# Amicus Curiae Brief — Ford Motor Co. v. McCauley

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0531%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 536 U.S. 987

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
i MAY 6 2002
No. 01-896 | CLERK
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
FORD MOTOR COMPANY and
CITIBANK (SOUTH DAKOTA), N.A.,
Petitioners.
V.
JOHN B. McCAULEY, et al.,
Respondents.

On Writ oF CERTIORARI TO THE
Unitep STATES Court OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
ee
BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE STATE FARM MUTUAL
AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
SHEILA L. BIRNBAUM
Counsel of Record
DouciLas W. DUNHAM
ELLEN P. QUACKENBOS
SKADDEN, Arps, SLATE,
MEAGHER & FLom LLP
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Four Times Square
New York, NY 10036
(212) 735-3000

173876 g

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

a

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table of Cited Authorities ..........-605e eee

Interest of Amicus Curiae .........0e0 seers

Summary of the Argument ......----+sseeeeeee

Argument

I.

—e ee eeeee eae eeenpaesoeces eeeceee eo See"

The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Improperly Bars
from Federal Court Cases Between Citizens
of Different States Where Substantial
Pecuniary Interests Are Directly at Stake

A.

The Ninth Circuit’s Rule Fails to Gauge
Accurately the Amount Actually at Stake
When Injunctive Relief ls Sought and Is
Contrary to 28 U.S.C. § 1332 ........

Valuing Injunctive Relief from the
Viewpoint of the Defendant Does Not
Contravene This Court’s Decisions in
Zahn and Snyder ........--0+000+%

The Potential for Manipulation of the
Value of Injunctive Relief Is Exaggerated
by the Ninth Circuit and Does Not J ustify
the Result in This Case ...........--

12

il

Contents

Page
Il. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling Is Counter to
Strong Federal Interests in Fostering and
Protecting Interstate Commerce .......... 19
Comobesios ....ccccccccsveseseseceeeneeeenes 26

ill

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Amerada Hess Corp. v. Department of Interior,
170 F.3d 1032 (10th Cir. 1999) ......--e- eens

BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559
(1996) 0... ccc cece cece cece ere eeeeeeeeeeees

Barrow S.S. Co. v. Kane, 170 U.S. 100 (1898) ....
Bigelow v. Virginia, 421 U.S. 809 eee

Bolin v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 231 F.3d 970
(Sth Cir. 2000) ........ cece cece reece eeeees

In re Brand Name Prescription Drugs Antitrust
Litigation, 123 F.3d 599 (7th Cir. 1997) .....-.

Brazos v. Electric Power Cooperative, Inc., 144 F.3d
784 (Fed. Cir. 1998) ........ cece cece eens

Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York State
Liquor Authority, 476 U.S. 573 (eee

Campbell v. General Motors Corp., \9 F. Supp. 2d
1260 (N.D. Ala. 1998) ...... 66 cece eee eens

In re Cardizem CD Antitrust Litig., 90 F. Supp. 2d
819 (E.D. Mich. 1999) ...... 0.5552 e eee eees

Page

16

13

17

24

16

13

iv

Cited Authorities
Page
In re Cordis Corp. Pacemaker Product Liability
Litigation, No. MDL 850, C-3-86-543, 1992
WL 754061 (S.D. Ohio Dec. 23, 1992) ........ 17
Davis v. Carl Cannon Chevrolet-Olds, Inc., 182 F.3d
792 (11th Cir. 1999) 20... ce cece e eee eee eee 20
Earnest v. General Motors Corp., 923 F. Supp. 1469
(N.D. Ala. 1996) .......0 cece cence eee eeeee 13
Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. 624 (1982) ...... 24
Edge v. Blockbuster Video, Inc., 10 F. Supp. 2d 1248
(N.D. Ala. 1997) ....... ccc eee cree eeeceeees 14
Elmco Props., Inc. v. Second National Federal
Savings Association, 94 F.3d 914 (4th Cir. 1996)
Candeudeddeedéuabeehbuceaesueeeseuteees 17
Federal Trade Commission v. Travelers Health
Association, 362 U.S. 293 (1960) ..........-. 23
In re Ford Motor Co./Citibank (South Dakota), N.A.
Cardholder Rebate Program Litigation, 264 F.3d
952 (9th Cir. 2001) ........... 6, 7, 9, 13, 16, 18, 19
Gibbs v. Buck, 307 U.S. 66 (1939) .... 2.6.00 005 14

Guaranty Trust Co. of New York v. York, 326 U.S.
PO CISER) 2c ccccccccccccccccccecccosees 12, 21, 22

v
Cited Authorities
Page
Healy v. Beer Institute, Inc., 491 U.S. 324 (1989) ... 23
Hoffman v. Vulcan Materials Co., 19 F. Supp. 2d 475
(M.D.N.C. 1998) ....--- cece eee reer eeeees 6, 8
Hunt v. Washington State Apple Commission,
432 U.S. 333 (1977) .. 02. c cece eee cence eeee 9
Justice v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co.,
927 F.2d 503 (10th Cir. 1991) .......-0--+5s 14
Loizon v. SMH Societe Suisse de Microelectronics,
et Horologerie, 950 F. Supp. 250 (N.D. Ill. 1996)
agusenoneedecncedousseceneeneeducassenss 14
McCoy v. Erie Insurance Co., 147 F. Supp. 2d 481
(S.D. W. Va. 2001) .......--00ees 9, 10, 14, 15, 22
McIntire v. Ford Motor Co., 142 F. Supp. 2d 911
(S.D. Ohio 2001) «2.2... ee ee eee eee eee eee: 17
In re Microsoft Corp. Antitrust Litig., 127 F. Supp.
2d 702 (D. Md. 2001) ...... 6... ee cece eee eeee ll
Motorola, Inc. v. Perry, 917 F. Supp. 43 (D.D.C.
PODER oc ccccccccccccccccccvcccesscccccecs 17

