# Amicus Curiae Brief — Virginia v. Maryland

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0579%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 56

## Text

Ae The | Mest oe
Supreme Court of the Uniteruieittes ~

| OBFICE oF Tam

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,
Plaintiff,

STATE OF MARYLAND,
Defendant.

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE LOUDOUN COUNTY
SANITATION AUTHORITY
IN SUPPORT OF REPLY BY THE
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
TO THE EXCEPTIONS OF THE STATE OF
MARYLAND
TO THE REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

Stanley M. Franklin

E. Duncan Getchell, Jr., Counsel of Record
Robert L. Hodges

James E. Brown

McGUIREWOODS LLP

One James Center

901 East Cary Street

Richmond, Virginia 23219

(804) 775-1000 (Telephone)

(804) 775-1061 (Facsimile)

Counsel for Amicus in Support
of the Commonwealth of Virginia

LANTAGNE LEGAL PRINTING
801 East Main Street Suite 100 Richmond, Virginia 23219 (800) 847-0477

TABLE OF CONTENTS
ee ee Ce ctiicerertccieienstnsiiinasiniaiiniinniaiiiniainimatiian i
ee Ca Cnr I ticinetesicnininnsiitintiiininciininaniimnianins il
I. INTRODUCTION, STATEMENT OF
INTEREST OF AMICUS, AND SUMMARY
Sr Se PIO wenseseniusentnsiciataneteccinnninnannea l
A. Interest of Amicus Loudoun County
ee FI ccecscsvncenennttiininnintensiincninian 2
B. Summary of the Argument.............cccsceeeees 7
IES sicerrtermiceinneitesionieabionadiiiien 9
A. The Loudoun Authority’s active
plan to construct an intake into
the Potomac River refutes the
claims of ANS of mootness and lack of
ED cnnssritestnemminimmmninnsl 9
B. The Commonwealth of Virginia has
standing to pursue this action parens
TIEE, ccanntunsmmarennimnnnninamamnninninansiin 13
ee ED ccsesesnscsnesentinssnsanisennianateiennimmemeiianii 18

ll

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
FEDERAL CASES

Alfred L. Snapp & Son, Inc. v. Puerto
poe. Lik oy | 14

Clinton v. City of New York, 524 U.S.
GF Ge verenennessnensetacccesecsensocevemereneeservasseeses 12

Colorado v. New Mexico, 459 U.S.
Si saris abeeeeniceeneeememnndenegennsnennvoumeenvens 17, 18

Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw
Envtl. Servs. (TOC), Inc., 528 U.S.

IF TIT ccscisisteensenansanenenemnnayeipenseevenseonensesens 11
Georgia v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 324 U.S.

IE scinensastcsidncncnnesevepsennevennersecevesessesesouss 13
Kansas v. Colorado, 185 U.S. 125 (1902)............ 15
Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981) ....... 14
Maryland v. West Virginia, 217 U.S.

BaF CED vencerecesessssesenesessesocsesenecsevevcncocsnenseseses 7
Missouri v. Illinois, 180 U.S. 208 (1901)........ 13, 15

New Jersey v. New York, 345 U.S. 369
ITE aceceannenssdesincennssnvennsvienssvevscsecccscnsvecenes 13, 16

Pennsylvania v. New Jersey, 426 U.S.
eel ccscunsevessesuncensesencenesnesenveneeesocscessnnasece 13

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Compact of 1785, 1785-86, Md. Laws ch. 1
1785-86 Va. Acts ch. 17, codified in part

at Va. Code Ann. § 07.1-7........ccccccccccecceeeeeeens

Black-Jenkins Award, 1878 Md. Laws ch.
274, 1878 Va. Acts ch. 246, Act of

March 3, 1879, ch. 196, 20 Stat. 481 .............

Potomac River Compact of 1958, Va.
Code Ann. § 28.2-1001, Md. Code
Ann., Nat. Res. § 4-306 (2002
Supp.), Pub. L. No. 98-893, 76 Stat.

i

Potomac River Protection Act, 2000 Md.

RS ET
Re Ef S| | nee

18 Va. Regs. Reg. 3601-03 (Aug. 26, 2001).......

OTHER MATERIALS

Low Flow Allocation Agreement of 1978 ..........

