# Amicus Curiae Brief — Zelman v. Simmons-Harris

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0469%3A20

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 533 U.S. 976

## Text

————————______
@® © &®

No, 00-1751, 00-1777, 00-1779

a

Supreme Court, U.S.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United S

SENEL TAYLOR, JOHNNIETTA MCGRADY, CHRISTINE SUMA,
ARKELE WINSTON, AND AMY HUDOCK,
&
SUSAN TAVE ZELMAN, SUPERINTENDENT
OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION,
&
HANNA PERKINS SCHOOL, ef a/.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

Doris SIMMONS-HARRIS, et ai.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

AMICI CURIAE BRIEF FOR
THE CENTER FOR EDUCATION REFORM, et ai.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Of Counsel ROBERT A. DESTRO
JOSEPH E. SCHMITZ Counsel of Record
GREGORY S. WALDEN MARSHALL J. BREGER

MATTHEW F. STOWE SCHOOL OF LAW
PATTON BocGs LLP CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY
2550 M Street NW OF AMERICA
Washington, D.C. 20037 3600 John McCormack Road, N.E.
(202) 457-6135 Washington, D.C. 20064
(202) 319-5140
Counsel for Amici Curiae

The Center for Education Reform, Inc., et al.

re et ne eee mR SR
WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WasninGTON, D.C. 20001

| 54 PP
eS

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Cae FO ED ctrceictersencscsscsnscenssoorsscssccscccees iil
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE..................sscsssssssssssessees l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ......corcccsoccosccssscossesseosseocseeee 5
IIT ccs pensassniccininincitncieeiecsminencnadttnenpersboenensncen 7
ITD eiseettnirtetptinterinninptnnnimnineiannnictninninimsmmennes 14

I. FACTUAL AND SOCIAL CONTEXT IS
CRUCIAL TO A _ DETERMINATION
THAT THIS SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM
"GREP PAPAS TUITE s escccescncsncccsccnssccseteseeees 14

A. Plaintiffs in an Establishment Clause
Case Bear the Burden of Proving.
Every Factual Element of Their
Claim, But Failed To Do So ...................... 14

B. The Decisions Below are "Clearly
Erroneous” as a Matter of Fact, and
I aie 17

I. THE EQUAL PROTECTION AND
ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSES REQUIRE
A FACTUAL INQUIRY BEFORE THIS
REMEDIAL LEGISLATION IS

A. The Decisions Below Inhibit Ohio's
Ability to Meet Its Remedial
Obligations Under Federal and State

B. The Decisions Below’ Are
Inconsistent with the Principle of
Equal Protection of the Laws
Embodied in the First and Fourteenth
PIII, - snticnnicccidtegnatescrinnveniatinisiaatian! 29

Sa Partanhicinssitmidistasininiininidsntiajisinanntasesémantioniail 30

***

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970)............ 22
Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203 (1997) 0.0.0.0... 7, 16, 30
Bagley v. Ravmond Sch. Dep't, 728 A.2d 127 (Me.),
cert. denied, $528 U.S. 947 (1999) oo... cee ceceeeees 15,17
Board of Educ. of the Kirvas Joel Village Sch.
Dist. v. Grumet, 512 U.S. 687 (1994) ..00...cccccccccceceees 24, 29
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United States, Inc.,
CE 23
Bowen v. Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589 (1988) .......... 7, 16, 23, 30
Brown v. Board of Educ., 347 U.S. 483 (1954) ............c00 6
Campbell v. Manchester Bd. Of Sch. Dirs., 641 A.2d
ee i artetaterinentinegtinaniuninecctninentesteenmmnnemanmans 15
Capitol Square Review & Advisory Bd. v. Pinette,
515 U.S. 753 (1995)........... palenbisianiaenengpecsentiannaeaes 14, 24
Church of Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc. v. City of Hialeah,
TT ee 14
Church of Scientology Flag Serv. Org., Inc. v. City of
Clearwater, 2 F.3d 1514 (11 Cir. 1993) .........scssseeesswes 16
EP EE A

iv

DeRolfe v. State, 677 N.E.2d 733 (Ohio 1997), reh'g
and clarification, 678 N.E.2d 886 (Ohio 1997),
clarification,699 N.E.2d 518 (Ohio 1998)(DeRolfe J),

aff'd in part, 728N.E.2d 993 (Ohio 2000)................ 9, 18, 25
DeRolfe v. State, 728 N.E.2d 993 (Ohio 2000)
SI Cl cipicienncinnncenereanaretnesmegciiaiiinaiiedininintemmenn 10
DeRolfe v. State, 754 N.E.2d 1184(Ohio 2001)
SD Gate ncrcncicinniptntintainidunnniiianinnbinppincptniaes 10
Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987) .............c000000 15

Equal Open Enrollment Ass'n v. Board of Educ. of the
Akron City Sch. Dist., 937 F. Supp. 700 (N.D. Ohio

SERED esccecozescenzencensusnncnmnsennesvensintasippranyrepsenapesspuonasesapesstsuseees 19
Gillette v. United States, 401 U.S. 437 (1971)..............0000 15
Good News Club v. Milford Cent. Sch., 121 S. Ct.
| Te. ae SS 16, 23
Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian & Bisexual
Group of Boston, 515 U.S. 557 (1995) ............cccccceeeeeeeenees 23
Jackson v. Benson, 578 N.W.2d 602 (Wis.), cert. denied,
i 8 ENE NE a AE Cee ee 15
Kotterman v. Killian, 972 P.2d 606 (Ariz.), cert. denied,
RE RE ND ee ee 15
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) ......... 7, 14, 16, 30
Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984)...........cccccccceeceeees 14

Malcom-Smith v. Goff, No. CV-342589, 1999 WL 961495
(Ohio App. Oct. 21, 1999) .....cccccccscossesssssssecsssssseseeeeeeeeee 10

McDaniel v. Paty, 435 U.S. 618 (1978)........cccccceeseeeeeeees 30

McGwinn v. Board of Ed. Of Cleveland City Sch. Dist.,
69 N.E.2d 391 (Ohio Com. Pl. 1945), aff"d, 69 N.E.2d

SEE EE EEA 8
Mitchell v. Helms, 530 U.S. 793 (2000).......... 16, 24, 29, 30
Mixon v. State of Ohio, 193 F.3d 389 (6" Cir. 1999)........10
Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388 (1983) .........-.--s0ssv-ssessnes0ees 29
Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 121 S. Ct. 2448 (2001)........... 14
Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepps,

i 23
Reed v. Rhodes, 179 F.3d 453 (6™ Cir. 1999) ..............0--se-0 5

Reed v. Rhodes, 934 F. Supp. 1533 (N.D. Ohio 1996) ..9, 10
Reed v. Rhodes, No. C73-1300, 1992 WL 80626

NF ee 8,12
Reed v. Rhodes, 422 F. Supp. 708 (N.D. Ohio 1976).......... 8
Ritchey Produce Co. v. Ohio Dep't of Admin. Servs.,
Ce 18, 25
Rosenberger v. Rector & Visitors of the Univ. of Va.,
ee, Ge rinnncescntbibdtetnetncreneemaniiniemennessee 14, 24
Shaw v. Reno, 509 U.S. 630 (1993) ..........ccccccecereeeneeneeeeees 29
Simmons-Harris v. Goff, 711 N.E.2d 203
Ee eee 6, 11, 14, 25, 26, 27

