# Petitioners Brief — Operation Rescue v. National Organization for Women, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0539%3A20

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 808

## Text

Nos. O1-1118. 01-1119
=~ CLERK

IN THE — enema
Supreme Court of the Gnited States
JOSEPH SCHEIDLER, ET AL, Petitioners,
Ve
NATIONAL ORGANIZATION
FOR WOMEN, INC., ET AL, Respondents.
OPERATION RESCUE, Petitioner,
Ve
NATIONAL ORGANIZATION
FOR WOMEN, INC. ET AL., Respondents.

On Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

eee OOOO
BRIEF FOR PETITIONER OPERATION RESCUE

WALTER M. WEBER JAY ALAN SEKULOW
LARRY L. CRAIN Counsel of Record
DAVID A. CORTMAN COLBY M. MAY
ee FOR JAMES M. HENDERSON, SR.
HitnpmweeR X
Alexandria. VA 22314 AMERICAN CENTER FOR
(703) 740-1450 LAW & JUSTICE

~ ——205 Third Street. S.E.
THOMAS P. MONAGHAN Washington, DC 20003

CHARLES E. RICE (202) 546-8890
CENTER FOR LAW AND
JUSTICE INTERNATIONAL
6375 New Hope Road
New Hope, KY 40052
(502) 549-5454
Attorneys for Operation Rescue, Petitioner in No. 01-1119

i a

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the Seventh Circuit correctly held, in
acknowledged conflict with the Ninth Circuit, that
injunctive relief is available in a private civil action for
treble damages brought under the Racketeer Influenced and
Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C. § 1964(c).

Whether the Hobbs Act. which makes it a crime to
obstruct, delay. or affect interstate commerce "by robbery
or extortion” -- and which defines “extortion” as “the
obtaining of property from another, with [the owner's]
consent,” where such consent is "induced by the wrongful
use of actual or threatened force, violence, or fear” (18
U.S.C. § 1951(b)(2) (emphasis added)) -- criminalizes the
activities of political protesters who engage in sit-ins and
demonstrations that obstruct the public's access to a
business's premises and interfere with the freedom of
putative customers to obtain services offered there.

ii
PARTIES

In addition to petitioner Operation Rescue,' the following
parties were defendants-appellants in the Seventh Circuit and
are petitioners here:

Joseph M. Scheidler
Pro-Life Action League. Inc.
Andrew D. Scholberg
Timothy Murphy

Respondent National Organization for Women, Inc. (NOW),
plaintiff-appellee below. sued on behalf of itself and its
members and was certified as representative of the plaintiff
“class of women who are not NOW members and whose rights
to the services of women's health centers in the United States at
which abortions are performed have been or will be interfered
with by defendants’ unlawful activities.” OR Pet. App. 269a. In
addition, there are two other named respondents, the Delaware
Women's Health Organization, Inc. (DWHO) and the Summit
Women's Health Organization, Inc. (Summit). Both DWHO
and Summit sued on behalf of themselves and were certified as
representatives of the plaintiff “class of all women's health
centers in the United States at which abortions are performed.”
Id. These respondents. like NOW. were plaintiffs-appellees in
the Seventh Circuit.

‘Operation Rescue is not a corporation. See S. Ct. Rule 29.6.

in

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........................ i
PRE Whe adnaWiuwilveweseennucccekaceccndeuas il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....................... vi
ABBREVIATIONS KEY ......................... XIV
DECISIONS BELOW ............................. l
JURISDICTION ... 2... l
DUPEUMUEE Sn vencscveccescccescecesceccencecec.. l
STATEMENT OF THECASE ...................... l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...................... 6
ARGUMENT ................. 00.0 ccc eee ee eee. 8

| I. RICO DOES NOT AUTHORIZE PRIVATE
INJUNCTIVE RELIEF ......................... 8
A. RICO's Statutory Text ..........0............. 9
1. Expressio unius ....... TeTtT TTT TT TTT Tree 9
2. The antitrust parallel ....................... ll
B. RICO's Legislative History .................. 15
1. Selection of treble damages wemedy ........... 15
2. Rejection of private injunctive remedy ......... 16
C. The Counterarguments ..................... 18
Se ge eee ee 20

iv
2. Subsection (a) as creating remedies ........... 22
I ccccockactecedaveeandes 23
ll. THE HOBBS ACT PREDICATES WERE

ES 50 Concdbevebeeudsassecisaceduesses 24
A. Distortion of Hobbs Act Extortion .............. 28
1. Missing elements of Hobbs Act extortion ....... 29
DR Fee CE, con coascucesacuscesserns 29
i. Plain meaning of “obtaining” .......... 33

ii. Meaning of “obtaining” under New York
en cccecccarsinebbcesetes 33

iii. “Obtaining” at common law: extortion vs.
GEE nc Kkucccsacccansccscaseawas 35
(a) Extortion atcommon law ......... 36

(b) Statutory distinction between

extortion and coercion ........... 37
D. GaP ED wasencaesevccccccsucoetsin 39
B.. Fee WE eeedusocdeccocncedctcéocce 42
d. No “force, violence, or fear" .............. 43
SS gg Tee a4
2. Rules of statutory construction ............... 46
a. Avoiding constitutional difficulties ........ 46
Di BED nindvcesdendewnduetccscueses 47

STE Sresdudcodeanedscecnanene 49

V

B. Impact of Hobbs Act Error on Disposition of Case . 49
CONCLUSION

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Agency Holding Corp. v. Malley-Duff &

Assocs., 483 U.S. 143 (1987) ............ 13, 14, 15, 17
Beck v. Prupis. 529 U.S. 494 (2000) ................. 14
Bouie v. City of Columbia. 378 U.S. 347 (1964) ........ 47
Bray v. Alexandria Women’s Health Clinic,

PPE codecideneéesceceesicses 45. 46
California v. American Stores Co., 495 U.S. 271

Pi cdséacbenénccctadebenceedcnsuevasesuches 12
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940) ......... 46
Carpenter v. United States, 484 U.S. 19 (1987) ........ 41

Chambers Dev. Co. v. Browning-Ferris Indus.,
590 F. Supp. 1528 (W.D. Pa. 1984) ............... 19

Cleveland v. United States, 531 U.S. 12 (2000)... 40,41, 42

Curley v. Cumberland Farms Dairy, Inc..
Fee oo ED BEE GN SHEED cccvcndscccccucees 19

DeMent v. Abbott Capital Corp., 589 F. Supp.
Se SEE cha eee eadevnsdaneddand de 9,21

Evans v. United States, 504 U.S. 255 (1992) .. 31, 33, 35, 36

First Nat'l Bank and Trust Co. v. Hollingsworth,
701 F. Supp. 701 (W.D. Ark. 1988) ............... 19

In re Fredeman Litig., 843 F.2d 821
I oi ss owes gh ak ee aaa 9, 15. 23

Vil

Gregory v. Ashcroft. 501 U.S. 452 (1991) .............

Holmes v. SIPC. 503 U.S. 258 (1992) ............. 13,

Holmes Group Inc. v. Vornado Air Circulation Sys.,

Inc., 122 S. Ct. 1889 (2002) .................. 23.

Jacques Ferber, Inc. v. Bateman, No. 99-CV-2277
(E.D. Pa. filed May 3. 1999) .....................

Jett v. Dallas Indep. Sch. Dist.. 491 U.S. 701 (1989) .
Kaushal v. State Bank of India, 556 F. Supp. 576

PME UED nawdRdndews eebbuneceevdeetaus 9.

Klehr v. A.O. Smith Harvestore Products, Inc..
Se OUP cuccccwdéccceccncécccnsincan

McCormick v. United States, 500 U.S. 257 (1991) ... 43.
McNally v. United States, 483 U.S. 350 (1987) ... 40, 41.

Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. Nat'l Sea
Clammers Ass'n, 453 U.S. 1(1981) ...............

Minnesota v. Northern Sec. Co., 194 U.S. 48

Pe sunansteabbethbudedhsdndcnndues 11, 12, 21,

Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246 (1952) .......

Motorola Credit Corp. v. Uzan, No. 02 Civ. 666, 2002
U.S. Dist. LEXIS 9118 (S.D.N.Y. May 21, 2002) .....

NAACP y. Claiborne Hardware Co.. 458 U.S. 886

PE, SichNGvedetdinine den wndealeSl odeeus 32,

National Organization for Women v. Scheidler.
765 F. Supp. 937 (N.D. Il. 1991) .................

1)

49
49

22

vill

National Organization for Women v. Scheidler.

968 F.2d 612 (7th Cir. 1992) ... 6... eee eee eee eee l
National Organization for Women v. Scheidler,

5O8 U.S. 971 (1993) 0... ccc eee ce eee erent eeeees |
National Organization for Women v. Scheidler,

510 U.S. 249 (1994) 2... cece ec cece eee rere eeees l
National Organization for Women v. Scheidler.

897 F. Supp. 1047 (N.D. Ill. 1995) ......--. 1,5, 19, 26
National Organization for Women v. Scheidler,

172 F.R.D. 351 (N.D. Ill. 1997)... 2.0 ee eee eee eee |
National Organization for Women v. Scheidler,

267 F.3d 687 (7th Cir. 2001) .....--- 0 ee eee 1, passim
Nat'l R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Nat'l Ass'n of

R.R. Passengers, 414 U.S. 453 (1974) ...-. +--+ +++: 11
New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144 (ERGED ccvcccves 47

Northeast Women's Center Inc. v. McMonagle,
868 F.2d 1342 (3d Cir.), cert. denied,

493 U.S. 9O1 (1989)... 6. ee eee renee 28, 38, 39
Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe,

402 U.S. 415 (1971)... 2 ee eee eee teenies 46
Paine Lumber Co. v. Neal, 244 U.S. 459 (1917) ..... 11,21
People v. Ryan, 232 N.Y. 234, 133 N.E. 572 (1921) ..... 34
People v. Squillante, 18 Misc. 2d 561,

185 N.Y.S.2d 357 (Sup. Ct. 1959) ......----- eevee 34

People v. Whaley, 6 Cow. 661 (N.Y. 1827) .....---+06- 34

IX
P.R.F., Inc. v. Philips Credit Corp.. No. CIV 92-2266CCC.
1992 WL 385170 (D.P.R. Dec. 21, 1992) ........... 19

Religious Technology Center v. Wollersheim,
796 F.2d 1076 (9th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1103 (1987) .......... 8, passim
Reves v. Ernst & Young, 507 U.S. 170 (1993) ....... 18, 23
Rotella v. Wood, 528 U.S. 549 (2000) ...........4445. 14

Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16 (1983) .... 10, 18, 33

Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173 (1991) ...........445.. 46
Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex, 741 F.2d 482
(2d Cir. 1984), rev'd, 473 U.S. 479 (1985) ..... 9.17.21

Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co..
I EO ee 13, 14, 15, 16, 17

Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Environment,
PE MEPCEEED. bc cc6sseusadcdsseeveseoscoces 23

Stephens Group, Inc. v. Voices for Animals, No.
00:5518 (JEI) (D.N.J. First Amended and

Supplemental Complaint filed Apr. 17, 2001) ........ 27
Taylor v. United States, 495 U.S. 575 (1990) ....... 35, 50
Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940)............. 46

Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington, 442 U.S. 560 (1979) ... 22

Town of West Hartford v. Operation Rescue,
pe Lt, le 3 reer rrr 43

Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis,
GOOTEE, BEET PED cccccccccccscccesccceccccess 11

x

United States v. Anderson, 716 F.2d 446

SUG: GED Soba sevebuscivatieseevevdsnes 38, 39
United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971) ......... 44, 48
United States v. Caldes, 457 F.2d 74 (9th Cir. 1972) .... 44
United States v. Cerilli, 603 F.2d 415 (3d Cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1043 (1980) ................ 38
United States v. Culbert, 435 U.S. 371 (1978) ......... 43
United States v. Delano, 55 F.3d 720 (2d Cir. 1995) ..... 35
United States v. Enmons, 410 U.S. 396 (1973) .. 30, passim
United States v. Green. 350 U.S. 415 (1956) .......... 39
United States v. Kozminski, 487 U.S. 931 (1988) ....... 49
United States v. Nardello, 393 U.S. 286 (1969) ..... 38, 49
United States v. Nedley, 255 F.2d 350

SPE CID nied ddeu she dese kdseckasanvenen 34, 3S
United States v. Private Sanitation Indus. Ass'n,

Toa F. Sam. LAGS LDA Y. 1992) nn cccccccccsecs 38
United States v. Starks, 515 F.2d 112 (3d Cir. 1975) .... 38
United States v. Staszcuk, 517 F.2d 53 (7th Cir.)