Water Supply Cooperation Agreement

ae

eeee

HE SAE aa eB lO NEI 1 AE RNR i RIN
Pee RO REE AR CREAR Pie RN Mom ere PN
|

I. INTRODUCTION, STATEMENT OF

INTEREST OF AMICUS, AND SUMMARY OF

THE ARGUMENT’

The Fairfax County Water Authority (“FCWA”)
instituted a plan to construct a drinking water intake structure
in the channel of the Potomac River because the previous
intake near the Virginia shore was subject to increased
turbidity that raised treatment costs and created a greater risk
of disease for consumers of treated water.’ FCWA’s plans
set in motion a series of events that led Maryland to assert
suzerainty over the rights of Virginia, its subdivisions,

instrumentalities, and citizens in the waters of the Potomac

River.

' No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part. No
person or entity other than the amicus curiae have made any monetary
contribution or monetary commitment to the preparation or submission
of the brief. Counsel for Virginia was afforded the courtesy of
previewing and commenting on the drafts of the brief prior to filing.

2 While this action was pending, the State of Maryland granted
permission for the FCWA to construct this intake. However, the new
permit requires a flow-restrictor which limits FCWA’s ability to
withdraw water from the river.

A. Interest of Amicus Loudoun County
Sanitation Authority.

The Loudoun County Sanitation Authority
(“Loudoun Authority”) is vitally interested in seeing that the
Court affirms the findings of the Special Master. The
Loudoun Authority is a public body politic and corporate and
is also an instrumentality and political subdivision of the
Commonwealth of Virginia authorized by the Virginia Water
and Waste Authorities Act, Va. Code Ann. § 15.2-5114. The
Loudoun Authority was created by action of the Board of
Supervisors of Loudoun County pursuant to that legislation
and was chartered by the State Corporation Commission on
May 27, 1959. Because the Loudoun Authority has obtained
the consent of both parties to this suit, it submits that it
should be afforded amicus status as a matter of course under

Rule 37.3(a), Rules of the United States Supreme Court.’

* Letters of Consent from Virginia and Maryland have been lodged with
the Clerk.

The Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act and

the Lovdoun Authority’s Articles of Incorporation provide
that the Loudoun Authority is authorized to acquire,
construct, improve, operate and maintain a water system for
supplying and distributing water in Loudoun County.
Loudoun County has imposed the responsibility upon the
Loudoun Authority to meet the water needs of the citizens of
Loudoun County. While the Loudoun Authority currently
serves Eastern Loudoun County, its chartered service area
includes all of the unincorporated areas of the County's
approximately 517 square miles. The incorporated towns
within the County operate water supply systems
independently of the Authority.

In 1990, the Loudoun Authority provided water
service to a residential population of 40,500 people. In 2002,
the Loudoun Authority served a population of 120,000, an
increase of over 190%. The Loudoun Authority estimates
that it will be responsible to serve a population of 145,000 in

2005, 188,000 for the year 2010, and 265,000 for the year

2020. In 1990, the Loudoun Authority experienced a
maximum daily water demand of 8.2 million gallons per day
(“mgd”) and expects this demand to grow to an ultimate
water demand of approximately 75 mgd after 2020, an
increase of over 900%.

Loudoun County is at the epicenter of Virginia’s
dispute with Maryland because Maryland’s admitted efforts
to regulate growth in Northern Virginia are principally
directed against Loudoun County.

Although it might be possible for the Loudoun
Authority to receive additional water capacity from the
FCWA in the future, negotiations in this area have been
slow, sporadic and uncertain. As a functional matter, the
FCWA’s new intake will not increase its overall capacity.
The Loudoun Authority’s ability to rely on the FCWA for its
future water supply is uncertain at best. The FCWA’s
current permit to withdraw water from the Potomac River
comes up for renewal in April 2008. A delay (or denial) by

Maryland in granting a renewal similar to the delay in

granting the permit that was the initial subject of this case

would have disastrous consequences for the citizens of
Loudoun County. Furthermore, the flow-restrictor
requirement imposed by Maryland in the existing permit
stands as a stark reminder that Maryland still purports to
retain the last word on any use of the river.

