# Amicus Curiae Brief — BE&K Constr. Co. v. NLRB

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0508%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 536 U.S. 516

## Text

Supreme Court, US.
~_ i F L E p
3 . pec 5 2001
No. 01-518 :
CLERK
INTHE _ _
Supreme Court of the Gnited States —

OCTOBER TERM, 2001

BE&K CONSTRUCTION CO,
Petitioner,

Vv.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED STATES
AND ASSOCIATED BUILDERS AND CONTRACTORS,
INC. IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

MICHAEL E. AVAKIAN*
SMETANA & AVAKIAN

5211 Port Royal Road, Ste. 103
Springfield, VA 22151

(703) 321-9181

Attorney for Amicus Curiae
*Counsel of Record

~-—w

Of Counsel:

Stephen A. Bokat

Robin S. Conrad

Joshua A. Ulman

NATIONAL CHAMBER LITIGATION CENTER
1615 H Street, NW

Washington, DC 20062

(202) 463-5337

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Chamber of Commerce of
the United States

OO LOOT lt A TOD IIT Pe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SUCCES GO ME GUUS oc cect wee eees 2
Ct. be deg bk oo 8 6 Oe oi 6 4644 4 4 W's 0 0 04 8 3

og eee ee ee 3

1. ABSENT REVIEW BY THIS COURT, THE
DECISIONS BELOW THREATEN TO CHILL
FUNDAMENTAL EMPLOYER RIGHTS OF
ACCESS TO THE COURTS DUE TO
CONFLICTING STANDARDS USED TO
DETERMINE WHETHER BUSINESS
LAWSUITS ARE “MERITORIOUS.” .......... 6

Il. REVIEW SHOULD ALSO BE GRANTED IN
ORDER TO RESOLVE THE CIRCUIT
CONFLICT WHICH NOW _ EXISTS
REGARDING THE BOARD'S POWER TO
AWARD ATTORNEYS’ FEES TO NON-
EMPLOYEE LABOR ORGANIZATIONS ...... 16

Ee ee Pa eee 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Page

American Pacific Concrete Pipe,

ane WDD. CSRS CERRO . wc cece ceu eee eee
B.E.&K Construction Co.,

PRR SE Of) ee ee 2
Bill Johnson's Restaurants v. NLRB,

GSU US. Vol CURD 5k kein cased bee in passim
Brown & Root, Inc. v. Louisiana State AFL-CIO,

© F.38 SUS Gah Cis. GRD .. cc cease eens ee 14
California Motor Transport Co. v. Trucking Unlimited,

406 U.S. SEB (IPT we ce cta canvas eee 8-10
Chauffeurs, Teamsters, Local 776 v. NLRB,

enw bP: tt fe |=6he re 1S
Diamond Walnut Growers, Inc. v. NLRB,

53 F.38 OGGS Ga Civ. CURED oo cece cenecuee een 16, 17
Dist. 65, Distributive Workers v. NLRB,

G33 F.28 10856 GC. Gis. QURED 0 000 sScae eee 21
East Bay Chevrolet v. NLRB,

66D F.26. 0685 Gs Cer. SSNS) wet teceueeuseee 21
Eastern R. Presidents Conf. v. Noerr Motor Freight, Inc.,

305 U.S. 1Z7 (OGRE) wee teehee eee 14
Federal Prescription Service, Inc. v. NLRB,

G06 F.26 SiS Gb Cer. CORED 2 nec ee ines eee eee 21-22

Federal Security, Inc.,

EN EE.
Gibson Greetings, Inc. v. NLRB,

rr tt eee ewes 17
IBEW, Local 532 (Brink Constr. Co.),

EEE 22
Hecks, Inc.,

en ee tt cee 18, 21

Heisler Food Enter., Lid.,
Case No. 2-CA-30899, 1999 NLRB LEXIS 889 (1999) . 22-23

International Union of Electrical Workers v. NLRB,
Ee 17

J.P. Stevens & Co. v. NLRB,
See Ue UG, BUUED ccc ccc ccc ccc ceccees 21

Johnson & Hardin Co.., ;
DCCEED cscvcoecesececoccccces 16

Johnson & Hardin Co. v. NLRB,
re ee te tec eee eee. 23

Lang Towing, Inc.,
CTC cscs ce ee eee vececcees 17

Lechmere, Inc. v. NLRB,
tees 5, 17, 20

Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers, Local 114,
De tee eeee 7, 11

Local 32B-32J, Service Employees Int'l] Union,
68 F.3d 490 (D.C. Cir. 1995) ...... seeeeseveses 23

-iv-

Martin v. Gingerbread House, Inc.,
977 F.2d 1405 (10th Cir. 1992) 2... 1. ee ee eee eee 14

McDonald v. Smith,
GRE GREP cece cc tcceesernseceseoes 10

Mine Workers v. Pennington,
Pe Ff arena eee ee ee 14

Montgomery Ward Co..
y FRR ae, Teer eee 20

NLRB v. Federal Security, Inc.,
154 F.3d 751 (7th Cir. 1998) ....... 22 eee eee eeee 22

NLRB vy. Food Store Empl., Local 347,
if § ee are ee eee ee ee 20

NLRB v. Vanguard Tours, Inc.,
961 F.2d 62 (3d Cir. 1992) ..... cc eee rece r cence 9