(en banc), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 837 (1975) ........ 48
United States v. Sweeney, 262 F.2d 272 (3d Cir. 1959) .. 39
United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576 (1981) ......... 33

Vietnam Veterans of America, Inc. v. Guerdon
Indus., Inc., 644 F. Supp. 951 (D. Del. 1986) ........ 19

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,
STATUTES, AND RULES
US. Comet. emmem bo ccc cc ccc cc cccsccccrsceseses 46
US. Commt. emmemd. Vi. wc cc ccc cccccccccvccccess 46. 47
GE cc ccdwowncwsdee cecnecetestacuneas 30
Te , . daedeweneeueadeesececen nes 30
EOD nods cédnvccsacedtvacosecsace 12, 13, 21
ED onde eckerecdnetcecuenepesensus 12,21
CR OUD nn cous caewhec60-04 9490805000880 0% 30
DECRIED cu chedpececcnddedescocececeseuess 48
Re Ec a ctvdecvercecreendtesveseesets 30
CR ED oc ccc cedneessivtvvdscosenncsoes 30
EEE BEE co ccccddcvcssdccecesvvevesen i, passim
UNE icc becctceessevenssescvetesse 4, 6, 25
ER ED cdccakecoscesdecdrvctovceseves 1, 25
POOR ED dco ctsidovccsvcdiedescosectocones 25
PTET, DIES cece crecccceseccesccseceees i, passim
, ble >. rrr rr rer eer rr |
SACD ccvtccécctccdssccvecinccscaseeeens 26

Fed. R. Civ. P. GOD) 2. cnc cc cc ccccccccccseccccccces 3

xii

OTHER AUTHORITIES
31A Am. Jur. 2d Extortion, Blackmail, and Threats
en a ee oe ts ke bk us 35
4 W. Blackstone, Commentaries .................00. 36
Black's Law Dictionary (5th ed. 1979) ............... 33

Blakey & Roddy, Reflections on Reves v. Ernst &
Young: Its Meaning and Impact on Substantive,
Accessory, Aiding Abetting and Conspiracy Liability
(Under RICO), 33 Am. Crim. L. Rev. 1345

SR a a bc cddncredbsacbeevedbaresadesddaess’ 38
3 E. Coke, First Institute (J. Thomas ed. 1826) ......... 36
Pe GD Cs DEPEND 0 Kohn cc cb sucnsccepacene 43
SED Come, TENS. GOO GND 6s cc ccc civccceccess 16
116 Cong. Rec. 27,738-39 (1970) ................... 16
116 Cong. Rec. 35,227-28 (1970) ......... ccc eceees 17
116 Cong. Rec. 35,346-47 (1970) ........ cc ccccceess 17
117 Cong. Rec. 46,386, 46,393 (1971) ............4.. 17
118 Cong. Rec. 29,368, 29,370 (1972) ............... 18
SO Gee, Cee, RPO PPUPEEEUED 66 ccs concccccccenes 18
Field Code $§ 584,613 (1865) ........ccccccccccess 34

"Furrier files RICO Suit to Halt Anti-Fur
Protesters’ Excesses,” 15 Civil RICO
Litigation Rptr. No. 9, p. 3 (May 1999) ............. 27

X1il

"Furriers file a RICO suit over animal rights

projects,” The Star-Ledger, Aug. 6.1999 ........... 28
H.R. 19215, §§ 584, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. (1970) ....... 16
H.R. Rep. No. 1549, 91st Cong.. 2d Sess. 58

(1970), reprinted in U.S.C.C.A.N. 4007, 4034 ....... 16

W. Hawkins, A Treatise of the Pleas of the Crown
ccehckcs bce dha 6 ebeak eeu baes 608 37

Lindgren, The Elusive Distinction Between Bribery
and Extortion: from the Common Law to the
Hobbs Act, 35 UCLA L. Rev. 815 (1988) ........ 36, 37

RE EL AE en ee 37

Note, Protesters, Extortion, and Coercion: Preventing
RICO From Chilling First Amendment Freedoms,
75 Notre Dame L. Rev. 691 (1999) .......... 25, 29, 53

Oversight Hearing Addressing the Civil Application of
the Racketeeriz.2 Influenced and Corrupt Organization
Act (RICO) to Nonviolent Advocacy Groups, Before
the Subcomm. on Crime of the House Comm. on the
Judiciary, 105th Cong., 2d Sess. (1998) ............ 27

Oxford English Dictionary, vol. 10 (2d ed. 1989) ....... 33

Victims of Crime: Hearings on S. 16, S. 33, S. 750,
S. 1946, S. 2087, S. 2426, S. 2748, S. 2856, S. 2994,
and S. 2995 Before the Subcomm. on Criminal
Laws and Procedures of the Senate Comm. on the
Judiciary, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1970-1971) ......... 17

a

XIV
ABBREVIATIONS KEY

App. Appendix
JA Joint Appendix
Opp. Brief in Opposition
OR Petitioner Operation Rescue

(No. 01-1119)
PA Plaintiffs’ Appendix in the Seventh

Circuit
Pet. Petition for Writ of Certiorari
RA Appendix to OR's Reply to Brief in

Opposition (No. 01-1119)

Resp. Response in Support of Petition for Writ
of Certiorari (No. 01-1118)

Sch. Petitioners Joseph Scheidler, et al.
(No. 01-1118)

Tr. Transcript of trial

DECISIONS BELOW

All pertinent decisions in this case to date are entitled
National Organization for Women v. Scheidler. The district
court's original dismissal of the case appears at 765 F. Supp.
937 (N.D. Ill. 1991), and the Seventh Circuit's affirmance at
968 F.2d 612 (7th Cir. 1992). This Court's previous partial
grant of certiorari appears at 508 U.S. 971 (1993), and
subsequent reversal at 510 U.S. 249 (1994). On reman?, the
district court's partial dismissal of the case appears at 897 F.
Supp. 1047 (N.D. Ill. 1995), and the district court's certification
of plaintiff classes appears at 172 F.R.D. 351 (N.D. Ill. 1997).
The Seventh Circuit's decision below, affirming judgment for
respondents, appears at 267 F.3d 687 (7th Cir. 2001).

JURISDICTION

The U.S. Court of Appeals rendered its panel decision on
October 2, 2001, and denied timely petitions for rehearing and
rehearing en banc on October 29, 2001. Petitioners filed timely
petitions for certiorari on January 28, 2002. This Court granted
certiorari on April 22, 2002. This Court has jurisdiction under
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES

The Appendix to OR's Petition for Certiorari contains the
text of the Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951 (App. N), and excerpts
of the federal Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations
(RICO) statute, 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961, 1964 (App. O).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is acivil RICO case. Respondents -- plaintiffs below --
are the National Organization for Women, Inc. (NOW), the
Delaware Women's Health Organization (DWHO), the Summit
Women's Health Organization (Summit), and the classes they

2

were certified to represent. (The plaintiffs changed over the
course of the litigation. For convenience, this brief refers
collectively to "NOW.") The petitioners, including Operation
Rescue (OR), are pro-life activist organizations and individuals.
It is undisputed that petitioners all share the goal of stopping
abortion, and that this is a lawful goal, ¢.g., Tr. 4315. It is
likewise undisputed that petitioners, on their own and through
the alleged RICO enterprise, engaged in a variety of
constitutionally protected expressive activities. E.g., Tr. 4291,
4293. The anti-abortion efforts at issue included extensive free
speech activity, such as leafletting, writing, singing, praying.
and other pure speech, pickets. sidewalk counseling, etc. See
OR Pet. App. 17a("All parties acknowledge that the defendants
engaged in a substantial amount of protected speech during the
protest missions and other anti-abortion activities").
Defendants explicitly embraced nonviolence for their efforts;
indeed, OR went so far as to require a pledge of nonviolence for
participants. See, e.g., Tr. 1332, 1357-59, 2468, 2470; PA120,
PA168, PA219. See also Tr. 982, 1263, 1265, 1271, 1815,
1971, 2262-63, 2378-79 (embrace of nonviolence).? The

"NOW sought to paint pro-life activists as extreme and violent by relying
on isolated quotations taken out of context. For example, NOW cited the
"Green Beret" image. suggesting militarism, yet the pertinent document
gave as examples of "Green Berets” not just a “rescuer” willing to go to jail,
but also someone who works "full-time with little or no pay for four months
in the election of a pro-life candidate." PA100. NOW quoted Scheidler as
urging pro-lifers to "take their fight against abortion to the doors of abortion
clinics,” but the letter to the editor in question refers to one-on-one sidewalk
counseling outside abortion businesses, PA130. NOW quoted Scheidler
using the phrase “pro-life mafia," but in context the term referred wryly to
activism, not violence, PA182. See also PA122 (using term "aggressive
tactics" to mean sit-ins and demonstrations).

NOW accused defendants of giving "special, private meanings” to the
word "violence." Yet it was NOW's witnesses who defined "violence" to

(continued...)

3

nationwide activities at issue spanned some fourteen years. OR
Pet. App. 285a, but the jury found only four acts or threats of
violence, against either persons or property, by unnamed
persons associated with the alleged enterprise. JA 144 (#4(e)).

NOW sought to impose liability upon petitioners for any act,
no matter how isolated, that anyone participating in a pro-life
demonstration supposedly committed.’ E.g., Tr. 2228, 2231
(quoted in OR Pet. at 27-28); OR Reply at 2-3 & n.4. Over
petitioners’ objection, Tr. 4495-98,* the district court did not
require the jury to identify any particular alleged incidents of
wrongdoing.’ Instead, the district court approved a verdict form
that allowed the jury to impose liability for unspecified acts by
“any other person associated with PLAN [Pro-Life Action
Network, the alleged RICO enterprise],” JA 143 (#4) (predicate
acts). See also JA 145 (#7) (RICO pattern may be based on acts
of “persons associated with PLAN"); id. (#9) (proximate cause
may rest on acts of “any person associated with PLAN"). The
jury then found some two dozen unidentified predicate acts to
have been committed by unspecified persons “associated with
PLAN," that at least two of those acts proximately caused injury
to the respondents, and that respondents Summit and DWHO

?(...continued)
include virtually all pro-life activism. See, e.g., Tr. 730 (Susan Hill) (“every
rescue event that has been conducted in this country in the last 15 years by
Operation Rescue” has “felt violent to us"), Tr. 1268 (Maureen Burke)
("every act of civil disobedience that would block access to an abortion
clinic” is violent, even if “entirely passive, peaceful, nonresistant. silent”),
1278 (Burke) (sidewalk counseling. yelling. raising voice all violent).
Petitioners demonstrated in detail in their joint Rule 60(b) motion (which
the district court denied for other reasons) that at least some of the alleged
incidents of misconduct were fabricated or unconnected to petitioners.
“The district court repeatedly admonished that an objection by any
defendant would be deemed made on behalf of all. Tr. 475. 689. 5181.
*Thus, as the district court conceded, OR Pet. App. 254a. there is no way
to know exactly what the jury found to qualify as extortionate predicates.

4

had suffered monetary damages from their RICO injuries. JA
143-46 (#4, 9, 10).° (No other party was awarded damages.)

As RICO predicates. NOW alleged “extortion” under the
federal Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951, “extortion” under state
law, and “extortion” under the federal Travel Act, 18 U.S.C. §
1952. NOW’s theory of the case was that any physical
obstruction of abortion -- e.g.. by a sit-in -- was extortion
against women and abortion businesses, and thus a predicate act
of racketeering under RICO. See, e.g., Tr. 4327; id. at 5003-
09.’ Petitioners were not alleged to have obtained any tangible
property, Tr. 4327 -- or any intangible property like trademarks
or stocks -- but only to have interfered with the rights of women
and the business of abortion. E.g., Tr. 4987 (respondents’
closing argument) ("Property rights include a woman's nght to
choose what to do when faced with an unplanned pregnancy. —
Our most precious rights are the intangible ones .. ."). The
district court adopted NOW's view of extortion. E.g., OR Pet.
App. 109a-1 1 la, 195a-196a.

Under the district court's instruction, the jury was not
required to find anything more than nonviolent sit-ins to find
defendants liable for “extortion."* Tr. 4944-47. In closing

*The damages consisted exclusively of “extraordinary security costs.” Tr.
2003-04.

"E.g.. Tr. 5003 (closing argument of plaintiffs) ("if the defendants
prevented women from getting any of those services [provided by abortion
businesses], then those interferences are RICO violations"); id. at 5005
("Each and every one of those blockades that shut the clinics down for any
period of time was an illegal act of extortion under RICO").

*While the jury found 25 acts or threats of “extortion.” infra note 9, the
jury found only four acts or threats of violence, JA 144 (#4(e)). Hence, the
jury necessarily found that at least 21 -- and possibly all 25, see infra note
10 — of the acts of “extortion” (sit-ins) were nonviolent.

One question on the jury verdict form asked whether the jury's findings
of predicate extortion under the Hobbs Act or state law were “based solely

' (continued...)

5

arguments, NOW argued for a jury finding of “no less than 30
blockades [i.e., sit-ins}.” Tr. 5005. arguing that each sit-in was
an act of predicate extortion. id. The jury apparently found 25
sit-ins total.” JA 143-44."°

After the jury found liability and damages under RICO, the
district court imposed treble damages, granted a permanent
injunction."' and entered judgment for NOW. OR Pet. App.

‘(...continued)
on blockades of clinic doors or sit-ins within clinics. without more.” JA
145 (#6). In closing arguments to the jury. NOW argued that the phrase
“without more” meant that the sit-ins “didn't keep anybody out.” Tr. 4987.
In other words. unless the sit-in participants always moved aside to let
people "freely walk in," NOW argued. the jury must answer the question
“no.” Tr. 4987-88. See also TR. 5008 (quoted in OR Reply App. at 27).
Consequently. this question became the meaningless one, “If you found
extortion. was it based solely on a blockade or sit-in where participants
stepped aside for anyone coming or going?” The jury's negative answer to
this question thus did not indicate a finding that sit-ins were violent.

