# Amicus Curiae Brief — Zelman v. Simmons-Harris

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0466%3A51

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 536 U.S. 639

## Text

(40) FIL

No. 00-1751 NOV 9

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED ST acs

SUSAN TAVE ZELMAN, SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC
INSTRUCTION, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS,
Vv.
DORIS SIMMONS-HARRIS, ET AL.,
RESPONDENTS

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
For The Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE STATES OF FLORIDA,
ALABAMA, DELAWARE, NEBRASKA,
PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA AND
VIRGINIA AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General of Florida

THOMAS E. WARNER
Solicitor General of Florida
Counsel of Record

MATTHEW J. CONIGLIARO
Deputy Solicitor General

Office of the Attorney General
PL-01, The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1050
(850) 414-3681

(Additional Counsel! Listed On Inside Cover)

BILL PRYOR D. MICHAEL FISHER
Attorney General of Alabama Attorney General of Pennsy lvania

11 S. Union St. 16th Floor, Strawberry Square
Montgomery, AL 36130 Harrisburg, PA 17120

M. JANE BRADY CHARLES M. CONDON
Attorney General Attorney General of South
State of Delaware Carolina

820 N. French Street P.O. Box 11549

Wilmington, DE 19801 Columbia, SC 29211

DON STENBERG RANDOLPH A. BEALES
Attorney General of Nebraska Attorney General of Virginia
2115 State Capitol 900 E. Main St.

Lincoln, NE 68509 Richmond, VA 23219

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pe GEE occ ccccccccceccscccesces ill
SCRE GE BUMBAMNEED occ cccccccccccccccesccecs ]
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ............ 6.50 c ee eeees 2
PEE SG cencecaceseccccccenccenescecssceces 5

I. THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE DOES NOT
PROHIBIT STATES FROM IMPROVING AILING
SCHOOL SYSTEMS THROUGH RELIGIOUSLY
NEUTRAL, ALTERNATIVE SCHOOL CHOICE
PEE pevecceastesetsoncestosesceses 5

-. THE PURPOSE AND INTENDED EFFECT
OF ALTERNATIVE SCHOOL CHOICE
PROGRAMS ARE TO CORRECT
PROBLEMS IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS. ..... 6

B. THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE PERMITS
PARENTS TO DIRECT EDUCATIONAL
AID TO SECTARIAN OR NONSECTARIAN
SCHOOLS THROUGH RELIGIOUSLY
NEUTRAL EDUCATION PROGRAMS... . 9

THE USE OF RELIGIOUSLY NEUTRAL
CRITERIA TO IDENTIFY ALTERNATIVE
SCHOOLS DOES NOT VIOLATE THE
ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE UNLESS THE
CRITERIA ARBITRARILY OR INTENTIONALLY
DISCOURAGE NONSECTARIAN SCHOOLS’
PARTICIPATION IN THE PROGRAMS. ....... li

A. OHIO’S TUITION LIMITATION DOES NOT
ADVANCE RELIGION BECAUSE IT HAS
NOT BEEN SHOWN TO BE ARBITRARY
OR INTENTIONALLY DISCOURAGE
NONSECTARIAN SCHOOLS’
PARTICIPATION IN THE PROGRAM. .. 12

B. NEITHER THE PERCENTAGE OF
PARTICIPATING SECTARIAN SCHOOLS
NOR THE PERCENTAGE OF STUDENTS
SELECTING SECTARIAN SCHOOLS
SHOULD BE CONSTITUTIONALLY
SOUS cuscewsdbecsusceccevesce 14

ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203 (1997) ............... 18
Committee for Public Education and Religious

Liberty v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756 (1973) ........... 2, 8-9
Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388 (1983) ....... 3, 5, 9-10, 18
Simmons-Harris v. Zelman,

234 F.2d 945 (6th Cir. 2000) ...........0- 22 ce eee 1,12
Witters v. Washington Dep't of Servs. for the Blind,

GO PED. cccecesscccccncccovcsese: 3, 9-10
Zobrest v. Catalina Foothills Sch. Dist.,

PE DUE. Secensccserdseccccesccccccuce 3, 10

STATUTES
De GR, By GED cccsccccccesescccesces 6, 11
STATE CONSTITUTIONS

Bie GR. BGR BRD oes ckbisisccsscocccccessces 5
RG. GR TEBE ccccccccccseskssssocenssess 5
BE GE Ge FO cvcvccscsccscccvccescsceseces 5
REGGE cdcevccccccccccccccessecscess 5
| TTT TTTT TTT TTT TTT 5

