n.5 (noting
dismissal of writ of error in England without reaching merits), the state
supreme court's ruling in Morales removed the underpinnings of England.

9
infirmity rather than the other. Petitioners discuss the
fundamental liberty claim under the Due Process Clause first
because even if the Court were not to reach that issue, a full
appreciation of the personal interests affected by Section 21.06

also illuminates and informs the equal protection analysis that
follows.

Fundamental liberty and privacy interests in adults’ private,
consensual sexual choices are essential to the ordered liberty our
Constitution protects. The State may not, without overriding
need, regiment and limit this personal and important part of its
citizens’ lives. More so than in 1986, when Bowers v. Hardwick
was decided, it is clear today that such a fundamental right is
supported by our basic constitutional structure, by multiple lines
of precedent, and by a decisive historical turn in the vast majority
of the States to repudiate this type of government invasion into
private life. The well-established fundamental interests in intimate
relationships, bodily integrity, and the sanctity of the home all
converge in the right asserted here. See Griswold v. Connecticut
381 U.S. 479 (1965); Eisenstadt v, Baird, 405 US. 438 (1972); Planned
Parenthood of S.E. Pa. v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833 (1992). That right
belongs to all Americans, including gay men and lesbians, and
should be shielded from Section 21.06’s unjustified invasion.
Much more is needed to outweigh fundamental individual
interests than the majority's preferences. Indeed, the Fourteenth
Amendment's protection of liberty exists to guard against the
very impulse Texas acted on here. Principles of stare decisis do
not, in these circumstances, justify adherence to Bowers.

Texas also has violated the Fourteenth Amendment's
guarantee of equal protection of the laws. The Homosexual
Conduct Law creates classes of persons, treating the same acts
of consensual sexual behavior differently depending on who
the participants are. By this law, Texas imposes a discriminatory
prohibition on all gay and lesbian couples, requiring them to
limit their expressions of affection in ways that heterosexual
couples, whether married or unmarried, need not. The law’s
discriminatory focus sends the message that gay people are

10

second-class citizens and lawbreakers, leading to ripples of
discrimination throughout society. Such a discriminatory law
cannot satisfy even the minimal requirement that a legislative
classification must be rationally related to a legitimate State
purpose. See Romer, 517 U.S. 620. The bare negative attitudes
of the majority, whether viewed as an expression of morality,
discomfort, or blatant bias, cannot take away the equality of a
smaller group. See id.; United States Dep't of Agric. v. Moreno, 413
U.S. 528, 534 (1%, 3,; City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Ctr., Inc.,
473 US. 432, 44¢ (1985).

ARGUMENT

I. Section 21.06 Violates Constitutional Rights to Liberty and
Privacy Possessed by All Americans.

“It is a promise of the Constitution that there is a realm of
personal liberty which the government may not enter.” Casey,
505 U.S. at 847. It is well settled that the Due Process Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment guarantees the personal liberty of
Americans against encroachment by the States, and that this
protection of liberty encompasses substantive fundamental rights
and interests that are unenumerated. See, e.g., Troxel v. Granville,
530 U.S. 57, 65-66 (2000); Casey, 505 U.S. at 846-51; Cruzan v.
Director, Mo. Dep’t of Health, 497 U.S. 261, 278-79 (1990); Carey
v. Population Servs. Int'l, 431 U.S. 678, 684-85 (1977); Moore v. City
of E. Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 501-03 (1977); Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S.
113, 152-53 (1973); Griswold, 381 U.S. at 482-85; Pierce v. Society
of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus & Mary, 268 U.S.510,534-35
(1925); Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 399-400 (1923). Giving
substance to “liberty” is necessary to maintain the individual
freedoms that are the essence of American democracy, while
also allowing government action that is justified by the collective
good. See Casey, 505 US. at 849-51.

