# Amicus Curiae Brief — Demore v. Kim

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0561%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 538 U.S. 510

## Text

No. 01-1491 OCI 28

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

CHARLES DEMORE, DISTRICT DIRECTOR, et al.,

Petitioners,
v.
HYUNG JOON KIM,

Respondent.

On Wait oF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING
RESPONDENT

ALFRED P. Carton, JR.*
President, American Bar Association
750 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60611

(312) 588-5000
Of Counsel:

JerFrRey L. BLEICH
DEBORAH N. PEARLSTEIN

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
* Counsel of Record

177056

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the mandatory detention of lawful permanent
residents under 8 U.S.C. § 1226(c), without an individualized
determination of flight risk or dangerousness, violates the
Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment.

li -
ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF CITEDAUTHORITIES
Page ties
QUESTION PRESENTED .............0.00ees i CASES:
TABLE OF CONTENTS .........-0eccceeeeee: ii | Addington v. Texas,
rs os eee oeeees 12, 13, 14
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ............ ili
Albillo-Figueroa v. INS,
STATEMENT OF INTEREST ..............-:- 1 221 F.3d 1070 (9th Cir. 2000) ............... 5
STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND SUMMARY OF Almendarez-Torres v. United States,
(0, eT a EE 11
ARGURGEINT ....000sv00ceesueneeneeel 9 Apprendi v. New Jersey,
es are cece eces 11
I. Lawful Permanent Residents are Entitled to
the Individualized Determination Tradi- Aragon-Ayon v. INS, _
tionally Afforded by U.S. Criminal and Civil 206 F.3d 847 (9th Cir. 2000) ................ 5
Detention Spates ...ccccccesscceensunn 9
Bell v. Reno,
Il. There Is No Reasonable Basis Here for an 218 F.3d 86 (2nd Cir. 2000), cert. denied,
Exception to the Due Process Rule cones 20 2001 WL 12704 (U.S. 2001) TT TrVTrTUTerrrerree 5
A. Numerous Less Restrictive Alternatives Bell v. Wolfish,
Can Guard Against Flight and Threats to 441 U.S. 520 (1979) COeeercoreseeeoeceoooes 10
Publis Seay . wc ccccecccunessseuue 21
Caballero v. Caplinger,
B. Congress Did Not Review the “Actual 914 F. Supp. 1374 (E.D. La. 1996) eeecccccees 8
Consequences” of Discretionary
Watenee . . osc vcccencenuuneue 25 Camacho-Marroquin v. INS,
188 F.3d 649 (Sth Cir. 1999) ................ 5
CORTCE TINS wc cccousscusestueheneeee 30
Cardoso v. Reno,

127 F. Supp.2d 106 (D. Conn. 2001) .......... 27

iv

Cited Authorities
Page

Carlson v. Landon,

De , SED cdicbocccssnsedecedsnas 19
Castro-Baez v. Reno,

217 F.3d 1057 (9th Cir. 2000) ............... 5
Chowdhury v. INS,

249 F.3d 970 (9th Cir. 2001) .............44.. 5
Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill,

Ge as SEED npcbhens dacédasdtascecs 17
County of Riverside v. McLaughlin,

Sa ED db idoodtousewededcanese 12
Cupp v. Murphy,

Se UE bc scctuncstesencasatede 11
Ex parte Bollman,

BE CED babobdncccccotedasnckeds 11
Ex Parte Burford,

DG SE 6 ho vcoccccsscéaccnvees 11
Foucha v. Louisiana,

,. §& ll ee 10, 13, 14, 20
Fuentes v. Shevin,

Gy Ce OF IED decctcedsédcccsaseeesoe 17
Gagnon v. Scarpelli,

GEE Gel VOREGED cccevacecdedcanccesenee 17

v
Cited Authorities
Page
Gerstein v. Pugh,
EET AES TN ee 11,12
Goldberg v. Kelly,
I i a 17
Goss v. Lopez,
I a i ak nk ui 17
Herrerta-Soto v. INS,
175 F.3d 1024 (8th Cir. 1999) ............... 5
In re Joseph,
22 I. & N. Dec. 799, 1999 WL 339053 (BIA
I Nth ale el a ae ee cle at led 10, 20
Ingraham v. Wright,
ee a oe 10
INS v. St. Cyr,
a no 5, 6, 27
Jackson v. Indiana,
i enue 12, 14
Jones v. United States,
gk nn nd dececosecese 14, 15
Kamalthas v. INS,
251 F.3d 1279 (9th Cir. 2001) ............... 6

Kansas v. Crane,
SE a ee 15

vi

Cited Authorities
Page
Kansas v. Hendricks,
SBE UD. BEB CISSFD co ccsccnccccccccceces 15, 16, 20
Kellman v. District Director,
750 F. Supp. 625 (S.D.N.Y. 1990) ............ s
Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez,
ER err TTT Ty ore 10
Kim v. Ziglar,
SE PEED 6.0.6.00.000600005 600660600 27
Leon v. I.N.S.,
27 Fed. Appx. 868 (9th Cir. 2001) ............ 5
Lettman v. Reno,
207 F.3d 1368 (11th Cir. 2000) .............. 5
Leyva-Licea v. I.N.S.,
187 F.3d 1147 (9th Cir. 1999) ............... 5
Lopez-Elias v. Reno,
209 F.3d 788 (Sth Cir. 2000) ..............5. 5
Matter of Patel,
15 1. &N. Dec. 666, 1976 WL 32348 (BIA 1976)
Denes ab edacabatadioled Sanaa. ‘
Memphis Light, Gas and Water Div. v. Craft,
GEE: BGG 0b ede ceccctce recess dececss 17

Morrissey v. Brewer,
408 U.S. 471 (1972) ............ tet eeeeeees 16

vii
Cited Authorities
Page

Parham v. J. R..,

CR re re eee 12
Reno v. Flores,

pin. otceceuaueadwdueees 18, 19
Rivera-Sanchez v. Reno,

Se ee GE BOD cccccvccvcoctess 5
Santos v. Reno,

ee ee re GG SED cccccccecccccess 5
Sareang Ye v. INS,

214 F.3d 1128 (9th Cir. 2000) ............... 5
Schall v. Martin,

éocin cide ccenvetes 17, 18, 20
Serrano v. Estrada,

201 F. Supp.2d 714 (N.D. Tex. 2002) ......... 28
Solorzano-Patian v. I.N.S.,

207 F.3d 869 (7th Cir. 2000) ................ 5
United States v. Salerno,

ED od ocknn ceeues 10, 12, 14, 19, 21
Vargas v. Reno,

966 F. Supp. 1537 (S.D. Cal. 1997) ........... 6
Vitek v. Jones,

ED Sen giuesdavéesesesacéa 12, 17

viii
Cited Authorities
Page

Walpole v. Hill,

iT eee 17
Welch v. Ashcroft,

293 F.3d 213 (4th Cir. 2002) ................ 4
Wireko v. Reno,

211 F.3d 833 (4th Cir. 2000) ................ 5
Wolff v. McDonnell,

Ss ED Cb dcwecesdetéacecdeseds 17
Wong Wing v. United States,

SP Ee: GEE cd cusecdiaddenncescéees 10
Xiong v. INS,

173 F.3d 601 (7th Cir. 1999) ................ 5
Young v. Harper,

PP ED 6-64 0ec tence déacudausdass 17
Zadvydas v. Davis,

ee eer passim
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION:
oo dh eed anabiiones i, 1,3, 10

10

ix

Cited Authorities
Page
STATUTES:
8 U.S.C.
I ns es cee cuipetele 5
B REDRANES) nc ccccccscecccccccscccccnvcs 4,5,8
ESTORIL, SOPRA TOPE: 4
lie in eu enadnans ._ passim
Se ne 5
ee 4
ee 4, 6
EE EO OO TE 6
§ 1227(aN2B)ii) 6... cece eee eee eee 4
SESE RE IEE OO EE 6
DB ERPCROEED caccccccccccescccccccccccens 8
NN ea aac iake 8
Nn eecenas 22

x

Cited Authorities

RULES:

