# Amicus Curiae Brief — Boeing Co. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0544%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 437

## Text

No. 01-1209 Ane 4 ae. \
20r

Supreme Court of the Anited States

THE BOEING COMPANY AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES,
Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF TAX EXECUTIVES INSTITUTE, INC.
AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

FRED F. MURRAY *

MARY L. FAHEY

TAX EXECUTIVES INSTITUTE, INC.
1200 G Street, N.W.

Suite 300

Washington, D.C. 20005-3814
(202) 638-5601

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
* Counsel of Record Tax Executives Institute, Inc.

a EP TE TD
WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

30 »P

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TREE Ge RAF Cee COD cennsnepensereenenemennnianiante il
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE.............cccccsseeccseeseeees I
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .................ccssssssscesessseees
PETA ITOIETS cecnseesemanetinennensnmninmetaenmuannn 8
I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS
WRONG AS A MATTER OF LAW. ................ 8
Il. THE DISC PROVISIONS WERE INTENDED
TO PROVIDE A MORE LEVEL PLAYING
PPEEEED werssmnenmacssnevininemensneninmmutennsennimnadianiaaintinis 13

Ill. TREAS. REG. § 1.861-8(e)(3) SHOULD NOT
CONTROL THE CALCULATION OF CTL. ..... 15

A. Consistency with the Principles of Section
861 Does Not Lead to the Mechanical
Application of the Special Allocation Rule
in Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(€)(3)..........cceeeeeees 16

B. Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3) Is a Radical
Departure from the General Rules and
Principles Of Section 861. ........ccccsccseeeeeeees 20

Sd

RSE AEFI IeS covecssscesererscosscevenneenseuesuseusenseneesunsnerensenses 25

(i)

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Bowen v. Michigan Academy of Family
Physicians, 476 U.S. 667 (1986) .........cccccceeeeeees 19-20
Commissioner v. Ferro-Enamel Corp., 134 F.2d
ee 6, 17
Cox v. Roth, 348 U.S. 207 (1955)........ccccseesecseeeeees 19
L&F Int'l Sales Corp. v. United States, 912 F.2d
ee 8
Rite Aid Corp. v. United States, 255 F.3d 1357
Te 24-25
Shalala v. Illinois Council on Long Term Care,
aor 20
St. Jude Medical, Inc. v. Commissioner, 34 F.3d
ST IME wnsccssssscosssceussessess 2, 10, 12, 15, 23
United Dominion Industries, Inc. v. United —
LE oe Ly | | re 25
STATUTES
Deficit Reduction Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-
ea 8-9
FSC Repeal and_ Extraterritorial Income
Exclusion Act of 2000, Pub. L. No. 106-519,
ae 9
Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S.C.)
eran canincpcmnrrncananscccncnaes 9
EE 17
ee 17
ce 17
| Te 9
Ti tridnsdnensecnnennnnnnesenssensseescses 9
TIT setieecemnteneenpnanensnsenenenescesesess 8

ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

iii aaa iieiiinaneneaiaiiis 9-10, 15, 20, 23

TU inner ciepipammennieiiiniimabasiideaibanns 9
Revenue Act of 1918, Pub. L. No. 254, 40 Stat.

I I nits ainacinlesintiacaaisiniiieaaaiiin 18
Revenue Act of 1921, Pub. L. No. 98, 42 Stat.

eee 17-18
Revenue Act of 1971, Pub. L. No. 92-178, 85

I II acct cnataaeiantnesiaiaitiniatidataiii 8

_ ¢ ) | coil! ECan 19

REGULATIONS
26 C.F.R.

