# Amicus Curiae Brief — Barnhart v. Sigmon Coal Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0453%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 534 U.S. 438

## Text

Supreme Cowst, U.S
PIITEenr

i Me

JUL 24 200)
SS ec |
IN THE ee
Supreme Court of the United States

No. 00-1307

LARRY G. MASSANARI,
ACTING COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY
Petitioner,
Vv.

SIGMON COAL COMPANY, INC. AND
JERICOL MINING, INC.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
R.G. JOHNSON COMPANY, INC.,
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

MARY LOU SMITH
(Counsel of Record)
Howe, Anderson & Steyer, P.C.
1747 Pennsylvania Avenue
Suite 1050
Washington D.C. 20006
(202) 296-5680
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

Dated: July 24, 2001

Balmar Legal Publishing Services, Washington, DC 202-682-9800

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
ee Ce I crcccccetttenenpenenmmnmenmmennen ii

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE RG.
FORTIS CUEIPAINY , BEGC ccccecsscccsccsecscvsccsssecsscesscseceees |
EPR CRI SS GEE CUTE GPUIIED cccrcccccseccccsnasesescnzssnessezssvscsncnansseetes 2

A. The Government’s Assignments to R.G.

Johnson ....... Ssspunsneeunseusuesuusnsnepensenscesssosensevevessensszecs 2

B. The Court of Appeals’ Decision in R.G.
Johnson and the Nature of the Split in the

ID cecncccssesnensnasnsessvencsansensnesssnsosnnesvensesesssssssvend 4

C. The Legislative Setting for Enactment of the
SE FAGE cenccssccnssncnsussatuccsemmnenmsavessenemsenssrsserenssscsesent 6

D. The July 27, 1992 Senate Legislative Counsel
re ee Fee acstccctnsssncccenenecteninscseeneneens 10
E. The Passage of the Coal Act ..............ccssesscesseeeeees 14
SUMMARY OF AIRGIUIEEIN D cccccccsscccccssccsccscecescevscvecscsscsccsceceees 14
FEF CS cctcensensennerennnsnesnmnenessnveescsememnssaneseerenmanesanseneneanen 15

lL THE GOVERNMENT’S NEW TEXTUAL
ARGUMENT IN SUPPORT OF ITS
“SUCCESSOR IN INTEREST TO A
SIGNATORY OPERATOR” THEORY
SHOULD BE REJECTED AS A PROPER
BASIS FOR IMPOSING LIABILITY UNDER

IL THE OMISSION OF THE TYPE OF
SUCCESSOR LIABILITY AT ISSUE IN THIS
CASE FROM THE COAL ACT WAS
INTENTIONAL 18

I Bae S cevensessansesenvenscnsensssssvesesesssessessessssnsnvasentnessonesesessenee 20

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page(s)
Aloe Energy Corp. v. Apfel, No. 99-3915 (June 20,

2000), petition for cert. pending, No. 00-725. ..........ccceeeees 5
Association of Bituminous Contractors, Inc. v. Apfel, 156

F.36 1306 CAC. Cap. IGGE). .ccccsecssssvsessensscinnienenmaneninnaianna 3
Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel, 524 U.S.498 (1998)...........000 4,6
Eastern Enterprises v. Chater, 110 F.3d 150(1" Cir.

0997’) .-.cescescsosenssseessosanccesssenensiesiiionnenamntaniiaeala 4,5
R.G. Johnson v. Apfel, 994 F.Supp. 10 (D.D.C. 1998)............ 2
R.G. Johnson Company, Inc. v. Apfel, 172 F.3d 890

CDC. Cis. IDDP) ..crccssccssscsscsessevcessonseinctasnsniinnamianaaaaan l

STATUTES AND LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS
“Coal Industry Health Benefit Stabilization Act of

See So Ee 6
“Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of 1991,"

8.1900, 163" Comp... 8° 9000 sninisssssscetnentnianeee 8

Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of 1992............... 2,9

26 U.S.C. § 9701 11

26 U.S.C. § 9701(cK1) 16

26 U.S.C. § 97O1(cCK 1A) 12

26 U.S.C. § 9701(cX2) 10, 16

26 U.S.C. § 9702 13

26 U.S.C. § 9703 13

26 U.S.C. § 9704 13

26 U.S.C. § 9705 13

26 U.S.C. § 9706 13

26 U.S.C. § 9706(a) 13
26 U.S.C. § 9706(aX3) 13
26 U.S.C. § 9706(b) 13
26 U.S.C. § 9706(b\2) 13, 20
TIT Wl cccicenssntsseecescsecssncesecscscssesssceczeseocsees 14
Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980 ......... 6
Tax Fairness and Economic Growth Act of 1992..00........ccc0 9
135 Cong. Rec. $12312 (October 2, 1989) ........ccccccceeeeeseeees 6
137 Cong. Rec. SI7061 (Nov. 19, 1991)... cccccccccesseeeeeeenenees 8
138 Cong. Rec. $3433 (March 12, 1992) .......ccccccceeeeeeeeeneenes 9
138 Cong. Rec. $17604 (October 8, 1992) .......ccccccceeeeeeeenees 14
MISCELLANEOUS

Idelson, Bill to Set National Policy Remains Blocked
Over Coal-Tax Provision, 50 Cong. Q. Wkly.
BE PGI, BO Pcccccceccccccessseccscessecscecccesnssccoscoecseees 10

Idelson, Bills to Cut Oil Dependence Finally..Head to
Conference, 50 Cong. Q. Wkly. Rep. 2261 (August 1,
iaielaeeieeadeteerepnanestenmnccentnntunsenenscsenecseocecseveceecssececcccece 10

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
R.G. JOHNSON COMPANY, INC.

This brief amicus curiae is filed in support of the
Respondents, Sigmon Coal Company, Inc., ef al.' R.G.
Johnson Company, Inc., is a party to the primary case cited by
the government as creating the split in the circuits on the issue
presented here. R.G. Johnson Company, Inc. v. Apfel, 172
F.3d 890 (D.C. Cir. 1999). R.G. Johnson believes that the
opposing point of view from R.G. Johnson should be
available for the Court's use as it considers the government's
position. The Court should not be limited to what the
government has chosen to bring to the Court's attention, as
supplemented by the trustees of the United Mine Workers of
America Combined Benefit Fund.”

R.G. Johnson also has a direct interest in the outcome of
the Sigmon case now before the Court. The court of appeals
in R.G. Johnson remanded the case to the district court where
it is still pending. The Court’s decision in Sigmon’s case
could affect, if not control, the issues which are the subject of
the ongoing district court proceedings in R.G. Johnson's case.
Because of the potential consequences, R.G. Johnson urges
the Court to consider the additional background material and
arguments, including a summary of relevant events ignored
by the government, set forth below.

' This brief is filed concurrently with the written consents of the
parties. No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and
no person other than the amicus curiae has made a monetary contribution
to the preparation and submission of this brief.

* The trustees of the Combined Fund, appearing as amicus curiae in
support of the government in this case, were defendant-appellants in R.G
Johnson.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The government has framed the issued in the case before
the Court as whether the Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit
Act of 1992 permits the Commissioner of Social Security to
assign beneficiaries to the successor in interest of a signatory
operator that is no longer in business. As discussed more
fully below, the same issue arises in R.G. Johnson's case.
The government assigned beneficiaries (retirees and their
dependents) to R.G. Johnson based the retirees’ one-time
employment by another company which was found to be no
longer in business for Coal Act purposes. While the
government did not consistently represent the basis for the
assignment at various stages of the process for making and
reviewing assignments, it eventually settled on the “successor
in interest to the signatory operator” theory. R.G. Johnson's
case therefore presents a comparable case for the Court's
consideration.

A. The government’s assignments to R.G. Johnson

R.G. Johnson was first notified of its potential liability
under the Coal Act in 1995. The government sent form letters
to R.G. Johnson informing it of the assignment of 15
beneficiaries based on the retiree-beneficiaries’ former
employment by a different company with a similar name,
“The R.G. Johnson Company.” The old company had itself
been assigned the beneficiaries in question in 1993, but the
government had overturned those assignments apparently
because the old company, while still in existence, was found
to be no longer in business.’

R.G. Johnson is a closely-held Pennsylvania company
incorporated in 1988. As of 1988, the old company, a

3

The general background of R.G. Johnson's case is set forth in the
district court's decision , R.G. Johnson v. Apfel, 994 F.Supp. 10 (D.D.C.
1998), and the court of appeals’ decision setting aside the district court's
decision, 172 F.3d 890.

3

Delaware corporation, had been in the business of performing
shaft and slope construction for coal company customers for
many years. It had been signatory to collective bargaining
agreements with the United Mine Workers of America
covering construction work and had been a member of the
Association of Bituminous Contractors, Inc., a multiemployer
bargaining association whose members are construction
contractors.”

In April 1988, R.G. Johnson purchased the operating
assets and certain real estate from the old company. It
embarked on the business of shaft and slope construction
under wholly new ownership. While R.G. Johnson employed
many individuals who were formerly employed by the old
company, it never employed the retirees who were
subsequently assigned to it by the government.

In response to the government’s notices, R.G. Johnson
denied that it was properly liable for the individuals it had
been assigned. Eventually, the government affirmed the
assignments by way of summary dispositions that never fully
explained the government's rationale. The government
alternately claimed that R.G. Johnson was a “related person”
to the old company, or that it was a “successor” to the old
company. R.G. Johnson then brought suit in federal court
against both the government, who made the assignments, and
the Combined Fund, which collects premium payments based
on the number of beneficiaries assigned by the government.

The district court granted summary judgment in R.G.
Johnson’s favor. The district court agreed with R.G. Johnson
that the definition of “related person” does not include a
successor in interest to a signatory operator and that the
legislative history offers no basis for rejecting the plain
meaning of the statute.

* ABC’s history of collective bargaining with the UMWA and its
experience under the Coal Act is recounted in Association of Bituminous
Contractors, Inc. v. Apfel, 156 F.3d 1246 (D.C. Cir. 1998).

4

B. The court of appeals’ decision in R.G. Johnson and
the nature of the split in the circuits

On appeal, the District of Columbia Circuit agreed with
both of the district court’s conclusions on what the statute, as
written, says. That is, it does not support the government's
position either on its face or in light of its legislative history.
Nevertheless, the panel majority (Circuit Judge Williams and
Senior Circuit Judge Buckley) ultimately ruled against R.G.
Johnson on the statutory interpretation issue, finding that this
was one of those rare cases in which the plain language of a
statute could be ignored because a literal application of the
statute’s provisions would produce a result at odds with its
drafters’ intentions. In dissent, Circuit Judge Randolph
explained why construing the statute as written does not
render it inscrutable and why the majority’s alternative

approach is problematic.

Consistent with the District of Columbia Circuit's
decision, the Fourth Circuit in the case now before the Court
similarly rejected any claim of literal statutory support for the
government's position. Where the Fourth Circuit majority
split with the District of Columbia Circuit majority was on the
question of whether there was any justification for refusing to
apply the statute as written. On that particular point, the
Fourth Circuit majority agreed with Circuit Judge Randolph's
conclusion and refused to depart from the plain language of
the statute. Circuit Judge Murnaghan, in dissent, would have
followed the majority opinion in R.G. Johnson.

In Eastern Enterprises v. Chater, 110 F.3d 150, 154-55
(1" Cir. 1997), reversed on other grounds, Eastern Enterprises
v. Apfel, 524 U.S. 498 (1998), the First Circuit had previousiy
reached the same conclusion as the Fourth Circuit. The
Eastern Enterprises case is noteworthy because the
government there argued successfully in favor of the position
which it is now asking this Court to reject. Specifically, the
government endorsed an interpretation of the statute which is

5

consistent with the position taken by R.G. Johnson and
respondents in the case now before this Court." The
government's current brief to the Court provides no
explanation for the government's change of course since its
victory before the First Circuit in Eastern Enterprises v.
Chater.’

In an unpublished decision, the Third Circuit relied on
the majority opinion in R.G. Johnson to find in the
government's favor. Aloe Energy Corp. v. Apfel, No. 99-3915
(June 20, 2000), petition for cert. pending, No. 00-725. The
Third Circuit’s decision indicates an acceptance of both
holdings from R.G. Johnson, namely that the plain meaning of
the statute does not support the government but that this is an
exceptional case in which the government nonetheless
prevails. As this summary of the circuit court decisions
suggests, the split in the circuits on the issue currently before
the Court rests in large part on the parsing of historical events.
The government’s current position is that Congressional
intent to sanction the assessment of liability against the
“successor in interest to the signatory operator” can be
gleaned from this history. The court of appeals below found
no justification for this type of successor liability. In order to
present the Court with a full picture of these historical events,
a summary of the legislative proposals which preceded the
Coal Act are described below.