Petrochem Insulation, Inc. v. NLRB,
240 F.3d 26, 32 (D.C. Cir. 2001) ........-+- ee eee 13

Power Systems,
239 N.L.R.B. 445 (1978) 2... ee ee ees 19

Professional Real Estate Investors, Inc. v.
Columbia Pictures Ind., Inc..,

. Sie 7). eer 4,7, 9, 10, 13
San Filippo v. Bongiovanni,

30 F.3d 424 (3d Cir. 1994) 2.0... cee ees 14
Shepard v. NLRB, .

P Lik GY. | re eee 21

Summitville Tiles, Inc..,
300 N.L.R.B. G4 (19SO) 0. wc ee cere eee 15

- Vv -
Summit Valley Industries, Inc. v.
United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners,
ee cus ecweun eed bese da cvues 6, 19

Sure-Tan, Inc. v. NLRB,

eee ea ee 9
Teamsters Local 776 (Rite Aid Corp.),
Nee ne ee eau 23
Teamsters, Local 776 v. NLRB,
Ore ©.ae Soe, SOO GG Gis. BOGE... ww ccc ccs 23
Three Affiliated Tribes v. Wold Engineering, P.C.,
El ne 9
Tiidee Products, Inc..,
194 N.L.R.B. 1234 (1972) ............ 4, 17, 20, 21, 23
USS Posco v.
Contra Costa County Bldg. & Constr. Trades Council,
28 P38 GEO Gs Cir. 1GBG) 0... ccc ccc cece 12, 14
Unbelievable, Inc.,
Pee Ce, GV GID nc cccccccccccecce 21, 22
United Steelworkers of Amer. v. NLRB,
496 F.2d 1342 (Sth Cir. 1974) .......... 0.2.2... 21
NLRB v. Vanguard Tours, Inc..,
981 F.2d 62 (2d Cir. 1992).............. ‘--whewe 15
White v. Lee,
227 F.34 1214 (Sth Cir. 2000)... ee ee 12

- Vi - ™
OTHER

Balmer, Sham Litigation and the Antitrust Laws,

29 Buffalo L.Rev. 39 (1980) ..... 6-6 eee ee eee
Fed R. Civ. Proc ll... . 2... ee ee cee etter eeee®
2B U.S.C. § IG2T 0. cee err eee erereees

No. 01-518

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 2001

BE&K CONSTRUCTION CO.,
Petitioner,
v.
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

INTRODUCTION

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.2(a), the
Chamber of Commerce of the United States and the
Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc. submit this
joint brief as amici curiae in support of the Petitioner.
All parties have given written consent to the filing of this
Brief.

‘Letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk of Court.
Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, amici curiae state that this

’ brief was not prepared, written or produced by any person or entity

other than the amici curiae or its counsel.

= =

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The amici curiae Chamber of Commerce of the
United States (the “Chamber”) and Associated Builders

and Contractors, Inc. (“ABC”) are, respectively, a

federation of businesses and a trade association. They are
filing this brief because of their mutual concern that the
Decisions of the National Labor Relations Board (the
“Board”) and the Court of Appeals conflict with prior
holdings of this Court on an issue of great importance:
the First Amendment protection attaching to lawsuits filed
by employers against labor organizations. The individual
amici and their specific individual interests in this case
are set forth below.

The Chamber is the world’s largest federation of
business companies and associations, with an underlying
membership of nearly 3,000,000 businesses and
professional organizations of every size, in every industry
sector, and every region of the country. An important
function ofthe Chamber is to represent the interests of its
members by filing briefs amicus curiae in cases involving
issues of concern to American business.

ABC is an association of more than 23,000
construction contractors and related firms. ABC
members are regularly confronted by activities of labor
organizations and their agents intent on removing them
from both bidding on and performing private and
governmental construction projects. Its members have a
fundamental business interest in their business reputations
and in protecting their businesses from competitors’ anti-
competitive activities.

The amici jointly believe that the legal issues under
review herein are extremely important to employers

nie

throughout the nation. The Board’s decision here in
B.E.&K Construction Co., 329 N.L.R.B. No. 68 (1999),
enf'd, 246 F.3d 619 (6th Cir. 2001), imposes a burden on
employers under the National Labor Relations Act (the
“Act”) that emasculates employer rights preserved under
the Act and under the First Amendment right to Petition
the Courts for redress of grievances.

The Chamber's and ABC's participation as amici
curiae will assist the Court in obtaining full consideration
of the public-interest issues.

ISSUES

The amici hereby adopt and incorporate by reference
the Petitioner's Questions Presented.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The amici hereby adopt and incorporate by reference
the Petitioner’s Statement of the Case.

The amici wish to stress that the Petitioner in this
case filed suit against the unions only after its business
had been attacked in a series of frivolous legal actions by
the labor organizations. Even then, the Petitioner did not
bring its antitrust claims until after consulting with
numerous legal experts who advised that the claims had
merit and should be pursued. In short, it is undisputed
that BE&K filed its suit based upon a good faith belief
that its claims had merit, and there has been no finding by
the NLRB or the Circuit Court that BE&K’s were
“objectively baseless.”

