# Petitioners Brief — Devlin v. Scardelletti

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0503%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 536 U.S. 1

## Text

(7)

No. 01-417

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

ROBERT J. DEVLIN,

Petitioner,
Vv.

ROBERT A. SCARDELLETTI, Trustee of the Transportation
Communications International Union Staff Retirement Plan, et a/.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER
BRIAN WOLFMAN THOMAS C. GOLDSTEIN
PUBLIC CITIZEN LITIGATION (Counsel of Record)
GROUP AMY HOWE

GOLDSTEIN & HOWE, P.C.
4607 Asbury PI., N.W.
Washington, DC 20016
(202) 237-7543

1600 20th St., N.W.
Washington, DC 20009

ERIK S. JAFFE

ERIK S. JAFFE, P.C.
5101 34th St., N.W.
Washington, DC. 20008

January 24,2002, FILED

eae ATOLL TE LCA IRE AI IPI EIT TSOTSI ITSO EIDE IES
WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

(>
“Wy

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a class member who, upon receiving notice of a
proposed class action settlement, objects and moves to
intervene has standing to appeal the district court’s approval
of the settlement?

\

ii
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Petitioner Robert J. Devlin was an appellant below. The
Retired Employees Protective Association was also an
appellant below.

The respondents in this Court, appellees below, are:
Robert A. Scardelletti, Frank Ferlin, Jr., Joel Parker, and Don
Bujold, as Trustees of the Transportation Communications
International Union Staff Retirement Plan; and George
Thomas Debarr and Anthony Santoro, Sr., individually and as
representatives of subclasses of all persons similarly situated.

Other persons named in the court of appeals’ caption, but
who neither participated in the court of appeals nor are
respondents here, are: Donald A. Bobo, R.I. Kilroy, F.T.
Lynch, and Frank Mazur, Defendants; and A. Meaders, James
H. Groskopf, Thomas C. Robinson, Doyle W. Beat, Miriam
E. Parrish, Robert A. Parrish, Desmond Fraser, James L.
Bailey, Dorothy Deerwester, Thomas J. Hewson, Clay B.
Wolfe, Kenneth B. Lane, Brian A. Jones, and Charles O.
Swasy, Parties in Interest.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pages
ny Se PEE ererennnencncnscensnsssmupassesessneasevesseseetnnece i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW ..................... il
a etctrctnecensntensseccsceniesesensereccenssmsessccneet ill
ee ee I cccncncccsstennesseseisanntenrecsscsvtteemennees Vv
Et crennnensnsnerenennapsocegscrencetenenanqnatnetenntasnguenet l
TIE PTIIIIIT icnrnensicenencensnnse -cenepecnenensnsesesnseeneesnarnannansteneamnees l
eT ends derstnendatienenndnsnensnninndne equnedengnignemmmennens 2
EAR RETS CI BMD CR iccecceccccccccsecccscssecossccssscosssescesese 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ............:c.sccccssssssssssesscsesseenees 12
FI chcscantaninstanatntinsentseennncenentennesnennneaengemnenemnneennes 14

I. OBJECTORS SATISFY EVERY REQUIREMENT FOR
APPEALING ESTABLISHED BY STATUTE, RULE, AND

SE Te ae a aa 14
II. OBJECTING CLASS MEMBERS ARE “PARTIES”
HAVING THE RIGHT TO APPEAL. .............cccccccccccccccceeee 16

A. The Term “Parties” Encompasses All Persons
Directly Bound by a Judgment, Not Merely the
Named Representatives Acting as Agents for
SI UIIIIIED, cccasnnccmnsescnenstnnsnnscensnsssacesces 16

B. Once the Class Is Certified, Objectors Are
“Parties to the Judgment,” and Therefore Have

III. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT’S RATIONALE FOR DENYING
UNNAMED CLASS MEMBERS THE RIGHT TO APPEAL
GRE SE IE, Ree CEE 28

A. An Objector’s Appeal Does Not Usurp the Role
of the Class Representative. «0.0.00... 29

iv
B. Appeals by Objectors Further Sound Principles of
Judicial Administration And Preserve Objectors’
ee 32
C. Requiring Prophylactic Intervention in the
District Court Poses a Greater Threat to Class

Management than Does a Right to Appeal Based
on Objections under Rule 23(€).............0000000 36

IV. IF INTERVENTION IS REQUIRED, IT SHOULD BE
FREELY GRANTED AND DEEMED S" !FFICIENT FOR
PURPOSES OF APPEAL IF AT LEAS: SOUGHT SOON

AFTER THE DENIAL OF OBJECTIONS. ...............cc0e0eeee00 41
TTT SELLA A ORT TD: MADERA 43

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Pages
Cases .
Adams v. Robertson, 520 US 83 (1997) .......cccccccccseeeeeeeeeeees 34
Amchem Products, Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591

GEO Pactensiitncntpeansneneremcermentanemnicnmmenmnmenengetimnanceneenns passim
American Pipe & Construction Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S.

er passim
Bayard v. Lombard, 50 U.S. (9 How.) 530 (1850)............... 19
Bell Atl. Corp. v. Bolger, 2 F.3d 1304 (CA3 1993)........ 11, 33
Berger v. Iron Workers Reinforced Rodmen, 170 F.3d

ee Ny Se cciiccerpeenstsitnrnenrmasiacineneieteccmmmmeimnmeens 34
Blossom v. The Miiwaukee R.R., 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) 655

SEE censhinntstinstiranniy chemmmneninnmeniignatinnagnentsnmennenmmeneen 22, 23
Board of School Comm'rs v. Jacobs, 420 U.S. 128

(1975) (Per CUriasA).. ........cscressesneeseersenseneerensenesneneensenenees 29
Bowling v. Pfizer, inc., 102 F.3d 777 (CA6 1996)............... 25
California Pub. Employees’ Retirement Sys. v. Felzen,

525 U.S. 315 (1999) (equally divided court).......... 2, 16, 18
Chardon v. Fumero Soto, 462 U.S. 650 (1983).............00c0000 42
Cooper v. Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, 467 U.S.

Ee ee nee Cee 27
Crawford v. Equifax Payment Servs., Inc., 201 F.3d 877

SE 36

Crown, Cork & Seal Co. v. Parker, 462 U.S. 345 (1983).... 42

Felzen v. Andreas, 134 F.3d 873 (CA7), aff'd by equally
divided Court, 525 U.S. 315 (1999) .....cccccccccscesssssssvessseee 18

Franks v. Bowman, 42 U.S. 747 (1976) ..........ccccccccceceeeeeees 29

vi

General Telephone Co. of the Southwest v. Falcon, 457

Re BG Ga creneteterpmennsesngruintapianinsieiannanaiaginanin 45
Guthrie v. Evans, 815 F.2d 626 (CAI11 1987)... 44
Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32 (1940)..........ccccccccceeesseeeneenee 28
Hinckley v. Gilman, Clinton, & Springfield R.R. Co., 94

ee Ce Sy Cee csicertenemeicntieniemmennmneen 19, 23
Hovey v. McDonald, 109 U.S. 150 (1883) ...........ccccccceeeeees 23
In re Brand Name Prescription Drugs Antitrust Litig.,

Re OE 18

In re General Motors Corp. Engine Interchange Litig.,
594 F.2d 1106 (CA7), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 870

gree enerencasadenmsctnnienennamnsaimeciditiseitiinepmnmeineanenets 31
In Re Leaf Tobacco Board of Trade, 222 U.S. 578 (1911)

(per curiam) ................ sti ceeateaianiilastaninbreinmappbaammannemasiitiemeaes 19
In re Navigant Consulting, Inc., Secur. Litig., -- F.3d --,

201 WL 1646846 (CA7 Dec. 26, 2001) ............... 16, 18, 25
In re PaineWebber, Inc. Ltd. P'ships Litig., 94 F.3d 49

GED Cpe Pavtrncvecsncncenthisintinastingniienidmestiinipeneieaintatnmmpenesicie 11
Indiana Southern R. Co. v. Liverpool, London & Globe

SB Gg FE i Be ee eratecetiintsoriccmecticcrmnimminecits 20
Kaplan v. Rand, 192 F.3d 60 (CA2 1999) .000.....ccccccceeeee 33, 43
Kremens v. Bartley, 431 U.S. 119 (1977)..........cccccccceceeeeeeees 29
Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555 (1992)............ 15
Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301 (1988) ................ 10, 17, 19, 21
Mars Steel Corp. v. Continental Ill. Nat'l Bank & Trust

een 38
Marshall v. Holiday Magic, Inc., 550 F.2d 1173 (CA9

SPT Ui cucrnctittunmnnstncinimmesiimniammnainetinintaiedementes 11
Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S. 367

Oe rrinesnaptanadicerssnipeipionemesenenniniviseutepiienptiguatctenmenint 27, 40

vii
Minnesota Co. v. St. Paul Co., 69 U.S. (2 Wall.) 609

ETE hichcneriasinennapnindiiimtepesnenestunibinencunienbemttammmentnetemenmen 23
National Center for Immigrants’ Rights v. INS, 892 F.2d

ee SI i iircnsntecesintennciuentndentictncsuntesteecnneersnandzeaninine 18
Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp., 527 U.S. 815 (1999)........... passim
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797

eae iiidsinstiideinsinnianmmnenienetpedienseasniesiiiiaieniieemeaines 28, 39, 43
Rogers v. National Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh,

ws Be 24
Rosenbaum v. MacAllister, 64 F.3d 1439 (CA10 1995) ...... 26
Sage v. Railroad Co., 96 U.S. 712 (1878) .......c.ccccccceeseeeeeeees 23
Scardelletti v. Bobo, 897 F. Supp. 913 (D. Md. 1995)........... 4
Scardelletti v. Bobo, No. JFM-95-52, 1997 U.S. Dist. _

LEXIS 14498 (D. Md. Sept. 8, 1997) .0...........cccccecsceseeeseees 4
Smith v. Swormstedt, 57 U.S. 288 (1850)...........cccc00e0000 27, 28
Snyder v. Harris, 394 U.S. 332 (1969) .........cccccccecseeesessereees 25
Sosna v. Towa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975) .......ccccccseesseeseeeseenseeeeees 29
Stewart v. Dunham, 115 U.S. 61 (1885)............cccccccceeeeseees 26
Supreme Tribe of Ben-Hur v. Cauble, 255 U.S. 356

Se ececonsenessensesonceseesececvenenseneacoseesoneee 25, 26
Torres v. Oakland Scavenger Co., 487 U.S. 312 (1988)...... 18
Trustees v. Greenough, 105 U.S. 527 (1882) ...........cccccceeeees 23
United Airlines v. MacDonald, 432 U.S. 385 (1977)........... 46
United States Catholic Conference v. Abortion Rights

Mobilization, Inc., 487 U.S. 72 (1988) ........-ssessseeseeeseeenes 24
United States ex rel. Louisiana v. Jack, 244 U.S. 397