Among the liberties protected by the Constitution is the right
of an adult to make choices about whether and in what manner
to engage in private consensual sexual intimacy with another
adult, including one of the same sex. This extremely personal

11

sphere implicates three aspects of liberty that have long been
recognized as fundamental: the interests in intimate associations,
in bodily integrity, and in the privacy of the home. For the State
to limit and dictate the intimate choices of American couples
in this realm without any substantial justification is repugnant
to ordered liberty. Stare decisis does not require continued
adherence to the Court's contrary decision in Bowers.

A. American Adults Have Fundamental Liberty and Privacy
Interests in Making Their Own Choices About Private,
Consensual Sexual Relations.

1. Well-Established Protections for Intimate
Relationships, Bodily Integrity, and the Privacy of
the Home Converge in This Vital Freedom.

Being forced into a life without sexual intimacy would
represent an intolerable and fundamental deprivation for the
overwhelming majority of individuals. Equally repugnant is
any form of external compulsion to engage in sexual relations.
There should be no doubt, then, that the Constitution imposes
substantive limits on the power of government to compel, forbid,
or regulate the intimate details of private sexual relations between
two consenting adults.

All adults have the same fundamental liberty interests in their
private consensual sexual choices. This fundamental protection
is rooted in three well-recognized aspects of personal liberty -
in intimate relationships, in bodily integrity, and in the privacy
of the home. These aspects of liberty should not be viewed as
“a series of isolated points,” but are part of a “ rational continuum”
that constitutes the full scope of liberty of a free people. Casey,
505 U.S. at 848 (quotation marks omitted); see also Board of Regents
v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 572 (1972) (“In a Constitution for a free
people, there can be no doubt that the meaning of ‘liberty’ must
be broad indeed”). Sexual intimacy marks an intensely personal
and vital part of that continuum.

The Court has recognized that “choices to enter into and
maintain certain intimate human relationships must be secured

12

against undue intrusion by the State because of the role of such
relationships in safeguarding the individual freedom that is central
to our constitutional scheme.” Roberts v. United States Jaycees,
468 U.S. 609, 617-18 (1984). “[T]he constitutional shelter afforded
such relationships reflects the realization that individuals draw
much of their emotional enrichment from close ties with others.
therefore safeguards the ability independently to define one’s
identity that is central to any concept of liberty.” Id. at 619; see
also Board of Directors of Rotary Int'l v. Rotary Club of Duarte, 481
U.S. 537, 545-46 (1987).

The adult couple whose shared life includes sexual intimacy
is undoubtedly one of the most important and profound forms
of intimate association. The Court has rightly recognized that
regulation of the private details of sexual relations between two
adults sharing an intimate relationship has “a maximum
destructive impact upon that relationship.” Griswold, 381 US.
at 485. Griswold struck down a law that intruded directly into

a inarried couple’s private sexual intimacy - and thus their

estmatecdationtie- - by criminalizing the use of contraceptives
and allowing intercourse only if accompanied by the risk of
. Id. at 485-86. Since Griswold, the Court has recognized
that all adults, regardless of marital status or other facets of their
relationship, have the same interest in making their own intimate
choices in this area. See Eisenstadt, 405 U.S. at 453 (“If the right
of privacy means anything, it is the right of the individual, married
or single, to be free from unwarranted governmental intrusion
into matters so fundamentally affecting a person”) (emphasis
in original); Casey, 505 US. at 898 (“The Constitution protects
all individuals, male or female, married or unmarried, from the
abuse of governmental power” ); id. at 852 (reaffirming Eisenstadt
and Griswold).
Sexual intimacy is “a sensitive, key relationship of human
existence, central to family life, community welfare, and the
of human personality.” Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton,
413 US. 49, 63 (1973). One’s sexual orientation, the choice of

13

one’s partner, and whether and how to connect sexually are
profound attributes of personhood where compulsion by the
State is anathema to liberty. Cf. Casey, 505 U.S. at 851.° Thus,
the essential associational freedom here is the freedom to structure
one’s own private sexual intimacy with another adult. Section
21.06 utterly destroys that freedom by forbidding most sexual
behavior for all same-sex couples, whether they are in a
committed, long-standing relationship, a growing one, or anew
one.