In an effort to meet the demands of its growing
population, the Loudoun Authority purchased 22.7 acres
along the Potomac River in Loudoun County, Virginia in
1993 for the purpose of constructing a water intake and
treatment facility using Potomac River water. The Loudoun
Authority plans to withdraw water from the Potomac River
from its own intake system upon the non-tidal part of the
Potomac River bordering the County. A “Master Plan” for
meeting the current and future needs of the citizens of
Loudoun County, including construction and use of the
proposed intake, has been prepared and is under active
consideration by the Authority’s Board. The Loudoun

Authority has undertaken a “Water Supply Augmentation

Study” as part of its Master Plan. As a result of this planning

process, the Authority has determined that the Potomac
River intake is necessary, and it intends to build the proposed
intake. Maryland’s claims of authority to regulate Virginia’s
use of the river stand as a substantial impediment to the
Authority’s ability to discharge its water supply
responsibilities both in the present and the future.

Maryland’s delay of the FCWA’s intake for five
years and its claims of right to prohibit or limit all intake
permits, makes the orderly planning, design and construction
of a water intake facility highly uncertain. The Loudoun
Authority is at the point on its Master Plan where it would
have begun the permitting process but for the fact that it is
relying on Virginia in this suit to vindicate its right to be free
from Maryland’s permitting requirements. Should Virginia
succeed in this regard, the Loudoun Authority will apply for
the appropriate permits under 18 Va. Regs. Reg. 3601-03
(Aug. 26, 2001), which will become effective upon a

favorable outcome in this case. Thus, putative amicus

Audubon Naturalist Society’s (“ANS”) stated concerns of a
regulatory void are unfounded. (amicus Brief at 22).

B. Summary of the Argument.

By virtue of the Compact of 1785 between Virginia
and Maryland, 1785 Acts c. XVII, codified in part at Va.
Code Ann. § 7.1-7, 1786 Md. Laws c. I; the Black-Jenkins
Award of 1877, Va. Code Ann § 7.1-7, Act of March 3,
1879, ch. 196, 20 Stat. 481, 483; this Court’s decision in
Maryland y. West Virginia, 217 U.S. 577 (1910); the
-Potomac River Compact of 1958, Va. Code Ann § 28.2-
1001, Md. Code Ann., Nat. Res. § 4-306 (2002 Supp.), Pub.
L. No. 98-893, 76 Stat. 797 (1962); the Low Flow Allocation
Agreement of 1978; and the Water Supply Cooperation
Agreement of 1982, it is clear that Virginia, and her
subdivisions, instrumentalities, and citizens, have the right to
build structures in the river that do not obstruct navigation,
and that Virginia has retained its rights of access to the
Potomac River, including a right to withdraw and use water

without the prior consent of Maryland.

Maryland requires that anyone seeking to construct a
facility to withdraw water from the Potomac River obtain
permits including a waterway construction permit and a
water appropriation permit. Maryland conditions the
issuance of such permits on a showing that the appropriation,
in Maryland’s sole view, is “necessary.” On November 30,
1999, in response to the situation precipitated by the
FCWA’s request to build its proposed off-shore intake, the
Attorney General of Virginia wrote to the Attorney General
of Maryland demanding that Maryland either issue the
permit or agree that permit approval is not required for such
intakes. The Attorney General of Maryland replied on
January 4, 2000, asserting Maryland’s putative power to
regulate Virginia’s rights in the Potomac River.

As a consequence, the arguments of putative amicus
ANS that Virginia’s claims are moot or unripe are mistaken.
Furthermore, the Commonwealth of Virginia clearly has
standing to pursue this action parens patriae. The

‘Commonwealth has a sovereign interest in protecting the

ability of her citizens to freely exercise their rights of access

to the Potomac River free of the political whims of

Maryland. Virginia also has quasi-sovereign interests in

protecting the health and welfare of her citizens in general,

which are being threatened by Maryland’s express position

on the use of Potomac River water, and in insuring that her

residents are not being discriminatorily denied their rightful

status within the federal system.

Il. ARGUMENT

A. The Loudoun Authority’s active plan to

construct an intake into the Potomac River
refutes the claims of ANS of mootness and
lack of ripeness.

