# Opposition Brief — McKune v. Lile

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0447%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 536 U.S. 24

## Text

7 en ge .
g arf 2 a a re > be
ew % ». os emt nr :
1 ee rete ore

> _

: . ea
Sa? Regt: Se AM cy oi oF
fee: See 2

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, upon an inmate’s invocation of his Fifth
Amendment rights, a decision to transfer that inmate to
maximum security and impose corresponding sanctions
constitutes compulsion under the Fifth Amendment?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED. ....cccccccccscccsessveces i

TABLE OF AULITROORITERS «cc ccscccccccsccesccesses iii

STATEMENT OF THE CASE............ssseeccoees 1
REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE

BET oc cccccdccccccscccéusesesseneueeeaennee 4

A. The Tenth Circuit followed this Court’s prece-
dent in determining that the SATP compels Mr.
Lile to incriminate himself...................5. 5

_ The Tenth Circuit’s decision does not conflict
with other courts’ decisions to the extent that this
Caust chawhd savieee © coccccccucceseusseseeu 7

C. The Turner “reasonableness” standard of review
applies in the prison context; that the Tenth Cir- .
cuit employed the four-factor test in determinin
whether Petitioners met that standard is not suf-
Gelent tm sneell GSUROUR. ..ooccccvevseesenduaunent g

D. Although sex offender treatment is important,
the framework suggested by the lower courts
permits Petitioners to meet all of its stated goals
S00 GARE . cc cccccsenscecsevesesetecuevnennnneen 11

ase 6*§ Ph 12

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Bankes v. Simmons, 265 Kan. 341, 963 P.2d 412

heheh ees pceeigeneesedeebesscceess 8, 9
Baxter v. Palmigiano, 425 U.S. 308 (1975)............ 6, 7
Chambers v. Bachicha, 39 F.3d 1191, 1994 WL 596702

i i MD csccccvcesccccecescceeses 8, 9
Gardner v. Broderick, 392 U.S. 273 (1968).............. 6
Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967)............. 5
Greenholtz v. Inmates of the Nebraska Penal and Cor-

rectional Complex, 442 U.S. 1 (1979)................. 8
Guilkey v. Holden, 865 F.2d 258, 1988 WL 134526

(6th Cir. Dec. 16, 1988)..... I, ee ee ee 7, 8
Lefkowitz v. Cunningham, 431 U.S. 801 (1977).......... 5
Lefkowitz v. Turley, 414 U.S. 70 (1973).............045. 5
Minnesota v. Murphy, 465 U.S. 420 (1984)............. 7
O’Lone v. Estate of Shabazz, 482 U.S. 342 (1987)...... 10
Ohio Adult Parole Authority v. Woodard, 523 U.S.

EEE EEE EEE SPP PTT ETT TTT T TTT TTT TTT Tye 6
Searcy v. Simmons, 97 F. Supp. 2d 1055 (D. Kan.

DCU RbesERddbbeSSeeesecececcoscececeeoeeees 6
Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511 (1967)................ 5, 6
Tedder v. Francke, 931 F.2d 897, 1991 WL 65497 (9th

Cir. Apr. 24, 1991)...... tine dee sebeneeees 7, 8

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) .............04: 9, 10

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Uniformed Sanitation Men Ass’n v. Commissioner of
Sanitation, 392 U.S. 280 (1968) .............ceeeeeee 5
Washington v. Harper, 494 U.S. 210 (1990).......... 9, 10

STATEMENT OF THE CASE?
a. Nature of the Case

Mr. Lile was convicted in 1983 of kidnaping, rape,
and aggravated sodomy. He pled not guilty and still
maintains that his conduct with the victim was consen-
sual. He is incarcerated at the Lansing (Kansas) Correc-
tional Facility (“LCF”), where he is serving a life
sentence. (Pet. App. at 33-34a).

When Mr. Lile entered LCF, prison officials did not
require him to take part in sex offender therapy. How-
ever, in 1994, prison officials notified Mr. Lile that they
were requiring him to take part in the Department of
Corrections’ Sexual Abuse Treatment Program (“SATP”).
As part of their efforts, officials added this program to
Mr. Lile’s inmate program agreement (“IPA”). (Pet. App.
at 34a).

