# Amicus Curiae Brief — Ragsdale v. Wolverine World Wide, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0476%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 535 U.S. 81

## Text

~i ante f if ‘+h “>
PAI CY \\ Nii No. 00-6029 at

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

—— *

TRACY RAGSDALE, et al.,

Petitioners,

WOLVERINE WORLDWIDE, INC.,
| Respondent.

+

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit

+

BRIEF FOR THE SOCIETY FOR HUMAN
RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

«

Jack Wuitacre*

M. Brett FULKERSON

Sue K. WILLMAN

SPENCER FANE Britt & Browne LLP
1000 Walnut, Suite 1400

Kansas City, MO 64106

(816) 474-8100

“Counsel of Record

—
_——

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..............eeeeeeeeees iii
STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE... 1

GREP NUTS 4 co cesccecceccncesesesceseucceccess 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.............220ee eee: +
RENEE co cvcceccceccnsevecccsccteocouesescees 6

I. The Penalty Provisions for Failing to Timely
Designate are Contrary to the Act and Not a
Reasonable Construction of It................ 6

II. The Disproportionate, Stacking Penalty Which
Requires an Employer to Provide Both Com-
pany Designed Leave and FMLA Leave Is Con-
trary to Congressional Intent and Is Not
Necessary to Implement the Act............. 12

A. Imposing a disproportionate stacking of
leave penalty on employers who already
provide paid or unpaid medical, family
and maternity leave is contrary to Con-
SPGRTIGMEE BATTER ooo. cc cccvccccscccsesess 12

B. The disproportionate stacking of FMLA
leave on employer-provided paid or
unpaid leave is not necessary to effectuate
Be Fes ec cvcscdvccnsessoveveceveesecses 17

C. The Act and other regulations protect both
employees and employers and provide an
appropriate remedy to protect employee
POE, TAIIUD occ cccccccccccsccccccvccces 21

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page
1. Unpaid Leave ........ ... err 21
2. Employer-Provided Paid Leave Substi- ©
CE oc cv vcnsccutsdestgeenuibeenenees 23
3. Congress Provided a Detailed, Care-
fully Crafted Remedy................ 25
CONC AIOIS 0... cc cccseqencskbaeasecuenuene 28

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
FEDERAL CASES
American Ship Building Co. v. N.L.R.B., 380 U.S. 300
EPPS ME PPPS TTT TETTTTTITTTTT TTT TTT 26
Blankenship v. Buchanan Gen. Hosp., 999 F.Supp. 832
DEE UE EEE concsccsccccccesccsccccescceecoces 27
Burlington Truck Lines, Inc. v. United States, 371
EET err TTT TT TTT TTT TTrTee 20
Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Res. Def. Council,
Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) .........-2- eee eee 6, 7, 9, 10
Covey v. Methodist Hosp. of Dyersburg, Inc., 56
F.Supp.2d 965 (W.D. Tenn. 1999)............-0506- 26
Daley v. Wellpoint Health Networks, Inc., et al., 146
F.Supp.2d 92 (D. Mass. 2001) .............0eeeeeee 11
Fulham v. HSBC Bank USA, 2001 WL 1029051 (S.D.
Dy MS Gy DED ccccccccscccccccosccecccccccoces 7

H.K. Porter Co., Inc. v. N.L.R.B., 397 U.S. 99 (1970) .... 26

Howell v. Standard Motor Products, Inc., 2001 WL
912387 (N.D. Tex., Aug. 10, 2001)............-.+4+- 7

Jeremy v. Northwest Ohio Dev. Ctr., 33 F.Supp.2d
635 (N.D. Ohio 1999), aff'd, 210 F.3d 372 (6th Cir.

BE oo ccccccccccscccccscccccccccccccccccccccceces 27
Lacoparra v. Pergament Home Ctrs., Inc., 982 F.Supp.

SED GD. PEE. BGB7) oc cccccccccccccccccccccccccees 27
McGregor v. Autozone, Inc., 180 F.3d 1305 (11th Cir.

Bc cceccccdesccccscccccccccccccccescccevcces 7, 11

N.L.R.B. v. Metro. Life Ins. Co., 380 U.S. 438 (1965) .... 20

Nolan v. Hypercom Mfg. Res., 2001 WL 378235 (D.
I Mi. «< cue eeeeeeedegsocesceoes 8, 22

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Plant v. Morton Int'l, Inc., 212 F.3d 929 (6th Cir.
Pc addscvccapsccokesesctenescotscnseseéoubesess 10
Ragsdale v. Wolverine Worldwide, Inc., 218 F.3d 933
See GED DE dccscccvccsdeunseusicedsaes 7, 9, 11, 12
Twyman v. Dilks, 2000 WL 1277917 (E.D. Pa., Sept.
Bp EE cheedadthoceboncsévndscsebdbenndecsabebdedues 7
FEDERAL STATUTES
Ps OP Sc cnuncccncncicenddsstdéeacciscuns 26
BP ee OF SD votes écconccnvescedacenddacunns 26
Be Weeaes Oe na cescdsctdesnsdbeiistedeacion 11
fi ere ee 2, 8, 10
ee aes OF I a ve cosceseceneneeceuse 3, 8, 10, 14
pe 3
BP ts OF ED vovencanencadhesescascwniodesoedl 22
Se ey Oe iintdactcedcccusadhacoecessesel 18
BP Ses 0p OED wo bcdccoccccecetéseéceces 18
BP ee ID cp sudedcabavipedcencconttsecsetes 25
SP Wee Co ew ovccdasvctdnsteantccsottanats 25
SD Tse 1 ch daccnvcévccscedtarsccboes 10, 25, 26
Be Ge BH MEP c cccntecedeodcccescagecssseccse 6, 25
29 U.S.C. § 2617(a)(1)(A)(i),{ii) and (iii).............. 10