State regulation of sexual intimacy also implicates the liberty
interest in bodily integrity. “It is settled now . . . that the
Constitution places limits on a State’s right to interfere with a
person’s most basic decisions about... bodily integrity.” Casey,
505 US. at 849 (citations omitted); see also id. at 896 (“state
regulation . . . is doubly deserving of scrutiny . . . [where] the
State has touched not only upon the private sphere of the family
but upon the very bodily integrity of the pregnant woman”).
Stated generally, “[e]very human being of adult years and sound
mind has a right to determine what shall be done with his own
body.” Glucksberg, 521 U.S. at 777 (Souter, J., concurring)
(quotation marks omitted); see also id. at 720; Rochin v. California,
342 US. 165, 166, 173-74 (1952); Cruzan, 497 US. at 278.

Control over one’s own body is fundamentally at stake in
sexual relations, involving as they do the most intimate physical
interactions conceivable. Like the decision whether to continue
or terminate a pregnancy, or the decision whether to permit or
decline medical procedures, the physical, bodily dimensions of
how two persons express their sexuality in intimate relations
are profoundly personal. Indeed, consent is a critically important
dividing line in legal and societal views about sexuality for the

For many adults in modern society, sexual intimacy is an important
aspect of forming or building a committed relationship where one does not
already exist. See Roberts, 468 U.S. at 618 (Constitution protects “ the formation
and preservation” of “highly personal relationships”) (emphasis added);
Richard A. Posner, Sex and Reason 349 (1992) (“Consensual sex in whatever
form is as we know a method of cementing a relationship”).

14
very reason that individual control over sexual activity is of
fundamental importance to every person's autonomy. Texas
invades the liberty interest in bodily integrity by dictating that
citizens may not share sexual intimacy unless they perform acts
approved by the legislature, and by attempting to coerce them
to select a sexual partner of the other sex.

The liberty interest at issue here also involves the deeply
entrenched interest in the privacy of the home. “In the home,
[the Court's] cases show, all details are intimate details, because
the entire area is held safe from prying governmenteyes.” Kyllo
v. United States, 533 U.S. 27, 37 (2001) (emphasis in original);
Minnesota v. Olson, 495 U.S. 91, 98 (1990) (overnight guest receives
protection under “everyday expectations of privacy that we all
share”). The importance of shielding the home from intrusion
goes beyond the Fourth Amendment. In Frisby v. Schultz, 487
US. 474 (1988), for example, the Court relied on the constitutional
status of the home in rejecting a First Amendment challenge to
an ordinance against picketing targeted at a home. /d. at 484 (“The
State’s interest in protecting the well-being, tranquility, and
privacy of the home is certainly of the highest order ina free and
civilized society” ) (quotation marks omitted). And constitutional
protection for the home was an important consideration in
Griswold itself. See 381 U.S. at 485 (rejecting intrusion into “sacred
precincts of marital bedrooms”). “[I]f the physical curtilage of
the home is protected, it is surely as a result of the solicitude to
protect the privacies of the life within.” Poe v. Ullman, 367 US.
497,551 (1961) (Harlan, J., dissenting); see also Stanley v. Georgia,
394 U.S. 557 (1969).

Even without actual physical entry by the police, Section 21.06
directly invades the privacy of the home by criminalizing the
private intimate conduct taking place there. Poe, 367 U.S. at549,
551-52 (Harlan, J., dissenting). But this case also graphically
illustrates how laws criminalizing consensual adult sexual
intimacy permit invasion of the privacy of the home in the starkest
sense. Although Petitioners do not challenge the lawfulness of
the police entry into Lawrence’s home in response to a report

15

of an armed gunman, the officers did not withdraw after
discovering the report was false. Instead, under license of Section
21.06, they multiplied their intrusion exponentially by scrutinizing
the specific intimate acts in which Petitioners were involved,
arresting them, hauling them off tojail, and charging them with
a crime for which they were later convicted.

