# Respondents Brief — Ragsdale v. Wolverine World Wide, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0476%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 535 U.S. 81

## Text

— “our, US.

FILED

NOV 2 200)
No. 00-6029 } i

irk«
In The Ei i
Supreme Court of the United States

+

TRACY RAGSDALE, et al.,

Petitioners,
VS.

WOLVERINE WORLD WIDE, INC.,
Respondent.

SJ

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit

¢

BRIEF ON THE MERITS FOR RESPONDENT

¢

RicHarp D. BENNETT

Counsel of Record

JAMes Francis BARNA

WEINTRAUB, STOCK, BENNETT &
GrisHaM, P.C.

1715 Aaron Brenner Drive, Suite 512

Memphis, Tennessee 38120

(901) 526-0431

Attorneys for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6464
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-283)

QUESTION PRESENTED

The Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA or
Act) requires covered employers to provide eligible
employees with “a total of 12 workweeks of leave during
any. 12-month period” for specified reasons, 29 U.S.C.
§ 2612(a)(1), including leave needed “[b]Jecause of a
serious health condition that makes the employee unable
to perform the functions of the position of such
employee,” 29 U.S.C. § 2612(a)(1)(D). The FMLA directs
the Secretary of Labor to “prescribe such regulations as
are necessary to carry out” the Act’s substantive provi-
sions. 29 U.S.C. § 2654. The question presented is as
follows:

Whether the Secretary has acted permissibly in pro-
viding by regulation that (with certain exceptions)
employer-provided leave does not count against the Act’s
12-week entitlement until the employer notifies the
employee of its designation as FMLA leave.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Respondent Wolverine World Wide, Inc., has no par-

ent companies, subsidiaries, or affiliates to list pursuant
to Rule 29(6).

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED. ..............0cscseeeeese i
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT .......... ii
nas ceccccesecceccccscecceces iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...............cceeeeeeee vi
ei ciceeccccececccccccccccccccs: 1
EES SEE EEE OETET TTT ELT LTTE TEES 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE...............0000005 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..................504. 3
EEE SELES SEES OCPPET TTT ETT TTY 7

I. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S
EMPLOYER NOTICE REGULATIONS AT
ISSUE ARE AN IMPERMISSIBLE INTER-
PRETATION OF THE FMLA SINCE THE
PURPOSE AND INTENT OF THE FMLA IS
TO PROVIDE ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES WITH
A TOTAL OF 12 WEEKS OF LEAVE FOR
COVERED FAMILY AND MEDICAL NEEDS,
AND THE EMPLOYER NOTICE REGULA-
TIONS CONFLICT WITH THAT PURPOSE
TO THE EXTENT THAT THEY WOULD
REQUIRE AN EMPLOYER TO PROVIDE
MORE THAN 12 WEEKS OF LEAVE....... 7

A. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S
EMPLOYER NOTICE REGULATIONS
CONFLICT WITH THE EXPRESSED
INTENT AND PROTECTIONS OF THE
PURE SE SRG ESS cocehecccccceccécccece 9

II.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

B. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S

EMPLOYER NOTICE REGULATIONS
AT ISSUE DISCOURAGE EMPLOYERS
FROM ADOPTING OR RETAINING
LEAVE POLICIES MORE GENEROUS
THAN THOSE REQUIRED BY THE
PUNE n ccxcescecssocaseousedssesouncecs

THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S
EMPLOYER NOTICE REGULATIONS
SHOULD NOT BE GIVEN ANY DEFER-
ENCE SINCE THEY ARE CONTRARY TO
THE CLEAR INTENT OF CONGRESS AND
ARE ARBITRARY, CAPRICIOUS AND
MANIFESTLY CONTRARY TO THE STAT-

A. SINCE THE INTENT OF CONGRESS IS

CLEAR, THE COURT MUST GIVE
EFFECT TO THE UNAMBIGUOUSLY
EXPRESSED INTENT OF CONGRESS,
THAT LEAVE UNDER THE FMLA BE
LIMITED TO A TOTAL OF 12 WEEKS ..

EVEN IF THE COURT FINDS THAT
THE FMLA IS SOMEWHAT AMBIG-
UOUS AND THAT CONGRESS LEFT A
GAP FOR THE REGULATIONS TO FILL,
THEY MUST STILL BE HELD INVALID
AS THEY ARE AN IMPERMISSIBLE
CONSTRUCTION OF THE STATUTE...

THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S
EMPLOYER NOTICE REGULATIONS
ARE NOT SUPPORTED BY THE
NOTICE PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN
FRE CUES cv edetviciccccutesecte cesses

13

17

17

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Il. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR APPEARS TO

IV.

HAVE EXCEEDED ITS RULEMAKING
AUTHORITY IN ITS PROMULGATION OF THE
PROPHYLACTIC EMPLOYER NOTICE REGU-
LATIONS GIVEN THAT CONGRESS ONLY
GRANTED IT GENERAL RULEMAKING
AUTHORITY IN THE FMLA.........-------:

REGARDLESS OF THE VALIDITY OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S EMPLOYER
NOTICE REGULATIONS, WOLVERINE’S
FAILURE TO DESIGNATE PETITIONER'S 30-
WEEK LEAVE AS FMLA LEAVE DID NOT
OTHERWISE INTERFERE WITH OR
RESTRAIN PETITIONER’S EXERCISE OF
HER FMLA RIGHTS.........---- 0005+ +00055

CONCLUSION ....... cece cece cece cere eeeeeeeeees
APPENDIX A- Pertinent Statutes and Regulations. . App. 1

32

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Carter v. Ford Motor Company, 121 F.3d 1146 (8th
Eee GE naccdacccsdagcabebiscendandetecsonctecss 29
Cass v. United States, 417 U.S. 72 (1974)............. 21
Chevron v. National Resources Defense Council, 467
ee Ge GD dc edsdccesdecnuccesccese 5, 17, 18, 25
Consumer Products Safety Commission v. GTE Syl-
es ey eg . uubedeoewe 17
Christensen v. Harris Co., 529 U.S. 576 (2000) ........ 24
Davis v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury, 489 U.S. 803
SU os vn ancustocdoowncscebesessoendsnéeuecin css 18
Dodgens v. Kent Mfg. Co., 955 F. Supp. 560 (D. S.C.
DE MD WENT povdconecdedlbenhassédncdstscocecces 13
Donnellan v. New York City Transit Authority, No. 98
Civ. 1096 (BSJ), 1999 WL 527901, 5 Wage & Hour
Cas.2d (BNA) 942 (S.D.NLY. Jul. 22, 1999) ........ 12, 39
Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185 (1976)...... 17

Food and Drug Administration v. Brown & Wil-
liamson Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120 (2000)
Ss coceeeneseseeneds ccsékdesbasebectabeecs 17, 18, 24, 26

Fulham v. HSBC Bank USA, 2001 WL 1029051,
7 Wage & Hour Cas.2d (BNA) 474 (S.D.N.Y.

Ue Gp BE 6d Cbs nc dnddcvnbedevdkvcnamsctevcnas 12
Garcia v. United States, 469 U.S. 70 (1984) ........... 17
Gemsco v. Walling, 324 U.S. 244 (1945)............ 35, 37
Haggard v. Farmers Ins. Exch., 1996 WL 146048 (D.

5 EER, Gab PO dctnccsndcccnsbebhlcnt bees cicdu 13

vii
—_—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Hensley v. Baptist Hosp., 1997 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
22515 (E.D. Tenn. Oct. 27, 1997) ........---eeeeeee 12
INS v. Aguirre-Aguirre, 526 U.S. 415 (1999) .......... 25
Kur v. Fox Valley Press, Inc., 1997 WL 89140 (N.D.
BD, Fe, BR, Bee icc cccccccccccccccccsccvcccccveces 13
Lacoparra v. Permanent Home Centers, 982 F. Supp.
213 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 10, 1997). ...... 6... cece eee e eens 12
McGregor v. AutoZone, Inc., 180 F.3d 1305 (11th Cir.
RS rrrrrerTy TTreTTTIT TTT TT Ltt Tht. 2
Mourning v. Family Publications Serv., 411 U.S. 356
PPP TTTTTTToT TTT ITT TT TTL 33, 34, 35
N.L.R.B. v. Kentucky River Community Care, Inc.,
121 S. Ct. 1861 (2001) .......... cece creer ee eeeens 26
Ragsdale v. Wolverine Worldwide, Inc., 218 F.3d 933
(Bthe Cie. BOOB). oF... cccccccccccceveees 9, 12, 16, 19
Santos v. Knitgoods Workers’ Union, Local 155, 252
F.3d 175 (2d Cir. 2001). ........-ccecee cece cece eeeee 9
Sarno v. Douglas Elliman-Gibbons & Ives, Inc., 183
F.3d 155 (2d Cir. 1999). .........c ec ceeeeeeeeeeeeee 39
Thorpe v. Housing Authority of City of Durham, 393
UB. BEB CIOS) oi ccccccccccscccccccesccvcccccene 35
TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153 (1978) ..... 6... eee eee ee ees 17
man v. Dilks, 2000 WL 1277917, 6 Wage & Hour
Cas.2d (BNA) 550 (E.D. Pa. Sept. 8, 2000)......... 12
United States v. American Trucking Associations, 310
UG. SBA (1DED) oo. ccc ccc ccc cccccccccccceceescees 21

United States v. Article of Drug . . . Bacto-Unidisk,
FOE US. TOA (IGG)... ccc cccccccccccccccvccccccees 24

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

United States v. Dickerson, 310 U.S. 554 (1940) ....... 21
United States v. Haggar Apparel Co., 526 U.S. 380

PID OP cece cteskdaccovccstnceenechdusebderesnend ves 17

United States v. Mead Corp., 121 S. Ct. 2164 (2001) .... 25
United States v. O'Hagan, 521 U.S. 642 (1997)

PCUSRDEN eS deere SeceEDessHecdened 6ésbece’ 33, 34, 36, 37
Whitman v. American Trucking Associations, Inc., 531
U.S. 457, 121 S. Ct. 903 (2001)......... 21, 26, 27, 28
STATUTES
St Ee UF MS vendcccescesudevéicecéecsecccckSects 36
Ser eee MP CU Vein vows dnecdudneteneesenceceenses 33, 36
I i a eae Fi 33, 36, 37
ee A EE Son ncccccncescconuvecesbacetoinnacda 34
Be lw BO es oc vcccnapccasdcepeseuntectsces passim
Sie Wy a a cc cbneidedccscccedndhbuadbdebeudec 9
DP Mee Ee MEE Che bcadbccoccdgcesndeseisinudesvanst 19
BP Ws CRM ren vid sec caceuscdembedsddeweans passim
Gy ne WN Shs ee 64 cn nvdnensace cp vesaccuversouane 29
BP Wes Mca venrcensactoks bidsccebitscsdons 14, 30
BP DEG Beh oe bcc vabiicvwsssat coccesvacveas 10, 30
BP es We Se 4 oh cccksbdsees dese s vide tubeedeceves 14
Ge SEY PII 96-0 oe bn bndc ce pi dseenddee ckbic cucde 13

SP MPa ST 6-6 0.4000 cbahestpeadddiaeces. 11, 27, 33

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
42 U.S.C. § WOOe!..... cc eciccccvccccvvccccccecveess 33
GB UGC. 6 POBB. nc ccccccccccccccccccvcescccvevevees 26
REGULATIONS
29 C.RR. © GOS.2O7 2... ccsccccccccvcccccvevevvveees 10
29 C.RR. © GASES ow. .rcccccccccvccees 3, 10, 11, 23, 40
29 C.RR. © GOS.SGL ... crc ccccsccccccccccvvevccsees 13
29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a).........--- eee es 3, 10, 11, 23, 40

