# Amicus Curiae Brief — Brown v. Legal Foundation of Wash.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0550%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 538 U.S. 216

## Text

No. 01-1325 '

UU

Supreme Court of the United States

WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION. ET AL..
Petitioners.

LEGAL FOUNDATION OF WASHINGTON, ET AL..

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR FORTY-NINE STATE BAR ASSOCIATIONS
AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF IOLTA PROGRAMS
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

JOANNE M. GARVEY RICHARD A. CORDRAY

CHARLES N. FREIBERG Counsel of Record

THOMAS P. BROWN 4900 Grove City Road

HELLER EHRMAN WHITE Grove City, Ohio 43123
& MCAULIFFE LLP (614) 539-1661

333 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94104 -
(415) 772-6000

Attorneys for the Amici Curiae

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Does the Just Compensation Clause of the Fifth
Amendment, as applied through the Fourteenth Amend-
ment, require the State of Washington to pay compen-
sation for an alleged “taking” of funds through its
IOLTA program, which does not result in any financial
loss to the owner of those funds?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ..................0005-

TABLE OF CONTENTS. ....ccccccccccccccscscess

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..................44.

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE............

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...................

ARGUMENT....

I.

Il.

STATE IOLTA PROGRAMS ARE
BASED SOLELY ON FUNDS THAT
COULD NOT EARN INTEREST
ABSENT THE IOLTA PROGRAM

ITSELF .....

A. IOLTA Programs Supplement
Attorneys’ Longstanding Fiduciary
Duties To Keep Their Clients’ Funds

Safe and

SOPATAIS . oo coccvecsessetenvetas

B. The Mechanics of IOLTA Programs
Eliminate the Possibility of Any
Compensable Loss...............+se00+:

EVEN IF THE IOLTA PROGRAM
DID EFFECT A “TAKING” OF
PROPERTY, THERE IS NO LACK
OF “JUST COMPENSATION” AND
HENCE NO CONSTITUTIONAL

VIOLATION

PAGE

15

A. Any Takings Claim Requires
a Compensable Loss Under the
Just Compensation Clause..............

B. Having Lost Nothing of Any Value,
Monetary or Otherwise, Petitioners
Have No Valid Claim Under the Just
Compensation Clause...................

ti neanbesesecesececessccececcec:

PAGE

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: PAGE
Boston Chamber of Commerce v. Boston,
217 U.S. 189 (1910) ..........0 0c eee: 16, 17, 18, 19

City of New York v. Sage, 239 U.S. 57 (1915) ... 19, 22

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church
v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S.

SOG CIGD ccc cccccccssccesesssccoccenccsesese 24
Kimball Laundry Co. v. United States,

GOB WD. ECIGGED occccecccccscecccccccceces: 16
McGovern v. City of New York,

BBD WB. FED CIGES) ccccccccccccccceccccccess 20, 21

Olson v. United States, 292 U.S. 246 (1934) .... 16, 19
Phillips v. Wash. Legal Found., 524 U.S. 156

CBGGED cccdeccccccvcsovcccesccccsccocesecesees 14
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co.,

GBF UD. FSS CAFO vc ccccccccccceccccecccecs 16, 17
Tex. Equal Access to Justice Found. v. Wash.

Legal Found., U.S. No. 02-01 ............... 14
United States ex rel. TVA v. Powelson,

SID UB. BES CIDSS) .ccccccccccscccccecss 19, 20, 22
United States v. Chandler-Dunbar Water

Power Co., 229 U.S. 53 (1913)...........+.-- 16
United States v. Fuller, 409 U.S. 488 (1973).... 20

PAGE

Valley Forge Christian Coll. v. Ams. United
for Separation of Church and State,
GSS UB. GES (IBGE oc cccccccccccccccccccces 24

Wash. Legal Found. v. Tex. Equal Access to
Justice Found., 94 F.3d 996 (Sth Cir. 1996),
aff'd, Phillips v. Wash. Legal Found.,
Se SE en cdccenesdchondevdcecses 9

“‘Yesh. Legal Found. v. Tex. Equal Access
to Justice Found., 106 F.3d 640
DE nd cidcdcbsniendeddesedcoesns 21, 22, 25

Wash. Legal Found. v. Tex. Equal Access
to Justice Found., 270 F.3d 180
SE Se bbbnctdncncddsekbctotcentocene 14, 15

Statutes and Rules:

Rev. Rul. 81-209, 1981-2 C.B. 16 ............... 12
BN EEK Uk EE Sedbebnasecnsddnsedbsdeticweeastes |
Washington’s Rules of Professional Conduct
Pet Pecudendiventscteucsanstesesesssoescsenconecieses 8
Sue Panedbseousenspeecdenasuseesesescostacenstect 9
Sue Chddenbdcedencntscensocnesessorséndceseesies 8
Miscellaneous:
Canons of Prof’! and Judicial Ethics,
EDS EEE ee 6

Canons of Prof’! and Judicial Ethics,
ES a 6

Model of Code of Prof’! Responsibility
DR. De GB.. ccccccccccccccscccccsccccccscoses

D.R. 9-102(A) 1969 ........ccccccccccccceees

DR. DeAGBIBD) 2. cvccccccccccccccscccccccovess
ABA Comm. on Ethics and Prof’!

Responsibility, Formal Opinion

BOB (19B2)....cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccsecoss
ABA Comm. on Ethics and Prof’!