Denying the existence of a liberty interest in private
consensual adult sexual activity would give constitutional
legitimacy to the grossest forms of intrusion into the homes of
individuals and couples. To investigate this “criminal” conduct,
the police could use every investigative method appropriate when
ordinary criminal activity, such as drug use or distribution, occurs
in the home: obtaining warrants to search for physical evidence
of sexual activity; interrogating each member of the couple about
the intimate details of the relationship; and surveillance, wiretaps,
confidential informants, and questioning of neighbors. That these
routine police methods are so repugnant and unthinkable in the
context of adult consensual sexual relations is a strong indication
that the conduct at issue differs in a fundamental way from
ordinary criminal conduct that happens to occur in the home.
Cf. Romer, 517 U.S. at 645 (Scalia, J., dissenting) (“’To obtain
evidence [in sodomy cases], police are obliged to resort to behavior
which tends to degrade and demean both themselves personally
and law enforcement as an institution’) (quoting Kadish, The
Crisis of Overcriminalization, 374 Annals of Am. Acad. of Pol. &
Soc. Sci. 157, 161 (1967)).’

The core liberty interests at stake in this case are a bulwark
against an overly controlling and intrusive government. The
“fundamental theory of liberty upon which all governments in

The argument here in no way implies that ordinary criminal
conduct may find refuge in the home. In the present context, “the privacy

. of the home is const'*utionally protected not only because the home is seen

as a sanctuary, privileged against prying eyes, but also because it is the place
where most intimate associations are centered.” Kenneth L. Karst, The
Freedom of Intimate Association, 89 Yale L.J. 624, 634 (1980) (footnote omitted);
see also Poe, 367 U.S. at 551 (Harlan, J., dissenting) (“[t]he home derives its
pre-eminence as the seat of family life’).

16

this Union repose excludes any general power of the state to
standardize,” Pierce, 268 U.S. at 535, or “to coerce uniformity,”
West Va. State Bd. of Educ. v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 640 (1943).

The right of privacy exists because democracy must
impose limits on the extent of control and direction that
the state exercises over the day-to-day conduct of
individual lives. ... People do not meaningfully govern
themselves if their lives are . .. molded into standard,
rigid, normalized roles.

Jed Rubenfeld, The Right of Privacy, 102 Harv. L. Rev. 783, 804-05
(1989).
2. There Is No Constitutional Exception to Liberty for
Gay and Lesbian Citizens.

Gay and lesbian Americans have the same liberty interests
as heterosexuals in private consensual sexual intimacy free from
unwarranted intrusion by the State. Gay adults, like their
heterosexual counterparts, have vital interests in their intimate
relationships, their bodily integrity, and the sanctity of their
homes. Today, family lives centered on same-sex relationships
are apparent in households and communities throughout the
country. Likewise, the special interplay between the privacy
of the home and individual decisions about sexual expression
applies to lesbians and gay men as it does to others.

A gay or lesbian sexual orientation is a normal and natural
manifestation of human sexuality. A difference in sexual
orientation means a difference only in that one personal
characteristic. Mental health professionals have universally
rejected the erroneous belief that homosexuality is a disease.
For example, in 1973 the American Psychiatric Association
concluded that “homosexuality per se implies no impairment
injudgment, stability, reliability, or general social or vocational
capabilities.”"° For gay adults, as for heterosexual ones, sexual

10 Resolution of the American Psychiatric Ass'n (Dec. 15, 1973), 131 Am.
J. Psychiatry 497 (1974); accord American Psychological Ass'n, Minutes of the
Annual Meeting of the Council of Representatives, 30 Am. Psychologist 620, 633

17

expression is integrally linked to forming and nurturing the close
personal bonds that give humans the love, attachment, and
intimacy they need to thrive. See, e.g., Lawrence A. Kurdeck,
Sexuality in Homosexual and Heterosexual Couples, in Sexuality in
Close Relationships 177-91 (K. McKinney & S. Sprecher eds., 1991);
Christopher R. Leslie, Creating Criminals: The Injuries Inflicted
by “Unenforced” Sodomy Laws, 35 Harv.C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 103, 119-20
(2000). “[M]ost lesbians and gay men want intimate relationships
and are successful in creating them. Homosexual partnerships
appear no more vulnerable to problems and dissatisfactions than
their heterosexual counterparts.” Letitia A. Peplau, Lesbian and
Gay Relationships, in Homosexuality 177, 195 (J. Gonsiorek & J.

