# Amicus Curiae Brief — Carey v. Saffold

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0495%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 536 U.S. 214

## Text

Supreme Court of the United States

ANTHONY NEWLAND,
Petitioner,
VS.

TONY EUGENE SAFFOLD,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
CRIMINAL JUSTICE LEGAL FOUNDATION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

KENT S. SCKHEIDEGGER
Counsel of Record

MARITZA B. MESKAN

Criminal Justice Legal Fdn.

2131 L Street

Sacramento, CA 95816

Phone: (916) 446-0345 _
Fax: (916) 446-1194
E-mail: cjlf@cjlf.org

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Criminal Justice Legal Foundation

4.P/

°
o
ay
Sas
s
~~ >
P : i
ay a ie
’ *
- P ~ y
% y ane oa
.
3 Pi a oH
+ * - ry id
£ Ry i Ly. 3%
te = eae P " : —_—
+ Se, » Z wir ¢ C ~ os 4 «e tal
$4 m if * ie A ‘
: Peet ps ; ~) ies ok
ee te “5 ies see RY Tah a
an x . hekcee : f ee %5 ie. ye AVE Shy
ae: Me i yest os i og ag 1 oa
“ Pie 3 ea of) APES rs relory : acces io
£ ree ta* aa era Aer
fs a el et pee % Nps oe is ue
i eh hs CAO Ee Mai! Se are wil at
2 os » t tt ay Dar, iS ae eye * om pi Yd ed
Mh: Be od 7 Coys rh et ard Rien de read sn SRS Ms ee
yg ae PR PE ee Re een “er CIA hae ie eho
ps 4 mek aes eae at et —: Fas ai wr. “e
‘ee me 98g hae te. Sao cath Ewes ak hue see
m5 er re ie © ghia. Vee < ‘ager sir he ad
OME Gt. S sO CORI cao gare oye Lie wee Tees
i ees Me igs es > ET Fe oa Te hea Oe 1 ok :
ON oS a SE Be ES AL Oa, hak Bee 9 ug dhe) AP ta. ae
Pua 435 or eee be ei ce We REL ONS re,
¥ ‘ Bates bs ete cle laws AS ne, a 4
TAS r “aS > ws es - % aS: eee #2 - ‘
> AE, Maat Shae te ae Be hes Sale
Ss ~ ‘ CY iy ~ Os wv te $ -
‘. $y ‘ ira) * pa ae RE, 3 = ah eth 4 = ‘
of sevens bate <9 Ae oe 4 hs ae) ‘Toy sy
vy oi > — - te ua 7 ia % 4 i. + ibe
oy r 3" wit 3s ie re - » ee p
a ee ee a tae ak ie ee SMES Sse
* Yih eis {UTR de) Bopha, ML hy
é aed 4 ht era ps ke Oe fg wee ; $
SHR ee A Pe sy Bet ode ie a _ : » - x 3
ts ; 4 a Peery + Paes Py. iy - * '
he GP : +o a oi : =
ore, big 4 See eg PENS : & Ss ee -“ é
: de hens oe ~ eet es ‘ | }
© seth Pe Be ae oe eae ry -
y 4 ee | Ra ZA 3 {
OT abies: nie es : j aL
$ me ¥ eg Paes ;
4 te Kas ; Sere és}.
& . U £15
RSE? , , - #
a : ¢ "
: ‘ah
a. a a 2 >
y isZ
:

:
A

rah
oe
4a .
~

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This case arises from a state where an unsuccessful petition-
er in state habeas may seek review by filing a successive
petition for an original writ in a higher court. This procedure
raises the following questions:

1. Is any proceeding “pending” within the meaning of the
federal habeas statute of limitations tolling provision, 28

U. S. C. § 2244(d)(2), during all or part of the interval between
denial by the lower court and filing in the higher court?

2. If the answer to question | is yes, is there any limit on
the time?

3. Does the answer to question 2 depend on an interpreta-
tion of the state court’s disposition of the petition, i.e., whether
the state court rejected it as untimely, lacking in merit, or both?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

nT ccd buceedeéee¢es ceecceeshases i

STD cUddeshceussckeveuéssnde execes iv

on i rei kte euwebecadehunaes l

Summary OF Taste GRE GOSS... ww cece cece cc cccsens 2

IID occcccuNacevdnessteceedecaady 4

SE civawes ok becebedeseceesaeevesedvedetucs 5
I

Open-ended tolling in the intervals between state review
Stages would defeat the central purpose of the statute,
giving dilatory petitioners the benefit of delays of their
SE Nido cudsdecnoneesutacacescuveseéacs 5

No proceeding is “pending” in the period between
successive petitions, even if the second petition has a
de facto appellate function .................6.005. 1]

Il
Whether a state court waives a state timeliness rule has no
bearing on when a petition is “pending” for the purpose
eee eee cease cetneeheche aba 14

IV

Any “tolling in the gaps” between stages of state collateral
review should de limited to a definite state time limit,
whether directly applicable or “borrowed.” .......... 19

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Beecham v. United States, 511 U. S. 368,

128 L. Ed. 2d 383, 114 S. Ct. 1669 (1994) .......... 19
Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U. S. 478,

64 L. Ed. 2d 440, 100 S. Ct. 1790 (1980) ........... 21
Brown v. Allen, 344 U. S. 443, 97 L. Ed. 469,

nn tndicenttidesaneesvamibeses 15
Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U. S. 722,

115 L. Ed. 2d 640, 111 S. Ct. 2546 (1991) ....... 17, 18
Commonwealth v. Labron, 547 Pa. 344,

Se Se IED one wkexedvconkesccedssddees 17
Duncan v. Walker, 533 U. S. 167, 150 L. Ed. 2d 251,

Be ee Gk EE cunt cc'ecnctuneeaenes 2, 9, 10, 13
Ex parte Bollman, 4 Cranch (8 U. S.) 75,

Bi, DPE ccnstbnchesneatndsdsnennans . 12
Ex parte Yerger, 8 Wall. (75 U. S.) 85,

Sn Os Se GED esa cncdcetseesdésetehes 11,12
Felder v. Casey, 487 U. S. 131, 101 L. Ed. 2d 123,

Re Re ree 21
Fernandez v. Sternes, 227 F. 3d 977 (CA7 2000) ....... 18
Harris v. Reed, 489 U. S. 255, 103 L. Ed. 2d 308,

a: GR. TED n.d sec ehh scecectekstenes 15, 17
Heflin v. United States, 358 U. S. 415,

3 L. Ed. 2d 407, 79 S. Ct. 451 (1959) ..........005. 19
Houston v. Lack, 487 U. S. 266,

101 L. Ed. 2d 245, 108 S. Ct. 2379 (1988) ........... 2

In re Clark, 5 Cal. 4th 750, 21 Cal. Rptr. 2d 509,

EE vad dwan bueuke deed esseecd 12, 23
In re Jugiro, 140 U. S. 291, 35 L. Ed. 510,

Ee PRE Gadcccdbecccdekantinscecen 19, 20
In re Robbins, 18 Cal. 4th 770, 77 Cal. Rptr. 2d 153,

I dhs cn cu cuuebaudsnenaveenst 17
In re Walker, 10 Cal. 3d 764, 112 Cal. Rptr. 177,

a eee 15
Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, Inc., 421 U.S. 454,

44 L. Ed. 2d 295, 95 S. Ct. 1716 (1975) ............ 21
Keeney v. Tamayo-Reyes, 504 U.S. 1, 118 L. Ed. 2d 318,

Se CE nek va dboddeadeneseachisees 15
Lonchar v. Thomas, 517 U. S. 314, 134 L. Ed. 2d 440,

Se CED cou cvivavecnedbessens 5,17, 18
Mackenzie v. A. Engelhard & Sons Co., 266 U.S. 131,

Bn Bi es Se is Se GD ccciccccccccccces 12
McFarland v. Scott, 512 U. S. 849, 129 L. Ed. 2d 666,

114 S. Ct. 2568 (1994) .......... Riakonesadiesves 12
Michigan v. Long, 463 U. S. 1032, 77 L. Ed. 2d 1201,

EE no ce rubesdnudeesdteksuene 16
Nino v. Galaza, 183 F. 3d 1003 (CA9 1999) ............ 4
People v. Gallardo, 77 Cal. App. 4th 971,

PEED ncnccvensceccesecceses 11
People v. Pendleton, 25 Cal. 3d 371,

158 Cal. Rptr. 343, 599 P. 2d 649 (1979) ........... 22

Rogers v. Peck, 199 U. S. 425, 50 L. Ed. 256,
ns ates 19, 20

Rose v. Lundy, 455 U. S. 509, 71 L. Ed. 2d 379,

Pee a Gh DEDOUEEED c ced ccccosvesvncsoscdacsebe 14
Saffold v. Newland, 250 F. 3d 1262

PPD ceccbeescueesadcsdences 2, 3, 4, 13,14, 17
Siripongs v. Calderon, 35 F. 3d 1308 (CA9 1994) ...... 17
Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U. S. 473, 146 L. Ed. 2d 542,

re Ge CED wv cncenssecocesccectvcne 4,12
Sochor v. Florida, 504 U. S. 527, 119 L. Ed. 2d 326,

SEs Gk OOOO hobo cudasseedecbocssccdas 15
Webster v. Fall, 266 U. S. 507, 69 L. Ed. 411,

GG, GEG 88 eked ccecassdccscessceccads 20
Welch v. Newland, 267 F. 3d 1013 (CA9 2001) ...... 2, 23
Williams v. Taylor, 529 U. S. 420,

146 L. Ed. 2d 389, 120 S. Ct. 1495 (2000) ........ 9,15

United States Statutes
et OG, BERD ce vecesvénvescvesceousésoes dues 14
eh Ge TED precede cecdnescesncconcinaness 19
Ps Oh er PEED 6 6 cd dns cevccéwctwecedsctans 9
Be BG GED 6 been cn dédvscccccssdeocds 2, 3, 5,6
BD ee G BRe ccdevincseevcesetenssecscsess 12, 19
ee De ©, GASED cvvccidcvadéivccusescevdnesvece +
SO. BD. ©, GARD 0 ccccteccdscetvcsesecierseves 15
ae OG. B ©. SAG 0-0 cop cecomnsdcbudivenccssnces 10
as U. S. C. GASSSEEED 2 coc cccsccccccsices es oS ese 15