Strout v. Albanese, 178 F.3d 57 (1" Cir.), cert. denied,

ls Ce tits inithieniiniirnrecacinahiaeitinataaaitiasinial tanita 15,17
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ.,
ES ARES in ae a Sa 18
United States v. Playboy Entertainment, Inc, 120 S. Ct.
ea icierepetiencnenmenietatilitaciiiiinatiatillatdaiamtiiddaiateeinaits 23
Village of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Hous. Dev.
RR ES ae 15
Washington \. Davis, 426 U.S. 229 (1976).........ccccccccceeeeee 29
White v. Turfway Park Racing Ass'n, 909 F.2d 941

SP Ce series Sith ieeienntecienbactindnsnietietiaiaseniaehini 22
Wright v. Rockefeller, 376 U.S. 52 (1964).........ccccccceceeeoees 29
Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886) ...............c0c00000 14

Zobrest v. Catalina Hills Sch. Dist., 509 U.S. 1

eee EN ee 30
SR GG, CII Bsa roceereccntacicctictnctoventennccmnnctctnicei passim
es aa passim
RS Ce 18, 25, 28

vii

STATUTES
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3313.98 (Anderson

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3313.974-.979
EE cncenisinctinhininegrnceneismnstretpensmeenestescesscenssammnenten 20

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3313.981 (Anderson

TIT cos nicearesinc ca pinasipenasidimpaeigetnentenmnessescennaatanaes 20

RULES
Pa, Be Get, Fs GERD ceceesrnsssisseameneneyrnssrsnscnnssnnscsnssccsessscesseces 22

OTHER AUHTORITIES

General Accounting Office, School Vouchers: Publicly
Funded Programs in Cleveland and Milwaukee (Aug. 31,
i nnciisindiitenncenneti ti dianisiadidiainmtmenneptesmneanrneiimmnenariene 26

Policy Note, Private School Competition Raises Salaries of
Public School Teachers, Buckeye Inst. for Public Policy
SA AE TTS 25

vill

2000 Ohio State Dep't of Educ. Cleveland City School
District Report, at http://odevax.ode.state.oh.us/Irc_ www
EE ET EES ie 6,11

Jeanne Allen, The School Reform Handbook (Center for
Education Reform, Washington, D.C. 1995)..............-.0-0+« 9

Michael S. Ariens & Robert A. Destro, Religious Liberty
in A Pluralistic Society (Carolina Academic Press 1996) .30

Jay P. Greene, The Racial, Economic, & Religious Context
Of Parental Choice in Cleveland (1999)............... 12, 24, 27

Interview with Caroline Hoxby, Battle Over School
Choice: Competition, School Choice & Charter Schools,

PBS Frontline (May 23, 2000) .0............:.cccccsseesseeereeees 24, 28
Henry P. Monaghan, Constitutional Fact Review, 85
, Ga, ee icacecetaiRicininsiensecssnctnettinntnccnnminanen 23
Diane Ravitch, School Reform, Past, Present, and Future,
51 Case West. L. Rev. 187 (2001).......ccccscccrccesssesscccssosssess 10
Beth Reinhard, Cleveland: A Study in Crisis, Education
Week, Jan. 8, IDB .....ersesssverrerssseessnessnesensersssenssenesenessnecsses 10
Scott Stephens, School Board Unveils Steps to Curb
Violence, Cleveland Plain Dealer, Oct. 29, 1994................. 9

Richard Vedder & Joshua Hall, Private Schools & Public
School Teacher Salaries, Ohio University (Feb. 1999).....25

Nos. 00-1779, 00-1751, 00-1777
In the Supreme Court of the United States

Senel Taylor, Johnnietta McGrady, Christine Suma, Arkele
Winston, and Amy Hudock
&
Susan Tave Zelman, Superintendent of Public Instruction,
&
Hanna Perkins School, et al.,
Petitioners
Vv.

Doris Simmons-Harris, et al.,
Respondents

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Sixth Circuit

AMICI CURIAE BRIEF FOR
THE CENTER FOR EDUCATION REFORM, et al.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS’

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE’

The Center for Education Reform (“CER”) is a

national, independent, non-profit advocacy organization
founded in 1993 to advance substantive reforms in public

' Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, no person other than Counsel
identified on the cover and the staff of The Center for Fducation
Reform participated in authoring this brief. No entity other than amici
and their counsel provided financial support for this brief.

? The consent of the parties to the filing of this amicus curiae brief has
been obtained and filed with the Clerk of the Court.

2

education. CER works with parents and _ teachers,
community and civic groups, policymakers, grassroots
leaders, and all other interested citizens to ensure that ideas
critical to education reform are identified, understood and
implemented. CER is an active broker in bridging policies
and practices through coalition building and by working
with diverse constituencies to implement reforms that
improve access, accountability, and assessment, and that
help restore education excellence and equity to America’s
public schools.

The American Legislative Exchange Council is the
nation's largest bipartisan association of state legislators.
Its mission is to discuss, develop, and disseminate public
policies that expand free markets, promote economic
growth, limit government, and preserve individual liberty.

The Arizona School Choice Trust was founded on
the philosophy that parents should have a choice in their
children's education, and provides tuition grants for
children from disadvantaged families to attend any private
school in Arizona.

California Parents for Educational Choice, the
Coalition for Parental Choice in Education
(Massachusetts), the Education Excellence Coalition
(Washington), Floridians for School Choice, the Illinois
Coalition for Parental Choice, the Maine School Choice
Coalition, and United New Yorkers for Choice in
Education are non-profit, largely grassroots organizations
dedicated to the right of parents to choose the best
education for their children and to promoting meaningful
school choice programs.

The Center for Equal Opportunity (“CEO”) is a
District of Columbia non-profit organization whose main
purpose is to study issues concerning race and ethnicity.

3

CEO has participated actively in a wide variety of civil” ~
rights cases.

The Center for Public Justice is a national nonprofit
organization that has been making the case for justice in the
reform of educational governance and funding for nearly 25
years by advocating equal funding of all students in any
licensed school, whether publicly governed or independent,
secular or religious.

Children First: CEO Kansas is the state affiliate of
the national Children First: CEO America scholarship
program for underprivileged students. Their purpose is to
assist in equalizing educational opportunities for low-
income families by offering options normally denied to
them because of cost.

Citizens for Educational Freedom (CEF) is a
national, grassroots organization with its headquarters-in_—
Missouri. Founded in 1959, CEF is dedicated to supporting
parents’ rights to choose schools for their own children.
The Educational Freedom Foundation is a charitable
foundation affiliated with CEF and serves to educate the
public about parental rights in education and school choice
issues.

The Commonwealth Foundation of Pennsylvania is
an independent, non-partisan, non-profit public policy
organization committed to advocating policies that expand
choice and opportunity in education, while also presenting
innovations and ideas aimed at reinvigorating the current
system and empowering parents and taxpayers.

Excellent Education for Everyone is a coalition of
New Jersey citizens that works to enable public schools to
better educate children by subjecting their schools to the
competitive pressures of school choice, believing that
competition will improve school performance, provide

4

accountability, and assure that all children receive a quality
education.