°*The jury was instructed to treat each intentional sit-in at an abortion
business as both actual and attempted extortion. See Tr. 4945-48 (quoted
in Sch. Pet. App. 150a-152a). Accordingly. the jury found the same number
of “acts or threats” as it did “attempts” in each category (25 each for federal
or state “extortion,” 23 each for Travel Act violations). JA 143-44.
Furthermore. the instructions for state and federal extortion were virtually
identical, Tr. 4944-47 (Sch. Pet. App. 150a-152a). with the difference that
the federal version had an interstate commerce element. JA 136-37.
Accordingly, the jury found a virtually identical number of violations in the
state and federal categories. with only slightly fewer in the federal
categories (presumably for lack of the interstate element). JA 143-44.
Thus, a single sit-in would count simultaneously in Verdict Form boxes
4(a), (b), (d). (f), and (g), except that 4(a). (f), and (g) also had interstate
travel or commerce elements. /d.

"NOW also argued for at least five threats of physical violence, Tr. 5013-
16, and seven acts of physical violence. Tr. 5022-23, but the jury found
only four acts or threats total. JA 144 (#4(e)).
authorize private parties to sue for injunctive relief. OR Pet. App. 131a-

: (continued...)

6

260a-274a & n.10. 277a-282a.

On appeal, petitioners disputed the availability of private
injunctive relief under RICO and contested the district court's
failure to require NOW to plead or prove the required elements
of predicate extortion. Petitioners specifically challenged
NOW's failure to plead or prove the elements of “obtaining
property,” by “wrongful use of actual or threatened force,
violence. or fear,” and with the "consent" of the alleged victims.

The Seventh Circuit affirmed. The court of appeals held that
private parties could sue for injunctive relief under RICO, OR
Pet. App. 7a-17a, and that the Hobbs Act did apply to the
conduct of petitioners or others associated with PLAN, id. at
35a-36a. In particular. the court of appeals held that, to Satisfy
the element of “obtaining property” under the Hobbs Act. a
“loss to, or interference with the rights of, the victim is all that
is required." Jd. at 36a."

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The court of appeals erred both in reading RICO to authorize
private injunctive relief and in reading the extortion section of
the Hobbs Act to apply to the protest activities in this case.

The text and history of RICO's civil remedies provision
clearly demonstrate that private parties are not entitled to sue
for injunctive relief under RICO. The remedies section -- 18
U.S.C. $1964 -- confers unqualified authority on the federal
government to “institute proceedings” under RICO, but gives
private litigants only a right to sue for treble damages. RICO's

"'(...continued)
134a. 26la.

"The court of appeals believed -- erroneously. see OR Pet. at 5, 9 n.15.
23 -- that its affirmance of the Hobbs Act predicates sufficed to sustain the
RICO judgment. OR Pet. App. 36a-37a. Accordingly. the court of appeals
did not reach petitioners’ challenges to predicate extortion under state law
or the Travel Act. /d. at 36a-38a.

7

treble damages provision is borrowed from indistinguishable
language in the federal Sherman and Clayton antitrust statutes.
language which this Court had already held does nor authorize
private injunctive relief. While Congress adopted a separate
provision in the Clayton Act conferring injunctive remedies on
private litigants. Congress adopted no such provision for RICO.
On the contrary, the statutory history of RICO shows the
repeated failure of efforts to add precisely such a private
injunctive remedy. Hence, the injunction in this case -- which
rests exclusively on RICO -- must be reversed.

The lower court's theory of Hobbs Act extortion is also
flawed. Extortion under the Hobbs Act requires “the obtaining
of property from another, with his consent, induced by wrongful
use of actual or threatened force, violence, or fear, or under
color of official right.” 18 U.S.C. § 1951(b)(2). Yet the court
below read the Hobbs Act as criminalizing (and thus making
RICO predicates of) mere interference with rights, as by the
protest sit-ins in this case. Such a misreading of Hobbs Act
extortion would make a racketeer out of Martin Luther King,
Jr., temperance crusaders, abolitionists, and environmental or
animal rights protesters, a result which itself suggests the
implausibility of the lower court's ruling. The text of the Hobbs
Act supports no such reading of extortion. As demonstrated by
recourse to the plain meaning of the text, confirmed by the
historical roots of that text, extortion requires the acquisition of
property, not mere damage to or interference with intangible
rights.

Moreover, the claim that a nonviolent protest sit-in qualifies
as extortion -- the theory supporting the judgment below --
ignores the required elements of "consent," “wrongfulness,” and
"force, violence, or fear,” all of which are lacking here.
Accordingly, the judgment must be reversed.

8
ARGUMENT

This case raises the questions of the availability of private
injunctive relief under civil RICO and the scope of Hobbs Act
extortion, a predicate offense under RICO. The Seventh Circuit
erred both in holding private injunctive relief to be available
under RICO and in holding that Hobbs Act extortion was
properly pled and proved in this case. The judgment of the
Seventh Circuit is wrong and must be reversed.

I. RICO DOES NOT AUTHORIZE PRIVATE
INJUNCTIVE RELIEF.

RICO does not authorize injunctive relief in civil suits
brought by private parties. In RICO, Congress employed
language taken almost word-for-word from antitrust law,
language which this Court had already held not to authorize
private injunctive relief. Congress eschewed other language, in
antitrust law, expressly conferring private injunctive remedies.
The exclusion of private injunctive relief from civil RICO could
scarcely be clearer.

The decision below is aberrant and erroneous. The virtually
unanimous conclusion of the lower courts analyzing the issue --
that RICO does not authorize injunctive relief for private parties
-- is clearly correct."

'SMany lower federal courts have addressed this question. In Religious
Technology Center v. Wollersheim, 796 F.2d 1076 (9th Cir. 1986), cert.
denied, 479 U.S. 1103 (1987), the Ninth Circuit exhaustively analyzed the
text and history of the remedies section of RICO, the pertinent precedents,
and the competing legal arguments. see Wollersheim, 796 F.2d at 1080-88.
The Wollersheim court concluded that " the legislative history and statutory
language suggest overwhelmingly that no private equitable action should be
implied under civil RICO.” /d. at 1088 (footnote omitted). Moreover,
virtually no court since Wollersheim -- other than in this case -- has held
ee Even prior to

(continued...)

9

A. RICO's Statutory Text
1. Expressio unius

The remedies provision of RICO (18 U.S.C. § 1964), OR Pet.
App. 308a-309a,"* contains three subsections addressing civil
relief. None gives injunctive relief to private parties.

Subsection (a) confers jurisdiction upon the district courts
and authorizes broad equitable remedies. This provision,
however, does not empower private litigants to seek the
injunctive relief authorized.

Subsection (b) authorizes the U.S. Attorney General to
“institute proceedings under this section." This unqualified
authorization to "institute proceedings" plainly authorizes the
federal government to pursue the full range of remedies for
which subsection (a) creates jurisdiction.

Subsection (c) then specifies that "[a]ny person injured in his
business or property . . . may sue therefor . . . and shall recover
threefold the damages he sustains . .. ." Unlike subsection (b),
there is no blanket authorization to “institute proceedings";
instead, using distinct language, the provision specifies a nght

(...continued)
Wollersheim, only one district court so held. See infra note 19. Every other
court to address the issue (except in this case and one other district court
case, see infra note 19) has either rejected private equitable relief under
RICO, expressed serious doubts about such relief. or declined to decide the
question. See OR Pet. at 11-12 & nn.16-19. (For an especially thorough
analysis of the issue. ee Wollersheim; In re Fredeman Litig.. 843 F.2d 821,
828-30 (Sth Cir. 1988); Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex, 741 F.2d 482. 489 n.20
(2d Cir. 1984). rev'd on other grounds, 473 U.S. 479 (1985); Kaushal v.
State Bank of India, 556 F. Supp. 576, 581-84 (N.D. Ill. 1983), DeMent v.
Abbort Capital Corp., 589 F. Supp. 1378. 1381-83 (N.D. Ill. 1984).)

“The version set forth in OR's Appendix was effective at the time the
present lawsuit was filed. In 1995, Congress amended subsection (c) in a
way irrelevant here. The 1995 amendment does not apply to actions, like
the present suit, commenced prior to December 22. 1995.

10

to sue and a remedy, namely, treble damages. This Court's
observation in Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16 (1983).
therefore applies here:

Where Congress includes particular language in one section
of a statute, but omits it in another section of the same Act,
it is generally presumed that Congress acts intentionally and
urposely in the disparate inclusion or exclusion.

Id. at 23 (internal quotation and editing marks omitted). Had
Congress intended to confer on private parties an unqualified
right to "institute proceedings,” then -- in the words of Russello
-- "it presumably would have done so expressly as it did in the
immediately [preceding] subsection," id.

Subsections (b) and (c) are decidedly not parallel; hence,
contrary to the court below, no "parity of reasoning,” OR Pet.
App. 10a, leads to the conclusion that private parties can claim
the universe of relief authorized under subsection (a). On the
contrary, as in Russello, this Court should

refrain from concluding here that the differing language in
the two subsections has the same meaning in each. We
would not presume to ascribe this difference to a simple
mistake in draftsmanship.

464 U.S. at 23. Indeed, were the contrary true, private parties
would be entitled to sue, not just for treble damages and
injunctions, but also for all the other equitable relief available
to the Attorney General, including dissolution of enterprises.
See § 1964(a).

The statutory text of RICO therefore plainly indicates that
Congress did not authorize private injunctive relief:

A frequently stated principle of statutory construction is that
when legislation expressly provides a particular remedy or
remedies, courts should not expand the coverage of the

1]

statute to subsume other remedies.

Nat'l R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Nat'l Ass'n of R.R. Passengers.
414 U.S. 453, 458 (1974); accord Jett v. Dallas Indep. Sch.
Dist., 491 U.S. 701, 731-32 (1989). For example, this Court
has held that a statute expressly authorizing private citizens to
sue for injunctions would not be construed as implying a private
right of damages. Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. Nat'l
Sea Clammers Ass'n, 453 U.S..1, 14-15 (1981). This rule
makes perfect sense: “In the absence of strong indicia of a
contrary congressional intent, we are compelled to conclude
that Congress provided precisely the remedies it considered
appropriate." Jd. at 15. Accord Transamerica Mortgage
Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis, 444 U.S. 11, 19 (1979) (“it is an
elemental canon of statutory construction that where a statute
expressly provides a particular remedy or remedies, a court
must be chary of reading others into it").

2. The antitrust parallel

The conclusion that private parties cannot obtain injunctive
relief under RICO is confirmed beyond all doubt by reference
to the antitrust model from which Congress borrowed the
remedial provisions of RICO. Congress borrowed, for RICO,
precisely the remedial language this Court had held not to
authorize private injunctive relief, and declined to borrow a
separate provision of antitrust law expressly conferring private
injunctive remedies.

This Court construed the statutory language in question, in
the Sherman antitrust statute, not to authorize private injunctive
relief. See Minnesota v. Northern Sec. Co., 194 U.S. 48, 70-71
(1904) (section 7 of antitrust statute does not authorize private
suits for equitable relief). Accord Paine Lumber Co. v. Neal,
244 U.S. 459, 471 (1917). The parallels to RICO are striking.
Section 7 of the Sherman antitrust statute provided:

12
" Any person who shall be injured in his business or property
_. . by reason of anything forbidden or declared to be
unlawful by this act may sue therefor . . . and shall recover
threefold the damages by him sustained, and the costs of suit,
including a reasonable attorney's fee."

194 U.S. at 68 (quoting statute) (see RA at 1). The language of
RICO § 1964(c) is virtually word-for-word the same.

Like RICO § 1964, the Anti-Trust Act construed in Northern
Securities contained a subsection conferring on federal courts
"jurisdiction to prevent and restrain violations of this act”
(Section 4), see 194 U.S. at 67. (See RA at 1.) The existence
of a similar grant of equity jurisdiction in RICO § 1964(a) (OR
Pet. App. 308a) only bolsters the statutory parallel.

After Northern Securities, Congress in 1914 enacted the
Clayton Antitrust Act. That statute contains the following
treble damages language:

[A]ny person who shall be injured in his business or property
by reason of anything forbidden in the antitrust laws may sue
therefor . . . and shall recover threefold the damages by him
sustained, and the cost of suit, including a reasonable
attorney's fee. . . .

15 U.S.C. § 15(a). This provision is borrowed straight from
Section 7 of the Sherman Act -- i.e., the provision held not to
authorize private injunctive relief. In addition to the treble
damages provision, Congress added a separate provision
authorizing private parties to sue for injunctions:

Any person . . . shall be entitled to sue for and have
injunctive relief . . . against threatened loss or damage by a
violation of the antitrust laws ....

15 U.S.C. § 26. See California v. American Stores Co., 495
US. 271, 287 (1990) (provision "filled a gap in the Sherman

13

Act by authorizing equitable relief in private actions"). This
express conferral of private injunctive remedies has no parallel
in RICO.

In sum. when enacting RICO § 1964. Congress borrowed the .
treble damages language of the Sherman and Clayton Acts, but
did not borrow the private injunctive remedy language of the
Clayton Act. The conclusion is inescapable: RICO does not
authorize private injunctive relief.