Participants in SATP are required to sign an “Admis-
sion of Guilt”? form and to provide a detailed sexual
history, including any uncharged sexual offenses. Peti-
tioners then utilize polygraph testing to determine the
veracity of the participant’s statements, and they also
employ penile plethysmograph testing for treatment pur-
poses. These testing results are then discussed in group
therapy sessions. (Pet. App. at 34-35a).

1 Mr. Lile is content to proceed with Petitioners’ statement
as to the opinions below, jurisdiction, and statutes involved in
this appeal. See Sup. Ct. R. 24.2.

2 After Mr. Lile filed suit in the United States District Court
for the District of Kansas, Petitioners changed the title of this
form to “Admission of Responsibility.” (Pet. App. at 34a).

In 1995, the Kansas Department of Corrections
revised its internal management policies and procedures
(“IMPP”). (Pet. App. at 34a). IMPP compels inmates to
participate in required prison programming. In the
instance of SATP, failure to complete the program results
in a mandatory transfer in custody to maximum security
and a concomitant implementation of sanctions. These
sanctions include, but are not limited to: (1) limiting
visitation to clergy, counsel, and immediate family; (2)
limiting the amount of personal property an inmate may
keep in his cell; and (3) limiting an inmate to $0.60 per
day in prison pay. (Pet. App. at 35a). Moreover, stay in
maximum security custody exposes an inmate to a
greater threat of personal harm. (Pet. App. at 18a).

b. District Court

Mr. Lile agrees with Petitioners’ recitation of the
District Court proceedings, but would add one point. In
granting Mr. Lile summary judgment on his Fifth Amend-
ment claim, the District Court held that, consistent with
the Fifth Amendment, Petitioners still could continue to
run SATP in its present form as long as they gave Mr. Lile
immunity for any incriminating statement which he dis-
closed. (Pet. App. at 45a).

* These same sanctions are imposed upon an inmate
convicted by the prison of theft, arson, or drug possession. (Pet.

App. at 24a).

c. The Tenth Circuit

Mr. Lile agrees in part with Petitioners’ interpretation
of the Tenth Circuit's opinion but would offer additional
clarification.

In discussing the Tenth Circuit's determination that
the penalties involved in this case implicated the Fifth
Amendment, Petitioners state: “In reaching that conclu-
sion, the [Tenth Circuit] emphasized that a critical factor
is that refusal to participate in the SATP, ‘standing alone,’

results in the loss of privileges.” (Pet. at 5, citing to Pet.
App. at 19a).

However, the Tenth Circuit did not state that the
refusal to participate in the program resulted in the loss of
privileges. Rather, the court noted that: “Plaintiff’s refusal
to submit to the interrogation - to disclose the required
information about his sexual history - standing alone,
would certainly result in the transfer to [maximum secu-
rity] and the corresponding loss and restrictions of many
privileges.” (Pet. App. at 19a) (emphasis supplied).

Similarly, Petitioners suggest that the Tenth Circuit
determined that SATP was not truly “voluntary” because
sanctions automatically followed Mr. Lile’s “refusal to
participate in the SATP program.” (Pet. at 5). Again,
Petitioners misstate the Tenth Circuit's ruling. The Tenth
Circuit concluded that participation in SATP was not
voluntary because Petitioners “would impose sanctions
solely because Plaintiff wishes to remain silent and
invoke his Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimina-
tion. ...” (Pet. App. at 20a). This distinction may seem
minor; however, it is important to note that the Tenth
Circuit held that it was Mr. Lile’s invocation of his Fifth

Amendment rights — not an overall refusal to participate in
SATP - that triggered Petitioner’s sanctions.

+

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

Respondent Robert G. Lile (“Lile”) respectfully
requests this Court deny the Petition for a Writ of Cer-
tiorari seeking review of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Tenth Circuit's affirmation of the United
States District Court for the District of Kansas’ grant of
summary judgment for Mr. Lile.