Responsibility, Informal Opinion
545 (1962).......-.cececeeeerererereceeeeeeeeerers

ABA Comm. on Ethics and Prof’!
Responsibility, Informal Opinion
G91 (1967 )..nccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccess

ABA, IOLTA Handbook (2002) ........--.+-00++:

David Hoffman, A Course of Legal Study
(2d ed. 1836) ........ cc cece ee ceceeeeeeeeneees

Model Rules of Prof’! Conduct, R. 1.15
CIGESD) oc ccccccccccccccsccccccscccccccsocesoos

Richard A. Brealey and Stewart C. Myers,
Principles of Corporate Finance
(Sth ed. 1996) ......... cece cece eee ee eeeeceee

= see — aT — ct

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

The Legal Foundation of Washington administers an
“Interest on Lawyers Trust Account” (“IOLTA”) pro-
gram. Essentially the same type of program has been
adopted in every other State, as well as in the District of
Columbia. Like all of the IOLTA programs, Washing-
ton’s program operates on the premise that sums of
money too small or held for too short a time to generate
a return for their owners should not be shunted into non-
interest-bearing trust accounts that benefit only the
financial institutions holding these deposits, as occurred
in the past. Rather, these otherwise unusable assets
should be utilized to help pay for legal services to the
poor. Petitioners’ takings claim is consciously designed
to extinguish such programs around the country.

With dramatic cutbacks in funding for the Legal Ser-
vices Corporation, IOLTA programs have become a very
important nationwide source for legal services to the poor.
IOLTA programs collect revenue on IOLTA accounts and
use this revenue to fund legal services to the poor. In
recent years, as the Federal government's financial sup-
port for these services has declined and become more
uncertain, legal aid societies have been able to draw upon
the resources provided by IOLTA programs to continue
their work. If petitioners succeed in disabling IOLTA
programs, then the continued activities of non-profit orga-
nizations like these legal aid societies will be jeopardized.
The consequent harm to those who lack the resources to
have meaningful access to our courts is obvious.

! This brief was not written in whole or part by counsel for any
party, and aside from amici curiae, their members, and their counsel,
no one made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission
of this brief. See Sup. Ct. R. 37.6. Counsel for petitioners and respon-
dents have consented to the filing of this brief. Letters evidencing
such consent are on file in the Clerk's office.

2

The amici curiae that have joined this brief have a
particular interest in the continued existence of IOLTA
programs. The National Association of IOLTA Programs
(“NAIP”) is the coordinating umbrella organization for
all of the state IOLTA programs. Its members are the
fifty-one organizations that administer IOLTA programs
in each of the fifty states and the District of Columbia.
The forty-nine state bar associations, whose names are
set out in the Addendum to this Brief, were involved in
the creation of the IOLTA programs in their respective
States and have helped sustain those programs since
their inception.

The amici cur’+e represent, quite literally, the broad-
est possible cross-section of the American legal pro-
fession. Their participation here attests to the high
regard that attorneys and other legal professionals have
for the benefits and importance of IOLTA programs. For
all the reasons stated, the amici curiae have a direct
interest in the constitutional issues raised in this case, the
resolution of which will dictate whether IOLTA programs
will be able to continue to operate in every jurisdiction
where they have been approved and implemented.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Washington Legal Foundation has embarked on a
longstanding and wide-ranging campaign against IOLTA
programs, premised on a misunderstanding of the Con-
stitution. The Just Compensation Clause of the Fifth
Amendment does not, as the Washington Legal Foun-
dation insists, prohibit all “takings” as a matter of law.
Rather, it guarantees “just compensation” to people from
whom the government takes private property. The clause
actually protects the government’s authority to take
property for public use, as long as it provides fair and
adequate compensation to the property owner.

3

All amounts deposited under the terms of the IOLTA
program are funds that cannot yield a return on their
own account. The program is expressly restricted to
amounts that are too insignificant, or deposits that are
too transitory, to yield any interest for the clients who
own them. It is important to understand how IOLTA pro-
grams succeed in generating income where the indivi-
dual deposits could not. This occurs, in the main, not
because of banking regulations, tax charges, and other
government provisions—as some ccurts have apparently
been led to believe. Instead, IOLTA accounts operate by
eliminating the considerable administrative charges
involved in calculating, identifying, tracking, and allo-
cating revenues to discrete individuals (whether in sep-
arate bank accounts for each client or pooled on a
firm-by-firm or attorney-by-attorney basis). When these
unavoidable costs are offset against the miniscule sums
generated by small or short-term accounts, they preclude
any actual return on an individual basis. Because of this
central fact, which is undisputed in this case, IOLTA
accounts generate income where there had been none
before, and the income thus generated could never ben-
efit any individual client.

Therefore, even assuming arguendo that the IOLTA
program did somehow effect a “taking” of property
within the meaning of the constitutional terms, that
result is not accomplished without “just compensation.”
Under the two tests that the Court has applied to deter-
mine the amount of “just compensation” in different cir-
cumstances—the “fair market value” test and the “value
to the owner” test—the amount of earnings on funds that
are eligible for state IOLTA programs is zero. The Court
has consistently rejected the application of a “value to
the taker” measure for just compensation. Such a mea-
sure would compensate what is acquired, not what is
taken, and thus v ould be directly inconsistent with the

4

text of the Takings Clause. Moreover, the Court has held
in various contexts that the government is not required
to provide compensation to the property owner for ele-
ments of the property’s value that the government itself
has created, which is obviously true of the IOLTA pro-
gram itself. In sum, because petitioners have never suf-
fered any compensable loss—i.e., no loss with any
monetary value—they have no valid constitutional claim
under the Just Compensation Clause.

ARGUMENT

Attorneys receive money from their clients to escrow,
or hold in trust, for all sorts of reasons. Attorneys put
only some of this money in IOLTA accounts. Before
depositing a particular client’s fund in an IOLTA
account, an attorney must go through a process to deter-
mine whether that deposit could either be deposited on
its own or be pooled with other funds to earn an amount
of interest sufficient to offset the expenses necessary to
generate and distribute that interest to the client. The
possibility of earning any net return—once the unavoid-
able costs of calculating, identifying, tracking, and
allocating individual funds is taken into consideration—
obviously depends on the projected time that funds will
be held and available interest rates. An attorney may put
into an IOLTA account only those funds that are not
capable of generating any net interest for the clients who
own them once the unavoidable costs of administering
discrete revenue flows are offset against the interest they
would be able to generate.