PL DTTLIOD cccconsenesesecodsconcecsees

SAEED sncccevesesogasdeesnebeecds

Neb. Const. Art 7, § 1

N.J. Const. Art 8, § 4

N.C. Const. Art 9, § 1

Ohio Const. Art 6, § 2

ie Gee, BOOTED cccccteccctcscsdvccessoceses

Nev. Comet. Ast 11,92 2... cccccccccccccccccecesess

NB. Comet. PU.2, Ast GS nce cc cccccccccscccccceces

N.M. Const. Art 12,§ 1 21... cece eee eee ee eee eee

DEY. Comet. Ast BE, GE wc cccccccccccccccccccccccees

“eeeoreveeveeeeeeeeeeeneeeneeneeneneeeee ©

Olde. Comat. Ast 13, § 8... c ccc cccccccccccccccceces

R.1. Const. Art 1, § 12

S.C. Comat. Ast 11,93 2... ccccccccccccccccescsess

S.D. Const. Art 8, § 1

, wo © 38 )- SeeerrrrrTrrrrrrrer eee

—

We GRR GRR BE cc cccccccescsccenedesosessvese 5

We GE PELE cccccscccecsesscdeouscsenuceens 5

Wee GE BT DE ccccccccccccccccesecsocecesee 5

Ws WE Ge GI EBS cc cccccccccsccecccceceseses 5

Wen Ge PTS ccccscndocsccceccotsvcdsesees 5

WE GN cTEEED cebcsecnceaocecessececsseees 5
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Jay P. Greene, An Evaluation of the Florida
A-Plus Accountability and School Choice Program
(Feb. 2001), available at http://www.ksg.harvard.edu/
pepg/pdf/Florida%20A+.pdf. .......... 6c cece eee eee 8

Carol Innerst, Competing to Win: How Florida’s
A+ Plan Has Triggered Public School Reform
(Apr. 2000), available at http://www.edreform.com/
school_choice/compete.hitm. ...........0.00e eee eeeee 8

Private School Universe Survey: 1999-2000,
U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational
Research and Improvement, National Center
for Educational Statistics, Doc. No. NCES 2001-330
(Aug. 2001), available at http://nces.ed.gov/surveys
GES 06h. 64ccevinndedebnesedédebeabacstte sex 15-17

l
INTEREST OF THE AMICI

The amici are States that take seriously their
constitutional responsibilities to educate children. Various crises
have created the need, and a demand, for substantial
improvements in the quality of state-supplied education, and one
effective solution being implemented or considered by some
amici is the alternative school choice program. These programs
provide the parents of public school students the opportunity to
send their children to alternative schools, including, at the option
of individual parents, religious schools.

The Sixth Circuit’s decision in Simmons-Harris v.
Zelman, 234 F.2d 945 (6th Cir. 2000), threatens to undermine the
constitutional legitimacy of these initiatives and embroil States’
public school systems in extensive litigation regarding these
programs. That decision should be reversed.

Through this brief, the amici will attempt to offer the
Court their unique perspective on alternative school choice
programs, explaining why state legislatures have deemed them
important tools to improve the quality of public school education
and the educations of current public school students. The amici
will also discuss the factors the Sixth Circuit relied upon in
declaring the Ohio program unconstitutional and show that those
factors do not support the circuit court’s decision.

Ultimately, the amici urge the Court to reverse the Sixth
Circuit’s decision and confirm that these initiatives satisfy the
requirements of the Establishment Clause. The amici also ask
that, at a minimum, the Court provide much needed guidance
regarding how alternative school choice programs may be
constitutionally implemented to achieve their goal of correcting
problems in public schools while educating public school
children.

2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Consistent with the well-recognized notion that an
educated populace is essential to the Nation’s success, States
have undertaken to educate children through public schools.
Where problems in those schools undermine their educational
purpose, and the common solution of simply increasing public
school spending has proven ineffective, States have sought a
solution in alternative school choice programs.

Alternative school choice programs can take on many
forms and address any of numerous potential problems. For
instance, Florida grades each public school and permits students
who attend certain “failing” schools the opportunity to attend
higher performing public schools or participating private
schools, whether sectarian or nonsectarian. Florida’s program
thus focuses on individual “failing” schools. Ohio’s program
focuses on school districts placed under state supervision by
federal courts.

