# Petitioners Brief — Barnhart v. Peabody Coal Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0523%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 149

## Text

”
4 —
t

No. 01-705, 01-715 [ Sepreme Cont US.
ILED

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited StatesPR 8 2m

OFFICE OF THE. CLERK

JO ANNE B. BARNHART, Commissioner of Social Security, Se
Petitioner,

V.
PEABODY COAL COMPANY, ef ai.

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, et a/., as Trustees of the United

Mine Workers of America Combined Benefit Fund,
Petitioners,

V.
BELLAIRE CORPORATION, ef al.

On Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS THE TRUSTEES OF THE
UMWA COMBINED BENEFIT FUND

JOHN R. MOONEY PETER BUSCEMI
ELIZABETH A. SAINDON Counsel of Record
MOONEY, GREEN, BAKER, & ANNE BRAFFORD
SAINDON, P.C. MORGAN, LEWIS &
1920 L Street, N.W., Suite 400 BOCKIUS LLP
Washington, D.C. 20036 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
(202) 783-0010 Washington, D.C. 20036

DAVID W. ALLEN (202) 739-5190

JONATHAN SOKOLOW

Office of the General Counsel
UMWA HEALTH &
RETIREMENT FUNDS

2121 K Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 521-2220

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

® ER 60

QUESTION PRESENTED

In the Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of
1992, 26 U.S.C. §§ 9701-9722 and 30 U.S.C. § 1232(h),
Congress directed the Social Security Administration to
assign each of the retired coal miners and their dependents
who are beneficiaries of the United Mine Workers of
America Combined Benefit Fund to a specific coal operator
or related company in accordance with the statutory criteria
set forth in Section 9706. The Act provided that the
beneficiary assignments “shall” be made before October 1,
1993. SSA completed most, but not all, of the initial
assignments by that date.

The question presented is whether SSA retained
authority to make initial assignments of Combined Fund
beneficiaries after September 30, 1993.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

In addition to the parties named in the caption, the
following persons were parties in the court of appeals: Larry
G. Massanari, Acting Commissioner of Social Security;
William P. Hobgood, Marty D. Hudson, Thomas O.S. Rand,
Elliot A. Segal, Carl E. Van Horn, and Gail R. Wilensky, as
Trustees of the United Mine Workers of America Combined
Benefit Fund; and Eastern Associated Coal Company,
NACCO Industries, Inc., and North American Coal

Corporation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Teen csesonavsnens i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ...0........cccccccccccscesceeeeeee il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ............0.cc.cccccccsccoccecccceececceceeees Vv
a ssssususnanncvonis l
EE 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ...0.0......00ccccc0000. 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..............cscsccsccscssscossscercecceses 2
I. HISTORY OF THE COAL ACT ou0.......cccccccccccseeeeeees 5
Il. STRUCTURE OF THE COAL ACT .0.......0cccccccc00e 10
A. Eligibility For Benefits And Liability
EE ae 10
B. The Coal Act’s Timetable And Interim
ae il
C. Funding Benefits For “Orphans”................. 13
D. Obstacles to SSA’s Assignment
tate entree resenenninencnassenezeseocs 15
Ill. PROCEEDINGS BELOW ...00.........ccccccscsssseesssseeeen 16
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ....0..0......cccccccccceeeeeeeees 19
iia cccercceecercetsecenetcecesscsszcocecneces 23
1. THE DECISIONS BELOW CONFLICT
WITH THIS COURT’S PRECEDENTS
REGARDING THE EFFECT OF A
GOVERNMENT AGENCY’S NON-
COMPLIANCE WITH A STATUTORY
TT tncsnncncnennmennnnnncnnncons 23

Il.

Il.

IV.

NOTHING IN THE COAL ACT REFLECTS
A CONGRESSIONAL INTENT THAT SSA
LOSE JURISDICTION TO MAKE INITIAL
ASSIGNMENTS ON OCTOBER 1, 1993
AND THAT BENEFICIARIES NOT YET
ASSIGNED ON THAT DATE BE
DESIGNATED AS FOREVER

UNASSIGNED. ............scssssecsessseesseeesseecssseesnseneenes

OTHER INDICIA OF CONGRESSIONAL
INTENT CONFIRM THAT SSA RETAINED
AUTHORITY TO MAKE ORIGINAL
ASSIGNMENTS AFTER THE

STATUTORY DATE ..........:scccssccesssesesenereenersenenes

DEFERENCE IS DUE TO _ SSA’S
INTERPRETATION OF “UNASSIGNED
BENEFICIARIES” TO INCLUDE ONLY

COMBINED FUND ORPHANS ..............:::00000000

.. 30

CONCLUSION. .......20cccessccssscsssssesssscsserssnseseseresssossssnsssnees 50

iv

A LN LE,” A I NE

~ ~e

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Anderson v. Yungkau,
| ____ T RE e e a e 27
Association of Bituminous Contractors, Inc. v.
Apfel, 156 F.3d 1246 (D.C. Cir. 1998) .......0....0.0... 48
Barnhart v. Sigmon Coal Co., Inc.,
534U.S.__, 122 S. Ct. 941 (2002)... passim
Bellaire Corp. v. Shalala,
995 F. Supp. 125 (D.D.C. 1997) oo... ececcceceeeseeees 3,4
Brock v. Pierce County,
a AIT csesiitisiniensietictiigninnieiensiiiniatandi passim
Brotherhood of Ry. Carmen Div., Transp.
Communications Intern. Union v. Pena,
PK ee 27
Brown v. Duchesne,
es HEE etininniietcitiinceninetisaintcisiciimenaiinainitiains 26
Brown v. Gardner,
8 ETE 34,36,41
Chevron v. Natural Resources Defense Council,
a ee ET cneinntepennsientondnmnniernemvedmsmenien 31,48
Comm 'r of Internal Revenue v. Lundy,
ee ee etarttcnnnccnnnntnnnenenenemennens 36
Davis v. Michigan Dep't of Treasury,
a IE easiesdntreiniceaennniensncnenienesenneses 31
Department of Commerce v. United States House
of Representatives, 525 U.S. 316 (1999)................ 5-6
Dixie Fuel Co. v. Commissioner of Social Security,
171 F.3d 1052 (6th Cir. 1999) 000... ee eeeeceees passim
Dixie Fuel Co. v. Callahan,
Civ. No. 97-373 (E.D. Ky. Jan. 7, 1999)... 18
Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel,
ee UI ceseetcvinintinercinnsnasianitesiumneiiinntnanines passim

Edelman v. Lynchburg College,

122 S. Ct. 1145 (2002) ..........ccecesserreeeereenesesernssersees 34
Edwards v. Aguillard,

482 U.S. 578 (1987) .........cccccccssssceerseereseesesesessees 6,33
Fort Worth Nat'l Corp. v. FSLIC,

469 F.2d 47 (Sth Cir. 1972)........cccccsceeseeereeereneennnees 26
French v. Edwards,

80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 506 (1871)..........cccceeeeeeeees 25,26
General Motors Corp. v. United States,

496 U.S. $30 (1990) .........ccccsccssrscerrerersceresssseens 25,37
Gottlieb v. Pena,

41 F.3d 730 (D.C. Cir. 1994) ......ccccccceeeeeeeeeneeeens 27,37
Hendrickson v. FDIC,

113 F.3d 98 (7th Cir. 1997) ........ccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeees iia
Hewitt v. Helms,

459 U.S. 460 (1983) .........c.cccsssssseerseereseesseseesnesnnees 27

Holland v. Pardee Coal Co., Inc., |
269 F.3d 424 (4th Cir. 2001), cert. pending,

No. 01-1366 (docketed Mar. 18, 2002)............ passim
Idaho Farm Bureau Fed'n v. Babbitt,
58 F.3d 1392 (9th Cir. 1996)..........ccccccceereeeeeeeennenens 26

In re Blue Diamond Coal Co. (Blue Diamond Coal
Co. v. Shalala), 79 F.3d 516 (6th Cir. 1996),

cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1055 (1997) .......ccceeeeeeeeeeees 5
In re Siggers,

132 F.3d 333 (6th Cir. 1997).........:ccccccceeeeeeeeneens 25,26
Kelso v. United States Dep't of State,

13 F. Supp. 2d 12 (D.D.C. 1998) .......c.ccccceceeeeeeeeens 24
King v. St. Vincent's Hosp.,

$02 U.S. 215 (1991) ........ccccscccsssecerscessesensssesessrsreess 32
Kinion v. United States,

8 F.3d 639 (8th Cir. 1993).........cccccccceeeeereeenenereeeeeees 26
Lindsey Coal Mining Co. v. Chater,

90 F.3d 688 (3d Cir. 1996) ...........cccccccceeeeeeeeeeeneneeenees 5

vi

Marshall Durbin Food Corp. v. I.C.C.,

DID F.2B DUS (LIGs Cle. 19BB) ...ccccecscccccccscesecscsceses 27
McNary v. Haitian Refugee Center, Inc.,

eee 27
NationsBank of N.C. v. Variable Annuity

Life Ins. Co., 513 U.S. 251 (1995) ......cccccccccceseesesees 48
Oy v. United States,

BS Fee SO Oe Ce BOD accccrccccccccncccrsccsccsccoseece 32
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. LTV Corp.,

| ___ EETSISNSNE a ee ee 48
Regions Hospital v. Shalala,

I iia atiacaeel 25,30
Shell Oil Co. v. lowa Dep't of Revenue,

I i i 32
Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v. United

States Dist. Court,482 U.S. 522 (1987)......ccccccccc000. 27
Southwestern Pa. Growth Alliance v. Browner,

Re ee PS BO Rcccccctcccsccccncnescsnesccssens 26
St. Regis Mohawk Tribe v. Brock,
769 F.2d 37 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied,

ee 30
Twin Pines Coal Co. v. United States Dep't of Labor,

854 F.2d 1212 (10th Cir. 1988)............cccccccceseeseeees 26
United States v. Boccanfuso,

882 F.2d 666 (2d Cir. 1989) ...........ccccccccssesseeeeseeeees 26
United States v. General Motors Corp.,

876 F.2d 1060 (Ist Cir. 1989) .00.........ccccccccceseeseeeeees 26
United States v. James Daniel Good Real Property,

I ae passim
United States v. Mead Corp.,

EERE none 48
United States v. Monsanto,

Seren naee ene 27
United States v. Montalvo-Murillo,

eee 19,25,45

Vii

United States v. Nashville, C. & L. Ry. Co.,

81GB UB. 19O UGB) ..eccccccrccccccoresecsscccesccccscscsscees 20,26
Unity Real Estate Co. v. Holland,

178 F.3d 649 (3d Cir. 1999), cert. denied,

$2B U.S. 963 (1999) ....ccroccrrerssscorscosscresveveesressssvrereees 5
University of Texas v. Camenisch,

451 U.S. 390 (IDB) ...crccrcsssccsecccvcrerssvcceessveeeeseesee9 18
Young v. United States,

535 U.S. _, 122 S. Ct. 1036 (2002) .......cececeeeeeees 27

STATUTES

11 Fed. Reg. 5593 (1946)...........s:ssssesssressersensnessessenssnesseseens 6
20 C.F.R. §§ 422.601 -607 0.0... cccccscesseescerseesseeeeeeeeneeneeenees 38
20 C.F.R. § 422.606(f) ..........scsssscssosscsssseserseersensssessessssoees 38
20 C.F.R. § 422.607 .........sccccsrcssosscssosrcsersserssennrssssersssesosonss 38
2B U.S.C. © DTOL ..crccccccsccscccsccserscossvscesccesconcessssnsoonseosses passim
BB UBC. § DFE .crcvccrcccccerreccccesscsccvesscscssscssessesssensosoes 3,12,36
BB UB.’ ~. 6 DIED .nccccccccecveccsecsecssccsioscccscoscesesesssoseossensssves 10,12
26 U.S.C. § 9706 ......ccssrcssrscsrsrossserorcsssseeeserreressrssrsseseees passim
26 U.S.C. § DIOS ..ncsrccrorscrrccrercressvesccsvoveecsesseseevsesssesees passim
26 U.S.C. § 9706 .......ccsresesrcersreescsroresscrseessrersenssssessecees passim
2B U.S.C. § 1254 ..crccsrccrrserscscssrerscecscsssesesceccscrsesessvesosossessessees 2
2B U.S.C. § 1292 ...scsccerrsrreereescercsscesseccscrsersesserensseeseessessoons 18
29 U.S.C. § 1002(1)........eorcsrsssscsrcsssserosessresersesesenssssesssssoeoes : 3
FO U.BA.C. § 1Z3E ...crccccccrccccscrecesscrsecsessceccssossssessesssosesses passim
Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of 1992,