Therefore, none of the individual deposits placed in
IOLTA accounts could generate interest on its own for an
individual client, in view of applicable administrative
charges, service charges, accounting costs, tax reporting
costs, and banking restrictions. Because these funds are

5

either nominal in amount or held only for a short term
(or both), there is simply no possibility that these funds
would be able to earn any interest income that could
benefit the individual clients for whom the funds are
held. Once again, it bears emphasis that this central fact
is undisputed in this case.

I. STATE IOLTA PROGRAMS ARE BASED
SOLELY ON FUNDS THAT COULD NOT EARN
INTEREST ABSENT THE IOLTA PROGRAM
ITSELF.

A. IOLTA. Programs Supplement Attorneys’
Longstanding Fiduciary Duties To Keep
Their Clients’ Funds Safe and Separate.

Clients frequently ask attorneys (and, in Washington,
LPOs), to hold their money in escrow or trust. Attor-
neys, as fiduciaries for their clients, have long been
obliged to keep those funds safe and separate from their
own funds. Washington, like every other State and the
District of Columbia, has developed rules that regulate
how attorneys handle their clients’ funds. Washington’s
IOLTA program, like those adopted by each of the other
forty-nine States and the District of Columbia, makes up
but a small part of the regulatory framework that gov-
erns the treatment and disposition of client funds.

A lawyer is, in every sense of the word, her client’s
fiduciary. In this capacity, attorneys in this country have,
for nearly two centuries, been understood to have three
obligations when given money by a client: to keep their
clients’ money safe; to keep it separate from their own;
and to provide an accounting of their clients’ funds.
David Hoffman in his early statement of rules for the
legal profession discussed all three obligations. One of
Hoffman's “fifty resolutions” stated: “I will retain no
client’s funds beyond the period in which I can, with

6

safety and ease, put him in possession of them.” David
Hoffman, A Course of Legal Study 762 (2d ed. 1836).
Another stated: “I will on no occasion blend with my
own, my client’s money: if kept distinctly as his, it will
be less liable to be considered as my own.” Jd.

These obligations have had a place in the canons, now
rules, of professional ethics adopted by the American
Bar Association (“ABA”) since their first introduction
nearly a century ago. The original Canons of Profes-
sional Ethics modified Hoffman’s statement only
slightly: “Money of the client or other trust property
coming into the possession of the lawyer should be
reported promptly, and except with the client’s knowl-
edg» and consent should not be commingled with his pri-
vate property or be used by him.” Canons of Prof’! and
Judicial Ethics, Canon 11 (1908). The American Bar
Association later refined this provision to bring it com-
pletely in line with Hoffman’s original instruction:
“Money of the client . . . should not under any cir-
cumstances be commingled with [the lawyer’s] own or
be used by him.” Canons of Prof’! and Judicial Ethics,

Canon 11 (1933).

These somewhat generally stated obligations became
more specific in response to a directive from then-Pres-
ident of the ABA, Lewis F. Powell, Jr., to consider fur-
ther amendments to the Canons. Disciplinary Rule 9-102
of the resulting Model of Code of Professional Respon-
sibility (“ABA Code”) preserved the prohibition on com-
mingling. See D.R. 9-102(A) (1969). The Code added
additional detail to the obligation to keep clients’ funds
safe. The Code required lawyers to deposit money
received from a client in an identifiable bank account,
maintained in the lawyer’s name, at an in-state bank. See
D.R. 9-102(A). The Code further demanded that lawyers
notify their clients when they received funds from third

7

parties on their clients’ behalf and to keep records relat-
ing to attorney trust accounts. See D.R. 9-102(B). When
the ABA later replaced the Code with the Model Rules
of Professional Conduct (“ABA Rules”), it preserved the
requirements that attorneys place their clients’ funds in
bank accounts separate from their own, notify clients
upon receipt of money from a third party, and preserve
records related to attorney trust accounts for some period
of years following termination of representation. See
Model Rules of Prof.’1. Conduct, Rule 1.15 (1983).

Through these many iterations, these precepts were
generally understood to require attorneys to generate
interest for their clients whenever the deposits they held
were able to do so. In 1962, the ABA’s Standing Com-
mittee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility (charged
with interpreting the ABA’s Canon’s of Professional
Ethics) was asked whether attorneys could keep interest
earned on commingled clients’ funds when it was “quite
difficult to allocate” the interest to particular clients. See
ABA Comm. on Ethics and Prof’| Responsibility, Infor-
mal Opinion 545 (1962). The committee answered that
keeping the interest generated by the commingled sum
would violate Canon 11. Jd. The Standing Committee
reiterated this point five years later when asked whether
an attorney could use the interest generated on a com-
mingled sum to defray the costs of setting up the
account. See ABA Comm. on Ethics and Prof’! Respon-
sibility, Informal Opinion 991 (1967). The Standing
Committee concluded that this arrangement would also
violate Canon 11. Id. The Committee revisited these
issues in 1982 in a formal opinion devoted to the issue
of placing clients’ funds at interest. See ABA Comm. on
Ethics and Prof’! Responsibility, Formal Opinion 348
(1982). There, the Committee explained that an attorney,
as a trustee for his or her clients funds, “may be liable
for lost earnings on funds left with [the attorney] for

8

investment and kept uninvested for an unreasonably long
time.” Jd. at 149 (citing 2 A.W. Scott, The Law of Trusts
§§ 180.3, 181 (3d ed. 1967 and Supp. 1981)). The Com-
mittee added that “an extreme violation of the lawyer’s
fiduciary duty to invest a client’s funds. . . would pro-
vide a basis for professional discipline.” Jd.