* The pertinent parts of the government's brief at the district court level
in the Eastern Enterprises case were included in the R.G. Johnson record
and are attached to this brief at | a-8a.

* In its petition for a writ of certiorari to the Court in this case,
the government made the misleading statement that the First Circuit
“rejected the Commissioner's position.” Pet. at 13. To the contrary, the
First Circuit, in a unanimous decision, accepted what was then the
government's position. The First Circuit had no opportunity to consider
what is now the government's stated position.

6
C. The legislative setting for enactment of the Coal Act.

The Coal Act represents a legislative response to want
Congress found to be a crisis in the previously private
mechanism for funding the health care of retired coal miners
represented by the United Mine Workers of America and er
dependents. Solutions to the underlying problem of fu ing
retiree benefits were attempted in the context of _—
bargaining beginning in 1974, but . the problem — '
conclusive resolution and caused recurring strife in the | S
and 1980's. The Court recounted this history in Eastern
Enterprises v. Apfel, 524 U.S. 498 (1998), supra.

The first legislative solution was proposed in 1989. be
proposal was entitled the “Coal Industry Health Bene “
Stabilization Act of 1989.” S.1708, 101 Cong.., 1” Sess. -
would have imposed withdrawal liability in the context 0
medical benefit plans, i.e. it would have required employers
who ceased to contribute to the plans to pay a proportionate
share of the benefit plan’s calculated future liability. This
approach was patterned on the well-known pension plan
withdrawal liability provisions of the Multiemployer ame
Plan Amendments Act of 1980. See 135 Cong. Rec. $12312
(October 2, 1989).

bilization Act enjoyed joint labor-management
wana a UMWA and certain large coal ox
companies whose employees were represented by
UMWA. Because of this initial show of support, the Senate
Finance Committee which undertook consideration of this
proposal in connection with the Budget Reconciliation Act
was apparently unaware that there would be any —
opposition to the substance of the proposal. Gace e
proposal became widely known, however, opposition _
The apparent lack of a deliberative process fueled —a
opposition to the 1989 proposal, and it was withdrawn from
the budget process.

i i i legislative
In light of this experience, supporters of a
response aa steps to improve the public perception of the

7

process and the consideration of alternative solutions. In
1990, then Secretary of Labor Elizabeth Dole announced the
creation of the Advisory Commission on United Mine
Workers of America Retiree Health Benefits. the so-called
Coal Commission. The Chairman of the Coal Commission
was former Secretary of Labor William J. Usery and the Vice
Chairman was law professor law Henry H. Perritt, Jr. The
members of the Coal Commissioner included the president of
the UMWA, representatives from three companies engaged in
coal mining (Bethlehem Steel Corporation, Pittsburg and
Midway Coal Mining Company and Peabody Coal Company)

and representatives of organizations in the health and actuarial
fields.

The three coal mining companies with members on the
Coal Commission were all parties to collective bargaining
with the UMWA. There were no representatives from non-
union coal mining companies or from companies who had
once had some historical connection to the UMWA but no

longer did. There were also no representatives from the
construction industry.’

The Coal Commission gathered information from a
number of sources and issued a report on November 5, 1990."
While, as expected, the report contained a number of
recommendations, it did not include a consensus on the
appropriate financial solution. A majority of the Coal
Commission endorsed an industry-wide tax on coal while the
dissenting members of the Coal Commission argued that the
problem was created by the limited UMWA-represented

segment of the industry and a solution should similarly be
limited to this segment.

” While it is perhaps obvious, for the record it should be noted that
R.G. Johnson was not a party to the Coal Commission's proceedings.

* According to the brief filed by the trustees of the Combined Fund, a

copy of the Coal Commission report has been lodged with the Court.
Brief of the Trustees as Amici Curiae at 3, n.4.

8

The absence of majority support for an industry-wide tax
is particularly striking since the Commission did not include
representatives from the non-UMWA represented segment of
the industry. Former signatories to UMWA agreements, as
well as the non-union coal producers, had the opportunity to
appear and submit statements prior to the issuance of the Coal
Commission’s report, see report at 117 and 119 (Appendix 8
and Appendix 9), but had no opportunity to review oF
comment on the recommendations contained in the report in
advance of its issuance.” Thus, parties who were likely to
have the strongest objection to legislative action patterned on
the majority's recommendation had no voice in preparing the
report. Even so, the Commission still could not garner
unanimous support for ts industry-wide approach. The Coal
Commission’s recommendations would likely have been
different if all of the potentially affected parties had had a
voice on the Commission itself.

Following issuance of the Coal Commission’s report,
hearings were held by the Senate Finance Committee's
Subcommittee on Medicare and Long-Term Care in 1991."
In November 1991, a new legislative proposal was
introduced, entitled the “Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit
Act of 1991.” $.1989, 102” Cong., 1" Sess. This proposal
would have created a “Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit
Corporation,” whose five-member board of directors was to
consist of private parties chosen from labor and management
and appointed by the Secretary of Labor. This corporation
would have been responsible for collecting “premium”
payments imposed on coal tonnage and employee hours in
addition to per beneficiary “premiums” assessed against the
beneficiary’s former employer or last signatory operator. See
137 Cong.Rec. $17061 (Nov. 19, 1991).

* Also excluded were parties, such as R.G. Johnson, who were unaware
that the Commission might make a recommendation that would not be
construed as affecting them until some distant point in the future.

. Again, R.G. Johnson was not a party to these proceedings.

9

Despite the careful choice of terminolo idi
of the word “tax,” this legislation was sie dates
Imposing a tax on coal production. In March of 1992, a
revised version of the bill, which was still based on the tax
approach and given the updated title, “Coal Industry Retiree
sag Benefit Act of 1992,” was introduced. See 138 Cong
Rec. $3433 (March 12, 1992). It was included in the “Tax

aimess and Economic Growth Act of 1992,” which was
vetoed by then President George Bush on March 20, 1992

The version of the “Coal Industry Reti

Act of 1992” which eventually seme saenpetiynene er
Senator Rockefeller on July 29, 1992. It was desiienty
yp its similarly named predecessors in several respects. It
wd na a any type of direct tax on coal production or
reanegn in the industry. Rather, it incorporated features

4 competing proposals which had anticipated transfers
of funds from the Abandoned Mine Lands Trust Fund and
from the UMWA 1950 Pension Fund.'' Most significantly, it
contained a wholly new funding feature which had not
agen — re red of ne ome proposals dating

) ’ . arlier in , namely, i
private body, the Combined Benefit Fund. ae ania
run by private individuals but whose beneficiaries would be
assigned to former employers By a governmental body.”

The version of the legislation under ion i
consideration in Jul
1992 was the first instance which included a proposal for the

On February 27, 1992, R
</, <, Representative Rahall had introduced H
4344, which proposed a transfer of AML Funds to the Pen ag
Socios Hosit Benedh Act. S109. ous tomeded mete
t., . It was intended to suppleme
na ees bill. On April 8, 1992, Senator Boren had aenia —
ert have transferred excess pension funds from the 1950 Pension
to the 1950 and 1974 Benefit Funds. $2550, 102™ Cong. 2™ Sess
12 . )
Originally, the legislative record
. referred to the Department of
— and Human Services, but these duties are now with the
ommussioner of Social Security. See Brief for the Petitioner at 6, n.4.

10

government to play any role in the assessment of liability
against former employers. None of the prior proposals had
anticipated the government generally, or the Social Security
Administration in particular, taking an active part in
identifying liable parties or otherwise administering a
program of retiree benefits for UMWA retirees and their
dependents.

D. The July 27, 1992 Senate Legislative Counsel Draft of
the Coal Act

While the above is a summary of legislative proposals
that were introduced in Congress, there was significant
behind-the-scenes activity before the emergence of the July
29, 1992 version of the legislation. During the week of July
20", the White House had “jumped into talks” with key
senators, focusing efforts on non-tax alternatives such as
tapping the mine workers’ over-supplied Pension fund and
setting up a system for assigning retired miners to companies
linked to their original employers. Holly Idelson, Bill to Set
National Policy Remains Blocked Over Coal-Tax Provision,
50 Cong. Q. Wkly. Rep. 2166 (July 25, 1992). On July 23,
1992, Senator Rockefeller held an afternoon news conference
with the president of the UMWA to announce that the sides
were “very close.” Jd. Negotiators worked through the
weekend (July 25” and 26”) to reach an accord on the coal
issue, and by July 28, 1992 were confident that a deal was set.
Holly Idelson, Bills to Cut Oil Dependence Finally Head to
Conference, 50 Cong. Q. Wkly. Rep. 2261 (August 1, 1992).

On Monday, July 27, 1992, two days before the version
of the Coal Act which eventually became law was introduced,
a draft proposal prepared by the Senate Legislative Counsel
was circulating which is noteworthy by comparison to the
Coal Act itself. This draft, taken from the record of the R.G.
Johnson case, is attached to this brief at 10a-39a.

First, the Senate Leg. Counsel draft included a section
setting forth “Findings and Declaration of Policy. Two
findings were identical to those included with the Coal Act:

That the production, transportation, and use of coal
substantially affects interstate and foreign commerce and the
national public interest (finding (1) in both) and that, in order
to secure the stability of interstate commerce, it is necessary
to modify the current private health care benefit plan structure
for retirees in the coal industry to identify persons most
responsible for plan liabilities in order to stabilize plan
funding and allow for the provision of health care benefits to
such retirees (finding (1) in the Senate Leg. Counsel draft and
finding (4) in the Coal Act). The Statement of Policy was
also identical: To remedy problems with the provision and
funding of health care benefits with respect to the
beneficiaries of multiemployer benefit plans that provide
health care benefits to retirees in the coal industry; to allow
for sufficient operating assets for such plans; and to provide
for the continuation of a privately financed self-sufficient
program for the delivery of health care benefits to the
beneficiaries of such plans. Appendix at 10a; 26 U.S.C. §
9701 (Historical and Statutory Notes).

The difference between the two is that the Senate Leg.
Counsel draft included two other findings which did not
accompany the later Coal Act: That an important element in
the privately maintained benefit plans now experiencing
financial difficulty has been the provision of health benefits
for retirees of companies no longer contributing to the coal
retiree health funds; and that withdrawals of contributing
employers from privately maintained benefit plans maintained
under collective bargaining agreements and covering retirees
in the coal industry have resulted in substantially increasing
funding burdens for employers that continue to contribute to
such plans, adversely affecting the stability of labor-
management relations in the coal industry.

Turning to the statutory provisions themselves, the
Senate Leg. Counsel draft included identical definitions of
general applicability (Section 9701) for plans and funds,
agreements, and terms relating to operators, with the
following significant exceptions.

12

-

First, the Senate Leg. Counsel draft defined a signatory
operator in Section 9701(c)(1)(A) to mean a person which is
or was a signatory to a coal wage agreement (the same as
Coal Act Section 9701(c)(1)), or:

(B) in the event a person described in subparagraph
(A)is no longer in business, any successor to such
person.

Appendix 13a. Next, while the “related person” definition
was structured the same as the ultimate Coal Act provision
(with three related person categories and an unnumbered
catch-all provision at the end), the draft’s category (ili) was
different than the joint venture interest included in the Coal
Act. The Senate Leg. Counsel draft instead referred to the
Secretary of Health and Human Services'’ identifying any
other person having an ownership or profit-sharing interest
with a signatory operator in a business within the coal
industry. Jd. The catch-all provision was also different, in
that it provided that “A related person shall also include a
successor of any person described in clause (i), (ii), or (iii).”
Appendix 15a (emphasis added). This is as opposed to a
“successor in interest,” the phrase used in the Coal Act.

Finally, the Senate Leg. Counsel draft included a specific
definition of “successor,” specifying that the term has the
meaning given it under the National Labor Relations Act.
Appendix 16a. There is no comparable definition of either
“successor” or “successor in interest” in the Coal Act.

It is also noteworthy, that despite the specific provisions
addressing signatory operator successor liability and defining
what it means to be a successor, the catch-all provision in the
“related person” definition was structured the same as the
definition included in the Coal Act, i.e. with a reference to
any person “described in clause (i), (ii) or (iii).” Appendix
15a.

