# Amicus Curiae Brief — Watchtower Bible & Tract Soc. of NY, Inc. v. Village of Stratton

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0465%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 536 U.S. 150

## Text

NOV 29 200 6)
No. 00-1737
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

WATCHTOWER BIBLE AND TRACT SOCIETY OF NEW
YORK, INC., and WELLSVILLE, OHIO, CONGREGATION
OF JEHOVAH’S WITNESSES, INC.,

Petitioners,

v.

VILLAGE OF STRATTON, OHIO, and JOHN M. ABDALLA,
Mayor of the Village of Stratton, Ohio, in his official capacity,

Respondents.

On Wait oF CERTIORARI TO THE
Unttep States Court OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

MOTION OF THE CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF
LATTER-DAY SAINTS FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS AND

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

Von G KEETCH
Counsel of Record
ALEXANDER DUSHKU
Kirton & McConkiE
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
1800 Eagle Gate Tower
60 East South Temple
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111
(801) 328-3600

170883 g

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF
AMICUS CURIAE

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (“the
Church”) hereby moves, pursuant to Rule 37.2(b), for leave
to file a brief amicus curiae in support of petitioners. Amicus
is filing this motion because Respondents have withheld their
consent.* A copy of the proposed brief is attached.

As more fully explained at page 1 of the attached brief
under “Interest of the Amicus Curiae”, the Church conducts
perhaps the largest, full-time missionary program in the
United States. The decision of the Court regarding the
constitutionality of the solicitation ordinance at issue in this
case will significantly impact the Church’s missionary work.
Church missionaries are routinely burdened by similar

ordinances as they attempt to share their religious message
through door-to-door proselyting.

The Church believes that its brief will assist this Court
in adjudicating the question on which certiorari was granted
because it is uniquely positioned to inform the Court about
(1) the practical impact on religious speech of municipal
ordinances limiting religious solicitation; (2) similar
ordinances across the nation that impose onerous and
arbitrary burdens on religious speech; and (3) the need to
clarify certain aspects of First Amendment law that
government officials consistently invoke to justify laws that
unconstitutionally burden religious proselyting.

* In response to a request for consent to file an amicus curiae
brief, counsel for Respondents replied by letter dated November 26,
2001 that the Church should make application to the Court for leave
to file such a brief. Petitioners’ letter of consent is on file with the
Clerk of the Court.

Accordingly, the Church respectfully requests that the
Court grant leave to file the attached brief amicus curiae.

Respectfully submitted,

Von G KEeTcu

Counsel of Record
ALEXANDER DusHKU

Kirton & McConkie
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
1800 Eagle Gate Tower

60 East South Temple

Salt Lake City, Utah 84111
(801) 328-3600

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table of Cited Authorities ..................65.

Interest of the Amicus Curiae .............6065.

Summary of the Argument ..............60055:

The Free Speech Clause Protects The Right
Of Religious Expression, Including Religious
PUES, coccccccccccccceccscescces

The Doctrine Of The Church Of Jesus Christ
Of Latter-day Saints Obligates Every
Member Of The Church To Participate In
DTU eucccacenccccecoceses

. Municipalities Are Increasingly Regulating

Door-To-Door Proselyting, Often In Ways
That Place Significant Burdens On Religious
BEES ccddnccccncecncccceeseesces

. Significant Confusion Exists In The Lower

Courts And Among Municipal Lawmakers
Regarding The Scope Of Employment
Division v. Smith; The Court Should Clarify
That The Rule Announced In Smith Has No
Bearing In Cases Involving Freedom Of
Expression, Including Religious Expression.

ll

15

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Board of Ed. of Westside Community Schools (Dist.
66) v. Mergens, 496 U.S. 226 (1990) .......... 5, 6
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940) ....
senguacescbededudesesocoeeeenans 5, 7, 20, 21, 23
Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board v.
Pinette, $15 U.S. 7$3 (1995) ..........eeees 5, 6, 19
Conlon v. City of North Kansas City, 530 F. Supp.
985 (W.D. Missouri 1981) .................. 10
Employment Division v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872 (1990)
paGecendcosonecthecssonbseatedote 3, 20, 21, 22, 23
Erskine v. West Palm Beach, 473 F. Supp. 48 (S.D.
DUD, BOC 6 ccccteccenccdaseecsouénbinneuan 10
Follett v. Town of McCormick, 321 U.S. 573 (1944)
senbocecnqsanedsedeedseduabaosusendianes 10
Heffron v. International Soc. for Krishna
Consciousness, Inc., 452 U.S. 640 (1981) ..... 6

Holy Spirit Ass'n for the Unification of World

Christianity v. Hodge, 582 F. Supp. 592 (N.D.
CEE CHE cucvccsseconvbecéanssedessan 10

ili
Cited Authorities
Page

International Society for Krishna Consciousness,
Inc. v. Conlisk, 374 F. Supp. 1010 (N.D. Ill. 1973)

ET ee eee ee ET Teer TTT Ty 10
Kissinger v. Board of Trustees, 5 F.3d 177 (6th Cir.
DEED: pabacéscacodévesontasducesesaesesuces 22
Lamb's Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free
School Dist., 508 U.S. 384 (1993) ............ 5,6
Lee v. International Society for Krishna
Consciousness, 505 U.S. 830 (1992) ..... a 6
Love v. Mayor, City of Cheyenne, 448 F. Supp. 128
ek Se CEE ncancceeueducesésouesocesees 10
Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 444 (1938) .....
SebSedeucedeceaseseetceseseceses 6, 7, 20, 21, 23