Washington’s Rules of Professional Conduct
(“WRPC”) mirror the ABA Rules. Attorneys have three
primary obligations: they must hold their clients’ funds
separate from their own, keep those funds safe, and pro-
vide an accounting. See WRPC 1.14; Pet. App. 101a.
Like the ABA Rules and the antecedent ABA Code,
WRPC provide attorneys with a specific set of instruc-
tions about how to keep client funds safe and separate
from their own. Attorneys must put client funds in one
or more trust accounts. See WRPC 1.14; Pet. App. 101a.
These trust accounts must provide for withdrawal on
demand. See id. They must be held by “banks, savings
and loans or depositary institutions insured by the Fed-
eral Deposit Insurance Corporation, the National Credit
Union Share Insurance Fund, the Washington Credit
Union Share Guaranty Association, or the Federai Sav-
ings and Loan Insurance Corporation.” Id.

Washington’s IOLTA program supplements these basic
obligations. Under WRPC, an attorney who is given
money by a client must determine whether that money
can be used to generate net interest for the client. See
WRPC 1.14(3); Pet. App. 101la (“In determining [where
to put client funds], a lawyer shall consider only whether
the funds to be invested could be utilized to provide a
positive net return to the client, as determined by taking
into consideration the following factors . . .”). If the
funds are able to generate interest, then the attorney
must put that sum into a trust account established specif-
ically for that client or into a trust account that pools

9

money belonging to many clients with the lawyer or law
firm calculating and paying interest to each client sep-
arately based on each client’s activity in the account.
WRPC 1.14(2); Pet. App. 101a.

If a particular sum cannot yield a return for the client
through either of these means, then the attorney must
place that sum into an IOLTA account. Jd. The typical
reason that a particular deposit cannot generate a return
for the client, either in an account of its own or pooled
with other sums of money given to that lawyer, is that
the amount is too small, or the déposit is held for too
short a time, to offset the administrative costs that are
unavoidably necessary to calculate, identify, track, and
allocate whatever miniscule amount of interest could be
derived. Although IOLTA programs vary considerably
from state to state, it is generally understood that attor-
neys who receive money from a client must, whenever
possible, use that money to generate interest revenues for
the client. Only funds that cannot yield a return for their
individual client-owners may be put in IOLTA accounts.

B. The Mechanics of IOLTA Programs Elimi-
nate the Possibility of Any Compensable
Loss.

Outside observers, including some of the courts that
have considered the challenges to IOLTA programs, have
suggested that these programs annually generate millions
of dollars through financial legerdemain or a “modern
day attempt at alchemy.” See, e.g., Wash. Legal Found.
v. Tex. Equal Access to Justice Found., 94 F.3d 996, 1000
(Sth Cir. 1996), aff'd, Phillips v. Wash. Legal Found.,
524 U.S. 156 (1998) (“TEAJF I’). This is simply not the
case. Some amounts of money are simply too small or
are held for too short a time to generate a return, once
they are offset against the unavoidable administrative
costs of calculating, identifying, tracking, and allocating

10

revenues to discrete sources of individual funds. Just as
banks have historically combined the deposits of thou-
sands of checking account depositors and earned much
more on the combined sum than could possibly be earned
on any individual deposit, IOLTA accounts combine,
quite literally, millions of insignificant amounts of money
and manage to generate millions of dollars when no
return could be generated from any individual deposit.”

IOLTA programs work principally by eliminating the
costs incurred to administer funds for each individual
client and return discrete revenues to each such indi-
vidual. The nature of this process is widely misunder-
stood, and this misunderstanding has generated much
unfounded judicial skepticism. A more accurate and
complete understanding of the mechanics of the IOLTA
program is thus essential in order to resolve correctly the
constitutional issues presented in this case.

IOLTA programs are not, as has often been suggested,
mere beneficiaries of Depression-era banking regula-
tions. Although federal law prevents corporations and
partnerships from earning interest on money in checking
accounts and bars them from putting money in NOW
accounts, as petitioners observe, see_Petitioner’s Brief
(“Pet. Br.”) at 23-24, financial institutions have devised
ways to pay corporations and partnerships interest on
their demand deposits.* IOLTA programs do not gener-

2 To take just one of many examples, in 2001, the Texas IOLTA
program generated more than $5.6 million in interest on 17,890
accounts that pooled deposits from nearly 40,000 attorneys. See ABA,
IOLTA Handbook at 88, 189 (2002). If each participating attorney
averaged 25 IOLTA deposits in 2001, the Texas IOLTA program
pooled just shy of 1,000,000 discrete deposits.

3 Bank of America, for example, allows firms to sweep “excess
funds” from a checking account into a money market account. By tak-
ing advantage of sweep accounts, corporations and firms can “earn
competitive market returns.” See Overnight Automated Sweeps, avail-

—

ll

ate revenue because corporate and other deposits have
no other interest-bearing vehicle available to them.
Instead, IOLTA accounts create revenue by eliminating
considerable, but often overlooked, transaction costs that
prevent any net value from being returned to the owners
of individual deposits.

The nub of the explanation is that it costs money to
make money. Accounts must be opened. Deposits must
be made. If funds are-pooled and interest is to be allo-
cated to each of the accounts making up a pool, trans-
actions on each pooled deposit must be tracked, and the
interest generated by the combined sum and the bank
charges assessed against the account must be accurately
allocated to each individual element according to its spe-
cific contribution to the total pool. The clients that earn
interest must receive federal 1099 forms. Each of these
unavoidable tasks must be performed in light of a par-
ticular bank’s policies on deposit availability, check
clearing and collection, minimum and tiered balance
requirements, and interest compounding. Due to
advances in information technology, these tasks take less
time and effort than in the lead-pencil and paper-ledger
past, but they still take some time and some effort.
Accordingly, it costs a client money to have her attorney,
someone working for her attorney, or the bank perform
these tasks. For any given amount of money invested and
interest rate earne’ there is a period of time that is sim-
ply too short to generate enough revenue to cover the

able at > (last
visited October 1, 2002). Such services are not, of course, free.
Charges to cover the administrative costs of such services typically
run $150 per month or more. The case before the Court does not, of
course, raise the issue because the client-plaintiffs in this case are
both individuals, not corporations.