"As noted earlier, the role initially played by HHS now rests with
Social Security.

13

The next statutory provisions establishing the Combi
Fund (Section 9702), addressing plan benefits (Section 9703).
setting forth the liability of assigned operators (Section 9704)
and providing for transfer of assets from the 1950 Pension
Plan and the AML fund (Section 9705) are the same in the
Senate Leg. Counsel draft and the Coal Act. Section 9706,
the provision under which the government assigns
beneficiaries, is also identical in most respects, but differs
from the Coal Act in certain respects which are pertinent here.

First, Section 9706(a) of the Senate Leg. Counsel draft
directed the government to “assign each coal industry retiree
who is an eligible beneficiary to a signatory operator which is
in business” in a specified order. Appendix 30a. The Coal
Act provision 9706(a) is the same, except that it includes the
parenthetical “(or any related person with respect to which)”
after the phrase signatory operator."

Next, unlike Section 9706(b) of the Coal Act, which
concems “Rules relating to employment and reassignment
upon purchase” (emphasis added), the Senate Leg. Draft did
not include a provision addressing post-enactment
successorship. Coal Act Section 9706(b)(2), however,
specifically addresses the optional transfer by an assigned
operator to a post-enactment successor, and, notably, not a
successor in interest.”

\4
_The third assignment category, which the Court held
unconstitutional in Eastern Enterprises, was also phrased differently,
referring oe Spay eae who employed the retiree for a longer
oe time than any other signatory operator “during all periods before
-- Appendix 30a. The Coal Act instead includes the phrase “prior to
the a date of the 1978 coal wage agreement.” 26 U.S.C. §
9706(a)(3).

14

E. The passage of the Coal Act

The July 29, 1992 proposal subsequently was enacted as
part of the Energy Policy Act of 1992, signed into law on
October 24, 1992 without any change. No hearings were held
on any of the July 29, 1992 provisions before the Coal Act
became law. Whatever had occurred during the behind-the-
scenes negotiations involving key senators and the Whie
House in July 1992 established what would be the final

statutory scheme.

The conference report associated with the Energy Policy
Act contains no explanation of what was meant by any
particular provision of the Coal Act." The isolated statements
which were entered into the Congressional Record concer=:.ing
the Coal Act in October 1992 were not a part of the actual
Energy Policy Act conference report, although various parties
have been confused by the heading “Conference Report” that
was associated with the “technical explanation” offered by
Senator Wallop. See 138 Cong. Rec. $17604 (October 8,
1992). Despite this title, there is nothing in any of the
legislative materials to indicate the status of this “technical
explanation” is anything other than a statement entered into
the record at the request of a member of Congress.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The plain language of a statute notifies affected parties
of both their rights and obligations. When interpreting the
Coal Act, Respondent Jericol Mining, like R.G. Johnson,
reasonably relied on the statute as_ written to support its
refusal to take on the liability which the government now
seeks to impose. The reasonableness of this view was
enforced by the government’s own actions. No notice was
given that assignments would be made on the basis of a

“successor in interest to a signatory operator” theory, and the

‘S Attached at Appendix 40a-48a is the relevant portion of this
conference report, similarly taken from the record in R.G. Johnson.

15

government was, in fact, was , —
such liability in 1995. Promoting the position of no

r Without explaining the change in its position since it

vocated a different view in Eastern Enterprises, the
government now finds that Congress, by way of a tortured
ee of a single Provision of the Coal Act that ignores
ae — . on Fund liability to flow to a direct

in {© a signatory operator.” Absent

direct support in the Coal Act or otherwise, the quemanens
relies on legislative materials of dubious authority to provide
se = of respectability for this claim. The government asks
rm ourt ‘“ look to this legislative gloss as being the end of

Even assuming that the Court were willin to em
the course of statutory construction presently omtaean
government, the government has failed to present anything
but manifestly ambiguous support for its current views. Other
sources belie the government's claim that Congress used a
bizarre statutory construction to achieve what could have been
done quite simply, if that is what Congress meant to do
Congress knew how to create the type of successor liability at
issue here, and intentionally omitted it from the Coal Act
ho eee Is attempting to create support where there is

The Fourth Circuit correctly concluded that the
Respondents Sigmon, et al., are not liable under the Coal Act
This is what Congress both said and meant. The court of
appeals’ decision should be affirmed.

ARGUMENT

_The essence of the government's position is
parties who rely on the plain language of statute. as the
statement of the law, consistent with the normal rules of
Statutory interpretation, do so at their peril. Under the
government's approach, the government can, at any point,
reverse course and embrace a new, previously unannounced

16

seemed a settled interpretation of the statute.
Both the district cour and the cour of appeals i the case ow
before the Court refused to accept that this r\ -- ~
statutory obligations are to be imposed. Instead, A +
on the plain language of the Coal Act and applic a
written. This Court is urged to affirm that this ts
Congress intended.

’ ment in support

. The government’s new textual argu

' ofits "successor im interest to a signatory operator

theory should be rejected as a proper basis for
imposing liability under the Coal Act.

The lower courts have consistently rejected any

contention that a literal interpretation of the — ~
the liability of parties who have been identi e
government as “successors in interest to signatory operators.
The courts found that the relevant definitions of oe
operator” and “related person,” 26 U.S.C. § 9701(c\(1) ~
(2), simply do not support this claim. The — court i
R.G. Johnson’s case, for example, ———s —
in favor of literal statutory support as entirely oe d
based on a “tortured” reading of the “rel person
definition. 994 F.Supp. at 14. . ie
supposing that the government's current
ae textual pom ea has any viability, there - be a
dispute that the government's interpretation 1s, by far,
plain than the more straightforward reading to the —
adopted both by parties such as Jericol Mining and ~
Johnson and all of the courts below. oy apt of ge
exposition in the government's brief to rev
definition of “related person” encompasses a a successor :
in interest to a signatory operator. Brief for Petitioner
23-26. The magnitude of this exercise alone sponse ,
why affected parties might not have interpreted hr
the way the government now favors. Given the ~~
fact that the textual basis for the government's = -
convoluted, at best, it is entirely understandable — a
potential “successor in interest to a signatory operator w

17

conclude upon reading the statute that it was not covered by
the plain language of the Coal Act. Nor would such parties
have any cause to question their straightforward reading of
the statute. Even assuming that potentially affected Parties
were privy to the essentially non-public developments behind
the statute, and parties such as R.G. Johnson were not, they
still had no reason to suspect that their reading of the statute
was in error. Nothing in the Coal Commission’s proceedings
or the prior legislative proposals indicated that successorship
liability of the sort at issue here was a possibility. The
legislative proposals which preceded the Coal Act were based
on completely different concepts — either continued payments
to the then-existing UMWA Health and Retirement Funds or
a tax on coal production — and did not anticipate the assigned

operator approach to funding benefits that became the Coal
Act.

Once the assignment system was in place, there was still
no notice that this type of liability was in the offing. In the
course of making assignments, the government never
provided any notice (actual, constructive or otherwise) to
R.G. Johnson or any other purported “successor in interest to
a signatory operator” of potential liability. In fact, the
position the government was taking before the district court in
the Eastern Enterprises case as of April 1995 was to the
contrary. There, the government explained the statutory basis
for excluding successor liability as follows:

Inclusion of successors in those Provisions relating
to related persons (§ 9701(c2A)) and
reassignments upon purchase (§ 9706(b)(2)) clearly
establishes both a Congressional awareness of
successor Company issues in the coal industry and a
proficiency in expressly addressing such issues

Purposefully and intentionally when omitting
successor language from the requirements of the

18

Coal Act’s assignment hierarchy and definitional

section for signatory operators.

Appendix at 4a. Consistent with the government’s own
position, parties such as Jericol and R.G. Johnson properly
concluded that they are not covered by the language of the
Statute.

The government did not arrive at its “successor in
interest to a signatory operator” theory until some time after
endorsing a contrary view in Eastern Enterprises. The
government has never explained why it eventually changed
course and arrived at its current position. Imposing liability
on affected parties under these circumstances is unjustifiable.

Il. The omission of the type of successor liability at issue
in this case from the Coal Act was intentional.

While the equities favor rejection of the government’s
position, this is not the only flaw in the government’s
argument. The government’s legal analysis rests on the
claim that Congress either intended to include successor
liability of the type at issue here or that it was a mistaken
omission. However, the gloss which the government seeks to
place on the indicia of Congressional intent should be rejected
for the after-the-fact makeweight that it is. The exclusion of
the type of successor liability at issue in this case was entirely
intentional.

The government itself argued in the Eastern Enterprises
case that Congress was aware of successor liability and chose
to exclude it from both the definitional sections and the
assignment sections of the Coal Act. To the extent that the
government now seeks to look to legislative materials to
justify a change of position, there is no reason to limit the
search to the materials which the government cites.

Other sources belie the claim that Congress did not mean
to exclude liability for a successor in interest to a signatory

operator.

19

“ aon ee above, the critical events leading to passage
ppg hing in its final form occurred in July 1992. As of
om Roa ' , the members of Congress who were actively
eae in drafting the ‘Specific provisions which would
= rad were considering the Senate Leg. Counsel draft."
pol : precisely addressed Signatory _ operator
r ssorship by defining 4 signatory operator to include a

irect successor. If this provision had been carried over into

noW maintains. It
been there by way of the definition of signatory aan —

This provision, along wi iti
, & with the definition of “succ "
= a before the July 29, 1992 version of the roel
introduced. Given the timeframe and the similarities

If nothing else, the inclusi
° on and
am of the successor provisions i os ee
etc of successor liability and knew how to include it
oy ay OF a simple statutory construction if it so chose. It did
an tegen pe | cma cond underlying premise that
i ve intended to l
Operator successor liability is mistaken. ne
While there is no official
Is no record of the deli i
ap ae —— it Is entirely reasonable to pe ca
red result was the most obvious one
- §
signatory operator successor liability. At the same ag

20

the definitional successor provisions were deleted from the
Senate Leg. Counsel draft, a new provision addressing post-
enactment successorship was inserted. 26 U.S.C. §
9706(b)(2). Significantly, this provision left ultimate liability
with the signatory, not its successor. Such a concept would
have been at odds with a rule mandating successor liability
coextensive with signatory liability.

It is also significant that the structure of the “related
person” definition remained the same. If Congress had
believed that the “related person” definition already included
some aspect of signatory operator successorship liability, this
would have been changed as well. The absence of a
comparable change means that signatory operator successor
liability was not there in the first place.

The July 1992 development of the Coal Act establishes
that it was a carefully crafted compromise between competing
interests. This compromise should be respected
notwithstanding the government’s current position. The
Fourth Circuit correctly rejected the government’s claims in
favor of what the statute says and Congress intended.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, R.G. Johnson urges the
Court to affirm the decision below.

Respectfully submitted,

MARY LOU SMITH

(Counsel of Record)
Howe, Anderson & Steyer, P.C.
1747 Pennsylvania Avenue
Suite 1050
Washington D.C. 20006
(202) 296-5680
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
R.G. Johnson Company, Inc.

Dated: July 24, 2001

la

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

EASTERN ENTERPRISES.
Plaintiff, Case No. 93-12372WF

SHIRLEY S. CHATER,
Commissioner of Social Security, et. al.,

Defendants.’

FEDERAL DEFENDANT’S OPPOSITION TO
EASTERN ENTERPRISES’ MOTION FOR SUMMARY
JUDGMENT ON STATUTORY INTERPRETATION
CLAIMS

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

Eastern Enterprises (“Eastern”) asserts in its motion for

summary judgment on statutory interpretation claims that
federal defendant Secretary of Health and Human Services

(“Secretary”) improperly assigned beneficiaries to Eastern

1

Pursuant to the Social Security Independence and Program
Improvements Act of 1994, Pub. L. No. 103-296, the function of the
Secretary of Health and Human Services in Social Security and related
cases was transferred to the Commissioner of Social Security effective
March 31, 1995. In accordance with Fed. R. Civ. P. 25(d) and § 106(d) of
Pub. L. No. 103-296, Shirley S. Chater, Commissioner of Social Security
should be substituted for Donna E. Shalala, Secretary of Health and
Human Services. Since plaintiff Eastern Enterprises’ summary judgment
memorandum (as well the parties’ other submissions to date in this case)
refer to the Secretary, rather than the Commissioner, as the party-federal
defendant, the text of this memorandum for ease of reference will continue
to refer to the federal defendant as “the Secretary.”