OTHER AUTHORITIES

S. Rep. No. 103-3, at 28 (1993), reprinted in
es ccc eke eeees seeseesesoeees 21

103rd Cong. H381 (February 3, 1993) (statements
of Representative Clay on the Family and Medi-
OE BD Ge cccccccescccceovccensccccoscooosece 21

103rd Cong. H387 (February 3, 1993) (statements
of Representative Snowe on the Family and
Diatiaes Tae AGM, oo ccccsccccccccccccccccesesss 21

H.R. Rep. No. 135(1), at 37 (1991)........-eeee eens 22

Legislative Hearing on H.R. 1, The Family and
Medical Leave Act, Hearing of the Labor-Man-
agement Relations Subcommittee of the House
Education and Labor Committee, 103rd Cong.,
lst Sess., Fed. News Service, January 26, 1993,

i) ee eee eee eee eee eee eee eee 8
S. “vt No. 103-3, at 4 (1993), reprinted in 1993
i i TT . 6 cen eens bee ee tesccocescnosses 10

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Statements of Labor Secretary Robert Reich, Legis-
lative Hearing on H.R. 1, The Family and Medi-
cal Leave Act, Hearing of the Labor--
Management Relations Subcommittee of the
House Education and Labor Committee, 103rd

Cong., Ist Sess., Fed. News Service, 2
1993, p. 37 eoosagobens

Statements of Sen. Kennedy, The Family and Med-
ical Leave Act of 1993, Committee on Labor and
Human Resources, S. Rep. 103-3, 103rd Cong.,
Ist Sess., p. 5 (Jan. 27, 1993)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. This case arose out of a dispute between an
employee and her employer over the employee's leave
rights under the Family and Medical Leave Act (the
“FMLA”), 29 U.S.C. § 2601, et seq. The employee, Tracy
Ragsdale (“Petitioner” or “Ragsdale”), claims that her
employer Wolverine World Wide, Inc. (“Respondent” or
“Wolverine”), violated the FMLA when it refused to grant
Ragsdale additional medical leave under the FMLA after
she had exhausted her company provided 30 weeks
(seven months) of medical leave.

Petitioner Tracy Ragsdale began her employment
with Wolverine on March 17, 1995. On February 21, 1996,
before she had completed twelve months of service with
Wolverine, Ragsdale requested leave after her diagnosis
of cancer. Wolverine granted her request, and Ragsdale’s
leave commenced on that date. Wolverine’s leave policy
allowed employees with six months of service to take
unpaid leave for up to seven months (30 weeks). The
leave policy required employees on leave to submit
requests for extensions of leave every thirty days. Consis-
tent with that requirement, Ragsdale requested an exten-
sion of her leave on March 18, April 22, May 21, June 20,
July 22, and August 15 of 1996. Each request for extension
was granted by Wolverine. During the time she was on
leave, Wolverine maintained Ragsdale’s health insurance
benefits, and even exceeded the requirements of the
FMLA by paying Ragsdale’s portion of her insurance
premiums for six months. Wolverine also held Ragsdale’s
position open for her during the entire 30 weeks of
unpaid leave. (Joint App. 83-84).

Ragsdale was terminated on September 20, 1996,
because she had exhausted her 30 weeks of company
provided leave in full and was unable to return to work.
Wolverine never advised Ragsdale that it was designating
any of the 30 weeks leave as FMLA leave.! On September
26, 1996, Ragsdale returned to Wolverine and requested
an additional twelve (12) weeks of FMLA leave. She was
informed that she had requested and used all of her
available leave and, therefore, Wolverine declined her
request. Ragsdale’s physician released her to work in
December 1996 and she was able to resume full work
duties for another employer on December 31, 1996. (Joint
App. 83-84).

B. Upon cross motions for summary judgment, the
United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Arkansas granted Wolverine’s motion for summary judg-
ment and dismissed Petitioner’s claim that she was enti-
tled, pursuant to the FMLA, to an additional 12 weeks of
leave specifically designated as FMLA leave after having
exhausted her 30 weeks of company provided medical
leave. Subsequent to the Petitioner’s motion to alter or
amend, the District Court issued a second Order wherein
it adopted the Eleventh Circuit's holding in McGregor v.
AutoZone, Inc., 180 F.3d 1305 (11th Cir. 1999) (affirming
the district court’s decision in Cox v. AutoZone, Inc.),
which found that the DOL’s employer notice regulations,

' Wolverine never designated any of the leave as FMLA
leave because it determined, erroneously, according to the
District Court, that she was not an eligible employee since at the
time she commenced her leave Ragsdale had not been employed
by Defendant for twelve (12) months.

requiring employers to notify an employee that an
absence is being counted as FMLA leave before the
employer can count the leave against the employee's
twelve-week entitlement under the FMLA, invalid
because it converts the FMLA’s minimum of federally
mandated unpaid leave into an additional 12 weeks of
leave unless the employer specifically and prospectively
notifies the employee that she is using FMLA leave.

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the
District Court’s decision holding the DOL regulation at
29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a)? invalid insofar as it purports to
require an employer to provide more than twelve weeks
of leave. The Court of Appeals found that such a regula-
tion is not a permissible interpretation of the FMLA and
is not consistent with the purpose and intent of the
FMLA.

.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Petitioner Tracy Ragsdale took 30 weeks of
unpaid leave under Wolverine’s sick leave policy. During
Petitioner's 30-week leave, Wolverine maintained her

2 Wolverine had requested that the Eighth Circuit find the
DOL’s employer notice regulations at 29 C.F.R. §§ 825.208(c) and
825.700(a) invalid since both employer notice regulations are
basically the same, except that 29 C.F.R. § 825.208(c) covers paid

~ leave and 29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a) covers paid and unpaid leave.

The Court only ruled that 29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a) was invalid
without comment on whether 29 C.F.R. § 825.208(c) was invalid,
presumably because the employer provided leave at issue here
is unpaid.

health insurance benefits and paid her insurance pre-
miums for 26 weeks. Finally, Wolverine kept Petitioner’s
job open for her for the duration of the 30-week leave
period. On September 20, 1996 after the expiration of the
30 weeks, Petitioner was terminated pursuant to Wolver-
ine’s sick leave policy, since she was unable to return to
work due to her medical condition. Now, after having
permitted herself to receive 30 weeks of company pro-
vided medical leave, Petitioner contends that she is enti-
tled to an additional 12 weeks of leave, because
Wolverine failed to formally and specifically designate
her 30-week leave as FMLA leave. To impose such a
result on Wolverine would distort the FMLA beyond
anything envisioned by Congress.

A. The primary purpose behind the FMLA is to
provide eligible employees with a total of 12 workweeks
leave for covered family and medical needs. The FMLA
reflects a balancing between employees’ need to take
reasonable leave for medical reasons and the legitimate
interests of employers. The total of 12 workweeks leave
also represents a carefully crafted compromise by Con-
gress as to the total amount of leave available to
employees. To the extent the regulations at issue require
an employer to provide more than 12 workweeks of leave
within a 12 month period, such regulations conflict with
the expressed intent and purpose of the FMLA.

B. Contrary to the expressed provisions of the
FMLA, the DOL’s employer notice regulations discourage
employers from adopting or retaining leave policies more
generous than the requirements of the Act. Employers are
discouraged from adopting or retaining leave policies
more generous than the Act out of concern that they will

be required to provide an additional 12 workweeks of
leave, over and above the employer’s leave policy, unless
the employer specifically and prospectively designates
the leave as “FMLA leave.” The plain text of the statute
and the legislative debate both plainly reveal that the
FMLA leave provisions were not intended to burden
employers providing leave more generous than that con-
tained in the FMLA.

II. The DOL’s employer notice regulations are not
entitled to deference since they are contrary to the unam-
biguously expressed intent of Congress that leave under
the FMLA be limited to a total of 12 workweeks. Any
view of the FMLA, other than that the twelve weeks of
leave is both the minimum the employer must provide
and the maximum that the statute requires, will upset the
carefully crafted compromise reached by Congress when
it passed the FMLA. Therefore, the regulations are invalid
under step one of the Chevron test. Moreover, the regula-
tions are invalid under step two of the Chevron test, since
they are an impermissible construction of the Statute and
are “arbitrary, capricious, and manifestly contrary to the
statute.” To the extent that the DOL employer notice
regulations seek to fill a perceived gap in the Statute they
are broader than necessary to achieve their purpose, and
are punitive to those employers who have provided at
least 12 workweeks of leave.

A. Where the intent of Congress is unambiguous,
the Agency interpretation of the statute is not entitled to
deference. Here the intent of Congress is unambiguous;
eligible employees are entitled to federally protected
leave for a total of 12 workweeks. The DOL’s employer

notice regulations that require more than 12 workweeks
of leave are invalid and not entitled to deference.

B. Even if the statute is somewhat ambiguous and
left a gap for the DOL regulations to fill, the DOL’s
employer notice regulations are an impermissible con-
struction of the statute as they are arbitrary, capricious
and manifestly contrary to the statute. Following the
DOL’s employer notice regulations would render nuga-
tory the statute’s limitation to a total of 12 workweeks of
leave.

C. Where Congress wanted explicit notice provi-
sions, it provided for them in the statute. The DOL’s
employer notice regulations are not supported by the
notice regulations of the statute and change the balance
Congress explicitly struck between employers and
employees. Further, where Congress felt a penalty was
warranted for non-compliance, it provided for a mone-
tary penalty. The DOL’s penalty for non-compliance with
its employer notice regulations is grossly excessive and
directly contrary to the Statute’s primary purpose to limit
leave to a total of 12 workweeks.

III. The DOL appears to have exceeded the general
rulemaking authority granted it by the statute in its pro-
mulgation of the prophylactic employer notice regula-
tions.

IV. Even assuming the DOL’s employer notice regu-
lations are valid, Wolverine’s failure to designate any of
the Petitioner’s 30-week company provided leave speci-
fically as FMLA leave, did not otherwise interfere with or
restrain her exercise of her FMLA rights since she
received all the benefits provided for in the FMLA and

since she was unable to return to her position at the
conclusion of her leave period, and in fact was not able to
return to full duty until more than 10 months after she
commenced her leave.

S

ARGUMENT

I. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S EMPLOYER
NOTICE REGULATIONS AT ISSUE ARE AN
IMPERMISSIBLE INTERPRETATION OF THE
"MLA SINCE THE PURPOSE AND INTENT OF
THE FMLA IS TO PROVIDE ELIGIBLE
EMPLOYEES WITH A TOTAL OF 12 WEEKS OF
LEAVE FOR COVERED FAMILY AND MEDICAL
NEEDS, AND THE EMPLOYER NOTICE REGULA-
TIONS CONFLICT WITH THAT PURPOSE TO THE
EXTENT THAT THEY WOULD REQUIRE AN
EMPLOYER TO PROVIDE MORE THAN 12 WEEKS
OF LEAVE.