Rules of the Supreme Court 37.3 .........-.++::
Rules of the Supreme Court 37.6 .........---++:
REGULATIONS:

8 C.F.R.

SE, nits ccnnv tetas
OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Burger, Introduction: The ABA Standards for
Criminal Justice, 12 Am. Crim. L.Rev. 251
CIDPED oc cccccceccvicsecescsccosvedesegens

Hearing on H.R. 3333 Brief the Subcomm. On
Immigration, Refugees, and International Law of
the House Comm. On the Judiciary, 101* Cong.,
1 Sess. 71-72 (1989) ...... cc eeeeeeeecceees

Statistics from Criminal Aliens in the United States:
Hearings Before the Permanent Subcomm. On
Investigations of the Senate Comm. On
Governmental Affairs, 103" Cong., 1* Sess. 21
(19D3) . .cccccccccccccccccccccesccccsecece

Page

19

26

xi

Cited Authorities
Page

Statement of Joseph Greene, Acting Deputy Executive
Associate Commissioner for INS Field
Operations, Hearing Before the Subcommittee on
Immigration and Claims of the Committee on the
Judiciary, House of Representatives, 107" Cong.,
Pe I ED (odie 6 bs dd endvtecev aes 28

Elizabeth Rapaport, The Georgia Immigration
Pardons, 13 Fed. Sent. Rptr. 184 (2001) ....... 6

Inspector General, U.S. Dep’t. of Justice, Inspection
Report, Immigration and Naturalization Service
Deportation of Aliens After Final Orders Have
Been Issued, Rep. No. I-96-03 (Mar. 1996) .... 27

Letter to the Honorable John Ashcroft, Attorney
General, from Senators Leahy, Kennedy, Hatch,
and Brownback (Aug. 16, 2002) ............. 23, 24

National Institute of Justice Issues and Practices,
Pretrial Services Programs: Responsibilities and
Potential, NCJ 181939 (March 2001) .....=-...21, 22

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency
Prevention, U.S. Dept. of Justice, Desktop Guide
to Good Juvenile Detention Practice (Oct.
EE tee ied ae bbe oN eed edkene bs 64 18

kk a ae tee ed aie inn 21, 22

xii

Cited Authorities
Page

Senate Appropriations Report 107-42, “Department

of Commerce, Justice, and State, the Judiciary, and

Related Agencies Appropriation Bill, 2002,”
POT ee Tee rE EP ee ry ae 24

Testimony of Doris Meissner, Commissioner,
Immigration and Naturalization Service, before
the Subcommittee on Immigration Committee on
the Judiciary, U.S. Senate (Sept. 16, 1998) .... -29

The National Association of Pretrial Services
Agencies NAPSA Performance Standards and
Goals for Pretrial Release (2d ed. 1998) ....... 22

U.S. General Accounting Office, Criminal Aliens:
INS’ Efforts to Identify and Remove Imprisoned
Aliens Continue to Need Improvement (Feb. 1999)
ee ee re 4,24

U.S. General Accounting Office, Jllegal Aliens:
Opportunities Exist to Improve the Expedited
Removal Process (Sept. 2000) ............... 27, 29

Vera Institute of Justice, Testing Community
Supervision for the INS: An Evaluation of the
Appearance Assistance Program (August 1,
DEED Rkncct abet éencevnsceduueasteecests 9, 23

l

INTEREST OF THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION

Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 37.3, amicus curiae American
Bar Association (“ABA”) respectfully submits this brief urging
this Court to hold that Section 1226(c) of Title 8 of the United
States Code as applied to lawful permanent residents violates
the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment to the
Constitution.'

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

The American Bar Association (“ABA”) respectfully
submits this brief as amicus curiae pursuant to Rule 37.3 of the
Rules of this Court. The ABA is a voluntary, national
membership organization of the legal profession. Its more than
410,000 members, from each state and territory and the District
of Columbia, include prosecutors, public defenders, private
lawyers, legislators, law professors, law enforcement and
corrections personnel, law students and a number of non-lawyer
associates in allied fields.

The ABA is committed to protecting the constitutional and
statutory rights of immigration detainees. Since 1990, the ABA
House of Delegates has maintained support for facilitating
exercise of the right to counsel; for detaining asylum seekers
only in extraordinary circumstances and only in the least
restrictive environment necessary; and for exploring alternative
means of ensuring appearance at immigration proceedings.
In August 2002, the ABA reaffirmed its commitment to these

1. This brief is filed with the consent of both petitioners and
respondent, and letters reflecting those consents have been lodged with
the Clerk of this Court. Pursuant to the Court’s Rule 37.6, the ABA
states that this brief has not been authored in whole or in part by counsel
for a party and that no person or entity, other than Amicus, its members
or its counsel has made a monetary contribution to the preparation or
submission of this brief. Neither this brief nor the decision to file it
reflects the views of any judicial member of the ABA. No member of
the Judicial Division Council participated in the adoption of the positions
in this brief or reviewed the brief prior to filing.

2

principles in a resolution adopted by the House of Delegates
calling for the provision of prompt custody hearings for
immigration detainees before immigration judges, accompanied
by meaningful administrative review and judicial oversight.

These principles are also reflected in the ABA’s strong
support for procedural safeguards in the criminal justice context,
where the ABA has long been active. Among its most recent
efforts, the ABA House of Delegates promulgated the latest
edition of its Criminal Justice Standards on Pretrial Release
(3d ed. 2002) (hereinafter “Pretrial Release Standards”), which
represent a consensus of the legal community and contain a
comprehensive set of guidelines intended to help promote
fairness and balance in the criminal justice system. The first
edition of the Standards was described by former Chief Justice
Burger as the “single most comprehensive and probably the most
monumental undertaking in the field of criminal justice ever
attempted by the American legal profession in our national
history.” Burger, Introduction: The ABA Standards for Criminal
Justice, 12 Am. Crim. L. Rev. 251 (1974).

These Standards are guided by the recognition that
deprivation of liberty while awaiting a final determination of
an individual’s fate is “harsh and oppressive, subjects
[individuals] to economic and psychological hardship, interferes
with their ability to defend themselves, and, in many instances,
deprives their families of support.” Pretrial Release Standards,
10-1.1. While the Standards are addressed principally to criminal
detention, the ABA believes that procedural safeguards are also
critical where, as here, lawful permanent residents are awaiting
a civil proceeding — often housed in criminal detention facilities?
— to determine whether or not they may be removed permanently
from this country.

2. The INS uses hundreds of facilities for immigration detention,
the majority of which are state and local jails and correctional institutions
where the INS contracts for bed space. This creates the anomaly of civil
administrative detainees being incarcerated alongside criminal
ee ee

3

The ABA appears as amicus curiae in this proceeding
because the question presented herein has serious implications
for the administration of justice and, in particular, for the
constitutional right of lawful permanent residents to a forum in
which their challenge to the need for detention may be heard.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case presents the narrow question whether the
mandatory detention of lawful permanent residents under
8 U.S.C. § 1226(c), without an individualized determination of
flight risk or dangerousness, violates the Due Process Clause
of the Fifth Amendment. The sole relief Respondent Mr. Kim
seeks is an individualized hearing in which he may demonstrate
that his detention is not necessary to ensure his appearance at
subsequent proceedings or to protect the community. Mr. Kim
asserts only that due process entitles him to a demonstration
that the Government has some particularized reason why
depriving him of his liberty is necessary to secure the legitimate
state interests the Government says it seeks. As this Court has
recognized time and again, lawful permanent residents in this
country enjoy the protection of the Fifth Amendment to the
Constitution: no “person” in this country may be deprived of
physical liberty without due process of law. By denying lawful
permanent residents a meaningful opportunity io be heard before
detaining them for an unspecified period, Section 1226(c)
deprives these individuals of a liberty interest that the
Constitution presumes they retain.

At the same time, this case does not require the Court to
test the Government’s power to detain those individuals who
are found to pose a danger to the community or present a
particular risk of flight. Mr. Kim has resided in the United States
since he was a chiid. Petitioner’s Brief (“Petr. Br.”), 3. Under
(Cont’d)
the procedural safeguards that are the norm in the criminal justice context.
The ABA estimates that more than 55% of immigration detainees are
incarcerated in penal facilities while awaiting their immigration hearings.