With RICO, Congress employed the "use of an antitrust
model for the development of remedies" against crime. Agency
Holding Corp. v. Malley-Duff & Assocs., 483 U.S. 143, 151
(1987). The “clearest current in the legislative history of RICO
is the reliance on the [antitrust] model.” /d. (internal quotation
marks and citation omitted). Accord Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex
Co., 473 U.S. 479. 489 (1985). It follows that the same
language held nor to authorize injunctive relief in an antitrust
statute does not authorize injunctive relief under RICO:

We may fairly credit the 91st Congress, which enacted
RICO, with knowing the interpretation federal courts had
given the words earlier Congresses had used first in § 7 of
the Sherman Act, and later in the Clayton Act's § 4 [15
U.S.C. § 15]... . It used the’same words, and we can only
assume it intended them to have the same meaning that
courts had already given them.

Holmes v. SIPC, 503 U.S. 258, 268 (1992) (citations omitted)."°

%* * *

‘The Seventh Circuit declared that because this Court "regularly treats the
remedial sections of RICO and the Clayton Act identically." OR Pet. App.
16a, RICO should be read as authorizing private injunctive relief
“regardless of superficial differences in language.” id. To state this
argument is to refute it.

14

This Court appears already to have acknowledged that
private injunctive relief is not available under RICO. This
Court has consistently described RICO § 1964(c) as authorizing
a "private treble-damages action,” Sedima, 473 U.S. at 486.
Accord id. at 481, 487-88, 490, 493; Agency Holding Corp.,
483 U.S. at 151-52: Klehr v. A.O. Smith Harvestore Products,
Inc., 521 U.S. 179, 183 (1997); Rotella v. Wood, 528 U.S. 549,
$51 (2000); Beck v. Prupis, 529 U.S. 494, 496 & n.1 (2000)
(describing RICO provisions for criminal penalties and civil
suits, and separately noting that RICO “authorizes the
Government to bring civil actions to ‘prevent and restrain’
violations") (emphasis added). The text of RICO confirms this
Court's consistent understanding of civil RICO.

In its Brief in Opposition, NOW conceded that § 1964(c), the
private remedies provision of RICO, does not authorize
injunctive relief. Opp. at 9 ("RICO's only source of permanent
injunctions is § 1964(a)") (emphasis added). NOW therefore
hangs its entire case for injunctive relief on § 1964(a). This
Court has already noted, however, that § 1964(a) is part of
remedial provisions "limited to injunctive actions by the United
States,” Sedima, 473 U.S. at 486-87 (1985). Despite Sedima,
NOW argues that because § 1964(a) does not expressly exclude
private parties, it must be read to include them. Opp. at 9-10.
This is illogical. Section 1964(a) does not, by its terms,
authorize any party to bring a civil RICO action, including the
federal government. The United States can sue for injunctive
relief under RICO only because a separate subsection -- §
1964(b) -- gives the Attorney General authority to "institute
proceedings under this section.” By contrast, the private treble-
damages provision, § 1964(c) -- the only subsection to
authorize private relief -- contains no blanket authorization for
private parties to "institute proceedings.” That subsection only
entitles persons injured in their business or property to "sue
therefor . . . and recover threefold the damages,” § 1964(c).

15

This subsection does not reference § 1964(a) or even "this
section.” but instead, as this Court has always understood.
provides a distinct private damages remedy.

B. RICO's Legislative History

The legislative history of RICO confirms, indeed compels.
the conclusion already drawn from the text of RICO: private
injunctive relief is not available under RICO.

1. Selection of treble damages remedy

RICO was enacted as Title IX of the Organized Crime
Control Act of 1970. Sedima, 473 U.S. at 486. The Senate,
which passed the legislation first, did not provide for private
party suits under RICO.

The civil remedies in the bill passed by the Senate, S 30,
were limited to injunctive actions by the United States and
became §§ 1964(a), (b), and (d).

473 U.S. at 486-87. The "private treble-damages action” was
added, later, in the House of Representatives. Id. at 487-88.
The Senate then adopted the bill as amended in the House. Id.
at 488. As the Fifth Circuit explained, "Section 1964(c),
providing the treble damage remedy, then becomes a branch
grafted onto the already-completed trunk of the statute."
Fredeman, 843 F.2d at 829 (footnote omitted).

This "grafted-on branch" very specifically authorized “a
private treble-damages action,” Sedima, 473 U.S. at 487, as a
supplement to federal government enforcement of the statute,
and as a remedy for those wronged by organized crime, id. See
also Agency Holding Corp., 483 U.S. at 151 (RICO's civil
enforcement provision was designed "to remedy economic
injury by providing for the recovery of treble damages, costs,
and attorney's fees"); id. (“the mechanism chosen to reach the
objective in . . . RICO is the carrot of treble damages"). The

16

selection of a treble damages remedy, and only a treble damages
remedy, was plainly a deliberate choice by Congress.

2. Rejection of private injunctive remedy

That Congress deliberately limited private civil relief to
treble damages (and costs and attorney fees) appears even more
clearly from the rejection by Congress of proposals to authorize
private injunctive relief:

(I]n considering civil RICO, Congress was repeatedly
presented with the opportunity expressly to include a
provision permitting private plaintiffs to secure injunctive
relief. On each occasion, Congress rejected the addition of
any such provision.

Wollersheim, 796 F.2d at 1086 (emphasis in original).

RICO predecessor legislation in the Senate and in the House
explicitly allowed for private party injunctive relief. Jd. at
1084. See 115 Cong. Rec. 6,992-96 (1969) (discussing
predecessor Senate bills); H.R. 19215, 91st Cong., 2d Sess.
(1970) (predecessor House bill). In fact, Representative
Steiger, who proposed the addition of the treble damages
provision, Sedima, 473 U.S. at 487, made that proposal in an
amendment which also included a provision for private
injunctive relief. See 116 Cong. Rec. 27,738-39 (1970) (Steiger
Amendment, proposed subsection (c), provided: "Any person
may institute proceeding under subsection (a) [of § 1964]...
[and] relief shall be granted in conformity with the principles
which govern the granting of injunctive relief ..."). The House
Committee on the Judiciary, however, adopted only the private
treble damages remedy, not the private injunctive remedy. See
HLR. Rep. No. 1549, 91st Cong.. 2d Sess. 58 (1970), reprinted
in 1970 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4007, 4034. Rep. Steiger, while
"extremely pleased . . . that the Judiciary Committee has
approved . . . a provision authorizing treble damage actions by

17

private persons,” 116 Cong. Rec. 35,227 (1970), nevertheless
lamented that the committee version did "not do the whole job.”
id. In particular. Rep. Steiger bemoaned the fact that “the
Judiciary Committee version . . . fails to provide . . . equitable
relief in suits brought by private citizens.” /d. at 35,228.

On the floor of the House, Rep. Steiger again “offered an
amendment that would have allowed private injunctive actions”
under RICO, Sedima, 473 U.S. at 487. See 116 Cong. Rec.
35.228, 35.346 (1970). “The proposal was greeted with some
hostility . . . and Steiger withdrew it without a vote being
taken.” Sedima, 473 U.S. at 487-88. See 116 Cong. Rec.
35,346-47 (1970). As this Court has explained. the reason for
this hostility, for the withdrawal of the proposal, and for the
reference of the proposal instead to a committee, was precisely
because the proposed amendment "included yet another civil
remedy,” Agency Holding Corp., 483 U.S. at 154, namely,
private injunctive relief. See 116 Cong. Rec. 35,346 (1970)
(statement of Rep. Poff) (Steiger amendment “does offer an
additional civil remedy" and "prudence would dictate that the
Judiciary Committee very carefully explore the potential
consequences that this new remedy might have").'®

“Congress failed to enact legislation, proposed the very next term after
the enactment of RICO. which was designed "to broaden even further the
remedies available under RICO. In particular. it would have . . . permitted
private actions for injunctive relief." Agency Holding Corp.. 483 US. at
155. See also Sedima, 741 F.2d at 489 n.20; 117 Cong. Rec. 46.386 (1971)
(statement of Sen. McClellan) (Title IV of "Victims of Crime Act of 1972"
would "authorize private injunctive relief from racketeering activity”): id.
at 46,393 (text of bill proposing to amend RICO to add private injunctive
remedy); Victims of Crime: Hearings on S. 16, S. 33, S. 750, S. 1946, S.
2087, S. 2426, S. 2748. S. 2856, S. 2994, and S. 2995 Before the Subcomm.
on Criminal Laws and Procedures of the Senate Comm. on the Judiciary,
92d Cong., Ist Sess. 3 (1970-1971) (text of proposed bill providing for
private injunctive relief under RICO); id. at 51 (same); id. at 158 (statement

; (continued...)

18

In sum. Congress repeatedly declined to authorize private
injunctive relief under RICO. See Russello, 464 U.S. at 23-24
(citing “evolution of [RICO's) statutory provisions” as aid to
statutory construction, and adding. "[wJhere Congress includes
{certain} language in an earlier version of the bill but deletes it
prior to enactment, it may be presumed that the [omitted text]
was not intended”).'’

C. The Counterarguments

In light of the foregoing, it is not surprising that virtually
every court to address the issue has concluded that RICO does
not authorize private parties to sue for injunctive relief. See
supra note 13. Indeed. lower courts have frequently declared
themselves compelled to reach this conclusion.

,

'*(._.continued)
of Richard Velde, Associate Administrator. Law Enforcement Assistance
Administration) (proposed legislation “would expand the available civil
remedies. Section 1964 [of RICO] would be amended to permit any person
to institute a civil proceeding to prevent or restrain violations . . . . Now
only the United States can institute injunctive proceedings"): 118 Cong.
Rec. 29.368 (1972) (text of "Civil Remedies for Victims of Racketeering
Activity and Theft Act of 1972" proposing inter alia to amend RICO to add
private injunctive relief); id. at 29.370 (statement of Sen. McClellan) (bill
“authorizes private injunctive relief from racketeering activity").

In 1973, Congress again considered, and failed to enact. a bill to amend
RICO by adding private injunctive relief. See 119 Cong. Rec. 10.317-19
(1973) ("Civil Remedies for Victims of Racketeering Activity and Theft
Act of 1973").

"The Seventh Circuit disparaged recourse to the legislative history of
RICO. OR Pet. App. 14a-15a. But this Court has repeatedly invoked
legislative history as a basis for limiting RICO. Eg.. Holmes v. SIPC. 503
US. 258, 267-68 (1992); Reves v. Ernst & Young, 507 U.S. 170, 179-83
(1993). In fact, as illustrated in the text supra. analysis of legislative history
is characteristic of this Court's RICO jurisprudence.

"See, ¢.g., Wollersheim. 796 F.2d at 1088 (“Taken together, the

(continued...)

19

Only two district courts (aside from the courts below here)
have held to the contrary.'” One case preceded the extensive
analysis in Wollersheim and has not been followed by any other
court.” The other, while distancing itself from the Seventh
Circuit's reasoning in this case. erroneously relied upon a
presumed power of courts, apart from RICO, to grant equitable
relief.*' The district court ~ and court of appeals in the present
case, meanwhile, offered no convincing analysis. Furthermore,

"8. continued)
legislative history and statutory language suggest overwhelmingly that no
private equitable action should be implied under civil RICO") (footnote
omitted); First Nat'l Bank and Trust Co. v. Hollingsworth. 701 F. Supp.
701, 703 (W.D. Ark. 1988) ("it would be difficult. if not impossible, to
draw a different conclusion"); P.R.F.. inc. v. Philips Credit Corp.. No. CIV
92-2266CCC, 1992 WL 385170 at *3 (D.P.R. Dec. 21, 1992) ("any other
conclusion would not be reasonable").

"See Chambers Dev. Co. v. Browning-Ferris Indus., 590 F. Supp. 1528,
1540-41 (W.D. Pa. 1984); Motorola Credit Corp. v. Uzan, No. 02 Civ. 666,
2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 9118 (S.D.N.Y. May 21, 2002).

Indeed, even later district court decisions in the same federal circuit (the
Third) as the Chambers court. supra note 19, reached the opposite
conclusion from Chambers. ruling that RICO does not provide for
injunctive relief to private parties. See Vietnam Veterans of America, Inc.
v. Guerdon Indus., Inc.. 644 F. Supp. 951, 960-61 (D. Del. 1986); Curley
v. Cumberland Farms Dairy. Inc.. 728 F. Supp. 1123, 1137-38 (D.N_J.
1989).

*! Motorola Credit, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 9118 at *6-*10. In effect. the
Motorola court placed the burden on Congress explicitly to deny private
injunctive relief to private parties, rather than following the rule that where
Congress specifies certain remedies. they are normally deemed exclusive.
See supra § (A 1).

®The district court provided virtually no analysis of the issue. See OR
Pet. App. 131a-134a. 260a-262a. That court said that there was “substantial
authority” for its position among the lower courts and declared itself
“persuaded by the rationale in those opinions.” /d. at 134a. But none of the
cases the district court cited held that private parties can sue for injunctive
relief under RICO. Indeed. several of the decisions the district court relied
upon did not even involve RICO.

20

none of the arguments offered for reading into RICO a private
injunctive remedy has merit.