NS NaS Eh SGM ce a 19

vii
Rules of Court
ED ce ies cc eosceeasébbaanka 13, 22
EE Oe Oe 22
NO ee 22
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure 4(a) ......... 19, 20
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure 22(b) ............ 4
Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United States
6 bo occ cedbdsceeeseductéée 21
Rules Governing Section 2255 Proceedings in the United
States District Courts, Rule 11 ................. 19, 21
ED ED 0 cundenuesddsesacdcusecées« 2
State Statutes
Se PGRNEOEED cwnescesdcccecccciccscsevces 12
SE occccscecesceccreesccesss 13, 22
Treatises
W. Church, Habeas Corpus (2d ed. 1893) .......... 11,12
6 B. Witkin & N. Epstein, Cal. Criminal Law
Pi ccobddeunesbans datdodsecetcasosecs 11
9 B. Witkin, Cal. Procedure, Appeal (4th ed. 1997) ..... 22
Miscellaneous
SP SUL ENED o ccccdbadsccccsccooseccccvees 7
Black’s Law Dictionary (7th ed. 1999) ............... 13

viii

Effective Death Penalty Act of 1995, H. Rep. No. 104-23,
See Ge, CUD EE, GPO bc ce cv ccddoccncccues 7,8

Federal Habeas Corpus Reform: Eliminating Prisoners’
Abuse of the Judicial Process, Hearing before the
Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, S. Hrg.
104-428, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. (1995) ......... 8,9, 10

Fisher, Writs in California State Courts, in Appeals and Writs
in Criminal Cases (CEB J. Bishop ed., Ist ed. 1982)... 22

Habeas Corpus Reform: Hearings Before the Senate
Committee on the Judiciary on S. 88, S. 1757, and S.1760,
101st Cong., Ist & 2d Sess., S. Hrg. 101-1253, Ser. No. J-
SP badcdebasechesbhbdans ciunéuctanss 7

Judicial Conference of the United States Ad Hoc Committee
on Federal Habeas Corpus in Capital Cases, Committee
Report and Proposal (1989), reprinted in 135 Cong. Rec.

I da pinch. dccadsesdicdbcode ts 6,7

S. 1760, 101st Cong., Ist Sess., proposed 28 U. S. C. § 2256
(1989), reprinted in 135 Cong. Rec. 24,696 (1989) ..... 7

S. 3, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. (1995) ......0..ceeee eee. 16

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

ANTHONY NEWLAND,
Petitioner,
vS.

TONY EUGENE SAFFOLD,
Respondent.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
CRIMINAL JUSTICE LEGAL FOUNDATION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE-

The Criminal Justice Legal Foundation (CJLF)' is a non-
profit California corporation organized to participate in
litigation relating to the criminal justice system as it affects the
public interest. CJLF seeks to bring the due process protection
of the accused into balance with the rights of the victim and of
society to rapid, efficient, and reliable determination of guilt
and swift execution of punishment.

CJLF has for many years sought to limit the abuse of
federal habeas corpus to delay the finality of valid judgments in
criminal cases. In 1996, Congress enacted a comprehensive
reform for this purpose, of which the new statute of limitations

1. This brief was written entirely by counsel for amicus, as listed on the
cover, and not by counsel for any party. No outside contributions were
made to the preparation or submission of this brief.

Both parties have given written consent to the filing of this brief.

was a key component. The decision in the present case, as
subsequently expanded in Welch v. Newland, 267 F. 3d 1013
(CA9 2001), mandate stayed Oct. 29, 2001, amounts to a partial
judicial repeal of this statute. It gives petitioners unlimited time
to delay between the stages of California collateral review.
This result is directly contrary to the purpose of the statute and
contrary to the interests CJLF was formed to protect.

SUMMARY OF EACTS AND CASE

On April 3, 1990, Tony Saffold was convicted in California
state court of murder, assault with a deadly weapon, and two
counts of robbery, with findings of firearm use associated with
the murder and robberies. J. A. 1. His conviction was af-
firmed, and the California Supreme Court denied review on
April 15, 1992. Jbid. His conviction became “final,” for
present purposes, 90 days later, on July 14, 1992. See 28
U. S. C. §2244(d)(1 (A) (“expiration of the time for seeking
[direct] review’); Supreme Court Rule 13.1 (90 days).

Five years later, on April 17, 1997, Saffold delivered to
prison authorities’ his state petition for writ of habeas corpus
for filing in the Superior Court of San Joaquin County. For
prisoners like Saffold, whose conviction became final before
the effective date of the Antiterrorism and Effective Death
Penalty Act of 1996 (AEDPA), the one-year limitations period
began running on April 24, 1996 and expired on April 24, 1997.
See Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167, 150 L. Ed. 2d 251, 257,
121 S. Ct. 2120, 2123 (2001) (noting Second Circuit holding to

2. Amicus assumes for the sake of argument that Saffold’s declaration of
his dates of delivery to prison authorities, J. A. 75-76, is true, and that
the mailbox rule set forth in Houston v. Lack, 487 U. S. 266, 276
(1988) applies to state habeas petitions for the purpose of the tolling
provision of the AEDPA. See Saffold v. Newland, 250 F. 3d 1262,
1268 (CA9 2001). Under this rule, Saffold’s April 17 delivery of his
petition to prison authorities, not the May | filing date, would
~ commence tolling of the limitations period.

same effect).’ His initial filing on April 17, 1997, stopped the
limitations period from running just seven days before expira-
tion. The Superior Court denied his petition on June 9, 1997.
J. A. 2. On June 14, 1997, Saffold delivered to prison authori-
ties his habeas petition to the California Court of Appeal, Third
Appellate District. The Court of Appeal denied that petition on
June 26, 1997. Ibid.

On November 13, 1997, after four and one-half months had
passed, he filed an original petition for writ of habeas corpus in
the California Supreme Court. Saffold contends he did not
receive notice of the state Court of Appeal’s denial until
November 10, but the Ninth Circuit does not appear to have
credited this claim, and its opinion proceeds on the premise that
he “waited four and one-half months.” Saffold v. Newland, 250
F. 3d 1262, 1265, and n. 3 (CA9 2001); see also App. to Pet. for
Cert. F-4 (magistrate judge notes false statement in affidavit
and warns Saffold of consequences of perjury). On May 27,
1998, the California Supreme Court denied review “on the
merits and for lack of diligence.” App. to Pet. for Cert. G-1.

On June 4, 1998, Saffold filed an application for writ of
habeas corpus in the United States District Court, Eastern
District of California. See J. A. 3. The Attorney General
moved to dismiss on the ground that Saffold’s application for
writ of habeas corpus was barred by the statute of limitations
set forth in 28 U. S. C. §2244(d). See Pet. for Cert. 4.

The magistrate judge held that the statute “began to run
again” after the Court of Appeal denied relief and had expired
by the time Saffold filed in the California Supreme Court. App.
to Pet. for Cert. F-5. The District Court adopted the findings
and recommendations filed by the magistrate judge, granted
petitioner’s motion to dismiss, and ordered the case dismissed.
App. to Pet. for Cert. E-2. The District Court issued a certifi-

3. The state did not seek review of the “grace period” holding in Walker,
presumably because there was no division in the circuits on the point.

—

cate of appealability on the statute of limitations issue only.
See App. to Pet. for Cert. D-1; 28 U.S. C. §2253(c); Fed. Rule
App. Proc. 22(b). The certificate does not mention any
arguably meritorious underlying claims. It predates Slack v.
McDaniel, 529 U. S. 473, 484-485 (2000).

The Ninth Circuit reversed, holding that Saffold’s petition
was within the limitations period. Saffold, 250 F. 3d, at 1266.
In applying its ruling in Nino v. Galaza, 183 F. 3d 1003 (CA9
1999), it found that the District Court had erred by failing to toll
the federal statute of limitation for the entire period from the
initial filing in the Superior Court to the Supreme Court’s
dismissal. Saffold, supra, at 1265. On May 23, 2001, the Ninth

Circuit filed an order denying the petition for rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing en banc but amended its opinion. Pet.
for Cert. 5; see App. to Pet. for Cert. C-1. This Court granted
certiorari on October 15, 2001.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The central purpose of the statute of limitations for habeas
cases was to move the cases along to finality by requiring the
petitioner to initiate each stage of review within a reasonable
time. The Ninth Circuit’s rule of open-ended tolling between
the stages of state collateral review would defeat that central

purpose.

In California, there is no appeal from denial of habeas relief
by the Superior Court, but the petitioner can file a successive
petition in the Court of Appeal or Supreme Court. In the
ordinary sense of the word, there is no proceeding “pending” in
the interval between a nonappealable judgment and a successive
petition. If any tolling rule to cover the gap is to be created, it
would be a stretch of the language to cover a perceived neces-
sity or implement an unexpressed intention of Congress. Any
such stretching should be strictly limited to the necessity.

Whether a state court chooses to accept an untimely petition
and decide it on the merits has no bearing on whether the
federal statute of limitations clock was ticking in the interval
preceding the filing of that petition. The statute of limitations
is a federal rule enacted by Congress, and it has nothing to do
with the doctrine of adequate and independent state grounds.
The Ninth Circuit has imported a confused and problematic
body of law into an area where it has no application.

In states where an unsuccessful collateral review petitioner
has a fixed time to initiate review at the next level of state
courts, the federal statute should remain tolled for that interval.
Where there is no fixed interval for the particular procedure in
state law, the federal courts should adopt the interval for the
most closely analogous procedure that does have a fixed
interval. In California, those intervals are 60 days to appeal a
Superior Court judgment to the Court of Appeal and 10 days
from finality to seek Supreme Court review of a Court of
Appeal decision. Habeas petitioners seeking review via
successive petitions who wait longer than other appellants
should not have their federal limitation period tolled during the
excess time.