4

the challenged statute, Mr. Kim may be subject to mandatory
detention for committing an offense no more inherently
“dangerous” than tax evasion or shoplifting. 8 U.S.C. § 1226(c);
8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43). Indeed, because what counts as a
“conviction” or “term of imprisonment” is uniquely defined
under the 1996 immigration law (for example, a “term of
imprisonment” can include a suspended sentence), an immigrant
like Mr. Kim who is mandatorily detained under Section 1226(c)
may never previously have spent a day in jail. See 8 U.S.C.
§ 1101(a)(48).° Moreover, contrary to the Government’s
assertion, only a tiny fraction of immigrant “aggravated felons”
like Mr. Kim released under the discretionary provision that
preceded Section 1226(c) ever engaged in felony activity again.
According to the INS Law Enforcement Support Center, of
nearly 1200 potentially removable “aggravated felons” who were
released from prison, only 15 were subsequently convicted of
additional felony charges — a recidivism rate of just 1.25%.‘
And detention may extend for years because, while there is a
“clearly identifiable event marking completion of the detention
period (i.e. issuance of a final order),” there is no “clearly
identifiable deadline by which that event must take place.” Welch
v. Ashcroft, 293 F.3d 213, 227 (4th Cir. 2002).

This case likewise does not involve individuals who have
been finally determined to be subject to removal. Mr. Kim has
a right under federal law to reside permanently in the United
States, and to remain in this country until a final order of removal

3. Mr. Kim was detained under the portion of the statute mandating
detention for individuals who are facing deportation for a wide variety
of offenses, including drug addiction, 8 U.S.C. § 1227(a)(2)(B)(ii);
“moral turpitude crimes,” id. § 1227(a)(2)(A)(i); and “convictions” for
offenses classified as “aggravated felonies,” id. § 1227(aX2)(A)(iii).
Under 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43), an “aggravated felony” includes offenses
that are typically considered misdemeanors or minor crimes.

4. U.S. General Accounting Office, Criminal Aliens: INS’ Efforts
to Identify and Remove Imprisoned Aliens Continue to Need
Improvement, at 3 (Feb. 1999).

5

has been entered. 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(20); 8 C.F.R. § 1.1(p).
Courts have uniformly recognized their jurisdiction to determine
whether the conviction for which the INS seeks removal was
an “aggravated felony” under 8 U.S.C § 1227(a),° and many

like Mr. Kim have successfully disputed the classification of

their convictions under 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43).° Moreover, as
this Court has made clear, a “great number” of individuals
convicted of “aggravated felonies” remain eligible for
discretionary relief after the Illegal Immigration Reform and
Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996 (“IIRIRA”). JNS v. St.
Cyr, 533 U.S. 289, 323 (2001).’ And the statute itself provides

5. See, e.g., Bell v. Reno, 218 F.3d 86 (2nd Cir. 2000), cert. denied,
2001 WL 12704 (U.S. 2001); Wireko v. Reno, 211 F.3d 833 (4th Cir.
2000); Camacho-Marroquin v. INS, 188 F.3d 649 (Sth Cir. 1999), opinion
withdrawn on other grounds, reh'g dismissed, 222 F.3d 1040 (Sth Cir.
2000); Herrerta-Soto v. INS, 175 F.3d 1924 (8th Cir. 1999); Albillo-
Figueroa v. INS, 221 F.3d 1070 (9th Cir. 2000); Aragon-Ayon v. INS,
206 F.3d 847 (9th Cir. 2000); Castro-Baez v. Reno, 217 F.3d 1057 (9th
Cir. 2000); Lettman v. Reno, 207 F.3d 1368 (11th Cir. 2000).

6. See, e.g., Lopez-Elias v. Reno, 209 F.3d 788 (Sth Cir. 2000);
Santos v. Reno, 228 F.3d 591 (Sth Cir. 2000); Rivera-Sanchez v. Reno,
198 F.3d 545 (Sth Cir. 1999); Xiong v. INS, 173 F.3d 601 (7th Cir. 1999);
Solorzano-Patian v. I.N.S., 207 F.3d 869 (7th Cir. 2000); Chowdhury v.
INS, 249 F.3d 970 (9th Cir. 2001); Sareang Ye v. INS, 214 F.3d 1128
(9th Cir. 2000); Leyva-Licea v. I.N.S., 187 F.3d 1147 (9th Cir. 1999);
Leon v. ILN.S., 27 Fed. Appx. 868 (9th Cir. 2001).

7. St. Cyr carves out a significant exception to I[RIRA’s denial of
discretionary relief for aggravated felons by preserving discretionary
relief for aliens “whose convictions were obtained through plea
agreements and who, notwithstanding those convictions, would have
been eligible for § [1226 (c)] relief at the time of their plea under the
law then in effect.” 533 U.S. at 326. By the Court’s own estimation, the
impact of its decision is sweeping, since the number of aliens who relied
on Section 1226(c) prior to the passage of IIRIRA “is extremely large,”
id. at 295-96 (noting that in years immediately prior to the statute's
passage more than 50% of the applicants under Section 1226(c) were
ee ee ae any em 2

(Cont’

6

several avenues by which immigrants who have been convicted
of an aggravated felony under section 1227(a)(2)A){ili) may
avoid removal altogether.’ In short, the fact that a lawful
permanent resident has a prior “conviction” does not, of itself,
establish that he is subject to deportation or will be ordered
deported.

In view of the limited nature of the case presented, Amicus
confines its discussion here to two key points supporting the
Court of Appeals’ decision: (1) an individualized determination
of the reasons why the absolute deprivation of liberty is necessary
is the touchstone of U.S. civil and criminal detention systems,
and (2) mandatory detention for every immigrant pending a
deportation determination is both unnecessary and grossly out
of step with standard methods for ensuring appearance and
protecting the public in analogous civil or criminal detention
systems in the United States.

(Cont'd)

at 323-25, n.51, n.54. Moreover, because ITRIRA “expanded the
definition of ‘aggravated felony’ substantially” to include “more minor
crimes which may have been committed many years ago,” an “increased
percentage of applicants will meet the stated criteria for § [1226(c)]
relief.” Jd. at 296 n.6. Finally, an individual may avoid deportation if he
has been pardoned for his offense. 8 U.S.C. § 1227(a)(2)(A)(v);
see also Elizabeth Rapaport, The Georgia Immigration Pardons, 13 Fed.
Sent. Rptr. 184 (2001).

8. An immigrant may not be removed if the Attorney General
decides (1) that removal to a particular country might threaten the alien’s
life or freedom because of the alien's race, religion, nationality,
membership in a particular social group, or political opinion, and (2)
the alien has not participated in persecution, has not committed a
particularly serious crime, and does not pose a danger to the United
States. 8 U.S.C. § 1231(b)(3). Removal may also be avoided through

private legislation from Congress, see Vargas v. Reno, 966 F. Supp. 1537,
50 (BD. Cal. 1997), or under international treaties, such as the
Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading
Teenneet or CUNARMNNE, Sy CED © 251 F.3d 1279
(9th Cir. 2001).

7

Where the Government seeks to deprive an individual of a
significant liberty interest, this Court has left no question that
due process demands a determination that the Government’s
legitimate purposes are served by the deprivation in the
individual case. This rule is past question when the
Government’s purpose in detention is punitive. It is equally
essential when the Government’s purpose is preventive. This
principle is borne out in this Court’s due process jurisprudence
governing pretrial detention of arrestees; post-conviction
termination of parole rights; the civil system of juvenile
detention (for citizens and immigrants alike); and civil
commitment of the mentally ill — even when commitment
follows a jury finding of not guilty by reason of insanity. Without
exception, the same rule has governed this Court’s decisions
regarding immigrants present in the United States. The insistence
on individualized determinations in all of these contexts is with
good reason. As the Court has recently emphasized, absent a
statement of particular reasons why detention in the individual
case is necessary, preventive detention related to immigration
proceedings could become simply an easier mechanism for the
Government to inflict punishment.