The Loudoun Authority is an owner of riparian
property with a practical stake in the outcome of this
proceeding. It therefore has a particular insight into the
practical needs of a riparian owner actually intending to

remove water from the Potomac River for the use of citizens

of Northern Virginia above the fall line. As a consequence,

10

the Loudoun Authority has specialized information and a
distinct perspective that may be helpful to this Court.
Contrary to the assertions of putative amicus ANS,
there is at least one Virginia entity, the Loudoun Authority,
which has imminent plans to withdraw additional water from
the Potomac River. The Loudoun Authority’s Master Plan
calls for the construction of an intake into the Potomac River
and a treatment facility that, together, will provide at least
one-half of the County’s daily water needs. This plan is not
merely theoretical or a remote contingency; the plan has
been extensively developed and is at the point where a
permit would have been sought but for the fact that the
Loudoun Authority agrees with the Commonwealth of
Virginia’s position that Maryland does not possess the

authority to issue such permits.‘

* In fact, since July 2001 when your amicus submitted the declaration of
Dale C. Hammes, the General Manager of the Loudoun Authority, for
inclusion in the record (Va. Lodging 327), seven out of nine work tasks
have been completed for the Water Supply Augmentation Study.

1]

With respect to ANS’ claim of mootness, the fact that
a permit has been issued does not satisfy the heavy burden a
litigant has when claiming mootness. As this Court has
recently stated:

It is well settled that ‘a defendant’s
voluntary cessation of a challenged
practice does not deprive a federal
court of its power to determine the
legality of the practice.’ ... ‘[I]f it did,
the courts would be compelled to
leave ‘[t]he defendant ... free to return
to his old ways.’... In accordance
with this principle, the standard we
have announced for determining
whether a case has been mooted by the
defendant’s voluntary conduct is
stringent: ‘A case might become moot
if subsequent events made it
absolutely clear that the allegedly
wrongful behavior could not
reasonably be expected to recur.” ...
The ‘heavy burden of persua[ding]’
the court that the challenged conduct
cannot reasonably be expected to start
up again lies with the party asserting
mootness.

Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Envtl. Servs. (TOC),
Inc., 528 U.S. 167, 189 (2000) (citations omitted). Not only

is the challenged activity here clearly capable of repetition, it

12

has not even ceased. Maryland, through its requirement for a
flow-restrictor for FCWA and through its unretracted claims
of right, continues to create a situation which requires
judicial resolution.

With respect to ripeness, the controversy between
Maryland and Virginia could hardly be more present,
immediate and concrete than it is. See Clinton v. City of New
York, 524 U.S. 417, 430 (1998). .

In light of these circumstances, your amicus
respectfully asks the Court to accept the recommendation of
the Special Master and hold that “Virginia, its governmental
subdivisions, and its citizens may withdraw water from the
Potomac River and construct improvements appurtenant to
the Virginia shore of the Potomac River free of regulation by
Maryland.” Report of the Special Master at 96-97. The
Loudoun Authority, acting on behalf of the citizens of
Loudoun County, Virginia, should be able to construct a

water intake to meet the needs of those citizens free of the

13

political choices of Maryland officials who have no duty to
the citizens of Loudoun County.

B. The Commonwealth of Virginia has
standing to pursue this action parens
patriae.

It is well settled that a state has standing to sue when
its sovereign or quasi-sovereign interests are implicated.
Pennsylvania v. New Jersey, 426 U.S. 660, 665 (1976). The
water rights disputes present here touch on both interests.

Sovereign interests are those in which the state, if it
were an independent nation, could resolve through the use of
diplomacy or force. Georgia v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 324
U.S. 439, 450 (1945); Missouri v. Illinois, 180 U.S. 208, 241
(1901). Surely, the use of an interstate waterway, without
having to defer to the sovereign claims of another state,
constitutes such an interest. The parens patriae doctrine, “is
a recognition of the principle that the state, when a party to a
suit involving a matter of sovereign interest, must be deemed

to represent all its citizens.” New Jersey v. New York, 345

U.S. 369, 372 (1953). Here, the position taken by the

14

Commonwealth of Virginia, that the citizens of Virginia
should be free to exercise their rights in the river without
submitting to the political agenda of Maryland, is a proper
exercise of its sovereign responsibilities and thus falls
squarely within the parens patriae doctrine. See Maryland v.
Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725, 737 (1981) (holding that state “may
act as the representative of its citizens in original actions
where the injury alleged affects the general population of a
State in a substantial way”).