ES Re SO ee 19
United States Parole Comm'n v. Geraghty, 445 U.S. 388

SET icnirnesthndiisitedalicheitsisapentiestadtutederentinsnsepngeninetvcsinenpenenenes 29
Walker v. City of Mesquite, 858 F.2d 1071 (CAS 1988)...... 12

vill
Weinberger v. Great Northern Nekoosa Corp., 925 F.2d
Fe Fe ccctesreesttnictantteirsietimmnennnsenmmnnnniiiiine 37
Williams v. Morgan, 111 U.S. 684 (1884)... 23, 24
Zahn v. International Paper Co., 414 U.S. 291 (1973)........ 25
Statutes
as Oe IEE Poccevtcccenssntrintninsccstevinniansintinionsitantiiaiiinisends 2
Se Ae Oe We crvencntsertnnteniarntonnpniensnnatiatamniagianissindia 2,15
ln We We cccttrtinnecteninteseentnncnenniitnibaininiatatcciittiinsbebedieinn 25
Be re Oe BD kccasictersinscnserssessagtinenrenncininnnineninees 25
2B U.S.C. § 1F3S2ALCS)1)...0ccccecrecececceeeee soiilagetatevemnedbeeiibenstaiias 26
Ba Plies We Bee iaiintctecccciccinciseninnuinnenienincninncsiatinbipsenteiention 4
Other Authorities
2 H. Newberg & A. Conte, NEWBERG ON CLASS ACTIONS
DD BEF Cees Wee cresesnesscssesntapemntnessnsersistsemnisesinasiots 28
2 NEWBERG, CLASS ACTIONS § 2755 (1977) .......cccccecceeeseeees 25
Charles Alan Wright et a/., FEDERAL PRACTICE &
EE ccccessasccnsmnesestnsiinnaspernseentnnseecnseesinanestesgoeante 10, 30

Continuing Work of the Civil Committee: 1966
Amendments of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

(1), 81 HARV. L. REV. 356 (1967) ...........cccccsesccessrreeeseeeeees 39
Federal Judicial Center, EMPIRICAL STUDY OF CLASS
ACTIONS IN FOUR FEDERAL DISTRICT COURTS (1996)...... 35

John C. Coffee, Jr., Class Wars: The Dilemma of the
Mass Tort Class Action, 95 COLUM. L. REV. 1343

Jonathan R. Macey & Geoffrey P. Miller, The Plaintiffs’
Attorney's Role in Class Action & Derivative
Litigation: Economic Analysis and Recommendations
for Reform, 58 U. CHI. L. REV. 1 (1991).......cccccesceeeeeeees 35

Joseph Story, COMMENTARIES ON EQUITY PLEADINGS
CG Pee cierdnccccsrremacicignitciintieuasivapiibiciniadeinbuiagnsemsin 11

ix
Kahan & Silberman, The Inadequate Search for
‘Adequacy’ in Class Actions: A Critique of Epstein v.

MCA, Inc., 73 N.Y.U. L. REV. 765 (1998).........cccccccccceseees 40
MANUAL ON COMPLEX LITIGATION THIRD (Federal ;

PE EE Ge Pitetrcecincedtcnnsescntneidnsissiionscccsssenscins 34, 38
No. 97-1732, Oral Arg. Trams. at 37...........cccccccssseecerseesseesens 15
Samuel Issacharoff, Class Action Conflicts, 30 U.C.D. L.

SAE UII chinahinectgninsinddapupenegetndsidiienesedeinemeconintésucese 35
Steven Shavell, The Appeals Process as a Means of

Error Correction, 24 J. LEGAL STUD. 379 (1995)............. 35

Rules
I a 15
Pe FD UP Iicientittreciecenntitinintdiinncetpeenaciiblenentniscendentntuitetinn 25
6 RET ae Eee Se DE nee 18
SN Tinie ciiertdeiasibdlnesinniaianiaateenisaaacecnineaanints 34
8 I ee ee ee 42
tS ERS er Te 42
a NTE III traced nena siatsttirtncnatinteiininniintndhians passim
Se SUN UI Te inccinenttinccseeneetateteneutnasnsiebadusieess 14, 16, 27
Ne ile Ms Ts i icnecnccientocsnarntenienctctibientatareetese 10, 40, 42, 43
SE Sy TT TIT TTT vciniteseetichiadnecgnibactennbipndiccbnibeseessenecstei 40
EERE ZNSE CN eee DT 29
SUED es EE: TA Ui eticedleihinicattieibeseenndisienemembabibdananeeteteentedsecenes 29
8 EEE ES eee Ce 29
TITIES MIEN, UN Iaiictctesindtcliaatuiidhinditiaiintaaipaaiatnesatdsnbaahtatenaias 29
jE eee ate aiestiadnccnpetesciesienatinnenenitsctentiitdeneneiaeccsctentinnasee 13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

ROBERT J. DEVLIN,

Petitioner,
v.

ROBERT A. SCARDELLETTI, Trustee of the Transportation
Communications International Union Staff Retirement Plan, et a/.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

OPINIONS BELOW

Petitioner seeks to appeal a judgment approving a class
action settlement. The district court’s orders denying
petitioner’s motion to intervene, approving the settlement,
and entering a final judgment (Pet. App. B1, Cl-C3) are
unpublished. The Fourth Circuit’s opinion (per Williams, J.,
joined by Anderson, D.J., sitting by designation; Michael, J.,
concurring in part and concurring in the judgment) (id. Al-
A35) holding that petitioner lacks standing to appeal the
settlement because he was not a named party in the district
court is published at 265 F.3d 195.

JURISDICTION

The Fourth Circuit entered its opinion on July 27, 2001.
The petition for certiorari was filed on September 7, 2001,

2

and granted om December 10, 2001. This Court has
jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. § 1291 provides in relevant part: “The courts
of appeals * * * shall have jurisdiction of appeals from all
final decisions of the district courts of the United States

***”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case presents the question whether petitioner has the
right to appeal a district court judgment that approves a class
action settlement and thereby substantially reduces his
retirement benefits. It is undisputed that petitioner is a class
member directly bound by the judgment, timely objected to
the settlement in the district court, has a substantial personal
stake in overturning the judgment, and timely sought to
appeal. A divided panel of the Fourth Circuit nonetheless
held that petitioner could not appeal because, in the majority’s
view, appeals by class action objectors could undermine the
orderly litigation of the case. Nor could petitioner appea! as
an intervenor, the majority held, because he acted too late by
not moving to intervene until he learned of the proposed

- settlement. ,

The court of appeals’ decision is wrong as a matter of !aw
and logic. Class action objectors -— like derivative
shareholders (cf. California Pub. Employees’ Retirement Sys.
v. Felzen, 525 U.S. 315 (1999) (equally divided court)) —
satisfy all the criteria for appealing set forth in applicable
rules, statutes, and the Constitution. Even if derivative
shareholders do not have the right to appeal, the same cannot
be said of members of a properly certified class, for (unlike
derivative shareholders) they are “parties” directly bound by
the judgment and they pursue their own personal interests on
appeal (as opposed to the interest of a_ third-party

3

corporation). Petitioner’s right to appeal cannot be abrogated
by the prudential concerns articulated by the majority below,
which, in any event, rest on profound misconceptions about
class action litigation. In particular, appeals by objectors
benefit the process of class action litigation not only by
identifying legal errors by the district court (e.g., Amchem
Products, Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591 (1997)) but also by
deterring collusive settlements. Finally, if objectors
technically must intervene to appeal the approval of a
setilement, then petitioner’s motion to intervene was timely as
a matter of law because he filed it as soon as he received a
copy of the proposed settlement. The judgment below
accordingly should be reversed.

1. The suit underlying this petition involves the ERISA-
governed retirement plan for the staff of the Transportation
Communications International Union. Petitioner was a full-
time employee of the Union from 1963 until his retirement in
1983, at which time he began receiving retirement benefits
under the Plan.

By virtue of a 1989 amendment, the Plan provided for a
one-time, ten-percent cost of living adjustment (“COLA”)
effective five years after retirement. In early 1991, the Plan’s
trustees adopted a plan amendment (“the 1991 Amendmert’”)
to provide a more substantial COLA to offset the substantial
reduction in retirees’ effective benefits that had been caused
by inflation. The 1991 Amendment provided that, every three
years, beneficiaries would receive a COLA equivalent to the
rate of inflation for that period, up to a maximum of ten
percent per COLA (“the 1991 COLA”).

Later in 1991, the Plan elected new trustees. Those
trustees determined that the financial projections underlying
the 1991 Amendment were incorrect, and in 1993 they
eliminated the 1991 COLA for ail subsequent retirees. The
trustees determined, however, that as to persons (such as
petitioner) who had already retired and were receiving
benefits under the 1991 Amendment, the COLA was an

4

“accrued” benefit that could not be eliminated through a plan
amendment. See 29 U.S.C. § 1054(g)(1).

To recoup the costs of this accrued benefit to the Plan, the
new trustees sued the old trustees, seeking damages for
breach of fiduciary duties. The district court agreed that the
old trustees had breached their fiduciary duties in approving
the 1991 COLA based on faulty financial assumptions. The
district court also initially agreed with the new trustees that
the COLA was an accrued benefit for persons who had
retired, see Scardelletti v. Bobo, 897 F. Supp. 913 (D. Md.
1995), but subsequently reversed itself, see Scardelletti v.
Bobo, No. JFM-95-52, 1997 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 14498 (D. Md.
Sept. 8, 1997). Petitioner was not a party to that litigation,
and no party had any interest in appealing from the district
court’s decision as a result of a subsequent settlement.

2. In response to the district court’s decision reversing
itself, the new trustees unilaterally eliminated the 1991 COLA
for all past and future retirees. Petitioner’s retirement benefits
were reduced by approximately forty percent as a result. To
confirm their right to eliminate the COLA, the new trustees
instituted this litigation, leading to the settlement that
petitioner seeks to appeal. Petitioner is a member of the
defendant class. Respondents are the plaintiffs — the plan
trustees -— and the named defendants - the class
representatives.

_ a. To confirm their right to eliminate the 1991 COLA, the
new trustees brought this defendant class action in the District
of Maryland against all participants and beneficiaries of the
plan, approximately 700 persons in total. The district court
subsequently divided the defendant class into subclasses of
retired plan beneficiaries and active plan participants.
Because class certification was not sought pursuant to Rule

' Throughout the case, the Union has paid the attorney’s fees of the class
-representatives. The settlement provides that the Piaz will reimburse the
Union for those costs.

5

23(b)(3), the individual class members were prohibited from
opting out.

Petitioner is a member of the retiree subclass. He is also
the president of the Retired Employees Protective Association
(“REPA”), a group composed of a majority of Union retirees,
more than four hundred persons in all, which seeks to
preserve the retirees’ benefits under the plan. The new
trustees originally named petitioner as a defendant and a class
representative, but he declined to serve in that capacity. The
trustees subsequently named a new class representative as a
defendant in their suit.