New York Life Insurance Co. v. Head, 234 U.S. 149
¢ C) 0 ) 24

vi

Cited Authorities
Page
Pease v. Peck, 59 U.S. (18 Howe) 595 (1856) .... 20

In re Prudential Insurance Co. of America Sales
Practices Litigation, 148 F.3d 283 (3d Cir. 1998)

pid~~stiucentitedéaduh cade eesGnaeeuenwes 21
Ronzio v. Denver & R.GW.R. Co., 116 F.2d 604 (10th

tk DE koeevdedncuevdéesenuesecensdeens 6

Snyder v. Harris, 394 U.S. 332 (1969) .......... 12,15

Steinberg v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co.,
91 F. Supp. 2d 540 (E.D.N.Y. 2000) ....10, 11, 15, 22

Thomson v. Gaskill, 315 U.S. 442 (1942) ........ 9

Zahn v. International Paper Co., 414 U.S. 291 (1973)
idiCebkedunsnsendee beasséuccenéecanss 12, 14, 15

Statutes:

SPU OEE cecvccccccceseeccooceceoeses 22

BB UBL. 6 USES occccccccccccccccsccceces 3, 5, 7, 20

vii
Cited Authorities
Page

Other Authorities:

John H. Beisner & Jessica Davidson Miller, They re
Making a Federal Case Out of it ... in State
Court, 25 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Policy 143 (2002)

disacecendseseeeestsedeewusneuceanes 18, 24, 25

The Federalist No. 80 (Alexander Hamilton) ..... 19

John P. Frank, Historical Bases of the Federal
Judicial System, 13 Law & Contemp. Probs. 3
(1DEB) wn ncccccccccccccccccvccssccceseces 26

Brittain Shaw McInnis, The $75,000.01 Question:

What is the Value of Injunctive Relief?, 6 Geo.
Mason L. Rev. 1013 (1998) .........-.505065 8

1 James Wm. Moore, Moore’ Federal Practice,

q 0.91(1), at 846 (Ist ed. 1978) ........--+5-- 5,6

l

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE '

Amicus curiae State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance
Company (“State Farm”) is one of the largest automobile
insurance companies in the United States and does business
nationwide. State Farm believes that this brief will assist the
Court by providing perspective on the significant detrimental
impact that the decision below, if allowed to stand, will have
on the insurance industry and on the ability and authority of
each State to regulate the business of insurance within its
own borders.

In recent years, large insurance companies like State
Farm that are engaged in the business of insurance nationwide
or in multiple states have faced a marked increase in class
action lawsuits, involving putative or certified multi-state
or nationwide classes. In these lawsuits, plaintiffs often seek
injunctive relief on a class-wide basis that, if granted, may
necessitate a fundamental alteration in an insurance
company’s business operations, requiring changes to
computer systems, employee training, and numerous other
costs and expenses.

Such suits can be particularly costly to insurance
company defendants because of the need for insurance
companies to comply with the varying regulatory systems of
the different states. Thus, the costs to insurance companies
of complying with injunctions may include costs associated

' Counsel for a party did not author this brief in whole or in
part, and no person or entity, other than the amicus curiae, or its
counsel, has made a monetary contribution to the preparation or
submission of the brief. The parties have consented to the filing of
this brief and copies of those consents have been lodged with the
Court.

2

with attempting to make sure that alterations in the
companies’ operations resulting from court-ordered
injunctive relief comport with the applicable state statutes
and regulations in each affected jurisdiction. Accordingly,
the cost for insurance companies of complying with an
injunction in a large class action may well be far in excess of
the jurisdictional minimum even if measured by the cost of
compliance with respect to a single plaintiff.

The issues raised by injunctive relief sought in class
actions against insurance companies, however, go beyond
concerns for expenses and costs, but raise constitutional
concerns basic to this Nation’s federal system. When a single
state court judge, elected by the voters of a single county,
adjudicates the claims of a nationwide class of policyholders,
there is a serious risk that the resulting judgment may impinge
upon the prerogative of other states to regulate the business
of insurance within their own borders, particularly if the relief
granted includes injunctive relief that will affect the
defendant insurer’s future operations. Such nationwide
injunctive relief net only may impose tremendous compliance
costs, but also threatens to expose insurance companies to
conflicting legal obligations under the differing regulatory
systems of the different states.

Accordingly, the issue presented by this case is of major
interest to State Farm as a nationwide insurance company,
because of the particular impact this Court’s decision will
likely have on class action litigation involving insurance
practices and because of the special costs imposed upon
insurance companies in complying with injunctions, given
the varying regulatory regimes of the different states.

TL nN iL aE

3
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The decision by the United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit in this case should be reversed. The Ninth
Circuit held that, with only a very narrow exception, a
defendant’s cost of compliance with injunctive relief sought
by the plaintiffs in a class action may not be included in
determining the amount in controversy under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1332. The narrow exception permitted by the Ninth Circuit
improperly limits consideration of a defendant’s costs of
compliance to the relatively tiny category of cases where the
underlying claims of the named plaintiffs and class members
are common and undivided claims for a limited fund or
indivisible res. Contrary to the Ninth Circuit’s ruling, whether
a claim for injunctive relief is common and undivided (and
therefore properly assessed from the defendant’s viewpoint)
should depend upon the nature of the injunctive relief sought
and the character of the plaintiffs’ interest in that relief.
The Ninth Circuit’s ruling is not supported by the language
of Congress’ grant of diversity jurisdiction to the federal
courts in 28 U.S.C. § 1332 and subverts the purposes of
Congress’ grant of diversity jurisdiction to the federal courts.

The rule adopted by the Ninth Circuit, precluding
consideration of a defendant’s cost of complying with
injunctive relief, will almost invariably result in an artificially
low amount in controversy. If allowed to stand, this rule will
deprive insurance companies and other corporate defendants
of their right to remove to federal court class actions in which
they would be required to spend far more than the $75,000
jurisdictional threshold if the injunctive relief sought by the
plaintiffs were granted. Moreover, the Ninth Circuit’s ruling
will deprive such defendants of a federal forum even where
the cost of implementing injunctive relief for a single named
plaintiff would meet the jurisdictional minimum.