12

administrative costs necessarily incurred to generate that
revenue for any individual client.*

IOLTA accounts eliminate many of the transaction
costs that make it impossible for a particular amount of
money to generate any net return for an individual.
Because the sums deposited into IOLTA accounts cannot
generate revenue for the individu) «lient, attorneys need
not incur the costs of calculating, identifying, tracking,
and allocating the interest generated by a pooled account
to each of the constituent parts. Moreover, the IRS does
not attribute the interest generated by IOLTA accounts to
individual clients whose funds are deposited in such
accounts, precisely because these revenues will not con-
stitute income to the client. See Rev. Rul. 81-209, 1981-
2 C.B. 16. This eliminates the additional expenses that
would otherwise be associated with generating and dis-
tributing Federal tax forms.

Petitioners never even attempt to suggest otherwise. In
a departure from the typical case raising a claim under
the Just Compensation Clause, petitioners do not com-
plain that Washington has wreaked on them any concrete
financial loss by taking their property. Indeed, neither of
the petitioners who can assert that his money ended up
in an IOLTA account has shown any financial loss at all.

Petitioner Allen Brown predicates his claim on a
deposit of $90,521.29 that he gave to Land Title Com-

4 For example, at an annual interest rate of 2%, which is higher
than the rate currently prevailing on money market or NOW accounts,
see, e.g., Latest Interest Rates, Bankrate.com, available at > (last visited Oct. 10,
2002), a $2,000 deposit will generate 77 cents in gross interest in 7
days. By contrast, the average fee for an interest-bearing checking
account in the United States is $10.59 per month. See Key findings
from Bankrate’'s checking study, Bankrate.com available at > (last
visited Oct. 10, 2002).

13

pany in 1997. See J.A. 53, 130. Land Title Company
apparently placed that deposit in an IOLTA account
earning 1% interest, where it remained for only two
days. Mr. Brown has not, however, presented any evi-
dence that—with or without IOLTA—Land Title could
have done anything to generate any interest income for
him on his two-day deposit. When questioned on this
topic at his deposition, he conceded as much, admitting
that “without IOLTA in place, [he] may not have earned
anything.” J.A. 130. What this testimony fails to eluci-
date is that even with IOLTA or some other pooling
mechanism in place, such a brief deposit as this one
could not earn any revenue after the additional costs that
would have to be incurred to segregate and track the
individual revenues generated were offset against the
minuscule amount of interest accrued.

Petitioner Gregory Hayes has likewise presented no
plausible evidence of any compensable loss. Mr. Hayes
bases his claim on a $1,000 deposit of earnest money
that he gave to Fidelity National Title Company on
August 14, 1996, along with an additional $6,396.66 that
he gave to Fidelity on August 28—two days before his
transaction closed on August 30. See J.A. 54. He has
presented no evidence that, even absent IOLTA, Fidelity
could have done anything with his individual deposits to
generate any return for him, once the various adminis-
trative costs that would have to be incurred on his indi-
vidual holdings were taken into account.

Notwithstanding the actual record in this case, the
original panel of the Ninth Circuit baldly asserted that
“it is not quite correct to say that IOLTA as structured
does not deprive clients of any money.” Pet. App. 77a.
The panel did not cite any evidence to support this
utterly erroneous conclusion. Instead, it assumed that
attorneys, in the face of the very specific fiduciary duty

14

that they owe their clients, either botch the calculation
of whether any given client deposit could be used to
generate interest for the client or shirk the responsibil-
ity to make that decision altogether. See id. 78a. Without
any support in the record, the panel surmised that
“client[s] may lose an economically significant amount
of interest . . . where the funds ‘are expected to be’
deposited for a much shorter period than they actually
are.” Id. The panel also assumed, again without any evi-
dentiary support, that “[a]s a practical matter, [attorneys]
have a substantial incentive not to be bothered with
crediting clients with their interest,” id., even though
such conduct would subject the attorneys to punishment
under the disciplinary rules currently in effect in all of
the States and the District of Columbia. The pane! deci-
sion thus merely perpetuated petitioners’ myth, without
any factual basis, that IOLTA programs generate revenue
through some mysterious and perhaps illicit means.°

The facts of the actual story are precisely the same, if
somewhat better developed, in the parallel case of Tex.
Equal Access to Justice Found. v. Wash. Legal Found.,
U.S. No. 02-01, which is currently pending on petition
for certiorari. As those petitioners have pointed out, the
Texas case went to trial following remand from this
Court’s opinion in Phillips v. Wash. Legal Found., 524
U.S. 156 (1998). After a two-day bench trial, the district
court found as a factual matter “that the only plaintiff
with funds in a Texas IOLTA account. . . suffered no

5 Even if there were a record to support the panel's conclusion
on this point, any “taking” would result not from state action but from
the decisions of private parties. See Brief for Respondents Legal
Foundation of Washington and Its President at 32. In any event,
IOLTA programs generally give refunds to clients whose money is
deposited into IOLTA accounts in such situations. See Tex. Equal
Access to Justice Found. v. Wash. Legal Found., Trial Transcript at
224.

15

loss—zero. Indeed, Mr. Summers himself testified can-
didly and unequivocally to that fact.” Wash. Legal Found.
v. Tex. Equal Access to Justice Found., 270 F.3d 180, 198
(Sth Cir. 2001) (Wiener, J. dissenting). Although a split
panel of the Fifth Circuit reversed the decision of the
district court to uphold the Texas IOLTA program in the
face of claims under the First and Fifth Amendments, the
panel majority did not disturb this finding on appeal,
incorrectly deeming this critical fact to be irrelevant. See
id. at 199 n.17.

Il. EVEN IF THE IOLTA PROGRAM DID EFFECT
A “TAKING” OF PROPERTY, THERE IS
NO LACK OF “JUST COMPENSATION” AND
HENCE NO CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATION.

