# Amicus Curiae Brief — Eldred v. Ashcroft

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0514%3A44

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 186

## Text

No. 01-618 _
, TtLeo
IN THE
| Ave - 5 20z
Supreme Court of the United States
a ia es
ERIC ELDRED, et al., itiietins

—

JOHN D. ASHCROFT, in His Official Capacity as Attorney General,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE ASSOCIATION OF AMERICAN
PUBLISHERS, AMBERSON HOLDINGS LLC, RICHARD AVEDON,
THE GEORGE BALANCHINE TRUST, PETER BARTOK, BOOSEY

& HAWKES, INC., THE AARON COPLAND FUND FOR MUSIC, INC.,
EUROPEAN-AMERICAN MUSIC CORPORATION, THE GEORGE
GERSHWIN FAMILY TRUST, THE LEONORE S. GERSHWIN TRUST
FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE IRA AND LEONORE GERSHWIN PHIL-
ANTHROPIC FUND, THE LEONORE S. GERSHWIN TRUST FOR THE
BENEFIT OF THE LIBRARY OF CONGRESS, THE KEITH HARING
FOUNDATION, THE FREDERICK LOEWE FOUNDATION, INC.,
DAVID MAMET, GLEN ROVEN, AND THE KURT WEILL
FOUNDATION FOR MUSIC IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

CHARLES S. SIMS,

Counsel of Record
JON A. BAUMGARTEN
FRANK P. SCIBILIA
BRUCE BOYDEN
PROSKAUER ROSE LLP
1585 Broadway
New York, New York 10036
(212) 969-3000

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ...........::cc:ccceesseeeeeeeeeeees lil
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE .........:ssccccsseseseeeseeeeeeesseneennnees l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ............::ccsssssssssssssescscerseseneneees 2
GE eissessscsitaisteniitnesnnsttcisiinnaminnnniinnmnnneimmnnannens 3
I. THE CTEA DOES NOT VIOLATE THE
PERS T ADGIOGIINT oncccccevccccccescccsccccccssccssscnsecssessees 3
A. Copyright Itself Is The Engine Of Free
Expression And Provides The
Necessary Breathing Room For Free
GOO ........00secsevsecseccssocscesssesccsnvecseesosssoenssessees 3
B. Intermediate Review Is Not Applicable
Because Copyright Is A Law Of
General Application That Does Not
Restrict The Transmission Of Ideas.............. 10

wd Intermediate Scrutiny Would Be
Entirely Unworkable In The Copynght
BOBO 2..0.00000eressenrscrscecsenvorcsesocsecrssscsossnssenese 12

Il. HISTORY DOES NOT SUPPORT
PETITIONERS' ARGUMENT THAT THE
COPYRIGHT TERM EXTENSION IS
UNCONSTITUTIONAL OR WARRANTS
CLOSE REVIEW UNDER THE FIRST

PETITE TIALS AOE AC ATER TTT 15
A. The Framers Perceived No Tension

Between The Copyright Clause And

The First Amendment ..................cceeeceseeeseeees 15

B. The Framers Did Not Consider
Extensions Of Copyrights To Existing
Works To Be Unconstitutional ..................... 16

li ill

. & The Framers' Suspicion Of Monopolies
Is Irrelevant To The Issues Before This

D. The Framers Intended To Vest
Congress With The Authority To
Determine The Proper Term For

Cases

A&M Records, Inc. v. Napster,
239 F.3d 1004 (Sth Cir. 2001) ...........scccsecccccsssceseceeees 9

Ill. © REGARDING EXISTING WORKS,

PETITIONERS' ARGUMENTS WOULD Arcara v. Cloud Books, Inc.,

REQUIRE INVALIDATION OF NOT ONLY rr 11
THE CTEA BUT ALSO ANY PRIOR TERM Reber v. Selden
a a TT 8

OF COPYRIGHT, AND SUBSTANTIAL
RELIANCE INTERESTS WARRANT

Bloomer v. McQuewan,

REJECTION OF PETITIONERS'

S. cc 17
AEFI 6 Br crcctscennsesinenii 23 39 U.S. 399 (1852)
A. Petitioners’ Theory Implicates Not - Burrow-Giles Lithographic Co. v. Sarony,
Only The CTEA But Also Prior sens 17, 24
Copyright Extensions And Changes............. 23

B. Substantial Reliance Interests Warrant

Campbell v. Acuff-Rose Music,

Rejection Of Petitioners' Arguments ......... 24 ce 8
S There Has Been A Great Deal Of Cohen v. Cowles Media,

Actual Reliance On The 1976 I ceneueeen 11

Copyright Extension And Other No

durational Extensions.........:.......scsccssseseseseees 27 Denver Area Telecomms. Consortium v. FCC,
CORCCE AIRING senonsesnsesssessienesnssliean 30 518 US. 727 (1996)voresinereersreernreerreeserrnsrsernnee wee
APPENDIX: Selected Copywritten Works, 1910- Eldred v. Reno,

SOS cossomensnssnisnninanntal becesssevssevssnsnenteenesepenniiis lap 239 F.3d 372 (D.C. Cir. 2001) ....cccccccseseseeseseseseeees 26
ADDEIIUNM: Aitldl Chmtse.ccnnnnnndnieme la

Feist Publ'ns, Inc. v. Rural Tel. Serv. Co.,
Ee 3,17

Festo v. Shoketsu Kinzoku Kogyo Kabushiki Co.,
__ US. __ , 122 S. Ct. 1831 (2002)... eeeeeeeeeees 26

iV

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc.,

eee Sa ee iniiciideindsciksiitinirtindiisiipeiaiemenienianeaiia 10
Graham v. John Deere Co.,

Ee Oe Cee esternisteiesiadiiineiiastieieaentarnamatntshtedanteniaaaes 22
Harper & Row, Publishers, Inc. v. Nation Enters., Inc.,

Se es GI iecttereeiecneanncticinasietbnataniiidic passim
Heckler v. Matthews, :

Cee cnrcendistcintasinteienntceinsementntciniiianssitiiainti 27
Landgraf v. USI Film Prods.,

Se Ce See ecianienesinnianianinmneemcanantaientnaatl 26-27
Lee v. Runge,

Spe TS CIE ctilinsnsintntentinnitanisinsineaninaieiiianaadl 4
Legal Servs. Corp. v. Velazquez,

ee eas eee hinreteicinsecitenineiecennseainonaaiesineimancscisiiiai 10
Los Angeles News Serv. v. Tullo,

PO ee Fe ee Se irncrmnsnicaiitincinenaiés 8
Mazer v. Stein,

ee ee Ee Ge ciiicetnmintmeniinide 3
McCulloch v. Maryland,

5G Cats ee weccsestnnenenneniisemsiibintaaiupinanmatainaaies 14

Morrissey v. Procter & Gamble Co.,
ey Ce iitnnitenticrnintenstiiciasiantiins 8

New Era Publ'ns, Int'l ApS v. Henry Holt & Co.,
873 F.2d 576 (2d Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1094 (1990) ..0........ccccccceseeeees 8-9

New Orleans v. Dukes,
Sy Ce ee eee rtetictanintiibintitiniaiainiaiien 27

Vv

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,
hic hiciasenicnenginnannentantiinnnedtienaanie 10

New York Times Co. v. United States,
I, PITTI aisrisciccaicesternininenninpdncliantisninniisnniiogtion 3

Nordlinger v. Hahn,
Le, anne 27

Palazzolo v. Rhode Island,
BR CI cccicsisidiebrniicininanecnbitininediaiameidaans 27

Penn Cént. Transp. Co. v. New York City,
PE enn 27

Pennock & Sellers v. Dialogue,
ZS) a_i 14, 22

Radovich v. National Football League,
(yyy 27

Red Lion Broad. Co. v. FCC,
i fl 3

Roy Exp. Establishment v. Columbia Broad. Sys., Inc.,
627 F.2d 1095 (2d Cir.),
cert. denied, 459 U.S. 826 (1982) .........ccccccceececeeeeeeees 4

Rust v. Sullivan,
JS, 10

Salinger v. Random House, Inc.,
811 F.2d 90 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 484 U.S. 890 (1987)........ccccccecseeeeneeeeeeees 8
Sid & Marty Krofft Tel. Prods., Inc. v. McDonald's

Corp.,

562 F.2d 1157 (9th Cir. 1977) ........ccccccceeseeeeeeereneeennees 8

vl

South Dakota v. Dole,

I 10
Stewart v. Abend,

EER ae ee CS 4
Toolson v. New York Yankees,

ES aT ee en ea lee 27
Turner Broad. Sys., Inc. v. FCC.

I a I is ocesincieisirtninciterentncis een 11-13
Turner Broad. Sys., Inc. v. FCC,

SSO U.S. 160 (1GB7).....ncccceceeccccccccccccceccccccccsscosseces 12-14
Twin Peaks Prods., Inc. v. Publications Int'l. Ltd.