1. The word "and"

It has been argued that the word “and” in RICO § 1964(c)
provides a justification for private injunctive relief. The
contention is that, because subsection (c) provides that any
person injured in his business or property may sue “and shall
recover” treble damages, instead of providing that any such
person may sue "fo recover” treble damages, that therefore the
relief under subsection (c) is not limited to treble damages.

The Seventh Circuit embraced essentially this argument in
support of its holding. The court read the word “and” as
severing the first clause of subsection (Cc) from the remainder of
that subsection. In effect, the Seventh Circu:: ead subsection
(c) as if it were written as follows:

(c) Any person injured in his business or property by reason
of a violation of section 1962 of this chapter may sue
therefor in any appropriate United States district court
and{. In addition to any other available remedies, such
person] shall recover threefold the damages he sustains
and the cost of the suit, including a reasonable attorney's
fee.

See OR Pet. App. 10a. This “reconstruction” of RICO §
1964(c) is simply another version of the argument that the word
“and.” rather than linking the private cause of action with the
treble damages remedy, instead justifies construing subsection
(c) as a blanket authorization for private parties to institute civil
RICO suits for both treble damages and all equitable relief
identified in subsection (a).
This argument is deeply flawed.

21

First, this reading is “bizarre and wholly unconvincing as a
matter of plain English and the normal use of language."** If
Congress had intended to take such a significant step as
authorizing private RICO suits for injunctive relief -- and the
text and legislative history, discussed above, decidedly refute
any such intent -- it would be truly “bizarre” for Congress to do
so by such an obscure and indirect means when Congress could
simply have said so in plain language.

Second. the identical term “and” appears, in an
indistinguishable context, in the Sherman antitrust statute, see
supra § I(A)(2). which this Court held does not authorize
private suits for injunctive relief, see Paine Lumber Co. v. Neal,
244 U.S. 459, 471 (1917); Minnesota v. Northern Sec. Co., 194 .
U.S. 48. 67-68, 70-71 (1904). Moreover, the private treble
damages provision of the Clayton antitrust act, 15 U.S.C. § 15,
uses the term "and" in identical fashion. To read this word as
implying that private litigants may also sue for injunctive relief
would render the Clayton Act's separate, express authorization
of private injunctive relief, 15 U.S.C. § 26, 2 meaningless
redundancy.”

Third, the term “and,” if anything, operates to limit the
available relief to that explicitly set forth in RICO § 1964(c).
Had that subsection merely authorized anyone injured in his
business or property "to sue therefor,” period, then there might
be some ambiguity as to what relief would be available. But by
spelling out that an injured person may sue “and recover
threefold the damages he sustains,” the statute leaves no doubt
as to both the right and the remedy.

In short, the word “and” simply cannot bear the weight this
argument places upon it.

3Kaushal, 556 F. Supp. at 582. Accord Sedima, 741 F.2d at 489 n.20.
See Wollersheim. 796 F.2d at 1087 & n.11; Kaushal. 556 F. Supp. at
583 & n.22; Sedima, 741 F.2d at 489 n.20; DeMent, 589 F. Supp. at 1382.

22

2. Subsection (a) as creating remedies

The argument has also been made that subsection 1964(a),
which confers jurisdiction and authorizes certain remedies,
should be read as creating remedies under RICO for both
private parties and for the government. Under this reading,
subsection (b) merely gives the government an additional nght
to equitable relief pendente lite, and subsection (c) merely gives
private parties an additional right to treble damages, costs, and
attorney fees. The Seventh Circuit appears to have embraced
this argument. OR Pet. App. 9a- 10a.

This argument is defective.
First, this argument ignores the explicitly jurisdictional
nature of subsection (a) ("The district courts . . . shall have

jur liction to..."). See Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington, 442
US. 560, 576-77 (1979) (rejecting the argument that a
jurisdictional provision in a statute can give rise to cause of
action: "[t]he source of plaintiffs nghts must be found . . . in the
substantive provisions . . ., not in the jurisdictional provision’).
While subsection (a) authorizes equitable relief, it does not --
as the Seventh Circuit conceded, OR Pet. App. 12a -- specify
which plaintiffs can seek the remedies it provides. For the
answer to that question, recourse must be had to subsection (b)
("The Attorney General may institute proceedings under this
section.”). Thus, the subsection (a) argument depends entirely
upon the premise that subsection (c) grants private plaintiffs --
and not just the Attorney General -- plenary authority to
"institute proceedings under this section,” an argument refuted
above. Supra §§ I(A)(1), (C)(1).

Second, this argument again ignores the parallels to antitrust
law. The very statute which this Court held did not authorize
private injunctive relief, supra § 1(A)(2), also contained a broad
jurisdictional provision with language largely identical to
subsection 1964(a). See Northern Securities, 194 U.S. at 67

23

(quoting text of § 4).

The Seventh Circuit perceived (OR Pet. App. 11a) support
for its reasoning in this Court's decision in Steel Co. v. Citizens
for a Better Environment, 523 U.S. 83, 90 (1990). But reliance
on Steel Co. is puzzling. That case merely rejected the claim
that a provision giving courts "jurisdiction in actions brought
under [a subsection]" made every element of the pertinent
substantive subsection “jurisdictional.” /d. Petitioners made no
such argument regarding RICO.

3. “Liberal construction"

Another argument the Seventh Circuit offered to justify
reading into RICO a right of private injunctive relief is the
legislative directive to construe RICO liberally to effectuate its
purposes. OR Pet. App. 12a-13a. This argument is a make-
weight.” As this Court has explained, "RICO's ‘liberal
construction’ clause . . . is not an invitation to apply RICO to
new purposes that Congress never intended." Reves v. Ernst &
Young, 507 U.S. 170, 183 (1993). The meaning of RICO "must
be gleaned from the statute through the normal means of
interpretation.” Id. at 184.”°

>The Seventh Circuit's invocation of the broad "underlying purposes” of
RICO, OR Pet. App. 13a. is likewise no warrant for construing RICO
contrary to its text and legislative history. “Our task here is not to
determine what would further Congress's goal . . . but to determine what the
words of the statute must fairly be understood to mean.” Holmes Group
Inc. v. Vornado Air Circulation Sys., Inc.,122 S. Ct. 1889, 1895 (2002).

®As the Fifth Circuit observed:

The “liberal construction” directive. however. neither compels nor

authorizes us to disregard convincing evidence from the legislative history

that Congress believed it had not approved private injunctive remedies

and balked at doing so.
Fredeman, 843 F.2d at 830.

24

sks

By in effect amending RICO to authorize private civil suits
for injunctive relief, the Seventh Circuit has abolished the
federal government's exclusive prerogative to seek such relief.
Not only is this an affront to a unique federal executive power,
it is an open invitation to abuse. Under the decision below,
private parties are no longer limited to damages for the harm
they suffered: they now can seek equitable relief wholly
independent of, and potentially in conflict with, the decisions of
the Attorney General regarding pursuit of such relief.
Furthermore, private parties do not have the political
accountability, or the duty to exercise prosecutorial discretion,
that apply to the federal government. Under the Seventh
Circuit's faulty interpretation, the RICO injunctive weapon can
now be misused -- as in the present case -- as a means of
waging political or commercial warfare against one's
adversaries.

This Court should reverse the Seventh Circuit and hold that
RICO does not authorize private injunctive relief.”’

Il. THE HOBBS ACT PREDICATES WERE
DEFECTIVE.

NOW's case, the district court's rulings and jury charge, and
the Seventh Circuit's affirmance of the judgment, each
proceeded on a fundamentally flawed view of predicate
extortion.

RICO requires proof of other, "predicate" offenses. The
conduct at issue here does not constitute predicate extortion
under the Hobbs Act. Consequently, NOW's civil RICO

"Hence, judgment must be entered against those respondents which
obtained only injunctive relief. namely, NOW, those members represented
by NOW, and all of the plaintiff class members.

25

judgment resting upon. inter alia, Hobbs Act predicates, must
be reversed.

Each subsection of RICO requires proof of a "pattern of
racketeering activity.” 18 U.S.C. § 1962(b), (c). A "pattern" of
racketeering activity "requires at least two acts of racketeering
activity,” id. § 1961(5). The necessary acts of racketeering
must in turn come within RICO's definition of "racketeering
activity,” id. § 1961(1), which lists the specific offenses that
qualify as predicate acts for RICO. Thus, a RICO plaintiff must
allege and prove at least two "predicate acts” that fall within the
RICO definition of "racketeering activity" and form a "pattern."

Not every crime qualifies as a predicate offense supporting
a RICO claim. For example, the list of predicate crimes, 18
U.S.C. § 1961(1), does not include trespass, disorderly conduct,
obstruction of public passages, vandalism, harassment, resisting
arrest, contempt of court, assault, battery, or even rioting, id. In
other words, RICO excludes from its coverage precisely those
offenses most likely to arise in the context of political or social
protest. This is no coincidence: Congress adopted an
enumerated list of predicate offenses in response to concern that
RICO, if drafted more generally. could be used as a weapon
against protesters who engaged in unlawful demonstration
activity. Note, Protesters, Extortion, and Coercion: Preventing
RICO From Chilling First Amendment Freedoms, 75 Notre
Dame L. Rev. 691, 697-99 (1999) (documenting evolution of
RICO in response to concern over potential application to
protesters).

Faced with a statute that does not lend itself to use against
protesters, NOW nevertheless sought to shoehorn this case into
RICO on the theory that coercive protesting is a form of
“extortion.” NOW pursued, and went to trial on, the theory that
petitioners committed predicate acts of "extortion" under
federal law “lobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951(a), (b)(2), and Travel
Act. 18 U.S.C. § 1952) and the law of the state where the act

26

was committed. NOW's theory essentially was that any
unlawful act which interfered with access to, or the provision
of, abortion, made someone "give up" a right and therefore
constituted "extortion" under federal and state law. E.g., Tr.
550, 564-67. 4327-28, 4335-37, 4874-75, 4961, 4983-87. 4989,
5003-11, 5016, 5037, 5118. Petitioners objected* to NOW's
construction of the extortion laws at many points in the case:
dismissal motions, summary judgment, Rule 50 motions at the
close of NOW's case and at the close of all evidence, the jury
instructions, and post-trial motions. The district court at each
point rejected petitioners’ objections and embraced NOW's
theory of extortion. See OR Pet. App. 108a-114a (finding
Hobbs Act violations sufficiently pled);*° id. at 121a-129a
(Travel Act and state extortion sufficiently pled); id. at 194a-
199a (evidence of interference with abortion suffices to defeat
summary judgment on Hobbs Act); Tr. 2462, 4880, 4903 (Rule
50); Tr. 4944-48 (jury charge); OR Pet. App. 275a-276a (post-
trial motions). See also, e.g., Tr. 4332, 4339-40, 4884-85. The
jury retummed a verdict for respondents, finding that over two
dozen acts of “extortion” had been committed. OR Pet. App.
31la-312a. See supra note 9.

NOW sought to prove that petitioners and others associated
with the Pro-Life Action Network did something illegal which
interfered with the practice of abortion. The Seventh Circuit
equated this with extortion and racketeering. Under this
approach, virtually any unlawful activity designed to change
anyone's conduct could be extortion. This erroneous view of
extortion would sweep within its definition any protest activity
that crosses the line from legal to illegal activity. Sit-ins at

*8See supra note 4.

“The district court stated: "If Plaintiffs have alleged that they have
sustained economic losses resulting from Defendants’ actions, that is
sufficient to withstand this motion to dismiss." /d. at 110a (footnote
omitted).

27

segregated lunch counters, chaining oneself to a redwood tree
scheduled to be cut down. blocking the entrance to an
auditorium where a hatemonger is speaking, interference with
access to a pornography business -- all of these could be
“extortionate” under the decision below. NOW essentially
admitted as much. See Tr. 4963 (closing argument for
respondents) (RICO enterprise "could be an animal rights group
that bars entry to a restaurant that serves veal"). The district
court likewise recognized that RICO might have been used to
wipe out "civil nghts actions, demonstrations in the ‘60s or anti-
war demonstrations in the '70s." Tr. 4339-40. Accord OR Pet.
App. 158a ("The instant case is paradigmatic of RICO's
seemingly unlimited applicability").

In short, any unlawful protest activity would, under the
rationale of the Seventh Circuit, constitute felony extortion.
More than one such illegal act could trigger a civil RICO suit,
with extortion serving as the predicate.

This is not mere speculation. Civil RICO is already being
invoked against protesters of various political stripes. See, e.g..
Oversight Hearing Addressing the Civil Application of the
Racketeering Influenced and Corrupt Organization Act (RICO)
to Nonviolent Advocacy Groups, Before the Subcomm. on
Crime of the House Comm. on the Judiciary, 105th Cong., 2d
Sess. (1998) (www.house.gov/judiciary/35055.htm) (testimony
of Jeffrey S. Kerr, General Counsel, People for the Ethical
Treatment of Animals) (civil RICO suit filed against anti-
vivisection protesters); Stephens Group, Inc. v. Voices for
Animals, No. 00:5518 (JEI) (D.N.J. First Amended and
Supplemental Complaint filed Apr. 17, 2001) (laboratory and
its shareholder adding civil RICO claims against animal rights
groups); Jacques Ferber, Inc. v. Bateman, No. 99-CV-2277
(E.D. Pa. filed May 3, 1999) (civil RICO suit filed against anti-
fur protesters); "Furnier files RICO Suit to Halt Anti-Fur
Protesters’ Excesses,” 15 Civil RICO Litigation Rptr. No. 9, p.