SOME, OI, i iicc ican Biss cisitke ccd: 10

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Be Weer OF ec acdecdscsccsescccencencsasecnccsss 18
BP ae FF ID cvcnccctccescccccesecscceseoceses 21
SP Sies Ul AD ccnccesecnendcesenceseseseneoonss 21
is Uh Mien dconcedndecwnedecesssocdsensoussecs 16
BP Ge Fe Gee dnccccevcccssescccncvessccesesed 6, 17
FEDERAL REGULATIONS
BP Ge ee Gc cdncdcccnccccescensccoceces 2, 15
BP Ge Oe a ceccecccceccvcescscceesecesces 24
BP Gs SD Sewccanccccsccscccccusccasscasons 18
Be Ge BED ccenececcccsscusccsccedcsess 22
BD Cie © Ge cc ccctcccccccccccsccecccess passim
SP Ge te I cebacncccscccsescovesessncnses 17
fe ll rer 17
29 C.F.R. § 825.301(a)(1) ....... 0 eee eeeeeees 18, 24, 27
29 C.F.R. § 825.301(a)(2) ........ ccc cccceecscccces 18, 24
BP Ge Oh GND 6 bic cccccccscccccccecccccess 24
29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a)............065. 3, 4, 9, 10, 16, 18
MISCELLANEOUS
SD Gee, Te, BEPGG, . ccccccccccnscccccccsccccccccccce 17
Gp Bs Bs Be vc ccc cccccccscsceseccccoscccccsecs 18

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE?

The Society for Human Resource Management
(“SHRM”) is the leading voice of the human resource
profession. SHRM provides education and information
services, conferences and seminars, government and
media representation, online services and publications to
more than 165,000 professional and student members
throughout the world. As the world’s largest human
resource management association, SHRM is a founding
member of the North American Human Resource Man-
agement Association and a founding member and Secre-
tariat of the World Federation of Personnel Management
Associations.

As the leading association of the human resources
profession, SHRM and its members are vitally concerned
with the orderly development of the law concerning
employee benefits, including paid and unpaid leave for
medical, maternity, paternity and family care reasons.
SHRM has long recognized its special responsibility to
support and encourage compliance with the laws regulat-
ing employment and in the administration of efficient,
workable human resource management systems.

In 1997, SHRM founded the National FMLA Techni-
cal Corrections Coalition. The Coalition is a diverse,
broad-based, nonpartisan group of approximately 300
leading companies and associations. Members of the

1 The parties have consented to the filing of this brief.
Counsel for a party did not author this brief in whole or in part.
No persons or entities other than the Amicus Curiae, its
members, or its counsel made a monetary contribution to the
preparation or submission of this brief.

Coalition are fully committed to complying with both the.
spirit amd the letter of the Family and Medical Leave Act -

(“FMLA”) and strongly believe that employers should
provide policies and programs to accommodate the indi-
vidual work-life needs of their employees. At the same
time, members of the Coalition believe that the FMLA
should be fixed to protect those employees that Congress
aimed to assist while streamlining administrative prob-
lems that have arisen.

With respect to this case, SHRM’s interest is to sup-
port rules concerning leave entitlement and return to work
that strike an appropriate and judicious balance between
statutorily-mandated unpaid leave benefits and existing
leave plans which in many cases provide pay, benefits and
greater lengths of leave. Representatives and members of
SHRM have appeared before Congress with respect to
oversight and proposed changes of the FMLA and have
submitted comments to the Department of Labor (“DOL”)
on proposed regulations implementing the FMLA.

¢

INTRODUCTION

This case presents important questions concerning
the validity of regulations adopted by the DOL pursuant
to the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993. Under the
FMLA an employee is “entitled to a total of 12 work-
weeks” annually of unpaid FMLA leave. 29 U.S.C.
§ 2612(a)(1). The DOL’s regulations also provide, “An
eligible employee’s FMLA leave entitlement is limited to
a total of 12 workweeks of leave” annually. 29 C.F.R.
§ 825.200(a). However, through the regulations at issue,

the DOL has greatly expanded upon or acted contrary to
this simple concept by providing for leaves beyond 12
weeks annually.

Congress recognized that certain employers were
already providing paid leave for purposes for which
FMLA leave was also required and sought to provide
credit to such responsible employers. In such a case Con-
gress provided, “an eligible employee may elect, or an
employer may require the employee, to substitute any of
the accrued paid vacation leave, personal leave or medical
or sick leave of the employee for leave” provided under
the FMLA. 29 U.S.C. § 2612(d)(2)(B). Congress also pro-
vided “[i]f an employer provides paid leave for fewer than
12 workweeks, the additional weeks of leave necessary to
attain the 12 workweeks of leave . . . may be provided
without compensation.” 29 U.S.C. § 2612(d)(1).

This simple concept of accommodation of existing
leave policies has been complicated by the DOL’s confus-
ing and conflicting regulations, including those at issue
in this case, § 825.208(c) and § 825.700(a). In short, where
employer-provided leave is available, the DOL has
imposed upon employers notice and designation obliga-
tions, which if not observed, dramatically extend the
leave time by a stacking penalty that applies across-the-
board to add FMLA leave to existing employer-provided
leave and extend the FMLA’s job protections to the pre-
designation weeks of leave as well as the post-designa-
tion 12 weeks of leave. Section 825.208(c) begins, “If the
employer requires paid leave to be substituted for unpaid
leave, or that paid leave taken under an existing leave
plan be counted as FMLA leave, this decision must be
made by the employer within two business days of the

time the employee gives notice of the need for leave, or,
where the employer does not initially have sufficient
information to make a determination, when the employer
determines that the leave qualifies as FMLA leave if this
happens later.” If an employer has requisite knowledge to
determine that company provided paid leave is for an
FMLA reason and “fails to designate the leave as FMLA
leave,” the employer “may not designate leave as FMLA
leave retroactively, and may designate” the leave as
FMLA leave “only prospectively.” According to 29 C.F.R.
§ 825.208(c), “none of the absence preceding the notice to
the employee of the designation may be counted against
the employee’s 12-week FMLA leave entitlement.” This
stacking penalty for failure to designate is also set forth
in § 825.700(a) and addresses unpaid as well as paid
employer-provided leave.

The Eighth and Eleventh Circuits, and several district
courts, have found the additional leave stacking penalty
contrary to the plain language of the statute and Congres-
sional intent.