996 F.2d 1366 (2d Cir. 1993) 0.0... eee cccccecceeeees y
Warner-Jenkinson vy. Hilton Davis Chem. Co..

ERR EE 9 ane a nae 26
Whitney v. California,

ESSE ee 4
Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broad. Co.,

I 7,10
Statutes
> Ee ne NCEE 17
og REESE ES oer TEAS 3
| __REEES REAR ea aries rene a nro PES ee Sr oe y
Sf 8 | Eee spctuanninnsianeneienineeatios l

Act for the Relief of Oliver Evans, 6 Stat. 70-71
aati lated a 17

Vil

Act of Nov. 16, 1785, reprinted in 8 PAPERS OF JAMES

MADISON (William T. Hutchinson et al. eds. 1962) ....... 16, 21
Copynght Act of 1790, 1 Stat. 124 (1790)... 17-18
Copynght Act of 1831, 4 Stat. 436 (1831) ............ 17-18
Copyright Act of 1909, 35 Stat. 1075 (1909) ................ 18, 26
Copyright Act of 1976, 90 Stat. 2598 (1976)............ 18, 27-29
Statute of Anne, 8 Anne, ch. 9 (1710) (Eng.)............ 16-17, 20
Treatises and Other Authorities

1 ANNALS OF CONGRESS 451 (1789).............:cccccccccccceeeeeeeeees 15
1 D. & M. NIMMER, NIMMER ON COPYRIGHT (2002)............. 4

2 RODNEY A. SMOLLA, SMOLLA AND NIMMER ON
TTT TEAR AT 4-6, 10

3 JOSEPH STORY, COMMENTARIES ON THE CONSTITUTION
OF THE UNITED STATES (Boston, Hilliard, Gray & Co.

5 DEBATES IN THE SEVERAL STATE CONVENTIONS ON THE
ADOPTION OF THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTION
Tp 15

6 THE AMERICAN MUSEUM (1789)................cccceeececeeceeeeeeeeees 20

BRUCE W. BUGBEE, GENESIS OF AMERICAN PATENT AND
eg eee 17

Robert C. Denicola, Copyright and Free Speech:
Constitutional Limitations on the Protection of
Expression, 67 CAL. L. REV. 283 (1979)..........cceesseseseeees 4, 7-8

V1ll

EATON S. DRONE, A TREATISE ON THE LAW OF

PROPERTY IN INTELLECTUAL PRODUCTIONS IN GREAT

BRITAIN AND THE UNITED STATES (Boston, Little, Brown
a 19

Emi Pays Pounds 1].5m for Stake in Phil Collins Music
Publisher, THE INDEPENDENT, Nov. 4, 1999 ...000........c.eeeeeees 30

Geraldine Fabnkant, Turner To Sell MGM Assets,
Sas cI 29

Jane C. Ginsburg, et al., The Constitutionality of
Copyright Term Expression: How Long Is Too Long?,
18 CARDOZO ARTS & ENT. L.J. 651 (2000)..... 5, 23-25

ROBERT A. GORMAN AND JANE C. GINSBURG,
COPYRIGHT FOR THE NINETIES (4th ed. 1993)...................000. 27

Alexander Hamilton, Report on Manufactures, in 10
PAPERS OF ALEXANDER HAMILTON (Harold C. Styrett et
Fe GE, Fe errcmncerntannectinninnnniimnnenaimninn 21

BRAY HAMMOND, BANKS AND POLITICS IN AMERICA,
FROM THE REVOLUTION TO THE CIVIL WAR (1957) .............. 20

OSCAR HANDLIN & MARY FLUG, COMMONWEALTH: A
STUDY OF THE ROLE OF GOVERNMENT IN THE AMERICAN
ECONOMY: MASSACHUSETTS, 1774-1861 (1969)................. 21

LOUIS HARTZ, ECONOMIC POLICY AND DEMOCRATIC
THOUGHT: PENNSYLVANIA, 1776-1880 (1948).................... 21

David D. Kirkpatrick, Media; Publishers and Libraries
Square Off Over Free Online Access to Books,
ORM 8 fe 29

Letter from Jefferson to Madison, Aug. 28, 1789,
available at
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/mtjhome.html............... 19, 21

iX

CHRISTINE MACLEOD, INVENTING THE INDUSTRIAL
REVOLUTION: THE ENGLISH PATENT SYSTEM,
ED cicniiciqeniusmnitninieaneminoamanmcnnenmamneie 21

Edward Rappaport, "Copyright Term Extension:
Estimating the Economic Values," Congressional
Research Service Report for Congress (May 11, 1998) ..28-29

Edward Samuels, The Public Domain in Copyright Law,
41 J. COPYRIGHT Soc'y U.S.A. 137 (1993) ..........04 24

Edward C. Walterscheid, Jnherent or Created Rights:

Early Views on the Intellectual Property Clause,
19 HAMLINE L. REV. 81. (Fall 1995) ............cccccceeeeees 20

GORDON S. WOOD, THE RADICALISM OF THE AMERICAN
PV OAI TIE CEG e Pecevcccsexcssesssscccescsensevesccssecsesssscsessossesees 19-20

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

This brief supporting Respondent is submitted in opposi-
tion to the misplaced efforts of Petitioners and their amici to
obtain from the Court what they could not obtain from
Congress. Consents to this filing are lodged with the Clerk.

Amici are the nation’s trade associations of book
publishers, the Association of American Publishers (“AAP”),
and the composers, artists, and playwrights (or their heirs) of
some of the most celebrated and prized works of 20" Century
culture, who are identified more fully in the Addendum
below. They all depend on the rights secured by copyright
law to engage, in their various ways, in the creation and/or
dissemination of copyrighted works, to the larger public
benefit.’

Not all amici supported the enactment of the Copyright
Term Extension Act (“CTEA”). AAP, for example, took no
position due to the different positions that its members, the
nation’s leading publishers, had on the legislation, some
supporting and some opposing, depending on the nature of
their businesses. But all amici believe it important that
Congress be allowed to weigh the competing concerns and
make the policy judgments that the Copyright power
authorizes, and that Petitioners’ effort to have the courts
displace the congressional judgment will in the long run be
destructive of the Constitutional plan and congressional exer-
cise of its powers. Congress, not the Courts, is entrusted with
that responsibility and armed with the ability to balance
interests and make fine distinctions that is the essence of the
legislative, not the judicial, process.

When Petitioners and their amici first articulated to
Congress the arguments now made again here, Congress
considered them and altered the legislation accordingly. One
result of that process is 17 U.S.C. § 108(h), which responded

' No counsel for a party in this Court authored this brief in whole or in

part, and no person or entity, other than the amici curiae, made a monetary
contribution to the preparation or submission of the brief. Amici are
identified in an addendum attached hereto.

to concerns of some libraries — which continue to challenge
the CTEA even though their concerns were addressed — by
providing for use of works during the entire extension period
after reasonable investigation.

Amici fully support the importance of close First
Amendment review when First Amendment rights are threat-
ened. But neither the CTEA nor copyright law generally
threatens those nights. Generally supportive of the holding of
the D.C. Circuit and the argument of the Solicitor General as
to the power of Congress to have enacted the CTEA, we focus
here on Petitioners’ First Amendment argument, showing that
it is inconsistent with the traditional understanding of the
reconciliation of copyright and free speech doctrines and with
the history underlying the Copynght Clause and early
copyright jurisprudence in both Great Britain and the United
States, and on the threat that Petitioners’ arguments pose to
prior extensions and corresponding reliance interests.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Petitioners’ argument that the CTEA violates the First
Amendment ignores the First Amendment safeguards already
internalized in copyright law, and fails to explain why internal
protection previously considered adequate to protect First
Amendment rights is now insufficient. There is no authority
in this Court for subjecting copyright statutes to free-standing
First Amendment review, much less to intermediate scrutiny,
and considerable precedent arguing against the intermediate
review Petitioners seek to import. First Amendment
freedoms are essential, but the accommodation between
copyright law and the First Amendment is already in place,
internal to copyright law, and, at least for traditional
copyright statutes like the CTEA, an additional layer of First
Amendment intermediate scrutiny is both unnecessary and
unworkable.

Nor is history on Petitioners’ side. The Framers
perceived no conflict between the Copyright Clause and the
First Amendment, nor did they consider extending copynghts
in existing works unconstitutional. Petitioners further

3

misrepresent the grounds of the Framers’ concern with
“monopolies,” which was more the product of fears of
favoritism than the result of a desire to limit exclusive rights.

Petitioners offer no principled distinction between the
CTEA and previous congressional extensions of the term or
scope of copyright, and to accept their attack on the CTEA
would place the prior extensions in doubt and unsettle
countless investments and transactions entered in reliance on
prior extensions.

ARGUMENT

I THE CTEA Does NoT VIOLATE THE FIRST
AMENDMENT

A. Copyright Itself Is The Engine Of Free
Expression And Provides The Necessary
Breathing Room For Free Speech.

Petitioners’ argument rests on the erroneous premise that
copyright suppresses free speech.

The primary concern of the First Amendment is the free
flow of ideas.’ But “{c]opyright laws are not restrictions on
freedom of speech as copyright protects only form of
expression and not the ideas expressed.”

This so-called “idea-expression dichotomy” — the rule that
copyright does not restrain the exchange of an author’s ideas,
but merely prevents others from purloining an author’s
particular expression of those ideas — “strike[s] a definitional
balance between the First Amendment and the Copyright Act
by permitting free communication of facts while still
protecting an author’s expression.” Harper & Row, 471 U.S.
at 556. The idea-expression dichotomy nurtures and protects

2 See, e.g., Red Lion Broad. Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 390 (1969)
(rationalizing freedom of speech as a means of “preserviing] an
uninhibited marketplace of ideas in which truth will ultimately prevail”).