The plaintiff trustees subsequently reached a proposed
settlement with the class representatives. The details of the
settlement are not relevant here, but in broad outline it
abrogates the 1991 Amendment and essentially eliminates the
1991 COLA for the retirees for the future. The settlement
thus has a very substantial negative financial effect on
approximately 400 retirees such as petitioner, drastically
reducing the retirement benefits that they had been receiving.

The district court conditionally certified the case to permit
the settlement to be preliminarily approved and, pursuant to
Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(e), distributed to the class members to
submit objections. J.A. 30-33. Respondents subsequently
submitted the settlement and notice, which the court
approved. Id. 47-55, 76-79.

The district court’s order provides that “[m]Jembers of the
Class may object to the proposed settlement” by submitting
all objections in advance of the fairness hearing. J.A. 78.
Furthermore, “[a]ny member of the Class who does not make
his or her objection or opposition to the proposed settlement
in the manner provided herein shall be deemed to have
waived all objections and opposition to any and all matters to
be considered at the Hearing and any and all subsequent
hearings on these matters.” Jd. 79.

6

The class notice advises each class member in jts first
sentence that their “rights may be affected by this class action
litigation” (J.A. 54 (capitalization omitted)) and subsequently
acknowledges that “members of the Retiree Subclass have an
interest in restoring and maintaining the 1991 COLA.” The
notice further specifies that class members have the “right . . .
to present [their] views to the court” (id. 50) and that “the
Court must examine the terms of this settlement and consider
any objections to the settlement that may be made by any
member of the Class” (id.). !t advises each class member that
“you may enter a legal appearance individually or through
your own counsel at your expense.” Jd. 51-52. “Any me. ber
of the Class who does not enter an appearance through
counsel in the Action will be represented by counsel for his or
her Subclass.” Jd. 52.

The class notice (which, as noted, was drafted by
respondents and approved by the district court) also
specifically contemplated that class members could appeal the
entry of the settlement. “[I]f an appeal is filed, the settlement
will remain contingent until all appellate proceedings are
concluded. Therefore, if an appeal is taken, it may be several
months before the settlement becomes final, assuming the
appellate court also approves the settlement.” J.A. 51,

b. Promptly upon learning the terms of the proposed
settlement, petitioner formally moved to intervene in the case.
J.A. 56-71." Petitioner styled his motion to intervene as a
“Cross-Motion” to respondents’ motion for preliminary
approval of the settlement. As a party intervenor, petitioner
sought to oppose the settlement, as well as to take discovery,
secure an injunction against eliminating the 1991 COLA, and
disqualify the class counsel. The trustees opposed the motion

2 Petitioner moved to intervene approximately two weeks after the
settlement was submitted to the district court for preliminary approval —
well before notice of the settlement was provided to the class and far in
advance of the deadline for filing objections.

)

as it pertained to petitioner’s objections to the settlement on
the ground that he should “raise any objections to the
proposed settlement agreement at the fairness hearing” in the
manner specified by the class notice. J.A. 80. The trustees
thus asserted that intervention should be denied because,

[m]ost importantly, as a member of the Retiree Class,
Mr. Devlin will have a full opportunity to raise all of his
concerns about the settlement agreement, the
negotiations, and the adequacy of the class
representatives at the fairness hearing on November 12,
1999, prior to any approval of the proposed settlement.
Intervention is not required to achieve that end. Because
intervention is wholly unnecessary to allow Mr. Devlin
to raise any factual or legal issues concerning the
settlement and because of the substantial delay and
likely prejudice that would otherwise result, the Trustees
respectfully urge the Court to deny Mr. Devlin’s motion
to intervene.

J.A. 92 (emphases added).’ The trustees also maintained that
the class representatives were entirely adequate, necessarily
precluding intervention as a matter of right. Jd. 86-90.

The district court denied petitioner’s motion to intervene.
Pet. App. B1. Because petitioner therefore lacked status as a
named party, the district court also denied as moot his
motions for discovery, for an injunction, and to disqualify.
Id.

c. Petitioner separately filed timely objections to the
settlement on behalf of himself individually and also on

: Although the trustees argued that petitioner should have moved to

behalf of REPA. J.A. 104-16. Petitioner argued, for
example, that the settlement was unlawful because (as the
new trustees had themselves maintained in their prior suit
against the old trustees) the 1991 COLA was in fact an
accrued benefit under ERISA for pre-1991 retirees. Based on
the district court’s earlier, unappealed ruling to the contrary,
respondents disagreed.

Petitioner also maintained that the district court should not
approve the settlement because it was unfair. In petitioner’s
view, the plan could afford to maintain the COLA at least in
part by requiring active employees to make pension
contributions, just as petitioner had done for many years
before the plan became entirely employer funded.
Respondents disagreed, arguing that the retiree: had already
recouped the value of their individual contributions.
Respondents also argued that the settlement fairly reflected
the risks to all parties in litigating the case to judgment.

The district court agreed with respondents and rejected
petitioner’s objections to the settlement. The district court
advised petitioner’s counsel, “if I’m wrong [in rejecting
petitioner’s objections], you got an appeal.” J.A. 154; see
also C.A. Supp. App. 1240 (“I am perfectly clear that my
order approving the class settlement should be appealed,
should be reviewed by the Fourth Circuit in due course.”).
The court accordingly entered a final judgment approving the
settlement. Pet. App. C1-C3.*

3. The trustee respondents subsequently invoked the final
judgment to seek an injunction (enforced upon threat of
contempt sanctions) prohibiting class members from making
any court filing in any other jurisdiction that related to the
subject matter of the settlement. According to the trustees,

* The final judgment was delayed while the parties modified the
settlement to accommodate the objections of a class member that the
settlement was unfair as applied to him individually. See J.A. 15-17
(Nos. 115, 118, 124).

~

9

“{ajll those attacks [on the settlement] really belong, if
anywhere, here and in the Fourth Circuit.” C.A. Supp. App.
897 (injunction hearing). The basis for the injunction was
that each class member was bound to the settlement as a
matter of res judicata. The district court agreed and enjoined
all class members “from making any filing in any forum
against any person * * * that raises issues encompassed
within the settlement of this action or that directly or
collaterally attacks the settlement of this matter, except in this
Court or on appeal from the Orders of this Court.” J.A. 170-
71.

4. On petitioner’s appeal from the district court’s final
judgment, a panel of the Fourth Circuit held (i) that the
district court properly denied petitioner’s motion to intervene
and denied as moot petitioner’s further motions that depended
on his status as a formal party, and (ii) that petitioner lacked
standing to appeal the district court’s approval of the
settlement.

a. The Fourth Circuit did not doubt that petitioner had the
right to appeal the district court’s denial of his motion to
intervene, notwithstanding that petitioner was not a named
party in the district court. Rather, the Fourth Circuit held that
the -district court properly refused to permit petitioner to
intervene on the ground that his motion was untimely. Pet.
App. A1l0 (“Under either Rule 24(a) or 24(b), the application
for intervention must be timely.”). Permitting petitioner to
intervene at the conclusion of settlement negotiations, the
court concluded, “would have likely resulted in further delay
and substantial additional litigation.” Jd. Al2. On that basis,
the court of appeals also affirmed the district court’s denial of
petitioner’s motions for discovery, for an injunction, and to
disqualify, all of which depended on petitioner’s status as a
named party. Jd. Al3 n.11.

b. The panel divided on the distinct question whether
petitioner nonetheless could appeal the district court’s
approval of the settlement over his objections. The majority

10

held that petitioner lacked standing and therefore refused to
reach the merits of his appeal. The panel majority concluded
that “the need for effective class management and to avoid
class fragmentation weighs strongly in favor of limiting the
possibility that last-minute ‘spoilers’ who were not entitled to
intervene below might unduly delay class settlement on
appeal.” /d. A21. The majority “fail[ed] to see how effective
class management can be accomplished if non-named class
members who were not entitled to intervene before the district
court can nevertheless usurp the role of the class
representative and, in effect, act as intervenors by contesting
the merits of the class settlement on appeal.” Jd.

The panel majority rejected, however, the view of some
circuits that objectors’ standing is precluded on the basis of
this Court’s three-paragraph per curiam opinion in Marino v.
Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301, 304 (1988), which states that “[t}he rule
that only parties to a lawsuit, or those that properly become
parties, may appeal an adverse judgment, is well settled,” and
that “the better practice is for such a nonparty to seek
intervention for purposes of appeal.” Marino involved only
an attempt to appeal a class action judgment by persons who
were neither named parties nor even class members. The
majority below therefore agreed with the Second and Third
Circuits that Marino is properly distinguished because it “did
not involve members of a class action who were objecting to
a class settlement.” Pet. App. Al6 n.12.

c. Judge Michael would have adopted what he regarded
as the “better reasoned precedent hold[ing]} that an unnamed,
objecting class member has standing to appeal a district court
order approving a class action settlement.” Pet. App. A30
(citing In re PaineWebber Inc. Lid. P’ships Litig., 94 F.3d 49
(CA2 1996); Bell Atl. Corp. v. Bolger, 2 F.3d 1304 (CA3
1993); Marshall v. Holiday Magic, Inc., 550 F.2d 1173 (CA9
1977); 7B Charles Alan Wright et a/., FEDERAL PRACTICE &
PROCEDURE, § 1797 (“Of course, if the class member appears
in response to the notice and puts forth his, objections, he can

attack the dismissal or compromise [of the class action] on
appeal from the entry of the final judgment.”)).

Judge Michael explained that the right of an objecting
class member to appeal dates to early equity practice and is
furthermore supported by constitutional and practical
considerations. _ Pet. App. A31l (citing Joseph Story,
COMMENTARIES ON EQUITY PLEADINGS § 94 (10th ed. 1892)).
Because a class action settlement affects the rights of all class
members, a rule refusing to permit non-named class members”
to appeal raises due process concerns. /d. Under the
majority’s approach, class members will be largely unable to
protect their interests because they generally do not learn of
their interest in intervening until provided with notice of the
proposed settlement by the district court, by which point
(under the panel majority’s holding) it is too late to intervene
and thereby preserve their right to appeal. Jd. A33-A34.