4

Although the Ninth Circuit states that its rule is intended
to keep “trivial” cases out of federal court, the instant case
and many of the other cases that will be barred from federal
court under the Ninth Circuit’s rule are important commercial
cases in which substantial monetary amounts are put at stake
through the plaintiffs’ broad claims for programmatic
injunctive relief. Federal diversity jurisdiction and the right
of diverse defendants to remove such cases continue to play
important roles in protecting out-of-state commercial
defendants from bias and in ensuring confidence by business
and investors in fair judicial processes. In the case of multi-
state or national class actions, federal diversity jurisdiction
also serves the federal interest in regulating interstate
commerce and in ensuring that states do not intrude on other
states’ interest in regulating conduct within their own borders.

Such considerations of state sovereignty, comity, and the
needs of our Nation’s federal system are particularly
important in the context of insurance. Both this Court and
the United States Congress have recognized that, under this
country’s federal constitutional system, it is uniquely the
prerogative of each state to regulate the business of insurance
within its borders. For insurance companies, and for other
corporate defendants, the Ninth Circuit’s rule threatens to
undermine the basic constitutional concerns that underlie the
concept of diversity jurisdiction. Permitting the exercise of
diversity jurisdiction in cases where costly injunctive relief
is sought is necessary to help ensure that out-of-state
corporate defendants are safeguarded from the potential
biases and overreaching of state court proceedings. For these
reasons and the reasons set forth below, State Farm
respectfully submits that the Ninth Circuit’s decision is
erroneous as a matter of law and policy and should be
overturned by this Court.

5

ARGUMENT

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Improperly Bars from
Federal Court Cases Between Citizens of Different
States Where Substantial Pecuniary Interests Are
Directly at Stake

Section 1332, 28 U.S.C. § 1332, grants jurisdiction to
the federal courts over all civil actions between citizens of
different states where the “matter in controversy” exceeds
the sum or value of $75,000. The Ninth Circuit’s ruling that
the “matter in controversy” may not include the defendant’s
costs of compliance with injunctive relief sought by plaintiffs
is inconsistent with the language of section 1332, as
elucidated by this Court and the lower federal courts.
The Ninth Circuit’s ruling also ignores the economic reality
of the amount that may be put in controversy by a claim for
injunctive relief and disserves the purposes and policies
furthered by federal diversity jurisdiction.

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Rule Fails to Gauge
Accurately the Amount Actually at Stake When

Injunctive Relief Is Sought and Is Contrary to
28 U.S.C. § 1332

By requiring a minimum amount in controversy,
Congress sought to limit diversity jurisdiction to substantial
controversies. A rule that measures the value of injunctive
relief only from the viewpoint of the plaintiff, while providing
simplicity, may in many cases fail to recognize “the realities
of the magnitude of the controversy.” 1 James Wm. Moore,
Moore's Federal Practice, § 0.91(1), at 846 (1st ed. 1978)
(as quoted in McCarty v. Amoco Pipeline Co., 595 F.2d 389,
394 (7th Cir. 1979)). “Since the jurisdictional amount

6

prerequisite was enacted primarily to measure substantiality of
the suit, the question of whether the controversy is substantial
should not be answered unqualifiedly by looking only to the
value of that which the plaintiff stands to gain or lose.” Jd.
The Ninth Circuit’s ruling, greatly restricting the circumstances
in which the cost to the defendant of injunctive relief may be
counted toward the jurisdictional minimum in class actions, will
keep trivial cases out of the federal courts, but only “by also
keeping out cases where great sums of moncy are involved on
the part of the defendant, but not the plaintiff.” See Hoffman v.
Vulcan Materials Co., 19 F. Supp. 2d 475, 480 (M.D.N.C. 1998).

The “either viewpoint” test, which measures the amount in
controversy from either the defendant’s viewpoint or from
the plaintiff’s, better distinguishes large cases from small
and thus better effectuates the purposes of the amount-
in-controversy requirement. Under the “either viewpoint” rule,
“{i]n determining the matter in controversy, [the court] may look
to the object sought to be accomplished by the plaintiffs’
complaint; the test for determining the amount in controversy
is the pecuniary result to either party which the judgment would
directly produce.” Ronzio v. Denver & R.GW.R. Co., 116 F.2d
604, 606 (10th Cir. 1940) (footnote omitted).

The present case raises in particular the question of how
the value of injunctive relief should be measured where the
plaintiffs bring suit on behalf of a putative class, rather than
individually. The Ninth Circuit in this case recognized the
validity in individual litigation of measuring the value of an
injunction from either the plaintiff’s or the defendant’s
viewpoint,” but created a rule that essentially nullifies the “either

? See In re Ford Motor Co./Citibank (South Dakota), N.A.
Cardholder Rebate Program Litig., 264 F.3d 952, 958 (9th Cir. 2001)
(Cont’d)

7

viewpoint” rule for measuring the value of injunctive relief in
class actions. In class actions, the Ninth Circuit’s rule limits the
use of the “either viewpoint” rule to those rare cases where
plaintiffs’ underlying claims “involve a single indivisible res,
such as an estate, a piece of property (the classic example), or
an insurance policy.” Jn re Ford Motor Co./Citibank (South
Dakota), N.A. Cardholder Rebate Program Litig., 264 F.3d 952,
959 (9th Cir. 2001). The Ninth Circuit’s rule, if upheld, will
mean that in all other cases the pecuniary value of injunctive
relief would be the pro rata value to a single class member. In a
large class action, that pro rata amount will in virtually every
case fail to satisfy the amount in controversy despite the
magnitude of compliance costs for the defendant.