ARGUMENT

I. Open-ended tolling in the intervals between
state review stages would defeat the central purpose of
the statute, giving dilatory petitioners the benefit of
delays of their own making.

Many times in the years preceding 1996, Congress consid-
ered whether to enact a statute of limitations for habeas cases.
See Lonchar v. Thomas, 517 U. S. 314, 333-334 (1996) (80
bills in 1986-1995). In the Antiterrorism and Effective Death
Penalty Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”), Congress finally adopted 28
U.S. C. §2244(d):

“(d)(1) A 1-year period of limitation shall apply to an
application for a writ of habeas corpus by a person in
custody pursuant to the judgment of a State court. The
limitation period shall run from the latest of—

“(A) the date on which the judgment became final
by the conclusion of direct review or the expiration of
the time for seeking such review;

“(B) the date on which the impediment to filing an
application created by State action in violation of the
Constitution or laws of the United States is removed, if
the applicant was prevented from filing by such State
action;

“(C) the date on which the constitutional right
asserted was initially recognized by the Supreme Court,
if the right has been newly recognized by the Supreme
Court and made retroactively applicable to cases on
collateral review; or

“(D) the date on which the factual predicate of the
claim or claims presented could have been discovered
through the exercise of due diligence.

“(2) The time during which a properly filed application
for State post-conviction or other collateral review with
respect to the pertinent judgment or claim is pending shall
not be counted toward any period of limitation under this
subsection.”

Reduction of unnecessary delay has been a pivotal part of
habeas corpus reform throughout its lengthy legislative history.
The Powell Committee’s report to the Judicial Conference in
1989 proposed habeas reform in capital cases. The committee
noted that reform was needed to cure the “piecemeal and
repetitious litigation, and years of delay between sentencing and
_ ajudicial resolution as to whether the sentence was permissible
under the law.” Judicial Conference of the United States Ad
Hoc Committee on Federal Habeas Corpus in Capital Cases,
Committee Report and Proposal | (1989), reprinted in 135

Cong. Rec. 24,694 (1989). The committee identified serious
problems with the system of collateral review that it broadly
categorized as “unnecessary delay and repetition.” /d., at2. A
prisoner had “no incentive to move the collateral review
process forward until an execution date is set.” /d., at3. The
committee concluded that any serious reform proposal “must
address the problems of delay and repetitive litigation.” /d., at
4.

In 1989-1990 Congress considered the Committee’s
proposal, including a limitation period of six months for capital
cases in qualifying states, with the filing period commencing
upon the appointment of counsel or a refusal of the offer of
counsel. This proposal tolled the six-month period during the
pendency of all state court proceedings. See S. 1760, 101st
Cong., Ist Sess., proposed 28 U.S. C. § 2256 (1989), reprinted
in 135 Cong. Rec. 24,696 (1989). In discussing the proposal’s
intent, insofar as capital cases are concerned, Justice Powell
stated, “The point of the1 80 day filing requirement is to prompt
capital defense attorneys to formulate a habeas petition.
Otherwise, in a capital case, there is literally no incentive to file
a habeas corpus petition until it becomes absolutely necessary.
If a capital defense counsel works diligently from the day of
appointment, he or she will get the state habeas petition filed
with time to spare.” Habeas Corpus Reform: Hearings Before
the Senate Committee on the Judiciary on S. 88, S. 1757, and
S.1760, 101st Cong., Ist & 2d Sess., S. Hrg. 101-1253, Ser. No.
J-101-49, 114 (1991).

Habeas reform did not pass in the 101st Congress or in the
two succeeding Congresses. In the 104th Congress, on Febru-
ary 8, 1995, the House passed H. R. 729, the Effective Death
Penalty Act of 1995. See 141 Cong. Rec. 4120-4121 (1995).
This act carried forward the Powell Committee limitation for
capital cases. See Effective Death Penalty Act of 1995, H. Rep.
No. 104-23, 104th Cong., Ist Sess., 5, 17 (1995). It also added
a statute of limitation for all habeas cases, not just capital cases
in qualifying states. This limitation began upon finality of

direct review, and tolled the limitation “during the pendency of
a properly filed application for State review... .” /d., at 2.
This was substantially the limitation later incorporated into the
AEDPA.

The plain purpose of the limitations statute was stated in the
committee report for the House version.

“(T]he bill is designed to reduce the abuse of habeas corpus
that results from delayed and repetitive filings.... § To
help accomplish [this] purpose, the bill imposes periods of
limitation on federal habeas corpus petitions filed under 28
U. S. C. section2254 .... This reform will curb the
lengthy delays in filing that now often occur in federal
habeas corpus litigation, while preserving the availability of
review when a prisoner diligently pursues state remedies
and applies for federal habeas review in a timely manner.”
H. Rep. No. 104-23, supra, at 9 (emphasis added).

Imposition of a statute of limitations on the filing of state
prisoner petitions in federal court was considered an “essential
ingredient” to any habeas reform legislation in the Congressio-
nal discussion leading up to AEDPA’s enactment. See Federal
Habeas Corpus Reform: Eliminating Prisoners’ Abuse of the
Judicial Process, Hearing before the Committee on the Judi-
ciary, United States Senate, S. Hrg. 104-428, 104th Cong., Ist
Sess., 28 (1995) (statement of California Attorney General Dan
Lungren). “One year for general habeas and 180 days for
capital habeas, with tolling periods; that is, periods where you
don’t count the time while they are going through State review
or State collateral review.” /d., at 74. Similarly, Gale Norton,
Attorney General of Colorado said, “The first major reform is
the creation of a statute of limitations for all habeas petitions.
Statutes of limitations and time deadlines are common through-
out the law, and applying them to habeas petitions is long
overdue.” /d., at 59. James S. Gilmore, Attorney General of
Virginia, noted “the single, most helpful thing the Congress
could do to assist . . . in reducing the delay in capital cases is to

impose the filing deadlines . . . that | know you are consider-
ing.” /d., at 202.

In formulating the final version of the act, Congress was
also cognizant of the suffering of victims’ families and friends
and sought to cure the painfully traumatic practice of setting an
interminable series of execution dates in order to compel capital
prisoners to move to the next level of review. Texas Attorney
General Dan Morales summarized these concerns, “Establish-
ing statutes of limitations for the filing of Federal habeas
applications . . . serves both to streamline litigation and to
alleviate the pain of victims’ families and friends, who under
the current system endure an endless series of execution dates
set only to compel the inmate to move to the next stage of
litigation.” Id., at 34 (emphasis added).

While the problem was most acute in capital cases, Con-
gress did not limit the statute to such cases. It deliberately
included the one-year limitation period in Chapter | 53, applica-
ble to all habeas cases. The statute serves the purpose of
pushing the petitioner along through each stage of review until
the federal habeas petition is filed. At that point, the federal
courts can conduct their review. After conclusion of the first
federal petition, the strict limitations on successive petitions,
see 28 U. S. C. §2244(b)(2), will preclude further federal
review in all but the rarest cases. Pushing the petitioner to file
each stage thus moves the case along to something approaching
true finality.

AEDPA’s undisputed purpose is to promote “the principles
of comity, finality and federalism.” Williams v. Taylor, 529
U. S. 420, 436 (2000). The one-year limitation period of
§ 2244(d)(1) “reduces the potential for delay on the road to
finality by restricting the time that a prospective federal habeas
petitioner has in which to seek federal review.” Duncan v.
Walker, 533 U.S. 167, 150 L. Ed. 2d 251, 262-263, 121 S. Ct.
2120, 2128 (2001). Section 2244(d)(2) specifically “promotes
the exhaustion of state remedies while respecting the interest in
the finality of state court judgments.” /d., 150 L. Ed. 2d, at

10

262, 121 S. Ct., at 2127. It also “balances the interests served
by the exhaustion requirement and the limitation period.” /d.,
150 L. Ed. 2d, at 263, 121 S. Ct., at 2128. Finally, the section
serves the important function of “protecting a state prisoner’s
ability later to apply for federal habeas relief while state
remedies are being pursued.” /bid. The Ninth Circuit’s view
destroys this careful balance. Instead, its open-ended tolling
eliminates any semblance of finality and, consequently, defeats
the central purpose of the statute.

Filing of habeas applications in state courts has long been
a prerequisite to federal habeas. See 28 U. S. C. §2254(b)
(exhaustion rule). It would be unfair to penalize petitioners for
their time spent exhausting state court remedies. For this
reason, Congress included the tolling provision to insure that
the Federal courts would remain accessible to the diligent
petitioner. Curtailment of delay in pursuit of post-conviction
remedies was a driving force behind the AEDPA legislation. It
is unlikely that Congress would enact open-ended tolling that
renders the one-year limitation period superfluous and ineffec-
tual.

The limitations period serves important policy interests in
the curbing of unnecessary delay by timely presentation of
claims. However, Congressional intent does not include
punishing petitioners for delays beyond their control. During
the 1995 Senate Committee hearings, in response to Senator
Biden’s question regarding possible time limits on when
petitions must be filed, Attorney General Lungren answered:

“The general limitation period of | year and the Powell
Committee provision both contain tolling provisions which
will extend the filing deadlines. This is not meant to be a
criticism in that we all agree that the petitioner should not
be punished for delay beyond his or her control.” Federal
Habeas Corpus Reform, S. Hrg. 104-428, supra, at 146
(emphasis added).

\

11

Any argument for a lenient interpretation of “pending”
based on policy must necessarily be limited to what is neces-
sary to protect the diligent petitioner from circumstances
beyond his control. An interpretation that rewards the dilatory
petitioner for delays of his own making would be contrary to
the purpose of the statute.

Il. No proceeding is “pending” in the period between
successive petitions, even if the second petition has a
de facto appellate function.