. Harper & Row, Publishers, Inc. v. Nation Enters., Inc., 471 U.S. 539,
556 (1985), citing Justice Brennan’s concurrence in New York Times Co.
v. United States, 403 U.S. 713, 726 n. * (1971); see also 17 U.S.C. § -
102(b); Feist Publ’ns, Inc. v. Rural Tel. Serv. Co., 499 U.S. 340, 349
(1991); Mazer v. Stein, 347 U.S. 201, 217 (1954).

4

the “marketplace of ideas.” On the one hand, the dichotomy
allows others to make use of, build upon and disseminate
ideas that have already been conceived; ideas are free for all
to use, and completely outside copyright protection. “The
marketplace of ideas would be utterly bereft, and the
democratic dialogue largely stifled, if the only ideas which
might be discussed were those original with the speakers.’”
On the other hand, the dichotomy also serves to foster the
creation and dissemination of new ideas, by securing income
streams to creators for their particular expressions for limited
periods. “It should not be forgotten that the Framers intended
copyright itself to be the engine of free expression. By estab-
lishing a marketable right to the use of one’s expression,
copyright supplies the economic incentive to create and
disseminate ideas.”

The free flow of ideas is vital to our democratic society
for three reasons. It educates and informs (the “enlightenment
function”).° It acts as “a safety valve against violent acts.”
And it serves as a means of “self-fulfillment,” or “an end in
itself.”"® Granting a monopoly, let alone a monopoly for
limited times, on the particular expression of an idea does no
harm to any of these purposes.

* 2 RODNEY A. SMOLLA, SMOLLA AND NIMMER ON FREEDOM OF

SPEECH [“SMOLLA”] § 21:5, at 21-8.2 (1996) (citing Lee v. Runge, 404
U.S. 887, 893 (Douglas J., dissenting)) (“The arena of public debate
would be quiet, indeed, if a politician could copyright his speeches or a
philosopher his treatises and thus obtain a monopoly on the ideas they
contained.”).

* Harper & Row, 471 U.S. at 558.

® 1 MELVILLE B. NIMMER & DAVID NIMMER, NIMMER ON COPYRIGHT
(hereinafter “NIMMER”] § 1.10[1] (2002) (citing, inter alia, Whitney v.
California, 274 U.S. 357 (1927) (Brandeis, J. concurring)).

” Id. See also Robert C. Denicola, Copyright and Free Speech:
Constitutional Limitations on the Protection of Expression (hereinafter,
“Denicola”], 67 CAL. L. REV. 283, 286 (1979) (free speech “can act as a
stabilizing force in society in that it channels potentially disruptive energy
into a more useful public dialogue. . . .”) (also citing Brandeis’
concurrence in Whitney).

* NIMMER, supra, § 1.10{1]; Denicola, supra, at 286.

Any argument that extending copyright terms for
expression (not ideas) frustrates either the “safety valve” or
the “‘self-fulfillment” purpose of free speech can be quickly
rejected. “It is not likely that men will resort to violence
because they lack the legal nght to reproduce the expression
of another’””’ and “[o]ne who pirates the expression of another
is not thereby engaging in se/f-expression in any meaningful
sense.”'° As Professor Jane Ginsburg has written:

[Petitioners’] would like to avoid the rational
basis test, to put the [term] extension to a
higher standard. . . . [Petitioners’ argument is
that the] term extension has a deleterious
impact on speech; and once one pronounces
the word ‘speech,’ a higher level of scrutiny
attaches. But where is the ‘speech’ at issue
here? What Enc Eldred proposes to do is
recirculate other people’s speech. The First
Amendment is certainly about the freedom to
make your own speech. Whether it is about
the freedom to make other people’s speeches
again for them, I have some doubt. '!

The most vital of the three functions — the “enlightenment
function” — is also not harmed by the grant of a limited
copyright monopoly, regardless of the term of years. “It is
exposure to ideas, and not to their particular expression, that
is vital if self-governing people are to make informed
decisions.”'* Professors Smolla and Nimmer offer this
example:

It is important that we have free access to the
ideas of both William F. Buckley and John K.
Galbraith; and everyone should have the right

9

SMOLLA, supra, § 21:5, at 21-11.
" &

'' Jane C. Ginsburg, et al., The Constitutionality of Copyright Term
Extension: How Long Is Too Long?, 18 CARDOZO ARTS & ENT. L.J. 651,
701 (2000) (emphasis added).

'2 SMOLLA, supra, § 21:5, at 21-10.

6

to disseminate Buckley’s and Galbraith’s
ideas, either by way of endorsement or
criticism. That process of enlightenment,
however, does not require the freedom to
reproduce without permission either Buckley’s
book Up From Liberalism or Galbraith’s The
Affluent Society. To reproduce the
‘expression’ of their ideas may add flavor but
relatively little substance to the data that must
inform the electorate in the decision-making
process. Such minimal substance, lost through
the copyright prohibition on reproduction of
expression, is far outbalanced by the public
benefit that accrues through copyright
encouragement of creativity.”'*

Courts have consistently protected copyrighted expression
from challenges that cite a First Amendment “need” or
“right” to use such expression. The most famous of these is
Harper & Row, where the Court rejected The Nation’s
argument that it had a First Amendment right to copy the
expression of former President Ford contained in his then
unpublished memoirs. Responding to the claim that Ford’s
expression was “essential to reporting the news story,” the
Court held:

Copyright assures to those who write and pub-
lish factual narratives . . . that they may at least
enjoy the right to market the original ex-
pression contained therein as just ~
compensation for their investment. ... In
view of the First Amendment protections al-
ready embodied in the Copynght Act’s
distinction between copyrightable expression
and uncopyrightable ideas, and the latitude for
scholarship and comment traditionally afford-
ed by fair use, we see no warrant for
expanding the doctrine of fair use to create

3 Id. § 21:5, at 21-10 - 21-11.

7

what amounts to a public figure exception to
copyright. '*

The Court’s rejection of the First Amendment challenge
in Harper & Row mirrored and relied on its approach eight
years earlier in Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broadcasting
Co., 433 U.S. 562 (1977).'* Zacchini had brought a damages
action against a television broadcasting company that
videotaped and broadcast his “human cannonball” act in its
entirety, without consent. The Court held that a damage
award for infringement of Zacchini’s property interest in the
publicity value of his performance did not violate the
broadcaster’s First Amendment rights, because protecting that
property interest would not seriously curtail public access to
or discussion of Zacchini’s performance. Indeed, the Court
noted that protecting his interest would encourage Zacchini to
continue to perform the act, and thereby serve the public
interest.'° Finding satisfactory “the internal limits of the right
of publicity”'’ and observing that granting Zacchini a
monopoly on the performance (in the form of a nght of
publicity) would not prevent the defendant from reporting the
facts surrounding Zacchini’s act, the Court rejected the First
Amendment defense. '*

Dispositively, although First Amendment claims were
raised in both Zacchini and Harper & Row, the Court applied
“intermediate scrutiny” in neither, but rather rejected the First
Amendment challenges on a categorical basis after conclud-
ing that neither infringement claims nor right of publicity
claims threaten the traffic in ideas.

'* 471 U.S. at 556-60 (emphasis added).

'S See 471 U.S. at 557, citing 433 U.S. at 575.

‘© 433 U.S. at 573. Thus, the Court viewed the property interest in the
act, like a copyright interest, as an engine of free expression. See id.
(“(T}he State’s interest [in recognizing a right of publicity] is closely
analogous to the goals of patent and copyright law, focusing on the nght
of the individual to reap the reward of his endeavors. . . .”).

'7 Denicola, supra, at 288.

433 U.S. at 574.

In sum, the idea-expression dichotomy, in copyright and
related cases, appropriately accommodates free speech
concerns.'” And for any cases where “the values inherent in
the rights of free speech and free press demand more than
access to abstract ideas” and require “the use of the particular
form of expression contained in a copyrighted work,””°
copyright law, constructed to avoid any collision with the
_ First Amendment, offers additional internal protections to
protect free speech without the application of intermediate
scrutiny.

First, under the “substantial similarity test,” a speaker’s
use of a minimal amount of expression will generally not be
actionable absent “substantial similarity” between the new
work and the original work.

Second, where the information sought to be
communicated and the mode of its expression are so
intertwined that the one cannot be conveyed without the
other, the expression is considered: “merged” with the
uncopyrightable idea.”'

Third, and most importantly, the fair use Guanes also
guarantees “breathing space within the confines of copyright
{law].” Campbell v. Acuff-Rose Music, 510 U.S. 569, 579
(1994) (emphasis added). As Harper & Row recognized, the
doctrine of fair use serves as an additional, broadly applicable

19

Other courts have reached the same conclusion. See, e.g., Salinger v.
Random House, Inc., 811 F.2d 90, 100 (2d Cir.) (“To deny a biographer
... the opportunity to copy the expressive content of unpublished letters is
not . . . to interfere in any significant way with the process of enhancing
public knowledge of history or contemporary events. The facts may be
reported.”), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 890 (1987); New Era Publ'ns, Int'l ApS
v. Henry Holt & Co., 873 F.2d 576, 584 (2d Cir. 1989) (“An author’s
expression of an idea, as distinguished from the idea itself, is not
considered subject to the public’s ‘right to know.””), cert. denied, 493
U.S. 1094 (1990); Sid & Marty Krofft Tel. Prods., Inc. v. McDonald's
Corp., 562 F.2d 1157, 1170 (9th Cir. 1977) (same); Los Angeles News
Serv. v. Tullo, 973 F.2d 791, 795 (9th Cir. 1992) (same).

2° Denicola, supra, at 293.