Fema. Rae, § 1B 8 A FSC is generally not subject to taxation on its “exempt foreign
trade income,” which is treated as foreign source income not effectively
connected with the conduct of a U.S. trade or business. Again, the benefit
is determined according to one of three alternative pricing methods.
ILR.C. §§ 921-27. After the enactment of the FSC provisions, a modified
version of the DISC statute remained in effect. I.R.C. § 995. In 2000,
because of a trade dispute over the validity of the FSC regime, Congress

_ repealed the FSC provisions and enacted the extraterritorial income (ETI)

provisions. FSC Repeal and Extraterritorial Income Exclusion Act of
2000, Pub. L. No. 106-519, 114 Stat. 2423 (2000), codified at IL.R.C.
§§ 114, 941-43.

° Given the reliance of the FSC regulations on their predecessor DISC
rules, this brief follows the lead of the Ninth Circuit in discussing
primarily the DISC provisions of the Cocc. App. at 6a n.3. See also Stip.
§ 28 (“Although there are some differences between the DISC and FSC
rules, none of them relate to th[{e] issue in this case.”’).

10

and such [related] person shall be based upon a transfer
price which would allow such DISC to derive taxable
income attributable to such sale (regardless of the sales
price actually charged) in an amount which does not
exceed the greatest of—

(1) 4 percent of the qualified export receipts on the sale
of such property by the DISC plus 10 percent of the
export promotion expenses of such DISC
attributable to such receipts,

(2) 50 percent of the combined taxable income of such
DISC and such person which is attributable to the
qualified export receipts on such property derived
as the result of a sale by the DISC plus 10 percent
of the export promotion expenses of such DISC
attributable to such receipts, or

(3) taxable income based upon the sale price actually
charged (but subject to the rules provided in section
482 ).

I.R.C.§ 994(a) (emphasis added); see App. at 27a. The
taxpayer may “choose the method resulting in the greatest
amount of profit.” Si. Jude Medical, Inc. v. Commissioner,
34 F. 3d 1394, 1397 (8th Cir. 1994).

Pursuant to the latitude provided by Congress, Boeing
elected to use the combined taxable income (CTI) method for
calculating the amount of benefit to which it was entitled
under the DISC provisions. Treas. Reg. § 1.994-1(c)(6)
defines CTI as the excess of the DISC’s gross receipts from
the sale of export property over the total costs of the DISC
and its supplier that relate to those gross receipts. In general,
a higher CTI from a transaction will result in a larger benefit.
In calculating CTI on export sales, revenues from sales must
be determined as well as the costs and expenses properly
allocable to those sales. Treas. Reg. § 1.994-1(c)(6)(iii)
requires that a taxpayer allocate to revenues from export sales

“(a) the expenses, losses, and other deductions definitely
related, and therefore allocated and apportioned, thereto,” and
(b) a ratable part of any other expenses, losses, or other
deductions “determined in a manner consistent with the rules
set forth in [Treas. Reg.] § 1.861-8.” (Emphasis added.) This
regulation implements the statutory directive to compute CTI
on export sales and mirrors the legislative history of the DISC
provisions. That history states that income shall be
determined “generally in accordance with the principles
applicable under section 861.” H.R. Rep. No. 92-533, 92d
Cong., Ist Sess. 74 (1971) (hereinafter cited as the “1971
House Report”)(emphasis added); S. Rep. No. 92-437, 92d
Cong., Ist Sess. 107 (1971) (hereinafter cited as the “1971
Senate Report”) (emphasis added).

The DISC regulations specifically permit taxpayers to
group their transactions. Under Treas. Reg. § 1.994-1(c)(7),
the pricing of goods sold by a taxpayer to its DISC is made
on a transaction-by-transaction basis, but the taxpayer may
annually elect to group the transactions according to product
lines. The only limitation placed on the use of the
administrative pricing methods is that the amount of taxable
income that a supplier may shift to the DISC may not exceed

~ 100 percent of the supplier’s income generated by the

transaction. Treas. Reg. § 1.994-1(e)(1)(i).