The Ninth Circuit’s rule is not consistent with the language
of section 1332, which neither expressly nor impliedly requires
injunctive relief to be measured from the viewpoint of a
particular party. Rather, section 1332, granting jurisdiction in
all civil actions in which the “matter in controversy” “between”
citizens of different States “exceeds the sum or value of
$75,000,” suggests that matter in controversy between the parties
should be defined broadly and take into account both viewpoints
or either viewpoint in order to reach a determination that accords
with the economic realities. As one commentator has stated:

[T]he either viewpoint rule is more in line with the
plain language of the diversity statute. Section 1332

(Cont'd)

(citing Ridder Bros. Inc. v. Blethen, 142 F.2d 395, 399 (9th Cir. 1944)
(stating “‘the test for determining the amount in controversy is the
pecuniary result to either party which the judgment would directly
produce’”; “where the value of a plaintiff’s potential recovery ...
is below the jurisdictional amount, but the potential cost to the defendant
of complying with the injunction exceeds that amount, it is the latter
that represents the amount in controversy for jurisdictional purposes”).

does not contain any language instructing courts
as to which party’s viewpoint should control the
amount in controversy. Critically, it does not state
that it should be from the plaintiff’s viewpoint.
Instead, the statute’s central unit of analysis for
purposes of determining the jurisdictional amount
is drafted in broad terms, “the matter in
controversy.” . . . [T]his unit of analysis has been
interpreted by the Supreme Court to mean
“the object of the litigation,” that is, what result a
judgment will effect. Congress’ choice to anchor
the amount in controversy to a more general unit
of analysis such as the matter in controversy
suggests that it did not intend to limit jurisdiction
only to cases where plaintiff’s alleged value of
the claim meets the jurisdictional amount. Thus,
the either viewpoint rule mirrors the flexibility
inherent in the statute’s language.

Brittain Shaw McInnis, The $75,000.01] Question: What is
the Value of Injunctive Relief?, 6 Geo. Mason L. Rev. 1013,
1031 (1998) (footnotes omitted).

A more pragmatic and flexible approach, in contrast to
the rigid rule adopted by the Ninth Circuit in the instant case,
would “take into account both the factual variances and the
numerous types of relief” and recognize “that any one case
may be legitimately valued in a number of different ways,
no one of which may be said to inherently represent true
value in every case.” Hoffman, 19 F. Supp. 2d at 481. Thus,
“[n]o one economic analysis will be right for all cases.”
Id. at 482. Such an approach would be in accord with this
Court’s decisions stating that “the amount in controversy is
measured by the value of the object of the litigation” and

9

that, generally, the value is measured by the “pecuniary
consequences to those involved in the litigation.” Hunt v.
Wash. State Apple Comm'n, 432 U.S. 333, 347 (1977);
Thomson v. Gaskill, 315 U.S. 442, 447 (1942).

In the instant case, the Ninth Circuit specifically refused
to consider the defendants’ cost of complying with the
injunctive relief at issue, even though “while the monetary
benefit to an individual plaintiff of reinstating the rebate
accrual program would be relatively insubstantial, the fixed
costs to Ford and Citibank of reinstating and maintaining
the program would be the same whether it is done for one
plaintiff or for six million.” Ford, 264 F.3d at 960. The court
did not question the factual accuracy of the defendants’
assertions as to the cost of compliance, but reasoned that
“(i]f the argument were accepted, and the administrative costs
of complying with an injunction were permitted to count as
the amount in controversy, ‘then every case, however trivial,
against a large company would cross the threshold.’” /d.
(citation omitted). Thus, according to the Ninth Circuit,
counting compliance costs toward the amount in controversy
would be “fundamentally violative of the principle underlying
the jurisdictional amount requirement — to keep small
diversity suits out of federal court.” /d. The Ninth Circuit's
reasoning ignores the real, substantial costs that are at issue
in the instant case and in similar cases and, as discussed
below, exaggerates the possibiiities for manipulation of the
amount in controversy.

Insurance companies in particular may face compliance
costs that far outweigh the value of the injunctive relief to a
particular plaintiff. As courts have recognized, injunctive
relief in the insurance context can, if granted, “require the
defendant to alter his method of doing business.” McCoy v.

10

Erie Ins. Co., 147 F. Supp. 2d 481, 492 (S.D. W. Va. 2001).
In McCoy, the plaintiff sought money damages allegedly due
her under her automobile insurance policy for the diminished
value of her automobile after repairs paid for by the insurance
company defendant. The purported diminished value was
well under the jurisdictional minimum. The plaintiff,
however, also sought prospective relief in the form of an
injunction requiring the insurer to “develop[] procedures and
systems with regard to such first-party claims for diminished
market value” that would have necessitated “hir[ing] two or
more additional appraisers in West Virginia for the purpose
of adjusting the diminished value aspect of first-party
claims.” /d. at 493. “Each appraiser would have to be paid a
salary and benefits, and would have to be provided with a
vehicle for use in extensive company-related travel.” /d.
The court concluded that the compliance cost for the
defendant if the injunctive relief sought were granted “would
well exceed the jurisdictional minimum.” /d. at 493.

Similarly, in Steinberg v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance
Co., 91 F. Supp. 2d 540 (E.D.N.Y. 2000), the court denied
plaintiffs’ motion for remand, finding that the amount in
controversy was satisfied where plaintiffs sought on behalf
of themselves and a putative nationwide class both
compensatory damages and prospective injunctive relief
prohibiting the defendant insurance company from specifying
the use of remanufactured parts in the repair of its insureds’
vehicles and from imposing “betterment” charges where the
repair resulted in an increase in value. See id. at 544. While
the court held that the compensatory damage claims could
not be aggregated for purposes of determining the amount in
controversy, the court found that the “economic impact” of
the requested injunction on the defendant amounted to
““millions of dollars annually’” and more than satisfied the

11

jurisdictional minimum. /d. (citing P!.’s Compl.); see also
In re Microsoft Corp. Antitrust Litig., 127 F. Supp. 2d 702,
718 (D. Md. 2001) (jurisdictional minimum satisfied where
defendant had “established that redesigning its operating
system software in order to comply with the injunctions
requested in each of the removed cases would cost millions
of dollars”).

In nearly every state, insurance companies are subject to
detailed and comprehensive regulations that govern their
obligations toward policyholders. Thus, compliance with an
injunction affecting those obligations can carry with it
substantial associated regulatory costs, in addition to the
computer, administrative, personnel and training costs and
many other expenses. In cases where plaintiffs assert claims
on behalf of a nationwide or multi-state class, the cost of
compliance for an insurance company will likely be even
more substantial because of variations in state insurance laws
and regulations. See supra at 1-2. In addition, the costs and
constraints imposed upon an insurance company by
injunctive relief may potentially have a serious detrimental
effect upon the company’s ability to compete in interstate
commerce against other insurance companies that are not
subject to the terms of the injunction.