*! See e.g., Baker v. Selden, 101 U.S. 99 (1879); Morrissey v. Procter &
Gamble Co., 379 F.2d 675 (1st Cir. 1967).

eS ee oe

9

safeguard against any interference of copyright law with
constitutionally protected speech.” The doctrine of fair use,
codified in Section 107 of the Copyright Act, “tempers the
protection of copyright by allowing an author to use a limited
amount of copynghted material” when copyright law might
otherwise “stifle the very creativity which that law is
designed to foster.””*

Petitioners’ attempts to distinguish Harper & Row and its
progeny rely on wishful thinking, not persuasive analysis. If,
as Petitioners all but concede, Harper & Row establishes “a
presumption against the need to engage in a First Amendment
analysis every time a copyright owner seeks to enforce his
copyright against an infringer,” then that same presumption
should apply when the challenge is to the CTEA on its face
(rather than to the 1976 Act “as applied”). Petitioners offer
no principled reason why intermediate scrutiny is unnecessary
for as-applied challenges (as this Court and every Circuit
court that has addressed the issue has held), but necessary for
facial challenges.

22 Harper & Row, 471 U.S. at 560 (“In view of the First Amendment
protections already embodied in the Copyright Act’s distinction between
latitude for scholarship and comment traditionally afforded by fair use, we
see no warrant for expanding the doctrine of fair use to create what
amounts to a public figure exception to copyright.”). Circuit court rulings
are in accord. See, e.g., Roy Exp. Co. Establishment v. Columbia Broad.
Sys., Inc., 672 F.2d 1095, 1099 (2d Cir.) (“[nJo Circuit that has considered
the question . . . has ever held that the First Amendment provides a
privilege in the copyright field distinct from the accommodation embodied
in the ‘fair use’ doctrine”), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 826 (1982); New Era
Publ'ns, Int'l, 873 F.2d at 584 (“the fair use doctrine encompasses all
claims of first amendment in the copyright field”); A& M Records, Inc. v.
Napster, Inc., 239 F.3d 1004, 1028 (9th Cir. 2001) (“First Amendment
concerns in copyright are allayed by the presence of the fair use
doctrine.”).

3 Twin Peaks Prods. v. Publications Int'l, 996 F.2d 1366, 1373 (2d Cir.
1993).

** — Stewart v. Abend, 495 U.S. 207, 236 (1990).

10

B. Intermediate Review Is Not Applicable Because
Copyright Is A Law Of General Application That
Does Not Restrict The Transmission Of Ideas.

Because copyright law internally provides the necessary
breathing room for free speech, see Harper & Row and
Campbell, “the present reach of the copyright law is such that
its full scope should be ‘defined’ as outside the First
Amendment sphere.””° That is the approach the Court has
taken, as Harper & Row and Zacchini reflect. And because
facial challenges to statutes ordinarily draw no different
standard of First Amendment review from “as-applied”
challenges, the refusal to apply intermediate scrutiny in those
cases should be controlling.

The Court’s refusal to apply intermediate scrutiny in
Harper & Row and Zacchini flowed directly from its view of
copyright law as “the engine of free expression” rather than
its enemy, and was consistent as well with various other lines
of cases in which intermediate (or stricter) scrutiny has not
been, but under Petitioners’ theory should have been, applied.

“Intermediate” and “strict” scrutiny are not all-purpose
tests applicable to every claim that a statute has, either
intentionally, predictably or incidentally infringed First
Amendment rights. Sui generis approaches (rather than
“strict” or “intermediate” scrutiny) have been applied, not
only in copyright and right of publicity cases such as Harper
— Row and Zacchini, but also in funding cases,”° defamation

” and cases involving the competing rights of cable
access programmers and cable operators.2* Members of the
Court have frequently observed that different tools are

25 SMOLLA, supra, at 21-5.

© South Dakota v. Dole, 483 U.S. 203,207-210 (1987); Rust v. Sullivan,
500 U.S. 173 (1991); Legal Servs. Corp. v. Velazquez,, 531 U.S. 533
(2001).

7 E.g., New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964); Gertz v.
Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974).

%* Denver Area Educ. Telecomms. Consortium v. FCC, 518 U.S. 727,
739-42 (1996).

11

required in cases where competing First Amendment interests
are at stake.” The considerations that underlay the
formulation of situation-specific tools, sensitive to the com-
peting interests in all those situations, in lieu of the residual
“strict” and “intermediate” scrutiny tools applied elsewhere,
support the categorical approach adopted in Harper & Row.

Rejection of Petitioners’ invitation to apply intermediate
scrutiny is supported as well by the Court’s refusal to apply
such scrutiny to regulations that govern non-expressive
conduct and do not impose meaningful burdens on speech.
See, e.g., Cohen v. Cowles Media Co., 501 U.S. 663 (1991),
and Arcara v. Cloud Books, Inc., 478 U.S. 697 (1986).
Copyright statutes, like the state promissory estoppel doctrine
at issue in Cohen or the public lewdness law applied in
Arcara, are generally applicable laws that do not target or
single out the press and/or speech itself and apply to myriad
“daily transactions” of Americans generally. Cohen, 501 U.S.
at 670. Indeed, in refusing to apply intermediate scrutiny,
Cohen reasoned that the “press, like others interested in
publishing, may not publish copyrighted material without
obeying the copyright laws,” and concluded that
“enforcement of such general laws . . . is not subject to
stricter scrutiny.” 501 U.S. at 669-70.

We all are subject to copyright laws; we all have a duty
not to infringe established intellectual property rights through
such unlawful conduct as copying, misappropriation, public
displays, and the production of derivative works. So long as
these laws are not used to punish or prevent the expression of
ideas or opinions, only rationality review need be applied.

Petitioners ask this Court to apply the heightened level of
intermediate scrutiny of Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. v.
FCC.’ However, the reasons for applying intermediate
scrutiny in that case (“Turner I’) do not exist in the copyright
context. The CTEA does not, as the 1992 Cable Act did,
require some speakers to carry the message of others

29 Id. at 743-44 (Breyer, J., concurring).
© -§12 U.S. 622 (1994) (“Turner I’).

12

(broadcast stations) at the expense of still others (cable
programmers), thereby “impos[ing] special obligations upon
eee tors and special burdens upon cable program-

ers.” Neither the CTEA nor copyright law generally
“single{s] out the press, or certain elements thereof [cable
programmers] for special treatment,” thus “pos[ing] a
particular danger of abuse by the State.”””

Copyright stimulates the creation of new, original speech;
whether for a term of one year or ninety years, it does not
even arguably require some speakers to carry the message of
others. Unlike FCC regulations which apply to discrete and
identifiable ~arties like cable-network stations, copyright is a
generally applicable law reaching everyone who copies.
Whether for a term of life plus fifty years or life plus seventy,
copyright imposes no special burdens or obligations on the
press or on anyone else. The press, along with every other
institution and every individual, is equally free to use the
ideas embodied in a copyrighted work of authorship, and
equally constrained to refrain from appropriating protected
expression during the term Congress has set. If a term of fifty
years does not offend the First Amendment, it is hard to see
why the CTEA’s terms do.

C. Intermediate Scrutiny Would Be _ Entirely
Unworkable In The Copyright Sphere.

Intermediate scrutiny of the sort applied in Turner
Broadcasting System, Inc. v. FCC, 520 U.S. 180 (1997)
(“Turner IJ’’), is inconsistent with the analysis in Harper &
Row, and far too blunt a tool to be workable as applied to the
CTEA or to copyright law generally; indeed, if rigorously
applied, numerous provisions of copyright law might be
found wanting. The point is not that copyright law is
violative of the First Amendment — it surely is not — but that
the test Petitioners would have the courts apply leads to such
absurd results as to confirm that it must be rejected.

| Id. at 641.
2 Id. at 640.

13

First, the very premise underlying Harper & Row was that
copyright law burdens only the copying of expression and not
the communication of ideas or free speech. But intermediate
scrutiny of the sort required by 7urner / is called for only if
the statute challenged does burden speech.’ The invitation to
apply Turner J is at war with Harper & Row.

Second, it is hard to see how Turner analysis can be
applied in a principled, predictable way that would not lead to
the invalidation (at least by lower courts) of numerous
provisions of copyright law. In Turner JI, it was easy for the
Court to articulate the relevant interests on both sides and to
evaluate Congressional findings based on statistics, audience
behavior, economic principles and broadcast history.
However, copyright terms like “progress of science and the
useful arts” and “limited times” resist meaningful 7urner
review.

Evaluating more or less restrictive means would be
judicially unmanageable. Congress has for centuries applied
copyright to a// writings; how would a court assess whether
that scope of coverage “burdens substantially more speech
than is necessary” to further “the progress of science and the
useful arts”? Or whether any challenged provision of
copyright law (whether durational terms like the CTEA,
extensions of copyright like the Digital Performance Right in
Sound Recordings Act of 1995, or the extension of copyright
to photographs “burdens substantially more speech than
necessary to further” Congress’s legitimate objectives? Must
Congress have compiled a record with “evidence” supporting
those judgments, and myriad others, for courts to pass on,
even though neither the first Congress nor later Congresses
enacting extensions did so?

Copyright law is built on Congress’s understanding of
both economic principles and the psychology of innovation,
and has rested since the Statute of Anne on legislative
judgments regarding incentives and public needs. To subject
those legislative determinations to the inquiries reflected in

> See Point L.B., infra at 10-12.