28

3 (May 1999) (same): "Furriers file a RICO suit over animal
rights projects.” The Star-Ledger. Aug. 6, 1999 (federal civil
RICO suit filed in Newark. New Jersey, against animal rights
groups).*°

Social protest has a long and revered history in this nation.
From the burning or hanging of effigies in colonial times, to the
temperance activists’ disruption of taverns, to the civil rights
and anti-war sit-ins of the 1960's and 1970's, demonstrations --
even illegal ones -- have been both an outlet for dissent and an
instrument for social and legal change. In totalitarian regimes.
demonstrators are crushed by tanks. In this nation, by contrast,
protesters may be arrested, fined. or jailed for offenses they
commit, but they are not treated like hardcore criminals --
unless the Seventh Circuit's misreading of the Hobbs Act
stands.
Happily, a proper reading of RICO and federal (and state)
extortion laws requires rejection of the Seventh Circuit's view
of predicate extortion.

A. Distortion of Hobbs Act Extortion

The Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951. prohibits interference with
commerce by “extortion,” § 1951(a), and defines extortion as
"the obtaining of property from another, with his consent,
induced by wrongful use of actual or threatened force, violence,
or fear, or under color of official right." § 1951(b)(2). Aclaim
of Hobbs Act extortion fails if any of these statutory elements

“The fact that the cited cases were filed in district courts within the Third
Circuit is no coincidence. In Northeast Women's Center Inc. v.
McMonagle. 868 F.2d 1342 (3d Cir.), cert. denied. 493 U.S. 901 (1989),
the Third Circuit became the first federal appeals court to endorse the use
of RICO against protesters under a theory of Hobbs Act extortion. The
Seventh Circuit's adoption of a similarly distorted view of federal extortion
in the present case will. unless corrected by this Court. doubtless produce
its own clones.

29

is lacking. In this case, NOW failed to allege or prove “the
obtaining of property.” "with his consent,” and "wrongful use of
actual or threatened force, violence or fear."

1. Missing elements of Hobbs Act extortion
a. No "obtaining"

Violation of the Hobbs Act requires "the obtaining of
property from another ...." 18 U.S.C. § 1951(b)(2) (emphasis
added). The Seventh Circuit failed to require NOW to prove
any such “obtaining” in this case. According to the Seventh
Circuit, despite the text of § 1951, an “extortionist” can “violate
the Hobbs Act without either seeking or receiving money or
anything else,” OR Pet. App. 36a. "A loss to, or interference
with the rights of, the victim is all that is required." Jd.*' Thus,
any protest activity that crosses into tortious or illegal behavior
(a trespass, an obstruction, an instance of physical contact)
would subject the actor to federal criminal felony liability as an
“extortionist" under the Hobbs Act and a "racketeer" (if two or
more acts are involved) under RICO. A recipe more deadly for
social protest could scarcely be imagined.

The Seventh Circuit's decision also creates considerable
mischief for government actors. The Hobbs Act proscribes the
extortionate “obtaining of property . . . under color of official
right." § 1951(b)(2). Under the decision below, this means
"[causing a] loss to, or interfer[ing] with the rights of. the
victim," OR Pet. App. 36a, under color of official right. Thus,
any police misconduct (false arrest, excessive force, etc.) or
other act of government officials (e.g., withholding a municipal
permit for a pornography business or gun store) that interferes
with someone's rights, would become federal criminal extortion

3'The court below claimed support in “a long line of precedent,” id.. but
the “precedent” is merely lower court dicta. See generally Note, supra p.
25, at 718-19 & n.124.

30

and racketeering.

The decision below creates mischief for federal robbery law
as well. The "robbery" section of the Hobbs Act also uses the
term “obtaining”: “robbery” is the "taking or obtaining of
personal property from the person or in the presence of another,
against his will, by means of actual or threatened force, or
violence, or fear of injury. . ..” 18 U.S.C. § 1951(b)(1). Under
the Seventh Circuit's distorted view of “obtaining,” a protester
who pushes someone to the ground, causing that person's pants
to tear or glasses to break, commits "robbery" ("obtaining” the
pants or glasses by actual force). The bumping of opposing
demonstrators would become the stuff of felony prosecutions
and civil RICO suits.”

The Seventh Circuit's rewriting of the Hobbs Act does nor
square with the law and is simply wrong. As this Court has
clearly held, the "obtaining" of property requires the acquisition
of, and not mere injury or interference with, property. For
example, in United States v. Enmons, 410 U.S. 396 (1973), the
defendants wrongfully caused property losses and interfered
with rights, id. at 398 (recounting acts of violence); id. at 399
("wrongful violence” is redundant), yet there was no extortion:
the defendants did not wrongfully obtain property, id. at 399-
400. See id. at 400 (distinguishing the obtaining of "personal
payoffs"); id. at 406 n.16 (distinguishing "obtaining a financial
benefit for himself" and a "payoff": the "entire character [of the
demonstration] changed . . . when it was used as a pressure
device to exact the payment of money") (emphasis added). See

The decision below would also wreak havoc in the interpretation of
other federal statutes that have the obtaining of property as an element.
E.g., 10 U.S.C. § 921 (larceny and wrongful appropriation under Uniform
Code of Military Justice): 1 1 U.S.C. §727(a)(4)(C) (bankruptcy discharge);
15 U.S.C. § 77q(a)(2) (fraudulent interstate transactions); 15 U.S.C. §
1703(a)(2)(B) (fraud in land transactions); 18 U.S.C. § 1341 (mail fraud);
18 U.S.C. § 1343 (wire fraud).

31

also Evans v. United States, 504 U.S. 255. 259-60 (1992)
(common law. from which Hobbs Act borrowed. required that
public official “took . . . money" under color of his office in
order to constitute extortion).

The result in Enmons would have to be different under the
rationale of the decision below. Indeed. the Seventh Circuit's
distorted view of Hobbs Act extortion is radically at odds with
both the majority and the dissent in Enmons.

In Enmons, the question was whether the Hobbs Act applied
to labor violence in supportof higher wages and other employee
benefits. This Court divided 5-4 over the question, with the
majority holding that "the use of viole<e to achieve legitimate
union objectives" was not the “wrongful” obtaining of property
for purposes of Hobbs Act extortion. 410 U.S. at 400. See
infra §Il(A)(1)(e). But not a single Justice suggested that the
violent destruction of property that had occurred in that case
could itself qualify as the extortionate “obtaining” of property
under the Hobbs Act. Yet the Seventh Circuit endorsed
precisely such a theory.

The decision below would plainly nullify the holding in
Enmons. Instead of prosecuting violent union protesters for the
extortionate obtaining of better wages and benefits (an
“obtaining” that, under Enmons, is not “wrongful"), prosecutors
-- under the Seventh Circuit's faulty rationale -- could simply
charge the protesters with extortionate “obtaining” of the
prpperty or rights damaged or interfered with, i.e., by causing
a “loss to, or interfering with the rights of" (OR Pet. App. 36a)
others. The “obtaining of property” element would be satisfied
by the damage to transformers (as in Enmons) or to other
company property, or by interference with the liberty of
management or employees, for example, to cross the strike line.
The legitimacy or wrongfulness of the ultimate aim of
“obtaining wages" would be irrelevant, because the unlawful
means of “obtaining, by damage of or interference with,

32

property,” according to the court below. would satisfy the
Hobbs Act.

The rationale of the decision below would thus render
meaningless the entire debate in Enmons. Whether obtaining
higher wages is “wrongful” or not under the Hobbs Act is
wholly beside the point if wrongful “obtaining property” (as
opposed to wrongful “causing a loss" or “interfering with
rights") is mot even a necessary element of Hobbs Act
extortion.**

The Enmons majority was insistent that the Hobbs Act would
not proscribe misconduct on a picket line, even a physical
assault. 410 U.S. at 404-05. The dissent was even more
emphatic, dismissing as “nonsense” the notion that a "fistfight
on a picket line” could violate the Hobbs Act. Jd. at 418 n.17
(Douglas, J., dissenting). Yet in the present case it was
precisely demonstration misconduct -- the nonviolent sit-ins
themselves, plus several scattered™ incidents of alleged
violence® -- that formed the very core of both respondents’ case
and the jury's verdict. as well as the basis for the Seventh
Circuit's affirmance under the Hobbs Act. Supra pp. 4-5 & nn.
7-10; OR Pet. App. la-2a, 23a, 35a-36a.

“The potential for businesses to use RICO actions based on an expansive
concept of Hobbs Act extortion against union activists has not gone
unnoticed by judges and commentators. See OR Resp. at 4 n.2.

*A comparison with NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886
(1982), is instructive. In Claiborne, there were at least ten violent incidents
in one county of Mississippi over a seven-year period . /d. at 888, 893. 898,
904-06, 920. In the present case. the jury found only four acts or threats of
violence, OR Pet. at 4 n.5, in the context of nationwide demonstrations over
a fourteen-year period. id. at 6-7. This Court described the violent acts in
Claiborne as “isolated.” 458 U.S. at 924, and “relatively few.” id. at 933.
A fortiori. the same is true here.

“Petitioners vigorously deny any charge of violence. Supra p. 2 & n.2.
Indeed, OR demanded all “rescue” demonstration participants to sign a
pledge of nonviolence. /d.

33

i. Plain meaning of "obtaining"

Interpretation must begin with the text of the statute. United
States v. Turkette. 452 U.S. 576. 580 (1981). Words are to be
given their ordinary meaning. Russello v. United States, 464
U.S. 16, 21 (1983). “Obtain” means “to come into the
possession or enjoyment of (something) . . . to acquire [or] get.”
Oxford English Dictionary, vol. 10, at 669-70 (2d ed. 1989).
Accord Black's Law Dictionary 972 (5th ed. 1979) (“obtain”
means “[t]o get hold of . . . : to get possession of; to procure; to
acquire in any way"). “Obtaining ... from” is not synonymous
with “part with,” which means “to let go, give up [or]
surrender.” Oxford English Dictionary, vol. 11, at 262
(emphasis added).

The plain meaning of ‘ obtaining . . . from” thus includes
more than merely making someone “lose” or “give up”
something. Evans, 504 U.S. at 264-65, 268 (equating “obtain”
with "receive”). See generally Note, supra p. 25, at 704-12
(tracing extortion from the common law through the Hobbs Act
and concluding that extortionate “obtaining” requires not only
that a victim be deprived of property. but also that someone get
the property as a result of the deprivation).

ii. Meaning of “obtaining” under New York
extortion law

Under New York law -- the source of the language of the
Hobbs Act -- “obtaining” means “gaining,” not just “denying.”
Enmons, 410 U.S. at 406 n.16 (1973).

The Hobbs Act took its relevant language from the extortion
law of New York. /d.: Evans, 504 U.S. at 261 n.9, 264-65.
Under New York law, it is well-settled that the crime of
extortion requires an unlawful taking. Enmons. 410 U.S. at 406
n.16 (under New York statute, “extortion requires an intent to
obtain that which in justice and equity the party is not entitled

34

to receive"; accused must be “actuated by the purpose of
obtaining a financial benefit" such as “receiv[ing] a payoff")
(emphasis added: quoting and citing New York cases). See
People v. Whaley, 6 Cow. 661, 663 (N.Y. 1827) ("[e}xtortion
_. . Signifies the taking of money” with corrupt intent) (cited in
commentary to Field Code of 1865, § 613 (extortion)); People
v. Ryan, 232 N.Y. 234, 236. 133 N.E. 572, 573 (1921)
(blackmail prosecution) (an intent “to extort” requires an
accompanying intent to “gain money or property"; mere threat
to injure a business is insufficient). See also People v.
Squillante, 18 Misc. 2d 561, 564, 185 N.Y.S.2d 357, 361 (Sup.
Ct. 1959) ("‘f{o]btaining of property from another’ imports not
only that he give up something but that the obtainer receive
something”); United States v. Nedley, 255 F.2d 350, 355-58 (3d
Cir. 1958).*°

New York law was codified in the Field Code of 1865, which
defined extortion as "[t]he obtaining of property from another,
with his consent, induced by a wrongful use of force or fear, or
under color of official right.” Field Code § 613 (1865)
(emphasis added). The commentary explained:

Four of the crimes affecting property require to be somewhat
carefully distinguished; robbery, larceny, extortion, and
embezzlement .... All four include the criminal acquisition
of the property of another. . . . In extortion, there is again a
taking . . . . Thus extortion partakes in an inferior degree of
the nature of robbery, and embezzlement shares that of
larceny.

*In Nedley, the Third Circuit squarely held, in accord with New York
law. that “obtaining” was synonymous with “taking” and that “robbery” in
the Hobbs Act did not extend to "interference by force and violence with
_. . lawful dominion and control,” since no “taking” or no “intent to steal”
could be shown. 255 F.2d at 354-57. The same term “obtaining” is used
in the extortion subsection.