Weinrich eds., 1991). Same-sex relationships often last a lifetime,

and provide deep sustenance to each member of the couple. See,

e.g., A. Steven Bryant & Demian, Relationship Characteristics of
American Gay and Lesbian Couples, 1}. Gay & Lesbian Soc. Servs.

101 (1994).

That gay Americans have exactly the same vital interests as
all others in their bodily integrity and the privacy of their homes
is so plain that it appears never to have been disputed in the law.
In contrast, the vital liberty interest that gay adults have in their
intimate relationships has not always been recognized. Even
a few decades ago, intense societal pressure, including many
anti-gay government measures, ensured that the vast majority
of gay people hid their sexual orientation - even from their own
parents - and thus hid the important intimate relationships that
gave meaning to their lives. See infra Point II.B.2. Lesbians and
gay men, moreover, were falsely seen as sick and dangerous.
See infra at 46. As recently as 1986, it was still possible not to
perceive the existence and dignity of the families formed by gay
adults. See, e.g., Bowers, 478 U.S. at 191, 195.

Today, the reality of these families is undeniable. The 2000
United States Census identified more than 600,000 households

(1975); National Ass'n of Social Workers, Policy Statement on Lesbian and Gay
Issues, reprinted in Nat'l Ass’n of Social Workers, Social World Speaks: NASW
Policy Statements 162, 162-65 (3d ed. 1994).

18

of same-sex partners nationally, including almost 43; vot in Texas.
These families live in 99.3% of Americancounties.'' Many state
and local goveraments and thousands of private employers have
adopted domestic partner benefits or more extensive protections
for same-sex couples.” Virtually every State permits gay men
and lesbians to adopt children individually, jointly and/or
through “secor.d-parent adoptions” that are analogous to
stepparent adoptions. See, e.g., Lofton v. Kearney, 157 F. Supp.
2d 1372, 1374 n.1 (S.D. Fla. 2001) (observing that Florida is
currently “the only state” “to statutorily ban adoption by gay
or lesbian adults”); American Law Inst., Principles uf the Law of
Family Dissolution: Analysis and Recommendations § 2.12 cmt. f,
at 312 (2002). These and other legal doctrines have secured
parental bonds for many of the estimated millions of children
in the United States with gay parents. Ellen C. Perrin, Technical
Report: Coparent or Second-Parent Adoption by Same-Sex Parents,
109 Pediatrics 341,341 & n.1 (Feb. 2002) (estimating one to nine
million children with at least one lesbian or gay parent); see also,
e.g., T.B. v. L.R.M., 786 A.2d 913 (Pa. 2001) (allowing claim for
partial custody by lesbian second parent under in loco parentis
doctrine).

The reality of these families cannot be disregarded just because
they do not match the “nuclear” model of a married couple with
their biological children. See, e.g., Troxel, 530 U.S. at 63 (“The
demographic changes of the past century make it difficult to speak
of an average American family. The composition of families varies
greatly from household to household”); id. at 85 (Stevens, J.,
dissenting); id. at 98-101 (Kennedy, J., dissenting); Michael H. v.
Gerald D., 491 U.S. 110, 124 n.3 (1989) (plurality opinion) (“The
family unit accorded traditional respect in our society . . . includes

"See William B. Rubenstein, et al., Some Demographic Characteristics of
the Gay Community in the United States 3 (Table 1), 5 (Williams Project, UCLA
School of Law 2003), available at http://wwwl.law.ucla.
edu/~erg/pubs/GD/GayDemographics.pdf (accessed Jan. 15, 2003).

"2 See Employers That Offer Domestic Partner Health Benefits, available
at http:/ / www.hrc.org/worknet/dp/index.asp (accessed Jan. 15, 2003).