26 U.S.C. §§ 9701 - 9722... ccecccesseeeeeereeeenees passim
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,

2D UBC. © 10GB ..ccccrcccccevcsccccrsersserseccsesveescesveeseoesoees 3
Energy Policy Act of 1992,

Pub. L. No. 102-486, 106 Stat. 2776, 3036-56 ....... 10
Labor Management Relations Act,

2D UBC. © 1BG cccccccscceecesercccssccccovcesscseccesssssesessvocenes 3
Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977,

3O U.S.C. $6 12310-1233 .......rccrcorcrorerrecerresrsssesseees 13

Viil

meek

Supplemental Appropriations Act of 1993,
Pub. L. No. 103-50, 1993 U.S.C.C.A.N

SEE are 15,44
OTHER AUTHORITIES

I ee 9

138 Cong. Rec. 20,118 (1992) ..........ccccccccccsessreeseeees 43,44,45

138 Cong. Rec. 20,120 (1992) ........ccccccssccscesssesseseeeeees 11,44

138 Cong. Rec. 34,001-04 (1992) ooocccccccccccccsseeneen passim

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS, 103D CONG.,
Ist SEsS., FINANCING UMWA COAL MINER
“ORPHAN RETIREE” HEALTH BENEFITS (Comm.
nee meee Oe passim

CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH SERVICE REPORT FOR
CONGRESS, 102D CONG. 2D _ SEsS., COAL
INDUSTRY: USE OF ABANDONED MINE
RECLAMATION FUND MOoNigS FoR UMWA
“ORPHAN RETIREE” HEALTH BENEFITS,
reprinted in 138 Cong. Rec. 34,004-11 (1992) passim

THE SECRETARY OF LABOR’S ADVISORY COMMISSION ON
UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA RETIREE
HEALTH BENEFITS, COAL COMMISSION REPORT: A
REPORT TO THE SECRETARY OF LABOR AND THE

AMERICAN PEOPLE (1990) ...........:::csccssseseeeeeeees passim
NORMAN J. SINGER, SUTHERLAND ON STATUTES AND
STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION
| EES eee 25-26, 32
ix

2 eet 0 EEO

In the Supreme Court of the United States

No. 01-705

JO ANNE B. BARNHART, Commissioner of Social Security,
Petitioner,

V.

PEABODY COAL COMPANY, et ai.

No. 01-715

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, et al., as Trustees of the United
Mine Workers of America Combined Benefit Fund,
Petitioners,

V.

BELLAIRE CORPORATION, et al.

On Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS THE TRUSTEES OF THE
UMWA COMBINED BENEFIT FUND

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the court of appeals (01-705 Pet.
App. la-4a) are not officially reported. The opinion and
order of the district court in Bellaire (id. at 14a—25a) are not
.eported. The order of the district court in Peabody (id. at
7a—8a) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgments of the court of appeals were entered
on June 21, 2001 in Peabody and June 22, 2001 in Bellaire.
On September 10, 2001, Justice Stevens extended the time
within which the Trustees could file a petition for a writ of
certiorari in Bellaire to and including October 22, 2001. On
September 12, 2001, Justice Stevens extended the time
within which the Commissioner could file a petition for a
writ of certiorari to and including October 19, 2001 in
Peabody and October 20, 2001 in Bellaire. On October 10,
2001 Justice Stevens further extended the Commissioner’s
time for petitioning to and including November 18, 2001 in
Peabody and November 19, 2001 in Bellaire. On October
15, 2001, Justice Stevens further extended the Trustees’ time
for petitioning in Bellaire to and including November 19,
2001. The Commissioner’s petition in the two cases, and the
Trustees’ petition in Bellaire, were filed on November 19,
2001 (a Monday). The petitions were granted and the cases
consolidated on January 22, 2002. This Court’s jurisdiction

rests on 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case concerns the Coal Industry Retiree Health
Benefit Act of 1992 (the “Coal Act”), 26 U.S.C. §§ 9701-
9722 and 30 U.S.C. § 1232(h), which is reproduced in 01-
715 Pet. App. 16a-51a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Coal Act established a statutory system for
providing retiree health benefits to more than 100,000
beneficiaries, including retirea coal miners represented by the
United Mine Workers of America (““UMWA”) and their
survivors and dependents. Petitioners in No. 01-715 are the
Trustees of the United Mine Workers of America Combined
Benefit Fund (“Combined Fund”), which is one of two
statutory trust funds created under the Coal Act. See 26

2

U.S.C. § 9702(a). The Combined Fund is a multiemployer
employee welfare benefit plan within the meaning of the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
(“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1), (37), and an employee trust
fund within the meaning of the Labor Management Relations
Act, 29 U.S.C. § 186(c)(5).

Section 9706(a) of the Coal Act provides that the
Social Security Administration (“SSA”), using a statutory set
of priorities, “shall, before October 1, 1993” assign each
Combined Fund beneficiary to a specific coal operator that
had signed a “coal wage agreement” (or to a “related person”
of such a signatory). 26 U.S.C. § 9706(a). SSA assigned
certain Combined Fund beneficiaries to respondent Bellaire
Corporation (“Bellaire”), and as a result Bellaire became
liable to pay annual health care premiums to the Combined
Fund to finance the health care of the assigned beneficiaries.
26 U.S.C. § 9704(a). Respondents NACCO Industries, Inc.
and North American Coal Corp., two companies that are
“related” to Bellaire under the statutory definition in 26
U.S.C. § 9701(c)(2)(A), are jointly and severally liable for
Bellaire’s premiums. See 26 U.S.C. § 9704(a).

Almost immediately after enactment of the Coal Act,
Bellaire challenged the constitutionality of the statute as
applied to Bellaire and its related persons. Bellaire Corp. v.
Shalala, 995 F. Supp. 125 (D.D.C. 1997) (complaint filed
Jan. 29, 1993). Bellaire argued that Congress committed an
unconstitutional taking or acted arbitrarily and irrationally in
violation of due process by requiring it to pay annual
premiums to finance health benefits for Bellaire’s former
employees and their eligible dependents.

Before enactment of the Coal Act, Bellaire’s
participation in the collectively bargained UMWA
multiemployer health care system spanned at least four
decades. During this period, Bellaire was a signatory to,
among other agreements, the National Bituminous Coal

3

Wage Agreements of 1974, 1978, 1981, and 1984. /d. at
130. Each of these collective bargaining agreements,
discussed in more detail below, explicitly referred to lifetime
retiree health benefits and the retention of a health services
card until death. Moreover, beginning in 1978, each
NBCWA obligated signatory coal operators to continue
making contributions to the relevant trust funds for as long as
the NBCWAs required, regardless of whether the operators
actually signed any subsequent NBCWA. Id. at 128.
Bellaire nevertheless ceased contributions to the UMWA
trust funds and discontinued its individual employer health
plan. Jd. at 131. Bellaire thus left its post-1975 retirees to
receive health coverage from a multiemployer system to
which Bellaire no longer contributed.

Having participated in creating coal miners’
legitimate expectations of lifetime health benefits and in
bringing about the funding crisis that afflicted the UMWA
Funds before enactment of the Coal Act, Bellaire was in a
poor position to challenge the validity of Congress’s
remedial legislation. Bellaire’s constitutional attack failed,

and it sought no further review.

Now, in this action, Bellaire seeks to reduce
substantially its liability under the Coal Act. It argues that
SSA lacked authority to make any initial assignments of
Combined Fund beneficiaries after September 30, 1993, and
that, therefore, SSA’s assignments of 270 Combined F und
beneficiaries to Bellaire after that date were automatically
invalid. Relying on the court of appeals’ prior ruling in Dixie

1/ Some coal operators executed so-called “me too” agreements
with the UMWA in which they agreed to abide by the terms of the
NBCWA. Bellaire, 995 F. Supp. 128 n.2. Bellaire was a “me too”
signatory to the 1981 and 1984 NBCWAs and signed two extension
agreements that obligated it to provide health benefits to its own retirees

until January 20, 1990. /d. at 130.

— se ~
; ‘ Sige sees R96; ae Se a Free aad RES
pe ag EAD Le ae Bae tee RE arate %
” Ne . a i > i f + ape > x =
ee 7 oo ve <*35>*

Fuel Co. v. Commissioner of Social Security, 171 F.3d 1052
(6th Cir. 1999), the district court ruled in Bellaire’s favor and
entered final judgment on this count of the complaint. 01-
715 Pet. App. 3a-l4a. SSA and the Trustees of the
Combined Fund, recognizing that Dixie Fuel would bind a
subsequent panel in the Sixth Circuit, asked the court of
appeals to hear their appeal en banc. The court of appeals
denied the request, and a subsequent panel affirmed the
raage court’s decision on the basis of Dixie Fuel. Id. at 1a —
a, 15a.

I. HISTORY OF THE COAL ACT

The history of the events leading to enactment of the
Coal Act has been reviewed at length by various courts
including this Court. Barnhart v. Sigmon Coal Co., Inc., 534
U.S. __, 122 S. Ct. 941, 946-48 (2002); Eastern Enterprises
v. Apfel, 524 U.S. 498, 504-11 (1998) (plurality opinion);”
Holland v. Pardee Coal Co., 269 F.3d 424, 427-29 (4th Cir.
2001), cert. pending, No. 01-1366 (docketed Mar. 18, 2002);
Unity Real Estate Co. v. Holland, 178 F.3d 649, 653-54 (3d
Cir.), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 963 (1999); In re Blue Diamond
Coal Co. (Blue Diamond Coal Co. v. Shalala), 79 F.3d 516
(6° Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1055 (1997); Lindsey
Coal Mining Co. v. Chater, 90 F.3d 688 (3d Cir. 1996); see
also Report of the Secretary of Labor’s Advisory
Commission on United Mine Workers of America Retiree
Health Benefits (Nov. 5, 1990) (“Coal Comm'n Report”
Accordingly, we summarize here only briefly the relevant

factual background and the essential features of
the C
related to Bellaire’s liability.” o Coal Act

2/ Unless otherwise indicated, subse itati
1» to phuality eotaien, ubsequent citations to Eastern refer

3/ See Department of Commerce v. United S
tates House o
Representatives, 525 U.S. 316, 335 (1999) (understanding aes

5

The coal industry and health care for retired coal
miners have been subject to extensive government
intervention and regulation for more than 50 years. In 1946,
a breakdown in negotiations between the UMWA and coal
companies about medical services for miners prompted a
nationwide strike. Eastern, 524 U.S. at 504-05. The federal
government declared a national emergency, seized the
nation’s coal mines, and conducted its own negotiations with
the UMWA in an effort to resolve the dispute. /d.; 11 Fed.
Reg. 5593 (1946). The negotiations produced the historic
Krug-Lewis Agreement between the federal government and
the UMWA that ended the strike and created the UMWA
Health and Retirement Funds.” Since then, retiree health
benefits have been provided through a_ series of
multiemployer health plan trust funds (the “UMWA Plans”)
that have been developed through successive collective
bargaining agreements known as National Bituminous Coal
Wage Agreements (“NBCWAs”). Coal Comm'n Report at
20-29; Eastern, 524 U.S. at 505-11. The UMWA and the
Bituminous Coal Operators’ Association, Inc. (“BCOA”)
have negotiated these agreements since 1951. /d. at 506.

Beginning in 1947, the NBCWAs provided for the
funding of health benefits for retirees through levies assessed
against the coal operators and paid into the UMWA Plans on
the basis of the amount of coal mined or the number of
covered hours worked. Eastern, 524 U.S. at 505; Pardee,
269 F.3d at 427. By their nature as multiemployer trusts, the
UMWA Plans continued to provide benefits to eligible
retirees even if the retirees’ former employers went out of

historical background “is essential to a proper interpretation of the Act’s
present text”); Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 595 (1987) (Court
considers historical context and the specific sequence of events leading to
statute’s enactment).

4/ Eastern, 524 U.S. at 505; Coal Comm'n Report at 5-20.