The issue of sexual abuse and treatment is one that
demands attention from the State uf Kansas. Mr. Lile is
willing to take part in SATP. However, in order to do so,
he must admit he committed the crime for which he is
incarcerated. If he does make this admission, he faces
potential charges for perjury. He must also catalog alli
uncharged sexual offenses. If he does so, prison officials
are required under state law to report these crimes. He
must submit to polygraph examinations to gauge the
veracity of his admissions. All results and admissions are
then discussed in group sessions.

Mr. Lile’s invocation of his Fifth Amendment privi-

_ lege against self-incrimination will result in Petitioners’
transfer of Mr. Lile to maximum security, stripping him of
his ability to work certain jobs and have visitation with

' anyone outside of counsel, clergy, and immediate family,
_ while at the same time exposing him to a more dangerous
| environment. These same sanctions are imposed upon
inmates when an inmate is convicted by the prison of

theft, arson, drug use or possession, and assault or when
a prosecutor files felony charges against an inmate.

This Court should not grant Petitioners’ request for
review. The Tenth Circuit’s decision was correct. More-
over, there is nothing unique or complicated about this
case. Mr. Lile faces an appreciable risk of incrimination if
forced to admit guilt and catalog his uncharged crimes.

Further, Petitioners punish him for invoking his constitu-
tional rights.

Neither the District Court nor the Tenth Circuit's
decision was so sweeping as to eliminate SATP and Peti-
tioners’ interest in rehabilitating sex oifenders. Peti-
tioners can continue to operate SATP - and even penalize
those who refuse to take part - as long as they give
immunity for those incriminating statements made dur-
ing treatment.

A. The Tenth Circuit followed this Court’s prece-
dent in determining that the SATP compels Mr.
Lile to incriminate himself.

Mr. Lile agrees that his move to maximum custody
and the corresponding sanctions he faces «io not invo! ve
liberty interests. However, as stated by the Tenth Circuit
and not disputed by Petitioners, this Court has repeat-
edly found Fifth Amendment violations without engag-
ing specifically in a liberty interest review. See, ¢.g.,
Lefkowitz v. Cunningham, 431 U.S. 801, 808-09 (1977);
Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511, 516 (1967); Lefkowitz v.
Turley, 414 U.S. 70, 82 (1973); Uniformed Sanitation Men
Ass'n v. Commissioner of Sanitation, 392 U.S. 280, 283-85
(1968); Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493, 500 (1967);

Gardner v. Broderick, 392 U.S. 273, 278-79 (1968). As the
Court stated in Spevack: “ ‘Penalty’ is not restricted to fine
or imprisonment. It means, as we sai‘ in Griffin v. Califor-
nia, the imposition of any sanction which makes the asser-
tion of the Fifth Amendment privilege ‘costly.’ ” Spevack,
385 U.S. at 515 (emphasis added).

The Tenth Circuit followed this Court’s rulings in
determining that SATP violated Mr. Lile’s Fifth Amend-
ment rights. As such, this Court should not grant Peti-
tioners’ request for review.

Petitioners also suggest that, because this Court did
not find Fifth Amendment violations in other cases, the
Tenth Circuit was wrong in finding one here. Again, the
Tenth Circuit properly distinguished this Court's rulings
in Ohio Adult Parole Authority v. Woodard, 523 U.S. 272
(1998), and Baxter v. Palmigiano, 425 U.S. 308 (1975). In
Woodard, after noting that drawing adverse inferences for
silence in a civil proceeding did not violate the Fifth
Amendment, the Court stated that “[i]t is difficult to see
how a voluntary interview could ‘compel’ respondent to
speak.” Woodard, 523 U.S. at 286. The Tenth Circuit prop-
erly distinguished Woodard, agreeing with this Court that
the clemency interview in Woodard was voluntary and
that “no separate and distinct substantial or potent conse-
quences were imposed” as they are in Mr. Lile’s situation.
(Pet. App. at 21a). The dramatic language of Searcy v.
Simmons, 97 F. Supp. 2d 1055, 1059 (D. Kan. 2000) (Pet. at
9), notwithstanding, Mr. Woodard’s clemency did not
hinge on whether he participated in clemency review.
(Pet. App. at 21a). In the present case, the sanctions
Petitioners would impose come as a direct result of Mr.
Lile’s invocation of his Fifth Amendment rights.