Regardless of their form, the purpose and intended effect
of these programs are to correct public schools’ deficiencies.
This is done by encouraging public schools to improve and,
concomitantly, offering alternative educational opportunities to
the students who are being disserved by their generally assigned
public schools. Recent studies have shown these programs to be
successful.

Accordingly, the Sixth Circuit erred in analogizing the
Ohio alternative school choice program to the New York school
aid program at issue in Committee for Public Education and
Religious Liberty v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756 (1973). The New
York program provided tuition to students in both sectarian and
nonsectarian private schools in order to keep students enrolled in
those schools, while alternative school choice programs seek to
improve public schools and, in the meantime, to give parents the
option of sending their children to public or private schools.

Rather than Nyquist, the Sixth Circuit should have relied
on this Court’s well-established case law holding that

3

government funds may constitutionally be used to enroll in
sectarian institutions where private individuals chose to direct
those funds through otherwise religiously neutral government
programs. Zobrest v. Catalina Foothills Sch. Dist., 509 U.S. 1
(1993) (upholding a federal program that supplied an interpreter
for a deaf child attending a sectarian school); Witters v.
Washington Dep’t of Servs. for the Blind, 474 U.S. 481 (1986)
(upholding a state vocational rehabilitation program that funded
a disabled student’s religious education at a private Christian
college); Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388 (1983) (upholding a
state law permitting parents tax deductions for certain expenses
incurred in sending children to sectarian schools). These cases
confirm that the basic structure of alternative school choice
programs is constitutionally sound.

The Sixth Circuit distinguished Mueller and its progeny
from the instant case by holding that the Ohio program fails to
give students a meaningful choice of alternative schools and thus
promotes religion by coercing students to enroll in sectarian
schools. The court offered two bases for that conclusion: the
Ohio program’s $2500 limitation on tuition that private schools
may charge participating students, and the court’s observations
that 82 percent of the participating schools were sectarian and
approximately 96 percent of participating students attended
sectarian schools. Neither of these bases supported the court’s
conclusion.

First, the tuition limitation fails to show that the Ohio
program promotes religion. The Sixth Circuit assumed that any
tuition limitation favors sectarian schools because sectarian
schools supposedly have lower tuition rates. Nothing in the
record supports that generalization, and, more importantly, even
if that generalization were appropriate in the case of Cleveland's
private schools, the Sixth Circuit made no finding whatsoever
that the Ohio legislature adopted that provision arbitrarily or
intentionally to discourage participation in the program by
nonsectarian schools. Nothing short of such proof should suffice
before a court may declare that a tuition limitation, implemented

4

in the course of an otherwise religiously neutral, private choice-
based alternative school choice program, has the purpose or
primary effect of promoting religion. States require latitude to
examine the particular conditions of their public and private
school markets and to set such limitations in accordance with
those conditions.

Further, the Sixth Circuit misplaced its reliance on
Statistical evidence showing how many of the schools
participating in the Ohio program were sectarian and how many
of the participating students chose to attend sectarian schools.
States have no control whatsoever regarding the makeup of the
private school market, which, as the information detailed infra
demonstrates, varies considerably between and within States.
Nor do States have any control over the decisions regarding
participation made by private schools or individual parents. The
constitutionality of an otherwise religiously neutral alternative
school choice program should not turn on the result of such
private decision-making, and, standing alone, statistical evidence
regarding what schools chose to participate in the program and
what choices parents and students make should not be
constitutionally relevant.

5
ARGUMENT

I. THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE DOES NOT
PROHIBIT STATES FROM IMPROVING
AILING SCHOOL SYSTEMS THROUGH
RELIGIOUSLY NEUTRAL, ALTERNATIVE
SCHOOL CHOICE PROGRAMS.