Martin v. City of Struthers, 319 U.S. 141 (1943) ... 8,9, 10

McCready v. Hoffius, 459 Mich. 1235, 593 N.W.2d
SPE ebddddedcdcancedoodecetedeteoses 22

Mcintyre v. Ohio Elections Commission, 514 U.S.
DE ee cdbcotdnsocssesteotdavenseces 23

Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105 (1943) ...
paseccesesonscccaverccoesvese 7, 8, 15, 20, 21, 23

iv
Cited Authorities

Page

New York State Employment Relations Board v.
Christ the King Regional High School, 90 N.Y.2d

244, 682 N.E.2d 960, 660 N.Y.S.2d 359 (1997) .. 22
Petersen v. Talisman Sugar Corporation, 478 F.2d

FOGG TEED ccccccccecsvcssccescsoses 10
Schneider v. New Jersey, 308 U.S. 147 (1939) .... 10
United States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171 (1983) ..... 16
Weissman v. City of Alamogordo, 472 F. Supp. 425

GR COVED 6 ccenscccccdedcscéovedeveses 10
Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981) ......... 5, 6
United States Constitution:
Pe 6 ciccvcccccctevccecscocse cs passim
Other Authorities
DOTE GDS BIS ccccccccvescececeecedeces 18
PEN GUND 6 osc evccccccsoccowastecedenteioes 4
BRD CEREMED cvcccccccccscccvanbevedoscesss 12

Vv

Cited Authorities
Page

Dallin H. Oaks & Lance B. Wickman, The
Missionary Work of The Church of Jesus Christ
of Latter-day Saints, in SHARING THE Book:
RELIGIOUS PERSPECTIVES ON THE RIGHTS AND WRONGS
OF ProseLytism (John Witte Jr. & Richard C.
DME svéendchovuedeeedetscese 12, 13

Village of Mundelein, Ordinance 93-4-14 ........ 16, 17

Village of Round Lake Beach, Title III, Chapter 6,
DD ddncavéedesencetchese’eedes 18

l

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is a
worldwide religious association with more than eleven
million members.' More than five million of those members
live in the United States. The doctrine of the Church enjoins
its members to share the gospel of Jesus Christ with the world.
To that end, the Church operates perhaps the largest full-
time program of religious proselyting in the nation. In the
United States alone, over 17,000 full-time missionaries serve
in more than one hundred missions covering every state in
the Union. These dedicated men and women — the vast
majority between the ages of nineteen and twenty-five —
make tremendous personal sacrifices to share their faith.
Leaving behind their homes, families, and educational
pursuits for up to two years, and at their own expense, Church
missionaries work long hours each day teaching others about
the Church’s beliefs. Much of this occurs in the context of
door-to-door proselyting.

As a result, the Church has extensive experience with
local laws, such as the one at issue here, that restrict religious
evangelism. Church missionaries have encountered such laws
numerous times, especially in recent years. The Court’s
decision in this case will potentially have far-reaching

impacts on the Church’s missionary program.

1. Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, counsel for amicus
state that they authored this brief in whole, and that no person or
entity, other than amicus, made a monetary contribution to the
preparation or submission of this brief.

2
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The right to express religious beliefs to others is
fundamental to the American tradition of liberty. Under the First
Amendment, religious expression enjoys the highest
constitutional protections. Accordingly, this Court has long
afforded vigorous protections to the right to engage in religious
proselyting, including the venerable practice of door-to-door
evangelism. While government may impose appropriate time,
place, and manner restrictions on proselyting, this Court’s
decisions make clear that such restrictions must withstand
exacting judicial scrutiny to ensure that they do not unduly
burden or limit religious expression.

As mandated by its doctrine and out of concern for the
spiritual welfare of all people, The Church of Jesus Christ of
Latter-day Saints conducts a vast missionary program with tens
of thousands of missionaries and hundreds of missions.
The purpose of this work is literally to share the restored gospel
of Jesus Christ with all the world. One of the principal means
the Church uses to accomplish this end is door-to-door
contacting by dedicated missionaries. Missionaries are assigned
to geographically defined missions for the duration of their
service. Within a mission, missionaries work in pairs in assigned
areas, as directed by Church autuorities. Such assignments often
change according to the spiritual needs of the mission, allowing
a missionary to evangelize in many different locales and with
many different companions over a period of eighteen to twenty-
four months. Consequently, in order for the Church to carry out
its religious mission, it is critical that missionaries be able to
proselyte in many different municipalities, as directed by
ecclesiastical leaders or divine guidance, without first having
to comply with burdensome regulations that impose prior
restraints on religious expression.