6

business or otherwise stopped paying into the Plans. Pardee,
269 F.3d at 427; Eastern, 524 U.S. at 511. The participating
coal operators that remained financed the benefits of these
so-called “orphan” retirees.” The 1974 NBCWA referred
expressly to retiree health benefits and provided that retired
miners would retain a health services card until their death.
The provision of lifetime health benefits and the extension of
benefits for surviving spouses combined with various other
circumstances, including the retirement of a generation of
miners and rapid escalation of health care costs, to create
financial problems for the UMWA Plans. /d. at 509-10:
Pardee, 269 F.3d at 427-28. To protect the Plans’ solvency,
the 1978 NBCWA included a “guarantee” clause obligating
signatories to make sufficient contributions to maintain
benefits during the term of the agreement. Eastern, 524 U.S.
at 510-11. The 1978 agreement also introduced the so-called
evergreen” clause, which required signatories to continue
contributing to the UMWA Plans as long as they remained in
the coal business, regardless of whether they Signed a
— NBCWA. /d. at 509-10; Bellaire, 995 F. Supp. at

Despite the 1978 changes, by the late 1980s, the
UMWA Plans were in financial trouble. Eastern, 524 U.S. at
S11. As health care costs increased, coal operators exited the
coal industry in increasing numbers and “dumped” their
retirees into the UMWA Plans, where their benefits would be
funded by those operators still mining coal.” As the number

5/ Pardee, 269 F.3d at 427; Sigmon, 122 S. Ct. at 947 n.4 (“term
orphan retirees’ encompassed both ‘true orphans,’ whose former
employers were no longer in business and ‘reachback orphans’ whose
former employers were still in business but no longer signatories to a coal
wage agreement”).

&/ Eastern, 524 U.S. at 510-11; Coal Comm'n Report at 75
(statement of Vice Chairman Perritt) (employers have been allowed to

5

of coal operators contributing to the UMWA Plans dwindled,
fewer and fewer operators remained to carry the burden of
rapidly rising health care costs, not only for their own retirees
but also for thousands of retirees with whom none of the
remaining contributing operators had ever had any
employment relationship” As a result, the continued
viability of the UMWA multiemployer health care system
was cast into serious doubt.

This furdim:, crisis for orphan retirees culminated in
1989, when the UMWA led a ten-month strike against the
Pittston Coal Company, a major coal producer that refused to
sign the 1988 NBCWA. Eastern, 524 U.S. at 511, Pardee,
269 F.3d at 428. The dispute was not resolved until
Secretary of Labor Dole intervened. As part of the
settlement, the Secretary established the Coal Commission to
study the retiree health care crisis and to recommend “a
solution for ensuring the orphan retirees in the [UMWA
Plans] will continue to receive promised medical care.” Coal
Comm'n Report at 2; Pardee, 269 F.3d at 428. The Coal
Commission observed that coal miners had, in their labor
negotiations, “traded lower pensions over the years for better
health care benefits,” and thus were entitled to received the
promised benefits. Coal Comm'n Report, Exec. Summary at
vii; Eastern, 524 U.S. at 511-12.. On November 5, 1990, the

dump their retiree health benefit obligations on the existing health care
funds and to evade contribution obligations).

7/ See Eastern, 524 U.S. at 510-11; HouSE COMMITTEE ON WAYS
AND MEANS, 103D CONG., 1ST SESS., FINANCING UMWA COAL MINERS
“ORPHAN RETIREE” HEALTH BENEFITS (Comm. Print 1993) [hereinafter
“Financing Orphan Retirees") at 25 (BCOA employers complained that
for every $1 they paid into the Fund for their own retirees, they were
paying an additional $3 for other companies’ retirees); Coal Comm'n
Report, Exec. Summary at vii (“Signatory coal operators who are still in
the coal business are willing to pay the fair cost of their retirees, but are
increasingly unwilling to shoulder the burden of paying for orphans”).

ee ae gg

Coal Commission issued its Report recommending that “a
statutory obligation to contribute to the plans should be
imposed on current and former signatories to the
[NBCWAs].” Coal Comm'n Report, Exec. Summary at vii.

Recognizing that health benefits for more than
100,000 beneficiaries were in jeopardy and that many of the
beneficiaries were retired miners and dependents whose
former employers were no longer in business, Con
undertook its own intensive examination of the crisis.” In
March 1992, Congress passed an earlier version of the Coal
Act, which funded health care for orphan retirees through a
controversial industry-wide tax on future coal production.”
This version was passed as part of more extensive tax
legislation, which President Bush vetoed. Sigmon, 122 S. Ct.
at 948 n.6. The expiration of the 1988 NBCWA, scheduled
for February 1993, loomed on the horizon, and members of
Congress continued to push for legislation.”

After much negotiation, the final version of the bill
provided that only companies that were signatory to one or
more coal wage agreements would be required to help

8/ Sigmon, 122 S. Ct. at 947; Financing Orphan Retirees at 25.

9/ Eastern, 524 U.S. at 513; see 138 Cong. Rec. 5,325-35 (1992)
(Senate debate on industry-wide tax to finance orphan health care).

10/ Sigmon, 122 S. Ct. at 948 n.6; 138 Cong. Rec. 5,333 (1992)
(remarks of Sen. Rockefeller) (crisis created by approaching expiration of
the 1988 agreement which threatened to leave thousands of orphan
retirees with no benefits); id. at 34,005 (reproducing submission by
Senator Wallop, CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH SERVICE REPORT FOR
CONGRESS, 102D CONG. 2D SEss., Coat INDUSTRY: USE OF
ABANDONED MINE RECLAMATION FUND MONIES FoR UMWA “ORPHAN
RETIREE” HEALTH BENEFITS (1992) [hereinafter “CRS Report”) (coal
industry faced imminent time deadline to find solution for funding orphan
retirees because 1988 Agreement was scheduled to expire and failure to
resolve the issue could have led to a strike by miners or refusal by coal
companies to fund benefits).

finance retiree health care for the beneficiaries of the UMWA
Plans. Sigmon, 122 S. Ct. at 948 n.6. The Coal Act in its
final form was enacted on October 24, 1992, as part of the
Energy Policy Act of 1992, Pub. L. No. 102-486, 106 Stat.
2776, 3036-56. The statute placed a strong emphasis on
“identifying the former signatory employer of each
beneficiary.” Financing Orphan Retirees at 51. Within the
Coal Act itself, Congress explicitly found that:

it is necessary to modify the private health care
benefit plan structure for retirees in the coal industry
to identify persons most responsible for plan
liabilities in order to stabilize plan funding and allow
for the provision of health care benefits to such

retirees.

26 U.S.C. § 9701 (historical note). Congress further stated
(id.) that the policy of the Coal Act was:

to remedy problems with the provision and funding of
health care benefits with respect to the beneficiaries
of multiemployer benefit plans that provide health
care benefits to retirees in the coal industry . . . [and]
to provide for the continuation of a privately financed
self-sufficient program for the delivery of health care
benefits to the beneficiaries of such plans.

Il. STRUCTURE OF THE COAL ACT

A. Eligibility For Benefits And Liability
Structure

Persons are eligible for benefits from the Combined
Fund if, as of July 20, 1992, they were eligible to receive,
and were receiving, benefits from either of the two then-
existing collectively bargained UMWA health care plans—
the UMWA 1950 Benefit Plan and the UMWA 1974 Benefit
Plan. 26 U.S.C. § 9703(f). The beneficiary population of the
Combined Fund is thus closed, and the number of
beneficiaries will gradually decline. Financing Orphan

10

pee TEES ¢ FEN

Retirees at 66. Indeed, during the current Combined Fund
plan year, the number of remaining beneficiaries is only
around half of the approximately 108,000 with which the
Combined Fund began operations in February 1993.

To finance the Combined Fund, Congress
apportioned liability to coal operators on a “pay for your
own” basis. Pardee, 269'F.3d at 428. This principle is
codified at Section 9706(a) of the Coal Act, which directs
SSA to assign Combined Fund beneficiaries to signatory
operators (and “related persons” of such operators) according
to a statutorily prescribed system of priorities. 26 U.S.C. §
9706(a). Under this funding system, coal operators, like
Bellaire, that previously had agreed to contribute to the
UMWA Plans pursuant to the terms of their collective
bargaining agreements are required to pay for the care of
their own former employees and their dependents. This
liability scheme reflects Congress’ determination that all coal
operators, including Bellaire, that had employed the retirees
in question, “and thereby benefited from their services,
[should] be assigned responsibility for providing the health
care benefits promised in their various collective bargaining
agreements.” 138 Cong. Rec. 34,001 (1992).

B. The Coal Act’s Timetable And Interim
Funding Scheme

Congress outlined a timetable for implementin

. g the
Coal Act’s funding scheme. It directed that the UMWA
1950 Benefit Plan and the UMWA 1974 Benefit Plan be
merged into the Combined Fund as of February 1, 1993 (the

Ll/ See also 138 Cong. Rec. 20,120 (1992) (remarks of Sena
Ford) (Coal Act “close[s] the new orphan eee on “allocate[s] ~—
according to the principle that those most responsible should bear the
greatest portion of costs”); id. at 34,001 (proposed Senate Conference
Report) (Coal Act is “designed to allocate the greatest number of
beneficiaries in the Plans to a prior responsible operator”).

11

termination date of the 1988 NBCWA). 26 U.S.C. §
9702(a)(2). The Combined Fund began at that time to
provide health and death benefits to surviving coal industry
retirees and their dependents. 26 U.S.C. § 9703(b)(4).
Under the statute, the Combined Fund’s first “plan year” was
the eight-month period from February | to September 30,
1993. 26 U.S.C. § 9702(c). Each succeeding plan year
begins on October 1 and ends on the following September
30. Id.

Congress provided an interim funding mechanism for
the Combined Fund’s first plan year, while SSA performed
the daunting task of assigning each of the Combined Fund’s
beneficiaries to a specific former employer or related person.
Under Sections 9704(i) and 9705(a) of the statute, benefits
for the first plan year were to be funded through a
combination of $70 million transfer from the UMWA 1950
Pension Plan and interim contributions from the 1988
NBCWA signatories apportioned on the basis of the amounts
of their payments to the 1950 and 1974 Benefit Plans during
the term of the 1988 agreement. Once the actual health care
premiums for the Combined Fund’s first and second plan
years were determined and assessed, the 1988 agreement
operators were then entitled to a credit against those
premiums in the amount of their interim contributions during
the first plan year. See 26 U.S.C. § 9704(i)(D)i); see also
138 Cong. Rec. 34,002-03 (1992) (explaining establishment
of Combined Fund and financing of benefits). Under the
Coal Act’s scheme, the interim funding period was to end
with the beginning of the Combined Fund’s second plan year
on October 1, 1993, and health care premiums for the first
and second plan years were to be assessed and paid during
the second plan year. See 26 U.S.C. § 9704(g)(1).

In Section 9706(a), Congress directed SSA to assign
Combined Fund beneficiaries to specific former employers
“before October 1, 1993.” Congress anticipated that the

12

fi

Re ae

a ~~ o Re

Combined Fund could then use those beneficiary
assignments as a basis for assessing premiums—for the
Combined Fund’s first and second plan years—to assigned
operators. Pardee, 269 F.3d at 428; 138 Cong. Rec. 34,003
(1992). The statutory schedule thus reflected Congress’ goal
of having a new benefits system in place by the time of the
termination of the 1988 NBCWA on February 1, 1993, and
the impossibility of completing the beneficiary assignment
process between the Coal Act’s October 24, 1992 enactment
date and the date in February 1993 when the Combined Fund
would need to begin providing benefits.

C. Funding Benefits For “Orphans”

Critical to the Coal Act’s funding scheme was
Congress’ adoption of a method of providing for “orphan”
beneficiaries in the Combined Fund (i.e., Combined Fund
beneficiaries whose former employers are no longer in
business and who could not be assigned under the criteria in
Section 9706 of the Coal Act). To help alleviate the
financial burden of health care for such beneficiaries whom
none of the assigned operators ever employed, Congress
authorized transfers of substantial sums to the Combined
Fund from the UMWA 1950 Pension Plan and from the
Abandoned Mine Reclamation Fund (the “AML Fund”)
established under the Surface Mining Control and
Reclamation Act of 1977. 26 U.S.C. § 9705(a), (b); 30
U.S.C. § 1232(h). Congress provided that, cn the first day

12/See 138 Cong. Rec. 34,001 (1992) (proposed Senate Conference
Report) (“if no operator remains in business under the formulation [in
Section 9706(a)], that retiree becomes an unassigned beneficiary”).

13/ 138 Cong. Rec. 34,001 (1992) (subsidy for unassigned
beneficiaries is “a key component of legislative compromise” and is
provided in recognition that such beneficiaries were not employed by the
assigned operators); id. at 34,004 (CRS Report) (evaluating proposal to
transfer interest on AML Fund to “help finance UMWA orphan retiree
health benefits”).