The present case does not involve an appeal from the denial
of state habeas. Instead, it involves three state habeas petitions,
filed in the trial, intermediate appellate, and state supreme
courts, respectively. Analysis of the case must begin with the
procedure actually invoked in the case.

The traditional rule in both English and in American courts
was that an order denying habeas relief is not appealable, absent
a statute authorizing such an appeal. The petitioner could
instead file another application with another court. See
W. Church, Habeas Corpus § 386, pp. 570-571 (2d ed. 1893);
id., § 389, at 580. Throughout most of the nineteenth century,
this Court’s review of the decision of lower courts in habeas
matters was accomplished through successive original petitions
in this Court. See Ex parte Yerger, 8 Wall. (75 U. S.) 85, 97-
100 (1869) (discussing cases to that point).

By the late nineteenth century, statutes allowing appeals
were the clear trend. See Church, supra, § 389g, at 601-602.
Yet the California Legislature has not authorized such appeals,
and the traditional rule remains in force. The defendant cannot
appeal a denial of habeas relief by the superior court and must
file a new petition with a higher court. See People v. Gallardo,
77 Cal. App. 4th 971, 985-986, 92 Cal. Rptr. 2d 161, 171
(2000); 6 B. Witkin & N. Epstein, Cal. Criminal Law, Criminal
Writs § 80, p. 611 (3d ed. 2000). This new petition is a
successive habeas petition. It is not, of course, subject to the

12

restrictions on successive petitions at the same level, presenting
-repetitive or piecemeal claims. /n re Clark, 5 Cal. 4th 750, 767,
n. 7, 855 P. 2d 729, 740, n. 7 (1993).

With appeals, there is some ambiguity as to whether the
filing of the appeal is the commencement of a new case.
Compare Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U. S. 473, 482 (2000), with
Mackenzie v. A. Engelhard & Sons Co., 266 U.S. 131, 142-143
(1924). With successive petitions, there is none. This can be
seen clearly from the fact that the successive petition in the
higher court is not necessarily limited to review of the issues
considered in the lower court. The statute expressly contem-
plates addition of new issues. See Cal. Penal Code § 1475.

To be sure, this Court did hold in Yerger that review
through a successive petition was an exercise of appellate
jurisdiction. See 8 Wall., at 102-103. That was a stretch made
necessary by the peculiarities of this Court’s constitutional
jurisdiction, i.e., the Marbury problem. See Ex parte Bollman,
4 Cranch (8 U.S.) 75, 100-101 (1807) (distinguishing Marbury
v. Madison, | Cranch (5 U. S.) 137, 175 (1803)); but see id., at
104-105 (Johnson, J., dissenting). In other jurisdictions where
this was not an obstacle, the de facto review via a successive
petition was understood to be original and not appellate
jurisdiction. See Church, supra, § 389g, at 601.

In Yerger, the term “appellate” in Article III of the Constitu-
tion was stretched to accommodate the imperative necessity of
full habeas review, given the importance of freedom from
illegal detention in our system of constitutional values and the
role of habeas corpus in enforcing that freedom. See 8 Wall.,
at 95-96. Similarly, in McFarland v. Scott, 512 U.S. 849, 858
(1994), the concept of when a habeas corpus proceeding is
“pending” within the meaning of 28 U. S. C. §2251 was
stretched nearly to the breaking point because of the perceived
necessity to avoid execution of a capital defendant before
counsel could prepare a habeas petition. Absent such compel-
ling considerations, this Court has-refused to stretch statutory
language, has turned aside diffuse claims of “unfairness,” and

13

enforced the habeas statutes as written, including the very
statute at issue here. See Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167, 150
L. Ed. 2d 251, 263-264, 121 8. Ct. 2120, 2129 (2001).

Nothing in the statutory language requires or even suggests
that a successive petition is “pending” in the interval between
its filing and the dismissal of the prior petition by a lower court.
“Pending” means “[r]emaining undecided; awaiting decision.”
Black’s Law Dictionary 1154 (7th ed. 1999). A case cannot be
considered remaining undecided when it has been decided and
there is no appeal, merely because the decision is not res
judicata and the issue may be redecided in another proceeding.
If such a gap-covering mechanism is to be created, it can only
be as a stretch of statutory language to cover a perceived
necessity or to implement an unexpressed intention of Con-
gress. If such a stretch is to be made, amicus submits that the
Court should recognize it as such and stretch n no further than the
exigency requires.

The Ninth Circuit believed that its approach was necessary
to “permit state courts to address the merits of the petitioner’s
claim.” Saffold v. Newland, 250 F. 3d 1262, 1267 (2001).
Tolling the limitation period between successive petitions is not
necessary for this purpose. The petitioner himself has the
ability to get his case before the state courts in a timely manner.
He need only file his Superior Court petition within ten months
of finality on direct review. Even if there is no tolling in the
gaps at all, he would still have as much time as appellants have
to file in the state Court of Appeal. See Cal. Rules of Court
2(a) (60 days from notice). If denied there, he has the same
right as any other appellant to file a petition for review with the
California Supreme Court, rather than a new original petition as
Saffold chose to file. See Cal. Penal Code §1506. If he runs
out of time, it is the result of his own delay.

Another reason asserted for unlimited tolling in the gaps is
that failure to toll would force the petitioner to file a premature
federal petition before exhaustion to preserve his eventual
federal review. See Saffold, 250 F . 3d, at 1267. For the reasons

14

just noted, the diligent petitioner is not forced to do so. To
implement the purpose of the statute to push petitioners along
to each stage, see supra, at 9, the dilatory petitioner should not
be permitted to do so. Instead, Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509,
522 (1982) should be applied to dismiss any such attempt to do

— an end run around the statute.

In part IV, infra, we will propose a rule that is congruent
with the purpose of the statute and more than sufficient to meet
the legitimate needs of diligent petitioners. First, though, it is
necessary to dispose of a red herring in the Ninth Circuit’s
opinion in the present case.

Ill. Whether a state court waives a state timeliness
rule has no bearing on when a petition is “pending”

for the purpose of § 2244(d).

In the present case, habeas petitioner Saffold waited four
and one-half months between denial of his second petition by
the state Court of Appeal and filing of his third petition in the
California Supreme Court. See Saffold v. Newland, 250 F. 3d
1262, 1266 (CA9 2001). The Ninth Circuit interpreted the
California Supreme Court’s disposition of this petition as
addressing the merits, and it further concluded that this disposi-
tion meant that the tolling period included the entire gap. See
id., at 1267-1268. In so concluding, the court conflated the
statute of limitations with the doctrine of adequate and inde-
pendent state grounds. “We fail to see why an untimeliness
ruling entangled with the federal constitutional merits, which is
insufficient to cause a default of a federal claim, should be
sufficient to defeat tolling of the AEDPA limitation.” /d., at
1267. This is a non sequitur. The two rules have entirely
distinct bases, and equating the two is fundamentally erroneous.

On direct review, a state-court holding on an adequate and
independent state ground negates the basis of this Court’s
jurisdiction. That is, if the questions this Court has jurisdiction
to review under 28 U. S. C. § 1257(a) have no effect on the

15

outcome, then there is no federal question to support jurisdic-
tion. See Sochor v. Florida, 504 U. 8. 527, 535, n. * (1992)
(procedural default is jurisdictional on direct review). On
habeas, procedural default is not jurisdictional, but it is still
based on the adequacy of the state ground to support the
judgment. See Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255, 260-262 (1989).
A prisoner in custody under the authority of a state court
judgment is not in custody in violation of the Constitution, see
28 U. S. C. §2254(a), if he has forfeited his attack on the
judgment. See Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443, 485-487 (1953).

The new statute of limitations has nothing whatever to do
with the basis of the state court’s denial of relief. Timely filing
of the federal petition is an independent prerequisite for federal
habeas relief enacted by Congress as a matter of federal law.
The fact that the state may have a more generous rule and may
consider on the merits petitions that Congress has barred from
federal court cannot and does not lower the federal bar.

If Congress had only wanted to bar in federal court those
claims that were untimely under state law, it would have done
so by strengthening the procedural default rule. However, the
AEDPA actually made few changes to the law of procedural
default. AEDPA codified, at least in part, the rule of Keeney v.
Tamayo-Reyes, 504 U. S. 1 (1992), see 28 U. S. C.
§ 2254(e)(2); Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 420, 434 (2000), but
otherwise left the law regarding state procedural defaults
largely intact. Instead, Congress enacted the new statute of
limitations with the full knowledge that it will bar from federal
court claims that may-be considered on the merits in state court.

In a state which does not have a statute of limitations on
habeas petitions, it is entirely possible for a petition filed more
than 12 months after finality on direct review to be considered
on the merits. See, e.g., Jn re Walker, 10 Cal. 3d 764, 774, 518
P. 2d 1129, 1134 (1974) (over 20 years; facts proffered for
delay disputed; claim unsupportable on the merits); see also
Brief for Criminal Justice Legal Foundation as Amicus Curiae
in Lee v. Kemna, No. 00-6933, pp. 20-22 (discussing propriety

16

of denying on the merits claims which are arguably defaulted
but clearly meritless). Congress could have authorized federal
review of such claims by starting the clock at the time of
exhaustion of state remedies, and indeed such a limitation was
initially proposed by the same Senators who later sponsored
AEDPA. See S. 3, 104th Cong., Ist Sess., § 508(a) (1995)
(“The limitation period shall run from . . . the date on which
State remedies are exhausted . . .”). Congress decided to scrap
this language and instead start the clock on the date of finality
and stop it during the actual pendency of state collateral review.
The important difference in the two approaches is that the
petitioner's own delays in initiating state proceedings count
against his federal deadline regardless of whether the state and
its courts choose to excuse them for the purpose of state
collateral review. The prisoner who waits 13 months to initiate
state habeas will clearly be barred from federal habeas, even
though the state courts may consider his petition timely and
address the merits.