The issue in this case arises because Treas. Reg. § 1.861-
8(e)(3)—which was added to the regulations after the
enactment of the DISC provisions—requires taxpayers to
mechanically allocate R&D expenditures according to the
two-digit Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Manual
produced by the Office of Management and Budget. The
DISC CTI calculation, however, contemplates allocating
revenues from particular sales and, where grouping of
products is elected, to particular products. In determining its
CTI in this case, Boeing exercised its right to elect product
groupings under the DISC regulations, grouped its export

12

sales by airplane program, and determined its costs, including
R&D costs, for each airplane program. The company
calculated its CTI on airplane sales net of the costs
so determined. Under the DISC regulations, Boeing's
determination properly allocated definitely related expenses
to its export sales and was also consistent with the general
rule of Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(a)(2), which provides that
“allocations and apportionments are made on the basis of the
factual relationship of deductions to gross income.”

The government disagreed with Boeing’s approach, not on
the grounds that it had failed to establish a direct link to
support its allocations, but rather on the grounds that Treas.
Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3) requires that certain mechanical rules for
allocating R&D expenses be directly applied to DISC.
Application of those rules increased the R&D expenses
allocable to Boeing’s export sales, decreased CTI, and
thereby reduced Boeing’s DISC benefit.

In upholding Boeing’s CTI calculation, the district court
turned to the Eighth Circuit’s decision in St. Jude Medical, 34
F. 3d at 1401, which held that Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3)

was invalid as applied to the CTI calculation. Finding the.

Eighth Circuit’s reasoning and analysis “persuasive and
applicable to the current case,” the district court found that
there were serious defects in applying Treas. Reg. § 1.861-
8(e)(3) to the computation of CTI that were “fatal” to the
validity of the regulation. App. at 18a-19a, 23a. On appeal,
the Ninth Circuit reversed, holding that Treas. Reg. § |.861-
8(e)(3) as applied to the CTI calculation is a permissible
interpretation of the statute. App. at 2a.

Amicus TEI submits that the requirement of Treas. Reg.
§ 1.861-8(e)(3) that a taxpayer must allocate R&D expenses
to sales revenues within a single two-digit SIC code vitiates
the flexibility taxpayers have under the DISC statute to
maximize tax benefits. The section 861 regulations were
tailored for the purpose of allocating and apportioning income

13

and expenses between foreign and domestic sources under the
foreign tax credit provisions of the Code. When applied to
CTI calculations, however, Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3)
conflicts with another statute of equal importance and fails to
achieve the DISC statutory goal of determining CTI based on
the factual relationships between revenues and costs. In this
context, the mechanical rules of that regulation impermissibly
conflict with the more specific DISC regulations, which allow
taxpayers a choice in grouping sales according to product
lines. Because Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3) cannot be
harmonized with the purposes of the DISC provisions, it is
invalid as applied to DISCs.

Il. THE DISC PROVISIONS WERE INTENDED TO
PROVIDE A MORE LEVEL PLAYING FIELD.

Congress enacted the DISC and FSC provisions to provide
a more level playing field for U.S. companies competing in
foreign markets. The DISC provisions were enacted at a time
when the economy was doing poorly. The United States was
experiencing high unemployment, a low gross domestic
product, little or no growth in capital goods expenditures, and
a rising inflation rate. Wage and price controls had been
imposed and there was growing concern about the trade

imbalance between the United States and other countries. 7

1971 House Report at 1, 3-4; 1971 Senate Report at 1-2, 6.
The Nixon Administration determined that tax changes were
needed as part of a balanced program of stimulation and
stability. The changes were designed not only to stimulate
spending but also to provide more jobs in the United States.
See The White House, Explanatory Material on the
President's Economic Program (Aug. 15, 1971), reprinted in
BNA SPECIAL REPORT, App. C at C-2 (Aug. 16, 1971).
It was against this background that Congress enacted the
Revenue Act of 1971.