19

the household of unmarried parents and their children”). For
gay men and lesbians, their family life - their intimate associations
and the homes in which they nurture those relationships - is every
bit as meaningful and important as family life is to heterosexuals.

Thus, the liberty interest at issue here should not be defined
in terms of sexual orientation as the “right of homosexuals to
engage in acts of sodomy,” Bowers, 478 U.S. at 191, or reduced
in value on that account. If heterosexual adults have a
fundamental interest in consensual sexual intimacy, including
the choice to engage in oral or anal sex, then so too must
homosexual adults. The Due Process Clause itself does not
distinguish among classes of citizens, extending the Constitution's
shield to the highly personal associations and choices of some,
but not protecting the very same associations and choices for
others. These liberties are important to and de for all
Americans.

3. Objective Considerations Support Recognition
of Fundamental Interests Here.

Toensure that its decisions in this area are firmly grounded,
the Court has sought objective guideposts for the recognition
of fundamental liberties. See County of Sacramento v. Lewis, 523
U.S. 833, 857-58 (1998) (Kennedy, J., concurring, joined by
O’Connor, J.) (emphasizing that “objective considerations,”
including but not limited to “history and precedent,” determine
substantive due process interests). Asjust discussed, this Court's
precedents and our constitutional structure indicate that the
personal liberty protected by the Constitution must include adults’
private choices about sexual intimacy. Foremost among other
guideposts has been the history of legislation concerning the
matter at hand, from prior centuries through the present. See,
e.g., Glucksberg, 521 U.S. at 710-19.

In reviewing relevant legal traditions, the Court has made
clear that protected liberty interests are not limited to those
explicitly recognized when the Fourteenth Amendment was
ratified. Casey, 505 U.S. at 847, 850 (“such a view would be

20

inconsistent with our law”); Rochin, 342 U.S. at 171-72 (“To believe
that . . .judicial exercise of judgment could be avoided by freezing
‘due process of law’ at some fixed stage of time or thought is
to suggest that the most important aspect of constitutional
adjudication is a function for inanimate machines and not for
judges”). Abundant examples exist of the Court giving meaning
tocontemporary truths about freedom, where earlier generations
had failed to acknowledge and specify an essential aspect of
liberty. See, e.g., Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 94-99 (1987); Roe,
410 US. at 152-53; Loving v. Virginia, 388 US. 1,12 (1967); Griswold,
381 U.S. at 482-85; Pierce, 268 U.S. at 534-35; Meyer, 262 U.S. at
399-400. See generally Casey, 505 U.S. at 847-48.

Similarly, in cases rejecting asserted liberty interests, the
Court's decisions have never rested on past legal history alone.
Because constitutional “tradition is a living thing,” Casey, 505
US. at 850 (quotation marks omitted), the Court has always
deemed it essential that the relevant legal tradition have
continuing vitality today. In Glucksberg, for example, the Court
rejected the claimed liberty interest in doctor-assisted suicide
based notonly on the common law’s criminalization of assisted
suicide, but also on the fact that “the States’ assisted-suicide bans
have in recent years been reexamined and, generally” - witha
single exception - “reaffirmed.” 521 U.S. at 716; see also Michael
H., 491 US. at 127. Even in Bowers, the Court looked not only
to criminal laws concerning sodomy in 1787 and 1868, but also
to the fact that half the States continued to outlaw such conduct
in 1986. 478 U.S. at 192-94."

‘8 The Court has repeatedly rejected the notion that fundamental
rights encompass only those recognized at “the most specific level” at the
time the Fourteenth Amendment was adopted. Casey, 505 U.S. at 847-59;
Michael H., 491 U.S. at 132 (O’Connor, J., joined by Kennedy, J., concurring

in part) (the Court's cases have discussed “asserted rights at levels of .

generality that might not be ‘the most specific level’ available”). While the
Court has sought carefully to describe fundamental liberty interests, as
Petitioners do in this case, careful description means neither restriction to the
most specific level nor limitation to historically recognized rights. Moreover,
to the extent the Court prefers to characterize the asserted right parallel to
the historical legal treatment, laws regulating consensual sex between adults,