As the Court has also made clear, a legitimate purpose alone
is not enough to justify the absolute deprivation of liberty when
alternative, less restrictive methods are available that serve the
Government’s asserted interests equally well. Here, there is no
basis for a conclusion that detention is the sole solution. Despite
the Government’s heavy reliance on categorical statistics —
suggesting that immigrants invariably pose a risk of flight or
danger — the evidence regarding lawful permanent residents in
this country points to just the opposite conclusion.

The categories of individuals subject to detention pending
the outcome of deportation proceedings have changed repeatedly
in the past fifteen years. As a result, statistics and legislative
history purporting to describe the “actual consequences” of

discretionary release during this period cannot be readily
compared, and until 1996, demonstrate nothing about the

consequences of discretionary release of lawful permanent
residents following a bond hearing. Before 1988, everyone
subject to deportation hearings was entitled to a bond hearing
and was presumptively eligible to be released. Matter of Patel,
15 L. & N. Dec. 666, 1976 WL 32348 (BIA 1976). Between
1988 and 1990, any immigrant (legal or illegal) who had been
convicted of an “aggravated felony” — then defined narrowly to
include only murder, drug trafficking, and trafficking in
firearms — was to be detained without bond. Former 8 U.S.C.
§ 1101(a)(43), § 1252 (1988). Courts soon concluded that this
restriction was unconstitutional. See, e.g., Kellman v. District
Director, 750 F. Supp. 625, 626-27 (S.D.N.Y. 1990); Caballero
v. Caplinger, 914 F. Supp. 1374, 1376-77 (E.D. La. 1996)
(citing cases). Accordingly, in 1990, Congress amended the law
again to expand eligibility for bond — lawful permanent residents
were again eligible for custody hearings and release. Just a year
later, “lawfully admitted” immigrants were added to those
eligible for release (even if currently in unlawful status). Former
8 U.S.C. § 1252 (1991). In 1996, Congress substantially
expanded the types of crimes deemed to be “aggravated
felonies,” but the INS retained discretion to release “lawfully
admitted” immigrants after a bond hearing until 1998.
Because of these numerous changes, statistics purporting
to describe recidivism or absconding by “aliens” during this
period in fact describe widely differing groups of immigrants.
They provide no basis for demonstrating that, as the Government
release does not. As important, only recently has there been any
information about what happens to the current class of
“aggravated felons” when released following an individual
determination of flight risk or dangerousness. The single study
during the relevant period that does examine how lawful
release pending deportation hearings found appearance rates of

9

90% or better. Vera Institute of Justice, Testing Community
Supervision for the INS: An Evaluation of the Appearance
Assistance Program (August 1, 2000).°

Likewise, for lawful permanent residents, any number of
conditioned or supervised release programs can more than
adequately satisfy the Government's interests in ensuring court
appearances and protecting the public. Indeed, immigration
detention is the only context in the United States in which such
conditional release programs are not employed as a matter of
course. Pretrial services programs in the criminal justice system
have been the norm for the past four decades — to enormously
beneficial effect. Moreover, the single such pilot program that
has been conducted in the immigration context has demonstrated
the overwhelming effectiveness of even a modicum of post-
release supervisory assistance.

Everything that has been learned from conditional or
supervised release programs in these contexts points to the same
conclusion: long-term members of a community, who have close
ties to that community, are overwhelmingly likely to satisfy all
conditions of release and appear at court proceedings as
scheduled. Despite the Government’s suggestion otherwise,
there is no evidence reasonably supporting the conclusion that
immigration detention alone must operate outside the bounds
of standard practice in the United States. Rather, the INS, like
every other law enforcement body, should employ conditions
of release that are no more extensive than necessary to
accomplish the Government’s stated goals.

ARGUMENT

I. Lawful Permanent Residents are Entitled to the
Individualized Determination Traditionally Afforded By
U.S. Criminal and Civil Detention Systems

Freedom from physical detention “lies at the heart” of the
liberty interest that the Due Process Clause protects. Zadvydas

9. The Vera Institute study is discussed in greater detail below.

10

v. Davis, 533 U.S. 678, 690 (2001); Foucha v. Louisiana, 504
U.S. 71, 80 (1992); United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739, 750
(1987). Because detention involves a complete deprivation of
all personal liberty, due process requires that it may be imposed
only through a process that affords considerable procedural
protections. While the scope of procedures afforded may vary
depending on the length and nature of the detention at issue,
due process has always required some independent arbiter to
determine that the Government’s legitimate purposes justify the
deprivation of liberty in the individual case.

In this case, the Government asserts two interests supporting
the detention of lawful permanent residents who have not yet
been found deportable: (1) the risk that they will fail to appear
for subsequent court proceedings (“flight risk”’); and (2) the risk
that, if released, they will pose a danger to the public. Petr. Br.
at 12. While insisting that such individuals are afforded ample
hearing prior to their detention under Section 1226(c), Petr. Br.
at 26-27 (citing Jn re Joseph, 22 I. & N. Dec. 799, 1999
WL 339053 (BIA 1999)), the Government can point to no
determination at any stage as to whether the individual is in
fact a flight risk or a danger. Indeed, there is no individual hearing
evaluating whether there is any relationship between the
Government’s asserted interests and the deprivation to be
inflicted. In this respect, Section 1226(c) falls short of every
other detention scheme this Court has approved.

Due process requirements are stringent and unconditional
where the state seeks to detain an individual as punishment for
a crime. The Government may not sentence a person to
imprisonment absent a finding of guilt. Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S.
520, 535-36 (1979); see also Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651,
671-672 n. 40, 674 (1977); Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez,
372 U.S. 144, 165, 167, 186 (1963); Wong Wing v. United States,
163 U.S. 228, 237 (1896). Indeed, between the “Due Process
Clause of the Fifth Amendment and the notice and jury trial
guarantees of the Sixth Amendment, any fact (other than prior
conviction) that increases the maximum penalty for a crime must

11

be charged in an indictment, submitted to a jury, and proven
beyond a reasonable doubt.” Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S.
466, 476 (2000).'° Punitive detention outside the strictures of
these protections may not be imposed.

Where the Government’s asserted interest is preventive,
rather than punitive, the procedural safeguards required are only
slightly less exacting. But they invariably include the
requirement that detention of an individual serves the purposes
the Government seeks to advance. Thus, the Government may
not detain a person on suspicion of having committed a
crime for any substantial period absent an individualized
showing that there is reason to believe that the person
committed the crime. See, e.g., Cupp v. Murphy, 412 U.S. 291,
294-95 (1973); Ex parte Bollman, 4 Cranch 75 (1807); Ex parte
Burford, 3 Cranch 448 (1806). Recognizing the “necessary
accommodation between the individual’s right to liberty and
the State’s [regulatory] duty to control crime,” this Court
determined that arrest by an officer on the street could be
accompanied by a simple finding of probable cause to believe
that the individual to be detained “had committed or was
committing an offense.” Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103,
111-12 (1975) (quoting Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 91 (1964)).
But once the individual has been detained, the Government’s
reasons for avoiding the delay of an individualized hearing lest
a crime be committed no longer apply, and a prompt judicial
determination is required. “The consequences of prolonged
detention may be more serious than the interference occasioned
by arrest, . . . imperil[ing] the suspect’s job, interrupt[ing] his
source of income, and impair[ing] his family relationships.” /d.
at 114. Indeed: “When the stakes are this high, the detached

10. Almendarez-Torres v. United States, 523 U.S. 224 (1998), which
remains a narrow exception to the Apprendi rule, does not alter the
analysis. There, the fact that the defendant had a prior conviction was
itself sufficient to increase his sentence. The fact of prior conviction
was not used as an irrebuttable proxy for a determination that defendant
was dangerous or posed a risk of flight.

12

judgment of a neutral magistrate is essential” to justify an
“extended restraint of liberty.” /d. at 114; see also County of
Riverside v. McLaughlin, 500 U.S. 44, 56 (1991) (probable cause
hearing must be held within 48 hours of arrest).