2a

under the Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of 1992
(codified at 26 U.S.C. §§ 9701-9722) (“Coal Act”). In
summary, Eastern contends that the Social Security
Administration (“SSA”) improperly assigned beneficiaries to
Eastern as a result of the agency’s interpretation of the Coal
Act which provides for beneficiary assignments to successor
companies only when no other otherwise assignable company
remains in business. Eastern asserts that

x* ** *k *

predecessor signatory operator. /d.

Eastern’s proffered view of successor assignments not
only ignores the carefully-wrought legislative balance
underlying the Coal Act’s assignment provision, see
discussion infra pp. 28-34, but also conflicts with the well-
established principle of statutory construction holding that the
plain language of a statute, absent extraordinary
circumstances, is conclusive. See, e.g. Negonsott v. Samuels,
-- U.S.--, 113 S. Ct. 1119, 1122-23 (1993) (“ * Our tasks is to
give effect to the will of Congress, and where its will has been
expressed in reasonably plain terms, the language must
ordinarily be regarded as conclusive.”) (quoting Griffin v.
Oceanic Contractors, Inc., 458 U.S. 564, 570 (1982); In re
Plaza de Diego Shopping Center, Inc., 911 F.2d 820, 827 (ist
Cir. 1990) (* * The plain purpose of legislation . . . is to be
determined in the first instance with reference to the plain
language of the statute itself.’ ””) (quoting Board of Governors
of the Fed. Reserve Sys. v. Dimension Financial Corp., 474
U.S. 361, 373 (1986)); see also Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v.
Natural Resources Defense Council, 467 U.S. 837, 842-43
(1984) (“If the intent of Congress is clear, that is the end of
the matter: for the court, as well as the agency, must give
effect to the unambiguously expressed intent of Congress.”)

The Coal Act’s assignment hierarchy plainly does not
require assignments to successor companies. Section 9706(a)
of the Coal Act provides for Combined Fund beneficiary
assignments to “signatory operators” (or, if that operator is no

3a

longer in business, to any related person which remains in
business) based on the miner’s work history and the
collective-bargaining experience of the signatory-operator.
A signatory operator, in turn, is defined as “a person which
IS OF Was a Signatory to a coal wage agreement.” Coal Act
§ 9701(c)(1). Neither the Coal Act’s assignment hierarchy,

_Nor its definition of “signatory operators,” thus make any

reference, express or otherwise, to successor companies.

That Congress omitted successor companies from the
Coal’s Act’s assignment provision, moreover, cannot be
attributed (as Eastern suggests) to mere legislative
inadvertence or neglect. See Pl. SJ Mem. at 2, 19. Given that
the Coal Act refers to “successors” in several other Coal Act
sections, Congress’ omission of successors from both the
requirements of the assignment hierarchy and the definition of
“signatory operators” was clearly intentional. See, e.g., Estate
of Bell v. Commissioner ef Internal Revenue Service, 928 F.2d
901, 904 (9th Cir. 1991) (“Congress is presumed to act
intentionally and purposely when it includes language in one
section but omits it from another.”); United States v. Azeem,
946 F.2d 13, 17 (2nd Cir. 1991); (“Not every congressional
silence is pregnant [iJn general, congressional
consideration of an issue in one context, but no in another, in
the same or similar statutes implies that Congress intends to
include that issue only where it has so indicated.”); United
States v. Espinoza-Leon, 873 F.2d 743, 746 (4th Cir. 1989)
(“Where Congress includes particular language in one section
of a Statute but omits it in another section of the same Act, it
is generally presumed Congress acted intentionally and
purposely in excluding the particular language.”), cert.
denied, 492 U.S. 924 (1989).

The Coal Act refers to successor companies in two
separate provisions. First, reference is made to “successors in
interest” in the definitional section for related persons. Coal
Act § 9701 (c) (2A). Section 9701(c) (2A) provides that a
company is deemed to be “related” to a signatory operator, for
purposes of the Coal Act, when that company is either (i) a

ta

f the same controlled group of corporations as the
esa hh te or (ii) in a trade or business which Is _-
the common control of the signatory operator, (111) .
partnership or joint venture with the signatory operator. Doce
particular relevance here, the concluding clause of this —
also provides that “[a] related person shall also inclu 4
successor in interest of any person described in clause (1), (11),
or (iii).” Id."

Subsection 9706(b)(2) contains the Coal Act’s second
reference to successor companies. Captioned a
upon purchase,” this subsection provides that, shou Se
company become a successor of an assigned operator a od
the enactment date of the Coal Act, the assigned —
may transfer any assigned Combined Fund beneficiaries to -
successor. Jd. The assigned operator transferring .
assignments, however, remains the guarantor of benefits - ™
originally assigned beneficiaries. /d. (Because ~g oe oo
coal operations to EACC long before the socitcoraeh
enactment in 1992, section 9706(b)(2) has no application
the Eastern-EACC sale).

ss’ omission of successor language from the
onmmes of the assignment hierarchy contained ae
9706(a) thus stands in stark contrast to the two Pv r
subsections of the Coal Act which expressly 7 SS
successorship issues. Inclusion of successors vf te
provisions relating to related persons (§ 9701(c) (2)( ~ a
reassignments upon purchase (§ 9706(b)(2)) clearly esta lishes
both a congressional awareness of successor company issues
in the coal industry and a proficiency in expressly addressing
such issues where deemed appropriate or gn
Congress, therefore, must be presumed to have =
purposefully and intentionally when omitting succes :
language from the requirements of the Coal Act’s assignme

"As a general matter, the Coal Act directs the taking of a corporate
snapshot as of July 20, 1992 to determine whether or not a company 1s
related to a signatory operator. /d. at 9701(c\(2)(B).

Sa

hierarchy and definitional section for signatory operators. See
e.g. United States v. Newman, 982 F.2d 665. 673 (Ist Cir.
1992), cert. denied. -- U.S. --, 114 S.Ct. 59 (1993).

Application of the plain language of the Coal Act to
Eastern, in the final analysis, is also consistent with the
overall framework of the Coal Act’s assignment scheme. Far
from leaving assigned operators without legal recourse should
they have private contractual agreements with successors or
other parties regarding responsibility for the payment of
retiree health benefits, the Coal Act expressly provides for
private indemnification actions irrespective of any beneficiary

assignments made under the Act. Section 9706(f)(6) provides
in full:

Nothing in this section shall preclude the right of
any person to bring a separate civil action against
another person for responsibility for assigned

premiums, notwithstanding any prior decision by
the Secretary.

While Eastern conveniently ignores this provision in its
summary judgment memorandum, Eastern has already availed
itself of this private right of action by filing a third-party
complaint to this action, naming EACC and Peabody Holding
Co., Inc. as third party defendants. See Eastern Enterprises v.

Peabody Holding Co., Inc., C.A. No. 93-12372-WF (filed Jan.
5, 1994). Thus, if Eastern’s third-party...

* kk *k *

(2) SSA Successor Policy Which Makes Assignments
to Successor Companies Only When the Otherwise
Assignable Signatory Operator (or Related Person)

Is Out of Business Presents a Reasonable
Interpretation of the Coal Act

While Eastern chides SSA for erecting an arbitrary

“barrier” to successor assignments by implementing a policy

6a

which requires that all otherwise assignable signatory
operators (or related persons) be out of business before
making assignments to successor companies, see Pl. SJ Mem.
at 20-21, SSA’s successor policy is both reasonable and
consistent with the policies underlying the Coal Act.

As noted above, see discussion supra pp. 17-20, the Coal
Act makes no express provision for assignments to successor
companies. Thus, in conformance with the plain terms of the
assignment hierarchy in § 9706(a) of the Coal Act. SSA first
looks to in-business signatory operators (or their related
persons) for Combined Fund beneficiary assignments. When
no otherwise assignable signatories or related persons remain
in business, the beneficiary, as a general matter, becomes an
“orphan” beneficiary for whom all assigned operators bear a
pro rata premium responsibility. Coal Act §§ 9704(d),
9706(a)(3). SSA’s successor policy is intended to reduce the
number of unassigned or “orphan” beneficiaries and thereby
broaden the pool of assigned operators. In administering the
Coal Act, SSA realized that some potentially inequitable
results could arise in situations where, but for an assignment
to a successor company, the beneficiary would be placed in
the unassigned beneficiary pool. O’Connell Dec. ¢ 18." Such
potential inequities arise primarily because, while in-business
signatory operators (such as Eastern) assigned responsibility
for former employees may seek indemnification from a
successor company by private action pursuant to § 9706(5),
no such action could be maintained by (or on behalf of)
unassigned beneficiaries. SSA therefore developed a

'° Such a situation is illustrated by the following example. Assume that
both Company A and Company B are pre-1978 signatory operators, but
neither of whom remained in business as of July 1992. Also assume that
Company A has an active related company engaged in the candy business
and Company B has an active successor company engaged in the coal
business. Absent SSA’s current successor policy, Company A's
beneficiaries could be assigned to its related candy company, but
Company B”s beneficiaries would have to be placed in the pool of
unassigned beneficiaries. See O’Connell { 18.

Ta

successor policy which looks to successor companies when all
other otherwise assignable signatory operators or related
persons are out of business on the grounds that, as between
making an assignment to a successor company or placing a
beneficiary in the unassigned beneficiary pool, Congress
would have preferred successor assignments. See O’Connell
Dec. 94 19.

SSA’s successor policy, far from being arbitrary, not
only remains true to the congressional policies underlying the
Coal Act, but also serves the laudable purpose of reducing the
overall number of orphan beneficiaries. SSA’s succesor
policy maintains a consistency with the overall structure of
the Coal Act by treating successors similarly to related
persons (a concept to which they are roughly equivalent) for
purposes of making beneficiary assignments; neither related
persons nor successors receive assignments; unless no former
signatory employers remain in business. See Coal Act
§ 9706(a) O’Connell Dec. ¥ 16-17, 20, 22, see also 138
Cong. Rec. $17604 (daily ed. Oct 8, 1992) (describing Coal
Act as “mak[ing] each . . . related person fully responsible for
the signatroy operator's obligation should the signatory no
longer be in business or otherwise fail to fulfill its obligations
under the Act”).

This policy, moreover, respects the congressional
preference expressed in § 9706(a) for assignments to signatories
and related persons by only looking to successor companies
when no otherwise assignable entities remain in business. See
138 Cong. Rec. $17604 (noting that Act “intended to provide
the greatest number of beneficiaries with health care benefits
paid for by a company which remains in business and was the
retiree’s signatory employer, or is or was a person related to
such signatory”); see also discussion infra pp. 33-34.

Finally, SSA’s successors policy finds support in
Congress’ “overriding” concern for reducing the number of
beneficiaries assigned to the pool of “orphan” beneficiaries.
See 138 Cong. Rec. S17604 (daily ed. Oct. 8, 1992)
(“Allocation of beneficiaries to an entity or business which

8a

continues business is the basic statutory intent. mo ee
Conference Agreement’s overriding purpose 1s to ay
designate a specific obligor for as many yee ba
[UMWA] Plans as possible.”), see also id. at | fen
recognition to the fact that unassigned beneficiaries ye yee
employed by the assigned operators al the time —
retirement, provisions are made to subsidize the assig

kk * * *

9a

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
RECEIVED
DEC 11 1997
MORGAN, LEWIS & BOCKUS LLP
AFFIDAVIT

Before me, the undersigned authority, appeared
HAROLD P. COXSON, JR., who, being duly swom
according to law, deposed and stated as follows:

1. I am an attorney in Washington, D.C., who since
1974 has represented employers in connection with federal
labor and employment law matters, including matters relating
to the coal industry, the United Mine Workers of America
(“UMWA”), and the UMWA Health and Retirement Funds.

2. In July 1992, I was acting as chairman of the
Collective Bargaining Alliance (“CBA”), an informal group
of businesses that was monitoring legislative action
concerning the UMWA Funds.

3. On behalf of the CBA, I obtained a document
entitled “Subtitle C--Health Care of Coal Miners” from
sources on Capitol Hill, attached hereto as Exhibit 1. I have
confirmed that this document was prepared by the Senate
Legislative Counsel, abbreviated “S.L.C.” on the face of the
document. It was circulated to interested members of CBA on
or around July 27, 1992.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is
true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

December 8, 1997 /s/Harold P. Coxson, Jr.
Date Harold P. Coxson, Jr.

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 8" day of December,
1997.