3

For many years, the Church experienced few attempts by
municipalities to restrict the door-to-door evangelism of its
missionaries. This Court’s religious solicitation cases were
widely understood to provide broad protections against
regulations limiting proselyting. However, the last decade has
witnessed a dramatic surge in the number and severity of anti-
solicitation laws that are being applied to religious proselyting.
Many of these laws contain onerous registration requirements
that are nothing more than prior restraints on speech, imposing
lengthy waiting periods and severely limiting the hours when
religious contacting can occur, often excluding Sundays,
holidays, and times when people are generally home from work.
Because of such laws, a number of which are reviewed in greater
detail below, the Church’s missionary efforts have frequently
and increasingly been hindered. ;

In interacting with officials from many municipalities, the
Church has learned that a pervasive misunderstanding exists as
to whether the rule announced in Employment Division v. Smith,
494 U.S. 872 (1990) — that the Free Exercise Clause does not
require strict scrutiny of neutral laws of general application that
incidentally burden religious excercise — applies in cases
involving religious speech. Many municipal officials think that
Smith essentially eliminated First Amendment protections for
religious proselyting, despite the fact that Smith itself reaffirmed
the strong First Amendment protections announced in the
Court’s religious solicitation cases. A number of lower courts
have engaged in their own variation of this mistaken application.
The result is that municipal officials increasingly believe there
are few if any constraints on their ability to severely limit door-
to-door evangelism in their jurisdictions. This case presents an
excellent opportunity for the Court to end this confusion and
clarify that the deferential rule in Smith has no application in
cases involving religious expression.

4

ARGUMENT

I. THE FREE SPEECH CLAUSE PROTECTS THE
RIGHT OF RELIGIOUS EXPRESSION, INCLUDING
RELIGIOUS PROSELYTING

No right is more fundamental — nor dearer to the heart
of the believer — than the right to express oneself on matters
of religion. Religious expression, be it speech or some other
form, is inextricably bound up with religious exercise and
belief. Each week, in tens of thousands of churches,
synagogues, mosques, and other places of worship,
Americans offer prayers, read holy texts, expound religious
doctrines, discuss the great questions of life, and share and
reaffirm sacred experiences and narratives. Perhaps in most
religions, and certainly in the monotheistic faiths that are
most prominent in the United States, the word of God is a
core focus of religious life. It is preached, explicated, shared,
discussed, debated, ritualized, dramatized, sung, and chanted.
Religious expression takes many other forms, even silence.
Because religion addresses intractable and inescapable
questions — including the nature of good and evil, and the
meaning of life, death, and suffering — the need to express
oneself on religious topics (even if only to dismiss them) is
deeply embedded in the human conscience.

For many religions, knowledge of God or the truth entails
a solemn obligation to share that knowledge with others.
Religious expression serves not only to deepen and enrich
the faith of the converted, but also as a means of bringing
new adherents into the fold. In the Christian tradition, for
instance, the Great Commission enjoins believers to take to
all the world the good news that salvation is through Jesus
Christ. Matthew 28:19; Mark 16:15. Evangelism has always

5

been a constant and defining feature of Christianity and what
it means to be a Christian. So weighty has been the injunction
to spread the gospel that thousands have risked and ultimately
given their lives to carry it out. Tens of thousands more have
been persecuted and suffered great hardships while preaching
Christianity. Faithful adherents of many other religious
traditions have made (and are now making) the same types
of personal sacrifices as they share their beliefs with others.
The imperative to share religious beliefs has been one of the
most powerful, undeniable, and consequential forces in
human history, and it remains so. Denial of the right to freely
engage in religious expression is a hallmark of tyranny that
tends to have revolutionary consequences, as this nation’s
own founding and many other conflicts attest.

Freedom of religious expression is as core to the First
Amendment as political speech, and thus is afforded the
highest constitutional protections. More than sixty years ago,
in striking down specific constraints on religious expression,
this Court concluded: “The fundamental law declares the
interest of the United States that the free exercise of religion
be not prohibited and that freedom to communicate
information and opinion be not abridged.” Cantwell v.
Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 307 (1940). It is axiomatic that
“religious worship and discussion” are “forms of speech and
association protected by the First Amendment.” Widmar v.
Vincent, 454 U.S. 263, 269 (1981). Accordingly, this Court’s
“precedent establishes that private religious speech, far from
being a First Amendment orphan, is as fully protected under
the Free Speech Clause as secular private expression.”
Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board v. Pinette, 515
U.S. 753, 760 (1995) (plurality opinion) (citing Lamb's
Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free School Dist., 508 U.S.
384 (1993); Board of Ed. of Westside Community Schools

6

(Dist. 66) v. Mergens, 496 U.S. 226 (1990); Widmar, supra,
454 U.S. 263; Heffron v. International Soc. for Krishna
Consciousness, Inc., 452 U.S. 640 (1981)). “Indeed, in Anglo-
American history, at least, government suppression of speech
has so commonly been directed precisely at religious speech
that a free-speech clause without religion would be Hamlet
without the prince.” Pinette, 515 U.S. at 760 (emphasis in
original). Perhaps for that very reason “religious speech [is
not] simply as protected by the Constitution as other forms
of private speech” Jd. at 767 (emphasis in original). “[P]rivate
religious expression receives preferential treatment” under
the First Amendment. Jd. (emphasis in original).

The First Amendment protects more than just religious
expression that occurs within the confines of homes,
churches, synagogues, or other sanctuaries. It also protects
religious expression in far more public settings, such as
traditional public forums, Pinette, 515 U.S. 753, university
facilities generally open for use by student groups, Widmar,
454 U.S. 268-71, school facilities open after hours, Lamb's
Chapel, 508 U.S. 393-97, and to some extent even nonpublic
forums such as airports, Lee v. International Society for
Krishna Consciousness, 505 U.S. 830 (1992) (invalidating
ban on distribution of religious literature in airport).