If the Ninth Circuit’s rule is not overturned, courts in
many class actions will simply ignore the actual, substantial
costs for defendant corporations engaged in interstate
commerce of complying with large-scale programmatic
injunctive relief. State Farm submits that those costs should
appropriately be counted in determining whether the amount
in controversy is met. Indeed, permitting the exercise of
diversity jurisdiction over cases in which costly injunctive
relief is sought is essential to ensure that out-of-state

12

corporate defendants are protected from the potential biases
of state court proceedings. See Guaranty Trust Co. of N_Y. v.
York, 326 U.S. 99, 111-12 (1945) (“[d]iversity jurisdiction
is founded on assurance to non-resident litigants of courts
free from susceptibility to potential local bias”).

B. Valuing Injunctive Relief from the Viewpoint of
the Defendant Does Not Contravene This Court’s
Decisions in Zahn and Snyder

The result reached by the Ninth Circuit is not compelled
by the non-aggregation rule articulated by this Court in Zahn
v. International Paper Co., 414 U.S. 291 (1973), and Snyder
v. Harris, 394 U.S. 332 (1969). Neither of those two decisions
addressed the issue of how to calculate in a class action the
amount put into controversy by a request for injunctive relief.
Rather, in those decisions, this Court held that individual
monetary damages requested by plaintiffs and class members
could not be aggregated for purposes of determining the
amount in controversy. Zahn, 414 U.S. at 301; Snyder, 394
U.S. at 1056-57. Except where compliance costs merely
duplicate the cost of paying individual damages to each
plaintiff or class member, taking the defendant’s cost of
compliance into account in determining the amount in
controversy is not contrary to the non-aggregation rule of
Zahn and Snyder.

Courts that have taken a class action defendant’s cost of
complying with an injunction into account for purposes of
determining the amount in controversy have harmonized that
result with Zahn in a number of different ways. Certain courts,
such as the Seventh Circuit, have postulated the “one
plaintiff’ rule. Under the “one plaintiff’ rule, where the cost
of compliance with regard to one plaintiff would exceed

13

$75,000, the jurisdictional amount was satisfied, even if the
cost of compliance would be the same for one plaintiff or
for the entire class. See Jn re Brand Name Prescription Drugs
Antitrust Litig., 123 F.3d 599 (7th Cir. 1997). As the Ninth
Circuit concedes, the present case meets the “one plaintiff”
test. The proposed injunction would require the defendants
to alter their method of doing business by reinstating and
administering a rebate accrual program under the Ford/
Citibank credit card. Ford, 264 F.3d at 958. It is undisputed
that the cost of doing so would far exceed the jurisdictional
amount regardless of whether that relief were provided to
just one plaintiff or to the entire class.

Other courts have applied a less restrictive version of
the “common and undivided interest” test. Rather than
requiring that the plaintiffs’ claims be based upon a common
fund or other indivisible res (as the Ninth Circuit did in the
instant case), these courts have formulated a rule whereby if
the injunctive relief would “benefit the putative class as a
whole and not just any individual plaintiff,” the class would
be considered to have a common and undivided interest in
the injunctive relief sought. Earnest v. Gen. Motors Corp.,
923 F. Supp. 1469, 1472 (N.D. Ala. 1996) (class had
undivided interest in injunctive relief in the form of
advertising campaign, comprehensive vehicle recall, and
injunction forbidding the defendants from using allegedly
defective engines and engine control modules); see also
In re Cardizem CD Antitrust Litig., 90 F. Supp. 2d 819, 836
(E.D. Mich. 1999) (“Plaintiffs seek injunctive relief that will
benefit the class as a whole. Defendants’ costs of compliance
do not depend upon the size of the class or the identity of its
members. Accordingly, it is based upon a common and
undivided interest and constitutes an integrated claim; its
entire value may be considered when determining whether

14

the amount-in-controversy requirement for diversity
jurisdiction is satisfied”); Edge v. Blockbuster Video, Inc.,
10 F. Supp. 2d 1248, 1254-56 (N.D. Ala. 1997) (injunction
that would prohibit “course of conduct as a whole” and would
inure to the “collective good” of the class was common and
undivided and should be valued from defendant’s viewpoint
for purposes of the amount in controversy); Loizon v. SMH
Societe Suisse de Microelectronics, et Horologerie, 950 F.
Supp. 250, 253-54 (N.D. Ill. 1996) (finding that class
members had common and undivided interest in injunctive
relief because “[i]n this case only the class, and not the
individual class members, could request the injunctive
relief”). These courts have properly recognized that certain
class rights to injunctive relief can only be pursued as a class
and that the class members should be considered to have a
common and undivided interest in such relief.’

Still other courts have simply seen the non-aggregation
rule set forth in Zahn as inapplicable to valuing injunctive
relief. For example, in Justice v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa
Fe Railway Co., 927 F.2d 503 (10th Cir. 1991), the Tenth
Circuit acknowledged that the plaintiffs’ claims for
compensatory damages could not be aggregated, but affirmed
the district court’s ruling that the plaintiffs’ claims for
injunctive relief, measured with regard to the defendant’s
cost of compliance, satisfied the jurisdictional minimum and
were properly removed. /d. at 505. Likewise, in McCoy v.
Erie Insurance Co., 147 F. Supp. 2d 481 (S.D. W. Va. 2001),

* The approach taken by these courts finds support in decisions by
this Court, such as Gibbs v. Buck, 307 U.S. 66 (1939). In Gibbs, this
Court took a pragmatic approach in determining that the interest of
members of an association to “conduct their business though the medium
of the Society” represented “a common and undivided interest in the
matter in controversy in this class suit.” 307 U.S. at 73.

15

the court found that the “‘amount in controversy can be
satisfied by demonstrating that the injunctive relief would
require the defendant to alter his method of doing business
in such a manner that would cost at least the statutory
minimum.’” /d. at 492. The court in McCoy stated that it
“makes little sense” to “require[] that the amount in
controversy be satisfied even after the ‘inancial burden to
the defendant is apportioned to each plaintiff.” /d. at 494
n.14 (emphasis in original). See also Steinberg v. Nationwide
Mut. Ins. Co., 91 F. Supp. 2d 540, 544 (E.D.N.Y. 2000)
(in putative class action, valuing injunctive relief from
viewpoint of defendant).