This Court has recognized that “[a]n educated populace
is essential to the political and economic health of any
community ....” Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388, 395 (1983).
Not surprisingly, then, each State is obliged by its constitution to
educate children. '

Where a State’s educational mission is hindered by
problems in its public school system, that State holds a
responsibility to its citizens, and to its students in particular, to
identify and correct those problems. The Ohio alternative school

' See Ala. Const. Art 14, § 256, Alaska. Const. Art 17, § 1, Ariz.
Const. Art 11, § 8, Ark. Const. Art 14, § 1, Cal. Const. Art 9, § 1,
Colo. Const. Art 9, § 2, Conn. Const. Art 8, § 1, Del. Const. Art 10,
§ 1, Fla. Const. Art 9, § 1, Ga. Const. Art 8, § 1, Haw. Const. Art
11, § 1, Idaho Const. Art 9, § 4, Ill. Const. Art 10, § 1, Ind. Const.
Art 8, § 1, lowa Const. Art 9, § 1, Kan. Const. Art 6, § 1, Ky.
Const. Art 6, § 1, La. Const. Art 8, § 1, Me. Const. Art 8, § 1, Md.
Const. Art 8, § 1, Mass. Const. Pt. 2,C5, § 2, Mich. Const. Art 8, §
1, Minn. Const. Art 13, § 1, Miss. Const. Art 8, § 201, Mo. Const.
Art 9, §1a, Mont. Const. Art 10, § 1, Neb. Const. Art 7, § 1, Nev.
Const. Art 11, § 1, N.H. Const. Pt.2, Art 83, N.J. Const. Art 8, § 4,
N.M. Const. Art 12, § 1, N.Y. Const. Art 11, § 1, N.C. Const. Art 9,
§ 1, N.D. Const. Art 8, § 1, Ohio Const. Art 6, § 2, Okla. Const. Art
13, § 1, Or. Const. Art 8, § 2, Pa. Const. Art 3, § 14, R.I. Const. Art
1, § 12, S.C. Const. Art 11, § 3, S.D. Const. Art 8, § 1, Tenn. Const.
Art 11, § 12, Tex. Const. Art 1, § 1, Utah Const. Art 10, § 1, Vt.
Const. Ch.11, § 1, Va. Const. Art 8, § 1, Was: Const. Art 9, § 1,
W. Va. Const. Art 12, § 2, Wis. Const. Art 10, § 1, Wyo. Const. Art
1, § 23.

6

choice program represents Ohio’s attempt to fulfill that
responsibility.

The Sixth Circuit’s decision below misinterpreted the
purpose and primary effect of Ohio’s alternative school] choice
program and misapplied the Establishment Clause, relying upon
suppositions and considerations that have no place in
Establishment Clause analysis. States must devise effective
responses to crises facing their public schools, and, contrary to
the Sixth Circuit’s decision, the Constitution does not prohibit
States from adopting religiously neutral alternative school choice
programs.

A. |THEPURPOSE AND INTENDED EFFECT
OF ALTERNATIVE SCHOOL CHOICE
PROGRAMS ARE TO CORRECT
PROBLEMS IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS.

Alternative school choice programs represent a response
by States to critical and substantial problems facing the quality
of public school systems and the education they provide. Such
problems have long resisted correction by a mere influx of,
additional public monies, and they directly impede, if not
undermine, States’ education efforts and responsibilities.

In Florida, for instance, each public school is graded
annually along the traditional “A” through “F” range, and
students who attend public schools receiving a failing grade
— “F” — twice in a four-year period are offered the opportunity to
attend higher performing public schools or qualified private
schools. Fla. Stat. § 229.0537 (2001). Florida therefore directs
its alternative school choice program at individual failing public
schools. By comparison, the Ohio Program now under review
provides alternative school choice options to students enrolled in
any school district that, by federal court order, has been placed
under the supervision and management of Ohio’s Superintendent
of Public Instruction. Thus, Ohio directs its alternative school
choice program at students attending schools in districts where a

—-

ee

——

7

federal court has found local control to be sufficiently ineffective
to warrant state supervision.

Alternative school choice programs may be used to
address a myriad of problems, including poor test scores, poor
graduation rates, overcrowding, and poor services for students
with disabilities. However, regardless of the situation addressed
by a particular program, alternative school choice programs focus
squarely on correcting an identified deficiency in the public
school system and, at the same time, supplying alternative
educational opportunities to the students who are being disserved
by that system.

By design, the latter goal supports the former. A
student’s selection of an alternative school results in a
reallocation, partial or whole, of public monies that would
ordinarily be used to finance that student’s education in the
public school he or she would otherwise attend. That
reallocation, and even its mere threat, encourages local public
school systems to correct whatever deficiencies triggered or may
trigger implementation of an alternative school choice program.