Of particular relevance here, the Court has long afforded
generous First Amendment protections to religious
evangelism, including leafleting and door-to-door
proselyting. In Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 444 (1938),
a woman was sentenced to imprisonment for fifty days for
distributing religious tracts without prior city approval. This
Court invalidated the ordinance, holding that the First
Amendment protects the “essential liberty” to publish and

7

distribute “every sort of publication” — including religious
publications — “which affords a vehicle of information and
opinion.” Jd. at 452.

Similarly, in Cantwell this Court struck down a
Connecticut law banning solicitation of money for religious
causes without prior governmental approval. Applying strict
judicial scrutiny, the Court held that the statute was not
“narrowly drawn to define and punish specific conduct as
constituting a clear and present danger to a substantial interest
of the State.” 310 U.S. at 311. The state’s licensing scheme
for “the solicitation of aid for the perpetuation of religious
views or systems” placed “a forbidden burden upon the
exercise of liberty protected by the Constitution.” Jd. at 307.

Likewise, in Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105
(1943), several Jehovah’s Witnesses brought a First
Amendment challenge to an ordinance that made it a crime
to distribute religious literature or solicit people to purchase
religious books and pamphlets without a license. /d. at 106-
07. Voiding the ordinance, this Court held “that spreading
one’s religious beliefs or preaching the Gospel through
distribution of religious literature and through personal
visitations is an age-old type of evangelism with as high a
claim to constitutional protection as more orthodox types.”
Id. at 110. This Court equated the right to engage in
proselyting with the fundamental right to worship in a church
or preach a sermon: “This form of religious activity occupies
the same high estate under the First Amendment as do
worship in the churches and preaching from the pulpits. . . .
It also has the same claim as the others to the guarantees of
freedom of speech and freedom of the press.” Jd. at 109.

It is noteworthy that this Court in Murdock flatly rejected
any suggestion that the general applicability of a law constraining
religious proselyting suffices to satisfy the First Amendment.
“The fact that the ordinance is ‘nondiscriminatory’ is
immaterial,” this Court held. Jd. at 115. A statute “does not
acquire constitutional validity because it classifies the privileges
protected by the First Amendment with the wares and
merchandise of hucksters and peddlers and treats them all alike.
Such equality in treatment does not save the ordinance.” Jd.
That is because “[t]he constitutional rights of those spreading
their religious beliefs through the spoken and printed word are
not to be gauged by standards governing retailers or wholesalers
of books. The right to use the press for expressing one’s
views is not to be measured by the protections afforded
commercial handbills.” Jd. at 111. In brief, “[f]reedom of press,
freedom of speech, freedom of religion are in a preferred
position.” Jd. at 115.

This Court reached the same conclusion in Martin v.
City of Struthers, 319 U.S. 141 (1943), where a door to
door evangelist was convicted of violating an ordinance
prohibiting the distribution of “ ‘handbills, circulars or other
advertisements.’ ” Jd. at 142. This Court acknowledged that the
dissemination of “novel and unconventional ideas might disturb
the complacent” or create a “minor nuisance.” Jd. at 143.
Nevertheless, the First Amendment protects the venerable
practice of distributing literature, including religious literature,
door to door:

While door to door distributers of literature may
be either a nuisance or a blind for criminal activities,
they may also be useful members of society engaged
in the dissemination of ideas in accordance with the
best tradition of free discussion. The widespread

9

use of this method of communication by many
groups espousing various causes attests its major
importance. ... Many of our most widely
established religious organizations have used this
method of disseminating their doctrines. . . .

Id. at 145. Invalidating the ordinance, this Court held that
the “[f]reedom to distribute information to every citizen
wherever he desires to receive it is so clearly vital to the
preservation of a free society that, putting aside reasonable
police and health regulations of time and manner of
distribution, it must be fully preserved.” Jd. at 146-47.

In addition to protecting the rights of the religious
speaker, these decisions also protect the rights of the
prospective listener. They reflect the deeply rooted liberty
of Americans to decide for themselves, free from
governmental constraint, whether to entertain a person who
has come to their door seeking to share a message.

For centuries it has been a common practice
in this and other countries for persons not
specifically invited to go from home to home and
knock on doors or ring doorbells to communicate
ideas to the occupants or to invite them to
political, religious, or other kinds of public
meetings. Whether such visiting shall be permitted
has in general been deemed to depend upon the
will of the individual master of each household,
and not upon the determination of the community.

Id. at 143; see also id. at 148 (“[W)hether distributers of
literature may lawfully call at a home” properly “belongs
. with the homeowner himself,” not the government.).

10

Because the “dangers of distribution [of literature] can so
easily be controlled by traditional legal methods” (such as
the law of trespass) which allow “each householder the full
right to decide whether he will receive strangers as visitors,”
stringent prohibitions on door-to-door distribution of
literature “can serve no purpose but that forbidden by the
Constitution, the naked restriction of the dissemination of
ideas.” Id. at 147.