The Ninth Circuit’s rule improperly makes it more
difficult for a class action to be tried in a federal forum. In
the instant case, the Ninth Circuit accepted as true the
contention that the cost of complying with the injunction
sought by plaintiffs in the present case would not materially
differ whether that injunction was entered with respect to a
single plaintiff or with respect to many plaintiffs (or indeed
the entire proposed class) and that even with respect to a
single plaintiff the cost of compliance would exceed the
jurisdictional amount. In such circumstances in an individual
litigation, it is clear that the jurisdictional amount is met.
Nothing in this Court’s decisions in Zahn or Snyder requires
that the result be different in a class action. Indeed, Zahn
and Snyder applied the same rule to class actions as is applied
in individual litigation and thus suggest that, contrary to the
Ninth Circuit, the same rules that apply to valuing injunctive
relief for purposes of determining the amount in controversy
in an individual case — not more restrictive rules — should
apply to class actions.

16

State Farm submits that where a proposed injunction would
require a defendant to change its business practices or methods
of operation or to take action with reference to the class as a
whole, the claim for injunctive relief should be treated as a
common and undivided claim. A rule that the defendant’s cost
of compliance with such an injunction should be included in
determining the amount in controversy best reflects the realities
both of the collective nature of the relief and the nature and
extent of the matter in controversy between the parties.

C. The Potential for Manipulation of the Value of
Injunctive Relief Is Exaggerated by the Ninth
Circuit and Does Not Justify the Resuli in This Case

The chief justification that the Ninth Circuit provides for
its rigid rule requiring that the value of injunctive relief must be
measured from the plaintiff’s viewpoint is that this rule would
prevent plaintiffs from manipulating claims for injunctive relief
in attempts to manufacture federal diversity jurisdiction.
See Ford, 264 F.3d at 960-61. The Ninth Circuit’s rule is not
necessary to achieve this objective. This objective may be best
accomplished through the application of established principles
of law developed in various contexts to identify sham requests
for injunctive relief. For example, when plaintiffs seek injunctive
relief that is essentially no more than money damages in
“injunctive garb,” the amount in controversy may be determined
as if only money damages were requested. Thus, in Campbell v.
General Motors Corp., the court treated a requested injunction
ordering “repair, replacement or refund” as constituting money
damages, stating that there is “no meaningful distinction between
money damages and in-kind replacement of a defective part.”
19 F. Supp. 2d 1260, 1267 (N.D. Ala. 1998); see also Amerada
Hess Corp. v. Department of Interior, 170 F.3d 1032 (10th Cir.
1999) (claim for injunction ordering refund was a suit for

17

damages); Elmco Props., Inc. v. Second Nat'l Fed. Sav. Ass'n,
94 F.3d 914, 919 n.1 (4th Cir. 1996) (claim for order requiring
refund was claim for monetary relief “‘dressed in injunctive
garb’”’) (citation omitted).*

Likewise, courts have discounted the value of the
injunctive relief sought where “[mJost of the class consists
of individuals who do not face further harm” from the
defendant’s challenged activities. Bolin v. Sears, Roebuck &
Co., 231 F.3d 970, 978 (Sth Cir. 2000).° In short, there is a
well developed set of legal principles that can effectively
prevent manipulation of the amount of controversy by means
of a sham claim for injunctive relief.

The potential for manipulation of the amount in
controversy through claims for injunctive relief is also limited
by the fact that plaintiffs nowadays frequently file class

* Accord Brazos v. Elec. Power Coop., Inc., 144 F.3d 784, 786
(Fed. Cir. 1998) (requested injunction to have defendant “correct
bookkeeping entry” was really claim for monetary damages of refund
or cancellation of debt); Jn re Cordis Corp. Pacemaker Prod. Liab.
Litig., No. MDL 850, C-3-86-543, 1992 WL 754061, at *8-9 (S.D.
Ohio Dec. 23, 1992) (claim for injunctive relief in the form of order
to replace allegedly defective pacemakers was “an attempt to cast a
claim for monetary damages as one for injunctive relief”); Motorola,
Inc. v. Perry, 917 F. Supp. 43, 46-47 (D.D.C. 1996) (claim for specific
performance was “correctly seen as a request for money damages;”
“artful pleading” by plaintiffs could not “convert{] a complaint for
monetary relief into a complaint for declaratory or injunctive relief”).

> Cf. McIntire v. Ford Motor Co., 142 F. Supp. 2d 911, 922
(S.D. Ohio 2001) (injunction ordering defendant not to misrepresent
that customers were required to participate in informal dispute
resolution before litigating warranty claims had no value to named
plaintiffs who had all already litigated warranty claims).

18

actions in state court. See, e.g., John H. Beisner & Jessica
Davidson Miller, They're Making a Federal Case Out of it

. in State Court, 25 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Policy 143, 145
(2002) (noting that “class action lawyers are bringing a large
number of cases in a small number of state courts that have
become ‘magnets’ for interstate class actions and that thus
exercise a wildly disproportionate role in adjudicating
national disputes”).° In cases filed in state court where
plaintiffs request injunctive relief, they obviously are not
attempting to manipulate the amount in controversy. In such
cases, the issue of how to value injunctive relief is raised
only if a diverse defendant removes to federal court.
Possibilities for manipulation are limited in such cases
because the plaintiffs, who are seeking to litigate in state
court, have not shaped their request for injunctive relief with
a view to obtaining federal jurisdiction.

In attempting to ensure that “small diversity suits” are
kept out of federal court, Ford, 264 F.3d at 961, the Ninth
Circuit has fashioned an inflexible rule that will improperly
deprive defendants of a federal forum in cases where
substantial amounts of money are at stake because of the
broad injunctive relief requested. Moreover, the Ninth Circuit
has inappropriately created a special rule for class actions
that makes it harder to establish that the jurisdictional amount
is satisfied than it is in individual litigation, where the Ninth

* For example, “in the courts of six small, rural Alabama
counties, at least ninety-one class actions were filed over two-year
period, often seeking relief on behalf of purported nationwide classes
concerning matters of national significance.” Beisner & Miller, 25
Harv. J.L. & Pub. Policy 146. The county court of Madison County,
Illinois (with a population of approximately 250,000) has experienced
a “disproportionately high volume of class actions filings,” with an
1850 percent increase of such filings in 2000. Jd. at 147.