14

Turner IJ would work a revolution in the ways that Congress
approaches copyright revision, and unreasonably interfere
with the legislature’s exercise of its Article I, § 8 power.

Unlike cable television in the 1990s (still a relatively
novei form of communication), copyright laws have existed
in relatively the same basic form since the 1790s, and
substantial reliance interests have arisen (discussed more fully
in Point III below). Although cable television’s youth
permitted judicial fine-tuning without much fear of destabil-
ization, introducing intermediate scrutiny to copyright now
would threaten the entire system, unsettle established expecta-
tions, and risk creating substantial economic instability.

As in cases involving Congress’s enumerated Article I
powers generally, the Court should uphold copyright laws so
long as the limitations of Article I are respected, Congress is
pursuing a legitimate governmental objective, and the means
chosen are rationally related to that objective. The Framers
crafted the “limited times” provision in the Copyright Clause
to give future Congresses appropriate authority in meeting the
experiential demands of passing generations. So long as
Congress does not pass laws prohibited under its enumerated
powers, for the Court “to undertake here to inquire into the
degree of its necessity would be to pass the line which
circumscribes the judicial department, and to tread on legis-
lative ground.”** Simply stated, “limited times” is a question
of degree. Applying rationality review would categorically
rule out perpetual copyrights and would rationally rule out
thousand year terms, but leave Congress with the necessary
flexibility to make the necessary assessments, through the
political process, concerning demographics, international
markets and artistic capital. *°

** McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 U.S. 316, 423 (1819).

*° See Pennock & Sellers v. Dialogue, 27 U.S. 1 (1829) (duration is
subject to the discretion of Congress, although Congress may not, under
Articie I, Section 8, confer intellectual property rights of unlimited
duration).

15

Il. HistorY Does Not SUPPORT PETITIONERS’ ARGU-
MENT THAT COPYRIGHT TERM EXTENSION IS UNCON-
STITUTIONAL OR WARRANTS CLOSE REVIEW UNDER
THE FIRST AMENDMENT

A. The Framers Perceived No Tension Between The
Copyright Clause And The First Amendment.

The Framers perceived no conflict between the Copyright
Clause and the First Amendment. The Copyright Clause was
not controversial; it was one of few clauses that the
Constitutional Convention adopted without debate.°° Two
years later, when James Madison introduced the Speech
Clause of the First Amendment in the House of
Representatives, no member of Congress argued that the First
Amendment was in tension with the Copyright Clause’s
protections of intellectual property.”’ The Framers en-
trenched the people’s “right to speak, to write, [and] to
publish their sentiments,” but did not conceive of free speech
as impinging upon proprietary or other rights (or vice
versa).*® Madison himself, as a member of the first Congress,
voted for the Copyright Act.

Nor did any conflict between the two clauses manifest
itself for many years after the adoption of the First
Amendment. For example, nowhere in his landmark 1833
Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States did
Justice Joseph Story perceive any incompatibility between
copyright and free speech. Copyright’s role in preventing
“depredation and piracy” fell neatly outside the recognized
limits to speech rights in the First Amendment: “[T]he
language of this amendment imports no more, than that every
man shall have a right to speak, write, and print his opinions
upon any subject whatsoever, without any prior restraint, so
always, that he does not injure any other persons in his rights,

36 5 DEBATES ™ THE SEVERAL STATE CONVENTIONS ON THE ADOPTION
OF THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTION 510-11 (J. Elliot ed. 1859).

37 See, e.g., 3 JOSEPH STORY, COMMENTARIES ON THE CONSTITUTION OF
THE UNITED STATES § 44 (Boston, Hilliard, Gray & Co. 1833).

38 1 ANNALS OF CONG. 451 (1789) (proposal by Madison).

16

person, property, or reputation.””” While “every freeman has

an undoubted nght to lay what sentiments he pleases before
the public,” Story observed, he must, “if he publishes what is
improper, mischievous, or illegal,” accept “the consequences
of his own temerity.””°

B. The Framers Did Not Consider Extensions Of
Copyrights To Existing Works To Be
Unconstitutional.

The history of copyright in the early years of the Republic
also confirms that the Framers did not doubt the
constitutionality of extending copyrights in existing works.
Indeed, Congress made such “retroactive” extensions of
intellectual property rights thirteen times in its first sixty-three
years, including in the Copyright Act passed by the First
Congress in 1790.

Extensions of copyright to existing works were a regular
feature of copyright legislation throughout the eighteenth
century. The Statute of Anne, which, like the Copyright
Clause, declared its purpose to be for “the encouragement of
learning,” extended copyright protection of twenty-one years
from the date of publication to works published prior to its
enactment, while subsequently published works received
copyright terms of fourteen years, plus an additional fourteen-
year term if the author survived the original term.*’ Under the
Articles of Confederation, several states adopted copyright
statutes that similarly extended protection to existing works.
For example, Madison introduced legislation in the Virginia
House of Delegates in 1785 that granted authors copyrights of
twenty-one years in books or pamphlets “already printed.”
Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and South

3 STORY, supra, § 1874.
“Id. § 1878.
*! 8 Anne, ch. 19 (1710) (Eng.).

“ Act of Nov. 16, 1785, reprinted in 8 PAPERS OF JAMES MADISON 418-
19 (William T. Hutchinson et al. eds. 1967).

17

Carolina also extended copyrights to existing published
works.”

In 1790, Congress adopted the first copyright statute
under the new Constitution. Like the Statute of Anne, the Act
of 1790 was styled “An Act for the encouragement of
learning ....” The Act granted a copyright of fourteen years
for new works, and fourteen years from the date of recording
for “any map, chart, book or books already printed within
these United States” to the author or to the author’s
“executors, administrators or assigns.”* By choosing the
Statute of Anne’s retroactive form over some state regimes
that protected new works only, Congress made especially
clear its endorsement of extending copyrights to existing
works. The First Congress’s interpretation of its Copyright —
Clause authority is entitled to “very great weight.”*°

Congress repeatedly extended intellectual property nghts
retroactively over the following two centuries. In 1808, for
example, Congress extended the patent of Oliver Evans by
fourteen years when Evans was deprived of much of the
enjoyment of his patent rights due to an administrative error.*°
In 1828, Congress extended a copyright belonging to James
Rowlett.’ In 1831, Congress passed a new copyright statute,

* See BRUCE W. BUGBEE, GENESIS OF AMERICAN PATENT AND
COPYRIGHT LAW 108-24 (1967). Connecticut, New Jersey, Maryland,
Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Georgia, and New York did not extend
copyrights to newly published works.

“ Copyright Act of 1790, 1 Stat. 124 (1790).

5 Burrow-Giles Lithographic Co. v. Sarony, 111 U.S. 53, 57 (1884).

“© See An Act for the Relief of Oliver Evans, 6 Stat. 70-71 (Jan. 21,
1808); see also Bloomer v. McQuewan, 55 U.S. 539, 543 (1852) (listing
additional patent extensions).

‘7 6 Stat. 389-90 (May 24, 1828). One amici brief argues that Rowlett’s
copyright claim was based on the invalid “sweat-of-the-brow” theory
rejected in Feist Publications, Inc. v. Rural Telephone Service Co., 499
U.S. 390 (1991). See Br. Amici Curiae of Tyler T. Ochoa, et al. [hereafter
“Ochoa Br.”], at 24. The issue, however, is not the validity of Rowlett’s
copyright, but the confidence of members of Congress at that early date
that they had authority to extend the copyrights of already published
works.

18

requiring recordation of copyrights, and lengthening the
initial terms of new and existing copyrights to twenty-eight
years.** The Copyright Act of 1909 likewise extended the
copyright renewal term to twenty-eight years for new and
existing works,” followed by the Copyright Act of 1976,
which extended the term for new and existing works by
various formulae intended to approximate the new standard
term of life of the author plus fifty years.

Petitioners and their amici contest the force of these
precedents; they argue, in essence, that the Act of 1790 was
too early to constitute a retroactive extension, but that all of
the subsequent legislation occurred too late to reflect the
Constitution’s original meaning. But neither end of that vise-
grip argument has force. The 1790 extension of rights in
existing works demolishes Petitioners’ argument notwithstan-
ding that those prior works were copyrighted under state law,
and the subsequent extensions cannot be dismissed as too late
to count when they are part of an impressive, unbroken chain:
virtually every significant piece of copyright legislation
adopted in Britain and the United States between 1700 and
1996 extended additional copyright protection to previously
published works.

C. The Framers’ Suspicion of Monopolies Is
Irrelevant To The Issues Before This Court.

Lacking direct historical support for their claims,
Petitioners analogize the CTEA’s supporters to the corrupt
British ministers who vexed the Framers and the London
booksellers despised by Milton.*’ But Petitioners misrepre-
sent both the real object of the Framers’ concern and the
extent to which the Framers shared it.

The argument that the Framers so abhorred monopoly
powers — which Petitioners implicitly define as any grant of

“* Copyright Act of 1831, 4 Stat. 436 (1831).
* Copyright Act of 1909, 35 Stat. 1075 (1909).
%° See Pet’r Br. at 27 nn. 10 & 11; Ochoa Br. at 29-30.