+

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In enacting the FMLA, Congress created an entitle-
ment of a total of 12 workweeks of unpaid job-protected
leave annually for employees who meet specific eligi-
bility criteria. Employees are advised of this right to a
total of 12 weeks of unpaid leave by notice prepared by
the DOL and posted by employers. Congress recognized
that many employers also were voluntarily providing
paid and unpaid leave for reasons set forth in the FMLA.

In the case of employer-provided leave, Congress decided
there was to be a total of 12 weeks, whether paid or
unpaid. Petitioner argues that employees are entitled to
leave under the employer’s voluntary program and then
up to 12 workweeks of job-protected FMLA leave unless
the employer specifically notifies the employee that the
two periods of unpaid leave are running concurrently. In
the instant case, Petitioner claims entitlement to 42 weeks
of leave in one year because Respondent failed to give
her such notice.

The requirement in the regulations that employers
stack FMLA and employer-provided leaves is not pro-
vided for in the statute and is contrary to it. If Congress
had intended for employees to be entitled to more than 12
workweeks of leave annually, Congress would have
enacted provisions to that effect, indicating the condi-
tions when an employee qualifies for additional weeks of
leave. Because Congress did not do so, the 12 workweek
maximum must be applied by the courts. Indeed, the
legislative history further demonstrates the stacking pen-
alty is clearly improper as it penalizes responsible
employers and discourages more expansive voluntary
leave programs.

There may be cases where employees do not elect to
substitute employer-provided paid leave for unpaid
FMLA leave or inquire about the concurrent running of
employer-provided leave and FMLA leave, yet the
employer elects to substitute company leave for FMLA
leave. As shown by the facts here, other more reasonable
notice provisions adequately ensure sufficient notice of
the employer’s election to substitute. If an employer fails
to provide adequate notice and it works to the detriment

of an employee, causing interference with the employee’s
exercise of her statutory rights, - not the case bel« w -
Congress has expressly provided a detailed and carefully
crafted remedy. In such a case, the employee may seek to
enforce any denied FMLA rights in court and seek the
monetary and injunctive relief provided in 29 U.S.C.
§ 2617(a).

+

ARGUMENT

I. The Penalty Provisions For Failing to Timely Desig-
nate Are Contrary to the Act and Not a Reasonable
Construction of It.

In administering the FMLA, the Secretary of Labor is
authorized to issue regulations “as are necessary to carry
out” the provisions and purposes of the Act. 29 U.S.C.
§ 2654. However, the FMLA as defined in the DOL’s
conflicting regulations is significantly different than the
FMLA legislated by Congress. At issue in this case are the
DOL’s regulations which significantly expand and contra-
dict the core component of the Act - an employee’s
entitlement to a total of 12 workweeks of FMLA leave per
year.

In Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Res. Def. Council,
Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984), this Court set forth a two-step
test for determining the validity of regulations such as
the ones at issue in this matter. Firs’ the Court must
determine if Congress has “directly spo..en to the precise
question at issue.” Id. at 842. If the Court “ascertains that
Congress had an intention on the precise question at
issue, that intention is the law and must be given effect.”

Id. at 843 n.9. In the event Congress has not directly
spoken to the precise question and thus the statute is
silent or ambiguous on the issue, the Court must deter-
mine if “the agency’s answer is based on a permissible
construction of the statute.” Id. at 843. Constructions that
are contrary to clear congressional intent must be
rejected. Id. at 843 n.9.

Applying Chevron’s test, the Eighth Circuit properly
found the regulations providing for additional leave
invalid. See Ragsdale v. Wolverine Worldwide, Inc., 218 F.3d
933, 937-938 (8th Cir. 2000). The Eleventh Circuit and
several lower courts have also found the regulations
invalid under the Chevron test or the principles articu-
lated therein. See, e.g., McGregor v. Autozone, Inc., 180 F.3d
1305, 1308 (11th Cir. 1999) (concluding employer’s failure
to designate paid leave as FMLA leave did not entitle
employee to 12 weeks of unpaid leave stacked on top of
13 weeks of paid leave because the regulations requiring
such a result are invalid and unenforceable whether the
Act is viewed as clear and the regulations clearly contrary
to the Act or whether the Act is viewed as somewhat
ambiguous and the regulations manifestly contrary to the
Act); Fulham v. HSBC Bank USA, 2001 WL 1029051 *7 (S.D.
N.Y., Sept. 6, 2001) (finding employer’s failure to desig-
nate paid leave as FMLA leave did not entitle employee
to 12 weeks of unpaid leave stacked on top of his 26
weeks of paid leave because regulations requiring such a
result were contrary to the Act); Twyman v. Dilks, 2000 WL
1277917, *13-14 (E.D. Pa., Sept. 8, 2000) (invalidating reg-
ulations as “directly inconsistent” with the Act’s express
language and inconsistent with the purpose of the Act);
Howell v. Standard Motor Products, Inc., 2001 WL 912387, *3

(N.D. Tex., Aug. 10, 2001) (finding employer’s failure to
designate unpaid leave as FMLA leave did not entitle
employee to 12 additional weeks of unpaid FMLA leave
and predicting Fifth Circuit would agree with Eighth and
Eleventh Circuits on invalidity of penalty regulations);
Nolan v. Hypercom Mfg. Res., 2001 WL 378235 *7 (D. Ariz.,
March 26, 2001) (finding regulation invalid because it
provides employees more leave than the substantive
guarantees of the statute). This Court should similarly
declare the regulations requiring more than 12 weeks of
leave invalid as they are contrary to the Act and not a
reasonable construction of it.