21

Over the last half century, the Nation has firmly broken from
its prior legal tradition of criminalizing many adult choices about
private sexual intimacy. Even before 1960, however, the relevant
legal tradition is more complicated than an initial examination
might reveal. Bowers observed that when the Fourteenth
Amendment was ratified, 32 of 37 States had criminal laws against
sodomy. 478 U.S. at 192-93. Buta critical feature of those 19th-
century and earlier laws was not discussed by the Bowers majority:
Almost without exception, such laws historically have applied
tocertain specified sex acts without regard to whether same-sex
or different-sex couples were involved. See, e.g., Anne B.
Goldstein, History, Homosexuality, and Political Values, 97 Yale
L.J. 1073, 1082-86 (1988). In addition, actual prosecutions for
private intimacy have been exceedingly rare since the Nation’s
founding. See John D’Emilio & Estelle B. Freedman, Intimate
Matters: A History of Sexuality in America 66-67 (1988). And the
scope of the specific sexual conduct covered has varied over time.
See, e.g., Goldstein, 97 Yale L.J. at 1085-86.

Texas law isa case in point. A Texas statute adopted in 1860
penalized “the abominable and detestable crime against nature”
for all persons, Tex. Pen. Code art. 342 (1860); supra note 2, and
an amendment in 1943 extended that ban to oral sex for all
persons, 1943 Tex. Gen. Laws ch. 112, § 1. See supra at 5. Only
in 1973 did Texas - like a handful of other States in the same
period - replace its general ban with one that singled out the
sexual intimacy of same-sex couples for criminal prohibition.

and state decisions to abolish such regulation, have almost always been
written generally - not specifically to apply only to same-sex relationships.

‘* In 1868, at most three of the 32 States with sodomy prohibitions
limited them to sexual conduct between two men; even in those three States,
however, there is some uncertainty whether heterosexual couples were also
covered. See Goldstein, 97 Yale L.J. at 1084 nn.60 & 66. Statutes using the
word “mankind” frequently included sexual relations between men and
women, as was the case in Texas. See Lewis, 35 S.W. at 372 (“Woman is
included under the term ‘mankind’”). In any event, three of 37 States is no
legal tradition.

22

1973 Tex. Gen. Laws ch. 399, §§ 1, 3."° Thus, our Nation has no
longstanding legal tradition of defining permissible or prohibited
sexual conduct in terms of sexual orientation. Rather, the tradition
exemplified by actual legislation is one of facial neutrality. The
few discriminatory laws singling out lesbians and gay men show
the divide that existed in the 1970s and 1980s between the
majority's view of its own liberties and its lingering anti-gay
attitudes.

Most importantly, however, both evenhanded and
discriminatory bans on private sexual conduct between consenting
adults have been rejected incontemporary times. Since the 1960s,
there has been a steady stream of repeals and state judicial
invalidations of laws criminalizing consensual sodomy and
fornication.’ “The unmistakable trend . . . nationally . . . is to
curb government intrusions at the threshold of one’s door and
most definitely at the threshold of one’s bedroom.” Jegleyv. Picado,

™~

© See also 1977 Ark. Acts 828 (struck down by Jegley v. Picado, 80
S.W.3d 332 (Ark. 2002)); 1969 Kan. Sess. Laws ch. 180, codified at Kan. Stat.
Ann. § 21-3505; 1974 Ky. Laws ch. 406 (struck down by Commonwealth v.
Wasson, 842 S.W.2d 487 (Ky. 1992)); 1977 Mo. Laws sec. 1, § 566.090, codified
at Mo. Rev. Stat. § 566.090; 1973 Mont. Laws ch. 513 (struck down by Gryczan
v. State, 942 P.2d 112 (Mont. 1997)); 1977 Nev. Stat. ch. 598 (repealed by 1993
Nev. Stat. ch. 236); 1989 Tenn. Pub. Acts ch. 591 (struck down by Campbell v.
Sundquist, 926 S.W.2d 250 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1996)).