=

It must also be noted that BE&K did not file any
litigation against its own employees or against employees
of any other employer. BE&K solely took legal action
against labor organizations who themselves had initiated
legal proceedings against BE&K and its customer in the
first instance. There is no dispute that the unions did not
represent BE&K’s employees and did not act on their
behalf at any point in the proceedings.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Petition presents a circuit court conflict
concerning an issue of great public importance: whether
the First Amendment will any longer protect the right of
employers to petition the courts against non-employee
labor organizations. The decisions of the NLRB and the
Sixth Circuit, by misapplying the Court’s holding in Bill
Johnson’s Restaurants v. NLRB, 461 U.S. 731 (1983),
threaten to chill the business community’s right of access
to the courts due to the unavoidable risk of committing
unfair labor practices under the newly announced
standard.

The Board and court of appeals have improperly
departed from the uniform standard established by the
Court in Professional Real Estate Investors, Inc. v.
Columbia Pictures Ind., Inc., 508 U.S. 49, 51 (1993),
under which the First Amendment protects all, but
“objectively baseless” litigation.. That departure conflicts
with decisions in the Second, Third, Fifth, and Ninth
Circuits.

As demonstrated in the Petition, the Board has
abandoned the practice of evaluating the bona fides of an

sie

employer’s lawsuit upon objective considerations at the
time the suit is filed, by erecting a rule that every lawsuit
lost is an unfair labor practice. This Court’s approach in
Professional Real Estate Investors, Inc. , established “that
litigation cannot be deprived of immunity as a sham
unless the litigation is objectively baseless.” 508 U.S. at
51.

Employers filing suit under the Board’s “prevailing”
test, as employed against the Petitioner in this case, will
be unable to determine whether or not litigation is
permissible under the Act. If BE&K’s suit is unlawful,
though filed and maintained with the support of expert
advice and in defense of plainly improper non-employee
conduct, then every employer lawsuit against a labor
organization is a potential unfair labor practice.

The chilling effect of the Board and circuit decisions
is compounded by their conflict with this Court’s holding
in Lechmere, Inc. v. NLRB, 502 U.S. 527, 532 (1992),
where the Court established that important distinctions
exist between employees and labor organizations: “§ 7
simply does not protect nonemployee union organizers.”
BE&K here did not sue its own employees. Rather, it
treated the non-certified, non-employee labor
organizations in the same manner it would treat unlawful
action of a competitor damaging its business.

Moreover, the Board’s new policy departs from
instructions given the Board by this Court in NLRB v.
Food Store Empl., Local 347, 417 U.S. 1 (1974), where
the Board’s Tiidee Products, Inc., 194 N.L.R.B. 1234
(1972), case was considered and the Board on remand
determined that unless “patently frivolous defenses” are

~ ?

asserted or the employer's defenses “are debatable,” then
attorneys’ fees should not be awarded. Heck’s, Inc., 215
N.L.R.B. No. 142 (1974). Certainly, they should not be
awarded where the employer's underlying action has been
filed under Section 303 of the LMRA. Summit Valley
Industries, Inc. v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters &
Joiners, 456 U.S. 717 (1982).

Absent review by this Court, the amici are greatly
concerned that the balance of labor relations will be
undermined by the decisions below, as non-employee
labor organizations are free to attack legitimate
businesses, while those employers who believe in good
faith that they have valid claims against union misconduct
are nevertheless afraid to petition the courts in their own
defense.

For these reasons, the Petition should be granted.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I.
ABSENT REVIEW BY THIS COURT, THE
- DECISIONS BELOW THREATEN TO
CHILL FUNDAMENTAL EMPLOYER
RIGHTS OF ACCESS TO THE COURTS
DUE TO CONFLICTING STANDARDS
USED TO DETERMINE WHETHER
BUSINESS LAWSUITS ARE
“MERITORIOUS.”

In 1983, this Court fashioned a balancing test to
determine when the National Labor Relations Board
(“Board”) may enjoin a private state court lawsuit

n ~ »

because the suit itself constitutes the commission of an
unfair labor practice and when the Board might find an
unsuccessful lawsuit to be retaliatory in violation of the
Labor Act. See Bill Johnson’s Restaurants v. NLRB, 461
U.S. 731 (1983). At the same time, the Court
affirmatively established, however, that “an employer has
the right to seek local judicial protection from tortious
conduct during a labor dispute.” Jd. at 742.

In the decisions below, amici assert that the Board
and the Court of Appeals distorted the intent and purpose
of the Court’s deliberate restrictions on the Board’s
jurisdiction to condemn lawsuits to be retaliatory unfair
labor practices under the Act. In doing so, they have set
up an almost impossible regime for employers to follow
to protect their business interests.

That regime, simply stated, finds employer lawsuits
against labor organizations to be unfair labor practices if
the employer does not “prevail,” regardless of the
employer's good faith in filing suit and regardless of the
objective “merit” of the litigation. This is an
unwarranted expansion of the holding in Bill Johnson’s
Restaurants that completely disregards this Court’s
extension of First Amendment protection to all but
“sham” litigation, in the cases of Professional Real Estate

"In Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers, Local 114, 383 U.S.
53 (1966), the court had held that the state tort of libel was not
preempted by the Labor Act. Neither are secondary boycotts or
Sherman antitrust claims preempted by the Labor Act. See Summit
Valley Industries, Inc. v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters &
Joiners, 456 U.S. 17 (1982); Mine Workers v. Pennington, 381
U.S. 657, 669 (1965).