Judge Michael also maintained that the majority’s
approach undermines district courts’ administration of class
actions. The prospect that objectors may appeal provides an
important check on collusive settlements by the class
representatives and their counsel. Pet. App. A32. Moreover,
if prohibited from appealing, objectors will be more likely to
opt out from the class or to institute collateral attacks on
settlement orders. Jd. A33 (citing Walker v. City of Mesquite,
858 F.2d 1071, 1075 (CAS 1988) (unnamed class members

may “challenge the adequacy of class representation * * * by
filing a separate lawsuit for that purpose”)). Alternatively,
district courts will be burdened with unnecessary motions to
intervene, while courts of appeals, in turn, will be burdened

by interlocutory appeals if intervention is denied. Id. A34.
Conversely, as demonstrated by the experience of other
circuits, there is no substantial risk that objectors will file
meritless appeals of settlements, doubtless because in all but
the most meritorious cases “the projected expenses will
outweigh the potential for convincing the appeals court that
the district court abused its discretion in approving a

12

settlement after considering the objector’s concerns.” Jd.
A32.

d. The Fourth Circuit separately addressed petitioner’s
appeal from the district court’s injunction against class
members making any court filing in any other jurisdiction that
relates to the subject matter of the settlement. The injunction
rested on the fact that the entire class was bound by the
settlement as a matter of res judicata. Notwithstanding the
court of appeals’ holding that objectors could not appeal the
settlement, it nonetheless held that they could properly be
enjoined from acting in derogation of it. Pet. App. A29.
Rejecting petitioner’s substantive challenges to the injunction,
the court simply remanded the injunction for the district court
to reenter it in the form required by Fed. R. Civ. P. 65. Jd.
On remand, the district court reinstated the injunction. J.A.
174-77.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Neither respondents nor any of the courts of appeals
dispute that objectors meet the settled statutory and
constitutional requirements for appealing. A district court’s
approval of a settlement is an appealable “final decision” for
purposes of the appellate jurisdiction statute. Class members
furthermore have Article III standing to appeal the district
court’s judgment because they have a direct and personal
interest in the outcome of the case that would be remedied by
a favorable ruling on appeal. Unlike derivative shareholders,
that interest is entirely personal to the appealing class
member. Accordingly, objectors could be denied the right to
appeal only if (i) they do not satisfy the general rule that only
“parties” may appeal, or (ii) some special restriction on
appealability (not embodied in the governing statutes or rules)
could and should be announced. Neither of those assertions
can be sustained under this Court’s precedents and sound
principles of judicial administration.

— s

13

Most courts that deny standing to objectors rely on the
rule that only “parties” may appeal. That reasoning is flawed,
however, because this Court’s precedents settle that the right
to appeal extends to all parties to the judgment as opposed to
merely named parties. Under those precedents, the relevant
question is not whether the appellant is individually, as
opposed to categorically, identified in the caption of the
complaint, but rather whether the appellant is directly bound
by the ruling from which he appeals. The same conclusion
follows from this Court’s precedents holding that “quasi-
parties” and even certain “nonparties” may appeal. All
members of a class, once certified, are bound by the court’s
judgment, and therefore are entitled to appeal if they have
filed objections and thus preserved the arguments they seek to
raise. The absence of a class certification procedure under
Rule 23.1 again distinguishes class actions under Rule 23
from appeals brought by objecting derivative shareholders.

The policy reasons offered by the Fourth Circuit for
nonetheless denying objecting class members the right to
appeal cannot abrogate the basic statutory right to appeal and,
in any event, are unpersuasive. When class members pursue
their objections to a settlement on appeal, they do not in any
sense “usurp” the role of the class representative. The
representative has no right to preclude objections; to the
contrary, Rule 23(e) guarantees every class member the right
to present any objection to a settlement. Furthermore, appeals
by objectors identify legal errors in orders approving
settlements and deter collusive settlements.

Although the court of appeals held that objectors could
preserve their right to appeal by intervening, this Court has
squarely rejected that reasoning in closely related
circumstances on the ground that it would undermine orderly
class action proceedings. In any event, if intervention is
required, the district court erred in refusing to permit
petitioner to intervene limited to the right to contest and
subsequently appeal the settlement.

14
ARGUMENT

I. OBJECTORS SATISFY EVERY REQUIREMENT FOR
APPEALING ESTABLISHED BY STATUTE, RULE, AND THE
CONSTITUTION.

While disagreeing over whether non-intervening class
members are “parties” for the purpose of any rule that only
parties can appeal, the litigants in this case, and all of the
courts of appeals, necessarily agree that class members who
have objected to a settlement and who are bound by the
judgment satisfy all of the other requirements for an appeal as
of right under the governing statute and rules, as well as under
Article III of the Constitution.

The district court’s approval of a class action settlement is
appealable because it is embodied in a “final judgment” that
terminates the case on the merits. See Pet. App. C1l-C2
(“Final Order”; “This action is dismissed with prejudice.”);
28 U.S.C. § 1291 (“The courts of appeals * * * shall have
jurisdiction of appeals from all final decisions of the district
courts of the United States * * *.”). The Federal Rules of
Appellate Procedure, in turn, are coextensive with the
statute’s jurisdictional grant. See Fed. R. App. P. 1(b)
(“These rules do not extend or limit the jurisdiction of the
courts of appeals.”).

An objecting class member’s appeal of the settlement also
presents a cognizable “case or controversy” for purposes of
Article III of the Constitution. The class member asserts that
the settlement did not provide him all the relief he seeks and
to which he is entitled under the law. The class member thus
presents a claim that he suffered an “actual” invasion of a
“legally protected interest” that is “concrete and
particularized,” that is “fairly traceable” to the settlement
being challenged, and that is “likely * * * [to] be redressed by
a favorable decision” on his objections. Lujan v. Defenders
of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 598-61 (1992) (citations and

15

quotation marks omitted). Indeed, as Judge Easterbrook, in
his most recent opinion on the subject, has recognized:

Although several decisions (again Scardelletti is a
good example) discuss the problem as if the question
were whether class members have “standing” to appeal,
we do not think that this is apt. Class members suffer
injury in fact if a faulty settlement is approved, and that
injury may be redressed if the court of appeals reverses.
What more is needed for standing?

In re Navigant Consulting, Inc., Secur. Litig., -- F.3d --, 2001
WL 1646846, at *-- (CA7 Dec. 26, 2001).

In this respect, there is arguably a distinction between the
unquestionably direct personal interest of objecting class
members under Rule 23 and the indirect interest pursued by
objecting derivative shareholders under Rule 23.1. The
Felzen respondents, argued in this Court that derivative
Shareholders pursue only the direct interests of the
corporation, as opposed to their own direct personal interests,
contrasting derivative suits with actions in which shareholders
sue to recoup the lost value of their shares. The Felzen
respondents thus essentially retreated to the position that,
although unnamed class members under Rule 23 do have the
right to appeal, derivative shareholders lack a sufficiently
direct personal interest to pursue an appeal. See, e.g., No. 97-
1732, Oral Arg. Trans. at 37.

Notwithstanding the absence of any plausible objection
under the applicable statute, rules, and the Constitution, some
circuits refuse to hear appeals by objecting, but non-
intervening, class members on two bases: (1) That they are
not “parties”; and (2) that policy considerations disfavor such
appeals. Neither of those grounds is persuasive. Objectors
are “parties” for purposes of the general rule that only
“parties” may appeal from a final decision. Furthermore,
objectors’ right to appeal is consistent with sound principles
of judicial administration and, in any event, there is no basis

16

for adopting a special restriction on appealability nowhere
embodied in the governing statutes or rules.

II. OBJECTING CLASS MEMBERS ARE “PARTIES” HAVING
THE RIGHT TO APPEAL.

A. The Term “Parties” Encompasses All Persons
Directly Bound by a Judgment, Not Merely the
Named Representatives Acting as Agents for
Multiple Individuals.

One justification offered for denying non-intervening
class members the right to appeal a class settlement order is
the general rule that only “parties” are permitted to appeal.
Although the Fourth Circuit in this case seemed to reject that
view, see Pet. App. A15-A16 n.12, the issue bears discussing
because the “party” requirement is the only formal rule that
could conceivably be argued to preclude petitioner’s appeal.
If petitioner is indeed a “party,” or if the rule is not so formal
as some circuits might suggest, then the preclusion of
petitioner’s appeal rests entirely on an exercise in judicial
policy making untethered from any restrictions imposed by
statute, rule, or the Constitution, which cannot overcome an
otherwise clear right to appeal.

In Marino v. Ortiz, this Court stated in its per curiam
opinion that “[t}he rule that only parties to a lawsuit, or those
that properly become parties, may appeal an adverse
judgment, is well settled.” 484 U.S. at 304. Some cases
extrapolate from this general rule to the proposition that,
because unnamed class members are, by definition, not
individually named in the caption of the case, they are not
“parties” entitled to appeal a final decision. £.g., In re
Navigant, -- F.3d at --, 2001 WL 1646846, at *-- (“members
of a class (other than the named representatives) are not
automatically parties”); Jn re Brand Name Prescription Drugs
Antitrust Litig., 115 F.3d 456, 457 (CA7 1997) (appellant
class members “are not named plaintiffs”); cf. Felzen v.

17

Andreas, 134 F.3d 873, 874-75 (CA7) (discussing view that
unnamed shareholders in derivative suits are nonparties), aff'd
by equally divided Court, 525 U.S. 315 (1999). The flaw in
this reasoning is that it begs the question of who is a “party”

for purposes of the right to appeal.

Under this Court’s settled precedents, “party” status for
purposes of the right to appeal is not limited to individually
identified or “named” parties to a case, as some courts
assume.’ _ Instead, appellate “party” status extends to all
persons over whom a district ceurt exercises jurisdiction, who
are directly bound by a final order or judgment of that court,
and hence whc are “parties” to the particular final decision
from which they appeal. Thus, in the case cited by Marino
for the proposition that only parties may appeal, United States
ex rel. Louisiana v. Jack, the settled rule was described as
precluding appeals from a judgment by a person “‘who is not
a party or privy to the record’” and that “‘one who is not a
party to a record and judgment is not entitled to appeal
therefrom.’” 244 U.S. 397, 402 (1917) (quoting Bayard v.

* Furthermore, it is a somewhat inaccurate usage to say that an objecting
member of a properly certified class is not a “named” party in the case.
While petitioner is not individually named in the caption of the case, he is
certainly “named” categorically through the description of the class on
whose behalf the individual representative purports to act. If that
description is sufficient to identify petitioner for purposes of exercising
jurisdiction over him and binding him by the resulting judgment, then it
should be sufficient to “name” him as a party for purposes of Federal Rule
of Appellate Procedure 3(c). Cf. Torres v. Oakland Scavenger Co., 487
U.S. 312, 318 (1988) (“The purpose of the specificity requirement of Rule
3(c) is to provide notice both to the opposition and to the court of the
identity of the appellant or appellants.”; use of generic designation “ef
al.” would “leave the appellee and the court unable to determine with
certitude whether a losing party not named in the notice of appeal should
be bound by an adverse judgment * * *.”); National Center for
Immigrants’ Rights v. INS, 892 F.2d 814, 816 (CA9 1989) (“Torres does
not require that the individual names of the appealing parties be listed in
instances in which a generic term, such as plaintiffs or defendants,
adequately identifies them.”).

18

Lombard, 50 U.S. (9 How.) 530, 551 (1850); In Re Leaf
Tobacco Board of Trade, 222 U.S. 578 (1911) (per curiam)).