Likewise, in upholding the 1984 Bail Reform Act, the Court
relied on the existence of an individualized process for
considering whether to permit release on bail before allowing a
federal court to detain an arrestee pending trial. Balancing the
same set of interests — individual liberty against the
Government’s “regulatory” goal of preventing danger to the
community — this Court upheld the Act based on its series of
strict procedural protections. Salerno, 481 U.S. at 747.
Among other things, the Government was required to
demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence after a
“full-blown” adversarial hearing that no conditions of release
could “reasonably assure the safety of the community or any
person.” Jd. at 742-51. Further, the Act operated only on arrestees
charged with “extremely serious offenses,” and detention was
subject to the “stringent time limitations” of the Speedy Trial
Act. Id. at 747-50. As the Court explained, the “extensive”
procedural safeguards set forth by the Act were “specifically
designed to further the accuracy of [the] determination” in the
individual case. Jd. at 751.

Because civil commitment implicates precisely the same,
powerful liberty interest as imprisonment, this Court has
repeatedly recognized that an individualized determination of
reasons is precisely as essential. There is plainly a substantial
liberty interest in avoiding confinement in a mental hospital.
Vitek v. Jones, 445 U.S. 480, 491-92 (1980) (commitment entails
“a massive curtailment of liberty,”); Parham v. J. R., 442 US.
584, 600 (1979); Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 425 (1979);
Jackson v. Indiana, 406 U.S. 715, 738 (1972) (due process
requires at least that the nature and duration of commitment to
a mental hospital “bear some reasonable relation to the purpose”
of the commitment). Accordingly, the Court has required the
use of exacting — and manifestly individualized — procedural

13

protections to guard against error in allowing for civil detention
of the mentally ill.

Thus, in Addington v. Texas, this Court invalidated a Texas
civil commitment statute because it lacked a sufficiently
demanding standard of proof to justify depriving an individuai
of his liberty. Addington arose from a petition by the appellant’s
mother for his involuntary commitment. Under Texas law, the
son was entitled to retain counsel, and trial was held before a
jury to determine whether he could be committed. Addington,
441 U.S. at 420. Despite the substantial procedural protections
Texas law already provided, this Court held that the standard of
proof the state Supreme Court accepted, a “preponderance of
the evidence,” was insufficiently strict given the magnitude of
the liberty interest involved. While the state “has a legitimate
interest” in providing care to its citizens, and in protecting the
community from those who may pose a danger, “the State has
no interest in confining individuals involuntarily if they are not
mentally ill or if they do not pose some danger to themselves or
others.” Jd. at 426. As this Court explained: “The individual
should not be asked to share equally with society the risk of
error when the possible injury to the individual is significantly
greater than any possible harm to the state.” Jd. at 427.
Accordingly, states must meet a burden “equal to or greater than
the ‘clear and convincing’ standard” to satisfy due process
constraints. /d. at 433.

Particularly when commitment is employed as an alternative
to criminal detention, procedural protections must include an
individualized finding to support it. In Foucha v. Louisiana,
504 U.S. 71, 81-82 (1992), the Louisiana law at issue
automatically committed defendants found not guilty by reason
of insanity on the grounds that such a verdict established that
the defendant was dangerous. The state could then continue to
detain such defendants indefinitely without any adversarial
hearing in which the state was required to demonstrate that the
defendant was actually dangerous. Jd. The Court held the
Louisiana law unconstitutional, finding that the law did not even

14

approach the Bail Reform Act requirement upheld in Salerno,
which provision required the Government to show that the
“arrestee presents an identified and articulable threat to an
individual or the community.” Jd. at 81; see also Addington,
441 U.S. at 425-26; Jackson, 406 U.S. at 738 (state may not
detain defendant who lacks capacity to stand trial without
satisfying procedures for civil commitment). Among other
things, Foucha plainly rejects the notion that because a finding
in a criminal proceeding might logically support administrative
detention, such detention is, irrebuttably, justified in every case.

Jones v. United States, 463 U.S. 354 (1983), demonstrates
precisely the same point. There, the Court held that a state may
commit a defendant to a mental hospital upon a verdict of not
guilty by reason of insanity. At the very outset of its discussion,
the Court made clear that such a verdict was sufficiently
probative of mental illness justifying institutionalization because
the verdict itself established the fact that defendant “committed
the act because of mental illness.” Jd. at 363-64. While the Jones
Court also found that evidence of “violence” per se was not a
“prerequisite for a constitutional commitment,” id. at 365
(suggesting that petitioner’s conviction itself was probative of
dangerousness), the Court has since emphasized that it would
not be permissible to assume this in every case “without regard
for [the individual’s} particular crimes.” Foucha, 504 U.S. at
88 (O’Connor, J., concurring) (“[T]he strong interest in liberty
of a person acquitted by reason of insanity but later found sane
might well outweigh the governmental interest in detention
where the only evidence of dangerousness is that the acquittee
committed a non-violent or relatively minor crime.”). In this
case, Mr. Kim’s simple verdict of theft with priors establishes
no fact relating to his flight risk, no fact demonstrating his
deportability, and no evidence supporting a finding of
dangerousness."'

11. In any event, the insanity acquittees subject to the District of
Columbia detention scheme in Jones were at least entitled by law to a
(Cont'd)

15

The Court again highlighted the importance of this principle
in the context of civil commitment just last Term in Kansas v.
Crane, 534 U.S. 407 (2002) (Constitution prohibits civil
commitment of a convicted sexual offender absent some specific
finding that the offender lacked the ability to control his
behavior). In reaching its conclusion, the Court followed closely
the guidance of Kansas v. Hendricks, 521 U.S. 346 (1997), which
upheld a civil commitment statute targeting sexual offenders.
As the Court explained: “Hendricks underscored the
constitutional importance of distinguishing a dangerous sexual
offender subject to civil commitment ‘from other dangerous
persons who are perhaps more properly dealt with exclusively
through criminal proceedings.’” Crane, 534 U.S. at 412 (quoting
Hendricks, 521 U.S. at 360). That distinction, the Court
emphasized, “is necessary lest ‘civil commitment’ become a
‘mechanism for retribution or general deterrence.” Jd.

The distinction — and the‘requirement that a court make a
specific finding of flight risk or dangerousness despite a prior
conviction — is just as essential in the ostensibly non-punitive
context of immigration detention. “Whether a due process right
is denied when [here, potentially] removable aliens who are
flight risks or dangers to the community are detained turns,”
at least in part, “on whether there are adequate procedures to
review their cases, allowing persons once subject to detention
to show that through rehabilitation, new appreciation of their
responsibilities, or under other standards, they no longer present
special risks or danger if put at large.” Zadvydas, 533 U.S. at
721 (Kennedy, J., dissenting). Government detention violates
due process unless there exists, at a minimum, some “special
justification” for detention that “outweighs the ‘individual’s
constitutionally protected interest in avoiding physical

(Cont’d)

hearing within 50 days of commitment at which they would have an
opportunity to demonstrate that they were no longer mentally ill or
dangerous. 463 U.S. at 357-58. The immigration statute here promises
no such assessment — of flight risk or dangerousness — at any point.

16

restraint.’”” Zadvydas v. Davis, 533 U.S. 678, 690 (quoting
Hendricks, 521 U.S. at 356). To determine whether such a
“special justification” exists, this Court has always required that
non-punitive detention be based on a “special,” individual
assessment.

The liberty interest of a lawful permanent resident in such

an individual determination is no weaker because he may, as a
result of his prior conviction, be deportable. Just as the liberty
interest of a parolee is still cognizable even though he may well
be subject to re-incarceration, the mere possibility of deportation
that exists here does not of itself suffice to eliminate respondents’
powerful interest in living at liberty in this country for as long
as they may remain.