/s/ Corina Fox McBride, Notary Public District of Columbia

10a

Subtitle C—Health Care of Coal Miners

SEC. 1941. SHORT TITLE.

This subtitle may be cited as the “Coal Industry Retiree
Health Benefit Act of 1992”

SEC. 1942. FINDINGS AND DECLARATION OF
POLICY. 7

(a) FINDINGS.—The Congress finds that—

(1) the production, transportation, and use of coal
substantially affects interstate and foreign commerce and
the national public interest,

(2) an important element in the privately maintained
benefit plans now experiencing financial difficulty has
been the provision of health benefits for retirees of
companies no longer contributing to the coal retiree
health funds.;

(3) withdrawals of contributing employers from
privately maintained benefit plans maintained under
collective bargaining agreements and covering retirees in
the coal industry have resulted in substantially increasing
funding burdens for employers that continue to
contribute to such plans, adversely affecting the stability
of labor-management relations in the coal industry, and

(4) in order to secure the stability of interstate
commerce, it is necessary to modify the current private
health care benefit plan structure for retirees in the coal
industry to identify persons most responsible for plan
liabilities in order to stabilize plan funding and allow for
the provision of health care benefits to such retirees.

(b) STATEMENT OF PoLicy.—It is the policy of this
subtitle—

(1)to remedy problems with the provision and
funding of health care benefits with respect to the

beneficiaries of multiem
ployer benefit plans that i
health care benefits to retirees in the = —

>t , ;
an. ater allow for sufficient operating assets for such

(3) to provide for the
financed self-sufficient

health care benefits to the beneficiaries of such plans.

SEC. 1943. COAL IND
caeemnemn USTRY HEALTH BENEFITS

(a) In General.—The internal Reven
ue Code of 1986 i
amended by adding at the end the following new subtitle: .

“Subtitle J—Coa! Industry Health Benefits

“CHAPTER 99. COAL INDUSTRY HEALTH BENEFITS.

“CHAPTER 99—COAL INDUSTRY HEALTH
BENEFITS.

“SUBTITLE A—Definitions of genera icabili

“SUBTITLE B—Combined benefit mene —

“SUBTITLE C—Health benefits of certain other
miners.

“SUBTITLE D—Other provisions.

“Subchapter A—Definitions of General Applicability.
“Sec. 9701. Definitions of general applicability.

“SEC. 9701. DEFINITIONS OF GENERAL
APPLICABILITY.

(a) PLANS AND FUNDS.—For purposes of this chapter—
“(1) UMWA BENEFIT PLAN.—

“(A) IN GENERAL.—The term ‘U
leni oa MWA Benefit

continuation of a privately
program for the delivery of

12a

“(i) which is described in_ section
404(c), or a continuation thereof; and

“(ii) which provides health benefits to
retirees and beneficiaries of the industry which
maintained the 1950 UMWA Pension Plan.

“(B) 1950 UMWA BENEFIT PLAN.—The term
‘1950 UMWA Benefit Plan’ means a UMWA
Benefit Plan, participation in which is substantially
limited to individuals who retired before 1976.

“(C) 1974 UMWA BENEFIT PLAN.—The term
‘1974 UMWA Benefit Plan’ means a UMWA
Benefit Plan, participation in which is substantially
limited to individuals who retired on or after

January 1, 1976.

“(2) 1950 UMWA PENSION PLAN.—The term ‘1950
UMWA Pension Plan’ means a pension plan described in
section 404(c) (or a continuation thereof), participation
in which is substantially limited to individuals who
retired before 1976.

“(3 1974 UMWA PENSION PLAN.—The term ‘1974’
UMWA Pension Plan’ means a pension plan described in
section 404(c) (or a continuation thereof), participation
in which is substantially limited to individuals who
retired in 1976 and thereafter.

(4) 1992 UMWA PENSION PLAN. —The term ‘1992
UMWA Benefit Plan’ means the plan established under
section 9713A.

(5) COMBINED FUND.—The term ‘Combined Fund’
means the United Mine Workers of America Combined
Benefit Fund established under section 9702.

“(b) AGREEMENTS.—For purposes of this section—

“(1) COAL WAGE AGREEMENT.—The term ‘coal
wage agreement’ means—

l3a

“(A) the National Bituminous Coal Wage
Agreement, or

“(B) any other agreement entered into between

4 — in the coal industry and the United
ine Workers of America that required o

one or both of the following: a —

_ “(i the provision of health benefits to
retirees of such employer, eligibility for which
is based on years of service credited under a
plan established by the settlors and described

im section 404(c) or a continuation of such
plan; or

“(ii) contributions to the 1950 UMWA
Benefit Plan or the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan,
or any predecessor thereof.

“(2) SETTLORS.—The term ‘settlors’
means _ the
United Mine Workers of America and the Bituminous

Coal Operators’ Association, Inc (referred
, . t
chapter as the ‘BCOA’), nas

“(3) NATIONAL ~— BITUMINOUS — COAL WAGE
AGREEMENT.—The term ‘National Bituminous Coal
Wage Agreement’ means a collective bargaining

agreement negotiated by the BCOA and i i
Workers of America. a

“(c) TERMS RELATING TO OPERATORS.—For purposes of

this section—

“(1) SIGNATORY OPERATOR.—The t ‘si
_— erm ‘si
operator’ means— wit

“(A) a person which is or was a Signat
coal wage agreement, or —*

“(B)in the event a person described in
subparagraph (A) is no longer in business, any
successor to such person.

l4a

(2) 1988 AGREEMENT OPERATOR.—The term *1988
agreement operator’ means—

“(A)a_ signatory operator which was a
signatory to the 1988 National Bituminous Coal
Wage Agreement,

“(B) an employer in the coal industry which
was a signatory to an agreement containing pension
and health care contribution and benefit provisions
which are the same as those contained in the 1988
National Bituminous Coal Wage Agreement, or

“(C) an employer which, after 1987 and before
the enactment date, made contributions to the 1950
UMWA Benefit Plan or the 1974 UMWA Benefit
Plan [in connection with employment in the coal
industry during the period covered by the 1988
National Bituminous Coal Wage Agreement]. \

“(3) LAST SIGNATORY OPERATOR.—The term ‘last

signatory operator’ means, with respect to a coal industry
retiree, a signatory operator which was the most recent

coal industry employer of such retiree.

“(4) ASSIGNED OPERATOR.—The term ‘assigned
operator’ means, with respect to an eligible beneficiary
defined in section 9703(f), the signatory operator to
which liability under subchapter B with respect to the
beneficiary is assigned under section 9706.

(5) RELATED PERSONS.—

“(A) IN GENERAL.—A __ person shall be
considered to be a related person to a signatory
operator if that person is—

“(i) a member of the controlled group
of corporations (within the meaning of section
52(a)) which includes such signatory operator;

“(ii) a trade or business which is under

the same common control (as determined |

lSa

under section 52(b)) as such signatory
operator; or

[“(iii) any other person who _ is
identified by the Secretary of Health and
Human Services as having an Ownership or
profit-sharing interest with a Signatory operator
in a business within the coal industry, but only
if such business employed _ eligible
beneficiaries. ]

A related person shall also include a successor of
any person described in clause (i), (ii), or (iii).

“(B) TIME FOR DETERMINATION.—The
relationships described in clauses (i), (ii), and
(ili) of subparagraph (A) shall be determined as of
July 20, 1992, except that if, on July 20, 1992 a
Signatory operator is no longer in business and has
no successor, the relationships shall be determined
as of the time immediately before such operator (or,
if later, such successor) ceased to be in business.

(6) OPERATORS OF DEPENDENT BENEFICIARIES.—
For purposes of this chapter, the Signatory operator, last
Signatory operator, or assigned operator of any eligible
beneficiary under this chapter who is a coal industry
retiree shall be considered to be the Signatory operator,
last signatory operator, or assigned operator with respect
to any other individual who is an eligible beneficiary

under this chapter by reason of a relationship to the
retiree.

“(7) BUSINESS.—For purposes of this chapter, a
person shall be considered to be in business if such
person or any related person conducts or derives revenue

from any business activity, whether or not in the coal
industry.

16a

“(8) SUCCESSOR.—For purposes of this subsection,
the term ‘successor’ has the meaning given such term
when used in the National Labor Relations Act.

“(d) ENACTMENT DATE.—For purposes of this chapter,
the term ‘enactment date’ means the date of the enactment of

this chapter.
“Subchapter B—Combined Benefit Fund

“Part I—Establishment and Benefits
“Part [I—Financing

“Part I1]—Enforcement

“Part [V—Other Provisions

“PART I—ESTABLISHMENT AND BENEFITS

“Sec. 9702. Establishment of the United Mine Workers
of America Combined Benefit Fund.

“Sec. 9703. Plan benefits.

“Sec, 9702. ESTABLISHMENT OF THE UNITED
MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA
COMBINED BENEFIT FUND.

“(a) ESTABLISHMENT. —

“(1) IN GENERAL.—As soon as practicable (but not
later than 60 days after the enactment date), the settlors
of the 1950 UMWA Benefit Plan and the 1974 UMWA
Benefit Plan shall create a plan to be known as the
United Mine Workers of America Combined Benefit
Fund. The trustees of the 1950 UMWA Benefit Plan and
the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan shall be the trustees of the
Combined Fund until the appointment of trustees under
subsection (b).

[“(1) IN GENERAL. —As soon as practicable (but not
later than 60 days) after the enactment date, the persons

described in subsection (b) shall designate the
- jndividuals to serve as trustees. Such trustees shall create

17a

a plan to be known as the United Mine Workers of
America Combined Benefit Fund. ]

(2) MERGER OF RETIREE BENEFIT PLANS.—As of
February 1, 1993, the settlors of the 1950 UMWA
Benefit Plan and the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan shall
py! pes plans to be merged into the Combined Fund

assets and liabilities of such plans sh
part of the Combined Fund. pit

“(3) TREATMENT FOR ERISA.—
shall be .—The Combined Fund

“(A) an employee welfare benefit plan within

ad — of section 3(1) of the Employee
etirement Income Security Act of 197

oe~sopr ty 4 (29 U.S.C.

“(B) a multiemployer plan within the meani
! n
of section 3(37) of such Act (29 U.S.C. 1002(37)). ’

“(4) TAX TREATMENT.—The Combined F
, und and
any related trust shall be exempt from tax under this title.

“(b) BOARD OF TRUSTEES.—

‘() IN GENERAL.—As soon as practicable after the
assignment of eligible beneficiaries under section
9706, and in no event later than November 1, 1993
[For purposes of subsection (a),] a new private plan
board of trustees for the combined Fund shall be
appointed as follows:

“(A) one individual who represents em

Andivi ployers
in the coal mining industry shall be desi

rte meg try designated by

“(B) one individual shall be desi

gnated by the
three employers, other than 1988 roschn Se
operators, who have been assigned the greatest
number of eligible beneficiaries under section 9706;

“(C) two individual designated by the
Mine Workers of America; my ; —

18a

“(D) three persons selected by the persons
appointed under subparagraphs (A), (B), and (C).

“(2) SUCCESSOR TRUSTEES.—Any successor trustee
shall be appointed in the same manner as ‘the trustee
being succeeded. [Any person designating a trustee shall
have the right to remove such trustee.]

“(3) SPECIAL RULES.—

“(A) BCOA.—If the BCOA ceases to exist,
any trustee or successor under paragraph (1)(A)
shall be appointed by the 3 employers who were
members of the BCOA on the enactment date and
who have been assigned the greatest number of
eligible beneficiaries under section 9706.

[“(B) FORMER SIGNATORIES.—The — initial
trustee under paragraph (1)(B) shall be appointed by
the 3 employers, other than 1988 agreement
operators, which the records of the 1950 UMWA.
Benefit Plan and 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan
indicate have the greatest number of eligible
beneficiaries as of the enactment date, and such
trustee and any successor shall serve until

November 1, 1993.]
“(c) PLAN YEAR.—The first plan year of the Combined

September 30,
Fund shall begin February 1, 1993 and end
1993. Each succeeding plan year shall begin on October | of

each calendar year.
“Sec. 9703. PLAN BENEFITS.

“(a) IN GENERAL.—Each eligible beneficiary of the
Combined Fund shall receive—
“(1) health benefits described in subsection (b),
and
“(2) in the case of an eligible beneficiary described
in subsection (f)(1), death benefits coverage described in
subsection (Cc).