Similarly, with respect to Baxter v. Palmigiany, 425
U.S. 308 (1975), the Tenth Circuit correctly noted that, in
Mr. Lile’s situation, the penalties he faced were not as
speculative as the possible repercussions in Baxter. Again,
in Mr. Lile’s case, punishment automatically results when

he invokes his Fifth Amendment rights. (Pet. App. at
19a).

Moreover, despite Petitioners’ repeated suggestions
(Pet. at 10-11), the Tenth Circuit did not suggest it was
Mr. Lile’s refusal to enter SATP that triggered his sanc-
tions. Rather, it was his invocation of his Fifth Amend-
ment rights: “[W]Je hold that there is a ‘reasonable basis
for concluding that [Defendants] attempted to attach an
impermissible penalty to the exercise of the privilege
against self-incrimination.’ ” (Pet. App. at 25a-26a (quot-
ing Minnesota v. Murphy, 465 U.S. 420, 437 (1984)). The
District Court made a similar finding: “[O)peration of
IMPP 11-101 clearly presents such a costly burden to
plaintiff’s exercise of his rights under the Fifth Amend-
ment.” (Pet. App. at 44a). Any attempt to suggest that
Petitioners punish Mr. Lile simply because he seeks to
avoid SATP are incorrect and certainly should not require
review by this Court.

B. The Tenth Circuit’s decision does not conflict
with other courts’ decisions to the extent that
this Court should review it.

Petitioners identify four cases which they believe
conflict with the Tenth Circuit’s decision. Two of those
cases, Tedder v. Francke, 931 F.2d 897, 1991 WL 65497 (9th
Cir. Apr. 24, 1991) (unreported), and Guilkey v. Holden, 865

F.2d 258, 1988 WL 134526 (6th Cir. Dec. 16, 1988) (unre-
ported), do state that an inmate has no liberty interest in
discretionary parole. This is not in dispute in the present
case, nor could it be given the previous rulings by this
Court. See, e.g., Greenholtz v. Inmates of the Nebraska Penal
and Correctional Complex, 442 U.S. 1 (1979). However,
these cases are not in conflict with the Tenth Circuit's
decision here.

In Tedder, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals rejected
plaintiff's Fifth Amendment claim, not under a liberty
interest analysis, but because “[a]ny admissions that he
would make would be privileged” under state law. Ted-
der, 1991 WL 65497, at **2. “An inmate patient’s dis-
closures to a treating therapist are unavailable to the state
or federal government to use in a court proceeding. If he
chose to undergo the treatment, [plaintiff] would not be
providing the state with incriminating evidence.” Id.

Further, in Guilkey, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals
did state that Kentucky’s parole statute and its sex
offender treatment program did not create a liberty inter-
est protected by due process. The court did not, however,
state that this lack of liberty interest doomed plaintiff's
Fifth Amendment claim. On the contrary, plaintiff’s Fifth
Amendment claim extinguished because “plaintiff's
admission would be a privileged communication not sub-
ject to disclosure in any civil or criminal proceeding.” Id.
at **1.

Similarly, the decisions in Bankes v. Simmons, 265 Kan.
341, 963 P.2d 412 (1998), and Chambers v. Bachicha, 39 F.3d
1191, 1994 WL 596702 (10th Cir. Oct. 28, 1994) (unre-
ported), also do not demand review of Mr. Lile’s case.

While Bankes found no compulsion under the Fifth
Amendment after a liberty interest analysis, the Tenth
Circuit’s decision in this case is the better one. The Tenth
Circuit found no evidence that this Court had ever
engaged in a liberty interest analysis when examining a
Fifth Amendment claim and determined that this Court's

approach was better suited for Mr. Lile’s claim. (Pet. App.
at 14a).

As for Chambers, the Tenth Circuit here decided to
revisit a terse discussion from this unpublished decision
that brushed upon the Fifth Amendment/liberty interest
issue and decided that, because this Court had never
utilized a liberty interest analysis before for Fifth Amend-
ment claims, it need not do the same. Such a correction
does not create the conflict in the circuit courts on which
Petitioners rely for this Court’s review.