“I Have A Dream” Foundation of Washingion D.C.
is a non-profit education foundation serving at-risk inner
city youth. The Foundation supports school choice because
it will provide a better education and a better chance for a
bright, successful future for these youth.

The Hispanic Council for Reform and Educational
Options is dedicated to improving educational outcomes
for Hispanic children by empowering families to access all
educational options and to be an agent for educational
equity and quality.

_ Minnesota Business Partnership (‘MBP’) is a non-
profit, non-partisan public policy organization whose
members are leaders of 103 of Minnesota’s largest
companies. Since its founding in 1977, MBP’s mission has
been to develop and advocate public policy that strengthens
Minnesota’s economy and improves the quality of life.
Improving the education system is a critical component of
that mission.

The Nevada Manufacturers Association (“NMA”)
represents manufacturers in Nevada. The Pennsy!vania
Manufacturers Association (“PMA”) represents
manufacturers in Pennsylvania and other Midwestern and
Mid-Atlantic states, including Ohio. Associated Industries
of Vermont (“AIV”) represents manufacturers and other _
businesses in Vermont. The NMA, PMA, and AIV have a
long-term interest the development of a skilled, educated,
and effective workforce.

The Texas Justice Foundation is a non-profit, public
interest, litigation foundation that works in the area of
education law and school choice, representing parents and
their fundamental right to direct the upbringing and ~

5

education of their children, a right recognized by this Court
since 1923.

The Toussaint Institute Fund helps minority parents
find and access good schools for their children in the public
and private sectors, and also works with communities to
build better schools.

The Urban League of Miami is a non-profit
organization dedicated to enabling Blacks to reach their
potential and exercise their rights as human beings. Public
education reform is a priority of the Urban League.

Beatrice D. Fowler of the Brevard County School
Board (Florida) and Kyle Persinger of the Marion School
Board (Indiana), representing themselves, are members of
bodies charged with providing quality education for
children at all socio-economic levels.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

When the Ohio General Assembly first adopted the
Cleveland Scholarship and Tutoring Grant Program [“the
Scholarship Program”] in 1995, Cleveland’s school
children and their parents had been litigating desegregation
and education reform issues for more than a generation.
See Reed v. Rhodes, 179 F.3d 453 (6th Cir. 1999). By the
time the Scholarship Program was reenacted in 1997, it was
clear that the effort to provide Cleveland’s children with an
adequate education untainted by racial discrimination had
failed. Notwithstanding the good faith efforts of the District
Court, the Ohio Supreme Court, the Ohio General

> Reed v. Rhodes was filed in 1973. The Sixth Circuit approved the
District Court’s 1996 finding of unitary status with respect to student
assignments in 1999. The Cleveland City School District complied with
the last of its obligations under the consent decree on June 30, 2000.
The litigation is chronicled in nearly forty published opinions in the
federal courts, two opinions of the Ohio Supreme Court, and several
opinions of the Ohio Court of Appeals.

6

Assembly, the State Board of Education, and the Mayor of
Cleveland, the Ohio Department of Education rated the
Cleveland City School District [CCSD] an “academic
emergency.”

. The Ohio Supreme Court recognized the relevance of
these facts when it rejected Respondents’ Establishment
Clause challenge to the Scholarship Program. In its view,
“(t]he General Assembly took extraordinary measures to
attempt to alleviate an extraordinary situation.” Simmons-
Harris v. Goff, 711 N.E.2d 203, 214 (Ohio 1999). The
Sixth Circuit, by contrast, explicitly refused to look at the
legal and social context. Where the Ohio Supreme Court
saw “a general program[, the] benefits [of which] are
available irrespective of the type of alternative school the
eligible students attend,” Goff, 711 N.E.2d at 209, the Sixth
Circuit saw a sham designed to provide State financing for
religious schools. The actual design of Ohio’s school
financing program (of which the Scholarship Program is
but a small part), the actual reasons why suburban districts
do not accept inter-district Scholarship Program students,
and the actual choices available to Cleveland’s parents and
children were, in its view, “at best irrelevant” to the
Establishment Clause analysis. Simmons-Harris v. Zelman,
234 F. 3d 945, 958-959 (6th Cir. 2000) (emphasis added).

Amici submit that this Court’s holdings under the
Establishment, Due Process, and Equal Protection Clauses
show that evidence outlining the purpose, operation, and
effects of a specific education reform effort is just as
essential to an inquiry under the Establishment Clause as it
would be to a review of that reform under Brown v. Board
of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954), and its progeny.

* See 2000 Ohio State Dep’t of Educ. Cleveland City Sch. Dist. Rep.,
http://odevax.ode.state.oh.us/ Irc_ www/99_Dist/043786.pdf, at 2.

Ee eae Fe CE: SAE PE De EE a eT
REEDED 2 5 eR PU aC er
-

Respondents produced no “evidence in [this] record
that the [government] is in fact violating” the law. Agostini
v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203, 228 (1997). They neither offered
any proof that “the manner in which the statute is presently
being administered” raises questions concerning the
purpose and effect of the Cleveland Scholarship Program,
Bowen v. Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589, 621 (1988), nor did they
demonstrate that the General Assembly’s purpose was
other than to take positive steps to remedy the present and
future effects of racial discrimination by the Cleveland City
School District [CCSD]. Based on appearances alone, the
Sixth Circuit concluded that the Scholarship Program was
not an expansion of the choices available to Cleveland’s
long-suffering parents and children the General Assembly
intended, but rather a “government limitation of the

available choices to overwhelmingly sectarian private
schools.” 234 F.3d at 960 (emphasis added).

An even-handed reading of the history and operation
of the Cleveland Scholarship Program demonstrates that it
is materially different in its purpose, genesis, design,
operation, fiscal impact on parents and schools, and in its
overall effect from the program struck down in Committee
for Public Education v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756 (1973).
Respondents have not even proved that the Scholarship
Program “advances religion,” Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S.
602, 612-13 (1971), much less that advancement of
religion is the Program's "principal or primary effect." The
decision of the Sixth Circuit should be reversed.

INTRODUCTION

The background against which the State of Ohio
enacted the Cleveland Scholarship and Tutoring Grant
Program is unusual, if not unique. The Scholarship
Program is the direct outcome of an intensely fought,
politically bruising, and enormously expensive education

EX PR RP RS ve gC
SS aE a
8

reform effort on the part of Cleveland’s public school
children and their parents. That effort began years before
the plaintiffs in Reed v. Rhodes asked the federal courts to
desegregate the system, and it is safe to predict that those
efforts will continue in other fora until they are satisfied
that the State of Ohio is providing both equal and adequate
educational opportunities for ail of its children.