A. Any Takings Claim Requires a Compensable
Loss Under the Just Compensation Clause.

IOLTA accounts do not deprive clients whose funds
are placed in them of the opportunity to earn a return on
those funds. As discussed above, with or without IOLTA,
some amounts of money are simply too small or are held
for too short a time to earn interest sufficient to pay for
the unavoidable costs necessary to generate the interest
for an individual client. Thus, even if the Court were to
find that IOLTA programs did somehow effect a “taking”
of property within the meaning of the constitutional
terms, that result is not accomplished without “just com-
pensation.” The Court has consistently rejected the
application of a “value to the taker” measure for just
compensation, and under the two tests that the Court has
applied to determine the amount of “just compensation”
in different circumstances—the “fair market value” test
and the “value to the owner” test—the amount of earn-

ings on funds that are eligible for state IOLTA programs

is zero. Moreover, applying Fifth Amendment protec-

16

tions to an asserted property interest that does not have
any compensable value is not consistent with the pur-
poses that underlie the Takings Clause—i.e., to authorize
the government to take property for public use in return
for compensating the property owner for the value of
property that was taken.

This Court has repeatedly held that the amount due a
plaintiff under the Just Compensation clause is “what
. . . the owner lost, and not what. . . the taker gained.”
United States v. Chandler-Dunbar Water Power Co., 229
U.S. 53, 76 (1913). Accordingly, the Fifth Amendment
entitles a property owner to be “put in as good a position
pecuniarily as if his property had not been taken. He
must be made whole but is not entitled to more.” Olson
v. United States, 292 U.S. 246, 255 (1934). Because peti-
tioners have not lost anything of any monetary value
here, they have no valid claim under the Just Compen-
sation Clause.

This conclusion is consistent with a long line of deci-
sions by the Court that have explored and delineated the
meaning of the “just compensation” requirement. Jus-
tice Holmes long ago summarized the proper test under
this component of the Takings Clause as a determination
of “what has the owner lost? not, what has the taker
gained?” Boston Chamber of Commerce v. Boston, 217
U.S. 189, 195 (1910). The Court has linked this princi-
ple to the definition of the term “compensation,” noting,
for example, that “[b]ecause gain to the taker” may be
“wholly unrelated to the deprivation imposed upon the
owner, it must also be rejected as a measure of public
obligation to requite for that deprivation.” Kimball
Laundry Co. v. United States, 338 U.S. 1, 5 (1949). The
same principle inheres (to the owner’s benefit) in the
Court’s determination of when a taking occurs, for it is
“the deprivation of the former owner rather than the

17

accretion of a right or interest to the sovereign [that]
constitutes the taking.” Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co.,
467 U.S. 986, 1004-05 (1984).

Indeed, the facts of the Boston Chamber of Commerce
case, in particular, bear a careful comparison to the facts
underlying the IOLTA program. There the City of Boston
exercised its power of eminent domain to lay out a pub-
lic street upon a parcel of land. The ownership rights in
this parcel were divided among several different par-
ties—the Boston Chamber of Commerce owned the fee
of the land; a wharf company had an easement of way,
light, and air over the land; and a bank held a mortgage
on the land, subject to the easement. See 217 U.S. at
193. These parties agreed to take the position in the
resulting litigation that the value of the land taken
should be assessed as an unrestricted fee. The City
refused to assent to this claim, and noted that the ease-
ment considerably lessened the value of the underlying
fee interest. It was ultimately stipulated by the parties
that_if the City prevailed in its view of the matter, the
amount of just compensation for the parcel would be
$5,000, whereas if the consortium of interests were to
prevail, the price would be $60,000. Jd.

The Massachusetts state courts held for the City, and
this Court affirmed. It began by stating that the “only
question to be considered is whether when a man’s land
is taken, he is entitled, by the Fourteenth Amendment, to
recover more than the value of it as it stood at the time.”
217 U.S. at 194. It noted that the complaining parties
were seeking to have their property valued in a manner
that presupposed the uniting of their distinct interests,
even though it was highly unlikely and in any event not
at all certain that this would ever have occurred without
the government’s exercise of its eminent domain author-
ity. In a striking summary of the issue, therefore, the

18

Court observed that the real question was whether, “by
a simple joinder of parties after the taking, the city
could be made to pay for a loss of theoretical creation,
suffered by no one in fact.” Id. (emphasis added). The
Court found this question to be easily answered in favor
of the City, commenting that this “statement of the con-
tention seems to us to be enough.” Jd.

The Court went on, however, to articulate more fully
the rationale for this conclusion:

[T]he Constitution does not require a disregard of
the mode of ownership,—of the state of the title. It
does not require a parcel of land to be valued as an
unencumbered whole when it is not held as an unen-
cumbered whole. It merely requires that an owner of
property should be paid for what is taken from him.
It deals with persons, not with tracts of land. And
the question is, what has the owner lost? not, what
has the taker gained? We regard it as entirely plain
that the petitioners were not entitled, as a matter of
law, to have the damages estimated as if the land
was the sole property of one owner, and therefore
are not entitled to $60,000 under their agreement.

217 U.S. at 195.

Applying this same analysis to this IOLTA program, it
is clear that even if a “taking” were to be found, the
amount of “just compensation” required to be paid to
parties such as the petitioners here is zero. Under the
rules governing the program, the funds deposited in the
IOLTA accounts are either too small or are held for too
brief a period to generate any interest income standing
on their own. It is only the aggregation of these funds
pursuant to the IOLTA program itself, and the conse-
quent elimination of the costs necessary to attribute each
increment of revenue to distinct individual sources, that

19

makes it possible to generate any income at all. As in the
Boston Chamber of Commerce case, however, the com-
plaining parties here are demanding that the courts
assess their property interests in a manner that “disre-
gard[s] the mode of ownership” and treats each distinct
account as though it were part of an unencumbered
whole when it has never been held, and would never be
held, in this fashion apart from the IOLTA program
itself. See id. at 195. Thus the real question here too is
whether, “by a simple joinder of parties after the
[assumed] taking, the [government] could be made to
pay for a loss of theoretical creation, suffered by no one
in fact.” Id. at 194. Once again, the mere “statement of
the contention” is more than enough to refute it. Id.