The reasons why Congress chose to deal with delay through
a statute of limitations rather than a beefed-up default rule are
not difficult to see. Procedural default is a murky area of the
law. It requires federal-court evaluation of whether state laws
are “adequate” and “independent” under standards that remain
unclear after many decades of litigation. See CJLF Lee Brief,
at 5-10; Brief for Criminal Justice Legal Foundation as Amicus
Curiae in Support of the Petition for Writ of Certiorari in
Stewart v. Smith, No. 01-339, pp. 3-5.

Further, as the present case illustrates, a rule that depends
on interpretation of the state court disposition creates perennial
difficulties. In the procedural default area, this Court’s prece-
dents lay down some rules and presumptions, but the results
have been less than fully satisfactory. Michigan v. Long, 462
U. S. 1032, 1040-1041 (1983) created a presumption of
disposition on federal grounds in certain direct review cases.
That presumption causes little harm on direct review, since, if
the presumption turns out to be incorrect, the state court can

17

always reassert the state ground on remand. See, e.g., Com-
monwealth v. Labron, 547 Pa. 344, 345, 690 A. 2d 228, 228-
229 (1997). On habeas, though, there is no remand, and valid
judgments that actually rest on independent state grounds are
routinely overturned based on a presumption that is doubtful to
begin with and easily misapplied. Ten years after Coleman v.
Thompson, 501 U. S. 722, 740 (1991) and twelve years after
Harris v. Reed, 489 U. S. 255, 264, n. 10 (1989), we still
regularly see decisions such as the Ninth Circuit’s opinion in
the present case, brushing aside the state supreme court’s clear
statement of both the procedural default and the merits as
alternative grounds. See Saffold, 250 F. 3d, at 1267. The real
and fabricated interpretive difficulties with independent state
grounds should not be exported to the statute of limitations,
where the basis of the rule does not require interpretation of the
state decision.

Worst of all, procedural default law as applied by the Ninth
Circuit creates a perverse incentive for states to adopt severe
default rules with narrow or no exceptions. In /n re Robbins,
18 Cal. 4th 770, 811-812, and n. 32, 959 P. 2d 311, 338-339,
and n. 32 (1998), the California Supreme Court clarified and
arguably narrowed its “error of constitutional magnitude”
exception in evident response to the Ninth Circuit’s dubious
decision in Siripongs v. Calderon,-35 F. 3d 1308 (1994).
Decisions such as the present case may be expected to result in
further curtailment of delayed petitions, either through case law,
rule of court, legislative statute, or initiative, if that is the only_
way to have the federal limitation meaningfully implemented.
Cutting off state and federal remedies in one swoop would not
be to the benefit of habeas petitioners generally, but it is the
natural consequence of a line of decisions that punishes states
for generosity.

The principal advantage of a statute of limitations over a
“delayed petition” rule is clarity. Shortly before enactment of
the AEDPA, Lonchar v. Thomas, 517 U. S. 314, 326-327
(1996) held that even a multi-year delay did not authorize

i8

dismissal without a showing of prejudice, a nebulous require-
ment at best, and noted the debate over the appropriateness of
such a rule. /d., at 328. That debate concluded with the
enactment of § 2244(d).

Clarity in deadlines serves the interest of both the prisoner
and the state. The prisoner knows when he must get his papers
in. The state knows when its judgment is truly final. The Ninth
Circuit’s approach robs the state of its finality and simulta-
neously sets a trap for the prisoner. By false analogy to
independent state grounds, an untimely successive petition tolls
the statute during the gap period if and only if the state court
accepts the untimely filing or if its rejection for untimeliness
somehow lacks adequacy or independence. This is not known
or knowable to the petitioner at the time when the clock may or
may not be running.

The Seventh Circuit called this the “Cheshire cat-like
quality” of the Saffold approach. Fernandez v. Sternes, 227
F. 3d 977, 980 (2000). Whatever it is called, it is inimical to
the clarity and certainty that a statute of limitations should
provide. The complexity and confusion of the independent
state grounds doctrine should not be imported into the statute of
limitations. State courts can and should accept or reject
untimely filings in the exercise of whatever discretion state law
gives to them. Their orders should be summary dispositions or
- full opinions according to the needs of the case and the state
judicial system, and not with a glance over the shoulder to
federal habeas. Cf. Coleman, 501 U. S., at 738-739 (declining
to “tell state courts how they must write their opinions”). The

state court’s decision to accept or reject an untimely petition _

should have no bearing on whether the federal limitation clock
was ticking in the interim.

19

IV. Any “tolling in the gaps” between stages of state
collateral review should be limited to a definite state time
limit, whether directly applicable or “borrowed.”

For the reasons discussed in part II, supra, any tolling in the
intervals between successive petitions in California can only be
based on inference of the policy Congress intended and not on
the wording of the statute or the common understanding of a
proceeding being “pending.” If such tolling is to be allowed, it
must be limited in duration so as to effectuate and not defeat the
purpose of the statute.

Any inference of Congressional “intent” on this point must
be made with the understanding that the members of Congress
who voted for this Act probably did not think about the precise
problem at all. Cf. Beecham v. United States, 511 U.S. 368,
374 (1994) (noting that determining what legislators would
have thought about a particular case is a “hopeless” task).
Amicus has found no indication in the legislative history that

‘the issue even came up. When Congress specified tolling while

a state proceeding was “pending,” its members probably
envisioned state systems similar to the system for federal
prisoners under 28 U.S. C. § 2255. Under that system, there is
a fixed and relatively short time for appeals in the normal
course of procedure. See Fed. Rule App. Proc. 4(a)(1)(B) (60
days when U. S. is a party); Rule 11 of the Rules Governing
Section 2255 Proceedings in the United States District Courts
(“§ 2255 Rules”) (adopting FRAP 4(a)). If the petitioner is
unsuccessful on appeal, the time to seek certiorari review in this
Court is also definite. See 28 U. S. C. §2101(c); Heflin v.
United States, 358 U. S. 415, 418, n. 7 (1959).

We can also draw some inferences about the meaning of
“pending” from cases on 28 U.S. C. § 2251 and its predecessor.
The predecessor statute provided an automatic stay of state
proceedings “against” the petitioner while the federal “proceed-
ings or appeal” were “[pjending.” See /n re Jugiro, 140 U. S.
291, 295 (1891) (quoting Rev. Stat. § 766). In Rogers v. Peck,
199 U. S. 425, 427 (1905), the governor granted a reprieve

20

immediately after the federal District Court denied relief, to
give the petitioner time to appeal. The petitioner then ungrate-
fully attacked this action as violating the automatic stay. This
Court rejected the argument on the ground that the action was
not “against” the petitioner, not on the ground that no proceed-
ing was pending. See id., at 437. Rogers could be read to
imply that a proceeding was pending in the interval. But see
Webster v. Fall, 266 U. S. 507, 511 (1925) (no precedent
established for questions which are not discussed but “merely
lurk in the record”).

Jugiro addressed the meaning of “pending” regarding a
much more attenuated possibility of further proceedings. In
that case, the state court set a new execution date a week after
this Court’s decision on the first habeas petition, without
waiting for the mandate to issue. See 140 U. S., at 292. Jugiro
claimed this action was void because the first habeas proceed-
ing was still pending. See id., at 294-295. The Court rejected
the argument, holding that “the appeal . . . was no longer
pending,” id., at 295, notwithstanding the possibility that the
Court might yet “suspend or set aside its own judgment.” /d.,
at 296.

From these cases we can infer a principle that a case may be
considered pending when further review remains available in
the normal course of procedure, i.e., via a timely petition or
notice of appeal, but that the mere possibility of further review,
such as rehearing in the rendering court or allowance of an
untimely petition, does not keep “pending” an otherwise final
case. As applied to a system like that governed by Federal
Rules of Appellate Procedure 4(a), a case would be pending
during the normal time of subdivision (1) or during the actual
consideration of a motion under subdivisions (5) or (6), but the
mere possibility that a motion could be filed under subdivisions
(5) or (6) would not keep an action pending until the motion is
actually filed.

The difficult question arises when “timely” and “untimely”
are not precisely defined intervals but instead are matters of

ee

ee ee

21

judgment. Amicus suggests that the guiding principles for this
situation may be drawn from the cases involving “borrowed”
statutes of limitations.

Congress often creates causes of action without specifying
a statute of limitations. See Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446
U. S. 478, 483 (1980). It is well established that in these
circumstances courts will “assume that Congress did not intend
to create a right enforceable in perpetuity.” Felder v. Casey,
487 U.S. 131, 140 (1988). The usual solution is to borrow the
most closely analogous state statute, see Johnson v. Railway
Express Agency, Inc., 421 U.S. 454, 464 (1975), provided that
a state limitation will not be adopted if it is “inconsistent with
the federal policy underlying the cause of action under
consideration.” /d., at 465.

States remain free, for the purpose of their own consider-
ation of federal claims, to adopt open-ended rules of timeliness
along the lines of Rule 9(a) of the Rules Governing Section
2254 Cases in the United States District Courts. Congress has
made no attempt to preempt these rules. Cf. Felder, supra, at
138. However, these rules do not control when the clock is
running for the purpose of the statute governing the subsequent
filing in federal court. As discussed, supra, at 15, it is beyond
dispute that a claim considered timely in state court may be
barred from federal review for delay preceding the initial filing.
By the same token, it would be inconsistent with the policy of
the federal statute to permit a state’s open-ended timeliness rule
for the intervals between state courts to permit indefinite delay.

Amicus suggests that where state law provides no definite
time period to initiate review in a higher court, the federal
statute be tolled for the period prescribed by state law for the
most closely analogous procedure which does have a definite
limit. Where a successive petition is used as a de facto appeal
from the trial court to the intermediate appellate court, the
habeas petitioner should have as much time as regular appel-
lants in civil cases, and no more. Cf. § 2255 Rule 11 (adopting
civil case limit). The general rule in California is 60 days. See

22

Cal. Rules of Court 2(a). As applied to the present case, this
would easily cover the gap between the Superior Court’s denial
of relief on June 9, 1997, and Saffold’s application to the Court
of Appeal only five days later.