These and many other federal court decisions have firmly
established that the First Amendment protects religious
expression, including the right of proselyters to go door to
door distributing religious literature and providing a religious
message.” If homeowners do not wish to receive the message
offered, they have every right to ask the person to leave, or
even to post a sign informing proselyters that they do not
wish to be disturbed in the first place. That is clearly the
homeowner’s choice, and the law can justly punish the
proselyter who fails to respect it. The First Amendment,
however, denies the government the authority to make that
choice for the homeowner, thereby precluding the homeowner
from hearing what may be a desired religious message and

2. See, e.g., Follett v. Town of McCormick, 321 U.S. 573, 578
(1944) (evangelist distributing books cannot “be required to pay a
tax for the exercise of that which the First Amendment has made a
high constitutional privilege”); Schneider v. New Jersey, 308 U.S.
147, 162 (1939); Petersen v. Talisman Sugar Corporation, 478 F.2d
73, 83 (Sth Cir. 1973); Holy Spirit Ass'n for the Unification of World
Christianity v. Hodge, 582 F. Supp. 592, 604 (N.D. Texas, 1984);
Conlon v. City of North Kansas City, 530 F. Supp. 985, 989-90 (W.D.
Missouri 1981); Erskine v. West Palm Beach, 473 F. Supp. 48, 50-51
(S.D. Fla. 1979); Weissman v. City of Alamogordo, 472 F. Supp. 425,
429-31 (D.N.M. 1979); Love v. Mayor, City of Cheyenne, 448 F. Supp.
128, 133 (D. Wyo. 1978); International Society for Krishna
Consciousness, Inc. v. Conlisk, 374 F. Supp. 1010 (N.D. Ill. 1973).

11

preemipting the believer from expressing his religious views.
Mitigating whatever minor inconveniences or risks arguably
might arise because of door-to-door proselyting is not a
sufficient justification for prior restraint of religious speech.

Il. THE DOCTRINE OF THE CHURCH OF JESUS
CHRIST OF LATTER-DAY SAINTS OBLIGATES
EVERY MEMBER OF THE CHURCH TO
PARTICIPATE IN MISSIONARY WORK.

No church values the First Amendment right to proselyte
more than The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
The most fundamental doctrine of the Church is that Jesus is
the Christ, the Savior of the world, and that only by and
through Him can mankind be saved. The Church also teaches
that all persons are children of a loving God, and thus are
part of a spiritual family. The confluence of these two
doctrines gives impetus to the fundamental purpose of the
Church: to bring souls to Christ. Latter-day Saints believe
that they are under a solemn obligation — a duty born of
love and covenants with God — to share the saving truths of
the gospel of Jesus Christ with every one of their spiritual
brothers and sisters. Thus, a principal and defining mission
of the Church is literally to preach the gospel to every person
on the earth.

These beliefs are rooted in the teachings of biblical
Christianity. The Bible teaches that at the end of his earthly
ministry, the Lord Jesus Christ commanded his disciples,
“Go ye therefore, and teach all nations.” Matthew 28:19 (King
James). The Gospel of Mark reports this as a command to go
“into all the world, and preach the Gospel to every creature,”
and promises that “[h]e that believeth and is baptized shall
be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.”

12

Mark 16:15-16. To Latter-day Saints, “this Great Commission
is obligatory. . . . It imposes a sacred duty to witness ‘among
all nations, kindreds, tongues, and people’ (Doctrine and
Covenants 112:1).” Dallin H. Oaks & Lance B. Wickman,
The Missionary Work of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-
day Saints, in SHARING THE Book: RELIGIOUS PERSPECTIVES ON
THE RIGHTS AND WRONGS OF PROSELYTISM 247, 248 (John Witte
Jr. & Richard C. Martin, eds., 1999).’

Church doctrine holds that these ancient biblical
injunctions have been reaffirmed in latter times through
modern revelation.

One of the Church’s teachings is that those who
are desirous to come into the fold of God have
the duty “to stand as witnesses of God at all times,
and in all things, and in all places that ye may be
in, even until death” (Book of Mormon, Mosiah
18:9).

Id. at 249. Missionary work is therefore a defining attribute
of a Latter-day Saint:

For Latter-day Saints, who believe that God
has restored vital additional knowledge and power
to bless the lives of all his children and who
believe that they have a duty to share these

3. Dallin H. Oaks is a member of the Quorum of the Twelve
Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, the
second highest governing body in the Church. Lance B. Wickman is
a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy, another of the Church’s
governing bodies. The Doctrine and Covenants is a book of Church

13

treasures with all humankind, the command to
witness is fundamental to all their belief and practice.
It is a vital part of what it means to be a Latter-day
Saint. 7o all who hold these convictions, the duty to
witness and to share is a fundamental matter of
conscience.

Id. at 250 (emphasis added).

To carry out the Great Commission, young men and women
of the Church (usually between the ages of nineteen and twenty-
five) are encouraged to serve as unpaid missionaries for eighteen
to twenty-four months. Retired adult couples and singles may
also serve. These dedicated individuals are “more than
volunteers”; under Church doctrine, they are “called to service
by a prophet [the president of the Church], and the place and
duration of their labors [are] given to them by that same
authority.” Jd. at 253. Typically paying their own way, they
devote themselves full time to sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ,
completely abstaining from such things as dating, movies, and
even popular music. /d. at 263-64. In the United States, the
Church currently has 17,239 full-time missionaries serving in
over one hundred missions.‘

As in biblical times, going two-by-two, door to door, is
one important way to spread the gospel. When someone
expresses interest in learning more, the missionaries meet with
him or her for a series of discussions to present the basic
doctrines of the Church. This door-to-door evangelism is a vital
aspect of the Church’s missionary program, with Church
missionaries in their dark suits and white shirts an easily
identifiable symbol of the Church throughout the world.