35

Field Code. Chapter IV. § 584 com. (emphasis added). The
Field Code. in turn. was one of the sources for the Hobbs Act.
Evans, 504 U.S. at 261 n.9.

iii. Obtaining" at common law: extortion vs.
coercion

Furthermore, the elimination of the “obtaining” element of
“extortion” is completely inconsistent with the distinction at
common law -- incorporated into the Hobbs Act -- between
“extortion” and “coercion.” “Coercion” is not a predicate act
under RICO. 18 U.S.C. § 1961(1)(A). See. e.g., United States
v. Delano, 55 F.3d 720, 726 (2d Cir. 1995). (NOW concedes
that "mere coercion” is insufficient to satisfy the elements of
extortion. Opp. at 16.) To read the Hobbs Act to include
“coercion” would expand RICO beyond its statutory limits.

“Coercion” is the criminal compulsion of another, by means
of threats, to do or not do something. See 31A Am. Jur. 2d
Extortion, Blackmail, and Threats §§ 49-50 (1989) (coercion as
independent offense). Coercion is a creature of statute, much
broader than extortion. /d. Extortion, by contrast. is limited to
the obtaining of property by means of threat. Jd. § 40. The
“obtaining” element in the Hobbs Act incorporates this
distinction.

"[A] statutory term is generally presumed to have its
common-law meaning.” Taylor v. United States, 495 U.S. 575,
592 (1990). Indeed,

“where Congress borrows terms of art in which are
accumulated the legal tradition and meaning of centuries of
practice, it presumably knows and adopts the cluster of ideas
that were attached to each borrowed word in the body of
learning from which it was taken and the meaning its use will
convey to the judicial mind unless otherwise instructed. In
such case, absence of contrary direction may be taken as

36

satisfaction with widely accepted definitions. not as a
departure from them."

Evans, 504 U.S. at 259-60 (quoting Morissette v. United States,
342 U.S. 246, 263 (1952)). Evans explicitly applied this rule to
the terms of the Hobbs Act: "our construction of the statute is
informed by the common-law tradition from which the term of
art was drawn and understood.” 504 U.S. at 268. This
"common-law tradition” demonstrates the flaw in the Seventh
Circuit's failure to respect the distinction between extortion and
coercion.

(a). Extortion at common law

At common law. extortion unquestionably required an
acquisition of property. See 4 W. Blackstone,”’ Commentaries
*141 (extortion as "an abuse of public justice, which consists in
any officer's unlawfully taking. by colour of his office, from any
man, any money or thing of value, that is not due to him, or
more than is due, or before it is due") (emphasis added); 3 E.
Coke. First Institute 584 (J. Thomas ed. 1826) ("[e]xtortion, in
its proper sense, is a great misprision, by wresting or unlawfully
taking by any officer. by colour of his office, any money or
valuable thing . . . either that is not due, or more than is due, or
before it be due”) (emphasis added).

[E]xtortion in a large sense signifies any oppression under
colour of right; but . . . in a strict sense, it signifies the taking
of money by any officer, by colour of his office, either where
none at all is due, or not so much is due, or where it is not yet
due.

7 “The definition of common law extortion that writers on the Hobbs Act
most frequently cite is Blackstone's... ." Lindgren, The Elusive
Distinction Between Bribery and Extortion: from the Common Law to the
Hobbs Act, 35 UCLA L. Rev. 815. 862 (1988).

37

W. Hawkins,” A Treatise of the Pleas of the Crown 316 (6th
ed. 1788) (emphasis added). The Hobbs Act. by employing the
term “obtaining” from common law, New York law. and the
Field Code, incorporated this same requirement of an
acquisition of property.

(b). Statutory distinction between
extortion and coercion

The Model Penal Code maintained the distinction between
the (originally statutory) crime of coercion and the (originally
common-law) crime of extortion. Coercion appears in Section
212.5, which “prohibits specified categories of threats made
with the purpose of unlawfully restricting another's freedom of
action to his detriment." Model Penal Code § 212.5 cmt. 2 at
264 (1980) (emphasis added). Extortion, by contrast, appears
in Section 223.4, which “deals with situations where threat
rather than force . . . is the method employed to deprive the
victim of his property." Id. § 223.4 cmt. 1 at 201-02 (emphasis
added). As in the Hobbs Act, the Model Penal Code defines
extortion to require that one "obtains property of another," id.
§ 223.4, and to “obtain” property means “to bring about a
transfer . . . of a legal interest in the property. whether to the
obtainer or another,” id. § 223.0(5) (definitions). The obtaining
of property thus distinguishes extortion from coercion, as
coercion involves the restriction of another's freedom of action
by threat. Jd. § 212.5 cmt. 2 at 266; id. § 223.4 cmt. | at 203.

Many states follow the Model Penal Code and distinguish
extortion and coercion by categorizing them as separate

* "Hawkins's definition of extortion was cited. paraphrased. or followed
by the Crown Circuit Companion, Mathew Bacon in A New Abridgement
of the Law, William Russell in A Treatise on Crimes and Misdemeanors.
and Francis Wharton in his influential American treatise. A Treatise on the
Criminal Law." Lindgren, supra note 37, at 865 (footnotes omitted).

38

statutory offenses. Blakey & Roddy. Reflections on Reves v.
Ernst & Young: Its Meaning and Impact on Substantive,
Accessory, Aiding Abetting and Conspiracy Liability (Under
RICO), 33 Am. Crim. L. Rev. 1345, 1660 n.25 (1996)
(collecting statutes). Other states recognize only the crime of
extortion. not coercion. /d. at 1660 n.26. Still other states
combine the two offenses under one heading. /d. at 1660 n.27.

The Seventh Circuit failed to recognize coercion asa
separate offense. Yet "[t]he distinction is not trivial: . . . itis of
the essence of extortion -- not only in New York law but, more
importantly, in the law generally -- that one compel another to
surrender property.” United States v. Private Sanitation Indus.
Ass'n, 793 F. Supp. 1114, 1132 (E.D.N.Y. 1992) (emphasis in
original) (citing United States v. Nardello, 393 U.S. 286, 296
(1969)).

Unlawful acts of protest, like any unlawful acts, may in some
sense “deprive” others of something. But "to deprive” is
simply not the same as "to obtain from.” Petitioners here were
not business competitors of the abortion facilities or their
employees. They stood to gain nothing by the reduction in the
abortionists' business. Even assuming, arguendo, that abortion
businesses lost "property" because of petitioners, but see infra
§ II(A)(1)(b), neither the petitioners nor anyone associated with
them obtained that “property.”

The Third Circuit holding in the McMonagle case. supra note 30. that
no economic benefit or motivation is necessary in pleading and proving a
Hobbs Act violation. is clearly wrong. None of the decisions it cited
supports its holding. United States v. Cerilli, 603 F.2d 415 (3d Cir. 1979).
cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1043 (1980), merely held that the extortionist need
not obtain the property himself -- a political party may be the recipient of
the extorted contributions. United States v. Starks, 515 F.2d 112 (3d Cir.
1975), held that a religious purpose does not preclude a finding of extortion
where money is taken. Finally. United States v. Anderson, 716 F.2d 446

(continued...)

39

A defendant may "obtain" property for purposes of the Hobbs
Act either by personally receiving a direct payment from the
victim or by obtaining property for another person. United
States v. Green, 350 U.S. 415 (1956). In the case at bar,
however, neither the district court nor the Seventh Circuit
required proof of either alternative.

The antiwar protester who gets in a shoving match with a
counter-demonstrator may be guilty of battery. but he is not
guilty of extortion: the protester obtains no property. Nor do
other incidents of misconduct at protests. or even deliberate
civil disobedience, rise to the level of Hobbs Act extortion
unless the perpetrator “obtains” or tries to “obtain” property.
As this Court has observed, the “entire character" of a protest
“change[s] from legality to criminality” when the protest is used
"to exact the payment of money as a condition of its cessation.”
United States v. Enmons, 410 U.S. 396. .406 n.16 (1973)
(editing marks, and citation omitted).

b. No "property"

Hobbs Act extortion requires "the obtaining of property,” 18
U.S.C. § 1951(b)(2) (emphasis added). Petitioners did not
“obtain” any tangible property of respondents. Tr. 4327. Nor is
there any claim that defendants "obtained" intangible property
like shares of stock or copyrights. Reliance on intangible rights
-- such as a "right to abortion” or a "right to perform abortion

*(__.continued)
(7th Cir. 1983), dealt not with the “obtaining from" element of extortion,

but with the effect of threats on interstate commerce. The record included
evidence that defendant had extorted $300 from the victim. /d. at 447.
Curiously, the Third Circuit failed to cite its own controlling precedent
recognizing that extortion under the Hobbs Act is a “larceny-type offense.”
United States v. Sweeney, 262 F.2d 272, 275 (3d Cir. 1959) (citing United
States v. Nedley, 255 F.2d 350 (3d Cir. 1958)). McMonagle. in short. is
unpersuasive.

40

services,” Tr. 567 (NOW's opening statement of what was
"extorted") -- must fail. Such intangible liberty interests do not
constitute "property" for purposes of the Hobbs Act.”

Any unlawful conduct, whether a tort. a breach of contract,
or even a parking violation, will interfere to some degree with
another person's liberty. But the Hobbs Act forbids the
wrongful obtaining of property (extortion), not the wrongful
denial of liberty (coercion). To treat "rights" as "property"
under the Hobbs Act would be to remove all limits whatsoever
on the kind of injury necessary for federal criminal extortion.

This Court has repeatedly distinguished between "property."
on the one hand, and “intangible rights," on the other, when
construing the "obtaining property” element of federal criminal
statutes. E.g., McNally v. United States, 483 U.S. 350, 356,
358, 360 (1987); Cleveland v. United States, 531 U.S. 12, 23-24
(2000).

McNally is illustrative. The statute at issue there prohibited
use of the mails for “obtaining money or property” by fraud.
483 U.S. at 352 n.1. The government charged the defendant
with defrauding Kentucky citizens "of their right to have the
Commonwealth's business and its affairs conducted honestly,
impartially, free from corruption, bias, dishonesty, deceit,
official misconduct, and fraud,” id. at 354 n.4 (trial court's
instruction to jury). This Court recognized an obvious

“The jury was instructed that "property rights” included

anything of value, including a woman's right to seek medical services
from a clinic, the right of the doctors, nurses or other clinic staff to
perform their jobs, and the right of the clinics to provide medical
services free from wrongful threats, violence, coercion and fear.

JA 136. See also JA 143 (verdict form lumping together extortion of
patients, prospective patients, and abortion staff). Hence, the judgment
cannot be sustained unless each of these intangible rights qualifies as
“property” under the Hobbs Act.

41

difference between "property nights" and "the intangible right of
the citizenry to good government.” /d. at 356. Indeed, this
distinction was so clear that the Court considered that the only
"arguable" way of saving the prosecution would be to construe
the mail fraud statute so as to dispense entirely with "the
money-or-property requirement” for certain kinds of fraudulent
schemes. Id. at 358. This Court refused to remove this
statutory limitation: “Rather than construe the statute in a
manner that leaves its outer boundaries ambiguous and involves
the Federal Government in setting standards of disclosure and
good government for local and state officials. we read [the mail
fraud statute] as limited in scope to the protection of property
rights." Jd. at 360. Bt
Acceptance of intangible "rights" as property would likewise
leave the boundaries of the Hobbs Act ambiguous and would
put the federal government (and civil RICO plaintiffs) in the
business of "setting standards" in protest movements. Did the
civil rights activists of the 1960's extort owners of diners of
“property” when they obstructed the owners’ "right to serve only
the customers they chose"? Did these activists extort white bus
passengers of their "property" by making these passengers give
up their "right to sit in the front of the bus"? Certainly not.
"Liberty" does not equal "property" under the Hobbs Act.
NOW's claim requires stretching the Hobbs Act even beyond
protection of intangible property. Cf Carpenter v. United
States, 484 U.S. 19, 25-27 (1987) (wrongful obtaining of
intangible property). “Intangible property" (such as shares in a
corporation or trademark rights) does not equate with
"intangible rights." A liberty interest such as the “nght to
provide services” or the "right to make business decisions" is,
in the words of Carpenter, “an interest too ethereal in itself to
fall within the protection” of the "property" concept, id. at 25.
The Seventh Circuit's essentially limitless theory of property
rights, like the prosecution theories in Cleveland, must be

42

rejected “not simply because they stray from traditional
concepts of property,” 531 U.S. at 24, but also because this
approach "invites us to approve a sweeping expansion of
federal criminal jurisdiction in the absence of a clear statement
by Congress,” id. This Court warned in Cleveland that a novel
expansion of the statutory term "property" "would subject to
federal . . . prosecution a wide range of conduct traditionally
regulated by state and local authorities." /d. The same concern
applies here. Infra § II(A)(2)(b).

Invoking the rule of lenity, this Court noted in Cleveland that
any ambiguity about the term "property" must be resolved in
favor of a less expansive meaning. 531 U.S. at 25. Highly
apropos of the present case, this Court found the rule of lenity
“especially appropriate” in construing a federal crime which "is
a predicate offense under RICO," id. Accord infra § I(A)(2)(c).

c. No "consent"

The Hobbs Act requires proof of the "consent" of the victim.
NOW has shown no such extraction of consent.

Protest activity inherently seeks changed conduct on the part
of others. But the Hobbs Act does not proscribe "the securing
of altered behavior by another with his consent,” but rather "the
obtaining of property from another, with his consent," 18
U.S.C. § 1951(b)(2). Thus. the "consent" extracted must be
linked to the obtaining of property. The mere pressuring of
others to "consent" to stop obtaining or providing abortions is
irrelevant, as petitioners did not “obtain” that conduct (even if
such "conduct" were "property”").