19

Circuit permits injunctive relief to be valued from the
viewpoint of the defendant. See id. at 958. With this special
and inflexible rule for class actions, the Ninth Circuit has
achieved the perverse result that important national or multi-
state class actions, involving claims for injunctive relief that
may potentially affect the defendant’s ongoing manner of
doing business nationwide, are kept out of federal court.

Il. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling Is Counter to Strong Federal
Interests in Fostering and Protecting Interstate
Commerce

In its professed zeal to protect the federal courts from
small lawsuits, the Ninth Circuit has fashioned a rule that
ignores the realities of modern class action litigation and the
very real costs imposed upon defendants when injunctive
relief is granted. Moreover, the Ninth Circuit’s decision raises
acute federalism concerns, particularly with respect to multi-
state or nationwide class actions involving the heavily
regulated insurance industry.

Historically, federal “jurisdiction of controversies
between citizens of different States of the Union” served the
purpose of “secur[ing] a tribunal presumed to be more
impartial than a court of the state in which one litigant
resides.” Barrow S.S. Co. v. Kane, 170 U.S. 100, 111 (1898).’

? See also The Federalist No. 80, at 537-38 (Alexander
Hamilton) (“{I]n order to ensure the inviolable maintenance of that
equality of privileges and immunities to which the citizens of the
union will be entitled, the national judiciary ought to preside in all
cases in which one state or its citizens are opposed to another state
or its citizens. To secure the full effect of so fundamental a provision

against all evasion and subterfuge, it is necessary that its construction
(Cont’d)

20

See also Davis v. Carl Cannon Chevrolet-Olds, Inc., 182
F.3d 792, 797 (11th Cir. 1999) (“An important historical
justification for diversity jurisdiction is the reassurance of
fairness and competence that a federal court can supply to
an out-of-state defendant facing suit in state court”); Pease
v. Peck, 59 U.S. (18 Howe) 595, 599 (1856) (“The theory
upon which jurisdiction is conferred on the courts of the
United States, in controversies between citizens of different
States, has it foundation in the supposition that, possibly,
the State tribunal might not be impartial between their own
citizens and foreigners.”). As the Eleventh Circuit
acknowledged in Davis, that historical justification has not
vanished. See Davis, 182 F.3d at 797 (apologetically
remanding class action to “a state court system that has on
occasion produced gigantic awards against out-of-state
corporate defendants;” stating that “[o]ne would think that
this case is exactly what those who espouse the historical
justification for § 1332 would have had in mind, and that
this fact would somehow color the statute’s interpretation’’).*

(Cont'd)

should be committed to that tribunal which, having no local
attachments, will be likely to be impartial between the different states
and their citizens, and which, owing its official existence to the union,
will never be likely to feel any bias inauspicious to the principles on
which it is founded.”).

* See also Davis, 182 F.3d at 799 (Nangle, J., concurring “under
protest”) (noting that after remand, “[f]acing the possibility of an
Alabama jury which occasionally brings in ‘gigantic awards’ in cases
of this sort (as pointed out by the majority), defendants in this case
will be under extreme pressure to settle with the only potential
obstacle to settlement being plaintiffs’ attorneys fees;” “this Judge is
of the opinion that the present case law [on determining the amount
in controversy] does not adequately accommodate the reality of
modern class action litigation and settlements”) (footnote omitted).

— ——— ee

21

Indeed, as the Third Circuit has stated, “[f]rom a policy
standpoint, it can be argued that national (interstate) class
actions are the paradigm for federal diversity jurisdiction
because, in a constitutional sense, they implicate interstate
commerce, foreclose discrimination by a local state, and tend
to guard against any bias against interstate enterprises.”
In re Prudential Ins. Co. of Am. Sales Practices Litig., 148
F.3d 283, 305 (3d Cir. 1998).

In the case of multi-state or national class actions, federal
diversity jurisdiction also serves the federal interest in
regulating interstate commerce and in ensuring that one
state’s interests do not intrude on other states’ interests in
regulating conduct within their own borders. Indeed, the
issues presented by class action lawsuits against insurance
companies raise constitutional concerns fundamental to this
country’s federal system. When a single state court judge
adjudicates the claims of a nationwide class of policyholders,
there is substantial risk that the resulting judgment may
impinge upon the right of other states to regulate the business
of insurance within their borders, especially if the relief
ordered includes injunctive relief that will affect the
defendant insurer’s future operations. In such cases, diversity
jurisdiction’s “assurance to non-resident litigants of courts
free from susceptibility to potential local bias,” Guaranty
Trust Co. of N.Y., 326 U.S. at 111-12, not only protects the
individual litigant, but protects the federal system as well.

State Farm and many other automobile insurance
companies have been named as defendants in nationwide or
multi-state class actions in which plaintiffs’ claims for
injunctive relief threaten to impair the divergent interests of
different States in regulating insurance transactions within
their borders. For example, a number of insurance companies

22

are defendants in class actions seeking injunctive relief with
regard to claims for “diminished value” (i.e., claims that the
plaintiffs’ cars have a diminished value even after repairs
for collision damage). As the court in McCoy, 147 F. Supp.
2d at 493, acknowledged, the requested injunctive relief in
a “diminished value” case, if granted, would require
programmatic changes in a defendant insurance company’s
operations, necessitating, inter alia, substantial expenditures
for hiring and training additional employees, additional
computer support, and additional claims investigation.
Likewise, in Steinberg, 91 F. Supp. 2d at 544, a nationwide
class action regarding a defendant insurance company’s
specification of remanufactured parts to repair its insureds’
automobiles, the court recognized that the “economic impact”
on the defendant of the injunctive relief sought by the
plaintiffs would amount to millions of dollars annually.