Through the FMLA Congress sought to establish a
uniform federal leave policy. The primary guarantee and
cornerstone of the FMLA is that all eligible employees
should be provided a total of 12 weeks of federally pro-
tected leave for covered family and medical reasons. It is
the provision of the 12 weeks of leave with which Con-
gress was most concerned. The 12 weeks of leave was a
carefully crafted compromise. Congress deliberately
selected 12 weeks because it could not get a majority of
its members to support a lesser leave period nor a longer
leave period. As explained by Representative Ford:

. . why 12 weeks and not a longer or shorter
time? We started out in the other committee that

I chaired, the Post Office and Civil Service Com-
mittee, with Mr. Clay and Ms. Schroeder and I
was pushing a bill that was 26 weeks. . . . But
over the years of dealing with this bill, one of
the things that people used to attack the bill
most often was how do you justify 26 weeks to
have a baby? How do you justify 26 weeks to
adopt a baby? How do you justify 26 weeks, and
we went from one kind of medical emergency to
another, and it became a central part of the
opposition to the concept of the legislation. And
over the years that number was compromised
down, and not because 12 weeks made any more
sense to the original sponsors of this legislation
than 26 — because we could get more people to
vote for 12 weeks than we could for 26, and
including members of this committee who
didn’t support the bill at the very beginning but
began to support the bill after we modified the
number of weeks involved.

(Legislative Hearing on H.R. 1, The Family and Medical
Leave Act, Hearing of the Labor-Management Relations
Subcommittee of the House Education and Labor Com-
mittee, 103rd Cong., 1st Sess., Fed. News Service, January
26, 1993, p. 27).

Because the Department of Labor's (“DOL”)
employer notice regulations at issue always require un-
wary employers to provide more than 12 weeks of leave
unless the employer specifically notifies the employee
prospectively that she is using FMLA leave, the DOL has
accomplished through regulation what the congressional
sponsors of the FMLA could not - leave in excess of 12
weeks. This is blatantly inconsistent with the purpose
and intent of the FMLA.

i in

A. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S EMPLOYER
NOTICE REGULATIONS CONFLICT WITH
THE EXPRESSED INTENT AND PROTEC-
TIONS OF THE ACT.

The terms of the statute contemplate only that the
employer will be required to provide a “total” of 12
weeks of unpaid leave. Entirely absent from the text of
the FMLA is any indication that the FMLA was designed
to entitle an employee to additional leave under the
FMLA when the employer's leave plan already provides
for twelve weeks of FMLA leave. Ragsdale v. Wolverine
Worldwide, Inc., 218 F.3d 933, 938 (8th Cir. 2000). See 29
U.S.C. § 2612(a)(1) (“employee shall be entitled to a total
of 12 workweeks of leave during any 12-month period”);
29 U.S.C. § 2612(d)(1) (“If an employer provides paid
leave for fewer than 12 workweeks, the additional weeks
of leave necessary to attain the 12 workweeks of leave
... may be provided without compensation”). Moreover,
the statute does not suggest that the 12-week entitlement
may be extended. See Santos v. Knitgoods Workers’ Union,
Local 155, 252 F.3d 175, 178 (2nd Cir. 2001) (noting that 29
U.S.C. § 2612(d)(2)(B) “does not create or supplement
employer benefits”).

In enacting the FMLA, Congress sought to accommo-
date the important societal interest in assisting families,
by establishing a minimum standard for leave. In the
FMLA Congress declared that the statute is designed to
“entitle employees to take reasonable leave for medical
reasons” and to “accomplish [this purpose] in a manner
that accommodates the legitimate interests of employers.”
29 U.S.C. §§ 2610(b)(2) & (3). The legislation is based on
the same principle as the child labor laws, the minimum

10

wage, Social Security, the safety and health laws, the
pension and welfare benefit laws, and other labor laws
that establish minimum standards for employment. See S.
Rep. No. 103-3, at 4 (1993), reprinted in 1993 U.S.C.C.A.N.
3, 6.

Although the Act already contained explicit
employer notice provisions, 29 U.S.C. § 2619, containing
monetary penalties for an employer's failure to post the
required notices, the DOL apparently felt that additional
employer notice provisions were necessary.? See 29 C.F.R.
§§ 825.208 and 825.700(a). The DOL promulgated these
employer notice regulations ostensibly to require the
employer to communicate with the employee regarding
FMLA leave. (DOL Brief at 4). Where the employer pro-
vides for paid medical or vacation leave in circumstances
that would also qualify for FMLA leave, DOL regulations
allow for the employee to elect, or for the employer to
require, any of the following: (1) that the FMLA leave be
taken before the non-FMLA leave is taken; (2) that the
non-FMLA leave be taken before the FMLA leave is
taken; or (3) that the non-FMLA leave and the FMLA
leave be taken concurrently. See 29 C.F.R. § 825.207. The
DOL regulations place the burden on the employer to
determine whether requested leave qualifies as FMLA
leave and to designate leave as FMLA-qualifying. See 29
C.F.R. § 825.208. Notably, “in all circumstances, it is the
employer's responsibility to designate leave, paid or

* The DOL's final regulations took effect on February 5,
ap sixteen days before Petitioner began her leave on February
1, 1996.

11

unpaid, as FMLA-qualifying, based on information pro-
vided by the employee,” 29 C.F.R. § 825.208(a)(2), and
“the employer must immediately notify the employee
that the paid leave is designated, and will be counted as
FMLA leave.” 29 C.F.R. § 825.208(b). If the employer fails
to designate the leave as FMLA leave, the employer may
not designate leave as FMLA leave retroactively, and may
only designate leave prospectively as of the day of noti-
fication to the employee of the designation. In such cir-
cumstances, the employee is subject to the full protection
of the Act, but none of the absence preceding the notice
to the employee of the designation may be counted
against the employee’s 12-week leave entitlement. 29
C.F.R. § 825.208(c). The DOL also applies the same princi-
ple to unpaid employer-provided leave, stating: “[i]f an
employee takes paid or unpaid leave and the employer
does not designate the leave as FMLA leave, the leave
taken does not count against an employee’s FMLA enti-
tlement.” 29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a).*

Even if the DOL enacted the employer notice regula-
tions pursuant to its statutorily given authority to “pre-
scribe such regulations as are necessary to carry out” the
provisions of the Act, 29 U.S.C. § 2654, these regulations
go beyond what is necessary to accomplish this purpose.
In spite of the statute’s explicit expression that eligible
employees are only entitled to a total of 12 weeks of

4 Although 29 C.F.R. § 825.208(c) deals with paid leave and
29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a) deals with paid and unpaid leave, the two
regulations are inextricably intertwined for purposes of
interpretation of the FMLA.

12

federally protected leave, following the above DOL-pro-
mulgated regulations will in all cases result in an
employee receiving greater than 12 weeks leave, unless
the employer specifically notifies the employee prospec-
tively that she is using her FMLA leave. Where the
employer has provided an employee all the rights con-
ferred on the employee by the FMLA, it should not be
found in violation of the FMLA. As the Eighth Circuit
properly held, “to find that Wolverine’s technical viola-
tion of the designation regulations functions as a denial
of Plaintiff’s FMLA rights would be an egregious eleva-
tion of form over substance; a result clearly not contem-
plated by the FMLA.” Ragsdale, 218 F.3d at 940. See
Fulham v. HSBC Bank USA, 2001 WL 1029051 at *4-7, 7
Wage & Hour Cas.2d (BNA) 474 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 6, 2001);
Twyman v. Dilks, 2000 WL 1277917, at *11-14, 6 Wage &
Hour Cas.2d (BNA) 550 (E.D. Pa. Sept. 8, 2000) (the
statute’s clearly expressed intent is to provide employees
with a minimum and a maximum of twelve weeks of
statutorily required leave, without interfering with an
employer’s decision to give more); Donnellan v. New York
City Transit Auth., No. 98 Civ. 1096 (BSJ), 1999 WL 527901
(S.D.N.Y. July 22, 1999) (plaintiff received seventeen
weeks of leave, which her employer never designated as
FMLA-qualified; the court stated that the “plaintiff was
denied nothing more than the labeling of her leave as
FMLA-qualified”); Hensley v. Baptist Hosp., 1997 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS 22515 (E.D. Tenn. Oct. 27, 1997) (defendant not in
violation of FMLA even though it failed to classify leave
as FMLA-qualifying where the employee was provided
all the leave, benefits and other protections contained in
the FMLA); Lacoparra v. Permanent Home Centers, 982

13

F. Supp. 213, 221 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 10, 1997) (employer’s
failure to notify plaintiff of the requirements of its FMLA
policy did not matter where plaintiff received six months
of unpaid leave, continuing insurance benefits and rein-
statement); Dodgens v. Kent Mfg. Co., 955 F. Supp. 560, 565
(D. S.C. Feb. 20, 1997) (employer’s failure to provide
notice required by 29 C.F.R. § 825.301 was not a violation
of the FMLA where the employee was not deprived of
any leave or benefits required by the statute; to do other-
wise “would be elevating form over substance”); Kur v.
Fox Valley Press, Inc., 1997 WL 89140 at *3-4 (N.D. Ill. Feb.
20, 1997) (dismissing employee's claim that she was enti-
tled to more than 12 weeks of leave without addressing
whether the employer had designated the 12 weeks taken
as FMLA leave); Haggard v. Farmers Ins. Exch., 1996 WL
146048 (D. Or. Mar. 25, 1996) (employer’s failure to pro-
vide notice that employee was using FMLA leave not a
violation where employee received 14 weeks of leave).

B. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S EMPLOYER
NOTICE REGULATIONS AT ISSUE DISCOUR-
AGE EMPLOYERS FROM ADOPTING OR
RETAINING LEAVE POLICIES MORE GEN-
EROUS THAN THOSE REQUIRED BY THE
FMLA.

Significantly, and as noted by the Eighth Circuit, the
FMLA states that “nothing in this Act or any amendment
made by this Act shall be construed to discourage
employers from adopting or retaining leave policies more
generous than any policies that comply with the require-
ments under this Act.” 29 U.S.C. § 2653(b). Although the
FMLA sets only a minimum entitlement to a period of up

14

to 12 weeks of unpaid leave, see 29 U.S.C. § 2612(c), the
Act does not “diminish the obligation of an employer to
comply with any collective bargaining agreement or any
employment benefit program or plan that provides
greater family or medical leave rights to employees than
the rights established under this Act... .” 29 U.S.C.
§ 2652(a). In addition, the Act establishes that the mini-
mum entitlement may not be reduced or bartered away
for other benefits. See 29 U.S.C. § 2652(b). Following such
leave, the employee is entitled to reinstatement to his or
her former position or an equivalent one. 29 U.S.C.
§ 2614(a). During his or her FMLA leave, the employee is
also entitled to remain eligible for certain employee bene-
fits, including enrollment in the employer’s group health
plan(s). 29 U.S.C. §§ 2612, 2614.

Just as employers are free to pay their employees
more than the minimum wage, employers under the
FMLA are free to adopt or retain leave provisions over
and above the requirements of the FMLA. After enact-
ment of the FMLA, Wolverine chose to retain its more
generous leave provisions. Just like the employer who
was already paying its employees the statutorily required
minimum wage, the new labor standard (FMLA) did not
require Wolverine to provide any additional leave bene-
fits since it already exceeded those mandated by the Act.