Other incentives may operate as well. For example,
Florida’s system of grading individual schools is meant to create
an objective, easily understood spectrum along which a school’s
performance may be judged by educators, administrators, and the
public alike. No school finds a source of pride in being labeled
an “F’” school or, for that matter, a “D” school. The incentive of
competition for grades among public schools, and the
considerable stigma attached to low or failing grades, may spur
poor schools to improve their quality and thus their grades.

From the States’ perspective, the critical point regarding
alternative school choice programs is that they succeed. For
example, following the Florida legislature’s 1999 adoption of
Governor Jeb Bush’s A+ Plan for Education, which includes
Florida’s Opportunity Scholarship Program, two reports, the
most recent of which was commissioned by Florida’s Department
of Education, confirmed that Florida’s alternative school choice

program had, in fact, begun to improve the performance of the
state’s public schools. Jay P. Greene, An Evaluation of the
Florida A-Plus Accountability and School Choice Program (Feb.
2001); Carol Innerst, Competing to Win: How Florida’s A+ Plan
Has Triggered Public School Reform (Apr. 2000).” Such reports
and studies provide strong support for the potential of alternative
school choice programs to foster substantial and sorely needed
improvements in our Nation’s public schools.

The amici believe that alternative school choice programs
represent an important tool by which state legislatures may meet
citizens’ demands to improve poorly performing public school
systems. Neither the advancement of religion nor its inhibition
has any place in the motivation behind such programs, as their
focus lies squarely on the States’ public schools and the students
they serve.

In this respect, the Sixth Circuit’s reliance on Committee
for Public Education and Religious Liberty v. Nyquist, 413 U.S.
756 (1973), was wholly misplaced. There, this Court rejected a
New York program designed to aid financially ailing private
schools by, among other things, granting all private school
students a fixed amount of money to use towards tuition. The
clear purpose and intended effect of that program were to provide
financial aid not only to New York’s nonsectarian private schools
but to its sectarian private schools — in order to keep all of those
schools in operation.

Alternative school choice programs, by comparison, do
not reflect any legislative effort to perpetuate the existence of
fiscally unsound sectarian or nonsectarian schools. Alternative
school choice programs seek to correct deficiencies in public
schools. Accordingly, the Sixth Circuit erred in failing to

? A copy of the Greene report may be found on the Internet
at http://www.ksg.harvard.edu/pepg/pdf/Florida%20A+.pdf. A
copy of the Innerst report may be found at http://www.edreform.
com/school_choice/compete.htm.

9

recognize the critical distinction between alternative school
choice programs and programs that specifically seek out and
support ailing religious institutions, such as the New York
program at issue in Nyquist. That case should simply be
inapposite here.

B. THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE
PERMITS PARENTS TO DIRECT
EDUCATIONAL AID TO SECTARIAN OR
NONSECTARIAN SCHOOLS THROUGH
RELIGIOUSLY NEUTRAL EDUCATION
PROGRAMS.

Rather than Nyquist, the Sixth Circuit should have
focused its attention on a well-established line of Supreme Court
cases holding that the use of public funds to finance religious
educations does not contravene the Establishment Clause where
that use results from the private choices of individuals in the
context of a religiously neutral government program. For
example, in Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388 (1983), the Court
approved, on Establishment Clause grounds, a Minnesota tax law
that permitted parents to deduct their children’s education
expenses, including religious school tuition, textbooks and
transportation. The Court held that no “imprimatur of State
approval” exists where public funds reach sectarian schools only
as a result of individual parents’ decisions regarding where to
educate their children. Jd. at 399 (quoting Widmar v. Vincent,
454 U.S. 263, 274 (1981)).

The Court subsequently held that a state vocational
rehabilitation program would not violate the Establish Clause by
providing financial assistance to a disabled student who chose to
use his aid monies to attend a private Christian college and study
to be a religious pastor, missionary, or youth director. Witters v.
Washington Dep't of Servs. for the Blind, 474 U.S. 481 (1986).
The Court observed that the program could aid religious
institutions “only as a result of the genuinely independent and

10

private choices of aid recipients.” Id. at 488.

Similarly, in Zobrest v. Catalina Foothills School
* District, 509 U.S. 1 (1993), the Court held that the Establishment
Clause did not prohibit federal funds from being used to provide
an interpreter in school for a deaf student where the student chose
to attend a Catholic high school. The Court explained that where
government offers a neutral service as part of a program that “is
in no way skewed towards religion,” then the provision of that
service does not violate the Establishment Clause.