2

Investors, Inc. v. Columbia Pictures Ind., Inc. , 508 U.S.
49 (1993), and California Motor Transport Co. Vv.
Trucking Unlimited, 404 U.S. 508 (1972).

By establishing a regime that discounts employers’
First Amendment rights, the Board and the Court of
Appeals threatened the entire business community's right
of access to the courts to challenge potentially unlawful
activity conducted by labor organizations. No employer
can tell in advance of litigation whether a suit against a
union will or will not be found to be an unfair labor
practice.

Under the Board’s standard, the only way to avoid an
unfair labor practice finding is not to file suit, no matter
how valid the employer believes its claim to be. This
newly formulated Board caselaw adversely burdens and
chills all employers’ First Amendment rights to petition
the government for redress of grievances. The amici urge
the Court to grant Certiorari in order to prevent this
chilling effect and to re-establish a single, uniform
“sham” litigation standard.

Uniform standards under the First Amendment assure
predictability and certainty to all litigants. As this Court
affirmed in Bill Johnson’s Restaurants, “weighty
countervailing considerations...militate against allowing

the Board to condemn the filing of a suit as an unfair

labor practice and to enjoin its prosecution.” 461 U.S. at
731. These considerations include “the right of access”
to the state courts to seek redress of grievances, the
preservation of domestic peace, and the substantial state
interest in protecting the health and well-being of its

x

citizens. Jd. at 742. Three Affiliated Tribes v. Wold
Engineering,-P.C., 476 U.S. 877, 888 (1986).

Furthermore, the Court observed in Bill Johnson's
Restaurants that the right of access to the courts was
recognized to “stand apart” from other forms of action
because it is a protected “aspect of the First Amendment
right to petition the Government for redress of
grievances.” 461 U.S. at 741. That right, the Court
explained “is too important to be called an unfair labor
practice solely on the ground that what is sought in the
court is to enjoin employees from exercising a protected
right.” Jd (emphasis added). Of course, here, the record
shows that BE&K has not sought to enjoin any of its
employees from exercising any right they may have.

This Court also showed in Bill Johnson's Restaurants
that the proper manner for the Board to obtain jurisdiction
after the state court case had concluded, required it to
demonstrate that the state case was both improperly
motivated and lacked a reasonable basis in fact or law.
It explained the lack of reasonable basis in the First
Amendment context to occur “when litigation is based on
intentional falsehoods or on knowingly false claims.” Bill
Johnson's Restaurants, 461 U.S. at 743. This is itself the
“sham” exception previously outlined from the Court’s
decision in California Motor Transport Co. v. Trucking
Unlimited, 404 U.S. 508, 510 (1972), which the Court
explained in Professional Real Estate Investors, 508 U.S.
at 57, that in California Motor Transport Co. “we
extended Noerr to ‘the approach of citizens...to
administrative agencies...and to courts.’”

= =

In California Motor Transport, this Court recognized
that the First Amendment guarantee of a right to petition
the government for a redress of grievances includes the
right of access to the courts: “The right of access to the
courts is indeed but one aspect of the right of petition.”
Also McDonald v. Smith, 472 U.S. 479, 482 (1985)
(“The right to petition is cut from the same cloth as the
other guarantees of [the First) Amendment....”). In
Professional Real Estate Investors, this Court reaffirmed
the “sham” litigation standard ten years after Bill
Johnson's Restaurants, without any indication that Bill
Johnson’s Restaurants was intended to create an
anomalous labor law exception to the otherwise uniform
application of the First Amendment established by the
Court.

Yet, in the cases now before the Court, the Board and
the Court of Appeals, relying on unclear dicta from Bill
Johnson’s Restaurants, have ignored Petitioner BE&K’s
good faith belief in the merit of its lawsuit and ruled
against BE&K without any finding that the suit was
“objectively baseless.” Indeed, the record shows that
BE&K consulted with numerous antitrust experts prior to

filing its claims, and those experts advised that BE&K’s.

case-against the unions had merit.’

*The Court in Professional Real Estate Investors, viewed its test
as similar to considerations undertaken in a tort for malicious
prosecution. 508 U.S. at 63. It also believed that what the
underlying court thinks of the lawsuit was important, especially “in
light of the unsettled condition of the law, Columbia plainly had
probable cause to sue....or at the very least...an objectively ‘good
faith argument for the extension, modification, or reversal of

(continued. ..)

~~

The lawsuit was therefore not a “knee-jerk” reaction
to alleged Section 7 rights the labor organizations
possessed. The rulings below create an unwarranted
anomalous labor exception to access to the courts, one
where the First Amendment protections are now
nonexistent for non-prevailing plaintiffs.

Amici submit, however, that it is simply not enough
for the Board to undertake an “academic” review of the
record to reach self-fulfilling conclusions of law in order
to condemn as an unfair labor practice any act to petition
the government for redress of grievances. When that
same government, through the federal judiciary, denies
relief to a litigant, efforts undertaken by another federal
arm of the government—such as the Board here—to
punish plaintiff for bringing the case must be denied
unless the litigation is shown to be objectively baseless.
For any government ffunctionary to punish a
citizen/petitioner for exercising a fundamental
constitutional right must be subject to the highest level of
scrutiny, not the lowest.