The crisis in which the CCSD finds itself is the logical
and inevitable outcome of policies and attitudes that divide
communities by race, ethnicity, religion, and class, and that
make the political compromises necessary to support far-
reaching educational reform difficult if not impossible. See,
e.g., McGwinn v. Board of Ed. of Cleveland City Sch. Dist.,
69 N.E.2d 391 (Ohio Com. P1., 1945) (action by Cleveland
taxpayers to prohibit free tuition for children residing on
land owned by the federal government), aff'd, 69 N.E.2d
381 (Ohio 1946). Nearly ten years ago, Chief Judge Frank
Battisti aptly summarized the situation in which the CCSD
finds itself today:

In Reed v. Rhodes, as in other things, a sense of
history is necessary for any comprehension of the
present and the future. ... Despite judicial rulings,
upheld on appeal, that the Defendants had engaged
in clear and intentional racial segregation, for more
than a decade they displayed a recalcitrance and
hostility toward the laws of the land ‘and the
remedial orders of this Court that not only
prevented progress in this case but also inflicted
grievous wounds on the community as a whole. Of
late, no one has been heard to assert that the schools
are operated in a satisfactory manner; to put it
another way, every voice laments the unsatisfactory
condition of the school district. This is the challenge
that the Defendants, state and local, must face.

a ES 7 aR
Ee SATE
9

Reed v. Rhodes, No. C73-1300, 1992 WL 80626 at *1
(N.D. Ohio, Apr. 2, 1992).

Structural Changes

The CCSD has tried virtually everything. The
desegregation plan opened up school assignments,
implemented non-discriminatory testing and tracking
procedures, required significant efforts to improve reading
scores, added magnet, charter, and vocational opportunities,
upgraded and reorganized transportation, implemented
stronger financial and management practices, desegregated
teacher and professional staff assignments, and provided
extra State funding. See Reed v. Rhodes, 934 F. Supp. 1533,
1551-52 (N.D. Ohio 1996). See also Scott Stephens, School
Board Unveils Steps to Cur Violence, Cleveland Plain
Dealer, Oct. 29, 1994, at 1B (noting that the School Board
took steps to curb rising violence in Cleveland schools);
Jeanne Allen, The School Reform Handbook, Ch. 7, p. 62
(Center for Education Reform, Washington, D.C. 1995)
(http://www.edreform.com/handbook/srhch7.htm) (noting
that the State of Ohio also introduced minimum standards
tests for graduating high school seniors set at a level of
ninth grade proficiency).

Funding

The Scholarship Program was not the only financing
change affecting the funds available to the CCSD during
this period. In 1997, the Ohio Supreme Court held that
certain portions of Ohio’s school funding formula were
unconstitutional because the complaining “school districts
were starved for funds, lacked teachers, buildings, and
equipment, and had inferior educational programs, and that
their pupils were being deprived of educational
opportunity.” DeRolfe v. State, 677 N.E.2d 733, 742 (Ohio
1997) (DeRolfe 1), reh'g and clarification, 678 N.E.2d 886
(Ohio 1997), clarification, 699 N.E.2d 518 (Ohio 1998).

10

DeRolfe I succeeded in forcing major changes in the school
funding program. Since 1997, the General Assembly has
enacted numerous reforms in the funding system. Some of
those revisions were challenged and held to violate the
Ohio Constitution, see DeRolfe v. State, 728 N.E.2d 993
(Ohio 2000) (DeRolfe II). The legislature responded once
again, and on September 6, 2001, the Ohio Supreme Court
issued its final opinion in the matter, approving, with
conditions, the General Assembly’s most recent attempts to
reform the State’s school funding program. DeRolfe v. State
(DeRolfe ill), 754 N.E.2d 1184 (Ohio 2001).

By 1995, the political infighting caused by reform
efforts caused the "total fiscal and administrative collapse”
of the Cleveland School District. Reed v. Rhodes, 934
F.Supp. 1533, 1538-39 (App.A) (N.D. Ohio, 1996). As a
last resort, the District Court ordered the State Board of
Education and the State Superintendent to “assume
immediate supervision and operational, fiscal and
personnel management of the District.” /d. at 1560. In
August 1997, Governor Voinovich signed a bill specifically
designed to change the composition of the Cleveland
School Board by giving the Mayor a major role in the
selection of its members, and to bring some orderly
resolution to competing visions of education reform. See
Mixon v. State of Ohio, 193 F.3d 389 (6th Cir. 1999)
(upholding the plan); Malcolm-Smith v. Goff, No. CV-
342589, 1999 WL 961495 (Ohio App., Oct. 21, 1999)
(unpublished, same).

The Present State of the Cleveland City School District

“Because of the confluence of poverty, poor
management, and low educational achievement,” the CCSD
is renowned as the country’s greatest educational failure.
Diane Ravitch, School Reform, Past, Present, and Future,
51 Case West. L. Rev. 187, 189 (2001). See also Beth
Reinhard, Cleveland: A Study in Crisis, Education Weck,

11

Jan. 8, 1998, at 26. Conditions are so appalling, and the
crisis has persisted for so long, that the Ohio Department of
Education recently gave the Cleveland City School District
“academic emergency” status.’ The Ohio Supreme Court
has recognized that "the Cleveland City School District is
in a crisis related to the supervision order.” Simmons-
Harris v. Goff, 711 N.E.2d 203, 214 (Ohio 2000). This is
tragic. Desegregation, properly understood, is education
reform, and Reed v. Rhodes was an education reform case
in every sense. It is impossible therefore to extract either
Reed, or this case, from a social, political, and educational
context where, after 25 years of litigation, only 20% of the
ninth-graders in Cleveland passed the State’s proficiency
test, when 69% of their ninth-grade classmates can do so.
See 2000 Ohio State Dep't of Educ. Cleveland City Sch.
Dist. Rep., http://ode000.ode.state.oh.us/ Irc_www/99_Dist/
043786.pdf, at 2. At a social level, the indicators are even
worse.

[Pjublic schools in the Cleveland area are
remarkably segregated. Most students attend
schools that are almost all white or almost all
minority and very few students attend schools that
resemble the racial proportion in the whole
community. Families wishing to attend a racially
integrated school in the public system in Cleveland
have very few opportunities to do so.

Appendix II, Jay P. Greene, Ph.D., The Racial, Economic,

and Religious Context of Parental Choice in Cleveland

* A rating of “academic emergency” applies to districts that meet eight
or fewer of Ohio's twenty-seven performance standards. CCSD did not
meet any of *+ standards during the 1998-1999 school year (score:
0/27}, thus earning last place among all Ohio's school districts. See
http://www.ode.state.oh.us/reportcard/RatingbyCD.pdf. In 1999-2000
CCSD met three standards, and remains aii “academic emergency.” See
http://www.ode.state.oh.us/teportcard/ratings/ fy00_std_seq.htm.

12

(1999), reproduced in Joint Appendix (J.A.) at 213a
[hereafter “Greene, Context of Parental Choice’.
Trying Innovative Solutions
Recognizing the intractable nature of these problems,
Chief Judge Frank Battisti suggested in 1992 that the State
of Ohio should be free “to think about innovative programs

and undertakings, where such programs offer a realistic

promise of eliminating remaining vestiges.” Reed v.
Rhodes, 1992 WL 80626, at *3. In response to this

challenge, the Governor and the General Assembly adopted
the Cleveland Scholarship and Tutoring Grant Program
(“Scholarship Program”). Signed into law on June 29, 1995
by Governor George Voinovich, its goal was to provide
funded options for poor students trapped in the Cleveland
system.
With the adoption of the Scholarship Program in 1995,

Cleveland’s low-income families® had achieved one of their
key educational goals.

If a family wants to live in the Cleveland area and
wanits to send their children to a racially integrated
school at public expense, they are more likely to do
so by choosing a private school with a voucher than
they are by attending a public school. Despite court
orders and political pressure to improve integration
in the public schools, the Cleveland Scholarship
Program offers families a better opportunity for a
racially integrated school experience.

* Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §3313.978 [App. F, J.A. 33a] provides, in

per cent of the scholarship amount and students whose family income is
below two hundred per cent of that maximum income level shall
qualify for ninety per cent of the scholarship amount.”

13

Greene, Context of Parental Choice, J.A. at 213a-214a.

They could make real choices in the interest of their

children from among a range of available educational
alternatives. Cleveland’s low income school children now
have the following choices:

Remain in their neighborhood school;

Transfer within the CCSD;

Attend a magnet school within CCSD;

Enroll in one of Ohio’s charter “community” schools;
Use the scholarship for supplemental services such as
tutoring;

Use the scholarship to pay a portion of private school
tuition; or

Enroll at full public expense in any public school
district in the State that has agreed by resolution to
admit them under Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3313.98.

In sum, the Scholarship Program at issue in this case

was not enacted in a vacuum. The recognized failure of the
CCSD and its resistance to judicial efforts to cure its
defects are “social facts” that this Court cannot ignore.
Amici respectfully submit that the Sixth Circuit erred when
it held that they are irrelevant to an Establishment Clause
analysis of the Scholarship Program.

14
ARGUMENT

I. FACTUAL AND SOCIAL CONTEXT IS
CRUCIAL TO A DETERMINATION THAT
THIS SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM
“ADVANCES RELIGION."

A. Plaintiffs in an Establishment Clause Case
Bear the Burden of Proving Every Factual
Element of Their Claim, But Failed To Do So.

Reference to factual context is crucial when State
action is alleged to violate the Constitution. See, e.g.,
Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 121 S. Ct. 2448, 2467 (2001)
(O’Connor J., concurring) (“careful examination and
weighing of all the relevant circumstances”). A thorough
understanding of the immediate facts and social context is
critical in Equal Protection cases, see Yick Wo v. Hopkins,
118 U.S. 356 (1886); in cases involving free speech, see
Rosenberger v. Rector & Visitors of the Univ. of Va., 515
U.S. 819 (1995), Capitol Square Review & Advisory Bd. v.
Pinette, 515 U.S. 753 (1995); and in cases raising free
exercise claims. Church of Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc. v. City
of Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520 (1993). Amici submit that context
is equally critical in Establishment Clause cases. Lynch v.
Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 693-94 (1984) ("communicat[ion
of] an endorsement of religion” is "in large part a legal
question to be answered on the basis of judicial
interpretation of social facts.”)(O’Connor, J., concurring).

Over the years since the Court synthesized its approach
to Establishment Clause adjudication in Lemon vy.
Kurtzman, 403 U.S. at 612-613, there has been a good deal
of confusion concerning the relationship between and
among the fact-based inquiries it requires. The stark
contrast between the approach of the Ohio Supreme Court
in Simmons-Harris v. Goff, and that of the Sixth Circuit in
this case is a textbook example of a profound disagreement

15

over the proper approach to fact-based claims and defenses
arising under the Establishment Clause.’

Where, as here, plaintiffs challenge an education
reform program utilizing Lemon's three-part test, plaintiffs
must prove by a preponderance of the evidence:

That the statute — taken as a whole and viewed in
context — either has no secular legislative purpose, or
that the alleged purpose of the statutory scheme at issue
is a pretext for an otherwise unconstitutional attempt to
advance or inhibit religion;

That “the principal or primary effect of the statute” —
read in the education reform and remedial context in
which it was adopted and operates - “advances [or]
inhibits religion” in a tangible or demonstrable way; or

That the nature and degree of any “entanglement with
religion” under the statute is “excessive” given the
nature and purpose of the programs involved and the
general regulatory context in which it operates.

See Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 595 (1987)
(exploring facts and history). Cf Gillette v. United States,
401 U.S. 437, 451-52 (1971) (challenger must show no
legitimate purpose in absence direct evidence of sectarian
motive). See also Village of Arlington Heights v.
Metropolitan Hous. Dev. Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 267 (1977)

’ The disagreement is widespread Compare Campbell v. Manchester
Bd. of Sch. Dirs., 641 A.2d 352, 359-61 (Vt. 1994) (fact-based inquiry);
Jackson v. Benson, 578 N.W.2d 602, 617-19 (Wis.), cert. denied, 525
U.S. 997 (1998)(same); Kotterman v. Killian, 972 P.2d 606, 612-15
(Ariz.), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 921 (1999)(same) with Bagley v.
Raymond Sch. Dep't, 728 A.2d 127, 133-35, 144-45 (Me.), cert. denied,
528 U.S. 947 (1999) (intent to discriminate found but no examination
of factual context or justification); Strout v. Albanese, 178 F.3d 57 (ist
Cup. cert denied, $28 US. 931 (1999) (no analysis of a primary effect
of “unhibutang rehygwn")

16

("historical background” and "specific sequence of events"
preceding enactment); Church of Scientology Flag Serv.
Org., Inc. v. City of Clearwater, 2 F.3d 1514 (11th Cir.
1993)(specific intent).

All of this Court’s Establishment Clause cases indicate
that context is relevart. Since Bowen v. Kendrick, 487 U.S.
589 (1988), this Court has held that appearance or “risk”
alone does not violate the Establishment Clause. Agostini v.
Felton, 521 U.S. 203 (1997); Mitchell v. Helms, 530 U.S.
593 (2000); Good News Club v. Milford Cent. Sch., 121 S.
Ct. 2093 (2001). It makes no difference whether the
analysis proceeds under Lemon, explores whether the
“government intends to convey a message of endorsement
or disapproval of religion,” scrutinizes the government’s
actions for evidence of coercion, or utilizes neutrality as the
touchstone of the analysis, it is impossible to find the
ultimate “constitutional fact” — whether the government’s
action is intended to serve or hamper religion — without
some evidence of intent and application.

Whether a specific program has a “purpose or primary
effect that advances or inhibits religion” is an inherently
fact-sensitive inquiry. Its truth or falsity necessarily turns
on a variety of factors that will differ from case-to-case,
such as curriculum content, teaching perspective, classroom
demographics, the denominational affiliation of the
children, their teachers and the institution, the behavior and
good faith of teachers and administrators, cash flow, and
the state’s ability to recover funds spent for illegal
purposes. Neither the Sixth Circuit nor the District Court
addressed the relevance of any of these factors, even
though they were clearly presented in the record. See
Affidavits of Delories Jones, App. AA, and Cynthia L.
Felden, App. BB in J.A. 186a-189a.

Because Respondents did not undertake to demonstrate
how the Scholarship Program funds flowing to parents who

17

chose religiously affiliated schools actually “advance
religion,” Petitioners were entitled to summary judgment as
a matter of law.

B. The Decisions Below are “Clearly Erroneous”
as a Matter of Fact, and as a Matter of Law

Relying on a narrow reading of Nyquist, the District
Court found that the primary effect of the Scholarship
Program was to provide substantial benefits for religiously
affiliated schools, notwithstanding undisputed evidence that
the scholarship does not even come close to covering the
cost of educating scholarship students. See Affidavit of
Shelia Bolek 99, App. Z, J.A. 184a. In the District Court's
view, 72 F.Supp.2d at 849, this purported effect was so
substantial that it supported a finding that the “function” of
the Scholarship Program — i.e. its purpose — was “to
provide assistance to private schools, the great majority of
which are sectarian.”