Indeed, the FMLA was not designed for employers,
like Wolverine, who have leave policies more generous
than the FMLA. It was designed for those employers
(those “unenlightened” companies as they were referred
to by Secretary Reich) who did not see the need in allow-
ing their employees time off for the birth or adoption of a
child or for serious health conditions. See Statements of

15

Labor Secretary Robert Reich, Legislative Hearing on
H.R. 1, The Family and Medical Leave Act, Hearing of the
Labor-Management Relations Subcommittee of the House
Education and Labor Committee, 103rd Cong., 1st Sess.,
Fed. News Service, January 25, 1993, p. 37 (“I did not
mean to imply . . . that this legislation will in any way
burden enlightened companies. Quite the contrary.
Enlightened companies are already doing it [providing
family and medical leave]. They will not be burdened at
all by something they’re already doing. This legislation
will simply help them in the sense that they may be
burdened right now by the fact that other companies
which are less responsible create a climate of distrust
among employees generally, which those enlightened
companies have a slightly harder time overcoming.”). See
also Statements of Sen. Kennedy, The Family and Medical
Leave Act of 1993, Committee on Labor and Human
Resources, S. Rep. 103-3, 103rd Cong., Ist Sess., p. 5 (Jan.
27, 1993) (“It is a minority of employers who act irrespon-
sibly. Even without minimum standards most employers
would pay a living wage, take steps to protect the health
and safety of their work force, and offer their employees
decent benefits. A central reason that labor standards are
necessary is to relieve the competitive pressure placed on
responsible employers by employers who act irresponsi-
bly. Federal labor standards take broad societal concerns
out of the competitive process so that conscientious
employers are not forced to compete with unscru »«lous
employers.”).

Thus, if an employer only provided its employ:»s
with four weeks of leave, the FMLA would provide an
additional eight. See 29 U.S.C. § 2612(d)(1). However, if

16

an employer provides leave equal to or more generous
than that in the FMLA, the enactment of the FMLA
bestowed no additional benefits on that employer’s
employees. Such is the case here. The enactment of the
FML.\ bestowed no benefit whatsoever on the employees
of Wolverine, since its leave policy was already more
generous than the statute.

Contrary to the expressed provisions of the FMLA,
the DOL’s employer notice regulations discourage
employers from adopting or retaining leave policies more
generous than the requirements of the Act. Employers are
discouraged from adopting or retaining leave policies
more generous than the Act out of concern that they will
be required to provide an additional 12 workweeks of
leave, over and above the employer's leave policy, unless
the employer specifically and prospectively designates
the leave as “FMLA leave.” To allow the Petitioner an
additional 12 weeks of leave would, in effect, convert the
FMLA from a statute which provides a baseline of 12
weeks federally mandated leave, into a statute which
mandates an additional 12 weeks of leave for all
employees, even for those employees who already have
published, collectively-bargained, well-known employer-
provided leave policies that grant benefits equal to or
more generous than those in the Act. As the Eighth
Circuit held, such an interpretation of the Act is glaringly
inconsistent with both the text and legislative intent of
the statute. Ragsdale, 218 F.3d at 940-41.

17

Il. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S EMPLOYER
NOTICE REGULATIONS SHOULD NOT BE
GIVEN ANY DEFERENCE SINCE THEY ARE
CONTRARY TO THE CLEAR INTENT OF CON-
GRESS AND ARE ARBITRARY, CAPRICIOUS
AND MANIFESTLY CONTRARY TO THE STAT-
UTE.

A. Since The Intent Of Congress Is Clear, The
Court Must Give Effect To The Unambiguously
Expressed Intent Of Congress, That Leave
Under The FMLA Be Limited To A Total Of 12
Weeks.

Although agencies are generally entitled to deference
in the interpretation of statutes that they administer, a
reviewing court, as well as the agency, must give effect to
the unambiguously expressed intent of Congress. Chevron
v. National Resources Defense Council, 467 U.S. 837, 842
(1984); Food and Drug Administration v. Brown & Wil-
liamson Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120, 125-126 (2000). “The
starting point in every case involving the construction of
a statute is the language itself.” Ernst & Ernst v.
Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185, 197 (1976); TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S.
153, 173 (1978); Consumer Products Safety Commission v.
GTE Sylvania, 447 U.S. 102, 108 (1980). In Garcia v. United
States, 469 U.S. 70, 75 (1984), then, Justice Rehnquist
stated for the court, “when we find the terms of a statute
unambiguous, judicial inquiry is complete, except in
exceptional circumstances.”

Under Chevron, a reviewing court must first ask
“whether Congress has directly spoken to the precise
question at issue.” Chevron, 467 U.S. at 842. See also United
States v. Haggar Apparel Co., 526 U.S. 380, 392 (1999). “If

18

Congress has done so, the inquiry is at an end; the court
‘must give effect to the unambiguously expressed intent
of Congress.’ ” Food and Drug Administration, 529 U.S. at
132.

In determining whether Congress has specifically
addressed the question at issue, a reviewing court should
not confine itself to examining a particular statutory pro-
vision in isolation. “The meaning - or ambiguity - of
certain words or phrases may only become evident when
placed in context.” Id. “It is a fundamental canon of
statutory construction that the words of a statute must be
read in their context and with a view to their place in the
overall statutory scheme.” Id. at 133. Accord Davis v. Mich-
igan Dept. of Treasury, 489 U.S. 803, 809 (1989). “A court
must therefore interpret the statute as a symmetrical and
coherent regulatory scheme, and fit if possible all parts
into an harmonious whole.” Food and Drug Administration,
529 U.S. at 133 (Internal citations removed).

A court must not defer when it “appears from the
statute or legislative history that the accommodation is
not one that Congress would have sanctioned.” Chevron,
467 U.S. at 845. In all cases, although the level of defer-
ence afforded an agency interpretation may appear high,
the court remains the final authority in matters of statu-
tory interpretation and “must reject administrative con-
structions which are contrary to clear congressional
intent.” Id. at 843 n.9.

The purpose and intent of the FMLA is readily appar-
ent from the statutory language and from the pertinent
legislative history. Under the Chevron analysis, the DOL’s
employer notice regulations at issue are impermissible

19

and must be struck down as beyond the clearly expressed
purpose and intent of the FMLA.

The Statute plainly states that an “eligible employee
shall be entitled to a total of 12 workweeks of leave
during any 12-month period... . ” 29 U.S.C. § 2912(a)(1).
“If an employer provides paid leave for fewer than 12
workweeks, the additional weeks of leave necessary to
attain the 12 workweeks of leave . . . may be provided
without compensation.” 29 U.S.C. § 2912(d)(1).

The substantive provisions of the statute show Con-
gressional intent to give employers and employees defi-
nite benefits. The provisions of the statute specifying that
each employee is eligible for a total of 12 weeks of leave
per year, if the employee has been employed for more
than a year, are meant to give employers and employees
assurances as to their respective rights. 29 U.S.C.
§ 2611(2)(A)(ii); 29 U.S.C. § 2612(a)(1). “The FMLA was
intended only to set a minimum standard of leave for
employers to provide to employees. Under the FMLA,
twelve weeks of leave is both the minimum the employer
must provide and the maximum that the statute
requires.” Ragsdale, 218 F.3d at 937.

An indication of the limited nature of the benefit that
Congress intended to grant to employees under the
FMLA is shown by the provision of the statute that deals
with married couples employed in the same workplace.
Anticipating that in some workplaces, both husband and
wife are employed and may seek leave for the same
FMLA qualifying condition, Congress addressed the situ-
ation. Section 2612(f) provides:

20

In any case in which a husband and wife are
entitled to leave . . . , [and] are employed by the
same employer, the aggregate number of work-
weeks of leave to which both may be entitled
may be limited to 12 workweeks during any 12-
month period, if such leave is taken -

(1) [for the birth of a son or a daughter
and in order to care for such son or
daughter, or because of the placement
of a son or daughter with the employee
for adoption or foster care]; or

(2) to care for a sick parent....
Id.

This provision is instructive with regard to the scope
and goals of the FMLA. In the absence of this provision,
both the husband and wife would each be eligible to take
12 workweeks of leave any time an event qualifying for
leave occurs. Thus, in the case of married employees, the
guarantee of 12 workweeks of leave arising from a single
event would in effect be converted to 24 weeks of leave.
Recognizing the unfairness of this result toward
employers in this situation, Congress reduced the possi-
ble leave available in the enumerated situations from 24
workweeks to a total of 12 workweeks of leave per quali-
fying event. This result affirms the FMLA’s goals of guar-
anteeing eligible employees 12 workweeks of medical
leave, but it also shows that in practice Congress
intended to avoid a situation in which the Statute would
award employees with more than 12 workweeks of medi-
cal leave.

Similar to the statutory text, the FMLA’s legislative
history supports the view that the FMLA was intended

21

only to be a statute that provided a minimum labor
standard; an assurance that employers would provide
employees with 12 weeks of leave every year.® See S. Rep.
No. 103-3, at 28 (1993), reprinted in U.S.C.C.A.N. 3, 30
(“Section 102(d) assures that an employee is entitled to
the benefits of applicable paid leave, plus any remaining
leave time made available by the act on an unpaid
basis.”); 103rd Cong. H381 (February 3, 1993) (statements
of Representative Clay on the Family and Medical Leave
Act) (“[A]s America’s work force changes to meet the
economic realities of the 1990's, it is critical that the work
force adapt to accommodate those changes. The Family
and Medical Leave Act, of which I have been a principal
sponsor for the past 8 years, will provide a minimum
labor standard to ease the new workplace burden of
balancing the demands of work and family. We are not
mandating anything. What we are doing is imposing a
standard of work conditions which is just and fair for our
work force. . . . The United States alone stands among all
industrialized countries in not having this minimum
labor standard for its workers.”); 103rd Cong. H387 (Feb-
ruary 3, 1993) (statements of Representative Snowe on the
Family and Medical Leave Act) (“Members of the House,
the Family and Medical Leave Act sends a clear message
to employers that minimal leave for family crises is as
important as workplace safety standards and minimum
wage. Dedicated legislators, like the gentlewoman from

5 When interpreting @ statute the Court will look at all
indicia of legislative intent. Cass v. United States, 417 U.S. 72,
77-79 (1974); United States v. American Trucking Associations, 310
U.S. 534, 542-44 (1940); United States v. Dickerson, 310 U.S. 554,
562 (1940).

22

New Jersey [Mrs. Roukema] and others, have taken pains
to ensure that the compromise version of the Family and
Medical Leave Act responds to the concerns of the busi-
ness community. Several safeguards and flexibility mea-
sures have been incorporated to protect employers and
eliminate potential abuse.”).

Any view of the FMLA other than that the twelve
weeks of leave is both the minimum the employer must
provide and the maximum that the statute requires will
upset the carefully crafted compromise reached by Con-
gress when it passed the FMLA. See H.R. Rep. No. 135(1),
at 37 (1991) (“The amount of time available for leave also
reflects a compromise. The leave period was reduced to
12 weeks in response to concerns raised by employers
who maintained that it was significantly easier to adjust
work schedules or find temporary replacements over the
shorter time period. While not ideal from the employees’
perspective, a 12-week minimum represents a middle
ground between the family needs of workers and
employer's business needs.”).

However, in spite of the text of the Statute and the
wealth of legislative comment that 12 weeks was
intended to be both the minimum and maximum that an
employer would be required to provide, the DOL pro-
mulgated regulations that require an employer to provide
more than 12 weeks of leave, unless the employer speci-
fically and prospectively informs the employee she is
using FMLA leave. According to the regulations, if the
employer fails to prospectively inform the employee that
the leave she is using is FMLA leave, then “none of the
absence preceding the notice to the employee of the
[FMLA] designation may be counted against the

23

employee's 12-week entitlement.” 29 C.F.R. § 825.208(c).
The DOL regulation at 29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a) basically
adopts the language of section 825.208(c) stating that “if
an employee takes paid or unpaid leave and the
employer does not designate the leave as FMLA, the
leave does not count against the employee’s FMLA enti-

tlement.”