13

of each of the Combined Fund’s first three plan years, a $70
million transfer would be made from the UMWA 1950
Pension Plan to the Combined Fund. 26 U.S.C. § 9705(a).
These funds, totaling $210 million, would be used in large
part to defray the cost of health care for unassigned
beneficiaries. 26 U.S.C. § 9705(a)(3)(B); 138 Cong Rec.
34,003 (1992) (explaining transfers). Thereafter, for
Combined Fund plan years beginning on and after October 1,
1995, Congress provided for annual transfers to the
Combined Fund from the AML Fund. 26 U.S.C. § 9705(b);
30 U.S.C. § 1232(h). These transfers, which are limited by
the amount of annual interest earned by the AML Fund or
$70 million (whichever is greater), can be used only to defray
the expense of providing health benefits to unassigned
beneficiaries, and the amount transferred cannot exceed the
amount necessary to cover these expenses. 30 U.S.C. §
1232(h)(2) & (3).

If the transfers described in the preceding paragraph
prove insufficient to cover the orphan retirees, the Coal Act
provides for the assessment of an annual unassigned
beneficiaries premium against all assigned operators. 26
U.S.C. § 9704(d). The unassigned beneficiaries premiums
for a given plan year are to be allocated among signatory
operators on the basis of their pro rata share of the
beneficiaries that have been assigned for that year. /d. Thus,
the more beneficiaries an operator is assigned, the greater its
share of the total unassigned beneficiaries premiums. To
date, the transfers have proven sufficient, and assigned coal
operators have paid no premiums for unassigned
beneficiaries. Pardee, 269 F.3d at 429.

14/ Financing Orphan Retirees at 69 (company’s contributions for
unassigned orphans will be in direct proportion to the number of its
assigned beneficiaries; thus, companies with largest dollar responsibility
will bear largest dollar responsibility for orphan retirees).

14

~~
ae

negrcgenie!

> ii.

D. Obstacles To SSA’s Assignment Process

| Once the Coal Act became law, SSA was charged
with the massive responsibility of implementing Section
9706(a)’s assignment criteria, which required identifying and
locating former employers for more than 100,000
beneficiaries, and unraveling the corporate relationships
between employers and potentially related companies.
Despite the magnitude of the task, no funds were
appropriated for SSA to commence its assignment work until
July 13, 1993.4 This was less than 80 days before October
1, 1993, the date by which SSA was to have assigned
Combined Fund beneficiaries to the appropriate former
employers. In early September 1993, the House Committee
on Ways and Means was aware that SSA would not complete
the initial assignments by October 1, 1993:

SSA anticipated that checking the [employment]
records would be very time consuming . . . Linking an
individual’s work history to a specific employer will
ae require searching through microfilm records and
entering the information by hand into the computer
system. Preliminary estimates by the SSA suggest
that it would take approximately 150 work years just
to retrieve the microfilm records. This does not
include the additional work involved in determining
the assignment to an employer. On a routine basis,

15/ Financing Orphan Retirees at 64-65 (most Combined Fund

beneficiaries retired before 1976, social security records were not
computerized prior to 1978, and SSA does not maintain information
needed to track the interrelationships among companies to identify
related persons”); J.A. 179-84 (Decl. of Richard Harron, Dir. of Div.

Coverage and Support, SSA) (describing difficulty of assignment
and SSA’s effort to complete it on time). “ 7 _—

16/Supplemental Appropriations Act of 1993, H.R. 2118, Pub. L.

No. 103-50, Ch. V, 139 Cong. Rec. D. 765.

15

SSA has 140 technicians specially trained to work
with the microfilm records, which are difficult to
decipher. Extra resources would be needed to
complete the assignments by the October 1, 1993

target date.

Financing Orphan Retirees at 64-65 (emphasis supplied).
Congress provided no extra resources to expedite the initial
assignment process. There is no indication, however, that
Congress believed that any initial assignments of Combined
Fund beneficiaries made on or after October 1, 1993 would
be automatically void or that the hability scheme envisioned
in the Coal Act would be substantially altered by treating as
“unassigned” thousands of beneficiaries who properly could
be assigned according to the statutory criteria.

Because of Congress’ delayed funding and SSA’s
limited resources, approximately 10,000 initial assignmer'ts
of Combined Fund beneficiaries were made on or af.er
October 1, 1993. At the time of the proceedings in the
district court, these assignments accounted for approximately
$112 million in premiums that had been assessed to the 247
operators who received such assignments. 01-715 Pet. App.
52a-54a. The Combined Fund had collected approximately
$105 million of this amount, an amount that presumably
would need to be refunded if all assignments made on or
after October 1, 1993 were void. /d.

Ill. PROCEEDINGS BELOW

In June 1999, Bellaire filed a six-count complaint
against SSA, challenging the assignment of Combined Fund
beneficiaries on various grounds. Among Bellaire’s claims
was its contention that, under the Coal Act, the 270
beneficiaries that SSA initially assigned to Bellaire on or
after October 1, 1993 were improperly assigned and that
those beneficiaries instead should be permanently
unassigned. J.A. 83-85. According to Bellaire, Section
9706(a)’s statement that SSA “shall” make assignments

16

rT

“before October 1, 1993” established a jurisdictional deadline
by which SSA was required to make initial beneficiary
assignments to signatory operators.

Bellaire’s argument was based on the Sixth Circuit’s
earlier decision in Dixie Fuel. The Sixth Circuit there held
that SSA had no continuing power to make initial
assignments of Combined Fund beneficiaries to signatory
operators on or after October 1, 1993. The court reasoned
that the word “shall” in Section 9706(a) unambiguously
expressed Congress’ intent that SSA complete all initial
assignments before October 1, 1993, and that the Coal Act’s
entire scheme for assigning beneficiaries and financing the
Combined Fund confirmed this interpretation. 171 F.3d at
1062-63.

On April 5, 2000, Bellaire moved for preliminary and
permanent injunctive relief, partial summary judgment, and
for the entry of final judgment on its Dixie Fuel claim?”
Based entirely on Dixie Fuel, the district court entered
judgment in favor of Bellaire. 01-705 Pet. App. 12a-13a. It
directed the Trustees to provide Bellaire with a credit in the
amount of the total premiums previously paid for the 270
beneficiaries at issue. Jd. The court of appeals affirmed in
reliance on Dixie Fuel. Id. at 3a-4a (Dixie Fuel “controls
until and unless ‘an inconsistent decision of the United States
Supreme Court requires modification of the decision or [the
Sixth Circuit] sitting en banc overrules the prior decision.””).

Dixie Fuel, the court’s sole basis for ruling in favor of
Bellaire, is dubious precedent. The ruling in Dixie Fuel had

17/The April 5, 2000 motion was filed only against SSA, because
the district court had not yet granted the Trustees’ motion to intervene as
party-defendants, a motion that Bellaire opposed. After the district court
granted the Trustees’ motion to intervene, Bellaire filed a motion against
the Trustees that was in all other material respects identical to the one
filed against SSA on April 5, 2000.

17

no practical effect on the parties in that case, and indeed, it
appears clear that the court of appeals lacked jurisdiction to
render its decision. The case came to the court of appeals
under 28 U.S.C. § 1292 (a)(1), on plaintiff's appeal from the
district court’s denial of its motion for a preliminary
injunction. By the time the court of appeals heard the case,
however, the preliminary injunction motion had become
moot. This Court had decided Eastern in June 1998, and, on
the basis of that decision, SSA notified Dixie Fuel that all of
its beneficiary assignments were void (for reasons having
nothing to do with the date on which the assignments were
made). Accordingly, Dixie Fuel’s preliminary injunction
motion—and the appeal from the denial of that motion—
were moot, because neither the government nor the
Combined Fund was seeking to collect any premiums from
Dixie Fuel or otherwise to impose any Coal Act obligations
against the company. As a consequence, Dixie Fuel was not
threatened with any harm, irreparable or otherwise, during
the pendency of the litigation. Under these circumstances,
the court of appeals’ appellate jurisdiction under Section
1292(a)(1) was nonexistent. University of Texas v.
Camenisch, 451 U.S. 390 (1981).

Moreover, before the court of appeals decided the
case, Dixie Fuel moved for, and the district court granted,
final judgment for Dixie Fuel as a matter of law, as a result of
Eastern and the consequent voiding of Dixie Fuel’s
beneficiary assignments. Dixie Fuel Co. v. Callahan, No.
97-373 (E.D. Ky. Jan. 7, 1999). SSA, the only defendant in
the case, did not appeal. Thus, the entire case had been
concluded for some time, when in late March 1999, the court
of appeals decided the appeal from the denial of a
preliminary injunction. By that time, not only had the
preliminary injunction motion become moot, but the entire
case was over, and there was no case or controversy left for
the Sixth Circuit to decide. Though the court’s decision has
generated extensive litigation, with a huge potential impact

18

2/0 PRAM

on the Combined Fund and the Coal Act’s allocation of
liability, it had no effect whatever on Dixie Fuel itself, whose
assignments already had been voided and which therefore
had no Coal Act liability.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

As the Fourth Circuit correctly concluded in Pardee,
269 F.3d at 438, “[t]o excuse the financial obligations of coal
operators, where liability is both identifiable and identified,
would frustrate the text, purpose, and legislative history of
the [Coal] Act.” Yet that is precisely the result Bellaire seeks
here, in attempting to jettison responsibility for the 270
Combined Fund beneficiaries at issue. Bellaire does not
dispute that it is the signatory operator to which these
beneficiaries should have been assigned under the Coal Act’s
criteria. Nonetheless, because the beneficiaries were
assigned to Bellaire after September 30, 1993, and because
they had not previously been assigned to any other operator,
Bellaire seeks a windfall of several million dollars. Because
SSA did not act quickly enough, Bellaire maintains that it
should be permanently relieved of responsibility for the
beneficiaries in question and that the cost of financing their
health care should be shifted either to the AML Fund or to
the entire group of assigned operators, all of whom have
either no employment connection to these beneficiaries or a
lesser connection than Bellaire. Bellaire’s position cannot be
reconciled with prior authority from this Court.

Be ty. This Court has ruled that even when a statutory date
is paired with mandatory language such as the word “shall,”
a government agency will not “in the ordinary course” be
divested of power to act after a statutory date. United States
v. James Daniel Good Real Property, 510 U.S. 43, 63
(1993); United States v. Montalvo-Murillo, 495 U.S. 71 a
717 (1990); Brock v. Pierce County, 476 U.S. 253, 269-66
(1986). The presumption in favor of agency retention of the
authority to act, repeatedly applied by the Court, is based on

19

the public policy that the public interest should not be
prejudiced by the failings of government officials. United
States v. Nashville, C. & St. L. Ry. Co., 118 U.S. 120, 125
(1886). Dixie Fuel virtually ignored this line of precedent,
and acted instead as if the question of SSA’s authority to
make initial assignments of Combined Fund beneficiaries
after September 30, 1993 was resolved by the statutory
declaration that assignments “shall” be made before October
1, 1993. To the contrary, however, the statutory date only
raises, but does not answer, that question.

Congress’ use of the mandatory word “shall” in the
Coal Act does not depart from “the ordinary course,” nor
does any other provision of the Coal Act indicate that the
statutory date is jurisdictional rather than directory. The
important issue is not whether the word “shall” is used, but
whether Congress has specified in the statute what should
happen if the government fails to comply with the prescribed
date. Nowhere in the Coal Act did Congress state or suggest
that, if SSA could not complete beneficiary assignments by
October 1, 1993, Congress wanted SSA to terminate the
initial assignment process and deposit the remaining retirees
and dependents into the category of unassigned beneficiaries.
The plain purpose of the October 1, 1993 date was to spur
SSA to make the assignments promptly so that the Combined
Fund could assess health care premiums at the beginning of
its second plan year and thus secure a steady flow of monthly
premium payments after the conclusion of the statutory
interim funding arrangements for the first plan year. That in
no way implies that Congress wanted to relieve employers of
financial responsibility for former employees that SSA was
unable to assign until after October 1, 1993.