Re, ec ee errr he

19

exclusive rights, including copyrights and patents’’ — that
they came close to banning all monopolies relies almost
exclusively on a selection of quotations from Thomas
Jefferson, unsurprisingly, for among the Framers, Jefferson
had some of the most alarmist views about monopolies.”
And Jefferson did indeed propose a constitutional amendment
that would have prohibited the granting of any government
monopoly, and inserted 1 in the Constitution a specific term for
patents and copyri ights.”°

Petitioners’ reliance on the “monopoly” issue, however, is
misplaced. When they spoke of “monopolies,” the Framers
did not mean what we would mean by the term today; rather,
they referred to the reviled practice by which the British
Crown granted numerous favors to wealthy individuals.”

This arbitrary, corrupt system extended to the granting of
patents and the licensing of books. Exclusive rights were
granted to businesses, and laws such as the Licensing Act of
Charles II were passed to invest selected publishing compan-
ies with the power to control the press to the Crown’s
benefit.”

But the problem was not limited to or focused on intel-
lectual property. Favorites of the Crown were given colonial
governorships, judicial office, and lucrative business opportu-
nities of all kinds. “These corporate privileges were not fre-
quently granted or widely available; they were made at the
initiative of the government, not private interests.” Indeed,

*! See Pet’r Br. at 25-26.

2 See GORDON S. Woop, THE RADICALISM OF THE AMERICAN
REVOLUTION 320 (1991) (contrasting Jefferson’s belief that corporate
grants should be limited with the actual practice of state legislatures).

3 Letter from Jefferson to Madison, Aug. 28, 1789, available at
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/mtjhtml/mtjhome.html.

* See WOOD, supra, at 82, 318-19.

5S EATON S. DRONE, A TREATISE ON THE LAW OF PROPERTY IN
INTELLECTUAL PRODUCTIONS IN GREAT BRITAIN AND THE UNITED STATES
54-56 (Boston, Little, Brown & Co., 1879). “The declared purpose of the
Stationers’ Company,” for example, “was to prevent the propagation of
the Protestant Reformation.” /d. at 55-56.

20

the South Sea Bubble, whose collapse in 1720 precipitated a
severe economic crisis in England, with fortunes ruined and
revelations of widespread corruption among the directors and
their cronies at Westminster, resulted from such politically
bestowed monopolies.” |

By the time of the Revolution, many in both England and
America came to regard such practices as hopelessly corrupt.
Beginning in the early seventeenth century, Parliament began
taking action against some of the more egregious abuses. For
example, in 1624 Parliament passed the Statute of
Monopolies, which abolished several forms of monopoly, and
limited patents to twenty-one years for existing patents and
fourteen years for new ones. The Statute of Anne, by vesting
initial copyright in authors and limiting the terms, was in
some ways a response to earlier laws such as the Licensing
Act.

The Framers were part of this reform effort. Drawing on
the lessons of the South Sea Bubble and other instances of
British “corruption”, they believed strongly that the govern-
ment should not be allowed to bestow special favors to a few
that were not available to all. It was for this reason that
Elbridge Gerry and George Mason refused to sign the
Constitution, and four states during the ratification debates
sought restrictions prohibiting the granting of “exclusive
advantages of commerce.””’

But the “monopolies” Gerry and Mason opposed were
discretionary grants of authority to powerful individuals, not
all forms of exclusive rights. And even so, many Framers
understood such “monopolies” to be essential, in the absence
of a powerful central government, to building internal
improvements, creating banks, and undertaking other

°° See WOOD, supra, at 319. On the South Sea Bubbie crisis, see
generally BRAY HAMMOND, BANKS AND POLITICS IN AMERICA, FROM THE
REVOLUTION TO THE CIVIL WAR (1957). :

*” Edward C. Walterscheid, Inherent or Created Rights: Early Views on
the Intellectual Property Clause, 19 HAMLINE L. REV. 81, 91 (quoting 6
THE AMERICAN MUSEUM 303 (1789)); see also Ochoa Br. at 19.

21

necessary enterprises.’ Thus, Congress did not adopt

Jefferson’s proposal to prohibit all monopolies except patents
and copyrights.*” Madison, Benjamin Franklin and James
Wilson all proposed adding a provision to Article I, Section 8,
granting Congress the authority “to grant charters of
incorporation where the interest of the U.S. might require &
the legislative provisions of individual States may be
incompetent,” so that Congress might build canals,
universities or other improvements.

The Framers were even less concerned about
“monopolies” over books and inventions. As Hamilton
observed in his Report on Manufactures, “(t]he propriety of
stimulating by rewards, the invention and introduction of
useful improvements, is admitted without difficulty.”
Madison noted in the Federalist No. 43, that the “utility” of
the Copyright “power will scarcely be questioned.” The
relative lack of controversy over the granting of “monopolies”
to reward authors and inventors was no doubt due to the
belief, widely shared by the Framers, that “[wjhile a
monopoly was conceived as consisting ‘in restraining the
common right,’ there was no unjust encroachment in the case
of invention since nothing had existed previously.”

It is thus correct, as Petitioners and amici have argued,
that the Framers were deeply concerned with “monopolies,”
but incorrect that this concern supports their challenge. The
Framers’ primary concern with respect to copyrights, as with
all monopolies, was that they be available to all and not
abused for partisan ends. Even Ochoa, Rose, and Walter-

8 See generally, e.g., OSCAR HANDLIN & MARY FLUG, COMMON-
WEALTH: A STUDY OF THE ROLE OF GOVERNMENT IN THE AMERICAN
ECONOMY: MASSACHUSETTS, 1774-1861 (1969); Louis HARTZ, Eco-
NOMIC POLICY AND DEMOCRATIC THOUGHT: PENNSYLVANIA, 1776-1880
(1948).

See Letter from Jefferson to Madison, Aug. 28, 1789, supra.

* Alexander Hamilton, Report on Manufactures, in 10 PAPERS OF
ALEXANDER HAMILTON 338-40 (Harold C. Styrett et al. eds. 1961).

6! CHRISTINE MACLEOD, INVENTING THE INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION:
THE ENGLISH PATENT SYSTEM, 1660-1800, at 183 (1988).

22

scheid admit as much: the Copyright Clause, in their view,
“appears to have been aimed at preventing the kinds of abuses
that had prompted the Statute of Monopolies one hundred and
fifty years earlier.” Petitioners have therefore placed the
emphasis on the wrong word in the Copyright Clause. The
Framers did not iuwtead to require courts to hold copyright
legislation to a specific standard of “progress;” rather, they
intended to limit the purposes for which copynght legislation
might be passed to the promotion of “the Useful Arts,” as
opposed to the promotion of political patronage, or of the
President’s religious views.® Given that copyrights are avail-
able to all authors, and that the benefits of the CTEA apply
equally to all copyrights, the Framers’ concerns with
discretionary “monopolies” are simply not implicated by the

CTEA.
D. The Framers Intended To Vest Congress With
The Authority To Determine The Proper Term

For Copyrights.

The Framers gave Congress discretion to adapt to changed
circumstances by setting the boundaries of copyright,
including its term. Had they intended otherwise, they would
have adopted Jefferson’s suggestion of limiting copynghts to
a constitutionally specified term. Since they did not, this
Court was correct in demarcating the proper term for copy-
rights and patents as “subject to the discretion of Congress.

® Ochoa Br. at 17.
* See Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 5 (1966).
* Pennock & Sellers, 27 U.S. at 16-17.

23

III. REGARDING EXISTING WORKS, PETITIONERS’
ARGUMENTS WOULD REQUIRE INVALIDATION OF NOT
ONLY THE CTEA BuT ALSO ANY PRIOR TERM
EXTENSIONS AND OTHER EXPANSIONS OF COPYRIGHT,
AND SUBSTANTIAL RELIANCE INTERESTS WARRANT
REJECTION OF PETITIONERS’ ARGUMENTS
A. Petitioners’ Theory Implicates Not Only The

CTEA But Also Prior Copyright Extensions And
Changes.

Petitioners argue that the “retroactive” extension of the
term of pre-existing works violates the “Limited Times”
requirement of the Copyright Clause. To begin with, the
CTEA is not “retroactive” because it retrieves no works
already in the public domain, but rather, merely “disappoints
the expectation that the work was going to go into the public
domain at the end of 1998, as opposed to twenty years
thereafter." But, if the public has a vested interest of a
constitutional dimension in a work falling into the public
domain on an expected date, “then it follows that every term
extension after 1790 is constitutionally infirm.” Indeed, if
one accepts Petitioners’ logic, “[p]jerhaps the public had a
vested interest in the public domain being whatever the
subject matter and scope of copyright was at the time that
each of those works was created. That would mean, for
example, that any sound recording created before enactment
of the Digital Performance Right in Sound Recordings Act of
1995 should not enjoy such a performance right today.”®”’
And it would mean, for example, that Congress’ decision to
include photographs in the definition of copyrightable subject

24

matter was unconstitutional, and that Burrows-Giles
Lithograph was wrongly decided.

Conceding, as they must, that “a rule against retroactive
copyright extensions would cast into doubt the 1831 and 1909
Acts, and possibly the 1976 Act,” Petitioners proffer a basis
to distinguish the CTEA from prior extensions: the CTEA
extension is automatic, they say, while the 1831 and 1909
extensions were contingent on registration, renewal, or the
like. Pet’r Br. 30 n.13. Petitioners do not explain why the
presence or absence of these pro forma requirements bears
any relevance to the constitutionality of retroactive copyright
extensions, and the 1976 extension, which Petitioners
conspicuously fail to mention in their footnote, was
automatic. Petitioners entirely fail to demonstrate how the
CTEA or prior extensions “can be distinguished from the
CTEA,” id., and in considering their arguments the Court
must consider the extent to which those arguments would
upset a huge range of existing rights resting on prior
durational and other changes in copyright law.