The DOL argues that the FMLA enables the worker,
at the outset of leave, to plan his medical treatment or
care-giving activities with a degree of confidence that an
employer's unilateral leave policy could not provide. The
Secretary further argues that the full achievement of that
statutory purpose requires that the employee be made
aware at the outset of the statutory leave period of his
rights and responsibilities under the Act. (DOL Brief at
11). Neither the statute nor the legislative history indi-
cates any concern by Congress that employees be notified
so as to be able to plan their use of the leave. Further, a
reasonable and good faith reading of the Statute would
not lead an employee to believe that she is permitted to
plan medical treatments or care-giving activities that will
last longer than 12 weeks.® To the extent that the DOL
employer notice regulations seek to fill this perceived gap
in the statute it is broader than necessary to achieve its
purpose, and is punitive to those employers who have
provided at least 12 weeks of leave.

© Here, however, Petitioner argues that she is entitled to 42
weeks of leave (30 weeks of company provided leave, plus 12
weeks of leave specifically designated as FMLA leave)
apparently to plan her cancer treatments.

24

The controversy surrounding the scope of the FMLA
when it was passed adds support to the position that the
Department of Labor exceeded the Statute when it issued
the employer notice regulations. Looking at the context of
the statute is appropriate when considering whether to
strike an agency regulation. See Christensen v. Harris Co.,
529 U.S. 576, 583 (2000). The FMLA was passed by Con-
gress over the objections of many employers. To address
the concerns of employers fearful of a new unrestrained
federal mandate, employers were given assurances that
this was a limited statute that simply instituted policies
that were like those that many of the best employers were

already granting.

The purpose of the statute compared to other legisla-
tion also militates against the employer notice regula-
tions. The FMLA is not remedial. Thus, unlike other
federal employment statutes, it should not be construed
broadly to the achievement of remedial goals. The court
“must take care not to extend the scope of the statute
beyond the point where Congress indicated it would
stop.” See United States v. Article of Drug . . . Bacto-Unidisk,
394 U.S. 784, 800 (1969) (expressing similar concern
toward statutes protecting public health). See also Food
and Drug Administration v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco
Corp., 529 U.S. 120, 161 (2000) (favorably citing Article of
Drug). Since the FMLA is not construed broadly, it is not
appropriate to interpret the statute solely for the benefit
of employees. Rather, the statute should be interpreted
impartially giving equal deference to all affected parties.
If the FMLA is viewed in this way, the employer notice
regulations are invalid to the extent they change the
balance in the statute between employers and employees.

25

To the extent the DOL employer notice regulations
require employers to provide, or employees to receive,
moie than 12 weeks of leave, the regulations are contrary
to the clear intent of the statute.

B. Even If The Court Finds That The FMLA Is
Somewhat Ambiguous And That Congress Left
A Gap For The Regulations To Fill, They Must
Still Be Held Invalid As They Are An Imper-
missible Construction Of The Statute.

Under Chevron, if Congress has not spoken on the
issue and has explicitly or implicitly left a gap for regula-
tions to fill, then the court must consider whether the
agency’s interpretation of the statute is based upon a
permissible construction of the statute. Chevron, 467 U.S.
at 843-44. See also INS v. Aguirre-Aguirre, 526 U.S. 415, 424
(1999) (if Congress has not specifically addressed the
question, a reviewing court must respect the agency’s
construction of the statute so long as it is “reasonably
related to the purposes of the enabling legislation”).
Under this second step of the Chevron analysis, an
agency’s interpretation ordinarily is accorded deference,
unless the regulation is “arbitrary, capricious, or mani-
festly contrary to the statute.” Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844.
See United States v. Mead Corp., 121 S. Ct. 2164, 2171 (2001)
(The agency’s construction of the statute is permissible
when it is not procedurally defective, arbitrary or capri-
cious in substance, or manifestly contrary to the statute).

Recent cases from this Court have shown flexibility
in applying Chevron. The Court has invalidated agency
actions where it found that Congress spoke directly to an
issue subject to regulation, and the agency regulation

26

conflicted with the clear intent of Congress, as well as
where Congress left the precise issue open, and the
agency action nonetheless went beyond a permissible
interpretation of the statute. Compare Food and Drug
Administration v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529
U.S. 120 (2000) (finding intent of Congress clear and
striking regulations) with N.L.R.B. v. Kentucky River Com-
munity Care, Inc., 121 S. Ct. 1861 (2001) (finding statute
ambiguous, but striking regulation as going beyond the
limits of the statute). Here, even if the Court finds the
FMLA to be somewhat ambiguous, the Court should
strike the DOL’s employer notice regulations.

A recent Supreme Court case lends support to the
invalidity of the DOL’s employer notice regulations. In
Whitman v. American Trucking Associations, Inc., 531 U.S.
457, 121 S. Ct. 903 (2001), the respondents, a group repre-
senting trucking companies, argued that under the Clean
Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7401, et seq., the EPA had the author-
ity to consider the cost of implementation when it set air
quality standards, even though the language of the stat-
ute only permits the EPA to consider public health con-
siderations. The respondents argued that, although the
cost of implementation was not specifically mentioned in
the statute, an implied purpose could be found in the
statute to consider implementation costs. Whitman, 121
S. Ct. at 910.

The Court found that there was no language in the
statute directing the EPA to consider the cost of imple-
mentation. Further, to the extent that the authority to
consider the cost of implementation was implied from the
statute, it would conflict with the specific and explicit
provisions of the statute that require the EPA to consider

27

public health concerns when setting air quality standards.
Because of the conflict between the proffered implied
purpose of the statute, and the clear intent of the statute,
the Court concluded that if Congress had wanted to give
life to the implied purpose of considering the cost of
implementation, it would certainly have mentioned it if it
had meant it to be considered. Since Congress did not
mention this purpose, and the purpose conflicts with a
stated purpose mentioned, it is invalid. Whitman, 121
S. Ct. at 910. The Court found that while the Clean Air
Act, was “to some extent ambiguous,” the agency’s inter-
pretation of the statute went “beyond the limits of what is
ambiguous and contradict[ed] what . . . is quite clear.” On
this basis, the regulation was struck down. Whitman
stands for the proposition that where an implied purpose
of a statute, one not explicitly stated in the text of the
statute, is sought to be given effect, and that implied
purpose conflicts with the clear intent of Congress, the
implied purpose could only be valid if Congress had
expressly included it in the statute. See Whitman, 121
S. Ct. at 901-910.

Here, the Department of Labor argues that the
implied purpose of the employer notice regulations, to
aid employees in planning their family and medical
leave, is valid and consistent with its authority under the
Statute to “prescribe such regulations as are necessary to
carry out” the provisions of the Act. See 29 U.S.C. § 2654.
Both Petitioner and the Department of Labor must admit
that the purpose of aiding employees in planning their
leave is not mentioned anywhere in the text of the FMLA.
Further, the operation of the DOL’s employer notice regu-
lations here, creating an open-ended leave entitlement,

28

conflict with the expressed and primary purpose of the
FMLA, granting employees a total of 12 weeks of FMLA
leave, as well as Congress’ admonition that the statute is
not to be construed so as to discourage more generous
employer leave provisions.

In Whitman, the Court also cautioned against allow-
ing apparent gaps in Congress’ directions in a statute to
be used by the regulatory agency to render provisions of
the statute nugatory in practice. See Whitman, 121 S. Ct. at
918. To allow regulations to render express provisions of
the statute inoperative “is to go over the edge of reason-
able interpretation. The [agency] may not construe the
statute in a way that completely nullifies textually appli-
cable provisions meant to limit . . .” the statute’s applica-
tion. Whitman, 121 S. Ct. at 918-919. Here, the actions of
the employer notice regulations render nugatory the stat-
utory provisions providing a total of 12 workweeks of
leave, as well as the provision that the statute will not
discourage more generous leave plans.

C. The Department Of Labor’s Employer Notice
Regulations Are Not Supported By The Notice
Provisions Contained In The FMLA.

The regulations ignore the fact that employers in the
United States usually provide some private leave bene-
fits. Outside of the somewhat narrow leave benefits pro-
vided by the FMLA, employees often have a range of
employer provided leave benefits to use in varying cir-
cumstances. Both the statute and legislative history
reflect Congress’ intent to fashion this leave consistent
with employers’ existing leave policies. The statute was

29

designed to provide a uniform minimum leave amount,
which may or may not require employers to modify the
amount of leave provided to employees.

The regulation’s assumption that the only way an
employee would know how much family or medical
leave she had remaining would be if the company for-
mally designates the leave is not appropriate or needed
where, as here, the employer has a published leave policy
more generous than the FMLA. Not only was Wolverine’s
policy published in the employee handbook, but it was
also contained within the collective bargaining agreement
between Wolverine and the employees’ union. The policy
provided for seven (7) months (30 weeks) of job-protected
leave for reasons covered by the FMLA. It also contained
other provisions more generous than contained in the
FMLA. Because of the publicized and well-known nature
of Wolverine’s leave policy, after Ragsdale used the first
month of leave she was aware, without Wolverine other-
wise informing her, that she had six months of leave
remaining. Ragsdale was able to plan her leave accord-
ingly.

In addition, the employer notice regulations are not
supported by the notice provisions contained in the stat-
ute, to the extent that the regulations unfairly penalize
employers who fail to give adequate notice to employees
that leave is FMLA leave. Where Congress wanted
explicit notice provisions with significant consequences,
it provided for them. 29 U.S.C. § 2613 (detailing notice
requirements for employees seeking leave). In 29 U.S.C.
§ 2612(e)(1), the statute details notice obligations of
employees to employers when the employee requests
qualifying leave under the FMLA. See Carter v. Ford Motor

30

Company, 121 F.3d 1146 (8th Cir. 1997) (holding that
employee merely informing the employer that he would
be out and did not know when he would return and
offering no further information was not adequate notice
under the FMLA). In 29 U.S.C. § 2614(b)(1)(A), the FMLA
allows an employer to refuse to restore a “highly com-
pensated employee” to his or her former position if hold-
ing open the position would cause “substantial and
grievous economic injury to the operations of the
employer.” In order to do so, however, the employer
must give notice to the employee “at the time the
employer determines such injury would occur” that the
employer does not intend to restore the employee to his
or her position. See 29 U.S.C. § 2614(b)(1)(B).

The notice provided by Congress in the form of a
posting requirement is the required and adequate notice
used for most every state and federal employment statute
including Title VII, the Americans with Disabilities Act,
The Age Discrimination in Employment Act; the Fair
Labor Standards Act, the Occupational Safety and Health
Act, state Workers’ Compensation acts, state wage pay-
ment acts, and a number of other employment statutes. It
is unclear from the FMLA that Congress intended the
DOL to go beyond this statutory employer notice.

Finally, where the FMLA does contain penalties aris-
ing from notice violations, it provides for monetary pen-
alties to encourage compliance. See 29 U.S.C. § 2619
(assessing monetary penalties for employers who do not
post notices on the premises of the employer explaining
FMLA rights). The preference for monetary penalties, like
in the Fair Labor Standards Act, is instructive. An
obvious alternative to the DOL to ensure that employees

31

receive notice of their leave rights is to levy monetary
sanctions against employers th at fail to give notice under
the regulations. :

With regard to the balance Congress explicitly struck
between employers and employees, see 29 U.S.C.
§ 2601(b)(1) & (3) (The FMLA’s purpose is to “balance the
demands of the workplace with the need of families . . . in
a manner that accommodates the legitimate interests of
employers.”), the employer notice sanctions shift that
balance in a manner not intended by Congress. The statu-
tory provisions indicate that Congress intended
employees to bear much, if not most, of the notice
requirements under the statute. They must request leave,
they must provide reasonable notice of the need for leave,
and they must satisfy the various certification require-
ments, which occur several times in the leave process.
The DOL’s employer notice provisions take the balance
that Congress created concerning notice requirements,
strip employees of their basic responsibilities under the
Act, and make employers the absolute guarantors of
employees’ rights under the Statute by imposing over-
broad penalties for an employer’s failure to adhere to its
regulations.