The liberty of a parolee enables him to do a wide

range of things open to persons who have never been

convicted of any crime. The parolee has been

released from prison based on an evaluation that he

shows reasonable promise of being able to return to

society and function as a responsible, self-reliant

person. Subject to the conditions of his parole, he

can be gainfully employed and is free to be with

family and friends and to form the other enduring

attachments of normal life. Though the State properly

subjects him to many restrictions not applicable to

other citizens, his condition is very different from

that of confinement in a prison . . . We see, therefore,

that the liberty of a parolee, although indeterminate,

includes many of the core values of unqualified

liberty and its termination inflicts a “grievous loss”

on the parolee and often on others.
Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 482 (1972). Accordingly,
even where an individual’s liberty interest is arguably weakened,
due process requires a case-by-case determination — not that
the individual committed a crime in the first instance — but that
the current deprivation of liberty is justified anew. That rule

17

holds for the termination of pre-parole condit; onal supervision
programs, Young v. Harper, 520 U.S. 143 (1997) (opinion of
unanimous Court); the revocation of probation, Gagnon v.
Scarpelli, 411 U.S. 778 (1973); the revocation of prison good-
time credits, Walpole v. Hill, 472 U.S. 445, 454 (1985); and for
involuntary transfer from a prison to a mental institution,
Vitek v. Jones, 445 U.S. 480, 491 (1980) (inmate’s “residuum
of liberty” demands that the state satisfy “minimum requirements
of due process” before proceeding with transfer).'”

The requirement of an individualized assessment of the need
for detention likewise applies without exception in the context
of civil juvenile detention — where, as this Court has asserted,
due process liberty interests may also be diminished. In Schall
v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 (1984), this Court upheld a New York
statute allowing for pretrial detention of a juvenile after an
individualized finding that the arrested juvenile posed a “serious
risk” of committing a crime before his return date. Jd. at 255.
The Schall Court emphasized that the important risk of
“erroneous and unnecessary deprivations of liberty” was checked
by the fact that “notice, a hearing, and a statement of facts and

12. Even where the individual due process interest is significantly
less than the total deprivation of liberty effected by detention, the
Constitution affords individuals, at a minimum, an “opportunity to
present reasons ... why proposed action should not be taken.”
See, e.g., Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532,
542 (1985) (“‘[T]he root requirement’ of the Due Process Clause” is
“*that an individual be given an opportunity for a hearing before he is
deprived of any significant property interest’”; hearing required before
termination of employment); Memphis Light, Gas and Water Div. v. Craft,
436 U.S. 1, 18 (1978) (hearing required before cutting off utility service);
Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565, 579 (1975) (at minimum, due process
requires “some kind of notice and . . . some kind of hearing” before
suspension of students from public school); Wolff v. McDonnell,
418 U.S. 539, 557-58 (1974) (hearing required before forfeiture of
prisoner’s good-time credits); Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67, 80-84
(1972) (hearing required before issuance of writ allowing repossession

of property); Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 264 (1970) (hearing
required before termination of welfare benefits).

18

reasons are given prior to any detention. . . . [and a] formal
probable-cause hearing is then held within a short while
thereafter, if the factfinding hearing is not itself scheduled within
three days.” Jd. at 274, 277. Since Schall, virtually all state
juvenile court acts have adopted specific requirements about
who may be detained pending adjudication; have required a
judicial detention hearing following soon after admission to
detention; and have strictly limited the duration of pretrial
detention. Indeed, under most state codes, only those charged
with criminal offenses may be detained pre-adjudication for any
length of time. At the detention hearing, the state bears the
burden of proving reasonable cause for believing that the minor
has committed an offense, and that detention — as opposed to
any other less restrictive alternative — is necessary. Office of
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, U.S. Dept. of
Justice, Desktop Guide to Good Juvenile Detention Practice,
at 27-28 (Oct. 1996)."°

In Reno v. Flores, 507 U.S. 292, 297 (1993), the Court
reaffirmed these principles in the context of immigration
proceedings involving juveniles. There, the Court considered
INS regulations permitting juveniles who are detained pending
deportation hearings to be released only to their parents, close
relatives, or legal guardians. In contrast to this case, the Flores
regulations preserved the INS district director’s discretion in
“unusual and compelling circumstances” to release the juvenile
to some other adult and the juvenile was entitled to appeal a
refusal of release. Jd. at 310. While concluding that juveniles’
interest in “freedom from physical restraint” was less powerful

13. The ABA’s Standards Relating to Interim Status:
The Release, Control, and Detention of Accused Juvenile Offenders
Between Arrest and Disposition likewise recognize the importance of
such procedural protections. Under these standards, an accused juvenile
taken into custody should be accorded a hearing in court within a day of
the filing of a petition for a release hearing. The burden is on the state to
show probable cause to believe that the juvenile has committed an offense
charged, and the juvenile is entitled to actual notice of the hearing and
the presence of an attorney. /d., Standard 7.6.

19

than adults’, id. at 302, the Flores Court emphasized that the
regulations afforded juveniles substantial protection: the INS
district director had discretion, subject to review in a hearing
before an immigration judge, to release a juvenile to an
unspecified custodian, id. at 313-14; 8 C.F.R. § 263.3(c)(4).
Under these circumstances, the Government’s suggestion that
Flores somehow approves non-discretionary, mandatory
detention of adults in the same context cannot withstand scrutiny.

In contrast to all of the foregoing, the cases cited by the
Government do not suggest that an irrebuttable presumption of
flight risk or dangerousness can justify non-punitive detention.
Particularly in Carlson v. Landon, the Court upheld the Attorney
General’s authority to detain Communist aliens pending
hearings, but emphasized that he retained discretion, subject to
judicial review, to grant bail when appropriate. 342 U.S. 524,
544 (1952) (“Of course purpose to injure could not be imputed
generally to all aliens subject to deportation, so discretion was
placed by the 1950 Act in the Attorney General to detain aliens
without bail. . . .”); id. at 543-44 (“[T]he Attorney General is
not left with untrammeled discretion as to bail. Courts review
his determination. Hearings are had, and he must justify his
refusal of bail by reference to the legislative scheme to eradicate
the evils of Communist activity.”). A presumption against
granting bail to certain classes of persons must be distinguished
from a categorical refusal even to evaluate a person’s flight risk
and dangerousness. '*

Finally, the Government’s suggestion that a pre-detention
determination of deportability satisfies any constitutional

14. See Salerno, 481 U.S. at 765 n.6 (Marshall, J., dissenting)
The majority states that denial of bail in capital cases has
traditionally been the rule rather than the exception. And
this of course is so, for it has been the considered
presumption of generations of judges that a defendant in
danger of execution has an extremely strong incentive to
flee. If in any particular case the presumed likelihood of

flight should be made irrebuttable, it would in all probability
violate the Due Process Clause.

20

requirement relating to detention misses the point. Petr. Br.
at 26-27 (citing Jn re Joseph, 22 1. & N. Dec. at 806, 1999
WL 339053, at *6-7). Whether a person falls within the class of
immigrants who may be deportable under Section 1226(c) does
not resolve whether they should be detained — based on flight
risk or dangerousness — while the Government determines
whether or not they may be deported. As this Court has
recognized, even an immigrant who has been ordered deported
(which Mr. Kim has not) retains a cognizable liberty interest.
See Zadvydas, 533 U.S. at 679-80, 696. Thus, regardless of
whether an immigrant may be deportable, the Government may
not detain him pending further proceedings unless the
Government also has a “special,” particularized reason for
doing so. See Foucha, 504 U.S. at 81-82.

Il. There Is No Reasonable Basis Here for an Exception to
the Due Process Rule

The ABA agrees that ensuring appearances in immigration
interests. But “the mere invocation of a legitimate purpose,”
Schall, 467 U.S. at 269, is not enough to justify the mandatory
detention, for an unknown period of time, of lawful permanent
residents who are not being punished for a crime. Rather, when
less restrictive alternatives are equally c2pable of serving the
Government’s interests in public safety and speedy process, due
process plainly favors their use. Zadvydas, 533 U.S. at 690
(Government must present “special justification” for detention
that “outweighs the ‘individual’s constitutionally protected
interest in avoiding physical restraint’”” (quoting Hendricks,
521 U.S. at 356)); Salerno, 481 U.S. at 747 (detention for a
non-punitive purpose must not be “excessive” means of fulfilling
Government purpose); id. at 750 (upholding federal pretrial
detention scheme only in the “narrow circumstances” where a
neutral magistrate had found that “no conditions of release can
reasonably assure the safety of the community”) (emphasis
added). This disposition toward liberty rather than detention

21

unless necessary is part of the fabric of the U.S. judicial system."
As this Court has very recently emphasized: “The choice .. .
is not between imprisonment and the alien ‘living at large.’ It is
between imprisonment and supervision under release conditions
that may not be violated.” Zadvydas, 533 U.S. at 696 (citations
omitted).