14

In the Administration’s view, the DISC measure would
“provide a substantial stimulus to United States producers to
increase their export sales with resulting favorable effects
on our balance of payments. This will create additional jobs
by strengthening the position of our companies in
world markets.” /d. at C-4. Congress agreed, stressing the
importance of providing tax incentives for U.S. firms to
increase their exports not only because of their stimulative
effect, but also to remove a disadvantage to U.S. businesses
engaged in export activities through domestic subsidiaries:

United States corporations engaging in export activities
are taxed currently on their foreign earnings at the full
U.S. corporate income tax rate regardless of whether
those earnings are kept abroad or repatriated. In
contrast, U.S. corporations which produce and sell
abroad through foreign subsidiaries generally can
postpone payment of U.S. tax on these foreign earnings
so long as they are kept abroad.

In addition, other major trading nations encourage
foreign trade by domestic producers in one form or
another. Where value added taxes or multistage sales
taxes are used to any appreciable extent, the practice is
to refund taxes paid by the exporter at the time of export
and to impose these taxes on importers. In the case of
income taxes as well, however, most of the major
trading nations have features in their tax laws which tend
to encourage exports. Both to provide an inducement for
increasing exports and as a means of removing
discrimination against those who export through U.S.
corporations, [the House Ways and Means] committee’s
bill provides a deferral of tax where corporations
meeting certain conditions—called § Domestic
International Sales Corporations—are used.

1971 House Report at 58; see also 1971 Senate Report at 90.

15

In enacting the DISC regime, Congress provided taxpayers
with a broad incentive program. In order to maximize the
benefit provided under the statute, Congress suspended
several general rules of taxation that normally apply to
taxpayers. Contrary to the treatment afforded other entities
under the tax law, a DISC may be a corporation whose sole
function is to serve as an accounting device for measuring the
amount of export earnings subject to tax deferral. Treas. Reg.
§ 1.992-1(a). Congress also determined it desirable to avoid
the complexities of the Internal Revenue Code’s transfer
pricing rules—which require a determination of an arm’s-
length price between related persons—and to adopt
administrative rules for determining intercompany pricing.
L.R.C. § 994. See also 1971 House Report at 73. These rules
permitted the DISC to maximize its taxable income regardless
of the sales price actually charged for the property.

LR.C. § 994(a).

The CTI method, used by Boeing in this case, is one of the
two administrative pricing rules adopted by Congress in
1971. To further its intended effects, Congress created a
statutory scheme that was clearly intended to permit DISCs to
earn profits in excess of those earned under the arm’s-length
pricing rules otherwise used between related parties. 1971
House Report at 73-74; see St. Jude Medical, 34 F.3d at 1400.
Thus, Congress established a unique regime under which
taxpayers using DISCs were to obtain benefits not ordinarily
then available.

Ill. TREAS. REG. § 1.861-8(e)(3) SHOULD NOT
CONTROL THE CALCULATION OF CTL.

There are two primary reasons Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3)
should not govern the calculation of CTI. First, Congress
intended only that the general principles of section 86]
should apply in the DISC context. Second, the special
allocation rule of Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3) does not further
those principles in this context.

16

A. Consistency with the Principles of Section 861
Does Not Lead to the Mechanical Application
of the Special Allocation Rule in Treas. Reg.
§ 1.861-8(e)(3).

Computing CTI requires allocating costs to gross receipts
and, in the first instance, requires allocating costs to the gross
receipts to which they definitely relate. If costs are not
definitely related to any receipts, they are apportioned on a
ratable basis. Under Treas. Reg. § 1.994-1(c)(6)(iii), these
allocations and apportionments are to be “determined in a
manner consistent with the rules set forth in § 1.861-8.” This
regulation implements the legislative history providing that
CTI should be determined “generally in accordance with the
principles applicable under section 861.” The legislative
history describes these principles, as follows: “These rules
generally allocate to each item of gross income all expenses
directly related thereto, and then apportion other expenses
among all items of gross income on a ratable basis.” 1971
House Report at 74; Senate Report at 107 (emphasis added).
What is abundantly clear is that neither the regulation
implementing the DISC provisions and governing the
allocation of costs for CTI purposes nor the legislative history
of the DISC provisions contemplates a mechanical
application of rules later adopted under section 861 to the
computation of CTI. These rules express respect for the
principles of section 861, but they stop short of incorporating
section 861 in its entirety into the DISC pricing rules. Treas.
- Reg. § 1.994-1(c)(6)(iii) contemplates “consistency.” The
legislative history contemplates applying generally the
“principles” of section 861. In each case, the goal of the
statute is to determine CTI based on definite relationships.