As with the aid programs at issue in these cases, no
principled reason suggests that alternative school choice
programs cannot survive Establishment Clause scrutiny. To the
contrary, Mueller, Witters, and Zobrest demonstrate that the
choice format utilized by alternative school choice programs
satisfies the constitutional proscription against state-sponsored
religious indoctrination. Parents may chose to send their children
to their generally assigned public schools, or parents may opt to
send their children to one of whichever public or private schools
participate in the alternative school choice program. The
existence of sectarian or nonsectarian schools in the particular
private school market impacted by the alternative school choice
program, the participation of those schools in the program, and
students’ enrollment in those schools are the results of private
actors’ decisions, unattributable to any State. Under these
circumstances, constitutionally sufficient neutrality and private
choice separate the State from any religious istitution that
ultimately receives public aid.

It bears emphasis at this point that the breadth of options
available to parents can vary from program to program. For
instance, while Ohio permits public schools in neighboring
districts to elect whether to participate in the alternative school
choice program, Florida directs that parents of children in failing
schools may send their children not only to qualified private
schools that opt to participate in the program but to public
schools in the same district that received at least a “C” grade or,
space permitting, an adjacent district’s public schools that graded

11

higher than the students’ assigned schools. Fla. Stat.
§ 229.0537(3).

Thus, as in Florida, the public school alternatives
available to parents may extend to include schools other than a
student’s generally assigned public school. In Ohio, by
comparison, where these programs are run on a district-wide
basis, students may attend public schools in other districts only
where those schools elect to participate in the program. The
characteristics of different States’ programs should be expected
to reflect the unique dynamics of the States’ education systems,
including the many different balances struck between state and
local control of public education.

In sum, while individual State legislatures may tailor
alternative school choice programs to meet their States’ particular
needs, the general format of alternative school choice programs
is based on well established principles of neutrality and private
choice. Consequently, the basic nature of such programs is
wholly consistent with, and does not contravene, the
Establishment Clause.

Il THE USE OF RELIGIOUSLY NEUTRAL
CRITERIA TO IDENTIFY ALTERNATIVE
SCHOOLS DOES NOT VIOLATE THE
ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE UNLESS THE
CRITERIA ARBITRARILY OR
INTENTIONALLY DISCOURAGE
NONSECTARIAN SCHOOLS’
PARTICIPATION IN THE PROGRAMS.

In examining Ohio’s aliernative school program, the Sixth
Circuit held that, despite the program’s facial neutrality with
regard to sectarian schools, the program is not, in fact, religiously
neutral because it discourages participation by schools not funded
by religious institutions. Therefore, the Sixth Circuit found, the
Ohio program has the impermissible effect of promoting

12

This Court should reject the circuit court’s supposedly “as
applied” examination, which was based on supposition and
constitutionally irrelevant observations, and reverse the decision
velow. The Court should confirm that, where neutral criteria are
used to define a pool of eligible alternative schools, the
Establishment Clause is not violated absent a showing that the
program arbitrarily or intentionally discourages participation by
nonsectarian schools. The Court should also confirm that,
standing alone, the percentage of sectarian schools participating
in an otherwise religiously neutral program, and the percentage
of participating children who chose to attend sectarian schools,
are not relevant to the constitutional analysis.

A. OHIO’S TUITION LIMITATION DOES
NOT ADVANCE RELIGION BECAUSE IT
HAS NOT BEEN SHOWN TO BE
ARBITRARY OR INTENTIONALLY
DISCOURAGE NONSECTARIAN
SCHOOLS’ PARTICIPATION IN THE
PROGRAM.

The first basis offered by the Sixth Circuit to support its
conclusion that nonsectarian schools are discouraged from
participating in Ohio’s alternative school choice program is the
Ohio legislature’s decision to place a $2500 limit on the tuition
that private schools may charge participating students, of which
the program’s scholarship will fund either 90 or 75 percent,
depending on various circumstances. The court concluded that
this limitation served to discourage participation from schools not
funded by religious organizations because “religious schools
often have lower overhead costs, supplemental income from
private donations, and consequently lower tuition needs.” 234
F.3d at 959. As Judge Ryan pointed out in his partial dissent, the
court’s conclusion was entirely unsupported.