A. Numerous Less Restrictive Alternatives Can Guard
Against Flight and Threats to Public Safety

Any number of “conditions of release” can more than
adequately satisfy the Government’s asserted interests here.
Indeed, such conditioned release programs have long been the
norm in United States criminal and civil detention schemes.
Limited by continually strained resources, and driven by the
same due process concerns that have animated the Court’s
jurisprudence in this area, jurisdictions throughout the country
make it standard practice to avoid unnecessary detention and to
conduct individual assessments of individuals’ suitability for

some form of release. Pretrial release programs for criminal
suspects awaiting trial have been implemented in more than
300 counties and in all 94 districts in the federal court system.
National Institute of Justice Issues and Practices, Pretrial
Services Programs: Responsibilities and Potential, NCJ 181939,
at 8 (March 2001) (hereinafter “DOJ Pretrial Services Survey”).
In fact, immigration detention is the only area in which

supervised release programs are not pursued as a matter of
course.

To ensure that courts reach objective and consistent
decisions regarding release, the ABA has urged that every
jurisdiction establish a pretrial services agency to collect
information and risk assessments, to monitor and assist released

15. The reasons for this presumption are plain: “Deprivation of
liberty pending trial is harsh and oppressive, subjects defendants to
economic and psychological hardship, interferes with their ability to
defend themselves, and, in many instances, deprives their families of
support.” Pretrial Release Standards, Standard 10-1.1.

22

defendants, and to review the status (and eligibility for release)
of detained defendants. Pretrial Release Standards, Standard
10-1.10."*

In keeping with these standards, pretrial services programs
have been operating for the past four decades and now vigorously
perform two key functions: supervising defendants who are
released from custody while awaiting trial, and gathering
information about newly arrested defendants and available
release options for use by a judicial officer who will be
determining the defendant’s custody or release status.
See generally DOJ Pretrial Services Survey. Most programs
manage the risk of harm to the public ur nonappearance in court
by monitoring defendants’ compliance with conditions of release
(such as regular phone or in-person check-ins, movement
restrictions, or electronic monitoring, and, in certain cases,
confinement). Jd. at 37-48. Through their decades of
accumulated experience, these programs have taught law
enforcement a great deal about strategies that can dramatically
improve appearance rates (including numerous steps as simple
as reminding defendants of upcoming court appointments) and
manage risk to the public. /d.

16. The ABA maintains that courts should employ “the least
restrictive condition(s) of release that will reasonably ensure a
defendant's attendance at court proceedings and protect the community,
victims, witnesses or any other person.” Jd. Standard 10-1.2. Only if it
can be determined that “no conditions of release” would satisfy these
needs may defendants be detained. /d.; see also 18 U.S.C. § 3142(e)

If, after a hearing pursuant to the provisions of subsection
(f), ... the judicial officer finds that no condition or
combination of conditions will reasonably assure the
appearance of the person as required and the safety of any
other person and the community, such judicial officer shall
order the detention of the person before to trial.
The National Association of Pretrial Services Agencies (NAPSA)
Performance Standards and Goals for Pretrial Release, Standard I &
comm. at 4 (2d ed. 1998).

23

Recognizing that such programs had tremendous potential
for relieving its perennially overburdened detention system, the
INS commissioned a study by a well-known nonprofit research
organization to determine whether various supervised release
techniques — from monitoring through regular phone and in-
person appearances before program staff to providing regular
reminders of court hearings and referrals to relevant services —
could boost appearance rates at deportation proceedings.
Vera Institute of Justice, Testing Community Supervision for
the INS: An Evaluation of the Appearance Assistance Program
(August 1, 2000).'’ Although the appearance rates of the lawful
permanent residents who had served criminal sentences was
already quite high (89%) without any supervisory assistance,
when these individuals were given the benefit of even limited
appearance assistance support, their appearance rate exceeded
94%. Id. at 33-36."* In the end, about 90% of all of the supervised
immigrants participating in the program appeared at all court
hearings. As the bipartisan leadership of the Senate Judiciary
Committee recognized, “[t]he results from the Vera Institute’s
program exceeded expectations, resulting in . . . an impressive
appearance rate at court hearings.” Letter to the Honorable John
Ashcroft, Attorney General from Senators Leahy, Kennedy,
Hatch, and Brownback (Aug. 16, 2002) (hereinafter “Ashcroft
Letter”).

Because the pilot program so exceeded expectations,
Congress last year allocated $3 million for the implementation

17. The Vera Institute Appearance Assistance Program study was
conducted between 1997 and 2000, and involved 534 participants, 127
of whom were presumptively subject to removal and detention based
on their criminal convictions. Of this 127, all but six were lawful
permanent residents. The Vera Institute study remains, to the ABA’s
knowledge, the sole effort to examine the appearance rates of the class
of immigrants at issue in this case.

18. Indeed, the lawful permanent residents involved in the study
consistently demonstrated a higher appearance rate (with assistance or
asylum seekers and undocumented immigrant workers.

24

of “alternatives to detention” programs. Senate Appropriations
Report 107-42, “Department of Commerce, Justice, and State,
the Judiciary, and Related Agencies Appropriation Bill, 2002,”
p. 40. As a recent letter from the members of the Senate Judiciary
Committee responsible for adding these appropriations makes
clear, P.L. 107-77 “specially directed” the Department of Justice
to devote these funds to using “community-based organizations
to screen asylum seekers and other INS detainees for community
ties, provide them with necessary services and help to assure
their appearance at court hearings.” Ashcroft Letter.

In all events, the INS could fail to pursue the release program
Congress has authorized and still employ a far less restrictive
approach to determining removability — an approach that
imposes no additional burden on the liberty of the individual
potentially subject to removal. As the INS has long recognized,
unnecessary detention can be avoided entirely simply by
identifying those who are potentially deportable and conducting
deportation hearings while they are still incarcerated for a
criminal offense. U.S. General Accounting Office, Criminal
Aliens: INS’ Efforts to Identify and Remove Imprisoned Aliens
Continue to Need Improvement (Feb. 1999); see also id.
(Oct. 1998 edition); id. (July 1997 edition). Faced with concerns
that it was failing to identify potentially deportable immigrants
while they were still in prison, the INS began efforts to
implement an “Institutional Hearing Program” (“IHP”’) — an
effort to ensure that potentially deportable immigrants were
identified while still incarcerated, and subject to removal
hearings during that same period, without the need for indefinite
detention past the expiration of their sentences. The GAO found
repeatedly that the INS had simply failed to identify these
As a result, the INS was forced to detain immigrants who did
not complete the removal hearing process in prison (incurring
on the order of $40 million in avoidable detention costs in the
process). Perhaps worst of all, those immigrants whose
deportation hearings happened to start before they were released

25

from prison faced an average of 23 additional days in detention;
for those whose hearings were commenced after their release,
individuals were subject to an average of 88 additional days in
detention. Jd. (Oct. 1998 Edition) at 36.

Taking into account the INS’ ongoing IHP program,
the Vera Institute’s pilot Appearance Assistance Program, and
Congress’ own insistence that the INS pursue such alternatives
to detention with the money Congress expressly earmarked for
that purpose, there can be no justification for insisting upon
mandatory detention of the class of immigrants here — lawful
permanent residents — who are most likely to appear in court of
their own accord.

B. Congress Did Not Review the “Actual Con-
sequences” of Discretionary Release

The Government maintains that “(t]he mandatory detention
requirement of 8 U.S.C. § 1226(c) is the product of Congress’s
close scrutiny of the actual consequences of allowing release of
criminal aliens.” Petr. Br. at 8. In fact, the Government presents
no “actual” support for the conclusion that immigrants who fall
within the definition of Section 1226(c) must be detained in
order to protect the public or to guard against the risk of flight.
On the contrary, as discussed above, the statistical and
experiential evidence that does exist supports just the opposite
conclusion.