The Act expressly provides that “an eligible
employee shall be entitled to a total of 12 workweeks of
leave during any 12-month period... .” 29 U.S.C.
§ 2612(a)(1). This provision is not ambiguous. This provi-
sion is obviously not silent as to the total number of
workweeks of leave an employee is entitled to under the
Act. This maximum allowance is restated again when
permission is granted to an employer to substitute paid
leave under its benefit plans for all or a portion of the
mandated total of 12 weeks annually. In such a case, in
the same section, Congress declared that “[i]f an
employer provides paid leave for fewer than 12 weeks,
the additional weeks of leave necessary to attain the 12
workweeks of leave . . . may be provided without com-
pensation.” 29 U.S.C. § 2612(d)(1) (emphasis added).
Under the express and unambiguous language of the Act,
an employer is required only to provide up to a total of 12
weeks of leave per year. The 12 week total expressly
includes both paid leave and unpaid leave. Thus, the Act

does not require the employer to stack unpaid FMLA
leave on top of employer-provided paid or unpaid leave.

Notwithstanding the express and unambiguous lan-
guage of the Act, §§ 825.208(c) and 825.700(a) improperly
convert the unpaid leave up to a “total of 12 workweeks”
annually into an entitlement to 12 additional weeks
unless the employer specifically notifies the employee
within two business days that he or she is taking FMLA
leave. This designation, under the regulation, applies
“only prospectively as of the date of notification. .. . “
§ 825.208(c). Thus, under the DOL’s regulations, an
employer may be “forced” to provide many more than 12
weeks of leave per year should the employer fail to
provide certain notice. Ragsdale, 218 F.3d at 938. Indeed, if
the regulations were applied as urged by Petitioner, she
would have received a total of 42 weeks of leave in a
single year.

This “disproportionate penalty” for failing to desig-
nate, Ragsdale, 218 F.3d at 938, which requires an
employer to provide more than 12 weeks of leave annu-
ally, is entirely a creation of the DOL and contradicts the
clear and unambiguous language in the Act. Those sup-
porting the validity of the stacking penalty under the
Chevron test do so by first attempting to validate and
justify the designation and notice provisions and then
bootstrapping the stacking penalty onto those require-
ments. Indeed, after arguing for the validity of the desig-
nation and notice provisions, the Solicitor General
characterizes the stacking of leave as no penalty at all,
but merely the “consequence” of an employer’s failure to

10

designate.? In analyzing the Chevron test, the Solicitor
focuses on Congress’ silence as to the timing of the
employer’s “paid leave” election under § 2612(d)(1) but
ignores the clear language of the statute that manifestly is
not silent as to the propriety of the stacking penalty or
“consequence” for failing to timely designate and the
statute’s carefully crafted remedy for an interference with
FMLA rights. See 29 U.S.C. §§ 2612(a)(1) and 2617.

While some “consequence” may be appropriate for an
employer’s failure to designate paid leave as FMLA leave
in the case of detrimental reliance, as we discuss below,
Congress provided for and carefully detailed the remedial
relief available. See 29 U.S.C. § 2617(a)(1)(A)(i),(ii) and (iii)
and § 2617(a)(1)(B). The “consequence” or penalty selected
by the DOL and imposed by § 825.208(c) and 825.700(a)
dramatically contradicts the clear language of the Act,
ignores the remedy provided by Congress, and greatly
expands upon the Act’s leave entitlement. Thus, the stack-
ing penalty or “consequence” is invalid and must be
stricken.

Not only are the regulations expressly contrary to the
Act, they are also not a reasonable construction of it. As
the Eleventh Circuit stated, “The regulations not only add
requirements and grant entitlements beyond those of the

2 The Sixth Circuit employed a similar bootstrapping
analysis to validate the stacking penalty. See Plant v. Morton
Int'l, Inc., 212 F.3d 929, 935-36 (6th Cir. 2000) (finding the statute
silent as to the notice an employer must give to employees
before designating leave and then assuming without further
analysis that the provision forbidding retroactive designation is
therefore also valid).

11

statute but they also are inconsistent with the stated
purpose of the statute.” McGregor, 180 F.3d at 1308. An
express purpose of the Act is “to balance the demands of
the workplace with the needs of families . . . in a manner
that accommodates the legitimate interests of employers.”
29 U.S.C. § 2601(b)(3). Indeed, as noted by the Eighth
Circuit below, “(t]he provisions of the FMLA are noticea-
bly bereft of any purpose to interfere with employer leave
policies which grant greater leave rights than the FMLA
or to require more generous leave plans than the mini-
mum twelve weeks of unpaid leave mandated by the
FMLA.” Ragsdale, 218 F.3d at 937.

Because of the two-day time period for designating
FMLA leave and the resulting stacking for failure to
designate, a claimant is almost always assured of having
longer than “the total of 12 workweeks” mandated by
Congress.’ Requiring this quick designation and denying
retroactive application runs counter to the Act’s express
purpose of accommodating the legitimate interests of
employers and encouraging employers to adopt more
generous leave plans. There is probably no better illustra-
tion of the lack of congruency between the purpose of the
Act and the practical result of the DOL’s regulations than
the outcome sought by Petitioner in this case, i.e. 12
weeks of unpaid FMLA leave stacked on top of 30 weeks
of unpaid leave provided by Respondent.

3 As one plaintiff argued, “ . . . the regulation carries an
implicit penalty awarding an employee an additional day of
FMLA leave for each day the employer is late in making the
designation (hence the 37 days of additional leave claimed by
Daley).” Daley v. Wellpoint Health Networks, Inc., et al., 146
F.Supp.2d 92, 99 (D. Mass. 2001).

12

As stated by the Eighth Circuit, the obvious purpose
of counting paid leave - as expressly contemplated by
Congress - as part of the employee’s 12 weeks is to ensure
that neither an employee nor an employer will be disad-
vantaged by the existence of the FMLA. Ragsdale, 218 F.3d
at 938. The statutory provision, as the Eighth Circuit fur-
ther noted, protects the employer when an employee
requests FMLA leave by not requiring the employer to
provide paid leave on top of the 12 weeks of FMLA leave.
Id. Moreover, this substitution provision further illustrates
Congress’ intent to not require employers to stack FMLA
leave on top of the employer-provided leave. However, the
DOL improperly seized upon the designation provision as
the thin reed on which to impose a wildly disproportio-
nate penalty in those cases where the employer fails to
notify the employee that employer leave, whether paid or
unpaid, and FMLA leave run concurrently. Thus, the regu-
lations are inconsistent with and manifestly contrary to the
Act and its stated purposes. They should be declared
invalid under Chevron.