There is no sensible reason why Congress would
intend such a result. The ruling below and in Dixie Fuel
undercuts Congress’ carefully crafted liability structure.
Treating thousands of eligible retirees and dependents as

20

unassigned solely because the assignments were not
completed by October 1, 1993, would shift liability from
former employers and related persons, such as Bellaire, who
have the most proximate connection to the Combined Fund
beneficiaries, to less responsible assigned operators, most (if
not all) of which had no employment connection at all with
the beneficiaries. Congress could not have intended its
framework to be so disrupted simply because SSA was

= to complete the assignment process before October 1,

Nor can such disruption be justified by any alleged
need to permanently fix assignments by October 1, 1993 for
the liability scheme to work properly. It is undisputed (and
acknowledged in Dixie Fuel) that, under the Coal Act,
beneficiary assignments made before October 1, 1993 and
later determined to be incorrect could be rescinded and the
beneficiaries involved reassigned to other employers. See
Dixie Fuel, 171 F.3d at 1061, 1064; 26 USC.
§ 9706(f)(3)(ii). Accordingly, the entire issue here could
have been avoided if SSA, on September 30, 1993, simply
had assigned at random all not-yet-assigned beneficiaries to
some particular coal company. These assignments then
could have been reviewed at a later date and the appropriate
corrections could have been made. But, because SSA
(having no reason to believe that the statute would be
interpreted as it has been by the Sixth Circuit) did not employ
such a strategy, the court of appeals would forever bar SSA
from assigning the beneficiaries at issue to the proper
operators.

; This peculiar result perhaps would be more tolerable
if there were any indication that Congress intended the
October 1, 1993 date to confer rights on the Signatory
operators. Nothing in the Coal Act, however, suggests that
Congress was concerned with protecting any interest in
repose or certainty on the part of the signatory operators, and

21

thus adopted some sort of across-the-board amnesty for
health care premiums for beneficiaries not assigned before
October 1, 1993. There is not a hint in the proceedings
below or in Dixie Fuel that any assigned operator is even
remotely prejudiced by the date of the assignments at issue.
Here, for example, there is no dispute that the beneficiaries
should have been assigned to Bellaire under the criteria in
Section 9706(a). If SSA had made the assignments before
October 1, 1993, Bellaire would have been asked to pay the
exact same amount that it is being asked to pay today. The
only reason why Bellaire has been absolved of liability is that
SSA made its determination “too late.” Nothing in the text
of the Coal Act suggests that this is the result Congress
intended.

Under this Court’s well-established canon of statutory
construction, the absence of any clearly expressed
consequence of SSA’s non-compliance compels the
conclusion that Congress did not intend for SSA to forfeit its
authority to make initial assignments after September 30,
1993. Even if it were necessary to continue beyond an
analysis of the statutory text, however, other indicia of
congressional intent foreclose any suggestion that Congress
intended Section 9706’s date to be jurisdictional. The Coal
Act’s legislative history, purpose, and historical context
demonstrate that the unassigned beneficiary designation was
intended to be reserved for beneficiaries who were
unassignable under the statutory criteria, i.e., orphan retirees
and their dependents. Congress intended to keep the number
of unassigned beneficiaries to an absolute minimum, not to
increase that number by thousands because of administrative

delay.
Furthermore, voiding all initial assignments made on
or after October 1, 1993 would undermine Congress’ express

purpose of stabilizing funding of a private health care benefit
plan. If the Sixth Circuit’s approach were upheld, an

22

increased amount would be needed from the AML Fund to
help defray the health care expenses of the increased number
of unassigned beneficiaries. These funds then would not be
available for other public uses, such as to reclaim abandoned
mee lands, which was the original purpose for the AML

If any ambiguity remains, the Court should defer to
SSA’s reasonable interpretation of the statute, which
expressly committed to the agency the Combined Fund
beneficiary assignment process. SSA reasonably interpreted
“unassigned beneficiaries” to include only those beneficiaries
for whom no signatory operator or related person could be
identified. Having received no instruction from Congress
that any unfinished assignment work should be discontinued
on October 1, 1993, SSA proceeded to make original
assignments after that date. This had the effect of placing
financial responsibility for the affected beneficiaries’ health
care exactly where Congress intended to place it. Because
SSA’s interpretation is consistent with the Coal Act, it should
be upheld, and original assignments made on or after October
1, 1993 should not be invalidated on the basis of their timing.

ARGUMENT

I. THE DECISIONS BELOW CONFLICT WITH
THIS COURT’S PRECEDENTS REGARDING
THE EFFECT OF A GOVERNMENT
AGENCY’S NON-COMPLIANCE WITH A
STATUTORY DATE.

The Sixth Circuit stripped SSA of the authority to
make initial beneficiary assignments under Section 9706(a)
solely because the agency was unable to complete the task
“before October 1, 1993.” The court considered itself bound
by Dixie Fuel, and simply adhered to the earlier decision,
without further analysis. Dixie Fuel, however, applied the
wrong analytical framework for determining the legal effect

23

of a government agency’s failure to meet a statutory date,
and this led to an erroneous interpretation of the Coal Act.

Congress directed in Section 9706(a) of the Coal Act
that SSA “shall, before October 1, 1993” initially assign each
eligible beneficiary to a signatory operator or related person
that remains in business. 26 U.S.C. § 9706(a). According to
Dixie Fuel, this language, “plain on its face,” is “explicitly
mandatory.” 171 F.3d at 1061. If by this characterization the
Sixth Circuit meant that Congress wanted initial Combined
Fund beneficiary assignments to be made before October 1,
1993, no one would quarrel. But the Sixth Circuit meant far
more. It assumed that its use of the label “mandatory”
resolved the question of whether SSA retained authority to
make initial assignments of Combined Fund beneficiaries
after September 30, 1993." That was error.

The Coal Act’s direction to act by a statutory date
merely raises, but does not answer, the question presented
here. It does not determine whether SSA loses jurisdiction
to act if it has not completed its work on schedule. As this
Court held in Brock v. Pierce County, 476 U.S. 253, 262
(1986), “the mere use of the word ‘shall’ . . . standing alone,
is not enough to remove [the agency’s] power to act after”
the statutory date. Although Dixie Fuel gave Brock a
formalistic nod, see 171 F.3d at 1062, the court analyzed the
issue as if SSA were required to overcome a general

18/ See Kelso v. United States Dep't of State, 13 F. Supp. 2d 12, 14-
15 (D.D.C. 1998) (“The word ‘mandatory,’ though it sounds redoubtable
and impressive, is no more than a term of art with a precise legal
meaning; one that bears no resemblance to that advocated by the
Plaintiff.”’).

19/ Kelso, 13 F. Supp. 2d at 14-15 (finding a word “mandatory” is
only part of the inquiry needed to determine whether and to what extent
to sanction agencies that fail to comply with a statutory deadline).

24

eee

cc against its power to act after September 30,

| Such a presumption is the opposite of that applied by
this Court, which repeatedly has held that the use of
mandatory language such as “shall” does not, in the ordinary
course, divest a government agency of the power to act after
a statutory date. United States v. James Daniel Good Real
Property, 510 U.S. 43, 63 (1993) (unanimously holding that
if a statute “does not specify a consequence of
noncompliance with statutory timing provisions, the federal
courts will not in the ordinary course impose their own
coercive sanction”); see Regions Hosp. v. Shalala, 522 U.S.
448, 460 n.3 (1998) (“The Secretary’s failure to meet the
deadline, a not uncommon occurrence when heavy loads are
thrust on administrators, does not mean that official lacked
power to act beyond it.””); United States v. Montalvo-Murillo,
495 U.S. 711, 718 (1990) (“Although the duty is mandatory,
the sanction for breach is not loss of all later powers to act.”’);
General Motors Corp. v. United States, 496 U.S. 530, 542
(1990) (“In the absence of a specific provision suggesting
that Congress intended to create an enforcement bar [as the
consequence of a missed statutory date], we decline to infer
one.”); Brock, 476 U.S. at 260 (“We would be most reluctant
to conclude that every failure of an agency to observe a
procedural requirement voids subsequent action, especially
when important public rights are at stake.”’).

Congress will not be deemed to have departed from
the “ordinary course” unless it clearly says so by specifying a
consequence in the statute for non-compliance with the
timing provision, James Daniel Good, 510 U.S. at 63, or by
using negative words that prohibit the agency from acting in
any other manner or at any other time than that specified.2”

20/ E.g., In re Siggers, 132 F.3d 333, 336 (6th Cir. 1997) (quoting
French v. Edwards, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 506, 511 (1871)); 3 NORMAN J.

25

Here, of course, the statute contains no such negative words.
The Coal Act does not say that SSA may not make
beneficiary assignments on or after October 1, 1993, and it
does not say that any assignments made on or after that date
are automatically invalid.

Thus, contrary to Dixie Fuel’s approach, the general
presumption in this context is against forfeiture of an
agency’s power to act. This Court’s rulings on the point go
back more than a century,” and the principle has been
applied in a multitude of contexts by many federal courts of
appeals. Congress presumably was aware of this well-

SINGER, SUTHERLAND ON STATUTES AND STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION §
57:19 (6th ed. 2001) [hereinafter Statutory Construction) (the “absence of
negative words may be considered in support of directory construction”).

21/ United States v. Nashville, C. & St. L. Ry. Co., 118 U.S. 120,
125 (1886) (“It is settled beyond doubt or controversy, upon the
foundation of the great principle of public policy . . . which forbids that
the public interests should be prejudiced by the negligence of the officers
or agents to whose care they are confided . . . unless congress clearly
manifested its intention that they should be so bound [by a statute of
limitations}.”); French, 80 U.S. at 511; Brown v. Duchesne, 60 U.S. 183,
195 (1856) (“Neither will the court, in expounding a statute, give to it a
construction which would in any degree disarm the Government of a
power which has been confided to it to be used for the general good $e
unless plain and express words indicated that such was the intention of
the Legislature.”).

22/ United States v. General Motors Corp., 876 F.2d 1060 (1st Cir.
1989) (Clean Air Act); United States v. Boccanfuso, 882 F.2d 666, 671
(2d Cir. 1989) (Clean Air Act); Southwestern Pa. Growth Alliance v.
Browner, 121 F.3d 106, 114 (3d Cir. 1997) (Clean Air Act); Pardee, 269
F.3d at 431 (Coal Act); Fort Worth Nat'l Corp. v. FSLIC, 469 F.2d 47, 58
(Sth Cir. 1972) (National Housing Act); /n re Siggers, 132 F.3d 333, 336
(6th Cir. 1997) (habeas corpus); Hendrickson v. FDIC, 113 F.3d 98, 101
(7th Cir. 1997) (Federal Deposit Insurance Act); Kinion v. United States,
8 F.3d 639, 644 (8th Cir. 1993) (Agricultural Credit Act); Idaho Farm
Bureau Fed'n v. Babbitt, 58 F.3d 1392, 1400 (9th Cir. 1995) (Endangered
Species Act); Twin Pines Coal Co. v. United States Dep 't of Labor, 854
F.2d 1212, 1216 (10th Cir. 1988) (Federal Mine Safety and Health Act);

26

_ ——

established canon of statutory construction and the applicable
case law when it enacted the Coal Act.’

. Virtually ignoring the foregoing line of authority and
relying instead on United States v. Monsanto, 491 U.S. 600,
607 (1989), and like cases, Dixie Fuel attributed undue
weight to its determination that the word “shall” is
mandatory. 171 F.3d at 1061-62. Monsanto and other cases
cited by Dixie Fuel had nothing to do with the effect of a
government agency’s failure to meet a statutory date.”

Marshall Durbin Food Corp. v. I.C.C., 959 F.2d 915, 919 (11th Cir.
1992) (Interstate Commerce Act); Brotherhood of Ry. Carmen Div.,
Transp. Communications Intern. Union v. Pena, 64 F.3d 702, 704 (D.C.
Cir. 1995) (Federal Railroad Administration regulations); Gottlieb v.
Pena, 41 F.3d 730, 734 (D.C. Cir. 1994) (Coast Guard Authorization
Act); Oy v. United States, 61 F.3d 866, 871 (Fed. Cir. 1995)
(Antidumping Act regulations).

23/ Gottlieb, 41 F.3d at 736 (“Congress is deemed to act with
knowledge” of James Daniel Good, Brock, etc. ); Pardee, 269 F.2d at 433
(same); see McNary v. Haitian Refugee Center, Inc., 498 U.S. 479, 496
(1991) (“presumable that Congress legislates with knowledge of our basic
rules of Statutory construction,” including a “well-established
presumption”); Young v. United States, 122 S. Ct. 1036, 1040 (2002)
(Congress must be presumed to draft limitations periods in light of
hornbook law” that limitations periods are subject to equitable tolling).