The precise scope of the term “party” for purposes of
appeal was succinctly described in Hinckley v. Gilman,
Clinton, & Springfield R.R. Co., 94 U.S. (4 Otto) 467 (1876),
in which this Court allowed an appeal by a receiver charged
with distributing the proceeds of a foreclosure action, but who
was not involved in or a party to the underlying litigation.
This Court defined the receiver’s appellate rights and party
status according to the authority exercised by the lower court
and the scope of the judgment or order being appealed:

The receiver cannot and does not attempt to appeal
from the decree of foreclosure, or from any order or
decree of the court, except such as relates to the
settlement of his accounts. To that extent he has been
subjected to the jurisdiction of the court, and made
liable to its orders and decrees. He has, therefore, the
corresponding right to contend against all claims made
against him. For this purpose he occupies the position of
a party to the suit, although an officer of the court, and
after the final decree below has the right to his appeal
here.

94 U.S. (4 Otto) at 469 (emphasis added); see also /ndiana
Southern R. Co. v. Liverpool, London & Globe Ins. Co., 109
U.S. 168, 173 (1883) (person seeking to appeal from a decree
in a suit to which he was denied intervention was “not a party
to the decree from which he appeals” (emphasis added)).

In the present case, of course, petitioner is undeniably a
“party to the decree from which he appeals” because the
settlement order expressly acts upon a certified class of
persons that includes petitioner. That order also plainly
adjudicates petitioner’s individual rights, as confirmed by the
injunction entered against him on the basis of the settlement
order. Furthermore, petitioner is also a party to the “record”
as it relates to the order approving the settlement. He entered

19

his objections on the record and appeared before the court to
advance those objections. And he did so not as a matter of
grace, but as a matter of right, pursuant to Rule 23(e).°

Mere citation to Marino’s general rule that only “parties”
may appeal thus ultimately begs the question of whether non-
intervening class members bound by a judgment are already
“parties” for such purpose. An analysis of the actual facts and
holding in Marino, however, strongly supports the
proposition that class members who are bound by a court’s
judgment are parties for purposes of appealing that judgment.

Marino was a class action brought by minority police
officers alleging that the New York Police Department’s
sergeant’s examination was _ discriminatory. Class
representatives and the Police Department reached a
settlement, and at the final fairness hearing a group of white
police officers, who were not class members and who had not
sought to intervene, appeared and presented their objections
to the settlement. The district court nonetheless approved the
settlement, and the group of white officers appealed. The
Second Circuit affirmed, not on the merits, but on the ground
that the appellants were not parties to the action.

This Court affirmed, per curiam, applying the “well
settled” principle “that only parties to a lawsuit, or those that
properly become parties, may appeal an adverse judgment.”
Marino, 484 U.S. at 304. Responding to the Second Circuit's
suggestion that there might be some exception to this general
principle, the Court noted that “the better practice is for such

° The right to object on the record and appear in defense of those
objections is tantamount to a per se grant of limited intervention for the
purposes of challenging a settlement. Having exercised that right,
petitioner became a party to the record, and upon entry of the final order
certifying the class and disposing of his claims, he became a party to the
judgment as well. That he may or may not have been a “party” to other
aspects of the proceedings is entirely irrelevant when he only seeks appeal
from the final decision to which he was a party.

20

a nonparty to seek intervention for purposes of — a
(emphasis added).

Marino, however, emphasized that the appellants were not
class members, had not intervened, and hence were
effectively strangers to the proceedings. See 484 U.S. at 303
(contrasting depiction of the black and Hispanic plaintiff class
members with the non-party white officers). The strong
implication of that emphasis and distinction is that had the
appellants in fact been class members, intervention would
have been unnecessary. Thus, if anything, Marino supports
the view that objecting class members are already “parties”
who need not also intervene to appeal from approval of a
class action settlement. -

That “party” status for purposes of appeal is a function of
being bound by a judgment or order, rather than a function of
being individually named in the caption of a case, can be seen
from a variety of circumstances in which appeals are
uniformly allowed. Two general lines of precedents illustrate
the point. In both, the appellants were not named plaintiffs or
defendants but nonetheless participated in the district court
and were bound by a ruling of the court. It would be
profoundly inconsistent with those precedents to hold that
unnamed plaintiffs and defendants to a judgment who
similarly participate in the case may not appeal despite their
direct personal stake in the outcome.

First, this Court has long recognized the right to appeal of
“quasi-parties” — viz., persons who, like petitioner, are not
individually named as formal parties to the litigation but (i)
have a direct stake in the outcome, (ii) have a recognized right
to participate in the case, and (iii) do in fact participate. For
example, in Blossom v. The Milwaukee Railroad, 68 U.S. (1
Wall.) 655 (1863), Blossom had requested that the district
court complete a foreclosure sale in which he had bid on the
property, but the district court refused. When Blossom
subsequently sought to appeal that ruling, the respondents
objected that he was not a formal party to the case. This

21

Court answered the question “[i}s the appellant so far a party
to the original suit that he can appeal” in the affirmative,
explaining that Blossom was entitled to appeal with respect to
that part of the case in which he had properly participated.
The Court found it clear that Blossom could not “appeal from
the original decree of foreclosure, nor from any other order or
decree of the court made prior to his bid.” 68 U.S. (1 Wall.)
at 655. But the Court found it equally “well settled, that after
a decree adjudicating certain rights between the parties to a
suit, other persons having no previous interest in the litigation
may become connected with the case, in the course of the
subsequent proceedings, in such a manner as to subject them
to the jurisdiction of the court, and render them liable to its
orders; and that they may in like manner acquire rights in
regard to the subject-matter of the litigation, which the court
is bound to protect.” Jd. at 655-56. The Court cited as
examples appeals by “[s]ureties, signing appeal bonds, stay
bonds, delivery bonds, and receipters under writs of
attachment,” all of wrom “become quasi parties to the
proceedings, and subject themselves to the jurisdiction of the
court.” Jd.

Subsequently, this Court held that a district court order
approving fees for a trustee could be appealed by objectors
who had appeared in the trial court but had not formally
intervened. Williams v. Morgan, 111 U.S. 684 (1884). The
Court cited Blossom and its progeny as sustaining quasi-
parties’ right “to come into this court, or to be brought here
on appeal, when a final decision of their right or claim has
been made by the court below.” 111 U.S. at 699.’ The Court

’ Blossom’s progeny include Hovey v. McDonald, 109 U.S. 150, 155-56
(1883) (when non-party receiver received order in his favor, appeal could
be brought against him); Trustees v. Greenough, 105 U.S. 527, 531 (1882)
(trustees may appeal award in favor of complaina.t suing on behalf of a
trust fund); Sage v. Railroad Co., 96 U.S. 712, 714 (1878) (quasi-parties
interested in order confirming a sale may appeal); Hinckley v. Gilman,
Clinton & Springfield R.R. Co., 94 U.S. 467, 469 (1877) (non-party

22

accordingly concluded that the objectors “had such an interest
[in the trustee charges], and were so situated in the cause, that
they had a right, by leave of the court, to except and object to
the charges and allowances presented by the trustees and
receivers, and that they had a right to appeal from the decree
of the Circuit Court to this court.” Jd. at 700.*

Second, this Court has explicitly held, and the circuits
have uniformly recognized, that certain “nonparties” to the
case may nonetheless appeal various orders applicable to
them. Such holdings recognize that, for purposes of appeal,
those persons are “parties” to the final decision from which
they appeal notwithstanding that they did not participate as
named parties to the litigation. One example is Marino’s
explicit recognition that “denials of [motions to intervene]
are, of course, appealable.” 484 U.S. at 304. Other examples
include: appeals from contempt orders, United States
Catholic Conference v. Abortion Rights Mobilization, Inc.,
487 U.S. 72, 76 (1988) (“The right of a nonparty to appeal an
adjudication of contempt cannot be questioned.”); appeals
from orders imposing attorney sanctions, Rogers v. National
Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, 864 F.2d 557, 559-60
(CA7 1988) (“When a district court sanctions attorneys the
attorneys are the real parties in interest, and the attorneys
must appeal in their own names. A notice of appeal naming
the party (in this case the plaintiffs) as the appellant, not the
attorneys, does not create jurisdiction over the attorneys’
appeal. Because the notice of appeal does not name [the
attorneys] as the parties taking this appeal, we have no
jurisdiction over their appeal.” (citations omitted)); and

receiver may appeal order directing him to pay money); and Minnesota
Co. v. St. Paul Co., 69 U.S. (2 Wall.) 609, 633-34 (1865) (appeal may be
brought against persons who were “nominal parties” but not formal parties
to the judgment).

* Even if this Court were to conclude that petitioner was not a “party” for
purposes of the right to appeal, he would be entitled to appeal urder the
“quasi-party” line of decisions. F

23

appeals from orders limiting attorney’s fees, Bowling v.
Pfizer, Inc., 102 F.3d 777, 779 (CA6 1996) (class counsel
and various other law firms appeal as “separate parties” from
district court orders relating to fee award).

The Seventh Circuit’s view that class members are not
automatically parties because they are not counted towards
the jurisdictional requirement of “complete” diversity in suits
raising state-law claims (Jn re Navigant, -- F.3d at --, 2001
WL 1646846, at *--.) is incorrect The diversity jurisdiction
statute does not refer to “parties” but rather requires that the
suit be “between . . . citizens of different States.” 28 U.S.C. §
1332(a). This Court settled in Supreme Tribe of Ben-Hur v.
Cauble, 255 U.S. 356, 365 (1921), that the residency of
unnamed class members is irrelevant not because they are not
“parties” but because they are similarly situated to
intervenors, who are not considered for purposes of diversity
jurisdiction. 255 U.S. at 363-66. This Court has since
described the import of Ben-Hur as requiring that “no
nondiverse members are named parties.” Snyder v. Harris,
394 U.S. 332, 340 (1969) (emphasis added).”

At bottom, the Seventh Circuit’s reasoning confuses
“party” status under Fed. R. App. P. 3 with the wholly
separate question of whether any given person is included in
the diversity analysis. The two issues are simply not
coextensive. There are instances in which persons who are
indisputably “parties” for purposes of appeal are not counted
towards the complete diversity requirement, and there are
likewise instances in which persons with only an indirect
relation to the litigation are counted in the diversity analysis.

* This explanation of Ben-Hur is fully consistent with another of this
Court’s precedents that makes clear that absent class members are parties
to the litigation: Zahn v. International Paper Co., 414 U.S. 291 (1973), in
which the Court held that the claims of non-named plaintiffs, like those of
named plaintiffs, must meet the requisite jurisdictional amount in diversity
cases under 28 U.S.C. § 1332.

24

Compare Ben-Hur, 255 U.S. at 365 (citing Stewart v.
Dunham, 115 U.S. 61, 64 (1885), for the proposition that
citizenship of intervenors is not counted for diversity), with
28 U.S.C. § 1332(¢X(1) (citizenship of nonparty insureds
counted for diversity).'" Because class members are not
actually brought into the case until the class is certified, see
infra at 24-28, and hence well after jurisdiction over the case
has attached, their status as non-diverse “parties” would have
no impact on existing diversity jurisdiction. Ben-Hur, 255
U.S. at 366 (“intervention of [non-diverse] citizens in the suit
would not have defeated the jurisdiction already acquired”).''