The obligations of insurance companies with regard to
such issues are governed by the varying regulations and laws
of the different States. Thus, nationwide or multi-state
injunctive relief regarding such issues would not only impose
tremendous compliance costs, but would also threaten to
expose insurance companies to conflicting legal obligations.
Moreover, such sweeping injunctive relief would impair the
prerogative of each individual state, guaranteed by this
Nation’s federal constitutional system, to make its own
decisions with respect to the regulation of insurance with its
own borders.

Congress has made clear, through the McCarran-
Ferguson Act, that “the continued regulation ... by the
several States of the business of insurance is in the public
interest.” 15 U.S.C. § 1011 (emphasis added). Although the
McCarran-Ferguson Act is a limitation on federal interference

——— ee ——_

23

with the regulation of insurance by the individual states, it is
predicated on the principle that each state should regulate
insurance transactions within its borders and that no state
may regulate extraterritorially. As this Court has explained,

[i]t is clear [from the legislative history of the Act]
that Congress viewed state regulation of insurance
solely in terms of regulation by the law of the State
where the activity sought to be regulated occurred.
There is no indication of any thought that a State
could regulate activities carried on beyond its own
borders.

Federal Trade Comm'n v. Travelers Health Ass'n, 362 U.S.
293, 300 (1960) (emphasis added).

In Travelers, this Court found it unnecessary to consider
the constitutional limitation on one state’s efforts to regulate
out-of-state insurance transactions of a domiciliary company,
but indicated that “the impediments, contingencies, and
doubts which constitutional limitations might create” as to a
state’s “power to regulate any given aspect of extraterritorial
activity” confirmed its conclusion that Congress did not
intend to authorize such power. /d. at 302. Since 7ravelers,
however, this Court has repeatedly made clear in other
contexts that the principles of state sovereignty embodied in
various provisions of the Constitution prohibit states from
attempting to regulate transactions occurring outside their
borders. See, e.g., BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S.
559, 568-73 (1996) (Alabama could not impose punitive
damages for the purposes of forcing defendant to change its
practices in other states); Healy v. Beer Inst., Inc., 491 U.S.
324, 336 (1989) (Commerce Clause “precludes the
application of a state statute to commerce that takes place

24

wholly outside of the State’s borders”); Brown-Forman
Distillers Corp. v. New York State Liquor Auth., 476 U.S.
573, 582-83 (1986) (rejecting New York’s attempt to “project
its legislation” into other states); Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457
U.S. 624, 641-43 (1982) (plurality op.) (Illinois anti-takeover
statute impermissibly regulated transaction occurring entirely
outside of Illinois); Bigelow v. Virginia, 421 U.S. 809, 824
(1975) (“{a] State does not acquire power or supervision over
the internal affairs of another State merely because the
welfare and health of its own citizens may be affected when
they travel to that State”); see also New York Life Ins. Co. v.
Head, 234 U.S. 149, 161 (1914) (“[i]t would be impossible
to permit the statutes of Missouri to operate beyond the
jurisdiction of that State ... without throwing down the
constitutional barriers by which all the States are restricted
within the orbits of their lawful activity and upon which the
preservation of which the Government under the Constitution

depends.”’).

Recent studies of insurance-related class action lawsuits
filed in state court demonstrate the reality of these
constitutional concerns. As commentators noted recently with
respect to the numerous class action filings against insurance
companies in southern Illinois state courts, “(t]he willingness
of certain Illinois state courts to serve as free-roving insurance
commissioners and issue edicts that affect the way insurance
companies can do business in forty-nine other states may
explain why twenty-six class action lawsuits have been filed
in Madison County against insurance companies in the last
few years.” Beisner & Miller, supra, at 151. Thus, in one
purported nationwide class action brought in Madison County
against some twenty insurance companies, “[o]ne Madison
County judge could be single-handedly responsible for
dramatically increasing the price of automobile insurance for

a nap on

25

all Americans and adversely affecting the non-original
manufacturer automobile parts industry.” Jd. “The ability of
one locally elected judge to exercise that much power raises
serious federalism questions.” /d.

These constitutional concerns underscore the continuing
importance of diversity jurisdiction in insurance-related class
actions. Moreover, diversity jurisdiction has not decreased
in importance with regard to the role it plays in protecting
interstate commerce and the national economic system.
Rather, diversity jurisdiction has become more important as
more companies, such as State Farm, engage in commerce
nationwide, and as class action lawsuits more and more often
have a significant impact on companies’ business operations
nationwide. Indeed, as one scholar of the federal court system
theorized, the “real key” to the provision by the founders for
diversity jurisdiction was their optimistic vision of a future
of manufacture and trade within the United States on a vast
scale — a future economic order that would both be advanced
by the availability of fair federal tribunals and that would
have increasing need for such tribunals:

The real key to the diversity clause lies in the
optimism of the founders, an optimism which
escapes the label “fantastic” because the dreams so
often came true. The members of the Convention
did a great deal of anticipating, and on many subjects
besides diversity jurisdiction. They anticipated
manufacture and trade within the United States on
an unknown but vast scale. One of the principal
objects of the Convention was to open a path for
that expansion. .. . If the Founding Fathers could
anticipate the industrial and commercial revolution,

already beginning, they could anticipate some of the

26

obstacles to the success of the concomitant business
enterprise. The diversity clauses were based on that
dual anticipation more largely than on experience.

John P. Frank, Historical Bases of the Federal Judicial
System, 13 Law & Contemp. Probs. 3, 27 (1948).

The rule adopted by the Ninth Circuit bars defendant
companies from federal court in cases where broad injunctive
relief is sought that may have substantial monetary impact
not only upon the defendant’s business operations conducted
within the forum state but also upon business operations in
other states or nationwide. The Ninth Circuit’s ruling
relegating such cases to state court disserves the significant
federal constitutional interest in adjudicating such cases and
should be overturned.

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, amicus curiae State Farm
respectfully submits that the judgment of the Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit in this case should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

SHEILA L. BirnBAUM
Counsel of Record

DoucGias W. DUNHAM

ELLeNn P. QUACKENBOS
SKADDEN, Arps, SLATE,
MEAGHER & FLom LLP
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Four Times Square

New York, NY 10036

(212) 735-3000

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0531%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