Simply put, nothing in the record shows that the tuition
limitation has arbitrarily discouraged participation by any

13

nonsectarian school or that the Ohio legislature selected the
$2500 figure with the intent of discouraging nonsectarian schools
from participating in the alternative school choice program. In
fact, nothing in the record before this Court shows that the tuition
limitation has discouraged nonsectarian schools at all from
participating in the Ohio program.

Common sense likewise offers no support for the Sixth
Circuit’s supposition. Even assuming arguendo that all or most
sectarian schools are subsidized — an unsupported assumption —
no basis exists to presume that nonsectarian schools are not also
subsidized, whether through endowments or private grant
programs. Perhaps more importantly, there is no basis to
presume that the Ohio legislature did not take all of these
considerations into account when setting the tuition limitation for
participating private schools.

In point of fact, levels of public school funding and
private school tuition, as well as whether sectarian schools in a
given area are more or less subsidized than their nonsectarian
counterparts, are local issues that deserve localized attention by
individual State legislatures. In crafting alternative school choice
programs, States should not be constitutionally prohibited from
examining their particular circumstances and, where deemed
appropriate, setting tuition limitations that are less than or equal
to the amount that would otherwise be spent on children’s public
edcation, so long as such limitations do not arbitrarily or
intentionally discourage participation by nonsectarian schools.

This Court should not presume that, in setting a tuition
level, a State legislature acted with an unconstitutional motive.
Nor should this Court simply presume that a tuition limitation
arbitrarily discourages nonsectarian schools from an otherwise
religiously neutral alternative school choice program. Rather, the
Court should require that, to declare an alternative school choice
program infirm under the Establishment Clause due to a tuition
limitation, a court must find that the limitation arbitrarily or
intentionally discourages participation by nonsectarian schools.
Absent such proof, no basis exists for a reasonable person to

14

believe that the State has set out to sponsor the religious
indoctrination of students, and the program cannot be said to
have either the purpose or primary effect of promoting religion.

The respondents made no showing whatsoever either that
the Ohio program’s tuition limitation arbitrarily discourages
nonsectarian schools’ participation or that the Ohio legislature
adopted the limitation to discourage their participation. Nor did
the district court or the circuit court make any such findings.
Accordingly, this Court should reject the Sixth Circuit's
erroneous and unfounded conclusion that the Ohio program’s
tuition limitation unconstitutionally advances religion.

B. NEITHER THE PERCENTAGE OF
PARTICIPATING SECTARIAN SCHOOLS
NOR THE PERCENTAGE OF STUDENTS
SELECTING SECTARIAN SCHOOLS
SHOULD BE CONSTITUTIONALLY
RELEVANT.

The second basis offered by the Sixth Circuit for its
conclusion that the Ohio alternative school choice program
discouraged participation from nonsectarian schools was the high
percentage of participating schools that were sectarian
— specifically, 82 percent — and the high percentage of students
utilizing the program who elected to enroll in sectarian schools
— approximately 96 percent. Both of these factors are beyond the
control of Ohio, and neither should be constitutionally relevant,
let alone determinative, in Establishment Clause analysis.

According to data from a recent United States Department
of Education study released in August 2001, 78.4 percent of the
country’s 27,223 private elementary and secondary schools are
sectarian. The study also indicates that the distribution of
nonsectarian to sectarian schools is not consistent. Rather, it
varies across the nation, as shown by the following table:

335

3,832
418

Percentage Nonsectarian
28.24%
28.36%
36.72%
14.67%
4: 88%
41.15%
42.64%
35.83%
50.60%
29.86%
27.89%
23.44%
27.27%
29.23%
16.94%
4.00%
8.45%
19.95%
18.71%
50.37%
36.55%
54.70%
13.64%
16.45%
29.03%
17.48%
23.91%

16

State Total Nonsectarian Sectarian Percentage Nonsectarian

NE 232 20 212 8.62%
NV 104 38 66 36.54%
NH 372 265 107 71.24%
NJ 1,006 341 665 33.90%
NM 208 87 121 41.83%
NY 2,010 493 1,517 24.53%
NC $09 129 380 25.34%
ND 54 7 47 12.96%
OH 1,051 200 851 19.03%
OK 168 28 140 16.67%
OR 376 132 J44 35.11%
PA 2,238 592 1,646 26.45%
RI 168 94 74 55.95%
SC 387 97 290 25.06%
SD 77 10 67 12.99%
TN 479 128 351 26.72%
TX 1,318 296 1,022 22.46%
UT 100 59 41 59.00%
VT 122 80 42 65.57%
VA 606 232 374 38.28%
WA 482 149 333 30.91%
wv 130 18 112 13.85%
wi 975 112 863 11.49%
wy 41 9 32 21.95%

Source: Private School Universe Survey: 1999-2000, U.S. Department of Education,
Office of Educational Research and Improvement, National Center for Educational
Statistics, Doc. No. NCES 2001-330 (Aug. 2001), available at
http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/pss/ and searchable through “Private School Locator” at
http://nces.ed. gov/surveys/pss/locator/locator.asp.