The vast majority of the evidence in legislative history cited
by the Government in support of its description of the “scrutiny”
Congress applied was not in fact before the Congress that passed
Section 1226(c) in 1996. As has been noted, supra at 7-8,
the mandatory detention policy challenged here was adopted in
1996 and put into effect for the first time in 1998. Before that,
policy regarding the disposition of immigrants pending
deportation hearings changed repeatedly — sometimes annually
— with successive new enactments. The evidence cited by the
Government from legislative history preceding earlier
amendments to the Immigration and Naturalization Act cannot

26

be said to have led the 1996 Congress to an “ineluctabl[e]
conclu{sion],” Petr. Br. at 21, about anything, much less about
the need for the particular mandatory detention provision then
enacted and now at issue in this case.'? Worse, the evidence
cited that was before these earlier congresses vacillates randomly
between statistics describing the behavior of illegal entrants to
the United States (only /ega/ permanent residents are at issue in
this case), and “aliens” generally without any description of
whom this category includes.” Much of the rest of the legislative
history cited by the Government is either inapposite (speaking
to Congress’ concern generally about the slow pace of removal,
not the need for mandatory detention to speed things up),
or would tend to lead Congress to just the opposite conclusion
as the one the Government now maintains it reached. See, e.g.,
Petr. Br. at 18 (citing high costs of incarceration and contribution
to prison overcrowding resulting from detention of immigrants).
Most striking in the Government’s catalog of legislative history
is the complete absence of any evidence that the Congress,
in enacting the latest Section 1226(c), devoted any time to
weighing the necessity of mandatory detention for a// immigrants
potentially subject to deportation.

Having found no comfort in the record actually before
Congress when Section 1226(c) was enacted, the Government

19. See, e.g., Petr. Br. at 13 (quoting reasoning from 133 Cong.
Rec. 28,840-41 (1987)); id. at 16-17, 20 (studies cited in Hearing on
H.R. 3333 Brief the Subcomm. On Immigration, Refugees, and
International Law of the House Comm. On the Judiciary, 101* Cong.,
1* Sess. 71-72 (1989)); id. at 17-21 (Statistics from Criminal Aliens in
the United States: Hearings Before the Permanent Subcomm.
On Investigations of the Senate Comm. On Governmental Affairs, 103™
Cong., 1" Sess. 21 (1993)).

20. Compare, e.g., Petr. Br. at 13 (citing 1987 testimony by then-
pending legislation sponsor regarding arrest rates of “illegal aliens”),
with id. at 19 (citing statistics of number of “aliens” in 1992 who had
committed an aggravated felony (presumably, as then quite narrowly
defined) and then failed to appear for hearings).

27

turns to a 1996 study — apparently cited nowhere in the legislative
history — purporting to show that fully 90% of immigrants
like Respondent abscond. Petr. Br. at 23-25. (citing Office of
the Inspector General, U.S. Dep’t. of Justice, Inspection Report,
Immigration and Naturalization Service Deportation of Aliens
After Final Orders Have Been Issued, Rep. No. I-96-03
(Mar. 1996) (hereinafter “OIG Report”). Even a passing look at
the OIG Report reveals that the study does not address the
question at issue in this case: whether it is reasonable to presume
— irrebuttably — that lawful permanent residents pose such a
flight risk or danger that they must be detained, for an arbitrary
period, until the Government gets around to determining their
removability.

The OIG Report found, simply, that 89% of non-detained
aliens subject to a final removal order were never deported.
This finding does not purport to address, in particular, the flight
risk of immigrants subject to Section 1226(c), immigrants who
have not yet been issued final orders of removal, immigrants
released on bail after a hearing, or lawful permanent residents.
At a minimum, as this Court is well aware, “[t]here is a clear
difference . . . between facing possible deportation and facing
certain deportation.” St. Cyr, 533 U.S. at 325; see also Kim v.
Ziglar, 276 F.3d 523, 535 (“[t]he incentives to flee are greater
for an alien already ordered removed than for an alien still in
removal proceedings”); Cardoso v. Reno, 127 F. Supp. 2d 106,
114 (D. Conn. 2001) (“applying a presumption of flight risk to
aliens such as Ms. Cardoso is, in fact, counter-intuitive, because
as her last opportunity to remain lawfully in the United States,
Ms. Cardoso has every incentive to attend the . . . hearing at
which her removability will be determined”); General
Accounting Office, //legal Aliens: Opportunities Exist to
Improve the Expedited Removal Process (Sept. 2000).

Further, the reason given in the OIG Report as to why 89%
of “non-detained” aliens are never deported after receiving final
orders of removal has nothing to do with a finding that these
individuals invariably pose a risk of danger or flight. Rather,

28

the OIG Report concludes that the INS has simply failed to
enforce final orders of deportation. The OIG Report repeatedly
emphasizes that such factors as the lack of detention and
transportation resources, delays in receipt of final orders by the
detention and deportation centers, failure to send surrender
requests, and failure to pursue or investigate abscondees
contributed significantly to the low deportation rate. Jd. at 5-
11; see also Serrano v. Estrada, 201 F. Supp. 2d 714, 726 n. 53
(“citing a ‘shortage of investigative resources’ the report noted
that ‘[nJondetained aliens who do not comply with a surrender
request [we]re rarely pursued actively””’) (citations omitted). The
OIG Report thus proposes reforms aimed at more “efficient use
of detention resources,” including “moving more quickly to
present surrender notices to aliens after receiving final orders,”
“delivering surrender notices instead of mailing them,” actually
“pursuing aliens who fail to appear,” “coordinating with other
governmental agencies to . . .track[ ] aliens who fail to appear,”
and “taking aliens into custody... when final orders are issued.
Id. at 14.

In contrast to the scant evidence supporting mandatory
detention for all lawful permanent residents, there is no question
that the “actual consequences” of mandatory detention of
immigrants like Mr. Kim have been to overwhelm INS detention
resources to the breaking point. This outcome is not surprising.
As of December 2001, the INS had access to 21,304 beds in
federal, state and local facilities to detain legal and illegal
immigrants. In Fiscal Year 2000 alone, the INS admitted more
than 188,000 aliens into custody for some period of time.
Statement of Joseph Greene, Acting Deputy Executive Associate
Commissioner for INS Field Operations, Hearing Before the
Subcommittee on Immigration and Claims of the Committee on
the Judiciary, House of Representatives, 107th Cong., Ist Sess.,
at 18 (Dec. 19, 2001).

Since the INS began asking Congress to reconsider
implementing Section 1226(c)’s mandatory detention
requirement (which took effect in 1998), the INS has maintained

29

that it “will be unable to meet the custody requirements of
IIRIRA.” Testimony of Doris Meissner, Commissioner,
Immigration and Naturalization Service, before the
Subcommittee on immigration Committee on the Judiciary,
U.S. Senate (Sept. 16, 1998). Justice Department studies
conducted since then have in fact found resources deeply
strained. Indeed, one INS district office reported that it was
releasing aliens — not because the local officials wanted to
authorize release, but because of lack of detention space.
U.S. General Accounting Office, Illegal Aliens: Opportunities

Exist to Improve the Expedited Removal Process, at 64-65 (Sept.
2000).

Whatever the formal strictures of due process, the system
that produces such results — that detains and releases individuals
on the basis of whether or not a bed happens to be available,
and whether or not their detention actually serves the
Government’s purposes — is arbitrary at best. Even “removable
and inadmissible aliens are entitled to be free from detention
that is arbitrary or capricious.” Zadvydas, 533 U.S. at 721
(Kennedy, J., dissenting). The liberty interests, and
accompanying procedural safeguards, afforded to “persons” in
this country are surely at least equal to this.

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amicus American Bar
Association urges that the decision of the Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

ALFRED P. Carton, JR.*
President, American Bar Association
750 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 588-5000

Of Counsel:

JerrreY L. BLEICH

DEBORAH N. PEARLSTEIN

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0561%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