Thirty years ago this Court in Linn provided labor
organizations with fair warning that they were to be
treated as functional entities who were not privileged to
engage in reckless actions free from legal sanction:
“[a]fter all, the labor movement has grown up and must
assume ordinary responsibilities.” Linn, 383 U.S. at 63
(emphasis added).

‘(...continued)
existing law’” under Fed R. Civ. Proc. 11. /d. at 65.

“ F

~

It is paradoxical to attempt to hold labor unions
subject to “ordinary responsibilities” and to continue to
grant them immunity and privileges when their actions
might facially amount to tortious activity. The failure to
consider the importance of First Amendment access in the
context of whether intentional falsehoods or knowingly
frivolous administrative claims were asserted, as occurred
here, is underscored by the Court’s quotation in Bill
Johnson’s Restaurants from Balmer, Sham Litigation and
the Antitrust Laws, 29 Buffalo L.Rev. 39, 60 (1980), to
support the proposition that the same balancing approach
taken by this Court under the antitrust laws should be
followed under the Labor Act.*

Importantly , the Bill Johnson’s Restaurant Court ruled
that “[wje should follow a similar course under the
NLRA.” 461 U.S. at 744.

The District of Columbia Circuit has recognized this
conflict and called upon this Court to “one day create a
uniform standard for sham litigation governing both
NLRA and non-NLRA cases (or explain why the First

“The Ninth Circuit recently so observed in White v. Lee, 227
F.3d 1214 (9th Cir. 2000), a case raised by Petitioner BE&K,
where HUD sought similar fees as a statutory remedy against
homeowners filing a state court lawsuit to prevent issuance of a use
permit for homeless housing. The court found that the claim would
“conflict with our prior case law which protects the First
Amendment right of citizens to engage in petitioning activity,
including the filing of lawsuits with an objective basis in fact or
law, even if they ultimately prove unsuccessful.” /d. at 1236.
There is no reason supplied by the Sixth Circuit why uniformity
should not apply to all federal agency enforcement statutes.

~ =

Amendment protects erring litigants less in the NLRA
context than others).” Petrochem Insulation, Inc. v.
NLRB, 240 F.3d 26, 32 (D.C. Cir. 2001). That day has
now arrived.°

However unclear the Court’s language in Bill
Johnson's Restaurants may have been in identifying “suits
based on insubstantial claims” not entitled to protection,
461 U.S. at 731, the Sixth Circuit’s position clearly sets
itself against this Court’s explanation in Real Estate
Investors, Inc. v. Columbia Pictures Ind., Inc., 508 U.S.
49 (1993).

In Professional Real Estate Investors, the Court
resolved that the “sham” exception turns on the objective
intent of the filer and included Bill Johnson’s Restaurants
in its legal overview of how the “sham” exception applies
in “other contexts.” 508 U.S. at 58. That case defined
a two-part analysis where “[f]irst, the lawsuit must be
objectively baseless in the sense that no reasonable litigant
could realistically expect success on the merits.” Jd at
60. If so, then the reviewing court could examine the
subjective motivation of the litigant focused on whether

*The facts of the present petition stand in stark contrast to the
litigation found to be “frivolous” by the D.C. Circuit in Petrochem
Insulation, Inc., 240 F. 3d at 31. Whereas in Petrochem, the
employer “failed to identify a single meritless objection to any
construction project” made by the unions against it, BE&K
identified fourteen meritless legal actions taken against it by the
unions in the USS-POSCO litigation. See USS POSCO v. Contra
Costa County Bldg. & Constr. Trades Council, 31 F. 3d 800, 804
(9® Cir. 1994).

- 14-

the baseless lawsuit attempts to directly interfere with the
opponent’s business. Jd.

Specifically, the Court viewed its line of decisions as
demonstrating that “[wJe regard as sham ‘private action
that is not genuinely aimed at procuring favorable
government action’ as opposed to ‘a valid effort to
influence government action.’” 508 U.S. at 58. It also
demonstrated the force of its ruling by stating that “we
have repeatedly reaffirmed that evidence of anti-
competitive intent or purpose alone cannot transform
otherwise legitimate activity into a sham.” Jd. At 59.

The Sixth Circuit’s rejection of the “sham” principle
also places it in conflict with the decisions of the Ninth
Circuit in USS Posco v. Contra Costa County Bldg. &
Constr. Trades Council, 31 F.3d 800, 804 (9th Cir.
1994), stating that this Court in Bill Johnson’s Restaurant
was “applying Noerr-Pennington to [the] labor context;”
the Third Circuit in San Filippo v. Bongiovanni, 30 F.3d
424, 429 (3d Cir. 1994), where “the unprotected status of
‘sham litigation;’” was recognized “in construing the
NLRA in the present context;” and the Fifth Circuit in
Brown & Root, Inc. v. Louisiana State AFL-CIO, 10 F.3d
316, 325 (Sth Cir. 1994), where that Court stated that in
Bill Johnson's Restaurants, this “Court proceeded to input
the sham exception to the Noerr-Pennington doctrine into
labor law.”° Unlike the decision in BE&K v. NLRB here,
these three circuits did apply the Professional Real Estate

*Eastern R. Presidents Conf. v. Noerr Motor Freight, Inc. , 365
U.S. 127 (1961); Mine Workers v. Pennington, 381 U.S. 657, 669
(1965).