Likewise, in City of New York v. Sage, 239 U.S. 57
(1915), the Court held that the compensation due for a
lot taken to build a reservoir did not include the
enhanced value of the property “due to its union with
other lots.” Jd. at 61. Rather, the owner’s loss must be
measured by the property’s value distinct from the power
of the government to make plots more valuable by com-
bining them with others: “The City is not to be made to
pay for any part of what it has added to the land by thus
uniting it with other lots, if that union would not have
been practicable or have been attempted except by the
intervention of eminent domain.” IJd.; see also United
States ex rel. TVA v. Powelson, 319 U.S. 266, 274, 280-
85 (1943) (refusing to compensate landowner for value
of his property when combined with other properties to
facilitate hydroelectric project); Olson, 292 U.S. at
256 (“Value to the taker of a piece of land combined
with other parcels for public use is not the measure of
or a guide to the compensation to which the owner is
entitled.”).

20

The same basic principles can also be gleaned from
yet another series of decisions that are applicable here.
The Court has long held that when the government
effects a taking of property, basic fairness dictates that
the government is not required to compensate the prop-
erty owner for elements of the property’s value that the
government itself has created. In United States v. F uller,
409 U.S. 488 (1973), for example, the federal govern-
ment took a ranch from an owner who leased nearby
land under the Taylor Grazing Act. The owner claimed
that his ranch should be valued based on its potential use
“in conjunction with” the grazing areas, but the Court
rejected this claim. Id. at 489; see also id. at 499 (Pow-
ell, J., dissenting) (“compensation need not be afforded
for an increase in market value stemming from the very
Government undertaking which led to the condemna-
tion”); Powelson, 319 U.S. at 266 (value created was
business opportunity dependent on owner’s privilege to
use the state’s power of eminent domain; no compensa-

tion required).

This longstanding principle extends at least as far
back as McGovern v. City of New York, 229 U.S. 363
(1913). In that case, the City took title to various parcels
of land in order to incorporate them as part of a reser-
voir. The complaining parties sought to recover as “just
compensation” the enhanced value of the land when used
for that purpose; in response, the City sought to limit
compensation to the fair market value of each parcel at
the time it was purchased. Id. at 371-72. This Court
sided with the City. Again, a central tenet of its analysis
was that there were “hundreds of titles to different
parcels of that land,” which were only “brought together
by a taking under eminent domain.” /d. at 372. The like-
lihood that this could have occurred by any other means
“might be regarded as too remote and speculative to
have any legitimate effect upon the valuation.” Jd. As a

21

result, the complaining party “was entitled to be paid
only for what was taken from him as the titles stood, and
could not add to the value by the hypothetical possibil-
ity of a change unless that possibility was considerable
enough to be practical consideration and actually to
influence prices.” Id. (citing Boston Chamber of Com-
merce, 217 U.S. at 195).

If those same bounds are applied to the operation of
the IOLTA program here, then any alleged “taking” of
property would not be compensable because the indi-
vidual client’s funds are, by ~trict definition, incapable
of generating income to any individual client net of
administrative expenses, and any value derived from the
funds is created solely by the operation of the IOLTA
program itself, which eliminates the considerable admin-
istrative charges involved in calculating, identifying,
tracking, and allocating miniscule sums generated by
discrete funds. The likelihood that each individual client
fund would be able to generate interest income, absent
the implementation of the IOLTA program, is nil. The
complaining parties thus are not entitled to claim the
value of that “hypothetical possibility,” whose manifes-
tation in concrete form is solely attributable to the gov-
ernment’s unilateral action. McGovern, 229 U.S. at 372.

Indeed, the problem goes even further in this case
because, as explained above, even if individual client
funds were aggregated ~ith other funds, they could not
generate income attributable to individual sources
because of the transaction costs that must be incurred to
calculate, allocate, identify, and track individual funds.
“Because the fair market value of the earnings of
IOLTA-eligible funds is $0, the client would be entitled
to nothing.” Wash. Legal Found. v. Tex. Equal Access to
Justice Found., 106 F.3d 640, 644 (Sth Cir. 1996) (deny-
ing rehearing and rehearing en banc) (Benavides, J., dis-

22

senting). Because these client funds would be unable to
earn interest on their own, and the only “profit” previ-
ously derived from them had redounded to the sole ben-
efit of someone other than the client (i.e., financial
institutions), both the value to the owner and the fair
market value of these accounts is zero.

B. Having Lost Nothing of Any Value, Mone-
tary or Otherwise, Petitioners Have No Valid
Claim Under the Just Compensation Clause.

Petitioners have not shown that they have lost any-
thing of value as a result of Washington’s IOLTA pro-
gram. Therefore, they do not have a valid claim under
the Just Compensation Clause. Petitioners cannot resus-
citate their claim by pointing out that IOLTA accounts in
Washington succeed in generating revenue for the Legal
Foundation of Washington or by claiming that they have
valuable “non-economic” rights at stake.

As discussed above, a property owner with a claim
under the Just Compensation clause is not completely
forbidden to base her claim of compensation on the value
that is created when her land is combined with the land of
another. Such a claim is permitted, however, only “if the
union of properties necessary is so practicable that the
possibility would affect the market price.” Sage, 239 U.S.
at 61. Put slightly differently, in order to establish com-
pensable value based on the combination of one’s own
property with another’s property, the complaining party
must show “a reasonable probability of the [property] in
question being combined with other[s]. . . in the rea-
sonably near future.” Powelson, 319 U.S. at 275-76.