© “With nonmarital sex so utterly commonplace, the word fornication,
’ with its strong pejorative connotation, has virtually passed out of the
language.” Posner, Sex and Reason 55 (emphasis in original). Likewise,
“sodomy” is a term now used rarely outside legal contexts, while oral sex
and anal sex are openly discussed in the media and society.

Consensual sodomy and fornication have been the only criminal
laws in American history where the State has acted solely to limit forms of
intimacy by consenting adults. Other crimes relating to sexuality have
included additional elements reflecting other state concerns. Adultery and
bigamy laws, for example, aim to enforce the legal marriage contract. Incest
and under-age sex laws, inter alia, seek to protect vulnerable individuals who
may not be capable of true consent. Prostitution and public-sex laws address
commercial or public interactions that have a negative impact on the larger
community. This case concerns the narrow but important freedom to choose
the expressions of sexual intimacy one shares with another adult partner in
private, and does not challenge these other types of State regulation.

— err

23
80S.W.3d 332, 356 (Ark. 2002) (Brown, J., concurring). By 1986,
when Bowers was decided, 26 States had already removed
consensual sodomy laws from their criminal codes. See 478 US.
at 193-94. Today, only 13 States still have such prohibitions.”
Moreover, of those 13 States, Texas and the three others that have
discriminatory rules have eliminated criminal prohibitions in
this area for the vast majority of adult couples. Similarly, only
six States and the District of Columbia still criminalize
fornication.” In contrast, when Loving was decided in 1967, 16

'’ Repeal or invalidation of same-sex-only sodomy laws since Bowers:
1993 Nev. Stat. ch. 236 (repealing Nev. Rev. Stat. § 201.193); Jegley, 80S.W.3d
332 (Ark.); Wasson, 842 S.W.2d 487 (Ky.); Gryczan, 942 P.2d 112 (Mont.);
Campbell, 926 S.W.2d 250 (Tenn.).

Repeal or invalidation of facially evenhanded sodomy laws since
Bowers: 2001 Ariz. Legis. Serv. 382 (West) (repealing Ariz. Rev. Stat. §§ 13-
1411, 13-1412); 1993 D.C. Laws 10-14 (amending D.C. Stat. § 22-3502 to
exclude private consensual adult conduct); 1998 R.1. Pub. Laws 24 (amending
R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-10-1 to exclude conduct with other persons); Powell v.
State, 510S.E.2d 18 (Ga. 1998); Williams v. State, No. 98036031 /CL-1059, 1998
Extra LEXIS 260 (Md. Cir. Ct. Balt. City Oct. 15, 1998); Michigan Org. for
Human Rights v. Kelley, No. 88-815820 CZ (Mich. Cir. Ct. Wayne County July
9, 1990); Doe v. Ventura, No. MC 01-489, 2001 WL 543734 (Minn. Dist. Ct.
May 15, 2001). In Maryland, Michigan, and Minnesota, the States did not
appeal the lower court decisions striking down the laws.

One state high court upheld a sodomy law against a constitutional
challenge in recent years. See State v. Smith, 766 So. 2d 501 (La. 2000).

* As with sodomy laws, fornication laws have been struck down as
contrary to the right of privacy protected by state constitutions. See, e.g., In
re ].M., No. S02A1432, 2003 WL 79330 (Ga. Jan. 13, 2003) (invalidating Ga.
Code Ann. § 16-6-18). The fornication laws remaining in seven jurisdictions
criminalize any act of sexual intercourse between unmarried persons. See
D.C. Stat. Ann. § 22-1602; Idaho Code § 18-6603; Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 272,
§ 18; id. ch. 277 § 39; Minn. Stat. § 609.34; Utah Code Ann. § 76-7-104; Va.
Code Ann. § 18.2-344; W. Va. Code § 61-8-3. Seven other States, although
purporting in some cases to proscribe “fornication,” prohibit a narrower
category of sexual intercourse between unmarried persons, such as where
it is “open and notorious,” 720 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/11-8; N.D. Cent. Code
§ 12.1-20-

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0585%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