. 24/ The cases cited in Dixie Fuel were decided in the following very
different contexts: United States v. Monsanto, 491 U.S. 600 (1989)
(criminal defendant who is convicted “shall” forfeit property related to
the crime); Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v. United States
District Court, 482 U.S. 522, 534 & n.15 (1987) (Hague Evidence
Convention’s omission of mandatory language such as “shall” indicates
that treaty was not intended to provide exclusive and mandatory
procedure for obtaining documents within foreign territory); Hewitt v.
Helms, 459 U.S. 460, 471-72 (1983) (use of mandatory terms like “shall”
in regulations for confining prison inmates to administrative segregation
created liberty interest protected by Due Process Clause); Anderson v.
Yungkau, 329 U.S. 482, 485-86 (1947) (a civil case “shall” be dismissed
against decedent under Fed. R. Civ. P. 25(a) if substitution not made
within two years).

27

Cases like James Daniel Good and Brock, by contrast,
specifically arose in the latter context. They acknowledge the
interpretive principles and public policy concerns that govern
when and under what circumstances time constraints can be
imposed on a goverment agency’s power to complete its
delegated tasks.

In Brock, for example, the Court considered whether
the Secretary of Labor lost the power to recover misused
funds from participants in a training program because he
failed to make timely final determinations under the
program’s authorizing statute. 476 U.S. at 253. The statute
provided that the Secretary “shall issue a final determination
as to the misuse of” such funds within 120 days. /d.
Notwithstanding the statute’s use of the term “shall,” the
Court held that the Secretary of Labor did not lose his power
to recover misused funds even if the requisite final
determination did not come until after the statutory date. /d.
at 264. The Court reasoned that the Secretary’s
responsibility to issue final determinations was a “substantial
task,” and that his ability to complete it within 120 days was
“subject to factors beyond his control.” /d. at 259. Rejecting
the argument that the Secretary lacked authority to act, the
Court found it difficult “to believe that Congress intended
such drastic consequences to follow from the Secretary’s
failure to meet the 120-day deadline,” particularly since the

25/See James Daniel Good, 510 U.S. at 64 (“There is no
presumption or general rule that for every duty imposed upon the
government there must exist some corollary punitive sanctions for
departures or omissions, even if negligent.”); id. at 63 (“many statutory
requisitions intended for the guide of officers in the conduct of business
devolved upon them do not limit their power or render its exercise in
disregard of the requisitions ineffectual”) (citations and internal
quotations omitted); Brock, 476 U.S. at 260 (public policy forbids that the
negligence of government officers be permitted to prejudice the public
interest).

28

taxpaying public would be prejudiced by the Secretary’s
inability to recover the misused funds. /d. at 259-62.

Here, proper implementation of the Coal Act’s
beneficiary assignment system affects thousands of retirees
as well as hundreds of operators and former operators within
the coal industry, and SSA’s task of researching retirees’
work histories and assigning them to the most responsible
entities was enormous. Further, SSA’s ability to complete its
task in a timely manner was dependent on circumstances
over which the agency had no control. SSA could not begin
the assignment process until Congress provided funding on
July 13, 1993, and, once funded, SSA had to rely on the
cooperation of other entities to gather the information needed
to assign retirees in accordance with the statutory criteria.”
In addition, as in Brock, conserving public funds—in
particular, the AML Fund monies earmarked for mine
reclamation activities—is in the public interest. Absent a
very clear expression of congressional intent to produce such
a result, SSA’s tardiness should not mean that public funds,
rather than Bellaire’s funds, are used to pay for the health
care of Bellaire’s retirees.

26/ E.g., 26 U.S.C. § 9706 (d) (directing federal agencies to
“cooperate” with SSA in its effort to gather the information needed to
make assignments).

29

Il. NOTHING IN THE COAL ACT REFLECTS A
CONGRESSIONAL INTENT THAT SSA LOSE
JURISDICTION TO MAKE INITIAL
ASSIGNMENTS ON OCTOBER 1, 1993 AND
THAT BENEFICIARIES NOT YET ASSIGNED
ON THAT DATE BE DESIGNA.CD AS
FOREVER UNASSIGNED.

The Coal Act makes clear that Congress wanted all
initial assignments of Combined Fund beneficiaries to be
made before October 1, 1993. 26 U.S.C. § 9706(a). The
statute also makes clear, however, that Congress wanted
Combined Fund beneficiaries to be assigned according to the
criteria set forth in Section 9706(a), and that Congress
wanted as many beneficiaries as possible to be assigned to
specific employers or related persons, so that the number of
unassigned beneficiaries could be kept to an absolute
minimum. Because in some cases SSA did not meet the
statutory date, Congress necessarily has been deprived of full
adherence to its intended schedule. But, like other federal
statutes, the Coal Act does not suggest that this departure
also should require a departure from Congress’s intended
substantive scheme. See, e.g., Regions Hospital, 522 U.S. at
459-60 (Congress would intend government agency to
“exercise . . . authority to effectuate the Legislature’s
overriding purpose” rather than perpetuate error due to
agency’s failure to act swiftly enough); St. Regis Mohawk
Tribe v. Brock, 769 F.2d 37, 41 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied,

27/ E.g., U.S.C. § 9701 (historical note) (“it is necessary to...
identify persons most responsible for plan liabilities”); 138 Cong. Rec.
34,002 (1992) (“{T]he Conference Agreement’s overriding purpose is to
find and designate a specific obligor for as many beneficiaries in the
Plans as possible.”); id. at 34,003 (“The Conference Report’s purpose is
to assure that any beneficiary, once assigned, remains the responsibility
of a particular operator, and that the number of unassigned beneficiaries
is kept to an absolute minimum.”).

30

476 U.S. 1140 (1986) (statutory deadline not jurisdictional
because Clean Air Act sets up a “hierarchy of priorities” in
which goal of improving air quality takes precedence over
other goals).

As noted above, the Coai Act neither prohibits initial
assignments from being made on or after October 1, 1993,
nor does it say that any Combined Fund beneficiary not
assigned by October 1, 1993 shall be permanently classified
as “unassigned.” Pardee, 269 F.3d at 433. Read as a whole,
the Coal Act uses the term “unassigned” to refer only to
beneficiaries who are unassignable because SSA was unable
to identify an existing employer that satisfies Section 9706’s
criteria; there is no indication that the “unassigned”
designation should be applied merely because SSA had not
yet completed the initial assignment process. See Davis v.
Michigan Dep't of Treasury, 489 U.S. 803, 809 (1989) (“the
words of a statute must be read in their context and with a
view to their place in the overall statutory scheme”); Chevron
v. Natural Resources Defense Council, 467 U.S. 837 (1984)
(“the meaning of a word must be ascertained in the context of
achieving particular objectives”); cf Sigmon, 122 S. Ct. at
948 (beneficiary is “unassigned” if “no existing company
falls within [Section 9706(a)’s] categories”).

Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Sixth Circuit in
Dixie Fuel ruled that the Coal Act specified a consequence
for SSA’s delay, because any beneficiary not assigned before
October 1, 1993 could be treated as an unassigned
beneficiary. 171 F.3d at 1063 (“The consequence flowing
from the failure of the Commissioner to make those
assignments before October 1, 1993, is clear from the plain
language of the statute: the eligible beneficiaries who were
not assigned are the unassigned beneficiaries.”). But this
approach simply assumes away the issue in this case.
Respondent in Brock could just as well have declared that, on
the 121st day, the Secretary of Labor’s determination had to

31

be final or there could be no enforcement action. See also Oy
v. United States, 61 F.3d at 872 (in rejecting claim that
revocation of anti-dumping finding is necessary consequence
of agency’s failure to meet statutory deadline, Federal Circuit
states that “this argument assumes the very argument urged
by” the importer).

Altogether missing from Dixie Fuel is any
consideration of whether the language of the Coal Act
indicates that Congress intended beneficiaries to be
designated “unassigned” as a “consequence” of SSA’s
lateness (i.e., whether there is any apparent linkage between
unassigned status and non-compliance with the statutory
date). The Coal Act, when read as a whole, shows that the
statutory provisions for financing the health care of
unassigned beneficiaries are intended to provide a safety net
for financing orphans’ benefits, not to sanction SSA for not
completing the assignment process fast enough or to provide
a windfall for responsible operators who did not receive their
assignments “in time.” It is clear from the structure of the
Coal Act’s remedial scheme and the nature of the practical
problem faced by Congress that the statutory date of October
1, 1993 was connected to the legislative need to have a new
system in place by the time of the termination of the 1988
NBCWA on February 1, 1993 and the impossibility of
completing the beneficiary assignment process contemplated
by Congress between the October 24, 1992 enactment date

28/ See Statutory Construction § 57:8 (“[t}he problem . . . is one of
determining whether the legislature intended to impose sanctions to
secure compliance, and if so, what sanctions were intended”).

29/ See King v. St. Vincent's Hosp., 502 U.S. 215, 221 (1991) (it is a
“cardinal rule that a statute is to be read as a whole”); Shell Oil Co. v.

lowa Dep't of Revenue, 488 U.S. 19, 26 (1988) (in expounding a statute,
Court is not guided by a single sentence or member of a sentence, but by

the provisions of the whole law, and its object and policy).

32

ain

and the date in February 1993 when the Combined Fund

would need to begin providing benefits. The schedule

—— A rt was designed to protect retiree health
nefits and forestall labor unrest at the end of the t

1988 NBCWA.2 ="

. It is not surprising, then, that Congress did not say,
either explicitly or implicitly, that beneficiaries not yet
assigned on October 1, 1993 must be left permanently
unassigned. Section 9706 does not use the term “unassigned
beneficiary” at all. Section 9704(d) provides for an
“unassigned beneficiaries premium,” but it does not purport
to define “unassigned beneficiary”:

The unassigned beneficiaries premium for any
plan year for any assigned operator shall be equal to
the applicable percentage of the product of the per
beneficiary premium for the plan year multiplied by
the number of eligible beneficiaries who are not
assigned under section 9706 to any person for such
plan year.

26 U.S.C. § 9704(d) (emphasis added). Section 9704(f)
defines the term “applicable percentage”:

(1) In general. The term “applicable percentage”
means, with respect to any assigned operator, the
percentage determined by dividing the number of
eligible beneficiaries assigned under section 9706 to
such operator by the total number of eligible
eee assigned under section 9706 to all such
operators (determined on the basis o

of October 1, 1993). —

30/See Edwards, 482 U.S. at 595 (historical context and sequence

of events leading to passage of the statute relevant to statutory
construction).

33

26 U.S.C. § 9704(f)(1). The statute then provides for annual
adjustments in that percentage to take account of changes in
assignments as a result of administrative appeals or assigned
operators and their related persons ceasing to do business. 26
U.S.C. § 9704(f)(2). Read together, these provisions allocate
the unassigned beneficiaries premiums among signatory
operators on the basis of their pro rata share of the
beneficiaries that have been assigned. None of the
provisions, however, defines “unassigned beneficiary,” and
none suggests that beneficiaries not assigned before October
1, 1993 must be left permanently unassigned. _In fact,
Section 9704(d)’s reference to beneficiaries who “are not
assigned under section 9706 to any person for such plan
year” and Section 9704(f)(1)’s calculation based on
assignments “as of October 1, 1993,” suggest that, even if
some assignments are made after October 1, 1993, the
necessary calculation can be performed “as of” that date. At
a minimum, the statutory provisions are ambiguous and do

not foreclose SSA’s interpretation.

The definitional provisions in Section 9701 do not
change the situation. The terms “assigned beneficiary” and
“unassigned beneficiary” are not defined, and the term
“assigned operator” merely refers back to Section 9706. The
statutory definitions of “assigned operator,” “signatory
operator,” “related persons,” and “business” reflect the broad
coverage of the statute, and are thus consistent with the
announced congressional intent “to provide the greatest

31/See Edelman v. Lynchburg College, 122 S. Ct. 1145, 1154
(2002) (O’Connor, J., concurring) (where Title VII's definition section
does not define “charge,” and the statutory requirement that a “charge” be
verified is not framed as a definition, Congress cannot be said to have
unambiguously expressed its intent that a charge be verified when filed;
Chevron-deference is due to the agency’s interpretation); Brown v.
Gardner, 513 U.S. 115, 118 (1994) (“Ambiguity is a creature not of
definitional possibilities but of statutory context.”).