B. Once the Class Is Certified, Objectors Are “Parties
to the Judgment,” and Therefore Have the Right to

Appeal.

When a district court certifies a class action pursuant to
Rule 23 and resolves the case by entering a final judgment
approving a settlement, each class member is a “party” to the
judgment. The class representative holds that title not merely
because his claims are “representative” — i.e., typical — of the
other class members, but because he affirmatively
“represents” the class members who are parties bound by the
court’s ruling without personally participating in the litigation
on an ongoing basis. Long ago, this Court adopted the

'© The fact that unnamed class members are “parties” for purposes of the
right to appeal is fully consistent with the rule that only the residency of
the class representatives is relevant to the determination of diversity
isdiction.
'' The Tenth Circuit has implicitly rejected the view that objectors are
not “parties”; while that court generally agrees with the Seventh Circuit
that objectors may not appeal, it does permit objectors to appeal orders
awarding attorney's fees. Rosenbaum v. MacAllister, 64 F.3d 1439, 1442-
43 (1995). That limited right of appeal makes no sense under a theory that
objectors are not parties. If objectors are not permitted to appeal the
approval of the settlement itself, there is no basis for nonetheless
permitting them to appeal a collateral ruling that less directly affects their
interests.

25

English rule that a court of equity could permit “a portion of
the parties in interest to represent the entire body, and the
decree binds all of them the same as if all were before the
court.” Smith v. Swormstedt, 57 U.S. 288, 303 (1850). Under
current practice, “‘[A]ll members of the class, whether of a
plaintiff or a defendant class, are bound by the judgment
entered in the action unless, in a Rule 23(b)(3) action, they
make a timely election for exclusion.’” Matsushita Elec.
Indus. Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S. 367, 379 (1996) (quoting 2
NEWBERG, CLASS ACTIONS § 2755, at 1224 (1977), and citing
Cooper v. Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, 467 U.S. 867,
874 (1984))."?

As this Court’s precedents consistently recognize, an
unnamed class member who is bound by the judgment is
therefore not a “nonparty.” To the contrary, the entire point
of class actions is that “[i]t is manifest that to require all the
parties to be brought upon the record * * * would amount to a
denial of justice.” Swormstedt, 57 U.S. at 303 (emphasis
added). Thus, this Court’s leading precedents on the binding
effect of class action judgments explain that “[t}he absent
parties would be bound by the decree so long as the named
parties adequately represented the absent class and the
prosecution of the litigation was within the common interest.”
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 808 (1985)
(emphasis added) (discussing reasoning of Hansberry v. Lee,
311 U.S. 32, 41 (1940)).

The critical stage of the proceeding for triggering
objectors’ right to appeal is class certification. Once the class
is certified (and, in (b)(3) class actions, class members are
given the opportunity to opt out), class members “are either
nonparties to the suit and ineligible to participate in a
recovery or to be bound by a judgment, or else they are full

'2 As noted supra at 5, because this class action was not certified under
subsection (b)(3), petitioner and other objectors had no opportunity to opt
out.

26

members who must abide by the final judgment, whether
favorable or adverse.” American Pipe & Construction Co. v.
Utah, 414 U.S. 538, 549 (1974). See also, e.g., Ortiz v.
Fibreboard Corp., 527 U.S. 815, 836 (1999) (describing
unnamed class members as “absent parties”); Hansberry, 311
U.S. at 42 (same)."

This Court’s precedents addressing mootness issues in the
context of class actions similarly support the conclusion that
every class member is a “party” in a properly certified class
action. In Sosna v. Jowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975), for example,
this Court held that when a class representative’s individual
claim is mooted on appeal, a live case or controversy remains
in light of the claims of the remaining class members. “When
the District Court certified the propriety of the class action,
the class of unnamed persons described in the certification
acquired a legal status separate from the interest asserted by
[the] appellant [class representative].” 419 U.S. at 399. In an
accompanying footnote, the Court reasoned that class
certification has “important consequences” because “[i]f the
suit proceeds to judgment on the merits, it is contemplated
that the decision will bind all persons who have been found at
the time of the certification to be members of the class.” Jd.
at 399 n.8. It is only the fact that some parties to the case
retain a continuing interest that precludes mootness despite
the elimination of any personal interest on the part of the class
representative.

The Court has consistently adhered to the principle that
members of a properly certified class have a concrete interest
in the litigation independent of that of the representative.
Compare Franks v. Bowman, 424 U.S. 747 (1976) (applying
Sosna to hold Title VII class action not moot notwithstanding
that named plaintiff no longer had viable claim), and United

'3 The absence of a class certification procedure under Rule 23.1 is yet
another respect in which Rule 23 class actions are distinct from derivative
suits.

27

States Parole Comm'n v. Geraghty, 445 U.S. 388 (1980)
(extending Sosna to hold claim not moot even in absence of
certified class because claim was “capable of repetition, yet
evading review”) with Kremens v. Bartley, 431 U.S. 119
(1977) (holding Sosna inapplicable when intervening
developments seriously called class certification into
question), and Board of School Comm'rs v. Jacobs, 420 U.S.
128 (1975) (per curiam) (holding Sosna inapplicable when no
class action was properly certified).

This case illustrates perfectly that the right to appeal is not
limited to “named parties.” If petitioner is not a “party” with
the right to appeal the settlement, he similarly could not
appeal the district court’s denial of his motion to intervene or
the district court’s entry of an injunction against him. But
neither respondents nor the court of appeals even attempts to
take that untenable position.

If petitioner does have the right to appeal the denial of his
intervention motion and the injunction — as he must — that
must be because the rulings directly affected petitioner and
were binding upon him. Party status for purposes of appeal
thus is measured by reference to the specific final judgment or
order from which the appeal is taken, not by reference to the
case caption or to the case as a whole. A person whose rights
were adjudicated by a particular final ruling — be that ruling a
denial of a motion or the final disposition of the case — is a
party to that ruling and thus meets all of the formal
requirements for appealing from that ruling as a “party * * *
taking the appeal.”

The same logic that allows petitioner to appeal from the
denial of intervention or the entry of an injunction against him
thus establishes that he may appeal the entry of the settlement
over his objection. The plan trustees brought this lawsuit
precisely for the purpose of resolving their obligations vis-d-
vis all the plan members, each of whom was defined as a
member of the mandatory class. The trustees and the class
representatives then jointly sought class certification for the

28

purpose of settling the case and binding each class member to
the court’s judgment. Petitioner properly presented his
objections to the settlement to the district court, which
rejected them. The judgment, moreover, binds petitioner (as
respondents and the district court invoked in entering an
injunction against petitioner from acting in contravention of
the settlement). The court’s final judgment approves a
substantial reduction in petitioner’s pension and furthermore
extinguishes petitioner’s personal right to sue the plan to
reinstate his benefits and to challenge the trustees’ actions
through litigation. '*

There accordingly can be no reasonable dispute that
petitioner is thus a party to the judgment, and his formal
objections to the settlement — submitted on the record and as
of right under Rule 23(e) — make him a party for purposes of
appealing that judgment based on those objections.

III. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT’S RATIONALE FOR DENYING
UNNAMED CLASS MEMBERS THE RIGHT TO APPEAL IS
FLAWED.

The Fourth Circuit held that objectors lack “standing” to
appeal a class action settlement not due to any formal defect
in status, but rather because of its view that such appeals

'* That the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure recognize objectors as
“parties” is also implicit in the fact that absent class members are often
allowed discovery into the justification for a class settlement, precisely
because of their undisputed interest in the litigation. 2 H. Newberg & A.
Conte, NEWBERG ON CLASS ACTIONS § 11.57 (3d ed. 1992); see, e.g., Jn
re General Motors Corp. Engine Interchange Litig., 594 F.2d 1106, 1126
(CA7), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 870 (1979). Since, under the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, discovery may be obtained only by parties to the
action, or those expecting to become parties, Fed. R. Civ. P. 27, it is clear
that the courts view absent class members as parties for discovery
purposes. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)(1) (“/p/arties may obtain discovery”
regarding relevant, non-privileged matters), Fed. R. Civ. P. 33 (“any party
may serve upon any other party written interrogatories”), Fed. R. Civ. P.
34 (“/ajny party may serve upon any other party” document requests).

29

would undermine orderly class action litigation as a policy
matter. As we explain infra, the court of appeals was
mistaken in its policy analysis. But at the outset, there was no
warrant for the Fourth Circuit to impose its own policy-based
restriction on appeals “as of right” that lacks any basis in
statute, rules, or the Constitution (see supra Part I) or in this
Court’s precedents recognizing the traditional rule that
appeals are generally limited to “parties” (see supra Part II).

No doubt, class actions — like all suits — could be made
more “efficient” if fewer appeals were allowed or if the right
to object were eliminated altogether. But the appropriate
means of balancing efficiency against fairness concerns is
through legislation or the established procedures for revising
the Federal Rules of Civil and Appellate Procedure, subject to
due process constraints. Cf. Ortiz, 527 U.S. at 861 (“The nub
of our position is that wé are bound to follow Rule 23 as we
understood it upon its adoption, and that we are not free to
alter it except through the process prescribed by Congress in
the Rules Enabling Act.”’).

A. An Objector’s Appeal Does Not Usurp the Role of
the Class Representative.

Contrary to the view of the majority below, an objector’s
appeal of the approval of a class action settlement does not
“usurp” the prerogatives of the class representative, for the
simple reason that Congress has not granted the representative
the power independently to settle the case or to prevent other
class members from appealing. ‘Throughout much of the case,
the representative acts as the champion of the absent class
members and thus has extensive authority to act in their
interests with respect to matters such as discovery and the
course of trial litigation. The adversarial posture of the case
provides assurance that the interests of absent class members
will be protected. Class members therefore have no per se
right to object to the course of the litigation except by
asserting that the representative is not acting in the interests of

30

the class or by moving to intervene in the ongoing conduct of
the case.

By contrast, when the representative enters into a
proposed settlement with the opposing party and urges the
district court to approve the settlement, “the procedural
protections built into the Rule to protect the rights of absent
class members during litigation” are essentially absent. Ortiz,
527 U.S. at 847. Rule 23(e) therefore provides that no
settlement may be approved “without the approval of the
court, and notice of the proposed dismissal or compromise
shall be given to all members of the class in such manner as
the court directs.”

The protections provided by Rule 23(e) are critical. As
this Court explained in Amchem, “The inquiry appropriate
under Rule 23(e) * * * protects unnamed class members
‘from unjust or unfair settlements affecting their rights when
the representatives become fainthearted before the action is
adjudicated or are able to secure satisfaction of their
individual claims by a compromise.’” 521 U.S. at 623
(quoting 7A Wright et al. at 518-19). As the Second and
Third Circuits have recognized, “It is no secret that in
‘seeking court approval of their settlement proposal,
plaintiffs’ attorneys’ and defendants’ interests coalesce and
mutual interest may result in mutual indulgence.” Kaplan v.
Rand, 192 F.3d 60, 67 (CA2 1999) (quoting Bell Atl. Corp. v.
Bolger, 2 F.3d 1304, 1310 (CA3 1993)).