C. The Turner “reasonableness” standard of review
applies in the prison context; that the Tenth
Circuit employed the four-factor test in deter-
mining whether Petitioners met that standard is
not sufficient to merit review.

The Tenth Circuit did not err when it employed the
“reasonableness” standard of review set forth in Turner v.
Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987), in determining that SATP vio-
lated Mr. Lile’s Fifth Amendment rights. This approach is
consistent with this Court’s ruling in Turner that this
standard should be used to determine whether a prison
regulation is invalid when it interferes with an inmate’s
constitutional rights, even if those rights are fundamen-
tal. See id. at 89; see also Washington v. Harper, 494 U.S. 210,

10

224 (1990) (“We made quite clear that the standard of
review we adopted in Turner applies to all circumstances
in which the needs of prison administration implicate
constitutional rights.”).

However, it appears that Petitioners seek review to
determine if the Tenth Circuit’s use of the four-factor
analysis set forth in Turner is appropriate for Fifth
Amendment claims. Mr. Lile agrees that this Court has
never stated that the four-factor test was a required anal-
ysis under Turner, but it has suggested that what Turner
did, in part, was “identify several factors relevant to this
reasonableness determination.” O’Lone v. Estate of Shab-
azz, 482 U.S. 342, 350 (1987).

Working from the premise that a court can turn to the
Turner “reasonableness” standard when prison policies
affect constitutional rights, the Tenth Circuit used the
four-factor analysis to determine whether SATP met that
“reasonableness” standard. The court only had to deter-
mine that SATP passed the Turner “reasonableness” stan-
dard of review. That it did more and turned to the four-
factor test suggested by this Court to assist that deter-
mination does not warrant this Court’s attention.‘

# Since this Court decided Turner in 1987, it has turned to
the Turner factors in two instances where prison regulations
impacted the constitutional rights of inmates. See O’Lone, 482
US. at 350-51; Washington, 494 U.S. at 224-226.

a

11

D. Although sex offender treatment is important,
the framework suggested by the lower courts
permits Petitioners to meet all of its stated
goals for SATP.

Petitioners feel handcuffed to provide the curative
benefits of SATP unless they can rely on their system of
sanctions to motivate inmates. They suggest that SATP
cannot work unless participants can “overcom[e] denial”
and be open about their sex offenses. Their treatment
programs have been successful, but need to rely upon a
system of “strong incentives” in order to get inmates to
participate. (Pet. at 14-15).

However, there is little reason for the Court to inter-
vene to provide Petitioners a workable solution on policy
grounds. The only manner in which the lower courts’
rulings alter Petitioners’ ideal structure of SATP is to give
immunity for incriminating statements made. As Peti-
tioners are motivated by an interest in getting sex
offenders to participate with candor and honesty (while
being able to penalize them for refusing treatment), the
District Court and Tenth Circuit - following precedent
from this Court - already have provided such framework
to Petitioners. By giving immunity for any incriminating
statements, Petitioners will secure the frank discussion
required for the treatment of sex offenders. Further, pro-
viding immunity would enable Petitioners to leave in
place their system of sanctions for those who refuse.
Thus, Petitioners could move closer to their goals of
rehabilitation while maintaining leverage to punish those
who choose not to participate.

12

For example, Mr. Lile agrees that participation in s
offender treatment is an important issue for prison iy
cials, and he 1s willing to take part in such treatment ?
given ‘mmunity for any incriminating statements. Under
this framework, Petitioners would secure open discussion
from Mr. Lile on his sexual history, enabling them to

covide sex offender treatment to him. But, if Mr. Lile
decided he did not want to participate in SATP, Petj-
tioners would still be equipped with the ability to sanc-
tion Mr. Lile by sending him to maximum custody. There
is little reason for the Court to grant Petitioners’ writ on
this point; their goals of rehabilitation can be met under
the present rulings of the lower courts.

—?®

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Mr. Lile respectfully
requests that this Court deny the petition for a writ of

certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

MatTrHew J. WILTANGER

SHoox, Harpy & Bacon L.L.P.
10801 Mastin, Suite 1000
Overland Park, Kansas 66210
913/451-6060

FAX 913/451-8879

Counsel for Respondent

March 2001

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0447%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