Il. The Disproportionate, Stacking Penalty Which
Requires an Employer to Provide Both Company
Designed Leave and FMLA Leave Is Contrary to
Congressional Intent and Is Not Necessary to
Implement the Act.

A. Imposing a disproportionate stacking of leave
penalty on employers who already provide
paid or unpaid medical, family and maternity
leave is contrary to Congressional intent.

Not only is the stacking penalty contrary to express
statutory language carefully crafted after much study and

— ~~

13

debate by Congress, the stacking of FMLA leave onto
employer-provided leave is contrary to Congressional
intent. The legislative history abundantly demonstrates
that (a) Congress wanted to applaud, rather than penalize
employers who voluntarily provide leave for FMLA pur-
poses; (b) Congress was persuaded that on balance the
12-week allotment was appropriate given the need to
adjust work schedules or hire temporary replacements
and thus provided for substitution of company paid leave
for FMLA unpaid leave as an option; and (c) Congress
wanted to encourage — not discourage or penalize -
employers to adopt more generous leave policies than
provided by the FMLA. The stacking penalty is contrary
to each of these Congressional purposes.

Congress, in 1993, determined that some private
employers were not providing sufficient leave of absence
from work for medical, maternity or parental assistance
reasons, thus in some cases, forcing employees to choose
between families and work or to lose their jobs due to an
inability to work because of health conditions. Cited
studies found that only 37% of workers in private busi-
ness were covered by “maternity” leave and only 18%
were covered by unpaid “paternity” leave. Other studies
found that 30% to 40% of businesses did not offer job
guaranteed sick leave. S. Rep. No. 103-3, at 15 (1993),
reprinted in 1993 U.S.C.C.A.N., Vol. 2 at 17 (“Senate
Report”). This Senate Report concluded:

These studies, taken together, indicate that
while many employers are providing family and
medical leaves to their employees, a significant
percentage of employers of all sizes have yet to
adopt such policies.

14

Id. President Clinton, in his signing statement, id. at
54-55, observed that “although many enlightened com-
panies have recognized the benefits to be realized from a
system providing for family and medical leave, not all
do. . . . We must extend the success of those forward-
looking workplaces where high performance teamwork
has already begun to take root and where family and
medical leave already is accepted.”

Second, as noted above, employers who provided
paid leave under existing benefit plans were permitted by
Congress in 29 U.S.C. § 2612(d)(1) and (2) to take credit
for those existing leave provisions. But the maximum of
12 weeks remained in place: “When an employer has
required or an employee has elected to substitute for
unpaid leave appropriate paid leave of less than 12 weeks
duration, the employer need only provide an additional
period of unpaid leave so that the total of paid and unpaid
leave provided equals 12 weeks.” Senate Report at 29
(emphasis added); HR Rep. No. 102-135, at 41 (1991)
(same).

The 12-week maximum and minimum was carefully
selected after years of study and debate. For a number of
years, mandated leave had been the subject of consider-
able debate. In 1991, proposed identical FMLA legislation
was not passed but the House Report (HR Rep. No.
102-135) reflected extensive debate concerning the appro-
priate amount of leave. Also, it was concluded that
employers were to be accommodated, particularly those
who furnished leave under their existing voluntary plans.
The House Report provided:

15

The amount of time available for leave also
reflects a compromise. The leave period was
reduced to 12 weeks in response to concerns
raised by employers who maintained that it was
significantly easier to adjust work schedules or
find temporary replacements over the shorter
time period. While not ideal from the
employees’ perspective, a twelve week mini-
mum represents a middle ground between the
family needs of workers and an employer's
business needs. Employers are, of course, free to
and are encouraged to provide longer leaves.

H.R. Rep. No. 102-135, at 37 (1991). Like the Act which
was finally passed in 1993, the 1991 bill permitted the
employer to substitute certain paid leaves for mandated
unpaid leave. Accordingly, an employer may require the
employee to take paid vacation or paid personal leave for
any part of the leave required under the Act. Id. at 41.
Congress only cautioned that an employer may not trade
shorter periods of paid leave for the longer periods of
unpaid leave prescribed by the Act. Id. at 42. The 1991
Report concluded: “Section 102(d) assures that an
employee is entitled to the benefits of applicable paid
leave, plus any remaining leave time made available by the
Act, on an unpaid basis.” Id. (Emphasis added). Indeed,
the DOL’s final regulations provide: “An eligible
employee’s FMLA leave entitlement is limited to a total of
12 workweeks of leave during any 12 month period for
any one, or more, of the following reasons... . ”
§ 825.200(a) (emphasis added).

The stacking penalty in case of a failure to notify and
designate runs contrary to this carefully designed
approach to leave. The disproportionate stacking penalty

16

exclusively penalizes those “enlightened” and “forward-
looking” employers who voluntarily provided leave, par-
ticularly paid leave in substantial amounts, in addition to
FMLA leave. Accordingly, since the disproportionate
stacking penalty in § 825.208(c) and § 825.700(a) falls
exclusively on those employers already providing paid or
unpaid leave, it is clearly contrary to Congressional

intent.

Not only did Congress provide for a “total” of 12
weeks of leave because of scheduling difficulties which
might otherwise arise and accommodate “enlightened”
employers by allowing substitution of employer-pro-
vided leave for mandated leave, Congress expressly
wanted to encourage employers to provide even greater
benefits than those contemplated by the Act. 29 U.S.C.
§ 2653 provides:

Nothing in this Act or in any amendment made
by this Act shall be construed to discourage
employers from adopting or retaining leave pol-
icies more generous than any policies that com-
ply with requirements under this Act or any
amendment made by this Act.

The Society for Human Resource Management respect-
fully submits that nothing discourages employers more
from adopting more generous leave policies than the
conflicting and confusing regulations of the DOL and
their arbitrary, disproportionate stacking penalty for a
“failure to notify” when that failure does not adversely
affect an employee's receipt of statutory rights, as shown
by the facts here.