B. Substantial Reliance Interests Warrant Rejection

Of Petitioners’ Arguments.

For twenty-five years, artists and executives in the music,
film, print, and other industries have done business on the
understanding that the rights Congress granted them in 1976,
and before and after as well, were settled and secure.
Reliance on those rights undergirded innumerable
transactions concerning tens of thousands of works and
hundreds of millions of dollars. As Professor Arthur Miller
notes:

* See also Edward Samuels, The Public Domain in Copyright Law, 41
J. COPYRIGHT Soc’y U.S.A. 137, 172-173 (Winter 1993) (foomotes
omitted) (“When Congress...expanded the scope of copyright to include
the right of public display (presumably applying to existing works as
well), or of public performance or musical works whether or not for profit,
or added the cable compulsory license, or added certain moral rights for
visual artists in 1990, [it] affected existing as well as future works....”).

25

We have enormous industries that invest
millions of dollars into works of expression —
from books to phonograph records, television
shows, motion pictures and Internet systems.
That is the way we disseminate copyrighted
works, and thank goodness — because that ena-
bles us to disseminate not simply on Fifth
Avenue and Forty-Second Street, but to the
four corners of the globe through the Internet.
That takes money. It takes capital. You must
attract capital into the copyright industries or
you will not achieve the purposes of the Copy-
right Clause. You attract capital by making
sure those industries have a rate of return. It is
not simply Hawthorne sitting at his desk with a
quill. We have to provide incentives for a
whole raft of people and industries to invest
capital in order to promote the progress of
science and the useful arts.... We must
incentivize the dissemination industries, the
preservation industries, and the derivative
work industries.”

Petitioners’ theory would unsettle, for tens of thousands
of copyright owners, rights established by the 1976 Act and
the extensions leading up to it. Countless transactions would
risk being undone, and countless investment-backed
expectations denied.

The Court’s recent warning that “courts must be cautious
before adopting changes that disrupt the settled expectations
of the inventing community” applies with equal force to the
community of copyright holders: where the law in an area is
“settled,” “fundamental alterations in these rules risk

® Ginsburg, supra, at 692-93.

26

destroying the legitimate expectations of . . . countless”
creators and investors “in their property.”

Indeed, Festo’s warning is even more compelling here.
Though the “doctrine of equivalents” at issue in Festo had
been occasionally reaffirmed, those reaffirmances were part
of a continuing “debate,”’' marked by vociferous dissents,
hesitant decisions acknowledging unfortunate uncertainty,
and repeated adjustments of the doctrine by Congress and the
courts.” Copyright term extensions for pre-existing works
date back even further, and the history of those extensions is
remarkably free of debate and dissent. As Petitioners note, no
court, and evidently no prior litigant, has ever challenged the
constitutionality of such extensions.’ Indeed, Petitioners’
observation that “the 1909 and 1976 statutes simply followed
the examples that preceded them””* is precisely on point:
Congress evidently treated the constitutionality of copyright
term extensions for pre-existing works as “settled” in 1909,
from 1961 to 1976, and again in 1998. Given Congress’s
settled view, its repeated legislation based on that view, and
the fact that no court has ever before doubted the
constitutionality of that practice, Festo’s instruction that
“{t]here is no justification for applying a new [rule] to those
who relied on a prior doctrine”’” applies powerfully here.

This Court has repeatedly anne the importance of not
lightly disruptin ng settled expectations. In Landgraf v. USI
Film Products,’® for example, this Court emphasized that

” Festo v. Shoketsu Kinzoku Kogyo Kabushiki Co.,__ U.S. __, 122 S.
Ct. 1831, 1841 (2002), citing Warner-Jenkinson v. Hilton Davis Chem.
Co., 520 U.S. 17, 20, 28 (1997) (reaffirming the doctrine of equivalents in
light of its “lengthy history”).

"Id. at 20.

” See generally Festo, supra.

7 Pet’r Br. at 30. See also Eldred v. Reno, 239 F.3d 372, 372 (D.C. Cir.
2001) (observing that no appellate court had ever before addressed the
constitutionality of extensions as applied to existing works).

- &

> Festo, 122 S. Ct. at 1841.

% §11 US. 244, 270 (1994).

27

reliance interests deserve particular deference when
contractual or property rights are at issue, “matters in which
predictability and stability are of prime importance.””’ “In a
free dynamic society, creativity in both commercial and
artistic endeavors is fostered by a rule of law that gives
people confidence about the legal consequences of their
actions.””®
C. There Has Been A Great Deal Of Actual Reliance
On The 1976 Copyright Extension And Other
Non-durational Extensions.

In 1976, Congress extended the duration of all existing
copyrights,” as the culmination of a series of interim
extensions started in 1962."° Like previous retroactive copy-
right extensions, the scope of those extensions was
substantial; they affected the copyright terms of almost every

77

Id. at 256. See also Nordlinger v. Hahn, 505 U.S. 1, 14 (1992);
Heckler v. Mathews, 465 U.S. 728, 746 (1984); New Orleans v. Dukes,
427 U.S. 297, 305 (1976); Penn Cent. Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438
U.S. 104, 124 (1978); Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606, 617
(2001).

™ Landgraf, 511 U.S. at 266. See also, e.g., Toolson v. New York
Yankees, 346 U.S. 356, 357 (1953) (refusing to make ruling retroactive
because “the business has...been left for thirty years to develop, on the
understanding that it was not subject to existing...legislation”), see also
Radovich v. National Football League, 352 U.S. 445, 450-51 (1957)
(same).

” Copyright duration was 56 years under the 1909 Act, composed of a
28-year first term, renewable for a further 28 years. For most existing
works, the 1976 Act left the first term at 28 years but extended the second
term from 28 to 47 years, bringing the total term of protection to 75 years.
Copyrights already in their second term received the additional 19 years
automatically; copyrights in their first term received the full 47 year
second term upon renewal. 1976 Act, § 304 (a), (b). See ROBERT A.
GORMAN & JANE C. GINSBURG, COPYRIGHT FOR THE NINETIES 318 ef seq.
(4th ed. 1993). Unless otherwise noted, this discussion assumes that
copyright holders renewed their copyrights at the end of the first 28-year
term, and were thus entitled to the full 75 years of protection granted by
the 1909 and 1976 Acts.

* See Pet’r Br. at 2 n.1 (collecting extensions).

28

work copyrighted in the United States between 1910*' and
1976, provided that the copyright had been renewed. The
result was lengthened copynight protection for more than a
half-century of creative activity.

The Congressional Research Service (“CRS”) estimates
that, in the twenty-year period between 1922 and 1941,
copyrights were registered to no less than 77,000 works — or
3,850 works per year, on average — that continue to earn
royalties for their full seventy-five-year term.® Extrapolating
from this twenty-year period to the full sixty-six year period
at issue here, the number of works significantly affected by
the 1976 extension is in the range of 250,000." These
250,000 works, like any other piece of property or any other
investment, produce income and the rights in many of them
have been bought, sold, and traded, used as collateral, and
otherwise relied upon, by creators and industry, in the quarter
century since passage of the 1976 Act.

Dollar amounts are similarly reflective of the huge
reliance interests at stake. CRS estimates that approximately
49,000 books, musical works, and movies were copyrighted
between 1922 and 1941 that were still earning royalties at the
end of their copyright term; CRS further estimates that the
additional nineteen years of royalties that Congress granted to
these works in 1976 was worth approximately

*! Works created before 1910 were subject to the term set by the 1831
Copyright Act which granted 42 years of protection, and their copyrights
had all expired by 195 1—-well before the first interim extension in 1962.

‘2 Edward Rappaport, Copyright Term Extension: Estimating the
Economic Values, in CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH SERVICE REPORT FOR
CONGRESS, at 8, 12, 15, 16 (May 11, 1998).

*° Again, this number takes into account that only a small number of
works are renewed, and an even smaller number have enduring value to
their creators in the form of royalties for decades following their
publication. (Without accounting for these things, the numbers would be
far larger: there were approximately 167,000 first-time copyright
registrations a year, on average, between 1923 and 1941; for the full 65-
year period, the equivalent number would he on the order of ten million.)

29

$31 7,000,000. Again exirapolating from the twenty-year
period to the sixty-six year period at issue here, the additional
royalties on books, music, and movies that Congress granted
in the 1976 Act is on the order of one billion dollars.

Works affected by the 1976 extension include some of the
20th century’s greatest creative and artistic achievements.
Even limiting the inquiry to copyrights that are set to expire
by 2010 under the 1976 Act — copyrights, that is, in which the
Act’s nineteen-year extension has already lapsed or will do so
shortly — Petitioners’ theory would unsettle the ownership
status of books like Faulkner’s The Sound and The Fury
(1929), Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby (1925) and
Hemingway’s A Farewell to Arms; musical works like
Copland’s Appalachian Spring (1944), Gershwin’s Rhapsody
in Blue (1924) and Porgy and Bess (1935), and Duke
Ellington’s Take the ‘A’ Train (1938); and movies and
musical theater works like Oklahoma (1943), The Wizard of
Oz (1939), Gone with the Wind (1939), and Casablanca
(1942).*° See Appendix, infra for examples of other works.