Neither the goals nor purposes of the FMLA, nor
considerations of possible harmful effects toward
employees justify upholding the regulations. There is
nothing about the text or goals of the FMLA that would
make striking these regulations unfair or improper.
Unlike other statutes administered by the Department of
Labor, the FMLA is a statute with very specific goals and
intent. It was not intended to remedy past abuses. The
improper nature of the DOL’s employer notice provisions

32

is outlined by the fact that even as the employer notice
provisions upset the balance contained in the statute
concerning notice burdens, they sanction employers in a
manner that burdens the core provision of the statute; the
simple guarantee to eligible employees of a uniform, total
of 12 workweeks of family and medical leave. More
importantly, the striking of this regulation will not pro-
duce a disproportionately negative impact on employees.

III. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR APPEARS TO
HAVE EXCEEDED ITS RULEMAKING AUTHOR-
ITY IN ITS PROMULGATION OF THE PRO-
PHYLACTIC EMPLOYER NOTICE
REGULATIONS GIVEN THAT CONGRESS ONLY
GRANTED IT GENERAL RULEMAKING
AUTHORITY IN THE FMLA.

The Department of Labor characterizes the employer
notice regulations (which penalize employers who fail to
give timely notice in accordance with their provisions) as
“prophylactic” regulations that provide as a categorical
matter that otherwise qualified periods of leave will not
be counted as FMLA leave if the employer fails to give
timely notice that the leave will be so treated. (DOL Brief
at 20). The Department of Labor admits that the pro-
phylactic regulations will sometimes place the employee
in a better position than if the employer had complied
with the regulations. Further, the Department of Labor
admits that in this matter the effect of the prophylactic
regulations was to create a viable FMLA cause of action
where one would not otherwise exist, even though Rags-
dale would not have been able to return to work at the
end of 12 weeks of leave if notice had been given. (DOL

33

Brief at 20). The prophylactic notice regulations were
chosen because a categorical rule is more predictable and
easier to administer than a non-prophylactic rule. (DOL
Brief at 20-21).

In support of its argument that the prophylactic regu-
lations here are valid, the Department of Labor cites to
cases in which Congress granted administrative agencies
remedial rulemaking authority. (DOL Brief at 22-23). Con-
gress can grant regulatory authority in various ways,
including both general and specific grants of authority.
Compare 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-12(a) (granting general author-
ity to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission to
issue “suitable procedural regulations to carry out the
provisions of [Title VII]”) with 15 U.S.C. §§ 78n(e) &
78w(a)(1) (granting the Securities and Exchange Commis-
sion general administrative authority, but also giving the
Commission the power to define by rules and regulations
and prescribe means “reasonably designed to prevent,
such acts and practices as are fraudulent, deceptive, or
manipulative.”). In the FMLA Congress granted its basic
regulatory authority, providing that the Secretary of
Labor may “prescribe such regulations as are necessary to
carry out...” the Act. 29 U.S.C. § 2654. This general
grant of administrative authority is not the type of grant
that will generally support a prophylactic regulation.

The Department of Labor relies on two Supreme
Court cases to support its authority to promulgate the
prophylactic employer notice regulations. It cites Mourn-
ing v. Family Publications Serv., 411 U.S. 356 (1973) and
United States v. O'Hagan, 521 U.S. 642 (1997), as cases
where broad prophylactic regulations were approved by

34

this Court. (DOL Brief at 22-23). However, the Depart-
ment of Labor misconstrues the import of these cases. In
Mourning and O'Hagan, Congress had given the respec-
tive agencies explicit remedial authority beyond the stan-
dard administrative authority. This led to the adoption of
prophylactic regulations. f

In Mourning v. Family Publications Serv., the Court
considered whether the Federal Reserve Board exceeded
its administrative authority under the Truth in Lending
Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1601, et seq., when it issued rules requir-
ing Truth in Lending disclosures in situations in which
there were no finance charges. 411 U.S. at 372. A creditor
found in violation of the Act challenged the regulations,
arguing that the Truth in Lending Act only applied to
situations involving finance charges. Id. The Court
reviewed the grant of authority given to the Board in the
statute. In addition to the general grant of regulatory
authority, the statute provided that:

These regulations may contain such classifica-
tions, differentiations, or other provisions, and
may provide for such adjustments and excep-
tions for any class of transactions, as in the
judgment of the Board are necessary or proper
to effectuate the purposes of [the Act], to pre-
vent circumvention or evasion thereof, or to
facilitate compliance therewith.

Mourning, 411 U.S. at 361-62, 365-66.

The Court found that the above grant of remedial
authority permitted the Federal Reserve Board to issue
regulations that might go somewhat beyond the language
of the statute. The Court wrote that the grant of remedial
authority was made by Congress due to its knowledge

35

that “adroit and unscrupulous” creditors would try to
characterize their transactions “so as to fall one step
outside whatever boundary Congress attempted to estab-
lish. .. . ” The grant of prophylactic authority was
intended by Congress to empower the Federal Reserve
Board to draft rules that could prevent creditors from

-evading the statute, no matter what method was utilized.

Mourning, 411 U.S. at 359-60. Based on this goal, the
Court found that the regulations were valid.

The Mourning decision stresses two levels by which
Congress can give administrative authority. “Where the
empowering provision of the statute states simply that
the agency may ‘make . . . such rules and regulations as
may be necessary to carry out the provisions of the Act,
we have held that the validity of a regulation promul-
gated thereunder will be sustained so long as it is ‘see-
sonably related to the purposes of the enabling
legislation.’ ” Mourning, 411 U.S. at 369 (citing Thorpe v.
Housing Authority of City of Durham, 393 U.S. 268, 280-61
(1969)). However, where enabling provisions also provide
more specific authority to the administrative agency, such
as the authority to remedy attempts to evade the pur-
poses of the statute, a greater level of deference to admin-
istrative rulemaking exists, rising to an abuse of
discretion standard. Mourning, 411 U.S. at 370-71 (quoting
Gemsco, Inc. v. Walling, 324 U.S. 244, 255 (1945)). In
Mourning, since Congress expressly gave the Federal
Reserve Board authority to regulate to prever.t evasion of
the statute, the Board acted within its authority in pro-
mulgating a prophylactic regulation that was broad in its
application.

36

Similarly, in United States v. O'Hagan, 521 U.S. 642
(1997), this Court considered the validity of regulations
promulgated to enforce fraud provisions of the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78a, et seq. Id. at 646-47.
The regulations in question broaden the reach of the
statutory fraud provisions that prohibit a person from
engaging in insider trading of stocks, to reach insider
traders that have no fiduciary relationship to participants
in the offer in question. An attorney prosecuted for fraud
challenged these regulations, and the challenge was
reviewed by this Court. Id. at 649.

As discussed by the Court, the Securities Exchange
Act of 1934 contains two grants of rulemaking authority.
Section 78w(a)(1) grants the Securities and Exchange
Commission (SEC) general rulemaking authority. In addi-
tion, the statute contains a more specific grant, which
provides that “the [SEC] shall, for the purposes of the
[fraud] subsection, by rules and regulations define, and
prescribe means reasonably designed to prevent, such
acts and practices as are fraudulent, deceptive, or manip-
ulative.” 15 U.S.C. § 78n(e).

In reviewing the regulation, the Court noted that
section 78n(e) “delegates definitional and prophylactic
rulemaking authority to the [SEC].” O'Hagan, 521 U.S. at
667. “A prophylactic measure, because its mission is to
prevent, typically encompasses more than the core activ-
ity prohibited.” Id. at 672-73.

The Court found the prophylactic rule related to
insider trading valid not because of the grant of general
rulemaking authority, but rather because Congress, as
part of the Securities and Exchange Act, gave the SEC

37

specific authority to engage in just this sort of rulemak-
ing. See Id. at 676 (“Rule 14e-3(a) is a proper exercise of
the Commission's prophylactic power under § 14(e).”).
This prophylactic power is contrasted from the Commis-
sion’s general rulemaking power contained in 15 U.S.C.
§ 78w(a)(1). See also Gemsco v. Walling, 324 U.S. 244,
257-58 (1945) (finding valid FLSA remedial regulation
based on statutory language directing DOL to “prevent
the circumvention or evasion” of wage orders).

Unlike the statutory provisions in Mourning and
O'Hagan, which contained specific prophylactic rulemak-
ing authority, when Congress adopted the FMLA, it gave
the Department of Labor the standard agency power to
regulate, but it did not give the Department of Labor
specific prophylactic rulemaking instructions. The lack of
specific prophylactic authority calls into question the
authority of the Department of Labor to issue broad
prophylactic regulations here. Further, it puts into focus
Respondent’s argument that the prophylactic employer
notice regulations needlessly conflict with the plain text
of the FMLA.

The characterization of the employer notice regula-
tions as prophylactic regulations by the Department of
Labor is meant, in part, to excuse the fact that the regula-
tions go beyond the plain language of the FMLA. How-
ever, cha. .cterizing these regulations as prophylactic or
categorical does not give the Department of Labor any
leeway to promulgate regulations that go beyond the
intent of Congress, and which violate the express provi-
sions of the statute. The cases the Department of Labor
cites in support of its authority to issue prophylactic
regulations here involve statutes that granted the agency

38

greater authority to regulate than here. These cases do

not support the Department of Labor’s prophylactic regu-
lation here.”

IV. REGARDLESS OF THE VALIDITY OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S EMPLOYER
NOTICE REGULATIONS, WOLVERINE’S FAIL-
URE TO DESIGNATE PETITIONER’S 30-WEEK
LEAVE AS FMLA LEAVE DID NOT OTHERWISE
INTERFERE WITH OR RESTRAIN PETI-
TIONER’S EXERCISE OF HER FMLA RIGHTS.

Even assuming the DOL employer notice regulations
are valid, Wolverine’s failure to specifically designate any
of Petitioner’s 30-week leave as FMLA leave did not
otherwise interfere with or restrain Petitioner’s exercise
of her FMLA rights. Petitioner received 30 weeks of leave
prior to being terminated under Wolverine’s sick leave
policy, and Petitioner was granted the full benefits con-
veyed by the FMLA. Moreover, the Petitioner was unable
to work at the conclusion of the 30-week leave in Septem-
ber 1996. In fact, Petitioner was unable to return to full-
time work until December 31, 1996. Therefore, under the

” Contrary to the Department of Labor’s implication in its
Brief that Respondent’s argument is somehow that the
regulations are deficient because it is overbroad (DOL Brief at
22-23), it is Respondent's position that Congress gave the
Department of Labor standard agency authority when it drafted
the FMLA, and that the Department of Labor exceeded that
authority by promulgating unwarranted prophylactic
regulations that squarely conflict with the purpose of the
statute, to ensure that employers give qualified employees a
total of 12 weeks of family and medical leave per year.

39

circumstances, no relevant consequence attended Wolver-
ine’s failure to designate Petitioner's leave as FMLA

leave.