17

B. The disproportionate stacking of FMLA leave
on employer-provided paid or unpaid leave is
not necessary to effectuate the Act.

As noted, 29 U.S.C. § 2654 authorizes the Secretary of
Labor to develop regulations “as are necessary to carry
out” the Act. The stacking penalty is not only contrary to
the Act and legislative intent, it is not necessary to “carry
out” the Act. This is particularly true in the case of
unpaid leave which is at issue in this case.

The interim final regulations published on June 4,
1993 (58 Fed. Reg. 31794) focused only on the election by
the employer to substitute paid leave for FMLA leave.
The interim final version of § 825.208(c) did not impose a
stacking penalty in the event the employer failed, or was
tardy, in designating that the FMLA leave was to run
concurrently with employer furnished paid leave. In addi-
tion, the interim final regulations, as do the final regula-
tions, provided for a retroactive counting of leave as
FMLA leave in the situation where an employer seeks to
designate leave as FMLA leave after the leave has begun.
See § 825.208(d). Further, in the final regulations,
employers may designate leave as FMLA leave retroac-
tively even after the employee has returned to work in
two situations: (1) where the employer did not learn the
reason for the absence until the employee’s return or (2)
where the employer knew the reason for the leave but
was not able to confirm that the leave qualifies under the
FMLA (e.g., the requested medical certification had not
been received by the employer). See § 825.208(e). As the
above provisions demonstrate, “retroactivity” is not con-
trary to the intent and purposes of the Act, and final

18

§ 825.208(c)’s prohibition on retroactivity when substitu-
tion of paid leave occurs is not necessary to ensure that
employees receive their FMLA benefits.

This stacking penalty in § 825.208(c) and § 825.700(a)
cannot be justified by citing an alleged need to notify
employees of their rights and obligations under the Act.
Congress provided for notice in a number of instances.
See 29 U.S.C. § 2619 (requiring employers to post notices
prepared or approved by the DOL summarizing the perti-
nent provisions of the law); 29 U.S.C..§ 2612(e)(1) (notice
obligation of employees to employers); 29 U.S.C.
§ 2614(b)(1)(A)-(B) (notice to key employees concerning
lack of reinstatement rights). In addition, the DOL in the
other regulations has imposed additional notice provi-
sions on the employer. See § 825.301(a)(1) (information
concerning FMLA entitlements and employee obligations
must be included in employee handbook or other docu-
ment) and § 825.301(a)(2) (providing written guidelines to
employees concerning the employees’ rights and obliga-
tions under the FMLA if an employer does not generally
publish written policies, manuals and handbooks).

Indeed, the DOL, in explaining the regulations at
issue, did not justify the stacking penalty as necessary to
compel employers to provide information on the FMLA.
Rather, the comments which accompanied the final regu-
lation and which were published in the Federal Register
on January 6, 1995 (60 Fed. Reg. 2180) reflect an entirely
different focus on the part of the DOL. A review of the
justification demonstrates it is contrary to the intent of
Congress. At that time, the DOL, in referring to the final
version of § 825.208, which first contained the stacking

19

penalty and prohibition on retroactive designation,
stated:

This section was intended to resolve the ques-
tion of FMLA designation as early as possible in
the leave request process, to eliminate pro-
tracted “after the fact” disputes. . . . Because of
the possible “stacking” of unpaid FMLA leave
entitlements in addition to an employer’s pre-
existing leave plan, it appears that some
employers that wished to mitigate their expo-
sure to extended leaves by employees have been
motivated by the provisions in the Interim Final
Rule to try to determine and count all possible
FMLA-qualifying absences as FMLA leaves (by
whatever means, including through overly-
intrusive inquiries of employees when they
request to use their accrued -paid leave)... .
[Discussion of various comments deleted.] After
careful consideration of the many comments
and objections received on this section, the
Department has revised the regulation along the
following lines. . . . If the employer has the
requisite knowledge to determine that a leave is
for an FMLA reason at the time the employee
either gives notice of the need for leave or it
commences, and the employer does not notify
the employee as required at that time that the
leave is being designated as FMLA leave, the
employer may not then designate the leave as
FMLA leave retroactively; it may designate only
prospectively, as of the date of notification to
the employee of the designation... .

60 Fed. Reg. at 2207-2208.4

* In their briefs below and before this Court, counsel for
Petitioner and Amicus in support of Petitioner assert various

20

In short, in the regulations at issue, the DOL, and
some commentators, were attempting to second guess the
provision for substitution of paid leave for FMLA leave
(and concurrent running of leave periods) which Con-
gress expressly intended. Certainly, it is not contrary to
Congressional intent or the purpose of the FMLA for
employers to be concerned about “extended leaves by
employees” over the “total” of 12 weeks contemplated by
the FMLA.

Accordingly, the requirement that FMLA leave be
stacked on top of employer-provided paid or unpaid
leave is indeed a “disproportionate penalty” as the
Eighth Circuit held, and is not necessary to carry out or
implement the Act.

rationale for imposing the stacking penalty. Such “post hoc
rationalizations” by appellate counsel must be rejected. See
N.L.R.B. v. Metro. Life Ins. Co., 380 U.S. 438, 444 (1965) (“for
reviewing courts to substitute counsel’s rationale or their
discretion for that of the Board is incompatible with the orderly
function of the process of judicial review”), citing Burlington
Truck Lines, Inc. v. United States, 371 U.S. 156, 168 (1962) (“courts
may not accept appellate counsel’s post hoc rationalizations for
agency action”). This seems particularly true where different
sections of the same regulations point in different directions;
some regulations providing for retroactivity while others
prohibit retroactivity; some regulations impose a stacking
penalty, others only prohibit an employer from taking adverse
action against an employee and denying their statutory rights
by failing to provide notice.

21

C. The Act and other regulations protect both
employees and employers and provide an appro-
priate remedy to protect employee FMLA rights.