In defiance of this objective, the government insists that the
mechanical rules of Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3) be applied to
allocate R&D expenses in determining CTI. This attempt at
rigid application of rules crafted under section 861 for

17

another purpose is unsupportable and would cause distortion
in the calculation of CTI. To understand this, a brief review
of the background of the mechanical rules at issue may

be helpful.

Section 861 of the Code contains the general sourcing rules
for determining when income should be treated as earned
within the United States. Coupled with sections 862 (source
rules for income without the United States) and 863 (special
rules for determining the source of income), these provisions
“undertake to classify the sources of income within the
United States by the nature and location of the activities of
the taxpayer or his property which produces income.”
Commissioner v. Ferro-Enamel Corp., 134 F.2d 564, 566
(6th Cir. 1943). Both sections 861(b) and 862(b) allow
deductions for expenses, losses, and other deductions
properly allocated and apportioned to the gross income items
listed in sections 861(a) and 862(a), respectively, and allow
deductions for a ratable part of expenses, losses, and other

deductions not definitely allocable to some item of gross

income.’

The sourcing rules have been a part of the tax law almost
since the beginning of the modern income tax. The current
statutory provisions trace their origins to the Revenue Act

’ In general, a taxpayer first determines aggregate gross income in
accordance with section 61 and the relevant principles of the Code and
then identifies its deductions. With respect to each deduction, the
taxpayer must then identify (“allocate”) the deduction with the category of
gross income to which it relates. After deductions are allocated to a class,
they are “apportioned” within that class between the statutory and the
residual grouping of gross income. See generally, CYM H. LOWELL, G.
MICHAEL TILTON, ANDREW W. SHELDRICK & MICHAEL J. DONOHUE, U.S.
INTERNATIONAL TAXATION: AGREEMENTS, CHECKLISTS & COMMENTARY
4 7.03{2] (2002). If a deduction is related to all classes of gross income, it
is generally allocated ratably. Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(b)(5).

18

of 1921, Pub. L. No. 98, §217, 42 Stat. 227 (1921).*
The sourcing rules are important for a variety of reasons, but
primarily relate to the computation of the foreign tax credit.
A major policy premise underlying these rules is that the
United States has the right to tax fully U.S.-source income but
acknowledges the primary right of foreign countries to tax
foreign-source income. Staff of the Joint Committee on
Taxation, General Explanation of the Tax Reform Act of
1986, 100th Cong., Ist Sess. 916 (1987).

Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8 provides some general and some
specific, mechanical guidance for allocating and apportioning
deductions. From a general perspective, in matching an
expense, loss, or other deduction with an income class, there
must be a factual relationship between that item and the class
of gross income. Treas. Reg. §§ 1.861-8(a)(2), -8(b)(2). In
this regard, the rules state that classes of gross income are not
predetermined. Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(b)(1). This is entirely
consistent with the DISC rule for determining CTI. If a
deduction cannot be identified with any specific class of gross
income, it will generally be allocable to all of the taxpayer’s
gross income. Treas. Reg. § |.861-8(b)(5). Boeing’s alloca-
tions were consistent with these general rules.

The DISC legislative history and regulations incorporate
consistency with the general section 861 principles into the
CTI calculation. That such consistency is contemplated,
however, does not mean that the statute requires the
mechanical application of Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3).
In other words, “consistent” means “compatible”; it does net
mean “identical.” See Webster's Ninth New Collegiate
Dictionary 280 (1988). Indeed, it would be serendipitous if
the rules crafted for determining income source could be

* The first statute requiring the allocation of deductions to income from
specified sources was the Revenue Act of 1918, §§ 214(b), 234(b), Pub.
L. No. 254, 40 Stat. 1057 (1918).