4. Worldwide, the Church has over 60,000 missionaries serving
in 333 missions.

14

To understand the impact of restrictive ordinances on the
Church’s missionary program, it is important to understand the
basic organization and operation of missionary work.
Missionaries are assigned to specific geographical regions
known #s “missions” and are supervised by a mission president
who provides spiritual and temporal direction for their actions.
Each missionary is in turn assigned to a specific area within the
mission as well as to a specific companion with whom he or
she will live and work for a time. Periodically, the mission
president will transfer a missionary to a new locale or assign
him or her a new companion.

Sometimes a missionary’s area of service is a single large
city; other times a missionary is assigned to proselyte in several
small towns. A missionary will serve with a particular companion
anywhere from a few weeks to many months. From time to
time missionaries trade companions for a day or two so that
more senior missionaries can provide training, or to allow a
particular missionary with special skills or insight to teach a
particular potential convert, or sometimes just for a change of
pace. Thus, the freedom of missionaries to preach and teach
without first having to comply with municipal registration or
permit schemes in each new town or borough they enter is vital
to the Church’s missionary program. Given how often
missionaries move around, and the fact that missions often
encompass scores of municipalities, such schemes can be
extremely disruptive to the Church’s missionary work, tying up
its missionaries in bureaucratic red tape in town after town when
they should be free to preach the gospel. Moreover, missionaries
are taught to go where they are led by the Holy Spirit. The prior
restraint these laws impose on religious expression often
prevents missionaries from following a spiritual prompting to
pioselyte door to door on a particular day in a particular town.

15

In short, Church missionaries are ministers of the gospel
who, in fulfillment of the Great Commission and at great
personal sacrifice, are engaged in religious expression that
is entitled to the highest degree of protection under the First
Amendment. These missionaries are not mere “hucksters and
peddlers” of “wares and merchandise,” 319 U.S. at 115, and
under the First Amendment, municipalities cannot licence
and regulate them as if they were. Yet, as seen next, increasing
numbers of cities and towns have enacted ordinances that
attempt to do just that.

Ill, MUNICIPALITIES ARE INCREASINGLY
REGULATING DOOR-TO-DOOR PROSELYTING,
OFTEN IN WAYS THAT PLACE SIGNIFICANT
BURDENS ON RELIGIOUS EXPRESSION.

The Church has absolutely no objection to appropriate
time, place, and manner restrictions on religious proselyting.
The Church has never maintained that its missionaries have
the right to make nuisances of themselves while preaching
the gospel, or winerwise to ignore fair restrictions adopted
by local government to protect its citizenry. Indeed, to
disregard these reasonable restrictions is to act contrary to
Church teachings. Missionaries are taught to show respect
for the laws, customs, and sensibilities of those they seek to
teach, including leaving the premises promptly at the request
of a homeowner. The Church’s doctrine of respect for moral
agency, as well as common human decency, require no less.

However, time, place, and manner restrictions can go
too far. They can be used to create a tangled web of ostensibly
innocuous requirements that individually or collectively
make vital forms of religious expression practically
impossible. The Constitution forbids government from using

16

time, place, and manner restrictions as a surreptitious means
of suppressing expression. Time, place, and manner
restrictions pass First Amendment muster only when they
“are content-neutral, are narrowly tailored to serve a
significant government interest, and leave open ample
alternative channels of communication.” United States v.
Grace, 461 U.S. 171, 177 (1983) (citation and quotation
marks omitted).

In the last decade, the Church has witnessed a substantial
increase in both the number of laws regulating proselyting
and in the burden such laws impose on religious expression.
Municipal officials in particular frequently conclude that so
long as an ordinance is neutral and generally applicable with
respect to all those going door to door, government may
regulate the bearers of religious messages in the same way it
regulates “hucksters and peddlers.” Accordingly, many
municipalities are imposing burdensome registration schemes
and fees on proselyters, as well as limiting door-to-door
contacting to hours that often preclude effective evangelism.
Church missionaries are frequently and increasingly hindered
by such constraints. A few of many possible examples
illustrate the problem.

Mundelein, Illinois. In the Village of Mundelein, Illinois
(a suburb of Chicago), Ordinance 93-4-14, which has been
interpreted to apply to Church missionaries, requires that a
proselyter submit an application to engage in door-to-door
ministry. This application must be submitted thirty days in
advance of the intended proselyting, and it must be
accompanied by a $10 processing fee. Among other
information, the application — made “under oath” — must
contain a “statement of the purpose of the applicant”; the
“most recent financial statement of the applicant, indicating

17

the disbursement of the gross and net proceeds of its
solicitations”; and the “period of time and area of solicitation
within the Village of Mundelein, which shall be not more than
seven (7) days (including one weekend) in any year.” Village of
Mundelein, Ordinance 93-4-14, § 6.A. The application must
also include the “[n]ame, present residence address, telephone
number, social security number, and driver’s license number”
of each applicant; the address of his or her past residences during
the last three years; two photographs taken in the last sixty days;
and the names and addresses of at least two references “in Illinois
who can give accurate information as to the applicant’s
reputation for moral character, honesty, and integrity.” Jd.