19a
“(b) HEALTH BENEFITS.—

“(1) IN GENERAL.—The trustees of the Combined
Fund shall provide health care benefits to each eligible
beneficiary by enrolling the beneficiary in a health care
services plan which undertakes to provide such benefits
on a prepaid risk basis. Except as provided in paragraph
(2)(B), coverage under the managed care system shall be
substantially the same as (and subject to the same
limitations of) coverage provided under the 1950
UMWA Benefit Plan and the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan
as of January 1, 1992.

“(2) PLAN PAYMENT RATES,—

“(A) IN| GENERAL.—The trustees of the
Combined Fund shall negotiate payment rates with
the health care services plans described in
paragraph (1) for each plan year which are in
amounts which—

“(i) Vary as necessary to ensure that
beneficiaries in different geographic areas have
access to the same health benefits: and

“(ii) result in aggregate payments for
such plan year from the Combined Fund which
do not exceed the total premium payments
required to be paid to the Combined Fund
under section 9704(a) for the plan year,
adjusted as provided in subparagraphs (B) and
(C).

“(B) REDUCTIONS.—The amount determined

under subparagraph (A)(ii) for any plan year shall
be reduced—

“(i) by the aggregate death benefit
premiums determined under section 9704(c)
for the plan year, and

20a

“(ii) by the amount reserved for plan
administration under subsection (d).

“(C) INCREASES.—The amount determined
sunder subparagraph (A)(i1) shall be increased—

“(i) by any reduction in the total
premium payments required to be paid under
section 9704(a) by reason of transfers
described in section 9705,

“(ii) by any carryover to the plan year
from any preceding plan year which—

“(1) arises because payments
form the Combined Fund for such
preceding plan year were less than the
limit under this paragraph, and

“(II) the trustees elect to use to
pay benefits for the current plan year,
and
“(jii) any interest earned by the

Combined Fund which the trustees elect to use
to pay benefits for the current plan year.

[“(3) COORDINATION WITH MEDICARE.—The level
of coverage provided under the 1950 UMWA Benefit
Plan and the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan as of January |,
1992, shall be determined by taking into account any
benefits or reimbursements provided under title XVIII of
the Social Security Act.

“(4) QUALIFIED PROVIDERS.—The trustees of the
Combined Fund shall not enter into an agreement under
paragraph (1) with any provider of services which is of a
type which is required to be certified by the Secretary of
Health and Human Services when providing services
under title XVIII of the Social Security Act unless the

provider is so certified.]

2la

“(5) EFFECTIVE DATE.—Benefits shall be
rE. rovided
under paragraph (1) on and after February |, 1993.

“(c) DEATH BENEFITS COVERAGE.—

“(1) IN GENERAL.—The trustees of the Combi
Fund shall provide death benefits coverage to —
eligible beneficiary described in subsection (f)(1) which
is identical to the benefits provided under the 1950
UMWA Pension Plan or 1974 UMWA Pension Plan
whichever is applicable, fon July 20, 1992.] Such

coverage shall
1993. 8 be provided on and after February |,

“(2) TERMINATION OF COVERAGE.—The
UMWA Pension Plan and the 1974 UMWA mo
Plan shall each be amended to provide that death benefits
coverage shall not be provided to eligible beneficiaries
on and after February 1, 1993. This paragraph shall not

prohibit such plans from subsequent! idi
d
benefits not described in paragraph a). —

“(d) RESERVES FOR ADMINISTRATION.—The

— trustees of
the Combined Fund may reserve for each plan year, for use in
payment of the administrative costs of the Combined Fund, an
amount not to exceed 5 percent of the premiums to be paid to

the Combined Fund ,
year. und under section 9704(a) during the plan

“(e) LIMITATION ON ENROLLMENT.—{Exce

. . pt as provided

in section 971 I(d) and 9712(c),] the Combined Fund res not

— ee who is not receiving benefits under the
nefit Plan or the 1974

as of July 20, 1992. —

“(f) ELIGIBLE BENEFICIARY.—For
. purposes of this
subchapter, the term ‘eligibl lary’
ws igible beneficiary’ means an
“C) is a coal industry retiree who, on July 20, 1992,
was eligible to receive, and receiving, benefits from the

22a
1950 UMWA Benefit Plan or the 1974 UMWA Benefit
Plan. or
“(2) on such date was eligible to receive, and
receiving, benefits in either such plan by reason of a
relationship to such retiree.

PART II—FINANCING

“Sec. 9704. Liability of assigned operators.
“Sec. 9705. Transfers.
“Sec. 9706. Assignment of eligible beneficiaries.

“SEC. 9704. LIABILITY OF ASSIGNED OPERAORS.

“(a) ANNUAL PREMIUMS.—Each assigned operator shall
pay to the Combined Fund for each plan year beginning on or
after February 1, 1993, an annual premium equal to the sum
of the following three premiums—

“(1) the health benefit premium determined under
subsection (b) for such plan year, plus

“(2) the death benefit premium determined under
subsection (c) for such plan year, plus

“(3) the unassigned ~ beneficiaries premium
determined under subsection (d) for such plan year.

Any related person with respect to an assigned operator =
be jointly and severally liable for any premium required to
paid by such operator. |

“(b) HEALTH BENEFIT PREMIUM.—For purposes of this
chapter-—

“(1) IN GENERAL.—The health benefit premium for
any plan year for any assigned operator shall be an
amount equal to the product of the per beneficiary
premium for the plan year multiplied by the number of
eligible beneficiaries assigned to such operator under
section 9706.

23a

(2) PER BENEFICIARY PREMIUM.—The Secretary of
Health and Human Services shall calculate a per
beneficiary premium for each plan year beginning on or
after February 1, 1993, which is equal to the sum of —

“(A) the amount determined by dividing—

“(i) the aggregate amount of payments
from the 1950 UMWA Benefit Plan and the
1974 UMWA Benefit Plan for health benefits
(less reimbursements) for the plan year
beginning July 1, 1991, for all individuals
covered under such plans for such plan year,
by

“(ii) the number of such individuals,
plus |

“(B) the amount determined under subparagraph
(A) multiplied by the percentage (if any) by which the
medical component of the Consumer Price Index for
the calendar year in which the plan year begins
exceeds such component for 1992.

“(c) DEATH BENEFIT PREMIUM.—The death benefit
premium for any plan year for any assigned operator shall be
equal to the applicable percentage of the amount, actuarially
determined, which the Combined Fund will be required to pay

during the plan year for death benefits coverage described in
section 9703(c).

“(d) UNASSIGNED _— BENEFICIARIES =PREMIUM.—The
unassigned beneficiaries premium for any plan year for any
assigned operator shall be equal to the applicable percentage
of the product of the per beneficiary premium for the plan
year multiplied by the number of eligible beneficiaries who
are not assigned under section 9706 to any person for such
plan year.

ra 2Sa

“(f) APPLICABLE PERCENTAGE.—For purposes of the

“(e) PREMIUM ACCOUNTS; ADJUSTMENTS.— | section—
“(1) ACCOUNTS.—The trustees of the Combined “(1)IN — GENERAL.—The term _ ‘applicable
Fund shall establish and maintain 3 separate accounts for percentage’ means, with respect to any assigned

: ums described in subsections (b), (c), ; y a
each of the premiums ceedined with the operator, the percentage determined by dividing the
and (d). Such accounts shall be cred nditures number of eligible beneficiaries assigned under section
premiums received and debited with expe 9706 to such operator by the total number of eligible
allocable to such premiums. beneficiaries assigned under section 9706 to all such
« NS.— operators (determined on the basis of assignments as of
saceemngninies October 1, 1993).

“(A) ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENSES. — Administrative
costs for any plan year shall be allocated to premium
accounts under paragraph (1) on the basis of expenditures
(other than administrative costs) from such accounts
during the preceding plan year.

“(B) INTEREST.—Interest shall be allocated to
the account established for health benefit premiums.

“(3) SHORTFALLS AND SURPLUSES.—

“(A)In general.—Except as a, 7
subparagraph (B), if, for any plan year, there is
shortfall or surplus in any premium account, -
premium for the following plan year for eac
assigned operator shall be proportionately reduced
or increased, whichever is applicable, by the
amount of such shortfall or surplus.

“(B) EXCEPTION.—Subparagraph (A) shall not
apply to any surplus in the health benefit premium
account which is attributable to—

“(j) amounts described in —
703(b\(2C\ii) (relating to carryovers Oo

i oe not used to provide benefits) for the

plan year or any preceding plan year, or
-“(ii) interest credited under paragraph

(2)(B) for the plan year or any preceding plan

year.

“(2) ANNUAL ADJUSTMENTS.—In the case of any
plan year beginning on or after October 1, 1994. the
applicable percentage for any assigned operator shall be
redetermined under paragraph (1) by making the

following changes to the assignments as of October l,
1993:

“(A) Such assignments shall be modified to
reflect any changes during the period beginning
October 1, 1993, and ending on the last day of the
preceding plan year pursuant to the appeals process
under section 9706(f).

“(B) The total number of assigned eligible
beneficiaries shall be reduced by the eligible
beneficiaries of assigned operators who ceased
business (within the meaning of section 9701(c\(6))
during the period described in subparagraph (A).

“(g) PAYMENT OF PREMIUMS.—The annual premium
under subsection (a) for any plan year shall be payable in 12
equal monthly installments, due on the twenty-fifth day of
each calendar month in the plan year. In the case of the plan
year beginning February 1, 1993, except as provided in
subsection (i), the annual premium under subsection (a) shall
be added to such premium for the plan year beginning
October 1, 1993.

26a

“(h) INFORMATION.—The trustees of the Combined Fund
shall. not later than 60 days after the enactment date, furnish
to the Secretary of Health and Human Services information as
to the benefits and covered beneficiaries under the fund, and
such other information as the Secretary may require to
compute any premium under this section.

“(i) TRANSITION RULES.—

“(1) 1988 AGREEMENT OPERATORS.—

“(A) IST YEAR COSTS.—During the plan year
of the Combined Fund beginning February |, 1993,
the 1988 agreements operators shall make
contributions to the Combined Fund in amounts
necessary to pay benefits and administrative costs
of the Combined Fund incurred during such year.

“(B) DEFICITS FROM MERGED PLANS.—During
the period beginning February 1, 1993, and ending
September 30, 1994, the 1988 agreement operators
shall make contributions to the Combined Fund as
are necessary to pay off the expenses accrued (and
remaining unpaid) by the 1950 UMWA Benefit
Plan and the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan as of
February 1, 1993, reduced by the assets of such
plans as of such date.

“(C) FAILURE.—If any 1988 agreement
operator fails to meet any obligation under this
paragraph, any contributions of such operator to the
Combined Fund or any other plan described in
section 404(c) shall not be deductible under this title
until such time as the failure is corrected.

“(D) PREMIUM REDUCTIONS. —

“(i) IST YEAR PAYMENTS.—In the case
of a 1988 agreement operator making

contributions under subparagraph (A), the
premium of such operator under subsection (a)

shall be reduced by the amount of premiums

27a

under Subsection (a) which are paid by
assigned operators other than 1988 agreement
operators for the plan year beginning February
1, 1993, and which are allocated to such
operator under subparagraph (EB).

“(ii) DEFICIT PAYMENTS.—In the case a
1988 agreement operator making contributions
under subparagraph (B), the premium of such
operator under subsection (a) shall be reduced
by the amounts which are paid to the
Combined Fund by reason of litigation based
on the ‘evergreen clause’ found in the
language of the 1950 UMWA Benefit Plan and
the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan and which are

— to such operator under subparagraph

(iii) PLAN YEARS.—Premiums under
subsection (a) shall be reduced for the first
plan year for which amounts described in
Clause (i) or (ii) are available and for any

succeeding plan year until such amou
exhausted. —

“(E) ALLOCATIONS OF CONTRIBUTIONS AND
REFUNDS.—Contributions under subparagraphs (A)
and (B), and premium reductions under
subparagraph (D), shall be made ratably on the
basis of aggregate contributions made under the
applicable 1988 coal wage agreements.

“(2) IST PLAN YEAR.—In the case of the plan year

of the Combined Fund beginning February 1, 1993—

“(A) the premium under subsection (a)(1) shall
be 67 percent of the premium without regard to this
paragraph, and

“(B) the premiums under subsection (a) shal
be paid as provided in subsection (g). —

29a

28:

" Such funds may not be used to pay any amounts required to
be paid by the 1988 agreement operators under section
9704(i)(1)(B).