The present case also touches on Virginia’s quasi-
sovereign interests. These interests fall into two general
categories:

First, a State has a quasi-sovereign interest in

the health and well-being — both physical and

economic — of its residents in general.

Second, a State has a quasi-sovereign interest

in not being discriminatorily denied its

rightful status within the federal system.

Alfred L. Snapp & Son, Inc. v. Puerto Rico, 458 U.S. 592,
607 (1982). Virginia’s interests are clearly implicated in

both categories. It has been long established that where “the

15

health and comfort of the inhabitants of a State are
threatened, the State is the proper party to represent and
defend them.” Missouri v. Illinois, 180 U.S. at 241; see also
Kansas v. Colorado, 185 U.S. 125, 141-42 (1902) (observing
that a state is the proper party to represent and defend its
citizens when their health and comfort is threatened through
the acts of another state depriving those citizens of water
rights). The need for sufficient water for Loudoun County’s
and Northern Virginia’s projected population strongly
implicates the health and comfort of that population.
Furthermore, it is clear from the record before this
Court that the citizens of Virginia face disparate treatment
from Maryland in terms of access to the Potomac River. The
express purpose of the supporters of the so-called Potomac
River Protection Act was to curb the growth of Northern
Virginia, with a focus on Loudoun County. Given the
politicized treatment and consequent delay in processing the
FCWA’s request to build an offshore intake, there is no

reason to believe the Loudoun Authority would fare any

16

better should it seek a permit. While the FCWA’s permit
was eventually granted after protracted delay and great
expense, it is clear that Maryland officials can make the
process difficult, time-consuming and expensive in order to
serve Maryland’s opposition to growth in Northern Virginia.
Finally, the position taken by putative amicus ANS
that individual water authorities and jurisdictions must
pursue individual actions to protect their own interests (see
amicus Brief at 12), is unsupportable under the facts and
circumstances of this case. In New Jersey v. New York, 345
U.S. 369 (1953), the Court held that the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, which was allowed to intervene, was in a
better position to represent the needs of all its citizens than
the City of Philadelphia, which was not allowed to intervene,
because Philadelphia represented “only a part of the citizens
of Pennsylvania who reside in the watershed area of the
Delaware River and its tributaries and depend upon those
waters.” Jd. at 373. Here, Virginia represents the FWCA,
the Loudoun Authority and all of Virginia’s other citizens

17

and subdivisions by virtue of parens patriae. The Loudoun
Authority, in turn, is speaking only because the parties have
consented, and the rules of this Court therefore permit its
views to be aired.

The various sovereign and quasi-sovereign interests
being asserted here are at least as varied and strong as those
advanced by Colorado in Colorado v. New Mexico, 459 U.S.
176 (1982), where this Court noted:

New Mexico also contends that
Colorado is improperly suing directly
and solely for the benefit of a private
individual -- C.F. & I. ...

... While C.F. & 1. will most likely be
the primary user of any water diverted
from the Vermejo River, other
Colorado citizens may jointly use the
water or purchase water rights in the
future. In any event, Colorado surely
has a sovereign interest in the
beneficial effects of a diversion on the
general prosperity of the State. Faced
with a similar set of circumstances in
Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U.S. 46, 99,
27 S.Ct. 655, 668, 51 L.Ed. 956
(1907), we concluded that ‘[t)he
controversy rises ... above a mere

18

question of local private right and
involves the matter of state interest
and must be considered from that
standpoint.’

459 US. at 181 n.9.

The present case is in all respects a concrete dispute
among co-equal sovereigns of the sort that this court
regularly decides.

Ill. CONCLUSION

Because the Report of the Special Master is correct in
all respects, the Loudoun Authority requests that this Court
adopt the Report of the Special Master and enter the Special

Master’s proposed Decree.

19

Respectfully Submitted,

LOUDOUN COUNTY
SANITATION AUTHORITY

Stanley M. Franklin

E. Duncan Getchell, Jr., Counsel of Record
Robert L. Hodges

James E. Brown

McGUIREWOODS LLP

One James Center

901 —. Cary Street

Richmond, Virginia 23219-4030

(804) 775-1000 (telephone)

(804) 775-1061 (facsimile)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0579%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