If the Village decides to approve the permit application, it
issues the missionary what is essentially a license to preach,
consisting of “a certificate of registration bearing his name,
address, and dates covered by such registration.” Jd. § 7.D.
The registration card contains a photo of the applicant. Jd.
However, as noted, the permit is valid for “not more than seven
(7) days (including one weekend).” Jd. § 7.B. And even for
missionaries with the necessary government papers, door-to-
door proselyting can occur only between the hours of 9:00 a.m.
and 8:00 p.m. or sunset, whichever comes first, with two

exceptions. On Sundays, the hours are further restricted to the

time period of noon to 6:00 p.m. or sunset, whichever comes
first. On national holidays, when Americans celebrate the
blessings of living in a free land, religious proselyting is totally
forbidden. Jd. § 15.

Watervliet, New York. The City of Watervliet, New York
has a solicitation ordinance that applies to door-to-door
evangelism. It requires that missionaries apply for a license to
proselyte that is valid for only two-months, at which time it
must be renewed. The license is not transferable and thus cannot
be used by a fellow missionary in town just for the day.

18

Missionaries must give prior notice to the police department of
the location in which proselyting will occur. The “hours of
operation” are limited to Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. .c
7:00 p.m. Religious contacting on Saturdays and Sundays is
prohibited.

Dover, New Jersey. Church missionaries in the Town of
Dover, New Jersey have been required to obtain a “solicitor
permit” before engaging in door-to-door proselyting. See Dover
Cede § 273-1. Obtaining such a license costs $25 and can
take up to ten days after filling out and submitting a
detailed application, complete with fingerprints. Jd. § 273-3,
-4, -6. The license is not transferable from one missionary to
another, it must be carried while proselyting, and contacting is
permitted only between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.,
when most people are away at work, except on Sundays or
holidays, when contacting is banned entirely unless specially
authorized by the Mayor and Board of Aldermen. Jd. § 273-7.5

Round Lake Beach, Illinois. Police in the Village of Round
Lake Beach, Illinois have informed Church missionaries that
under the Village’s code (Title III, Chapter 6, § 3-6.13-1 et seq.)
they need a permit to conduct door-to-door evangelism. As part
of the application for the permit, the missionary applicant must
provide information on fifteen different topics, including all
addresses and employers during the last three years and “[a]ny
additional information as deemed necessary by the chief of
police or his representative. . . .” Jd. § 3-6.13-12. The fee for
processing each application is $25. The permit must be renewed
every ninety days.

5. The code provides that a religious organization can apply
for a special permit to solicit donations or to _ tribute literature
for which a fee is charged, but other than waiver of the $25 license
acts - to be no substantive advantage to a special permit.

19

The above ordinances are examples of a much larger
problem. In the Church’s experience, these are not isolated
incidents; rather, they are representative of a pattern which
is developing across the country in which numerous other
municipalities are seeking to severely curtail all forms of
door-to-door contacting, including religious proselyting.°
Extremely burdensome regulations — ranging from lengthy
advance notice requirements, to costly and time-consuming
application procedures, to strict time-of-day and day-of-week
limitations on when proselyting may occur — all substantially
infringe on the sacred duty of Church missionaries to contact
residents door to door and invite them to listen to the Church’s
religious message. These restrictions treat those who wish
to engage in pure religious expression — expression which
is entitled to “preferential treatment” under the First
Amendment, Pinette, 515 U.S. at 767 (plurality opinion)
(emphasis in original) — no better than the door-to-door
salesman of vacuums and brushes, no better than the solicitor
seeking to sell household cleaning supplies, and no better
than the traveling peddler of trinkets and baubles.

6. In conversations with Church counsel, Church mission
presidents report encountering such ordinances on scores of
occasions. For example, just in the mission covering upstate New
York, there are twelve different restrictive door-to-door ordinances
currently being enforced against Church missionaries.

20

IV. SIGNIFICANT CONFUSION EXISTS IN THE
LOWER COURTS AND AMONG MUNICIPAL
LAWMAKERS REGARDING THE SCOPE OF
EMPLOYMENT DIVISION v. SMITH; THE
COURT SHOULD CLARIFY THAT THE RULE
ANNOUNCED IN SMITH HAS NO BEARING IN
CASES INVOLVING FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION,
INCLUDING RELIGIOUS EXPRESSION.

For many decades, this Court’s decisions in cases like
Lovell, Cantwell, and Murdock seemed to have settled the
issue of whether a municipality could constitutionally ban
or severely restrict religious proselyting. In the past, at least
in the Church’s experience, cities and towns generally had
few if any restrictions on evangelism; or if they did, such
restrictions were generally not enforced.

However, in the last decade things have changed
dramatically. Since this Court’s decision in Employment
Division v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872 (1990), municipalities have
been emboldened to impose ever-more onerous restrictions
on proselyting. Many municipal officials now believe that
Smith essentially overruled, or at least drastically curtailed,
this Court’s earlier religious solicitation cases and replaced
them with the blanket rule that the First Amendment does
not shield religious expression from “generally applicable”
or “neutral” regulations. This misreading of Smith is, to say
the least, baffling given the express limitations in the decision
itself. But it is nonetheless pervasive, especially at the local
level.