No attention whatever is given in this analysis to the
raisons d’étre for the options first made available to
Cleveland parents and children in 1995: an existing
constitutional mandate to desegregate Cleveland’s schools,
the need to reform them in a manner that creates a unitary
school system meeting the needs of the poor and
underserved, and the titanic political struggles over Ohio's
school finance program. For the Court of Appeals, the
existence of “other options available to Cleveland parents
such as the Community Schools is "at best irrelevant.” 234
F.3d at 958.°

* Other courts have taken an equally hostile attitude toward facts that this Court
has held are clearly relevant in an Establishment Clause inquiry. In Strout v.
Albanese, 178 F.3d at 64, the First Circuit professed to be “at a loss to
understand why plaintiff-appellants believe that the Establishment Clause gives
them a basis for recovery” in a case where the State Legislature changed a
neutral rule of general applicability into one that discriminates on the basis of
religion. Accord Bagley, 728 A.2d at 133-35, 144-45 (finding that the statute

18

Amici submit that Circuit Judge Ryan was correct
when he observed that both the majority and the District
Court had misperceived the nature of both the factual and
legal burden respondents were required to carry under the -
precedents of this Court. 234 F.3d at 963 (Ryan, J,
dissenting) (“the majority has simply signed onto the
familiar anti-voucher mantra that voucher programs are no
more than a scheme to funnel public funds into religious
schools.”). The ruling below is tantamount to a bright line
rule that a State may not provide aid to students to attend
private schools, regardless of its legislative inient,
whenever some significant percentage of the schools
available are religiously affiliated.

The Ohio Supreme Court has held that “[w]Jhen a
district falls short of the constitutional requirement that the
system be thorough and efficient, it is the state's obligation
to rectify it.” DeRolfe 1, 677 N.E.2d at 745. See Ohio
Const. art. VI, §2. When the task is to remedy the past and
present effects of de jure racial discrimination, the
obligation is compelling under both State and federal law.
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ., 402 U.S. 1,
28 (1971); Ritchey Produce Co., Inc. v. Ohio Dept. of
Admin. Servs., 707 N.E.2d 871, 913 (Ohio 1999).

Ohio Provides Three Funded Options Outside the
Troubled Cleveland Public Schools.

The Sixth Circuit refused to consider the legal and
factual context of Ohio's school finance program because:

[W]e would open the door to a wide-reaching
analysis which would permit us to consider any and
all scholarship programs available to children who
qualify for the school voucher program. We would

singled out only religious schools for adverse treatment without considering
whether intentional discrimination on the basis of religion or religious
viewpoint has “a purpose or primary effect that ... inhibits religion”).

19

be considering and comparing every available
option for Cleveland children.

234 F.3d at 958. Amici respectfully submit that, to the
extent education reforms are a “necessary and proper”
means of compliance with the Equal Protection Clause, the
court was required to consider the three funded options to
parents and children who seek education outside the
troubled Cleveland public schools:

Community Schools are publicly funded, independent
schools, operated through a contract with a sponsoring
agency. They are known as charter schools around the
country, but community schools in Ohio are "chartered
public schools."°

Statewide Open Enrollment. The second funded
option for Cleveland’s children is the statewide open-
enrollment program created by Ohio Rev. Code Ann.
§3313.98. It permits fully funded inter-district transfers to
public school districts that permit them. See Equal Open
Enrollment Association v. Board of Educ. of the Akron City
Sch. Dist., 937 F. Supp. 700 (N.D. Ohio, 1996) (enjoining
operation of school district policy prohibiting white
students from transferring to adjacent school districts under
Ohio open-enrollment law). To date, the CCSD itself
permits a limited number of students from outside district
limits to attend, and receives full state support for each of
them. For reasons of their own, most of Cleveland’s
suburban districts do not accept any inter-district transfers
at this time,'° Their schools are open only to residents.

® Payments to Community Schools are detailed at
https://www.edohio.org/school_options/default.asp. See also
http://www.ode.state.oh.us/oso/options/commschools/generalinterest/
faq.htm (basic questions and answers about the program).

© On October 23, 2001, staff at the Center for Education Reform called
the following districts surrounding Cleveland: Brooklyn, Shaker
Heights, Cleveland Heights/University Heights, Parma, Lakewood,

20

The State of Ohio provides $5,137.50 for each student
enrolled in a public school in Cuyahoga County.'' Were a
student from Cleveland to enroll in a suburban district
within the county under the open-enrollment option, state
funding at the county rate would follow her.'?

The Cleveland Scholarship and Tutoring Grant
Program. Created by Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §§ 3313.974
through 3313.979, the Scholarship Program provides
limited tuition at public or private schools willing to

Euclid, Rocky River, East Cleveland, and Cuyahoga Heights. Each
district was asked two questions. First, each district was asked if it
allows students within its district to transfer to other schools within the
district, i.e. intra-district transfers. All the above districts where there is
more than one school per grade grouping permits intra-districi
transfers. Only the Brooklyn, Rocky River and Cuyahoga Heights
districts do not permit intra-district transfers because each district only
has one school per grade grouping. However, even those which allow
intra-district transfers have limitations such as the Shaker Heights
district which allows such transfers only “with permission." Second,
each district was asked if it accepts students from outside the district,
i.e. inter-district transfers. None of these districts accepts students from
outside their respective district.

'' Under Ohio law, if a student were to select an inter-district transfer,
the amount of funding payable to the receiving district is the “adjusted
formula amount for the district." Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3313.981.
For the 2001-02 school year, the formula amount is $4,814 per student,
which is the amount the State has determined to=be the base cost of an
adequate education. See Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3317.012(A)(1). The
formula amount is then multiplied by a cost-of-doing-business factor
(CODBF), depending upon the county where the receiving district is
located. For Cuyahoga County, the CODBF is 1.0672 (also defined by
statute), resulting in an adjusted formula amount for this school year of
$5,137.50.

" For tangible examples of the program “in operation,” see
http://www.ode.state.oh.us/sf/foundation/W W W-SF3-HEADER-
FY2002.HTML. To process the request, select 5-Oct-2001 in the first
pull-down box, the appropriate specific school district that accepts open
enrollment students (e.g., Akron City School District), and check Line
22D “open enrollment.” When “process” is pressed, the system will
generate current open-enroliment financial information.

21

participate. A suburban school district that agrees to take
out-of-district students under the Scholarship Program is
compensated by the State in accordance with the formula
set out in Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3317.03(I)(1). The
receiving district thus gets the scholarship, and counts the
scholarship student as a part of its “Average Daily
Membership” (ADM) for purposes of state reimbursement.

The Sixth Circuit, by contrast, believed that the
scholarship amount was the only payment the State would
make to a suburban district. The majority opinion states:
“At a maximum of $2,250, there is a financial disincentive
for public schools outside the district to take on students via
the school voucher program.” 234 F.3d at 959. The facts,
however, are to the contrary. The amount of the scholarship
is added to the base payment available to the student under
the State’s foundation formula. Thus, the reason that “there
are no spaces available for children who wish to attend a
suburban public school in place of a private school under
the program,” id., is not tied to school finance at all. The
suburban schools are open only to their residents. The
Sixth Circuit’s conclusion that the financial structure
"clearly has the impermissible effect of promoting sectarian
schools”, id., is plain error.