The Second Circuit applied the same reasoning to a
case in which the plaintiff alleged he had been deprived
of proper notice required by the FMLA and DOL regula-
tions, ie., he was not told that he was limited to 12
workweeks of leave. In Sarno v. Douglas Elliman-Gibbons &
Ives, Inc., 183 F.3d 155 (2d Cir. 1999), the plaintiff had
suffered a serious injury, rendering him unable to per-
form his job and requiring an immediate, unanticipated
leave. The plaintiff was placed on FMLA leave. When,
after 12 weeks of unpaid leave, the plaintiff was unable to
return to work, he was fired. The district court dismissed
the plaintiff's FMLA claim, finding that even if the defen-
dant had failed to provide proper notice to the plaintiff, it
did not deny, interfere with, or restrain his exercise of
FMLA rights, because the plaintiff had received all of the
substantive rights conferred upon him by the FMLA. The
Second Circuit affirmed, holding that no rational fact
finder could conclude that the plaintiff's exercise or
attempted exercise of his FMLA rights was in any way
affected by the defendant's failure to inform him that the
FMLA entitled him to a leave of up to 12 workweeks. The
court reasoned that because the plaintiff's leave was
necessitated by an unanticipated medical condition, and
because his inability to return to work continued well
beyond his 12-week leave, it was. impossible for the
defendant's alleged failure to give proper notice to have
interfered in any way with the plaintiff's exercise of his
FMLA rights. See also Donnellan v. New York City Transit
Auth., No. 98 Civ. 1096 (BSJ), 1999 WL 527901 (S.D.N.Y.

40

Jul. 22, 1999) (transit authority did not violate FMLA
when it failed to restore employee, who was laid off as
part of a reduction in force after having received 17
weeks of leave following her injury, to the position she
held prior to layoff, where the right to be restored to the
former position only obtains when the employee is able
to return to her position at the conclusion of the FMLA
leave, and the employee remained unable to return to
work until approximately 40 weeks after she had been
laid off and more than one year after she had commenced
her leave).

Therefore, Respondent did not interfere with Peti-
tioner’s rights under the FMLA, since she received all the
benefits to which she was entitled under the FMLA and
since she was unable to return to her position at the
conclusion of her leave period. Here, Petitioner did not
return to full duty until December 31, 1996, more than
three months after her employment was terminated, and
more than ten months after she commenced her leave.
Under such circumstances, Respondent should not be
said to have interfered with Petitioner's FMLA rights.

e

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, Respondent Wolverine World
Wide, Inc., respectfully requests this Honorable Court
find that the DOL’s employer notice regulations at 29
C.F.R. § 825.208 and 29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a), are contrary to
the plain text of the FMLA and go beyond the intent and
purpose of Congress in enacting the FMLA, and to the
extent they attempt to fill any gaps left by the statute they

41

are an impermissible interpretation of the statute, and
should be held invalid. Furthermore, Wolverine’s failure
to follow the DOL’s employer notice regulations, to the
extent they are valid, did not otherwise interfere with or
restrain Petitioner’s exercise of her FMLA rights.

Respectfully submitted,

RicHarp D. BENNETT
Counsel of Record

James Francis BARNA

WelntRAus, Stock, Bennett &
GrisHaM, P.C.

Renaissance Center

1715 Aaron Brenner Drive,
Suite 512

Memphis, fexnessee 38120

(901) 526-0431

Attorneys for Respondent

APPENDIX A

App. 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS
AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED
29 U.S.C. § 2601 FINDINGS AND PURPOSES
(a) Findings

Congress finds that -

(1) the number of single parent households and
two-parent households in which the single parent or both
parents work is increasing significantly;

(2) it is important for the development of children
and the family unit that fathers and mothers be able to
participate in early childrearing and the care of family
members who have serious health conditions;

(3) the lack of employment policies to accommodate
working parents can force individuals to choose between
job security and parenting;

(4) there is inadequate job security for employees
who have serious health conditions that prevent them
from working for temporary periods;

(5) due to the nature of the roles of men and women
in our society, the primary responsibility for family care-
taking often falls on women, and such responsibility
affects the working lives of women more than it affects
the working lives of men; and

(6) employment standards that apply to one gender
only have serious potential for encouraging employers to
discriminate against employees and applicants for
employment who are of that gender.

(b) Purposes
It is the purpose of this Act -

App. 2

(1) to balance the demands of the workplace with
the needs of families, to promote the stability and eco-
nomic security of families, and to promote national inter-
ests in preserving family integrity;

(2) to entitle employees to take reasonable leave for
medical reasons, for the birth or adoption of a child, and
for the care of a child, spouse or parent who has a serious
health condition;

(3) to accomplish the purpose described in para-
graph (1) and (2) in a manner that accommodates the
legitimate interests of employers;

(4) to accomplish the purposes described in para-
graphs (1) and (2) in a manner that, consistent with the
Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,
minimizes the potential for employment discrimination
on the basis of sex by ensuring generally that leave is
available for eligible medical reasons (including mater-
nity-related disability) and for compelling family reasons,
on a gender-neutral basis; and

(5) to promote the goal of equal employment oppor-
tunity for women and men, pursuant to such clause.

29 U.S.C. § 2612 LEAVE REQUIREMENT
(a) In general
(1) Entitlement to leave

Subject to section 2613 of this title, an eligible
employee shall be entitled to a total of 12 workweeks of

leave during any 12-month period for one or more of the
following: 7

(A) Because of the birth of a son or daughter of the
employee and in order to care for such son or daughter.

App. 3

(B) Because of the placement of a son or daughter
with the employee for adoption or foster care.

(C) In order to care for the spouse, or a son, daugh-
ter, or parent, of the employee, if such spouse, son,
daughter, or parent has a serious health condition.

(D) Because of a serious health condition that
makes the employee unable to perform the functions of

’ the position of each employee.

(2) Expiration of entitlement

The entitlement to leave under subparagraphs (A)
and (B) of paragraph (1) for a birth or placement of a son
or daughter shall expire at the end of the 12-month
period beginning on the date of such birth or placement.

(b) Leave taken intermittently or on reduced leave
schedule

(1) In general

Leave under subparagraph (A) or (B) of subsection
(a)(1) of this section shall not be taken by an employee
intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule unless the
employee and the employer of the employee agree other-
wise. Subject to paragraph (2), subsection (e)(2) of this
section, and section 2613(b)(5) of this title, leave under
subparagraph (C) and (D) of subsection (a)(1) of this
section may be taken intermittently or on a reduced leave
schedule when medically necessary. The taking of leave
intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule pursuant to
this paragraph shall not result in a reduction in the total
amount of leave to which the employee is entitled under
subsection (a) of this section beyond the amount of leave
actually taken.

App. 4

(2) Alternative position

If an employee requests intermittent leave, or leave
on a reduced leave schedule, under subparagraph (C) or
(D) of subsection (a)(1) of this section, that is foreseeable
based on planned medical treatment, the employer may
require such employee to transfer temporarily to an avail-
able alternative position offered by the employer for
which the employee is qualified and that -

(A) has equivalent pay and benefits; and

(B) better accommodates recurring periods of leave
than the regular employment position of the employee.

(c) Unpaid leave permitted

Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section,
leave granted under subsection (a) may consist of unpaid
leave. Where an employee is otherwise exempt under
regulations issued by the Secretary pursuant to section
213(a)(1) of this title, the compliance of an employer
with this subchapter by providing unpaid leave shall not
affect the exempt status of the employee under such
section.

(d) Relationship to paid leave
(1) Unpaid leave

If an employer provides paid leave for fewer than 12
workweeks, the additional weeks of leave necessary to
attain the 12 workweeks of leave required under this
subchapter may be provided without compensation.

App. 5

(2) Substitution of paid leave
(A) In general

An eligible employee may elect, or an employer may
require the employee, to substitute any of the accrued
paid vacation leave, personal leave, or family leave of the
employee for leave provided under subparagraph (A),
(B), or (C) of subsection (a)(1) of this section for any part
of the 12-week period of such leave under such subsec-
tion.

(B) Serious health condition

An eligible employee may elect, or an employer may
require the employee, to substitute any of the accrued
paid vacation leave, personal leave, or medical or sick
leave of the employee for leave provided under subpara-
graph (C) or (D) of subsection (a)(1) of this section for
any part of the 12-week period of such leave under such
subsection, except that nothing in this subchapter shall
require an employer to provide paid sick leave or paid
medical leave in any situation in which such employer
would not normally provide any such paid leave.

(e) Foreseeable leave

(1) Requirement of Notice

In any case in which the necessity for leave under
subparagraph (A) or (B) of subsection (a)(1) of this sec-
tion is foreseeable based on an expected birth or place-
ment, the employee shall provide the employer with not
less than 30 days’ notice, before the date the leave is to
begin, of the employee's intention to take leave under

App. 6

such subparagraph, except that if the date of the birth or
placement requires leave to begin in less than 30 days, the
employee shall provide such notice as is practicable.

(2) Duties of employee

In any case in which the necessity for leave under
subparagraph (C) or (D) of subsection (a)(1) of this sec-
tion is foreseeable based on planned medical treatment
the employee -

(A) shall make a reasonable effort to schedule the
treatment so as not to disrupt unduly the operations of
the employer, subject to the approval of the health care
provider of the employee or the health care provider of
the son, daughter, spouse, or parent of the employee, as
appropriate; and

(B) shall provide the employer with not less than 30
days’ notice, before the date the leave is to begin, of the
employee’s intention to take leave under such subpara-
graph, except that if the date of the treatment requires
leave to begin in less than 30 days, the employee shall
provide such notice as is practicable.

(f) Spouses employed by same employer

In any case in which a husband and wife entitled to
leave under subsection (a) of this section are employed by
the same employer, the aggregate number of workweeks
of leave to which both may be entitled may be limited to
12 workweeks during any 12-month period, if such leave
is taken -

(1) under s subsec-

tion (a)(1) of this he ln

aa a

App. 7

(2) to care for a sick parent under subpara-
graph (C) of such subsection.

29 U.S.C. § 2613 CERTIFICATION

(a) In general

An employer may require that a request for leave
under subparagraph (C) or (D) of section 2512(a)(1) of
this title be supported by a certification issued by the
health care provider of the eligible employee or of the
son, daughter, spouse, or parent of the employee, as
appropriate. The employee shall provide, in a timely
manner, a copy of such certification to the employer.

(b) Sufficient certification

Certification provided under subsection (a) of this
section shall be sufficient if it states -

(1) the date on which the serious health
condition commenced;
(2) the probable duration of the condition;

(3) the appropriate medical facts within
the knowledge of the health care provider

regarding the condition;

(4)(A) for of leave under section
2612(a)(1)(C) of this title, a statement that the
eligible employee is needed to care for the son,
daughter, spouse, or parent and an estimate of
the amount of time that such employee is

needed to care for the son, daughter, spouse, or
parent; and

App. 8

(B) for purposes of leave under section
2612(a)(1)(D) of this title, a statement that the
employee is unable to perform the functions of
the position of the employee;

(5) in the case of certification for intermit-
tent leave, or leave on a reduced leave schedule,
for planned medical treatment, the dates on
which such treatment is expected to be given
and the duration of such treatment;

(6) in the case of certification for intermit-
tent leave, or leave on a reduced leave schedule,
under section 2612(a)(1)(D) of this title, a state-
ment of the medical necessity for the intermit-
tent leave or leave on a reduced leave schedule,
and the expected duration of the intermittent
leave or reduced leave schedule; and

(7) in the case of certification for intermit-
tent leave, or leave on a reduced leave schedule,
under section 2612(a)(1)(C) of this title, a state-
ment that the employee’s intermittent leave or
leave on a reduced leave schedule is necessary
for the care of the son, daughter, parent, or
spouse who has a serious health condition, or
will assist in their recovery, and the expected
duration and schedule of the intermittent leave
or reduced leave schedule.