19

applied, without modification, to implemen the DISC regime
with equally important but different policy objectives.”

This Court has cautioned about the ill effects of
mechanically applying the terms of rules structured for one
purpose to the interpretation of another statute with a vastly
different objective. In this regard, Bowen v. Michigan
Academy of Family Physicians, 476 U.S. 667 (1986), is
instructive. There, the Court considered a challenge by
physicians to the validity of a regulation under Part B of
Medicare, which authorized the payment of benefits in
different amounts for similar services. The Medicare statute
cross-referenced provisions of the Social Security Act that
prohibited certain actions against the government.”
The Secretary of Health and Human Services contended that
the cross-reference demonstrated that Congress had forbidden
judicial review of all questions affecting the payment of
benefits under Part B of Medicare. The Court held, however,
that the legislative history of the Medicare program provided
specific evidence of Congress’s intent to foreclose review
only of “amount determinations,” not of substantial statutory
and constitutional challenges to the Secretary’s administration
of Part B. Thus, the incorporation by reference to the Social
Security Act restrictions did not apply on its own terms to
Part B, but rather was incorporated mutatis mutandis, i.e., all

* As this Court has noted, “The policy as well as the letter of the law is
a guide to decision.” Cox v. Roth, 348 U.S. 207, 209 (1955) (citation
omitted). In Cox, the Court refused to permit a literal application of the
Federal Employers’ Liability Act (FELA) to result in the denial of
recovery under the Jones Act against a personal representative of the
owners of a vessel lost at sea. The Court found that the exact words of
FELA should not be “lifted bodily from their context and applied
mechanically to the specific facts of maritime events.” /d.

Section 405(h) of title 42 provided that “no action... to recover any
claim” arising under the Medicare laws shall be “brought under section
1331... of title 28.”

20

necessary changes having been made, into the Medicare
statute. Jd. at 679.'' A similar logic should apply to
this case.

In this case, the reference to the principles of section 861 in
the DISC regulation and legislative history is not license to
apply all the mechanical rules of the section 861 regulations
for purposes of allocating costs, without regard to factual
relationships, to sales in determining CTI. The objective of
the statute—to allocate costs in accordance with some factual
relationship—may not be arbitrarily foreclosed, as the
government would do in this case.

B. Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3) Is a Radical
Departure from the General Rules and
Principles of Section 861.

Under the general section 861 rules, a factual relationship
between income and expense is a key element of allocation
and apportionment. See Treas. Reg. §§ 1.861-8(a)-(d). These
are the “principles applicable under section 861” to which
Congress referred in 1971 and which the DISC statute
contemplates will be applied in determining CTI—a factual
connection between income and expense is clearly required.
See I.R.C. § 994(a)(2) (requiring determination of net in-
come “attributable to” the export sale).'* When Treas. Reg.

"* In Shalala v. Illinois Council on Long Term Care, Inc., 529 U.S. 1,
17-18 (2000), the Court clarified that the reasoning of Michigan Academy
applied only when the statute precluded any review of a particular
category of cases.

? The legislative history of the provision confirms that “({t}hese rules
generally allocate to each item of gross income all expenses directly
related thereto, and then apportion other expenses among all items of
gross income on a ratable basis.” 1971 House Report at 74 (emphasis
added). CTI is determined by “deducting from the DISC’s gross receipts
the related person's cost of goods sold with respect to the property, the
selling, overhead and administrative expenses of both the DISC and the
related person which are directly related to the production or sale of the

21

§ 1.994-1(c)(6)(iii) was adopted in 1975, the mechanical rules
on which the government relies in this case did not exist.
Indeed, they were not adopted until a couple years later
in 1977."°