Respondents Did Not Prove That Any Portion of the
State's Payments Under the Scholarship Program
Supports Religious Activities or Teaching.

The District Court held, correctly, that while the
Scholarship Program serves an important secular goal, this
fact alone “d[id] not obviate th{e] court’s duty to further
question whether the Program also has the direct and
immediate effect of advancing religion.” 72 F. Supp. 2d at
848. From that point forward, however, it studiously
ignored the constitutional significance of undisputed facts
concerning the Program's actual operations. It presumed —
on largely doctrinal grounds that did not permit rebuttal,

22

that the relevant constitutional fact — that the Cleveland
Scholarship Program “advanced religion” — had been
proved.

The District Court did not, for example, question the
fact that “educating [public school scholarship] students
with such needs costs the [receiving private] schools more
than the payment they receive.” 72 F. Supp. 2d at 849.
Assuming, as we must under Rule 56 of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, that the court must view the evidence in
a light most favorable to the non-moving party, Adickes v.
S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970); White v. Turfway
Park Racing Ass'n, 909 F.2d 941, 943-44 (6th Cir. 1990),
the “most favorable” conclusion that can be drawn from
this undisputed fact is that when private schools accept
scholarship students at rates below their normal cost of
attendance, there is no subsidy to the school. The subsidy —
in the form of a below-cost “tuition discount’”— runs in
favor of the State. The Cleveland Public Schools are
subsidized as well, in that none of the costs associated with
students in the Scholarship Program who choose to attend a
private school are borne by the CCSD.

Rule 56(c) states plainly that summary judgment is
inappropriate unless there is “no genuine issue as to any
material fact” (emphasis added). But there were many such
disputes in the case at bar, including one implicit in the
District Court’s formulation of one of the key
“constitutional fact issues”: whether the Scholarship
Program “benefits the participating schools in such a way
as to impermissibly foster religion.” 72 F. Supp. 2d at 849
(emphasis added). Given those disputes, it should have
been incumbent on the Respondents to prove, by a
preponderance of the evidence, the precise ways in which
the Scholarship Program “has the direct and immediate
effect of advancing religion.” 72 F. Supp. 2d at 848 (citing
Nyquist, 413 U.S. at 783 n.39). Because they did not do so

23

— and did not rebut the evidence presented by the
Petitioners — summary judgment for the Petitioners should
have been granted.

In Bowen v. Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589 (1988), this Court
held that an Establishment Clause challenge is no different
in kind from any other claim arising under the incorporated
First Amendment. The duty of the District Court is to

consider[] ... the evidence presented by [the parties]

insofar as it sheds light on the manner in which the

Statute is presently being administered. It is the

latter inquiry to which the court must direct itself on

remand.... As our previous discussion has
indicated, and as Tilton, Hunt, and Roemer make

clear, it is not enough to show that the recipient of a

challenged grant is affiliated with a religious

institution or that it is "religiously inspired."

487 U.S. at 621. See, eg., United States v. Playboy
Entertainment, Inc., 120 S. Ct. 1878, 1891 (2000) (noting
that the government had failed to make its case on the
facts); Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian & Bisexual
Group of Boston, 515 U.S. 557, 567 (1995) (appellate
review of facts to decide whether petitioner's activity was
protected speech); Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepps,
475 U.S. 767 (1986) (plaintiffs in both public- and private-
figure cases concerning matters of public concern bear the
burden of proof on the issue of falsity); Bose Corp. v.
Consumers Union of United States, Inc., 466 U.S. 485,
510-11 (1984) (requiring "independent appellate review" of
factual determinations that a libel defendant acted with
actual malice). See Henry P. Monaghan, Constitutional
Fact Review, 85 Colum. L. Rev. 229 (1985).

Since Kendrick, his Court has consistently affirmed
the importance of constitutional fact-finding in
Establishment Clause litigation. Good News Club, 121 S.

24

Ct. 2093; Mitchell v. Helms, 530 U.S. 593; Agostini v.
Felton, 521 U.S. 203 (1997); Rosenberger, 515 U.S. 819
(1995); Capitol Square Review, 515 U.S. 753; Board of
Educ. of the Kiryas Joel Village Sch. Dist. v. Grumet, 512
U.S. 687 (1994); Zobrest v. Catalina Hills Sch. Dist., 509
U.S. 1 (1993). In the case at bar, however, the District
Court and Court of Appeals treated an essentially fact-
based inquiry under the Establishment Clause as one of
doctrine, even though the parents and children who signed
affidavits in support of the Scholarship Program view their
choices as real, not “illusory.” [App. CC and DD, J.A. at
190a-194a).

Programs like [the Cleveland Scholarship Program]
only modify or regulate the existing choice
environment. And the kinds of choices exercised
with a voucher have to be viewed in the context of
all of the other choices provided.

Greene, Context of Parental Choice in Cleveland, App.
Il, J.A. at 217a-218a.""

Allowing the federal courts to strike down voucher
programs in their infancy simply because a majority of
students taking the cash option have chosen to attend
religious schools will ensure that virtually no voucher
program will survive long enough so that its educational
effects can be measured — a result that is unsound as a
matter of policy, as well as constitutionally incorrect.
Interview with Caroline M. Hoxby, Battle Over School
Choice: Competition, School Choice & Charter Schools,
PBS Frontline (May 23, 2000)[hereinafter, Hoxby
Interview] (arguing that voucher programs need time to

'’ Given the range of funded options available under Ohio law, the
percentage of student enrolled in religious schools drops dramatically
when the number of students enrolled in each is factored into the
equation.: scholarship only (96.6%); community (62.1%)); magnet
(16.5%); neighborhood (3.2%). Id.

25

take hold before new secular private schools are built to
meet rising demand); Policy Note, Private School
Competition Raises Salaries of Public School Teachers,
Buckeye Inst. for Public Policy Solutions (Dec. 1988,
http://www.buckeyeinstitute.org/policy/1998_12.htm
(discussing Richard Vedder and Joshua Hall, Private
Schools and Public School Teacher Salaries, Ohio
University (Feb. 1999).

Because the decisions below eschew fact-finding in
Establishment Clause challenges to education reform
initiatives, this Court should reverse.

Il. THE EQUAL PROTECTION AND
ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSES REQUIRE A
FACTUAL INQUIRY BEFORE THIS
REMEDIAL LEGISLATION IS
INVALIDATED

A. The Decisions Below Inhibit Ohio’s Ability to
Meet Its Remedial Obligations Under Federal
and State Constitutional Law.

The Scholarship Program is an important element of
the Ohio’s decades-long effort to rectify the past and
present effects of racial segregation in Cleveland’s schools.
It is also an innovative attempt by the State to utilize the
private education market to help satisfy its obligation under
State constitutional law to provide an adequate educational
program for all of Cleveland’s children. See Ohio Const.
art. VI § 2; Simmons-Harris v. Goff, DeRolfe I. As the
Ohio Supreme Court observed in Ritchey Produce Co., 707
N.E.2d 871 at 913 (citations omitted), these interests are
“compelling,” both legally and morally:

There is no question that a state has a compelling

interest in remedying the past and present effects of

identified racial discrimination within its

26

jurisdiction where the state itself was involved in

the discriminatory practices. ...In addition to the

foregoing legal authorities, it is also, from our
perspective, the truly right thing to do.