The Fourth Circuit failed to recognize this important limit
on the class representative’s power and thus failed to
recognize that the representative has no more authority to
prevent a settlement from being challenged on appeal than to
prevent objections from being presented in the first place. To
the contrary, once the settlement is approved, concerns that
the class representatives are no longer acting adverse to the
opposing parties (and thus are less responsive to the interests
of other class members) are even greater. At least in the
district court, the class representatives and opposing parties

31

have some incentive to accommodate objections in order to
secure approval of the settlement. But once the district court
enters an order approving the settlement, the class
representative unquestionably will not pursue an appeal on
behalf of the objectors.

Nor do objectors “usurp” the role of the class
representatives when they appeal. Rather, after a settlement
is reached, the interests of the class representatives and the
objecting class members necessarily diverge and the
representative effectively ceases to pursue the interests of the
objectors. In the court of appeals, the objector proceeds in his
individual capacity rather than as a representative of the class
as a whole and he has no obligation to pursue any interest
other than his own.'® Straightforward examples include
appeals by objectors challenging the application of a
settlement to their unique circumstances (cf. supra at 8 n.4
(discussing objections of individual class member)) or
challenging the district court’s refusal to permit them to opt
out (e.g., Adams v. Robertson, 520 US 83 (1997)) or to
include them within the class (e.g., Berger v. Iron Workers
Reinforced Rodmen, 170 F.3d 1111 (CADC 1999)). The
Fourth Circuit’s rule, however, prohibits objectors from
pursuing even these wholly individual interests on appeal.

In other instances, the objector’s argument on appeal will
have broader application. That was true in Amchem, in which
the objector successfully raised an array of challenges to a
settlement class action. It is also true in this case. But the
fact that a settlement will likely be invalidated if an objector
prevails on an argument of general applicability to the class
does not mean that the objector is improperly acting as the
class “representative.” The objector is simply pursuing his
individual interest on appeal just as he did in the district court,

'S The appeal thus would not proceed if the appealing objector withdrew
it (unless another objector were permitted to intervene on appeal and take
his place).

32

where the settlement would have been similarly invalidated if
the district judge had agreed with the objection. That result is
merely the consequence of the principle of judgments that
“any objection [of a class member] sustained would inure to
the benefit of all.” Mullane, 339 U.S. at 319.

B. Appeals by Objectors Further Sound Principles of
Judicial Administration And Preserve Objectors’
Due Process Rights.

The majority below similarly erred in asserting that
objector appeals would undermine “effective class
management.” Pet. App. A2l. As already noted, a class
member has an absolute right to present objections to the
settlement under Rule 23(e) and thus to challenge the class
representative’s management of a particular aspect of the case
— viz., settlement. But the adversarial procedure of objectors
and the class representative does not undermine effective
class management; it is effective class management because it
is essential that settlements affecting absent class members be
subjected to adversarial testing. There is no reason to believe
that “effective class management” would be undermined if
the identical objections were considered by the court of
appeals. It is therefore not surprising that neither respondents
nor the Fourth Circuit identified any evidence that adverse
effects had arisen in the several circuits that permit objector

appeals.

Nor is there any merit to the argument that appeals by
objectors should be prohibited in order to speed the
disposition of the case. That argument proves too much, for it
improperly elevates finality above the error-correcting
function of the appellate courts and would justify eliminating
all appeals from any judgment or order in any case. As Judge
Easterbrook has recognized in concluding that intervention
must be freely granted to objectors for the purpose of appeal,
the “possibility that [the appellate court] would see merit to
their appeal cannot be called ‘prejudice’; appellate correction

33

of a district court’s errors is a benefit to the class.” Crawford
v. Equifax Payment Servs., Inc., 201 F.3d 877, 881 (CA7
2000).'

If anything, a rule permitting objectors to appeal enhances
the integrity and efficacy of class action proceedings. Rule
23(e) guarantees class members notice and an opportunity to
be heard, in part, because objections advise the district court
of potential flaws in the settlement and furthermore deter
collusive settlements. While class actions can be enormously
useful tools for the efficient provision of justice, they have
substantial and well-recognized dangers. See Weinberger v.
Great Northern Nekoosa Corp., 925 F.2d 518, 524 (CAI
1991) (“[Class] lawyers might urge a class settlement at a low
figure or on a less-than-optimal basis in exchange for red-
carpet treatment on fees.”). Permitting objections to be
pursued on appeal provides an additional layer of deterrence
against self-dealing by the class representatives and their
lawyers. In particular, the attorneys negotiating the
settlement will be more attentive to the interests of the entire
class if they know that objections will receive a thorough
review, including on appeal if necessary.

The dynamics of the settlement process in the district
court generally tend to undermine the effectiveness of

'® Restricting appellate review of class actions will also create an incentive
to abuse the procedure at the outset. When a class is not sufficiently
“numerous” to satisfy Rule 23, the action may be permitted to proceed
only if each individual is formally joined as a named party. Fed. R. Civ.
P. 19. In that circumstance, the joined parties will frequently be
represented by a single counsel who handles the course of litigation. But
there can be no serious argument denying that each of the joined parties
has an independent right to appeal an adverse judgment. The only result
of holding that a similarly situated class action objector — effectively a
party joined categorically rather than by name, and represented by joint
counsel — nonetheless may not appeal would be to encourage the use of
class actions as a tool to eliminate the rights of objectors rather than as a
tool to protect the interests of class members by reducing the burden of

litigation.

34

existing safeguards against problematic settlements. Once a
class action settlement is reached, the district court’s first
action is usually to grant “preliminary approval,” which is a
finding — almost always untested by adversarial presentation —
that the settlement contains no obvious substantive or
procedural defects. MANUAL ON COMPLEX LITIGATION
THIRD, § 30.41, at 237 (Federal Judicial Center 1995)
(“MANUAL”).'” After preliminary approval, the proponents of
the settlement expend a considerable sum notifying the class
of the settlement. Thereafter, the same district judge who
preliminarily approved the settlement presides over a
“fairness hearing” and decides whether to give final approval
under Rule 23(e). See id. §§ 30.41-.42. Given the initial
blessing of the district court, the expense of mounting
objections, and the complexity of many settlements, the
settlement may rightly be viewed by class members as a “fait
accompli.” Mars Steel Corp. v. Continental Ill. Nat'l Bank &
Trust Co., 834 F.2d 677, 681 (CA7 1987).

Not surprisingly, the presentation of an unchallenged
proposed settlement to a district court therefore can create a
hydraulic pressure for approval, a fact apparent from data
showing that fairness hearings in district courts tend to be
brief and generally do not result in changes to settlements
crafted by the class representative and opposing parties. See
John C. Coffee, Jr., Class Wars: The Dilemma of the Mass
Tort Class Action, 95 COLUM. L. REV. 1343, 1348 & n.14
(1995) (empirical evidence suggests that “courts have little
ability or incentive to resist [proposed] settlements”; data
shows mec _ hearing lengths in two districts of 38 and 40
minutes); Fe eral Judicial Center, EMPIRICAL STUDY OF

'7 In almost all cases, potential objectors are not even aware of the
preliminary hearing because they have yet to receive notice of a
settlement. Indeed, in settlement class actions such as Amchem, in which
settlement and certification are simultaneous, at the time of the
preliminary hearing the class members have no idea that a lawsuit even
exists.

35

CLASS ACTIONS IN FOUR FEDERAL DisTricT CourTs 58
(1996) (“Approximately 90% or more of the proposed [class]
settlements were approved without changes in each of the
four districts.”). Fairness hearings in some courts are
“typically pep rallies jointly orchestrated by plaintiffs’
counsel and defense counsel” in which the district courts
“engage in paeans of praise for counsel or lambaste anyone
rash enough to object to the settlement.” Jonathan R. Macey
& Geoffrey P. Miller, The Plaintiffs’ Attorney's Role in Class
Action & Derivative Litigation: Economic Analysis and
— for Reform, 58 U. Cui. L. REv. 1, 46-47
1991).

The prospect of appellate review of judgments approving
class action settlements (like the prospect of appellate review
in every case) also causes the district judge to be fully
attentive to the objections before him. A principal value of
the appeals process is that it “induc[es] trial court judges to
make fewer errors because of their fear of reversal.” Steven
Shavell, The Appeals Process as a Means of Error
Correction, 24 J. LEGAL STUD. 379, 408-11, 425-26 (1995).
Moreover, appeals correct errors. Decisions such as Amchem
~ which reached this Court only because the Third Circuit
permits objectors to appeal — demonstrate that there is a
substantial role for the appellate courts to play in evaluating
class action settlements.

Finally, any doubt must be resolved in favor of permitting
class members to appeal because it would be inconsistent
with due process to limit an objector’s recourse to a “likely
futile objection at the fairness hearing required by Rule
23(e).” Samuel Issacharoff, Class Action Conflicts, 30
U.C.D. L. REv. 805, 822 (1977), quoted in Ortiz, 527 U.S. at
850 n.27. This Court’s decision in Shutts settled that “before
an absent class member’s right of action was extinguishable
due process required that the member ‘receive notice plus an
opportunity to be heard and participate in the litigation.’”
Ortiz, 527 U.S. at 848 (quoting Shutts, 472 U.S. at 812); see

36

also Mullane, 339 U.S. at 314 (class action procedures must
“afford [class members] an opportunity to present their
objections”); cf. Matsushita, 516 U.S. at 399 (Ginsburg, J.,
concurring in part and dissenting in part) (writing separately
to “stress” applicability of procedural due process protections
for absent parties in class actions, “emphatically including
those resolved by settlement”). Due process concerns are
only heightened when, as in this case, objectors are not
permitted to opt out: “The inherent tension between
representative suits and the day-in-court ideal is only
magnified if applied to damage claims gathered in a
mandatory class.” Ortiz, 527 U.S. at 846.

Cc. uiring Prophylactic Intervention in the District
aon 5 a Greater Threat to Class
Management than Does a Fight to Appeal Based
on Objections under Rule 23(e).

If anything, it is the Fourth Circuit’s holding that
objec tors have the right to appeal only if they intervene that
has the greatest potential to undermine orderly class
management. Rather than channel class-member
participation through the Rule 23(e) procedures, as the district
court sought to do in this case, the Fourth ae

id , her ,
proceedings.'® Class rhe wong m4 would not otherwise
move to intervene will do so protectively because they cannot
know ex ante if (i) the case will be settled, (ii) what the

= settlement also implicates the class member's Seventh Amendment
intetsemntnedatantaerthe Cf. Ortiz, 527 U.S. at 846 (“By its
nature, however, a mandatory settlement-only class action with legal
issues and future claimants compromises their Seventh Amendment rights
without their consent.”).

- admitted by the district court as named parties, intervenor-
cbjectors will prsunnably foel the need to voice all potential objections at
every step of the proceeding out of a concern that silence will be deemed
acquiescence or waiver.