In contrast, the special rules for allocating R&D expenses
set forth in Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3) are mechanical rules
th * apply in lieu of the general section 861 principles in
alle ating R&D expenses.'* The government recognizes this
in th. **e'ation’s first paragraph by confirming that the
regulati. .1 is a substitute for the factual inquiry. Treas. Reg.
§ 1.861-8(e)(3)(i)(A) begins—

The methods of allocation and apportionment of
research and development set forth in this paragraph
(e)(3) recognize that research and development is an
inherently speculative activity, that findings may
contribute unexpected benefits, and that the gross
income derived from _ successful research and
development must bear the cost of unsuccessful research

and development. '°

Rather than identifying a class of income to which the R&D
expenditures actually relate, the regulation generally assigns

export property.” Id. (emphasis added). Thus, expenses related to
property that is not exported are not allocated to export sales of other
property.

'* This regulation was later repromulgated in 1995 as Treas. Reg.
§ 1.861-17.

' The proposed section 861 regulations in place at the time the DISC
regulations were issued retained the factual relationship principle in
respect of R&D expenses and did not require the use of SIC codes. 38
Fed.Reg. 15840, 15843 (June 18, 1973).

'S The regulations also specifically presuppose that the mechanical
rules are not intended to effect an allocation of deductions to all gross
income but rather address allocations to specific classes of gross income.
See Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(b)(1).

22

the expenditures to income related to a broad product
category, which is limited to a list determined by two-digit
SIC codes."

'° It is difficult to see how a system that classifies economic data by
industrial categories can also serve the purposes of matching gross income
from the sale of specific products with the specific costs that are directly
related to them. The SIC Code system was replaced by the North
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) in 1997 because it was
considered outmoded:

The SIC was established to promote uniformity and comparability
of data collected and published by agencies within the U.S.
government, state agencies, trade associations, and research
organizations. It was developed as an establishment-based industry
classification system that classified each establishment (defined as a
single physical location at which economic activity occurs)
according to its primary activity. The SIC covered the entire field of
economic activities by defining industries in accordance with the
composition and structure of the economy.

U.S. Census Bureau, Development of NAICS, reprinted at http://www.
census.gov/epcd/www/naicsdev.htm. The system was designed to
“classify ‘industry’ in the broad sense of all economic activity; i.e.,
agriculture, forestry, and fisheries; mining; construction; manufacturing;
wholesale and retail trade; finance, insurance, and real estate;
transportation, communication, electric, gas, and sanitary services; and
services.” Esther Pearce, History of the Standard Industrial Classification
(Executive Office of the President, Bureau of the Budget, Office of
Statistical Standards, July 10, 1957), reprinted at http://www.census.
gov/epced/www/sichist.htm.

Requiring the use of even three-digit SIC codes (as currently required
by Treas. Reg. § 1.861-17) can produce absurd results. For example,
R&D expenses directly related to main frame computers would be
allocated to pencil sharpener receipts because both pencil sharpeners and
computers are in the same three-digit SIC Code (357—Computer and
Office Equipment). Examples of other product grouping: include canned
tuna fish and freeze-dried coffee (SIC Code 209), perfumes and floor wax
(SIC Code 284), and batteries and extension cords (SIC Code 369).

23

The special allocation of R&D expenses may be
appropriate in the context of the computation of the foreign
tax credit, but it undermines congressional intent in respect of
the computation of CTI. As the Eighth Circuit determined in
St. Jude Medical, Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3)’s requirement
to use SIC categories in allocating R&D expenses “is
inconsistent with Congress’s intent to allow costs to be
allocated on a product-by-product basis or on the basis of
product lines.” 34 F.3d at 1401 (citations omitted). “Doing
so,” the court stated, “may improperly decrease the profits
allocated to a DISC, thus thwarting Congress’s intent when it
promulgated the DISC intercompany pricing rules.” /d. at
1402-03. In effect, the government’s proposed application of
the mechanical rules of section 861 to the allocation of R&D
expenses for DISC purposes would preclude any allocation to
transactions or products based on actual factual relationships.