The Ohio General Assembly “took extraordinary
measures to attempt to alleviate an extraordinary situation”
when it adopted the Scholarship Program, Simmons-Harris
v. Goff, 711 N.E.2d at 214, because the CCSD had
consistently failed to provide an adequate education for its
minority students. Whether considered from an equal
protection or an education reform perspective, the State's
responsibility to ensure a quality education for all of
Cleveland’s children is far from being discharged. By
foreclosing funded school choice as an option as long as
religiously affiliated schools can participate, the courts
below have made it significantly more difficult for the State
to meet its legal obligations under federal and state

The State’s need to enact reforms as a means of
compliance with the Equal Protection Clause in a school
desegregation context is clearly relevant to a challenge to
those reforms under the Establishment Clause. There was
really no dispute in the court below that the “principal
purpose” of the Scholarship Program is to further the
remedial goals set by the court and accepted by the State of
Ohio in Reed v. Rhodes. Nor could there be. Respondents
produced no evidence to that effect.

Statistical studies have shown that voucher programs
can be an important tool for achieving racial desegregation
in education. A General Accounting Office report showed
that students in Cleveland public schools were more
Scholarship Program to attend private schools. See General
Accounting Office, School Vouchers: Publicly Funded
Programs in Cleveland and Milwaukee, at 21 (Aug. 31,

27

2001). In a unique district like Cleveland, which has had
racially segregated schools for virtually its entire existence,
the Scholarship Program provides an important tool to
alleviate the appalling social schism between students of
different races, economic means, religions, and ethnic
origin. Respondents did not adduce any evidence to
disprove the utility of scholarships, nor did they make any
attempt to prove that the Scholarship Program was really a
pretext for supporting religiously affiliated schools. Nor
could they: the evidence in the record is to the contrary.

Dr. Greene’s study underscores the importance of
funded school choice programs that include private schools.
Funded school choice is a tool designed to foster the
common good. It is not now, nor has it ever been, a
nefarious plot either to destroy the public schools or
provide money to religious causes. Accord Goff, 711
N.E.2d at 212. Its goal is to help children and parents
choose the school that best meets their needs.

The only question before this Court is whether the
“principal or primary effect” of the Scholarship Program
“advances religion” because Cleveland’s children and their
parents have chosen to attend the only schools that are
currently able to meet the demand for alternative nonpublic
schools. The State of Ohio did not create the current private
education market in Cleveland, and cannot be held
responsible because the private commercial and nonprofit
sectors have not, as yet, rushed in to create secular private
schools. As one scholar has explained:

It so happens that most of the existing private
schools that are very inexpensive are parochial
private schools in the United States.... Right now
we have small, essentially experimental school
choice programs.... But, if we were to have a school
voucher policy that was more universal or more
general, and if the size of the voucher were to be

28

somewhat larger ... even if it were only 2/3 of per
pupil spending in the United States, it would still be
high enough so that what we would get would be
private schools that were created to take students
who have vouchers.

Hoxby Interview, supra. School choice programs need time
to take hold before new secular private schools are built to
meet rising demand. Once there is some degree of legal
certainty that the Scholarship Program will continue to
exist, the number of seats in secular schools will likely
grow. “If we were to have ... universal vouchers, most of
the [new] private schools that would come into existence
would not be religious private schools.” Jd. Respondents
did not produce any evidence to show either that the State
was responsible for the choices these parents and children
have made, or that it created the market in which those
choices must be made. Without such evidence, it is
impossible to prove that the State of Ohio intended to
influence or limit the range of choices available.

In fact, the available evidence in the record
demonstrates that the State of Ohio is attempting to create a
diversified private-public marketplace for educational
services throughout the State. It has created a framework
for parental choice that includes tutoring, community
(charter) schools, magnets, partial tuition scholarships, and
fully funded inter-district open enrollment. Given time,
stability, and enough demand, a diversified market will
develop, and the State of Ohio will remain obligated under
its own constitution to provide “a thorough and efficie:
system of common schools throughout the State." Ohio.
Const. art. IV § 2.

Because the decisions below completely foreclose the
use of school choice programs in any jurisdiction where the
majority of the private schools are religious at the time the
program is created, and because this result unreasonably

29

interferes with the State’s ability to meet its remedial
obligations to its students under the United States and Ohio
Constitutions, the decision below should be reversed.

B. The Decisions Below are Inconsistent with the
Principle of Equal Protection of the Laws
Embodied in the First and Fourteenth
Amendments.

__ The Establishment and Equal Protection Clauses are
distinct affirmations of the principles of equal citizenship
and equal protection.

[T]he Establishment Clause forbids the government
to use religion as a line-drawing criterion. In this
respect, the Establishment Clause mirrors the Equal
Protection Clause. Just as the government may not
segregate people on account of their race, so too it
may not segregate on the basis of religion. The
danger of stigma and stirred animosities is no less
acute for religious line-drawing than for racial.

Kiryas Joel, 512 U.S. at 728-729 (Kennedy, J.,
concurring); Wright v. Rockefeller, 376 U.S. 52, 67 (1964)
(Douglas, J., dissenting) (quoted in Shaw v. Reno, 509 U.S.
630, 648-49 (1993)).

The presumption that the constitutionality of a social
welfare program is determined by reference to the

percentage of religious groups participating, 234 F.3d at
959, is flatly contradicted by decisions of this Court. See,

e.g., Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388, 398-99 (1983);
Mitchell v. Helms, 530 U.S. at 842 (O'Connor, J.,
concurring).. Respondents must ~ produce evidence
demonstrating how the Scholarship Program “advances
religion.” See Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229 (1976). A
presumption that religiously affiliated schools cannot
participate because they are religious is discriminatory on
its face.

30

The courts below rested their conclusions as to the
constitutional fact on the basis of inappropriate “con-
clusive” presumptions about the willingness or ability of
religiously affiliated schools and teachers to comply with
the law. This Court rejected such reasoning in Lemon, 403
U.S. at 606-607. Unless plaintiffs in Establishment Clause
cases are compelled to adduce evidence of either mis-
conduct or inability to comply with the rules, see Kendrick,
Agostini, and Mitchell, the result will be judicially
mandated intentional discrimination on the basis of religion
without regard to the actual intent or conduct of the State.
This is a result that violates the First and the Fourteenth
Amendments. See McDaniel v. Paty, 435 U.S. 618 (1978).
Cf. U.S. Const. art. VI (No Religious Test Clause, forbid-
ing religious discrimination as a qualification for a public
trust, such as the expenditure of scholarship money ear-
marked fc: secular education programs only). See Michael
S. Ariens & Robert A. Destro, Religious Liberty in a
Pluralistic Society (Carolina Academic Press 1996) 666-70.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amici curiae respectfully
request that the judgment of the Sixth Circuit Court of
Appeals be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel . ROBERT A. DESTRO
JOSEPH E. SCHMITZ Counsel of Record
GREGORY S. WALDEN MARSHALL J. BREGER
MATTHEW F. STOWE SCHOOL OF LAW
PATTON BoGcGs LLP CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY
2550 M Street NW OF AMERICA
Washington, D.C. 20037 Washington, D.C. 20064
(202) 457-6135 202-319-5140

November 9, 2001

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0469%3A20. Public record. Not legal advice.