“SEC. 9705. TR ANSFERS. (4) TAX TREATMENT; VALIDITY OF TRANSFER, —
“(a) TRANSFER OF ASSETS FROM 1950 UMWA PENSION “(A) NO DEDUCTION.—No deduction shall be
fis sie ee allowed under this title with respect to any transfer
, served under pursuant to paragraph (1), but such transfer shall not
neta net tha tae UMWA adversely affect the deductibility (under applicable
paragraph (~-), i

Pension Plan shall transfer to the Combined Fund—
“(A) $70,000,000 on February 1, 1993,
“(B) $70,000,000 on October 1, 1993, and
“(C) $70,000,000 on October 1, 1994.

“(2 ERVATION.—Immediately upon the
oma ro the board of trustees of the 1950 age
Pension Plan shall segregate $210,000,000 from :
general assets of the plan. Such funds shall be held in fe e
plan until disbursed pursuant to paragraph (1). ny
interest on such funds shall be deposited into the gene
assets of the 1950 UMWA Pension Plan.

“(3) USE OF FUNDS.—Amounts transferred to the
Combined Fund under paragraph (1) shall—

“(A)1 case of the transfer on February 1,
ig to proportionately reduce the
premium of each assigned operator under section
9704(a) for the plan year of the Fund beginning
February 1, 1993, and

“(B) in the case of any other such transfer, be
used to proportionately reduce the en
beneficiary premium under section ica Be
each assigned operator for the plan year in whic
transferred and for any subsequent plan year in
which such funds remain available.

provisions of this title) of contributions previously
made by employers, or amounts hereafter
contributed by employers, to the 1950 UMWA
Pension Plan, the 1950 UMWA Benefit Plan. the
1974 UMWA Pension Plan, the 1974 Benefit Plan.
the 1992 UMWA Benefit Plan, or the Combined
Fund.

“(B) OTHER TAX PROVISIONS.—Any transfer
pursuant to paragraph (1) —

“(i) shall not be treated as an employer
reversion from a qualified plan for purposes of
section 4980, and

“(1i) shall not be includible in the gross
income of any employer maintaining the 1950
UMWA pension Plan.

“(S) TREATMENT OF TRANSfer.—Any transfer
pursuant to paragraph (1) shall not be deemed to violate, or
to be prohibited by, any provision of law, or to cause the
settlors, joint board of trustees, employers or any related
person to incur or be subject to liability, taxes, fines or
penalties of any kind whatsoever.

“(b) TRANSFERS FROM ABANDONED MINE RECLAMATION

FUND. —

“(1) IN| GENERAL.—The Combined Fund shall
include any amount transferred to the Fund under section

30a

402(h) of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act
of 1977 (30 U.S. C. 1232(h)).

“(2) USE OF FUNDS.—Any amount transferred under
paragraph (1) for any fiscal year shall be used to
proportionately reduce the unassigned beneficiary premium
under section 9704(a)(3) of each assigned operator for the
plan year in which transferred.

“SEC. 9706. ASSIGNMENT OF ELIGIBLE BENEFICIARIES

. is chapter, the
“(a) IN GENERAL.—For purposes of this c
wane of Health and Human Services shail, before October
1, 1993, assign each coal industry retiree who is an eligible
beneficiary to a signatory operator which is in business in the
following order:

“(1) First, to the signatory operator which—

“(A) was a signatory to the 1978 coal wage
agreement or any subsequent coal wage agreement,
and

“(B) was the most recent signatory operator to
employ the coal industry retiree in the coal industry
for at least 2 years.

“(2) Second, if the retiree is not assigned under
paragraph (1), to the signatory operator which —

“(A) was a signatory to the 1978 coal wage
agreement or any subsequent coal wage agreement,
and

“(B) was the most recent signatory operator to
employ the coal industry retiree in the coal industry.

“(3) Third, if the retiree is not assigned es :

(1) or (2), to the signatory operator whic

a tt the coal industry retiree in the coal industry

for a longer period of time than any other signatory
operator during all periods before 1978.

3la

“(b) RULES RELATING TO EMPLOYMENT.—For purposes
of subsection (a) —

“(1) RELATED PERSON.—Any employment of a coal
industry retiree in the coal industry by a related person with
respect tO a signatory operator shall be treated as
employment by the operator.

(2) CERTAIN EMPLOYMENT DISREGARDED.—
Employment with—
“(A) a person no longer in business, or

“(B) a person who has never been a signatory to
a coal wage agreement,

shall not be taken into account.

“(c) IDENTIFICATION OF ELIGIBLE BENEFICIARIES.—The
1950 UMWA Benefit Plan and the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan
shall, by the later of October 1, 1992, or the twentieth day
after the enactment date, provide to the Secretary of Health
and Human Services a list of the names and social security
account numbers of each eligible benéficiary, including each
deceased eligible beneficiary if any other individual is an
eligible beneficiary by reason of a relationship to such
deceased eligible beneficiary. In addition, the plans shall
provide, where ascertainable from plan records, the names of
all persons described in subsection (a) with respect to any
eligible beneficiary or deceased eligible beneficiary.

“(d) COOPERATION BY OTHER AGENCIES AND PERSONS. —

“(1) IN GENERAL.—The head of any department,
agency, Or instrumentality of the United States shall
cooperate fully and promptly with the Secretary of Health
and Human Services in providing information which will
enable the Secretary to carry out his responsibilities under

~ this section.

32a
“(2) PROVIDING OF INFORMATION. —

‘ “(A) IN GENERAL.—Notwithstanding any other
provision of law, including section 6103, the head of
any other agency, department, or instrumentality shall,
upon receiving a request from the Secretary of Health
and Human Services in connection with this section,
cause a search to be made of the files and records
maintained by such agency, department, or
instrumentality with a view to determining whether
the information requested is contained in such files or
records. The Secretary shall be advised whether the
search disclosed the information and, if so, such
information shall be promptly transmitted to the
Secretary, except that if the disclosure of any
requested information would contravene national
policy or security interests of the United States, or the
confidentiality of census data, the information shall
not be transmitted and the Secretary shall be so
advised.

“(B) LIMITATION.—Any information provided
under subparagraph (A) shall- be limited to
information necessary for the Secretary to carry Out
his duties under this section.

“(3) TRUSTEES.—The trustees of the Combined
Fund. the 1950 UMWA Benefit Plan, and the 1974
UMWA Benefit Plan shall fully and promptly cooperate
with the Secretary in furnishing, or assisting the
Secretary to obtain, any information the Secretary needs
to carry out the Secretary’s responsibilities under this
section.

“(e) NOTICE BY SECRETARY. —

“(1) NOTICE TO FUND.—The Secretary of Health and
Human Services shall advise the trustees of the
Combined Fund of the name of each person identified
under this section as an assigned operator, and the names

33a

and social security account n
pee umbers of eligi
beneficiaries with respect to whom he is identified. igible

“(2) OTHER NOTICE.—The Secre
- tary of Health and
Human Services Shall notify each assigned operator of the
a and social security account numbers of eligible
oe an eh have been assigned to such person under
Is section [and a brief explanati
oo col planation of the basis for such

“(f) RECONSIDERATION BY SECRETARY. —

“(1) IN GENERAL.—Any assigned operator receivin
. . .
sone under subsection (e)(2) with respect to an eligible
neficiary may, within 30 days of receipt of such notice
request from the Secretary of Health and Human Services
detailed information as to the basis of the assignment.

i (2) REVIEW.—An assigned operator may, within 15
ys of receipt of the information under paragraph (1)
request review of the assignment. The Secretary of Health
sah Human Services shall conduct such review if the

tary finds the operator provided evidence with the
request constituting a prima facie case of error.

“(3) RESULTS OF REVIEW.—

“(A) ERROR.—If the Secretary of Heal

th and
Human Services determines under a review under
paragraph (2) that an assignment was in error—

_ “(ithe Secretary shall _ noti
assigned Operator and the trustees anu
the premiums of the operator under section 9704
by (or if there are no such premiums, repay) all
premiums paid under section 9704 with respect
to the eligible beneficiary, and

“(ii) the Secretary shall review the

beneficiary’s record for reas ignment unde
subsection (a). " ™ ;

34a

“(B) NO ERROR. —If the Secretary of Health and
Human Services determines under a review conducted
under paragraph (2) that no error occurred, the Secretary
shall notify the assigned operator.

(4) APPEALS. —

“(A) FINALITY.—Any determination by the Secretary
of Health and Human Services under paragraph (2) or (3)
shall be final.

“(B) COURT ACTION.—If a court overtums a
determination by the Secretary of Health and Human
Services under paragraph (3)(B) —

“(i) the trustees of the Combined Fund shall
reduce the premiums of the operator under section
9704 by (or if there are no such premiums, repay) all
premiums paid under section 9704 with respect to the
eligible beneficiary, and

“(ii) the Secretary shall review beneficiary’s
record for reassignment under subsection (a).

“(5) PAYMENT PENDING REVIEW.—An assigned
operator shall pay the premiums under section 9704
pending review by the Secretary of Health and Human
Services or by a court under this subsection.

“(g) CONFIDENTIALITY OF INFORMATION.—Any person
to which information is provided by the Secretary of Health
and Human Services under this section shall not disclose such
information except to the extent necessary for purposes of this
section. Any civil or criminal penalty which is applicable to
an unauthorized disclosure under section 6103 shall apply to
any unauthorized disclosure under this section.

3Sa

“PART III—ENFORCEMENT
“Sec. 9707. Failure to pay premium

“SEC. 9707. FAILURE TO PAY PREMIUM.

“(a) GENERAL RULE.—There is hereby imposed a

on the failure of any assigned operator to pay any ee
required to be paid under section 9704 with respect to any
eligible beneficiary.

_ “(b) AMOUNT OF PENALTY.—The amount of the penalty
imposed by subsection (a) on any failure with respect to any
eligible beneficiary shall be $100 per day in the noncompliance
period with respect to any such failure.

“(c) NONCOMPLIANCE PERIOD.—For purposes of this
section, the term ‘noncompliance period’ means, with respect to
any failure to pay any premium or installment thereof, the
period—

ee oo oe See Gite Ger cach promt or
“(2) ending on the date of of such
ont " payment of such premium

“(d) LIMITATIONS ON AMOUNT OF PENALTY. —

“(1) IN GENERAL.—No penalty shall be imposed by
subsection (a) on any failure during any period for which it
is established to the satisfaction of the Secretary of the
Treasury that none of the persons responsible for such
failure knew, or exercising reasonable diligence, would
have known, that such failure existed.

“(2) CORRECTIONS. —No penalty shall be imposed
subsection (a) on any failure if— ”
“(A) such failure was due to reasonable cause
and not to willful neglect, and
. “(B) such failure is corrected during the 30-day
period beginning on the Ist date that any of the

36a

persons responsible for such failure knew, or
exercising reasonable diligence would have known,
that such failure existed.

“(3) WAIVER.—In the case of a failure that is due to
reasonable cause and not to willful neglect, the Secretary of
the Treasury may waive all or part of the penalty imposed
by subsection (a) for failures to the extent that the Secretary
determines, in his sole discretion, that the payment of such
penalty would be excessive relative to the failure involved.

“(e) LIABILITY FOR PENALTY.—The person failing to
meet the requirements of section 9704 shall be liable for the

penalty imposed by subsection (a),

“(f) TREATMENT.—For purposes of this title, the penalty
imposed by this section shall be treated in the same manner as
the tax imposed by section 4980B.

“PART IV—OTHER PROVISIONS

“Sec. 9708. Effect on pending claims.
“SEC. 9708. EFFECT ON PENDING CLAIMS.

“All liability for contributions that become due to the
Combined Fund on and after February 1, 1993, shall be
determined under this chapter. However, nothing in this
chapter is intended to have any effect on any claims arising in
connection with the 1950 UMWA Benefit Plan and the 1974
UMWA Benefit Plan before February 1, 1993, including
claims based on the ‘evergreen’ clause found in the language
of the 1950 UMWA Benefit Plan and the 1974 UMWA
Benefit Plan. This chapter shall not be construed to affect any
rights of subrogation of any 1988 agreement operator with
respect to contributions due to the 1950 UMWA Benefit Plan
or the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan before February 1, 1993.