17

Thus, while over 90 percent of private schools in lowa,
Kansas, and Nebraska are sectarian, that figure drops to less than
50 percent in Maine, Massachusetts, New ‘Hampshire, Rhode
Island, Utah and Vermont. The lowest percentage of sectarian
schools is found in New Hampshire, where only 28.76 percent of
the private schools are sectarian.

Similar variations can be seen on a local level. For
example, Florida’s most recent data show that while 66.58
percent of Florida’s private schools are sectarian, the percentages
of sectarian to nonsectarian private schools within Florida’s 67
school districts, each of which is countywide, vary from zero to
100 percent.

These observations compel two conclusions. First, the
fact that 82 percent of the schools participating in the Ohio
program were sectarian did not show, as the Sixth Circuit
concluded, that the program discouraged participation by
nonsectarian schools. To the contrary, the Ohio program appears
to have captured a remarkably fair cross-section of the state’s
private schools, as the U.S. Department of Education survey
shows that 80.97 percent of Ohio’s private schools are sectarian.

Second, none of these figures, standing alone, should hold
constitutional significance in the context of alternative school
choice programs. Decisions regarding whether to open and
maintain a private school, sectarian or otherwise, are made by
private actors based on a plethora of factors, all of which are
beyond any State’s control. The net result of such private,
independent decisions should not, as a matter of constitutional
law, preclude States from employing an alternative school choice
program in one locale while permitting States to employ the
identical program in another. Otherwise, a program could be
constitutional in New Hampshire, because of its largely
nonsectarian private school market, but unconstitutional in Ohio,
where the percentage of sectarian schools is more than twice as
high. The Establishment Clause should not be so fickle.

Nor should a particular program’s constitutionality turn

18

on the extent to which private schools elect to participate in an
alternative school choice program or the extent to which parents
who choose to participate select sectarian or nonsectarian schools
for their children. This Court has previously refused to consider
such factors in evaluating a program’s legitimacy under the
Establishment Clause. See Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203, 229
(1997) (“Nor are we willing to conclude that the constitutionality
of an aid program depends on the number of sectarian school
students who happen to receive the otherwise neutral aid.”);
Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388, 401 (“We would be loath to adopt
a rule grounding the constitutionality of a facially neutral law on
annual reports reciting the extent to which various classes of
private citizens claimed benefits under the law.”).

These decisions, like those that produce the private school
market in a given area, are inherently private and unrelated to any
State actor. Whatever their results, which can be expected to
change from time to time in any given State or locale, any
religious indoctrination stemming from voluntary enrollment in
a sectarian private school through an alternative school choice
program cannot reasonably be attributed to governmental action.
Accordingly, the Sixth Circuit erred when it used the percentage
of sectarian schools in the Ohio program and the percentage of
participating students enrolled in such schools to conclude that
the Ohio program impermissibly advances religion.

19

CONCLUSION

Alternative school choice programs are a religiously
neutral means of improving deficiencies in States’ public school
systems. To the best of their abilities, States have attempted to
craft these programs not to produce governmental indoctrination
of religion but rather to permit private and independent choices
by parents to determine where their children receive their
education. The States’ goal is, ultimately, to educate children,
and to do so while neither advancing nor inhibiting religion.

The amici respectfully request this Court to reverse the
Sixth Circuit’s decision and to confirm the constitutional validity
of these programs. In all events, the amici request this Court to
provide much needed guidance on how alternative school choice
programs may be crafted in a manner that comports with the
Constitution and permits States to achieve their goal of educating
children.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General of Florida

THOMAS E. WARNER
Solicitor General of Florida
Counsel of Record

MATTHEW J. CONIGLIARO
Deputy Solicitor General

Office of the Attorney General
PL-01, The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1050
(850) 414-3681

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0466%3A51. Public record. Not legal advice.