(c) Second opinion

(1) In general

In any case in which the employer has reason to
doubt the validity of the certification provided under
subsection (a) of this section for leave under the subpara-
graph (C) or (D) of section 2612(a)(1) of this title, the
employer may require, at the expense of the employer,

App. 9

that the eligible employee obtain the opinion of a second
health care provider designated or approved by the
employer concerning any information certified under
subsection (b) of this section for such leave.

(2) Limitation

A healthcare provider designated or approved under
paragraph 1 shall not be employed on a regular basis by
the employer.

(d) Resolution of conflicting opinions

(1) In general

In any case in which the second opinion described in
subsection (c) of this section differs from the opinion in
the original certification provided under subsection (a) of
this section, the employer may require, at the expense of
the employer, that the employee obtain the opinion of a
third healthcare provider designed or approved jointly by
the employer and the employee concerning the informa-
tion certified under subsection (b) of this section

(2) Finality

The opinion of the third healthcare provider concern-
ing the information certified under subsection (b) of this
section shall be binding on the employer and the

employee.
(e) Subsequent recertification

The employer may require that the eligible employee
obtain subsequent recertifications on a reasonable basis.

App. 10

29 U.S.C. § 2615 PROHIBITED ACTS
(a) Interference with Rights

(1) Exercise of Rights

It shall be unlawful for any employer to interfere
with, restrain, or deny the exercise of or the attempt to
exercise, any right provided under this subchapter.

(2) Discrimination

It shall be unlawful for any employer to discharge or
in any other manner discriminate against any individual
for opposing any practice made unlawful by this sub-
chapter.

(b) Interference with Proceedings or Inquiries

It shall be unlawful for any person to discharge or in
any manner discriminate against any individual because
such individual -

(1) Has filed any charge, or has caused to be insti-
tuted any proceeding, under or related to this subchapter;

(2) Has given, or is about to give, any int..mation
in connection with any inquiry or proceeding relating to
any right provided under this subchapter; or

(3) Has testified, or is about to testify, in any
inquiry or proceeding relating to any right provided
under this subchapter.

App. 11

29 U.S.C. § 2619 NOTICE
(a) In General

Each employer shall post and keep posted, in con-
spicuous places on the premises of the employer where
notices to employees and applicants for employment are
customarily posted, a notice, to be prepared or approved
by the Secretary, setting forth excerpts from, or summa-
ries of, the pertinent provisions of this subchapter and
information pertaining to the filing of a charge.

(b) Penalty

Any employer that willfully violates this section may
be assessed a civil money penalty not to exceed $100 for
each separate offense.

29 U.S.C. § 2652 EFFECT ON EXISTING
EMPLOYMENT BENEFITS

(a) More Protective

Nothing in this Act or any amendment made by this
Act shall be construed to diminish the obligation of an
employer to comply with any collective bargaining agree-
ment or any employment benefit program or plan that
provides greater family or medical leave rights to
employees than the rights established under this Act or
any amendment made by this Act.

App. 12

(b) Less Protective

The rights established for employees under this Act
or any amendm<nt made by this Act shall not be dimin-
ished by any collective bargaining agreement or any
employment benefit program or plan.

29 U.S.C. § 2653 ENCOURAGEMENT OF MORE
GENEROUS LEAVE POLICIES

Nothing in this Act or any amendment by this Act shall
be construed to discourage employers from adopting or
retaining leave policies more generous than any policies
that comply with the requirements under this Act or any
amendment made by this Act.

29 U.S.C. § 2654 REGULATIONS

The Secretary of Labor shall prescribe such regula-
tions as are necessary to carry out subchapter I of this

chapter and this subchapter not later than 120 days after
February 5, 1993.

29 C.ER. § 825.208

(a) In all circumstances, it is the employer's respon-
sibility to designate leave, paid or unpaid, as FMLA-
qualifying, and to give notice of the designation to the

App. 13

employee as provided in this section. In the case of inter-
mittent leave or leave on a reduced schedule, only one
such notice is required unless the circumstances regard-
ing the leave have changed. The employer’s designation
decision must be based only on information received
from the employee or the employee’s spokesperson (e.g.,
if the employee is incapacitated, the employee’s spouse,
adult child, parent, doctor, etc., may provide notice to the
employer of the need to take FMLA leave). In any circum-
stance where the employer does not have sufficient infor-
mation about the reason for an employee’s use of paid
leave, the employer should inquire further of the
employee or the spokesperson to ascertain whether the
paid leave is potentially FMLA-qualifying.

(1) An employee giving notice of the need for
unpaid FMLA leave must explain the reasons for the
needed leave so as to allow the employer to determine
that the leave qualifies under the Act. If the employee
fails to explain the reasons, leave may be denied. In many
cases, in explaining the reasons for a request to use paid
leave, especially when the need for the leave was unex-
pected or unforeseen, an employee will provide sufficient
information for the employer to designate the paid leave
as FMLA leave. An employee using accrued paid leave,
especially vacation or personal leave, may in some cases
not spontaneously explain the reasons or their plans for
using their accrued leave.

(2) As noted in § 825.302(c), an employee giving
notice of the need for unpaid FMLA leave does not need
to expressly assert rights under the Act or even mention
the FMLA to meet his or her obligation to provide notice,
though the employee would need to state a qualifying

App. 14

reason for the needed leave. An employee requesting or
notifying the employer of an intent to use accrued paid
leave, even if for a purpose covered by FMLA, would not
need to assert such right either. However, if an employee
requesting to use paid leave for an FMLA-qualifying
purpose does not explain the reason for the leave - con-
sistent with the employer’s established policy or practice
- and the employer denies the employee’s request, the
employee will need to provide sufficient information to
establish an FMLA-qualifying reason for the needed leave
so that the employer is aware of the employee’s entitle-
ment (i.e., that the leave may not be denied) and, then,
may designate that the paid leave be appropriately coun-
ted against (substituted for) the employee’s 12-week enti-
tlement. Similarly, an employee using accrued paid
vacation leave who seeks an extension of unpaid leave for
an FMLA-qualifying purpose will need to state the rea-
son. If this is due to an event which occurred during the
period of paid leave, the employer may count the leave
used after the FMLA-qualifying event against the
employee’s 12-week entitlement.

(b)(1) Once the employer has acquired knowledge that
the leave is being taken for an FMLA required reason, the
employer must promptly (within two business days
absent extenuating circumstances) notify the employee
that the paid leave is designated and will be counted as
FMLA leave. If there is a dispute between an employer
and an employee as to whether paid leave qualifies as
FMLA leave, it should be resolved through discussions
between the employee and the employer. Such discus-
sions and the decision must be documented.

OO

App. 15

(2) The employer’s notice to the employee that the
leave has been designated as FMLA leave may be orally
or in writing. If the notice is oral, it shall be confirmed in
writing, no later than the following payday (unless the
payday is less than one week after the oral notice, in
which case the notice must be no later than the subse-
quent payday). The written notice may be in any form,
including a notation on the employee’s pay stub.

(c) If the employer requires paid leave to be substituted
for unpaid leave, or that paid leave taken under an exis-
ting leave plan be counted as FMLA leave, this decision
must be made by the employer within two business days
of the time the employee gives notice of the need for
leave, or, where the employer does not initially have
sufficient information to make a determination, when the
employer determines that the leave qualifies as FMLA
leave if this happens later. The employer’s designation
must be made before the leave starts, unless the employer
does not have sufficient information as to the employee's
reason for taking the leave until after the leave com-
menced. If the employer has the requisite knowledge to
make a determination that the paid leave is for an FMLA
reason at the time the employee either gives notice of the
need for leave or commences leave and fails to designate
the leave as FMLA leave (and so notify the employee in
accordance with paragraph (b)), the employer may not
designate leave as FMLA leave retroactively, and may
designate only prospectively as of the date of notification
to the employee of the designation. In such circum-
stances, the employee is subject to the full protections of
the Act, but none of the absence preceding the notice to

App. 16

the employee of the designation may be counted against
the employee’s 12-week FMLA leave entitlement.

(d) If the employer learns that leave is for an FMLA
purpose after leave has begun, such as when an employee
gives notice of the need for an extension of the paid leave
with unpaid FMLA leave, the entire or some portion of
the paid leave period may be retroactively counted as
FMLA leave, to the extent that the leave period qualified
as FMLA leave. For example, an employee is granted two
weeks paid vacation leave for a skiing trip. In mid-week
of the second week, the employee contacts the employer
for an extension of leave as unpaid leave and advises that
at the beginning of the second week of paid vacation
leave the employee suffered a severe accident requiring
hospitalization. The employer may notify the employee
that both the extension and the second week of paid
vacation leave (from the date of the injury) is designated
as FMLA leave. On the other hand, when the employee
takes sick leave that turns into a serious health condition
(e.g., bronchitis that turns into bronchial pneumonia) and
the employee gives notice of the need for an extension of
leave, the entire period of the serious health condition
may be counted as FMLA leave.

(e) Employers may not designate leave as FMLA leave
after the employee has returned to work with two excep-
tions:

(1) If the employee was absent from an FMLA rea-
son and the employer did not learn the reason for the
absence until the employee’s return (e.g., where the
employee was absent for only a brief period), the
employer may, upon the employee’s return to work,

App. 17

promptly (within two business days of the employee’s
return to work) designate the leave retroactively with
appropriate notice to the employee. If leave is taken for
an FMLA reason but the employer was not aware of the
reason, and the employee desires that the leave be coun-
ted as FMLA leave, the employee must notify the
employer within two business days of returning to work
of the reason for the leave. In the absence of such timely
notification by the employee, the employee may not sub-
sequently assert FMLA protections for the absence.

(2) If the employer knows the reason for the leave
but has not been able to confirm that the leave qualifies
under FMLA, or where the employer has requested medi-
cal certification which has not yet been received or the
parties are in the process of obtaining a second or third
medical opinion, the employer should make a prelimi-
nary designation, and so notify the employee, at the time
leave begins, or as soon as the reason for the leave
becomes known. Upon receipt of the requisite informa-
tion from the employee or of the medical certification
which confirms the leave is for an FMLA reason, the
preliminary designation becomes final. If the medical
certifications fail to confirm that the reason for the
absence was an FMLA reason, the employer must with-
draw the designation (with written notice to the

employee).

App. 18

29 C.ER. § 825.700(a)

(a) An employer must observe any employment
benefit program or plan that provides greater family or
medical leave rights to employees than the rights estab-
lished by the FMLA. Conversely, the rights established by
the Act may not be diminished by any employment bene-
fit program or plan. For example, a provision of a CBA
which provides for reinstatement to a position that is not
equivalent because of seniority (e.g., provides lesser pay)
is superseded by FMLA. If an employer provides greater
unpaid family leave rights than are afforded by FMLA,
the employer is not required to extend additional rights
afforded by FMLA, such as maintenance of health bene-
fits (other than through COBRA), to the additional leave
period not covered by FMLA. If an employee takes paid
or unpaid leave and the employer does not designate the
leave as FMLA leave, the leave taken does not count
against an employee’s FMLA entitlement.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0476%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