=~ -

Investors “baseless” test, i.e., no realistic chance of
success on the merits, to their individual situations.’

As the Third Circuit observed in Chauffeur,
Teamsters, Local 776 v. NLRB, 973 F.2d 230, 235 (3d
Cir. 1992), the right of access to the courts is a “more
significant consideration” than the potential that a lawsuit
may be a powerful instrument of coercion. The Sixth
Circuit’s analysis unwinds the Court’s Bill Johnson's
Restaurants national standard and directly conflicts with
the Court’s fundamental conclusion that the use of a
lawsuit for coercive purposes is proper so long as the
lawsuit is not baseless.

This structure is also consistent with NLRB v.
Vanguard Tours, Inc., 981 F.2d 62 (2d Cir. 1992).
There, the Second Circuit held the Board to the Bill
Johnson’s Restaurants requirement to identify disputed
issues of fact or law and rejected the Board’s automatic
finding of lack of reasonable basis from an unsuccessful
verdict (a settlement) in favor of the employer: “We think
the better reading, however, requires the Board to find
that the withdrawn suit lacked a reasonable basis in fact
or law.” See Summitville Tiles, Inc., 300 N.L.R.B. 64,
65 (1990) (Board previously recognized “both essential
prerequisites to enjoin prosecution of a state court
lawsuit”; company conceded retaliatory motive).

’Also Martin v. Gingerbread House, Inc., 977 F.2d 1405, 1407
(10th Cir. 1992), identified the “baseless test” in Bill Johnson's
Restaurants to exist where “controlling federal law bars the
plaintiff's right to relief, ... clear state law makes the case frivolous,
or ... no reasonable jury could [find] in favor of the plaintiff.” 461
U.S. at 754-55 (Brennan, J., concurring).

= -

Further, intrusion by the Board in second guessing
_ federal court litigation results requires review. Because
the federal courts retain the inherent power to monitor
and reprimand parties before them under Fed. R. Civ.
Proc. 11 and 28 U.S.C. § 1927, if the court has
jurisdiction of statutory violations of Section 8(b)(4) of
the Act under 29 U.S.C. § 187, its refusal to impose
sanctions with due respect for the employer’s
constitutional rights, must not be relooked at by the Board
as it construes the same statute.

Il.
REVIEW SHOULD ALSO BE GRANTED IN
ORDER TO RESOLVE THE CIRCUIT
CONFLICT WHICH NOW EXISTS
REGARDING THE BOARD’S POWER TO
AWARD ATTORNEYS’ FEES TO NON-
EMPLOYEE LABOR ORGANIZATIONS.

The chilling effect of the Board’s decision in the
present case is compounded by the fact that the Board has
expanded the scope of Bill Johnson’s Restaurants beyond
its intended employee beneficiaries. The Sixth Circuit
has endorsed the Labor Board’s exercise of authority to
award costs and attorneys’ fees to uncertified non-
employee labor organizations and has done so in a
summary manner without fair consideration of the
employer’s non-retaliatory motives. The holdings of the
Board and the Court of Appeals are wrong and must be
reversed to prevent considerable harm to the balance of
interests in labor relations throughout the country.

The Sixth Circuit’s order conflicts with the Ninth
Circuit’s reasoning in Diamond Walnut Growers, Inc. v.

|

- 17 -

NLRB, 53 F.3d 1085 (9" Cir. 1995), and with the Sixth
Circuit’s own views expressed previously in Johnson &
Hardin Co. v. NLRB, 49 F.3d 237, 244 (6th Cir. 1995).
Overriding each of these decisions is this Court’s plain
holding in Lechmere, Inc. v. NLRB, 502 U.S. 527, 532
(1992) (“§ 7 simply does not protect nonemployee union
organizers.”).

In Diamond Walnut the employer had sued a union
that represented its striking employees along with another
union that actually issued an allegedly defamatory letter.
53 F.3d at 1089. Similarly, in Gibson Greeting v. NLRB,
53 F.3d 385 (D.C. Cir. 1993), the Court denied a
certified union’s cross-petition alleging that the Board had
erred by failing to award it attorneys’ fees and costs
under its winning § 8(a)(5) charge, for expenses incurred
where the employer did not prevail in a section 301, 29
U.S.C. § 185, lawsuit filed for breach of the collective
bargaining agreement. In Gibson Greeting, the Board did
not consider “whether the employer’s claims were made
in bad faith.” 53 F.3d at 394. The Sixth Circuit's
expansive ruling is not supported by these two cases.

The traditional test for an attorneys’ fee award under
Board law was set forth in Tiidee Products, Inc., 194
N.L.R.B. 1234 (1972), enf’d mod. International Union of
Electrical Workers v. NLRB, 502 F.2d 349 (D.C. Cir.
1974), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 921 (1974). In Tiidee
Products, a company was ordered to pay litigation costs
associated with the NLRB proceeding due to the
company’s “clear and flagrant violation of the law” to
discourage “future frivolous litigation.” Jd. See also
Lang Towing, Inc., 201 N.L.R.B. No. 92 (1973) (setting

= -

forth a “frivolous” defense standard); Heck’s, Inc., 215

N.L.R.B. No. 142 (1974) (affirming frivolous defense
standard).