For the next level, the proper tolling period is even more
obvious. Saffold had the same right as any other unsuccessful
Court of Appeal litigant to ask the California Supreme Court
for discretionary review. See Cal. Penal Code § 1506.‘ Fora
summary denial of an original habeas petition not consolidated
with the appeal, the petitioner has ten days. See Cal. Rules of
Court 28(b) (10 days from finality in Court of Appeal), 24(a)
(summary writ denials final immediately, with exception for
habeas consolidated with appeal); People v. Pendleton, 25
Cal. 3d 371, 382-383, n. 2, 599 P. 2d 649, 656, n. 2 (1979)
(finality rules, predates exception noted above); Fisher, Writs
in California State Courts § 2.146, p. 321, in Appeals and Writs
in Criminal Cases (CEB J. Bishop ed., I st ed. 1982); id., at 172
(1998 Supp.). This is a tight deadline, to be sure, but not an
unreasonable one.

Instead of petitioning for review, Saffold waited four and
one-half months and filed an original writ petition, which the
California Supreme Court denied for lack of diligence as well
as lack of merit. App. to Pet. for Cert. G-1. Not only did the
Ninth Circuit hold that the entire period was tolled in this case,
but in a subsequent case that court held that its decision in the
present case required tolling the entire time for a petitioner who
waited over four years to file a successive original petition

4. This section has not been amended since 1975. Asa result, it still uses
the term “hearing in the Supreme Court.” The procedure was
redesignated “review” in 1984. The differences between “hearing” and
“review” are not pertinent to this case. See 9 B. Witkin, Cal.
Procedure, Appeal § 860, pp. 895-896 (4th ed. 1997) (summarizing the
change). It is discretionary review, and it is granted primarily to
resolve conflicts in the lower courts or -ttle particularly important
questions. It is functionally equivalent to certiorari in this Court. See
id., §§ 861, 863, at 896, 898.

23

raising different grounds. Welch v. Newland, 267 F. 3d 1013
(CA9 2001).° A rule more contrary to the purpose of this
statute is difficult to imagine.

There is no reason to toll the statute any longer for one
mode of review than for the other. Although filing an original
petition remains a proper procedure, see /n re Clark, 5 Cal. 4th
750, 767, n. 7, 855 P. 2d 729, 740, n. 7 (1993), the policies
underlying the federal statute do not depend on the choice. The
definition of “pending” may be stretched to give the prisoner
who files a successive writ application as much time as the one
who files a petition for review; there is no justification in
language or policy for giving him more time.

When a California prisoner has been denied habeas relief by
the Court of Appeal, the federal limitation period should begin
running again when the time to petition for review in the
California Supreme Court expires. The time should continue to
run until an original writ petition has actually been filed with
that court. In the present case, Saffold’s 12 months had long
expired by the time he filed his petition. Regardless of how the
California Supreme Court’s disposition of the petition is
interpreted, Saffold did not meet the deadline established by
Congress for a federal habeas petition. The District Court
correctly dismissed it.

5. The Ninth Circuit has stayed its mandate in Welch pending this Court's
decision in the present case.

24

CONCLUSION
The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

should be reversed.

November, 2001
Respectfully submitted,
KENT S. SCHEIDEGGER

Counsel of Record
MARITZA B. MESKAN

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Criminal Justice Legal Foundation

~*~

}, ee

'

F\LED

No. 01-301 JAW 10 2002

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

ANTHONY NEWLAND, Warden

Petitioner,

Vv.

TONY EUGENE SAFFOLD,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS
AND NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF FEDERAL
DEFENDERS IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

DAVID M. PORTER PETER GOLDBERGER
Counsel of Record 50 Rittenhouse Place

Co-Chair, NACDL Ardmore, PA 19003-2276
Amicus Committee (610) 649-8200

801 K Street, 10th Floor
Sacramento, CA 95814 Of Counsel
(916) 498-5700

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED BY AMICI CURIAE .......
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..............000eee5. iii
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE ...........0000000 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ........... 0.000000. 2
EE 4

I. The Decision of the Court Below Should Be
Affirmed On the Ground that Mr. Saffold Filed
His Federal Habeas Petition Within a Reasonable
Time Under the Judicially Created Grace Period..

Il. _— If this Court Holds that the Tolling Provision
Applies and that the Time Between a State Court's
Decision Denying a Post-Conviction Application
and the Filing of a Subsequent Application Is Not
Tolled from the Limitation Period, the Holding
Should Be Applied Prospectively Only Because It
Would Overrule Clear Precedent, Contradict the
Purposes of the Habeas Corpus Statute, and Be
Manifestly Inequitable In ThisCase ..... 10

ccc cdbeeeebdeGeedsecscseccece se 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases
Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544 (1969) .... 14

American Trucking Ass'ns v. Smith, 496 U.S. 167 (1990)

secsnaeennttesenndenasinaeieamnsetniaadenetanammmneiesandiingmensinemaneias 11,14
Barnett v. Lemaster, 167 F.3d 1321 (10th Cir. 1999) ...... 13
Bennett v. Artuz, 199 F.3d 116 (2d Cir. 1999), aff'd on
other grounds, 531 U.S. 4 (2000) .........sesseneeenenenenenennens 13
Block v. North Dakota, 461 U.S. 273 (1983) .......ccseseeeeeees 6
Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971) ......... passim
Cipriano v. Houma, 395 U.S. 701 (1969) ......crececeesereeeeees 14
Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991) .........seseseeeeeeees 4
Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167, 121 S. Ct. 2120 _—s ,
Fernandez v. Sternes, 227 F.3d 977 (7th Cir. 2000) ........ 13
Florida v. Long, 487 U.S. 223 (1988) .........cceceseeeeeenenenenees 14
Gibson v. Klinger, 232 F.3d 799 (10th Cir. 2000) ........... 13
Harper v. Virginia Department of Taxation, 509 U.S. 86
en 11

Heflin v. United States, 358 U.S. 415 (1959) ......ccccccseeeeeee 5
Lackawanna County DistrictAttorney v. Coss, 532 U.S.
ee Fe 5
Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis & Petigrow v. Gilbertson, 501
ae Se GOD conesesnsncsntsnenennssastittiinaianertienmeameienennmanitates 11
Lindh v. Murphy, 96 F.3d 856 (7th Cir. 1996), rev'd on
other grounds and remanded, 521 U.S. 320 (1997) ............ 8
Lonchar v. Thomas, 517 U.S. 314 (1996) «2... 14, 16
Melancon v. Kaylo, 259 F.3d 401 (5th Cir. 2001) ............ 13
Mills v. Norris, 187 F.3d 881 (8th Cir. 1999) .............000+. 13
Northern Pipeline Construction Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line
Sie GP ED cinantisinenmaneennemmanenien 14
Nyland v. Moore, 216 F.3d 1264 (11th Cir. 2000) .......... 13
O'Sullivan v. Boerckel, 526 U.S. 838 (1999) ..........ccseceseees 9
Payton v. Brigano, 256 F.3d 405 (6th Cir. 2001), petition
GOP CIEE, GEG ae TED sitcstinciniianittcinssniterninninianiiaiins 13
Peterson v. Gammon, 200 F.3d 1202 (8th Cir. 2000) ...... 13

Reynoldsville Casket Co. v. Hyde, 514 US. 749 (1995)
sanenieiiiiteldeiiisliaiesccliaat clei ann Mt L aces, 10, 11

iv

Ryder v. United States, 515 U.S. 177 (1995) ...sssocsssee 3,11

Saffold v. Newland, 250 F.3d 1262 (9th Cir. 2001) ......... 13
Sohn v. Waterson, 84 U.S. (17 Wall.) 596 (1873) ......s... 7
Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638 (1984) .........cccccseeeeeseeees 15
St. Francis College v. Al-Khazraji, 481 U.S. 604 (1987)
edenssustnsecssqueneqtennsesenaneusenaseDsneneeseSEINSNSSIOUtSGSGSSCSSESESSROUEIOONED 11,14
Swartz v. Meyers, 204 F.3d 417 (3d Cir. 2000) seseeeneeen 13
Taylor v. Lee, 186 F.3d 557 (4th Cir. 1999), cert. denied,
yy 13
Terry v. Anderson, 95 U.S. (5 Otto) 628 (1877) ..........0+0+ 7
Texaco v. Short, 454 U.S. 516 (1982) ......c.cssseererersereeeeeees 7
Vasquez v. Hillery, 474 U.S. 25411986) .......-ecsseseseeneenenes 4
Ex parte Watkins, 28 U.S. 193 (1830) ccieenaaidmemaneepesiensanmvanss 14
Wilson v. Iseminger , 185 U.S. 55 (1902) .......--seseeeeeeeeeeeees 7
Statutes and Rules
2B U.S.C. § 22A1(CM1)-(4) ccssnnssncesenseeseeeneesneeneesnereee 4
y Leb a + ee passim
EE 5, 16
Vv

Rule 9(a), Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases ............ 4
Miscellaneous

1 James S. Liebman & Randy Hertz, Federal Habeas
Corpus Practice and Procedure § 2.4b (4th ed. 2001)

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL
DEFENSE LAWYERS AND THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF FEDERAL DEFENDERS

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

The NACDL, a nonprofit corporation, is the only
national bar association working in the interest of public
and private criminal defense attorneys and their clients.
NACDL was founded in 1958 to ensure justice and due
process for persons accused of crimes; foster the integrity,
independence and expertise of the criminal defense
profession; and promote the proper and fair
administration of justice." NACDL has 10,000 members
nationwide -- joined by 80 state and local affiliate
organizations with 28,000 members -- including private
criminal defense lawyers, public defenders and law
professors committed to preserving fairness within
America’s criminal justice-system. The American Bar
Association recognizes NACDL as an affiliate
organization and awards it full representation in its
House of Delegates. In this case, the NACDL is
concerned because reversal of the Ninth Circuit's decision
will adversely affect hundreds of pro se habeas
petitioners by depriving them of any federal habeas
merits review.