34

a a ae

number of beneficiaries with health care benefits paid for by
a company which remains in business and was the retiree’s
signatory employer, or is Or was a person related to such
signatory.”

| Contrary to this intent, under Dixie Fuel’s
interpretation, all signatory operators who otherwise would
be liable under the Coal Act, but did not receive assignments
before October 1, 1993, would not be classified as “assigned
operators” at all. They would escape all responsibility
including responsibility for their own former employees as
well as their proportionate share of any unassigned
beneficiaries premium. Signatory operators who received at
least some assignments before October 1, 1993 would
—— liable also dl those beneficiaries for whom others

more responsible under the statutory framework.
Operators who received all or nearly all of theis assignments
before October 1, 1993 (perhaps because they conceded
liability or because their corporate structures and
employment relationships were more straightforward and
thus more readily susceptible to SSA’s investigation) would
bear the brunt of the impact. This would pervert the plan
adopted by Congress and would skew Coal Act liability
based on the ease and rapidity with which assignments were
made—factors very different from the employment

relationships with signatory operators that
oo ry opera at Congress sought

For additional reasons as well, Dixie Fuel’s
conclusion that the Coal Act’s “entire statutory scheme for
assigning beneficiaries and financing the Combined Fund
reflects Congress’s intent that all assignments be completed
by October 1, 1993” cannot withstand scrutiny. 171 F.3d at

32/ 138 Cong. Rec. 34,002 (1992); see also id. at 34,00 iti

. | 04 . ,001 (definitions
intended to be given “broad interpretation” to advance goal of assigning
retirees to companies that benefited from their services).

35

1062. Dixie Fuel’s reliance on the word “shall” is
undermined by the numerous appearances of the same word
in other timing provisions throughout the Coal Act. Usual
principles of statutory construction would require “shall” to
have the same meaning in each such provision. It simply
is implausible, however, that Congress would have intended
Dixie Fuel’s interpretation to apply, with the result that all
action under the Coal Act would come to a halt if any of the
prescribed dates were missed. It cannot be, for example, that
if Combined Fund trustees were not designated within 60
days of the statute’s enactment, then they could not be
designated at all, or if the required transfers from the 1950
Pension Plan to the Combined Fund were not made on the
specified dates, then they could not be made at all.

Nor can the outcome in Dixie Fuel be justified by the
court of appeals’ assertion that “the calculation of the
obligation of every assigned operator for payment of
unassigned beneficiary premiums is dependent upon the
completion of the assignment of beneficiaries by October |,
1993.” 171 F.3d at 1063. This assertion hinged on the
erroneous assumption that, because the Coal Act contains a

33/E.g., 26 U.S.C. § 9702(a)(1) (mo later than 60 days after
enactment, trustees “shall” be designated); 26 U.S.C. § 9702(a)(2) (1950
and 1974 UMWA Benefit Plans “shall” be merged as of February |,
1993); 26 U.S.C. § 9704(h) (no later than 60 days after enactment date,
Combined Fund “shall” furnish information to SSA); 26 U.S.C. § 9705(a)
(transfers from 1950 UMWA Pension Plan “shall” be made by specified
dates); 26 U.S.C. § 9706(c) (by the later of October 24, 1992 or twentieth
day after the enactment date, the UMWA Benefit Plans “shall” provide
SSA with information); 26 U.S.C. § 9706(d)(2) (information “shall be
promptly transmitted” from other agencies to SSA).

34/ Comm'r of Internal Revenue v. Lundy, 516 U.S. 235, 250 (1996)
(“the normal rule of statutory construction [is] that identical words used
in different parts of the same act are intended to have the same
meaning”); Brown, 513 U.S. at 118 (“a word is known by the company it
keeps”) (internal quotation and citation omitted).

36

detailed timetable for various events, the statutory date by
which SSA was to make Combined Fund beneficiary
assignments is necessarily jurisdictional. This Court,
however, already has rejected the argument that the existence
of such a timetable divests an agency of authority to act after
statutorily specified dates.

In General Motors Corp. v. United States, 496 U.S.
530 (1990), for example, an environmental protection statute
contained a statutory deadline and an integrated timetable
that reflected the urgency of establishing air-pollution
controls. /d. at 533, 536. The agency did not comply with
all of the timing provisions. Although the statute included an
integrated timetable, and compliance with the timetable
would have promoted the underlying objective of reducing
air pollution, this Court stated that “[iJn the absence of a
specific provision suggesting that Congress intended to
a an enforcement bar, we decline to infer one.” /d. at

Here, not only is there no such ific provision i
the Coal Act, but there is also no ceih aden enn Ge
divesting SSA of the power to make assignments after the
statutory date.*” Nothing about the Coal Act’s system for
calculating health care premiums makes it essential that the
number of unassigned beneficiaries be determined once and
for all by September 30, 1993. The number of unassigned
beneficiaries has been changed on numerous occasions
——— the history of the Combined Fund, and the statute
expressly contemplates that possibility. Section 97
the Coal Act provides an dt cw ol procedure aa
which any assigned operator can challenge SSA’s assignment

35/See Gottlieb, 41 F.3d at 736 (even where Congress

, . | had
comparably strong reasons {or placing time limitations on agencies, if
Congress failed to specify the consequence of a violation, Court refused
to create one of its own).

37

of beneficiaries. 26 U.S.C. § 9706(f); 20 C.F.R. §§ 422.601-
607. If, as a result of such a challenge, SSA determines that
one or more assignments were in error, those assignments are
rescinded, and SSA considers whether the beneficiaries can
be assigned to another operator. 20 C.F.R. § 422.606(f). If
SSA cannot identify any operator that fulfills the assignment
criteria of Section 9706(a) with respect to a particular
beneficiary, that beneficiary is treated as unassigned. See 26
U.S.C. § 9704(f)(2)(A); 20 C.F.R. § 422.606(f). Similarly, if
and when an assigned operator is no longer “in business”
within the meaning of the Coal Act and there are no related
persons in existence, the beneficiaries assigned to that
operator become unassigned for future years. 26 U.S.C. §
9704(f)(2)(B). In addition, SSA may reopen and revise an
assignment on its own initiative within one year of its notice
of assignment to the assigned operator. 20 C.F.R. § 422.607.
These scenarios have occurred with some frequency since
September 30, 1993, and as a consequence, the number of
unassigned beneficiaries has been adjusted annually.

The same sort of adjustment occurred after this
Court’s decision in Eastern, in which the Court declared the
Coal Act unconstitutional as applied to the petitioner in that
case. After Eastern, SSA reviewed the circumstances of all
assigned operators and, for those that SSA concluded were
similarly situated to Eastern, SSA declared the operators’
beneficiary assignments void. Some of these beneficiaries
could be reassigned, but many could not. Thus, Eastern,
which was not decided until the Combined Fund’s sixth plan
year, significantly increased the number of unassigned
beneficiaries, and it did so as of February 1, 1993, the date on
which the Combined Fund began providing benefits.

To deal with these many changes in beneficiary
assignments and the number of unassigned beneficiaries, the
Combined Fund uses an accounting method called “inception
billing,” which annually adjusts for the retroactive effect of

38

changes in beneficiary assignments. Pardee, 269 F.3d at
434. Operators relieved of assignments receive credits or
refunds going back to the first plan year, and beneficiaries
that become unassigned as a result of successful challenges
to the assignments or court decisions increase the unassigned
beneficiary premium account under Section 9704(d) of the
Coal Act for all prior years. All operators prior premium
assessments are recalculated accordingly, and a consolidated
bill (including the adjusted version of all prior bills and
payments) is issued at the beginning of each new plan year.
Dixie Fuel is simply wrong, therefore, in asserting that the
Coal Act’s premium assessment and calculation system will
not work if the number of unassigned beneficiaries is not
determined once and for all by September 30, 1993. To the
contrary, as the Fourth Circuit recognized in Pardee, the
Coal Act explicitly contemplates annual readjustments of
operator liability based on changes in assignments, and these
adjustments cannot be reconciled with the static system
envisioned by Dixie Fuel. 269 F.3d at 434.

. In addition, as the Fourth Circuit also recognized,
adoption of Dixie Fuel’s approach “would create irrational
distinctions in the SSA’s power to reevaluate its initial
assignments.” Pardee, 269 F.3d at 435. For example, if SSA
erroneously concluded before October 1, 1993 that a
beneficiary was unassignable, but later received information
connecting the beneficiary to an extant employer, SSA would
be barred from making the appropriate assignment. That
would not be so, however, if SSA initially assigned a
beneficiary to the wrong coal operator. Dixie Fuel would
permit reassignment of beneficiaries who were initially
assigned to the wrong operator, but it would forbid
‘reassignment” of beneficiaries who were initially assigned
to no operator. Congress could not have “intended the
allocation of liability to rest on such a hollow distinction.”
Pardee, 269 F.3d at 435.

39

The Sixth Circuit’s statutory construction in Dixie
Fuel, if it could have been anticipated by SSA, would have
presented the agency with a “perverse incentive to make a
timely ‘rough cut.’” Pardee, 269 F.3d at 435 n.15. SSA
would have avoided the entire issue here if, realizing by
September 30, 1993 that it could not complete the
assignment process by that day, it had simply assigned ail
not-yet-assigned beneficiaries to coal company X or Y or Z.
These assignments then could have been reviewed at a later
date and the appropriate corrections could have been made.

But, because SSA had no reason to believe that it would be |

stripped of authority to make beneficiary assignments after
September 30, 1993, it sought to comply with Congress’
intent that it make determinations based on “reasonable
inferences” and “accurate data,” 138 Cong. Rec. 34,004
(1992). Given Congress’ chief concern of assigning as many
beneficiaries as possible to the most responsible parties,
Congress could not have intended that SSA be forever barred
from assigning the beneficiaries at issue to the proper
operators simply because SSA was behind schedule or
because SSA did not uncover on its own relevant information
regarding corporate or employment relationships that only
came to light in later administrative appeals involving

beneficiaries already assigned.

Nothing in the Coal Act suggests that Congress
intended the October 1, 1993 date in Section 9706(a) to
protect whatever interest signatory operators (or related
persons) might have in prompt assignment of beneficiaries.
Neither the Sixth Circuit nor Bellaire has identified any
evidence that Congress was concerned with repose or
mathematical certainty for the signatory operators. To the
contrary, the definitions of responsible parties are broad, and
may reach back many years in the employment relationship.
26 U.S.C. § 9706(a)(1) - (3); 26 U.S.C. § 9701(5) and (7).
Pardee, 269 F.3d at 434 (the Coal Act subordinates coal
operators’ interests, if any, to overriding interest in ensuring

40

gg

fair and accurate assignments). Further, as noted above, the
Coal Act expressly authorizes SSA to make assignments to
operators well after the October 1, 1993 date, as part of the
appeals process through which original beneficiary
assignments may be rescinded and the affected beneficiaries
assigned to new _ operators. 26 US.C. § 9706(f).
Consequently, a signatory operator can receive its very first
beneficiary assignment well after October 1, 1993, even
under the Dixie Fuel rationale. Thus, there is no basis, let
alone a sufficient basis, to infer that Congress intended the
statutory date to be inflexible, so as to create a “safe-harbor”
for responsible signatory operators like Bellaire.

In sum, although Congress indicated its intent that
beneficiary assignments be made promptly, it did not specify
a consequence for SSA’s non-compliance with the statutory
date, and there is no indication in any provision of the Coal
Act of an intent or reason for cutting off SSA’s power to
make assignments on or after October 1, 1993. The lack of a
specified consequence in the statutory text should be
dispositive of SSA’s authority to make assignments on or
after the statutory date. See James Daniel Good, 510 U.S. at
63. Because “the text and reasonable inferences from it give
a clear answer” in favor of SSA, that should be “the end of
the matter.” Brown, 513 U.S. at 120.

Il. OTHER INDICIA OF CONGRESSIONAL
INTENT CONFIRM THAT SSA RETAINED
AUTHORITY TO # £=MAKE ORIGINAL
—- AFTER THE STATUTORY

. Although the text of the Coal Act, properly read i

light of this Court’s precedents, is =iiden og ie
the error in Dixie Fuel, the Coal Act’s legislative history,
historical context, purpose, and public policy implications all
point to the same conclusion. The Senate’s proposed
Conference Report for the Coal Act and other legislative

41

materials show that Congress intended “unassigned
beneficiaries” to mean only Combined Fund orphans.
Provision after provision of the report reflects the Coal Act’s
fundamental principle that employers should pay for the
health care of their own former employees and _ that
“unassigned” beneficiaries are those not assignable under the
statutory criteria:

The method of assignment of eligible beneficiaries
was the source of much debate and controversy prior
to the Conference Agreement. The conferees intend
that the largest possible number of beneficiaries in
the Plans be assigned to a specific or designated
company. Under the statute, each eligible
beneficiary shall be assigned in the following order
_. . . Finally, if no operator remains in business
under the formulations described above, that retiree
becomes an unassigned beneficiary.