Transactions executed in at least partial reliance on the
1976 Act have been large and numerous. To give just a few
examples, Turner Broadcasting System acquired Metro-
Goldwyn-Mayer (“MGM”) for $1.5 billion in 1985 with the
primary purpose of acquiring MGM’s film library.*° In 1999,

** Rappaport, supra, at 16 (all amounts in 1997 dollars).

*° By virtue of the 1976 Copyright Act and the CTEA, each of these
works is still under copyright protection. Royalties on many of these
works is substantial: The Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization earns
$10 million annually in royalties and licensing fees; a nationwide license
for a Gershwin song, worth between $45,000 and $75,000 fifteen years
ago, now earns more than $250,000; Rhapsody in Blue became United
Airlines’ theme song for an estimated $500,000. David D. Kirkpatrick,
Media; Publishers and Libraries Square Off Over Free Online Access to
Books, N.Y. TIMES, June 17, 2002, at C7.

*° Geraldine Fabrikant, Turner To Sell MGM Assets, N.Y. TIMES, June
7, 1986, at A35. (“after [$300 million in] asset sales, Mr. Turner will have
paid about $1.2 billion for the property he sought in the MGM purchase,
the studio’s film library.”)

30

EMI Records acquired the Windswept Pacific music catalog,
which included more than 40,000 titles from early rock and
roll to modern pop songs, for 126 million pounds
(approximately $200 million).*’ And during the last decade,
Viacom acquired Simon & Schuster and Bertlesmann
acquired Random House.

Copyrights, of course, are bought and sold every day, and
these large transactions are just a small subset. Petitioners’
theory would throw countless transactions, large and small,
into doubt, potentially rendering vast numbers of copyrights
and copyright-driven transactions uncertain and insecure.

CONCLUSION
The judgment below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,
CHARLES S. SIMS,
Counsel of Record
JON A. BAUMGARTEN
FRANK P. SCIBILIA
BRUCE BOYDEN
PROSKAUER ROSE LLP
1585 BROADWAY
NEW YORK, NY 10036

8? EMI Pays Pounds 11.5m for Stake in Phil Collins Music Publisher,
THE INDEPENDENT, November 4, 1999, at 23.

lap

APPENDIX
Selected Copywritten Works
1910-1954

Books
Edith Wharton Ethan Frome 1911
Robert Frost Poetry from A Boy’s 1913

Will

- through - 1951

The Road Not Taken
Agatha Christie The Mysterious Affair at | 1920

Styles
Willa Cather One of Ours 1921
T. S. Elliot The Waste Land 1922
P.G. Wodehouse The Inimitable Jeeves 1923
Sherwood Anderson | Horses and Men 1923
F. Scott Fitzgerald | The Great Gatsby 1925
Langston Hughes Poetry from The Weary | 1926

Blues

- through - 1951

Montage of a Dream

Deferred
Sinclair Lewis Arrowsmith 1926
Virginia Wolf To the Lighthouse 1927
William Faulkner The Sound and the Fury | 1929

As I Lay Dying 1930
Thomas Wolfe Look Homeward, Angel | 1929

e through e

A Western Journey 1951
Pearl S. Buck The Good Earth 1931
Aldous Huxley Brave New World 1932
James Hilton Lost Horizon 1933
Margaret Mitchell Gone with the Wind 1936
J.R.R. Tolkein The Hobbit 1937

2ap
Thornton Wilder Our Town 1938
John Steinbeck The Grapes of Wrath 1939
Eugene O’Neill The Iceman Cometh 1939
Long Day’s Journey Into | 1941
Night
Emest Hemingway | The Sun Also Rises 1926
A Farewell To Arms 1929
For Whom the Bell Tolls | 1940
Eudora Welty A Curtain of Green 1941
Tennessee Williams | The Glass Menagerie 1945
A Streetcar Named 1947
Desire
W.H. Auden The Age of Anxiety 1947
Norman Mailer The Naked and the Dead | 1948
George Orwell Nineteen Eighty-four 1949
Arthur Miller Death of a Salesman 1949
The Crucible 1953
Ray Bradbury Fahrenheit 451 1953
Herman Wouk The Caine Mutiny 1954
Music
W.C. Handy St. Louis Blues 1914
George Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue 1924
An American in Paris 1928
Porgy & Bess 1935
“Jelly Roll” Morton | Smokehouse Blues 1926
Jerome Kern Showboat 1927
Igor Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms 1929
Edward “Duke” It Don’t Mean a Thing if | 1932
Ellington it Ain’t Got that Swing
Mood Indigo 1933
Cole Porter Anything Goes 1934
Irving Berlin Cheek to Cheek 1935

eee ee —

ree

3ap

Harry Warren Lullaby of Broadway 1935
Chattanooga Choo Choo | 1941
You’ll Never Know 1943
That’s Amore 1953
Jerome Kern The Way You Look 1936
Tonight
Lorenz Hart My Funny Valentine 1937
Samuel Barber Adagio for Strings 1938
Aaron Copland Billy the Kid 1938
Appalachian Spring 1944
Duke Ellington Take the ‘A’ Train 1938
Ella Fitzgerald and | A-Tisket A-Tasket 1938
Al Feldman
Harold Arlen Over the Rainbow 1939
Blues in the Night 1942
White Christmas 1942
Leigh Harline When You Wish Upon | 1940
A Star
Rodgers & Oklahoma! 1943
Hammerstein Carousel 1945
South Pacific 1949
The King and I 1951
Woody Guthrie This Land is Your Land | 1944
Consuelo Velazquez | Besame Mucho 1944
Charlie Parker Groovin’ High 1945
Irving Berlin Annie Get Your Gun 1946
William “Count” Stay Cool 1946
Basie
“Dizzy” Gillespie A Night In Tunisia 1946
Jule Styne Let It Snow, Let It 1946
Snow, Let It Snow
William Best For Sentimental Reasons | 1946
Johnny Marks Rudolph the Red Nosed | 1949
Reindeer
Frank Loesser Guys & Dolls 1950
Jack Rollins Frosty the Snowman 1950

4ap
Art Tatum Stompin at the Savoy 1953
Bob Mermill How Much Is That 1953
Doggie In Window

Pat Ballard Mister Sandman 1954
Bill Haley Rock Around the Clock | 1954
Movies

Ben-Hur 1926

The Jazz Singer 1927

Duck Soup 1933

King Kong 1933

It Happened One Night 1934

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs 1937

Gone With the Wind 1939

The Wizard of Oz 1939

Fantasia 1940

Citizen Kane 1941

The Maltese Falcon 194]

Casablanca 1942

Double Indemnity 1944

It’s a Wonderful Life 1946

Singin’ in the Rain 1952

On the Waterfront 1954

REAR
.#, % 5 ae,
ig = “me! Konno ”

rx ae ae ya S

ere «
’

la

AMICI CURIAE

Association of American Publishers is the national
association in the United States of publishers of general
books, textbooks and educational materials. The AAP’s
approximately 300 members include most of the major book
publishers in the United States and many smaller or non-
profit publishers, including university presses and scholarly
associations.

Amberson Holdings LLC owns or controls the copyrights to
the works of Leonard Bernstein.

Richard Avedon is a photographer whose images are
circulated around the world.

The George Balanchine Trust owns or controls the
copyrights to most of the choreographic works of America’s
leading choreographer.

Peter Barték owns or controls the copyrights to many of
Béla Bartok’s compositions.

Boosey & Hawkes, Inc. is the publisher of many of
America’s most important composers of concert and operatic
works, from the 20th-century masters such as Aaron Copland
and Alberto Ginastera, to leading figures of the present day,
including John Adams, Elliott Carter, and Steve Reich.

The Aaron Copland Fund For Music, Inc. was founded
under the will of Aaron Copland to encourage and improve
public knowledge of contemporary American concert music
and jazz. Since 1992, the Copland Fund has awarded more

' than $9 million to support the recording, performance and

other dissemination of American Music, both in the United
States and around the world.

European-American Music Corporation and its affiliate
Helicon Music Corporation, publish a substantial catalogue of
concert works by living American composers, including
Robert Beaser, Kamran Ince, Stephen Paulus, Tobias Picker,
Bernard Rands, Christopher Rouse, Joseph Schwantner and
Alvin Singleton, among others.

2a

The George Gershwin Family Trust is a private entity
which administers certain rights in the works of George
Gershwin. The Trustees, both on behalf of the Trust and as
individuals, are active in the support of the arts and of
creative works, old and new.

The Leonore S. Gershwin Trust for the benefit of the Ira
and The Leonore Gershwin Philanthropic Fund and The
Leonore S. Gershwin Trust for the benefit of The Library
of Congress, both funded by revenues derived solely from
copyrights in the works of Ira Gershwin, support a significant
number of charitable institutions, including arts organizations
which, in turn, support the work of new artists, as well as the
documentation and preservation activities of the United States
Library of Congress.

The Keith Haring Foundation helps fund a children’s
medical center, offers an art education scholarship, and
supports local and national AIDS charities. These efforts
have all been funded by income derived from the exploitation
of Keith Haring’s copyrighted images.

The Frederick Loewe Foundation, Inc. supports New
Dramatists and other organizations for the development of
young writers, particularly in the music theatre.

David Mamet is a Pulitzer Prize-winning Playwright.

Glen Roven is a composer.

The Kurt Weill Foundation for Music, funded solely by
copyright royalties, maintains the Weill-Lenya Research
Center in New York City, publishes a complete edition of
Weill’s works and other educational materials, and sponsors
grants and prizes to performers, composers, and scholars.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0514%3A44. Public record. Not legal advice.