In Bill Johnson’s Restaurants, 461 U.S. at 747

(emphasis added), this Court set forth the following
attorneys’ fees standard:

The employer’s [civil] suit having proved
unmeritorious, the Board would be warranted in
taking that fact into account in determining
whether the suit had been filed in retaliation for
the exercise of the employee's Section 7 rights.
If a violation is found, the Board may order the
employer to reimburse the employees whom he
had wrongfully sued for their attorneys’ fees and
other expenses. (Emphasis added).

Thus, the Court based its civil lawsuit/attorney’s fee
grant of authority on an anticipated finding of “employer
retaliation” against its own employees, including but not
limited to whether the civil suit had merit. The Court
concluded “it is an enjoinable unfair labor practice to
prosecute a baseless lawsuit with the intent of retaliating
against an employee for the exercise of rights protected

by § 7 of the NLRA.” 461 U.S. at 744 (emphasis
added).

- 19- >

Notably, in Bill Johnson’s Restaurants, the employer
did not sue any union, but instead sued eight of its own
employees.*®

In ordering BE&K to pay the union’s fees and costs
here, the Board ruled that the order is appropriate even
though the lawsuit included causes of action which were
not preempted and which might have constituted a
reasonable basis for a damage suit before the Federal
district court under Section 303 of the Act. This holding
directly conflicts with this Court’s decision in Summit
Valley Industries, Inc. v. United Brotherhood of
Carpenters & Joiners, 456 U.S. 17 (1982) (prohibiting an
award of attorneys fees for filing a non-prevailing suit
against a union under Section 303 of the LMRA).

The Sixth Circuit expressed an unfounded concern
over creating an anomaly in the law by permitting suits
against unions which would not have been permissible if
undertaken against employee union members. The appeals
court’s resulting holding departs from the law enacted by
Congress (and so interpreted by this Court), which plainly

*The key ingredient in Bill Johnson's Restaurants was the
defendant employees’ status. This theme is repeated throughout the
Court’s opinion: “Since 1978, the Board has consistently adhered
to the Power Systems[, 239 N.L.R.B. 445 (1978), enf. denied, 601
F.2d 936 (7th Cir. 1979),] rule that an employer or union who sues
an employee for retaliatory motive is guilty of a violation of the
Act,” id at 739; “by suing an employee who files charges with the
Board...the employer can place its employees on notice,” id. at 740,
and “{wjhere, as here, such a suit is filed against hourly-wage
waitresses or other individuals who lack the backing of a union, the
need to allow the Board to intervene and provide a remedy is at its
greatest,” id. at 741.

-®.

defines labor organizations separately from employees.
The amici are concerned that the Board’s and Circuit
Court’s holding threatens to undermine the long accepted
distinction between non-employee unions and _ their
employees. “By its plain terms, . . . the NLRA confers
rights only on employees, not on unions or their

nonemployee organizers.” Lechmere, Inc. v. NLRB, 502
U.S. 527, 532 (1992).”

That the Board’s holding constitutes a revolutionary
expansion of Bill Johnson’s Restaurants can be seen in
earlier rulings of the Board itself. Thus, in Montgomery
Ward Co., 288 N.L.R.B. 126, 195 (1988), the Board
upheld an ALJ recommendation not to award attorneys’
fees as a remedy to a stranger union that was not the
employee bargaining representative, as follows:

[T]he cases where the Board has awarded
litigation expenses for civil or criminal court
proceedings resulting from an employer's
unlawful conduct, such awards have been
uniformly given to employees. None of the cases
involve non-employee union representatives.
[citations omitted]. In light of the above I find
no compelling basis for extending recovery of
legal expenses for the criminal action or to direct
the Respondent to request expurgation of the
court’s records on behalf of non-employee
Johnson. (Emphasis added).

The Board has not ruled that BE&K’s lawsuit was
patently frivolous or its defenses not debatable, two
requirements this Court adopted when it considered a
Board reimbursement remedy case utilizing Tiidee

.

Products. NLRB v. Food Store Empl., Local 347, 417
U.S. 1, 9-10 & n.9 (1974). In Tiidee, the remedy there
would have been considered “extraordinary,” while here,
it appears to have become simply part of a “conventional
make-whole remedy.”°

On remand from this Court’s decision in Food Store
Empl., Local 347, the Board clarified its policy and made
it clear that costs and fees are limited to cases where
“patently frivolous defenses” are asserted and are not
recoverable where the defenses “are debatable,” which
includes situations that are “dependent on resolutions of
credibility.” Heck’s, Inc., 215 N.L.R.B. No. 142
(1974). Until the recent series of cases outlined here, this
procedure remained the Board’s unwavering standard.
Unbelievable, Inc., 318 N.L.R.B. 857, 860-61 (1995).