1. No counsel for any party has authored this brief
in whole or in part, and no person or entity, other than
NACDL or NAFD, made any monetary contribution to
its preparation or submission. See Rule 37.6, Sup. Ct.
Rules. The parties have consented to the filing of this
brief, and letters of consent have been lodged with the
Clerk of the Court. Rule 37.3(a).

2

The National Association of Federal Defenders
(NAFD) was formed in 1995 to enhance the
representation provided under the Criminal Justice Act,
18 U.S.C. § 3006A, and the Sixth Amendment to the
United States Constitution. The Association is a
nationwide, non-profit, volunteer organization whose
membership includes attorneys and support staff of
Federal Defender offices. One of the NAFD's missions is
to file amicus curiae briefs to ensure that the position of
indigent defendants in the criminal justice system is
adequately represented.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. With all due respect to the parties and the

courts below, it appears to us that the issue has not been

properly, framed. Respondent Saffold's conviction
became final long before the effective date of the
Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act (AEDPA)
and its new statute of limitation on federal habeas corpus
' petitions. Application of the limitation period to habeas
corpus petitioners such as Mr. Saffold violates the
Constitution's Due Process Clause, as circuit courts have
unanimously held. Accordingly, the courts have crafted
a "grace period" within which such petitioners can file
their federal habeas petitions. The AEDPA tolling
provision, 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2), by its express terms,
applies only to the limitation period “under this
subsection," i.e., the limitation period set forth in section
2244(d)(1), not the judicially created grace period, and
therefore does not apply, as such, to this case.

_.___ Itisincorrect, we submit, to attempt to resolve this
case by parsing the precise terms of section 2244(d)(2) to
divine what Congress intended by the word “pending” in

3

that statute, because section 2244(d)(2) does not apply to
this case. It is not entirely irrelevant, however, because
in determining what is a "reasonable time" under the
grace period, this Court should take into account the
policy considerations that led Congress to enact the
tolling provision. As this Court stated in Duncan v.
Walker, 533 U.S. 167, 121 S. Ct. 2120, 2127-28 (2001), the
tolling provision is intended, in large part, to promote the
exhaustion of state remedies. Accordingly, we submit
that a reasonable time for filing a federal petition for
prisoners whose convictions became final before the
AEDPA is a one-year period from the AEDPA's
enactment date, but excluded from that period should be
the time reasonably necessary to exhaust state remedies
with respect to federal claims affecting the judgment
attacked by the federal habeas petition, and then to
prepare and file a federal habeas corpus petition. This
rule promotes federalism, comity, and finality, without
depriving state prisoners of their right to obtain federal
court review of properly exhausted federal questions
about the validity of their convictions and sentences.

2. For the reasons discussed under Point 1 of this
Brief, or for those advanced by the respondent, this Court
should affirm the judgment of the court below. If the
Court reverses the judgment, however, then any rule it
announces that is less favorable than that heretofore
adopted by the circuits should be applied prospectively
only. Ina line of cases extending from Chevron Oil Co. v.
Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971), to Ryder v. United States, 515
U.S. 177 (1995), this Court has recognized that
retroactive application of newly announced constructions
of statutes of limitation can produce "grave disruption or
inequity." Id. at 184. A decision in favor of the Warden
would overrule clear precedent of the lower courts,

4

impair the purposes that the habeas corpus statute is
designed to protect, and be manifestly inequitable. This
case thus satisfies the factors articulated in Chevron Oil to
justify a purely prospective application of any rule the
Court may announce that would be adverse to the
interest of prisoners who exhausted their state remedies
and then filed a federal habeas corpus petition in good
faith reliance oma fair construction of the AEDPA, under
the developing case law of the lower federal courts.

ARGUMENT

I.
The Decision of the Court Below Should Be Affirmed
On the Ground that Mr. Saffold Filed His Federal

Fr 1 --. Muststn.n Within « Raacanahle Time Inder the

5

§ 2241(c)(1)-(4); Lackawanna County Dist.Attorney v. Coss,
532 U.S. 394, __, 121 S. Ct. 1567, 1573 (2001).

In non-capital cases, practical considerations also
counseled against a delay in challenging one's conviction.
As time passes, memories may fade, witnesses may die or
become difficult to locate, documents may be lost.
Petitioners have the burden of proof to establish their
entitlement to habeas relief, and face various adverse
presumptions (e.g., 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)); thus, delay was
ordinarily not in prisoners’ practical interests. See
Judicial Conference of the United States, Ad Hoc
Committee on Federal Habeas Corpus in Capital Cases,
Committee Report and Proposal 5 ("[iJIn contrast [to
capital habeas petitioners], prisoners serving an ordinary
term of years have every incentive to bring their claims

6

properly filed state post-conviction petition for post-
conviction relief is "pending." The limitation provision
and tolling provision work in tandem; the former
promotes the interest of the finality of state court
judgments by establishing an explicit time period within
which to file a federal petition, against which the latter
balances the interests of federalism and comity
underlying the requirement that petitioners exhaust their
claims in state court before filing their federal petition.
Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167, __- __, 121 S. Ct. 2120,
2127-28 (2001).

In cases such as Mr. Saffold's, however, where the
statute of limitation, as set forth in 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1),
had expired prior to the enactment of the AEDPA, the
statute cannot be applied because it would violate the

ee Oe —n Oe ak, tho Dasetteawe th, Danan aaneaws PHP,

7

This judicially created grace period is consonant with a
long line of precedent of this Court. See Texaco v. Short,
454 U.S. 516,527 n.21 (1982); Wilson v. Iseminger , 185 U.S.
55, 63 (1902); Terry v. Anderson, 95 U.S. (5 Otto) 628, 632-
633 (1877); Sohn v. Waterson, 84 U.S. (17 Wall.) 596, 599-
600 (1873).

The parties herein and the lower courts proceeded
on a fundamentally flawed assumption that this case
hinges on a precise and literal interpretation of the
statutory tolling provision. That provision applies, by its
express terms, only to the limitation period "under this
subsection,” 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2), viz., the limitation
period set forth in section 2244(d)(1). As discussed above,
that limitation period cannot constitutionally be applied
to this case. Insvead, this case is governed by a "grace

narktaw® «8 &adiiatat, Aasdaad aanattieh tn, ADastietenes gat.

8

As noted above, the circuit courts have
unanimously held that one year is a "reasonable" amount
of time for the grace period. See, e.g., Lindh v. Murphy, 96
F.3d 856, 866 (7th Cir. 1996) (en banc) ("Section 2244(d) is
short enough that the ‘reasonable time’ after April 24,
1996, and the one-year statutory period coalesce"), rev'd
on other grounds and remanded, 521 U.S. 320 (1997). The
rule cannot end there, however. Because this Court
requires prisoners to first exhaust their claims in state
court, the grace period must also accommodate the
exhaustion doctrine. Cf. 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2). This

Court should hold, therefore, that for prisoners whose ~

convictions became final before the AEDPA's enactment,
a federal habeas petition will be considered timely if filed
within a one-year period after April 24, 1996. Excluded
from that one-year grace period should be the time
reasonably necessary to exhaust state remedies with
respect to federal claims affecting the judgment attacked
by the federal habeas petition, and then to prepare and
file a federal habeas corpus petition.’ See O'Sullivan v.

2. Habeas petitioners should also be afforded a
reasonable period of time, after receiving notice from the
state's highest court of the denial of the state application,
to filing a federal habeas petition. We suggest the Court
adopt the thirty-day period from Rule 4(a)(1)(A), Federal
Rules of Appellate Procedure, given the civil nature of
habeas corpus, and the parity of direct appeal and habeas
corpus review. See 1 James S. Liebman & Randy Hertz,
Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure § 2.4b (4th ed.
2001).

This is not to suggest, however, that the prisoner's

state post-conviction application does not remain
“pending,” for post AEDPA cases actually governed by

9

Boerckel, 526 U.S. 838 (1999) (requiring habeas petitioners
to present claims to states’ highest courts).°

Applying this rule to the facts of this case, one must
conclude that Mr. Saffold's federal habeas petition was
timely filed. While he did not file his federal petition on
or before April 24, 1997, he had by that time filed a state
application challenging his conviction. His federal
petition was filed only eight days after the state's highest
court denied his state application.

We have no quarrel with the Warden's position that
it is the Court's task is to construe what Congress has
enacted and that examination of the language of "'the
statute’ is where such task begins. Petitioner's Brief at 21
(quoting Walker, 533 U.S. at___, 121 S. Ct. at 2124). The
Warden proceeds immediately to parse the tolling
provision, and it is here that we part company. The
tolling provision applies, by its express terms, only to the
"period of limitation under this subsection." 28 U.S.C.
§ 2244(d)(2) (emphasis added). This Court's task begins,
therefore, with examination not of the tolling provision
but of the limitation provision. As discussed above,

section 2244(d)(2)'s terms, for the additional time during
which certiorari could be sought, or if sought remains
before this Court. The better construction of section
2244(d)(2) does continue the tolling for that additional
time.

3. Excluding the time required to exhaust
remedies also respects Congress’ view, expressed in
section 2244(d)(2), that it is reasonable to toll the statute
of limitation — in cases to which it applies — while claims
are being presented to the state court.

10

because the Constitution prohibits the narrow application
of the limitation provision to this case, the exact words of
the statutory tolling provision are not controlling.

II.

If this Court Holds that the Tolling Provision Applies
and that the Time Between a State Court's Decision
Denying a Post-Conviction Application and the Filing
of a Subsequent Application Is Not Tolled from the
Limitation Period, the Holding Should Be Applied
Prospectively Only Because It Would Overrule Clear
Precedent, Contradict the Purposes of the Habeas
Corpus Statute, and Be Manifestly Inequitable In
This Case.