138 Cong. Rec. 34,003 (1992).

As a practical matter, not all beneficiaries can be
assigned to a specific last signatory operator, related
person or assigned operator for payment purposes.
This is because in some instances, none of those
persons remain in business, even as defined to include
non-mining related businesses. Thus, provisions are
made for unassigned beneficiary premiums. In each
plan year each assigned operator will pay a premium
earmarked to cover the health costs of these
unassigned beneficiaries.

Id.

The essence of the Conference Agreement is that
those companies which employed the retirees in
question, and thereby benefited from their services,
will be assigned responsibility for providing health
care benefits promised in their various collective

42

a eee

bargaining agreements. This will be accomplished
through a formulation designed to allocate the
greatest number of beneficiaries in the Plans to a prior
responsible operator.

Id. at 34,001.

[T]he Conference Agreement’s overriding purpose is
to find and designate a specific obligor for as many
beneficiaries in the Plans as possible.

Id. at 34,002.

The Conference Report’s purpose is to assure that any
beneficiary, once assigned, remains the responsibility
of a Particular operator, and that the number of
unassigned beneficiaries is kept to an absolute
minimum.

Id. at 34,003.

The remarks of Senator Rockefeller, the primary
sponsor of the legislation, confirm this understanding:

The key difference [in this bill] relates to the funding
of health benefits for the orphan retirees. In general,
these are the people whose companies are out of
business.
ee

The approach of this legislation rests on the
important principle that responsible companies
should bear the cost of these health benefits. It is a
rational approach. It is a fair approach.

138 Cong. Rec. 20,118 (1992). Senator Ford, a co-
. | ‘ sponsor,

We have closed the new orphan fund so to limit the
problem and ensure a long-term solution. We have
attempted to allocate costs according to the principle

43

that those most responsible should bear the greatest
proportion of the costs.

Id. at 20,120. Senator Wallop placed in the record the CRS
Report, which analyzed the use of transfers from the AML
Funds to finance benefits for “orphan retirees.” Jd. at 34,001
(remarks of Sen. Wallop), 34,004-11 (CRS Report).

The Coal Act’s financing structure was carefully
considered, extensively debated, and determined by Congress
to be the best allocation of responsibility and best balance of
competing interests and limited resources. As noted by
Senator Rockefeller, “[t]he approach of the current
legislation was not lightly arrived at. Lengthy and difficult
negotiations were required because of the myriad of
conflicting interests in our nationwide coal industry.” 138
Cong. Rec. 20,118 (1992). It would be odd indeed if
Congress, having created such a careful balancing of
interests, would have chosen at the same time to cut off
SSA’s authority on October 1, 1993, which, as events
transpired, was less than 80 days after SSA received funding
from Congress to commence the beneficiary assignment

process.*”

In contrast, the legislative history relating to the
October 1, 1993 date is unremarkable. It does not indicate

36/ Supplemental Appropriations Act of 1993, H.R. 2118, Pub. L.
No. 103-50, Ch. V, 139 Cong. Rec. D. 765; see Brock, 476 U.S. at 265
(“It would be very odd if Congress had implemented [its intent to
discover and rectify abuses under federal training program] by cutting off
the Secretary’s authority to correct abuses just 120 days after learning of
them.”).

37/See, eg. 138 Cong. Rec. 34,003 (“The amount of the
unassigned beneficiary premium payable by each assigned operator will
be calculated on the number of beneficiaries assignable to each operator
as of October 1, 1993.”); id. (“In the first plan year the Secretary of HHS
will review the work history of each beneficiary and will prepare the
assigned operator allocations which are required to be made by October

44

;
|

that the date is jurisdictional. Nor does it indicate any reason
why Congress would choose to make it so. “Conspicuously
absent” from the Coal Act’s text and legislative history “is
= woes the possibility that the [October 1, 1993]
vision might convey rights on” the signato
See Brock, 476 U.S. at 264. To the aan, the Coal Act's
history evidences an antipathy toward coal operators’ past
dumping” of retired coal miners and a clear intent to make
as many beneficiary assignments as possible and to hold the
most responsible persons liable. Senator Rockefeller’s
remarks sum up this point:

We must stop the past practice in which existing
companies dump their responsibilities onto the
companies that have faithfully kept their
commitments.

138 Cong. Rec. 20,118 (1992).

Furthermore, voiding all assignments
after October 1, 1993 would weaPonen sy a ‘aa
purpose of stabilizing funding of a private health care benefit
plan. See 26 U.S.C. § 9701 (historical note). Leaving
thousands of beneficiaries unassigned despite the ability to
match them with employers under Section 9706(a)’s criteria
will create a windfall for certain coal operators at the expense
of other operators, as well as the general public. Pardee, 269
F.3d at 437; see Montalvo-Murillo, 495 U.S. at 720 (when it
is inevitable that delays will occur despite diligent efforts
‘there is NO reason to bestow upon the defendant a windfall
and to visit upon the Government and the citizens a severe

_ penalty”). Although premiums for the assigned beneficiaries

1, 1993.”). The Fourth Circuit ruled that the “assi

. uit phrase “assignable...as of
October 1, 1993” provided significant evidence that Arson could be
= after that date. Pardee, 269 F.3d at 436; see also id. (“the paucity
of references to this ‘dead-line’ is conspicuous and compelling”).

45

are paid entirely by coal operators, the costs of providing
health care for unassigned beneficiaries are not. Beginning
with the Combined Fund’s fiscal year 1996 (October 1, 1995
to September 30, 1996), the Secretary of the Interior makes
annual transfers of interest that has accrued on the AML
Fund to the Combined Fund to defray the cost of health care
for unassigned beneficiaries. 30 U.S.C. § 1232(h). The
funds thus transferred may be used only to pay for
unassigned beneficiary expenses. See 26 U.S.C. § 9705(b);
30 U.S.C. § 1232(h); 138 Cong. Rec. 34,004 (1992). If those
funds prove insufficient, the Coal Act provides for the
assessment of additional premiums agair.st assigned
operators based on their proportionate share of the assigned
beneficiaries. 26 U.S.C. § 9704(d) & (f); Pardee, 269 F.3d at
438. To date, the transfers from the AML Fund, which as of
November 30, 2000, have amounted to more than $336
million, have been sufficient to cover the unassigned
beneficiary premiums. Pardee, 269 F.3d at 438. “Given the
high cost of health care for retired miners, and the likely
diminution of the fund’s interest earning capacity,” however,
“the interest may not last for long.” Sigmon, 122 S. Ct. at 961
n.5 (Stevens, J., dissenting).

The federal government’s portion of the AML Fund
interest not transferred to the Combined Fund remains
available to pay for the environmental clean-up of abandoned
mines (or for whatever other projects Congress may allocate
the funds). 30 U.S.C. § 1231(b)(5) and (c); see also 30
U.S.C. § 1232(g)(4)(A). The funding for mine reclamation
projects follows a strict order of priority that first targets
projects to protect the public “from extreme danger” at
abandoned mine sites. See 30 U.S.C. § 1233(a)(1); 30 U.S.C.
§ 1233(a)(2) - (5) (ranking additional priorities); see also
Pardee, 269 F.3d at 438 n.19 (“magnitude of nation’s
reclamation needs is alarming”). If the number cf unassigned
beneficiaries is artificially inflated and greater costs are
absorbed by the AML Fund, rather than by the responsible

46

suas -*

~ coal companies to which Congress intended the beneficiaries

to be assigned, the result will redound to the public’s
detriment by reducing the sums available in the AML Fund
for other public purposes. See CRS Report at 138 Cong. Rec.
34,004-11 (1992). Although Congress authorized AML
Fund transfers, it was based on the understanding that the
Fund would be used “solely and exclusively” for unassigned
beneficiaries, id. at 34,004, and that unassigned beneficiaries
would be kept to “an absolute minimum,” id. at 34,003. It is
highly unlikely that Congress would intend the AML Fund
interest to be depleted unnecessarily due simply to SSA’s
delay. There is no evidence that the Congress that enacted

yA Coal Act had any such intent. See Pardee, 269 F.3d at

IV. DEFERENCE IS DUE TO SSA’S
INTERPRETATION OF “UNASSIGNED
BENEFICIARIES” TO INCLUDE ONLY
COMBINED FUND ORPHANS.

At a minimum, the relevant Coal Act provisions are
ambiguous, and deference is due to SSA’s reasonable
interpretation of Section 9706(a) and the term “unassigned
beneficiary.” Congress delegated to SSA the duty to carry
out the assignment process, 26 U.S.C. § 9706(a), to notify
assigned operators of their obligations, 26 U.S.C. §
9706(e)(2), to review assignment determinations for error, 26
U.S.C. § 9706(f), and to calculate the per beneficiary
premium for each plan year, 26 U.S.C. § 9704(b)(2). These
directions imply a delegation to SSA of the authority to
determine the proper assignment of beneficiaries to signatory
operators as well as definitions of general applicability, such
as “unassigned beneficiary.”*”

38/See 138 Cong. Rec. 34,003 (1992) (“{I]t is intended

. 34, under the
statute | that the Secretary have authority to promulgate regulations
governing the method by which determinations of the assigned operator

47

To carry out its duties, SSA promulgated regulations
in compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act. See 58
Fed. Reg. 52914 (1993). Although SSA’s regulations do not
define “unassigned beneficiary,” they do state explicitly that
beneficiaries will be treated as unassigned “[i]f no assigned
operator can be identified.” 20 C.F.R. § 442.606(f). In
addition, SSA has clearly and consistently expressed its
opinion on the issue. After a considered review, SSA
concluded that Dixie Fuel was wrongly decided and that the
agency would continue to litigate the issue in the Sixth
Circuit and other jurisdictions.

In these circumstances, SSA’s interpretation of the
Coal Act is entitled to deference under Chevron v. Natural
Resources Defense Council, 467 U.S. 837 (1984). The
only remaining question is whether SSA’s interpretation is
reasonable. /d. at 843.

SSA’s interpretation and implementation are plainly
reasonable and consistent with the aims of the Coal Act, as
the foregoing analysis of the text, legislative history, and
historical context shows. Interpreting “unassigned

will be made and setting out the review procedures available to an
assigned operator once such determinations are made.”); Association of
Bituminous Contractors, Inc. v. Apfel, 156 F.3d 1246, 1251 (D.C. Cir.
1998) (granting Chevron-deference to SSA’s interpretation of “coal
industry,” which term is not defined by Coal Act).

39/ See United States v. Mead Corp., 121 S. Ct. 2164, 2175 (2001)
(Chevron-deference due when Congress delegated authority to agency
and agency interpretation was promulgated under that authority); Pension
Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. LTV Corp., 496 U.S. 633, 647-52 (1990)
(Chevron-deference to PBGC’s interpretation of ERISA’s requirements
for restoring a terminated plan, which interpretation was reflected in
agency’s notice of restoration); NationsBank of N.C. v. Variable Annuity
Life Ins. Co., 513 U.S. 251 (1995) (Chevron-deference to Comptroller of
Currency’s letter to bank granting request to act as agent in sale of
annuities).

48

beneficiaries” to include only Combined Fund orphans, and
finding no evidence in the statute that Congress intended
SSA to halt its assignment work on October 1, 1993, SSA
reasonably proceeded to make Original assignments after that

date. That SSA’s interpretation is full ;
“ear y reasonable fi
by the Fourth Circuit’s identical conclusion: —

Congress intended the status of individual

beneficiaries to depend not on the vicissitudes of
bureaucratic action, but instead on the merits, i.e.,

whether an extant operator could be identified and
held responsible.

Pardee, 269 F.3d at 438. Accordin igi

, gly, original assignments
made on or after October 1, 1993 are valid, and Bellaire
should be held responsible for the 270 beneficiaries at issue

here.

49

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed.
Respectfully submitted,
John R. Mooney Peter Buscem!
Elizabeth A. Saindon Counsel of Record
MOONEY, GREEN, BAKER Anne Brafford
& SAINDON, P.C. MORGAN, LEWIS &
1920 L Street, N.W., Suite 400 BOCKIUS LLP
Washington, D.C. 20036 1111 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
(202) 783-0010 Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 739-3000
David W. Allen
Jonathan Sokolow
Office of the General Counsel
UMWA HEALTH &

RETIREMENT FUNDS
2121 K Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 521-2220

April 8, 2002

50

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0523%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