1. Unpaid Leave

Congress provided for a total of 12 weeks of leave,
job protection upon return from such leave, and sufficient
notice of those rights to employees. 29 U.S.C. § 2619(a)
requires an employer to post a notice to employees: “Each
employer shall post and keep posted . . . a notice, to be
prepared and approved by the Secretary, setting forth
excerpts from, or summaries of, the pertinent provisions
of this subchapter and information pertaining to the fil-
ing of a charge.” Section 2619(b) provides the penalty for
failure to post: “Any employer that willfully violates this
section may be assessed a civil money penalty not to
exceed $100 for each separate offense.” The final regula-
tions in Appendix C set forth the notice to employees
which is entitled “Your Rights Under the Family and
Medical Leave Act of 1993.” This notice unequivocally
advises employees of their FMLA leave rights:

FMLA requires covered employers to provide
up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to
“eligible” employees for certain family and
medica] reasons.

The kinds of leave protected by the FMLA are then speci-
fied.

No further notice to employees is required with
respect to their FMLA leave rights and unpaid leave. This
notice sufficiently advises employees of their “total” of 12
weeks of unpaid leave annually and places a duty upon
them to inquire further if there is any doubt concerning

22

their leave entitlements or the duration of their leave. In
Nolan, 2000 WL 378235 at * 7, the court, after an extensive
analysis of the cases and the requirements of the FMLA,
observed:

The burden of communications does not rest on
the employer alone. There is no reason why
employees should not be required to understand
the extent of their guaranteed leave. There is a
clear basis in the statute for requiring employees
to confer with employers about their anticipated
absences. See 29 U.S.C. § 2612(e). Employees
have a duty to notify employers of foreseeable
births or planned medical treatments. Id. Absent
some extraordinary medical obstacle, not
alleged here, there is no reason why employers
and employees cannot at the time of notice or
within a few days thereafter determine when
available leave shall be exhausted. This contem-
plates responsibility by employees, if they are
interested in securing their jobs, and by
employers. But as the statute plainly reflects,
employees are in a better position to anticipate
the amount of time off they will need, and they
are more motivated to insure that their job will
be protected while they are away.°

Certainly the notice of “up to 12 weeks of unpaid”
leave is clear on its face. No further notice is required in
the case of unpaid leave, as Congress recognized by its
silence.

5 The DOL’s regulations provide for resolution of disputes
or questions “through discussions between the employee and
the employer.” § 825.208(b)(1).

23

2. Employer-Provided Paid Leave Substitution

In the case of employer-provided paid leave and the
“substitution” (or “concurrent running”) which Congress
specifically addressed, the burden remains with the
employee, for the reasons cited above, to inquire concern-
ing the impact of paid leave policies. As Congress recog-
nized, the employee may elect to use paid leave, if
available. The mandated notice reflects this as well: “At
the employee’s or employer’s option, certain kinds of
paid leave may be substituted for unpaid leave.” Clearly,
the employee is on notice and must inquire about substi-
tution of leave and the impact this has on the “total” of 12
weeks.

In many instances, in the paid leave situations, in fact
there is no need for an “election” or designation by the
employer at the time leave is requested, as contemplated
and required by § 825.208(c). First, as noted, there is the
situation where the employee elects to substitute accrued
paid vacation, personal or medical/sick leave in order to
receive the wages during the absence. Second, given the
notice prepared by the DOL and posted, the employee
will — or should — at least inquire in such cases as to paid
leave and FMLA ieave rights. In any event, it is difficult
to believe an employee will not ask a rather straightfor-
ward simple question at or near the start of leave: when
does my leave end and when must I be back at work to
preserve my job?

The real issue with respect to “substitution” or “des-
ignation” occurs with respect to paid vacation or paid
personal leaves which also may be substituted at either

24

the employee’s or the employer’s option for any qualify-
ing FMLA unpaid leave. § 825.207(e). If neither the
employee nor the employer elects to substitute paid leave
for unpaid leave under the above conditions and circum-
stances, the employee will receive an unpaid leave and
will remain entitled to all the paid vacation or personal
paid leave which is earned or accrued under the terms of
the employer’s plan. Thus, the narrow circumstances
under which an employer designation or substitution is
required suggests again the disproportionate nature of
the penalty imposed by the DOL by the burdensome
notice provisions placed upon the employer in
§ 825.208(c).

Even in those instances of paid leave substitution
where confusion may arise (e.g., paid vacation time or
paid personal leaves), specific designation “within two
business days” of notice of the qualifying nature of the
leave should not be required if the employer through
distribution of written materials, handbooks or benefit
description advised the employee of the employer's prac-
tice to require substitution in those cases. See
§ 825.301(a)(1) and (2). Even where such information has
not been provided prior to the leave request, there is no
cause shown for the prohibition on “retroactive” designa-
tion which is permissible in other situations under the
regulations.®

6 To the extent that § 825.301(b)(1) requires specific notice
of this designation, it is contrary to the purposes of the Act
particularly if previously provided by the employer in another
form and by the DOL’s approved poster.

25

3. Congress Provided a Detailed, Carefully
Crafted Remedy.

Although not the case below, if the employer has not
provided such information concerning substitution of
paid leaves, or fails to designate and the employee loses
statutory rights in reliance thereon, the employee has
recourse for failure to notify in the case of detrimental
reliance and loss of statutory rights. As the Eighth Circuit
recognized, there can be cases where an employee relies
upon statements made by the employer or relies upon the
silence resulting from the employer’s failure to make the
substitution election. However, the “disproportionate”
stacking is not the answer. Rather, the statute provides a
detailed remedy if the employee has been damaged by
the denial of 12 weeks of unpaid leave or reinstatement at
the end of the 12 week period. See 29 U.S.C. § 2615(a)(1)
and 2617(a). The enforcement provisions in 29 U.S.C.
§ 2617 and its detailed, carefully tailored exclusive dam-
age and relief scheme expressly provide the remedy for
the “interference with rights” described in § 2615(a).
Indeed, as the Eighth Circuit observed, failure to give
proper notice - where required in certain situations -
“may function to interfere with or to deny an employee's
substantive FMLA rights.” 218 F.3d at 939. But Congress,
while conferring a right in such cases, also provided a
comprehensive and carefully crafted remedy which the
DOL simply ignores and substitutes a disproportionate
one.”