Even if this Court were to reverse the judgment of

the court below, it should declare its ruling to be-

prospective only.* A long line of cases, beginning with
Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971), has refused
to apply newly-specified statutes of limitation
retroactively to bar suits that, under controlling
precedent, were otherwise filed in a timely manner.

Reynoldsville Casket Co. v. Hyde, 514 U.S. 749, 761-62 (1995)
(Kennedy, J., concurring) (noting " long tradition of
judicial authority to formulate rules ensuring fair and
predictable enforcement of statutes of limitations, for
instance, through rules pertaining to tolling or waiver’);
see also Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis & Petigrow v.

4. If the Court holds that the tolling provision
applies, we believe Mr. Saffold's construction of the
statute best effectuates its plain meaning and promotes
the principles of comity, finality, and federalism that
underlie the AEDPA. The argument set forth in the text
in Section II is presented in the alternative.

11

Gilbertson, 501 U.S. 350, 370 (1991) (O'Connor, J.,
dissenting); American Trucking Ass‘ns v. Smith, 496 U.S.
167 (1990); St. Francis College v. Al-Khazraji, 481 U.S. 604
(1987).° Because a ruling in Petitioner's favor would meet
all three of the so-called "Chevron Oil factors,” it should be
applied — if it is to be applied at all - prospectively.

In Chevron Oil, the issue was whether a federal or
state statute of limitation applied to the plaintiff's cause
of action. This Court held that the state statute of
limitation applied, but it noted that because the plaintiff
filed his suit in compliance within the then-prevailing
federal statute of limitation, it "must consider the
[plaintiff's] argument that the state statute of limitations
should be given nonretroactive application." 404 U.S. at
105. The Court considered three "separate factors:"

First, the decision to be applied
nonretroactively must establish a new
principle of law, either by overruling clear
past precedent on which litigants may have
relied, or by deciding an issue of first
impression whose resolution was not clearly
foreshadowed. Second, it has been stressed

5. While the majority opinion in Ryder v. United
States, 515 U.S. 177, 184 (1995), may have cast a cloud
over the "continuing validity" of Chevron Oil after Harper
v. Virginia Dept. of Taxation, 509 U.S. 86 (1993), and
Reynoldsville Casket Co., 514 U.S. 749, it acknowledged
that "grave disruption or inequity involved in awarding
retrospective relief" might “bring [the Chevron Oil]
doctrine into play." Id. at 184. As discussed below,
retroactive application would result in precisely such
grave inequities.

12

that we must weigh the merits and demerits
in each case by looking to the prior history of
the rule in question, its purpose and effect,
and whether retrospective operation will
further or retard its operation. Finally, we
have weighed the inequity imposed by
retroactive application, for where a decision
of this Court could produce substantial
inequitable results if applied retroactively,
there is ample basis in our cases for avoiding
the injustice or hardship by a holding of
nonretroactivity.

404 U.S. at 106-07 (citations and internal qutetens
omitted).

After noting that its holding overruled a long line
of circuit decisions, the Court held that it would be
"anomalous indeed" to bar the plaintiffs lawsuit
retroactively. "A primary purpose underlying the
absorption of state law as federal law in the Lands Act
was to aid injured employees by affording them
comprehensive and familiar remedies. Yet retroactive
application of the Louisiana statute of limitations to this
case would deprive the respondent of any remedy
whatsoever on the basis of superseding legal doctrine
that was quite unforeseeable.” 404 U.S. at 107-08 (citation
omitted). The Court reasoned that the plaintiff could not
have "slept on his rights” at a time when he could not
have known the time limitation that the law imposed on
him. It concluded that the right to recover for
serious injuries that “may significantly undercut [the
plaintiff's) future earning power" was entitled to the
protection of nonretroactive application, which “here
simply preserves his right to a day in court." 404 U.S. at
108.

13

In this case, the first Chevron Oil factor is plainly
met - as the Warden forthrightly acknowledges, his
proposed interpretation of "pending" is at odds with "the
line of circuit court cases providing for tolling during the
gaps between tiers of state collateral review." Petitioner's
Brief at 8. Indeed, every circuit to have considered the
issue appears to have rejected "the gap theory.”* A ruling
in the Warden's favor, therefore, would both “overrul[e]
clear past precedent on which litigants may have relied,”
and “decid[e] an issue of first impression whose
resolution was not clearly foreshadowed." Chevron Oil,
404 U.S. at 106.

Similarly, the second Chevron Oil factor - whether
retroactive application would be inconsistent with the
purpose of the underlying statute - militates sharply in

6. See Petitioner's Brief at 40-46 (citing Saffold v.
Newland, 250 F.3d 1262 (9th Cir. 2001); Fernandez v.
Sternes, 227 F.3d 977 (7th Cir. 2000); Mills v. Norris, 187
F.3d 881 (8th Cir. 1999); Barnett v. Lemaster, 167 F.3d 1321
(10th Cir. 1999); Peterson v. Gammon, 200 F.3d 1202 (8th
Cir. 2000); Swartz v. Meyers, 204 F.3d 417 (3d Cir. 2000);
Gibson v. Klinger, 232 F.3d 799 (10th Cir. 2000); Melancon
v. Kaylo, 259 F.3d 401 (5th Cir. 2001). To this list should
be added the decisions in Bennett v. Artuz, 199 F.3d 116
(2d Cir. 1999), aff'd on other grounds, 531 U.S. 4 (2000),
Payton v. Brigano, 256 F.3d 405, 408 (6th Cir. 2001),
petition for cert. filed (Oct. 5,2001), Taylor v. Lee, 186 F.3d
557, 560-61 (4th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1197
(2000), and Nyland v. Moore, 216 F.3d 1264, 1267 (11th Cir.
2000). The only authority in the nation for “the gap
theory” is a lone district court in the Second Circuit. See
Robinson v. Ricks, 163 F. Supp. 2d 155 (E.D.N.Y. 2001).

14

Mr. Saffold's favor. In a description both simple and
eloquent, this Court explained that the purpose of the
Great Writ is "to examine the legality of the commitment"
and “to liberate an individual from unlawful
imprisonment." Ex parte Watkins, 28 U.S. 193, 202, 203
(1830). It is a remedy that "has been for centuries
esteemed the best and only sufficient defense of personal
freedom,” which, if withdrawn, "risk{s] injury to an
important interest in human liberty." Lonchar v. Thomas,
517 US. 314, 324 (1996) (internal quotations omitted).

There can be no question that this important
interest in human liberty is at least on par with other
rights and legal interests this Court has found deserving
of protection against retroactive divestiture: viz., the
property interests of cities, bondholders and others
connected with municipal utilities, Cipriano v. Houma, 395
U.S. 701 (1969); the integrity of elections, Allen v. State Bd.
of Elections, 393 U.S. 544 (1969); a state's taxation of
highway use, American Trucking Ass’ns, Inc., 496 U.S. 167;
a State's ability to make available to its employees
annuities of sex-based pension plans offered by insurance
companies on the open market, Florida v. Long, 487 U.S.
223 (1988); the right to be free of racial discrimination in
applying for tenure, Saint Francis College, 481 U.S. 604; the
right to have non-Article [II judges determine non-core
issues in bankruptcy proceedings, Northern Pipeline
Constr. Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50 (1982)
(plurality opn.); the authority of a police officer to initiate
further conversation with an accused after the latter has
invoked his right to counsel, Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638
(1984).

Finally, the last and most important Chevron Oil
factor examines whether "injustice or hardship" can be

15

avoided by a holding of nonretroactivity. This factor
weighs most heavily in favor not only of Mr. Saffold but
also hundreds of other habeas petitioners who relied in
good faith on this Court's assurance that as long as they
properly exhausted their claims in state court, the federal
habeas court would consider the merits of their claims,
unless they were denied by the state court on
independent and adequate state grounds. First,
application of an adverse decision to Mr. Saffold would
produce a substantially inequitable result given the fact
that, acting pro se, he proceeded with appropriate (indeed
astounding) alacrity in litigating his post-conviction
petition through the state courts and in filing his federal
petition. It is undisputed that he delivered to prison
authorities his petition to the state trial court before the
one-year grace period expired, and that he delivered his
petition to the state appellate court only five days after the
superior court denied the petition. See Petitioner's Brief
at 4. While the Warden describes Mr. Saffold as "waiting
over four and one-half months,” Petitioner's Brief at 5
(emphasis added), after the denial of his habeas petition
in the appellate court before filing a petition in the state's
high court, according to Mr. Saffold's unrebutted
declaration, he did not receive word of the appellate
court's denial until November 10, 1997, Pet. App. A-9;
J.A. 79, and he delivered his petition for the high court the
very same day. J.A. 78. Eight days after the high court
denied his petition, he delivered his federal petition to
the prison authorities. J.A. 77. This is not the case of a
petitioner who "slept on his rights."

While this Court cannot become familiar with the
circumstances of hundreds of other habeas petitioners
who, like Mr. Saffold, sustained convictions that became
final before enactment of the AEDPA and initiated state

; 16

post-conviction challenges during the one-year grace
period, it cannot be denied that a substantial percentage
of them relied in good faith on decisions such as Saffold,
Nino v. Galaza, and others cited in note 6, supra, which
essentially held that the statute is tolled the entire time
from the filing of the first state habeas petition until the
state's highest court rejects the final collateral challenge.
For this group of litigants, the retroactive application of
a restrictive definition of "pending" would forever bar any
federal merits review of claims that they are being held in
custody "in violation of the Constitution or laws or
treaties of the United States," 28 U.S.C. § 2254(a), and
would risk grave injury "to an important interest in
human liberty." Lonchar, 517 U.S. at 324. For these
reasons, any ruling adverse to Mr. Saffold should be
announced on a prospective basis only.

17
CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit should be affirmed. In the alternative, any
decision adopting a narrower interpretation of the term
"pending" in section 2244(d)(2) should be applied
prospectively only.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID M. PORTER
Counsel of Record

PETER GOLDBERGER
Of Counsel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0495%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