Although the government approach is consistent with the
mechanical rules of Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3), it is
inconsistent with (i) section 994(a)(2)’s requirement for
determining net income “attributable to” the export sale; (ii)
the general rules of the section 861 regulations as they exist
today, (iii) all aspects of those regulations as they existed at
the time that Treas. Reg. § 1.994-l(c)(6)(ili) was
promulgated, (iv) the mandate of Treas. Reg. § !.994-
I(c)(6)(iii) that requires allocations of deductions based on
definite factual relationships, and (v) the flexibility afforded
taxpayers to permit DISC benefits to be calculated by
reference to CTI determined on a product-by-product basis
after allocating costs based on factual relationships. Indeed,
the consistency contemplated by the statute and Treas. Reg.
§ 1.994-1(c)(6)(iii) comes only by applying the general rules
of the regulations under section 861 to establish definite
factual relationships, not by departing from _ those
relationships by applying the mechanical rules for allocating
R&D expenses. This is particularly true where taxpayers,
because of the structure of their sales and manufacturing

24

production and the detailed records kept, can clearly establish
the necessary factual relationships. In contrast to Treas. Reg.
§ 1.861-8(e)(3), the section 994 regulations are consistent
with congressional intent because they permit taxpayers to
allocate R&D costs to products and product groupings based
on factual relationships.

It is enlightening that neither the Ninth Circuit nor the
government seeks to justify the application of the mechanical
R&D rule to allocations under section 994 on the ground that
it achieved allocations based on factual relationships. Indeed,
the Ninth Circuit seeks to justify the application of a rule that
ignores factual relationships on the grounds that the
deductions at issue might be considered unrelated to specific
income items. See App. at 12a. But this analysis does not
support the application of the rule at issue since that rule is
not one that purports to allocate deductions ratably.'”

It is consistent with “the principles applicable under the
section 861” for the allocation of R&D expenses to yield to
the DISC and FSC rules. Cf. Rite Aid Corp. v. United States,

'’ That Boeing’s R&D expenditures may have exceeded its income in a
given product category in any year is irrelevant. The section 861
regulations clearly contemplate situations in which the costs directly
related to a particular product line will exceed the gross income generated
by that product line in a particular year. Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(d)(1)
specifically states that “[eJach deduction which bears a definite
relationship to a class of gross income shall be allocated to that class in
accordance with paragraph (b)(1) of this section [dealing with the ‘factual
relationship between the deduction and a class of gross income’ even
though, for the taxable year, no gross income in such class is received”
(emphasis added). The specific regulation relied upon by the government
for the allocation of R&D expenses also provides that “[a]mounts
apportioned under this paragraph (e)(3) may exceed the amount of
gross income related to the product category within the statutory
grouping.” Treas. Reg. § 1.861-8(e)(3)(iiB). This is consistent with the
current deductibility of R&D expenses and the result of the annual
accounting for taxes.

25

255 F.3d 1357, 1359-60 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (holding that a
consolidated return regulation cannot be used to subvert the
intent of another statute); see also United Dominion
Industries, Inc. v. United States, 532 U.S. 822, 839 (2001)
(Thomas, J. concurring) (when construing a complex
statutory and regulatory scheme that lends itself to several
interpretations, “we should be inclined to rely on the
traditional canon that construes revenue-raising laws against
their drafter.”). By mandating the use of a special allocation
rule for R&D expenses in respect of DISCs and FSCs, the
government woes violence to those statutory schemes. The
Eighth Circuit in St. Jude Medical is correct: Treas. Reg.
§ 1.861-8(e)(3) is invalid as applied to the computation
of CTI.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should reverse the
decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

FRED F. MURRAY *

MARY L. FAHEY

TAX EXECUTIVES INSTITUTE, INC.
1200 G Street, N.W.

Suite 300

Washington, D.C. 20005-3814
(202) 638-5601

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
* Counsel of Record Tax Executives Institute, Inc.

August 9, 2002

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0544%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