This possibility does not revive petitioners’ claim here.
IOLTA programs do not create value simply by pooling
small amounts of money together. With or without the
pooling of accounts, the sums of money placed in IOLTA

23

accounts simply could not generate any return for their
owners, once the costs associated with calculating, iden-
tifying, tracking, and allocating those individual revenues
to discrete sources are introduced into the equation.
IOLTA accounts generate a return for their beneficiaries
by eliminating the substantial transaction costs that
would be incurred to calculate, identify, track, and allo-
cate each constituent fragment of interest revenue to its
original source in the funds of one or another individual.
Put differently, with or without the aggregation accom-
plished by the IOLTA program, there remains absolutely
no probability that individual clients could earn a return
from the money that is placed in an IOLTA account.

Having no claim to have lost anything of value, mon-
etary or otherwise, petitioners fall back to the proposi-
tion that they can invoke the Just Compensation clause
to protect valuable “non-economic interests” in the inter-
est income generated by IOLTA accounts. Although it is
far from clear that these supposed “non-economic inter-
ests” can ever support a valid constitutional claim under
the Just Compensation Clause, there is certainly no such
thing as an alleged “non-economic interest” in pure
money.

Money is simply a means of exchange. It has nota-
tional value, rather than intrinsic or sentimental value.
The bundle of rights that an owner exercises over a par-
ticular sum of money—possession, use and disposition—
has a precise economic value. The economic value of
these rights is captured by the cost of the lost opportu-
nity to invest that sum of money for any particular period
of time. See Richard A. Brealey and Stewart C. Myers,
Principles of Corporate Finance 11-12 (5th ed. 1996)
(explaining that opportunity cost is calculated by “dis-
count[ing] expected future payoffs by the rate of return
offered by comparable investment alternatives”). In this

24

case, the value of the various sticks in the ownership
bundle is worth precisely nothing. The amounts of money
placed in IOLTA accounts cannot be used to generate
any return for their client owners, and they thus lose
nothing in having them taken away. Put simply, the right
to possess, control, or dispose of $0 is worth exactly $0.

At bottom, petitioners have nothing more than an ide-
ological objection to the continued existence of Wash-
ington’s IOLTA program. Cf. Valley Forge Christian
Coll. v. Ams. United for Separation of Church and State,
454 U.S. 464, 465 (1982) (“the psychological conse-
quence presumably produced by observation of conduct
with which one disagrees” is an insufficient basis to
challenge conveyance of property). The Just Compen-
sation Clause does not provide a legitimate vehicle for
would-be conscientious objectors to government pro-
grams to vent their spleen. The animating purpose
behind the Just Compensation Clause is not, as the Court
has noted on many occasions, to limit government inter-
ference with private property but “rather to secure
compensation” when a taking occurs. First English
Evangelical Lutheran Church v. County of Los Angeles,
482 U.S. 304, 315 (1987). It is apparent that the just
compensation for a putative “loss” with no value is, and
can only be, $0.

* * * * *

Finally, amici believe that this case cannot be decided
in a vacuum, divorced from its important practical con-
sequences. Over the past two decades, IOLTA programs
have been implemented in every jurisdiction nationwide,
at the behest of thousands of thoughtful attorneys,
judges and legislators who have shaped and then blessed
their implementation. Their operation is of increasing
importance to assure the continued availability of legal

25
services to many deserving individuals and families who
cannot afford to hire a lawyer on their own.

As Judge Benavides pointed out in a prior round of
these IOLTA litigations, petitioners’ claim threatens the
very survival of these programs, which are “a primary
source of funding for public interest legal organizations”
at a time “when these organizations are already strug-
gling for their lives financially.” Texas Equal Access,
106 F.3d at 641-42 (Benavides, J., dissenting). Surely
the public interest does not require the Court to sacrifice
the substantial benefits of these innovative programs
merely for the sake of extending doctrines of property
law that were designed to apply in very different cir-
cumstances, and went only so far as to ensure that just
compensation would be afforded for any monetary losses
incurred. None of the core principles of the Court’s tak-
ings jurisprudence would be threatened in the least by
upholding the constitutional validity of the unique pro-
grams at issue in this case.

26

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, as well as those stated by
respondents, the judgment below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

JOANNE M. GARVEY RICHARD A. CORDRAY

CHARLES N. FREIBERG Counsel of Record

THOMAS P. BROWN 4900 Grove City Road

HELLER EHRMAN WHITE Grove City, Ohio 43123
& MCAULIFFE LLP (614) 539-1661

333 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
(415) 772-6000

Attorneys for the Amici Curiae

October 2002

la

List of Amici State Bar Associations

Alabama State Bar

Alaska Bar Association

The State Bar of Arizona

The Arkansas Bar Association
The State Bar of California

The Chicago Bar Association
The Colorado Bar Association
Connecticut Bar Association
Delaware State Bar Association
The Florida Bar

The State Bar of Georgia
Hawaii State Bar Association
Idaho State Bar

Illinois State Bar Association
Indiana State Bar Association
The Iowa State Bar Association
Kansas Bar Association
Kentucky Bar Association
Maine State Bar Association
Maryland State Bar Association
Massachusetts Bar Association
The State Bar of Michigan
Minnesota State Bar Association
The Mississippi Bar

The Missouri Bar ‘

State Bar of Montana

Nebraska State Bar Association
The State Bar of Nevada

New Hampshire Bar Association
New Jersey State Bar Association
State Bar of New Mexico

New York State Bar Association
The North Carolina State Bar
State Bar Association of North Dakota

2a

State Bar Association of South Dakota
Ohio State Bar Association
Oklahoma Bar Association
Oregon State Bar

Pennsylvania Bar Association
Rhode Island Bar Association
South Carolina Bar Association
Tennessee Bar Association

State Bar of Texas

The Utah State Bar

Vermont Bar Association

Virginia Bar Association
Washington State Bar Association
West Virginia Bar Association
State Bar of Wisconsin

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0550%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