37

settlement might provide, (iii) if they will have an objection
to the settlement, (iv) whether the named parties will
accommodate their objection, (v) whether the course of the
litigation will demonstrate that the opposing party has a
strong case, such that the settlement ought to be accepted
notwithstanding its flaws, or (vi) if not, whether the district
judge will sustain the objection. And if district courts instead
deny such protective motions to intervene, then the courts of

appeals will be burdened with interlocutory appeals of denials
of those motions. See supra at 11.

Rule 23 was designed precisely to avoid numerous
individuals becoming deeply involved in the litigation as
named parties, as this Court settled in rejecting an
intervention requirement in the closely analogous
circumstances of American Pipe & Construction Co. v. Utah,
414 U.S. 538 (1974). American Pipe held that the pendency
of a class action tolls the statute of limitations for putative
class members in the event class certification is later denied.
In reaching that holding, the Court specifically rejected the
defendant’s principal argument the statute should be tolled
only if the putative class members intervened to become
individually named parties.

If an intervention requirement were adopted, the Court
explained, “[p]otential class members would be induced to
file protective motions to intervene or to join in the event that
a class was later found unsuitable.” 414 U.S. at 553. This
result “would frustrate the principal function of a class suit”
because litigation over motions to intervene would give rise
to “precisely the multiplicity of activity which Rule 23 was
designed to avoid in those cases in which a class action is
found ‘superior to other available methods for the fair and
efficient adjudication of the controversy.” Jd. at 551
(quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(3)). The Court has
subsequently reiterated the rationale of American Pipe that, if
intervention were required, “members of a class would have
an incentive to protect their interests by intervening in the

38

class action as named plaintiffs prior to the decision on class
certification” — a “needless duplication of motions” that
would “deprive Rule 23 class actions of the efficiency and
economy of litigation which is a principal purpose of the
procedure.” Chardon v. Fumero Soto, 462 U.S. 650, 659
(1983).

Moreover, if (as the Fourth Circuit held in this case) an
intervention requirement is anything other than pro forma, it
will not protect the interests of objectors because the district
court may simply deny the intervention motion. As this Court
explained in holding that a putative class member who files a
separate action rather than eventually intervening is entitled to
the tolling doctrine of American Pipe, “permission to
intervene might be refused for reasons wholly unrelated to the
merits of the claim”: “Putative class members frequently are
not entitled to intervene as of right under Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 24(a), and permissive intervention under
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 24(b) may be denied in the
discretion of the District Court.” Crown, Cork & Seal Co. v.
Parker, 462 U.S. 345, 350 & n.4 (1983). That is, of course,
precisely what happened in this case, in which the district
court denied petitioner’s motion to intervene (which he filed
immediately upon learning of the settlement) as untimely
because he knew of his interest in the litigation at an earlier
date.

An intervention requirement would amount to no more
than a trap for the unwary. When a class action is settled,
notice is sent out to class members (frequently numbering in
the thousands) who, in the main, are not represented by
counsel and are left to their own devices to ascertain their
rights. The notice informs the class members of the nature of
the litigation, the terms of the settlement, and where and when
they must file their objections. MANUAL, § 30.41, at 237.
Thus, even if we assume that a class member represented by
counsel should know of the need to intervene (quite a stretch
given the large number of reported decisions showing

39

otherwise), imposing that requirement on a pro se objector is
at odds with reality. A layperson will not be aware of the
niceties of federal procedure under Rule 24, and, thus, to
condition the right to appeal on such knowledge would be
illogical and unfair.

Even if objectors understand their rights, an intervention
requirement would impose substantial unwarranted burdens.
Potential intervenors must file a motion to intervene, along
with a “complaint in intervention,” setting out the claims that
they believe are not being adequately advanced by the named
plaintiffs, or a defensive pleading “setting forth the * * *
defense for which intervention is sought.” Fed. R. Civ. P.
24(c). Assuming the motion is granted, intervenors also often
must file mandatory disclosures and are subject to discovery.
Throughout the litigation, they will be forced to incur
substantial fees and costs.””

Alternatively, uncertainty regarding the availability of an
appeal may encourage class members to institute collateral
attacks on the judgment or (in (b)(3) class actions) opt out.
Indeed, one appellate decision has asserted that the
availability of collateral attack is a viable alternative to
appeal, and thus supports an intervention requirement.
Guthrie v. Evans, 815 F.2d 626, 628 (CA11 1987). But that
approach ought not be the rule, for it is unfair to class
members and is far more destructive to finality than is the
availability of direct appeal on the merits of any objections.

° Cf. Shutts, 472 U.S. at 813 (declining to require that class action
plaintiffs “opt in” because “[t}he plaintiff's claim may be so small, of the
plaintiff so unfamiliar with the law, that he would not file suit

individually, nor would he affirmatively request inclusion in the class if
such a request were required by the Constitution,” particularly given the
number of class members “‘who for one reason or another, ignorance,
timidity, unfamiliarity with business or legal matters, will simply not take
the affirmative step’” (quoting Kaplan, Continuing Work of the Civil
Committee: 1966 Amendments of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
(D), 81 HARV. L. REV. 356, 397-98 (1967)).

40

Furthermore, while such collateral attacks should be
disfavored because they create uncertainty regarding the
validity of the settlement, they do not provide the benefits of
appeals from orders approving settlements because collateral
attacks are essentially limited to the assertion that the class
representative was inadequate. See generally Kahan &
Silberman, The Inadequate Search for 'Adequacy' in Class
Actions: A Critique of Epstein v. MCA, Inc., 73 N.Y.U. L.
REV. 765, 780 & n.69 (1998) (hailing superiority of
comprehensive direct review over collateral attack and
criticizing intervention requirement as potential impediment
to appellate review). Regardless of the scope of the collateral
attack, the better rule would be to permit challenges to a class
action settlement to be heard in the original forum, with direct
appellate review, rather than to encourage each ciass member
to file a separate suit, in a distant forum, challenging the res
judicata effect of a previously entered class action judgment.
Rule 23 was amended in 1966 to eliminate “[a] recurrent
source of abuse under the former Rule”: “the potential that
members of the claimed class could in some situations await
developments in the trial or even final judgment on the merits
in order to determine whether participation would be
favorable to their interests.” American Pipe, 414 U.S. at 547.
An intervention requirement is also unwarranted because
that procedural hurdle would produce no benefit to class
action litigation. By definition, absent class members must
hold the same claims as the named plaintiffs. See General
Telephone Co. of the Southwest v. Falcon, 457 U.S. 147, .56
(1982); see also Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a)(2), (3). Because
objectors challenge the settlement of a previously filed
complaint, it would make no sense to require them to file their
own “complaint in intervention” or any other pleading
seeking to impose liability on the adverse party. Because the
adversity of interests between settlement supporters and
settlement objectors is clear and irreparable, the drafters of
Rule 23 could not have contemplated that objectors would be

41

put through the Rule 24 process as a matter of course in order
to preserve their right to appeal.

This case illustrates perfectly that the Fourth Circuit’s rule
requiring intervention will only make class action litigation
less efficient. In this appeal, petitioner seeks only to pursue
his objections to the settlement — for example, that it
unlawfully eliminated an accrued benefit to the retiree
subclass and that it unfairly failed to retain the COLA by
requiring current employees to make pension contributions,
just as retirees such as petitioner had done in the past. If
petitioner had been permitted to intervene as a full participant
in the case, he could have pursued not merely those issues but
also his requests for discovery, for an injunction, and to
disqualify the class counsel. And, of course, if the district
court had denied those requests, petitioner would have had the

right to appeal.

IV. IF INTERVENTION IS REQUIRED, IT SHOULD BE FREELY
GRANTED AND DEEMED SUFFICIENT FOR PURPOSES OF
APPEAL IF AT LEAST SOUGHT SOON AFTER THE
DENIAL OF OBJECTIONS.

If this Court does hold that a class member must intervene
in order to appeal, the judgment nonetheless must be
reversed. In United Airlines v. MacDonald, 432 U.S. 385
(1977), the district court denied class certification and
subsequently ruled for the named plaintiffs on the merits.
Because certification had been denied, the putative class
members were not “parties” bound by the judgment with the
right to appeal. They accordingly moved to intervene in order
to appeal the certification ruling. This Court held that
putative class members’ motion to intervene was “timely”
under Rule 24 as a matter of law since they “acted promptly
after the entry of final judgment.” 432 U.S. at 396.

The Court specifically rejected the defendant’s argument
that the class members were required to intervene earlier in

42

the case. Such a requirement, the Court explained, “would
serve no purpose”: “Intervention at that time would only
have made the respondent a superfluous spectator in the
litigation - for nearly three years, for the denial of class
certification was not appealable until after final judgment.”
432 U.S. at 395 n.15. Citing American Pipe, the Court
continued: “such a rule would induce putative class members
to file protective motions to intervene to guard against the
possibility that the named representatives might not appeal
from the adverse class determination. The result would be the
very ‘multiplicity of activity which Rule 23 was designed to
avoid.’” /d.

On the reasoning of United Airlines, petitioner was a
fortiori entitled to appeal because he formally sought to
intervene promptly upon receiving a copy of the proposed
settlement, well before the proposal was even distributed to
the class and well before his Rule 23(e) objections were
rejected by the court. The Fourth Circuit’s holding that
petitioner was required to intervene earlier in order to
preserve his right to appeal the settlement makes no sense —
and invites a deluge of protective intervention motions —
because the named parties had not even reached a settlement
at that point. And, even if the district court believed that full
participation as an intervenor would have been unduly
disruptive, under the logic of United Airlines, the district
court could have granted petitioner limited intervention rights.
The court did not do so, however, only because it already
believed that petitioner had the right to appeal as an objector.
See supra at 8. Indeed, respondents themselves led the
district court to reach that conclusion when they proposed a
class notice that explicitly contemplated appeals by objectors
and subsequently when they successfully opposed petitioner’s
intervention on the ground that he had the full right to contest
the settlement as an objector. See supra at 6-7.

43

There is no reasonable dispute that class action objectors
have a sufficient interest in the district court’s judgment
approving a settlement to take an appeal. The Fourth
Circuit’s holding that objectors nonetheless must intervene to
appeal is unsound. The district court may refuse to permit
intervention. If, on the other hand, the intervention
requirement is deemed pro forma, it serves no purpose at all
and promises to be merely a burdensome trap for the unwary.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the Fourth
Circuit should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,
BRIAN WOLFMAN THOMAS C. GOLDSTEIN
PUBLIC CITIZEN LITIGATION (Counsel of Record)
GROUP AMY HOWE
1600 20th St., N.W. GOLDSTEIN & Howe, P.C.

Washington, DC 20009 4607 Asbury PI., N.W.
Washington, DC 20016
(202) 237-7543

ERIK S. JAFFE

ERIK S. JAFFE, P.C.
5101 34th St., N.W.
Washington, DC 20008

January 24, 2002

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0503%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