Moreover, damage to or interference with property is not the
Same as extortion because the consent of the victim is
irrelevant. The purpose of the vandal or tortfeasor is not to
obtain permission for anything.

Any unlawful activity exerts pressure on those who wish to
avoid the consequences of that activity. Any property damage

. Hobbs Act noted, the words "robbery" and “extortion

43

“forces” the owner to replace, repair. or endure the impairment
of property. But the Hobbs Act does not outlaw the universe of
wrongful conduct: the deliberate seeking of the consensual
surrendering, to the extortionist or his designee. of property that
the extortionist obtains, remains a critical element of this
statutory offense.

d. No "force, violence, or fear"

Conduct typical of civil disobedience -- sit-ins, pickets,
vehement rhetoric, pouring blood or paint on property or things,
damaging weapons components -- does not constitute "force,
violence, or fear" under the Hobbs Act. The judgment below,
howe er, rests largely upon precisely such nonviolent protest
activity. Supra pp. 4-5 & nn.7-10. Hence, the verdict of
predicate extortion must fall. See Town of West Hartford v.
Operation Rescue, 915 F.2d 92, 102 (2d Cir. 1990) ("it would
be difficult to construe the [anti-abortion rescuers'] activities as
described in the complaint, consisting of resistance to police
efforts to clear protestors from the [abortion business] . . ., as
the ‘wrongful use of actual or threatened force, violence or fear’
within the meaning of section 1951(b)"). As the sponsor of the
" "have
been construed a thousand times by the courts. Everybody
knows what they mean." 91 Cong. Rec. 11,912 (1945) (quoted
in United States v. Culbert, 435 U.S. 371, 378 (1978)).
Plaintiffs’ artificial and unbounded construction of the Hobbs
Act, like the prosecutor's attempted expansive reading of that
same Act in McCormick v. United States, 500 U.S. 257, 272
(1991), is "an unrealistic assessment of what Congress could-
have meant by making it a crime to obtain property from
another, with his consent... ."

For forty years after the passage of the Hobbs Act, not a
single reported decision suggested that the pursuit of social,
moral, or political goals through pressure tactics -- including

44

lawbreaking in the form of trespass. vandalism, obstruction,
mass picketing. and incidental scuffling -- constitutes federal
criminal extortion. One novel and aberrant appellate decision.
see supra note 30. cannot have singlehandedly revolutionized
American jurisprudence.

Civil disobedience and social or political pressure tactics are
part of the American experience. Characterizing ideological
movements as extortionate simply because of the use of these
traditional methods would move this country toward totalitarian
oppression of dissent. The Seventh Circuit's theory would
make an extortionist out of everyone from Gandhi, to Martin
Luther King. Jr., to the temperance activists of the Nineteenth
Century, to the leaders of the Boston Tea Party, and would
convert the Hobbs Act into a weapon for combatting
anti-nuclear protesters and animal rights activists. But as the
Ninth Circuit declared in United States v. Caldes, 457 F.2d 74
(9th Cir. 1972) (cited with approval in Enmons, 410 U.S. at
409), "it appears to us that acts of vandalism of the type
committed by these [defendants] would be more properly and
Suitably prosecuted in the state courts and it is doubtful if
Congress intended by Section 1951 to elevate this type of
conduct to the level of the federal court." 457 F.2d at 79 (citing
United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971)).

e. No "wrongful" purpose

Hobbs Act extortion requires the "wrongful" use of actual or
threatened force, violence, or fear. § 1951(b)(2). The
"wrongfulness” in question must be the wrongfulness of the
goal or purpose of the conduct. not the wrongfulness of the
means. United States v. Enmons, 410 U.S. 396 (1973).

In Enmons, striking employees seeking higher wages and
benefits committed serious acts of property damage: “firing
high-powered rifles at three Company transformers, draining the
oil from a Company transformer, and blowing up a transformer

45

substation owned by the Company.” /d. at 398. This Court
affirmed the dismissal of a Hobbs Act indictment. /d. at 398.
412.

In Enmons. the government argued that the "wrongfulness”
element was satisfied by the property destruction. This Court
disagreed:

The term “wrongful,” which on the face of the statute

modifies the use of each of the enumerated means of

obtaining property -- actual or threatened force, violence, or
fear -- would be superfluous if it only served to describe the
means used. For it would be redundant to speak of

“wrongful violence” or “wrongful force” since, as the

Government acknowledges, any violence or force to obtain

property is “wrongful.”

Id. at 399-400 (footnotes omitted). Rather, the wrongfulness
must attach to the objective of the conduct:

[Tjhe literal language of the statute will not bear the
Government's semantic argument that the Hobbs Act reaches
the use of violence to achieve legitimate union objectives,
such as higher wages in return for genuine services which the
employer seeks. In that type of case, there has been no

“wrongful” taking of the employer's property .. . .

Id. at 400 (emphasis added). "In short, when the objectives of
the [protest activities] change[] from legitimate . . . ends to
personal payoffs, then the actions bec[o]me extortionate." /d.
at 406 n.16 (emphasis added).

No language in the Hobbs Act refers in any way to unions or
labor. Hence, the principle of Enmons cannot arbitrarily be
confined to the labor context. In the present case. petitioners’
objective was to stop abortion. As respondents concede, Tr.
4315, this is a legitimate objective, even if some of petitioners’
means were unlawful. Bray v. Alexandria Women's Health

46

Clinic, 506 U.S. 263. 270. 274 (1993). “Whether one agrees or
disagrees with the goal of preventing abortion. that goal . . . is
proper and reasonable ...." Jd. at 274. Hence, under Enmons.
the “wrongfulness" element was lacking.

2. Rules of statutory construction

The Seventh Circuit's theory of Hobbs Act extortion
profoundly contradicts several well-established norms of
Statutory construction.

a. Avoiding constitutional difficulties

Legislation ought not, if a reasonable alternative is present,
be interpreted in a manner that raises constitutional difficulties.
Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173. 190-91 (1991). This rule of
construction mandates fidelity to all of the elements of Hobbs
Act extortion -- including the elements missing from petitioners’
conduct. To apply the Hobbs Act to cover social protest
activities would raise serious First Amendment and due process
difficulties.

First. the right to free speech shelters a broad range of
expressive activity, including that which many people might
find offensive, coercive, and disruptive. E.g., Organization for
a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S. 415 (1971) (pressuring real
estate broker to cease certain practices); NAACP v. Claiborne
Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886 (1982) (boycotts enforced through
public embarrassment); Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296
(1940) (attacking religious beliefs). Even when protest activity
inflicts economic injury, it does not thereby become unlawful.
Claiborne Hardware. Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88
(1940). Yet the Seventh Circuit's theory of extortion threatens
“coercive” expression. Moreover, the threat of extortion
prosecutions and RICO suits for any coercive conduct (even
conduct of someone merely “associated” with the “enterprise” )
exerts a profound "chilling effect" on legitimate free speech

47

activities.

Second, the post hoc categorization of traditional protest
methods as “extortionate” poses due process issues of unfair
surprise. Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964)
(unconstitutional to subject "sit-in" to unforeseeable expansion
of criminal law). It would be difficult to overstate the novelty --
and bizarre nature -- of the Seventh Circuit's view that
“interference with rights” equals the extortionate "obtaining of
property.” No state or federal criminal extortion charges were
brought for any of the dozens of supposedly “extortionate” sit-
ins or other acts on which the RICO claim was based. See. e.g..
Tr. 1777-78 (Lt. Pyrdum); RICO Case Statement [Amended]
(Oct. 31, 1994) at 5-6, Ex. A, B (listing criminal
charges/convictions for alleged predicate acts, none of which
are for "extortion”). Indeed, it would be "an unprecedented feat
of interpretative necromancy,” Holmes Group, 122. S. Ct. at
1895, for a prosecutor to charge that a sit-in protest was felony
“extortion,” yet that was precisely the Seventh Circuit's theory.
As this Court stated in an analogous context, "[iJt is unlikely
that if Congress had indeed wrought such a major expansion of
criminal jurisdiction in enacting the Hobbs Act, its action
would have so long passed unobserved." Enmons, 410 U.S. at
410. To expand the Hobbs Act in this startling fashion,
therefore, and to make that post hoc expansion the basis for
liability under RICO, raises very serious due process concerns.

This Court should therefore reject the Seventh Circuit's
perversely expansive reading of the Hobbs Act.

b. Federalism

This Court should be loathe to interpret federal statutes in
ways that “upset the usual constitutional balance of federal and
state powers.” New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144, 170
(1992) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted). See
generally Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452 (1991). "(W]e will

48

not be quick to assume that Congress has meant to effect a
significant change in the sensitive relation between federal and
state criminal jurisdiction.” United States v. Bass. 404 U.S.
336, 349 (1971). This rule militates against turning the Hobbs
Act into a device for federalizing such traditional state offenses
as trespass, vandalism, and obstruction of public passage. See
United States v. Staszcuk, 517 F.2d 53, 55 (7th Cir.) (en banc)
(per Stevens, J.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 837 (1975).

This Court expressed this very caution in refusing to apply
the Hobbs Act to unlawful conduct incident to a labor strike:

[I]t would require statutory language much more explicit than
that before us here to lead to the conclusion that Congress
intended to put the Federal Government in the business of
policing the orderly conduct of strikes. Neither the language
of the Hobbs Act nor its legislative history can justify the
conclusion that Congress intended to work such an
extraordinary change in federal labor law or such an
unprecedented incursion into the criminal jurisdiction of the
States. |

Enmons, 410 U.S. at 411 (citations omitted).

Congress has, of course, adopted a scheme of national labor
regulations, yet Enmons held that there was no clear statement
of intent to police the limits of labor demonstrations through the
Hobbs Act. Here, there is no national scheme of social protest
regulation; a fortiori, application of the Hobbs Act to police
such protests violates the “clear statement” principle.*'

“Congress knows how to make a clear statement of intent that a statute
apply to protest activity. E.g., 18 U.S.C. § 248 (FACE). The present case
was not brought under FACE. however. and the Hobbs Act contains no
such clear statement.

49

c. Rule of lenity

Any “uncertainty concerning the ambit of criminal statutes
should be resolved in favor of lenity." United States v.
Kozminski, 487 U.S. 931, 952 (1988) (and cases cited). The
Seventh Circuit's distortion of the Hobbs Act stands this rule on
its head, as the Seventh Circuit's interpretation requires both
creating ambiguity by rejecting the clear meaning of statutory
terms, and then resolving that contrived ambiguity in favor of
an extremely broad interpretation.

"The Court has often stated that when there are two rational
readings of a criminal statute, one harsher than the other, we are
to choose the harsher only when Congress has spoken in clear
and definite language.” McNally, 483 U.S. at 359-60. This
rule serves “to promote fair notice to those subject to the
criminal laws, to minimize the risk of selective or arbitrary
enforcement, and to maintain the proper balance between
Congress, prosecutors, and courts,” Kozminski, 487 U.S. at 952.

As a criminal law, the Hobbs Act is subject to this rule of
strict construction. Enmons, 410 U.S. at 411; McCormick, 500
U.S. at 272-73. This Court must therefore reject the Seventh
Circuit's bizarre expansion of federal criminal “extortion.” A
protest sit-in is not extortion under the Hobbs Act.

B. Impact of Hobbs Act Error on Disposition of Case

Respondents have never claimed to be able to prove
predicate extortion under a proper understanding of the Hobbs
Act. Hence, this Court should reverse the Seventh Circuit and
remand with instruction that the court of appeals direct the entry
of judgment for petitioners on those claims.

Moreover, because state extortion offenses must satisfy a
federal minimum essentially equivalent to the Hobbs Act in
order to qualify as RICO predicates, those state predicates are
also irremediably defective. See United State v. Nardello, 393

50

U.S. 286, 290, 293. 295 (1969); Tavior v. United States, 495
U.S. 575, 590-91, 599-602 (1990). See OR Pet. at 23-24.
NOW 's Travel Act predicates, meanwhile, fall with the Hobbs
and state extortion predicates. OR Pet. at 4 n.6, 26 n.27.
Accordingly, this Court should reverse and remand with
instruction to direct the entry of judgment for petitioners on all
counts. See also supra p. 26 (petitioners attacked NOW's
extortion theory with various dispositive motions).

CONCLUSION

This Court should reverse the judgment of the Seventh
Circuit and remand with instructions to direct the entry of
judgment for petitioners on all claims.

Respectfully submitted this 12” of July, 2002,

Walter M. Weber Jay Alan Sekulow
Larry L. Crain Counsel of Record
David A. Cortman Colby M. May
Robert W. Ash Stuart J. Roth
American Center for Law James M. Henderson, Sr.
and Justice Vincent P. McCarthy
1650 Diagonal Road, 5" FI. American Center for Law
Alexandria, VA 22314 and Justice
(703) 740-1450 205 Third Street, S.E.
Washington, DC 20003
Thomas P. Monaghan (202) 546-8890
Charles E. Rice
Center for Law and Justice
International
6375 New Hope Road
New Hope, KY 40052
(502) 549-5454

Attorneys for Petitioner Operation Rescue

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0539%3A20. Public record. Not legal advice.