This Court in Smith held that the Free Exercise Clause
standing alone does not require strict scrutiny of religiously
neutral laws of general application that have the incidental

21

effect of burdening religious exercise. Jd. at 880-85. But this
holding provides absolutely no support for the now-prevalent
misconception that municipalities can bar or severely limit
religious proselyting by a generally applicable or neutral
ordinance banning or severely restricting all types of soliciting.
Indeed, this Court’s analysis in Smith is precisely to the contrary.
That analysis specifically singled out the religious solicitation
cases discussed above as examples of where “the First
Amendment bars application of a neutral, generally applicable
law to religiously motivated action . . . .” /d. at 881. This Court
explained that in such cases free exercise norms “in conjunction
with other constitutional protections, such as freedom of speech
and of the press,” combined to protect the religious activity from
government suppression. Jd. The holding in Smith itself was
limited to an entirely different set of facts which did “not present
such a hybrid situation, but a free exercise claim unconnected
with any communicative activity. .. .” Jd. at 882. Smith’s own
limitation on its “generally applicable and neutral” analysis could
not have been more clear: when “communicative activity” is
involved, like the religious expression in the Lovell-Cantwell-
Murdock line of cases, Smith’s relaxed standard of judicial
review simply does not apply. /d.

It follows that any reliance on the rule in Smith to uphold
municipal ordinances of the sort described above is plainly
erroneous. Unfortunately, this misreading of Smith has
nevertheless become widespread. Municipalities now routinely
invoke Smith’s general applicability rule in response to any
suggestion that a restriction involving a church might violate
First Amendment freedoms. Under this increasingly common
misconception, the rule in Smith has not only swallowed all of
free exercise jurisprudence (a gross over reading in itself), it
also threatens to consume much of free speech and free press
law, at least where religious expression is involved.

22

For their part, the lower courts have often adopted their
own variations on this mistaken reading of Smith. The court
below, for instance, labeled as mere dicta this Court’s own
articulation of the limitations of the Smith rule on religiously
motivated conduct when the constitutionally protected areas
of speech or press are also in play. 240 F.3d at 561 (“That
language was dicta and therefore not binding.”). Other lower
courts have expressed similar views, adopting in full force
Smith’s relaxed form of judicial scrutiny, while ignoring or
minimizing the analysis contained in Smith on the limited
application of that relaxed form of scrutiny.’

This case presents the Court with an excellent
opportunity to eliminate the confusion that exists over the

7. See, e.g., New York State Employment Relations Board v. Christ
the King Regional High School, 90 N.Y.2d 244, 249, 682 N.E.2d 960,
964, 660 N.Y.S.2d 359, 363 (1997) (“as we analyze the matter, the
Supreme Court in Smith did not intend its hybrid exception to turn back
on itself in circumstances such as this singularly generic First Amendment
setting and circumstance”); McCready v. Hoffius, 459 Mich. 1235, 593
N.W.2d 545 (1999) (“However, there is a clear split in the circuits
regarding how courts should follow the dicta contained in the Smith
decision.”) (Cavanagh, J. dissenting) (Table); See also Kissinger v. Board
of Trustees, 5 F.3d 177, 180 (6th Cir. 1993): —

We do not see how a state regulation would violate the
Free Exercise Clause if it implicates other constitutional
rights but would not violate the Free Exercise Clause if it
at least until the Supreme Court hold that legal standards
under the Free Exercise Clause vary depending on whether
other constitutional rights are implicated, we will not use a
stricter legal standard than that used in Smith to evaluate
generally applicable, exceptionless state regulations under
the Free Exercise Clause.

23

application of Smith’s general applicability rule. The limited
scope of the question upon which this Court granted
certiorari makes clear that this case will be decided under
free speech and/or free press norms, not free exercise
principles. The First Amendment right to engage in religious
solicitation or evangelism is governed by the Lovell-
Cantwell-Murdock line of cases as supplemented by free
speech decisions like McIntyre v. Ohio Elections Commission,
514 U.S. 334 (1995). Smith itself specifically excepted this
line of cases from its holding, stating that they were different
because they involved “communicative activity”. 494 U.S.
at 882. That difference means everything when it comes to
preserving the right to proselyte religiously door to door.
If the “generally applicable and neutral” rule of Smith controls
in such a situation, then by definition personal religious
expression can be subjected to the same rules and regulations
as sales pitches made by commercial salesmen and peddlers.
Religious expression will not retain its preferred status under
the First Amendment; to the contrary, it will become routinely
subjected to the lowest common denominator of regulations,
with door-to-door proselyting treated and regulated just like
every other form of commercial soliciting and sales.

The Church respectfully submits that this Court should
put an end to the confusion and misapplication that surrounds
the Smith rule in the area of religious speech and expression.
As it did over a decade ago when it clearly set out the
limitations of Smith, this Court should reaffirm that Smith’s
general applicability rule has no place in the adjudication of
rules regulating door to door proselyting, and that instead
the time-tested rules set out in the Lovell-Cantwell-Murdock
line of cases continue to govern.

24

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, and those contained in the
brief of Petitioners, the decision below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Von G KEeEtTCuH
Counsel of Record
ALEXANDER DUSHKU
Kirton & McConkiz
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
1800 Eagle Gate Tower

60 East South Temple

Salt Lake City, Utah 84111
(801) 328-3600

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0465%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