These standards derived from Tiidee Products have
been uniformly applied in sustaining fee awards “only
where the defenses asserted by the employer...are totally
without merit or frivolous.” ~ East Bay Chevrolet v.
NLRB, 659 F.2d 1006, 1011 (9th Cir. 1981); J.P. Stevens
& Co. v. NLRB, 612 F.2d 881, 883 (4th Cir. 1980)
(“only for frivolous or dilatory conduct”); Dist. 65,
Distributive Workers v. NLRB, 683 F.2d 1155, 1167
(D.C. Cir. 1978) (affirming the Heck’s frivolous
standard); United Steelworkers of Amer. v. NLRB, 496
F.2d 1342, 1352-53 (Sth Cir. 1974) (make whole remedy

"In Shepard v. NLRB, 459 U.S. 344, 350 (1983), a wrongful
dues cases, the Court affirmed the Board’s order that the
reimbursement remedy is to be “reserved for especially egregious
cases.” The decision below does not explain the reason for the
dichotomy of treatment in the Board’s decisions.

2.

not available where “factually debatable questions,” exist,
the conduct was not for delay of collective bargaining, or
frivolous); Federal Prescription Service, Inc. v. NLRB,
496 F.2d 813, 819 (8th Cir. 1974) (frivolous). The case
at bar represents a dramatic departure from this standard
without explanation.

The Board’s remedial powers should not be applied
to award attorneys’ fees in cases involving non-employee
actions filed with “debatable support.” /d. See
Unbelievable, Inc., 318 N.L.R.B. at 860. For a lawsuit
“proven to. be without merit, [] does not mean that the
suit was ipso facto an unfair labor practice.” JBEW,
Local 532 (Brink Constr. Co.), 291 N.L.R.B. 437, 438
(1988).

In situations that should have required the Board to
use a disciplined approach to determining retaliatory
intent, the Board has not been circumspect at all in
awarding fees. For example, in American Pacific
Concrete Pipe, 292 N.L.R.B. 1264 (1989), it awarded
fees against an employer’s breach of contract and fraud
suit where the union breached a private settlement
agreement with it and pursued further remedies with the
Board.

In Federal Security, Inc., 336 N.L.R.B. No. 52
(2001), the Board issued a Bill Johnson’s Restaurant
remedy against the employer when it sought to recover
damages for malicious prosecution and libel stemming
from employee activity found not to be concerted activity
by the Seventh Circuit in NLRB v. Federal Security, Inc.,
154 F.3d 751 (7th Cir. 1998). In Heisler Food Enter.,
Ltd., Case No. 2-CA-30899, 1999 NLRB LEXIS 889

oe ee ee ES ee

. -

(1999), an ALJ ordered dismissal of the employer’s libel
and slander lawsuit against the union for publicizing
through letters and flyers that its Jewish bakery was
violating Kosher rules by contaminating dairy products
with meat and other goods. Because the ALJ found the
union’s conduct protected activity, “it was by definition
retaliatory within the meaning of Bill Johnson....” 1999
NLRB LEXIS at *82.

in Johnson & Hardin Co. v. NLRB, 49 F.3d 237, 244
(6th Cir. 1995), the court plainly refused to enforce an
attorney’s fee award in favor of non-employee union
organizers. Relying upon this Court’s decision in Bill
Johnson's Restaurants and Tiidee Products it found the
“harsh remedy of a grant of attorneys’ fees” should not
be awarded to non-employee unions.

In addition, under Tiidee Products, BE&K’s defense
of the single unfair labor practice charge stemming from
its filing of a secondary boycott and an antitrust count in
federal court cannot be deemed “frivolous,” in “clear
flagrant violation of the law,” id., pre-empted or an
illegal act. Local 32B-32J, Service Employees Int'l
Union, 68 F.3d 490, 496 (D.C. Cir. 1995) (interpreting
Bill Johnson’s Restaurants as allowing the Board to award
fees “if the litigation was unlawful”). '°

‘In Teamsters Local 776 (Rite Aid Corp.), 305 N.L.R.B. 832
(1991), the Board explained, that “[t}he ‘retaliatory motive’ refers
to actual motive of the respondent-plaintiff in filing the suit.” /d.
at 834. This requires “an improper motivation, a subjective
criterion.” Teamsters, Local 776 v. NLRB, 973 F.2d 230, 236 (3d
Cir. 1992). Here, the Board did not explain this -criterion in

(continued...)

,

It has become clear that the Board’s cases show it has
completely lost the ability to distinguish between cases
against labor organizations and ‘employees and in
situations where Section 7 activity is and is not involved
for purposes of issuing a remedial order. In every case,

the Board finds a judicial loss is equivalent to lack of

merit and therefore a violation of Section 8(a)(1) of the
Act.

In Bill Johnson’s, this Court was asked to protect
relatively defenseless employees from retaliatory,
nonmeritorious employer lawsuits. The present decision,
however, shifts the entire balance of American labor
relations by threatening employers with unfair labor
practice findings merely for defending their businesses
against well funded “corporate campaign” activities by
large labor organizations, much of which is occurring
Outside the confines of the NLRA. BE&K’s petition
Should be granted so that the Court can resolve the
serious and important conflicts created in the law by the
holdings of the NLRB and the Court of Appeals.

'°(...continued)
BE&K’s situation.

8.
CONCLUSION

For these reasons, and for each of the reasons set
forth in greater detail in BE&K’s Petition, amici curiae
respectfully request that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the court of appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael E. Avakian*
SMETANA & AVAKIAN

5211 Port Royal Road, Suite 103
Springfield, VA 22151

(703) 321-9181

*Attorney of Record for Amici Curiae

Dated: December 5, 2001

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0508%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