? The Solicitor attempts to draw a parallel between the
definition of FMLA “prohibited” acts in 29 U.S.C. § 2615(a)(1)
(“it shall be unlawful for any employer to interfere with,

26

Thus, any failure of the employer to provide suffi-
cient notice to the employees concerning their rights to
paid leave should be dealt with under 29 U.S.C. § 2617
and pursuant to traditional concepts of law. See Covey v.
Methodist Hosp. of Dyersburg, Inc., 56 F.Supp.2d 965, 968
(W.D. Tenn. 1999) (“In order to succeed on a failure to
inform claim, the plaintiff must show (1) that the defen-
dant failed to correctly inform her of her FMLA rights;

restrain or deny .. . any right provided under this subchapter”)
and a similar definition of unfair labor practice in the National
Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(1) (it shall be an unfair
labor practice for an employer “to interfere with, restrain or
coerce employees in the exercise” of their Section 7 rights).
While the NLRB may have wide discretion in interpreting and
applying that phrase to employer conduct or misconduct, it
does so in the context of adjudicating unfair labor practices
under 29 U.S.C. § 160(a)-(c). Under FMLA that task was left to
the courts by 29 U.S.C. § 2617. Next, the NLRB has not
attempted to define what constitutes “interference with” or
“restrain” or “coercion” by regulations. And even where the
NLRB enters certain remedial orders pursuant to and following
unfair labor practice adjudications, its powers can only be
exercised consistent with the statute. See, e.g., H.K. Porter Co.,
Inc. v. N.L.R.B., 397 U.S. 99, 108-109 (1970) (Board exceeded
powers conferred by statute in ordering employer to implement
a particular form of collective bargaining agreement: “The
Board’s remedial powers under § 10 of the Act are broad, but
they are limited to carrying out the policies of the Act itself.”);
American Ship Building Co. v. N.L.R.B., 380 U.S. 300, 307-311
(1965) (Board erred in concluding lock out in response to
whipsaw strike constituted illegal interference, restraint or
coercion under the Act, 380 U.S. at 318, because “ . . . the role
assumed by the Board in this area is fundamentally inconsistent
with the structure of the Act and the functions of the section
relied upon . . .” and constitutes an improper “assumption by
an agency of major policy decisions properly made by
Congress.”).

27

’

and (2) that failure caused her to forfeit protections pro-
vided by the Act.”); Jeremy v. Northwest Ohio Dev. Ctr., 33
FSupp.2d 635, 639 (N.D. Ohio 1999), aff'd, 210 F.3d 372
(6th Cir. 2000) (“Assuming that defendant did not pro-
vide adequate notice, plaintiff still fails to allege that this
resulted in either forfeiture of FMLA protections or
adverse consequences”); Lacoparra v. Pergament Home
Ctrs., Inc., 982 F.Supp. 213, 220-22 (S.D. N.Y._ 1997)
(employee alleges that employer provided insufficient
notice of her rights and responsibilities under the FMLA
as required by 29 C.F.R. § 825.301(a)(1) but court found
no benefits under the FMLA were denied); see also, Blan-
kenship v. Buchanan Gen. Hosp., 999 F.Supp. 832 (W.D. Va.
1998) (discussing adequacy of notice in handbook and
equitable estoppel claim).

Respondent's failure to designate in this case did not
cause Petitioner to forfeit any protections under the
FMLA. Petitioner’s series of hypothetical examples of
“options” allegedly lost due to lack of information are not
supported factually, rely on inaccurate interpretations of
the Act and regulations, ignore the notice Petitioner did
receive from Respondent and demonstrate the practical
difficulty — if not impossibility - facing employers as a
result of the DOL’s schemes. Even if Respondent had
notified Petitioner on the first day of her leave that her
FMLA leave and employer-provided leave ran concur-
rently, she could not have returned to work at the end of
12 weeks and would not have had any federally-pro-
tected job rights during the remaining weeks of her leave.

+

28

CONCLUSION

Petitioner received her unpaid leave entitlement of 12
weeks under the FMLA. There is simply no question
about this. An additional grant of 30 weeks as a result of
the disproportionate stacking penalty would clearly be
contrary to Congressional intent. No election or designa-
tion was even contemplated by Congress in the case of
unpaid leaves.

The stacking penalty imposed on employers when
they fail to designate existing medical, sick, maternity or
parental care paid leave - or even unpaid leave - as
FMLA leave is not necessary to implement the Act.
Indeed, it is contrary to the Act and to legislative intent.
Congress clearly intended that employer-provided paid
leaves - if the employee or employer elected - could run
concurrently with FMLA leave and FMLA leave would
not be stacked on top of employer-provided leave. Con-
gress wished to encourage - not penalize - employers
who provided greater leave than the FMLA.

No categorical disproportionate penalty should
attach to an employer's failure to exercise its substitution
option in a specific manner. The paid leave substitution
option can be communicated in many ways - even by
information distributed in advance or in handbooks, in
plan booklets or other written literature. Where no infor-
mation bas been posted or previously provided, the “des-
ignation” of the paid leave as FMLA leave at some point
may be required. However, retroactive designation does
not run counter to the statute, as other regulations amply
demonstrate.

29

If an interference with FMLA rights actually occurs,
an employee may seek to utilize the Act’s detailed, care-
fully crafted remedy. Utilizing the statutory remedy and
traditional concepts of law, lower courts have struck a
balance between employer rights expressly preserved by
Congress and any loss of employee rights of “up to a total
of twelve workweeks”of leave and reinstatement. This
Court should follow suit. The DOL’s disproportionate,
categorical stacking penalty is contrary to the Act and
Congressional intent and is not required to carry out the
Act.

Respectfully submitted,

Jack WurTacre*

M. Brett FULKERSON

Sue K. WittMAN

SpeNceR Fane Britt & Browne LLP
1000 Walnut, Suite 1400

Kansas City, MO 64106

(816) 474-8100

"Counsel of Record
October 2001

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0476%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