37a
1992 FUND

[TO BE SUPPLIED]

(b) AMENDMENTS TO SURFACE MINING ACT. —

(1) EXTENSION OF FEE PROGRAM.—Section 402(b
of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation haa
1977 (30 U.S.C. 1232(b)) is amended by striking

te mber 30, 1995” and inserting “September 30,

[(1) EXTENSION OF FEE PROGRAM.—Section

of the Surface Mining Control and Scientia aan od
1977 (30 U.S.C. 1232(b)) is amended by striking
‘September 30, 1995 and inserting “with the earlier of
September 30, 2005, or the fiscal year following the first
fiscal year for which there are no unassigned beneficiaries
(within the meaning of section 9704(d) of the Internal
Revenue Code of 1986) within the United Mine Workers
of America Consolidated Benefit Fund established under
section 9702 of such Code”.}

(2) TRANSFER TO FUND.—Section 402 of such
(30 U.S.C. 1232) is amended by adding at the and @
following new subsection:
“(h) TRANSFER OF FUNDS TO COMBINED FUND. —

(1) In the case of any fiscal year beginning ing on or after
October 1, 1995, with respect to which fees are required to
be paid under this section, the Secretary shall, as of the
beginning of such fiscal year and before any allocation
under subsection (g), make the transfer provided in
paragraph (2).

“(2) The Secretary shall transfer from the fund
. . é
the United Mine Workers of America Combined Benefit
De aay exten SE ot Ge Seen
venue l for any fiscal amoun
equal to the sum of — ’ siecle

38a

“(A)the amount of the interest which the
Secretary estimates will be earned and paid to the
Fund during the fiscal year, plus

“(B) the amount by which the amount described
in subparagraph (A) is less than $70,000,000.

“(3)(A) The aggregate amount which may be
transferred under paragraph (2) for any fiscal year
shall not exceed the amount of expenditures which
the trustees of the Combined Fund estimate will be
debited against the unassigned beneficiaries
premium account under section 9704(e) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1986 for the fiscal year of
the Combined Fund in which the transfer is made.

“(B) The aggregate amount which may be
transferred under paragraph (2)(B) for all fiscal
years shall not exceed an amount equivalent to all
interest earned and paid to the fund before October
1, 1985.

“(4) If, for any fiscal year, the amount transferred is
more or less than the amount required to be transferred,
the Secretary shall appropriately adjust the amount
transferred for the next fiscal year.”

{(3) Stupy.—f, as of the close of any fiscal year, the
Secretary of Health and Human Services determines that
there are no unassigned beneficiaries in the United Mine
Workers of America Combined Benefit Fund, the Secretary
shall conduct a study and report to the Congress by the
close of the following fiscal year as to

(A) the possibility of any future unassigned
beneficiaries coming into the Combined Fund, and

(B) the necessity for continuing the fees under
section 402(b) of the Surface Mining Control and
Reclamation Act of 1977, including consideration
of the effect of the Clean Air Act on the need for
continuing such fees.]

39a

(4) CONFORMING AMENDMENTS.—{A) Section
; 401
= Act (30 U.S.C. 1231(c)) is amended by striking “ant at
end YF ye eet by redesignating paragraph (12) as
on : ing after paragraph (11) the following
a for the purpose described in section 402(h);
(B) Section 402(g)1) of such Act

' (30 U.S.C.
I 232(g) is amended by striking “Moneys” and inserting

Except as provided in subsection (h), moneys”

40a

102p ConGREss HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES REPORT

2d SESSION

102-1018

ENERGY POLICY ACT OF 1992

CONFERENCE REPORT
TO ACCOMPANY

H.R. 776

OCTOBER 5, 1992—Ordered to be printed

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE
WASHINGTON : 1992

59-693

4la
ENERGY POLICY ACT OF 1992

OCTOBER 5, 1992—Ordered to be printed

Mr. DINGELL, from the committee of conference,
submitted the following

CONFERENCE REPORT

[To accompany H.R. 776}

The committee of conference on the disagreeing votes of
the two Houses on the amendment of the Senate to the bill
(H.R. 776), to provide for improved energy efficiency, having
met, after full and free conference, have agreed to recommend
and do recommend to their respective Houses as follows:

That the House recede from its disagreement to the
amendment of the Senate and agree to the same with an
amendment as follows:

In lieu of the matter proposed to be inserted by the
Senate amendment, insert the following:

SECTION 1. SHORT TITLE: TABLE OF CONTENTS.
(a) SHORT TrrLeE. —This Act may be cited as the “Energy
Policy Act of 1992” .

(b) TABLE OF CONTENTS. —
TITLE 1—ENERGY EFFICIENCY
Subtitle A—Buildings

Sec. 101. Building energy efficiency standards.
Sec. 102. Residential energy efficiency ratings.

42a

Sec.103 Energy efficient lighting and building centers
Sec. 104 Manufactured housing energy efficiency.

Sec. 105 Energy efficient mortgages.
Sec. 106 Energy efficient mortgages pilot program.

Subtitle B—Vtilities

Sec. 111 Encouragement of investments in conservation and
energy efficiency by electric utilities.
Sec. 112 Energy efficiency grants to State regulatory

authorities.
Sec. 113. Tennessee Valley Authority least-cost planning

program.
Sec. 114 Amendment of Hoover Power Plant Act.

* * * *® *

20.2056(b)-5(c)). Finding this regulation invalid, courts have
held that the term “specific portion” includes a fixed dollar
amount. See Northeastern Pennsylvania National Bank &
Trust Co. v. United States, 387 U.S. 213 (1967), Estate of
Alexander v. Commissioner, 82 T.C. 34 (1984), aff d, No.
8401600 (4th Cir. April 3, 1985). Under the court holdings,
appreciation in certain marital deduction property may be
includible in neither spouse's estate.

House bill

No provision in H.R. 776. (However, H.R. 11 as passed
by the House contains the same provision as included in the
conference agreement described below).

Senate amendment

No provision in H.R. 776. (However, H.R. 11 as
amended by the Senate contains the same provision as
included in the conference agreement described below.

Conference agreement

The conference agreement provides that, for purposes of
the marital deduction, a “specific portion” only includes a
portion determined on a fractional or percentage basis. Thus,

43a

—_ does not qualify under the exceptions to the terminable
erest rule unless the required income interest and general

power of appointment are expressed :
percentage of the property. pres as a fraction . a

It is intended that no inference

It be drawn from the
a with respect to the definition of “specific portion”
under present law. The conference agreement does not
generally affect the marital deduction allowed for a pecuniary

formula marital deduction
9 ICR ne Oe Bem. Proc. &-

Effective date——The provision generall li
made, and decedents dying, after date pr sonst a
provision does not apply to a transfer under a will or
revocable trust executed before the date of enactment if either
(1) on that date the decedent was under a mental disability to
change the disposition of his property and did not regain his
competence to dispose of such property before the ro of
death, or (2) the decedent dies within three years after the date
ra yen The provision applies, however, if the will or
. . ha amended after the date of enactment in any respect
pasate porate amount of the transfer qualifying for the
oor ion or alters the terms by which the interest

C. HEALTH BENEFITS FOR RETIRED COAL MINERS
Present Law

The United Mine Workers of America (UMW
and retirement funds were established in on sores gg
agreement ‘between the UMWA and the Bituminous Coal
Operator’s Association (BCOA) to provide pension and
health benefits to retired coal miners and their dependents
The funds have been maintained for this purpose through a
series of collective bargaining agreements. The funds ame

in 1974 were a restructuring of the origi
which Wen cotabitched tn 190% ——

toa

The funds consist of four different plans, each of which
is funded through a separate trust. The 1950 Pension Plan
provides retirement benefits to miners who retired on or
before December 31, 1975, and their beneficiaries. The 1950
Benefit Plan provides health benefits for retired mine workers
who receive pensions from the 1950 Pension Plan and their
dependents. The 1974 Pension Plan provides retirement
benefits to miners who retire after December 31, 1975, and
their beneficiaries. The 1974 Benefit Plan provides health
benefits to miners who retire after December 31, 1975. It also
provides health benefits to miners whose last employers are
no longer in business or, in some cases, no longer signatory to
the applicable bargaining agreement. These miners are
generally referred to as “orphan” retirees. -

The Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of
1977, as amended, imposes a reclamation fee on coal mining
operators, payable quarterly to the Secretary of the Interior for
deposit in the Abandoned Mine Reclamation Fund (the AML
Fund). The fee generally is the lesser of (1) 35 cents per ton
of coal produced by surface coal mining and 15 cents per ton
of coal produced by underground mine or (2) 10 percent of
the value of the coal at the mine. The fee for lignite is the
lesser of 2 percent of the value of the coal at the mine or 10
cents per ton. The reclamation fee is scheduled to expire after
September 30, 1195.

House bill

The House bill extends the abandoned mine reclamation
fee through September 30, 2010.

Effective Date—Date of enactment.
Senate amendment "

The Senate amendment provides that the 1950 Benefit
Plan and the 1974 Benefit Plan are to be merged into a new
UMWA Combined Benefit Fund (“Combined Fund”) to
provide health and death benefits for eligible retirees and their
dependents. The Combined Fund is to be financed primarily

\

45a

by health benefit premiums, death benefit premiums, and
unassigned beneficiaries premiums imposed on assigned
operators. The Combined Fund will receive additional
funding from transfers from the 1950 Pension Plan and the
AML Fund. The amendment also creates a 1992 Benefit Fund

to provide benefits for persons not eligi
femme pe not eligible under the

The Senate amendment extends the abandoned mi
reclamation fund fee through September 20, 2004. —

Conference agreement

The conference agree |
ment follows the Sen
amendment. T

D. Trade Provision: Anticircumvention of

Antidumping and Countervailing Duty
Orders

Present Law
The Omnibus Trade and Competiveness Act of 1988

expanded antidumping and countervailing duty law to

authorize the Department of Commerce to take action to
address attempts to circum

* eke kK *

Ate 47a
Renewable Energy
145
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY Coal 146
HOUSE REPORT NO. 102-474(1) Strategic Petroleum Reserve
House Conference Report No. 102-1018. Oct. 5. 1992 Octane Display and Discl _
[To accompany H.R. 776) Greenhouse W. IS]
No Senate Report was submitted with this legislation. Hechoclectric F 152
The House Report (Parts ]-IX (this page, 2064, 2182, 2201, 153
9210, 2232, 2271, 2282, 2422)) is set out below and the Oil Pipeline Regulation
House Conference Report (page 2472) and the President's Mlecelleneces 153
Signing Statement (page 2534-1) follow. ° 153
cs
HOUSE REPORT NO. 102-474(1) _ OS neal giana ete eaeaeaeeanaanaaceaes 153
| Committee Consideration......
(page 1] | —— eee 154
The committee on Energy and Commerce, to whom was ittee Oversight F indings Ceecercececoccccceseceseeccscsccseseesecesccseees 155
referred the bill (H.R. 776) to provide for improved energy [page 2]
efficiency, having considered the same report favorable
thereon with an amendment and recommend that the bill as Page
amended do pass. Committee on Government Operations................. 155
LS eas 155
CONTENTS Cnn Budget Office Estimate.................ccccces-0+- 157, 169
ren Inflationary Impact Statement ...............cescecessesesseseeseseeeeees 169
a ee 2 pages a Analysis and DisCussion .......evcessesses 170
Purpose and SUIMMMary ....----eesvesssssssreeeeeeeeeeeesereesereneeerseeseee eee 132 Te uy Eicon 170
Background and Need for Legislation ...nnnmnennnn 132 iota tig sasuainaaptagmas 17
Energy Efficiency 133 napa © Fuels—General 182
~— —Altemative Fuels—Non-Federal
Natural Gas Pipelines. 135 mongge PHOTAINS. .eceeeeee 184
—Replacement Fuels, Altemative
nannies 136 Altemative Fueled Private Vehicles oa =
Electncity 138 Title VI—Blectric Motor Vehicles -
High-Level Radioactive Waste 140 Title Vil—Electricity 192

Uranium Enrichment 142 Title VII—High-Level Radioactive Waste a

48a
Title IX—Uranium Enrichment Corporation 197

Title X—Remedial Action at Active Processing Sites «1-204

Title XI-—Uranium Enrichment Health, Safety, and
Environment Issues

Title XIl—Renewable Energy 208

Title X1I—Coal 210

Title XIV—Strategic Petroleurn Reserve... 217

Title XV—Octane Display and Disclosure .. 20

Title XVI—Greenhouse Warming-Energy Implications .........220
Title X VII—Additional Federal Power Act Amendments......222

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0453%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
